GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: 5 Sams on October 09, 2008, 03:10:24 PM

Title: Hefty Bans....
Post by: 5 Sams on October 09, 2008, 03:10:24 PM
sorry lads if this is being discussed somewhere else or maybe we're not allowed to discuss it but this must have been some batterin match...

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/7660982.stm

Title: Re: Hefty Bans....
Post by: SidelineKick on October 09, 2008, 03:18:28 PM
It actually wasnt.  Go to the Derry thread for some good reading!
Post by: screenexile on October 09, 2008, 03:19:33 PM
If anyone wants to spend 3 days reading the discussion on the Derry thread go ahead and you will get the background to the entire situation.

Here is the basis of what it's about (From a Slaughtneil poster), and it's generally agreed that the individual suspensions are warranted but the ban on the panel for 6 months and the shutting of the pitch is OTT!

Quote from: Billy Magoo on October 09, 2008, 09:49:39 AM
QuoteTwins suspensions you can maybe see where they are coming from if they were helping their father but you cant do these things

theres not a son in derry who wouldn't have done the same thing.

Martin McEldowney - 1 year (Squirted water on County Chairman)
Mickey Rogers - 1 year (Hit mccloy (County chairman) with ball)
Francis McEldowney - 1 year (Left field)
Fergal McEldowney - 1 year (Left field)
Danny McMullan - 2 years (pushed photographer, didn't strike or kick)
Raymond McCloskey - 2 years (pushed photographer, didn't strike or kick)

Club closed - 1 year
40 players on team sheet - 6 months (Who knows)

Believe it or not there wasn't a melee or anything untoward really on the pitch. The incidents centre on 2 players leaving the field to get involved in a confrontation of sorts between supporters, the subs refusing to leave the field at HT when asked by the County Chairman, and players interfering with photographers taking pictures of disappointed S'neil players on the pitch.

It must also be stated that a member of the Ballinderry backroom team was banned for 2 years after an alleged spitting incident and that apparently there are more bans to follow for Ballinderry in the coming days.
Post by: full back on October 09, 2008, 03:22:00 PM
What sort of bans can the B'derry boys expect?
Who is likely to get them?

When do the bans come into effect? Will they miss they Ulster

Wild boys in Derry. No wonder ye cant win the AI ;)
Post by: ardmhachaabu on October 09, 2008, 03:24:54 PM
Contrast that with the preferential treatment Galvin got...
Post by: Down Gael on October 09, 2008, 03:33:00 PM
Seems very heavy handed, then again it is the Derry county board. They make our MLAs seem competent.
Post by: 5 Sams on October 09, 2008, 03:37:13 PM
Fcukin hell...I've seen a few things happening this year in Down that would lead to people getting jail if the Derry Co Board were giving out the punishments!!!!
Post by: magpie seanie on October 09, 2008, 03:41:50 PM
Those bans seem absolutely ridiculous. What the hell is going on there?
Post by: The GAA on October 09, 2008, 03:50:25 PM

County chairman got water squirted at him and is frothing at the mouth for retribution.

If McCloy had a reputation this would have damaged it becase it's all down to his personal vendetta.
Post by: screenexile on October 09, 2008, 03:56:58 PM
McCloy doesn't sit on the Committee.

As for the Ballinderry bans I don't think any of the players did anything untoward so can't see it having much of an impact on their Ulster campaign.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on October 09, 2008, 04:01:58 PM
Quote from: The GAA on October 09, 2008, 03:50:25 PM

County chairman got water squirted at him and is frothing at the mouth for retribution.

If McCloy had a reputation this would have damaged it becase it's all down to his personal vendetta.

Not entirely aacurate. Derrys first winning Ulster c'ship side were to be honoured at HT. When the whistle went there was the 58 team all ready to be paraded unto the pitch. S'neil like B'derry were told that subs would not be allowed unto the field. S'neil had 35 players togged out. So at half time out ran  approx 20 s'neil subs and started kicking about. The Derry County chairman along with some stewarts tried to get them to move, which they did, but two s'neil players tried to hit the chairman by kicking the ball at him, they missed, whilst another sub with a water bottle jetted him in the face. Before the end of the game a couple of s'neil players jumped the wire and had a fight with a Ballinderry supporter. No doubt the pitch closure and senior panel off players getting suspended is OTT, but the individual suspensions are well merited.
Post by: The GAA on October 09, 2008, 04:03:47 PM
Exile - are you telling me McCloy has no influence on the suspensions?

Max - fair enough on the individual suspensions and those who squirted the water should have gotten individual suspensions, but closing the pitch for a year and suspending 40 odd lads for 6 months is not over the top - its a scandalous failure to fulfill their dutes on the part of the disciplinary board
Post by: naka on October 09, 2008, 04:52:40 PM
have a funny feeling this matter might end up at the DRA ::)
Post by: magpie seanie on October 09, 2008, 04:58:32 PM
QuoteBefore the end of the game a couple of s'neil players jumped the wire and had a fight with a Ballinderry supporter.

What did the supporter do to provoke this reaction from the 2 players. Somebody said somethnig about their father?
Post by: under the bar on October 09, 2008, 05:03:33 PM
QuoteFrancis McEldowney - 1 year (Left field)

Should these read "Left Field..to fight with spectators"?

Post by: SidelineKick on October 09, 2008, 05:05:29 PM
Quote from: under the bar on October 09, 2008, 05:03:33 PM

Yes its not their positions.

As for what was said to them to provoke them, does it really matter? Any senior player, especially one that plays county football, who jumps into a crowd of people swinging fists and boots deserves all he gets.
Post by: magpie seanie on October 09, 2008, 05:26:46 PM
Well its just that someone mentioned their father was involved somehow and if for example (not saying this happened cos I don't know) someone was attacking my father in the crowd I'd be over the fench swinging clips in no time.
Post by: orangeman on October 09, 2008, 05:29:46 PM
It must also be stated that a member of the Ballinderry backroom team was banned for 2 years after an alleged spitting incident and that apparently there are more bans to follow for Ballinderry in the coming days.

Says who ???
Post by: SidelineKick on October 09, 2008, 05:34:19 PM
The BBC, perhaps they know more than we do!
Post by: Doire abú on October 09, 2008, 05:34:43 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on October 09, 2008, 05:26:46 PM
Well its just that someone mentioned their father was involved somehow and if for example (not saying this happened cos I don't know) someone was attacking my father in the crowd I'd be over the fench swinging clips in no time.

Would you expect to get away without a ban if you did so?
Post by: orangeman on October 09, 2008, 05:35:59 PM
Ballinderry lads didn't do anything - can't see how they'll get banned -

In fact the Slaughtneil lads weren't involved in a riot - would there have been 5 punches threw in the whole thing ??
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 09, 2008, 05:36:25 PM
Same here, they hardly done that without a reason?

Post by: SidelineKick on October 09, 2008, 05:40:47 PM
Its still not acceptable Pints.

Orange...the closest thing I seen to an actual Ballinderry player being involved was Darren Conway holding someone back so I am curious to see where these further bans will come drom as well.  If they have already been fined then thats the club punished for their supporters being involved in the incident!

That should be it I think.
Post by: orangeman on October 09, 2008, 05:45:12 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on October 09, 2008, 05:40:47 PM
Its still not acceptable Pints.

Orange...the closest thing I seen to an actual Ballinderry player being involved was Darren Conway holding someone back so I am curious to see where these further bans will come drom as well.  If they have already been fined then thats the club punished for their supporters being involved in the incident!

That should be it I think.

Exactly - that should be the end of it and Ballinderry should be allowed to get back into training for the Ulster club championship free from any diversions.
Post by: cornafean on October 09, 2008, 05:46:04 PM
There seems to be an element of Father Ted up there at the moment - especially after the Brian McGilligan & Niall Conway "suspension" affair.
Post by: orangeman on October 09, 2008, 05:52:33 PM
Quote from: cornafean on October 09, 2008, 05:46:04 PM
There seems to be an element of Father Ted up there at the moment - especially after the Brian McGilligan & Niall Conway "suspension" affair.

It's been runing nearly as long as the whole Fr. Ted series !
Post by: midLouth on October 09, 2008, 06:02:34 PM
Seems very heavy handed, and to punish a whole club, of who knows how many members over the actions of a few.
Post by: treborstemme on October 09, 2008, 06:55:30 PM
QuoteSeems very heavy handed, and to punish a whole club, of who knows how many members over the actions of a few.

here here
Post by: ONeill on October 09, 2008, 07:02:57 PM
http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/baluba
Post by: tyssam5 on October 09, 2008, 07:43:41 PM
Quote from: Doire abú on October 09, 2008, 05:34:43 PM

Trevor Brennan, 5 year ban, but them rugby hoors deserve it?
Post by: Pangurban on October 09, 2008, 07:57:27 PM
Dont get too exercised about this lads, its just the usual pantomine, heavy fines and suspensions which will be greatly reduced on appeal, leaving the association as a whole looking weak and ridiculous. You could all write the script, watch this space
Post by: Doire abú on October 09, 2008, 08:04:00 PM
Quote from: AFS on October 09, 2008, 06:59:13 PM
Bit of a clip of some of this on the BBC news there. Looked ugly with players fighting among the crowd and several men having to be held back from each other at the final whistle. Not the type of scenes that paint our game in a positive light to say the least.  :(

At first glance on that clip, I can't see any player that did anything wrong (apart from the S'neil players in the crowd at the start).

Post by: treborstemme on October 09, 2008, 08:15:02 PM
Just have a wee look at hardman Darren Conway and his big feet at the end of the game ;)
Post by: johnpower on October 09, 2008, 09:34:02 PM
Quote from: under the bar on October 09, 2008, 05:03:33 PM

Good stuff I was having trouble figuring out why leaving the field was worthy of a ban
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 09, 2008, 09:43:50 PM
Everything will get reduced - see what happened Ardboe in 1988
Post by: Kerry Mike on October 09, 2008, 09:49:36 PM
I was sent off in a junior game many moons ago for verbals, which got me a month's holiday for my troubles, went to appeal it and was chatting to the local district Chariman who just happened to be from the same club as the referee and I knew them both well.

