GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Longshanks on October 12, 2008, 12:38:58 AM

Title: Club in Belfast to join
Post by: Longshanks on October 12, 2008, 12:38:58 AM
Lads wondering if anyone could give me some advice on what would be a good club to join, I'm living in Stranmillis working and to be honest bit rusty on the game as haven't played serious in a few years but wanna try the old hand back at it although would think I'd make anyones 1st choice starting line up.. any advice appreciated :)
Title: Re: Club in Belfast to join
Post by: Minder on October 12, 2008, 12:41:19 AM
M Club
Post by: Longshanks on October 12, 2008, 12:45:02 AM
lol tried there on a Tuesday night, too young!! :P
Post by: PlayWithTheWind on October 12, 2008, 12:49:39 AM
Take your pick..

Ardoyne Kickhams
Cardinal O'Donnell's
Eire Óg
Gort na Mona
Henry Joy McCracken's
John Mitchel's
Lámh Dhearg
Michael Davitt's
Michael Dwyer's
Na Fuiseoige
O'Donovan Rossa
Patrick Pearse's
Patrick Sarsfield's
Sean McDermott's
St. Agnes'
St. Brigid's, Belfast
St. Enda's
St. Gall's
St. John's
St. Malachy's
St. Paul's
St. Teresa's
Post by: milltown row on October 12, 2008, 12:51:24 AM
get yourself to a decent Junior team, ya may get a good run in the championship. stranmillis, two local Clubs St Bridgets  and Breadagh
Post by: Longshanks on October 12, 2008, 01:03:00 AM
Cheers lads, looking at St Brigids and Bredagh, toss of the coin I guess..
Post by: m_the_d on October 12, 2008, 01:07:56 AM
Bredagh is Down though isn't it?
Post by: Longshanks on October 12, 2008, 01:14:01 AM
mis-spelling its my bed time, gimmie a break lol :D
Post by: m_the_d on October 12, 2008, 01:21:07 AM
Same club, but plays in Down. Up at Cherryvale.
Post by: Longshanks on October 12, 2008, 01:42:24 AM
Think its gonna be them then anyway, gimmie couple of months to get fit too...
Post by: gorm agus bui on October 12, 2008, 02:18:35 AM
Loughinisland wouldbe your best bet as they take players from antwhere :D ;D ;)
Post by: Midman on October 12, 2008, 12:33:29 PM
I used to train with St. Johns occassionally when I was living in Belfast. Good set-up and a decent bunch of lads, a few mates spoke very highly of Bredagh as well
Post by: Old Bill on October 12, 2008, 12:36:29 PM
22 clubs in belfast? Thats a hell of alot
Post by: Lecale2 on October 12, 2008, 12:44:10 PM
Bredagh's the club for you. We have 3 adult football teams and 2 hurling teams so you should be able to find your level. We'll be starting a fitness programme after Christmas you should join then to get back in shape.
Post by: Over the Bar on October 12, 2008, 12:48:56 PM
QuoteBredagh's the club for you. We have 3 adult football teams and 2 hurling teams so you should be able to find your level. We'll be starting a fitness programme after Christmas you should join then to get back in shape.

Lecale can you join in the training without playing?  Just gone the wrong side of 40 last yr but wouldn't mind going just to get back in some sort of shape and lose a stone or 2.   
Post by: bannside on October 12, 2008, 01:13:33 PM
Nice one HS.
Post by: Rav67 on October 12, 2008, 04:16:04 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 12, 2008, 01:00:03 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on October 12, 2008, 12:48:56 PM

Lecale can you join in the training without playing?  Just gone the wrong side of 40 last yr but wouldn't mind going just to get back in some sort of shape and lose a stone or 2.   
Slaughtneil is the club for you.

Post by: redhanddefender on October 12, 2008, 10:11:44 PM
if you are in stranmillis the club to join is st brigid's they are very progressive and train at harlequins rugby club on deramore park  contact their website i play in Tyrone and have trained with them a few times quite welcoming and they know their stuff, Pity my home club's training is NOT that good
webs ite is www.stbrigidsgac.com
they have pitches in stranlllis at the YMCA, DERAMORE  PARK off the  Malone road and have just opened a top class pitch at musgrave park
Post by: Longshanks on October 12, 2008, 10:52:50 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on October 12, 2008, 12:44:10 PM
Bredagh's the club for you. We have 3 adult football teams and 2 hurling teams so you should be able to find your level. We'll be starting a fitness programme after Christmas you should join then to get back in shape.

