Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: fred the red on September 29, 2008, 07:24:23 PM

Title: Post a picture of one of your heroes
Post by: fred the red on September 29, 2008, 07:24:23 PM
(http://fishingfever.org/images/Steve-Irwin.jpg)
Title: Re: Post a picture of one of your heroes
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 29, 2008, 07:30:17 PM
My uncle was a Senior intercounty hurler for Laois back in the '80s and I idolised him as a kid,but I'm obviously not going to post a pic of him so I'll go for my other hero.................John "Aldo" Aldridge

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/liverpool-fc-autographed-memorabili.jpg)
Post by: ziggysego on September 29, 2008, 07:31:49 PM
(http://splinteredsunrise.files.wordpress.com/2007/11/orangeman.jpg)
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 29, 2008, 07:40:49 PM
(http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:nrIXJtwN2S2NtM:http://jhh.blogs.com/photos/uncategorized/2008/03/25/robert_kennedy.jpg)
Post by: corn02 on September 29, 2008, 07:42:56 PM
Fairly easy choice for me.
Post by: Orior on September 29, 2008, 07:43:40 PM
Mighty Mouse. Here he comes to save the day!

(http://www.affordablehousinginstitute.org/blogs/us/Mighty_mouse_small.jpg)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 29, 2008, 08:32:56 PM
Quote from: corn02 on September 29, 2008, 07:42:56 PM
Fairly easy choice for me.

Would be another of mine but Aldridge is #1
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 29, 2008, 08:34:59 PM
See my avatar
Post by: ONeill on September 29, 2008, 08:36:25 PM
(http://www.tiscali.co.uk/media/images/galleries/lifestyle/best_celebrities/medium/chris_eubank.jpg)
Post by: screenmachine on September 29, 2008, 09:02:46 PM
(http://img337.imageshack.us/img337/4495/larsson1uz7.jpg)
Post by: thejuice on September 29, 2008, 09:16:02 PM
While I wouldnt use the term hero for anyone, but definately an inspriation and a great admirer of his work

(http://www.smh.com.au/ffximage/2007/09/14/joe_strummer_narrowweb__300x380,0.jpg)

Joe Strummer 1952-2002
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on September 29, 2008, 09:39:43 PM
(http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:CaY9TnxAiizDhM:http://i163.photobucket.com/albums/t305/kfsaxewarrior/11661.jpg)
Post by: Minder on September 29, 2008, 10:06:20 PM
(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/1/14/Alex_Ferguson.jpg)
Post by: gerry on September 29, 2008, 10:35:04 PM
could you noy get a bigger picture minder. :D :D
Post by: Maguire01 on September 29, 2008, 10:55:38 PM
Quote from: thejuice on September 29, 2008, 09:16:02 PM
While I wouldnt use the term hero for anyone, but definately an inspriation and a great admirer of his work

(http://www.smh.com.au/ffximage/2007/09/14/joe_strummer_narrowweb__300x380,0.jpg)

Joe Strummer 1952-2002

Joe looks more like The Boss in that one.
Post by: dodgy umpire on September 29, 2008, 10:59:48 PM
(//)
Post by: J70 on September 30, 2008, 04:20:25 AM
(http://www.darwin.ie/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2008/02/darwin.jpg)

(http://news-service.stanford.edu/news/2006/january11/gifs/mlk.jpg)

(http://digilander.libero.it/Bologna16/indian-faces/sitting-bull-hunkpapa-sioux.jpg)
Post by: J70 on September 30, 2008, 04:21:27 AM
Quote from: AFS on September 30, 2008, 04:19:53 AM
(http://www.eb23-monte-caparica.rcts.pt/english/imagens/CharlesDarwin.jpg)

Good call AFS! ;)
Post by: J70 on September 30, 2008, 04:22:19 AM
One other...

(http://www.americaslibrary.gov/assets/jb/civil/jb_civil_lincoln2_1_e.jpg)
Post by: Lecale2 on September 30, 2008, 08:25:06 AM
(http://www.spartacus.schoolnet.co.uk/PRpaine.jpg)
Post by: Maguire01 on September 30, 2008, 08:31:18 AM
Would it not be a bit better if people explained why these people are their heroes? Otherwise it's just a random thread of famous people, is it not?
Post by: fred the red on September 30, 2008, 09:21:27 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on September 30, 2008, 08:31:18 AM
Would it not be a bit better if people explained why these people are their heroes? Otherwise it's just a random thread of famous people, is it not?

If you want that then start up your own thread asking people to explain why their heroes are their heroes.

Now if you dont want to post a picture of one of your heroes in this thread, run along.  :-*
Post by: Billys Boots on September 30, 2008, 09:25:32 AM
(http://trsavage.files.wordpress.com/2008/06/einstein_ar.jpg?w=300&h=225)

One of the reasons I do what I do.

(http://graphics8.nytimes.com/images/2006/03/30/books/mcgahern184.jpg)

Ireland's greatest writer.