So says himself to me "yerra Mike what did you say to the referee", and I says "yerra he is only an auld bollix for sending me off and you are turning into one too".

I got another month for my sins, but it was in November and always worth a good laugh.
Post by: Over the Bar on October 09, 2008, 11:16:07 PM
I'd expect at a Derry championship match there'd be more than enuff muck-savage red-necks in the crowd to handle the fighting themselves without players needing to get involved.
Post by: Doire abú on October 09, 2008, 11:45:20 PM
I don't think a Tyrone man has any right to be talking like that, sure there hasn't been a club match finished for two years in Tyrone!!  :D :D
Post by: the green man on October 10, 2008, 12:35:58 AM
Quote from: Over the Bar on October 09, 2008, 11:16:07 PM
I'd expect at a Derry championship match there'd be more than enuff muck-savage red-necks in the crowd to handle the fighting themselves without players needing to get involved.

As SS2 would point out, your grammer is shocking, punctuation needs looked at also.

I'd expect  that a Derry......more than enough missed loads of commas also.

c**k.
Post by: Billy Magoo on October 10, 2008, 08:52:52 AM
QuoteWell its just that someone mentioned their father was involved somehow and if for example (not saying this happened cos I don't know) someone was attacking my father in the crowd I'd be over the fench swinging clips in no time.

As i stated on the Derry thread, the two lads who left the field are brothers, they were standing on the sideline, seen their father getting punched in the crowd and thats why they went out.  I also said there wouldn't be a son in derry, maybe ireland who wouldn't have done the same thing.  I'm not condoning it, just stating this so people understand why they went out.
Post by: corn02 on October 10, 2008, 09:11:17 AM
Anyone got a link to the BBC footage?
Post by: orangeman on October 10, 2008, 09:18:28 AM
Quote from: corn02 on October 10, 2008, 09:11:17 AM
Anyone got a link to the BBC footage?

Go to the Derry club thread - it's on it.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 10, 2008, 09:40:17 AM
Quote from: the green man on October 10, 2008, 12:35:58 AM
As SS2 would point out, your grammer is shocking, punctuation needs looked at also.

What is this "grammer" you speak of?  ;)
Post by: Maximus Marillius on October 10, 2008, 10:20:15 AM
Quote from: Billy Magoo on October 10, 2008, 08:52:52 AM
QuoteWell its just that someone mentioned their father was involved somehow and if for example (not saying this happened cos I don't know) someone was attacking my father in the crowd I'd be over the fench swinging clips in no time.

As i stated on the Derry thread, the two lads who left the field are brothers, they were standing on the sideline, seen their father getting punched in the crowd and thats why they went out.  I also said there wouldn't be a son in derry, maybe ireland who wouldn't have done the same thing.  I'm not condoning it, just stating this so people understand why they went out.

contradictions....

Quotetonesfirstandlast

Re: Derry Club football and Hurling
« Reply #14319 on: October 09, 2008, 10:44:33 AM »   

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
As I have said before, I have every sympathy with the Slaughtneil situation, they did not deserve this punishment, another case of the CB over reacting and then pulling in their wings after they have been made to look stupid.
However, THE TWINS DID NOT GO TO HELP THEIR FATHER, THIS IS LIES. THEY CAME OVER THE FENCE TO ATTACK A BALLINDERRY SUPPORTER WHO WAS GIVING THE ONE WHO WAS SENT OFF GRIEF. THERE WAS NOTHING HAPPENING UNTIL THEY JUMPED THE FENCING.
Post by: Billy Magoo on October 10, 2008, 10:39:01 AM
Was waiting on you or tones to come back at me with that bullshit.  I saw the whole incident clearly from where i was standing.  Every word i stated above is 100% true.  I saw their father get struck before they left the field, thats why they came out, plain and simple.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on October 10, 2008, 10:52:05 AM
Billy either you or TFAL are telling lies. TFAL stated on the Derry thread that he saw it as well. The question is who mis telling the truth...another question is who has the most to lose.

Personally, Billy I hope yours is the truth
Post by: magpie seanie on October 10, 2008, 11:06:53 AM
Quote from: Doire abú on October 09, 2008, 05:34:43 PM

I would expect to get a lesser ban than whoever attacked my father and wouldn't accept anything else.
Post by: BerfArmagh on October 10, 2008, 11:38:24 AM
Thank God Armagh is a civilised county. Tyrone & Derry should be shut down for 12 months
Post by: orangeman on October 10, 2008, 11:39:55 AM
Quote from: BerfArmagh on October 10, 2008, 11:38:24 AM
Thank God Armagh is a civilised county. Tyrone & Derry should be shut down for 12 months

At least !!  ;)
Post by: screenexile on October 10, 2008, 12:09:48 PM
Quote from: BerfArmagh on October 10, 2008, 11:38:24 AM

:D :D :D :D
Post by: Over the Bar on October 10, 2008, 12:11:55 PM
QuoteAs SS2 would point out, your grammer is shocking, punctuation needs looked at also.

I'd expect  that a Derry......more than enough missed loads of commas also.

c**k.

I wrote my post in casual haste and the grammar is fine, albeit it wouldn't get past the punctuation police.  You on the other hand have now edited your reply several times and cannot even get the spelling right, never mind the grammar or punctuation! The phrase "must try harder" will be all too familiar from your limited schooldays.
Post by: the green man on October 10, 2008, 12:14:57 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on October 10, 2008, 12:11:55 PM
I wrote my post in casual haste and the grammar is fine, albeit it wouldn't get past the punctuation police.  You on the other hand have now edited your reply several times and cannot even get the spelling right, never mind the grammar or punctutation! The phrase "must try harder" will be all too familiar from your limited schooldays.

I didnt write that. Someone, er, used my computer when I wasn't looking.
Post by: screenexile on October 10, 2008, 12:18:45 PM
Do you work in Ballymena Council??!!
Post by: Maximus Marillius on October 10, 2008, 12:33:30 PM
Quote from: screenexile on October 10, 2008, 12:18:45 PM
Do you work in Ballymena Council??!!

brilliant screen...your on fire today :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: nashville on October 10, 2008, 12:37:01 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 10, 2008, 09:40:17 AM
Quote from: the green man on October 10, 2008, 12:35:58 AM

What is this "grammer" you speak of?  ;)

Kelsey?
Post by: tieroan on October 10, 2008, 12:57:41 PM
As someone with no connection to Derry football I would have no reason to take either side in this debate although I am a big fan of the Ballinderry club. I have friends from Newbridge who were at the game and they saw a heated debate between a man they knew as McIldowneys dad and another man they did not know. The man they did not know kicked the twins father, who was on the step below, on the chest knocking him to the ground. It was then that the twins came into the crowd.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on October 10, 2008, 01:05:05 PM
Quote from: tieroan on October 10, 2008, 12:57:41 PM
As someone with no connection to Derry football I would have no reason to take either side in this debate although I am a big fan of the Ballinderry club. I have friends from Newbridge who were at the game and they saw a heated debate between a man they knew as McIldowneys dad and another man they did not know. The man they did not know kicked the twins father, who was on the step below, on the chest knocking him to the ground. It was then that the twins came into the crowd.

well thats clears that up...thanx

TFAL...looks like you have been disingenuous
Post by: robertemmet on October 10, 2008, 01:10:40 PM
QuoteAs someone with no connection to Derry football I would have no reason to take either side in this debate although I am a big fan of the Ballinderry club. I have friends from Newbridge who were at the game and they saw a heated debate between a man they knew as McIldowneys dad and another man they did not know. The man they did not know kicked the twins father, who was on the step below, on the chest knocking him to the ground. It was then that the twins came into the crowd.

I heard that the Twins entered the crowd to stand up for their father as well.
Post by: CoDeo2 on October 10, 2008, 01:51:13 PM
Irish star reckons paul devlin is getting a 96 week ban too? What was his part in it?
Post by: orangeman on October 10, 2008, 01:54:06 PM
Quote from: CoDeo2 on October 10, 2008, 01:51:13 PM
Irish star reckons paul devlin is getting a 96 week ban too? What was his part in it?

Ungetlemanly conduct - apparently spittiing at a Slaughtneil player.
Post by: 5 Sams on October 10, 2008, 03:28:04 PM
Lads I'm just being nosey here but the photo on the back page of today's Irish News has a guy sitting on his hole on the ground with a Bainisteoir's bib on and he is referred to as James McGrath (Slaughtneil Selector)....where was John Raff? Should he not have had that bib on?
Post by: ExiledGael on October 10, 2008, 03:55:12 PM
There's a photo of Rafferty in the Irish Times today wearing abib saying "Maor Foirne". What does that translate as exactly? Thought it was just a runner.
Post by: Bomber on October 10, 2008, 03:56:56 PM
This is the runner, yes, usually a team selector. Some teams pull the fast one and use their manager as their Maor Foirne so the manager can run around issuing the instructions.
Title: Hefty Bans....
Post by: 5 Sams on October 10, 2008, 04:21:30 PM
Quote from: Bomber on October 10, 2008, 03:56:56 PM
This is the runner, yes, usually a team selector. Some teams pull the fast one and use their manager as their Maor Foirne so the manager can run around issuing the instructions.

