GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Bitta-Banter on October 19, 2008, 07:29:17 PM

Title: Admission fees for Ulster Club Games
Post by: Bitta-Banter on October 19, 2008, 07:29:17 PM
Went to Newry for Mayobridge V St Galls,it was the only match on and them ulster council bastards charged £12 in.This is an absolute disgrace for a wet day in October.There wasnt that big a crowd at the game either.An official also argued with me that my brother was over 16 when he is in fact 15.
They certainly arent looking after their supporters by charging such prices and if this continues ill have to think seriously about goin.
Title: Re: Admission fees for Ulster Club Games
Post by: stiffler on October 19, 2008, 07:31:19 PM
No student prices available either.....when i asked about this the guy at the turnstile said 'its not croke park you know!'  ???

Post by: ExiledGael on October 19, 2008, 09:45:16 PM
Have to agree. Went along myself instead of lying at home watching the rugby, I know what I'll be doing next time.
f**king 24 quid for me and younger brother, also 16 but had to pay full price. No student rate for him and then no programs anywhere in the ground after being sent in different directions by various stewards.
Sometimes I really wonder what the hell the GAA are trying to do exactly.
Post by: imtommygunn on October 19, 2008, 10:06:45 PM
To any other provincial posters who are interested - how much is it into a leinster / munster / connacht club championship match be it football or hurling?
Post by: maggie on October 19, 2008, 10:24:11 PM
Paid a fiver into the county final in london-programme was two quid.
There were 3 matches on-ok maybe not the best calibre of football in the world but still a good day out.
Also got a burger for two quid.
Post by: imtommygunn on October 19, 2008, 10:34:50 PM
15 euros they charge as an alternative to sterling...
Post by: Doire abú on October 20, 2008, 12:23:21 AM
Oh, by the way. I found the keys to your car, and I drove it into a big wall.
Post by: behind the wire on October 20, 2008, 09:29:29 AM
just mentioned the issue of price on the down thread. absolute disgrace. people who go out to see club football on a cold and wet october day shouldnt be treated like that. the gaa talk about grassroots supporters etc, well yesterdays crowd would have been as close to totally grass roots supporters as they are going to get! i think that will be the last ulster club match il be at for a while.
Post by: Bitta-Banter on October 20, 2008, 11:37:46 AM
Still cant get over that shite that the price yesterday.Who makes the decision to charge £12 in yesterday??
Post by: T O Hare on October 20, 2008, 02:52:54 PM
the price was a disgrace!!!!! and a crap programme to go with it, surely the Ulster council employs enough staff to come up with a bette production than a white A4 piece of paper
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on November 02, 2008, 09:59:04 PM
I went to Coalisland today to give support to my club mate Damian cassidy. Could not beleive the admission price of £12. How can the Ulstetr Council justify this price. I met families going home. There was mayhem around the gates as supporters could not come to terms with the price. I saw two parents with two teenage daughters no older than 15 years trying to gather up the necessary £48 to gain entrance. I saw young boys and girls standing outside, not allowed in to support their teams. The programme at £2 was nothing more than a list of teams who weren't even playing at this venue.
Hang your head in shame Ulster Council, if this is how you are going to promote Gaelic games among the youth and grass roots  and i think you are certainly not in touch with the grass roots.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on November 02, 2008, 10:07:38 PM
£12 in to watch a club game is far to much and is penalising decent supporters. Who ever is coming up with the prices is out of touch with reality. I'd guess they get into these games for free. I dont think this is doing anything to promote the games - the gaa is not a profit making organistation.
Post by: FromAFar on November 02, 2008, 10:09:42 PM
Quote from: tonesfirstandlast on November 02, 2008, 09:59:04 PM
I went to Coalisland today to give support to my club mate Damian cassidy. Could not beleive the admission price of £12. How can the Ulstetr Council justify this price. I met families going home. There was mayhem around the gates as supporters could not come to terms with the price. I saw two parents with two teenage daughters no older than 15 years trying to gather up the necessary £48 to gain entrance. I saw young boys and girls standing outside, not allowed in to support their teams. The programme at £2 was nothing more than a list of teams who weren't even playing at this venue.
Hang your head in shame Ulster Council, if this is how you are going to promote Gaelic games among the youth and grass roots  and i think you are certainly not in touch with the grass roots.

I agree completely.

