Recent Posts

Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9] 10
Derry / Re: Derry Club football and Hurling
« Last post by sbw on Today at 08:47:02 AM »
Rossa were poor and look a shadow of the team which did so well last year but maybe that is because they are a shadow of that team. Ballinderry were also missing quality players but they are smarter than us and their players have learned very well from the extra special players who have led that club over the past 10 years . Still the team to beat so it's no shame to get "hammered" by them but we need our injured players back soon our we will be fighting relegation.
General discussion / Re: Muppet's craption competition #85
« Last post by T Fearon on Today at 08:43:51 AM »
Traces of human meat found in pig
General discussion / Re: Cardinal Sean Brady
« Last post by T Fearon on Today at 08:42:57 AM »
The Church in Ireland and the World has and does do far more good than harm.No doubt,led by the present Pope the reforms have started.

As in every other organisation,there"ll always be rotten apples,cover ups,scandals etc,but good does tend to prevail.
GAA Discussion / Re: Michael Lyster
« Last post by T Fearon on Today at 08:38:22 AM »
Examples? Never recall him being gratuitously controversial,not even once
Derry / Re: Derry Club football and Hurling
« Last post by surfandturf on Today at 07:58:12 AM »
Loved watching the football on a Friday night and I believe this should be a regular occurrence. Even a couple of rounds of games midweek would take the pressure off a crowded schedule and stop football being played in November and December.

On the Quigan issue. There is hope as we have two supporters admitting that they have discipline problems. in the psychology/ psychiatry fields you have to admit you have a problem before change can begin to take place.

Our match tonight wasn't anything special and we were always in control. Long way to go but its taking shape.

Some hammerings dished out to newbridge and magherafelt tonight. The gulf in division one seems to be increasing. Maybe it's a blessing we are rebuilding in intermediate football! 

Looking forward to the 2nd June when Down come to town. A tough game expected from a team with serious championship pedigree in store no doubt. Think we have to have extra cover in defence as I  am worried about conceding goals to a renowned attack minded team.   Would take a scrappy win.
GAA Discussion / Re: Michael Lyster
« Last post by rrhf on Today at 07:31:46 AM »
Remember round the mid 80s, Michael actually presented the all Ireland Disco Championships on RTE, along with Moya Docherty (who went on to devise Riverdance). They tried to make him look funky, but you just couLdn't separate him from the GAA man!

Those early days were great, with the late Enda Colleran providing accurate analysis without offending anyone. It all changed when the put a mike in front of Spillane!
I remember Enda as controversial, then again Armagh didn't incur his wrath too often
« Last post by seafoid on Today at 07:28:02 AM »
"They suffered and died for their Catholic Faith during the years of the man-made famine in Ireland 1845-1850.  They died on coffin ships and in distant lands as a direct result of diseases caused by the hunger they had to endure because of their Catholic Faith.  These petitions will be sent to Rome asking for Universal Beatification for these Martyrs in recognition of their faith and sacrifice."

The famine didn't happen because they were catholic. I think that is off on a tangent to a far galaxy. 
The Brits ran a brutal economy and it was contemptible to be poor. MacHale was probably reflecting public opinion at the time.
How could you explain what happened to people with no education ? they were dependent on one crop and had no Plan B and the Govermnent of the day was happy with the outcome because it figured the land was overpopulated.   

Eventually at this rate I think we will all be beatified as martyrs. Tony will become the first living GAA board martyr. He has been ridiculed for his faith and persecuted on this very thread but Jesus knows this and will be appearing in the Sunday Life shortly to present him with his beatification.

They died because they were Catholic. In particular they died of starvation because they refused food in return for changing religion. That is the point. The petition asks that their Church, who they remained loyal to until their death, recognises this.
The Church was happy as well because it replaced the Gaeilge as the thing people stuck to.
The Church never really cared about the poor in the 19th century either.

This is the point of the petition (which btw I haven't signed as I am no longer a practicing Catholic). But I think it is reasonable to ask an organisation will it honour those who died for its faith.
The brits washed their hands of the problem and passed it on to the poor law unions, effectively condemning hundreds of thousands to death. Culpable neglect of the consequences of policies leading to mass starvation. Blaming the church for the famine is like pinning responsibility for the holocaust on the grocers of poland. Or haj amin husseini.

Where exactly did I blame the Church for the Famine? I am criticising some of them for some of their behaviour, not blaming them for the whole thing.

The causes of the Famine include, but are not limited to, The Penal Laws, Tithes, British Laws on inheritance etc. All British imposed sanctions on the Irish.
"They died on coffin ships and in distant lands as a direct result of diseases caused by the hunger they had to endure because of their Catholic Faith".

I think the Church has a lot to answer for but not the Famine.
Apparently illiteracy meant a lot of people didn't understand how to cook Indian meal and that was another cause of the weakening state of the people.

http://www.bookshop.kennys.ie/book/UK/9781859184790/Atlas_of_the_Great_Irish_Famine

is very interesting

What is this straw man argument about?

No one is saying the Church caused the Famine.

Turning down food for your faith, however, is a different matter and this did happen.
It did alright. But linking the whole thing ito their faith as in

"They died on coffin ships and in distant lands as a direct result of diseases caused by the hunger they had to endure because of their Catholic Faith".
implies that people died  of disease BECAUSE they were catholic

And that is horseshit, IMO. It is badly written.
Who wrote it ?
« Last post by Count 10 on Today at 06:35:39 AM »
The Church preaches against storing of wealth on a personal basis,but wealth is not stored at the Vatican for commercial purposes or greed,nor does it benefit any one individual.That's the difference.Most of the treasures,artwork were gifts to the Church.

