Quote from: JoG2 on Today at 01:58:16 PMQuote from: Milltown Row2 on Today at 01:48:44 PMQuote from: highorlow on Today at 11:47:11 AMAll talk about frees and handing ball back is irrelevant when what is certain is the ref only brought the free up 40 yards. Go to the video and count the refs steps 32 steps, he also ran straight from where he was so it should've been a free from inside the arc and closer to sideline.
A draw would've been a fair result and it's not surprising Dingle haven't offered a replay when every other team in the country would have. That's the Kerry lads for ya!
https://x.com/SmallerFishGAA/status/1998027107180712176?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet
Also, were Barrs better off having another protest at the ref before the free was taken? Would the rule then have been a 14 yard free in front of posts?
Hindsight but if that is the rule it'd have been a guaranteed draw and another day out for them at least.
The rule for 50m for infringement, if the free is outside the 40m arc the the ref can bring it in as far as the 14 if that is within the 50m.. but the player has the option to take the free from outside the arc if he chooses to have a go at a two pointer.
If a free or infringement happens inside the arc it cannot be brought outside the arc, it can be from where the free is or if an infringement inside the arc brought to in front of the goals on the 14.
If we don't know the rules at this stage I don't know what to say!!
I think you've picked him up wrong.. If the ref had taken the ball in closer, say to the 20m, the Player would have most likely tapped it over and taken the draw, rather than risk the 2 pointer and lose
Correct, Conor Geaney didn't have the option of a one point free from where the ref brought the ball up to.