GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: sureyouwill on January 05, 2007, 01:41:01 PM

Title: Croke to get a roof
Post by: sureyouwill on January 05, 2007, 01:41:01 PM
http://www.unison.ie/irish_independent/stories.php3?ca=37&si=1749892&issue_id=15076

THE NEXT step in Croke Park's multi-million euro expansion is to roof the stadium, according to the GAA's director general Liam Mulvihill.

The GAA's most powerful man yesterday revealed that he believes the headquarters will eventually be fully covered, a comment that will raise interest among other sports who have many of their internationals at a much more unseasonable time than the GAA.

"I feel there is a strong possibility that we will have a roof on the stadium eventually. I really believe, in terms of Irish climate, it's going to be needed as spectator comfort becomes more and more of an issue," he said in a radio interview.

"We are an organisation that wants to keep in tune with what people want and as people become more affluent.

"I think this issue of comfort is going to be important and we will reach a stage where we will have to roof the whole stadium."

Do you not need 4 sides for a roof?
Title: Re: Croke to get a roof
Post by: tayto on January 05, 2007, 01:42:42 PM
Yea, i can't see how a roof would go on, or the need for one unless the FAI and IRFU are here to stay? I'd prefer to see Semple totally revamped.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 05, 2007, 01:46:08 PM
What happens when the Mayo lads start hitting the ball off the top of it?  ;D
Post by: Star Spangler on January 05, 2007, 01:49:08 PM
Exactly.  How often would the roof be put into use during the summer months? 

It would be a waste of money unless they were planning to use the stadium during the winter months.  Maybe we're going to have a championship that runs into the winter.  :P

Or maybe Mulvihill has let the mask slip.
Post by: AN other on January 05, 2007, 02:00:00 PM
I think those houses should be bought if at all possible and "complete" the stadium. I don't see any reason why the hill as a terrace couldn't be maintaned as a terrace with seating in the upper tier.
Post by: Gnevin on January 05, 2007, 02:02:27 PM
An other pointless investment in property the GAA hasnt rained during a dublin match in CP for 5 years .Llike the rest of this county the GAA is property made
Post by: sureyouwill on January 05, 2007, 02:05:49 PM
Is the railway line not a big problem for "completing the oval"?

http://maps.pomocnik.com/satellite-maps/?map=1108
Post by: AN other on January 05, 2007, 02:10:49 PM
Quote from: sureyouwill on January 05, 2007, 02:05:49 PM
Is the railway line not a big problem for "completing the oval"?

It could be built around it if the houses weren't there, there's a railway under the canal end beside the canal, and the canal is bridged also.
Post by: Gnevin on January 05, 2007, 02:25:05 PM
Must we have the hill looks crap discussion every time Croke Park is mentioned ?
Post by: ONeill on January 05, 2007, 02:29:50 PM
Great news for balding men.
Post by: J70 on January 05, 2007, 02:32:29 PM
Presumably retrofitting a movable roof is quite an engineering undertaking? Or was the stadium built with that eventuality in mind?
Post by: sureyouwill on January 05, 2007, 02:33:14 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on January 05, 2007, 02:25:05 PM
Must we have the hill looks crap discussion every time Croke Park is mentioned ?

Personally I was just stating it would be hard to have a roof without four sides, can't see any post so far here to say Hill looks crap - bit of Paranoia creeping in there!!
Post by: Bud Wiser on January 05, 2007, 02:36:46 PM
If they provided a roof, under floor heating, a case of champaign,  a four poster bead,  and Nadine Coyle or all from Girls Aloud to climb into said four poster,  it is no use unless there is something to watch. I expect the Leinster hurling final will not be even played in Croke Park this year and they should concentrate on getting hurling back on track before they start any more daft ideas.  How high would a roof have to be for a high puck out in hurling??
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 05, 2007, 02:38:44 PM
Quote from: Star Spangler on January 05, 2007, 01:49:08 PM

yeah the sun is always glaring down in the usual Irish summers :D

though if we roofed it, I think we could have problems with the grass- and its bad enough - dont really see the point in this.

