YELLOW CARD - Not allowed to receive Cup

Started by Carbery, January 26, 2009, 10:21:33 AM

Carbery

According to a report in today's Daily Mirror Donegal captain, Rory Kavanagh, revealed his anger after an Ulster Council official prevented him from lifting a first trophy as Donegal captain.
The report goes on to state "The new skipper received a yellow card towards the end of normal time in Saturday night's Gaelic Life Dr McKenna Cup final over Queen's and had to be replaced.
"When Donegal scored two goals in extra time to clinch their first McKenna Cup crown since 1991, Kavanagh was stopped from lifting the Cup in Healy Park by an official who insisted that he was suspended due to his yellow card offence.
"Chairman of the disciplinary task force Liam O'Neill, whose group designed the new playing rules, last night explained that their brief was only to deal with discipline on and field and there was no specific policy on presentation ceremonies.
"He confirmed it was up to Provincial Councils who ran the competitions to make such decisions, though indicated that yellow cards were only a sanction for the duration of the game and that technically the player was not under suspension.
"However, Kavanagh, was deprived of a rare opportunity to lift some silverware for Donegal and last night admitted 'I am very supset and annoyed about what happened'.
"'If I had received a straight red card then fair enough, I would have accepted it, but I only got a yellow.
"'I didn't think it was on to be told I wasn't allowed to go up for the presentation, totally uncalled for'.
Barry Monaghan was embarrassed to lift the trophy on Kavanagh's behalf and confessed he felt 'like a fraud'.
"'It was very unexpected because Rory is captain this year and I felt a wee bit of a fraud going up there to pick it up."

Did the Ulster Council official act correctly or was he just being officious?

God I wish they'd getrid of these stupid stupid rules!

Quote from: drici on January 26, 2009, 11:00:30 AM
Disgraceful that he was allowed to stay in the ground after receiving a yellow card and therefore expelled from play.
He should have been granted enough time to change and immediately escorted from the premises where he could have found a television somewhere to watch the rest of the proceedings.

There's an asylum in Omagh where he could have been sent to for a while, just to get his head right. With a bit of luck, he could have been let out for the championship in June. 

As the great Eamon Coleman said, "men that never played football"

the other ad shouldnt have lifted the cup and came back to the team and THEN have Kavanagh lift it

or the Donegal team should have just not agreed to gather for the presentation until they allowed Kavanagh to lift it - I doubt very much if this 'yellow card' thing is enshrined in the regulations yet - so its some grumpy oul over offiicious hoor being a cnut !

Mickey Moran, Liam Sammon, Mickey Harte, Micko Dywer and JOM have all given, at the very least, a cautious thumbs up to the new rules. I've been to two McGrath Cup games myself in the past 10 days and I would say they had little negative impact on the games themselves, though the two refs took very different outlooks. One overly persnickety, the other overly lenient, nevertheless they seem to be working out ok and while some defenders may be standing off a bit more I don't see a problem with that. I want to see genuine physicality in the game not simply guys plowing into the back of players with no chance of legitimately winning the ball, all that leads to is more fouls and less flow to the game. IMO these new rules are working out fine, though the true test will be the national league.

Doire abú

Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 26, 2009, 11:47:48 AM
the other ad shouldnt have lifted the cup and came back to the team and THEN have Kavanagh lift it

or the Donegal team should have just not agreed to gather for the presentation until they allowed Kavanagh to lift it - I doubt very much if this 'yellow card' thing is enshrined in the regulations yet - so its some grumpy oul over offiicious hoor being a cnut !

Do ye mind yer man who was a stewart at Healy Park during the Derry and Fermanagh game this year who tried as hard as he could to stop the Fermanagh supporters getting on to the field after the game even though every other stewart in the ground was lettin them all on??  :D :D :D

f**k he must have been a bitter wee boy from Trillick or somewhere.  :D

You are also not allowed ot be on the picth enjoying the celebrations wither.

Quote from: screenexile on January 26, 2009, 11:06:13 AM
God I wish they'd getrid of these stupid stupid rules!
Not a stupid rule, just a stupid official.

NAG

These rules are stupid we all know that. The reason why they havent caused more grief so far yet is only due to the competitions they are being used in not being topof any managers priorty. As soon as we get to championship and the heat of the moment can you see the same managers being so supportive when their best defender gets yellow carded for an innocent tackle?

Quote from: Mac Eoghain on January 26, 2009, 02:37:46 PM
The rules will only be applied to the League this year wont they? Come Championship time they are out the door anyway. And I hope they stay there. I dont the GAA to be a non-contact sport

/Mac

Congress will decide and after initially thiniking there wouldn't be a hope of them being retained I'm now almost certain they will be retained. Basketball will be a more physical game but hey - we'll have loads of scores.  ::)

its the way of the world they deballed soccer 1st then rugby now they are coming after football.
its all about showing mammys what a nice game it is for all the future vodafone customers to play