Sounds like something Rafferty would be up to alright.....fly hewer
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on October 10, 2008, 07:02:04 PM
hi chaps; dont wanna keep stirrin up the hornets nest, but i was at this match on sunday, about 5 yards away from the row;
about 5seconds before francis jumped into the crowd he was mouthing at a ballinderry supporter, not sayin this was wile wrong, as it appeared this guy had been mouthin at him as he was sent off;
it was at this stage a scuffle started between 2sets of supporters, all i could see were guys in late 20s/early 30s; didnt see any old men at all; sorry;
this was when francis jumped through the wire, followed by twin;
so to keep sayin it was related to his father is in my opinion wrong;
im not sayin his father wasnt kicked/hit; it may even have been very close to this row; i just dont know;

but in my opinion they jumped through the wire to join in the row;

neutral (who was half hopin to see the robbies, as they now want to be known as, win)
and btw, devlins wasa definite spit, in case there is any ambiguity, saw it clear as day
Post by: jodyb on October 10, 2008, 07:54:54 PM
Quote from: Maximus Marillius on October 10, 2008, 01:05:05 PM
Quote from: tieroan on October 10, 2008, 12:57:41 PM

well thats clears that up...thanx

TFAL...looks like you have been disingenuous

Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on October 10, 2008, 07:02:04 PM
hi chaps; dont wanna keep stirrin up the hornets nest, but i was at this match on sunday, about 5 yards away from the row;
about 5seconds before francis jumped into the crowd he was mouthing at a ballinderry supporter, not sayin this was wile wrong, as it appeared this guy had been mouthin at him as he was sent off;
it was at this stage a scuffle started between 2sets of supporters, all i could see were guys in late 20s/early 30s; didnt see any old men at all; sorry;
this was when francis jumped through the wire, followed by twin;
so to keep sayin it was related to his father is in my opinion wrong;
im not sayin his father wasnt kicked/hit; it may even have been very close to this row; i just dont know;

but in my opinion they jumped through the wire to join in the row;

neutral (who was half hopin to see the robbies, as they now want to be known as, win)
and btw, devlins wasa definite spit, in case there is any ambiguity, saw it clear as day

Wasn't at the game, but the brother was standin right beside the row and he tells it that the ballinderry supporter was givin Twin a serious touch as he was walkin off and Francis was tellin him to 'come in here and say it'.

When the row took off, the twins da was, indeed knocked to the ground by a kick and then the two of them came through the fence
So tieroan as far as I'm concerned is telling it like it is.
Post by: Blacksheep on October 10, 2008, 09:09:14 PM
I was at the game. Not relying on my cousin or sister or neighbour from 2 parishes away, as eye witnesses .

It was clean game with a bit of a row but nothing worst than youd see at many a u12 league game. The only reason theres a fuse is because the county officers took a bit of stick. Completely over the top reaction which will be overturned on appeal.
Post by: jodyb on October 11, 2008, 09:15:58 AM
Quote from: Blacksheep on October 10, 2008, 09:09:14 PM
I was at the game. Not relying on my cousin or sister or neighbour from 2 parishes away, as eye witnesses .

It was clean game with a bit of a row but nothing worst than youd see at many a u12 league game. The only reason theres a fuse is because the county officers took a bit of stick. Completely over the top reaction which will be overturned on appeal.

Not disagreeing with any of that Blacksheep. My only reason for throwin in my tuppence worth was because of the 2 different accounts from tieroan and quit yo jibbajabba
Post by: muppet on October 13, 2008, 12:05:40 PM
Thread: Hefty Bans

I thought this thread was going to be about Rubenesque female Gárdaí.
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 13, 2008, 12:08:42 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 13, 2008, 12:05:40 PM
Thread: Hefty Bans
I thought this thread was going to be about Rubenesque female Gárdaí.
he was the original 'chubby chaser' wasnt he !
Post by: Over the Bar on October 13, 2008, 12:31:48 PM
QuoteThis is the runner, yes, usually a team selector. Some teams pull the fast one and use their manager as their Maor Foirne so the manager can run around issuing the instructions.

Can't the manager run about anyway when there's a break in play?
Post by: Onion Bag on October 13, 2008, 01:40:40 PM
Quote from: orangeman on October 10, 2008, 01:54:06 PM

If true, he deserves whatever ban given to him, Gypsy bastard
Post by: Longshanks on October 13, 2008, 04:07:15 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on October 13, 2008, 01:40:40 PM
Quote from: orangeman on October 10, 2008, 01:54:06 PM

If true, he deserves whatever ban given to him, Gypsy b**tard

Aye deserves all he gets if that's true, no need for that sort of thing, as for the ban on the club I find that very harsh given that it only involved the minority and believe it will be reduced if not overturned on appeal.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on October 13, 2008, 11:48:07 PM
Who is the Paul Devlin? 
Post by: screenexile on October 13, 2008, 11:58:30 PM
Former Tyrone corner back along with Fay... from Moortown I think.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on October 14, 2008, 12:03:14 AM
 :o really, thats why i asked was starting to think it was him! Shocked!
Post by: Billy Magoo on October 14, 2008, 12:07:26 PM
Quoteas for the ban on the club I find that very harsh given that it only involved the minority and believe it will be reduced if not overturned on appeal.

Unfortunatly this hasn't happened.  If anything its worse as our chairman and secretary have now also been banned.
Post by: billy the kid on October 14, 2008, 12:15:34 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 09, 2008, 05:36:25 PM
Same here, they hardly done that without a reason?

You obviously dont know these 2 lads then!!!
Post by: the green man on October 14, 2008, 12:17:16 PM
Quote from: billy the kid on October 14, 2008, 12:15:34 PM
You obviously dont know these 2 lads then!!!

Whats your point?
Post by: under the bar on October 14, 2008, 12:17:50 PM
Quoteas for the ban on the club I find that very harsh given that it only involved the minority and believe it will be reduced if not overturned on appeal.

Unfortunatly this hasn't happened.  If anything its worse as our chairman and secretary have now also been banned.

Wasn't it Bellaghy who about 10 years ago had their ground closed for muck-savagery?  

Seems to be a South Derry trait so perhaps the GAA should introduce a blanket ban on all-Derry clubs entering Ulster comps and the county from paritaking in league or championship for a year?  Not that the championship ban would make any real differnce. ;)
Post by: billy the kid on October 14, 2008, 12:20:59 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on October 09, 2008, 11:16:07 PM

To be honest I dont know that many Tyrone people attended the county final this year.
Post by: the green man on October 14, 2008, 12:30:24 PM
billy the kid, any word of an explanation on your previous post on the twins?
Post by: billy the kid on October 14, 2008, 01:01:21 PM
Played against and with the twins in both codes all the way up to and including senior and they are always getting involved in verbals and slagging matches with opposition players, management, supporters, and are never shy about trying to intimidate a ref by getting in his face and slabbering.  

They also always appeared to feel that they had something to prove physically ie. "shut your mouth or Ill..do such an such" was always a prefered call. They have also been the instigators of many troublesome incidents on the field for their club from underage and up until the most recent piece of outrageous behaviour.  There are plenty of decent lads on the Slaughtneil teams who end up getting dragged into sh*t the twins start.

Overall the 2 of them can be very bad mannered and a year on the sideline is the least they deserve and has been a long time coming. Are you really trying to defend 2 senior players jumping the wire to fight a supporter at the county final???

PS. nobody I have spoke to who seen the incident and some of them were right beside it, agreed that they jumped the wire to defend their father.  They all said that when the he was sent off a ballinderry supporter was giving him bad manners and then when a pushing and shoving match started in the terrace he made a go at the supporter and was quickly followed by his brother.
Post by: under the bar on October 14, 2008, 01:37:53 PM
Quoteif for example (not saying this happened cos I don't know) someone was attacking my father

Was this a full on assault on the father or was it a verbal attack?   More than likely the latter as most fathers of players get involved in verbals during local championship games.
Post by: magpie seanie on October 14, 2008, 02:15:03 PM
At least two accounts here reckon their father was kicked and ended up on the ground and if this is true I will defend their actions as would any half fair minded person.
Post by: robertemmet on October 14, 2008, 02:34:13 PM
Are there any Westmeath people on here.  Is it true the Westmeath Co Chairman for the book threw at him for verbally abusing a referee.  I saw an article in the Irish Star last week and I was wondering was it true.
Post by: the green man on October 15, 2008, 11:20:56 AM
Quote from: billy the kid on October 14, 2008, 01:01:21 PM
Played against and with the twins in both codes all the way up to and including senior and they are always getting involved in verbals and slagging matches with opposition players, management, supporters, and are never shy about trying to intimidate a ref by getting in his face and slabbering.  

Good, for a minute I thought you were implying that they made a habbit of boxing in the stand.

ie. "shut your mouth or Ill... .

Which was something similar to the PM I recieved from you, when I mentioned a prominent Ballinascreen family a few months ago. You also said to stop being personal and get back to having a bit of craic. Maybe you should practice what you preach.
Post by: Spirit of 94 on October 15, 2008, 02:20:48 PM

They also always appeared to feel that they had something to prove physically ie. "shut your mouth or Ill..do such an such" was always a prefered call. They have also been the instigators of many troublesome incidents on the field for their club from underage and up until the most recent piece of outrageous behaviour.  There are plenty of decent lads on the Slaughtneil teams who end up getting dragged into sh*t the twins start.

Overall the 2 of them can be very bad mannered and a year on the sideline is the least they deserve and has been a long time coming. Are you really trying to defend 2 senior players jumping the wire to fight a supporter at the county final???

PS. nobody I have spoke to who seen the incident and some of them were right beside it, agreed that they jumped the wire to defend their father.  They all said that when the he was sent off a ballinderry supporter was giving him bad manners and then when a pushing and shoving match started in the terrace he made a go at the supporter and was quickly followed by his brother.