Agree with ANOther, should buy them houses, tunnel over the railway and put seating in the upper tier at least.
Though apart from sentimentality, I wouldnt keep the hill the way it is.
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 05, 2007, 02:40:13 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on January 05, 2007, 02:36:46 PM
If they provided a roof, under floor heating, a case of champaign,  a four poster bead,  and Nadine Coyle or all from Girls Aloud to climb into said four poster,  it is no use unless there is something to watch. I expect the Leinster hurling final will not be even played in Croke Park this year and they should concentrate on getting hurling back on track before they start any more daft ideas.  How high would a roof have to be for a high puck out in hurling??

get the mayo football team and Derry hurling team in to measure the elevation required...
Post by: ziggysego on January 05, 2007, 02:57:37 PM
Hasn't this story been knocked about for years, resurfacing every so often? It never comes to anything and most likely won't this time either.
Post by: Bogball XV on January 05, 2007, 03:19:31 PM
Jaysus the lengths they're prepared to go to, just to ensure there'll be no money to pay players!
Post by: tayto on January 05, 2007, 03:21:32 PM
 ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Over the Bar on January 05, 2007, 03:59:37 PM
QuoteIs the railway line not a big problem for "completing the oval"?

If engineers could make a start on the London Underground over a century ago, then I'm sure a hick-town rail connection on the northside shouldn't present much a problem nowadays.
Post by: ziggysego on January 05, 2007, 04:06:03 PM
Did they ever put them small screen dotted around the inside of the lower stands for people who can't see the Big Screens at Croke Park? I heard they were to do that for last year, but I didn't get to Croke Park in 2006 :(
Post by: supersarsfields on January 05, 2007, 04:09:17 PM
It seems the GAA are more interested in having a spectular center piece to impress everyone than actually putting the money into promoting the games. This money would be better spent either up-grading other pitches or invested into promoting the games in areas of need. Putting a roof on Croke Park would not be very high up on the list of priorities i would have thought, unless of course there are other none GAA factors.
Post by: tayto on January 05, 2007, 04:13:03 PM
Lets not get too carried away until we know if they're actually going to go ahead with it, and it's also worth remembering that the renovation to date has been an outragious success in terms of promoting the imagine of the association.
Post by: kilkennycat2004 on January 05, 2007, 04:17:53 PM
I thought I was against a roof till I visited the Cardiff Millennium Stadium last May for a football play-off match that was on the same day as Dublin & Westmeath hurling come water polo game was played here.
In similar weather  conditions in Cardiff the game was played with the roof on & in perfect conditions.
it actually added to the atmosphere if anything.
Its a great idea, the sooner the better IMHO.
Post by: tayto on January 05, 2007, 04:21:05 PM
It is worth it for the odd freakishly wet summers day? 30 million is a lot of dough! The Dublin westmeath match should justhave been postponed, but that's a different arguement, besides it wasnt played in Croke Park. [i know you're only mentioning it for weather comparisons but unless we're going to roof every ground we're still going to have games postponed]
Post by: ziggysego on January 05, 2007, 04:22:24 PM
Well the wind and rain could blow in sideways from the Hill!
Post by: supersarsfields on January 05, 2007, 04:25:28 PM
Dont get me wrong KKcat. I think a roof would prob help the stadium. It's more a case of priorities. And a roof on croke park would not be near the top of my wish list!!
Post by: Turfsmoke on January 05, 2007, 05:31:51 PM
Some questions;

1. Why are we putting floodlights in Croke Park? Excluding Dublin v Tyrone, all hyped up as a once off and only needing a nighttime throw in because some body else is getting the use of our pride and joy when Dublin and Tyrone should be playing there, what are the big night time GAA matches that will be played there? Who will need lights in the months of May to September? Not us and not anybody else either. Who will need lights in the months October to April? Not us - but definitely someone else!

