can pats be stopped?definitely, they can be caught on a bad day, brady can get injured, its been a bad year for QBs but the only team realistically capable of beating them in a fair game is the Colts next week. Its the first time ever that two teams that are a minimum of 7-0 are meeting up.
All seems very fishy that this is announced the day the Red Sox wins the World Series
If the NFL wanted to showcase their game it would have made more sense to put next weeks game between the Colts and Pats on in London. These teams have been the best teams in the NFL over the last five years. The game yesterday in Wembley was so boring it was difficult to watch and the Yanks think soccer is boring.
can pats be stopped?
the problem they have with the pats & colts is that a lot of the teams have contracts with their stadia that mean that they MUST play their 8 home games at that stadium. If not they end up homeless. The NFL has announced that it intends that every team will play a minimum of 1 game outside the US in the next 3 years.
couldnt have put it better iceman. having said that i'd love to know how many kids in america actually play american football. i know the kids in high school and college play it and there are a no. of lesser leagues than the nfl but i bet its not a huge participation sport. i'm convinced nfl teams would work in london/berlin and paris if the nfl wanted to do it without having any other regular leagues in those cities. its a great game to watch once you get to know the rules (yesterdays game was never going to be great as the dolphins are poor enough)...You are dead right magickingdom. The reason most kids play soccer and baseball over here as youths is the elitism of American Football. Around here there are limited opportunities to play the game outside of high school and college. By that stage you need to be good enough to make the varsity team otherwise your ride has ended. There are a number of flag football competitions here and there, which by nature are non contact but its nowhere near the same.
i hated the verbal blowjob they gave him before the match though
can anyone post a link to a clip of it?
Deiseach, that would be the conventional wisdom, run the ball and keep running until you are in fieldgoal range, or else dump off a couple of 5 yard passes and try to get a few yards after the catch (YAC). I don't know if this was a long bomb or a big run after the catch.
The other thing is that the defence nearly always expects run or short pass in overtime, and if they do, then they usually play their 2 safeties up to put at least 8 or 9 men 'in the box' which is the area just behind the line of scrimmage. It's traditional run stopping practice. If they do that, then it's usually 1 on 1 outside, and no QB worth his salt will throw an INT in 1 on 1 coverage. Usually interceptions are because the ball is tipped, or else a Safety or Linebacker is anticipating pass and either gets in the way, or goes double teaming the receiver.
If they are expecting run, and Favre does a play action fake, i.e. pretending to hand the ball to a runner before spinning around to throw, the chances of a big play, especially in those circumstances, are much greater, and the chances of an INT goes down as well.
So, without seeing it, I would reckon it was a defence playing run, a good play action fake to suck the safeties in further, and a long pass to a single coverage, or wide open receiver. That's what I'd do :D
has favre been with green bay all his career and has he ever won the superbowl?
Watched a Larcrosse match on NASN the other night....Strange sport
is that the game with netted sticks and they move the ball up the field by throwing it from player to player if it is yea its a strange sport
Okay, American football fans. Am I right in assuming that an 82 yard throw for a touchdown in overtime, while spectacular, is likely to give a coach a coronary? The chances of it being intercepted at that range are high. A coach would surely insist that they take as long as it takes to grind up to field goal range. Or am I missing something?
They put some force into that Hound, especially on something like a fastball. A major league fastball pitcher would throw anywhere from the low to high 90s and sometimes above. Some pitchers are more subtle, and try to throw a lot of different pitches like change ups, curveballs and sliders, but the amount of pitches they throw, combined with the effort expended makes throwing a lot of pitches (which starters tend to do) with little rest, hard to do.I still dont believe that even with only 24 hours rest that Matsuzaka would not have thrown better than either DelCarmen or Timlin did.
Also, there is the mentality thing as well. Relief pitchers are trained, and mentally tuned in, to enter games in full swing, when serious economy and accuracy are needed. Sometimes starters make bad relievers because they are used to setting the tempo themselves, and pitching their way into games.
As an aside, I once saw a game where the pitcher broke his arm throwing a pitch. The torque and pressure on the bone as he brought his arm forward just snapped the bone. It's happened a couple of times, but I remember that game well. I think Tampa Bay were playing.
Also, as an indication of how hard those lads throw in reality, this is what happens when a Randy Johnson 95mph fastball meets a pigeon :D
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-7251290349714298106 (http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-7251290349714298106)
Anyone watch Ice Hockey? I like watching it in the Winter Olympics and there was a game for the Sega Megadrive years back that i spent hours upon hours playing
Have to say there is hardly a sport in the world that i wouldn't watch apart from WWF but thats hardly a real sport is it ? But i really could never get into Basketball,Maybe because im only 5ft8" and i felt inferior but i just can't take to it at all
Do any of youse remember Spud Webb, 5ft 7 and could dunk the shit out of it......
I remember watching a pitcher in a Major League game throwing a high looping ball that dropped right on top of home plate and the batter couldnt get near it. Has anyone else seen this or was I dreaming??
That's Jai Alai
It's mainly spanish though I think
That's Jai Alai
It's mainly spanish though I think
I remember watching a pitcher in a Major League game throwing a high looping ball that dropped right on top of home plate and the batter couldnt get near it. Has anyone else seen this or was I dreaming??
I see TV3 have got the Irish rights to the NFL. Great news I though until I seen their "NFL Game Day" show is not on until 12:15am. Too bad they couldnt put it on at a better time and try to get people interested in the sport. Also they wont be showing any live games as far as I know, well other than the Superbowl in Arizona.
Sounds like the pitcher threw a Knuckle Ball Pitch (real name). The pitcher grips the ball with his knuckles just above the finger nail and lets loose.
The rotation that comes from this pitch is insane, it can drop or move left/right more than 12 inches. But the real problem with the pitch is control, half the time you don't where the ball is going to end up.
Sounds like the pitcher threw a Knuckle Ball Pitch (real name). The pitcher grips the ball with his knuckles just above the finger nail and lets loose.
The rotation that comes from this pitch is insane, it can drop or move left/right more than 12 inches. But the real problem with the pitch is control, half the time you don't where the ball is going to end up.
Tim Wakefield of the Red Sox one of the last remaining few guys that pitch this way
I see TV3 have got the Irish rights to the NFL. Great news I though until I seen their "NFL Game Day" show is not on until 12:15am. Too bad they couldnt put it on at a better time and try to get people interested in the sport. Also they wont be showing any live games as far as I know, well other than the Superbowl in Arizona.
will this effect sky sports showing live games?
I think we are pretty spoilt as regards NFL action on Sky, 2/3 live matches, NFL Network several times a week,Americas Game on Saturday morning etc. A long way from an hours highlights on Channel 4 all those years ago.
Sky are doing a great job, even if that Nick Halling lad annoys me for some reason.
even if that Nick Halling lad annoys me for some reason.
Quoteeven if that Nick Halling lad annoys me for some reason.
I thought it was just me. Deisach is right - he tries too hard to be a yank.
I saw the big furry fellow, Cecil on Sunday.
Who was the other tool they used to have on last year as an analyst, he was terrible, Jesse or somthing
Nick Halling: ugh, when I heard him say while commentating on a Bengals game he said "TJ Whosyamama" for TJ Housmanzadah. I almost got sick. Give it up lad. Cant wait to see TV3's coverage, just for a laugh. wonder will they do an ITV (John Barnes!, Gabby, Martin Johnson). Is it on air yet?
the patriots have covered the spread in every game this year (+5 this w/e) so go hit the bookies!
pga q school is on this w/e also and if anyone wants to follow bray's keith nolan's effort to get a card its here
http://pgatq.bluegolf.com/bluegolf/pgatq7/event/pgatq713/contest/1/leaderboard.htm?sort=place
he's in good shape after 3 rounds - tied 9th. top 26 plus ties get to the 2nd stage (3 stages in all)
the patriots have covered the spread in every game this year (+5 this w/e) so go hit the bookies!
pga q school is on this w/e also and if anyone wants to follow bray's keith nolan's effort to get a card its here
http://pgatq.bluegolf.com/bluegolf/pgatq7/event/pgatq713/contest/1/leaderboard.htm?sort=place
he's in good shape after 3 rounds - tied 9th. top 26 plus ties get to the 2nd stage (3 stages in all)
I am a patriots fan and have been for many years, they are the best team ever in my opinion and if they did manage to win tonight they will go undefeated in all likelyhood.
That said the Colts are brilliant themselves and I see them beating the Pats today, probably by a field goal, this will be some kind of game, a high scoring affair will suit the Patriots better than the colts.
Prediction. Colts 24 Pats 21.
Hey, Stew,
How come you're so taken with Boston? Thought you were in Wisconsin.
BTW, the Buckeyes handed it to the Badgers yesterday.
Been keeping tabs on this one on Yahoo(!). The detail on those game trackers on American websites is incredible.
Noticed that on the NFL website. Shows every little detail of every play on every drive.
Anyone watching Cowboys/Eagles now? Cowboys lead 14-7 and have just got the ball back, McNabb throws an interception.
Nick Halling predicts the Pats to go 19-0.
Whats wrong with the Broncos this year, 3-5 and got a right hammering against the Lions... :o
The Pats will lose their next game - mark my words
I dont tknow if it is going to be the procession to the Super Bowl for the Patriots that people think. Indy are not too far away from them and will have a fully fit Marvin Harrison to come back. As for Bellichick, i think he is just a grumpy f*cker with everyone.
the big question is - who is the sacrificial lamb coming out of the NFC to play them in the Superbowl?
Cowboys? Giants? Packers?
Record 109 yard touchdown run, San Diego on a Short Field Goal. Ridiculous catch at the back of the End Zone. 14-14 vs Vikings. Damn good game. Adrian Peterson is fantastic. Hope he's on your fantasy team. Vikes QB Jackson out of the game with concussion. Went in hard on a scramble instead of sliding.
In other news the Irish American Football League is hoping to have 12 fully kitted teams competing next season. compared to last years nine. Game is growing and growing in Ireland. Get into it!!
www.irish-american-football.org
Record 109 yard touchdown run, San Diego on a Short Field Goal. Ridiculous catch at the back of the End Zone. 14-14 vs Vikings. Damn good game. Adrian Peterson is fantastic. Hope he's on your fantasy team. Vikes QB Jackson out of the game with concussion. Went in hard on a scramble instead of sliding.
In other news the Irish American Football League is hoping to have 12 fully kitted teams competing next season. compared to last years nine. Game is growing and growing in Ireland. Get into it!!
here ya go - it was only on the NFL website
http://www.nfl.com/videos?videoId=09000d5d803debd0
thejuice, are you involved in this, do you play yourself? Seems interesting.
Lions are playing great, happy for them, they're no longer the whipping boys of the NFL. Packers won again too. Brett Farve, Superbowl, Final Year??????
Anyone else notice the cold handshake Tony Dungy got from Bill Bellichick after the game. I think after he got fined for cheating he's got pissed off and is wrecking revenge on the league, ie running up late scores. But still dont know what he'd have against Dungy, he seems a reasonable guy.
Allen drained an overtime 3 for the C's in Toronto last night... They look good, dont think they will win no. 17 but they could win the east this year.
thejuice, are you involved in this, do you play yourself? Seems interesting.
I played for the Dublin Dragons for a few years before I moved across the water. Played for the college over here and am hoping to join up with the local team here. Its a bollox trying to balance playing GAA and Gridiron though. They either clashing or your just too broke up to play. Teams are openly recruiting are setting up flag football for the youngsters. When I move home again I will line out for the Dragons unless by then there is a team in the Royal county.
but I hope they go 19-0 so BB can extend the middle finger to the NFL in style..
RE:Galwaybhoy
(I wouldnt say hurlings easy to get the hang of :P , not for a Meath man anyway)
There are a team setting up in Galway if your still living there. Think they're in the city. Its not too hard to get into, if you already know how the game is played from TV, ie the different roles and positions. JUst as long as you know the general rules, i think most important is understanding the Holding rule and the Offside rule. there the ones that catch the beginners out the most. the other most important thing is to listen to the coaches and also you'll be given a play book, and you must learn it in your spare time.
Sorry GY Joe, but what do you mean by this??Quotebut I hope they go 19-0 so BB can extend the middle finger to the NFL in style..
The Patriots may well go 19-0, and if they do in these days in the NFL it will be an unreal achievement, but how would that justify giving 2 fingers to anybody? They got caught rotten cheating. Belichick can count himself lucky he wasn't suspended for the season, or that the Patriots didn't forfeit at least that game.
Well I'd know the main rules of the game, but wouldn't know much tactical wise. I dont play any sport at the moment and would be interested in giving this a go, but dont fancy joining a team where everyone else has huge experience of the sport, but if teams are willing to train beginners then I would love to try it out. Ya I heard there was a team setting up in Galway, I'm an hour from the city but I would have no problem driving in and out. Might look it up further. Thanks for the information juice.
