GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: under the bar on October 10, 2008, 09:06:58 AM

Poll
Question: Do you agree with Pat Gilroy's appointment as manager?
Option 1: Yes - good appointment votes: 23
Option 2: No - bad appointment votes: 33
Title: Pat Gilroy new manager - Poll for Dub fans Only Please
Post by: under the bar on October 10, 2008, 09:06:58 AM
As a straw poll of the Dub board members on this new appointment.  

Non-Dub board members please do not vote.
Title: Re: Pat Gilroy new manager - Poll for Dub fans Only Please
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 10, 2008, 12:02:16 PM
not much interest under the bar  ;) and i didn't vote
Post by: his holiness nb on October 10, 2008, 01:07:27 PM
I voted bad appointment.

Then again this is based on the guys total lack of experience.
Hopefully he will prove my skepticism wrong.
Post by: under the bar on October 10, 2008, 01:13:35 PM
Quotenot much interest under the bar and i didn't vote

Most Dub fans will be out grafting in the Gunness factory at this stage on a Friday, not sat their lazy-ass at a computer like you! ;) Count the votes on Monday and see how we are getting on.
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 10, 2008, 01:47:11 PM
Quote from: under the bar on October 10, 2008, 01:13:35 PM
Quotenot much interest under the bar and i didn't vote

Most Dub fans will be out grafting in the Guinness factory at this stage on a Friday, not sat their lazy-ass at a computer like you! ;) Count the votes on Monday and see how we are getting on.

now if you said drinking Guinness i believe ya but dub and grafting in the same sentence come on ;) :D
Post by: paddypastit on October 10, 2008, 02:13:11 PM
I'm not a Dub so didn't vote but as a culchie living in the capital for 25 years I would make two observations - good appointment but the judgement should be as much about the legacy left behind rather than just the success acheived.
Post by: under the bar on October 10, 2008, 03:42:30 PM
Quotegood appointment but the judgement should be as much about the legacy left behind rather than just the success acheived.

:-\
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 10, 2008, 04:22:45 PM
I voted 'good appointment'
reason being is that Gilroy will listen to Whelan who will be giving him the tactical plans and ideas.
Gilroy is an unknown quantity, but will be a shrewder man than the passionate heart over ruling  the head Caffrey.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 10, 2008, 05:58:29 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on October 10, 2008, 01:07:27 PM
I voted bad appointment.

Then again this is based on the guys total lack of experience.
Hopefully he will prove my skepticism wrong.

Hopefully not
Post by: Osama bin Dublin on October 10, 2008, 06:11:47 PM
I was concerned about mick deegan gettin the job,i feared he mightn't have enough experience,imagine my surprise when pat gilroy got it,it just doesn't make sense?I wish the boys all the best, but i fear for the future of dublin football.Sam 09 ???
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 10, 2008, 09:32:52 PM
I think they made this guy manager because they know Dublin football is going nowhere fast so at least now when they fail again next year they can blame it all on the inexperienced new manager....
Smart hoors them Dubs  :)
Post by: ONeill on October 10, 2008, 10:06:35 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 10, 2008, 04:22:45 PM

Gilroy is an unknown quantity, but will be a shrewder man

How do you know this?
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 10, 2008, 10:33:05 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 10, 2008, 10:06:35 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 10, 2008, 04:22:45 PM

Gilroy is an unknown quantity, but will be a shrewder man

How do you know this?
its just my opinion to be honest...

however gilroy is a fairly unknown quantity as a manger, and although I dont know him, I do know caffrey and shrewd he aint *...I'd hope and expect Gilroy couldnt be any less so

*Caffrey is a nice fella and footbal mad, cant fault him for his enthusiasm etc just a bit of an impulsive reactive hoor (like most of us really I suppose!)
Post by: ONeill on October 10, 2008, 10:42:29 PM
How can it be an opinion if you know nothing about him?

