Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Minder on October 22, 2008, 01:56:11 PM

Title: West Belfast GAA Club to facilitate function for INLA Killer
Post by: Minder on October 22, 2008, 01:56:11 PM
Call over INLA killer club event 

Christopher "Crip" McWilliams was a convicted double killer
Former Sports Minister Edwin Poots has called on a west Belfast GAA club to cancel a booking for a function to commemorate an INLA murderer.

The event, remembering Christopher "Crip" McWilliams, is due to be held at the St Paul's club next month.

The club committee said it was unaware of the nature of the booking when it was made and will discuss it soon.

Mr Poots said it would be damaging to the club and the wider GAA if the evening goes ahead.

"They should just cancel this booking - these sort of events are normally held in backstreet social clubs," he said.

"If somebody wants to commemorate people who engage in terrorism that's the place for it, certainly not in a sporting club."

In 1991, McWilliams, who died from cancer in June this year, shot dead a bar manager who had asked him to leave a Belfast snooker club.

Six years later, he shot and killed LVF leader Billy Wright in the Maze Prison.

A spokesman for the club committee said: "The committee was unaware of the nature of this booking when it was made by a club member.

"The committee will be discussing the booking when they next convene."

Title: Re: West Belfast GAA Club to hold function for INLA Killer
Post by: his holiness nb on October 22, 2008, 01:59:50 PM
Its a private function hiring the clubs premises so I wouldnt exactly say the GAA club is "holding" the function.

That said, now that they know what its for, and given the outcry of some idiots on the Unionist side who will be given airtime to claim the GAA is "supporting the INLA", it might be a good idea to cancel the booking.
Title: Re: West Belfast GAA Club to hold function for INLA Killer
Post by: magpie seanie on October 22, 2008, 02:02:09 PM
All i'll say is I'm glad I'm not on the committee of that club.
Title: Re: West Belfast GAA Club to facilitate function for INLA Killer
Post by: SidelineKick on October 22, 2008, 02:10:40 PM
I wonder did Gregory Campbell Poot him up to this.
Post by: Minder on October 22, 2008, 02:22:12 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on October 22, 2008, 02:10:40 PM

Put him up to what? Asking why a Gaa Club is allowing a function for an INLA killer?
Post by: Doogie Browser on October 22, 2008, 02:34:18 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 22, 2008, 02:22:12 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on October 22, 2008, 02:10:40 PM

Put him up to what? Asking why a Gaa Club is allowing a function for an INLA killer?

I have a wee notion he was being sarcastic, that is pootiful that you reacted so Minder.
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 22, 2008, 02:37:35 PM
well he did kind of redeem himself by getting rid of wright  :-X
Post by: Zapatista on October 22, 2008, 02:40:41 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 22, 2008, 02:38:17 PM
Two wrongs don't make a Wright.

But three lefts do.
Post by: orangeman on October 22, 2008, 02:42:36 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on October 22, 2008, 02:40:41 PM

But three lefts do.
;) :D
Post by: ziggysego on October 22, 2008, 02:45:56 PM

I thought Billy's parents where (Norn) Irish.
Post by: Minder on October 22, 2008, 02:47:41 PM
I hope St Pauls have the wit to cancel it.
Post by: Zapatista on October 22, 2008, 02:50:25 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 22, 2008, 02:47:41 PM

Now that they know what it is for I hope they look at it and decide what to do by soley looking at the case and not be swayed in any way by Poots.
Post by: Doogie Browser on October 22, 2008, 02:55:58 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on October 22, 2008, 02:50:25 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 22, 2008, 02:47:41 PM

Now that they know what it is for I hope they look at it and decide what to do by soley looking at the case and not be swayed in any way by Poots.
I agree, I would hate this to be billed as 'Poots forces GAA to renege' shite
Post by: fearglasmor on October 22, 2008, 03:09:11 PM
Whats the surest way to get people to do something ?
Tell them they can't.

Why do people never learn.
Don't they know there are ways to get things done
And then there are ways to raise hackles.
Post by: The Iceman on October 22, 2008, 03:14:00 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 22, 2008, 02:45:56 PM

very good ziggy very good

actually had a drink in his company in the red devil on the falls when I was at university

He didn't have much to say to me and it certainly isn't my claim to fame but I did get to shake his hand.  Billy Wright was an evil man and I would find it hard to ever forgive him for killing those two young lads at the shambles in armagh

Post by: SidelineKick on October 22, 2008, 03:32:56 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on October 22, 2008, 03:14:00 PM

actually had a drink in his company in the red devil on the falls when I was at university
He didn't have much to say to me and it certainly isn't my claim to fame but I did get to shake his hand.  Billy Wright was an evil man and I would find it hard to ever forgive him for killing those two young lads at the shambles in armagh

I thought u were talkin about bill wright there  :D forgot what the thread was about!
Post by: The Iceman on October 22, 2008, 03:49:33 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on October 22, 2008, 03:32:56 PM

I thought u were talkin about bill wright there  :D forgot what the thread was about!