Sorry GY Joe, but what do you mean by this??Quotebut I hope they go 19-0 so BB can extend the middle finger to the NFL in style..
The Patriots may well go 19-0, and if they do in these days in the NFL it will be an unreal achievement, but how would that justify giving 2 fingers to anybody? They got caught rotten cheating. Belichick can count himself lucky he wasn't suspended for the season, or that the Patriots didn't forfeit at least that game.
they apparently had someone videotaping the Oppositions defensive coach and seeing what plays he was planningThe reason nothing was done is that (while it was underhand and a bit sneaky) it wasn't cheating. There was no way that they could video the plays, check what the opposition were doing, radio it to a coach and then onto the field, in time for Brady to actually do anything with it. The only way it would have worked would have been if the opposition had used the same signals for the same plays, the following year.
The reason nothing was done is that (while it was underhand and a bit sneaky) it wasn't cheating.Sources: Goodell determines Pats broke rules by taping Jets' signals (http://sports.espn.go.com/nfl/news/story?id=3014677)
The only thing may stop Pats going 16-0 is playing Giants in Meadowlands who may have a playoff place on the line and Pats may be resting some starters.....
The reason nothing was done is that (while it was underhand and a bit sneaky) it wasn't cheating. There was no way that they could video the plays, check what the opposition were doing, radio it to a coach and then onto the field, in time for Brady to actually do anything with it. The only way it would have worked would have been if the opposition had used the same signals for the same plays, the following year.
Another question for American sports geeks. Why was the Patriots going for a touchdown on a fourth down when they were thirty-something points ahead such a source of anger? Is there some unwritten rule that you only go for field goals when the game is well and truly won?
it was seen as disrespectful and running up the score.
Imagine you were playing a GAA team who scored 4-5 in the first 10 minutes and they kept on going for goals thoughout the game - instead of easing off and taking points - would you be pissed off?
interesting article in todays times by george kimball on the 'cheating' pats. them colts aint no angels either...
While cruising to their NFL-best 9-0 record this season, the Patriots have been the subject of much disapprobation. After a Patriots operative was caught videotaping the New York Jets' defensive signals during a September game at the Meadowlands, the league fined coach Bill Belichick a record $500,000 and owner Robert Kraft $250,000 and ordered the forfeiture of the Pats' number one pick in next spring's NFL draft.
The episode continues to cast a pall over what has been a dramatically successful New England march through the schedule. With seven games to play, the Patriots are 9-0 and would appear to have a reasonable chance of posting the second perfect record in NFL history. But some, including Don Shula, the Hall of Fame coach whose 1972 Miami Dolphins went 17-0 to set the standard, have suggested that were this year's New England team to top that feat, the achievement would be so tainted by "Cameragate" it should be marked with an asterisk, like Barry Bonds's home-run record.
While Shula's intimations of "cheating" were widely circulated, it might be noted that the legendary coach offered no criticism of Belichick's refusal to call off the dogs in the Redskins game. After all, those 17 Miami wins in 1972 included a 52-0 victory over the Patriots.
Last Sunday, however, the tables were turned. It was not Belichick, but Tony Dungy, the straight-arrow, Bible-quoting Indianapolis coach, and the defending world champion Colts who stood accused of playing fast and loose with the rules - first by jamming the transmission of the coach-to-quarterback signal to Tom Brady's helmet, and then by ratcheting up the already-deafening crowd noise at Indianapolis's RCA Dome by electronically pumping in artificial crowd noise. "I can tell you that from a functional standpoint, the coach-to-quarterback (transmission) was basically useless," groused Belichick after the game. "We had to use hand signals to send in the plays."
In what was advertised as the most hotly anticipated regular-season game in NFL history, Brady rallied the Patriots from a 10-point deficit to a 24-20 win, but at the beginning of the fourth quarter television viewers were jolted out of their seats when the boisterous voice of the crowd abruptly segued into a whirring noise that would be familiar to anyone whose CD player has skipped. It seemed plain the home team had been caught enhancing the volume.
Since the RCA Dome is generally considered one of the more hostile environments in the nation, many wondered why the Colts had bothered. As with the Patriots' sideline camera, it was not as if they needed help.
The Patriots lodged a protest with NFL security. But a day later the league absolved the Colts, suggesting the glitch had been the result of a malfunction in the CBS television truck.
Readers can judge for themselves. The "unusual audio moment" is available at http://ballhype.com/story/indy_cheats/. It promises to be the most-viewed sporting YouTube moment since a sideline cameraman caught Mark Mangino using the F-word more than a dozen times in a sideline tirade directed at one of his players two months ago.
© 2007 The Irish Times
interesting article in todays times by george kimball on the 'cheating' pats. them colts aint no angels either...
While cruising to their NFL-best 9-0 record this season, the Patriots have been the subject of much disapprobation. After a Patriots operative was caught videotaping the New York Jets' defensive signals during a September game at the Meadowlands, the league fined coach Bill Belichick a record $500,000 and owner Robert Kraft $250,000 and ordered the forfeiture of the Pats' number one pick in next spring's NFL draft.
The episode continues to cast a pall over what has been a dramatically successful New England march through the schedule. With seven games to play, the Patriots are 9-0 and would appear to have a reasonable chance of posting the second perfect record in NFL history. But some, including Don Shula, the Hall of Fame coach whose 1972 Miami Dolphins went 17-0 to set the standard, have suggested that were this year's New England team to top that feat, the achievement would be so tainted by "Cameragate" it should be marked with an asterisk, like Barry Bonds's home-run record.
While Shula's intimations of "cheating" were widely circulated, it might be noted that the legendary coach offered no criticism of Belichick's refusal to call off the dogs in the Redskins game. After all, those 17 Miami wins in 1972 included a 52-0 victory over the Patriots.
Last Sunday, however, the tables were turned. It was not Belichick, but Tony Dungy, the straight-arrow, Bible-quoting Indianapolis coach, and the defending world champion Colts who stood accused of playing fast and loose with the rules - first by jamming the transmission of the coach-to-quarterback signal to Tom Brady's helmet, and then by ratcheting up the already-deafening crowd noise at Indianapolis's RCA Dome by electronically pumping in artificial crowd noise. "I can tell you that from a functional standpoint, the coach-to-quarterback (transmission) was basically useless," groused Belichick after the game. "We had to use hand signals to send in the plays."
In what was advertised as the most hotly anticipated regular-season game in NFL history, Brady rallied the Patriots from a 10-point deficit to a 24-20 win, but at the beginning of the fourth quarter television viewers were jolted out of their seats when the boisterous voice of the crowd abruptly segued into a whirring noise that would be familiar to anyone whose CD player has skipped. It seemed plain the home team had been caught enhancing the volume.
Since the RCA Dome is generally considered one of the more hostile environments in the nation, many wondered why the Colts had bothered. As with the Patriots' sideline camera, it was not as if they needed help.
The Patriots lodged a protest with NFL security. But a day later the league absolved the Colts, suggesting the glitch had been the result of a malfunction in the CBS television truck.
Readers can judge for themselves. The "unusual audio moment" is available at http://ballhype.com/story/indy_cheats/. It promises to be the most-viewed sporting YouTube moment since a sideline cameraman caught Mark Mangino using the F-word more than a dozen times in a sideline tirade directed at one of his players two months ago.
© 2007 The Irish Times
I was watching that NFL show on Sky Sports yesterday and this came up. The Colts done nothing wrong, the TV channel that showed the game have said it was some sound problem on their part.
Huge and I mean Huge upset today in NCAA Football
University of Illinois 28 Ohio State 21
The Buckeyes came into the game as the number one team in the country and left flabergasted and pissed off.
Go ILLINI.
The seeding system is strange over here, but so far, the number 1 team, and 4 teams who were at a time ranked number 2, have all been beaten by unranked opposition. USC being beaten by stanford might have been the upset of the season so far.
Not leavin the sofa all day. Hope this giants/cowboys game lives up to its billing.
Edit: So far so good. Tony Curtis touchdown, assuming the extra point - 7-0 cowboys.
Not leavin the sofa all day. Hope this giants/cowboys game lives up to its billing.
Edit: So far so good. Tony Curtis touchdown, assuming the extra point - 7-0 cowboys.
17-17 at half-time. Good game so far but a few schoolboy penalties.
HOW IT WAS DONE: Using time-lapse photography, Journal Sentinel photographer Tom Lynn offers a day in the life of a game at Lambeau Field. Tom began by stationing a Canon EOS Mark II digital camera, mounted with a 16mm lens, atop the southwest corner of the stadium, encapsulating the entire bowl of the stadium with the field at its core. Powered by an external battery pack, the camera automatically fired every 20 seconds, shooting from 9:45 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., capturing the stadium as it filled with fans, as the game unfolded, and as the stadium emptied. The entire process captured 1,194 total images, which have been compressed into this two-minute video.
I never thought anybody would be better than Montana but Brady is getting very close. If he can go 19-0, then the discussion is over, he will be the greatest QB ever. Also he's only just turned 30, so he has another few good years left. By the time he retire he could have set records that will never be equalled.
The astonishing thing (well, one of many) about Brady is that he was the 199th pick in the draft and only made it into the team because Drew Bledsoe was injured. As the Americans would say, go figure.
Another one for you fellas who understand gridiron (ye should probably charge me a consultancy fee): what was so improbable about Brady's moving the ball into field goal range at the end of his first Super Bowl win? I've read about it a lot but it still doesn't make sense to me . . .
Brady is the second best quarterback of all time behind Favre. i am no packer fan but favre has destroyed all records and brady is on pace to eclipse even him.
Montana was a great player on a great team, to me he is fourth all time behind Elway and brady and Favre. Favre has not often had the surrounding cast in his time but he is a natural born winner and I have never seen his equal.
manning would be 5th at this stage, the game between the two big guns this year proved that Brady, although not at his best could still get the job done whereas manning has sputtered since and the team is struggling.
Favre has an average packeer team 9-1 at age 38, now that is amazing but Brady is the leagues best player by a country mile. ;D
I'm a Brady fan, mostly because he's been winning me money this year, however I think that brady has a huge advantage over every other quarterback in the league right now, his receiving unit is unbelievable. It is so far ahead of every other team in the league its not funny. This is not an argument against Brady, some of his play this year has been great (the faked spike made me laugh out loud)however if you look at a group of maybe 5/6 others there's maybe not as much in it. Favre has been great this year, but he has ridden his luck many times for game winners, peyton has had huge numbers of passes dropped by mediocre receivers, and his number one target is injured. Big ben is playing very well and his pocket play is improved no end. Romo is having a laugh, similar story to brady plucked from obscurity and now likely to make at least the nfc championship game (helps that he has TO on form). And just to add a controversial one, Eli Manning, palying in the goldfish bowl that is the Giants obsessed new york media, he came in as the number one pick and refused to play for the team that drafted him, forcing a trade to new york. Has dealt well with coaching and is having a great year despite crap receiving unit and a poor offensive line. Tikki barber opening his giant mouth about eli was the best thing to happen to him all year.
So to summarise (finally) Tom Brady best QB in the league? Maybe, just maybe
I'm a Brady fan, mostly because he's been winning me money this year, however I think that brady has a huge advantage over every other quarterback in the league right now, his receiving unit is unbelievable.
the best ever qb in NFL ever
Quotethe best ever qb in NFL ever
Brady may well achieve more than any other QB ever in the NFL, bit does that make him the best ever? For me best ever is most talented, not who achieves the most in the league. Maurice Fitz was way better than Pat Spillane, but Pat has more medals. better example may be (and this from an Armagh man) Frank McGuigan and Justin McNulty, Justy has a celtic cross in his pocket, doesn't make him the better player...
and here's the drive itself
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=QtktAeu2tQQ
Quotethe best ever qb in NFL ever
Brady may well achieve more than any other QB ever in the NFL, bit does that make him the best ever? For me best ever is most talented, not who achieves the most in the league. Maurice Fitz was way better than Pat Spillane, but Pat has more medals. better example may be (and this from an Armagh man) Frank McGuigan and Justin McNulty, Justy has a celtic cross in his pocket, doesn't make him the better player...
The Browns drafted Couch and Courtney Brown, both first overall picks, now out of the league (Brown was with Broncos last year, they cut him), Jeff Faine was a first round pick, cut. William Green was also cut, i think.
how many quarterbacks are available for draft each year ?
What happens all the players that don't make the nfl there must be loads of player who once their college career is over thats it no more football for them.
Some if not all will have some form of college education. Thats a requirement I think. As Ive never been in the states longer than a week I really dont know if they quit altogether, but im sure theres a senior mens league somewhere for people who want to keep playing. But I would imagine it wouldnt come close to what they'd have been used to in high school or college in terms of spectators
Im not sure if there is a major mens league in most or many cities for the people who finish after college. I guess they just go on to work, maybe they coach at high schools or something. One thing is for sure, any time I sit down at a poker table and come across someone who played college ball - they dont need an invitation to recount their glory days for everyone in the room. Sometimes its worth listening to, sometimes, yawn.