Be honest - you're talking shit again.
Post by: INDIANA on October 10, 2008, 10:48:10 PM
lynchy i think is saying that gilroy's business acumen and the fact he won all the medals in the game indicate some level of intelligence and knowledge of county football.he doesn;t believe caffrey had that (i'm not saying either way whether he did or not). I think people are missing the point about dublin football?
do we have the players?
Not convinced on that regardless of the manager.
Post by: ONeill on October 10, 2008, 11:10:25 PM
Heard it all now - his business acumen.
Post by: INDIANA on October 10, 2008, 11:26:58 PM
Whelan is the main guy O Neill as ai said earlier he won;t go into a situation where he's not ultimately in charge. The gilroy thing is more a selector role. thats the weird and wonderful ways of the County Board.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 10, 2008, 11:32:16 PM
Am I the only one seeing a 'Stan and Sir Bobby' about this appointment?

Dubs need something more than Pillar 2. That's all I can see with this.
Post by: Zapatista on October 11, 2008, 08:56:42 AM
They probably didn't even look outside St. Vincents.
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 11, 2008, 11:45:43 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on October 10, 2008, 10:48:10 PM
lynchy i think is saying that gilroy's business acumen and the fact he won all the medals in the game indicate some level of intelligence and knowledge of county football.he doesn;t believe caffrey had that (i'm not saying either way whether he did or not). I think people are missing the point about dublin football?
do we have the players?
Not convinced on that regardless of the manager.
ok, I'll say it straight out rather than imply it.
Caffrey (while a gread Dublin fand and loyal servant to club and county football ) is a thick copper.
Gilroy is a smart man, and he will know when he is limited , for example in this kind of situation with feck all football management experience to be taking on a county team let alone one of the best county teams.
He will know to leave the main work to Whelan.
The DCB selection committee couldnt/wouldnt make whelan manager in his own right. So electing Gilroy as front man is a compomise.
Now he isnt an idiot front man, he is smart and will make sure that the show stays on the road.Leaving whelan to concentrate on the team and football.
Yes I most def think Dublin have the players. Not as many good individuals as kerry, certainly more than tyrone,armagh etc etc
imo.
But as a team they have been under achieving for some years now.

Post by: lynchbhoy on October 11, 2008, 11:47:45 AM
Quote from: ONeill on October 10, 2008, 10:42:29 PM

because I know the others and some info from the selection committee
i'll put it in teaching terms
I know x, y and not z
I know y = 4 and z = 9
I know x+y=z
therefore I can deduce x = 5

stick to the cream cakes
Post by: The Voice Of Reason on October 11, 2008, 01:46:13 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 11, 2008, 11:45:43 AM
...Yes I most def think Dublin have the players. Not as many good individuals as kerry, certainly more than tyrone,armagh etc etc...

snigger
Post by: moysider on October 11, 2008, 10:17:32 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 11, 2008, 11:45:43 AM

Yes I most def think Dublin have the players. Not as many good individuals as kerry, certainly more than tyrone,armagh etc etc
imo.

That s a good one. You re rippin the piss here right?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 11, 2008, 11:10:31 PM
I think this is a great appointment for Dublin. Pat is a real good egg, and knows his football inside out. Despite themselves, the Dublin County Board might just have stumbled upon the perfect decision here.
Post by: ONeill on October 11, 2008, 11:20:35 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 11, 2008, 11:10:31 PM
I think this is a great appointment for Dublin. Pat is a real good egg, and knows his football inside out. Despite themselves, the Dublin County Board might just have stumbled upon the perfect decision here.

Not being flippant or argumentative, but how do you know he 'knows his football inside out'? Have I missed out on something regarding his recent career?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 11, 2008, 11:24:48 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 11, 2008, 11:20:35 PM
Not being flippant or argumentative, but how do you know he 'knows his football inside out'? Have I missed out on something regarding his recent career?

Not prepared to bare all here ONeill, suffice it to say I don't doubt the integrity of my source   ;)

At the very least, he has played top-notch club football as recently as this year (wiith St Vincents, AI Champs), and he commands universal (Metropolitan) respect.
Post by: ONeill on October 11, 2008, 11:25:31 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 11, 2008, 11:47:45 AM

because I know the others

Right. Enough said. So if they put podge and rodge in his place, you'd claim it was a great appointment of a 'shrewd man' because you 'know the others'.

That's it, I'm on a mission to clean this board up from empty cliches. No one is safe.
Post by: ONeill on October 11, 2008, 11:27:04 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 11, 2008, 11:24:48 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 11, 2008, 11:20:35 PM

At the very least, he has played top-notch club football as recently as this year

Ach come on.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 11, 2008, 11:32:49 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 11, 2008, 11:27:04 PM
Ach come on.

