GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Rossfan on October 20, 2008, 06:34:26 PM

Title: ROSCOMMON Club wins Mayo Championship
Post by: Rossfan on October 20, 2008, 06:34:26 PM
 ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Will the Mayoites ever get over the shame?
Title: Re: ROSCOMMON Club wins Mayo Championship
Post by: Barney on October 20, 2008, 07:12:34 PM
I suppose when you haven't one a championship match for 3/4 years you'll claim any kind of success
Post by: Gold on October 20, 2008, 07:39:27 PM
why do they play in Mayo?
Post by: FL/MAYO on October 20, 2008, 08:30:08 PM
Quote from: Gold on October 20, 2008, 07:39:27 PM

Roscomman annexed Ballagh over 100 years ago, the Ballagh Gaa club refused to recognize the partition of the area and continued to play in Mayo. Its similar to the partition of the north with the Rossies been the Unionists and the Gaa Club the Nationalist side. The GAA men in the area are proud Mayo men and will not recognize any claim by the sheep stealers.
Post by: rosnarun on October 20, 2008, 10:23:42 PM

Well at least it was better than those sligo bastards winning
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on October 20, 2008, 10:32:03 PM
We have just won our 4th Derry title in 8 years in Derry.   ;)
Post by: muppet on October 20, 2008, 10:36:28 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on October 20, 2008, 08:30:08 PM

Roscomman annexed Ballagh over 100 years ago, the Ballagh Gaa club refused to recognize the partition of the area and continued to play in Mayo. Its similar to the partition of the north with the Rossies been the Unionists and the Gaa Club the Nationalist side. The GAA men in the area are proud Mayo men and will not recognize any claim by the sheep stealers.

Not quite, Mayo landlord Dillon wanted to pay lower taxes so for administrative purposes had the county boundary changed so Ballaghadereen moved into Roscommon, but he rightly insisted that the Gaa club stayed in Mayo. Accepting the landlord imposed boundary would be like the Gaa accepting Her Majesty's District Councils instead of traditional County teams in the North.
Post by: stephenite on October 20, 2008, 10:40:44 PM
There are the disingenuous few who would have you believe that there are real, actual people in Ballagh that want an end to the current arrangement, indeed, the Roscommon County Board tried the audacious stroke of planting a few of their own in the town a few years ago to set up a club - thankfully the proud Gaels of Ballagh stood firm and said no to this nonsense with the help of other counties and the GAA who refused to affiliate the breakaway few who took the soup
Post by: Rossfan on October 20, 2008, 11:00:52 PM
Ballaghadeeen CO ROSCOMMON - champions of Mayo - ya couldnt make it up.
:D ;D :D ;D :D ;D
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 20, 2008, 11:25:55 PM
Quote from: stephenite on October 20, 2008, 10:40:44 PM
There are the disingenuous few who would have you believe that there are real, actual people in Ballagh that want an end to the current arrangement, indeed, the Roscommon County Board tried the audacious stroke of planting a few of their own in the town a few years ago to set up a club - thankfully the proud Gaels of Ballagh stood firm and said no to this nonsense with the help of other counties and the GAA who refused to affiliate the breakaway few who took the soup

Leave Bellaghy alone aswell while yer at it. Yee have no claim on our players. The GAA ruled in favour of Sligo on Bellaghy in 60s but it still hasnt stopped ye. I sense hypocoracy in the air.
Post by: spectator on October 20, 2008, 11:31:44 PM
Great celebrations for all sides in Ballagh. :)

Rossfan, you'll be delighted to know it was one of our own who brought home the silverware from Castlebar.
What's rare is indeed wonderful  ;)

These lads have delivered on the potential they showed with Nathys & hopefully they'll develop a winning habit from here on.

How Ballagh came to be in Roscommon ;

http://www.bbgreenway.org/clans/costelloe.htm

As far back as 1838, a Poor Law Act was introduces into Ireland as a first attempt to provide a nationwide system for the care of the poor. Parishes were so small; they had to be grouped together to form a union. Ireland had 163 unions. Each union had its own supervisory body called a Board of Guardians. Eventually they were grouped into several electoral divisions. The 1898 Local Government Act tried to bring order to the confused legislation of that time. Each area was divided into county districts, which would take over the work of the Grand Juries as regards roads and public works.

Unless each union was large enough to form a county district the boundary of the county had to be changed. Castlerea had seventeen unions in Roscommon and Ballaghaderreen and Edmondstown were in Mayo. The question was would Ballaghaderreen and Edmondstown remain in Mayo or would the boundaries be changed to allow them to remain in the Castlerea area? There was much discussion and arguments and the final decision was left to the ratepayers who decided that it would be entirely against their interest to add them to the Swinford Union. So the county borders were redrawn in favour of Roscommon. Many people did not look favourably in this and the late James Dillon of 'Monica Duffs' never accepted it and always had Ballaghaderreen Co. Mayo printed on his tea bags. The only question asked by strangers today is "Why do Ballaghaderreen GAA play with Mayo?" Few have the answer.
Post by: stephenite on October 21, 2008, 12:32:23 AM
Jesus I hope Ballagh can get a head of steam up over the winter and keep going - I sense an extremely funny few months ahead
Post by: Turlough O Carolan on October 21, 2008, 01:54:17 AM
Quote from: muppet on October 20, 2008, 10:36:28 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on October 20, 2008, 08:30:08 PM

Not quite, Mayo landlord Dillon wanted to pay lower taxes so for administrative purposes had the county boundary changed so Ballaghadereen moved into Roscommon, but he rightly insisted that the Gaa club stayed in Mayo. Accepting the landlord imposed boundary would be like the Gaa accepting Her Majesty's District Councils instead of traditional County teams in the North.

There's nothing more ridiculous than Mayo men telling us Ballaghs that we are proud Mayo men. I certainly am not. I have a Mayo county medal in my back pocket but I will always be Ros.
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 21, 2008, 11:02:08 AM
Congrats Turlough if you are one of the Current side and mayo championship winners.

When did Ballaghadreen last win the mayo championship (if ever)
Post by: ludermor on October 21, 2008, 11:38:04 AM
Fair play Turlough, congrats.
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 21, 2008, 11:48:29 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 21, 2008, 11:02:08 AM
Congrats Turlough if you are one of the Current side and mayo championship winners.

When did Ballaghadreen last win the mayo championship (if ever)

1972 Lynchbhoy
Post by: muppet on October 21, 2008, 12:14:00 PM
Congrats Turlough, whether you were part of the 1972 or 2008 squads.

Spectator your post is interesting but doesn't necessarily contradict mine.

QuoteUnless each union was large enough to form a county district the boundary of the county had to be changed. Castlerea had seventeen unions in Roscommon and Ballaghaderreen and Edmondstown were in Mayo. The question was would Ballaghaderreen and Edmondstown remain in Mayo or would the boundaries be changed to allow them to remain in the Castlerea area? There was much discussion and arguments and the final decision was left to the ratepayers who decided that it would be entirely against their interest to add them to the Swinford Union. So the county borders were redrawn in favour of Roscommon. Many people did not look favourably in this and the late James Dillon of 'Monica Duffs' never accepted it and always had Ballaghaderreen Co. Mayo printed on his tea bags. The only question asked by strangers today is "Why do Ballaghaderreen GAA play with Mayo?" Few have the answer

QuoteThe question was would Ballaghaderreen and Edmondstown remain in Mayo or would the boundaries be changed to allow them to remain in the Castlerea area?
How did this question arise? If Ballaghaderreen and and Edmonstown were in Mayo what was the problem?

QuoteThere was much discussion and arguments and the final decision was left to the ratepayers who decided that it would be entirely against their interest to add them to the Swinford Union.
Who were the ratepayers? Read any book on the period and it will tell you that the west of Ireland was the poorest place in Europe at the time. It is hard to imagine that the chronically poor peasants had to pay rates but maybe they did. Either way if taxes were lower in Roscommon than in Mayo then the statement 'it would be entirely against their interest to add them to the Swinford Union' doesn't contradict my assertion.

The Dillon I was referring to was John Dillon of the Home Rule party but I am open to correction on that. Either it was a boundary change driven by London and not the Irish so I view it much the same way as I view the border, i.e. nothing to do with the Gaa.

Post by: billy the kid on October 21, 2008, 01:15:03 PM
Quote from: DoYerJob Linesman on October 20, 2008, 10:32:03 PM

DYJL is on about his own clb Ballinderry a great team who have now won 10 Derry senior titles 2 Ulsters and an All Ireland club very proud footballing trdition there.  Just dont mention the fact that half the club sits in Tyrone and half the players live in Tyrone  :o :o  Always been a sore point.
Post by: Rossie11 on October 21, 2008, 01:36:14 PM
Fair play Turlough and its great for both sides of the town.
I think the animosity has calmed somewhat since the 2006 all ireland when both teams were playing Kerry.

Some funny incidents down the years though.
Andy Moran celebrating Gerry Lohans injury time winning goal in the 2001 Connacht final whilst sitting in a Mayo gear with the rest of the Mayo minors!!
4 rossies representing Mayo in handball in the community games go up to collect their gold medals in ross jerseys!!

Post by: magpie seanie on October 21, 2008, 01:39:33 PM
QuoteWell at least it was better than those sligo b**tards winning

If there were a few more Sligomen on the team Charlestown might have done it.  ;)
Post by: heineken_on_tap on October 21, 2008, 01:46:42 PM
Quote from: Rossie11 on October 21, 2008, 01:36:14 PM
Andy Moran celebrating Gerry Lohans injury time winning goal in the 2001 Connacht final whilst sitting in a Mayo gear with the rest of the Mayo minors!!
4 rossies representing Mayo in handball in the community games go up to collect their goal medals in ross jerseys!!

Funny stuff  :D
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 21, 2008, 03:18:37 PM
Quote from: heineken_on_tap on October 21, 2008, 01:46:42 PM
4 rossies representing Mayo in handball in the community games go up to collect their goal medals in ross jerseys!!

Does it not piss off the rossies that yeve lost alot of players that would make yee better. I know i go on about it but Tom parsons thing its impossible to see the funny side of it because its costing us and that angers me. And i suppose the TP situation is alot more clearcut than ballaghdereen situation.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 21, 2008, 03:26:35 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on October 21, 2008, 03:18:37 PM

Does it not piss off the rossies that yeve lost alot of players that would make yee better. I know i go on about it but Tom parsons thing its impossible to see the funny side of it because its costing us and that angers me. And i suppose the TP situation is alot more clearcut than ballaghdereen situation.

What's the Tom Parson's situation Sligonian?

stirs the pot and stands back
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 21, 2008, 03:29:45 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on October 21, 2008, 03:26:35 PM

:D :D :D :D Very good Gbb
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 21, 2008, 03:53:10 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on October 21, 2008, 03:29:45 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on October 21, 2008, 03:26:35 PM

:D :D :D :D Very good Gbb

Sure when he is this disloyal to sligo what makes mayo people think he wont turn his back on yee, i hope plays class out in OZ for one reason only, he gets recruited and then well see whos laughing then :D :D

I pray that scenario happens. As long as he doenst play with mayo i'll be happy ;D.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 21, 2008, 03:58:59 PM
Does Parsons have any younger brothers who play ball and if he does where would their allegiances lie? Is it possible he could have a younger brother that would want to play for Sligo for instance?
Post by: mannix on October 21, 2008, 04:31:29 PM
this can hardly be an excuse for lame duck teams being produced in sligo and roscommon, can it?
Post by: heineken_on_tap on October 21, 2008, 04:40:37 PM
Quote from: mannix on October 21, 2008, 04:31:29 PM
this can hardly be an excuse for lame duck teams being produced in sligo and roscommon, can it?