Mostly deel. Little omaha now and then when I can find a game.
Just remembered, Did anyone see the video messege from Kevin Everett before the BIlls-pats game. It was a nice touch, but didnt exactly rally the troops. Good to see he's doing well. They say he'll be able to live somewhat of a normal life now.
having a game at home this weekend with the lads looking forward to it a few drinks watch the football and not loose to much money i hope ;). Never heard of Little omaha might have to start a poker thread on the different types of games puckoon
:D I mean, I play a little omaha. Not a game called little omaha. The game is just omaha, although there are varying types. :D
Best way to not lose too much money at a home game deel is to make it a tournament style. Have everyone fork over 40$ into the pot at the start, give everyone the same amount of chips, and pay the top two or three.
The 25th Anniversary of The Play. sometime this week.
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=YAxu9Rfm77M
there was some very similar to that happen this year as well
http://sports.espn.go.com/broadband/video/videopage?videoId=3083220
there was some debate as to whether one of the cal players was grounded before releasing the lateral pass.
One of the cal players involved in the play is now serving 45- to life for murdering his wife and 3 year old kid.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Play (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Play)
http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,312382,00.html (http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,312382,00.html)
Jets in trouble for fans abusing women and asking them to flash their breasts during games at the meadow lands.
Philly fans are the biggest bunch of dicks in American sports ;D
Blinkered America is already among the thugs (http://sport.guardian.co.uk/americansports/comment/0,10160,1660848,00.html)
They like to glamorise European soccer hooligans, but nobody in US sports seems to realise that they've got a homegrown problem of their own, argues Steven Wells
The original premise for this article was to wander around Philadelphia on the day that the hated Dallas Cowboys gridiron team came to town, verbally assaulting Texans. "Who are ya?" and "Where's ya top boyz, zen?" I'd yell until my antics were noticed by Eagles hooligans who would initiate me into their "crew" - and thus start me on a journey of violence, homo-erotic male bonding and - ultimately - self-discovery. A bit like Bill Buford's Among the Thugs or that film Green Street. Only in reverse.
It didn't work out like that - not least because nobody walks around Philadelphia wearing Dallas colours. Ever. Nobody, not even a Texan, would be that insane. And that might in turn explain why I couldn't find a single hooligan - not just in Philadelphia but anywhere in the United States of America.
That's the wonder of American sports. There are fistfights, showers of beer (and faeces, canned dog food and coins), portable toilets kicked over with opposition fans inside them, knifings, deafening verbal abuse, full-scale riots, cars set alight, disabled fans stripped and their clothing destroyed, players puking because they've breathed in the pepper spray used by police to dissuade two sets of fans from kicking the sweet bejesus out of each other - and not a single hooligan in sight. Amazing when you think about it.
But first, here's a few brief extracts from America's ongoing and ever growing fascination with "soccer" hooliganism.
"We all know that in Europe you're not really considered a sports fan until you've been crushed to death against a chain-link fence," chuckles US TV satirist Steven Colbert.
"I just came from a soccer game, We got destroyed," says a beat-up looking dude in the Metro newspaper strip Girls & Sports.
"That must have been a pretty physical game," says a friend.
"Actually," says the severely bruised dude, "I was in the stands." Ba-dum-tish! (That same issue carried a 60-word article about how the city of Boston paid $5.1m to the parents of a female student killed by police during the riot that followed the Red Sox winning baseball's World Series in 2004.)
In August I saw Chelsea play Milan in Giants Stadium, New Jersey. As is usual when the soccer superpowers come to town, the atmosphere was carnivalesque. There were Chelsea and Milan, Poland, Portugal and England shirts with nobody so much as exchanging a dirty look.
Compare that to an incident at a 1980s Philadelphia Eagles game (as recounted in Jere Longman's new book about the Eagles, If Football's A Religion, Why Don't We Have A Prayer?). Two Philadelphia fans assist a fan in a wheelchair to the top of a steep ramp. They notice that he's wearing a Dallas shirt, so they turn him round and say: "Take off the jersey or you're going for a ride." The terrified Cowboy strips off his shirt - and the Eagles fans rip it to shreds.
Meanwhile, back at Giants Stadium, things do indeed turn nasty, but it's nothing to do with soccer. On the concourse, a tiny New York Giants gridiron fan spots a giant in a Phialdelphia Eagles shirt and goes nuts. "Eagles suck! How many Super Bowls you won? Huh, huh?" he yaps, spraying beer-spit everywhere, standing on tip-toes and prodding the big guy hard in the chest. The soccer fans part on either side of the increasingly violent bickering.
There's not much soul-searching about sports hooliganism within the US - and what little there is tends to focus on the behaviour of African-American basketball players rather than predominantly white football fans. For no matter how many college games end in drunken mob violence (as many do), no matter how many American city centres see running battles between sports fans and riot police, the US sports media continues to present hooliganism as something utterly un-American. (This blinkered provincialism has parallels with the 1996 decision by the US State Department to "red flag" parts of south London as no-go areas for American tourists, claiming that Millwall was as dangerous as Guatemala - which, at the time, was overrun by right-wing death squads.)
When it comes to hooliganism, the US media really is the pot calling the kettle black. Riots at US sports events occur far more frequently than they do in the UK. And yet, in American popular culture, the "hooligan" is almost without exception portrayed as a soccer fan (and nearly always as English).
Which might explain the success in the US of the movie Green Street. This, as I'm sure you know, is the story of how American Frodo Baggins is taught how to beat up idiots by a Brad Pitt lookalike West Ham hoolie with the worst cockney accent since Sir John Gielgud played Arthur Mullard in the Young Vic's disastrous 1991 stage adaptation of Yus My Dear. The US reviews of Green Street read like anthropological essays - discussions of a curious and disturbing phenomenon so utterly alien to the American way of life that it can only be understood as a quirky custom pursued by distant barbarians.
Typical of this world-view is an article by Mickey Charles on sportsnetwork.com. He starts with an overview of US sports rowdiness: "There are riots in the streets after a championship comes to town in any sport. Looting, burning cars, terrorising women and ripping their clothes off as part of the ceremony seems to have reached obscene levels ..."
But he then concludes that this is no big deal compared to the psycho-antics of those crazy Europeans. "In England ... the fans rushing on to the field don't want to embrace the players. They are carrying knotted ropes used historically for lynching, rocks, beer bottles poised to be thrown and whatever else is not nailed down. Frenzied followers of one team chase down those of the opponents, not to congratulate for a good effort, but to dismember."
The ill-informed double standard would be breathtaking if it weren't so commonplace. OK, so US sports has no equivalent of the Lazio Ultras or the ICF. But try wearing a Dallas jersey into the Eagles' "Nest of Death". Actually, don't. In 1997, Veterans stadium - the Eagles' old stomping ground - had a fully functional court inserted into its basement after a game against San Francisco saw an estimated 60 fights. The judge, who actually heard cases during the game, was seldom less than fully employed.
Things haven't been improved by the Eagles' move to their new stadium. Last year's NFC Divisional play-off game against the Minnesota Vikings saw an immense number of scraps. Vikings fan Joe Liwienski had earlier attended the much publicised "basketbrawl' game in Michigan, where Indiana Pacers basketball players shamefully rucked with Detroit Pistons fans in the stands. "This was 10 times worse," he said.
"The European hooligan thing is really overdone by the US media - it's much worse here," admits Philly sports fan Al Petrillo. "Eagles games are out of control. It's like a rite of passage, you get shit-faced drunk and out of control. The FU's start flying and then the fists start flying. There was this guy, an old guy in Redskins attire, maybe in his sixties. They roughed him up, broke his leg and sent him back to Washington."
Petrillo has also worked security at Philadelphia Flyers ice hockey games where, he claims, violence is just as rife. "Especially in the play-offs. There's fights at every game. There was this guy in a [New Jersey] Devils jersey, just sat there minding his own business. A Flyers fan walked past him then just turned around and just beat the piss out of him."
A fan of English soccer, Petrillo has attended games at Highbury and Stamford Bridge. "I didn't see anything, not a thing - zero fistfights. I even saw the coach with the opposition team arrive - nothing, no banging on the sides, nothing. In the streets before, during, after the game - I felt completely 100% safe and secure."
Meanwhile, back in Philadelphia, the clash with hated rivals Dallas is hyped in the local press - but no mention is made of hooliganism. Which is odd if only because of this tie's history. In 1981, the Eagles faithful bombarded the visiting Dallas team with snowballs - some of which allegedly contained batteries. Ex-Philadelphia mayor and current Pennsylvania State governor (and fanatical Eagles fan) Ed Rendell is widely believed to have thrown the (battery-free) snowball that smacked the Dallas coach in the head - a story that Rendell has always denied but which has done nothing to damage his electability. In 1968, Eagles fans even pelted Santa Claus with snowballs - an incident that is invariably quoted when out-of-towners try to paint Philadelphia as the NFL's equivalent of Millwall. Which, of course, they frequently do.
"The stadium is beyond civilisation," a Vikings fan told a local paper, before going on to compare the Eagles fans to the werewolves in the movie Wolfen. The Atlanta Falcons coach advised fans to dress only in green, otherwise "they'll get the shit beat out of them. They might be throwing batteries at us. They might be dumping dog shit on us," he told reporters. "It's going to be awesome".
"I have never seen a more classless, vulgar, belligerent group of jack-asses in my entire life," wrote Dolphins fan Brian Fien after 20,000 "screaming green morons" visited Miami. The reputation of the Eagles fans is so bad that, when they failed to boo a little blind boy with cerebral palsy when he faltered while singing the national anthem during a brutal snowstorm, they were congratulated by ESPN.com.
"We thrive on the fact that everybody can't stand us," Eagles fan Shaun Young told Jere Longman. "We're a bunch of filthy, dirty, nasty, drinking bums. In a sense we take pride in that. We don't want you here. We want you to be afraid to come."
Rich Burg, press officer for the Philadelphia Eagles was very concerned by this article. He refused Guardian Unlimited access to the game against the Dallas Cowboys ("we do not provide credentials for media to access our fans inside the stadium") and suggested that we write the article from the car park.
Sour grapes? Maybe. But at an Eagles game in 2002, reporters were dragged out of the stands by security for daring to talk to the fans. Which all suggests that the Eagles press office might be ashamed of fans like Shaun - the guys who pay their wages. Not that they should be. Shaun's not a hooligan. And neither are (most of) his fellow Eagles fanatics. But then neither are most English "soccer" fans. Honest.
Of course, that depends on how you define "hooligan". But sadly there's no national debate about hooliganism in the US press. There's no discussion about the wisdom of selling alcohol inside stadiums or of letting home and away fans sit together. Nobody in US sports seems to even realise that they've got a long-term, deeply rooted and entirely homegrown hooligan problem.
Whenever American football fans riot or ice hockey fans beat the hell out of one another, whenever the supporters of basketball or baseball teams go on a cop-taunting, car-torching, window-smashing victory spree, the violence is invariably treated as a local disturbance or an historical anomaly. And whenever college football fans engage in riotous behaviour that would be considered a national scandal if it happened in Britain (as they frequently do), no one seems terribly inclined to call it hooliganism.
Meanwhile lazy US satirists compare rioting French Islamic youth to soccer hooligans, Bucky the monkey-hating cat in the nationally syndicated Get Fuzzy strip raises a chuckle by dressing up as a Hartlepool FC "English hooligan", and the Simpsons scriptwriters seem unable to mention soccer without inserting a gag about how the sport turns its supporters into mindless thugs.
The truth is that both Bill Buford and Frodo Baggins could have stayed at home to get their slumming hoolie kicks.
Meantime, I think it's time for the pot to shut the f**k up.
They are right about Millwall though, dont think its actually a place though, is Lewisham the area? My Da lives in West London and said any blacks he knows are shit scared to go near it.
Green bay 10-1. Favre interviewed:
Interviewer: "Ok Brett, admit now on national TV that greenbay at 10-1 are a good team"
Favre: 'We're not a bad team"
Man=Legend. I never have as much fun watching football as I do when he is playing and on form.
The Steelers win 3-0 over the Miami Dolphins tonight in the MNF game
Yes folks 3 nothing - on a field goal scored with just 20 seconds to go in the game
How did I watch that crap?
Yes folks 3 nothing - on a field goal scored with just 20 seconds to go in the game
Anyone staying up to watch Greenbay/Dallas Thursday night? This should be a really good game.
I see Sky are replaying NFL America's game today, how come Total access isnt being shown? Normally a very good show.
Anyone staying up to watch Greenbay/Dallas Thursday night? This should be a really good game.