I don't think Billy Wright was about the falls when I was at Uni - he might have been haunting the place

Crip got a handshake from the Ice Man
Post by: Donagh on October 22, 2008, 03:57:32 PM
Crip McWilliams was nothing more than a gangster in the Billy Wright or Johnny Adair model. St Pauls should ask the organisers of this evening to take it elsewhere as McWilliam did enough damage to the GAA when he murdered Sarsfields man Collie Mahon.
Post by: deiseach on October 22, 2008, 04:03:34 PM
Quote from: Donagh on October 22, 2008, 03:57:32 PM
Crip McWilliams was nothing more than a gangster in the Billy Wright or Johnny Adair model. St Pauls should ask the organisers of this evening to take it elsewhere as McWilliam did enough damage to the GAA when he murdered Sarsfields man Collie Mahon.

Crikey, everything I know is wrong. Fair play to ya, Donagh.
Post by: Bogball XV on October 22, 2008, 04:28:02 PM
Agree 100% Donagh, I'd be disappointed and surprised if this went ahead.
Post by: dec on October 22, 2008, 05:27:07 PM
Rule 44
Uses of Property
(a) All property including grounds, Club Houses, Halls,
Dressing Rooms and Handball Alleys owned or
controlled by units of the Association shall be used
only for the purpose of or in connection with the
playing of the Games controlled by the Association,
and for such other purposes not in conflict with the
Aims and Objects of the Association, that may be
sanctioned from time to time by the Central Council.
Post by: Maroon Heaven on October 22, 2008, 05:35:23 PM

Well said
Post by: SidelineKick on October 22, 2008, 05:39:19 PM
Cant really comment, don't know that much about him but he still got rid of that sc**bag wright.
Post by: Puckoon on October 22, 2008, 05:54:49 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on October 22, 2008, 03:49:33 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on October 22, 2008, 03:32:56 PM

I don't think Billy Wright was about the falls when I was at Uni - he might have been haunting the place

Crip got a handshake from the Ice Man

Iceman - without being insulting, I am absolutely flummoxed that someone who has morality as almost his middle name (signature, and prevelant in threads) would shake the hand of a man who shot a bar manager dead, for asking him to leave a snooker club.

Parents cant help their paralysed son to die the way they want in your opinion - yet shaking hands and sharing a drink with a man who gave someone no choice about their life ending is ok?

Even your post on the "what would you do thread" is about the death of the real man.

My morals may be shaky ground in your opinion regarding the sanctity of life - but I'd be a real man and un waivering about shaking hands with a murderer.
Post by: Maguire01 on October 22, 2008, 06:04:36 PM
(There are serious double standards from some here. It's like some Americans - don't vote Obama because 'he kills babies' (re abortion), but it's okay to vote McCain, although he'll probably kill twice as many by starting a few wars.)

But anyway, back to the topic - this should not go ahead. It would be handing over a stick for the GAA to be beaten with. The Association should stay well clear of such events.
Also, is it not strange that a club would agree to let a member books its facilities without asking what it is for at the outset?
Post by: SidelineKick on October 22, 2008, 06:06:23 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 22, 2008, 06:04:36 PM
(There are serious double standards from some here. It's like some Americans - don't vote Obama because 'he kills babies' (re abortion), but it's okay to vote McCain, although he'll probably kill twice as many by starting a few wars.)

But anyway, back to the topic - this should not go ahead. It would be handing over a stick for the GAA to be beaten with. The Association should stay well clear of such events.
Also, is it not strange that a club would agree to let a member books its facilities without asking what it is for at the outset?

I think you're maybe being naive here maguire, I would be fairly confident they knew.
Post by: Puckoon on October 22, 2008, 06:06:35 PM
Stranger still that a member with any sort of concern for the GAA would think about booking an event like this at his/her club in the first place.
Post by: Maguire01 on October 22, 2008, 06:09:54 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on October 22, 2008, 06:06:23 PM

I think you're maybe being naive here maguire, I would be fairly confident they knew.

Not in the slightest bit naive. I'd be as sure as you are - i was just challenging the official line in the original story. It's damage limitation.
Post by: SidelineKick on October 22, 2008, 06:11:37 PM
Yeah they can hardly be seen to be saying "we thought it was fine"

I dont know how they didnt think this would cause a stir!
Post by: theskull1 on October 22, 2008, 06:13:37 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on October 22, 2008, 06:06:23 PM

Well shame on them if they accepted a booking for someone who killed a member from the club next door. I'll side with the view that they did not know....I hope I'm right (was tempted)
Post by: SidelineKick on October 22, 2008, 06:25:02 PM
How many committees would allow "something" to be booked in the club???  I know our committee would want to know what that something was for and what it involved.  It stands to sense.
Post by: nifan on October 22, 2008, 06:33:07 PM
Id say all sorts of facilities are used for all sorts of things many of us would find unpalatable - sports halls, schools, churches, orange lodges.
Only occasionally does it pass the eye of someone who will make an issue out of it.
Post by: theskull1 on October 22, 2008, 06:59:35 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on October 22, 2008, 06:25:02 PM
How many committees would allow "something" to be booked in the club???  I know our committee would want to know what that something was for and what it involved.  It stands to sense.

If every committee vetted everything it would make sense. But I would be surprised this wasn't ok'd by someone who didn't know anything about this boy's history.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 22, 2008, 07:19:30 PM
Well shame on them if they accepted a booking for someone who killed a member from the club next door. I'll side with the view that they did not know....I hope I'm right (was tempted)
What's the story there?