It definitely cannot. What's yer excuse?? ::)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 21, 2008, 04:46:36 PM
The woman has ties to Tom Parsons (forget the exact relationship) and they are definitely Mayo people...
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on October 21, 2008, 04:49:14 PM
Quote from: billy the kid on October 21, 2008, 01:15:03 PM

DYJL is on about his own clb Ballinderry a great team who have now won 10 Derry senior titles 2 Ulsters and an All Ireland club very proud footballing trdition there.  Just dont mention the fact that half the club sits in Tyrone and half the players live in Tyrone  :o :o  Always been a sore point.

Billy, why do you think I posted in this particular thread.  Of course I was alluding to the fact that a club which is half made up of Tyrone men is dominating at all ages in Derry.  Believe me, it seems to be a sore point for everyone else in Derry, but not for us Shamrocks.   ;D
Post by: Hardy on October 21, 2008, 04:55:51 PM
Which county team do Ballagh GAA people and club members support?
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on October 21, 2008, 05:55:20 PM
Quote from: Hardy on October 21, 2008, 04:55:51 PM

That's an easy one.... Mayo. Of the starting 15 only Gaz Conway is a ross supporter. Rossies will throw out the old sh1te of Andy being one, he used to be but he isn't anymore for obvious reasons and  usually starts the Mayo sings songs after we beat Ross!

The management team of Frank Kelly, James Mitchell, Christy McCann are all staunch Mayo supporters too. Ballagh is in Ross but when you have lads travelling the length and breadth of County Mayo from U-10 up, they are only going to want to play for one county. there are always exceptions of course, there are a few Ross supporters in the club but they are seriously out-numbered. Turlough if you're a Ballagh man, I think you would acknowledge that yourself, I'm sure it annoys a ross man like you but it's the way I see it whenever I'm at training, going to matches etc, it's Mayo jerseys on nearly all the kids.
Post by: Rossfan on October 21, 2008, 06:16:33 PM
Back in 2004 I was visiting an oul relation of mine in ROSCOMMON hospital . There was an oul Ballagh lad in the ward and it was great crack listening to him tellin tales of  his efforts to stop the Traitors in the town putting up rhubarb flags on his house and adjacent to it.
He succeeded alright which is more than they did in Croke Park. ;)

FREE BALLAGH NOW !!!!!!!!!
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 21, 2008, 07:14:48 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on October 21, 2008, 04:46:36 PM
The woman has ties to Tom Parsons (forget the exact relationship) and they are definitely Mayo people...

I dont know Parsons or his family so its second hand info, but Sligo people tell me both parents are sligo born and bred and his father being a stauch sligo supporter. But on another forum one lad said his mother is from donegal. But no one has said there mayo people, and ive been whinging now for about 5 months.

I know for a fact toms uncle played for Sligo aswell. I spoke to a man who said he works with Toms father, he backed up that his father is stauch sligo man, hard to believe he lets tom play for mayo so, but id say deep down his father would prefer he play for sligo. The why? is a big question and if i ever met him thats what id ask.. Ive been told its because he always wants to play with his friends but that doesnt hold water with county maybe at club level. His only link to mayo is he went to school there and thats how he qualified. There is no confusion about where hes from, Bellaghy is sligo no questions asked and he live inside sligos border there.

All i can say im never going to stop highlighting till i know the supply has stopped to mayo, im going to my best with all my contacts to make sure Sligo Clubs fully support Curry and Sligo CB in getting all sligo people in belleghy to play with sligo. Its wrong and its costing us big time and it will stop some day mark my words if i have to knock on every door in bellaghy myself.
Post by: spectator on October 21, 2008, 10:33:19 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 21, 2008, 12:14:00 PM

QuoteThe question was would Ballaghaderreen and Edmondstown remain in Mayo or would the boundaries be changed to allow them to remain in the Castlerea area?
How did this question arise? If Ballaghaderreen and and Edmonstown were in Mayo what was the problem?

Reading between the lines, the article implies Ballagh was in the Castlerea Union (ie Roscommon today) for some purposes pre-1898. Perhaps they voted in that electoral district, or the roads were looked after by that juristiction, for example.

It seems Ballagh had closer links to modern day Roscommon pre-1898 than is generally known. It'd be well worth investigating further, as this is an interesting angle I've not come across before.

I expect the ratepayers were landowners, property owners and local business people. When I was young I heard an elderly neighbour talk of a vote which was held where the Ballagh people elected to leave Mayo for Ros - perhaps the ratepayers decision is also what he was referring to.

Quote from: Hardy on October 21, 2008, 04:55:51 PM

As Oirthear said above, a majority of club members currently favour Mayo. There are a good few Rossies involved too, the numbers tends to fluctuate for various reasons, eg, which county is on top in any given decade. Generally, the town itself is fairly evenly split, with a nice few Sligo supporters around too, Sligo actually being nearer to Ballagh than Mayo.

Here's one for ye - Séan Kilbride played for Ballagh on ' 72 winning team, went on to play for Mayo for several years, before switching to his boyhood heroes The Rossies in the late seventies. Sure it's no wonder outsiders find Ballagh so hard to figure out ;)

Back in the here and now, a really interesting scenario would be to see lads like Gaz Conway being selected by Fergal O'Donnell to play for Ros ...  :P

Turlough, I remember being at that game - if I'm not mistaken you captained Ballagh that day in McHale Park?
Post by: magpie seanie on October 22, 2008, 01:52:41 PM
QuoteThe woman has ties to Tom Parsons (forget the exact relationship) and they are definitely Mayo people...

Well you'd better check that out again Croi. I'm reliably informed that the generation of his family before him all played for Curry in Sligo.

I would have thought that Mayo was a big enough county without stealing players from their neighbours. Maybe that's why they are cursed on All-Ireland day. The House of Pain ye brought on yourselves. Karma.
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 22, 2008, 02:02:17 PM
How did mayo steal  parsons he made his decision a long time ago to play for charlestown not curry  what are mayo meant to do Seanie just leave him there is it? Obviously he has been playing for charlestown for years played underage for mayo and played senior i cant see what else mayo should do. As for Karma what other players from sligo have played fro mayo in any of the All Ireland Finals?
Post by: ludermor on October 22, 2008, 02:21:45 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on October 21, 2008, 07:14:48 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on October 21, 2008, 04:46:36 PM

I dont know Parsons or his family so its second hand info, but Sligo people tell me both parents are sligo born and bred and his father being a stauch sligo supporter. But on another forum one lad said his mother is from donegal. But no one has said there mayo people, and ive been whinging now for about 5 months.

I know for a fact toms uncle played for Sligo aswell. I spoke to a man who said he works with Toms father, he backed up that his father is stauch sligo man, hard to believe he lets tom play for mayo so, but id say deep down his father would prefer he play for sligo. The why? is a big question and if i ever met him thats what id ask.. Ive been told its because he always wants to play with his friends but that doesnt hold water with county maybe at club level. His only link to mayo is he went to school there and thats how he qualified. There is no confusion about where hes from, Bellaghy is sligo no questions asked and he live inside sligos border there.

All i can say im never going to stop highlighting till i know the supply has stopped to mayo, im going to my best with all my contacts to make sure Sligo Clubs fully support Curry and Sligo CB in getting all sligo people in belleghy to play with sligo. Its wrong and its costing us big time and it will stop some day mark my words if i have to knock on every door in bellaghy myself.
From reading throught he previous posts is not half the reason parsons went to charlestown the fault of the county board and/or the club?
I wish you luck in your quest Sligonian but if you annoy as many here as you do in real life then you wont be making the situation any better.
Post by: StoneWall on October 22, 2008, 05:08:57 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on October 21, 2008, 07:14:48 PM

SLIGONIAN get a life. You'd be better advised putting you energy into a club in Sligo. If his father is such a staunch Sligo man I'm sure if Belleghy were any way up to scratch good there's no way in hell that he'd let him play for a Mayo club! I agree if he's in the parish of Belleghy he should be playing with them but there wasn't a peep out of you until he played for Mayo so it's really Belleghy you have at heart!

As for Rossfan Ballagh has always and will always play in Mayo and there club players will always play for Mayo so get over it!

Ye pair are a microcosm of the problem with football in Sligo and Ros not focusing on the important things. Even if Sligo had Bellaghy and Ros had Ballagh or Sligo and Ros were put together ye still wouldn't regularly challenge Mayo! Muppets the pair of ye!
Post by: heineken_on_tap on October 22, 2008, 05:41:07 PM
Quote from: StoneWall on October 22, 2008, 05:08:57 PM

Ye pair are a microcosm of the problem with football in Sligo and Ros not focusing on the important things. Even if Sligo had Bellaghy and Ros had Ballagh or Sligo and Ros were put together ye still wouldn't regularly challenge Mayo! Muppets the pair of ye!

I personally have no problem with any Ballagh player playing with Mayo. It is just not an issue for me. If a player opts for Mayo then all the best to him. If Andy Moran goes on and wins an AI with Mayo then more power to him.

I do however have an issue with 'muppets' like stone wall and his supeiority complex, maybe more time should be spent focusing on Mayo football and the problems than putting the likes of Ros and Sligo down. Go over you GAA history books and you will see there were many times Roscommon challenged ye in the past and hopefully for the good of Connaugh football will in the future again..
Post by: StoneWall on October 22, 2008, 05:56:28 PM
Quote from: StoneWall on October 22, 2008, 05:08:57 PM
regularly challenge Mayo

Quote from: heineken_on_tap on October 22, 2008, 05:41:07 PM
there were many times Roscommon challenged

Look up regularly like a good boy!
Post by: Rossfan on October 22, 2008, 06:52:06 PM
.............1970,1972, 1977,1978,1979,1980,1986,1991.............
and that's without "looking it up"
Ballaghadereen is in CO ROSCOMMON. FULL STOP. When the traitorous GAA club wanted money what Council gave it to them --- Ros Co Co as Mayo Co Co cannot legally give them anything.
And Stone Wall one thing Ros is better tha Mayo at -- Batin Kerry in All Ireland Finals

FREE BALLAGH
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 22, 2008, 07:21:09 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on October 22, 2008, 02:02:17 PM
How did mayo steal  parsons he made his decision a long time ago to play for charlestown not curry  what are mayo meant to do Seanie just leave him there is it? Obviously he has been playing for charlestown for years played underage for mayo and played senior i cant see what else mayo should do. As for Karma what other players from sligo have played fro mayo in any of the All Ireland Finals?

Im a great believer in Karma, I should know when i criticise people it comesback at me 10 fold. But Mayos badluck is karma for all there wrong doings, long may it continue till maybe they leave our players alone. I might want mayo to win an all ireland but not with parsons, i hope ye win nothing and as long as parsons wears red and green i hope he wins nothing as well.

How did they not steal Parsons so Deel Rover enlighten us? Mayo know he lives in Bellaghy dont they, know hes a Sligoman Dont they? Yee have yer 52 clubs to our 26 but yee cant help yereselves can yee Is it not enough that yee have 800 club players to our 400 approx. Will i call into CASEYS and persuade john to play for sligo, do curry do that no...because we know its wrong.

And stonewall MY LIFE IS SLIGO FOOTBALL first and foremost and im not ashamed to say it. Its clear you havnt a clue what your on about, Bellaghy is in CURRY GAA CLUB area and let me tell you curry is an outstanding club, won the minor sligo championship this yr, have produced great players, contested sligo senior club championships last few yrs and won it and represented the county well by hammering Ballina, in FACT i would say there are better club than Charlestown over the last 10yrs but it would be tight. But if the Bellaghy lads played with CURRY there would be no contest.

