Author Topic: RTE via Satellite in the North  (Read 1142 times)

WeeDonns

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 434
    • View Profile
RTE via Satellite in the North
« on: June 28, 2013, 03:12:28 PM »
Sorry, the digital Switchoverhttp://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=22293.345 thread appears to be locked, could admin merge this in?

Guys, can RTE be received in the north via Satellite without sky ie Saorsat ??

Here’s our situation;

The folks got Sky in a few years ago because the analogue signal had got so bad.

After the digital switchover they got Steeles in Omagh to put up a new aerial and cancelled the sky.

They get all the channels on 2 TVs (One via a box, the other with tuner built in) but the interference from time to time is driving them mad.
This interference isn’t just on the Irish channels, but on the ITVs and maybe BBC too.

Steeles have been out a good few times changing stuff but its still happening. They said they’re having a nightmare with both the Tamlaght & Dromore roads in Omagh.

They called last week and suggested a new dish with satellite that will solve the problem at something like £240. Does anyone know if they could use the existing dish etc? I thought RTE wasn’t available free to air on Satellite in the north?

Stall the Bailer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 520
    • View Profile
Re: RTE via Satellite in the North
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2013, 03:16:18 PM »
I put up a Saorsat dish myself, North Tyrone direction. Cost about £150 to do all in. Apart from TV3 and 3e you get the other channels on saorview.

Ulick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2403
    • View Profile
Re: RTE via Satellite in the North
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2013, 04:30:47 PM »
Did it last summer and posted here about it:

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=18064.135

grounded

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 451
    • View Profile
Re: RTE via Satellite in the North
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2013, 04:13:22 PM »
Did it last summer and posted here about it:

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=18064.135

Which receiver and dish package did you use and where did you purchase, many thanks.

grounded

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 451
    • View Profile
Re: RTE via Satellite in the North
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2020, 10:08:20 PM »
Just for anybody with Saorsat. You need to retune/reconfigure your receiver to receive a signal. Changed on 1st July 2020.
         

https://www.2rn.ie/broadcast/saorsat-digital-television/