Fair enough, hardly a qualification for beating the world. Still, polishing a turd and all that, it may be an impossible brief, but, it's the best call the Dub County Board could have made, IMHO. Could be wrong of course.
Post by: ONeill on October 11, 2008, 11:34:29 PM
That's more like it. People being positive puts me in bad form.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 11, 2008, 11:37:43 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 11, 2008, 11:34:29 PM
...People being positive puts me in bad form.

So I noticed from your irrepressibly upbeat perspective after the Down replay this year  ;)
Post by: ONeill on October 11, 2008, 11:40:36 PM
Read it again - immediate depair with a glimmer of hope of that Mickey'd churn it out somehow (as with 99% of the thinking population. Blind faith will be rewarded some times)

The Dubs will get relegated, lose to Meath in Croker and Gilroy will resign in July.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 11, 2008, 11:46:48 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 11, 2008, 11:40:36 PM
Read it again - immediate depair with a glimmer of hope of that Mickey'd churn it out somehow (as with 99% of the thinking population. Blind faith will be rewarded some times)

Oh ye, of little, so very litte faith! In fairness, you were equally pessimistic before that Meath game of last year. And correct with it. Yet, and yet, such dead-end pessimism has no place in modern day Tyrone football; at least not perennially.

Quote from: ONeill on October 11, 2008, 11:40:36 PM
The Dubs will get relegated, lose to Meath in Croker and Gilroy will resign in July.

QED.
Post by: ONeill on October 11, 2008, 11:52:22 PM
Of that there is no doubt. No matter how bad things are, with Mickey in charge and a good few of the 03 lads hanging about, anything is possible and pessimism is non-existent. We now know that even if we lose the majority of NFL games (or half), like Kerry did from 75-86 and 97-08, we have a 'championship' set-up that thrives on the warm, sultry days at HQ.

I think, and veering back to the thread, the Dubs have played a massive role in both the 05 and 08 wins. Hard to know why. A fella who's close to the squad told me that Harte was unnaturally happy after the draw was made this year v Dublin and his positive demeanour rubbed off on the players big time during the first training session after the draw.

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 11, 2008, 11:58:23 PM
Paradoxically with the Dub draw, I thought it was exactly the medicine that we needed: kill or cure. Had it not been Dublin, I would have been extremely fearful of a repeat of the Meath debacle of '07: a failure to rise to the occasion of positively underwhelming opponents (no offence Meathies... well, actually, every fecking offence, and the bleedin' rest! ;))

And I think that the Armagh draw in the first round of the Ulster this year is the perfect tonic for a defence, if we're capable at all; nothing like that to focus on the task at hand.
Post by: bannside on October 12, 2008, 03:14:30 AM
Lynchbhoy is100%. Dublin is all image and no substance at all.  Out of all dublin, ,where are the guys in the whole of Dublin who can stand up for Sean Boylans men. You wont beat Aussies by attitude, but  maybe a chance by quick ball!
Post by: his holiness nb on October 12, 2008, 09:12:27 AM
Quote from: bannside on October 12, 2008, 03:14:30 AM
Lynchbhoy is100%. Dublin is all image and no substance at all.  Out of all dublin, ,where are the guys in the whole of Dublin who can stand up for Sean Boylans men. You wont beat Aussies by attitude, but  maybe a chance by quick ball!

Ah you gotta love the drunken post of a saturday night!  :D
Post by: Over the Bar on October 12, 2008, 12:53:01 PM
QuoteYes I most def think Dublin have the players. Not as many good individuals as kerry, certainly more than tyrone,armagh etc etc
imo.

Not too many of the Dublin team would make it onto the Tyrone panel.
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 12, 2008, 01:39:55 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 11, 2008, 11:25:31 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 11, 2008, 11:47:45 AM

because I know the others

Right. Enough said. So if they put podge and rodge in his place, you'd claim it was a great appointment of a 'shrewd man' because you 'know the others'.