I don't understand what the issue is myself, gaa halls, function rooms etc are normally available for rent.
Post by: stew on October 22, 2008, 07:31:12 PM
The club should not let this function go on, this is a direct reflection on the GAA whether we like it or not and it just gives Armstrong and co more ammo to slam us with.

Tobermore United let their place out to loyalist scumbags and we hammered them on here for that, what is the difference?
Post by: magickingdom on October 22, 2008, 08:37:29 PM
the club should cancel it pronto
Post by: Minder on October 22, 2008, 10:18:45 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 22, 2008, 07:19:30 PM
What's the story there?

I don't understand what the issue is myself, gaa halls, function rooms etc are normally available for rent.

Mc Williams murdered Sarsfields man Collie Mahon, for having the temerity to kick Mc Williams and a few of his hoods out of a snooker club. The pitches of Sarsfields, O Donovan Rossa and St Pauls (where the event is due to take place) are all beside each other.
Post by: stephenite on October 23, 2008, 01:25:12 AM
Cancel it and sack the committee that let this blow up their faces in the first place, clowns.
Post by: Hardy on October 23, 2008, 08:28:32 AM
I'm inclined to believe the committee. I don't imagine the barman, or whoever happens to be present when someone comes in or phones in to make a booking, is briefed to interrogate them on the nature of the function.

What usually happens, in my experience is "I'd like to book the bar/function room for a party on the 17th". Barman checks book - "yes it's free - how many people?", etc. No "is this an INLA celebration?" questions would arise.
Post by: Sandy Hill on October 23, 2008, 11:06:10 AM
Quote from: stephenite on October 23, 2008, 01:25:12 AM
Cancel it and sack the committee that let this blow up their faces in the first place, clowns.

Agree with you 100% Stephenite - pricks!
Post by: theskull1 on October 23, 2008, 11:13:10 AM
How can you agree with what stephenite has said when we all have no clue about the details of how this booking was taken. Weird logic

The devil is in the .............
Post by: red hander on October 23, 2008, 11:26:08 AM

If any other Republican had have taken out that murdering bastard Wright he would have been considered a hero, but McWilliams never was ... he was nothing but a cowardly sc**bag who bravely went and got a gun after being ejected from Frames and came back and shot dead a well liked and respected family man who just happened to work in the bar
Post by: An Fear Rua on October 23, 2008, 05:08:31 PM
its been cancelled

A west Belfast GAA club has cancelled a booking for a function to commemorate an INLA murderer.

The event, remembering Christopher 'Crip' McWilliams, had been due to be held at the St Paul's club next month.

In a statement, a club spokesman said its committee was not aware of the nature of the booking when it was made.

"We can now hopefully return to our primary function of serving our local community with sporting and cultural opportunities," he added.

In 1991, McWilliams, who died from cancer in June this year, shot dead a bar manager who had asked him to leave a Belfast snooker club.

Six years later, he shot and killed LVF leader Billy Wright in the Maze Prison.

On Wednesday, former sports minister Edwin Poots of the DUP called on St Paul's to cancel the booking, which had been made by a club member.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/7687200.stm
Post by: Evil Genius on October 23, 2008, 06:01:57 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 23, 2008, 11:13:10 AM
How can you agree with what stephenite has said when we all have no clue about the details of how this booking was taken.

We now know a little more:
"On Wednesday, former sports minister Edwin Poots of the DUP called on St Paul's to cancel the booking, which had been made by a club member."

Anyhow, if McWilliams had only murdered Wright, but not Mahon, would that make any difference to anyones views on whether this should have been allowed or not? Or if he had never been convicted of any murder (though was known to be an INLA member)?

Post by: Puckoon on October 23, 2008, 06:03:18 PM
No.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on October 23, 2008, 06:45:54 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on October 23, 2008, 06:01:57 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 23, 2008, 11:13:10 AM
How can you agree with what stephenite has said when we all have no clue about the details of how this booking was taken.

We now know a little more:
"On Wednesday, former sports minister Edwin Poots of the DUP called on St Paul's to cancel the booking, which had been made by a club member."

Anyhow, if McWilliams had only murdered Wright, but not Mahon, would that make any difference to anyones views on whether this should have been allowed or not? Or if he had never been convicted of any murder (though was known to be an INLA member)?

If he was never convicted of anything then there would be no problem unless you want the GAA to act as a Court now as well. "Was known to be" doesn't really stand up too well when it comes to proof, does it?
Post by: Donagh on October 23, 2008, 07:43:17 PM
The fact that the INLA allowed a criminal like McWilliams onto their wing in the first place tells us all we need to know about that organisation.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on October 23, 2008, 07:49:06 PM
He was originally - when he shot Mahon - a member of that fine upstanding band of intellectuals known as the IPLO...
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 23, 2008, 07:57:14 PM
Quote from: Donagh on October 23, 2008, 07:43:17 PM
The fact that the INLA allowed a criminal like McWilliams onto their wing in the first place tells us all we need to know about that organisation.
As opposed to what Donagh? Those upstanding members of the community in the PIRA?! I thought it was a pre-requisite to be a criminal to join any of these organisations.
Post by: Donagh on October 23, 2008, 07:58:09 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 23, 2008, 07:57:14 PM
As opposed to what Donagh? Those upstanding members of the community in the PIRA?! I thought it was a pre-requisite to be a criminal to join any of these organisations.

