Beverley Flynn

Started by GalwayBayBoy, January 05, 2009, 03:06:00 PM

Muppet is 100% correct when he says that North Mayo was not in his constituency. We had some of our own ministers like Paddy O'Toole (FG) who was minister of defence iirc, and we never get the national primary route.
I'm with Rosnarun and Muppet on this one - Pee Flynn was despised in North Mayo for doing a damn fine job of looking after his constituency a la O'Donoghue and McCreevy.

His other more unfortunate antics as minister on the other hand are a seperate matter ...........

Son_of_Sam

Quote from: the Deel Rover on January 07, 2009, 10:29:48 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on January 07, 2009, 09:07:53 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 07, 2009, 03:27:52 AM
Being from the Castlebar area I know a lot of Flynn supporters and I think its not that people are fond of her (there would be a widespread acknowledgement that the Flynns can be a bit up their own sphincters) but more so that there is a legacy of what Pee Flynn did for the greater Castlebar area (at the cost of more deserving areas in the county and country it must be said) and the belief that Beverley would be the person most likely to bring such benefits back to Mayo again.

Fianna Fail had a weak enough representation last time and only Dara Calleary got in (a very capable politician but only serving his first term) but the bould Bev got in as an independent with many people of the opinion that it was a case of when, not if, she rejoined Fianna Fail. She was then expected to be in good shape for a ministerial position, if things went her way. With FF at the time looking like they would stay in power for some time, I'd say the support Bev got was a calculated gamble on ma

ny voters parts. Maybe I'm giving too much credit but that's my reading of it.

However I think the latest incident is going down like a led balloon and is doing her untold harm coming, as it does, when the country is in trouble and given how she was able to come to an agreement with the government about her libel fees so that the taxpayer would essentially pay some of the bill. The swing against FF won't help her either and I've a feeling an election inside the next twelve months could spell real trouble for her.

You are dead right and Rosnarun should take note. Pee Flynn never gave the steam of his piss to North Mayo. He was too busy keeping the people of Castlebar happy and ignoring everyone else. He did this with the sole aim of looking after himself. It that is the type of public representative people want then I'm afraid you get what you deserve.

your spot on there myles i don't know of anyone who voted for her so she probably gets most if not all of her votes in the castlebar and surrounding area. Whers is fishhead sam when you need him ;)

From what I can recall of the election Bev got very little of the first preference in Castlebar & got in on the last or second last count from the votes outside of the Great Metropolis of Castlebar. Also while F.F. are a non-entity in Castlebar most of Mayo, she is from a faction within a very fractured small party in this County, even alot of Fianna Failures dislike her more than FG, Lab, SF, Indp. people etc.

The old Const. was West & East, not North & South. As I pointed out prior to the last election as Dara Callery imagined an old const. to divide the county so as to get eleted.

I always thought despite Johnno living close to Nathys in Ballagh, he is origionally from within the official Mayo border (As opposed to the REAL Mayo).

dublinfella

Quote from: Declan on January 06, 2009, 11:16:56 PM
A liar and a a crook and Mayo people have nothing to be ashamed off they are only following in the footsteps of Tipp and Dublin North, Central and West in re-electing criminals

Leave the Dubs out of this. Haughey, Burke and Lawlor were never er-elected after they were exposed. Haughey was long gone and Burke and Lawlor resigned their seats. Re-electing corrupt politicians is a culchie tradition.

Quote from: dublinfella on January 09, 2009, 10:36:51 AM
Quote from: Declan on January 06, 2009, 11:16:56 PM
A liar and a a crook and Mayo people have nothing to be ashamed off they are only following in the footsteps of Tipp and Dublin North, Central and West in re-electing criminals

Leave the Dubs out of this. Haughey, Burke and Lawlor were never er-elected after they were exposed. Haughey was long gone and Burke and Lawlor resigned their seats. Re-electing corrupt politicians is a culchie tradition.

was bertie just maybe a little bit corrupt or did he just have great friends  ;)

dublinfella

Quote from: the Deel Rover on January 09, 2009, 11:23:26 AM

was bertie just maybe a little bit corrupt or did he just have great friends  ;)

did he stand for election after he was exposed? no, he is standing down....

Quote from: dublinfella on January 09, 2009, 11:38:27 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on January 09, 2009, 11:23:26 AM

did he stand for election after he was exposed? no, he is standing down....

When was he last relected ?

QuoteHaughey was long gone and Burke and Lawlor resigned their seats. Re-electing corrupt politicians is a culchie tradition.

And of course the electorate knew that the 3 boyos were as clean as the driven snow when voting for them ;) Anyway sure wasn't Charlie a Mayoman as well????

dublinfella

Quote from: Declan on January 09, 2009, 11:42:45 AM
QuoteHaughey was long gone and Burke and Lawlor resigned their seats. Re-electing corrupt politicians is a culchie tradition.

And of course the electorate knew that the 3 boyos were as clean as the driven snow when voting for them ;) Anyway sure wasn't Charlie a Mayoman as well????

