GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: topgun on October 21, 2008, 12:49:46 PM

Title: 2008 Ulster Minor Club Championship
Post by: topgun on October 21, 2008, 12:49:46 PM
Who are the minors champions in each of the counties in ulster this year?

Armagh Minor Champions: Armagh Harps
Title: Re: 2008 Ulster Minor Club Championship
Post by: FermPundit on October 21, 2008, 01:01:46 PM
Fermanagh Minor Champions: Belcoo O'Rahilly's
Post by: billy the kid on October 21, 2008, 01:03:45 PM
Derry champions Ballinderry.

And think Creggan won Antrim
Post by: sammymaguire on October 21, 2008, 01:20:59 PM
Quote from: FermPundit on October 21, 2008, 01:01:46 PM
Fermanagh Minor Champions: Belcoo O'Rahilly's

whats Fermanagh football coming to when Belcoo can win trophies at any level? I know they are senior league champs too  :-[
Post by: boojangles on October 21, 2008, 01:25:52 PM
Cavan Gaels won Cavan Minor championship
Post by: omagh_gael on October 21, 2008, 02:33:12 PM
tyrone final this weekend between omagh and ardboe
Post by: bennydorano on October 21, 2008, 03:31:16 PM
The draw for this is taking place next Monday 27th October in the Northern Bank(HQ?) in Belfast.  Prelim game Sunday 30th Nov.
Post by: T O Hare on October 21, 2008, 05:11:07 PM
Mayobridge won Down
Post by: bennydorano on October 21, 2008, 06:57:00 PM
I think St Eunans won Donegal, only leaves Monaghan Champs.
Post by: J70 on October 21, 2008, 10:49:44 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 21, 2008, 06:57:00 PM
I think St Eunans won Donegal, only leaves Monaghan Champs.

Yes, St Eunan's beat St Michaels by two points in the Donegal Minor A final.
Post by: thebandit on October 22, 2008, 06:33:54 PM
Scotstown face Latton/St Patricks (Ballybay & Drumhowan) in the Monaghan championship final in 2 weeks.
If Scotstown win Monaghan they will be a strong side in Ulster.
Post by: Candyman on October 23, 2008, 11:32:34 AM
Not much was expected of the Armagh Champions this year as 13 of 15 are able to play next year and are a young side.
So if they do progess any further it'll be an added bonus...  ;)
Post by: robertemmet on October 27, 2008, 10:23:03 PM
Ballinderry play Cavan Gaels in the prelim round
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on October 27, 2008, 11:04:27 PM
Quote from: robertemmet on October 27, 2008, 10:23:03 PM
Ballinderry play Cavan Gaels in the prelim round

Thats not so good.  Do you know the rest of the draw robertemmet?
Post by: bridgegael on October 28, 2008, 07:47:43 AM
mayobridge play st eunans
Post by: bennydorano on October 28, 2008, 08:45:18 AM
Armagh Harps v Monaghan Champs (Scotstown/St Patricks)

Nothing in the Irish News, should be a full spread on it tommorrow I'd reckon.
Post by: robertemmet on October 28, 2008, 09:44:30 AM
na just heard the Ballinderry one last night
Post by: bennydorano on December 02, 2008, 03:14:53 PM
Gets underway this weekend, any betting available or who would be favs?
Post by: stiffler on December 05, 2008, 07:36:40 PM
Anyone heading down to these games this weekend?

I see there is 4 teams who won both minor and senior championships this year; Cavan Gaels, Ballinderry,  Mayobridge and St Eunans.

Great achievement for these clubs.
Post by: Jimmy on December 06, 2008, 03:28:14 PM
Any chance of the actual result?
Post by: Jimmy on December 06, 2008, 03:35:12 PM
To who?  Ballinderry?
Post by: Jinxy on December 06, 2008, 04:54:34 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 06, 2008, 03:14:24 PM
Great match. I think everyone should post their favourite incident and bit by bit we'll piece the full game together. Here's mine:

With about a minute to go in the game and things starting to come to the boil, the ball goes out over the sideline. The linesman awards the sideline kick to Cavan Gaels when it should have been a Ballinderry ball. A Ballinderry player picks the ball up and is attacked by a Cavan Gaels sub. A bout of fisticuffs ends with the Ballinderry player throwing the ball into the crowd. The ball is caught by an absolute nut case woman from Cavan. The referee over rules the linesman's decision and gives the line ball to Ballinderry. When the Ballinderry players go to the fence to ask for the ball back, the mad woman refuses to give it back. This results in more argy bargy on the the field. She eventually gives it back, shouting "f**k yis".

When the game ends, a bit slabbering, pushing, shoving, nonsense starts. Two Cavan players sent off after the game.

Enjoyable.

Holy God. :D
Post by: Doire abú on December 07, 2008, 11:47:02 AM
I'm interested in hearing HS's report.
Post by: orangeman on December 07, 2008, 02:38:28 PM
Ardboe and Ballinderry now - should be interesting - I believe it was originally fixed for next Sunday but with Ballinderry seniors I assume playing next Sunday, what now ??
Post by: FermPundit on December 07, 2008, 03:00:53 PM
Any word of the Belcco v Creggan game?
Post by: bennydorano on December 08, 2008, 09:24:37 AM
Creggan bt Belcoo 1-14 to 2-6 setting up a semi with Scotstown on the 21st.

Scotstown will be very hard to beat from what I saw of them against us yesterday, very strong down the middle, excellent FB, & FF, big strong MF.
Post by: orangeman on December 08, 2008, 01:12:09 PM
Any word on when the Ballinderry Ardboe game will be played ?
Post by: bennydorano on December 08, 2008, 01:55:24 PM
Semi Finals:
Sunday 21st December 1-30pm
Scotstown   v   Creggan

Friday 26th December 1-30pm
Naomh Adhamhnáin/Mayobridge   v   Ballinderry/Ardboe

Final:
Thursday 1st January 1-30pm
Title: Re: Úr
Post by: T O Hare on December 09, 2008, 01:11:51 AM
Quote from: drici on December 09, 2008, 12:53:00 AM
Saturday 13th December
St Pauls 1-30pm
Ballinderry v Ardboe

Sunday 14th December
St Pauls 1-30pm
Naomh Adhamhnáin v Mayobridge

Why did st pauls change the Bridge game on Sunday??? i was planning to get watching the Ulster final as well  >:( >:( >:(
Post by: screenexile on December 09, 2008, 11:17:48 AM
Quote from: T O Hare on December 09, 2008, 01:11:51 AM
Saturday 13th December
St Pauls 1-30pm
Ballinderry v Ardboe

Sunday 14th December
St Pauls 1-30pm

Why did st pauls change the Bridge game on Sunday??? i was planning to get watching the Ulster final as well  >:( >:( >:(

The Ballinderry Ardboe game was originally for the Sunday but I think a few of the Ballinderry supporters wanted to watch the Ulster Final as well.
Post by: orangeman on December 09, 2008, 11:41:39 AM
Quote from: screenexile on December 09, 2008, 11:17:48 AM
Saturday 13th December
St Pauls 1-30pm
Ballinderry v Ardboe

Sunday 14th December
St Pauls 1-30pm

The Ballinderry Ardboe game was originally for the Sunday but I think a few of the Ballinderry supporters wanted to watch the Ulster Final as well.

And Ardboe had arranged for Kyle Coney to rerurn on Saturday for the match on Sunday - now he's going to miss the game.  :( :( >:( >:(
Post by: amigo on December 09, 2008, 11:46:27 AM
Quote from: orangeman on December 09, 2008, 11:41:39 AM
Saturday 13th December
St Pauls 1-30pm
Ballinderry v Ardboe

Sunday 14th December
St Pauls 1-30pm

And Ardboe had arranged for Kyle Coney to rerurn on Saturday for the match on Sunday - now he's going to miss the game.  :( :( >:( >:(

I would doubt if he will miss the game. Time will tell i suppose!!
Post by: screenexile on December 09, 2008, 12:20:01 PM
Saturday 13th December
St Pauls 1-30pm
Ballinderry v Ardboe

Sunday 14th December
St Pauls 1-30pm

:o :o :o :o :o Well didn't that work out well for the Shamrocks... nothing could be done about it I suppose unless you can get him back sooner. I was thinking of going to that match but if Coney's not playing there's no point the Shamrocks will walk it;
Post by: amigo on December 09, 2008, 12:51:39 PM
Quote from: screenexile on December 09, 2008, 12:20:01 PM
Saturday 13th December
St Pauls 1-30pm
Ballinderry v Ardboe

Sunday 14th December
St Pauls 1-30pm

:o :o :o :o :o Well didn't that work out well for the Shamrocks... nothing could be done about it I suppose unless you can get him back sooner. I was thinking of going to that match but if Coney's not playing there's no point the Shamrocks will walk it;

He'll be playing!!
Post by: orangeman on December 09, 2008, 01:07:47 PM
Quote from: amigo on December 09, 2008, 12:51:39 PM
Saturday 13th December
St Pauls 1-30pm
Ballinderry v Ardboe

Sunday 14th December
St Pauls 1-30pm

He'll be playing!!

How do you know he will ? When is he home ?
Post by: amigo on December 09, 2008, 02:31:14 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 09, 2008, 01:07:47 PM
Saturday 13th December
St Pauls 1-30pm
Ballinderry v Ardboe

Sunday 14th December
St Pauls 1-30pm

He'll be playing!!

The Irish Star say's he is home in Dublin Saturday Morning at 1am i think. That gives him 11 hrs or so to get to Belfast!! He should make it !!
Post by: orangeman on December 09, 2008, 02:49:04 PM
Quote from: amigo on December 09, 2008, 02:31:14 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 09, 2008, 01:07:47 PM
Saturday 13th December
St Pauls 1-30pm
Ballinderry v Ardboe

Sunday 14th December
St Pauls 1-30pm

He'll be playing!!

The Irish Star say's he is home in Dublin Saturday Morning at 1am i think. That gives him 11 hrs or so to get to Belfast!! He should make it !!

I hope the Irish Star is 100% right !  ;) :D I must check out to see when he is home. But he won't be in great shape for playing football even if he does make it.
Post by: T O Hare on December 09, 2008, 04:20:35 PM
Saturday 13th December
St Pauls 1-30pm
Ballinderry v Ardboe

Sunday 14th December
St Pauls 1-30pm

But they just should have left the bridge game at 12 o clock!!!!
Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 09:48:27 AM
Word is coming through that Cavan Gaels have launched an appeal into their game last weekend with Ballinderry - Cavan Gaels allege that Ballinderry played a lad who was under 14. 

Technically Cavan Gaels are right  - the lad Bell ( who is a monster for 14 ) is under 14 and under the new rules shouldn't be playing -

But surely Cavan Gaels should have taken their beating and forgot about a protest ?

It's not as if he was overage ?? He's an under 14 who happens to be a huge lad for his age.
Post by: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 09:53:41 AM
As stated in the Ulster Club thread teams do anything to win (Darren Conway) so I suppose Cavan Gaels are entitled to do the same.
Post by: Doire abú on December 10, 2008, 09:56:54 AM
Under 14 season is long over. Cavan Gaels should learn to take their beating.
Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 09:58:49 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 09:53:41 AM
As stated in the Ulster Club thread teams do anything to win (Darren Conway) so I suppose Cavan Gaels are entitled to do the same.

Granted but surely Cavan Gaels should have walked away and left it alone ???

I know what you're saying and teams have done worse than this.

Did you read the Down report from the former referee ( now administrator ) in yesterday's Irish News where he alleged that clubs were ringing up referees making veiled threats of child abuse in order to get them to let a plapyer off who had been sent off ??.

This is getting out of hand.
Post by: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 10:01:30 AM
Don't get me wrong personally I think it comes across as sour grapes, but this is where some sort of line needs to be drawn!  You can't tell one person to do one thing and another to do another.

However, on this ocassion I feel it is bad form to make an appeal due to a player being UNDER age.

It really is getting out of hand.  There is "doing what it takes to win" but this can also fall within the sportsmanship bracket.

They should forget about it, will they though?
Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 10:12:37 AM
This is taking things to a new level -

I've often heard of people being accused of playing somebody over age but never underage.

Apparently the game fixed for the weekend is now off until the appeal is heard.

Poor form on the part of the Gaels.

It's not as if the Gaels see this as a once in a lifetime opportunity. They win county championships on a regular basis.

I konw they thought they had a big chance of winning the whole thing.

Talking to some of the Cavan Gaels lads, last weekend, they had two of their best players sidelined on Sunday due to illness and they must see this as a way of progressing.

If they do progress, it will be tainted.
Post by: Muzz on December 10, 2008, 10:56:14 AM
Why would it be tainted?  If Ballinderry have done something wrong by ignoring rules then surely they should be thrown out?

Does anyone know the actual rule Ballinderry are suppose to have broke?
Post by: tyrone86 on December 10, 2008, 11:07:10 AM
Rule 132: Age Grades
To be eligible for the respective grades listed hereunder, a player shall meet the stated age criteria on 1st January of the Championship Year:-
Adult: Be over 16 years
Under-21: Be over 16 and under 21 years
Minor (Under-18): Be over 14 and under 18 years
Under-16: Be over 12 and under 16 years
Under-14: Be over 10 and under 14 years
Under-12: Be over 9 and under 12 years
Penalties:
(i) Team Penalty:
- On a Proven Objection - Award of Game to the Opposing Team.
- On an Inquiry by Committee in Charge - Forfeiture of Game without Award to the Opposing Team.
(ii) Suspensions shall be as follows:
(a) Players:
- For playing overage at Under-16 or younger Grades: 4 weeks
- For playing overage at Minor or Under-21 Grade: 24 weeks
- For playing underage at any Grade: 2 weeks
(b) Person(s) in charge of the team committing the Infraction:
- For playing overage Player(s) – 48 weeks
- For playing underage Players – 8 weeks
(c) Chairman and Secretary of a Club: Playing overage player(s) at Minor and Under 21 Grades: 48 weeks
Post by: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 11:12:05 AM
Jesus, it looks like they could have a strong case on their hands then?
Post by: Muzz on December 10, 2008, 11:42:14 AM
By that - it sounds like the player in question would have to be 14 on the 1st January 2008 to be able to play Minor.