I was in casement today. No sign of student rate etc. Also on a slightly different note i think the coverage of the ulster club champ is a disgrace!
Post by: aroundincircles on November 02, 2008, 10:10:07 PM
Nieve or not the man is dead right same c**ts set prices get in for f**k all. A DISGRACE BUT CLUBS AND ORDINARY 5/8 DOES NOT COUNT IN GAA ANYMORE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: aroundincircles on November 02, 2008, 10:16:12 PM
FAIR ENOUGH 12 QUID I HUSBAND 1WIFE 2 CHILDREN AT 15 AND 16 IS 48 QUID......... 40 QUID LAST SUNDAY AND 28 FOR THREE WEEK ENDS BEFORE THAT.
Post by: aroundincircles on November 02, 2008, 10:19:25 PM
NO
Post by: tyrone86 on November 02, 2008, 10:21:40 PM
That was fairly stupid - I don't know about today but a 15 and 16 year old would have gotten into all the Tyrone club games for free.
Post by: aroundincircles on November 02, 2008, 10:28:38 PM
WOULD PAY 100 POUND IN IF I HAD THE MONEY.. BUT THINGS ARE TIGHT FOR A LOT OF PEOPLE AT THE MINUTE
Post by: Gnevin on November 02, 2008, 10:35:56 PM
Quote from: aroundincircles on November 02, 2008, 10:28:38 PM
WOULD PAY 100 POUND IN IF I HAD THE MONEY.. BUT THINGS ARE TIGHT FOR A LOT OF PEOPLE AT THE MINUTE

Is it so tight you can't even afford a working keyboard?

How much do you think you should of paid?
Post by: aroundincircles on November 02, 2008, 10:36:56 PM
A MILLION WOULD BE NICE
Post by: milltown row on November 02, 2008, 10:37:43 PM
stop shouting, £12 was steep no doubt, but what ya do? thats the price. 55 quid into croke park!!!! but sure
Post by: aroundincircles on November 02, 2008, 10:39:00 PM
Ok will stop moaning end of story.
Post by: aroundincircles on November 02, 2008, 10:45:36 PM
When we are on about prices went to tyrone minor final replay yesterday some value for 4 quid ardboe 6 behind 5 minutes to go too win by 1 some come back.By jaysus that klye coney a very frustrating footballer. Beat them nearly on his own when he took the notion. As i say some value for 4 leevers.
Post by: imtommygunn on November 02, 2008, 11:00:31 PM
http://ulster.gaa.ie/contact/ (http://ulster.gaa.ie/contact/)

What you do is you go here and you complain.

Croke Park has significant overheads and while there are associated overheads for the ulster club matches they are not in the same league.

There are 3 things I would say about paying this:
1. there should be a band
2. there should be a good programme
3. there should be appropriate concessions for students,minos and senior citizens. To charge a 16 year old 12 quid is a joke.

IMO £8 is the right amount that should be paid for these games.

Going to a double/triple header and paying 12 quid I have no problem with. Again points 1,2 and 3 should be addressed appropriately though.
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on November 02, 2008, 11:05:59 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 02, 2008, 11:00:31 PM
IMO £8 is the right amount that should be paid for these games.

Agreed
Post by: aroundincircles on November 02, 2008, 11:11:56 PM
I think you should pay on the way out based on entertainment. ;D
Post by: aroundincircles on November 02, 2008, 11:14:40 PM
i would have given them 2 grand all the same 8)
Post by: bennydorano on November 03, 2008, 10:23:34 AM
Is Coney going to be around for the Ulster Minor club champ or is he offski?
Post by: Kentucky Blue on November 03, 2008, 11:03:41 AM
£12 into Ballinascreen. Again, bit of disbelief from everyone concerned.

Dunno if you can have qualms with the club men at the turnstiles, its technically not their fault but i witnessed a lot of people getting very frustrated and engaging in heated discussions.

The alternative is, not going to the game and voting with your feet. Doing this however means you would sacrifice seeing your team and no one will do that really, ulster council have people by the short and curly's!  >:(
£12 will surely discourage a lot of neutrals from attending id imagine.

should take a hard look at themselves, above all times during a bloody credit crunch.
Let's hope common sense wont be lost for the next round of games.
Post by: Hardy on November 03, 2008, 11:34:06 AM
We're great at setting ourselves up for maximum hassle, conflict and misunderstanding. The administration of the GAA still too often looks like the half-arsed, "ah sure it'll be grand", back-of-a-fag-box planning and attention to detail that the rest of society has left behind. And particularly the Ulster Council, if my limited dealings with them are anything to go by, not to mention well-publicised incidents like cash proceeds from the turnstiles being hijacked from the back of some official's car!