Its already cost sligo and curry, sligo u21s should of won connacht last yr but with parsons we definitly would of, with curry if they had parsons midfield they would of beaten harps. Ive no doubt about that.
Post by: ildanach on October 22, 2008, 08:58:04 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 22, 2008, 06:52:06 PM
Connacht Senior title             Minor Titles            U21 titles
Mayo                                        41                                35                      21
Roscommon                              19                                 11                      5

there you go ross, i looked it up for you ;D
Post by: ludermor on October 22, 2008, 09:01:14 PM
Fair play Sligonian i was having a really shit day but you cheer me up all the time.
(http://i147.photobucket.com/albums/r310/ludermor/internet-geeks.jpg)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 22, 2008, 10:02:26 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on October 22, 2008, 01:52:41 PM
QuoteThe woman has ties to Tom Parsons (forget the exact relationship) and they are definitely Mayo people...

Well you'd better check that out again Croi. I'm reliably informed that the generation of his family before him all played for Curry in Sligo.

I would have thought that Mayo was a big enough county without stealing players from their neighbours. Maybe that's why they are cursed on All-Ireland day. The House of Pain ye brought on yourselves. Karma.

Will check it out in finer detail next opportunity I get.

Regarding Bellaghy, well it's more like a couple of buildings on the edge of Charlestown. It's also a fair drive out the road to Curry from what I can remember. Not really fair to ask parents to drop kids over a couple of times a week for God knows how many years when the can just stroll down the town to play with their school mates. Ideal solution would be a seperate club in Bellaghy but haven't a clue if a club could be sustained there. Just my tuppence...
Post by: rosnarun on October 22, 2008, 11:14:28 PM
Another example of every one wanting to play for mayo is the case of tourmakeady. in 1898 when Ross annexed Ballagh .
Mayo took the mountainy men from Galway . and who do they play for now ?
Maigheo of course

THE ballaghdereen peoples  liberation front
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 22, 2008, 11:17:03 PM
Quote from: ludermor on October 22, 2008, 09:01:14 PM
Fair play Sligonian i was having a really shit day but you cheer me up all the time.
(http://i147.photobucket.com/albums/r310/ludermor/internet-geeks.jpg)

It doesnt bother me because i know im anything but Stupid ;). Glad to be of service in your day. Your clearly intimidated by me though which gives me great satisfaction and your not the first
Post by: stephenite on October 22, 2008, 11:19:44 PM
If the locals involved in Bellaghy aren't going to put  a stop to this when a lad is 8 or 9 years of age that's their own fault, stop making asses of yourselves coming on here giving out when these lads turn out to be good footballers.

It's not our fault we're better organised than you
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 22, 2008, 11:37:03 PM
Quote from: stephenite on October 22, 2008, 11:19:44 PM
If the locals involved in Bellaghy aren't going to put  a stop to this when a lad is 8 or 9 years of age that's their own fault, stop making asses of yourselves coming on here giving out when these lads turn out to be good footballers.

It's not our fault we're better organised than you

Bullshit, justify that, Bellaghy had more BLACK AND WHITE flags this yr more than ever, they go to school in charlestown and yee feed off that ffs, its not rocket science, the poor parents will have to start sending there kids further a field to stop yee brainwashing them in charlestown schools. Thats the solution though get the parents to send them to curry and st attractas after that, simple and make it as easy as possible transoprt wise. There ive got it im so stupid :P.
Post by: stephenite on October 22, 2008, 11:45:54 PM
If they have more black and white flags that's great, entirely irrelevant of course but what ever keeps you happy.

Point still stands, it's up to those involved in Curry to ensure that players from within their area are not playing 'over the border' and it's up to those proud Sligo parents to ensure their kids know where their allegiances should lie.

It doesn't matter a f**k where they go to school. Dessie Sloyane sat beside me for about 6 years in school in Ballina and he still played for Sligo.

You're last comment (minus the smiley) is right on the money I'm afraid
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 22, 2008, 11:51:48 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on October 22, 2008, 10:02:26 PM

Regarding Bellaghy, well it's more like a couple of buildings on the edge of Charlestown. It's also a fair drive out the road to Curry from what I can remember. Not really fair to ask parents to drop kids over a couple of times a week for God knows how many years when the can just stroll down the town to play with their school mates. Ideal solution would be a seperate club in Bellaghy but haven't a clue if a club could be sustained there. Just my tuppence...

Bellaghy was there first so you know. Just by a couple hundred yrs ;).
Post by: ludermor on October 23, 2008, 12:12:59 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on October 22, 2008, 11:17:03 PM

It doesnt bother me because i know im anything but Stupid ;). Glad to be of service in your day. Your clearly intimidated by me though which gives me great satisfaction and your not the first

You might know it but you are keeping it well hidden. For a man who lives sligo GAA im shocked that you didnt know about this issue a few months ago. And you havent shut up about it since.
How does intimidation work? You have a fair high (ly flawed) opinion of yourself.
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on October 23, 2008, 10:22:03 AM
Sligonian are you from Curry or that neck of the woods? If you are, I'm surprised you have your facts so wrong. Yes Bellaghy is in Sligo, no one can dispute that. The point that seems to be missed is that Bellaghy is part of Charlestown parish not Curry parish. GAA boundaries are governed by parishes not counties, that's why Bellagy lads CAN'T play for Curry, it's not even a choice issue.
As for what county they should play for I'm not 100% on that, even though they have to play for a Mayo club maybe they don't have to play for county Mayo, maybe some GAA anorak could help us out with that one. Ballagh lads can't play for Ross (I know one lad who had to switch to western gaels in Frenchpark in order to do so) so I'm guessing Bellaghy lads can't play for Sligo.  Another example is Davitts in south Mayo, they have Galway lads playing for them because they are in Irishtown parish. They are GAA rules not Mayo GAA rules.
One other thing, Ross never had Ballagh, if they switched to Ross it's Mayo who would lose out as we have ALWAYS had Ballagh. Sure, some blow ins have come into the town from genuine parts of Ross and they say 'Ross is in Ballagh, Free Ballagh'. The people from the town that have been there for generations are Mayo people and always will be, the blow ins can say what they want. The comparison with the nationalists (Mayo) and the unionists (Ross) made by someone earlier is probably the best way to describe it. You can be sure that most Ross supporters in the town don't have 3rd/4th generation Ballagh roots!

Free Ballagh and send her back to her rightful home......... Mayo (and sure we'll take Bellaghy while we're at it)  ;)
Post by: heineken_on_tap on October 23, 2008, 11:08:18 AM
Quote from: OirthearMhaigheo on October 23, 2008, 10:22:03 AM
Sure, some blow ins have come into the town from genuine parts of Ross and they say 'Ross is in Ballagh, Free Ballagh'. The people from the town that have been there for generations are Mayo people and always will be, the blow ins can say what they want.

And some 'blow ins' have gone on to wear the red and green Oirthear so its not all bad  ;)
Post by: magpie seanie on October 23, 2008, 11:15:36 AM
QuoteBellagy lads CAN'T play for Curry, it's not even a choice issue.

That is incorrect. There was a Connacht council ruling some years ago which stated that Bellaghy part of Curry's catchment area.

QuoteIf the locals involved in Bellaghy aren't going to put  a stop to this when a lad is 8 or 9 years of age that's their own fault

Stephenite - your statement there is flawed. If all things were equal and the correct rules were applied fairly then perhaps your statement would hold water. Unfortunately this is not the case - trust me, I know what I'm talking about. The only place you can have any confidence of the rules being followed is the DRA and cost, time and effort usually means most clubs cannot go there.
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 23, 2008, 11:21:17 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on October 22, 2008, 07:21:09 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on October 22, 2008, 02:02:17 PM

How did they not steal Parsons so Deel Rover enlighten us? Mayo know he lives in Bellaghy dont they, know hes a Sligoman Dont they? Yee have yer 52 clubs to our 26 but yee cant help yereselves can yee Is it not enough that yee have 800 club players to our 400 approx. Will i call into CASEYS and persuade john to play for sligo, do curry do that no...because we know its wrong.

I said to myself a month ago that i'd avoid your posts sligionian because my doctor said reading them give me high blood pressure and thats not good for my health  thats why i addressed the question to seanie  ;) i genuinely can't see how it is mayo fault as stephenite said his decision to play for charlestown for whatever reasons were made when he was a young lad like are you saying that someone from mayo called to tom when he was a young lad and asked him to delare for mayo ?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 23, 2008, 11:22:16 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on October 22, 2008, 11:51:48 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on October 22, 2008, 10:02:26 PM

Bellaghy was there first so you know. Just by a couple hundred yrs ;).

Well then Charlestown should be playing in the Sligo championship  ::)
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on October 23, 2008, 11:27:17 AM
Quote from: heineken_on_tap on October 23, 2008, 11:08:18 AM
Quote from: OirthearMhaigheo on October 23, 2008, 10:22:03 AM
Sure, some blow ins have come into the town from genuine parts of Ross and they say 'Ross is in Ballagh, Free Ballagh'. The people from the town that have been there for generations are Mayo people and always will be, the blow ins can say what they want.

And some 'blow ins' have gone on to wear the red and green Oirthear so its not all bad  ;)

couldn't agree more! it's a win win for Mayo!
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on October 23, 2008, 11:29:42 AM

"That is incorrect. There was a Connacht council ruling some years ago which stated that Bellaghy part of Curry's catchment area. "

I seriously doubt that Seanie, Bellaghy is part of Charlestown parish and is even joined to the town. If you're correct why aren't Curry doing something about it??
Post by: Rossie11 on October 23, 2008, 12:04:00 PM
OirthearMhaigheo, if a family with countless generations Galwegians moves from Galway to ballagh and has kids whilst in the town are these kids Galway Ross or Mayo men or women?
Post by: stephenite on October 23, 2008, 12:06:14 PM
Quote from: Rossie11 on October 23, 2008, 12:04:00 PM
OirthearMhaigheo, if a family with countless generations Galwegians moves from Galway to ballagh and has kids whilst in the town are these kids Galway Ross or Mayo men or women?

Are they looking to play Gaelic Football? Because if they are, they'll be playing in Mayo.

That's about all there is to it.
Post by: Rossie11 on October 23, 2008, 12:07:09 PM
Sport aside.
Post by: stephenite on October 23, 2008, 12:07:58 PM
Quote from: Rossie11 on October 23, 2008, 12:07:09 PM
Sport aside.

Who give a f**k :D
Post by: Rossie11 on October 23, 2008, 12:19:33 PM
Point am making is the Mayos in the town were all born when Ballagh was geographically in Ross but still consider themselves MO's..
Its bore down from generation to generation as OirthearMhaigheo alluded to.
Unique is the nicest way I can describe it!!
Post by: thebandit on October 23, 2008, 12:37:49 PM
I've lived in Monaghan for most of my life but consider myself (and most other people also consider me) to be half Armagh. Does that make me a bad person?
Post by: stephenite on October 23, 2008, 12:38:56 PM
Not a bad person, maybe just confused! :P
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on October 23, 2008, 12:47:44 PM

Rossie11 I know plenty of people in that situation and they class themselves as Mayo's generally speaking, because even though they live in Ross they have no ties to, lets call it 'real Ross'. They love their football so logically they end up supporting Mayo because that is the only team they can play for even though their address is Co. Roscommon. They don't really care about who tars their road they care about football, what's more important at the end of the day?!! As for people who move into the area from Roscommon , like Andy's parents, well of course they support Ross, that makes sense (until they end up playing for Mayo and change their colours!)
As you say it is 'unique' and it's one town where things are never dull!!
Post by: magpie seanie on October 23, 2008, 01:13:42 PM
QuoteIf you're correct why aren't Curry doing something about it??

Curry have done plenty about it but have got nothing but obstruction from neighbouring (Sligo) clubs and Sligo Co. Board.
Post by: Sligoper on October 23, 2008, 01:22:52 PM
For f**k sake................Can we get over it please. Jesus this is embarrassing........
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on October 23, 2008, 01:26:29 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on October 23, 2008, 01:13:42 PM
QuoteIf you're correct why aren't Curry doing something about it??