2. Reapply the questions above to a roof on Croke park. Do you get the same answers?

3. How come the government very quietly handed over a large sum to help fund the lights? The same govt that seems prepared to do anything to keep us out of the Tallaght stadium.

4. How is the decision actually made about these huge significant steps for us? Any motions proposing these at any conventions out there these past few weeks? I certainly didn't see any.

5. Am I just paranoid?
Post by: Evil Genius on January 05, 2007, 05:51:34 PM
Quote from: kilkennycat2004 on January 05, 2007, 04:17:53 PM
I thought I was against a roof till I visited the Cardiff Millennium Stadium last May for a football play-off match that was on the same day as Dublin & Westmeath hurling come water polo game was played here.
In similar weather  conditions in Cardiff the game was played with the roof on & in perfect conditions.
it actually added to the atmosphere if anything.
Its a great idea, the sooner the better IMHO.

I have been in the Millennium, both closed and open, and agree with you that when closed, it helps make for a cracking atmosphere.
That said, as both Cardiff and some of the German World Cup stadia have proved, even where a retractable roof is purpose-built from scratch, it is hugely expensive and technically very difficult (Cardiff has stuck "half-closed" on more than one occasion)
I would assume that fitting some such roof over Croke Park retrospectively would be even more expensive/difficult?
The other issue when redeveloping a stadium (touched upon in the "Sunlamp" thread) is preserving the pitch so that the grass grows readily.
Many Soccer stadia have realised that when they enclose the ground on all four sides, this often knackers the pitch, since the wind cannot get through. As such, wind is even more important than sunlight (though several new stadia are these days being designed with transparent section to their roofs).
One of the grounds suffering most from this is Chelsea, where they have to install a brand new pitch at least twice a season, at £100k a throw! With a roof on CP, might the GAA be considering hosting more matches/events than Chelsea's 30-odd matches per year?
Post by: Gnevin on January 05, 2007, 06:34:21 PM
Quote from: Turfsmoke on January 05, 2007, 05:31:51 PM
Some questions;

1. Why are we putting floodlights in Croke Park? Excluding Dublin v Tyrone, all hyped up as a once off and only needing a nighttime throw in because some body else is getting the use of our pride and joy when Dublin and Tyrone should be playing there, what are the big night time GAA matches that will be played there? Who will need lights in the months of May to September? Not us and not anybody else either. Who will need lights in the months October to April? Not us - but definitely someone else!

Like the light in Parnell Park and around the country . Lights free up 5 days a week where football and hurling could not be played . Alot of the games now played under light in Parnell are kids games and the club championship . It makes sense to allow as may people play in croker as possible if lights will allow great number of games to be played their

4. How is the decision actually made about these huge significant steps for us? Any motions proposing these at any conventions out there these past few weeks? I certainly didn't see any.
They dont need to be as their are no rules being changed

5. Am I just paranoid?

Yes you are
Post by: red hander on January 05, 2007, 08:21:44 PM
Will a roof not cause havoc with the pitch?  The Millennium Stadium pitch has to be relaid regularly as far as I'm aware...
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 05, 2007, 08:31:44 PM
The problems with the Millenium Stadium pitch are strictly due to the roof if I remember correctly. It's made up of over 7000 patches of turf that are sitting on wooden pallets – so that they can be quickly and easily removed if there is a concert or something.
Post by: Pangurban on January 05, 2007, 09:13:26 PM
Supersarsfields and turfsmoke have hit the nail on the head with their insightful comments, well said lads,after that any other comment would be superflous
Post by: ziggysego on January 06, 2007, 10:50:51 PM
Industry sources have said it would cost the GAA €300 million to fit a roof at Croke Park. That would nearly double the cost of redeveloping Croke Park. For me, that's not value for money.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 06, 2007, 10:52:35 PM
300 mill

It would be cheaper to build an underground pitch...that said......I believe the Port Tunnell is kinda slack at the moment.
Post by: Hound on January 07, 2007, 01:20:42 PM
We all know Croke Park is a magnificent stadium, but IMO its a magnificent summer stadium. If it rains its a pisspoor stadium as well over half of the people in the lower stands gets pissed on.