Why is it beyond the wit of our myriad paid administrators at either provincial or national level to work out and publish a schedule of admission charges for all levels annually. It's very basic marketing. Take the usual factors into account - demand, competition, economic climate, etc. Do a bit of consultation with the other levels of the organisation; ensure people understand the trade-offs - if you demand lower ticket prices, understand income will be lower and your grant for facilities, etc. will reflect that.

It's not too much to ask that paying customers going to a match should know in advance what it's going to cost, know what next week's match will cost as well and also not have to witness nod-and-wink admissions for friends, committee members, etc. Knowing how much a programme will cost would be nice too, as would knowing before you buy it whether it will be a photocopied A4  sheet with last week's team or an actual programme.

We're eight years into the 21st century already.
Post by: donelli on November 03, 2008, 12:07:52 PM
£8/€10 would seem like an acceptable admision price into an Ulster Club game.

The problem with these officals setting prices is that they never have to pay in.  ::)

Have been on the gate at my local club before. Always questioned why a county board offical is allowed gain entry free of charge into standard club games while the rest of us are expected to pay in(as should be the case).
Post by: imtommygunn on November 03, 2008, 12:17:53 PM
Are prices set in euros or sterling for these games by the ulster council?

One thing that could be the case, quite possibly, is that they are setting the prices in euros and not taking into account how much the pound has been weakening against it.

15 yoyo a few years ago would have been a lot less £££...
Post by: sammymaguire on November 03, 2008, 01:22:45 PM

credit crunch
Post by: orangeman on November 03, 2008, 01:49:01 PM
Were under 16s allowed in free of charge does anyone know ?
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on November 03, 2008, 02:48:29 PM
Quote from: orangeman on November 03, 2008, 01:49:01 PM

Yes, but they were challenging them claiming that some were over sixteen. Anyhow, where would a 17 year old still at school get £12 yesterday to gain admission?

As far as paying for their staff, I think that this is part of trhe problem and that a big reduction in their staff wouldn't be noticed as far as production would be concerned.
Post by: orangeman on November 03, 2008, 02:53:53 PM
Quote from: tonesfirstandlast on November 03, 2008, 02:48:29 PM

Yes, but they were challenging them claiming that some were over sixteen. Anyhow, where would a 17 year old still at school get £12 yesterday to gain admission?

As far as paying for their staff, I think that this is part of trhe problem and that a big reduction in their staff wouldn't be noticed as far as production would be concerned.

Where were the parents ? This usually sorts out all arguments - or surrogate parents ?

Post by: tyrone86 on November 03, 2008, 03:18:53 PM

I think the bulk of the current posts within the Ulster Council are funded by Croke Park and/or various agencies - so I'd doubt whether that can be used as justification for charging £12.
Post by: orangeman on November 03, 2008, 03:26:02 PM
Quote from: tyrone86 on November 03, 2008, 03:18:53 PM

I think the bulk of the current posts within the Ulster Council are funded by Croke Park and/or various agencies - so I'd doubt whether that can be used as justification for charging £12.

I think you're right there 86 !
Post by: wherefromreferee? on November 03, 2008, 03:38:59 PM
Could the semi finals be £15 and the final £18/£20, or is the £12 fixed for the rest of the games?
Post by: imtommygunn on November 03, 2008, 04:24:36 PM
The hurling final was £12 so I'd guess it would be consistent.

Something should seriously be done about this. u18s should not be paying 12 quid.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on November 03, 2008, 04:34:20 PM
Just looking through the general discussion thread, it's £8 to fly to America, yet its £12 to watch St Galls agin Cavan Gaels.
Post by: bennydorano on November 04, 2008, 09:27:03 AM
Double header in Armagh this weekend, Senior & Int champs, what's that going to cost us?
Post by: billy the kid on November 04, 2008, 11:09:44 AM
The prices are def a joke and something has to be done, but there is no point eating the head of the men at the turnstiles, especially at club grounds where they have probably been forced into it by club committee, as they are just doing what they are told.