Is that right?

If so, what age was he on the 1st January 2008?
Post by: amigo on December 10, 2008, 11:44:22 AM
Quote from: Muzz on December 10, 2008, 11:42:14 AM
By that - it sounds like the player in question would have to be 14 on the 1st January 2008 to be able to play Minor.

Is that right?

If so, what age was he on the 1st January 2008?

11 LOL
Post by: Muzz on December 10, 2008, 11:57:14 AM
Trying to look for another rule I thought was included and possibly broke - is there not something about a player not able to play 2 tiers above his age group?  E.g. Under 14 can play Under 16 but not Minor? OR Under 16 can play Minor but not Senior?
Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 11:57:48 AM
Quote from: tyrone86 on December 10, 2008, 11:07:10 AM
To be eligible for the respective grades listed hereunder, a player shall meet the stated age criteria on 1st January of the Championship Year:-
Penalties:
(i) Team Penalty:
- On an Inquiry by Committee in Charge - Forfeiture of Game without Award to the Opposing Team.
(a) Players:
(c) Chairman and Secretary of a Club: Playing overage player(s) at Minor and Under 21 Grades: 48 weeks

The lad Bell in question is a huge young man. Probably one of the biggest on the panel. Does that mitigate ?
Post by: bennydorano on December 10, 2008, 12:06:02 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 10:12:37 AM

If they do progress, it will be tainted.

If they did get back in and win the whole thing there wont be an asterix beside their name in years to come.
Post by: tyrone86 on December 10, 2008, 12:08:17 PM
Aye, there's a subsection of the rule that say if a lad is massive he can play  ;)

At the end of the day rules is rules, but the question I'd ask is how did Cavan Gaels find out that yer man is still Under 14? In my own experience, unless you're tipped off, you don't know within the 72 hour appeal period if a lad is overage/underage/ not eligible.
Post by: amigo on December 10, 2008, 12:09:19 PM
Penalties:
(i) Team Penalty:
(a) Players:

If you are 14yrs and two months for example does this make you over 14 or do you have to be 15?? I would say there is room for interpretation there!!
Post by: tyrone86 on December 10, 2008, 12:16:19 PM
The way I'd understand it, in this case is, if he was 14 on 31st of December 2007 he'd be eligible, if his birthday was on 1st January 2008 he wouldn't. At the end of the day, it's exactly the same as someone born in November or December not being eligible to play under 14 despite being 14 for the duration of the tournament. Dates are arbitrary, you have to pick a cut off point somewhere.
Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 12:24:13 PM
Quote from: tyrone86 on December 10, 2008, 12:08:17 PM
Aye, there's a subsection of the rule that say if a lad is massive he can play  ;)

At the end of the day rules is rules, but the question I'd ask is how did Cavan Gaels find out that yer man is still Under 14? In my own experience, unless you're tipped off, you don't know within the 72 hour appeal period if a lad is overage/underage/ not eligible.

He's so big, he's been the talk locally for a number of years -

I was listening to Radio Uladh on Moday night and it described young Bell as being under 14.

Nobody is concealing the fact that he's under 14 - but it's hardly fair that Ballinderry should lose the game over it.
Post by: mountainboii on December 10, 2008, 12:26:05 PM
Usually age stipulations are based on date of birth, so in this case I'd imagine the rule was that minor football was open to anyone born between 01/01/1990 and 31/12/1993. If he was born after 01/01/1994 he is ineligible.
Post by: saffron sam2 on December 10, 2008, 12:30:51 PM
Penalties:
(i) Team Penalty:

(a) Players:

What's the difference?

Is it possible Cavan Gaels could get Ballinderry thrown out, yet not be re-instated? An even more hollow victory.

I would also suggest that someone born on 1st January 1994 would be over fourteen on that date (admittedly by a matter of hours) and hence eligible.
Post by: mountainboii on December 10, 2008, 12:34:42 PM
I'd say to clear up any confusion that its taken from midnight on that date Sam. Although GAA rules and confusion seem to go hand in hand....
Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 12:41:48 PM
Quote from: AFS on December 10, 2008, 12:34:42 PM
I'd say to clear up any confusion that its taken from midnight on that date Sam. Although GAA rules and confusion seem to go hand in hand....

Send for Frank Murphy !  ;)
Post by: full back on December 10, 2008, 12:51:31 PM
Although it doesnt seem fair & it may seem like sour grapes on the Gaels behalf, rules are rules.
If they are broken you have to be penalised

AFAIK, you can only play for 2 age groups so this leaves the lad in question as ineligible
Interesting to see how the GAA handle this one
Post by: cavan4ever on December 10, 2008, 12:55:38 PM
Quote from: full back on December 10, 2008, 12:51:31 PM
Although it doesnt seem fair & it may seem like sour grapes on the Gaels behalf, rules are rules.
If they are broken you have to be penalised

AFAIK, you can only play for 2 age groups so this leaves the lad in question as ineligible

I agree with you even though it is very petty. 
Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 01:01:16 PM
Yes rules are rules but I'm amazed at Cavan Gaels appealing - they were beaten fair and square and should take their beating.
Post by: full back on December 10, 2008, 01:02:10 PM
How did the lad in question play?
Post by: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 01:02:57 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 01:01:16 PM
Yes rules are rules but I'm amazed at Cavan Gaels appealing - they were beaten fair and square and should take their beating.

Would Ballinderry have done the same if the shoe was on the other foot??
Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 01:05:04 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 01:02:57 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 01:01:16 PM

Would Ballinderry have done the same if the shoe was on the other foot??

I would say Ballinderry would have taken their beating and left it at that. But who knows ?.

It reflects poorly on the Gaels in my opinion.

It's not sufficient reason to lodge an objection in my opinion - they were beat fair and saure and it's on a simple technicality that they are going to gain victory in the committee room.
Post by: mountainboii on December 10, 2008, 01:07:12 PM
Has this young lad been playing all year for Ballinderry? If so there are grounds for Derry clubs to object to anything that Ballinderry won within the county. Probably won't happen though, would it?
Post by: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 01:08:05 PM
As I said previously, we're into this mentality now of win at all costs.  Where do you draw the line?  I want to state again I think its bad form what they're doing but if they feel that is a way in which they can progress to the next round who is to say they are wrong when in fact they aren't!
Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 01:08:45 PM
Quote from: AFS on December 10, 2008, 01:07:12 PM
Has this young lad been playing all year for Ballinderry? If so there are grounds for Derry clubs to object to anything that Ballinderry won within the county. Probably won't happen though, would it?

He's a sub.

Has been playing schools football as well.

There'll be no objection from Ballinascreen or any other Derry club, I'd imagine.
Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 01:10:43 PM
Does the fact that this competition is run and organised by St. Pauls complicate things in any way ?

Who do Cavan Gaels appeal to by the way ??

Is it to the tournament organisers or Ulster Council ?

Was there a set of rules signed up to by all participants before they entered the competition ??

More food for thought !
Post by: T O Hare on December 10, 2008, 01:11:39 PM
Did he play any part in the game?
Post by: Maximus Marillius on December 10, 2008, 01:12:41 PM
This burn out shit really bugs me...and I have no problem stating that it is the duals clubs who have brought this whole problem on us. Mark Lynch is a case in question. Pick one game and stick to it. Dual clubs are putting demands on young players to play to games. Clubs that play only one code dont have that problem and therefore DONT ABUSE their players to the same level or extent.

Cavan gaels...tubes. Appealing against a game they lost fair and square. The lad in question is 15 on the 1st of January.
Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 01:13:37 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on December 10, 2008, 01:11:39 PM
Did he play any part in the game?

yes
Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 01:14:30 PM
Do any red cards issued in this game stand if in fact the game is now invalid ??

Post by: T O Hare on December 10, 2008, 01:16:09 PM
Ballinderry will get thrown out, rules are rules
Post by: GerryFromDerry on December 10, 2008, 01:22:20 PM
Poor taste from Cavan IMO. Ballinderry were massive underdogs going into the game and won fair and square. Cavan were also very bad losers on the day as several of their players tried to start fights after the game with at least 2 of them being issued with red cards at the final whistle.
Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 01:26:50 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on December 10, 2008, 01:16:09 PM
Ballinderry will get thrown out, rules are rules

It depends on the rules doesn't it ?

Whose rules are they ?

St Pauls' rules or Ulster Council ?

This one could run and run and I can see a potential DRA case coming up which will be very sad as the competition is a good competition and it is in danger of turning into a legal battle.

Cavan Gaels ( in my humble opinion ) would be better off just forgetting about any appeal, taking their beating and wishing Ballinderry all the best.

They're 2 great clubs and the Gaels should leave it at that.
Post by: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 01:31:03 PM
Quote from: GerryFromDerry on December 10, 2008, 01:22:20 PM
Poor taste from Cavan IMO. Ballinderry were massive underdogs going into the game and won fair and square. Cavan were also very bad losers on the day as several of their players tried to start fights after the game with at least 2 of them being issued with red cards at the final whistle.

Gerry I think you'll find that is the issue being raised.  If rules were broken then they didn't win fair and square as such.
Post by: tyrone86 on December 10, 2008, 01:31:33 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 01:26:50 PM

Whose rules are they ?

This one could run and run and I can see a potential DRA case coming up which will be very sad as the competition is a good competition and it is in danger of turning into a legal battle.

I would suggest Rule 132 of the official guide trumps both St Pauls and the Ulster Council.

The only fly in the ointment from that perspective is the fact that his birthday is indeed on January 1st, but I would suggest that the application of the rule will be that the lad is U14 and played u14 and will be treated as such.
Post by: GerryFromDerry on December 10, 2008, 01:37:02 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 01:31:03 PM

Gerry I think you'll find that is the issue being raised.  If rules were broken then they didn't win fair and square as such.

What do you think should happen Sideline?
Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 01:37:48 PM
Quote from: tyrone86 on December 10, 2008, 01:31:33 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 01:26:50 PM

Whose rules are they ?

I would suggest Rule 132 of the official guide trumps both St Pauls and the Ulster Council.

The only fly in the ointment from that perspective is the fact that his birthday is indeed on January 1st, but I would suggest that the application of the rule will be that the lad is U14 and played u14 and will be treated as such.

If both clubs get thick, pedantic and silly about it, and so far, Cavan Gaels have, this is going to run for a while.

Surely this isn't in the spirit of the competition ?.
Post by: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 01:43:10 PM
Quote from: GerryFromDerry on December 10, 2008, 01:37:02 PM

What do you think should happen Sideline?

Just to reiterate again, Gerry, I think it is very bad form from Cavan to appeal this on such grounds.  Would be even different if the player was OVER the age bracket and not under.  Personally I think nothing should come off it but my point is if the rules are adherred to, right to the letter of the law, then Ballinderry will be sanctioned and thrown out. I cannot see any other way around it.  My preference would be for Cavan to drop their appeal and accept defeat.
Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 01:46:52 PM

Ballinderry won the game fair and square on the pitch and it shouldn't matter if Ballinnderry played with a 14 year old for part of the game or not.

If Cavan Gaels win the match, they won't have won it on the field.
Post by: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 01:47:53 PM
Were rules broken OM?
Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 01:50:53 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 01:47:53 PM
Were rules broken OM?

It depends as I said on what rules the competition is played under.

It's a competition that is organised and run by St Pauls - they make the fixtures etc etc.

So I don't know if any rules were broken or not.

But I do find Cavan Gaels appeal to be repugnant and I would think that there are a lot of people who feel the same way.
Post by: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 01:52:56 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 01:50:53 PM
Were rules broken OM?

It's a competition that is organised and run by St Pauls - they make the fixtures etc etc.

But I do find Cavan Gaels appeal to be repugnant and I would think that there are a lot of people who feel the same way.

And I'm one of them!

Only making the point that if the appeal (under Ulster Council rules) sticks then I can't see any other way for the matter to be handled other than Ballinderry to be thrown out.  They could consider themselves very very unlucky and Cavan could consider themselves very very petty.
Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 01:54:11 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 01:52:56 PM
Were rules broken OM?

And I'm one of them!

Only making the point that if the appeal (under Ulster Council rules) sticks then I can't see any other way for the matter to be handled other than Ballinderry to be thrown out.  They could consider themselves very very unlucky and Cavan could consider themselves very very petty.
[/b]

Maybe not - maybe they'll think they have done a great day's work ??.
Post by: mountainboii on December 10, 2008, 01:56:47 PM
If this thing blows up I'd feel very sorry for the lad in question. It would be a shit situation to be in to be 14/15 yo and faced with the stigma of having prevented your club from having a shot at an Ulster title. None of this is his fault, he can't be expected to know the rules.

Whoever is over Ballinderry has a lot to answer for. Surely they should have known that there were potential question marks over the lad's eligibility and they should have sought clarification over this before throwing him in. If they were not aware of any potential problems then they are even more reprehensible, after all the most fundamental question for an underage coach in any code must be 'are my players actually eligible?'
Post by: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 01:57:52 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 01:54:11 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 01:52:56 PM
Were rules broken OM?

And I'm one of them!

[/b]

Maybe not - maybe they'll think they have done a great day's work ??.

I think thats the sad part of the whole thing!
Post by: imtommygunn on December 10, 2008, 02:01:11 PM
Maybe this has been covered already...

If he's ineligible in Ulster would he not have been ineligible in Derry?

Stupid rule IMO. Ok for u8s to u12s and things like that but you're on a county minor winning team at 14 you are obviously good / big enough.
Post by: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 02:03:51 PM
Yeah that rule was brought in to try and get "lesser" players a bit of ball time rather than sitting on the bench the whole way through underage football, which is a good principle I suppose, nightmare for smaller clubs though where they need these players.
Post by: full back on December 10, 2008, 02:08:38 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on December 10, 2008, 02:01:11 PM
Maybe this has been covered already...

If he's ineligible in Ulster would he not have been ineligible in Derry?