A roof would be of huge benefit - but obviuosly only if we can afford it. We'll only do it if its gets heavily subsidised.

I do agree that renovating Semple would be a higher priority
Post by: laoislad on January 07, 2007, 01:29:47 PM
Quote from: J70 on January 05, 2007, 02:32:29 PM
Presumably retrofitting a movable roof is quite an engineering undertaking? Or was the stadium built with that eventuality in mind?

I agree,the first thing i thought of was how are they going to support such a struture when there is nothing at the Hill End.Surely if they are putting a roof up the Hill would have to be brought up to the same height as both stands?
I like an others idea of haveing a 2nd tier over the Hill and have it all seated
Post by: tayto on January 07, 2007, 06:22:43 PM
Quote from: Hound on January 07, 2007, 01:20:42 PM

Semple is closed for a 18million re-fit bit it'd be great if they could totally renovate it a la croke park only smaller, it's the one other pitch-stadium with the same mystique as Croke Park.
Post by: Gnevin on January 07, 2007, 10:13:40 PM
Quote from: tayto on January 07, 2007, 06:22:43 PM

Semple is closed for a 18million re-fit bit it'd be great if they could totally renovate it a la croke park only smaller, it's the one other pitch-stadium with the same mystique as Croke Park.

Do we really need 32 mini crokers , the GAA is wasting money on stadiums that aren't needed
Post by: ziggysego on January 07, 2007, 10:15:27 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on January 07, 2007, 10:13:40 PM

Do we really need 32 mini crokers , the GAA is wasting money on stadiums that aren't needed

No, but 3 mini crokers for Ulster, Munster and Connacht would be nice ;D
Post by: Gnevin on January 07, 2007, 10:20:24 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 07, 2007, 10:15:27 PM

Muster already has the gaelic grounds ,Páirc Uí Chaoimh and a load of other nice grounds
Ulster is the only one in need of a new ground/upgrade
Post by: tayto on January 07, 2007, 10:58:43 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on January 07, 2007, 10:20:24 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 07, 2007, 10:15:27 PM

Muster already has the gaelic grounds ,Páirc Uí Chaoimh and a load of other nice grounds
Ulster is the only one in need of a new ground/upgrade

It's obviously a while since you've been in Páirc Uí Chaoimh, it's not too bad inside but it looks half derelict outside and the area around it is like a wasteland. Semple is the second most important stadia we have, it's looking very tired these days and can well do with a revamp. I agree with what yer saying about the huge stadia counties seem to be making for themselves, all in the hope of one big championship match but i do think we could have another marqee stadium.
Post by: ziggysego on January 07, 2007, 11:17:56 PM
Clones plenty needs a lot of work done, but not just to the stadia itself. The roads in and out, park and amenities.
Post by: man in black on January 08, 2007, 09:37:29 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 05, 2007, 02:38:44 PM

though if we roofed it, I think we could have problems with the grass- and its bad enough - dont really see the point in this.

Agree with ANOther, should buy them houses, tunnel over the railway and put seating in the upper tier at least.

Why keep the hill as a monument to Dublin fans? Which lets face it, that what it is. There should be a genuine monument at croke park for 1916 not somewhere for the dubs to urinate.

Post by: Gnevin on January 08, 2007, 01:07:32 PM
Quote from: man in black on January 08, 2007, 09:37:29 AM

Why keep the hill as a monument to Dublin fans? Which lets face it, that what it is. There should be a genuine monument at croke park for 1916 not somewhere for the dubs to urinate.