That's it, I'm on a mission to clean this board up from empty cliches. No one is safe.
no thats not the point, its part of the point, but that kind of blinkered stiffled vision and thinking is why folks like you will only ever be good enough to be 'teachers' and never leaders of men or captains of industry ;)
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 12, 2008, 01:45:01 PM
sorry folks , am not taking the p*ss here, apart from Kerry, each other intercounty team only has a handful of players that could aspire to be on the kerry panel.
tyrones AI triumph is a triumph for strategy and teamwork etc that has been created by their manager not by having more 'better players' than the others.

dont measure how many tyronies would get on the dubs team or vice versa - how many would get on the kerry team should be the benchmark.
for me tyrone have about three.Dublin about the same maybe one more. Derry two. Galway two etc etc.
but this is all about subjective opinions. I have no doubt that without harte, tyrone would still be 'samless'
Whelan and gilroy could be the strategists Dublin need to win sam next season. Even if not, They will def be an improvement.
Post by: ONeill on October 12, 2008, 01:48:04 PM
Ok, when beaten, resort to green-eyed insults as is the form.

Sometimes Lynchbhoy, I think you're:

a) permanently plastered
b) living in a parallel universe
c) committed
d) delusional.

Phone a friend if you want.

Answer this - what do you know about Gilroy that suggests he is 'shrewder' that Caffey? Just one example will suffice.
Post by: ONeill on October 12, 2008, 02:07:47 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 12, 2008, 01:45:01 PM

dont measure how many tyronies would get on the dubs team or vice versa - how many would get on the kerry team should be the benchmark.
for me tyrone have about three.

Unfortunately, this is an example of the pre-90s assumptions that had many teams beaten before they faced Kerry. As usual, it took a confident Down team to dispel the myth that Kerry have a rare breed of footballer that is much superior to the rest.

When Tyrone and Kerry went at it hammer and tongs in 1997 during a minor semi-final, Tyrone's footballing ability saw them narrowly home after a replay. Since then, Tyrone have always believed they have the footballers to defeat the likes of the kingdom toe-to-toe. Cooper, B McGuigan, O'Sullivan, O'Neill, Donaghy, McMahon, D Ose, McGinley, T OSe, Jordan, Young, McMenamin ...the list goes on - it's just as viable to ask, how many players from Kerry would get in that Tyrone side without weakening it?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 12, 2008, 02:24:09 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 12, 2008, 01:45:01 PM
for me tyrone have about three.Dublin about the same maybe one more. Derry two. Galway two etc etc.

Now I know you're delusional.
Can you, ergo, explain to me why twelve of the other Tyrone players have more All-Ireland medals (at all grades) than their Kerry counterparts?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 12, 2008, 02:43:40 PM
Amazing how once again a thread that has nothing to do with them is taken over by Nordies
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 12, 2008, 02:45:45 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 12, 2008, 02:43:40 PM
Amazing how once again a thread that has nothing to do with them is taken over by Nordies

Butt-out, Soudie!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 12, 2008, 02:48:13 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 12, 2008, 02:45:45 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 12, 2008, 02:43:40 PM

Butt-out, Soudie!
Pardon me,my apology's I actually forgot for a wee second that the North was actually the centre of the universe..carry on
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 12, 2008, 02:50:19 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 12, 2008, 02:48:13 PM
Pardon me,my apology's I actually forgot for a wee second that the North was actually the centre of the universe..carry on

That's more like it  ;)
Post by: Main Street on October 12, 2008, 03:53:01 PM
This is the Ulstergaaboard, Laois Lad.
Most all other contributions are welcome.
as long as you don't appear to contradict any Ulster member's coherent argument even on topics he is not personally acquainted with.

I don't know Gilroy but I think he is a good appointment, only the basis that Ulster lads know their stuff even if they are not acquainted personally with the situation.

First thing Gilroy should attempt to address is the chronic siege mentality, such as ' shíte bog teams suddenly up their game when we come to play them'.

Post by: lynchbhoy on October 12, 2008, 05:48:03 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 12, 2008, 01:48:04 PM

a) permanently plastered
c) committed
d) delusional.