Stupid rule IMO. Ok for u8s to u12s and things like that but you're on a county minor winning team at 14 you are obviously good / big enough.

I thought the rules were now that you can only play in 2 age groups, i.e Under 8's & Under 10's?
As AFS says the management have to be held responsible
I agree with Sideline's opinion that if the rules are enforced B'derry have to go
Post by: cavan4ever on December 10, 2008, 02:09:24 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 02:03:51 PM
Yeah that rule was brought in to try and get "lesser" players a bit of ball time rather than sitting on the bench the whole way through underage football, which is a good principle I suppose, nightmare for smaller clubs though where they need these players.

Would Ballinderry be considered one of these smaller clubs who would have needed this guy to play?
Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 02:11:14 PM
Quote from: cavan4ever on December 10, 2008, 02:09:24 PM

Would Ballinderry be considered one of these smaller clubs who would have needed this guy to play?

Would Cavan Gaels be considered one of these smaller clubs who would have needed to win a match not on the field but over the table ??
Post by: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 02:13:59 PM

No.

Quote from: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 02:11:14 PM

Would Cavan Gaels be considered one of these smaller clubs who would have needed to win a match not on the field but over the table ??

No.
Post by: Muzz on December 10, 2008, 02:14:03 PM
IF Ballinderry have played an ineligible player then they should be thrown out.

It is nothing to do with Cavan gaels!!!  Ballinderry are the ones that have made the mistake!!!

Why don't we wait until all the facts have been determined before saying what is the right and wrong punishment according to the rules of the game?
Post by: Doire abú on December 10, 2008, 02:16:37 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 02:13:59 PM

No.

Aye cause you'd know.
Post by: full back on December 10, 2008, 02:16:44 PM
Quote from: Muzz on December 10, 2008, 02:14:03 PM
Why don't we wait until all the facts have been determined before saying what is the right and wrong punishment according to the rules of the game?

What does this mean?
If the player is over/underage they should be punished (not that I agree with it)
The punishment(s) are in place for breaking the rules
We are entitled to voice on opinions on it
Post by: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 02:20:26 PM
Quote from: Doire abú on December 10, 2008, 02:16:37 PM

No.

Aye cause you'd know.

Why post soemthing so stupid and childish when we are having a real good debate about this?

You're more than welcome to give your own opinion.  From experience Ballinderry have NEVER struggled to field underage teams throughout the years, so why they would need to play an under 14 is beyond me.

Plus Derry abú they broke the rules, that much I know  ;)
Post by: amigo on December 10, 2008, 02:21:58 PM
 I  think there is only one fair solution!! I think Cavan Gaels minors should be offered a replay by the Ballinderry U-14's.  ;D ;D Ballinderry would still win probalbly LOL!!
Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 02:26:14 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 02:20:26 PM

No.

Aye cause you'd know.

Why post soemthing so stupid and childish when we are having a real good debate about this?

You're more than welcome to give your own opinion.  From experience Ballinderry have NEVER struggled to field underage teams throughout the years, so why they would need to play an under 14 is beyond me.Plus Derry abú they broke the rules, that much I know  ;)

He's 6'4'' tall - about 15 stone - size 14 feet - is a lad in a man's body - he's absolutley massive and a seriously good footballer as well. Why wouldn't they play him ??
Post by: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 02:27:11 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 02:26:14 PM
He's 6'4'' tall - about 15 stone - size 14 feet - is a lad in a man's body - he's absolutley massive and a seriously good footballer as well. Why wouldn't they play him ??

You set them up and I'll keep knocking them out of the park:

He's underage!!!
Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 02:28:56 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 02:27:11 PM

He's underage!!!

That wasn't the question that was asked.
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on December 10, 2008, 02:30:33 PM

He's underage!!!

I think the solution to all this is replace Ballinderry with the Loup.
Post by: GerryFromDerry on December 10, 2008, 02:30:45 PM
Cavan Gaels have played in 10 of the last 11 years in this competition winning one. Poor record IMO.

So if they cannot win it on the pitch they must see the boardroom as a good alternative.

If ballinderry had played an overage player or suspended player fair enough, but an u14, its just silly.  I would imagine that a lot of Cavan Gaels followers are very embarassed by this appeal, i know i would be.
Post by: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 02:32:28 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 02:28:56 PM

He's underage!!!

What was your question then?

I can see it as "Whay wouldn't they play such a big strong talented footballer?" My answer is the one big reason why they wouldn't play him: He is underage, ineligable, not allowed, outside the rules, too young, not in the correct age bracket, shouldn't be there, it is rule breaking, it is not within the rules, his birthday falls on the wrong side of the new year.  etc etc.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on December 10, 2008, 02:32:42 PM
Doire Abu...i agree that the whole thing is a joke on the gaels part, but considering you won the county under 16 title, you do have adequate resoures
Post by: cavan4ever on December 10, 2008, 02:33:32 PM
Quote from: GerryFromDerry on December 10, 2008, 02:30:45 PM
Cavan Gaels have played in 10 of the last 11 years in this competition winning one. Poor record IMO.

So if they cannot win it on the pitch they must see the boardroom as a good alternative.

If ballinderry had played an overage player or suspended player fair enough, but an u14, its just silly.  I would imagine that a lot of Cavan Gaels followers are very embarassed by this appeal, i know i would be.
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 02:32:28 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 02:28:56 PM

He's underage!!!

What was your question then?

I can see it as "Whay wouldn't they play such a big strong talented footballer?" My answer is the one big reason why they wouldn't play him: He is underage, ineligable, not allowed, outside the rules, too young, not in the correct age bracket, shouldn't be there, it is rule breaking, it is not within the rules, his birthday falls on the wrong side of the new year.  etc etc.
Post by: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 02:34:43 PM
Quote from: GerryFromDerry on December 10, 2008, 02:30:45 PM

I couldn't agree more GFD.  They should really be ashamed going through this procedure, they shut just let it go and let Ballinderry progress.  As someone said they should be more embarrassed at the fact an u14 helped in their defeat! (even if he is a monster)

Hopefully nothing comes of it.  Did the managers not check this out beforehand??
Post by: Doire abú on December 10, 2008, 02:34:50 PM

No.

Aye cause you'd know.

You're more than welcome to give your own opinion.  From experience Ballinderry have NEVER struggled to field underage teams throughout the years, so why they would need to play an under 14 is beyond me.

I think there is about 14 members of the panel who are in the actual minor age group. So how about you do some research before you come on here slabbering about how Ballinderry have no problem fielding a team. Mouth.
Post by: GerryFromDerry on December 10, 2008, 02:37:41 PM
Quote from: tonesfirstandlast on December 10, 2008, 02:30:33 PM

He's underage!!!

They would def be thrown out. Using players from 10different parishes!
Quote from: Maximus Marillius on December 10, 2008, 02:32:42 PM
Doire Abu...i agree that the whole thing is a joke on the gaels part, but considering you won the county under 16 title, you do have adequate resoures

Yes we did Max but why deny the lad the opportunity to play in this competition. The u14 and u16 competitions have been over for some time now, so this is a great way of keeping young lads in football. Surely we want to see talented players come through and no better way than to let him play in competitions like this.
Post by: full back on December 10, 2008, 02:39:08 PM
Quote from: Doire abú on December 10, 2008, 02:34:50 PM

No.

Aye cause you'd know.

I think there is about 14 members of the panel who are in the actual minor age group. So how about you do some research before you come on here slabbering about how Ballinderry have no problem fielding a team. Mouth.

You are allowed to play under 16's as well
Post by: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 02:40:00 PM
 :D don't be getting cross. Breathe into a brown paper bag or something.  As max said did they not win the u16s?? How did you manage that? using u12s???

You have plenty of players in the correct age bracket.

The management should have checked this out.

For the sake of the players themselves, and the genuine posters on here Gerr, From Derry, I would like to see nothing come off it.

You, Doire abú, are nothing but an angry man  ;D

Feel free to add more of your inspirational posts.

Oops, alomst forgot...Mouth  ;)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on December 10, 2008, 02:42:28 PM
(i) Team Penalty:

What's the difference between these 2?
Post by: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 02:43:08 PM
Quote from: GerryFromDerry on December 10, 2008, 02:37:41 PM
Quote from: tonesfirstandlast on December 10, 2008, 02:30:33 PM

He's underage!!!

They would def be thrown out. Using players from 10different parishes!
Quote from: Maximus Marillius on December 10, 2008, 02:32:42 PM

Yes we did Max but why deny the lad the opportunity to play in this competition. The u14 and u16 competitions have been over for some time now, so this is a great way of keeping young lads in football. Surely we want to see talented players come through and no better way than to let him play in competitions like this.

Because he is under age Gerry!!  I am 100% with you on the fact that it is a stupid rule but it is a rule.  Contrary to popular belief rules are not made to be broken!  All joking aside though, its a petty move by Cavan but blame must lie with the management for not knowing which boundaries they were operating within!
Post by: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 02:44:14 PM
From what I can see:

a) One team thrown out other awarded victory

b) One team thrown out yet defeat stands.
Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 02:45:57 PM
If Cavan Gaels have played in the last 10 out of 11 Ulster minor championships, it's not as if they haven't had a god run at it and as they seem to be the only team in Cavan they'll be back next year.

Let them take their beating and let fair play triumph over a technicality.

Ballinderry were serious underdogs going into the match and played out of their skins in order to beat Cavan.

So let's not deny them their moment.
Post by: Muzz on December 10, 2008, 02:46:50 PM
Quote from: full back on December 10, 2008, 02:16:44 PM
Quote from: Muzz on December 10, 2008, 02:14:03 PM

What does this mean?
If the player is over/underage they should be punished (not that I agree with it)
The punishment(s) are in place for breaking the rules
We are entitled to voice on opinions on it

What I am saying is...People on here are saying what the punishment should be - but we dont even know what the facts are?  Is the appeal really based around this one player?  Is it because hes playing 2 grades above his current age?  Is it because he is underage?

I agree offcourse you are entitled to voice your opinions but voicing them on what?  What the punishments should be if its a,b,c?  We dont even know what rule they have supposedly broke?

As for the Ballinderry being punished - how can you not agree if they have broke a rule?
Post by: GerryFromDerry on December 10, 2008, 02:49:33 PM
Our minor team is back boned by our u-16 team. 5 on the starting 15.  Cavan Gaels team is back boned by players who played for their seniors in the ulster club campaign this year (senior). This highlights the significance of the victory for our boys.  

I dont know if our management checked out the rules or not but i presumed they would have.

If we have broke the rules we will have to take it on the chin and concentrate on the seniors on Sunday, however i think this would be an awful shame.

Finally i hope it is sorted out sooner rather than later, as from past experiences, there is something special about playing the final on New Years Day and these appeals could prevent this.

Lets just hope common sense prevails.

i was also looking forward to our local derby with Ardboe!!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on December 10, 2008, 02:50:15 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 02:44:14 PM
From what I can see:

But how do you distinguish them?
Post by: mountainboii on December 10, 2008, 02:51:50 PM
Orangeman, take the emotive slant out of your argument and look at the facts:

- A rule exists
- The rule was broken
- A penalty exists for breaking the rule
- Penalties must be applied without exception

If you start cherry picking which rules to apply and start considering mitigating circumstances you really run into a quagmire. It may be harsh, it may be stupid but you have to enforce rules.
Post by: GerryFromDerry on December 10, 2008, 02:55:36 PM
Quote from: AFS on December 10, 2008, 02:51:50 PM

- A rule exists
- The rule was broken

If you start cherry picking which rules to apply and start considering mitigating circumstances you really run into a quagmire. It may be harsh, it may be stupid but you have to enforce rules.

We still dont know if that rule exists or not for this competition.
Post by: Doire abú on December 10, 2008, 02:55:47 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 02:40:00 PM
:D don't be getting cross. Breathe into a brown paper bag or something.  As max said did they not win the u16s?? How did you manage that? using u12s???

For the sake of the players themselves, and the genuine posters on here Gerr, From Derry, I would like to see nothing come off it.

Well now we're both angry men.  ;)
Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 02:57:29 PM

- A rule exists
- The rule was broken

You miss my point -

My point is that I think Cavan Gaels should take their beating and leave it at that. They're a massive club and were beat fair and square ON the pitch ON the day.

I agree Ballinderry broke the rule ( whether it is a good rule or not ). 2 years ago the lad in question would have been eligible and he would have been eligible all through the history of the Association until someobsy decided to bring in this particular rule. But that's a different argument altogether.
Post by: southderryman on December 10, 2008, 02:58:33 PM
Quote from: Doire abú on December 10, 2008, 02:55:47 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 02:40:00 PM

Well now we're both angry men.  ;)

sidelinekick, i wouldn't mess with him, i was in his class at school and he was a damn vioilent person back then. just watch your back!  ;) :D
Post by: mountainboii on December 10, 2008, 03:00:04 PM
Quote from: GerryFromDerry on December 10, 2008, 02:55:36 PM

- A rule exists
- The rule was broken

We still dont know if that rule exists or not for this competition.

Yep absolutely and I'm sure that'll be clarified in time. However, I'd find it very unusually if no rules regarding eligibility existed for this competition.
Post by: mountainboii on December 10, 2008, 03:01:26 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 02:57:29 PM

- A rule exists
- The rule was broken

You miss my point -

My point is that I think Cavan Gaels should take their beating and leave it at that. They're a massive club and were beat fair and square ON the pitch ON the day.

I agree Ballinderry broke the rule ( whether it is a good rule or not ). 2 years ago the lad in question would have been eligible and he would have been eligible all through the history of the Association until someobsy decided to bring in this particular rule. But that's a different argument altogether.

But OM, this is an emotive argument that ignores the facts.
Post by: rootthemout on December 10, 2008, 03:03:12 PM
if im not mistaken the scotstown r/h back had a 94 dob against the harps on sunday?
Post by: cavan4ever on December 10, 2008, 03:05:08 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 02:57:29 PM

- A rule exists
- The rule was broken

You miss my point -

He would have only been 12 then and even though it may not have been covered under rules then it would be wrong.
Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 03:05:21 PM
Quote from: rootthemout on December 10, 2008, 03:03:12 PM
if im not mistaken the scotstown r/h back had a 94 dob against the harps on sunday?