Curry have done plenty about it but have got nothing but obstruction from neighbouring (Sligo) clubs and Sligo Co. Board.

well correct me if I'm wrong, but that fairly bores holes into Sligonian's argument that Mayo are poaching players!!
Post by: magpie seanie on October 23, 2008, 02:03:02 PM
OirthearMaigheo - Sligonian will make his own arguments.

Anyway, Sligoper is right. I'm going to leave this lie.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 23, 2008, 02:26:02 PM
2 posts from Sligogaa.ie, these 2 lads seem to know what theyre talking about:

Bellaghy was known as Beal Lathaigh or Beal an Athlaigh (Athach) There are records going back to the 12th century showing it as a settlement / town then. In the 16th century it developed a Market which grow to be very successful Food and other products were traded there as the land about it on the Northern side was fertile Beal Lathaigh or Beal an Athaigh when translated is the Mouth of the Swamp which is where Charlestown is built now , with the river Blackwater or also known as the River Mullachanoe flows at the bottom of the hill on the way into Charlestown going South dividing both towns The south side of the river was a wilderness .put the tribes of Sligleach maintained and governed the Northern side of the river Guest of theirs was General Humbert who camped with his army in Bellaghy because food was a plenty Then in the 19th Century an English Landlord Charles Strickland built the town of Charlestown and a market place to close the well established market in Bellaghy he also had taxes imposed on the Bellaghy market Charlestown is built on very poor ground where as Bellagh is on high and solid ground So the border between Mayo and Sligo in Beal an Athaigh can be traced back to the eleven hundreds -- get the message ?? Just in a point of clarification there are Bellagh children attending Curry NS also when there was no motor cars Bellaghy players walked,thumbed and cycled to games and training to Curry as they were proud of where they were born and lived, it gave them identity Is it that its more cool to play with the town boys than the country buffs ??

To clarify a few points -Bellaghy is not in the parish of Charlestown. Bellaghy was built before Charlestown and Charlestown is in the parish of Kilbegh.Charlestown parish does not exist. An arrangement between local clubs Curry, Charlestown and Buninadden many years ago to let the players choose the club the indivudal wanted to play for and no club stood in the way. The indivudal player usually went to the club they went to school in and the players they grew up with. Travel was not as easy for players 20 or 30 years ago as it is today.Charlestown has been the big winner with this ad-hoc arrangement. Curry have lost some great players due to this arrangement and indeed Charlestwon who are in the Mayo County final against winners of Ballaghadereen/Crosmolina have four players who are from Bellaghy/Sandyhill in their starting 15. There are some fine new players coming up through the youth ranks and Curry must address this leak of talent. I do believe that their would not be as many objectors to this and indeed many of the up and coming players will be attending St. Attracta's secondary school out side Tubbercurry.They would have a greater affinity to the South Sligo region. Sligo GAA cannot afford to lose any players to neighbouring counties and indeed players who are now of international status, one of three from Connacht. Its players for the future for Curry and Sligo,not the present senior players who will not change any way. Stop the leak in the South of the county.

So as I said earlier we just need to get the kids to go to school in Sligo. End of. And we need to start now and get the support of every club instead of being small minded. Im sure Curry are doing there best we just need to help them and row in behind there efforts.

Oirthear Mhaigheo, Lets get specific on TOM his Father is a stauch Sligo man, so mayo must of done some brainwashing to make him side with them rather than his Father.

Deel Rover, did you enjoy your holiday? Its not personal to you what i say so whats your problem, Pm if you want to get a few things off your chest. Might help the blood pressure.

Sligoper, i dont find it embarrasing, if whinging about it sees some action, i find it hard to let lie, so i will stop talking and will start doing something about it very soon.

Post by: Tubberman on October 23, 2008, 02:50:42 PM
QuoteLets get specific on TOM his Father is a stauch Sligo man, so mayo must of done some brainwashing to make him side with them rather than his Father

Damn and blast it! Sligonian has found out about the secret brainwashing facility in Carracastle.  :D
Do you ever read back over your posts when you've calmed down and feel even a little bit embarrassed? Great entertainment though!
Keep up the crusade to save the borderline Sigo boys and men

Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 23, 2008, 03:06:38 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on October 23, 2008, 02:50:42 PM
QuoteLets get specific on TOM his Father is a stauch Sligo man, so mayo must of done some brainwashing to make him side with them rather than his Father

Damn and blast it! Sligonian has found out about the secret brainwashing facility in Carracastle.  :D
Do you ever read back over your posts when you've calmed down and feel even a little bit embarrassed? Great entertainment though!
Keep up the crusade to save the borderline Sigo boys and men

Me embarrased about my posts, sorry never ::).

I will thanks for the support ;).
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 23, 2008, 03:40:31 PM
Free TOURMAKEADY while ye're at it. ;D
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 23, 2008, 03:42:38 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on October 23, 2008, 03:40:31 PM
Free TOURMAKEADY while ye're at it. ;D

go away ya fecker ya  :D
Post by: spectator on October 23, 2008, 05:57:02 PM
So slagging aside, earlier one Ballagh Rossie said;

Quote from: Turlough O Carolan on October 21, 2008, 01:54:17 AM
There's nothing more ridiculous than Mayo men telling us Ballaghs that we are proud Mayo men. I certainly am not. I have a Mayo county medal in my back pocket but I will always be Ros.

Then a Ballagh Mayo-ite said;

Quote from: OirthearMhaigheo on October 23, 2008, 12:47:44 PM
They love their football so logically they end up supporting Mayo because that is the only team they can play for even though their address is Co. Roscommon.

One question Oirthear ;

Gary Conway, the Ballagh team captain, is well known as a staunch Rossie.

If Fergal O'Donnell invited Gary to join the Ros panel for the upcoming  FBD league, would you support Gary in training with his beloved Rossies?

Or, to put it another way, would you support blocking him fromdoing so ???
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on October 23, 2008, 06:18:14 PM
Quote from: spectator on October 23, 2008, 05:57:02 PM

They love their football so logically they end up supporting Mayo because that is the only team they can play for even though their address is Co. Roscommon.

One question Oirthear ;

If Fergal O'Donnell invited Gary to join the Ros panel for the upcoming  FBD league, would you support Gary in training with his beloved Rossies?

Of course I'd support him, he's a sound lad and if that is what he wanted to do then fair play. My point is I don't know if he would be allowed to as he doesn't live in Roscommon (under GAA rules) and would have to transfer clubs if he felt that strongly about it.
As Sligonian alluded to earlier though if there were any signs of this happening, we'd get our strongest brainwashing team on the case and get to work on Gaz straight away  :D
Post by: spectator on October 23, 2008, 06:45:31 PM
Quote from: OirthearMhaigheo on October 23, 2008, 06:18:14 PM
My point is I don't know if he would be allowed to as he doesn't live in Roscommon (under GAA rules) and would have to transfer clubs if he felt that strongly about it.

No Surrender, eh? You'd rather see Gary have to move to another club than see him playing for Ballagh & Ros ...  :-\

And you're the guy telling Ballagh Rossies born and reared in their own county that they're like unionists ...  :D

As Sligonian alluded to earlier though if there were any signs of this happening, we'd get our strongest brainwashing team on the case and get to work on Gaz straight away  :D

There's some lads immune to that aul carry on  :D  ;)

Btw, being serious again, what do you make of the funding secured for the Ballagh GAA club pitch development by the Roscommon politicians?

And what do you think of the financial support for the pitch development by the local Rossie businesses and ordinary Rossie supporters?

Would they be happy with your 'point' do you think ???
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on October 23, 2008, 07:07:54 PM

One question Oirthear ;

Of course I'd support him, he's a sound lad and if that is what he wanted to do then fair play. My point is I don't know if he would be allowed to as he doesn't live in Roscommon (under GAA rules) and would have to transfer clubs if he felt that strongly about it.

Trevor Lydon who plays with my own club (Clonbur) lives in Mayo. Virtually all the parish is in Galway but the area covered crisscrosses the Galway-Mayo border taking in parts of Mayo as well. All his family including himself are staunch Mayo supporters and he played with the Mayo under-21's a few years ago despite having played all his club football in Galway.

Is there any real GAA rules stopping Ballagh lads playing with Roscommon if they want apart form the fact that the Mayo County board would stop them?
Post by: moysider on October 23, 2008, 08:46:15 PM

One question Oirthear ;

Hmmmm. Interesting. I heard Gary Conway being interviewed on mid-west radio on my way home from the match and he was on about Ballagh representing every club in Mayo from here on. He also mentioned the underage structures in place in  clubs in the county and the talent coming through. He reckoned it was only a matter of time before Mayo won the big pot. Andy Moran did not sound like a Rossie either when interviewed.

Gary Conway played very well the last day and won a sight of hard ball. He seems a natural leader as well and I ve no doubt he would give 110% for either Ros or the Green and Red if he was asked. But he sounded like a Mayoman the last day.

Like most footballers he would give it all for the team he plays for. But he s a product of Ballaghadereen which is a product of the Mayo scene. All bets are off these players being as good in another environment. The general state of Ros club football would suggest they would not. Clubs like Charlestown and Ballagh have had to raise their game to match and now eclipse the big 3 in North Mayo.
Same applies to Parsons in Charlestown. Everybody with a pulse in football was looking out for him since he was 14 and he always played for Charlestown and Mayo underage and he s a product of that nurturing. I dont think you could say he would have developed as well in the Sligo scene.
Post by: Tatler Jack on October 23, 2008, 11:02:50 PM
QuoteIs there any real GAA rules stopping Ballagh lads playing with Roscommon if they want apart form the fact that the Mayo County board would stop them?

No rule at all. If Mayo CB allowed a free choice thie issue would die down and probably most players would opt for Mayo anyway. It is the refusal of Mayo to show some sense of understanding on this issue that annoys Ros supporters.

I think in fairness Moysider I would not expect any player from Ballgh interviewed in the aftermath of the game to bring up the Mayo v Ros issue. The players are more mature. As regards your thesis that the players are the product of a better footballing set up in Mayo I don't necessariy think this is so.  Ballagh were contributing players to Mayo teams in the 70s when Ros football was clearly stronger.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 23, 2008, 11:26:41 PM
Same applies to Parsons in Charlestown. Everybody with a pulse in football was looking out for him since he was 14 and he always played for Charlestown and Mayo underage and he s a product of that nurturing. I dont think you could say he would have developed as well in the Sligo scene.

That is False and you know it and if you dont well then your not the brightest, how in the hell did we produce Mickey Kerins, Paul Taylor, Dessie Sloyan and Eamonn O Hara so?. Its one of the greatest myths this nurturing Bullshit. Ive seen it first hand where theres a talented underage star coming through the ranks, the football is already in him and you just make sure he keeps on the right track. The training and club nurturing has f*ck all to do with when there talented, all you have yo do is make sure there commited and there head is right.

Look at David Maye minor again next yr for Sligo and Curry, Scored 3-3 in minor county final and his team only won by 4pts, so Curry wouldnt of got same as Charlestown out of Parsons, dont make me laugh. You couldnt say Parsons wouldnt of developed as well in Sligo, without any back up to your argument. What do you know about Sligo or Curry?
Post by: moysider on October 23, 2008, 11:55:45 PM
Quote from: Tatler Jack on October 23, 2008, 11:02:50 PM
QuoteIs there any real GAA rules stopping Ballagh lads playing with Roscommon if they want apart form the fact that the Mayo County board would stop them?

No rule at all. If Mayo CB allowed a free choice thie issue would die down and probably most players would opt for Mayo anyway. It is the refusal of Mayo to show some sense of understanding on this issue that annoys Ros supporters.