Answer this - what do you know about Gilroy that suggests he is 'shrewder' that Caffey? Just one example will suffice.
I think this was the first 'insult'
"Be honest - you're talking shit again."

so thats another 'F minus' for you  :D

as for your multiple choice list - typical lack of imagination from the 'slow lane drivers' of modern (business) life!  :D
What I know of Gilroy (and have heard plenty from reliable fellas and old workmates in Vincents)  leads me to be confident he will be a heck of a lot better - though thats not too hard imo.

now run along back to preaching to them kids - they cant answer back !
Post by: Jinxy on October 12, 2008, 06:39:35 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 11, 2008, 11:58:23 PM
Paradoxically with the Dub draw, I thought it was exactly the medicine that we needed: kill or cure. Had it not been Dublin, I would have been extremely fearful of a repeat of the Meath debacle of '07: a failure to rise to the occasion of positively underwhelming opponents (no offence Meathies... well, actually, every fecking offence, and the bleedin' rest! ;))

And I think that the Armagh draw in the first round of the Ulster this year is the perfect tonic for a defence, if we're capable at all; nothing like that to focus on the task at hand.

None taken.

Bandage head!! :P
Post by: Declan on October 12, 2008, 08:26:12 PM
Don't know if it's a good or bad appointment myself. I'd be slightly concerned regarding his inexperience but the world and it's mother knows this is the only way they could get Whelan involved again. Nugent and O'Donoghue are two token southsiders and the only qualification I can see the Crokes man has is that he was in college with Gilroy. To quote a Crokes man he has no coaching abilities whatsoever and was just as surprised when Gilroy asked him but how could he turn it down????
Hopefully it will turn out well.
Post by: ONeill on October 12, 2008, 08:27:10 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 12, 2008, 05:48:03 PM

a) permanently plastered
c) committed
d) delusional.

as for your multiple choice list - typical lack of imagination from the 'slow lane drivers' of modern (business) life!  :D
What I know of Gilroy (and have heard plenty from reliable fellas and old workmates in Vincents)  leads me to be confident he will be a heck of a lot better - though thats not too hard imo.

So, for the third time - no answer apart from 'pub talk'. Still no evidence of Gilroy's shrewdness. Even a small sample?
Also, slowly it's unravelling - were you always in the corner with the 'D' on your head? Serious chip there.

Remember - Those Who Can, Teach. Those Who Can't, Do. (or become barstool critics)
Post by: Tankie on October 12, 2008, 11:48:52 PM
48 Dublin fans on this board apparently ;D
Post by: Hound on October 13, 2008, 07:39:36 AM
Quote from: Declan on October 12, 2008, 08:26:12 PM
Don't know if it's a good or bad appointment myself. I'd be slightly concerned regarding his inexperience but the world and it's mother knows this is the only way they could get Whelan involved again. Nugent and O'Donoghue are two token southsiders and the only qualification I can see the Crokes man has is that he was in college with Gilroy. To quote a Crokes man he has no coaching abilities whatsoever and was just as surprised when Gilroy asked him but how could he turn it down????
Hopefully it will turn out well.
O'Donoghue is the son of a Kerryman and a good friend of Mick O'Connell. That's plenty of qualification  ;)
Post by: under the bar on October 13, 2008, 09:25:16 AM
QuoteRemember - Those Who Can, Teach. Those Who Can't, Do

Is this a new version of "Those who can't do, teach"?.  ;D
Post by: Hardy on October 13, 2008, 09:34:27 AM
What do those who can't teach do?
Post by: ONeill on October 13, 2008, 10:01:07 AM
Work over the summer.
Post by: Billys Boots on October 13, 2008, 10:06:22 AM
The way I remember it:

Those who can, do,
Those who can't, teach,
Those who can't teach, teach PE.
Post by: Hardy on October 13, 2008, 10:10:37 AM
Quote from: Hardy on October 13, 2008, 09:34:27 AM
Quote from: ONeill on October 13, 2008, 10:01:07 AM
Work over the summer.

Teach anyway.
Post by: Billys Boots on October 13, 2008, 10:19:59 AM
Quote from: Hardy on October 13, 2008, 10:10:37 AM
Quote from: Hardy on October 13, 2008, 09:34:27 AM
Quote from: ONeill on October 13, 2008, 10:01:07 AM
Work over the summer.

Teach anyway.

Hang on - do those who teach not rip off the unsuspecting public during the summer by running 'summer camps', while the free-spirits go off to the, ahem, Gaeltacht??
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 13, 2008, 11:12:26 AM
Quote from: ONeill on October 12, 2008, 08:27:10 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 12, 2008, 05:48:03 PM

a) permanently plastered
c) committed
d) delusional.