I see Sky are replaying NFL America's game today, how come Total access isnt being shown? Normally a very good show.
Is "Americas Game" usually repeated, i usually watch it on Saturday morning when i get the chance.
Oh shit!!, damn, i really like Sean Taylor. I cant believe it, he was a class player, ok not the most likeable of people perhaps, he's had his trouble but, thats awful news. He was one of the few really hard hitters in the league. RIP Sean Taylor.
International
MAC No. 3 vs. Big East No. 4 Toronto Jan. 5, 2008, Noon ESPN2 HD
Well I wont be f**king watching it as its only available on the NFL network station. >:( >:( >:(There is a live stream available at nfl.com
edited to add: Isn't really live coverage of the game, just talking in the studio and occasional highlights from the gameWell I wont be f**king watching it as its only available on the NFL network station. >:( >:( >:(There is a live stream available at nfl.com
I passed out, did my best to stay awake but had to be up for work at 7. looked like a good ol game. loved TO's popcorn celebration. He's the dude and as a player almost impossible to cover for an entire game or keep scoreless.
He's an absolute w**ker
Its not so much the cockiness as the downright selfishness and divisivness he showed during the end of his time at phillidelphia.I passed out, did my best to stay awake but had to be up for work at 7. looked like a good ol game. loved TO's popcorn celebration. He's the dude and as a player almost impossible to cover for an entire game or keep scoreless.
He's an absolute w**ker
Can't say I'm a big fan of him either. Obviously he's a real talent but the man is in love with himself. I notice Nick Halling on Sky can't stand him.
Sometimes I can take to cocky players in any sport but TO isn't one of them.
Its not so much the cockiness as the downright selfishness and divisivness he showed during the end of his time at phillidelphia.I passed out, did my best to stay awake but had to be up for work at 7. looked like a good ol game. loved TO's popcorn celebration. He's the dude and as a player almost impossible to cover for an entire game or keep scoreless.
He's an absolute w**ker
Can't say I'm a big fan of him either. Obviously he's a real talent but the man is in love with himself. I notice Nick Halling on Sky can't stand him.
any Dolphin fans getting this for Christmas?
Can't beat a a bit of Onion
200 a little too much for me, just did a 50$ 4 team parlay, which stood to earn 550$, had the cowboys not been such arseholes. What made it worse was the fact that it was the first game of the ticket that let me down, I didnt even get a good rush out of it, and I HATE the cowboys.
Such is gambling!
Nice bet DH, where are you based?
Hi All,
Back to College Bowls for a moment, I've created a group in Yahoo Sports (http://football.fantasysports.yahoo.com/bowl (http://football.fantasysports.yahoo.com/bowl)) to pick the College Bowl Games this Christmas. Just log in and 'join a group' the league ID is 22725 Password is sundevils.
Cheers
He's an absolute w**ker
It was interesting that Ian Allen, the Sky Sports analyst and former Eagle said quite a few of the Eagles were saying the same things that TO was about Mc Nabb but were not as outspoken as him so never said anything.
Just wondering when did TO join Dallas and what did he say about Mc Nabb?
There's a huge day in store today - as the report into steroid use in baseball is revealed.
The author if the report should be familiar to all of us - Senator George Mitchell
Dwayne DeRosario - it was MLS Goal of the Year in 2005 I think
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=K-z6iPk_9vM
the commentary :D :D :D :D
Get your money on the Jets. Surely even they can beat a 24 point spread!
Or maybe not...
I hope they have new signals this time.
Any American Sports worth seeing in Florida over the Christmas holidays?Where in Florida
Any American Sports worth seeing in Florida over the Christmas holidays?
We will be staying in Port Charlotte from 20th to 30th. Its an hour and a half from Tampa.
Probably a little far from Orlando or Miami.
Your only hope then would be Tampa Bay Lightning (ice hockey, cue heganboy's protestations that it is not a real sport :) )
Thu, Dec 20 Toronto 7:30 PM
Sat, Dec 22 Carolina 7:30 PM
Thu, Dec 27 Montreal 7:30 PM
Sat, Dec 29 Philadelphia 1:00 PM
or
Tampa Bay Buccaneers , American Football if you are around on the Sunday
SUN, DEC 30 Carolina at Tampa Bay 1:00 PM
I will be going to the Dolphins game Sunday, I am surprised the spread is only 3.5 thought the Ravens would be favoured by more.
Bloody Mary at 9am to start the day then a bit of tailgating, hopefully we will celebrating our first victory with a cigar and whiskey when we get home. Forecast is for 80 Degrees with a chance of rain, should be a good days crack. If we don't win this week we will just have to beat the Patriots in New England the following week (guessing the spread will be close to 40 for that one) ...some chance. The Bengals the last week might be our only chance for a win. Who would ever have thought that the Dolphins could go 0 and 16 times have changed down here bring back Marino.
Was watching "who is ?" on Sky last weekend, Devin Hester is about to beat Brian Mitchells NFL record for most return touchdowns (kickoff & punt)......The amazing thing is Hester is in his 2nd season, it took Mitchell 13 seasons.
I will be going to the Dolphins game Sunday, I am surprised the spread is only 3.5 thought the Ravens would be favoured by more.
Bloody Mary at 9am to start the day then a bit of tailgating, hopefully we will celebrating our first victory with a cigar and whiskey when we get home. Forecast is for 80 Degrees with a chance of rain, should be a good days crack. If we don't win this week we will just have to beat the Patriots in New England the following week (guessing the spread will be close to 40 for that one) ...some chance. The Bengals the last week might be our only chance for a win. Who would ever have thought that the Dolphins could go 0 and 16 times have changed down here bring back Marino.
6 of the dolphins losses have been by a fieldgoal. I dont think they are much more than +3.5 underdogs in this game. I think the weather in foxboro could well make a punt on the jets worthwhile - not for me though...
Was watching "who is ?" on Sky last weekend, Devin Hester is about to beat Brian Mitchells NFL record for most return touchdowns (kickoff & punt)......The amazing thing is Hester is in his 2nd season, it took Mitchell 13 seasons.
Hester is something else SS , the buzz of anticipation around Soldier Field before he receives the ball is unreal
quite fancy the Jets to cover the spread today
Its a huge spread. I think if the wind keeps up they will have a good shot at it.
Would love to see the dolphins win too.
Here are my bets this week
200 Giants(-5) and Saints (-3 1/2)
100 Balt (-3 1/2) and Packers (-8)
Dolphins will win today :D
fair play, i wouldnt have backed them against the Ravens, but Im glad they didnt go 0-16 it would have done serious damage to the franchiase.
Here are my bets this week
200 Giants(-5) and Saints (-3 1/2)
100 Balt (-3 1/2) and Packers (-8)
How can the giants let Eli try to win their games? They have a starting running back as big as most offensive lineman and blazing speed. Start running then the passing game will be so much easier. A complete fiasco in their home stadium.
Best thing about betting is there is always next week ;)
On a side note how must TO feel being shown up by his old QB in Dallas. Fair play to the Eagles and McNabb.
Could be screwed on both counts DH.
Steelers vs Rams tonite www.nfl.com/liveSteelers 7 Rams 0
Giants -3
Colts-7
Packers -8.5
Detroit kansas over 43.5
20$ parlay.
Giants -3
Colts-7
Packers -8.5
Detroit kansas over 43.5
20$ parlay.
What about them f**king bears then. >:(
Sorry Puck
Lovie Smith said the season is not successful unless they sweep the Pack.
Made 300 on the game to cancel out a few bd picks this week.
End of the season is tough making picks with teams resting/evaluating players.
Has it been done before?
on a side note jerry rice set his record with just 12 games. but still fair play to the pats they're and awesome team and fair play to the giants for making a game of it, hey could easily rested their starters. None of the wild card teams look strong enough to worry any of the top seeded teams. Farve getting to the Superbowl would be a nice way for him to finish his career. but its a long shot.
Fair play to the Pats - I'm not really bothered about the play-offs now
The only thing that interests me is the possibility of Favre vs Brady in the Superbowl
Id only count this seasons games. Anyways, check out the hit of the year by Darrel Reid of the colts on the titans Chris Henry.
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=FFxNfICa2xM (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=FFxNfICa2xM)
happy new year.
Id only count this seasons games. Anyways, check out the hit of the year by Darrel Reid of the colts on the titans Chris Henry.
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=FFxNfICa2xM (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=FFxNfICa2xM)
happy new year.
Just something I've been thinkin' about while watching NFL, now I've never been to one, missed the one before the Phins-Giants game, but tailgating parties look like a lot of fun, and I was thinking it would be great before a GAA match. Its taking the "hang-sangidges" to another level. When parking in Clonliffe college, pop open the boot get out the BBQ, open a few cans of beer (bring a slab of beer), fry some sausages, have music beltin' out the car radio, get as many other fans involved as possible, then head for the game, cuts out the pub and on a hot day would be great, bring some deck chairs, beats playing in the traffic outside Quinns.
happy new year.
Fair Play to Chris Henry from getting up, though I think it was his pride that helped him up, his bell was ringing I'd say. By the way I'd say Darrel Reid can expect a fine for that in the post sometime this week. Any time I got hit helmet to helmet its never nice, it does protect you but it does leave you woosey if your hit hard enough.
Juice, the hit was legal there will be no fine. American football is more collision than contact.
haven't watched any bowl games so far
caught that outdoor ice hockey game played in the Bills NFL stadium - looked pretty neat
what an organisation
celtics doing well, lakers showing great form this season also. kobe playing like a team man, sharing the load. christmas day against the suns was as good a lakers performance as ive seen in a while.
Cam Cameron of the Miami Dolphins = sacked
Quotewhat an organisation
who cheat
celtics doing well, lakers showing great form this season also. kobe playing like a team man, sharing the load. christmas day against the suns was as good a lakers performance as ive seen in a while.
Spare a thought for us Knicks fans!
Bill Parcells is going to bring in his own people, thats how he works. I think he can turn them around quickly, just gutted he didnt go to the Falcons. Brian Billick getting the boot was a surprise though a 9-game losing streak is horrendous in any sport, there was a severe disiplinary meltdown and Ray Lewis did openly criticise him. So i guess i shouldnt have been so surprised
They will probabily trade Jason Taylor and Zach Thomas for a couple of draft picks, it is going to be a long rebuilding job down here.
Quotewhat an organisation
who cheat
NEW YORK -- Roger Goodell's hard line on discipline, aimed so far at players, came down this time on a coach and a team.
New England coach Bill Belichick was fined the NFL maximum of $500,000 Thursday and the Patriots were ordered to pay $250,000 for spying on an opponent's defensive signals.
The commissioner also ordered the team to give up next year's first-round draft choice if it reaches the playoffs and second- and third-round picks if it doesn't. If the Patriots lose their first-rounder next season they still will have a first-round pick, obtained from San Francisco in the deal that brought Moss from Oakland.
"This episode represents a calculated and deliberate attempt to avoid longstanding rules designed to encourage fair play and promote honest competition on the playing field," Goodell said in a letter to the Patriots.
Reached at his home, Patriots owner Robert Kraft declined to comment.
The videotaping came to light after a camera was confiscated from Patriots video assistant Matt Estrella while he was on the New York Jets' sideline during New England's 38-14 win last Sunday at Giants Stadium.
blown out of all proportion or not - they did cheat
http://www.nfl.com/news/story?id=09000d5d80251b7e&template=with-video&confirm=trueQuoteNEW YORK -- Roger Goodell's hard line on discipline, aimed so far at players, came down this time on a coach and a team.
New England coach Bill Belichick was fined the NFL maximum of $500,000 Thursday and the Patriots were ordered to pay $250,000 for spying on an opponent's defensive signals.
The commissioner also ordered the team to give up next year's first-round draft choice if it reaches the playoffs and second- and third-round picks if it doesn't. If the Patriots lose their first-rounder next season they still will have a first-round pick, obtained from San Francisco in the deal that brought Moss from Oakland.
"This episode represents a calculated and deliberate attempt to avoid longstanding rules designed to encourage fair play and promote honest competition on the playing field," Goodell said in a letter to the Patriots.
Reached at his home, Patriots owner Robert Kraft declined to comment.
The videotaping came to light after a camera was confiscated from Patriots video assistant Matt Estrella while he was on the New York Jets' sideline during New England's 38-14 win last Sunday at Giants Stadium.
Seahawks - are 7 and 1 at home this season
I think the Jags as well - too much running
Giants - are 7 and 1 on the road this season
Chargers - just cos
AP Coach of the year - he had to get it really
doesn't stop me from thinking he's an awful arsehole though
13-0 after 3rd Q
Tampa touchdown will kill me!!
Thats not a bad spread carmen - the chargers were 10 in reno this morning. I didnt get in to do my bet because of the stupid weather.