I think in fairness Moysider I would not expect any player from Ballgh interviewed in the aftermath of the game to bring up the Mayo v Ros issue. The players are more mature. As regards your thesis that the players are the product of a better footballing set up in Mayo I don't necessariy think this is so.  Ballagh were contributing players to Mayo teams in the 70s when Ros football was clearly stronger.

I dont think we re far apart on this Tatler. Take your part about the interview but I can only go on what I heard. Lad was on a high and talkin off the cuff  and if he had a a problem about where he was playin his football .... I dunno but would young Conway and Moran have preferred they were lifting the Roscommon title instead of the Moclair Cup?  I wish they were asked that question and I m sure the answer is not a simple one.

They are a product of their experience. Corway mentioned losing to Cross in 06 and Ballina 07 and Moran said you have nt arrived until you beat a Crossmolina in the championship. These lads were not being diplomatic. This was a big day day in their football lives and they were speaking from the heart.

I remember the 70s unfortunately as well, from my point of view. I still have a great fondness for that Ros side even though they made my life a misery. That decade in a way defined me as a Mayoman. We had some great players during the 70s but nobody at the level required did the players justice. Kerry, Dublin and Ros as well  had the equivalent of the Busbys and Shankleys starting a revolution while Mayo football was stuck in the bingo hall and playing 'Achón agus Achón Ó' football each Summer. And this was in a decade where we were regularly producing top class underage teams and St. Colman s won an All Ireland College s. Football was thriving on the ground because its bred into us and it appears disappointment makes it even more entrenched. But the board was in paralysis. It was nt until  later the much maligned  managers Liam o Neill and John Maughan came along we began to put our heads above the battlements. And the board never trusted these fellas. Ambition is not a respected trait in Mayo. We prefer mentors instead of managers. Trainers instead if coaches, because a monkey can train a team and we like our football off the cuff and disorganised.

Sad ,Sad times the 70s and the tragic death of Ted Webb put the tin hat on it. I never want to see us in that place again but in truth we ve never been too far from it. Now we ve got a management that is dampening down the interest of fans. We ve always been best when we ve been brash. To hell with low profile and underdog football. Only the natural ability of our players and a couple of ambitious managers have dragged us up to prominence from time to time but we ve underachieved big time with the resources available to us.
Post by: spectator on October 24, 2008, 12:05:56 AM
Quote from: moysider on October 23, 2008, 08:46:15 PM
Gary Conway played very well the last day and won a sight of hard ball. He seems a natural leader as well and I ve no doubt he would give 110% for either Ros or the Green and Red if he was asked. But he sounded like a Mayoman the last day.

I agree with a lot of what you have to say there, moysider. Ah, the good old days of the late 70's, ye fairly put us to the pin of our collars in the '79 Connacht Final in Castlebar though.

Regarding Ballagh, in the interests of sportmanship and doing the right thing, the Mayo County Board should really do the decent thing and make an announcement allowing lads to declare for either county. TBH, it reflects badly on them that they don't at present, imo. Ballagh lads live and breathe GAA. Hiding behind the rulebook saying it's not possible to play for Ros without transferring just reflects a kind of narrowmindedness on their part, imo, as there are other clubs where it's commonplace to give players a choice where bordering counties are involved.

An interview with Gary Conway by Mayo's local newspaper The Western People from 2 years ago might help explain how Ballagh Rossies love their club, enjoy playing their club football in Mayo and are deserving of the choice of playing for Ros, if they're good enough. Anything less is blackguarding them really, considering all they bring to Mayo club football and the GAA generally.

Ballagh folk will recognise quite a high proportion of ex- Rossie supporting players named in the piece, which exposes the myth of Ballagh players being exclusively Mayo supporters, imo.

I've edited the article, but you can access the full interview at the link below ;

http://archives.tcm.ie/westernpeople/2006/10/24/story33758.asp

Captain Gary pins his colours to the mast

FIRST things first. Reared on the Roscommon side of the county divide, Ballaghaderreen captain, Gary Conway, is a proud Saffron and Blue man. His family are Roscommon, he's Roscommon and he makes no bones about it. He is also a deeply passionate Ballaghaderreen man, that's clear from talking football with the lion-hearted wingback, as he prepares to lead the border club into a first Mayo county final in over a generation.

Too young to remember the final of 1985, legendary names such as Durkin, O'Mahony, Kelly, Towey, Flanagan, McGarry and Lynch, continue to reverberate in the minds of Ballagh Gaels.

Its time for a new breed of hero to emerge from the shadows.

>
>
>

"If the Moclair Cup comes back to Ballagh on Sunday evening I'll be smiling for at least 20 years," confirmed the focused leader of the pack.

If he succeeds in his goal, there will be no prouder Roscommon man in history to have held aloft the coveted Mayo county crown.
Post by: stephenite on October 24, 2008, 12:11:57 AM
Quote from: spectator on October 24, 2008, 12:05:56 AM

Regarding Ballagh, in the interests of sportmanship and doing the right thing, the Mayo County Board should really do the decent thing and make an announcement allowing lads to declare for either county. TBH, it reflects badly on them that they don't at present, imo. Ballagh lads live and breathe GAA. Hiding behind the rulebook saying it's not possible to play for Ros without transferring just reflects a kind of narrowmindedness on their part, imo, as there are other clubs where it's commonplace to give players a choice where bordering counties are involved.

;D :D ;D

Post by: moysider on October 24, 2008, 12:45:44 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on October 23, 2008, 11:26:41 PM

That is False and you know it and if you dont well then your not the brightest, how in the hell did we produce Mickey Kerins, Paul Taylor, Dessie Sloyan and Eamonn O Hara so?. Its one of the greatest myths this nurturing Bullshit. Ive seen it first hand where theres a talented underage star coming through the ranks, the football is already in him and you just make sure he keeps on the right track. The training and club nurturing has f*ck all to do with when there talented, all you have yo do is make sure there commited and there head is right.

Look at David Maye minor again next yr for Sligo and Curry, Scored 3-3 in minor county final and his team only won by 4pts, so Curry wouldnt of got same as Charlestown out of Parsons, dont make me laugh. You couldnt say Parsons wouldnt of developed as well in Sligo, without any back up to your argument. What do you know about Sligo or Curry?

I ll get over the fact that you ve accused me of either being a liar or dumb or both. Yes ye did have great players like Taylor, Kearins and O Hara. Stephenite mentioned he sat with Sloyane in Ballina College. Patrick Naughton and  Michael Langan also played there recently with the likes of the Bradys, Harte, Nallens, McGarrity etc. Did that not help them all to raise their game. Kerins went to the same school. Nobody approached them to play for Mayo.

I saw Parsons play as a 14/15 year old. Did you? He was wearin either Charlestown or Mayo Jersey and I did nt see anybody twisting his arm. And naughton s arm was nt twisted either even though Ballina is his natural hinterland. But he would never have played for Mayo and he was good enough to play 5 for Mayo for years.

I see Summerhill, after years of apathy are doing well at juvenile and junior levels in Connacht Colleges A. Your concern Sligonian is that they continue to do so. I recall so many decent Summerhill players that had football in them but you knew they would end up with Rovers for a couple of years and then when let go get fat. Parsons is never going to play with Rovers or Harps . As long as the Aussies leave him alone...... well he s a Mayo footballer. Ye ve lost too many to the tan game for a few bob! Mayo is not the problem, the mitre and addidas ball is. We ve been over this befrore. Tom parsons is not the problem.

I remember secondary schools in Ballysodare and Ballymote[ run by the Mercy] competing in soccer only. I remember the Sligo Chairman s attemt to promote the game in one of the school s being treated with scorn by young fellas and staff alike. Celtic and United only I m aafraid.To express an interest in Gaelic was an invitation to ridicule.

Now Mayo colleges don t win much but three always compete at A level. All 3 are way smaller than Summerhill. That is where some edge comes from.

I have a good friend and colleague from sligo who would be depressed over a Liverpool defeat to anybody but has never been to a Sligo game in his life. It means nothing to him.

I write a bit on here Sligonian but I do the stuff on the ground as well and have done for years. No point cherrypicking likes of Parsons now as an example of those that got away - Elvis left the building a long time ago. Having a cheap shot at me wont change that either. I know and have respect for Sligo football, more than you might suspect. You re picking the wrong fight here.
Post by: rosnarun on October 24, 2008, 01:14:03 AM
Quote from: thebandit on October 23, 2008, 12:37:49 PM
I've lived in Monaghan for most of my life but consider myself (and most other people also consider me) to be half Armagh. Does that make me a bad person?

My Granny and may father were born in the same house in Tourmakeady but in different counties , now that would really confuse ye.
She used to hide the rebels in her attic and make them sodabread

Post by: RedandGreenSniper on October 24, 2008, 06:04:46 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on October 24, 2008, 01:14:03 AM
Quote from: thebandit on October 23, 2008, 12:37:49 PM

My Granny and may father were born in the same house in Tourmakeady but in different counties , now that would really confuse ye.
She used to hide the rebels in her attic and make them sodabread

Mayo's version of the diary of Anne Frank ;D
Post by: magpie seanie on October 24, 2008, 09:51:37 AM
QuoteI dont think you could say he would have developed as well in the Sligo scene.

Moysider - that's a load of rubbish. Curry are a top club (you will have heard of them before no doubt) and he would have developed just fine. Indeed their neighbours and rivals produced Eamonn O'Hara who turned out ok too.

As for:

QuotePatrick Naughton and  Michael Langan also played there recently with the likes of the Bradys, Harte, Nallens, McGarrity etc. Did that not help them all to raise their game. Kerins went to the same school. Nobody approached them to play for Mayo.

all I can say is that we'll have to take your word for it. However, it is widely known that O'Hara was approached.
Post by: heineken_on_tap on October 24, 2008, 09:59:30 AM
The thought of O'Hara and David Brady on the one team is scary. Good call O'Hara
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 24, 2008, 12:54:09 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 24, 2008, 12:45:44 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on October 23, 2008, 11:26:41 PM

I ll get over the fact that you ve accused me of either being a liar or dumb or both. Yes ye did have great players like Taylor, Kearins and O Hara. Stephenite mentioned he sat with Sloyane in Ballina College. Patrick Naughton and  Michael Langan also played there recently with the likes of the Bradys, Harte, Nallens, McGarrity etc. Did that not help them all to raise their game. Kerins went to the same school. Nobody approached them to play for Mayo.

I saw Parsons play as a 14/15 year old. Did you? He was wearin either Charlestown or Mayo Jersey and I did nt see anybody twisting his arm. And naughton s arm was nt twisted either even though Ballina is his natural hinterland. But he would never have played for Mayo and he was good enough to play 5 for Mayo for years.

I see Summerhill, after years of apathy are doing well at juvenile and junior levels in Connacht Colleges A. Your concern Sligonian is that they continue to do so. I recall so many decent Summerhill players that had football in them but you knew they would end up with Rovers for a couple of years and then when let go get fat. Parsons is never going to play with Rovers or Harps . As long as the Aussies leave him alone...... well he s a Mayo footballer. Ye ve lost too many to the tan game for a few bob! Mayo is not the problem, the mitre and addidas ball is. We ve been over this befrore. Tom parsons is not the problem.

I remember secondary schools in Ballysodare and Ballymote[ run by the Mercy] competing in soccer only. I remember the Sligo Chairman s attemt to promote the game in one of the school s being treated with scorn by young fellas and staff alike. Celtic and United only I m aafraid.To express an interest in Gaelic was an invitation to ridicule.

Now Mayo colleges don t win much but three always compete at A level. All 3 are way smaller than Summerhill. That is where some edge comes from.

I have a good friend and colleague from sligo who would be depressed over a Liverpool defeat to anybody but has never been to a Sligo game in his life. It means nothing to him.