MIB go back to the non GAA section and stop trying to  shit stir
Post by: laoislad on January 08, 2007, 01:17:59 PM
He might be trying to stir shit Gnevin but in fairness a a minority of the fans who do be on Hill 16 don't know the first thing about gaa or even what happenend in 1916
I've been on the hill a good few times as my girlfriend is from Dublin and i do enjoy the criac and the banter but the fans who leave it till ten mins into match till they turn up or those who just roar abuse at their own players and most of the time even getting the players name wrong,Well they give the Hill a bad name..
Post by: Hound on January 08, 2007, 01:31:41 PM
And on the other side of the coin, when there was a thread recently on best atmosphere at a game, there was a large proportion of Dublin games mentioned, largely because of the Hill.
Post by: laoislad on January 08, 2007, 02:18:31 PM
Quote from: Hound on January 08, 2007, 01:31:41 PM
And on the other side of the coin, when there was a thread recently on best atmosphere at a game, there was a large proportion of Dublin games mentioned, largely because of the Hill.

Yeah thats why i think the hill should stay as i have said in other posts
Post by: man in black on January 08, 2007, 02:45:00 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on January 08, 2007, 01:07:32 PM
Quote from: man in black on January 08, 2007, 09:37:29 AM

MIB go back to the non GAA section and stop trying to  shit stir

Ah right i see. Disagree with someone and its feck off time. Bottom line is that the hill when the dubs are playing is feckin ASBO central. Ive seen them for what they are first hand.
Post by: i strongly object on January 08, 2007, 02:47:07 PM
What game?
Post by: man in black on January 08, 2007, 02:48:23 PM
Quote from: i strongly object on January 08, 2007, 02:47:07 PM
What game?

A game involving Dublin and the home of football. ;)
Post by: i strongly object on January 08, 2007, 02:49:01 PM
Never been have you!  ;)
Post by: laoislad on January 08, 2007, 02:50:28 PM
Quote from: i strongly object on January 08, 2007, 02:47:07 PM
What game?

How about two years ago when a chap from Wexford was about to take a penalty and some thug threw a flare from the Hill at him as he was making his run up?
Post by: i strongly object on January 08, 2007, 02:52:16 PM
The Liverpool crest doesnt do your whole "thug" argument much good Laoislad  ;)
Post by: ziggysego on January 08, 2007, 02:53:27 PM
Quote from: man in black on January 08, 2007, 02:45:00 PMIve seen them for what they are first hand.

Are you sure you weren't doing something to piss them off MIB?
Post by: i strongly object on January 08, 2007, 02:55:05 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 08, 2007, 02:53:27 PM
Quote from: man in black on January 08, 2007, 02:45:00 PMIve seen them for what they are first hand.

Probably singing god save the queen!
Post by: laoislad on January 08, 2007, 02:59:12 PM
Quote from: i strongly object on January 08, 2007, 02:52:16 PM
The Liverpool crest doesnt do your whole "thug" argument much good Laoislad  ;)

Why can one not support a soccer team and also follow Gaa?
Yes Liverpool fans and english fans in general are all Hooligans but i don't support Liverpools fans i support the team and if you read earlier posts i have said it's a minority of Dublin fans,and if you think someone isn't a thug for throwing a flare at a player you are quite the simple human being
Post by: man in black on January 08, 2007, 02:59:39 PM
Quote from: i strongly object on January 08, 2007, 02:55:05 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 08, 2007, 02:53:27 PM

Probably singing god save the queen!

Sorry to point out but its the dublin fans than remind their northern comrades of the queens existence when the jackeens clash with any team from the wee six. Its a wonder they can get out of their Man Utd gensai's to don the sky blue at all.

Post by: man in black on January 08, 2007, 03:01:25 PM
Quote from: i strongly object on January 08, 2007, 02:49:01 PM
Never been have you!  ;)

With scary regularity over the last 10 years. Sick looking at the place. ;)
Post by: i strongly object on January 08, 2007, 03:03:47 PM
Quote from: man in black on January 08, 2007, 02:59:39 PM
Sorry to point out but its the dublin fans than remind their northern comrades of the queens existence when the jackeens clash with any team from the wee six. Its a wonder they can get out of their Man Utd gensai's to don the sky blue at all.