That didn't take long. Well done Tony, first prize  ::)
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 23, 2008, 08:14:16 PM
Always a pleasure. What's my prize, a years subscription to An Phoblacht?
Post by: Main Street on October 23, 2008, 08:25:39 PM
Patron fees for the OWC ;D
Post by: Donagh on October 23, 2008, 08:26:17 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 23, 2008, 08:14:16 PM
Always a pleasure. What's my prize, a years subscription to An Phoblacht?

Nah now Fivetimes has gone you inherit the most predictable **** of the year award.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 23, 2008, 08:28:22 PM
5ivetimes isnt gone, just posts under a different name.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 23, 2008, 08:31:25 PM
You just keep teeing them up!
Post by: Donagh on October 23, 2008, 08:37:47 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 23, 2008, 08:31:25 PM
You just keep teeing them up!

So then Tony perhaps before invoking the Gaaboard version of Godwins Law any further you would like to point out exactly what it is you disagree with in the two posts I made on this thread?
Post by: Minder on October 23, 2008, 09:14:55 PM
Mc Williams does not have any of the romanticism that some of the provies have, just because he wasnt in the PIRA. If he was in the PIRA when he whacked Wright there would be a mural of him on the Falls Rd.
Post by: Donagh on October 23, 2008, 09:32:18 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 23, 2008, 09:14:55 PM
Mc Williams does not have any of the romanticism that some of the provies have, just because he wasnt in the PIRA. If he was in the PIRA when he whacked Wright there would be a mural of him on the Falls Rd.

There's no "romanticism" about him because he murdered a lad because he threw him out of a club.
Post by: Minder on October 23, 2008, 09:33:45 PM
I saw him in a bar on the Falls Rd a few years ago and he was getting a grand old back slapping. Peculiar.
Post by: Yes I Would on October 23, 2008, 10:46:36 PM
He kept his head down in Newry in recent years, and he really didnt get much attention.  Night in the INF club recently and there was hardly a whimper over it.
A function in his honour in a West Belfast gaa club was crazy, as for many in that community his previous actions for the murder of that young innocent man remain quite raw.

The murder of Wright is what he will be remembered for by most, an act which many nationalists welcomed.

Post by: theskull1 on October 23, 2008, 11:04:28 PM
Quote from: Yes I Would on October 23, 2008, 10:46:36 PM

The murder of Wright is what he will be remembered for by most, an act which many nationalists welcomed.

mmmmmmmmmmmmm there'll be plenty of nationalists who wouldn't agree with your wording there YIW but I think there would be no one who would feel the world isn't a better place. To say they welcomed the act is over egging it
Post by: Yes I Would on October 23, 2008, 11:11:22 PM
In South Armagh, Mid Armagh or anywhere in Midulster i would be surprised if most nationalists didnt feel a sigh of relief when the news broke at that time.
I know i certainly did as did most peole i know, many who would not consider themselves militaristic republicans.
Post by: Doogie Browser on October 23, 2008, 11:19:26 PM
The death of Billy Wright was the only time I was not sad to hear of someones death.  The only thing that upset me about it was the innocent poor victims of the following 7/10 days who were killed in so called 'revenge', good people who did so much for their communities like Terry Enright jr RIP.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 23, 2008, 11:48:19 PM
I don't think many shed a tear after his departure. Except maybe his mate Rev. Willie McCrae. I think most people knew there would be a price to pay but it was a heavy sacrifice for a lot of families. Was it Space in the city centre that Terry Enright was working in?
Post by: Doogie Browser on October 23, 2008, 11:58:02 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 23, 2008, 11:48:19 PM
I don't think many shed a tear after his departure. Except maybe his mate Rev. Willie McCrae. I think most people knew there would be a price to pay but it was a heavy sacrifice for a lot of families. Was it Space in the city centre that Terry Enright was working in?
I think it was, his father has since and I am sure before done so much for kids from all over Ireland, think he established a charitable foundation in his memory.  He also does tours of black mountain during the Feile and maybe all year round. 
Post by: ziggysego on October 24, 2008, 01:38:31 AM
I smiled a little. Never did that before and haven't done it since. Wright was bad news.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on October 24, 2008, 05:43:36 AM
maybe this was answered already - How did Poots find out about the event before the club?

PHP
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 24, 2008, 08:28:49 AM
of course a club member would have to have booked it, sure people cant just walk in off the street and accept a booking for a function !

as for the killing of wright, that was an example of how collusion worked the 'other way' - with the security forces knowing about the plot to kill wright in advance and had taken measures to remove a couple of normally 24x7 guard positions away from two areas at the time allowing the fellas to get out of their secured area and over to the visitors area.
You had to have helicopters to do that in years previous.
So as per usual the establishment indulged in collusion - this time with the republican side because it suited them (and helped cover up a whole lot more collusion with the death of wright in case he squealed on his former handlers).
Post by: Donagh on October 24, 2008, 09:14:09 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 24, 2008, 08:28:49 AM
of course a club member would have to have booked it, sure people cant just walk in off the street and accept a booking for a function !

as for the killing of wright, that was an example of how collusion worked the 'other way' - with the security forces knowing about the plot to kill wright in advance and had taken measures to remove a couple of normally 24x7 guard positions away from two areas at the time allowing the fellas to get out of their secured area and over to the visitors area.
You had to have helicopters to do that in years previous.
So as per usual the establishment indulged in collusion - this time with the republican side because it suited them (and helped cover up a whole lot more collusion with the death of wright in case he squealed on his former handlers).

