GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Lecale2 on October 22, 2008, 04:38:32 PM

Title: Best excuses for missing training.
Post by: Lecale2 on October 22, 2008, 04:38:32 PM
I just got a text from one of our minors saying he couldn't train tonight because his sister was going to her school formal. I text him back asking how that affected him and he replied that he had to be at the house to wave bye bye to her when she gets into the limo. WTF! 

Best one I've heard for a while. Any others?
Title: Re: Best excuses for missing training.
Post by: SidelineKick on October 22, 2008, 04:43:57 PM
When i was at uni a message sent from Renshaws (never a good idea) to the fellas manager (who was also his father) which simply stated:

"I have a hamstring"
Post by: corn02 on October 22, 2008, 04:49:37 PM
Haha, can't mind who that was? Derry contingent?
Post by: SidelineKick on October 22, 2008, 04:50:44 PM
Nope, South Armagh contingent  :D
Post by: T O Hare on October 22, 2008, 04:59:25 PM
fella from our club said he wouldn't drive from belfast because the back door wouldn't close and he would not risk the lives of the passengers, think in was a wed and there were in the bot!!!!!!
Post by: SidelineKick on October 22, 2008, 05:01:55 PM
Well if it was a Wednesday and they weren't in the Bot then questions would need asked!
Post by: billy the kid on October 22, 2008, 05:02:37 PM
That reminds me off an excuse given to get out of 1st year school training once.

A fella who was not sporting in any shape or form was trying to get out of school football training which was basically unheard off. the conversation went something like this.

Lazy 1st year (Terry)"Sir"

Cross teacher (Chivers) "What Terry?"

Terry "I cant do training today"

Chivers "WHAT?"

Terry " I cant do training today?"

Chivers "Why not?"

Terry "I cant do training today because I have a hamstring"

Chivers "You have a hamstring?"

Terry "Yes"

Chivers looks at him for a min and then says "Well Terry If I had A hamstring I wouldnt be able to train either"

There is a silence for a couple of seconds and the rest of the panel are amazed he is taking this obvious lie in. Terry turns around thinking to himself that he has out-smarted Mr Chivers and just as he starts to walk away (without so much as a limp) Chivers shouts

"IN FACT IF I ONLY HAD 1 HAMSTRING I WOULDNT EVEN BE FIT TO WALK" and boots Terry up the ass actually lifting him of the ground.

Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 22, 2008, 05:04:57 PM
that was never at the Convent was it?
Post by: billy the kid on October 22, 2008, 05:06:47 PM
No Paddy Chivers, a Lavey man think he and the convent Chivers are related though but could be wrong.
Post by: SidelineKick on October 22, 2008, 05:17:26 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on October 22, 2008, 05:04:57 PM

:D was thinking the same myself!
Post by: Square Ball on October 22, 2008, 05:24:40 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on October 22, 2008, 04:38:32 PM
I just got a text from one of our minors saying he couldn't train tonight because his sister was going to her school formal. I text him back asking how that affected him and he replied that he had to be at the house to wave bye bye to her when she gets into the limo. WTF! 

Best one I've heard for a while. Any others?

shakes head and tuts loudly  :o
Post by: Doire abĂș on October 22, 2008, 05:26:33 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on October 22, 2008, 05:17:26 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on October 22, 2008, 05:04:57 PM

:D was thinking the same myself!

