20 May 2011
Chris O'Connor and Mickey Burke have been recalled to the Meath football panel by manager Seamus McEnaney.
The defensive duo were released from the Royals' championship squad along with forward Peadar Byrne at the beginning of the month, but have been invited back and are expected to feature in tonight's challenge match against Westmeath in Rosemount (throw-in 7.30pm).
There are also unconfirmed reports that retired duo Graham Geraghty - who manages Rosemount's neighbouring club Castledaly - and Darren Fay could feature in the game against Pat Flanagan's men. Both men retired from inter-county football a couple of seasons ago and it would be a sensational development if they were to play tonight.
There was surprise when O'Connor and Burke were let go, given that both had been regulars in the Meath defence under former Eamonn O'Brien. Longwood clubman Burke was first-choice centre back at the start of last year's championship, only for his season to be cut short when he suffered a broken leg against Laois in the Leinster SFC quarter-final replay in Tullamore.
@TV3SportIRELAND "Banty McEneaney confirms to TV3 that Graham Geraghty has returned to Meath panel at age of 38. Darren Fay has not rejoined panel."
Risky stuff from Banty. Might have wanted to play them quitely in a challenge but the media have it now.
Not really Banty's style is it?
Mick lyons me hole....
Royals are making a show of themselves
Unbelievable.
Panic stations in meath? Oh dear.
When is colm o rourke going to tog.
I tell ya one thing, this may smack of desperation from the Royals but if Val was to ask Larry Reilly back at the moment I wouldn't disagree one bit after seeing him a few weeks ago.
Seamus McEnaney has no reservations about his decision to recall Graham Geraghty to the Meath SF squad.
Meath's 1999 All-Ireland wining captain hasn't lined out at intercounty level for three years but Monaghan native McEnaney caused a sensation on Friday by recalling the 38-year-old.
Explaining the thinking behind the surprise move, McEnaney told The Irish Examiner: "For me, if a player is good enough, he's good enough.
"It doesn't matter whether he's young or old, I'm not looking for birth certs. I'm looking for good players.
"Graham has shown a good bit of form with his club and he's going to get an opportunity over the next few weeks to see if he is still up to this level."
QuoteSeamus McEnaney has no reservations about his decision to recall Graham Geraghty to the Meath SF squad.
Meath's 1999 All-Ireland wining captain hasn't lined out at intercounty level for three years but Monaghan native McEnaney caused a sensation on Friday by recalling the 38-year-old.
Explaining the thinking behind the surprise move, McEnaney told The Irish Examiner: "For me, if a player is good enough, he's good enough.
"It doesn't matter whether he's young or old, I'm not looking for birth certs. I'm looking for good players.
"Graham has shown a good bit of form with his club and he's going to get an opportunity over the next few weeks to see if he is still up to this level."
Plenty of great young lads playing junior football who should be getting a chance instead I think. There's a lad thats local to us who has played for the county all the way up to minors, can knock a ball over the bar from anywhere but wont get a shot at th seniors because he's too small or if you believe the politics because he wont move to a senior club like Skryne or Trim. Its a pity that lads who want to represent their local team don't get a look in.
I tell ya one thing, this may smack of desperation from the Royals but if Val was to ask Larry Reilly back at the moment I wouldn't disagree one bit after seeing him a few weeks ago.
You don't ask Larry back, Larry goes back when he feels like it! Anyway Larry is to geraghty what pele is to Gary breen. :D
Meath -P Coakley;
C O'Connor, C King, W Ryan;
J Queeney (0-1), E Harrington, C McGuinness;
A Moyles (0-1), T Walsh (0-1);
I Davis (0-1), A Nestor, E Reilly (0-2);
C Ward, T Brosnan (1-0), B Farrell (0-3, two frees).
Subs - A Douglas for Ward half-time, J O'Reilly (0-1) for Nestor half-time, T Skelly (1-0) for McGuinness half-time, M Burke for Walsh 47mins, D Morgan for Brosnan 51m, D Smyth for Farrell 56m.
beat Galway in a challenge match last night and afterwards Harnan and Callaghan walked out. Thats the story anyway. What the f**k is going on?