But none of them had been found to be corrupt in a court of law. As soon as the proof emerged, they stood down knowing full well the spohisticated Dublin electorate would hammer them.

Unlike Flynn and Lowrey who the electorate would rather be stolen from than turn on one of 'their own'.

Quotethey stood down knowing full well the spohisticated Dublin electorate would hammer them.

I admire your confidence in the sophistication of the Dublin electorate ;)

Quote from: dublinfella on January 09, 2009, 11:44:59 AM
Quote from: Declan on January 09, 2009, 11:42:45 AM

But none of them had been found to be corrupt in a court of law. As soon as the proof emerged, they stood down knowing full well the spohisticated Dublin electorate would hammer them.

Unlike Flynn and Lowrey who the electorate would rather be stolen from than turn on one of 'their own'.

Ah so you had to be corrupt in a court of law before the sophistication kicked in , been corrupt is ok once you not found out

dublinfella

Quote from: the Deel Rover on January 09, 2009, 12:08:45 PM

Ah so you had to be corrupt in a court of law before the sophistication kicked in , been corrupt is ok once you not found out

Burke, Haughy and Lawlor were exposed in the tribunals, and Burle and Lawlor resigned from politics almost immediatly. Haughey was long gone.

Compare and contrast with the yokel electorate in the cases of Flynn and Lowry, who were exposed by the media and tribunals respectively.

By not even being able to spell sophisticated you are demonstrating the hilarious irony in that statement

Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 09, 2009, 01:22:06 PM

By not even being able to spell sophisticated you are demonstrating the hilarious irony in that statement

Quotespohisticated

I think that is slang for very drunk.

Quote from: stephenite on January 07, 2009, 10:01:16 PM
Muppet is 100% correct when he says that North Mayo was not in his constituency. We had some of our own ministers like Paddy O'Toole (FG) who was minister of defence iirc, and we never get the national primary route.
I'm with Rosnarun and Muppet on this one - Pee Flynn was despised in North Mayo for doing a damn fine job of looking after his constituency a la O'Donoghue and McCreevy.
Well, is Erris not deemed to be North Mayo? Because that was in it, I think Belderrig onwards was East, but Carrowtigue and Rossport were West. So was Lahardane. Mayo was divided into North (3 seats) and South (4 IIRC) prior to 1969, with Charlestown, Castlebar and Westport included in the South, until it became East-West. And then Pee nabbed some of North Galway to keep it in place, before it finally gave up the sixth seat in 97.

And whatever about his other affairs and Bev's, I have to admire the job Pee did for Castlebar. A good town to get around and, most importantly, get by, if you're heading for Westport, Ballinrobe etc. A lot of places are fairly accessible to get to too, like the Garda Station, Library and so on, though I can't say whether that was the case before Flynn or not. Sligo had the man with the (limited) pursestrings in the Haughey era, and yet it wasn't til 2005 that the Inner Relief road was delivered, 30 years after it was mooted. We did get a Hospital extension and Hughes Bridge (the Bundoran road bridge) in the 80's, but the hospital one came during FG's reign I think. It might seem parish-pump etc., but let's face it we get f**k-all most of the time, so it is no harm to have someone to get the work done. Instead these days we lose the cancer services in the General, and have some of the most lethal excuses for 'national primary routes' located within the county.

And as for East Mayo, well ye did have O'Toole in cabinet, but that was when FG were trying to scupper Knock Airport. East Mayo went from FG being edged out in a marginal 2-1 (happened from 73 to 81) to a safe 2 for FF after that. And they sorted out the Claremorris/Knock bypass and the Charlestown bypass in recent times, with plans for bypassing Charlestown on our side (N17) and Ballindine in the pipeline, though maybe put off for now with the auld recession thingy, and yet there's no advanced plans for our roads yet. Ye could be worse off.

Quote from: Son_of_Sam on January 09, 2009, 10:24:58 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on January 07, 2009, 10:29:48 AM
your spot on there myles i don't know of anyone who voted for her so she probably gets most if not all of her votes in the castlebar and surrounding area. Whers is fishhead sam when you need him ;)

From what I can recall of the election Bev got very little of the first preference in Castlebar & got in on the last or second last count from the votes outside of the Great Metropolis of Castlebar. Also while F.F. are a non-entity in Castlebar most of Mayo, she is from a faction within a very fractured small party in this County, even alot of Fianna Failures dislike her more than FG, Lab, SF, Indp. people etc

Bev's votes came from as follows:
Castlebar - 2,747 (17.9%), and the town itself was 1,046, Kenny got 7,991 and 3,562 by comparison, and FF total was 1,533 and 518!
Ballinrobe - 1,156 (16.24%)
Belmullet/Erris - 859 (10.89%)
Swinford - 675 (7.37%)
Westport - 627 (6.64%)
Claremorris - 471 (5.43%)
Ballina - 232 (1.71%)

So though her vote was mainly Castlebar with a lot from Ballinrobe too, the reasonable vote gained in the Erris and Swinford areas helped put her back in. The irony.