So if that's the case then do you see where I'm coming from.....why not sell and give to the poor, is that not one of the core principles of Christianity? One gesture like that would mean (IMHO) a return of many "doubting Thomas's" to the faith. Here's to living in hope.
Well I have faith in Terry Hyland to put the right team on the pitch and have them motivated. His record is unmatched in Cavan as a manager. I have no problem giving him time to get this team right. I am looking for a good solid performance and I am hoping we sneak a win. I will not be throwing the toys out of the pram if we lose, Armagh are still a little ahead of us.

Nail on the head there Myles lad. Patience is needed. A time will come where we will have to say "it's time to deliver". That time is bit away yet.
.                                                                                                                                          When exactly would you expect the present management to start producing? Given that hyland himself has been in or around the senior set up 4/5 years. Lads like Givney McDermott dunne were all u21 in 2010 . Lads like Murray Meehan seem to have been discarded already and they were u21 in 2011. Fergal Flanagan comes back in for his annual first round of the championship game . He was brutal against Donegal last year and was at fault for Corks last 3 points in the u21 semi . And to call him a senior county footballer is complete nonsense. If you look at last years first round team v Donegal and look at this years team v Armagh there not a lot of similarities to show the management know what they are doing. As a poster here said already hyland played a big part in the downfall of Andrews by not opening his mouth regarding team selection and regarding who was dropped from the panel. He set Val up for a fall and jumped in when Val left. He got 4 and a half years and from the way he is shaping up he will leave it no better than when he joined it all those years ago. Yes he worked wonders with the u21s .but so did Peter Reilly this year. That doesn't make them senior managers. Nor does jumping on the sideline like a headless chicken roaring his guts of make forde and better than a selector with a bit of cop. Armagh by 5 and wait for Terry's work in progress press conference.

So you decided to join the, what was it you called us.. "lick arses" over here on GAABoard?

Saying that Terry set Val up for a fall is bordering on conspiracy theorist type idiocy. If Val picks a terrible team, then that is Val's issue, he is not a simpleton that Terry was there to look after. And you have absolutely no idea what was going on between them behind the scenes. Maybe there was war between them over team selections, maybe not. But at the end of the day Val had the final say and the buck stops with him, as he said himself many times. Terry Hyland was always going to take over this Cavan team, the CB knew it, we knew it, Val knew it, and Terry knew it. He had no reason to "set him up for a fall" You think Hyland, a man who has given more to Cavan than any manager in the past decade, would be happy to see us fail miserably so he would improve his already massive claim to the managers position? You think he was satisfied to see Antrim come to Breffni and hammer us out the gate? Maybe you're a pathetic man with no integrity but Terry Hyland is not.

Now Hyland is the main man, and the buck will stop with him. And he is well entitled to call this what it is, a long term project that requires work and patience. Now you and the rest of the "experts" in the stand might not like that, but it's the truth. In short, there are a lot of morons in Cavan - including yourself - who want a quick fix that does not exist. You wanted it before 2011 when you said we had the players we just needed the right manager (which was bull), now we have a few decent underage teams (not exceptional) and that ramps up the impatience. Suddenly 2 years after we won our first U21 Ulster title and we should be making huge strides despite the depressingly low ebb we were at in 2010 and that we have almost no quality older Senior Intercounty Players in the county to build these lads around? There has been progress under Hyland this year, small progress but progress. For the last 4 years it has been a downward slope but that has stopped. This is not like turning a Micra in a driveway it's like turning a 747. Anyone who thinks otherwise is a moron. (You)

Also, can you honestly tell me that the U21s in 2010 were that good that we should be making senior progress on the back of that? They won a grand total of TWO games. Do you think anyone remembers who was in the Leinster U21 Final in 2010? Do you think the losing county have raised expectations because their players appeared in an underage final that year?

And yes I do see some similarities between the team that played v Donegal last year and the team v Armagh this Sunday. 8 players are starting again, 2 more would have if Gearoid and McKeever weren't injured, 2 lads are no longer involved, both emmigrated. 5 Subs came on, 4 of whom are still involved. So from the 20 that day 17 are still on the panel either starting, on the bench or injured.

Now for the good of the board and for the genuine supporters on it, please crawl back under your rock, we'll probably be seeing you Sunday evening where you can brand Hyland as the sole cause for anything that might have went wrong. If we manage to pull off a result I hope you won't be too upset.

H'on Cavan!
.               I write something you don't like u get upset and I have to crawl back under a rock? Some discussion board this. Agree with the chosen few is the way it seems to be. Let me tell you hyland set Val up for a big fall by publicly not backing his calls when he was joint manager .thats fact. He let Val make mistakes knowing it would land him the hot seat. Now Hyland has to deliver . Now hyland has to show improvement in his own tactical knowledge to prove regardless of results he is capable . He hasn't done that yet. Our underage structured is better than most. Lads that are pushing the 23/24 mark should be reaching their peak. It's time to start performing. Yes this year,
Cavan / Re: Official Cavan GAA Thread
« Last post by Dirtyball on Today at 06:13:25 AM »
Funny thing is I tried posting something on hoganstand around same time as dirtbag and mine was censored! Please God he stays there and doesn't invade gaaboard.
mylestheslasher stop answering your own posts. It's a sign of madness taking to yourself. !!
Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9] 10