Great sources.....they didn't jump the wire, the gate was open, as was plain to be seen on TV!!  Have you ever considered what would have happened if their father was standing near the Ballindery supporter?  Doesn't take much working out.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on October 15, 2008, 02:29:47 PM
Well I'll have a guess...the father's mouth was as big as the ballinderry supporters mouth...as he got involved with him. six of one and half a dozen of the other. Did the ballinderry man hit first or the father...anyone know or even care. At the end of the day two adults who could not control them selves
Post by: under the bar on October 15, 2008, 02:41:37 PM
At the end of the day it matters little what happened on the terraces, who said what or who started it.  The actions of the players by leaving the field to get involved is totally unacceptable and they quite rightly have been handed lengthy bans.
Post by: orangeman on October 15, 2008, 02:50:26 PM
Looks to me like thr DCB were waiting their chance - Sins of the past and all that - Slaughtneil misbehaved on the biggest day in club football and they'll have to take their medicine even if it is considered to be too high a dose.
Post by: billy the kid on October 15, 2008, 03:24:29 PM
Quote from: orangeman on October 15, 2008, 02:50:26 PM
Looks to me like thr DCB were waiting their chance - Sins of the past and all that - Slaughtneil misbehaved on the biggest day in club football and they'll have to take their medicine even if it is considered to be too high a dose.

I would almost totally agree only some of them lads are sound and did nothing wrong but are being punished for the sins of a few dickheads. the individual suspensions are fair enough and even the fine and the closing of the pitch for a few months are ok IMO but banning lads who were in the stand and stopping the reserve and U21 teams playing is a bit much.

Post by: billy the kid on October 15, 2008, 04:17:19 PM
Quote from: Spirit of 94 on October 15, 2008, 02:20:48 PM

They also always appeared to feel that they had something to prove physically ie. "shut your mouth or Ill..do such an such" was always a prefered call. They have also been the instigators of many troublesome incidents on the field for their club from underage and up until the most recent piece of outrageous behaviour.  There are plenty of decent lads on the Slaughtneil teams who end up getting dragged into sh*t the twins start.

PS. nobody I have spoke to who seen the incident and some of them were right beside it, agreed that they jumped the wire to defend their father.  They all said that when the he was sent off a ballinderry supporter was giving him bad manners and then when a pushing and shoving match started in the terrace he made a go at the supporter and was quickly followed by his brother.

1 Great sources.....they didn't jump the wire the gate was open, as was plain to be seen on TV!! 

2 Have you ever considered what would have happened if their father was standing near the Ballindery supporter? 

3 Doesn't take much working out.

1. Jumping the wire is a figure of speech, I seen it on TV and even had another look at it following the RTE & BBC web links supplied on here, and just because they used a gate doesnt make it any less a disgrace.

2. Have you ever considered that this whole...

"we are such good sons, all we were doing was protecting my father from a Ballinderry supporter who was arguing/ Pushing/ Hitting/ Kicking/ attempting to murder our father who was saying the rosary on the terrace.  We wouldnt have been so cross as God tells us to turn the other cheek, but Father dropped the good rosary beads I bought him On our 5th trip to Lourdes this year. I hope this is all resolved before I head of to Maynooth to join the priesthood next weekend. Did we mention we are walking to Maynooth in our bare feet as self imposed pennance for any sins we may have committed"

...Is a futile attempt to try and justify behaviour that is extremely inappropriate?  Under no circumstances can players leave the pitch or dugout to enter the stand or terrace to fight with supporters.

3. Your right it doesnt take much working out, they were totally out of order and fully deserve to be banned for a year.

PS. Paul Devlin deserves to be banned for at least 2 years and his suspension being reduced is a joke.  I also think he should be neutered to prevent that sort of thing being seen by future generations.   
Post by: Spirit of 94 on October 15, 2008, 04:37:32 PM
Quote from: billy the kid on October 15, 2008, 04:17:19 PM
Quote from: Spirit of 94 on October 15, 2008, 02:20:48 PM

They also always appeared to feel that they had something to prove physically ie. "shut your mouth or Ill..do such an such" was always a prefered call. They have also been the instigators of many troublesome incidents on the field for their club from underage and up until the most recent piece of outrageous behaviour.  There are plenty of decent lads on the Slaughtneil teams who end up getting dragged into sh*t the twins start.

PS. nobody I have spoke to who seen the incident and some of them were right beside it, agreed that they jumped the wire to defend their father.  They all said that when the he was sent off a ballinderry supporter was giving him bad manners and then when a pushing and shoving match started in the terrace he made a go at the supporter and was quickly followed by his brother.

1 Great sources.....they didn't jump the wire the gate was open, as was plain to be seen on TV!! 

2 Have you ever considered what would have happened if their father was standing near the Ballindery supporter? 

3 Doesn't take much working out.

1. Jumping the wire is a figure of speech, I seen it on TV and even had another look at it following the RTE & BBC web links supplied on here, and just because they used a gate doesnt make it any less a disgrace.

2. Have you ever considered that this whole...

"we are such good sons, all we were doing was protecting my father from a Ballinderry supporter who was arguing/ Pushing/ Hitting/ Kicking/ attempting to murder our father who was saying the rosary on the terrace.  We wouldnt have been so cross as God tells us to turn the other cheek, but Father dropped the good rosary beads I bought him On our 5th trip to Lourdes this year. I hope this is all resolved before I head of to Maynooth to join the priesthood next weekend. Did we mention we are walking to Maynooth in our bare feet as self imposed pennance for any sins we may have committed"

...Is a futile attempt to try and justify behaviour that is extremely inappropriate?  Under no circumstances can players leave the pitch or dugout to enter the stand or terrace to fight with supporters.

3. Your right it doesnt take much working out, they were totally out of order and fully deserve to be banned for a year.

PS. Paul Devlin deserves to be banned for at least 2 years and his suspension being reduced is a joke.  I also think he should be neutered to prevent that sort of thing being seen by future generations.   

What a rant!!!. It's beginning to sound more like a personal vendeta. Come on Billy, what's you're real problem with these lads?  Have you had your ears warmed by them?
Post by: billy the kid on October 15, 2008, 05:00:31 PM
Now now I dont think you Slaughtneil boys would want to get into a discussion about ears.  ;) ;)

Never had a run in with them but have seen them in action and seen the trouble they cause on the pitch and of it at times that often results in other decent lads from your club (which there are many) getting involved to back up their clubmate, like most of us would on the pitch anyway, and then getting tarred with the same brush.  The reputation your club has for being troublesome has been mostly earned by the actions of a few on and of the pitch.

They were well out of line and deserve the year ban, just like the other individual bans are also deserved ESPECIALLY Paul Devlins.

Can you honestly say that you think the twins, or any of the other individuals behaviour was justified under any circumstances? Do you honestly think the individual suspensions are to much?

(PS I have no idea what your secretary or Chairman are supposed to have done so I have no idea if those suspensions are deserved or not.)
Post by: Longshanks on October 15, 2008, 05:38:54 PM
Quote from: billy the kid on October 15, 2008, 05:00:31 PM
Now now I dont think you Slaughtneil boys would want to get into a discussion about ears.  ;) ;)

Never had a run in with them but have seen them in action and seen the trouble they cause on the pitch and of it at times that often results in other decent lads from your club (which there are many) getting involved to back up their clubmate, like most of us would on the pitch anyway, and then getting tarred with the same brush.  The reputation your club has for being troublesome has been mostly earned by the actions of a few on and of the pitch.

They were well out of line and deserve the year ban, just like the other individual bans are also deserved ESPECIALLY Paul Devlins.

Can you honestly say that you think the twins, or any of the other individuals behaviour was justified under any circumstances? Do you honestly think the individual suspensions are to much?

(PS I have no idea what your secretary or Chairman are supposed to have done so I have no idea if those suspensions are deserved or not.)

I agree on the ban on the players to a point, but do you actually agree on the 6th month ban on the club, like I think thats taking it all a bit too far, they already have suspended the individuals and fined the club... whats your opinion there?

I think them keeping the 6th month ban is totally out of order!!
Post by: billy the kid on October 15, 2008, 06:23:02 PM
Quote from: Longshanks on October 15, 2008, 05:38:54 PM

I agree on the ban on the players to a point, but do you actually agree on the 6th month ban on the club, like I think thats taking it all a bit too far, they already have suspended the individuals and fined the club... whats your opinion there?

I think them keeping the 6th month ban is totally out of order!!

Read back over my posts and you will see that I have already said this. The individual bans are well deserved but banning the clubs senior, reserve and u21 teams for 6 months is wrong as men who done nothing wrong are being punished for the actions of a few. 
In saying that the innocent players should be f**king rippin at the guilty players who disgraced themselves at the game for putting them in this situation in the first place. But the 6 month ban is definately unfair.
Post by: Longshanks on October 15, 2008, 07:45:04 PM
Srry Billy missed that ;) but aye then pretty much agree, although dunno that much bout these twins to comment but it seems they have a history of sorts maybe??
Post by: the green man on October 15, 2008, 09:58:46 PM
Quote from: Longshanks on October 15, 2008, 07:45:04 PM
dunno that much bout these twins to comment but it seems they have a history of sorts maybe??

Reading billy the kid, you would think that they have. They don't. They have never, I believe, engaged with anyone outside the wire, supporter or otherwise before this incident.
Post by: The GAA on October 16, 2008, 01:29:03 AM

banning all 40 players on the teamsheet wouldn't stand up if challenged in court. you are convicying and punishing men without producing evidence against them. the DCB would also be open to charges of defamation of charachter.

if the appeal fails i assume court is where we'll see it settled
Post by: Spirit of 94 on October 16, 2008, 08:53:53 AM

For CLUBMATE substitute FATHER, and yes, any DECENT son would go to help.  From my earlier posts you'll see that I have stated that individual bans were merited.  These actions cannot be condoned but they are understandable.

With regard to troublesome clubs, how did youse fare out a couple of years ago after the fight at half -time with Glen in Magherafelt?????? 

Let him without sin.....
Post by: Franko on October 16, 2008, 10:19:14 AM
Quote from: The GAA on October 16, 2008, 01:29:03 AM

banning all 40 players on the teamsheet wouldn't stand up if challenged in court. you are convicying and punishing men without producing evidence against them. the DCB would also be open to charges of defamation of charachter.

Surely Slaughtneil, being renowned (as it is) to be a staunch republican club wouldn't want to be seen colluding with the forces of the crown to get away with their wrongdoings.... again....  :o;)
Post by: orangeman on October 16, 2008, 10:52:09 AM
Why did the chairman and secretary get banned - guilty by association ??