So, for the third time - no answer apart from 'pub talk'. Still no evidence of Gilroy's shrewdness. Even a small sample?
Also, slowly it's unravelling - were you always in the corner with the 'D' on your head? Serious chip there.

Remember - Those Who Can, Teach. Those Who Can't, Do. (or become barstool critics)
so no comment about being wrong regarding who started throwing insults ?

as for those who can teach rubbish - whats your excuse for the likes of pat spillane or luke dempsey

and I dont have to disclose any info to you that I have received from players who have played under gilroy or vincents club members - its not a wee schoolkid yer attempting to intimidate and bully now!
I think that I would have a better knowledge of the dublin club scene than yourself (and a lot of other things too it appears - like work and common sense!) :D
Post by: Denn Forever on October 13, 2008, 12:57:27 PM
In this time of rapid change in the economy, its good to see some things don't change.  Start a thread and see it degenerate into a cat fight.  Ahh.
Post by: his holiness nb on October 13, 2008, 01:37:57 PM
In fairness to Lynchboy, he would have a better insight into Dublin club football than many Dubs, me included, and was only giving his opinion of Gilroy so I dont see where this all turned into a bitchfest.

Maybe it was the suggestion that Tyrone arent the greatest team even and dont have the best 15 players in the country. That sort of talk is not accepted round here  ;D
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 13, 2008, 02:31:14 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on October 13, 2008, 01:37:57 PM
In fairness to Lynchboy, he would have a better insight into Dublin club football than many Dubs, me included, and was only giving his opinion of Gilroy so I dont see where this all turned into a bitchfest.

Maybe it was the suggestion that Tyrone arent the greatest team even and dont have the best 15 players in the country. That sort of talk is not accepted round here  ;D
thanks HH
being pedantic though the tyronies have the best 'team'  - just dont corner the market for all the individuals is what I said/meant.

but i am sure the tyronies know the ins and outs of dublin club football better than the rest of us !

Looking forward to Gilroy's (whelans) tenure already !
Post by: under the bar on October 13, 2008, 02:49:36 PM
OK no point in letting this run forever so have locked voting.

Out of 56 votes cast, 60% feel it's a bad appointment and 40% a good appointment.

Any resident Dubs feel that this is reflective of the views within the county?

Post by: dubinhell on October 13, 2008, 03:52:06 PM
Quote from: under the bar on October 13, 2008, 02:49:36 PM
Out of 56 votes cast, 60% feel it's a bad appointment and 40% a good appointment.

Any resident Dubs feel that this is reflective of the views within the county?

You can fee anything you want.....most reasonable supporters would wait till after the League to form an opinion. Gilroy/Whelan was the best of the available choices.
Post by: his holiness nb on October 13, 2008, 04:28:33 PM
Cant comment on feeling within the county as I dont live there.

People are concerned about the total lack of experience.
that said, its possible he will be a good manager. Just a big risk to take.

If he does well people will commend the county board for their bravery in giving a new guy a chance. If not, it will be seen as a ludicrous decision.

Only time will tell.  I'd be happy to have my "bad decision" vote proved wrong!
Post by: ONeill on October 13, 2008, 05:46:15 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 13, 2008, 11:12:26 AM

and I dont have to disclose any info to you that I have received from players who have played under gilroy or vincents club members

Ahem, normal speak = I actually don't have a clue.

Yes, best not to disclose any 'info' in case they track you down.
Post by: witnof on October 13, 2008, 05:55:43 PM
The combination may actually work, yes its a risk but hey.

Gilroy been MD of Dalkia and nearly getting Mulvihills job surely has managment ability, and running the Dublin panel this is required. Behind him he will have Whelan who clearly knows a thing or two about the game despite the hard time he had in his year managing Dublin. The experience may have been invaluable, and the second bite at the cheery may be grabbed. Along with them Dr. Pat M. will add another intelligent dimension in getting the players to their peak.