Have always thought the Wright killing was a bit of internal house-keeping by the Brits. On the one hand he was a loose cannon that had to be taken care off if the ceasefires were to succeed. On the other hand Jackson and him had been colluding with various arms of the Brit 'security forces' and unionist politicians for over twenty years and as such knew too much. 
Post by: EC Unique on October 24, 2008, 09:33:14 AM
There were two sad things about Wrights killing.... The people who were murdered in revenge killings and the fact that it was over quickly for him. I would have prefered a slow, painfull death for the sc**bag >:(
Post by: Doogie Browser on October 24, 2008, 09:35:24 AM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on October 24, 2008, 05:43:36 AM
maybe this was answered already - How did Poots find out about the event before the club?

PHP

I have heard on the grapevine that the BBC were approached by someone who heard about this from outside of the St Pauls club, they in turn approached Pootsie for a statement and as expected create a brouhaha
Post by: 5iveTimes on October 25, 2008, 12:38:23 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 24, 2008, 01:38:31 AM
I smiled a little. Never did that before and haven't done it since. Wright was bad news.

I think that is how most people felt Ziggy. Wright got no more than he deserved, in fact he should have got it sooner but the Provo`s weren`t up to the job.
I am not going to comment on what Christopher McWilliams originally went to Jail for, there has been enough said on that already, both here on the GAA Board and in the community as a whole. What I am going to say is that Crip achieved something that the IRA couldn`t do. He murdered the so called King Rat, who had murdered so many innocent Catholics and Nationalists. Wright never took on anyone who would fight back, any lunatic with a gun can go out and kill teenagers standing at a mobile shop or innocent people courting in a country carpark. Wright had to go, and fair play to McWilliams for doing it, better men than Crip tried to get Wright and failed. Idiots like Donagh can say it was internal house keeping by the Brits, but thats a bit rich coming from a mouth piece for an organisation that are being paid handsomely to implement British rule in the Six Counties. If the British had wanted one of their agents to get Wright, they could have sent Freddie Scappaticci along to do it, after all he had killed plenty of people with the full consent of his British paymasters before. Then again Scap only killed Catholics, a bit like Wright I suppose.
If Crip McWilliams had been a member of the Provisional IRA the Wolfe Tones would have written a ballad about him and there would be street named after him in West Belfast. Adams and McGuinness would have carried his coffin (maybe as representatives of the British Goverment) at his funeral and he would be a hero instead being remembered for killing a doorman.
Now lets get back to the issue at hand here. Wether or not a West Belfast GAA Club should have held a function for the late Christopher McWilliams. I as a GAA man wouldnt want to see the GAA associated with anything that would bring that organistaion into disrepute. Too many people, usually Unionist politicians look for a political stick to beat the GAA with and this was a great chance for all and sundry to jump on the anti GAA bandwagon again. Wasnt Wrights gang responsible for the death of Sean Brown in Bellaghy? Where were those same politicans when these murders were taking place? I think it can safely be said that the vast majority of us here on the GAA Board like to keep sport and politics seperate.
So why then has the GAA Board been used to promote an event at a GAA club in South Armagh IRA man who was killed in a car crash in Newry.  An event which took place at Dromintee GAA club on Saturday the 18th of October. 1 week ago and not one word of condemnation from any politican or indeed the self righteous on the GAA Board.

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=9529.0
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=4206.msg390207#msg390207
http://www.sultsolutions.com/gfm/

Now I`ll give those of you who dont know a bit of background to this. Gerald Fearon, was killed in a road car accident on the Dublin Road in Newry 2 years ago. He was killed by a young tear-away in a £50 car. He had no insurance, no licence nothing. In fact I think he was only 15 or 16 years old at the time off the accident. He subsequently received a prison sentence which was far far too lenient.
Shortly after this tragic death, the IRA announced that Gerald Fearon was one of their volunteers. Dont take my word for it though, if you google Gerald Fearon IRA Dromintee you will get the official Sinn Fein version from An Phoblacht. The IRA then used this tragic accident as an excuse to go on the offensive against young tear aways in Newry and South Armagh, but they didnt do anything against the little sc**bag who killed two innocent people on the Dublin Rd. Why? Well that little sc**bag was a member of a prominent Republican family from Camlough, in fact his uncle was the Sinn Fein Mayor of Newry & Mourne District Council.