It has been tweeted by LMFMRadio as well:
"Liam Harnan and Barry Callaghan have left Meath's backroom team"
It has been tweeted by LMFMRadio as well:
"Liam Harnan and Barry Callaghan have left Meath's backroom team"
Apparently Callaghan and Harnan were kept in the dark about Geraghty's selection to the squad.
You'd have to wonder what was going on, about 2 weeks ago the squad was announced. In the mean time players have come back, there has been trial games involving lads who I think were left off the squad previously. It might suggest that Callaghan and Harnan's input wasn't being held in much regard.
We've gone done the path of lots of short term "rebuilding", transition", "restructuring", "reinventing the O'Neills" management tenures and it looks set to continue.
I said at the time that O'Brien should have been given the 3rd year of his reign but it seems the wise folk in Meath wanted success and they wanted it yesterday. To be fair Banty has an almost impossible job. People thought we had the players to win but not the men on the line. And so we cut O'Brien short and brought in an outsider to turn us into winners in a short period of time.
How many chances is Banty going to get, given he is an outsider, he was brought in to turn a team that was supposedly 80% there, to a team 100%, just that extra 20% that it takes to win an Al-Ireland.
I'm not going to judge Banty despite whats gone on until I've seen a ball kicked in the championship. Thats what I said when he was appointed and I'm saying it now. There might be something to all this madness, I've heard no complaints from the players even during the league.
It might have only been a glorified challenge match but Geraghty looked very sharp in Anthony Rainbow's testimonial before Christmas.
Banty is clearly a clown. How he got the Meath job I'll never know. What did he ever win as a manager?
Maybe not 70 minutes but he could be devastating for a half I'd guess.
According to the Indo the players are filly behind Banty on this (hope that didnt come from Banty!).
Players were fully behind Banty in Monaghan if you were to believe the press at that time.
They're now fully behind the new manager now.
I'd hope that GG is utilised in the defence where Math need experienced and fast/tough players.
No point in playing Jamie Queeney at FB/whb when the lad is an out and out FF scoring machine!!
Jeez, its never dull with the Meath football team is it !
fecking great this time of the year. :)
Geraghty was managing a club in Westmeath last I heard and Fay was playing Junior football and was hardly fit enough for that apparently.
I think Banty is more important to the CB, since he is the manager right now.
IF they move against him before this championship starts or want to upset the apple cart at this stage we'll lose more than a manger I think we will lose a lot of players as well.
Best they sit on any misgivings they have till after the playing season.
Liam Hayes was on "Off the ball" on Newstalk earlier. Praised Banty for what he achieved with Monaghan but said he was never wanted by a significant amount of Meath supporters.hayes being controversial again for he sake of it - has he another book coming out soon?
He said Geraghty was "a genuis of a player" but divisive in a dressingroom and was never loved or taken to the hearts of Meath supporters. Also mentioned his age being an issue and said recalling him is a sign of weakness that opposition will pick up on.
Some of his points made sense but I was surprised about GG being unpopular with supporters. Usually with bad boy types like him he's hated by opposing supporters and loved by his own.
Fair enough but I hope he added that the Meath team are behind Banty and plenty of the fans are happy for him to stay as it is for this championship at the least and are ready to row in behind the team in 2 weeks time.
yeah, i don't think anyone has a problem with the Double G :P in the panel if he's up to it.
it's the fact that the Selectors were being completely disregarded seems to be the issue.
However if the County Board get rid of Banty at this juncture then they are a bigger bunch of clowns than I took them for.
yeah, i don't think anyone has a problem with the Double G :P in the panel if he's up to it.
it's the fact that the Selectors were being completely disregarded seems to be the issue.
However if the County Board get rid of Banty at this juncture then they are a bigger bunch of clowns than I took them for.