I think the 3 complement each other in their skill sets, the question is can they blend them together and become our Holy Trinity ;D
Post by: paddypastit on October 13, 2008, 07:10:26 PM
QuoteDr. Pat M.
Uh... who?  Am i missing something (work is dangerous for stuff like that)
Post by: INDIANA on October 13, 2008, 10:23:41 PM
niall moyna is the other cog in the wheel not sure who pat m is - maybe its the guy out of father ted perhaps? its a good perspective 60/40 against, most people don;t think its a good appointment .
after watching tonights county semi finals, the new men may need rosary beads and holy water form lourdes the fare was so poor.
Post by: Gold on October 13, 2008, 11:15:11 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on October 13, 2008, 10:23:41 PM
niall moyna is the other cog in the wheel not sure who pat m is - maybe its the guy out of father ted perhaps? its a good perspective 60/40 against, most people don;t think its a good appointment .
after watching tonights county semi finals, the new men may need rosary beads and holy water form lourdes the fare was so poor.

yeah 2nite was poor enough fare alright--Vaughan converted about 2 frees outta 15 and hid away from plenty of others within his range. Mossy was ok in fits and starts. Think Bernard Brogan is the best forward Dublin have now-nothing new on show 2nite. Magee caught a sight of ball in the 1st half but then stopped--this wouldnt do against Tyrone--there was nothing that caught my eye 2nite from any Dub bar current county panelists
Post by: Bensars on October 13, 2008, 11:19:22 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on October 13, 2008, 10:23:41 PM

As a matter of interest, how many non dubliners were in the 4 semi finalist teams ?
Post by: INDIANA on October 13, 2008, 11:48:51 PM
4 starters for vincents and 2 subs who came on.
3 for crokes.
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 14, 2008, 09:17:34 AM
Quote from: ONeill on October 13, 2008, 05:46:15 PM
and I dont have to disclose any info to you that I have received from players who have played under gilroy or vincents club members
yep, you actually dont have a clue so rather than trot out your best bully boy lines
how about you stick to what you know in the safe yet futureless classroom (some day you might even make principal!)

as for Gilroys shrewdness, well its been noted around Dublin eminating from his clubmates, plus he's pulled a few nifty deals in the business world - but you know even less about that kind of thing so I'll spare you that too  :D
Post by: Billys Boots on October 14, 2008, 09:18:47 AM
Quote3 for crokes

Is Brian Kavanagh starting for Crokes?
Post by: ONeill on October 14, 2008, 10:41:34 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 14, 2008, 09:17:34 AM
Quote from: ONeill on October 13, 2008, 05:46:15 PM
yep, you actually dont have a clue so rather than trot out your best bully boy lines
how about you stick to what you know in the safe yet futureless classroom (some day you might even make principal!)

as for Gilroys shrewdness, well its been noted around Dublin eminating from his clubmates, plus he's pulled a few nifty deals in the business world - but you know even less about that kind of thing so I'll spare you that too  :D

You always know a man's well beaten when he's using emoticons to back himself up. 'pulled a few nifty deals in the business world ' - one of the most ridiculos arguments for being a county manager I've ever heard.
'
Fair enough I'll stand back and not bully you any more. As someone pointed out, it's not fair.
Post by: Uladh on October 14, 2008, 10:53:53 AM

This strikes me as the first "director of football" type of appointment and could possibly work ok. i'm assuming gilroy will be an overseer making sure all of the pieces are in place and conditions are maximised for team and coaching staff to work in.

This worked well in armagh with kernan in that type of role, grimley taking care of the coaching and tactics and McCloskey taking care of fitness.

A genuine question Lynchboy -

I dont have to disclose any info to you that I have received from players who have played under gilroy

Are there players who have played under gilroy and if so, where?
Post by: ONeill on October 14, 2008, 10:59:11 AM
Surely someone can attempt to define Gilroy's approach to the game. Kernan, Harte, Coleman, Boylan, OMahony, McGrath etc all have a clearly defined methodology. Is he a diciplinarian, fitness/strength fan, workrate centred etc etc? Or is this a Ryan/McGeeney appointment in that it's a shot-in-the-dark? Or is he there as an overseer of Team Dublin?
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 14, 2008, 11:46:47 AM
Quote from: Uladh on October 14, 2008, 10:53:53 AM

This strikes me as the first "director of football" type of appointment and could possibly work ok. i'm assuming gilroy will be an overseer making sure all of the pieces are in place and conditions are maximised for team and coaching staff to work in.

This worked well in armagh with kernan in that type of role, grimley taking care of the coaching and tactics and McCloskey taking care of fitness.