Definitely heading over there. Those Charger Girls probably don't know the delights of the Washingbay.[/b]
Can't understand how that was a LT touchdown. Was he not stopped?
A player is stopped when his knees touch the ground either because he was tackled by a defensive player or because he fell.
Caught this:Thats that then!QuoteA player is stopped when his knees touch the ground either because he was tackled by a defensive player or because he fell.
A down ends, and the ball becomes dead, after any of the following:
* The player with the ball is forced to the ground (tackled) or has his forward progress halted by members of the other team (as determined by an official).
You are absolutely right gabriel, he is, but he also wants to be one and plays it up alittlelot.
I think he meant why do you think he is an awful arsehole.
BTW, the lakers are kicking ass and taking names at the minute. Going to be interesting later in the season. Big game tomorrow for Boston and Detroit.
was I the only person that noticed the titans coach physically alluding to his players that the player with the visor (i.e.LT) was going to be the receiver?! ???
Selections for weekend in bold -
Washington Redskins at Seattle Seahawks - Redskins Redskins are playing their best football at the right time.
Jacksonville Jaguars at Pittsburgh Steelers - Jaguars Doubt if Steelers can stop Taylor & Jones- Drew
New York Giants at Tampa Bay Buccanneers - Giants If Manning plays smart they should win.
Tennessee Titans at San Diego Chargers - Chargers Too many weapons, no offense for Titans.
Seahawks - are 7 and 1 at home this season
I think the Jags as well - too much running
Giants - are 7 and 1 on the road this season
Chargers - just cos
Anyone watching the 60 minutes interview with Roger Clemence - the man looks as guilty as sin.
Roger Clemens repeatedly denied using steroids during a telephone conversation with Brian McNamee, but the former trainer would not confirm or deny his claims.
On Monday in Houston, Clemens and his lawyer played a tape of a 17-minute conversation between the pitcher and trainer last week as Clemens continues his defense against allegations in the Mitchell report that he used performance-enhancing drugs.
McNamee told the Mitchell Commission that he injected the seven-time Cy Young Award winner with steroids and human growth hormone 16-21 times in 1998, 2000 and 2001. Clemens asserts that the trainer injected him with only the painkiller lidocaine and the vitamin B-12.
"For the life of me I'm trying to figure out why you told guys I did steroids," Clemens said to McNamee on the tape.
"I understand that," McNamee responded.
Over and over, Clemens makes statements like, "I just want the truth out there and like I said, I can't believe what is being said," and, "Just the stuff I'm reading and hearing, so much of it is untrue and it's just tearing everyone apart."
But McNamee never says that he lied to the Mitchell Commission regarding Clemens' alleged steroid use. He does repeatedly ask what he can do for Clemens -- 21 times to be exact.
"I'm telling the truth and I want it out there," Clemens said, and McNamee responded, "Tell me what you want me to do. I'll go to jail. I'll do whatever you want."
At no point in the conversation does McNamee say that he would be willing to say that Clemens did not take steroids, and Clemens does not ask him to.
Asked why Clemens never directly answered the "what do you want me to do" question, his attorney, Rusty Hardin, said:
"The last thing Roger wanted, just as we did, was any suggestion that we were trying to interfere or coerce a federal witness. So, yeah, all he kept saying [was] nothing. Except you hear him throughout saying, 'Tell the truth.'"
McNamee did not know the conversation was being recorded. Under state law in New York and Texas, only one party has to give consent for a phone conversation to be taped.
Richard Emery, one of McNamee's lawyers, told The New York Times on Monday that the tape is authentic, but he also expressed outrage that Clemens had taped the conversation.
"It's war now," he said, according to the newspaper. "This guy will stop at nothing."
McNamee is obviously distraught in the profanity-laced conversation. Saying his son is sick and that he has no money, McNamee added, "it is what it is, and it's not good. And I want it to go away. And I'm with you. I'm in your corner. I don't want this to happen. But I'd also like not to go to jail, too. But it has nothing to do with you."
Emery said Brian McNamee Jr., 10, has celiac disease, which damages the small intestine and interferes with absorption of nutrients from food.
"It's outrageous and disgusting for them to for their own cynical purposes, to perpetuate a continuing lie, to use this child and splay his disease and disability all over the press for the world to know," Emery said. "It just shows they'll go to any lengths."
As for his money problems, McNamee said: "I'm not doing a book deal. I got offered seven figures to go on TV. I didn't do it. I didn't take it. I didn't do anything. All I did was what I thought was right -- I never thought it was right, but I thought that I had no other choice, put it that way."
McNamee says a number of times that he would "like to sit down in person with you."
Clemens does not agree to meet, instead saying, "Just give me a little time."
Another of McNamee's lawyers, Earl Ward, told Andrew Marchand of ESPN 1050 radio in New York that "the tape adds absolutely nothing."
He also said that McNamee will not speak again until he testifies Jan. 16 to the House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform.
As for his reaction to learning that McNamee had spoken with Clemens, Ward said, "I was surprised. I wasn't pleased."
After the tape was played, Hardin said Clemens was willing to speak to Congress. Clemens and McNamee were invited to Washington to testify.
Clemens' former teammates Andy Pettitte and Chuck Knoblauch also have been asked to testify. Pettitte hired Jay Reisinger, the lawyer who represented Sammy Sosa before the committee three years ago.
Kirk Radomski also was asked to appear before the committee. In the Mitchell report, McNamee said he obtained the drugs he used to inject Clemens from the former Mets clubhouse attendant or Clemens supplied them.
"I'm going to Congress and I'm going to tell the truth," Clemens said. "I'm going to tell everything that I know about the situations and steroids and anything else that I have knowledge about, which isn't a lot."
The committee planned to ask Clemens' representatives for the complete recording of the telephone conversation played at the news conference, said Karen Lightfoot, communications director for the panel's chairman, California Democrat Henry Waxman.
Laying out a timeline of events, Hardin said on Monday that they did find out before the release of the Mitchell report that McNamee had made incriminating statements about Clemens. They decided not to respond, Hardin said, because it was not clear if the report would name names.
- EnlargeAP Photo/David J. Phillip
Roger Clemens, left, and his lawyer, Rusty Hardin listen to the tape.
They also had another hope.
"Roger thought that since it was so untrue, perhaps Brian McNamee would change his mind," Hardin said.
The New York Daily News also reported on Monday that days before the scheduled release of the Mitchell report, Clemens' investigators asked McNamee whether he would be willing to recant.
McNamee reportedly called Clemens and Pettitte to warn them that he had spoken to the government. During an interview on "60 Minutes" which aired on Sunday night, Clemens denied knowing that he would be named by Mitchell.
McNamee said during the call to Clemens that in 2004 he warned Jim Murray, who works for Clemens' agents, to be prepared for a link to Radomski to come out.
"Any suggestion by Brian McNamee that he gave the name of Kirk Radomski to anyone at our firm is erroneous," Hendricks Sports Management said in a statement.
Clemens filed a defamation lawsuit against McNamee Sunday night in Harris County District Court in Texas, listing 15 alleged statements McNamee made to Mitchell. Clemens claimed the statements were "untrue and defamatory."
"We are ready to go to Congress and we are ready to countersue," Ward said, adding that they will first try to get Clemens' suit thrown out before they decide for sure if they will sue.
Also Sunday, McNamee told SI.com that Clemens was "in no way an abuser of steroids."
"He took them in late July, August, and never for more than four to six weeks max," he was quoted as saying. "Within the culture of what was going on, he was just a small part of it. A lot of guys did it. You can't take away the work Roger did. You can't take away the fact that he worked out as hard as anybody."
Hardin said he is recommending that Clemens not take a lie-detector test.
"I think he's the one guy who could probably beat the test," McNamee told SI.com. "He might actually believe that he's telling the truth."
Monday was the first time Clemens answered questions from a group of reporters.
His anger at reporters for the way he has been portrayed was clear when he mentioned the Hall of Fame. There has been speculation that the allegations in the Mitchell report would hurt his chances for induction.
"Do you think I played my career because I care about the Hall of Fame? … If you have a vote … you keep your vote," he said and walked off shortly afterward.
Clemens angrily denied taking performance-enhancing drugs on Sunday as well. His appearance came after weeks of criticism that he wasn't publicly denying the allegations.
Hardin said on Monday the legal team told the pitcher to wait.
"We knew that once this came out, there would surely be congressional hearings," Hardin said.
Hardin also wanted to make clear that Clemens and his legal team were not questioning the integrity of former senator George Mitchell.
"We are not making any allegations of misconduct by the government or the Mitchell Commission," he said.
On Monday, Mitchell said the characterization of the interview as a 'Cold War interrogation,' in which McNamee was read a statement and asked to confirm it, was false, according to the New York Daily News.
"At the outset of each of the interviews, the federal law enforcement officials told McNamee that he should just tell the truth and warned him that he faced criminal jeopardy if he made any false statements," Mitchell said, according to the Daily News. "Also at each of the interviews, I told him that all I asked of him was the truth, nothing more and nothing less. He said that he understood and would comply.
"Occasionally, members of my investigative staff or some of the federal law enforcement officials who were present asked questions or sought clarification. There was no 'Cold War era' reading of McNamee's prior statements by any federal official, as alleged," Mitchell said, according to the Daily News.
he's guilty
he's guilty
he's guilty
Just wondering lads has any one here ever been to a play off game or even the superbowl or is that just mission impossible?
Considering the last 2 Superbowls were played in stadia smaller than croker, and the population difference, I'd say its very difficult to get tickets. Would do anything to go to a Superbowl or Championship game.
I reckon Jaguars have a good shot at the pats. They have the best running game in the league, and David Gerrard is a great QB. But they'll have to have a flawless game and their D will need to be immense. Anyone know what the lowest the Pats have scored in a game this season?
On a side note, from a sporting point of view, Boston seems to be the place to be. Three major American trophies could be heading that way this year, I think.
Anyone know what the lowest the Pats have scored in a game this season?
although hegan thinks NHL isn't a proper American sport
jaguars?!
would love nothing more than pats to reach the afc final and chargers to kick their a** (colts first of course!)
Have the Giants and the Chargers taken! Hoping for two tight matches. Impressed with Green Bay yesterday not so much with New England although it says alot about them that they can still win so easily.
Giants got to test TO s ankle early, Cowboys not the same without him!
O'Neill you think the chargers are going to win it outright, or cover a 9 point spread?
Beautiful day at the sports book for Puck.
The packers and seagulls took the packers and the over
Jaguars Vs Patriots took the jags (+14) and the over.
50$ parlay at 10-1.
Now I got some money to lose tomorrow on those two ugly games. Colts -9 against the chargers and the cowboys -7.5 against the giants?
Can anyone reasonably pick either of those? ???
Great atmosphere.
Bolts v Cheats next week.ooo, harsh!
It's in NE?
id say the line was takin some abuse, all the same shouldn't hav bothered with them!As does every travelling team each week in the NFL......He is a tool.
Patriots will be happy with that. Chargers and Colts beat the hell out of each other. Some walking wounded amongst the Chargers.
How big a tool is Rivers though? Mouthing off to the fans at the end. Roaring abuse at Jay Cutler a few weeks ago. That fella can't keep his gob shut.
Bolts v Cheats next week.
In fairness, the Giants stole that they were outplayed the entire game...
yet another great game... well done the giants, romo took some beating in the last quarter. delighted to see jerry jones crestfallen face at the end..
Great games this weekend. A few random thoughts.
Green Bay v New York Giants. In the Frozen Tundra, (great to see the snow piling down like that. Old-school)
Have the Giants and the Chargers taken! Hoping for two tight matches. Impressed with Green Bay yesterday not so much with New England although it says alot about them that they can still win so easily.
Giants got to test TO s ankle early, Cowboys not the same without him!
Early weather forecast for Green Bay at the weekend
Sunday: Mostly sunny, with a high near 12.
Early weather forecast for Green Bay at the weekend
Sunday: Mostly sunny, with a high near 12.
That's 12 Fahrenheit, I presume? ;D
And what about the futures of Tony Dungy (likely retirment)? Payton Manning( i think his contract is up), Chad Johnson (who said he wants to be on a potential Superbowl team, envious of Moss and TO I'd say, though whether he takes a pay cut and joins a winning team or goes wherever the money is will tell you where his real priorities lie)
Besides, if he really wanted a Championship calibre team, he's not going to go to Denver. but your probably right he's looking for attention.
But with the problems the Bengals have on Defense i doubt they'll be getting to the play-off too soon. pity becuase i really like their offense, CJ, TJ and Palmer are formidable
Besides, if he really wanted a Championship calibre team, he's not going to go to Denver. but your probably right he's looking for attention.
But with the problems the Bengals have on Defense i doubt they'll be getting to the play-off too soon. pity becuase i really like their offense, CJ, TJ and Palmer are formidable
anyone know the weather in green bay today?
