Who will win the Div 1 final

Kerry
2 (40%)
Mayo
3 (60%)

Total Members Voted: 5

Voting closed: March 29, 2025, 01:26:17 PM

Im thinking of exactly Derry last year! How many games did it take them to get back on their feet after Donegal beat them, and even then they never came close to the levels of the previous two years.

Leaving aside the final, it is a balancing act with the squad, but Donegal have plenty of scope for rotation. Mark Curran has been the starting corner back the last two seasons, but he's just being eased in so Roarty can find his feet at senior. McFadden Ferry is back in the squad after missing last year and is yet to feature. Conor O'Donnell missed much of last year but has featured heavily so far. Langan is out so will presumably feature towards the end. There are a few other lads who haven't seen much game time yet too.

Armagh4sam2024

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on February 16, 2025, 06:19:42 PMThat some carry on by Forker, never seen Tony Scullion at that craic

Let's just say Forker wouldn't be known for his intelligence.  Imagine him rocking up to teach primary school kids tomorrow after doing that? God help the poor kids... 

onefineday

Quote from: onefineday on February 02, 2025, 09:47:47 AMJust like removing the 4 point goal whilst retaining the 2 pointer (because of fears that scores might get out of hand).

And of course allowing some technical fouls to be brought back outside the arc to avail of the 2 point option if desired.

7 goals in 5 division one games to date - worth keeping an eye on how this develops with the reduced incentive to work a goal.

On the face of it, this didn't age well as the next game was the infamous Derry v Kerry 6 goal thriller in Celtic Park.

However, looking at it now.

We've had 12 games in D1, 3 of them have been goalless, 6 more have had one goal and only 3 games have had more than one goal. 
The average overall is 1.42 goals per game, but disregarding the Derry v Kerry goalfest, the average drops to 1.0 per game and removing all Derry games, the average drops to just .78 goals per game!

Donegal have yet to raise a green flag at all this year (they haven't played Derry yet!), Kerry are top goal getters with 7, Mayo and surprisingly Dublin who usually feature heavily in goal stakes (no Con yet I guess) have one goal apiece and everyone else has two goals.

I haven't looked at the other divisions in any detail, but there does appear to have been a signficant uptick in goals per games there.  I'm  not sure why this is the case, better drilled teams at the top who defend better?  Top level teams more likely to work a two-pointer?  Just an aberration that will balance itself out?

Quote from: Armagh4sam2024 on February 16, 2025, 11:20:28 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on February 16, 2025, 06:19:42 PMThat some carry on by Forker, never seen Tony Scullion at that craic

Let's just say Forker wouldn't be known for his intelligence.  Imagine him rocking up to teach primary school kids tomorrow after doing that? God help the poor kids... 
Wise up.

statto

Ridiculous post. How is his actions on the football pitch in anyway related to his ability to do his job?  He let himself and his team down yesterday, I would imagine no one will be as sore on him as himself this morning. 

Mikhailov

Quote from: galwayman on February 17, 2025, 08:26:37 AMQuestion lads.... I looked at the rule changes a few times when they initially came out. I don't remember seeing one that changed the penalty for a goalie seemingly taking too long over a kickout from a throw in to actually conceding a 13m free to the opposition.
Was that part of the rules or has it been added subsequently?
It happened in a few games over the weekend.

I'm a fan of some of the new rules definitely but I think the penalty in this instance and some others is extreme (not saying this because our own keeper was one of those penalised either by the way).
Being allowed to kick a two pointer for a 3v3 infringement is also draconian. Suits us as Walsh will kick them all day but I don't think this is right.

I take it you didn't see the Sunday game last night were this was discussed

In short, FRC and referees changed that rule last week but forgot to notify the managers & players....hard to believe but seemingly true.

Cantwell said RTE contacted 4 managers yesterday and none of them were aware of the rule change, despite it been agreed at the beginning of the week

Communication through the various channels, be it Croke Park admin, FRC,  referee committee seems to be very poor - this has happened several times now.

In week 1, Joyce and McGeeney were using 2 different sets of rules along the sideline in their game

Quote from: Armagh18 on February 17, 2025, 05:51:10 AM

Wise up.

Yeah. Statements like that are uncalled for.

statto

Quote from: Mikhailov on February 17, 2025, 08:36:36 AM
Quote from: galwayman on February 17, 2025, 08:26:37 AMQuestion lads.... I looked at the rule changes a few times when they initially came out. I don't remember seeing one that changed the penalty for a goalie seemingly taking too long over a kickout from a throw in to actually conceding a 13m free to the opposition.
Was that part of the rules or has it been added subsequently?
It happened in a few games over the weekend.

I'm a fan of some of the new rules definitely but I think the penalty in this instance and some others is extreme (not saying this because our own keeper was one of those penalised either by the way).
Being allowed to kick a two pointer for a 3v3 infringement is also draconian. Suits us as Walsh will kick them all day but I don't think this is right.

I take it you didn't see the Sunday game last night were this was discussed

In short, FRC and referees changed that rule last week but forgot to notify the managers & players....hard to believe but seemingly true.

Cantwell said RTE contacted 4 managers yesterday and none of them were aware of the rule change, despite it been agreed at the beginning of the week

Communication through the various channels, be it Croke Park admin, FRC,  referee committee seems to be very poor - this has happened several times now.

In week 1, Joyce and McGeeney were using 2 different sets of rules along the sideline in their game
She seemed particularly annoyed that she wasn't made aware. 

5times5times

Before Forker the numpty done what he did, Armagh had reeled Donegal back to 2pts.

Look at the comparison in squads. People now have Dng as AI Champs, and Armagh back Div2...

From AIF, Armagh were missing the following lads yday who didnt see the pitch either yday, or at all this yr.. I count 12....

McKay
Burns
3x Oneills
McElroy
2x Mackins
Grugan
Nugent
Kelly
McGrane

Ethan Tremblay

From an Armagh perspective, we have a lot of players to return to the fray as mentioned, so I wouldn't be panicking. 

All teams in division 1 are aiming to consolidate their place in the league, and find some consistency in their approach to these new rules.  Anything else is a facile bonus. 

Donegal looked good to be fair to them.  McGuniness and Murphy carry this aura around them that lifts the team.  They will be in contention for major honors later in the year if they can keep players injury free for sure.
I tend to think of myself as a one man wolfpack...

Maybe both will improve once they get first choice players back but Tyrone v Mayo yesterday looked every bit like the two sides that will be dropping down to Div 2 .

Among the live games this weekend it was by far the worst with neither side overly keen to embrace the new rules at all.

5times5times

Missed McGrane, make that 12 players Armagh missing. Perspective needed.

cornerback

I thought the 2nd Armagh 15 always beat the 1st Armagh 15 in training...  ;)

Quote from: 5times5times on February 17, 2025, 11:03:24 AMMissed McGrane, make that 12 players Armagh missing. Perspective needed.
Yeah and all lads that would be pushing to start or at the very least make an impact.

Quote from: cornerback on February 17, 2025, 11:15:18 AMI thought the 2nd Armagh 15 always beat the 1st Armagh 15 in training...  ;)
Who said that? I dunno why but every Armagh loss seems to attract bellends to the board.
I know what people are saying about the players that are missing and of course this is right but my concern is how many will be returning soon.  It's a relatively short season and there's a few long term injuries there.