Surely these suspensions are especially suspect ???
Post by: Spirit of 94 on October 16, 2008, 12:22:52 PM
Quote from: Franko on October 16, 2008, 10:19:14 AM

Surely Slaughtneil, being renowned (as it is) to be a staunch republican club wouldn't want to be seen colluding with the forces of the crown to get away with their wrongdoings.... again....  :o;)

23   GAA Discussion / GAA Discussion / Re: How do we cut out violence in Gaelic Games?  on: July 28, 2008, 03:57:31 PM

To be complaining about our current game being too violent is ludicrous. The simple fact is that gaelic football (for a contact sport) is not currently troubled by an undue level of violence.  I dont know where the inspiration from this thread came from...

Nuff said. 

Post by: Franko on October 16, 2008, 02:01:20 PM
Quote from: Spirit of 94 on October 16, 2008, 12:22:52 PM

23   GAA Discussion / GAA Discussion / Re: How do we cut out violence in Gaelic Games?  on: July 28, 2008, 03:57:31 PM

To be complaining about our current game being too violent is ludicrous. The simple fact is that gaelic football (for a contact sport) is not currently troubled by an undue level of violence.  I dont know where the inspiration from this thread came from...

Nuff said. 

What????  I dont think you are grasping what I was referring to...!!
Post by: Spirit of 94 on October 16, 2008, 03:07:57 PM
Quote from: Franko on October 16, 2008, 02:01:20 PM

23   GAA Discussion / GAA Discussion / Re: How do we cut out violence in Gaelic Games?  on: July 28, 2008, 03:57:31 PM

Nuff said. 

I know exactly what you're trying to do. Mix it somewhere else.
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on October 16, 2008, 05:00:31 PM
I think all clubs in Derry would need to be on their best behaviour. I was at this game and in comparison to other games i have seen, comparatively speaking very little occurred. The Irish News and local press carried made no mention of the disturbances in their match reports the following days. As someone says, it was interesting that these large fines took place the week after the appointment of Damian Cassidy as county manager- " that it will take all this and more fines in the future to pay Damian's wages". ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Franko on October 16, 2008, 05:34:01 PM
Quote from: Spirit of 94 on October 16, 2008, 03:07:57 PM

Nuff said. 

Now we're getting somewhere! :D ;)  Thats exactly the attitude that got you into this bother. 

Someone should tell you mountain men that other people may be allowed to say and do things that you might not like without getting a slap/soaked in water/told to f**k off etc etc... :o
Post by: Spirit of 94 on October 17, 2008, 09:03:30 AM
Quote from: Franko on October 16, 2008, 05:34:01 PM

Nuff said. 

Now we're getting somewhere! :D ;)  Thats exactly the attitude that got you into this bother. 

Someone should tell you mountain men that other people may be allowed to say and do things that you might not like without getting a slap/soaked in water/told to f**k off etc etc... :o

You see that's where you're wrong. In any walk of life, you just can't go around insulting people and expect it to go unchallenged.
Post by: billy the kid on October 17, 2008, 09:38:40 AM
Quote from: Spirit of 94 on October 17, 2008, 09:03:30 AM

Nuff said. 

You see that's where you're wrong. In any walk of life, you just can't go around insulting assulting people and expect it to go unchallenged unpunished.
Post by: Billy Magoo on October 17, 2008, 09:43:09 AM
QuoteYou see that's where you're wrong. In any walk of life, you just can't go around insulting assulting people and expect it to go unchallenged unpunished.

Has any Slaughtneil person said we expect to go unpunished?
Post by: billy the kid on October 17, 2008, 10:03:24 AM
Quote from: Billy Magoo on October 17, 2008, 09:43:09 AM
QuoteYou see that's where you're wrong. In any walk of life, you just can't go around insulting assulting people and expect it to go unchallenged unpunished.

Wind your neck in Magoo, Im just stirring the pot to see whos awake this morning.

Did you sleep well last night?
Post by: orangeman on October 17, 2008, 10:40:16 AM
Quote from: billy the kid on October 17, 2008, 10:03:24 AM

Wind your neck in Magoo, Im just stirring the pot to see whos awake this morning.

;) :D
Post by: Estimator on October 17, 2008, 10:42:45 AM
Quote from: orangeman on October 17, 2008, 10:40:16 AM
Quote from: billy the kid on October 17, 2008, 10:03:24 AM

;) :D

Quiet Friday morning Billy??
Post by: Spirit of 94 on October 17, 2008, 10:50:17 AM
"assulting"

Is this some new form of offence? Or maybe just the way it's done in your neck of the woods. ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Franko on October 17, 2008, 11:41:49 AM
Quote from: Spirit of 94 on October 17, 2008, 09:03:30 AM

Nuff said. 

You see that's where you're wrong. In any walk of life, you just can't go around insulting people and expect it to go unchallenged.

You see thats where you are wrong.  I didnt inuslt anybody.  I merely brought up something from your club's (not too distant) past that you didn't like mentioned.  I'd like you to point out the where the insult was in my comment.  You cant go round doing things like that and then take offence when somebody brings it up... ;)  Dry your eyes!!!!!!!! :o
Post by: the green man on October 17, 2008, 11:55:27 AM
Someone should tell you mountain men

Here perhaps
Post by: Spirit of 94 on October 17, 2008, 12:15:52 PM
Wrong again Franko, you're making quite a habit of this ;D ;D
Post by: SidelineKick on October 17, 2008, 12:19:04 PM
Can any of the Slaughtneil men (or weeemen) inform of whether or not clubs still to play you in the league will get the points....
Post by: Spirit of 94 on October 17, 2008, 12:28:56 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on October 17, 2008, 12:19:04 PM
Can any of the Slaughtneil men (or weeemen) inform of whether or not clubs still to play you in the league will get the points....

You have to fight us for them ;D ;D ;D
Post by: SidelineKick on October 17, 2008, 12:36:08 PM
On the pitch or in the crowd???  :o

Unfortunately we have played you twice this year so no handy end-of-season points for us!
Post by: billy the kid on October 17, 2008, 12:39:41 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on October 17, 2008, 12:36:08 PM

Unfortunately we have played you twice this year so no handy end-of-season points for us!

:D :D :D
Post by: Spirit of 94 on October 17, 2008, 12:54:14 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on October 17, 2008, 12:36:08 PM

Can't really see anyone getting handy points, it wouldn't be fair to the teams who have already played us. But then again CB don't do fair.  Come to think of it, it'll depend if the teams needing the points have any prominent CB members. ;)
Post by: Franko on October 17, 2008, 03:36:06 PM
Quote from: Spirit of 94 on October 17, 2008, 12:15:52 PM

In what sense...?  Or would someone just be avoiding the issue...??? ;)

Nice to see I ruffled a few feathers anyway ;D
Post by: Spirit of 94 on October 17, 2008, 04:09:59 PM
Quote from: Franko on October 17, 2008, 03:36:06 PM

Not ruffled in the slightest.  Takes more than a dimwit like you trying to stir things up.
Post by: Franko on October 17, 2008, 04:28:01 PM
Quote from: Spirit of 94 on October 17, 2008, 04:09:59 PM

Not ruffled in the slightest.  Takes more than a dimwit like you trying to stir things up.

Nice to see you dodged the question again but anyway - I'll take it from the insult that I've got a raise!  ;)

Good luck with the appeals lads... I am totally in agreement that some of the bans were way OTT.

Though I dont think sending a posse to the barracks in maghera will save you this time....! ;D ;D ;D :o :o
Post by: Spirit of 94 on October 17, 2008, 04:44:28 PM
Quote from: Franko on October 17, 2008, 04:28:01 PM

Nice to see you dodged the question again but anyway - I'll take it from the insult that I've got a raise!  ;)

Good luck with the appeals lads... I am totally in agreement that some of the bans were way OTT.

Though I dont think sending a posse to the barracks in maghera will save you this time....! ;D ;D ;D :o :o

What exactly is your question?  All I'm seeing is blah,blah,blah.

What has Maghera barracks go to do with this thread?

Is it an insult if it's true??? ;D ;D ;D
Post by: The GAA on October 20, 2008, 01:30:12 PM

Adrian McGuckin had a fair go at the derry county board on radio ulster after the at galls game yesterday. he was at the game and was mystified with the charges and suspensions. intimated that the water squirting of the county chairman was behind it all.
Post by: tbrick18 on October 20, 2008, 02:03:35 PM
Quote from: Spirit of 94 on October 16, 2008, 08:53:53 AM

For CLUBMATE substitute FATHER, and yes, any DECENT son would go to help.  From my earlier posts you'll see that I have stated that individual bans were merited.  These actions cannot be condoned but they are understandable.

With regard to troublesome clubs, how did youse fare out a couple of years ago after the fight at half -time with Glen in Magherafelt?????? 

Let him without sin.....

If you are referring to the Larkin Cup final.....11 OR 12 YEARS AGO....then I can tell you both clubs were not permitted to play any home games for the entire season. There were also player suspensions and club fines which I cant remember the details off. Considering no players left the field and no officials were assaulted or photographers harrassed and this was the LARKIN CUP with about 25 spectators, you could argue that the punishment was too great. But, we were big enough to take the sanctions handed down and didnt go crying around the country about how hard done by we were.
You're going to have to dig a bit deeper into the past to see if you can find someone getting off lighter than you boys so that you can claim to be hard done by.
The old saying applies here, "if you cant do the time, dont do the crime".
Dry your eyes.
Post by: orangeman on October 20, 2008, 02:04:49 PM
Quote from: The GAA on October 20, 2008, 01:30:12 PM

Adrian McGuckin had a fair go at the derry county board on radio ulster after the at galls game yesterday. he was at the game and was mystified with the charges and suspensions. intimated that the water squirting of the county chairman was behind it all.
[/b]

Probably was.
Post by: Doire abú on October 20, 2008, 02:18:45 PM
Did I read right some man was slagging of the Larkin Cup?!
Post by: tbrick18 on October 20, 2008, 02:42:22 PM
Quote from: Doire abú on October 20, 2008, 02:18:45 PM
Did I read right some man was slagging of the Larkin Cup?!