You'd have to wonder has the resignation of Harnan and Callaghan to do with them not being told or the fact that it was Geraghty? If it was Noddy Nobody from Ardcath who'd impressed Banty in a club game and he'd invited him onto the panel - would Harnan and Callaghan have resigned because they werent told in advance? I doubt it.
I'd say a lot of his former teammates could tell plenty of stories about why they don't like him.
Flynn is on RTE website today saying the decision is "ludicrous". Says he's "three years out of football". Doesnt mention a thing about his club form, presumably because the intention is to give no benefit of doubt to either Banty or Geraghty.
Personally I think if you're good enough and fit enough then you've every right to be on the panel, and every panel should be open-ended to allow for players losing form and players making a case with their club football. If this was a "nice" ex-player being brought back, like Trevor Giles, the spin on this would be completely different, it'd be a positive story about how age is no barrier, etc.
You'd have to wonder has the resignation of Harnan and Callaghan to do with them not being told or the fact that it was Geraghty? If it was Noddy Nobody from Ardcath who'd impressed Banty in a club game and he'd invited him onto the panel - would Harnan and Callaghan have resigned because they werent told in advance? I doubt it.
I'd say a lot of his former teammates could tell plenty of stories about why they don't like him.
Flynn is on RTE website today saying the decision is "ludicrous". Says he's "three years out of football". Doesnt mention a thing about his club form, presumably because the intention is to give no benefit of doubt to either Banty or Geraghty.
Personally I think if you're good enough and fit enough then you've every right to be on the panel, and every panel should be open-ended to allow for players losing form and players making a case with their club football. If this was a "nice" ex-player being brought back, like Trevor Giles, the spin on this would be completely different, it'd be a positive story about how age is no barrier, etc.
I doubt it was one single incident that caused this Hound. If the management team were getting along fine and Dandy up to know do you really think that they would have resigned just because Geraghty was called back? I'd say Banty was at this the whole time and they eventually had enough.
Just to make it clear Lynchboy and The Juice .... Hayes DID actually say GG was a genuis of a player and that neutrals and Hayes included would pay just to see him play. It was his personality and "baggage" he was referring to.Fair enugh, but its the same baggage and personality he always had and when he was last on the panel !!
I think a few fringe players might be put out, but I dont believe that there would be too many lads on the panel that would be unhappy that GG is back in the fold. Even if they dont see eye to eye with him, they know he has the exp and was one of the best. He may still be good enough.
Only the lad whose place he takes might be peed off !
imo
I havent encountered him for well over a decade, but all i am saying is that at 'worst' its the same baggage and presonality etc as he had when last in the Meath panel.In fairness he's mellowed a bit with age.Just to make it clear Lynchboy and The Juice .... Hayes DID actually say GG was a genuis of a player and that neutrals and Hayes included would pay just to see him play. It was his personality and "baggage" he was referring to.Fair enugh, but its the same baggage and personality he always had and when he was last on the panel !!
I think a few fringe players might be put out, but I dont believe that there would be too many lads on the panel that would be unhappy that GG is back in the fold. Even if they dont see eye to eye with him, they know he has the exp and was one of the best. He may still be good enough.
Only the lad whose place he takes might be peed off !
imo
Lads how come O'Rourke has never thrown his hat in the ring for the job?
He's mentioned in his mewspaper columns that he'd like to do it "some day".
He has experience at club/colleges/international rules not to mention his iconic status as a player.
Top Meath officials Barney Allen and Cyril Creavin are set to fill the selector roles vacated by Liam Harnan and Barry Callaghan on Sunday night, according to a report.
The Irish Independent reports that County Board Chairman Allen and Secretary Creavin will take over on an interim basis with Meath's first Championship match of the summer - a clash with 2010 All-Ireland semi-finalists Kildare - set to take place in less than two weeks.
I'd say the two boys are taking up the roles to just draw a line under the issue rather than having to trawl around the county for people willing to step up. I'd be very surprised to see either of them in Bantys ear telling him to bring on a sub or make a switch.[/b]
Ill be backing meath to beat kildare................. kildare are highly overarted imho and the royals love being well and truely written off..................