And myself!!  :D :D
Post by: Over the Bar on October 22, 2008, 05:32:54 PM
I forgot my stuff
Post by: thebandit on October 22, 2008, 05:51:44 PM
The cattle broke out
Post by: lurganblue on October 22, 2008, 06:53:52 PM
i couldnt find the anti freeze
Post by: Puckoon on October 22, 2008, 07:28:00 PM
I was grounded once - wasnt allowed out the door (and I mean out the door) except for mass and school for a month. I got back to training and football after a week.
Post by: heffo on October 22, 2008, 07:59:35 PM
The late Mick Holden arrived very late at training in Parnell park one Saturday morning and Heffo pulled him aside ready to read him the riot act

Holden: Heffo did you hear about the big armed robbery yesterday?
Heffo: Yeah, why?
Holden: Cos the guards pulled me over on the way and said I was the image of one of the robbers
Heffo: Jaysus, are you serious?
Holden: No, but it sounds better than I just couldn't be bothered getting out of bed!
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on October 23, 2008, 05:39:56 AM
One of our minors couldn't play a match one because of a golf injury. Not the most macho excuse ever . . .

Of course Stephen Ireland missed a match once because his grandmother was died. But, of course, she wasn't
Post by: Hound on October 23, 2008, 08:17:51 AM
Quote from: Lecale2 on October 22, 2008, 04:38:32 PM

Will he be dropped is the question??
Post by: off the laces on October 23, 2008, 08:25:03 AM
ive been lifting bales all day i have no need to be doing any training this week ::)
Post by: Minder on October 23, 2008, 08:27:49 AM
I had to leave training early one night to get my hair cut, i told the manager i had to go and he was laughing (thinking i was joking) as i started to walk away and he realised i was serious the laughter left him and the language got very industrial.
Post by: Zapatista on October 23, 2008, 08:38:17 AM
Not football but I was late for work one day and the boss was looking for an explanation

Boss - Where the f**k were you?

Zap - Sorry the girlfriend was having a baby.

Boss - Ooh, fair enough, what did she have?

Zap - I'll tell ye in nine months ;)

Boss - Hahahaha, good man Zap.

It's not originally mine, I had heard of another guy doing it so tried it and it worked a treat :D
Post by: Hardy on October 23, 2008, 08:49:20 AM
Another old one: A young lad arrive into school an hour late one snowy morning.

- Where are you going at this hour?
- The roads are fierce slippy sir. Every time I went two steps forward I slipped three steps back.

- You realise that, mathematically, that means you could never have got here?
- I know. Sure didn't I turn around to go home!
Post by: FermGael on October 23, 2008, 10:01:42 AM
Will never forget the time that we had a match the Sunday the clocks went forward.
Our intercounty player turned up at half time wondering why the match had started early.
Everyone had told him the clocks went forward at Fridays training.
The manager had even phoned him on Saturday night  ::)

Post by: Louth Exile on October 26, 2008, 01:16:38 PM
The dog ate my boots!!

Quote from: thebandit on October 22, 2008, 05:51:44 PM
The cattle broke out

I like it
Post by: fred the red on October 26, 2008, 02:11:44 PM
Someone let my budgie out of its cage.
Post by: DownFanatic on October 26, 2008, 03:00:01 PM
Best one I heard was that a player couldnt make training because he was helping his da build a pigeon shed.

Also, a mate of mine once texted his manager at 2.30am on a Friday morning from Belfast asking him did he know the number of Dial-a-Drink. Worst of all the team had a match that night.
Post by: supersub on October 26, 2008, 11:44:09 PM
last year towards the end of the season we were sittin in renshaws and 2 of the lads had trainin at home (although they werent students, they were just down for the night before), and were try to make up excuses not to go back down the road, so one of them plucked up the courage and just text the manager saying that he wouldnt be back from belfast in time he was still there, and then the other one text immediately after just saying "so am i"  :D chancer!!
Post by: leenie on October 26, 2008, 11:54:29 PM

trainer...... why u late for training?

pa.............had to take the cow to the bull

trainer........could ur father not have done that?

pa..............jaysus no.. it had to be bull!
Post by: kickingmule on October 27, 2008, 12:51:06 AM
 :) :) :) :) ... Class ..hahaha!!!
Post by: kickingmule on October 27, 2008, 01:17:31 AM
Boss ...... why were you not @ training last night?

Mule  ... sorry boss, i tried, but by the time i come ...... it was too late..... ;D ;D ;D