So while Edwin Poots and the rest of the Unionist Parties are getting a dig in at the GAA for even thinking about holding an event for Crip McWilliams, Sinn Fein/IRA are happily using a GAA club to raise money for a dead IRA man who was killed by a teenage republican joyrider.  This would be fecking hilarious if it wasnt true. Now I am not saying anything about Gerald Fearon or his family, I don`t know them, but he was a young man when he died. So young in fact that he would probably have been studying for his 11 plus when the IRA called its ceasfire in 1994. So he was
an IRA volunteer, who never seen active service and not one of the members of this board saw fit to condemn Dromintee GAA club for allowing such an event on its premises. Yet the ususal mouth pieces on this very same board were very quick to condemn Crip McWilliams and an a West Belfast Club who considered holding an event for him. In fact one idiot called for the board of that club to resign.
You couldn`t make this sh*t up.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 25, 2008, 12:45:00 PM
QuoteSinn Fein/IRA are happily using a GAA club to raise money for a dead IRA man who was killed by a teenage republican joyrider.  This would be fecking hilarious if it wasnt true.
How are Sinn Fein or the IRA involved in that? The club ran the event and the money raised was raised for chairty, the air ambulance.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on October 25, 2008, 12:50:15 PM
QuoteSo why then has the GAA Board been used to promote an event at a GAA club in South Armagh IRA man who was killed in a car crash in Newry.  An event which took place at Dromintee GAA club on Saturday the 18th of October. 1 week ago and not one word of condemnation from any politican or indeed the self righteous on the GAA Board.

Now I`ll give those of you who dont know a bit of background to this. Gerald Fearon, was killed in a road car accident on the Dublin Road in Newry 2 years ago. He was killed by a young tear-away in a £50 car. He had no insurance, no licence nothing. In fact I think he was only 15 or 16 years old at the time off the accident. He subsequently received a prison sentence which was far far too lenient.
Shortly after this tragic death, the IRA announced that Gerald Fearon was one of their volunteers. Dont take my word for it though, if you google Gerald Fearon IRA Dromintee you will get the official Sinn Fein version from An Phoblacht. The IRA then used this tragic accident as an excuse to go on the offensive against young tear aways in Newry and South Armagh, but they didnt do anything against the little sc**bag who killed two innocent people on the Dublin Rd. Why? Well that little sc**bag was a member of a prominent Republican family from Camlough, in fact his uncle was the Sinn Fein Mayor of Newry & Mourne District Council.

5ivetimes, you really are beneath contempt.
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 25, 2008, 01:51:10 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on October 25, 2008, 12:38:23 PM
. Wright never took on anyone who would fight back, any lunatic with a gun can go out and kill teenagers standing at a mobile shop or innocent people courting in a country carpark. Wright had to go, and fair play to McWilliams for doing it, better men than Crip tried to get Wright and failed. Idiots like Donagh can say it was internal house keeping by the Brits, but thats a bit rich coming from a mouth piece for an organisation that are being paid handsomely to implement British rule in the Six Counties. If the British had wanted one of their agents to get Wright, they could have sent Freddie Scappaticci along to do it, after all he had killed plenty of people with the full consent of his British paymasters before. Then again Scap only killed Catholics, a bit like Wright I suppose.
If Crip McWilliams had been a member of the Provisional IRA the Wolfe Tones would have written a ballad about him and there would be street named after him in West Belfast. Adams and McGuinness would have carried his coffin (maybe as representatives of the British Goverment) at his funeral and he would be a hero instead being remembered for killing a doorman.
it was me that brought this up, and I wouldnt consider myself an idiot, and def have nothing to do with SF.

as for the rest of your inane rant
you need therapy or something serious to help yourself (electrodes /girlfriend ?)
Post by: ardmhachaabu on October 25, 2008, 02:31:12 PM
Latest graffiti on the Falls: St Poots Gaa club  :D
Post by: Minder on October 25, 2008, 04:16:53 PM
In fairness to 5Ive Times i agree with some of what he is saying,if someone in the IRA had killed Wright there wouldnt be a commemoration night in a club for him,the club would be named after him.
Post by: Zapatista on October 25, 2008, 04:19:00 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 25, 2008, 04:16:53 PM
In fairness to 5Ive Times i agree with some of what he is saying,if someone in the IRA had killed Wright there wouldnt be a commemoration night in a club for him,the club would be named after him.

Depends who that someone was. They wouldn't call it the Sean O'Callaghan GAA club but the might call it the Bobby Sands GAA club.
Post by: Bogball XV on October 25, 2008, 09:16:04 PM
Maybe, but not someone in the IRA who had killed an innocent member of a neighbouring gaa club.
Post by: Tonto on October 25, 2008, 09:56:15 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on October 25, 2008, 09:16:04 PM
Maybe, but not someone in the IRA who had killed an innocent member of a neighbouring gaa club.
Aye, I agree. It would only have happened if that IRA member had killed an innocent Protestant.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 25, 2008, 09:59:48 PM
Dont think so tonto.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on October 25, 2008, 10:07:56 PM
Excuse me if I am reporting old news .. new grafitti near St Pauls... "St Poots GAC - Shame on you!"
Post by: Bogball XV on October 25, 2008, 10:20:35 PM
Quote from: Tonto on October 25, 2008, 09:56:15 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on October 25, 2008, 09:16:04 PM
Aye, I agree. It would only have happened if that IRA member had killed an innocent Protestant.
I would say that's unlikely Tonto.
Post by: Zapatista on October 25, 2008, 10:30:55 PM

I'm calling you a liar. Now either remain being called a liar or back up your statement.
Post by: Tonto on October 25, 2008, 11:29:22 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on October 25, 2008, 10:30:55 PM

I'm calling you a liar. Now either remain being called a liar or back up your statement.
How do you expect me to prove the hypothetical situation where if an IRA man who had been sent to jail for killing an innocent Protestant then killed Billy Wright in jail would have had a GAA club named after him?