Who are these people over-rating Kildare? Killdare people - that would be a negative, pundits - not a hope, sure Wicklow have better forwads according to TSG, journalists - can't think of any!!
So who are these people or is this just typical GAA speak? Where one team is over rated and the underdogs have a point to prove...and nail that to the dressing room wall..
Thought O'Rourke's column on Sunday was particularly vicious myself. Two quotes for me stood out:
This one in relation to Giles and Geraghty:
Apparently, Darren Fay was also approached about a return but he was sensible enough to see it was not a runner. If anyone from the previous era was being looked for it should have been Trevor Giles. Last autumn he was one of the best, if not the best, player in the county senior final when Skryne beat Seneschalstown in a dramatic match. No one would complain if he was asked and nobody would be respected more by the current players as he has a touch of class in how he conducts himself.
You'd have thought that O'Rourke would know from his contacts in Skryne that Giles had given up training and playing completely and is in no position to do anything and the not so subtle attack on GG's "character" in the last sentences
This one re the structures:
A bit of planning is badly needed and this is why I have advocated a full-time chief executive who would have the time and vision to give proper direction. This idea is being resisted by the county board executive despite the fact that there is funding available at central level for this purpose. Why this is so is beyond me as it would strengthen their roles rather than weaken them. The sign of good men is always demonstrated by their willingness to bring in people who know more than they do.
Still pitching for this role ???
Thought O'Rourke's column on Sunday was particularly vicious myself. Two quotes for me stood out:
Apparently, Darren Fay was also approached about a return but he was sensible enough to see it was not a runner. If anyone from the previous era was being looked for it should have been Trevor Giles. Last autumn he was one of the best, if not the best, player in the county senior final when Skryne beat Seneschalstown in a dramatic match. No one would complain if he was asked and nobody would be respected more by the current players as he has a touch of class in how he conducts himself.
You'd have thought that O'Rourke would know from his contacts in Skryne that Giles had given up training and playing completely and is in no position to do anything and the not so subtle attack on GG's "character" in the last sentences
A bit of planning is badly needed and this is why I have advocated a full-time chief executive who would have the time and vision to give proper direction. This idea is being resisted by the county board executive despite the fact that there is funding available at central level for this purpose. Why this is so is beyond me as it would strengthen their roles rather than weaken them. The sign of good men is always demonstrated by their willingness to bring in people who know more than they do.
Yeah Declan. I recall reading the article on Sunday and the "touch of class" reference did seem to be not just praise for Giles but also a put down for Geraghty.
would you think it is right to say geraghty had a touch of class?
Excellent player but...
http://www.independent.ie/sport/geraghty-axed-for-first-test-after-racist-remark-393016.html
Excellent player but...
http://www.independent.ie/sport/geraghty-axed-for-first-test-after-racist-remark-393016.html
Maybe you should read Darragh Ó Sé's column today and then reflect on what this contribution says about you.
Why did you feel the need to highlight this? And do you honestly think Geraghty is a racist?
Excellent player but...
Cheap shot.....
I came on here to see some decent debate about the weekend's games, only to read this regurgitated rubbish. You must have plenty of spare time to allow you to search the internet for this article.
I am not surprised this site is going down the tubes if this represents the level of discussion.
Excellent player but...
Cheap shot.....
I came on here to see some decent debate about the weekend's games, only to read this regurgitated rubbish. You must have plenty of spare time to allow you to search the internet for this article.
I am not surprised this site is going down the tubes if this represents the level of discussion.
Only took me 30 secs to find the article. I remember the incident well so just stuck graham geraghty and rascist into Google. Do you think it is false this report. I seem to remember the Australians took it serious enough to beat the hell out of him the next chance they got. Anyway, sorry for ruining your Gaaboard experience
I've played with and against protestants (which sort of an equivalent in Cavan) all my life and no matter what happened I never resorted to language like that. Apology was issued after ozzy media went crazy, was it not. He was removed of the Ireland panel too even with the apology. Class is not a word most sane people would use with geraghty. Hardy, unplug the keyboard carefully, wash with water and leave on a radiator to dry. The Puke is a divil to get out. Jinxy, what's to be bitter about?