Post by: The GAA on November 04, 2008, 11:24:24 AM

Wasn't there an ulster council man posting on here flat out during the McKenna Cup. If they're happy to post here for their own PR purposes maybe they can post to justify this ludicrus policy?
Post by: ExiledGael on November 04, 2008, 04:16:55 PM
I see wee Martin having a dig at the prices in the Star today, hopefully the Ulster council will have to respond in some way.
Post by: billy the kid on November 04, 2008, 05:13:16 PM
The prices are a disgrace and something has to be done to allow families to continue to support our games.

By the way have any of you thought what the prices would end up being if DOnal Og, McGeeney, Farrell and the rest of their GPA chums got the pay for play their after.

£12?? Wouldnt even look at it. It will be us paying their wages at the gate. 

We'd all be talking about the good old days when it was only £12 into matches.
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on November 04, 2008, 05:50:38 PM
Brilliant article in the COUNTY DERRY POST on this topic today by Fergal P. McCusker. he referred to the number of neutral supporters  at the Latton/Ballinderry game who turned at the gate and went home. To me he hit the nail on the head as far as the grassroot supporters are concerned in compared to the corporate ones who attend the big games in Croke park as guests of companies.
Post by: ONeill on November 04, 2008, 08:48:21 PM
Sure what else would you be spending £12 on, on a Sunday?
Post by: Shortso79 on November 04, 2008, 10:21:33 PM
It was 12 pounds into the St Johns match last Friday in Newry

Pretty Dear for a Junior Championship Match
Post by: never kickt a ball on November 05, 2008, 12:49:36 AM
Quote from: The GAA on November 04, 2008, 11:24:24 AM

Wasn't there an ulster council man posting on here flat out during the McKenna Cup. If they're happy to post here for their own PR purposes maybe they can post to justify this ludicrus policy?

Who was that?

What annoys me is that they don't advertise their prices properly so that everyone knows how much they are expected to pay. It's not good enough that the first time people realise the price is when they turn up at the ground.
Post by: The GAA on November 05, 2008, 10:45:22 AM
Quote from: ONeill on November 04, 2008, 08:48:21 PM

Carvery lunch and a couple of pints in front of ford super sunday
Post by: wherefromreferee? on November 06, 2008, 03:32:21 PM
Without even buying todays IN yet, would I be right to assume that this dominates 'Off the fence'
Post by: billy the kid on November 06, 2008, 03:50:53 PM
Correct.

Derry county board have put in a complaint about prices to Ulster council Everyone get on to their own county board and try to get the same done.

Not that it will make much difference.
Post by: orangeman on November 06, 2008, 05:24:33 PM
Quote from: billy the kid on November 06, 2008, 03:50:53 PM
Correct.

Derry county board have put in a complaint about prices to Ulster council Everyone get on to their own county board and try to get the same done.

Not that it will make much difference.

The exchange rate was blamed !
Post by: thebandit on November 06, 2008, 07:08:55 PM
The Derry county board have planty to be worrying about without this!!!!
Post by: Armagh Exile on November 10, 2008, 10:00:47 AM
Lots of complaints from Students who had to pay £12 entrance fee to Crossmaglen for the Ulster Club games.
This is most unfair as there was concessions for OAP's and quite rightly but no for Students.
Surely the GAA should be encouraging these young people to come to our games instead of driving them away by charging them £12.
Who sets these fees and can our county representatives at Ulster Council not get this changed?
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on November 10, 2008, 11:35:10 AM
Quote from: thebandit on November 06, 2008, 07:08:55 PM
The Derry county board have planty to be worrying about without this!!!!

What have they to worry about more than any other county?
Post by: tyrone86 on November 10, 2008, 01:21:37 PM
Quote from: Armagh Exile on November 10, 2008, 10:00:47 AM
Lots of complaints from Students who had to pay £12 entrance fee to Crossmaglen for the Ulster Club games.
This is most unfair as there was concessions for OAP's and quite rightly but no for Students.
Surely the GAA should be encouraging these young people to come to our games instead of driving them away by charging them £12.
Who sets these fees and can our county representatives at Ulster Council not get this changed?

While I'd agree £12 is too dear for admission for everyone, if students are prepared to throw out 8 or 10 quid into a disco on a Saturday night I don't see why the GAA should bother with concessions for them.
Post by: clarshack on November 10, 2008, 01:30:50 PM
£12 is pricey but at least there were 2 games in crossmaglen. the crowd in crossmaglen got better value for money than most other crowds last week where there was only 1 game.
Post by: Maguire01 on November 10, 2008, 01:55:31 PM
Quote from: tyrone86 on November 10, 2008, 01:21:37 PM
While I'd agree £12 is too dear for admission for everyone, if students are prepared to throw out 8 or 10 quid into a disco on a Saturday night I don't see why the GAA should bother with concessions for them.