IMO it probably would have happened.  Or a youth tournament at the very least.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 25, 2008, 11:34:53 PM
when do you think you boys will get rid of this paranoia?
Post by: Tonto on October 25, 2008, 11:38:18 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 25, 2008, 11:34:53 PM
when do you think you boys will get rid of this paranoia?
When the GAA rid themselves of their sectarian baggage. ;)
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 25, 2008, 11:41:31 PM
Yeah you see that's what I'm talking about.  When do you think unionists are going to stop moping - well,when do you think they are going to face up to what they've done in the past and stop moping in an attempt to distract attetnion from it?
Post by: Zapatista on October 25, 2008, 11:43:15 PM
Quote from: Tonto on October 25, 2008, 11:29:22 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on October 25, 2008, 10:30:55 PM

How do you expect me to prove the hypothetical situation where if an IRA man who had been sent to jail for killing an innocent Protestant then killed Billy Wright in jail would have had a GAA club named after him?

IMO it probably would have happened.  Or a youth tournament at the very least.

You sir, are a liar.
Post by: Tonto on October 25, 2008, 11:47:23 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 25, 2008, 11:41:31 PM
Yeah you see that's what I'm talking about.  When do you think unionists are going to stop moping - well,when do you think they are going to face up to what they've done in the past and stop moping in an attempt to distract attetnion from it?
I'm not sure what you are getting at?  Is the implication of your post that the IRA were justified in what they did and therefore that the GAA are justified in naming clubs/cups/grounds/whatever after convicted terrorists?

PS Zapatista, I believe your post breaks rule number 1. I will, however, ignore it for now.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 25, 2008, 11:49:47 PM
I'm implying nothing, I'm asking when are unionists going to face up to what they done and stop moping in an attempt to deflect attention?
Post by: Tonto on October 25, 2008, 11:54:24 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 25, 2008, 11:49:47 PM
I'm implying nothing, I'm asking when are unionists going to face up to what they done and stop moping in an attempt to deflect attention?
Deflecting attention? "Hello, kettle? Yeah, you're black."

And there was me posting about GAA clubs in a thread about GAA clubs but suddenly you go off on one about unionists not facing up to the past.  I'm sorry but I am failing to make the link. If you have something to post make a new thread instead of changing the direction of this one.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 25, 2008, 11:57:10 PM
the function is cancelled so what else is there to talk about?

So when are yous going to face up to the reality?
Post by: Bogball XV on October 26, 2008, 12:05:02 AM
GAA clubs and the GAA in general will to a large extent reflect the views of the people who comprise the clubs and organisation.  In that instance it is entirely understandable that gaa clubs may well honour people who you consider to be terrorists, an example would be Kevin Lynch and the hurling club named after him in Dungiven.  Imo that is a fitting tribute to a former player with the club who later died on hunger strike, we all have history, maybe if each side could learn to accept the other's instead of making issues where none should arise (not to mention making issues of hypothetical situations) we'd be better off.
Post by: Tonto on October 26, 2008, 12:07:32 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 25, 2008, 11:57:10 PM
the function is cancelled so what else is there to talk about?

So when are yous going to face up to the reality?
I only commented on this thread on the last page when several posters were considering whether or not it would have been allowed for an IRA terrorist if it had been them who had killed Wright; so it seems that they had plenty to talk about.

Your second question is totally unrelated to this thread. Maybe you want to start a new one?
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 26, 2008, 12:11:32 AM
QuoteYour second question as it is totally unrelated to this thread. Maybe you want to start a new one?
no there's enough political threads on here, you can just answer the question on this one.

Does talking about IRA "terrorists" make you feel better about the unionist involvement in the troubles?

maybe if each side could learn to accept the other's instead of making issues where none should arise (not to mention making issues of hypothetical situations) we'd be better off.
couldnt agree more
Post by: Tonto on October 26, 2008, 12:19:53 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 26, 2008, 12:11:32 AM
QuoteYour second question as it is totally unrelated to this thread. Maybe you want to start a new one?
no there's enough political threads on here, you can just answer the question on this one.

Does talking about IRA "terrorists" make you feel better about the unionist involvement in the troubles?
POG, I am not going round in circles with you tonight about this.  I really don't know what you are getting at.  The Troubles was a long and complicated period in our history and unionist participation in it has no place in this thread.  This is the last comment I will make on the matter here but if you have a specific and directed question for me or unionists (rather than some broad statement about the last 40 years) you might want to start a new thread.

Goodnight.