Oops !
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on December 10, 2008, 03:05:41 PM
Typical Derry wans,
Have to cheat to win  ;)  ;D
Post by: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 03:23:59 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on December 10, 2008, 02:50:15 PM
From what I can see:

Ah, with you now Gab, not sure how that would be distinguished! Two very different outcomes!!

As for the issue at hand:

They broke a rule punishment should be dished out.

HOWEVER:

This was brough up by Cavan who should not have went down that path in my opinion so the Ballinderry boys would be right to be bitter about the outcome if they were thrown out.  Cavan should leave the issue and accept defeat. In my opinion of course.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on December 10, 2008, 03:27:33 PM
Yeh Cavan Gaels shouldnt go through instead of Ballinderry,They were defeated.

Ballinderry however should be thrown out of the competition if they have broken the rules.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on December 10, 2008, 03:40:42 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on December 10, 2008, 03:27:33 PM
Yeh Cavan Gaels shouldnt go through instead of Ballinderry,They were defeated.

Ballinderry however should be thrown out of the competition if they have broken the rules.

That's the way it should be - if Ballinderry are proven to have broken the rules
Post by: southderryman on December 10, 2008, 03:53:06 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on December 10, 2008, 03:05:41 PM
Typical Derry wans,
Have to cheat to win  ;)  ;D

sure they're all tyrone men in that part of the world!  ;)
Post by: T O Hare on December 10, 2008, 04:11:30 PM
The Ballinderry selectors/commitee etc have shown complete ignorance and disregard for the rules.. I am sure that there are plenty of talented uder 16's who are fit and ready for senior football but clubs cant play them because they are underage...
We had plenty of great under 16's who could have played in the reserve championship for us last year... if we played them we probably would have won the cup but we could not play them... simple!!!!
Post by: amigo on December 10, 2008, 04:15:59 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on December 10, 2008, 04:11:30 PM
The Ballinderry selectors/commitee etc have shown complete ignorance and disregard for the rules.. I am sure that there are plenty of talented uder 16's who are fit and ready for senior football but clubs cant play them because they are underage...
We had plenty of great under 16's who could have played in the reserve championship for us last year... if we played them we probably would have won the cup but we could not play them... simple!!!!

Ballinderry Under 14's could have won the reserve championship in Down !!!!
Post by: T O Hare on December 10, 2008, 04:24:02 PM
Cavan Gaels are bad losers  but people have to realise that the rules were set and Ballinderry have to face the consequences !!!!!
Post by: wherefromreferee? on December 10, 2008, 04:31:49 PM
Have Cavan Gaels definitely made an appeal?  Is Ballinderrys game against Ardboe definitely off?  :-\
Post by: cavan4ever on December 10, 2008, 04:36:54 PM
Quote from: mcivor88 on December 10, 2008, 04:34:14 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on December 10, 2008, 04:24:02 PM
Cavan Gaels are bad losers  but people have to realise that the rules were set and Ballinderry have to face the consequences !!!!!

do u not agree it is one of the most ridiculous rules?? Minors can play in seniors, but a under 14, who is now 15, cannot play minors?

If he is 15 he was breaking rules by playing overage for the U-14's.  Did you read the thread ?
Post by: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 04:37:49 PM
Its not so much to protect boys as by all accounts this particular youngster would eat me for breakfast, but to allow people of the appropriate age the opportunity to play football.  Too many children go through the year not kicking a ball or only getting on when they are stuffing / getting stuffed by a team which isnt fair.  I know there is a line to be drawn somewhere, but this fella will have plenty of years at minors.

Still think Cavan Gaels are being very petty going down that road though.
Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 04:37:58 PM
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on December 10, 2008, 04:31:49 PM
Have Cavan Gaels definitely made an appeal?  Is Ballinderrys game against Ardboe definitely off?  :-\

YES
Post by: fitzroyalty on December 10, 2008, 04:39:42 PM
To be fair I can understand why Cavan gaels are doing this. Not like they went looking for a loophole, if B'derry have broken a rule then Gaels are well within in their rights to appeal!
Post by: T O Hare on December 10, 2008, 04:43:55 PM
The lad played under 14 football this year and is 15 on 1/1/09 from what i can gather... Ballinderry should be thrown out.. don't blame the team  or player.. the management and committee know the rules!!!!!!
Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 04:44:51 PM
Quote from: mcivor88 on December 10, 2008, 04:15:19 PM
dirty dirty trick.... cavan gaels should hang their heads in shame... can't beat a minor team with a under 14 playing....

disgusting... VERY POOR LOSERS!!! The way in which they took the defeat at the end of the game should also be highlighted and for that fact alone they should not be allowed to continue in the championship

if ballinderry get thrown out for playing a talented 15 year old in a minor match there is something badly wrong with the gaa!! how can minors feature in seniors?? how is that protecting young players? This whole thing just makes you feel sick and bitter!

In future years if Ballinderry win the Derry Minor championship, they should not compete in the St. Paul's Ulster Championship.

ROTTEN...

I understand your frustration but please don't blame St. Paul's.

St Pauls only organise what is a very good competition and fair play to them.

Cavan Gaels were beat on thr pitch and have found a loophole in order to attempt to have Ballinderry thrown out of the competition.

Cavan Gaels when they played Ballinderry in the semi final of the Ulster club senior competition had a load of minors on their team. They were red hot favourites to beat Ballinderry minors. They've really taken getting beaten by Ballinderry in the senior and minor competitions very poorly.

I think when they look back on this episode, whatever way it turns out, they will be at least very disappointed with their attempt to win a game in the committee room that thwy weren't able to win on the pitch.
Post by: T O Hare on December 10, 2008, 04:47:27 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 04:44:51 PM
dirty dirty trick.... cavan gaels should hang their heads in shame... can't beat a minor team with a under 14 playing....

disgusting... VERY POOR LOSERS!!! The way in which they took the defeat at the end of the game should also be highlighted and for that fact alone they should not be allowed to continue in the championship

if ballinderry get thrown out for playing a talented 15 year old in a minor match there is something badly wrong with the gaa!! how can minors feature in seniors?? how is that protecting young players? This whole thing just makes you feel sick and bitter!

In future years if Ballinderry win the Derry Minor championship, they should not compete in the St. Paul's Ulster Championship.

Orangeman, a minor is perfectly allowed to play senoir football, but an under 16 cant... Ballinderry were stupid.. the lad played under 14 this year!!!!

ROTTEN...

I understand your frustration but please don't blame St. Paul's.

St Pauls only organise what is a very good competition and fair play to them.

Cavan Gaels were beat on thr pitch and have found a loophole in order to attempt to have Ballinderry thrown out of the competition.

Cavan Gaels when they played Ballinderry in the semi final of the Ulster club senior competition had a load of minors on their team. They were red hot favourites to beat Ballinderry minors. They've really taken getting beaten by Ballinderry in the senior and minor competitions very poorly.

I think when they look back on this episode, whatever way it turns out, they will be at least very disappointed with their attempt to win a game in the committee room that thwy weren't able to win on the pitch.

Orangeman, a minor is perfectly allowed to play senoir football, but an under 16 cant... Ballinderry were stupid.. the lad played under 14 this year!!!!!!!!
Post by: tyrone86 on December 10, 2008, 04:51:35 PM

ROTTEN...

I don't see how you can blame St Pauls, the rule is in the official guide. The rules are the rules. If any Derry club had been sufficiently well versed in the official guide they too could have appealed the result had they been so inclined. To take a hypothetical example, had a player played illegally in some other form, whether transfer form not completed correctly or being overage, would the same sympathy and outrage be forthcoming?

Personally, if I was a Cavan Gaels player or mentor, I'd be embarrassed at their stance on the subject, even with an Under 14 they got beat, but it just shows that the win at all cost mentality has now permeated underage football to the same extent as it has adult football
Post by: screenexile on December 10, 2008, 05:00:58 PM
As much as I would want them to I can't seee Ballinderry getting out of this one. People can accuse me of sour grapes all they want but I've already stated my wish for them to win the Ulster Championship, if they don't they will only have themselves to blame.

A taskforce recommended a while ago that players are not allowed to play 2 age groups above themselves e.g. U10 playing U14, U12 playing U16, U14 playing U18. I don't know all of the facts but from what I can gather young Suckie played U14 and U16 championship this year which means he is totally ineligible to play for Ballinderry Minors in any competition this year. You can talk about sour grapes all you like but a rule was broken and the people to blame for it are not Cavan Gaels but Ballinferry.

A very unfortunate sequence of events but whoever organised the team should have known the craic about eligibility and the players available before entering such a big tournament where the team is under the microscope! Hopefully the lad didn't play U14 this year and is eligibly so the tournament can continue without the controversy but it's not looking good at the minute!
Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 05:07:38 PM
Quote from: tyrone86 on December 10, 2008, 04:51:35 PM

ROTTEN...

I don't see how you can blame St Pauls, the rule is in the official guide. The rules are the rules. If any Derry club had been sufficiently well versed in the official guide they too could have appealed the result had they been so inclined. To take a hypothetical example, had a player played illegally in some other form, whether transfer form not completed correctly or being overage, would the same sympathy and outrage be forthcoming?

Personally, if I was a Cavan Gaels player or mentor, I'd be embarrassed at their stance on the subject, even with an Under 14 they got beat, but it just shows that the win at all cost mentality has now permeated underage football to the same extent as it has adult football

My point exactly - they should be ashamed of themselves.

In order for Ballinderry to be thrown out, Cavan Gaels must lodge an objection.

But they don't HAVE to lodge an objection. They can walk away and say good luck to Ballinderry, you beat us fair on the pitch, on the day and we've no complaints.

But as you say, the win at all costs attitude has filtered right down to youth football.

I would refer you to yesterday's Irish News where a former Down referee was saying that club officials were ringing referees making veiled threats about child abuse in order to try and get a player off who got a red card in a match. Where is this going to end ????.

I hope Cavan Gaels, great club that they are, reconsider their course of action and simply walk away.
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on December 10, 2008, 05:17:52 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 03:23:59 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on December 10, 2008, 02:50:15 PM
From what I can see:

Ah, with you now Gab, not sure how that would be distinguished! Two very different outcomes!!

As for the issue at hand:

They broke a rule punishment should be dished out.

HOWEVER:

This was brough up by Cavan who should not have went down that path in my opinion so the Ballinderry boys would be right to be bitter about the outcome if they were thrown out.  Cavan should leave the issue and accept defeat. In my opinion of course.

Be honest Sideline you wud love to see Ballinderry thrown out. ;D ;D
Post by: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 05:20:17 PM
Yes TFAL I would love to see Ballinderry thrown out  ::)
Post by: amigo on December 10, 2008, 05:21:16 PM
If Ballinderry got to the final would he be eligible then?? It will be a new year and he will be 15 ??????
Post by: screenexile on December 10, 2008, 05:26:35 PM
Quote from: amigo on December 10, 2008, 05:21:16 PM
If Ballinderry got to the final would he be eligible then?? It will be a new year and he will be 15 ??????

Nope it is the 2008 Competition so I would presume only players eligible to play in 2008 would be allowed to play in the 2008 final (even though it is held in 2009)
Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 05:30:08 PM
This is getting a wee bit farcical.
Post by: Homer on December 10, 2008, 05:58:10 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 05:07:38 PM
Quote from: tyrone86 on December 10, 2008, 04:51:35 PM

ROTTEN...

My point exactly - they should be ashamed of themselves.

In order for Ballinderry to be thrown out, Cavan Gaels must lodge an objection.

But they don't HAVE to lodge an objection. They can walk away and say good luck to Ballinderry, you beat us fair on the pitch, on the day and we've no complaints.

But as you say, the win at all costs attitude has filtered right down to youth football.

I would refer you to yesterday's Irish News where a former Down referee was saying that club officials were ringing referees making veiled threats about child abuse in order to try and get a player off who got a red card in a match. Where is this going to end ????.

I hope Cavan Gaels, great club that they are, reconsider their course of action and simply walk away.

To be fair I think even if Cavan Gaels did decide not to go ahead with the appeal I think the GAA would still have to take action. They know that Ballinderry have broke the rules and cannot overlook that now.
Post by: thebandit on December 10, 2008, 06:13:44 PM
I know from taking Underage teams myself that the temptation is there, but the rule is in place and should be respected for 2 reasons:

- To protect the player in question (Bigger, stronger opponents; Burnout etc)

- To give other players who are eligible a proper chance.
Post by: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 06:17:31 PM
Quote from: thebandit on December 10, 2008, 06:13:44 PM
I know from taking Underage teams myself that the temptation is there, but the rule is in place and should be respected for 2 reasons:

- To protect the player in question (Bigger, stronger opponents; Burnout etc)

- To give other players who are eligible a proper chance.

Yeah, I mean thats what our games are all about.  There is a line yes, but to see the same fella sit on the bench week in week out and only get a game if theres 20 points in a game (either way) is quite sad to watch.  Its great to win, but its quite sad that a fella of possibly the last year of his age group doesnt get football.

Its a tricky one.
Post by: thebandit on December 10, 2008, 06:43:01 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 06:17:31 PM

Its a tricky one.

Agreed
Post by: mountainboii on December 10, 2008, 07:05:19 PM
Thats it exactly Sideline, our games are about participation first and foremost. This guy will have 4 more years to play all the minor football he wants and for him to play now it means that there's some guy, who is possibly down to his last year or two in the age bracket, missing out from participating.

This kind of thing happened on the minor team that I played on a few years back and it stuck in my throat at the time. We got to the business end of our championship and all of a sudden a few of the 18 year old guys in their last year of minor, who'd been training with the team all year, were bumped down the pecking order by a couple of the star U-16 players who had been drafted in. It was wrong but at the time no one says anything because its all about winning. I'm sure this stuff happens at plenty of clubs throughout the country unfortunately.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on December 10, 2008, 07:12:22 PM
you can complain about Cavan Gaels being sore losers all you want, but at the end of the day lads - a rule was broke

Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on December 10, 2008, 07:46:39 PM
Ryan Bell has not been part of the minor panel all year due to the ruling stated previously.  Before the Ulster series started, our club sought clarification from the Ulster council regarding Ryans involvement.  We were told that he WAS ELIGIBLE to play.