:o

Not slagging off as such....just making a point that in comparison to the Championship it's not as big a competition.

Post by: Spirit of 94 on October 20, 2008, 02:50:54 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on October 20, 2008, 02:03:35 PM

Let him without sin.....

If you are referring to the Larkin Cup final.....11 OR 12 YEARS AGO....then I can tell you both clubs were not permitted to play any home games for the entire season. There were also player suspensions and club fines which I cant remember the details off. Considering no players left the field and no officials were assaulted or photographers harrassed and this was the LARKIN CUP with about 25 spectators, you could argue that the punishment was too great. But, we were big enough to take the sanctions handed down and didnt go crying around the country about how hard done by we were.
You're going to have to dig a bit deeper into the past to see if you can find someone getting off lighter than you boys so that you can claim to be hard done by.
Dry your eyes.

No,  I wasn't referring to the Larkin Cup Final 11 or 12 years ago. Since when was it played in Magherfelt? 

Jaysus, were youse fighting back then as well.  Looks like youse have a bit of a track record. Rows in the Larkin Cup and with Glen at Magherafelt and then there's the assault of the referee at (after) the hurling matches.  Youse can certainly do the crime alright!!
Post by: tbrick18 on October 20, 2008, 03:29:27 PM
Quote from: Spirit of 94 on October 20, 2008, 02:50:54 PM

Let him without sin.....

Dry your eyes.

No,  I wasn't referring to the Larkin Cup Final 11 or 12 years ago. Since when was it played in Magherfelt? 

Jaysus, were youse fighting back then as well.  Looks like youse have a bit of a track record. Rows in the Larkin Cup and with Glen at Magherafelt and then there's the assault of the referee at (after) the hurling matches.  Youse can certainly do the crime alright!!

Well the game in Magherafelt is the only one I know anything about. Dont know anything about any recent Larkin Cup indescretions as I am no longer involved with any of the teams.
And as for the hurling match...that was a minor(or maybe even U-16) match. I'm not privvy to the specifics of it but I know some of the players got a lifetime ban and there was a mentor who also got a lengthy ban but I dont know how long for. I think the club had a fine too. Now if you want to start bringing up things that have happened in underage hurling and football matches  or matches in years gone by your club might well get painted in an even worse light.
To compare any of these incidents you have mentioned with what went on in a senior county football final where players attacked spectators, photographers and the chairman of the county board is a bit rich.
On top of that, we took the punishments given to us and there was no...poor us, everyone hates us, or we didnt deserve that mentality. Those involved were punished for wrong doing, rightly so. The club was fined for the acts of those individuals, also rightly so as they represented the club.
As you have rightly pointed out....we have done the crime....but we've also taken our punishment like men and didn't cry like a bunch of auld women who were told they're not allowed to go the bingo any more.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on October 20, 2008, 03:36:54 PM
did ye eamail all the clubs in derry looking for a shoulder to cry on ;)
Post by: Derry Daisy on October 20, 2008, 03:42:25 PM
Quote from: Maximus Marillius on October 20, 2008, 03:36:54 PM

I've asked this question and have been told that its lies, but just out of curiosity if it had been true max and you were asked to respond on behalf of Bellaghy, would you have supported us, and I'm only talking about the 6 month ban on all the senior players in the club.
Post by: billy the kid on October 20, 2008, 03:44:11 PM
It was an U16 championship final and the player involved from our club was suspended for a year by the county board and our club banned him for life.  His father was the supporter involved and he was also banned for life by our club. The players older brother was also involved although he was just slabbering and being a tit and also received a lifetime ban from our club.

Their was a mentor involved who shoved the ref and made a go for him (but failed) after the ref clocked him one by mistake in retaliation for the slap the players father had given him. Cant remember what the county board gave him but again our club banned him for life.

The team (who had won the game by 15 points) were kicked out of the championship and the Club got a hefty fine.

PS the father and son duo involved were both from Bellaghy, and the older brother also managed to cost screen the minor championship a couple of years ago when he started a row at half time of the final.  Lavey refused to take the field for the second half to get the match abandoned with screen winning by 14 points.

Our club is much better of without them and everyone in the club supported the hardline taken with this unacceptabl behaviour.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on October 20, 2008, 03:48:03 PM
Quote from: Derry Daisy on October 20, 2008, 03:42:25 PM
Quote from: Maximus Marillius on October 20, 2008, 03:36:54 PM

I've asked this question and have been told that its lies, but just out of curiosity if it had been true max and you were asked to respond on behalf of Bellaghy, would you have supported us, and I'm only talking about the 6 month ban on all the senior players in the club.

Daisy I would have supported ye

and especially if you had of asked me Daisy :-* :-*
Post by: Derry Daisy on October 20, 2008, 03:50:40 PM
Cheers max, something tells me tbrick18 would find it a little harder to do!!!
Post by: tbrick18 on October 20, 2008, 04:01:25 PM
Quote from: Derry Daisy on October 20, 2008, 03:50:40 PM
Cheers max, something tells me tbrick18 would find it a little harder to do!!!

It's got nothing to do with finding it hard to do, I just beleive that when it comes to this kind of behaviour the hard line is the only way to treat it. As Billy has outlined previously, it seems the hard line approach is working for our club, so why not for county too?
As for the story about contacting clubs for support is lies...I dont know one way or another. All I will say is that people from 2 separate clubs told me the same story about all clubs barring 2 (you wouldnt have had the opportunity to support them Max) being contacted by email for support with the matter.  It may well be that the 2 seperate people who told me the story were telling fibs....or it may be that someone is telling you fibs....either way doesnt really matter when it comes to the facts of what actually happened on the day.
Post by: Derry Daisy on October 20, 2008, 04:07:25 PM
tbrick18 if I approached you on behalf of slaughtneil and asked you to support our club in trying to get the 40 players 6 month suspension dropped would you support us?
Post by: Spirit of 94 on October 20, 2008, 04:24:05 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on October 20, 2008, 03:29:27 PM

Let him without sin.....

Dry your eyes.

Well the game in Magherafelt is the only one I know anything about. Dont know anything about any recent Larkin Cup indescretions as I am no longer involved with any of the teams.
And as for the hurling match...that was a minor(or maybe even U-16) match. I'm not privvy to the specifics of it but I know some of the players got a lifetime ban and there was a mentor who also got a lengthy ban but I dont know how long for. I think the club had a fine too. Now if you want to start bringing up things that have happened in underage hurling and football matches  or matches in years gone by your club might well get painted in an even worse light.
To compare any of these incidents you have mentioned with what went on in a senior county football final where players attacked spectators, photographers and the chairman of the county board is a bit rich.
On top of that, we took the punishments given to us and there was no...poor us, everyone hates us, or we didnt deserve that mentality. Those involved were punished for wrong doing, rightly so. The club was fined for the acts of those individuals, also rightly so as they represented the club.
As you have rightly pointed out....we have done the crime....but we've also taken our punishment like men and didn't cry like a bunch of auld women who were told they're not allowed to go the bingo any more.

So.......let him without sin.

Bt the way you've yet to address the issue of the fight at the match I've referred to. Could it be that there were no sactions in this instance? God forbid!!  And if not, why not?

So you took your punishments then, no appeals?
Post by: tbrick18 on October 20, 2008, 04:26:57 PM
Quote from: Derry Daisy on October 20, 2008, 04:07:25 PM
tbrick18 if I approached you on behalf of slaughtneil and asked you to support our club in trying to get the 40 players 6 month suspension dropped would you support us?

To start, I am no longer part of our club, I've lived away from the heartland for about 12 years now so my answer is hypothetical.
It's been well documented on here what I think of the bans and suspensions. I think the punishments must be stern enough (at club and county level) to ensure there will never be a repetition of what happened that day, so my answer is no I personally would not support you on that matter. But if you were to approach the club themselves they may well have a different view.
Post by: tbrick18 on October 20, 2008, 04:36:33 PM
Quote from: Spirit of 94 on October 20, 2008, 04:24:05 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on October 20, 2008, 03:29:27 PM

Let him without sin.....

Dry your eyes.

So.......let him without sin. What is your point? Name me one club that have never had a player suspended? If the criteria for passing comment on what punishment someone or some club should get is that your club must never have had a player suspended or been fined then we would have no-one left to pass comment.

Bt the way you've yet to address the issue of the fight at the match I've referred to. Could it be that there were no sactions in this instance? God forbid!!  And if not, why not? I honestly dont know....if I did I would say. I dont even know what the incident is. What I will say, is that if any of our players are involved in anything the club would deal with it harshly in the first instance (as in lifetime bans for Under 16s). Has your club given any of those involved in attacking spectators or a county board official a life time ban? And if not why not? Could it be that you have no respect for the rules and think this was acceptable behaviour?
So you took your punishments then, no appeals? Not to the best of my knowledge...it certainly wasnt dragged through the papers and we certainly didnt contact other clubs for support.
Post by: Estimator on October 20, 2008, 05:42:38 PM
Spirit, The only matches that I can remember which Screen have played Glen in M'felt, were in the Championship, it must have been 3years ago now.  Screen scored with the last kick of the game to get a replay and in the replay Screen beat Glen by a couple of points.  In the replay 3men were sent off.  Hasson and our Keeper were sent off, in separate incidents, although a Glen player was very lucky he didn't get sent off in the incident with the keeper.  In the second half a Glen player was sent off.  All straight red cards all deserved to go.  But neither in the drawn game or the replay was there a half time fist fight.  Maybe this isn't the same game that you are referring to, but its the only time in recent memory that the two have met in M'felt.
Post by: Franko on October 20, 2008, 09:21:00 PM
Quote from: Spirit of 94 on October 17, 2008, 04:44:28 PM

a. The question is the sentence which immediately precedes the question mark.

b. The connection between maghera barracks and this thread is Slaughtneil club

c.  :o :o... is somebody cross!!!