Of course we do, every time!  ::)

And everyone knows nobody in the North supports soccer teams as well as GAA teams  ::)

Are you a serious person, you seem quite bitter
Post by: man in black on January 08, 2007, 03:11:08 PM
Quote from: i strongly object on January 08, 2007, 03:03:47 PM

Of course we do, every time!  ::)

And everyone knows nobody in the North supports soccer teams as well as GAA teams  ::)

Err excuse me but the hill chanting "how does it feel to have a queen" is fairly damning all the same.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on January 08, 2007, 03:30:08 PM
MIB dont worry it will not be to long till they are singing "whats it like to have the Taoiseach"  ;)
Post by: tayto on January 08, 2007, 03:31:36 PM
The big bad hill strikes again!  :P
Post by: Gnevin on January 09, 2007, 12:29:40 AM
Quote from: man in black on January 08, 2007, 03:11:08 PM
Quote from: i strongly object on January 08, 2007, 03:03:47 PM

Of course we do, every time!  ::)

And everyone knows nobody in the North supports soccer teams as well as GAA teams  ::)

Err excuse me but the hill chanting "how does it feel to have a queen" is fairly damning all the same.

And of course no one from the north ever  chanted theirs no london in tyrone , we can all throw stones and point out examples of idiots doing things that would shame the rest of us but back to the roof issue
Post by: Hound on January 09, 2007, 10:24:21 AM
Quote from: man in black on January 08, 2007, 03:11:08 PM

Well what is it like?

I've been on the Hill for all Dublin's games in Croke Park against nordie teams in the last 10 years and I can't recall that one been sung in big numbers on the Hill - which is surprising given its quite tame. Maybe this year we can get it going specially for you.

I have heard fans from the North calling Dublin fans "fenian bastards", on numerous occassions - all of which I found very funny.
Post by: two man tackle on January 09, 2007, 10:28:12 AM
2002 AI Semi - Dublin v Armagh. "Hill 16 is Irish only" was sung in great numbers towards the small number of Armagh fans who refused to accept that the dubs own the hill.
Post by: supersarsfields on January 09, 2007, 10:50:55 AM
I've been on the Hill for all Dublin's games in Croke Park against nordie teams in the last 10 years and I can't recall that one been sung in big numbers on the Hill - which is surprising given its quite tame. Maybe this year we can get it going specially for you.

I have heard fans from the North calling Dublin fans "fenian bastards", on numerous occassions - all of which I found very funny.

I've heard both sets of fans giving abuse. My stance on the Hill is that it creates a great atmosphere at a game that might not be achieved in an all-seated arena. But getting back to the point of the thread a roof is just too extravagant for the needs of the GAA. It would take funds away from other much needed areas.
Post by: tayto on January 09, 2007, 10:52:40 AM
I think given the estimates that have come out since the comments a roof is a non runner. 300 million, eh, no ta, grand for the roof thanks.
Post by: McGuyver on January 09, 2007, 11:28:49 AM
I'd love a roof..I've often had to satnd in Croker every sunday as a Garda not just when my county are playing which is rare anyway! Many a time i got a soaking.And as for the Hill,Too me as a Garda i have always been treated very well on the Hill yeah i get the odd comment from some gob shite but most of the time it's good humored and i enjoy the craic.Never really had any trouble to speak of apart from the odd lout.
Post by: ziggysego on January 09, 2007, 11:57:29 AM
There are dicks on all teams, but they aren't the majority of their set of supporters. Nobody has the monopoly on it. No quit the bitching.
Post by: SuperSub on January 09, 2007, 01:38:28 PM
Im amused to read that the Hill is for the Dubs.If truth be told Cork fans have filled the Hill on more occasions in the past  years than the Dubs and bring just as much if not more atmosphere and colour