A genuine question Lynchboy -

I dont have to disclose any info to you that I have received from players who have played under gilroy

Are there players who have played under gilroy and if so, where?
coached /managed teams in Vincents
and yes, he will be the front man with whelan (who he has worked with prev) concentrating on the football coaching and style of play.
Obv at a guess and we dont know what the men have agreed.

as for oneill's attempts to claim some kind of victory - well its obvious that you are as ignorant about the real world as much as you are about making a decent wage and football outside of tyrone!
and  :)
Post by: Uladh on October 14, 2008, 11:48:20 AM
What sort of coaching LB? reserves? minors? underage?
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 14, 2008, 11:54:42 AM
Quote from: Uladh on October 14, 2008, 11:48:20 AM
What sort of coaching LB? reserves? minors? underage?
coaching/mgt of all of those and some adult teams too I believe.
while impressive he may have been for some of the nepotic vincents club members that were telling me
it still doesnt qualify him as an intercounty manager.
However his role is that of diplomatic front man , and as he has worked along wih whelan already, its a partnership they know that works.
Whelan was not allowed take the title role for Dublin. Theres always politics behind such moves, and no - I wont be disclosing  this.
Post by: Uladh on October 14, 2008, 11:59:36 AM

well on this ooccasion i know the story with whelan. he's not the man for the dublin job.

the reason i'm interested in gilroy is because i'm wondering if he'd get shot of whelan in a years time or if he'd have the authority to.

Obviously gilroy was a payer under whelan but where did they wor together?
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 14, 2008, 12:42:39 PM
Quote from: Uladh on October 14, 2008, 11:59:36 AM

well on this ooccasion i know the story with whelan. he's not the man for the dublin job.

the reason i'm interested in gilroy is because i'm wondering if he'd get shot of whelan in a years time or if he'd have the authority to.

vincents
Post by: Gold on October 14, 2008, 01:20:12 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on October 14, 2008, 09:18:47 AM
Quote3 for crokes

Is Brian Kavanagh starting for Crokes?

yeah played whole game at No. 13--was useless, no points from play or frees--not strong enough--ran round in circles and got ball turned over--won one free
Post by: Billys Boots on October 14, 2008, 01:48:41 PM
He's been like that for Longford too - all since he got the smell of himself.   ::)
Post by: Uladh on October 14, 2008, 04:46:24 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 14, 2008, 12:42:39 PM

vincents

I'm aware of that, i'm wondering at what level within vincents he has coached given he hasn't coached the senior team?
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 14, 2008, 05:00:42 PM
Quote from: Uladh on October 14, 2008, 04:46:24 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 14, 2008, 12:42:39 PM

vincents

I'm aware of that, i'm wondering at what level within vincents he has coached given he hasn't coached the senior team?
from what the lads tell me , he had a bit to do with a lot of teams up to and inc the senior side.
Post by: ONeill on October 14, 2008, 05:31:38 PM
The hilarity of LB's supposed knowledge on Gilroy is brightening up my day.

Keep er lit old man.
Post by: Main Street on October 14, 2008, 05:46:57 PM
Not one of the 56 ;D Dubs have dared to challenge Lynchboy's inside wisdom on this matter.
Post by: ONeill on October 14, 2008, 05:57:23 PM
Lynchboy and wisdom should not be used in the same paragraph never mind sentence.

What is an acceptable season in 08 for the new management? Having owned the provincial for the last few years under Pillar, would the relinquishing of that, coupled with a pre-AIF exit, represent failure or are the Jacks willing to wait for a bedding in period of 18 months?

Post by: Main Street on October 14, 2008, 06:16:10 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 14, 2008, 05:57:23 PM
Lynchboy and wisdom should not be used in the same paragraph never mind sentence.
An educated man would have used the adjective oxymoron.

Post by: his holiness nb on October 14, 2008, 08:15:14 PM
Quote from: Main Street on October 14, 2008, 05:46:57 PM
Not one of the 56 ;D Dubs have dared to challenge Lynchboy's inside wisdom on this matter.

56 Dubs???

Jaysus where did they come from!!!
Post by: INDIANA on October 15, 2008, 12:18:37 AM
he managed the senior team for about 5 months , 4-5 years ago. might have been involved at juvenile level sporadically, but with his job you won't have much time to train teams if you're still playing! people forget he was playing until last march at senior level.