« on: March 27, 2017, 05:34:24 PM »
According to the tutor, who has reffed All-Ireland's and the other 3 refs that were in attendance it only applies when you are brought to the ground in a tackle and and upon hitting the ground it has to be got rid of immediately and can thus be thrown at that moment in time. It was even more shocking to find out that you could score from it too. There were 20 at least in the room and all were in shock. I know in ladies GAA you can play the ball on the ground to get it away from you but this was certainly a 1st for me. If I'm wrong, and I'm certainly no expert, then so are a lot of imminent refs who will be reffing in the League next weekend.
It might explain some of the refereeing we do see in the league! I'm pretty certain they are all wrong if that's their view. These are the relevant rules, 4.2 and 1.2:
It's a technical foul to...
4.2 (a) To throw the ball. (b) To handpass the ball without: (i) It being Fisted or (ii) It being struck with an open hand with a definite underhand striking action.
1.2 When the ball is on the ground, it may be played by any part of the body except the hand(s). It may be lifted off the ground with the feet. Exceptions (i) The goalkeeper may play the ball on the ground with his hand(s) inside his own small rectangle. (ii) Any player who falls or is knocked to the ground while in possession of the ball may fist or palm the ball away on the ground, and may score by so doing.