1 degree. Windchill -25. No snow.
Is that where stew lives?
1 degree. Windchill -25. No snow.
that'll hurt!
god bless the Guinness Draught in a can ;)
One more score for baby pucks nappies!
Didnt see the pats game, but this isnt bad so far. Got a tenner on Driver at 7-1 for the first td. I also put a 10er on LT, and Plaxico, so its not that profitable.. :(
One more score for baby pucks nappies!
Didnt see the pats game, but this isnt bad so far. Got a tenner on Driver at 7-1 for the first td. I also put a 10er on LT, and Plaxico, so its not that profitable.. :(
Did the bookie look at ye like you were growing horns with the mention of the tenner :D
New York's going to some craic for the next two weeks! Thoroughly deserved in my opinion. The Giants defense was unbelievable. Nobody expected this this season. Fair play to Eli Manning as well - he's shut up a lot of people this season.
Holy Ghost! :o
Some boyo texted in saying that Croke Park would be a great place for a game. (There was a game there before, my da was doing security at it)
Anyway, some other boyo texted in saying, "Why are you talking about games in the UK?"
The English lad went mad, saying, "Nobody mentioned the UK, this person needs to listen more."
Jeepers!
I'm watching Sky Sports 2.
As he slips on his Celtic shirt inside an empty Giants stadium and stares into the distance, Lawrence Tynes is imagining how his life might have played out differently. He was 10 years old when his father Larry, then a United States Navy Seal based at RAF Machrihanish on the Mull of Kintyre, moved his family to Florida, his home state, but Scotland was all young Lawrence had known. The 29-year-old New York Giants kicker dreamt not about the Super Bowl appearance that may be only two games away but of wearing the famous hoops of Celtic, his team, his passion for whom has never ebbed.
Paradise remained a place in the East End of Glasgow as the years passed in the Sunshine State, and Tynes yearned to be back amid the tumult of the Old Firm. “I went to a small Catholic primary school, St Kieran’s in Campbeltown, and I was a mad Celtic fan,” he reveals, not a hint of his Scottish roots perceptible in his accent. “Me and my brothers, Mark and Jason, walked to school every day and always had a football. We lived for it and I couldn’t wait to pull on my Celtic jersey before we played. I was nine or 10 years old when I saw my only game at Celtic Park against Hearts. We won and it was brilliant. My brother Jason, an army reservist who works for the government in Charlotte [North Carolina], has seen them play about 10 times over the years but I’ve not been to Parkhead since that day. It’s strange how your life can change.”
For years the Tynes brothers resisted change, becoming known as the “Lucky Charm Boys” in their new neighbourhood of Milton, near Pensacola. “Because of our accents, the other kids thought we were Irish,” he recalls. At Milton High School, Tynes set a record that still stands, scoring seven goals in one game and soccer, as it was called, continued to provide the brothers with a spiritual compass, a sense of home.
Then Mike McMillon, a PE teacher, spotted potential in Lawrence and invited him to play a different game, suggesting he had talent as a kicker and in the defensive free safety position. “But I was better at kicking, so I stuck with that,” Tynes says.
At Troy State University he completed a degree in criminal justice and planned to become a lawyer before joining the FBI. But Troy State won the Southland Conference Championships in three out of four years and Tynes was signed by Kansas City Chiefs in 2001 before being released at the end of training camp.
After playing for Scottish Claymores for a year he joined Ottawa Renegades in the Canadian Football League in 2003 before Kansas City resigned him in 2004. He remained at Arrowhead stadium until the end of 2006 and joined the Giants at the start of this season on a one-year deal worth $428,850. In the National Football League (NFL) kickers are not among the most glamorous or highly paid positions.
“Kickers have long been bullied,” Matthew Waxman explains in Sports Illustrated. “While the beef slug it out in the trenches, games are often won or lost on the swung leg of a guy in a pristine uniform who looks like Eric from [American television show] Entourage in ballet shoes. And kicking is viewed as having a low degree of difficulty, largely because Tom Dempsey, who has the record for the longest field goal, kicked a 63-yarder with half a foot [he was born without toes on his right, kicking foot].”
But this is the part of the season when kickers are worth every cent, often determining the result with a last-minute field goal attempt. The fifth-seeded Giants came through the regular season with a 10-6 win-loss record and finished strongly, securing their playoff position with a 38-21 win at Buffalo on December 23 before producing an inspired performance against the all-conquer-ing New England Patriots, losing 38-35 but gaining widespread respect for their effort to prevent the Patriots posting a perfect 16-0 regular season. In their 24-14 victory over the Tampa Bay Buccaneers last weekend, quarterback Eli Manning completed 20 of 27 passes for 185 yards and two touchdowns and an efficient defensive display secured for the Giants their first postseason victory since 2000.
Dallas Cowboys will be formidable opposition at Texas stadium, however, despite having failed to exceed their scoring average since November 29 while falling short of 250 total yards in two of their past three games. Quarterback Tony Romo has thrown just one touchdown pass and five interceptions in his previous three games. Terrell Owens will play but it remains to be seen if his sprained left ankle will carry the weight of expectation and allow the wide receiver to make a telling impact.
“If the game comes down to a field goal in the dying seconds, I’ll be ready,” declares Tynes, who has converted 24 of 28 kicks this season, a success rate that represents the best return of his career. “Kicking is a fickle business and you’re remembered only for the big ones you score or the ones you miss. The expectation is that you will kick between the posts every time. I take deep breaths and tell myself, ‘Go out and be a hero’. The best part of the game is to see grown men jumping up and down because of something that came off your foot. When you miss there’s nothing worse. It’s like when your parents say they’re disappointed in you.”
Tynes would love to play an important role for the Giants in the playoffs. His wife, Amanda, gave birth to twin boys Calab and Jaden six months ago, having gone into labour two months premature.
Mother and sons are doing well now, a source of incredible joy, but the pain of his brother Mark’s imprisonment in 2003 for dealing in marijuana is never far away. “I talk to my brother three times a week and I always know where he’s at and how he’s feeling,” says Tynes. “It’s difficult for my parents and the rest of my family, but we’re trying to get through it.”
Tynes and the Giants will be trying to find a way through the Cowboys today. He has accepted an invitation to be New York City’s Tartan Day Parade Grand Marshall in April and nothing would fill him with greater pride than to march down Sixth Avenue a Super Bowl winner – with the Celtic hoops no doubt on display.
that was the most exciting NFL game I have witnessed this year. The dram and action right down to the last minute could not have been more nerve wrecking or better.
Well done to the Giants and I actually do think they are in with a chance
An unbelievable goal from last night
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=9wk_wuWmJRs
I have long ben a pats fan however given the they cheated this year it would be poetic justice if new york overcame their woeful injury situation to beat tham, that said c'mon the pats. ;D
there is no "if" about it - they were caught cheating
and they paid the price. why do people still think they can hold it against them?
the Brady picture has the press going mad here- some speculation that its a grab the headlines ploy to make the Giants complacent. He did have an off day Sunday, but whether it was down to injury is anyones guess
Complacent????......Belichick has two weeks to suss out out the Giants and no better man to do it. It would be a serious dim-witted coach or team that went into a game against the Pats complacent! Brady had a bad day Sunday alright (bad by his standards.....) but even on one leg and with a broken arm, Id take him ahead of Eli. Anyone think Eli will implode Super Bowl Sunday?
What do the Chargers fans on here think of Eli, i take it you are all on for the Pats after Eli fucked youse over at the 2004 draft. I saw footage of it earlier today on NFL Total Access, when he was called out with the Chargers jersey he stood shaking his head like a spoilt wee pussy.
What the latest on Brady are they just hiding him from the media or has he an injury problem?
What do the Chargers fans on here think of Eli, i take it you are all on for the Pats after Eli fucked youse over at the 2004 draft. I saw footage of it earlier today on NFL Total Access, when he was called out with the Chargers jersey he stood shaking his head like a spoilt wee pussy.
Well, surely he should be allowed have some say in what team he ends up with. I wouldnt have said he was acting spoilt, what was he meant to do anyway. Join the Chargers even if he didnt want to.What the latest on Brady are they just hiding him from the media or has he an injury problem?
I'd say he'll be be playing either way, he'd have to be fatally wounded before he would consider not playing.
Well, surely he should be allowed have some say in what team he ends up with. I wouldnt have said he was acting spoilt, what was he meant to do anyway. Join the Chargers even if he didnt want to.
Yes thats all well and good, but is a player supposed to bite his lip and just dedicate a few years of his career in what he may see as either a lost cause or somewhere he just doesnt want to go.
Is it true that Brady was only a 5th round draft :o
Due to the nature of the NFL a quick turnaround in a teams fortunes can happen, in the NFC South the teams have finished last each year have won it the next year for 4 years in a row i think. Look at the Green Bay Packers, before Favre went there in the early 90's they were prennial whipping boys, the Colts were also poor when Manning went as the 1st pick, the Colts and Chargers have benefitted from outstanding front office/drafting.......
Exactly Minder, and that's the NFL ethos, because they hate to see teams continually taking a beating every season, like the Cardinals. :D The Cardinals' problem is they always finish about 5th worst team in the league, so they never get the real superstar draftees.
Anyway, the NFL loves the draft because as you say, teams like Indianapolis, Saint Louis, New Orleans, Cincinnatti etc can be turned around with one good pick. That's why they hate to see players trying to buck the system.
ye watched "America's game " yesterday all about the 81 ( i think) San Francisco 49ers great stuff altogether, what hit me was how much they hated the Cowboys. It said at the end that they won 5 superbowls in 14 Years.Just wondering how many did Montana win with them ?
Mention of Johan Santana is the perfect cue for Fantasy Baseball. Is anyone interested in this again this year? Season will start end of March,...
Going into a bar at about 1pm - doors being locked - bit of Texas Hold 'Em until game time
$70 all the food and beer you can handle
thats some serious money Dev
*ahem* its not dollars it points your honour...
a guy I work with is in a 10k per box game, no half time score, winner takes the lot. Its been sold out the last 3 years and there's a waiting list to get on it. They're thinking of doing 2 games this year...
million points for the winner tax free...
Good news for Gab, the NFL is going to have a game in Toronto for the next 5 years.
Is there anyone who thinks the giants have a chance?
I think the giants will sneak it hopefully 32-31 ;)
Some people think its a great bet. New England won by three the last time they played. That said, New England can dump 40+ points on anyone, so I cant make my mind up on wether to bet the game or not.
Yea the Giants are putting a lot of pressure on Brady.....things are set up nice for Eli to take it home ;)would love to see it but im not sure you can contain new england for the whole game,would love to see strahan get a ring
the Coughlin decision to go full barrel after the pats in the last game of the season could pay off in spades if they get them in the Superbowl. 2 Mannings in a row?
I capitulated.
Main Bet: Giants +12 and under 55 50$ parlay
Side Bet: Giants +12, under 55, more than 3 fieldgoals in game and more than 4 sacks.
10$ parlay.
Absolutely fantastic game (apart from the fecking result :'( ). Probably the best defensive performance I've seen in 20 odd years of watching American Football.
On the bright side, Brady's still young and the Pats will be back.
What a weekend :) Just back from the ticker tape parade, what a sight it was too :o What a great game it turned out to be with the Giants Defence standing out, and what about the catch from Tyree, actually that whole drive at the end will be remembered for a long time! Go Big Blue ;D
.....kinda like all ireland sunday!
On another note, people from omagh have been called Biffos before.
QuoteOn another note, people from omagh have been called Biffos before.
Well that's just piggybacking, we are the BIFFOS.
I was a season ticket holder with the Cardinals. How's that for dedication :D
Although it had it's benefits. At least I got to see the last ever TD pass from Steve Young to Jerry Rice, just before Aneas Williams gave Young his final and decisive concussion. It was a Monday night game at Sun Devil Stadium.
Any thoughts on the Clemens affair.
To my mind he's ties himself in knots. the points below combine to swing it for me
- Andy Petit says Clemens said he did it
- he has messed up dates consistently in his story (ies)
- Why would he tell the truth about the other 59 names and then just add Clemens his big mate
- Clemens' wife took HGH
- McNamee has the syringes and swabs which he has handed over
- The abscess in his ass is consistent with steroid injection - no recorded cases of it happening with b12 ever
I think he's going to have to cop to it, though he seems like he's ready to brass it out...
Any thoughts on the Clemens affair.
To my mind he's ties himself in knots. the points below combine to swing it for me
- Andy Petit says Clemens said he did it
- he has messed up dates consistently in his story (ies)
- Why would he tell the truth about the other 59 names and then just add Clemens his big mate
- Clemens' wife took HGH
- McNamee has the syringes and swabs which he has handed over
- The abscess in his ass is consistent with steroid injection - no recorded cases of it happening with b12 ever
I think he's going to have to cop to it, though he seems like he's ready to brass it out...