Cheers Lecale, trying to gain a bit of fitness at the moment, so that fitness programme couldn't come soon enough, so you have the full senior team, reserves and thirds I take it?? sounds like a grand job. you play for them?
Post by: imtommygunn on October 12, 2008, 11:04:45 PM
St Brigids is far handier to you. St Malachy's are an antrim club who play out of cherryvale too. They'd be a middle of the road junior club.
Post by: Doohicky on October 13, 2008, 11:44:38 AM
Quote from: Lecale2 on October 12, 2008, 12:44:10 PM

I'm looking to join too. After Christmas would be perfect time as well. At the moment I just don't have any time to myself.
As was asked could I join just for the fitness aspect? I am not a great player and doubt I would even make the thirds bench.  :P

Was talking to Rois about this before too.
Post by: Longshanks on October 13, 2008, 12:00:09 PM
I'm with ya Doohicky thinking I might not even make the thirds.. :-[
Post by: Lecale2 on October 13, 2008, 12:31:13 PM
All welcome as long as you pay the membership. Last year we started circuts in the PEC with out door training at Malone RFC and the Dub. Jody Gormely takes the footballers and Sean McGuinness looks after the hurlers. The sessions are well organised and vary from week to week.
Post by: Doohicky on October 13, 2008, 12:41:13 PM
Sounds good to me. How much is the mebershipo for the year and what's the cut off date for paying it if there is a date?
Post by: Longshanks on October 13, 2008, 01:04:48 PM
Yeah I'd defo be interested too, just need all the details..

Doohicky you sound about my level lol :P
Post by: Over the Bar on October 13, 2008, 01:19:46 PM
Me, Longshanks & Doohickey could form the backbone of a 4ths team.
Post by: Longshanks on October 13, 2008, 01:31:04 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on October 13, 2008, 01:19:46 PM

:D :D  So only another 12 to go...
Post by: Doohicky on October 13, 2008, 01:39:48 PM
Well after all the Christmas pudding I will probably be sized enough to count as two people.. LOL

Looking forward to this now...
Post by: OnTheLine on October 13, 2008, 02:15:32 PM
Square Ball's already bagged the goalie's jersey for the 4ths team I hear... (well - he's probably about sixth choice keeper by this stage, but with injuries etc., who knows the heights he could achieve...  ;D )

Quote from: Longshanks on October 13, 2008, 01:31:04 PM

Post by: In the Onion Bag on October 13, 2008, 08:51:45 PM
Lads,
If you are of a youthful image a good close shave could put you on the minor hurling or football panels.

If you enjoy your gaelic plus a bit of craic give Bredagh a try.  Membership for players last year was £55 and offers you serious training under established country level coaches, Jody Gormley (football) and Sean McGuinness (Hurling) at senior level.

The lads are welcoming and the social side is good.  If you want transfer forms PM me with your email addresses. 

Bredagh is the only city club that offers Co Down (v Co Antrim) football.
Title: Just for Lecale....
Post by: No1 on October 14, 2008, 11:18:15 AM
  Go to St Brigid's.  They have their own pitch, Bredagh rely on Belfast City Council to put them up at the horrible Cherryvale.

Brigid's are more like the traditional club with local players.  Bredagh have no locals (they all play soccer for Rosario) and their members are blow ins from all around the globe.

The Parador is a dive.

Bredagh have already gone over the quota for overweight Tyrone men in the one club.

Joe Brolly seems like good craic, and if you don't think so you'd get a chance to empty him at Brigids training.
Title: Re: Just for Lecale....
Post by: Doohicky on October 14, 2008, 12:44:06 PM
Quote from: No1 on October 14, 2008, 11:18:15 AM

Bredagh have already gone over the quota for overweight Tyrone men in the one club.

But this makes me think I will fit in perfectly! :)
Post by: bredaghgael on October 14, 2008, 05:09:52 PM
  Go to St Brigid's.  They have their own pitch, Bredagh rely on Belfast City Council to put them up at the horrible Cherryvale.

Brigid's are more like the traditional club with local players.  Bredagh have no locals (they all play soccer for Rosario) and their members are blow ins from all around the globe.

The Parador is a dive.

Joe Brolly seems like good craic, and if you don't think so you'd get a chance to empty him at Brigids training.
Factually incorrect and quite rude and offensive-No 1.
Post by: bredaghgael86 on October 14, 2008, 10:03:50 PM

The Parador is a dive.

Im well aware that you just said all this to get a rise, so well done it worked. But i feel i have to defend my club.  if you look at both the senior football and senior hurling teams, this year more than recent years has seen more locals backbone these teams. if you want i will go through them, but id appreciate if you got your facts right before talking sh**te.

Lads anybody who joins the club will realise it is one of the most welcoming and friendly clubs around.