I write a bit on here Sligonian but I do the stuff on the ground as well and have done for years. No point cherrypicking likes of Parsons now as an example of those that got away - Elvis left the building a long time ago. Having a cheap shot at me wont change that either. I know and have respect for Sligo football, more than you might suspect. You re picking the wrong fight here.

Alot of your points are irrevalvent to this issue. Your going off on a different tangent. I didnt accuse you of been a liar or dumb, i gave you your chance, if you think Parsons wouldnt of developed aswell with Curry than Charlestown well then i am calling you dumb. For you to go around spouting that is lies, what basis to have for that statement. None. 

Youve absolutely no back up to your argument so you go on to tell us how much you know about our schools and much aligned to soccer in town and other places. But what does that have to with Tom Parsons and Curry. Nothing. Try and stick to the issue.

On O Hara wasnt it the ballina side that tryed to poach him offering all kinds of royalties. Classy as always from Mayo. He could of went but sure not every footballer would sell there soul. To be honest i wouldnt take your word on anything about appraoching dessie and the rest in ballina.
Post by: moysider on October 24, 2008, 04:50:34 PM
As far as I m aware Parsons has always played with Charlestown and Mayo. To say he would be the same player if he d developed somewhere else - well there s no certainty he would. I happen to believe he probably would nt.  Sligo posters will believe he would be the same player if he d been with Curry all his life. Called a difference of opinion lads. All I can say with certainty that even in my own county different clubs put a different stamp on players. Knockmore and Ballina are beside one another but the players they produce are very different.

As for the attempted poach of O Hara. News to me that Ballina approached him but these things usually happen covertly. If I knew about it i would have no problem saying so. There used to be rumours about him transfering to another Mayo club where his mother had a connection but never heard about the Ballina one. Not aware of any approaches being made to Sloyane and I m sure I would be but I could talk to somebody I m sure would know. If Naughton was approached I m sure I would have been told and I never heard anything. Mind you if people dont take my word for it ........

As regards the school situation, well that is where players need to be brought along - though there may be no football in schools after Jan 1st. As most Bellaghy kids would be in St. Attractas now there is less a chance that they would end up playing in school in Charlestown. It does nt stop the Bellaghy lads playing club in Charlestown. How do you propose stopping the young Tom Parsons of this world playing for Charlestown if they wish to do so?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 24, 2008, 05:19:52 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 24, 2008, 04:50:34 PM
As far as I m aware Parsons has always played with Charlestown and Mayo. To say he would be the same player if he d developed somewhere else - well there s no certainty he would. I happen to believe he probably would nt.  Sligo posters will believe he would be the same player if he d been with Curry all his life. Called a difference of opinion lads. All I can say with certainty that even in my own county different clubs put a different stamp on players. Knockmore and Ballina are beside one another but the players they produce are very different.

As for the attempted poach of O Hara. News to me that Ballina approached him but these things usually happen covertly. If I knew about it i would have no problem saying so. There used to be rumours about him transfering to another Mayo club where his mother had a connection but never heard about the Ballina one. Not aware of any approaches being made to Sloyane and I m sure I would be but I could talk to somebody I m sure would know. If Naughton was approached I m sure I would have been told and I never heard anything. Mind you if people dont take my word for it ........

As regards the school situation, well that is where players need to be brought along - though there may be no football in schools after Jan 1st. As most Bellaghy kids would be in St. Attractas now there is less a chance that they would end up playing in school in Charlestown. It does nt stop the Bellaghy lads playing club in Charlestown. How do you propose stopping the young Tom Parsons of this world playing for Charlestown if they wish to do so?

Well ive a few ideas on how to get bellaghy kids to play with Curry and Sligo. Its just going take alot of hard work and support of all clubs and backed strongly by County Board.

Your point made above is alot more diplomatic. No one can say either way about Parsons but i just took what by the way you said it before that as an insult to Curry and Sligo.  I mean moysider what do you know about Curry. There a strong club and have produced great teams and players. I honestly think ye believe in Mayo yer better at developing players and we in Sligo havent a clue about football but youd be wrong. It all boils down to nrs at the end of the day. Yeve a far bigger pick, twice ours. Thats the only thing ye have over us and always will, unless we start breeding like rabbits in Sligo :D.
Post by: magpie seanie on October 24, 2008, 07:18:55 PM
QuoteAs for the attempted poach of O Hara. News to me that Ballina approached him but these things usually happen covertly. If I knew about it i would have no problem saying so. There used to be rumours about him transfering to another Mayo club where his mother had a connection but never heard about the Ballina one.

I agree with this. The other club was the one I was referring to.
Post by: dodo on October 24, 2008, 10:14:46 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on October 24, 2008, 07:18:55 PM
QuoteAs for the attempted poach of O Hara. News to me that Ballina approached him but these things usually happen covertly. If I knew about it i would have no problem saying so. There used to be rumours about him transfering to another Mayo club where his mother had a connection but never heard about the Ballina one.

I agree with this. The other club was the one I was referring to.

Any chance of you naming this club ? PM me if you rather !
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 24, 2008, 10:54:42 PM
Oy, Roscommoners, was there not an attempt to have Ballagh play in Ros, with Ros etc only for the Ros Co. Board to have a disagreement of some sort with them??
Post by: spectator on October 25, 2008, 12:42:42 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 24, 2008, 10:54:42 PM
Oy, Roscommoners, was there not an attempt to have Ballagh play in Ros, with Ros etc only for the Ros Co. Board to have a disagreement of some sort with them??

Eh? An attempt at muddying the waters Farrendeelin ???   :D
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 25, 2008, 07:29:17 PM
I could have sworn I read that somewhere though.
Post by: Rossfan on October 25, 2008, 07:42:24 PM
Deelin we tried to set up a club _ St John's - in Ballagh to affiliate to Ros Co Board but when it went to Connacht Council Mayo(understandably), Galway (Assholes) and Laythrum(petty nasty begrudgin cnuts) outvoted us and Sligo to put an end to it.
May they rot in Hell those who opposed it. >:(
Post by: spectator on October 25, 2008, 07:48:34 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 25, 2008, 07:29:17 PM
I could have sworn I read that somewhere though.

No. The Ros County Board supported the Ballagh Rossies when they tried to set up an under-age club which would be affiiated to Ros back in the nineties.

Mayo objected and it was brought before The Connacht Council where a 2/3 majority was required in order for the club to be allowed to form.

The Mayo County Board lobbied the Galway and Leitrim County Boards for support in opposing this club.

With those three counties opposing the formation of the club & Ros and Sligo in favour of it, the motion allowing for the formation of the club was defeated.

That's the extent of the Ros County Board involvement in the formation of a Ros affiliated club in Ballagh.
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 26, 2008, 04:19:02 PM
That must be it sure. I would have thought that Galway would vote against us at provincial council level.
Post by: muppet on October 26, 2008, 06:52:47 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 26, 2008, 04:19:02 PM
That must be it sure. I would have thought that Galway would vote against us at provincial council level.

Mayo/Galway usually vote together Farran.
Post by: Owenmoresider on October 26, 2008, 07:38:42 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 24, 2008, 12:45:44 AM

So Sligo is a soccer county is what you're saying? Don't tar us with the town's ample brush. Lot of soccer heads there, GAA very much the poor relation. but it's never been any different tbf. Mind you the Rovers still get damn-all of a crowd, so maybe they're just useless all round.

In saying that, Summerhill should be competing at the top in Connacht, no excuses. I remember, around 2000, seeing a Dept of Education booklet listing the secondary schools and their numbers, and Summerhill had a higher number of boys enrolled than ANY school in the land, about 900 or so. Things may have changed in that respect since, but it'll still be up there, given it draws all the boys from the town and much of the hinterland (Strandhill, Drumcliffe etc.). That they were down in B at times lately while competing well in the soccer is a shame, but it needs to be pushed from within the school, as well as the CB doing their bit. St. Attracta's won the AI B tow years ago, and are up in the A, have the football hotbeds so have good players, but perhaps not the numbers that Jarlath's, Castlebar, Muredach's etc. and Summerhill have, so are up against it.

As for Ballymote, that must have been well before my time there cos whatever effort was put into sport, it was to Gaelic, soccer was only kept going by one teacher, merely a case of round up a team, and off we go. Though the school could have done a lot more football-wise, given the teams that were around at that time, could have tilted at Connacht if they took it seriously. Nowadays the talent pool is limited, Harps (the bit that goes there) are floundering, Ballymote in a mess, Bunnies and M'breena too small, Shams split between B'mote and Coola and our club's half that attends doesn't provide much either. Mind you I heard last week that they still beat Summerhill in the Sligo colleges competition. :o Ballisodare have done better, but others may know that better than me.

As for Ballagh - whatever about playing in Mayo, if that's what they want fine. But at least let the players declare for Ros if they want to. Shouldn't be there anyway, no matter what this nonsense about Dillons or anyone else, by that logic Ardnaree should still be in Sligo. And lest we forget Castleconnor's parish is divided between Mayo and Sligo, a few of Ballina's leading lights should be with CC if what I'm told is correct. And seemingly it's not just Parsons on the Charlestown panel who has crossed to the dark side either. And Tourmakeady too? Jaysus have ye no shame at all, maybe Shell's intrusion of Rossport is karma. :P
Post by: jodyb on October 26, 2008, 09:00:09 PM
Quote from: DoYerJob Linesman on October 21, 2008, 04:49:14 PM

Billy, why do you think I posted in this particular thread.  Of course I was alluding to the fact that a club which is half made up of Tyrone men is dominating at all ages in Derry.  Believe me, it seems to be a sore point for everyone else in Derry, but not for us Shamrocks.   ;D
I did wonder about you DYJL....Shuda f##kin known ;)
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on October 26, 2008, 09:14:02 PM
Up Tyrone!   :D
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 26, 2008, 09:25:14 PM
Sure we wouldn't miss Ardnaree that much, or Tourmakeady for that matter. It's not that Ardnaree are dominating at all levels anyway, Jes, maybe that's why they're always junior (with the Sligo influence) for as long as I've been around. ;)
Post by: jodyb on October 26, 2008, 09:28:45 PM
Quote from: DoYerJob Linesman on October 26, 2008, 09:14:02 PM
Up Tyrone!   :D
Ya Bollix :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: stephenite on October 26, 2008, 09:55:35 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on October 26, 2008, 07:38:42 PM
And lest we forget Castleconnor's parish is divided between Mayo and Sligo, a few of Ballina's leading lights should be with CC if what I'm told is correct.

Who?
Post by: muppet on October 26, 2008, 10:08:05 PM
Quote from: stephenite on October 26, 2008, 09:55:35 PM
And lest we forget Castleconnor's parish is divided between Mayo and Sligo, a few of Ballina's leading lights should be with CC if what I'm told is correct.

Who?

All of them.  ;)
Post by: Owenmoresider on October 26, 2008, 11:42:05 PM

Who?
I'd be thinking about one family who were well represented on the Ballina team in recent times, based in the Castleconnor parish I'm told. There may be others too I believe, CC fellas may be able to divulge.
Post by: stephenite on October 26, 2008, 11:52:46 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on October 26, 2008, 11:42:05 PM

Who?
I'd be thinking about one family who were well represented on the Ballina team in recent times, based in the Castleconnor parish I'm told. There may be others too I believe, CC fellas may be able to divulge.

Stop talking shite OMS - you have a name, let's be having it so I can prove you wrong.

Because someone's Father came from a parish, it does not automatically follow that he lives there for the rest of his life and his sons are beholden to that parish. Take for example a family who were reared down the Quay in Ballina, lived next door to the maternal Grandfather, who was a well known Stephenite player in his day, never lived in CC even though their Father was from there, that does not mean his sons are supposed to play for CC, desperate and all some of the South Sligo buffs might be to claim them.
Post by: Owenmoresider on October 27, 2008, 12:35:23 AM
Quote from: stephenite on October 26, 2008, 11:52:46 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on October 26, 2008, 11:42:05 PM

Who?