And still nothing from the Knicks >:( Nobody will take any of their overpaid flops !
Still don't understand why Clemens wanted to go to Congress. If everything went for him, he didn't gain anything and if it went tits up (which it has) he's looking at jail time. I don't know if he was very badly advised or if he was just so arrogant that he thought he could blag it.
Probably the greatest pitcher ever (and certainly the greatest of the modern era) but you have to wonder whether his record means anything.
Still don't understand why Clemens wanted to go to Congress. If everything went for him, he didn't gain anything and if it went tits up (which it has) he's looking at jail time. I don't know if he was very badly advised or if he was just so arrogant that he thought he could blag it.HIs place in the Hall of fame relied on him being pardoned or at least admonished of guilt.
Probably the greatest pitcher ever (and certainly the greatest of the modern era) but you have to wonder whether his record means anything.
On the House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform's Web site, the letter that refers Roger Clemens' case to the Department of Justice is posted along with a staff memo prepared for the chairman, Rep. Henry A. Waxman (D-Calif.). It breaks down the perjury case against Clemens in fascinating detail, almost as if it were a Cliffs Notes version of the Feb. 13 congressional hearing. Here is a summary of the memo's seven points made by Clemens under oath "that appear to be contradicted by other evidence before the committee or implausible."
1. CLEMENS SAID HE'S NEVER TAKEN STEROIDS OR HGH
Brian McNamee testified that he injected Clemens with performance-enhancing drugs in 1998, 2000 and 2001, which Clemens vehemently denied. However, Chuck Knoblauch and Andy Pettitte said McNamee told the truth about their use of performance-enhancing drugs. Therefore, the memo states, "There is little reason to believe that Mr. McNamee would provide truthful testimony about Mr. Pettitte and Mr. Knoblauch, but false testimony about Mr. Clemens.''
The memo also points out the contradiction that was perhaps most damning of all to Clemens: that his close friend, Pettitte, testified under oath that Clemens told him in 1999 or 2000 that he used HGH, and then in 2005 told Pettitte that is not accurate.
Under a "medical evidence'' sub-category, the memo focuses on an abscess Clemens developed on his buttocks in 1998, which McNamee believes was a result of a steroid shot he rushedDr. Mark Murphy, chief of musculoskeletal radiology at the Armed Forces Institute of Pathology, said an injury that appeared on an MRI was "more compatible with a Winstrol injection'' than a B-12 shot, as Clemens said.
2. CLEMENS SAID MCNAMEE INJECTED HIM WITH LIDOCAINE
Clemens said in his deposition that McNamee "gave me lidocaine once'' in my "lower back.'' However, McNamee said, "I never injected Roger Clemens or anyone else with lidocaine.'' The memo points out that Blue Jays trainer Tommy Craig and assistant trainer Scott Shannon testified that, essentially, a lidocaine shot by a trainer is unheard of.
3. CLEMENS TESTIFIED TEAM TRAINERS GAVE HIM PAIN INJECTIONS
Clemens testified that trainers from all four teams he played for gave him pain injections. However, the memo reports that trainers from the Blue Jays, Astros and Red Sox denied that in separate depositions. Only Yankees trainer Gene Monahan admitted to giving Clemens one injection, "a light dose of Toradol,'' which is a pain medication.
4. CLEMENS TESTIFIED THAT HE RECEIVED MANY B-12 INJECTIONS
The memo said, "When asked if he had received these injections from team doctors, nurses or team trainers, he replied, 'All of the above.''' However, the memo reports that they received Clemens' medical records dating from 1995 and that there is only one record of a B-12 injection, on the July 28, 1998 medical report regarding Clemens' abscess.
5. CLEMENS TESTIFIED HE NEVER DISCUSSED HGH WITH MCNAMEE
The memo called Clemens out for what they say are blatant lies. "In his deposition, Mr. Clemens was asked repeatedly whether he had spoken with Mr. McNamee about human growth hormone. He denied . . . These answers were not truthful.'' That's because Clemens later says he learned McNamee injected Clemens' wife, Debbie, with HGH after the fact, and "had two specific conversations with Mr. McNamee about HGH.''
6. CLEMENS TESTIFIED HE WAS NOT AT JOSE CANSECO'S HOUSE FROM JUNE 8 TO JUNE 10, 1998
Clemens was most adamant about this in his deposition. McNamee testified Clemens was there. However, the memo points out that the testimony by Clemens' nanny places him at the Canseco house. At the committee's hearing, Clemens testified that he was "not totally positive'' that he did not go to the Canseco home after playing golf to drop off his wife before going to the ballpark. The implication was that Clemens curiously changed his story.
7. CLEMENS SAID HE WAS "NEVER TOLD" ABOUT SEN. MITCHELL'S REQUEST
The memo references Clemens' interview with Mike Wallace on "60 Minutes'' in which he explained that he did not speak with Sen. George Mitchell because he "listened to counsel.'' But according to the memo, "In his deposition before the Committee, Mr. Clemens gave a different and contradictory explanation, stating at least six times under oath that he had no idea that Senator Mitchell was seeking to interview him.''
Still don't understand why Clemens wanted to go to Congress. If everything went for him, he didn't gain anything and if it went tits up (which it has) he's looking at jail time. I don't know if he was very badly advised or if he was just so arrogant that he thought he could blag it.
The Pittsburgh Steelers and quarterback Ben Roethlisberger have agreed to a new eight-year, $102 million contract.
Brett Favre hangs them up
http://msn.foxsports.com/nfl/story/7870944/Favre-has-decided-to-call-it-a-career
http://www.nytimes.com/2008/03/02/sports/playmagazine/02play-klosterman.html?ref=basketball (http://www.nytimes.com/2008/03/02/sports/playmagazine/02play-klosterman.html?ref=basketball)
Good article on how one player if he is good enough can effect the entire ethos of a team for good..
The Irish American Football League (IAFL) has now published its league fixtures for 2008. Nine teams from various parts of the country will compete for the Shamrock Bowl. The regular season will start on 16th March 2008 when defending Champions, Univ. of Limerick Vikings visit the Dublin City Univ. Saints. This game will also serve as the 2008 College Championship game. The regular season will finish in late June with the top 5 teams advancing to the play-offs which will take place during July. Shamrock Bowl XXII, the National Championship game, will take place on Sunday 10th August 2008.
The IAFL has retained its divisional structure. Each team will play 8 regular season games - 4 games within their division and 4 games against teams in other divisions. For the first time ever, the IAFL has introduced a scheduling formula which, like the NFL, grades the strength of schedule for each team according to their league positions in the previous season. The Divisional line-up for 2008 is as follows:
IAFL North:
Belfast Bulls, Belfast Trojans, Carrickfergus Knights.
IAFL Central:
Dublin Rebels, DCU Saints, Dublin Rhinos.
IAFL South:
Univ. of Limerick Vikings, Cork Admirals, Tallaght Outlaws.
NEW DEVELOPMENT LEAGUE.
The IAFL has started up a new development league for 2008. This league, called the DV-8s league will be used to assist new formed teams in getting kitted football experience before entering the main IAFL league and also to allow existing teams to field “B” teams of mainly rookie players to help get them experience. Whereas American football is usually played with 11 players on the field at any time, the DV-8s league will have only 8 players on the field at any time – not unlike Arena football in the USA. This means that new teams with smaller squads who are not strong enough to compete in the main league can play in the DV-8s league as a squad size of c.20 players would be sufficient to be competitive. There are also some other rule changes to facilitate the development of new players including a rule which states that each team must have a minimum of 5 players with less than 2 years experience on the field at any time. Like the main IAFL league, the DV-8s league will be full kitted, full contact adult American football. The schedule for the DV-8s league will be released early in 2008. The participants include 3 teams new to the IAFL, 1 team which has dropped down from full IAFL level and 2 “B” teams. All of the new teams are expected to step up to full IAFL level within 2 years.
DV-8s Line-up:
Craigavon Cowboys
Edenderry Soldiers
Trinity College Thunderbolts
Dublin Dragons
Cork Admirals “B” team.
Dublin Rebels “B” team.
Is there any hope for the knicks next year? at least there's a new coach coming to town
Jake Long signs with Miami as the #1 pick, 58 million deal- not bad just out of college.
The Phins just declared that they would pick Jake Long, I dont know why they would so early but its up to them. I think they should have traded down. $58m is a lot for some one who has yet to snap a ball in the NFL. Apparently he is already the highest paid O-Lineman in the NFL by getting picked #1 overall. I think the #1 pick is a bit of a poison chalice, JaMarcus Russell is on the same money as LaDanian Tomlinson, how is that right?
Is there any hope for the knicks next year? at least there's a new coach coming to town
Cubs get their 10,000 win against the Rockies- only second team in history to do it. Now a world series to go with the 100 year void.
White Sox and Cubs leading their divisions, crosstown world series would be incredible.
At least Thomas is out now, thats a start in the right direction. If they can get Derrick Rose in the draft and try and learn to defend they may have some chance of making the playoffs as the east isnt the strongest right now.
Any link to watch it live?
Matt Ryan signs a $72 million dollar 6-year deal with the Dirty Birds
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,12118_3591406,00.html
Matt Ryan signs a $72 million dollar 6-year deal with the Dirty Birds
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,12118_3591406,00.html
Hes battling Redman and Joey for the starter spot, anyone think he will be under centre week 1?
Not too many high QB picks start as rookies,
what about them celtics! cant wait for tomorrow night and it all gets started. of all championships to win the nba must be one of the hardest and to think that boston once won 8 in a row. amazing achivement...
Anyone up for a NFL fantasy league on NFL.com for 2008?
fcek dont have channel 5, any other station have it?
Quotefcek dont have channel 5, any other station have it?
nba.com are showing the finals live in a small few backwards little countries where no TV network is covering the games - like Angola, Turkmenistan, Liberia ..... oh and Ireland. The game can be watched in full for up to 24 hours after.
I read a headline from the Arizona Republic saying that Sherrif Arpiro (of pink inmate's jumpsuit fame) has removed Shaq as an honorary deputy or something. Diesel just got put off the road.
Brett! Stay retired please!
they don't want to trade him - especially to a division rival where he can come into Lambeau - have a stormer of a game showing the Coaches/Management up
It puts a whole new spin on mondays. Thats for sure. Should be a great season. Have to find a good bet for this year. Last year the packers made me plenty of money, and the lakers too. I wonder who this years cash cow will be.
See Brett Favre was reinstated on the weekend, back at practice competing for the starting job. Harsh on Aaron Rogers, who looked awful in a few carefully selected clips from the scrimmage in Green Bay. Brett is a media favourite alright!
Move over Joe Namath there is a new Jets QB
ESPN News is reporting Brett Favre traded to the J-E-T-S NY Jets
Favre will be a good addition to the NYJ with Jones in the backfield, Cotchery and Coles at WR.
Looks like Chad is taking to the pool..
http://football.about.com/b/2008/08/15/chad-johnson-could-out-swim-michael-phelps.htm
Lads, who is going to the American Football in Wembley? Will we meet up for a jar?
I'll probably be around the environment of the Porterhouse in Covent Garden on the Saturday night, and will head out early to the Green Man on Sunday.
I know it's early for this, but a plan is a plan :D
SAN DIEGO -- Chargers Pro Bowl linebacker Shawne Merriman said Saturday he has two torn ligaments in his left knee and has been told by doctors that he could suffer a possible career-ending injury if he attempts to play without having surgery.
Merriman said he has tears in both the posterior cruciate and lateral collateral ligaments. He said doctors agree that he needs surgery to repair the damage.
"It could be career-threatening if I did [play]," Merriman said. "It's a possibility. That possibility is still open."
A course of action has not been decided. Merriman, who will consult with a doctor in Miami early next week before making a decision, has been told reconstructive surgery would keep him out for the 2008 season. Another option is a less-invasive surgery that would allow him to play at some point in the season.
"They've all said the same things about the injury," Merriman said. "[They're] kind of surprised that I've been playing with it up to this point."
The Chargers open the regular season Sept. 7 against the Carolina Panthers. Merriman wants to play this season.
Shawne Merriman has two torn ligaments in his left knee.
"That's first and foremost," Merriman said. "That's what I want to do. That's why this decision is even out there still and not already made, because I want to play, period. The question is what should I do? How long should I play with it?
"It's a thousand different options at this point and I'm just trying to make the best one."
Merriman left the team Tuesday to seek opinions from other doctors, a trek that included a visit with renowned surgeon James Andrews on Wednesday in Birmingham, Ala. He said he is seeking as many opinions as he can for a reason.
"I'm just trying to make the best decision possible for the team and for my career," Merriman said.
Coach Norv Turner has remained optimistic all week that Merriman will be able to play this season. He again expressed that hope Saturday.