P.s the parador is a temple.
Post by: In the Onion Bag on October 14, 2008, 11:15:11 PM
No1.  You're some craic.   

St Brids v Bredagh

The uppity Malone Rd jet set may have their own pitch but can't boast even a single pub let alone a single dive (unless you count the Rugby club (which is way off the beaten track and very exclusive).  Whereas there are at least 3 good pubs on the Ormeau Rd and the Parador, which is not the least bit snobby and very inclusive, is unrivaled in Belfast for GAA support and craic.

When it comes to quality of football and hurling the comparison ends.  Bredagh compete in Div3 of Down whereas St Brids Antrim
DIV? (whateveritis) status, is inferior quality.  I believe we have hammered you at senior level on our past 3 meetings.  Feel to correct me if I am wrong here?

Has St Brids even got a senior hurling team yet?  You may have noticed that last week Bredagh won the Antrim league at their 1st attempt.  Not bad eh?

Joe Brolly plays for St Brids even though he lives on the Co Down side of Belfast so it should be no problem for someone living in Stranmillis to play for a Co Down side.  Feel sure you can agree on this argument.
Post by: Guillem2 on October 14, 2008, 11:28:30 PM
Quote from: In the Onion Bag on October 14, 2008, 11:15:11 PM

Has St Brids even got a senior hurling team yet?  You may have noticed that last week Bredagh won the Antrim league at their 1st attempt.  Not bad eh?

St Bridget's have an adult hurling team but they aren't very good. They only started this year but they are doing good work with the kids.

I used to play for Rossa but live in the south of the city now.  I've always enjoyed a bit of banter with the Bredagh lads on the odd occasion I've entered the Parador. They may not own their own pitch but Cherryvale has all the facilities any club needs.
Post by: Doohicky on October 15, 2008, 08:48:10 AM
Have had a few drinks in the Parador, but not a lot. Used to work in the Errigal, so probably met most of the players for Bredagh at some point or another.

I'll get these forms filled in at some point and get the ball rolling. Looking forward to getting a bit of training in.
Post by: Doohicky on October 15, 2008, 12:39:12 PM
I live on the Ravenhill Road, so surely Bredagh is my 'Local' club?
It's my permanent residence as I own the house and that is where I am registered to vote.
Don't see what the problem is (Especially since I lived on Sunnyside street for a year and a half before this too)
Post by: Longshanks on October 15, 2008, 12:56:13 PM
well I live in stranmillis in a house, and originally from Coleraine... so I guess transfer for sure ::)
Post by: Square Ball on October 15, 2008, 01:04:01 PM
Quote from: OnTheLine on October 13, 2008, 02:15:32 PM
Square Ball's already bagged the goalie's jersey for the 4ths team I hear... (well - he's probably about sixth choice keeper by this stage, but with injuries etc., who knows the heights he could achieve...  ;D )

Quote from: Longshanks on October 13, 2008, 01:31:04 PM

On the Line, I am deeply offended, if there wasa 4th team I think i would get to about 2 reserve keeper, but could do a job at full forward.

No1, I would just like to point out to you that there is not one senior 1sts player who plays for Rosario
Post by: under the bar on October 15, 2008, 01:08:12 PM
I'm from Tyrone but have lived in Kerry, Dublin, Kilkenny and Galway.   The gaa pedigree I would bring to any particular Belfast club could create a membership tug-of-war between such fledgling clubs!  :o
Post by: Longshanks on October 15, 2008, 01:23:09 PM
Quote from: under the bar on October 15, 2008, 01:08:12 PM
I'm from Tyrone but have lived in Kerry, Dublin, Kilkenny and Galway.   The gaa pedigree I would bring to any particular Belfast club could create a membership tug-of-war between such fledgling clubs!  :o

Jasis are you trying to put some distance between you, and you ever have being associated with Tyrone?? :D :D
Post by: In the Onion Bag on October 15, 2008, 08:16:02 PM
For God's sake lads get off the lad's back.  He just wants to play the game and upwardly mobile Bredagh is his best chance.

Imagine's useful comment reminds me of the time I played ringer for St Pauls (Holywood St Pauls i.e).  I don't remember any hassle as nobody cared.

The parish rule argument is also interesting in so much as, despite silly notions to the contrary, it doesn't apply in Down either.  Take for example the Parish of Lower Mourne where they have three teams and Upper Mourne where they have two.
Post by: wobbller on October 15, 2008, 11:41:50 PM
Quote from: In the Onion Bag on October 15, 2008, 08:16:02 PM
For God's sake lads get off the lad's back.  He just wants to play the game and upwardly mobile Bredagh is his best chance.