Based on this, Ryan came on as a sub in the second half.

Should Ballinderry be kicked out of the competiton, it would be unfair on a very talented and hard working group.  However, remember the name Ryan Bell.  You'll be hearing alot more about him in the coming years I hope.   ;)
Post by: mountainboii on December 10, 2008, 07:57:29 PM
Quote from: DoYerJob Linesman on December 10, 2008, 07:46:39 PM
Ryan Bell has not been part of the minor panel all year due to the ruling stated previously.  Before the Ulster series started, our club sought clarification from the Ulster council regarding Ryans involvement.  We were told that he WAS ELIGIBLE to play.

Should Ballinderry be kicked out of the competition, it would be unfair on a very talented and hard working group.  However, remember the name Ryan Bell.  You'll be hearing alot more about him in the coming years I hope.   ;)

If this is true then that should be the end of the matter. I wonder how they decided he was eligible though.
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on December 10, 2008, 07:59:27 PM
I don't know any more than what I have posted AFS, but there are some very pissed off people around here at the moment.
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on December 10, 2008, 08:21:07 PM
Quote from: AFS on December 10, 2008, 07:05:19 PM
Thats it exactly Sideline, our games are about participation first and foremost. This guy will have 4 more years to play all the minor football he wants and for him to play now it means that there's some guy, who is possibly down to his last year or two in the age bracket, missing out from participating.

This kind of thing happened on the minor team that I played on a few years back and it stuck in my throat at the time. We got to the business end of our championship and all of a sudden a few of the 18 year old guys in their last year of minor, who'd been training with the team all year, were bumped down the pecking order by a couple of the star U-16 players who had been drafted in. It was wrong but at the time no one says anything because its all about winning. I'm sure this stuff happens at plenty of clubs throughout the country unfortunately.

The same happened me. I was never picked in my last year. the reason being that I was shite just like yourself AFS and realised that the GAA is not about participation, it's about winning, thats why there are millions of pounds spent preparing teams to win. That is why county and club managers are sacked by the bagful because they are not winning. And for you and sideline to talk exhol the great virtues of participation one word BALLS. And if you were in charge of a minor team in a county final and had an U16 player better than your last year minor, you would put him.
Post by: mountainboii on December 10, 2008, 08:21:50 PM
More bored than pissed off I'd say. f**k all else to chat about this time of year so a wee bit of controversy like this probably gets more thought than it deserves.
Post by: mountainboii on December 10, 2008, 08:31:34 PM
Quote from: tonesfirstandlast on December 10, 2008, 08:21:07 PM

The same happened me. I was never picked in my last year. the reason being that I was shite just like yourself AFS and realised that the GAA is not about participation, it's about winning, thats why there are millions of pounds spent preparing teams to win. That is why county and club managers are sacked by the bagful because they are not winning. And for you and sideline to talk exhol the great virtues of participation one word BALLS. And if you were in charge of a minor team in a county final and had an U16 player better than your last year minor, you would put him.

Ah come on now, where did I say it was me getting bumped off the team because I was shite?  :o :P

I was a bit shite though.  :( :'(
Post by: GerryFromDerry on December 10, 2008, 08:32:55 PM
Ryan Bell has not been part of the minor panel all year due to the ruling stated previously.  Before the Ulster series started, our club sought clarification from the Ulster council regarding Ryans involvement.  We were told that he WAS ELIGIBLE to play.

Should Ballinderry be kicked out of the competiton, it would be unfair on a very talented and hard working group.  However, remember the name Ryan Bell.  You'll be hearing alot more about him in the coming years I hope.   ;)

Well that puts this debate to bed.  I thought that our club would have sought clarification on this one. And i could guarantee that none of our subs would have complained when 'Suckie' was brought on because they all want to be part of a winning panel not a participating panel.

Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 10:05:49 PM

Hopefully that will be the end of it and Cavan might end up more than a little embarassed.
Post by: stiffler on December 10, 2008, 11:14:12 PM
Is the Ardboe Ballinderry game still on this Saturday? if so at what time??
Post by: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 11:18:57 PM
Quote from: stiffler on December 10, 2008, 11:14:12 PM

Saturday 7.00am  under lights in Casement.
Post by: stiffler on December 10, 2008, 11:26:32 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 10, 2008, 11:18:57 PM
Quote from: stiffler on December 10, 2008, 11:14:12 PM

Saturday 7.00am  under lights in Casement.

Post by: SidelineKick on December 11, 2008, 08:58:13 AM
Quote from: tonesfirstandlast on December 10, 2008, 08:21:07 PM

Tones if you would read back over the posts without going off on a rant you will clearly see I said the issue is a tricky one.  If I had a good u16 better than a minor yes I would play him, however this rule was brought in to ensure fellas TWO grades below them will not take their place.  Its as much about participating, community, health etc at underage.  Seniors is a different level where if you aren't good enough you won't play.

I think under age should be treated slightly differently.  Again, it is very tricky and I can't give a solution to it, but this rule was to minimise such occurances.  Tones, excellent contribution as usual.
Post by: Off The Fence on December 11, 2008, 09:02:47 AM
Quote from: DoYerJob Linesman on December 10, 2008, 07:59:27 PM
I don't know any more than what I have posted AFS, but there are some very pissed off people around here at the moment.

I'd say there is Linesman!  Extremly poor form from Cavan Gaels and as someone mentioned previously in this thread, I think its becoming more winning by any means off the pitch, than winning on the pitch!

All in all, sets up a cracker of a game on Saturday night.

Anyone like to make a prediction?
Post by: full back on December 11, 2008, 09:04:48 AM
Jaysus, sideline looks like you have made a few friends on this thread
TFAL seems to be getting a bit hot under the collar ::)
Post by: orangeman on December 11, 2008, 09:08:09 AM
I see thr story making backpage news in the Independemt. Will this be the first testing of the rule since it came in ?
Post by: nrico2006 on December 11, 2008, 09:10:39 AM
Quotedirty dirty trick.... cavan gaels should hang their heads in shame... can't beat a minor team with a under 14 playing....

ROTTEN...

Agree, but not with the St Pauls comment.  Hopefully clarification was given before the game and Cavan Gaels take their defeat on the chin.  I could never have imagined any one of our managers crying or appealing against a player on an opposing team being too young when I was underage; overage yes, but I would have been embarassed as would anyone involved with the team.  
Post by: amigo on December 11, 2008, 10:04:22 AM
Ulster minor competition stalled by objection
11 December 2008

The Ulster minor club football championship has ground to a halt following an objection by Cavan Gaels over a Ballinderry player being too young to play in the competition.

The Gaels have objected to the eligibility of 14-year-old Ryan Bell, who was used as a substitute and featured prominently in their 1-9 to 1-11 preliminary round defeat to the Derry champions on December 6.

Rule 134 of the Official Guide of the Association states that a player must be over the age of 14 on January 1 and under 18 years to play in the minor grade of that year. Bell does not turn 15 until New Year's Day, the day the final of the competition is scheduled for.

A profile of each of the players, along with the date of birth, appeared in the match programme.

The official guide states a play can be hit with a two-week suspension for playing underage, though any such move would be unpopular. The objection will be heard by the Ulster Council next Tuesday.

Ballinderry were due to play Tyrone champions Ardboe in the quarter-finals on Saturday, but that game has been postponed is provisionally refixed for Sunday, December 21 at 12 noon.

Ardboe had requested a postponement of the game as their star player Kyle Coney is not due back from Australia until Thursday, but it is doubtful whether that request would have been granted.
Post by: orangeman on December 11, 2008, 10:16:12 AM
Tony Mc Gee has piece in the Irish News today about the story as well.

He says that the Ulster Council will decide on the issue and not St Pauls.

He also says that Cavan Gaels have created history by lodging an objection to the outcome of the game - the FIRST objection in 28 YEARS of the competition.
Post by: screenexile on December 11, 2008, 12:46:14 PM
If it's gone to the Ulster Council I would sayit doesn't look good. Did Ballindery get clarification from St. Paul's or the Ulster Council on this issue? I suppose we'll just have to wait until next Tuesday to find out.
Post by: SidelineKick on December 11, 2008, 12:48:01 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 11, 2008, 10:16:12 AM
Tony Mc Gee has piece in the Irish News today about the story as well.

He says that the Ulster Council will decide on the issue and not St Pauls.

He also says that Cavan Gaels have created history by lodging an objection to the outcome of the game - the FIRST objection in 28 YEARS of the competition.

Quite a sad way to create history  :-\
Post by: mylestheslasher on December 11, 2008, 01:30:26 PM
I'm no fan of Cavan Gaels (they don't have many fans in Cavan except for their own) but this rule that was broken is to prevent young lads being burned out. In my opinion U16 should not be allowed play minor never mind U14's. The powers that be had to put a rule in place to protect young players from the "win at all costs mentallity" that people are accusing the gaels off. It is also true that ballinderry wanted to win at all costs too, is it not? The GAA can't put in a rule that says a player must be over 14 unless he is built like a tank. Rules like  this need to be respected for the good of the game. Ballinderry acted disgracefully in my opinion by letting this lad play. As for punishment. I think ballinderry should be kicked out and Ardboe allowed proceed to the next round. I don't think that Cavan Gaels should gain from the situation unless there is a replay and they win it.
Post by: orangeman on December 11, 2008, 01:36:51 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on December 11, 2008, 01:30:26 PM
I'm no fan of Cavan Gaels (they don't have many fans in Cavan except for their own) but this rule that was broken is to prevent young lads being burned out. In my opinion U16 should not be allowed play minor never mind U14's. The powers that be had to put a rule in place to protect young players from the "win at all costs mentallity" that people are accusing the gaels off. It is also true that ballinderry wanted to win at all costs too, is it not? The GAA can't put in a rule that says a player must be over 14 unless he is built like a tank. Rules like  this need to be respected for the good of the game. Ballinderry acted disgracefully in my opinion by letting this lad play. As for punishment. I think ballinderry should be kicked out and Ardboe allowed proceed to the next round. I don't think that Cavan Gaels should gain from the situation unless there is a replay and they win it.

That would be nice.
Post by: cavan4ever on December 11, 2008, 02:29:04 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 11, 2008, 01:36:51 PM

That would be nice.

If you didn't allow under 16's to play minor there would be alot of clubs unable to field minor teams. I supose if that did happen it would definatly prevent burn out because they would have no games to play.
Post by: mylestheslasher on December 11, 2008, 02:45:13 PM
C4ever - not true. Clubs can amalgamate. The team gets stronger and then the players in that age bracket get games. Cavan Gaels beat an amalgamated team in this years county final.
Post by: SidelineKick on December 11, 2008, 02:46:46 PM
Our club has to amalgamate some underage teams and its just not the same for players and supporters alike.  It doesn't feel like your own club to be honest.  Hate having to amalgamate.
Post by: mylestheslasher on December 11, 2008, 03:14:00 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 11, 2008, 02:46:46 PM
Our club has to amalgamate some underage teams and its just not the same for players and supporters alike.  It doesn't feel like your own club to be honest.  Hate having to amalgamate.

Well thats each clubs choice to make. The alternative is to stick young lads into older age levels to make up a team. We in Cavan should know about this better than any as we have a litany of burned out underage players that were upped through the levels before their time. A rule is needed to stop this happening as clubs cannot be trusted to do the right thing by their young players.
Post by: amigo on December 11, 2008, 03:30:17 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on December 11, 2008, 03:14:00 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 11, 2008, 02:46:46 PM

Well thats each clubs choice to make. The alternative is to stick young lads into older age levels to make up a team. We in Cavan should know about this better than any as we have a litany of burned out underage players that were upped through the levels before their time. A rule is needed to stop this happening as clubs cannot be trusted to do the right thing by their young players.

Ballinderry seem to be doing the right thing by theirs all the same. Three Ulster Club finals in 8 years and an All Ireland. They must be doing something right down there !!!
Post by: GerryFromDerry on December 11, 2008, 04:00:41 PM

A bit over the top there dont you think.

I have to laugh at this 'win at all costs mentality'. What mentality does your club use? Just participate and give all the lads a game and win f**k all mentality!
Post by: cavan4ever on December 11, 2008, 04:27:11 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on December 11, 2008, 02:45:13 PM
C4ever - not true. Clubs can amalgamate. The team gets stronger and then the players in that age bracket get games. Cavan Gaels beat an amalgamated team in this years county final.

Our club joined with a town team at Minor this year and just about got a team and under 16's still had to play. 
Post by: mylestheslasher on December 11, 2008, 04:28:09 PM
Quote from: GerryFromDerry on December 11, 2008, 04:00:41 PM

A bit over the top there dont you think.

I have to laugh at this 'win at all costs mentality'. What mentality does your club use? Just participate and give all the lads a game and win f**k all mentality!

I don't think it is over the top. In my view a 14 year old should not be allowed minor. I also believe that clubs should know the rules of the competition. Ignorance of the rules is not an excuse. My reference in the "win at all cost mentallity" was in response to those that posted on  this thread accusing the Gaels of a "win at all costs" mentallity. I merely pointed out that Ballinderry obviously had the same attitude if they were going to break the rules to win this game.
Post by: mylestheslasher on December 11, 2008, 04:31:16 PM
Quote from: cavan4ever on December 11, 2008, 04:27:11 PM

Our club joined with a town team at Minor this year and just about got a team and under 16's still had to play. 