Stop talking shite OMS - you have a name, let's be having it so I can prove you wrong.

Because someone's Father came from a parish, it does not automatically follow that he lives there for the rest of his life and his sons are beholden to that parish. Take for example a family who were reared down the Quay in Ballina, lived next door to the maternal Grandfather, who was a well known Stephenite player in his day, never lived in CC even though their Father was from there, that does not mean his sons are supposed to play for CC, desperate and all some of the South Sligo buffs might be to claim them.
I was referring to the Bradys, may be wrong but that's what I've been told.

Does the parish come far in the Quay Rd? I assume the Rugby club would be in CC parish, and nearby places I'd rather not recall. :-[ Mind you, like Curry, Castleconnor may have issues with their Mayo neighbours, but their fellow neighbours on the Sligo side aren't shy about coveting their players either.
Post by: stephenite on October 27, 2008, 12:58:21 AM
The Quay Rd (including the Rugby club) would not be in CC - indeed you'd need to go about 7 mile down the Quay Rd before you enter Sligo. There is a large pink house that was formerly owned by the brother (RIP) of Pres. Mary Robinson, the border is thereabouts, and certainly no where near the Bradys.

The Quay Shamrocks have been providing teams to the old Ballina street leagues and the Stephenites since the start of the association - there can be absolutely no question about that.

It actually works both ways with dis-affected Stephenites from the Quay transferring, illegally, over the border, indeed when CC won the intermediate back in the late '90s there was a furore over one such player, with former Mayo player Eugene McHale being particularly vexed over it.

Martin McGrath would have been a high profile one that we profited from but that was mainly down to the Sligo CB not making a decision about whether he should play for CC or Enniscrone, left him in limbo and he fecked off over the border.
Post by: stephenite on October 27, 2008, 04:23:44 AM
If you take that the white line is the border (and discount that Google Earth think CC is in Mayo) you can see that Crocketts is towards the end of the Quay village and there is still a fair bit to go to the Sligo border.

(http://i489.photobucket.com/albums/rr260/stephenite/Castelconnor2.jpg)

Post by: Lecale2 on October 27, 2008, 08:11:19 AM
Is Mayo the only county where people don't appear to understand maps? There seems to be awful confusion as to wheather you live in Mayo or Sligo/Roscommon.

It doesn't seem to be a problem anywhere else!
Post by: Rossfan on October 27, 2008, 01:53:04 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on October 27, 2008, 08:11:19 AM
Is Mayo the only county where people don't appear to understand maps? It doesn't seem to be a problem anywhere else!

That's th Mayos for ya and to think we have to live next door to 120,000 of the so and sos :-[
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 27, 2008, 02:31:51 PM
Something ive always wondered, who and how did all the county borders come about? Anyone know any history about it?
Post by: billy the kid on October 27, 2008, 05:17:10 PM
Quote from: ildanach on October 22, 2008, 08:58:04 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 22, 2008, 06:52:06 PM
Connacht Senior title             Minor Titles            U21 titles
Mayo                                        41                                35                      21
Roscommon                              19                                 11                      5

there you go ross, i looked it up for you ;D

What about All Irelands???
Post by: spectator on October 27, 2008, 07:58:08 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on October 27, 2008, 08:11:19 AM
Is Mayo the only county where people don't appear to understand maps? There seems to be awful confusion as to wheather you live in Mayo or Sligo/Roscommon.

Interestingly, there's no confusion for the Mayo folks about what county Ballagh is in, when it comes to requesting lottery funded sports capital grants, which have been ear marked for use in County Roscommon.

Ballagh GAA were allotted €160,000 to develop their facilities last year, which came from the County Roscommon Allocation of the fund.

One or two Ros GAA clubs were displeased with this as they felt they deserved it more, by dint of actually playing their club football in Ros, thus better benefitting Ros as is the intention of the Ros Allocated funds.

To their credit, the Rossie politicians did lobby J O'D on behalf of Ballagh GAA to secure the €160, 000 grant they requested.

That's something for the Mayo County Board & gaels to ruminate on, as they continue to deny Ballagh Rossies the choice of playing for the county they were born, bred & are all living in.

It's breathtakingly hypocritical to take the Ros allotted monies with one hand, whilst holding the other one up to stop Ballagh Rossies playing with Ros, imo.

http://www.shannonside.ie/sNews14/home/Sport/

Nationally over €85 million euro is being awarded by Sports Minister John O Donaghue to sporting and community organsiations throughout the country.

The full county by county listings are as follows....

Roscommon Lottery Grants

Bealnamulla Sports Club €175,000

Ballaghaderreen GAA Club €160,000

Roscommon & District Football

League Limited €150,000

Ballaghaderreen Community

Park Co. Ltd €140,000

St. Brigid's Sports Club €120,000

Strokestown GAA Club €120,000

St. John's Athletic FC €100,000

Kilmore GAA Club €80,000

Tisara Community Sports Park €80,000

Roscommon Gaels GAA Club €75,000

Castlera Celtic A.F.C €70,000

Lough Harps Football Club €70,000

St. Dominic's GAA Club,

Knockcroghery €25,000

Boyle Celtic F.C €15,000

St. Ronan's GAA Club €15,000

Total €1,395,000
Post by: spectator on October 27, 2008, 08:16:41 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 27, 2008, 08:10:53 PM
Roscommon
Senior All-Irelands 2
Minor All-Irelands 1
U-21 All-Irelands 0?

Roscommon

Senior All-Irelands  2
Minor All-Irelands  4
U-21 All-Irelands  2
Post by: muppet on October 27, 2008, 08:30:48 PM
QuoteInterestingly, there's no confusion for the Mayo folks about what county Ballagh is in, when it comes to requesting lottery funded sports capital grants, which have been ear marked for use in County Roscommon.

Ballagh GAA were allotted €160,000 to develop their facilities last year, which came from the County Roscommon Allocation of the fund.

Spectator you need to think that line of thinking through fully.

If you insist that the National Lottery Funding for Ballagh Gaa should come from the Mayo County allocation from the National Lottery Fund then fine. But expect an immediate border change, consitituency redraw and uproar from all the newly displaced Rossies surrounding the enclave.

This is pretty simple. The Gaa boundaries are different from the local and national government ones. If you want that to change fair enough. You can start up North.

Post by: moysider on October 27, 2008, 09:12:24 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on October 27, 2008, 02:31:51 PM
Something ive always wondered, who and how did all the county borders come about? Anyone know any history about it?

Like a lot of things in this country, counties are something we have the English to thank for. Well not really the English - the Anglo Normans - many of whom would be still speaking French when they landed. So the earliest counties go back to the 12/13 th centuries. These were in Munster and Leinster where the Normans settled and controlled. Landowning Normans petitioned the king to grant them permission to allow them to define the boundaries of their lands for administrative reasons. Government officials like sherriifs were then appointed to ensure law and order. The counties of Connacht were not defined until Elizabethan times[1580s]. By then the Anglican reformation had kicked in and Her Majesties administration in Ireland was beginning to assume more control in the dark provinces of Connacht and Ulster. Surveying and cartography was now well advanced and accurate and boundaries became clearly defined.

Some boundaries were later redrawn for reasons already outlined and places like Ballagh, Bonnyconlon and Ardnaree jumped from one county to another, or as is the case of Ballagh pushed.. While Bonny and Ardnaree became 'more Mayo than the Mayos themselves' the poor Ballaghs could not suffer being annexed from where they belonged and loved. In order to console themselves they kept the only part of their previous life they could- their connection to Mayo football. This umbilical cord has never being severed.

Originally the idea probably came from the continent where a county was the area under the authority of a Count [Compté in France where our lot came from] In Ireland these were called Earls, when Gaelic lords were granted English titles. Hence Hugh O Neill became Earl of Tyrone. Counties had sub - divisions called baronies. A Baron again being a title of a notable landowner.

Post by: moysider on October 27, 2008, 09:27:22 PM

The following map from circa 1940 clearly shows Ballaghadereen within the Mayo area.
Post by: rosnarun on October 28, 2008, 01:06:21 AM

define alway
bet it never crossed your mind till you heard of parsons.
never current country boundries .Polititions are forever changing thes lgood example being just there in 1889.
the parish is the bed rock of the gaa and its what ever county board that a parish is affiliated to that decides what GAA county its in.

Post by: muppet on October 28, 2008, 08:59:14 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on October 28, 2008, 01:06:21 AM

define alway
never current country boundries .Polititions are forever changing thes lgood example being just there in 1889.
the parish is the bed rock of the gaa and its what ever county board that a parish is affiliated to that decides what GAA county its in.

Limerick extended it's city boundaries this years and hope to further extend them into Co. Clare.

The Clare locals say no way but even if it happens would you expect the Gaa to redraw it's boundaries to suit Limerick city council?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 28, 2008, 12:07:51 PM

define alway

You can think what you want, rosnarun but you would lose that bet, ive have always wondered, thanks moysider for the info. Rememeber bellaghy is in sligos border so the boundary isnt the problem.
Post by: Rossfan on October 28, 2008, 06:15:23 PM
Quote from: spectator on October 27, 2008, 08:16:41 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 27, 2008, 08:10:53 PM
Roscommon
Senior All-Irelands 2
Minor All-Irelands 1
U-21 All-Irelands 0?

Roscommon

Senior All-Irelands  2
Minor All-Irelands  4
U-21 All-Irelands  2

Junior All  Irelands 2
Hurling all Irelands - lorry loads
Handball All Irelands --  far too many to count.
Post by: thebandit on October 28, 2008, 06:32:43 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 28, 2008, 08:59:14 AM

define alway

Limerick extended it's city boundaries this years and hope to further extend them into Co. Clare.

The Clare locals say no way but even if it happens would you expect the Gaa to redraw it's boundaries to suit Limerick city council?

Wasn't there word last year that Waterford city was potentially going to extend into Co Kilkenny?

Dublin extended into Meath years ago  :D
Post by: spectator on October 29, 2008, 07:46:42 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 27, 2008, 08:30:48 PM
QuoteInterestingly, there's no confusion for the Mayo folks about what county Ballagh is in, when it comes to requesting lottery funded sports capital grants, which have been ear marked for use in County Roscommon.

Spectator you need to think that line of thinking through fully.

If you insist that the National Lottery Funding for Ballagh Gaa should come from the Mayo County allocation from the National Lottery Fund then fine. But expect an immediate border change, consitituency redraw and uproar from all the newly displaced Rossies surrounding the enclave.

In all honesty, that's a laughable mis-interpretation of what I wrote, muppet. :D

I'm not saying, suggesting  or even "insisting" as you put it, that Ballagh get it's funding from anywhere other than Roscommon.

Ballagh is in County Roscommon, so its funding comes through Ros, as happened in this case.

Ballagh GAA got the second largest allocation of funding from the Roscommon Allocation last year. This was largely thanks to Roscommon politicians lobbying Sports Minister John O'Donoghue on their behalf. Johnno would have been involved in the horsetrading also, I'd imagine.

Other GAA clubs in Ros lost out on account of this, which didn't go down very well with members of those clubs that were overlooked. But still, credit to the Ros politicians as they withstood the claims of the 'genuine' Ros clubs in favour of Ballagh, which as we all know is a Mayo affiliated club.

If fighting for and stumping up €160,000 for the benefit of developing Ballagh GAA club - which will also ultimately benefit Mayo football, one would think - is not a sign of the Rossies goodwill to Mayo and Ballagh GAA, then I don't know what is.

It'd be unbelievably mean-spirited and hypocritical of Mayo GAA to take the money The Rossies went out on a limb to secure for them, whilst at the same time continuing to deny Ballagh Rossies the choice of playing for Ros, if they so wish.