Imagine's useful comment reminds me of the time I played ringer for St Pauls (Holywood St Pauls i.e).  I don't remember any hassle as nobody cared.

The parish rule argument is also interesting in so much as, despite silly notions to the contrary, it doesn't apply in Down either.  Take for example the Parish of Lower Mourne where they have three teams and Upper Mourne where they have two.
ITOB, Whether you think so or not; Where there are distinct Parish boundaries there is a Parish Rule.Exceptions being the areas you mentioned and Newry.Fact
Post by: In the Onion Bag on October 19, 2008, 06:22:54 PM
Although a theoretical argument, I believe that were St Gall's placed in Down Div1 (or Div 2), they would struggle. 

Down football is at an all time low at present whereas Antrim is probably at its zenith.  Still the Down Champs (who have never displayed any Ulster ambition) can hold to just two points Antrim's Champs (a team that gets outa Antrim easy and who strongly aspire for wider recognition).  You will not be surprised, therefore, that I cannot accept your argument.

Returning to the question posed in this thread I would summarise by saying:
any footballing newcomer to Belfast who is top class may have a chance at St Galls but will have to compete with the headbangers that are revered by that club and face playing, for the most part, crap games week in week out. 

Whereas playing in Down offers a chance to play in a Co with a proven GAA pedigree, a rich GAA heritage where the game comes first and no culchie v city faction exists to marr things.  Also, compare the number of AI Club championship titles Antrim and Down clubs have won?
Post by: Maiden1 on October 19, 2008, 07:49:07 PM
Quote from: In the Onion Bag on October 19, 2008, 06:22:54 PM
Although a theoretical argument, I believe that were St Gall's placed in Down Div1 (or Div 2), they would struggle. 

ITOB that's a pretty big jump you've made from AI finalists to struggling in Down division 2.
Post by: Longshanks on October 19, 2008, 08:20:06 PM

Down football is at an all time low at present whereas Antrim is probably at its zenith.  Still the Down Champs (who have never displayed any Ulster ambition) can hold to just two points Antrim's Champs (a team that gets outa Antrim easy and who strongly aspire for wider recognition).  You will not be surprised, therefore, that I cannot accept your argument.

Returning to the question posed in this thread I would summarise by saying:
any footballing newcomer to Belfast who is top class may have a chance at St Galls but will have to compete with the headbangers that are revered by that club and face playing, for the most part, crap games week in week out. 

Whereas playing in Down offers a chance to play in a Co with a proven GAA pedigree, a rich GAA heritage where the game comes first and no culchie v city faction exists to marr things.  Also, compare the number of AI Club championship titles Antrim and Down clubs have won?

To be honest I just want to get a team where Il enjoy the craic get in a few matches, I'm not great but enjoy playing.. probably the thirds bench would do me but you never know, I could just be a rough diamond!! :P
Post by: imtommygunn on October 19, 2008, 11:32:41 PM
ITOB it's a ridiculous statement that st galls would struggle in down division 1 or division 2.

Antrim football may be poor but st galls would survive in division 1 in any county in ireland. They have beat the best you have to offer a number of times on the ulster stage now and the best you have to offer has dominated your county. I would guess with that statement you're clearly on the wind up.
Post by: imtommygunn on October 20, 2008, 10:11:04 AM
The south antrim board is rubbish which incorporates the city.

North and south west antrim boards are not.

In south belfast you should join bedagh or st brigids. They each have a few teams to cater for ability.
Post by: full back on October 20, 2008, 12:25:34 PM

A complete rocket & has to be a WUM :D
Post by: Guillem2 on October 20, 2008, 08:56:46 PM
Quote from: full back on October 20, 2008, 12:25:34 PM

Correct. That ones a clown and always has been. Look back at his posts.

Having said that, and given where the lad lives, he should join Bredagh. I know some of them and they aren't as daft as Onion Bag.
Post by: dodgy umpire on October 20, 2008, 09:59:05 PM
Quote from: imagine on October 20, 2008, 10:05:23 AM

Fair play to St Galls,thriving amongst this sh.t. but Longshanks should make up an address and join St Pauls(he can use my address)
and Doohicky join the foreign legion at Bredagh although St Galls have a lot of immigrants also.

a silly wee snipe at a club successfully promoting the GAA in south belfast
Post by: dodgy umpire on October 20, 2008, 10:40:25 PM
apologies
Post by: In the Onion Bag on October 22, 2008, 09:29:05 PM
Quote from: full back on October 20, 2008, 12:25:34 PM

What a WUM? Is this Sth Antrim Ulster Scots
Post by: Square Ball on February 07, 2009, 11:44:55 AM
I was just looking back at this, and well there was no conclusion arrived at... so who did you all join?