So by that logic if ye had not amalgamated you would have had to play more U16s and maybe a few U14's to make up the numbers? Surely you are making the case for amalgamations there! I am not for amalgamations as standard but I think it should be used when a club cannot field a team at a level with players from the level. For me it is preferable than dipping into the age groups below to make the team.
Post by: GerryFromDerry on December 11, 2008, 04:33:06 PM
As stated in an earlier post, our club sought clarification on this and were told he was ok to play. With regards to burn out, the u-16 and u-14 c'ships have been finished since the end of August. This is now December, therefore he hasnt played competitive football in 3 months.  I think our club knows best how to treat our youth players.
Post by: SidelineKick on December 11, 2008, 04:39:22 PM
Quote from: GerryFromDerry on December 11, 2008, 04:33:06 PM
As stated in an earlier post, our club sought clarification on this and were told he was ok to play. With regards to burn out, the u-16 and u-14 c'ships have been finished since the end of August. This is now December, therefore he hasnt played competitive football in 3 months.  I think our club knows best how to treat our youth players.

What is the situation at the minute Gerry with the appeal?
Post by: loughshore lad on December 11, 2008, 04:40:50 PM
This is degenerating into a complete farce.  Ballinderry did what ANY other club would have - they played an extremely talented young lad in an attempt to win the game.  Going by the shamrock posters on here and in conjunction with what I have heard first hand from a member of the Ballinderry club they did indeed seek clarification if young Bell could play.
I hope this objection is kicked out and Ballinderry progress to the next round to face our lads as it could be a great encounter.  Ballinderry are the benchmark in our neck of the woods, they have the titles to prove it at all levels and it would be great for our lads to test themselves in this environment.
Post by: cavan4ever on December 11, 2008, 04:45:40 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on December 11, 2008, 04:31:16 PM
Quote from: cavan4ever on December 11, 2008, 04:27:11 PM

So by that logic if ye had not amalgamated you would have had to play more U16s and maybe a few U14's to make up the numbers? Surely you are making the case for amalgamations there! I am not for amalgamations as standard but I think it should be used when a club cannot field a team at a level with players from the level. For me it is preferable than dipping into the age groups below to make the team.

Not all clubs want to amalgamate. Our lads did not want to join with the other team and some of them did not play.  What is wrong with an U-16 playing minor anyway a year later if their good enough they could be playing against 30 year old men.
Post by: GerryFromDerry on December 11, 2008, 04:48:16 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 11, 2008, 04:39:22 PM

I think it is being heard on Tuesday night so it will be a waiting game until then.

We will just have to put all our focus on the big game on Sunday now, although i think our reserves play Glen in the Reserve Final on Saturday. Busy times.....
Post by: Radioulster on December 11, 2008, 04:49:26 PM
This is a very tricky issue for all concerned. Hard not to feel sorry for the lad but I feel your club are overusing him Doire abu. If he plays on he will play FIVE years in minor football. It is like being allowed to go out when you are 16, you're sick of it at 18. Could it be the same for this lad. Ask yourself honestly has he been given the jersey or has he earned it? you know the answer. What will your club do with the next big thing? If you carry on this path with this player you will defenitly have a case of burnout. Experts like Max lol would talk about it being to do with dual clubs. Burnout is a mental thing not a physical thing and can lead to reduced enjoyment and poor motivation levels and stress of a level that a 14 year old is not ready for. The bottom line is that they won an U16 championship and there were bound to be boys in line to come on in front of him. It would have only taken one. This is a petty argument by Cavan Gaels and one that sums up the enjoyment going out of the game but the fact that you were prepared to parachute a lad of 14 in says enough about your clubs attitude. Have you considered how petty BDerry looked with trying to get their selector off so he was involved against you've guessed it Cavan Gaels. If you live by the committee room unfortuanately you can die by the committee room
Post by: amigo on December 11, 2008, 04:54:14 PM
Quote from: Radioulster on December 11, 2008, 04:49:26 PM
This is a very tricky issue for all concerned. Hard not to feel sorry for the lad but I feel your club are overusing him Doire abu. If he plays on he will play FIVE years in minor football. It is like being allowed to go out when you are 16, you're sick of it at 18. Could it be the same for this lad. Ask yourself honestly has he been given the jersey or has he earned it? you know the answer. What will your club do with the next big thing? If you carry on this path with this player you will defenitly have a case of burnout. Experts like Max lol would talk about it being to do with dual clubs. Burnout is a mental thing not a physical thing and can lead to reduced enjoyment and poor motivation levels and stress of a level that a 14 year old is not ready for. The bottom line is that they won an U16 championship and there were bound to be boys in line to come on in front of him. It would have only taken one. This is a petty argument by Cavan Gaels and one that sums up the enjoyment going out of the game but the fact that you were prepared to parachute a lad of 14 in says enough about your clubs attitude. Have you considered how petty BDerry looked with trying to get their selector off so he was involved against you've guessed it Cavan Gaels. If you live by the committee room unfortuanately you can die by the committee room

What a load of shite !!!!
Post by: SidelineKick on December 11, 2008, 04:55:15 PM
Quote from: GerryFromDerry on December 11, 2008, 04:48:16 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 11, 2008, 04:39:22 PM

I think it is being heard on Tuesday night so it will be a waiting game until then.

We will just have to put all our focus on the big game on Sunday now, although i think our reserves play Glen in the Reserve Final on Saturday. Busy times.....

Hold on and I'll get the violins out for ye Gerry  :D

Big year for the shamrocks alright!  Can't see Glen putting up much of a challenge.

I hope common sense prevails with regards to the minors.  If they sought advice and were given the go ahead before the game who autorised this?  What is the issue then if they got permission to play him?  Is that the same Bell that played in the Rannafast final???
Post by: SidelineKick on December 11, 2008, 04:57:17 PM

I played 4 years in minors and it never sickened me, I'm sure that 5th eyar would hardly be the straw that broke the camels back!
Post by: orangeman on December 11, 2008, 04:59:08 PM

Lads are hard to sicken - they play every night - especially the Ballinderry lads -

The parrallel drawn between lodging this objection and the Paul Devlin incident isn't a good one.
Post by: Radioulster on December 11, 2008, 05:05:08 PM
Orangeman parallel
Is it a ridiculous appeal by the Gaels=yes
Was Bderry's a ridiculous appeal=yes
Did either incident reflect well on their club=no

Post by: EC Unique on December 11, 2008, 05:24:34 PM
If the lad is big enough to keep other 17/18 year olds on the bench then let him at it. Ballinderry have a sign above the door of their clubrooms that shows they have very little to learn about sucess at club level. I would love the same sign at our club ;)
Post by: SidelineKick on December 11, 2008, 05:26:27 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on December 11, 2008, 05:24:34 PM
If the lad is big enough to keep other 17/18 year olds on the bench then let him at it. Ballinderry have a sign above the door of their clubrooms that shows they have very little to learn about sucess at club level. I would love the same sign at our club ;)

They also have a gold star on their jersey in case anybody ever forgets  ;)
Post by: orangeman on December 11, 2008, 05:28:10 PM
Quote from: Radioulster on December 11, 2008, 05:05:08 PM
Orangeman parallel
Was Bderry's a ridiculous appeal=yes
Did either incident reflect well on their club=no

Was Paul Devlin going to help the team if he was on the line or in the dugout or in the stand ?

It's not as if Ballinderry had lost to Cavan Gaels and then made an appeal based on some technicality.

Win the game on the field or else take your beating and go home and try again another day.

But to appeal the result of a minor game, the first objection in this competition in a whopping 28 years does nothing for the reputation of the Cavan Gaels club or its committee.

And as I've said before, Cavan Gaels are no strangers to this competition. They've won Cavan minor championship, the last 10 times out of 11.
Post by: SidelineKick on December 11, 2008, 05:30:56 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 11, 2008, 05:28:10 PM

Win the game on the field or else take your beating and go home and try again another day.

Paul Devlin's on field actions were punished.  he found a loophole off the field and exploited that.  He should have accepted the decision that was made.

Think I've stated enough times that I still feel Cavan Gaels are being very petty and at least agree with you on that OM.
Post by: orangeman on December 11, 2008, 05:50:29 PM
Another thing - this is youth football we're talking about - how bloody sad is that !
Post by: Radioulster on December 11, 2008, 05:54:02 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 11, 2008, 05:50:29 PM
Another thing - this is youth football we're talking about - how bloody sad is that !
Fair point orangeman
Post by: SidelineKick on December 11, 2008, 05:54:59 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 11, 2008, 05:50:29 PM

I totally agree.  That sort of integrates my point about how we treat underage players, it should be about taking part, although I do know, I have been there, losing finals, winning finals and you always always want to win, but it gets a bit sad when it takes appeals to progress.
Post by: orangeman on December 11, 2008, 07:19:18 PM
I suppose that's what I've been trying to get across all along. It's youth football but I do beleive it's going the wrong way if the Gaels take this to appeal. We'll all lose something if this appeal bears fruit.

Football, particularly youth football should be all about taking part and enjoying the competition.

The reason why I'll be so saddened if the appeal is upheld is that the Ballinderry lads won the game and can you imagine how gutterd they will when they are told they have "technically" lost the game. The big lad Bell will feel it's his fault.

They're only lads.
Post by: armaghniac on December 11, 2008, 08:01:56 PM
QuoteWe'll all lose something if this appeal bears fruit.

How can we all lose something if a team is required to keep to the rules. The GAA introduced this rule for a reason, if Ballinderry would like to change it they can put a motion before Congress, not play an illegal player and hope that nobody notices. The rule is based on calender years so if a person is born after a particular year he is ineligible, easy enough to understand.
Post by: GerryFromDerry on December 11, 2008, 09:38:51 PM
Orangeman parallel
Was Bderry's a ridiculous appeal=yesDid either incident reflect well on their club=no

Ballinderry club did not appeal the decision. It was a personal appeal by Paul Devlin.  Need to get your facts right before making your posts.
Post by: Radioulster on December 11, 2008, 09:47:07 PM
Quote from: GerryFromDerry on December 11, 2008, 09:38:51 PM
Orangeman parallel
Was Bderry's a ridiculous appeal=yesDid either incident reflect well on their club=no

Ballinderry club did not appeal the decision. It was a personal appeal by Paul Devlin.  Need to get your facts right before making your posts.
Apologies but hard to have your facts right on everything, do you think that he should have made an appeal on what he did?
Post by: Muzz on December 11, 2008, 10:40:03 PM
Orangeman - are you now just talking to hear yourself?  Give it up!!!
Post by: orangeman on December 11, 2008, 11:09:54 PM
Quote from: Muzz on December 11, 2008, 10:40:03 PM
Orangeman - are you now just talking to hear yourself?  Give it up!!!

;) :D
Post by: mylestheslasher on December 12, 2008, 11:47:24 AM
So in summary, pretty much there is no point in having rules in place to protect players as the clubs themselves know best. I suppose Ardboe should play a few small seniors against B'Derry in the next round. As long as they are smaller than Bell then there should be no problem (since the size of a player outweighs the age). I expect B'Derry would not appeal either.

Joking aside, I don't want the Gaels to profit from this. I think their motives for appeal are petty but I do believe that B'Derry broke an important rule and should be punished.
Post by: anglocelt39 on December 12, 2008, 12:10:22 PM
It wouldn't be huge love for the Gaels that has certain Cavan posters on this thread. We know why the rule is in place-in Cavan alone we can think of any number of lads that were pushed at it too early and were crocked/finished/disinterested by the time they were 20. If the rule is in place, is clear cut and Ballinderry breached it surely there is some form of sanction. A final point, I don't know if the Gaels/Ardboe etc. have 14 year olds in their ranks who would be playing minor but for this rule which seems sensible.
Post by: orangeman on December 12, 2008, 12:18:36 PM
Ardboe has no under 14s on the team - a few under 16s ok.
Post by: Uladh on December 12, 2008, 12:21:33 PM

Is the ulster minor tournament an official gaa tournament?
Post by: Bitta-Banter on December 12, 2008, 12:43:09 PM
I dont mind what happens Ballinderry,but I do not want Cavan Gaels to benefit from this.This is scummy and they are not playing within the spirit of the games.They will not make life easy for their young players who will constantly be reminded of this if they do go on.To object to an U-14 playin against to after you were beat is desperate stuff.
Post by: orangeman on December 12, 2008, 01:23:06 PM
Quote from: Uladh on December 12, 2008, 12:21:33 PM

Is the ulster minor tournament an official gaa tournament?

Apparently so.
Post by: Uladh on December 12, 2008, 02:15:03 PM
Wh is it played entirely in one clubs grounds then?
Post by: orangeman on December 12, 2008, 02:27:23 PM
Quote from: Uladh on December 12, 2008, 02:15:03 PM
Wh is it played entirely in one clubs grounds then?

Apparently it has been run solely by St Pauls since inception under the sanction of the Ulster council and is the official minor competition.

I don't know where gates receipts or anything like that go - probably to pay bills associated with the running of it.
Post by: Uladh on December 12, 2008, 02:39:20 PM

That has been the case with virtually every level of "ulster" tournament but once the ulster council sanction it it comes under their umberella, which includes appointment of oficials, venues, etc.
Post by: orangeman on December 12, 2008, 02:42:27 PM
Quote from: Uladh on December 12, 2008, 02:39:20 PM

That has been the case with virtually every level of "ulster" tournament but once the ulster council sanction it it comes under their umberella, which includes appointment of oficials, venues, etc.

Don't really understand this one - St Pauls run it with the blessing of the Ulster Council. St Pauls seem to run the whole show.

But now that an objection has been lodged, it is for the Ulster Council to sort out the details.
Post by: tyrone86 on December 12, 2008, 02:52:18 PM
It doesn't matter who sanctions the tournament. If it's an official tournament then it's bound by the official guide and I can see no other outcome than Ballinderry getting thrown out under Rule 134.
Post by: Uladh on December 12, 2008, 02:57:47 PM

I wasn't following this debate and it was just a general question about the tournament set up - unrelated to appeals or anything else.

i know the clontibret lads were pissed off when the ulster intermediate tournament was taken from them by the ulster council
Post by: T O Hare on December 12, 2008, 03:56:58 PM
Anyone heading to the Bridge and st Eunans game on Sunday.. What sort of side have St Eunans ????
Post by: AZOffaly on December 12, 2008, 04:01:52 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 12, 2008, 02:42:27 PM
Quote from: Uladh on December 12, 2008, 02:39:20 PM

Don't really understand this one - St Pauls run it with the blessing of the Ulster Council. St Pauls seem to run the whole show.

