GAA (hurling) usa/aussie

Started by youngfella, December 13, 2008, 07:24:14 PM

youngfella

Ive being thinking of going to the us or aussie land over the summer. Are there many hurling clubs in these countries ?? I'd need them to set me up bit of work too. what clubs out there can you recommend?
Ta
Pull hard and early

to be honest YF
From what i know(dont take this as gospel,no doubt some will disagree)

Ive only ever heard of real top quality players(Inter County or at least a very good club player standard),getting set up with work(and indeed cash in hand)
Now i dont know how good you are,But most lads whom i know go over ,have relations or know lads or ladies over there who can set them up with jobs and then they join their nearest team.

Just decide where you want to go,Then you can get a list of teams in your area and Contact them and ask them your questions  http://www.hoganstand.com/ClubLinks.aspx#usa You should be able to find some there.
With the economic downturn, and more lads moving abroad,There will be alot of competition looking to move to Oz and US/Canada(for summer and for good) to play football and work.

Also look into the new J Visa
it's available to people qualified with a trade and recent (within the last year) college graduates. There will be 20,000 of these visas available and i think you can apply from January '09.

youngfella

What areas of the us or ozzie for the would be the best for the craic?
Pull hard and early

dont know anything about OZ
But in the US:
Boston
New York
and Chicago would be the main ones that lads would go to.
Toronto if you're willing to consider Canada.
As for the craic,Yeh you will be working with,drinking in Irish Bars,playing football with and shagging!!! amongst your fellow Irish J1'ers,
From a personal point of view,if i ever choose to play GAA in the US,id be more interested in going to San Fran or San Diego.

carribbear

Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on December 13, 2008, 07:40:21 PM
Also look into the new J Visa
it's available to people qualified with a trade and recent (within the last year) college graduates. There will be 20,000 of these visas available and i think you can apply from January '09.

Any more info on these visas, how to apply and how quick can you get them?

http://dublin.usembassy.gov/general/twelve-month-intern-work-and-travel-pilot-program.html

its fairly specific in its requirements,so alot of people wont be able to get it,
Maybe some of ye lads are lucky...

carribbear

I'll have to forge my passport....again ;)

If you're just going for the summer youngfella USA makes a lot more sense, with the weather and there'll be other folk going out for the same length of time.  There's a thread on local discussion about North American football and hurling.  I'd say if you're looking to play hurling your best bet would be New York although I'm sure Boston would have a fair few teams too.