Well then why shouldn't the GAA make the admission "8 or 10 quid" instead of 12? The point is that the GAA is in competition with other ways to spend your money, such as "discos", therefore it should be an attractive and affordable proposition to go to a match.
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on November 10, 2008, 02:07:31 PM
A fiver in would have been enough to any of the Ulster club champ games.

12 quid is ripping the piss.

Is anyone aware of the overheads involved in actually having the game? (ground insurance etc)
Post by: donelli on November 11, 2008, 02:14:26 PM
This item was carried on the sports section of bbc newsline yesterday.
They interviewed a sample of people coming out of the match. Most people complained about the pricing into the game.
Post by: cavan4ever on November 11, 2008, 03:30:16 PM
Quote from: donelli on November 11, 2008, 02:14:26 PM
This item was carried on the sports section of bbc newsline yesterday.
They interviewed a sample of people coming out of the match. Most people complained about the pricing into the game.

Yeah they were in Cross and didn't even give the score of the match.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on November 15, 2008, 07:17:10 PM
Although I think £12 is too dear, Im not sure if its not bad of value if you compared it to the rugby friendly in Croke Park today for example. I'm sure it was 40 or 50 euro into anyway (maybe more) and on tv it came across pretty dull and was as pointed out above only a friendly.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 16, 2008, 02:32:04 PM
Quote from: mcivor88 on November 16, 2008, 03:28:39 AM
Quote from: ONeill on November 04, 2008, 08:48:21 PM

Nothing on a Sunday, if it wasn't for football i wouldn't leave the house in Sunday, but it could be spent on feeding your family's during the week. If you have a family of 4 going to the game, that's £44.

I'm paying £5 tomorrow, if they don't accept it,i'll throw the wains over the gate and i'll jump her. Not everyone like yourself can afford to live the high life and throw money away.

Its a amateur sport!!! charge amateur prices. I'll support my club through thick and thin, but when it comes to putting food on the table for my family, i'll not be paying extreme prices!!! It's sick, no one can justify these prices... insurance my ass.... i've never seen one person hurt at a game or claim or anything. I'll be attending no ulster county games from now on as you never know what you will have to pay at the gate.... not even advertised... Ulster council are scum!!!

And if you follow through on this, I sincerely hope you are ejected from the ground.

As for your insurance comment, I've never heard anything as ridiculous in my life. Just as one example, a couple of years back, a spectator had her arm broken after a ball was kicked by Oisin McConville into the crowd from a free.

And the Ulster Council may be many things, including slightly greedy and possibly a little out of touch - but aren't "scum".
Post by: aroundincircles on November 16, 2008, 04:01:35 PM
Would not say they are scum either but they are out of touch on prices. The reception that danny murphy gave my club {clonoe} representive over the phone over a request to put ulster club game with st eunans was beyound belieif as i say not scum but an ignorant hatefull dog to speak to a fellow geal he the way he did. He only works for the gaa he does not f**kin own it.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 16, 2008, 04:03:46 PM
QuoteI'm paying £5 tomorrow, if they don't accept it,i'll throw the wains over the gate and i'll jump her.
So how did you get on?
Post by: under the bar on November 16, 2008, 06:58:21 PM
I'm paying £5 tomorrow, if they don't accept it,i'll throw the wains over the gate

I doubt if they'll mess with a man who'll throw his kids over a gate to save a few quid!  :o
Post by: Leo on November 17, 2008, 09:43:37 AM
Quote from: aroundincircles on November 16, 2008, 04:01:35 PM
Would not say they are scum either but they are out of touch on prices. The reception that danny murphy gave my club {clonoe} representive over the phone over a request to put ulster club game with st eunans was beyound belieif as i say not scum but an ignorant hatefull dog to speak to a fellow geal he the way he did. He only works for the gaa he does not f**kin own it.

Is Danny Murphy the new Frank Murphy?
Cannot comment on your experience, but would say that GAA officials (ESPECIALLY paid officials) who fail to understand that they are there to represent the ordinary members and act accordingly need their wings clipped.
Post by: orangeman on November 17, 2008, 10:04:00 AM
Quote from: aroundincircles on November 16, 2008, 04:01:35 PM

Does he not ?