I was just havin a bit of banter earlier... lighten up man... dont get the knickers in a knot! ;)
Post by: Spirit of 94 on October 21, 2008, 08:07:46 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on October 20, 2008, 04:36:33 PM
[

So.......let him without sin. What is your point? Name me one club that have never had a player suspended? If the criteria for passing comment on what punishment someone or some club should get is that your club must never have had a player suspended or been fined then we would have no-one left to pass comment.

Bt the way you've yet to address the issue of the fight at the match I've referred to. Could it be that there were no sactions in this instance? God forbid!!  And if not, why not? I honestly dont know....if I did I would say. I dont even know what the incident is. What I will say, is that if any of our players are involved in anything the club would deal with it harshly in the first instance (as in lifetime bans for Under 16s). Has your club given any of those involved in attacking spectators or a county board official a life time ban? And if not why not? Could it be that you have no respect for the rules and think this was acceptable behaviour?
So you took your punishments then, no appeals? Not to the best of my knowledge...it certainly wasnt dragged through the papers and we certainly didnt contact other clubs for support.[/quote]

Conveniently ignorant!!

Great supporter you are. A hint, the match was only a couple of years ago. Ask Estimator, he remembers it, well some of it anyway.
Post by: Spirit of 94 on October 21, 2008, 08:19:27 AM
Quote from: Franko on October 20, 2008, 09:21:00 PM

I was just havin a bit of banter earlier... lighten up man... dont get the knickers in a knot! ;)

Looks like you're dogdin the issue now. Have the guts to start what you finish. Your attempt to lighten matters now doesn't disguise your original intent.
Post by: tbrick18 on October 21, 2008, 09:57:33 AM
Quote from: Spirit of 94 on October 21, 2008, 08:07:46 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on October 20, 2008, 04:36:33 PM
[

So you took your punishments then, no appeals? Not to the best of my knowledge...it certainly wasnt dragged through the papers and we certainly didnt contact other clubs for support.

Conveniently ignorant!!

Great supporter you are. A hint, the match was only a couple of years ago. Ask Estimator, he remembers it, well some of it anyway.

OK I'm conveniently ignorant because I dont know of every incident that has happened with our club. If the "fight" as you call it was such a big deal I would know about it and it seems not too many other posters know what you're on about either.  Estimator has talked about a championship game....is that what you're on about? If so, then your original "facts" were wrong and it shows you are just trying to blacken the name of another club to take attention of the disgraceful behaviour of your own. I have tried to answer all your points best I can, but I'm not going to make something up.
Are you going to answer my question about lifetime bans? Or ar you going to conveniently ignore that? It seems you keep dodging all the difficult questions about your club. Our club have shown that they will not stand for any player or mentor at any level attacking a member of auhority so I'll ask it again in small words so that you understand...

Are Slaughtneil club going to issue lifetime bans to any of the players involved in fighting with spectators and assaulting a county board official?
Post by: billy the kid on October 21, 2008, 01:02:49 PM
Quote from: Estimator on October 20, 2008, 05:42:38 PM
Spirit, The only matches that I can remember which Screen have played Glen in M'felt, were in the Championship, it must have been 3years ago now.  Screen scored with the last kick of the game to get a replay and in the replay Screen beat Glen by a couple of points.  In the replay 3men were sent off.  Hasson and our Keeper were sent off, in separate incidents, although a Glen player was very lucky he didn't get sent off in the incident with the keeper.  In the second half a Glen player was sent off.  All straight red cards all deserved to go.  But neither in the drawn game or the replay was there a half time fist fight.  Maybe this isn't the same game that you are referring to, but its the only time in recent memory that the two have met in M'felt.

Thank you Estimator. I was trying to think what he was on about as I was at both those games and there was def no fighting. we got 2 reds and they got 1 (all in seperate incidents) but Spirit of 94s imaginary fight scene simply does not exist.  A blatant lie trying to divert attention from his own clubs plight. 

Tbrick18 - Notice the silence from spirit.
Post by: Franko on October 21, 2008, 01:26:07 PM
Quote from: Spirit of 94 on October 21, 2008, 08:19:27 AM
Quote from: Franko on October 20, 2008, 09:21:00 PM

Looks like you're dogdin the issue now. Have the guts to start what you finish. Your attempt to lighten matters now doesn't disguise your original intent.

Fair enough - I was only givin a bit of stick earlier but you seem to really want me to say it.

Are you going to cut another deal with those in charge like you did with the ruc after you won the great 'double double' some years ago to save your hides this time?

Jesus man you dont stop do you.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on October 21, 2008, 01:32:33 PM

Quote from: Franko on October 21, 2008, 01:26:07 PM

Fair enough - I was only givin a bit of stick earlier but you seem to really want me to say it.

Are you going to cut another deal with those in charge like you did with the ruc after you won the great 'double double' some years ago to save your hides this time?

Franko finally cuts to the chase....I was wondering when he would say it!
Post by: full back on October 21, 2008, 01:38:59 PM
What deal was cut?
Is this public knowledge or is it hush hush?
Post by: Franko on October 21, 2008, 01:41:20 PM
Quote from: Maximus Marillius on October 21, 2008, 01:32:33 PM

Quote from: Franko on October 21, 2008, 01:26:07 PM

Franko finally cuts to the chase....I was wondering when he would say it!

I thried my best to keep it light hearted - but that man was like a dog with a bone! :) ???  You'd think he wanted everyone to know about their dodgy climbdowns!
Post by: Franko on October 21, 2008, 01:47:34 PM
Quote from: full back on October 21, 2008, 01:38:59 PM
What deal was cut?

Very much hush hush... I'll maybe let spirit fill everyone in on the particulars because I think I've said enough..!!  :D ;)
Post by: tbrick18 on October 21, 2008, 01:59:09 PM
Quote from: Franko on October 21, 2008, 01:47:34 PM
What deal was cut?

Very much hush hush... I'll maybe let spirit fill everyone in on the particulars because I think I've said enough..!!  :D ;)

No chance.....being the "great supporter" that he is he couldnt possibly admit his club have ever done anything wrong.

Quote from: billy the kid on October 21, 2008, 01:02:49 PM

Thank you Estimator. I was trying to think what he was on about as I was at both those games and there was def no fighting. we got 2 reds and they got 1 (all in seperate incidents) but Spirit of 94s imaginary fight scene simply does not exist.  A blatant lie trying to divert attention from his own clubs plight. 

Silence speaks volumes in this case!
Post by: billy the kid on October 21, 2008, 03:23:11 PM
What deal was cut?

Part of the deal was that all the Slaughtneil lads had to do community service at the county chairman Seamus McCloys house to off set some of the reductions in the suspensions - thats why there are no Slaughtneil posters about today.  ;) ;)

The twins are testing his security fencing for him to see if it can be broken through.

Danny Mc Mullan and Raymond Mc Closkey are advising photographers from Hello magazine where the safest place to take photos is to avoid attack by local wild life

Martin Mc Eldowney is watering the plants

Mickey Rogers is away next door to ask for his ball back.

;D ;D
Post by: Spirit of 94 on October 21, 2008, 03:28:42 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on October 21, 2008, 01:59:09 PM
What deal was cut?

No chance.....being the "great supporter" that he is he couldnt possibly admit his club have ever done anything wrong.

No silence, just waiting to draw youse all out to see how many of youse there are.  Franko,Tbrick,Estimator,Billy the Kid......all 'Screen men, now we're getting somewhere.  What is your problem with our club? You just can't hide you bias, can youse lads.  Now there's nothing wrong with passing comment on any particular topic, even an odd wind-up adds to the craic, but your posts/ themes are, for the most part, anti our club. Your attempts to disguise this bias as a bit of craic are easily seen through.

I am confident that 'Screen, like any other club, has enough problems of their own to contend with, what with on-pitch fighting (yes it did happen, no lie) and beating up referees.
Post by: tbrick18 on October 21, 2008, 03:45:29 PM
Quote from: Spirit of 94 on October 21, 2008, 03:28:42 PM
What deal was cut?

No silence, just waiting to draw youse all out to see how many of youse there are.  Franko,Tbrick,Estimator,Billy the Kid......all 'Screen men, now we're getting somewhere.  What is your problem with our club? You just can't hide you bias, can youse lads.  Now there's nothing wrong with passing comment on any particular topic, even an odd wind-up adds to the craic, but your posts/ themes are, for the most part, anti our club. Your attempts to disguise this bias as a bit of craic are easily seen through.

I am confident that 'Screen, like any other club, has enough problems of their own to contend with, what with on-pitch fighting (yes it did happen, no lie) and beating up referees.

No problem with your club...just with you. If you go back through the posts most of the other lads thought your club were harshly treated, apart from me. So you went on the attack on our club and started bringing up fights that weren't and now "beating up referees" while at the same time avoiding direct questions about your club. Talk about a spin merchant.

If anyone has a bias it is you.

I have said it before and I will say it again....I would hope any and all clubs/players would be treated as harshly as yous were by the DCB given the circumstances, including my own club. Where is the bias in that?

Once again, I'll ask you....will Slaughtneil club give lifetime bans to players who attacked spectators and a senior county board official?

Post by: Spirit of 94 on October 21, 2008, 04:20:43 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on October 21, 2008, 03:45:29 PM
What deal was cut?

No problem with your club...just with you. If you go back through the posts most of the other lads thought your club were harshly treated, apart from me. So you went on the attack on our club and started bringing up fights that weren't and now "beating up referees" while at the same time avoiding direct questions about your club. Talk about a spin merchant.

I have said it before and I will say it again....I would hope any and all clubs/players would be treated as harshly as yous were by the DCB given the circumstances, including my own club. Where is the bias in that?

