Cliftonville Official " bottled" by Linfield/IFA thug last night

Started by T Fearon, January 14, 2009, 09:03:06 AM

QuoteAs for Drogheda, myself and Boots, were in Dalymount a couple of years ago for the 13-12 penalty shootout loss to some Norwegian crowd in the UEFA cup. I don't thing that qualifies as a 'fan' though

It was IK Start FC, managed by Stig Inge Bjornbye, if any of youse Scousers remember him ...  :P

Quote from: Tonto on January 15, 2009, 04:07:42 PM

Well, maybe if you catch the bug in the future, I'll see you up at Shamrock Park some time to support the Ports against Cliftonville/ IRA IFA  ;)

Now Tonto you know rightly that that can't happen until Portadown get promoted!!  ;)

Btw looking like a dogfight between Ports and DC for the automatic promotion spot.

Yes and here's hoping the Celts make it ahead of the Brownstown Bigots ;)

think AZ has caused roversfella to flee with a flea in his ear !

The Dublin Bohs Rovers hostility must a phenomena of recent decades because Bohs were literly a non entity, competition wise, for years before they turned professional.

I think Shelbourne and Rovers have a deeper hostility.

Strange enough, as a kid I  went to many games at Milltown in the late 60´s early 70´s
Probably I witnessed one of the first the first outbreaks of what we now know to be as the modern type of crowd violence  between football fans there  and that was when Shelbourne came to visit Milltown.
As they looked to me then, that section of Shels fans were wannabee gurriers, Rovers fans (in the kop end) in general were of reasonable humour, vocal but not aggressive.
As was the tradition, at half time the Rovers fans made their exodus from behind the goal at the road end to go behind the goal at the other end. The Shels fans refused to move and started a violent confrontation. That was my Altamont.
I just couldn't understand then why people attending a sporting event could be so aggressive to each other.

Quote from: Main Street on January 15, 2009, 04:53:20 PM
The Dublin Bohs Rovers hostility must a phenomena of recent decades because Bohs were literly a non entity, competition wise, for years before they turned professional.

I think Shelbourne and Rovers have a deeper hostility.

Strange enough, as a kid I  went to many games at Milltown in the late 60´s early 70´s
Probably I witnessed one of the first the first outbreaks of what we now know to be as the modern type of crowd violence  between football fans there  and that was when Shelbourne came to visit Milltown.
As they looked to me then, that section of Shels fans were wannabee gurriers, Rovers fans (in the kop end) in general were of reasonable humour, vocal but not aggressive.
As was the tradition, at half time the Rovers fans made their exodus from behind the goal at the road end to go behind the goal at the other end. The Shels fans refused to move and started a violent confrontation. That was my Altamont.
I just couldn't understand then why people attending a sporting event could be so aggressive to each other.

glad you posted that because to me the shels were always a bigger shower of knackers - akin to the rovers support.

there was def some 'tension' that I recall around the time and just before rovers were kicked out of milltown between them (ok and most others) but with shels in particular.
Never liked shels either, Bohs were always grand I thought.
still shite soccer tbh.

carribbear

Quote from: Rossfan on January 14, 2009, 09:35:44 PM
That incident rings a bell alright.
I dont follow soccer in any of its forms but that was on news reports all over the place at the time.

Found this
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ks-ZWJ8rSA

Funny how the PSNI RUC only fired plastic bullets into one set of supporters

Tonto

Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 15, 2009, 04:36:26 PM

Well, maybe if you catch the bug in the future, I'll see you up at Shamrock Park some time to support the Ports against Cliftonville/ IRA IFA  ;)

Now Tonto you know rightly that that can't happen until Portadown get promoted!!  ;)

Btw looking like a dogfight between Ports and DC for the automatic promotion spot.
Na, I reckon we'll have it.

Of DCs 15 games played so far, 9 have been at home of which they have won all but away from home they have only took 7 points from a possible 18.

The Ports have only played 8 of 17 at home, so things are looking good.

And about DCs two games in hand?  Well, it's true they could overtake us but only by 1 point, and a bird in the hand is worth two in the bush as they say. :)

Edit: League table: http://www.portadownfc.co.uk/2008-09_league.htm

Quote from: Tonto on January 16, 2009, 09:08:52 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 15, 2009, 04:36:26 PM

Na, I reckon we'll have it.

Of DCs 15 games played so far, 9 have been at home of which they have won all but away from home they have only took 7 points from a possible 18.

The Ports have only played 8 of 17 at home, so things are looking good.

And about DCs two games in hand?  Well, it's true they could overtake us but only by 1 point, and a bird in the hand is worth two in the bush as they say. :)

Edit: League table: http://www.portadownfc.co.uk/2008-09_league.htm

Is it one up / one down? Initially it was said that there would be no promotion / relegation for a couple of seasons. Seems to have changed.

Is ther a play-off between second in Championship and second bottom of Premier League?

Tonto

Yeah, there was chat of no promotion-relegation but AFAIK that would have ruled IL clubs out from qualifying for UEFA competitions (I know, probably not really a big deal) so now there is 1 automatic promotion place and 2nd in the Championship plays second bottom in the Premiership in a play-off.

Quote from: Tonto on January 16, 2009, 01:22:48 PM
Yeah, there was chat of no promotion-relegation but AFAIK that would have ruled IL clubs out from qualifying for UEFA competitions (I know, probably not really a big deal) so now there is 1 automatic promotion place and 2nd in the Championship plays second bottom in the Premiership in a play-off.

So thats DC up automatically and the Ports in a play-off.  ;)

Tonto

Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 16, 2009, 01:34:21 PM
Quote from: Tonto on January 16, 2009, 01:22:48 PM

So thats DC up automatically and the Ports in a play-off.  ;)
We'll see ;)

IF the Ports were in a play-off there's a fair chance that we'd be playing Glenavon; now that really would get the blood pumping, if we were to play the Spademen in probably the biggest match we would ever have played!!

Tonto

Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 16, 2009, 02:13:30 PM
Really thought that Bangor would drop straight down.
I know, so did I - I HOPED they would too!

I thought that it was a real pity they got in because it certainly wasn't for success on the pitch they go into the league.  How many years were they trying to get promoted and failed? ???  Must be at least a decade since they were in the Premier League? :-\