"Right now, in talking to him, his mind-set is he's doing everything he can to get ready for Carolina, our opener," Turner said. "He just wants to get a little bit more information on his knee."
Merriman has made the Pro Bowl in each of his three NFL seasons. He has 39½ sacks in that span, more than any other NFL player.
Osi Umenyiora OUT FOR SEASON
balls, i'll have to trade him ASAP
Can my luck get any worse?
a lot of chat about a strahan return
As the season starts on Thursday i think everyone should get their spake in. Predictions for Conferences, Super Bowl Winner and Rookie of the Year please......
AFC - San Diego Chargers
NFC - Dallas Cowboys
Super Bowl San Diego Chargers
Rookie Of The Year - Mc Fadden - Oakland Raiders
UCLA produced a great defensive performance last night to beat Tennessee (#18) by a field goal in over time. In the first half the UCLA third choice quarterback hit 4 interceptions and had a nightmare half. He was a different player in the second, driving UCLA down the field twice for touchdowns.
Tennessee defense was also good, but struggled going forward.
USC again look amazing.
Jaysus, I can't wait for Thursday night.
The pot of chilli will be made on Thursday morning before I go to work - let her sit all day
I've a league match thursday night, gonna be wrecked but im staying up to watch the opener. Might have a few beers and then a strong coffee at work on friday
It all starts again tonight, cant wait!
Redskins v Giants 7.00pm Giants Stadium
+ 4 1/2 - 4 1/2
41 1/2 over
Giants and the under! ;)
I watched it until 10-0, then I got sensible. The Giant's looked very good early, I assume they slowed up a bit to end with 17.
I watched it though I dozed through the second half. The Giants looked amazing on their first drive. But they stalled in the redzone after that. Brandon Jacobs had a solid game. He really levelled Landry. Jason Campbell came into it eventually when he got some better protection.
The Giants D-line didnt look slowed by the loss of Osi and Strahan although Kywanuka injured his ankle on the last play of the game. You can see that the Redskins had eventually got things going and started figuring out how to stop the Giants.
lads when did yere hands on the tickets for the match last year ?
I collected mine from the box office on the morning of the game. No hassles, no worries about losing them or getting lost in the post.
thanks minder are you heading this year ?No unfortunately not,heading to dublin tomorrow with a few half wits for the hurling. Missus is 30 in November too so cant do it all!
+ 4 1/2 - 4 1/2
41 1/2 over
Giants and the under! ;)
Good call Carmen
+ 4 1/2 - 4 1/2
41 1/2 over
Giants and the under! ;)
Good call Carmen
Good start to the season for The Giants, and me! :)
Jacobs is a machine, Landry probably only coming around today! Burress impressed aswell seeing the last time he played with Manning was the Super Bowl!
FOXBOROUGH, Mass. (AP) -- New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady is out for the season with a left knee injury that will require surgery.
The 2007 NFL Most Valuable Player will be placed on injured reserve, the Patriots said Monday, one day after his knee was injured in the first quarter of a 17-10 victory over the Kansas City Chiefs.
A statement issued before coach Bill Belichick's news conference said Brady will have surgery, ending his 128-game starting streak.
Brady left Sunday's game against Kansas City after he was hit by Chiefs safety Bernard Pollard. Brady was not available for comment, but reports circulated around the league that he had torn his anterior cruciate ligament.
"We feel badly for Tom about the injury," Belichick said. "You hate to see anyone go down. No one has worked harder or done more for this team than Tom has."
Copyright 2008 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.
He's officially done for the season
http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2008/football/nfl/09/08/brady.ap/index.htmlQuoteFOXBOROUGH, Mass. (AP) -- New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady is out for the season with a left knee injury that will require surgery.
The 2007 NFL Most Valuable Player will be placed on injured reserve, the Patriots said Monday, one day after his knee was injured in the first quarter of a 17-10 victory over the Kansas City Chiefs.
A statement issued before coach Bill Belichick's news conference said Brady will have surgery, ending his 128-game starting streak.
Brady left Sunday's game against Kansas City after he was hit by Chiefs safety Bernard Pollard. Brady was not available for comment, but reports circulated around the league that he had torn his anterior cruciate ligament.
"We feel badly for Tom about the injury," Belichick said. "You hate to see anyone go down. No one has worked harder or done more for this team than Tom has."
Copyright 2008 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.
dont worry about lights out, I predict we shall see plenty of thon stupid dance the year!! ;D
USC v Ohio State - worth staying in for on a Saturday night!
So we in for any surprises today?Probably not surprises as much, but a couple of strong teams could be overturned. Chargers are in trouble with injuries, LT, Shawn Merriman etc. Sproles and Hester are good back-ups though but Cutler is firing well and selvin young should do well on the ground, so I'd go for the bucs.
Just about to get my bet done, having a little trouble picking!
NLF is great.
I prefer the NFL but its your choice ;)
I was too pissed to stay awake, I remember watching Favre throwing an INT and the next time I open my eyes I'm watching Teleshopping. looks like I missed a great weekend of football, I'll try catch the highlights later
NFL >>>>>>>> Soccer
how many times did Kurt Warner turn over the ball??
Anyone who went to Wembley last year, can you tell me whats the storey with tickets getting delivered to Ireland. How long before the event did they arrive. I checked Ticketmaster but they havent dispatched yet. was hoping they'd arrive before the 11th. Just hope someones home when they arrive.
Did anyone else going to the game apply for the tailgate party tickets on the Sunday morn?
Food beer music and the Saints cheerleaders..
Did anyone else going to the game apply for the tailgate party tickets on the Sunday morn?
Food beer music and the Saints cheerleaders..
didnt know you needed seperate tickets for it, was hoping to go along
My pick 4 for today is;
Giants -7
Patriots -3
Cardinals -1 ?
Jaguars -4
Check out the block that Reggie Bush recieves on his way to a punt return touch down (2.22) - LAID OUT!
http://www.nfl.com/videos?categoryId=highlights (http://www.nfl.com/videos?categoryId=highlights)
Aye, seems like an exciting finish. Cowboys, Redskins, Panthers,lose while the Eagles beat the 9ers, Falcons beat the Bears (Ryan 301yds, Top NFC South). The Colts absolutley stomped on the Ravens as well.
4 games decided with 10 seconds or less thrilling weekend, Atlanta field goal killed my square for 1250.00 :'(
Hopefully yesterdays excitment can carry into tonights Giants Browns game. Giants going for 5-0! Are they the best in the league now?
The IAFL has received membership applications from 4 new teams who hope to play in 2009. With the upcoming strategic plan expected to focus on expanding the sport into new areas of the country, it is encouraging that 3 of the applications come from places where American football has never being played before. Each of these teams will now undertake the new members audit and a final decision on their status will be made by the end of next month. Successful applicants will most likely start playing in the DV-8s league. The IAFL would like to encourage anyone who is interested in joining these teams to contact them at the email addresses listed below. The applicants are:
Carlow Chargers email: itcchargers@gmail.com
Erris Rams (Mayo) email: michael@secondcityracing.com
Tralee Titans email: traleetitans@gmail.com
UCD Sentinels email: ucdaf@hotmail.com
FOUR NEW TEAMS APPLY FOR IAFL MEMBERSHIP
QuoteThe IAFL has received membership applications from 4 new teams who hope to play in 2009. With the upcoming strategic plan expected to focus on expanding the sport into new areas of the country, it is encouraging that 3 of the applications come from places where American football has never being played before. Each of these teams will now undertake the new members audit and a final decision on their status will be made by the end of next month. Successful applicants will most likely start playing in the DV-8s league. The IAFL would like to encourage anyone who is interested in joining these teams to contact them at the email addresses listed below. The applicants are:
Carlow Chargers email: itcchargers@gmail.com
Erris Rams (Mayo) email: michael@secondcityracing.com
Tralee Titans email: traleetitans@gmail.com
UCD Sentinels email: ucdaf@hotmail.com
good to see the irish league growing
London NFL tickets arrived today.. Good stuff..
Watching them last night Colston and Shockey are nowhere near match fit.
Still we should see more points than last year!!
Watched my first baseball game last night and quite enjoyed it, even if its a terrible sport.
Dissapointed the red sox lost.
very intrigued by the NFC east this year - none of the supposed "in form" teams are doing anything worth talking about
only the Giants ;D
49ers have fired Mike Nolan, I really thought they were going to turn it around with JT O'Sullivan but it hasn't happened.
http://jperson.thestateonline.com/?p=125
I have to say, it doesnt look like the ref was trying to get out of the way to me.
http://jperson.thestateonline.com/?p=125
I have to say, it doesnt look like the ref was trying to get out of the way to me.
what was the story there juice as you said it looks like the referee took him out
You know what is worse me sitting for nearly two hours watching two fat guys sitting under a cover in the rain talking about the rain!!!
Here we go the third game in the baseball final is about to start, Philadelphia vs Tampa bay Series tied at 1 each! (not that anyone gives a toss!)
Nothing much else on?
Although that safety, I dont know who's idea that was but it looked it was intentional.
You always got the feeling the teams dont want to be in London due to the travelling, logistics, giving up a home game etc.
http://www.nfl.com/news/story?id=09000d5d80c09adc&template=with-video-with-comments&confirm=true
Arizona Cardinals 5-3, every one else in the Division (Worst in football maybe) is 2-6.
3 game lead with 8 games to go. Only the Cardinals could screw this up. Oh.. wait.
AFC West is just as bad.
Broncos, Chargers, Chiefs and Raiders?
Cowboys might be done. Playing in the NFC East is punishment. It's like Ulster :D
The Cowboys are bottom of the NFC East at 5-3. Looks like the Giants will win that division, and you could conceivably bottom of that division with a winning record. The AFC West and NFC West might end up with 3 teams below .500, and a winner just above it.
In fairness to the NFC West, at least the division leader is 5-3, the division leader in the AFC West is 4-4!!
Just announced on ESPN that Brady Quinn will start for Cleveland Browns in week 10.
Good stuff, i always thought Anderson was a one hit wonder. He will probably be traded in the spring.
I would just like to say that Rex Grossman is useless and should never be let wear a Bears uniform again. What is he being paid to be that crap? Crunch game next week. Just have to hope Orton is fit to play.
Anyone watching Chargers Cheifs?
Why not take the tie for overtime? kept the chargers season alive!
Anyone watching Chargers Cheifs?
Why not take the tie for overtime? kept the chargers season alive!
I didn't see it live, but I taped it to watch tonight. Go Cards!!!! 6-3, with 2 big games coming up against the Seahawks. The Dolphins holding on against the Hawks could be great for the Cardinals. They are 4 games ahead in the division now, but they have tough games upcoming.
Any of you lads watch the Ice Hockey - who are the big teams ?
The Toronto Maple Leafs 8) :D
please refrain from mentioning ice hockey- this is a sports thread
The Pats are getting smoked
All squared up 24-24 with 10:00 minutes left Good Game
First bet in a while for Puck tonight
Jets money line
Jets Patriots over 41
Miami over virginia tech -4.5
Cleveland Cavs money line
Pistons Warriors over 200.5
10$ parlay, may pay 230$. Here's hoping.
what a big miss tom brady is
Steelers look really good to me. What time will it be over at?
see ohio st v michigan got voted best rivalry in the states lately (think it was usa today). there will be over 100,000 people at it
Packers*You couldnt rule out the packers even if they lose tonight. Would still only be 1 game behind.
Saints*
*remove 1 after tonight
QuotePackers*You couldnt rule out the packers even if they lose tonight. Would still only be 1 game behind.
Saints*
*remove 1 after tonight
Its win or bust for the saints tho.
Still 7-4, and improving. It's a big ask to win in Philly on Thursday, because Philly is east of the Mississippi!!!, but it would be great to wrap up the division next weekend.
By the way, what was the storey with the "unopposed kick" last night. Never heard of that rule before. It was a disaster anyway
You are allowed take a free kick at any time after a punt if the kick returner makes a 'fair catch' sign. It's basically the equivalent of a rugby penalty, but the kicker can't use a tee. Rackers bottled that actually, tried to hit it too hard, he can kick 60 or 70 yards no bother, but off a tee.
From hearing Brees interview last night he is more interested in making the play offs than the record.
I reckon if the Saints go 5-0 they will win the division as they have 3 division games in there and the other
teams will take wins off each other.
A big ask and 22/1 with PP if you fancy it.
Cant see it myself.
Marino would have played 16 games Juice. 16 Game season was introduced in late 70's (barring strike years obviously)
How shit are the Lions?
There is some talented players in Detroit. In Calvin Johnson at least. At least getting rid of Matt Millen was a step in the right direction. They have 3 of the top 33 draft picks next year. They just need to clear the decks of the players who arent good enough and the coaches that just arent cutting it. I'd really like to see the Lions go places, its hard to watch teams get badly beaten so often.