Excellent player but...
Cheap shot.....
Only took me 30 secs to find the article. I remember the incident well so just stuck graham geraghty and rascist into Google. Do you think it is false this report. I seem to remember the Australians took it serious enough to beat the hell out of him the next chance they got. Anyway, sorry for ruining your Gaaboard experience
Not yet- still puking. You had the chance to make a graceful withdrawal but instead chose not only to stick by your sanctimonious hypocrisy but to compound it with a little parable about how you are above this kind of thing as exemplified by your own impeccable behaviour. Puke.
Excellent player but...
Cheap shot.....
I have better things to be doing with my time like going to work when you were googling Geraghty earlier today and helping to train kids for football final this evening.
I couldnt care less about the report....you seem very interested so you can have whatever opinion you like.
Regarding the Aussies I never really bought into your notion that Geraghty was targeted because of the media stuff. I always thought he was targeted because he was a class player representing his country. Sickeningly, you seem to be trying to excuse their actions.
And, no, you didnt "ruin" my gaaboard experience..........your post after all those years since those happenings in Australia was so patetic it made me laugh.
TBH it was one of the first things that sprang to my mind too (before Myles link), when others were drawing attention to COR's "touch of class" piece, reading in between the lines and wondering about it's possible connotations (at least in relation to where GG's character as a footballer is concerned). It was the last thing COR as Irish team manager needed at the time so is bound to left a bad impression ... "how he conducts himself". I think it would be fair to say that at the time GG was immature and stupid (no more). In the same way Cantona, DiCanio or Zidane were despite their footballing genius. Lets leave it at that as I dare not use other GAA players as examples. Better if the issue was never raised, but I think Myles brought it up in the context of the "class" debate rather than through malice.
Not yet- still puking. You had the chance to make a graceful withdrawal but instead chose not only to stick by your sanctimonious hypocrisy but to compound it with a little parable about how you are above this kind of thing as exemplified by your own impeccable behaviour. Puke.
I am totally above this kind of thing ...
Two men went up to the temple to pray, one a Pharisee and the other a tax collector. The Pharisee stood up and prayed about himself: 'God, I thank you that I am not like other men -- robbers, evildoers, adulterers -- or even like this tax collector. I fast twice a week and give a tenth of all I get.'
But the tax collector stood at a distance. He would not even look up to heaven, but beat his breast and said, 'God, have mercy on me, a sinner.'
I tell you that this man, rather than the other, went home justified before God. For everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, and he who humbles himself will be exalted.
Nice way to spend your teabreak - then again,considering your juvenile attitudes, you probably dont have much in common with your colleagues.Excellent player but...
Cheap shot.....
I have better things to be doing with my time like going to work when you were googling Geraghty earlier today and helping to train kids for football final this evening.
I couldnt care less about the report....you seem very interested so you can have whatever opinion you like.
Regarding the Aussies I never really bought into your notion that Geraghty was targeted because of the media stuff. I always thought he was targeted because he was a class player representing his country. Sickeningly, you seem to be trying to excuse their actions.
And, no, you didnt "ruin" my gaaboard experience..........your post after all those years since those happenings in Australia was so patetic it made me laugh.
Sometimes at work on a tea break I go on the old HTC and post a comment or two. I suppose if I checked all your posts id find none during working hours? Sorry for taking some time to reply, was training a team there myself, am I not brilliant too. I didn't condone the Australians attacking him, just stated my opinion that they targeted him for revenge. Didn't get the sense from your last post that you were enjoying yourself and having a laugh. You came across very depressed and downbeat.
Pathetic stuff Myles.