But now that an objection has been lodged, it is for the Ulster Council to sort out the details.

Saint Paul's ran an All Ireland version of this in 1991, and we  (Ferbane Belmont) won it out. Ferbane, Dungiven, Nemo Rangers and Mervue from Galway were the 4 provincial winners.

Saint Pauls do a great job with this, I wish the All Ireland series had continued, but I suppose I can say I am still a member of the reigning All Ireland Minor Club Champs :D
Post by: Joxer on December 12, 2008, 04:08:32 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on December 12, 2008, 03:56:58 PM
Anyone haeding to the Bridge and st Eunans game on Sunday.. What sort of side have St Eunans ????

Seen them a few times this year  TOH.  While they have no real stars, other than big red fella Doherty in midfield who plays CHB for their seniors, they have alot of grafters and nippy forwards, if giving the ball can do damage.  I'd say when the chips are down the typical towny mentality will set in and bickering and slabbering at each other will start.  Would fancy Mayobrdge in this one, with BRady being the main difference between the teams. 

However, this competition has being tight thus far and in all the games, with exception to scotstown and harps, there hasnt been much more than a kick of the ball between them..

Bridge full strength TOH?
Post by: T O Hare on December 12, 2008, 04:11:34 PM
Yeah no injuries thank god but with this weather anything can happen!!!! The Bridge are strong all over the field with no real primadonnas... looking forward to it, i just hope the weather improves!!!!
Post by: orangeman on December 12, 2008, 04:17:13 PM
Frozen pitch last week - waterlogged one this week ??
Post by: T O Hare on December 12, 2008, 04:38:31 PM
i am sure one of the pitches will be available!!!!
Post by: boojangles on December 12, 2008, 05:36:08 PM
Cavan Gaels are no saints and really should be ashamed if they have definitely lodged an objection.In 2004, they beat our club(their main rivals) in the Minor Championship Semi-Final after a replay.In the replayed game they played a suspended player.Our club did not object and Cavan Gaels went on to win the Minor Championship.
Post by: tyrone exile on December 12, 2008, 06:21:12 PM
that was rather silly! playing a suspended player is more serious than playin an u-14 player!
why did use not appeal?
Title: Cad é?
Post by: drici on December 12, 2008, 06:35:48 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 12, 2008, 04:17:13 PM
Frozen pitch last week - waterlogged one this week ??

Congratulations to Saint Pauls on not moving last Sunday's matches at the last minute from either the Rossa Pitch or from their own Pitch to Enniskillen.
Post by: boojangles on December 12, 2008, 06:48:05 PM
Quote from: tyrone exile on December 12, 2008, 06:21:12 PM
that was rather silly! playing a suspended player is more serious than playin an u-14 player!
why did use not appeal?
When I look back at it we probably should have.My father was over the team,and always believed that ya win your games on the field.
They bet us by 2 goals in the replay,if it had been tighter maybe we would have objected.But it makes a mockery of the fact that they are objecting to Ballinderry.Like I don't see what they hope to gain from this.
Post by: tyrone exile on December 12, 2008, 07:47:48 PM
i can see where your coming from, but where do you draw the line? a rules there, if its broken, there has to be a consequence.
although if ballinderry did seek comfirmation before the match then i cant see the point in this appeal
Post by: orangeman on December 13, 2008, 12:11:18 AM
Quote from: boojangles on December 12, 2008, 06:48:05 PM
Quote from: tyrone exile on December 12, 2008, 06:21:12 PM
why did use not appeal?
When I look back at it we probably should have.My father was over the team,and always believed that ya win your games on the field.
They bet us by 2 goals in the replay,if it had been tighter maybe we would have objected.But it makes a mockery of the fact that they are objecting to Ballinderry.Like I don't see what they hope to gain from this.

Fair play to your da - a decent man
Post by: tyrone exile on December 13, 2008, 11:17:51 PM
you mean today? no, probably be next weekend
Post by: T O Hare on December 15, 2008, 12:06:34 AM
We threw this one away!!!!! ??? ??? :o :o
Post by: SidelineKick on December 15, 2008, 01:17:48 PM
Any update on Ballinderry minors?
Post by: loughshore lad on December 15, 2008, 01:23:39 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 15, 2008, 01:17:48 PM
Any update on Ballinderry minors?

Heard at the weekend that Cavan gaels have withdrawn their objectio and that Ardboe v Ballinderry goes ahead on sunday.
Post by: SidelineKick on December 15, 2008, 01:30:03 PM
Proper course of action, embarrassing altogether!

Will Coney be available?
Post by: loughshore lad on December 15, 2008, 01:39:20 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 15, 2008, 01:30:03 PM
Will Coney be available?

He was due home on Saturday past there so asssume he will be available.
Post by: mylestheslasher on December 15, 2008, 02:05:58 PM
I'm glad the gaels have removed their objection. However, the GAA now know a rule was broken by Ballinderry. Are they no going to bother their holes to take action or are rules just for some clubs/counties to follow.
Post by: cavan4ever on December 16, 2008, 12:08:50 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on December 15, 2008, 02:05:58 PM
I'm glad the gaels have removed their objection. However, the GAA now know a rule was broken by Ballinderry. Are they no going to bother their holes to take action or are rules just for some clubs/counties to follow.

The Gaels secetary has come out and said in the Cavan Post that they never put in a objection.
Post by: orangeman on December 16, 2008, 12:13:13 PM
Quote from: cavan4ever on December 16, 2008, 12:08:50 PM

The Gaels secetary has come out and said in the Cavan Post that they never put in a objection.

So where did all this come from then ??
Post by: cavan4ever on December 16, 2008, 12:16:57 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 16, 2008, 12:13:13 PM

Haven't a clue where did you hear it? You were the first to post about it.
Post by: orangeman on December 16, 2008, 12:21:18 PM
Quote from: cavan4ever on December 16, 2008, 12:16:57 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 16, 2008, 12:13:13 PM

Haven't a clue where did you hear it? You were the first to post about it.

We were told by St. Pauls the tournament organisers that the game with Ballinderry cancelled due to an appeal lodged by Cavan Gaels. And sure enough our game scheduled for last Saturday was cancelled.

St. Pauls informed us that the Ulster Council were meeting on Tuesday 16th December on the matter.

Subsequent to that it appeared in every newspaper going.

Post by: cavan4ever on December 16, 2008, 12:25:21 PM
Unless the Gaels can see that they are the talk of Ulster now and are trying to back track.  Its a pity the paper isn't online so i could post a link.
Post by: amigo on December 16, 2008, 12:28:06 PM
Orangeman,
You boys wouldn't have been trying to get Kyle a few days rest before the game  ;)
Post by: cavan4ever on December 16, 2008, 12:28:57 PM
Quote from: amigo on December 16, 2008, 12:28:06 PM
Orangeman,
You boys wouldn't have been trying to get Kyle a few days rest before the game  ;)

I did see that posted somewhere else.
Post by: orangeman on December 16, 2008, 12:44:13 PM
Orangeman,

Not a chance !

It will be interesting to see if it is discussed tonight at the Ulster council meeting.

I'd say it's more a case of Cavan now feeling ashamed of their actions and trying to row back.
Title: Mayobridge
Post by: drici on December 16, 2008, 01:39:32 PM
Mayobridge have competed in the Ulster Minor Club Competition on two
previous occasions 1997 and 1999.

Mayobridge also won the Down Minor Title in 1980.

On that occasion they beat Bryansford with a young Mickey Linden scoring
7 points. Current Minor Selector Paul Butterfield played half back on the team.

Minors Sheelin Strain, Caolan Lynchehaun, Conleth O'Hare, Keith Quinn, Kevin
McClorey, Caolan Gallagher and Ryan Brady have all played for Mayobridge Seniors
in this year's League campaign.

Ryan Brady was corner forward on the Down Minor team which lost to Tyrone in
Omagh. Caolan Lynchehaun was a member of the panel.

Four of our management team have four sons on the team. Keith Quinn(Mark Quinn)
Sheelin Strain(Declan Strain) Conleth O'Hare(Peter O'Hare) Micky Butterfield(Paul Butterfield).

Mayobridge last appeared in the Down Minor Championship Final in 2004 when they lost to
Rostrevor.

Mayobridge have won every Championship at Juvenile and Senior level since 1980.

In all Mayobridge have won the Down Minor Championship four times, 1980, 1997, 1999
and 2008.
Title: Naomh Adhamhnáin
Post by: drici on December 16, 2008, 01:40:44 PM
Formed in 1930, Naomh Adhamhnáin have enjoyed one of their best
years in 2008. The club fields over 30 teams between adult, youth and
hurling. Numbers at under 12 have been consistently above 200 and
often upwards on 300.

Naomh Adhamhnáin are pressing ahead with major infrastructural projects
at O'Donnell Park, which was re-established as a secondary County ground
after nearly 30 years. The Club has been well represented on Donegal teams
at all levels from the Under 15 developement squad upwards.
Title: Cluichí
Post by: drici on December 16, 2008, 01:41:48 PM
Sunday 21st December
1200 Rossa Pitch
Quarter Final:
Ardboe(Tyrone) v Ballinderry

1-30pm St Pauls
Semi Final:
Scotstown v Creggan

(Patrons attending Newgrange for dawn should have ample time to travel in order to be able to watch the whole of the first game)
Post by: orangeman on December 16, 2008, 01:53:28 PM
Looks like Cavan's objection has failed then ?
Post by: Homer on December 16, 2008, 02:09:40 PM
I didn't think the GAA could pass a blind eye over this sort of thing. I've seen similar cases of lads playing abroad for teams without sanction and the GAA walloping them without any complaint being made from either side. I wonder if the Gaels did lose their appeal would Ballinderry fancy their chances lining out young Bell against Ardboe  :P
Post by: screenexile on December 16, 2008, 08:05:27 PM
I heard that Ardboe were looking the game cal
Quote from: cavan4ever on December 16, 2008, 12:28:57 PM
Orangeman,

I did see that posted somewhere else.

I also heard the same rumour! The lad will hardly be able to play this weekend though will he? I should be in Belfast on Sunday so might take a wee trip over the to the game. Should be a good one.
Post by: orangeman on December 16, 2008, 09:27:16 PM
The game was fixed for Sunday and Kyle had arranged to come home on the Saturday - but then because of the called off Ulster final, St Pauls fixed it for the Saturday which would have given him no time to rest after 24 hours flying.

But I think you'll find it was the Gaels who raised the hare.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on December 19, 2008, 10:56:26 AM
Are Ballinderry favourites this weekend?
Post by: imtommygunn on December 20, 2008, 04:22:14 PM
Has anyone go the times and venues for this weekends games?
Post by: ONeill on December 20, 2008, 04:27:19 PM
Ballinderry/Ardboe at St Paul's at midday. Next game at 1.30, same venue.
Post by: imtommygunn on December 20, 2008, 04:45:03 PM
Great, thanks.
Post by: ONeill on December 21, 2008, 12:47:34 PM
Derry 9 up at the break
Post by: ONeill on December 21, 2008, 01:42:07 PM
i thought 4 11 to 13
Post by: milltown row on December 21, 2008, 01:53:32 PM
Creggan playing now? 
would have made it over but the extra couple of glasses of wine have taken it's toll. I've just met up with George Bests Doctor. its not good :(
Post by: sam03/05 on December 21, 2008, 03:53:57 PM
Quote from: milltown row on December 21, 2008, 01:53:32 PM
Creggan playing now? 
would have made it over but the extra couple of glasses of wine have taken it's toll. I've just met up with George Bests Doctor. its not good :(

any score from this game??
Post by: Joxer on December 21, 2008, 04:27:36 PM
Who won the two minor games today?
Post by: tyrone exile on December 21, 2008, 04:45:38 PM
creggan and ardboe both beat
Title: Toradh
Post by: drici on December 21, 2008, 04:54:04 PM
Creggan 0-06 Scotstown 1-08

(Would be handy if Rossa could get a scoreboard)
Post by: ONeill on December 21, 2008, 09:43:15 PM
A hearty crowd braved the elements as a whiff of Loughshore suffocated the bank whilst the young bucks of neighbouring Ballinderry and Ardboe locked horns at the Rossa's pitch, 3 mile from their clubroom.

As the players warmed up I was thinking to myself that what on earth are the Derry lads breeding these days as the number 14 for the Shamrocks bore an uncanny resemblance to the Tyson like (in his latter years) Gavin McGeehan in physique and appearance. A few minutes into the game and sure wasn't it Big Tam himself. I thought he'd be rightly overage now as he played in the All-Ireland Minor final of '07 but he must've been rightly underage then.

Twas a tale of the wine. Ardboe played into the wine in the first half and suffered badly for it. The wine was responsible for many of their attacks falling short or veering wide also with the help of a big puddle in the goalmouth that saved two likely three-pointers. Anyway, Ballinderry utilised the wine brilliantly with McGeehan claiming every ball that went his way. He nicked one of their two first half goals as the Shamrocks led 2-7 to 0-4 I think (no scoreboard). It definitely wasn't a reflection of their superiority. They weren't all that much better than the other Rossas. They just used the ball well with Coney well shackled. Felt a little that Coney was holding back somewhat, maybe injured or not slapping about for fear of Aussie wrath. He started at FF in the first half (a crazy decision from Horse Devlin if he was the manager as it was obvious little of no ball was going to be lumped into that wine). He soon moved out into centrefield to limited impact such was the effort needed to break the wine, and was well covered with no 11 for Ballinderry doing some sterling work.

Although 9 down at half time and oul McGuckian with that smug grin on him winging its way from ear to ear, I still thought Ardboe would make a fist of it as yer man beside me said 'we didn't come down to lose the game' which was reassuring. Sure enough, with the wine at their backs Ardboe proceeded to chip away at the Ballinderry lead, getting the margin down to 4 points on two occasions, mostly from Coney frees. Coney was operating at FF for the whole of the second half and although they threw in a few Hail Marys, he never really availed of this and most of his good work was out around the 30-40 where he was invariably fouled. Horse wasn't too happy about Coney's travelling tendencies and continually told him to get back in as the wine was still strong.