Once again, I'll ask you....will Slaughtneil club give lifetime bans to players who attacked spectators and a senior county board official?

You've a problem with me, fair enough, your perogative, except your posts don't indicate that. As I've stated, they display an, as yet unexplained, aversity to our club. Everything I have stated on this thread is FACT, no gossip or innuendo!!  Can you say the same?

To answer your question, the incidents at the county final WERE dealt with internally by our club in the immediate aftermath. Lengthy bans were handed out to all those concerned, but DCB still saw fit to administer a blanket ban on ALL senior footballlers.  

Now I ask you, taking the above into consideration, do you think it is fair to ban for 6 months, a player who displayed admirable restraint when spat upon or players who were in the changing rooms when the incidents occurred? Consider also that the mentor who spat on our player had his ban reduced.      

I await your unbiased reply.
Post by: billy the kid on October 21, 2008, 05:08:32 PM
Quote from: Spirit of 94 on October 21, 2008, 04:20:43 PM
What deal was cut?

You've a problem with me, fair enough, your perogative, except your posts don't indicate that. As I've stated, they display an, as yet unexplained, aversity to our club. Everything I have stated on this thread is FACT, no gossip or innuendo!!  Can you say the same?

To answer your question, the incidents at the county final WERE dealt with internally by our club in the immediate aftermath. Lengthy bans were handed out to all those concerned, but DCB still saw fit to administer a blanket ban on ALL senior footballlers.  

Now I ask you, taking the above into consideration, do you think it is fair to ban for 6 months, a player who displayed admirable restraint when spat upon or players who were in the changing rooms when the incidents occurred? Consider also that the mentor who spat on our player had his ban reduced.      

What about the imaginary fight our club are supposed to have had with Glen that nobody else who was at the game or played in the game saw?

I have stated many times on this board that the suspensions handed out to the entire senior, reserve and u21 panels are a joke and shouldnt stand but the rest of the punishments were fair enough. Most of the rest of the posters on here feel the same but trying to justify what happened by looking for a precedent that simply doesnt exist and making up lies about other clubs and failing to admit that your clubmates deserve what they got isnt winning you any friends or support. 

Your club dont deserve the blanket ban on all players but everything else is fair enough and I actually think that all the reductions (for yous and that Tyrone sc**bag) are a joke and should never have happened.

Hows the lads getting on with the community service. ???
Post by: tbrick18 on October 21, 2008, 05:15:23 PM
Quote from: Spirit of 94 on October 21, 2008, 04:20:43 PM
What deal was cut?

It's like being on a roundabout....round and round.
I've already said that I think that all of these incidents regardless of club (including my own club and yours) or county IMO should be dealt with so harshly that they will never repeat offend.
For the last time.....I agree with the suspensions and fines handed out for both clubs and if they were twice as severe I would still agree.
You feel hard done by, thats up to you.....I suppose it's hard to be objective when you are so closely placed to it....but I feel everyone got what they deserved.
As for your "FACTS" about our club...well you say fact, myself and one our two others on here say otherwise and that is my problem with you, nothing else. I have no dislike for your club any more than that of any other rival club, I have friends there as it happens.

So give it a rest....I'm never going to agree with you and I have stated clearly my feelings on it. The facts were there for all to see on TV and there is no getting away from that.

End Of.

Post by: Franko on October 21, 2008, 06:01:11 PM
What deal was cut?

Sniff sniff sniff :'( :'(

Dry up.  You bit like a prize trout when I tried a bit of a wind up. If you had read any of my posts on the matter you would see what my opinions are.

I dont hate slaughtneil - although you are making it dam hard for me right now...

and i'm not from screen either...

Post by: Billy Magoo on October 22, 2008, 12:27:42 AM
QuoteThe facts were there for all to see on TV and there is no getting away from that.

Really, i'd like to see that, cause i haven't seen any video evidence that shows ny of the suspended people do anything.
Post by: Spirit of 94 on October 22, 2008, 09:34:22 AM
Billy The Kid
How have I tried to justify what happened?  From the outset I have stated that individual bans were required.  My problem is that DCB have punished the entire club for the actions of the minority, that's the precedent here. Still it's good to see that you agree with me on that one. As for your continued denials of fighting at that match, you're just making yourself look silly. ;D ;D

Tbrick
One question, were you at the match?  If you're basing your argument on what you have seen on TV then I'm afraid you're on a loser. As with BTK your continued denials of fighting just make you look silly. I'm not having a dig at your club, just pointing out that DCB turned a blind eye to that incident (and many others), yet imposed ludicrous sanctions on my club. You're right, we'll never agree, because even when I have answered your question, and stated the FACTS, you can't bring yourself to admit the obvious. 

I've had a look through your recent posts.  Do any of the snippets below sound familiar.

"cut another deal"
"dodgy climbdowns"
"mountain men"
"Our friends from the mountain have always had a problem with being told what to do."

As I have previously stated, and this applies to BTK and TB as well, claims of being on the wind-up don't hold water.  This is just a cowardly way for you to try to distance yourself from your mud-slinging, gossiping and innuendo.

As for not being from 'Screen, have you ever thought of moving there? ;D ;D
Post by: wherefromreferee? on October 22, 2008, 09:38:00 AM
Anybody else think that TBrick, Billy The Kid, Franko and Spirit should just get over it??
Post by: Maximus Marillius on October 22, 2008, 10:02:05 AM
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on October 22, 2008, 09:38:00 AM
Anybody else think that TBrick, Billy The Kid, Franko and Spirit should just get over it??

100%
Post by: tbrick18 on October 22, 2008, 10:07:21 AM
I've already said "End of" at the end of my last post.
I have no intention of responding further to this id....individual...on this topic.
Post by: Franko on October 22, 2008, 11:05:26 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on October 22, 2008, 10:07:21 AM
I've already said "End of" at the end of my last post.
I have no intention of responding further to this id....individual...on this topic.

What he said :)
Post by: Spirit of 94 on October 22, 2008, 11:21:18 AM
Yeah WFR you're right.  I'm happy enough to leave it now that I've successfully challeneged their insults, gossip, innuendo and lies.  You didn't really expect it to go unchallenged did youse boys?  So I'm prepared to let it drop for now, or forever, if this type of posting ceases.  I only come on here for the latest news and a bit of craic, not to be insulted.
Post by: billy the kid on October 22, 2008, 11:45:31 AM
Quote from: Spirit of 94 on October 22, 2008, 11:21:18 AM
Yeah WFR you're right.  I'm happy enough to leave it now that I've successfully challeneged their insults, gossip, innuendo and lies.   You didn't really expect it to go unchallenged did youse boys?  So I'm prepared to let it drop for now, or forever, if this type of posting ceases.  I only come on here for the latest news and a bit of craic, not to be insulted.

Would your imaginary fight at the screen Glen game not count as a lie considering nobody else who was at the match or played in it happened to see it? My club has been involved in a few rows but not at the game your talking about.

The only thing you have been successful at is making yourself look like a tool making up lies about other clubs and trying to defend outrageous behaviour from some of your clubmates.

I have stated all along that the blanket ban was wrong but the individual bans were fair enough so get over it.  I have no problem with your club, as you have suggested, I do however have a problem with the way some of them behaved in the county final, and I would condem and call for lengthy bans for that type of disgraceful no matter what club it was.

I know many very decent people from Slaughtneil and have some friends there but you are definately not one of them.

This is my last post on this subject as it is going round in circles and you are obviously not capable of admitting that your clubmates were in the wrong without taking a childish "but its not our fault and they did it too" stance.

WFR is right lets all move on and this is now old news. 
Post by: orangeman on October 22, 2008, 12:49:01 PM
Quote from: billy the kid on October 22, 2008, 11:45:31 AM
Yeah WFR you're right.  I'm happy enough to leave it now that I've successfully challeneged their insults, gossip, innuendo and lies.   You didn't really expect it to go unchallenged did youse boys?  So I'm prepared to let it drop for now, or forever, if this type of posting ceases.  I only come on here for the latest news and a bit of craic, not to be insulted.

Would your imaginary fight at the screen Glen game not count as a lie considering nobody else who was at the match or played in it happened to see it? My club has been involved in a few rows but not at the game your talking about.

The only thing you have been successful at is making yourself look like a tool making up lies about other clubs and trying to defend outrageous behaviour from some of your clubmates.

I have stated all along that the blanket ban was wrong but the individual bans were fair enough so get over it.  I have no problem with your club, as you have suggested, I do however have a problem with the way some of them behaved in the county final, and I would condem and call for lengthy bans for that type of disgraceful no matter what club it was.

I know many very decent people from Slaughtneil and have some friends there but you are definately not one of them.

This is my last post on this subject as it is going round in circles and you are obviously not capable of admitting that your clubmates were in the wrong without taking a childish "but its not our fault and they did it too" stance.

;) :D :D
Post by: Spirit of 94 on October 22, 2008, 01:05:25 PM
Quote from: billy the kid on October 22, 2008, 11:45:31 AM

Look, I've already said I'll let this lie, IF the insults stop.  These won't go unchallenged and the only purpose they serve is to highlight the poor quality of your arguements (rants).
Post by: Will Hunting on October 31, 2008, 12:05:49 PM
It's not just the Derry County Board that come down heavy on mischievous activities:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/entertainment/7700816.stm

Personally I think the ban is too much, but if you're gonna get a 72-week suspension for head-butting then i suppose 12 weeks seems fair.
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on October 31, 2008, 02:37:43 PM
Quote from: Will Hunting on October 31, 2008, 12:05:49 PM
It's not just the Derry County Board that come down heavy on mischievous activities:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/entertainment/7700816.stm

Personally I think the ban is too much, but if you're gonna get a 72-week suspension for head-butting then i suppose 12 weeks seems fair.

Jonathan was with Fergal Logan this morning. He thinks they have them on a technicality but feels at least that the Ulster Council will cut it to four weeks from the date of the offence.

Brand should get his lengthened!