What's pathetic seanie or is 3 words all you can string together. Apparently calling someone a black b**tard is immature verbals now. If you said that at work to someone you would get the sack. Geraghty was 25 in 99, most people would have a bit of sense at that age. The other guy was 17. I haven't even bothered to post all the other stuff he did either. Colm o rourke is dead right.
Pathetic stuff Myles.
What's pathetic seanie or is 3 words all you can string together. Apparently calling someone a black b**tard is immature verbals now. If you said that at work to someone you would get the sack. Geraghty was 25 in 99, most people would have a bit of sense at that age. The other guy was 17. I haven't even bothered to post all the other stuff he did either. Colm o rourke is dead right.
Pathetic stuff Myles.
Is 3 words all I can string together! What are you - some 7 year old in a playground?!
Pathetic is using a mistake someone made years ago (and apologised for immediately to the satisfaction of the person involved) to label them as lacking class. Maybe I'm more forgiving than you or perhaps you've never made a mistake in your life and are perfect?
That's patehtic enough but your ridiculous suggestion that he was assaulted and knocked out by the Aussies 7 years later because of the same incident is more than pathetic - its a completely scurrilous lie. What's more I think you know it is too which is even sadder.
Like heffo (and many, many others) I really hope GG gets a run on Sunday cos he can be electrifying and that's one of the reasons I watch sport, to see guys who do things us mere mortals can only dream of .
Pathetic stuff Myles.
Is 3 words all I can string together! What are you - some 7 year old in a playground?!
Pathetic is using a mistake someone made years ago (and apologised for immediately to the satisfaction of the person involved) to label them as lacking class. Maybe I'm more forgiving than you or perhaps you've never made a mistake in your life and are perfect?
That's patehtic enough but your ridiculous suggestion that he was assaulted and knocked out by the Aussies 7 years later because of the same incident is more than pathetic - its a completely scurrilous lie. What's more I think you know it is too which is even sadder.
Like heffo (and many, many others) I really hope GG gets a run on Sunday cos he can be electrifying and that's one of the reasons I watch sport, to see guys who do things us mere mortals can only dream of .
Seanie the sports lover? Your the same guy that has such a chip on the shoulder over local soccer when you said you couldn't care less about your local soccer team being in a cup final last year, even when same soccer team honoured sligo when they won Connaught. Man utd plc are ok though. I won't be taking lectures from the likes of you.
Shows the bankruptcy of your argument when you have to change the subject. For the record I play for and support my two local soccer clubs. I was a decent basketball player in my day and watch practially every sport bar horse racing and motorsports. Sligo Rovers mean nothing to me. As for them "honouring" the Connacht champions - anyone with half a brain knows that was just a ploy to get more people through the turnstiles to pay the wages. Enjoy supporting them yourself and anyone else who does but its not for me.
I can't agree with Canavan saying that Meath players should've offered Louth a replay and that it was a lack of leadership when they didn't.
They should never have been put in that position and the CCCC fudged the issue - they had the option of not adopting the ref's report but bottled it.
Maybe Geraghty does indeed lack ‘class’ and he could well be a racist to boot.
But it would take more than the incident in Oz in ’99 to convince me of either.
For me, it was a case of Political Correctness gone mad when the story broke in the Irish media.
I had to wade through a mountain of moral indignation and hypocritical craw thumping to find an account of an interview given to a local paper by Cupido after the game.
The Sunday Indo carried the account I saw and it was stuck in on page 3 or 4—well away from the sports section. In it Cupido was reported as saying that he went into the tackle ‘low, hard and dirty.’ He was under instructions to take Geraghty out of the game and whoever else he could get at.
He said he wasn’t put out in the slightest by Geraghty’s reaction; such abuse was commonplace over there and he knew Geraghty’s comment was an instinctive reaction to his tackle.
I couldn’t see it being otherwise. I could see no racist motive in what the Meath man said. He had just been flattened in an illegal manner and was trying to pick himself up and hadn’t the time or composure to come out with a politically correct expression of his feelings.