With regards to Kevin Lynch - yes he was a former player but did he stand out enough as a sportsman to have the club named after him or was the naming of the club largely down to his extra-curricular activites?
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 26, 2008, 12:21:54 AM
Running away.
Post by: Tonto on October 26, 2008, 12:30:18 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 26, 2008, 12:21:54 AM
Running away.
That would imply there's something to run away from. But you aren't exactly Paxman :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 26, 2008, 12:31:48 AM
you wont engage in debate so you're running away.
Post by: Bogball XV on October 26, 2008, 12:37:11 AM
Quote from: Tonto on October 26, 2008, 12:19:53 AMWith regards to Kevin Lynch - yes he was a former player but did he stand out enough as a sportsman to have the club named after him or was the naming of the club largely down to his extra-curricular activites?
Apparently he was quite handy, but the club was named after him because he died on hunger strike, the members of the club decided that would be their way of remembering and honouring the man.  The GAA doesn't have a tradition of naming clubs after their best players, nor does it happen in other codes or other countries (not going googling on this, but can't think of any off hand), however, world over you will find many sporting clubs named after historical and political people and events (again, not googling, but there's piles of them out there), probably because when the club is firs formed the players can draw inspiration from the acts of heroicism that they're called after?
Post by: carribbear on October 26, 2008, 01:02:02 AM
Quote from: Tonto on October 26, 2008, 12:19:53 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 26, 2008, 12:11:32 AM

POG, I am not going round in circles with you tonight about this.  I really don't know what you are getting at.  The Troubles was a long and complicated period in our history and unionist participation in it has no place in this thread.  This is the last comment I will make on the matter here but if you have a specific and directed question for me or unionists (rather than some broad statement about the last 40 years) you might want to start a new thread.

Goodnight.

With regards to Kevin Lynch - yes he was a former player but did he stand out enough as a sportsman to have the club named after him or was the naming of the club largely down to his extra-curricular activites?

Captained the Derry under 16's team to an all ireland trophy in Croke Park

Actually, check out the link and you'll probably see why he's held in such esteem in the hurling community (this was a top 15 feile na gael team from a GAA magazine a number of years back). Of course Gregory Campbell & Co will always know better....

(http://i34.tinypic.com/oqzmvc.jpg)

Of course his standing around Dungiven didn't go against him either when naming the club.
Post by: Bogball XV on October 26, 2008, 03:14:46 PM
2 Dungiven lads on the team - holy fcuk, never knew Brolly was much of a hurler, never actually knew he played at all tbh.  Handy team that though isn't it.
Post by: Main Street on October 26, 2008, 03:51:37 PM
Some team that, good photo of Joe Brolly
Even Denis Irwin is in there  :)
Post by: An Fear Rua on November 20, 2008, 02:36:07 PM
Is this our first GaaBoard death threat?

I was hoping it might be a little bit more glamourously phrased, you know a bit more sinister and a few metaphores etc?
But all we get is swearing and text speak, I dont know, you just cant get a decent class of hardman these days..

Post by: SidelineKick on November 20, 2008, 02:46:09 PM
Although I am happy to see the phrase "you're in for it" included.  I haven't heard that in ages!
Post by: full back on November 20, 2008, 02:48:00 PM
Have the mods deleted it?
Post by: SidelineKick on November 20, 2008, 03:01:08 PM
 :( looks like it fb
Post by: new devil on November 20, 2008, 03:16:16 PM
Who posted it and what did it say?
Post by: SidelineKick on November 20, 2008, 03:19:50 PM
Che 08, he threatened 5ive times syaing he didnt know what he was talking about and if he ever found out who he was he would be in for it.  See 5ive times comment on page 3 or 4.
Post by: Double Cross on November 20, 2008, 05:28:03 PM
Is pints threatening 5Times again? You`d think he would use his own name  ::)
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 20, 2008, 07:51:21 PM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on November 20, 2008, 02:36:07 PM
Is this our first GaaBoard death threat?

I was hoping it might be a little bit more glamourously phrased, you know a bit more sinister and a few metaphores etc?
But all we get is swearing and text speak, I dont know, you just cant get a decent class of hardman these days..

First death threat? 5ivetimes have threatened me several times now!
Though to be fair I dont think he said he'd kill me though, just that I'd never get near a computer. 
Post by: corn02 on November 22, 2008, 02:14:24 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on October 25, 2008, 12:38:23 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 24, 2008, 01:38:31 AM
I think it can safely be said that the vast majority of us here on the GAA Board like to keep sport and politics seperate.
So why then has the GAA Board been used to promote an event at a GAA club in South Armagh IRA man who was killed in a car crash in Newry.  An event which took place at Dromintee GAA club on Saturday the 18th of October. 1 week ago and not one word of condemnation from any politican or indeed the self righteous on the GAA Board.

So while Edwin Poots and the rest of the Unionist Parties are getting a dig in at the GAA for even thinking about holding an event for Crip McWilliams, Sinn Fein/IRA are happily using a GAA club to raise money for a dead IRA man who was killed by a teenage republican joyrider.  This would be fecking hilarious if it wasnt true. Now I am not saying anything about Gerald Fearon or his family, I don`t know them, but he was a young man when he died. So young in fact that he would probably have been studying for his 11 plus when the IRA called its ceasfire in 1994. So he was
an IRA volunteer, who never seen active service and not one of the members of this board saw fit to condemn Dromintee GAA club for allowing such an event on its premises. Yet the ususal mouth pieces on this very same board were very quick to condemn Crip McWilliams and an a West Belfast Club who considered holding an event for him. In fact one idiot called for the board of that club to resign.
You couldn`t make this sh*t up.

What a disgracefulk comment and I ask you to wiuthdraw it immediately. That night was in memory of Gerard's love of Gaelic Games and every peeny went to the Irish Air Ambulance service. Withdraw this comment at once.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 22, 2008, 02:21:38 PM
He cant withdraw it, he's banned.