Ballinderry had the intelligence up front to make hay when they actually managed to get the ball over half-way. At 0-10 to 2-8, Coney was narrowly wide with a fisted effort which would have left them just one behind and seriously on top. McGuckian was growling. Ballinderry broke and in 3 minutes it was 0-10 to 4-8, one a moment of hesitation from an unconvincing Ardboe goalie. From then on it was point for point although Coney made a few unusual decisions to go for points with frees instead of hammering it into the square on an oul wet dirty day like that. When he made it 0-12 to 4-10 from a free he turned to Horse and asked 'how much is in it Horse?' They really must get a scoreboard.

Better team won, though not 10 points better. I thought it ended 0-13 to 4-11 but could be wrong. Ballinderry are a good team with strong performers all over the field. Their no 13 is tidy. McGeehan is a pleasure to watch. He was actually moved out from FF when Ardboe were on top and was used as the spare man (the Tyrone men were down to 14 for 2 yellows), sweeping in front of the isolated Coney. He won almost every battle with his more illustrious opponent and I'd even go as far to say that Coney was slightly intimidated with his presence. No 11, the cramping lad, is also a fine footballer. A strong side all around. Ardboe had decent players in each line but too many weak links/light players as well.

There were curlews flying overhead apparently. Hope the young Ardboe lad who was stretcher off was ok. The man beside me told me he heard the 'brak' but I didn't believe him as he also said that match had been abandoned when the teams got into a huddle whilst the young lad was being treated. They like the hyperbole on the shore.
Post by: ONeill on December 21, 2008, 10:02:43 PM
Were you there ye balax?
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on December 21, 2008, 10:25:13 PM
Great win for the lads today. The scorline flattered us big time.
Post by: orangeman on December 22, 2008, 12:46:59 AM
Quote from: DoYerJob Linesman on December 21, 2008, 10:25:13 PM
Great win for the lads today. The scorline flattered us big time.

Well done to the Shamrocks - hard luck to uor lads who battled gamely. It's ben a great season for the minors -so take a bow lads.
Post by: ONeill on December 22, 2008, 12:57:35 AM
Who'd you think played well?
Post by: loughshore lad on December 22, 2008, 08:38:16 AM
A good summary of the game by O'Neill. 

Congratulations to Ballinderry they deserved the victory with a very clinical and economical performance. 

Gavin McGeehan is just a joy to watch.  He is one of the most efficient footballers I have seen in quite a while.  He produced the type of game for the shamrocks that Ardboe needed from Kyle.  Can't for the life of me work out why he is not on the shamrocks senior panel, they could have been doing with him against cross.

The shamrocks also had good performances from their full back, centre half forward and the youg lad Fintan Bell playing up front.

For our lads yound Simon Teague in left corner back had a good game I thought while Gavin drove the team on at every opportunity.  Thomas Wylie was playing reasonably well until his harsh sending off.  Mattie Bell was playing a very influential role until he had to retire with a knee injury. 
Post by: fitzroyalty on December 22, 2008, 03:55:22 PM
What age is McGeehan, mind seeing him for Derry minors when they got to the AI final last year, quare man. To think B'derry don't have him in their senior panel beggars belief
Title: Ardboe O'Donovan Rossa
Post by: drici on December 22, 2008, 07:38:30 PM
Ard Bó Uí Dhonnabhain Rossa Cumann Lúthchleas Gael is based in East Tyrone, close
to the shores of Lough Neagh. Within the Parish of Ardboe, ourselves and Moortown
St Malachys draw footballers from all corners and have had very successful teams down
through the years.

Gaelic games in Ardboe have been present for well over a century but the current club
Ardboe O'Donovan Rossa was officially formed and affiliated in 1947 arising out of a three
year suspension and the first O'Donovan Rossa Senior team take to the field was in a tournament
to officially open the new GAA Park at Kilmenagh.

As the Club was finding its feet, Senior success was not to come for a while, but the forerunners
of the Club were building for the future and its first Title came in 1951 when the Minors defeated
Omagh in the Championship Final in Pomeroy by a Final score of Ardboe 3-06 Omagh 2-04.

The Senior team was having mixed fortunes in the League and Championship in the 50s but in 1953
the first Senior League silverware came when Ardboe were awarded the East Tyrone Senior League.
The Minor teams were also doing well come the end of the decade and in 1958 they won both League
and Championship and in 1959 also retained their League Title that was also held until 1961. The Seniors
also had success with their(!) second and third wins in the East Tyrone Senior League in 1958 and 59.

With Youth and Senior success in the 50s, the O'Neill Cup still eluded Ardboe but 1968 was the year that
finally the Tyrone Senior Championship was won with a 1-08 to 0-07 point victory over Coalisland in Dungannon.

(Easily the best of this year's ones)
Post by: orangeman on December 26, 2008, 03:14:02 PM
Any word yet ??
Post by: orangeman on December 26, 2008, 06:44:18 PM
Great win for the Shamrocks - who do you meet in the final ?.
Post by: KIDDO 4 on December 26, 2008, 07:28:52 PM
Scotstown.
Post by: orangeman on December 26, 2008, 08:07:17 PM
Quote from: KIDDO 4 on December 26, 2008, 07:28:52 PM
Scotstown.

Will be a clinking final.
Post by: stiffler on December 26, 2008, 08:26:20 PM
Whens the final?
Post by: KIDDO 4 on December 26, 2008, 09:26:00 PM
Final on new years day at 1.30pm .
Post by: wherefromreferee? on December 27, 2008, 08:09:46 PM
Quote from: mcivor88 on December 26, 2008, 06:07:17 PM
One point win for Ballinderry. Gavin Mc Geehan scored a great goal with for minutes left to play to win it

Brilliant game of football, two great minor teams, St Eunan's actually impressed most, but Ballinderry's never say die attitude came out on top.

What was the final score?  Any talking points or reports from the game?
Post by: orangeman on January 01, 2009, 01:24:26 PM
Updates would be appreciated - thanks.
Post by: redcard on January 01, 2009, 02:44:14 PM
ballinderry leading at half time. Thats all i know.
Title: Re: The match
Post by: Orior on January 01, 2009, 03:23:12 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 01, 2009, 03:20:45 PM
Ballinderry won with a late free. The woman in the flats was class craic.

Whaddyado for a living 'ardstation?
Post by: orangeman on January 01, 2009, 04:18:06 PM
Congrats to Ballinderry - well done !
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on January 01, 2009, 04:34:38 PM
Had Ballinderry won the senior replay would they have been the first club to do the Senior and Minor double?
Post by: Jimmy on January 01, 2009, 05:21:16 PM
I think they have already done the double in 2001 TAM.
Title: Mná
Post by: drici on January 01, 2009, 08:11:51 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 06, 2008, 03:14:24 PM
The ball is caught by an absolute nut case woman from Cavan. The referee over rules the linesman's decision and gives the line ball to Ballinderry. When the Ballinderry players go to the fence to ask for the ball back, the mad woman refuses to give it back. This results in more argy bargy on the the field. She eventually gives it back, shouting "f**k yis".

Enjoyable.

Close run this year between Cavan Gaels' woman and Corrib Avenue woman.
Well done to both.
Title: Re: The match
Post by: orangeman on January 01, 2009, 08:31:28 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 01, 2009, 07:01:21 PM
Quote from: Orior on January 01, 2009, 03:23:12 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 01, 2009, 03:20:45 PM
Ballinderry won with a late free. The woman in the flats was class craic.

Whaddyado for a living 'ardstation?
£50 per post on gaaboard. Mod3 sends it straight into my bank account. Hard work.

Decent game. "Wee Tony" went flying through in the last minute and was taken out. Free in. Number 11 knocked it over. Scotland got a goal and a point to level it in the last 2 minutes.

Funny things - The linesman gave a line ball to Ballinderry when it should have been a Scotland ball. The Scots went mad and gave the linesman abuse. The Scots were the most foul mouthed supporters I've ever met. Anyway, the linesman gave the Scots supporters the fingers. I've never seen that happen before.

I have - it's great crack when a linesman loses it.
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on January 01, 2009, 08:52:11 PM
Great acheivment by the team today. I didn't think we were going to do it at the end, but this wee team have been pulling results out all year.

Your woman in the flats was truly unbelievable, like something out of Rab C Nesbitt.  The Lord Mayor must have been relieved to get back into his huge chauffeur driven motor.
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on January 01, 2009, 09:07:04 PM
Definitely, fair play to St Pauls.  Everything went off well today, and it seems to be a nice little annual money spinner for them, so hats off.

Although i'd say they'd be pissed at Enda not buying his coke and crisps in the bar.   :)
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on January 01, 2009, 09:19:15 PM
No nod for me... I musn't look enough like a Belfasty.
Post by: orangeman on January 01, 2009, 11:06:10 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 01, 2009, 09:15:03 PM
P.S. Money spinner me hole. Although I had the money in my hand, ready to pay, for all the games this year, I was given the 'nod'. The ex-Chairman also shook my hand and wished me a happy New Year.
Great club.

Watch out for Dr. Mc Sparran - he'll be writing about this in next year's AGM - he must have been referring to you HS !
Post by: orangeman on January 01, 2009, 11:15:55 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 01, 2009, 11:08:37 PM
Ach nah, John and I are good friends. He had a 'discreet word' with me about other things I have posted on this board. John is a decent sort.

;) ;)
Post by: KIDDO 4 on January 02, 2009, 12:41:27 AM
What about the umpire who arrived at his post 1 minute into the second half ,  after the half  time interval.
Post by: orangeman on January 02, 2009, 12:42:58 AM
Quote from: KIDDO 4 on January 02, 2009, 12:41:27 AM
What about the umpire who arrived at his post 1 minute into the second half ,  after the half  time interval.

Does he lose his match fee / feed ?. ;)
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on January 02, 2009, 12:50:41 AM
Congratulations to Ballinderry GFC.
Title: Torthaí
Post by: drici on January 02, 2009, 12:39:57 PM
Preliminary Round
Saturday 6th December 1-30pm
St Pauls
Cavan Gaels  1-09 (R Moloney-Derhan 0-2, N Murray 0-4, C McClarey 1-1, B Grogan 0-2)
Ballinderry     1-11 (J Devlin 0-2, A Devlin 0-1, R Scullion 0-2, F Bell 0-1, G McGeehan 0-4, T Martin 1-0, R Bell 0-1,)

Quarter Finals:
Sunday 7th December 12-00
Rossa Pitch
Armagh Harps               1-07 (S Donnelly 0-1, C Coulter 1-5, J Wilson 0-1)
Scotstown(Monaghan)   1-13 (K Hughes 0-1,G Turley 0-1, S Carey 0-1, M Treanor 0-1, O Heaphey 0-1, P Sherlock 0-2, A McCarey 1-5, C Caulfield 0-1)

Sunday 7th December 1-30pm
St Pauls
Belcoo(Fermanagh) 2-06 (B Cox 0-1, P Burns 1-0, R Ferguson 0-2, J McFeeley 1-2, N Furey 0-1)
Creggan(Antrim)     1-14 (P Nelson 0-1, P McAuley 0-1, C Small 0-5, C McCann 1-0, D McGuckin 0-3, D McLarnon 0-2, H McNulty 0-2)

Sunday 14th December 1-30pm
St Pauls
Naomh Adhamhnáin(Donegal)  1-12 (C Coughlan 0-1, C Morrison 0-1, M Mulhern 0-5, E Diver 1-1, G Boyle 0-4)
Mayobridge(Down)                 1-10 (P Murphy 0-1, K McClorey 0-1, C O'Hare 0-3, B Cunningham 0-3, R Brady 0-1, C Gallagher 0-1, P Gribbon 1-0)

Sunday 21st December 12-00
Rossa Pitch
Ardboe(Tyrone) 0-14 (G Teague 0-2, K Coney 0-7, S McGuigan 0-3, S Hagan 0-1, M Wylie 0-1)
Ballinderry          4-11 (M Devlin 0-1, C Rocks 1-0, J Devlin 0-1, R Wilkinson 1-2, R Scullion 0-1, D McGuckin 1-0, F Bell 0-3, G McGeehan 1-3)

Semi Finals:
Sunday 21st December 1-30pm
St Pauls
Scotstown 1-08 (K Hughes 1-3, D Heaphey 0-1, A McCarey 0-3, C Caulield 0-1)
Creggan     0-06 (C Small 0-1, H McNulty 0-1, O McLarnon 0-4)

Friday 26th December 1-30pm
St Pauls
Naomh Adhamhnáin 1-10   (G McGinley 0-1, C Morrison 0-1, M Mulhern 0-2, E Diver 0-2, C Coughlan 1-0, G Boyle 0-4)
Ballinderry               1-11   (T Martin 0-1, R Scullion 0-3, G McGeehan 1-6, R Wilkinson 0-1)

Final:
Thursday 1st January 1-30pm
St Pauls
Scotstown  2-07   (K Hughes 0-1, P Sherlock 2-0, A McCarey 0-5, D McCague 0-1)
Ballinderry  2-08   (A Devlin 0-1, R Scullion 1-5, F Bell 1-1, G McGeehan 0-1)
Title: Tseans Ar Bith?
Post by: drici on April 13, 2009, 07:26:35 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 22, 2008, 12:46:59 AM

Well done to the Shamrocks - hard luck to uor lads who battled gamely. It's ben a great season for the minors -so take a bow lads.

Quote from: ONeill on December 22, 2008, 12:57:35 AM

Who'd you think played well?

Title: Anois
Post by: drici on April 13, 2009, 07:29:43 PM
It is now the 13th April "orangeman" - any chance of an answer?

(Unless ONeill is right on the teilifís thread)

Title: Re: Anois
Post by: orangeman on April 13, 2009, 11:29:09 PM
Quote from: drici on April 13, 2009, 07:29:43 PM
It is now the 13th April "orangeman" - any chance of an answer?

(Unless ONeill is right on the teilifís thread)

?