Now, if he had walked up to Cupido after the game and used the same language, I’d have no sympathy for him.
Cupido’s action was premeditated and designed to maim the Irish player; he had gone into the game with the deliberate intention of doing this. Geraghty’s reaction was instinctive and he passed this remark while he was trying to regain his composure and sort out his arse from his elbow in a manner of speaking.
IMO, the moralistic campaign in some section of the media back home made no attempt to give a balanced account of what happened.
Geraghty may well be guilty of lots of things but I wouldn’t indict him on a charge of racism in this instance.
It's hugely ironic that Myles should pontificate about alleged racism and set himself forth as a paragon of sportsmanship given that his sporting hero, as proudly proclaimed here some time ago, is a nazi-saluting professional soccer player with some English club.
You should be a politician for spinning that episode like that. I gave Di Canio catching the ball instead of scoring a goal as an example of good sportsmanship. You or someone else then showed a picture of him doing a nazi salute - something I did not know about. I immediately condemned that action and I can tell you Di Canio went to the bottom of my admired soccer player list, just like any other person who acts like a rascist. I am consistent on this unlike yourself.
However, what is Ironic is that when I point out an act from Geraghtys past I am labelled as pathetic by you, you tell me my doing this makes you puke etc. Yet, there was no problem digging up nazi salutes from Di Canios past to blacken his name? That is ironic my Meath friend - thanks for reminding me.
In closing, as I am sure you would all rather talk about the game on Sunday, I summarise my position. Meath footballing legend Colm O Rourke implied Geraghty was lacking class. A lot of people disagreed, I didn't and put forward a report from a national paper outlining how he racially abused a 17 year old Australian player whille on duty for his country. Colm O Rourke was the manager of that team and he sent him home for his act.
I am labelled pathetic, bitter and unbelievably a Nazi (all be it by an idiot who doesn't know what a Nazi is). Colm O Rourke on the other hand, well I suppose he is just wrong. Peter Canavan is also bitter too I see although over what exactly I don't know!
Hope its a good game on Sunday anyway, I will watch with interest.
Maybe Geraghty does indeed lack ‘class’ and he could well be a racist to boot.
But it would take more than the incident in Oz in ’99 to convince me of either.
For me, it was a case of Political Correctness gone mad when the story broke in the Irish media.
I had to wade through a mountain of moral indignation and hypocritical craw thumping to find an account of an interview given to a local paper by Cupido after the game.
The Sunday Indo carried the account I saw and it was stuck in on page 3 or 4—well away from the sports section. In it Cupido was reported as saying that he went into the tackle ‘low, hard and dirty.’ He was under instructions to take Geraghty out of the game and whoever else he could get at.
He said he wasn’t put out in the slightest by Geraghty’s reaction; such abuse was commonplace over there and he knew Geraghty’s comment was an instinctive reaction to his tackle.
I couldn’t see it being otherwise. I could see no racist motive in what the Meath man said. He had just been flattened in an illegal manner and was trying to pick himself up and hadn’t the time or composure to come out with a politically correct expression of his feelings.
Now, if he had walked up to Cupido after the game and used the same language, I’d have no sympathy for him.Cupido’s action was premeditated and designed to maim the Irish player; he had gone into the game with the deliberate intention of doing this. Geraghty’s reaction was instinctive and he passed this remark while he was trying to regain his composure and sort out his arse from his elbow in a manner of speaking.
IMO, the moralistic campaign in some section of the media back home made no attempt to give a balanced account of what happened.
Geraghty may well be guilty of lots of things but I wouldn’t indict him on a charge of racism in this instance.
Is he the best meath have to offer?
I grew up afraid of meath I now pity them. This I feel will be a trainwreck year :D
Just saw the news on Graham Geraghty.
Hope he pulls through and makes a full recovery.
[/quote
Shocking news. hopefully he makes a full recovery
Beaumount usually means head/brain.
Hope he comes though ok.
Good news.+1
https://mobile.twitter.com/clann_na/status/1321852999753453568