I'm delighted for the Ballagh club that they received the substantial funding. In light of this financial support, it's now high time the Mayo County Board reciprocated with a small gesture, by allowing Ballagh Rossie club members the choice of playing for Ros, if they so wish.

Realpolitik at work close up - don't you just have to love it ;)
Post by: moysider on October 29, 2008, 10:13:51 PM
Who in Ballaghadereen would want to play for Roscommon? Lads whose parents came from mainland Roscommon I assume. For football purposes Ballaghadereen has always been Mayo. So would Ballagh lads declaring for Roscommon  be any different than a talented young player I know  from my club declaring for Ros because his parents moved from there 10 years ago and his father is very much a Roscommon fan? There s lots of players playing around the country - especially for towny clubs like mine - whose roots are elsewhere.
Post by: StoneWall on November 05, 2008, 02:32:55 PM
Especially for Sligonian...

Looks like Tom Parsons isn't in doubt about his loyalties... ;D

http://www.mayonews.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=5299&Itemid=39

I love Mayo football, I love Charlestown football
Post by: heineken_on_tap on November 05, 2008, 03:50:13 PM
At least he goes 'home' to his own county to get a college education  ;)
Post by: mannix on November 05, 2008, 04:18:54 PM
tom knows where the opportunities lie, mayo will have him in a final before long in croker, sligo lose their heads when they win connaught.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 05, 2008, 04:34:48 PM
Quote from: mannix on November 05, 2008, 04:18:54 PM
tom knows where the opportunities lie, mayo will have him in a final before long in croker

That's where it gets tricky.
Post by: Turlough O Carolan on November 05, 2008, 05:01:47 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 29, 2008, 10:13:51 PM
Who in Ballaghadereen would want to play for Roscommon? Lads whose parents came from mainland Roscommon I assume. For football purposes Ballaghadereen has always been Mayo. So would Ballagh lads declaring for Roscommon  be any different than a talented young player I know  from my club declaring for Ros because his parents moved from there 10 years ago and his father is very much a Roscommon fan? There s lots of players playing around the country - especially for towny clubs like mine - whose roots are elsewhere.

Fair bit of auld rameis there Moysider. Ros supporters are not recent blowins. Families have been there for generations. Even if their families were, it doesn't make a blind bit of difference. The most famous Mayo GAA men in the town were not from Ballagh either - Sean Flanagan - who I don't need to remind you captained Mayo to their last All-Ireland glory - and John O'Mahoney, who is from Kilmovee.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on November 05, 2008, 05:42:00 PM
Quote from: StoneWall on November 05, 2008, 02:32:55 PM
Especially for Sligonian...

Looks like Tom Parsons isn't in doubt about his loyalties... ;D

http://www.mayonews.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=5299&Itemid=39

I love Mayo football, I love Charlestown football

He has sold his soul in his own greed for his own success. He did go to Sligo games with his Dad and he did wear Sligo jerseys growing up, that is a fact. Ask him?
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on November 05, 2008, 05:57:21 PM

These lads always represent Derry though do they not, was there ever a situation where any of them wanted to play for Tyrone instead?
Post by: thebandit on November 05, 2008, 06:12:53 PM
Plenty of fellas love Liverpool and Man U, but aren't from there. That is soccer's way of going on. GAA has its share of glory hunters, particularly nowadays, but will they be as fondly remembered as Peter McGinnitty, Packy McGarty, Declan Browne, Kevin O'Brien, Jim McConville and men like them whose loyalty ensured that their small counties at least had hope?
Post by: Farrandeelin on November 05, 2008, 06:15:14 PM
I think it's nice to see 'UP MAYO' painted in green and red on a shed/garage in the town as one passes through Ballaghaderreen on the bus type of transport you want to. :)
Post by: SLIGONIAN on November 05, 2008, 10:19:43 PM
Quote from: thebandit on November 05, 2008, 06:12:53 PM
Plenty of fellas love Liverpool and Man U, but aren't from there. That is soccer's way of going on. GAA has its share of glory hunters, particularly nowadays, but will they be as fondly remembered as Peter McGinnitty, Packy McGarty, Declan Browne, Kevin O'Brien, Jim McConville and men like them whose loyalty ensured that their small counties at least had hope?

Well said!!
Post by: Rossfan on November 05, 2008, 10:29:14 PM
The two Ros clubs are in action in the Connacht Club Semis on Sunday - Ballagh v their near enough neighbours Eastern Harps and Castlerea v Corofin in the Hyde. Kilbride play the Galway Champions in the Intermediate also in the Hyde.
RTE Aertel surpass themselves in disdain for Connacht and Ros once again - they show the fixture as " Castlerea or Padraig Pearses v Corofin"  >:(
Surley the cnuts could have checked with the Ros Co Board(or even Brian Carty their GAA correspondent from Strokestown) who won the Ros final played on 26th October.
They wouldnt make such an ignorant mistake if it was en effin rugby game the Dublin 4 ar*eholes.
Post by: Rav67 on November 05, 2008, 11:50:32 PM
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on November 05, 2008, 05:57:21 PM

These lads always represent Derry though do they not, was there ever a situation where any of them wanted to play for Tyrone instead?

Some boys down that direction would have you believe that a few of their stars would rather represent Tyrone if they were allowed, but none of them have ever complained publicly about it anyway.
Post by: whitey on November 06, 2008, 12:35:06 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 05, 2008, 10:29:14 PM
The two Ros clubs are in action in the Connacht Club Semis on Sunday - Ballagh v their near enough neighbours Eastern Harps and Castlerea v Corofin in the Hyde. Kilbride play the Galway Champions in the Intermediate also in the Hyde.
RTE Aertel surpass themselves in disdain for Connacht and Ros once again - they show the fixture as " Castlerea or Padraig Pearses v Corofin"  >:(
Surley the cnuts could have checked with the Ros Co Board(or even Brian Carty their GAA correspondent from Strokestown) who won the Ros final played on 26th October.
They wouldnt make such an ignorant mistake if it was en effin rugby game the Dublin 4 ar*eholes.

Jaysus would you ever off about Ballagh being in Ross. Next thing you'll be tryin to tell me that Ballina is bigger than Castlebar and that Ashford Castle is in Galway.

By the way I notice you never mention the fact that the best footballer ye ever had was a Mayoman born in Castlebar!!!!!!
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on November 06, 2008, 04:55:32 AM
Quote from: whitey on November 06, 2008, 12:35:06 AM

Jaysus would you ever off about Ballagh being in Ross. Next thing you'll be tryin to tell me that Ballina is bigger than Castlebar and that Ashford Castle is in Galway.

By the way I notice you never mention the fact that the best footballer ye ever had was a Mayoman born in Castlebar!!!!!!

Sean Flanagan I presume? An Aghamore man before he moved to Ballagh'. Ballagh' will be wearing the green and red colours on Sunday up in Sligo anyway and not the saffron and blue  :D A jersey clash between them and Eastern Harps is forcing both clubs to wear their COUNTY colours  :D
Post by: Turlough O Carolan on November 06, 2008, 05:50:57 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on November 06, 2008, 04:55:32 AM

Sean Flanagan I presume? An Aghamore man before he moved to Ballagh'. Ballagh' will be wearing the green and red colours on Sunday up in Sligo anyway and not the saffron and blue  :D A jersey clash between them and Eastern Harps is forcing both clubs to wear their COUNTY colours  :D

That would be Dermot Earley actually who grew up in Gortaganny Co. Roscommon, played his football with Glaveys (Ballinlough, Co. Roscommon), and was born in Castlebar. Earley also went to school at St. Nathy's in Ballaghaderreen.
Post by: thebandit on November 06, 2008, 07:13:15 PM

Will the Ballagh me who support Ros be allowed to wear Saffron and Blue jersies? :L :L
Post by: spectator on November 06, 2008, 08:19:41 PM
A jersey clash between them and Eastern Harps is forcing both clubs to wear their COUNTY colours  :D

A familiar word to Ballagh Rossie players when it comes to wearing the green and red jersey :-\
Post by: brianboru00 on November 07, 2008, 01:10:50 AM
As Roscommon man I ve always had that chip about Ballagh. the re drawing of the boundaries causes more pain to us because we've been hit on all fronts. We've lost big populations in Athlone, which until then was Roscommon as far as the bridge (i.e. the Castle, St. Peters , the Barracks etc were all in County Roscommon) . As Ballinasloe grew, we lost territory there and Carrick on Shannon is heading the same way. While we gained Ballagh, unlike the other towns, Ballagh GAA remained in Mayo and I think they have to be respected for that.  However I do think there should be a seperate club set up for those with Roscommon affinity.

As an aside, Andy Moran plays with Ballaghdereen but would the fact that he lives in County Roscommon entitle him to play with Roscommon as per GAA rules?
Post by: thebandit on November 07, 2008, 01:15:44 AM
Quote from: brianboru00 on November 07, 2008, 01:10:50 AM

As an aside, Andy Moran plays with Ballaghdereen but would the fact that he lives in County Roscommon entitle him to play with Roscommon as per GAA rules?

Maybe under the weaker counties rule in Hurling :D
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on November 07, 2008, 09:44:41 AM
Quote from: brianboru00 on November 07, 2008, 01:10:50 AM

No, as per GAA rules he can't.
Post by: Rossfan on November 07, 2008, 07:23:07 PM
Andy would have to move to another part of Co Ros and transfer to the local club before he would be eligible to play for his native County  >:(
Under GAA rules Ballagh is as much part of Mayo as Belbloodymullet :'(
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on November 08, 2008, 04:39:37 AM
Does someone want to play this for the poor Rossie lads?

(http://weblog.sinteur.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/07/worlds-smallest-violin.jpg)
Post by: spectator on November 08, 2008, 12:46:25 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on November 08, 2008, 04:39:37 AM
Does someone want to play this for the poor Rossie lads?

Considering a currently cash-strapped Mayo GAA is benefitting by €160,000 of Roscommon money, it's ye who should be performing for us   ;)

http://www.mayonews.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=5264&Itemid=39

http://www.shannonside.ie/sNews14/home/Sport/
Post by: Owenmoresider on November 09, 2008, 06:12:37 PM
Well Ballagh must be considered a Roscommon team now surely, sure Mayo teams don't do losing to Sligo.... :P
Post by: Rossfan on November 09, 2008, 08:23:25 PM
Seeing that Castlerea and Kilbride lost today I think we'll let Mayo have Ballagh for the moment  :-\
Post by: whassupp2 on November 09, 2008, 08:41:56 PM
I'm surprised to see that the little village of Creggs hasnt been mentioned.

(maybe it has but im not bothered readin back on all 11 pages)

Creggs id geographically in Galway, but yet plays Roscommon football.

However, Creggs isnt near as big a loss to Galway as Ballagh is to Ros'

Post by: Handball Ace on November 09, 2008, 10:07:24 PM
For the record, Andy Moran's brother Vinnie has won about 20 All Ireland handball titles from mayo from underage up.
Post by: stephenite on November 10, 2008, 01:25:36 AM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on November 09, 2008, 06:12:37 PM
Well Ballagh must be considered a Roscommon team now surely, sure Mayo teams don't do losing to Sligo.... :P

We lost to Curry up in Sligo - following year we won the All Ireland, a defeat by a Sligo team can do wonders for motivation
Post by: moysider on November 10, 2008, 12:09:41 PM
Quote from: stephenite on November 10, 2008, 01:25:36 AM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on November 09, 2008, 06:12:37 PM

We lost to Curry up in Sligo - following year we won the All Ireland, a defeat by a Sligo team can do wonders for motivation

I was thinking the same thing yesterday. That day v Curry we were a mess yet ......... Can Ballagh do something similar? They look great in full flow but they need to learn to win the tight games. Their game is suited to Summer conditions and they ll have to adapt if they re to win a provincal. They should be favourites to win Mayo again next year imo.