(http://boatangdemetriou.files.wordpress.com/2007/10/cruyff.jpg?w=350&h=500)

The greatest footballer ever, for me.
Post by: Onion Bag on September 30, 2008, 09:27:19 AM
(http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:2mHTH_zF4yoXkM:http://lucasemece.files.wordpress.com/2008/06/pp0302danger-mouse-posters.jpg)
Post by: fred the red on September 30, 2008, 09:29:53 AM
(http://www.motionpicturearmourer.com/ned1.jpg)

Theres 2 in 1, Heath Ledger and Ned Kelly.
Post by: gaa.boy on September 30, 2008, 12:25:17 PM
The one and only bear!
Post by: fred the red on September 30, 2008, 12:28:09 PM
Quote from: gaa.boy on September 30, 2008, 12:25:17 PM
The one and only bear!

did that guy work in renshaws?
Post by: Candyman on September 30, 2008, 12:41:03 PM
Holy F*CK!!! Yeah he did... top barman of all time!!!
Post by: theskull1 on September 30, 2008, 12:53:07 PM
(http://tedblog.typepad.com/photos/uncategorized/dandennett_1.jpg)
Post by: Maguire01 on September 30, 2008, 01:28:37 PM
Quote from: fred the red on September 30, 2008, 09:21:27 AM

If you want that then start up your own thread asking people to explain why their heroes are their heroes.

Now if you dont want to post a picture of one of your heroes in this thread, run along.  :-*
Oh sorry Teacher...  ::)

Well it would be a waste of time and space to have another thread. I thought it might be appropriate to incorporate an explanation into this one. I didn't say you had to - it was merely a suggestion. You post as many pictures as you want.
Post by: fred the red on September 30, 2008, 01:50:09 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on September 30, 2008, 01:28:37 PM

Well it would be a waste of time and space to have another thread. I thought it might be appropriate to incorporate an explanation into this one. I didn't say you had to - it was merely a suggestion. You post as many pictures as you want.

Its a waste of space and time u posting this shite in this thread!
Post by: The GAA on September 30, 2008, 02:40:57 PM

(http://www.inpho.ie/fotoweb/FWbin/preview.dll/00298898.jpg?)
Post by: nifan on September 30, 2008, 03:04:08 PM
(http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:Xu7LHGAtLVnZlM:http://lh5.ggpht.com/_OitJNYM8G7w/R4t2u5YqXZI/AAAAAAAAAOE/CfjxpFgNeak/gregg_harry1958.jpg)
Post by: Candyman on September 30, 2008, 03:18:39 PM
(http://img392.imageshack.us/my.php?image=gadaffiay6.jpg)

The one and only..... Gadaffi!!!  :D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 30, 2008, 03:24:24 PM
Maybe its just my computer but a lot of posters heroes are little white boxes with a red x in it
Post by: nrico2006 on September 30, 2008, 04:06:23 PM
King Eric and Jean Claude Vann Damme!
Post by: Onion Bag on September 30, 2008, 04:42:08 PM
Quote from: AFS on September 30, 2008, 04:19:53 AM
(http://www.eb23-monte-caparica.rcts.pt/english/imagens/CharlesDarwin.jpg)

Santa Claus
Post by: Onion Bag on September 30, 2008, 04:44:28 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 29, 2008, 08:36:25 PM
(http://www.tiscali.co.uk/media/images/galleries/lifestyle/best_celebrities/medium/chris_eubank.jpg)

I met this nut job in Sydney last year
Post by: The Iceman on September 30, 2008, 04:48:19 PM
Quote from: Candyman on September 30, 2008, 03:18:39 PM

the man is a legend and a hero
though I don't want to grow up just like him lol
Post by: Maguire01 on September 30, 2008, 06:04:02 PM
Quote from: fred the red on September 30, 2008, 01:50:09 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on September 30, 2008, 01:28:37 PM

Its a waste of space and time u posting this shite in this thread!
Maybe, but you're the one perpetuating it!  ::)
Post by: thewingedlady on September 30, 2008, 07:06:44 PM
Still don't know how to put pics up but if I did there'd be one of Michael Jordan. Greatest sportsman ever IMHO. Head and shoulders above Gadaffi :D
Post by: Maguire01 on September 30, 2008, 07:09:32 PM
Quote from: thewingedlady on September 30, 2008, 07:06:44 PM
Still don't know how to put pics up but if I did there'd be one of Michael Jordan. Greatest sportsman ever IMHO. Head and shoulders above Gadaffi :D

(http://michael-jordan-23.com/uploads/pics/michael-jordan-allstar5.jpg)
Post by: stew on September 30, 2008, 07:49:58 PM

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Brilliant picture altogether. The man is legend.

I have more stories about Ghadaffi than any other man I ever met, just thinking about Ghadaffi cracks me up.

Paul Houlie has me in stiches every time he mentions Ghadaffi, he has the poor fecker scundered.

Come to think of it, he has another Armagh legend tortured as well, harry Longhead.

Thanks Candyman, that picture made my day. :)

Post by: Fluffy Che on September 30, 2008, 07:51:38 PM
The one and only..Joe Strummer. An inspiration for me.

Post by: Our Nail Loney on September 30, 2008, 08:04:38 PM
Dunno if I can get pictures but Don Johnson and Caveman from Lurgan and wee Mo Culbert from craigavon
Post by: The Watcher Pat on September 30, 2008, 08:45:38 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on September 30, 2008, 08:04:38 PM
Dunno if I can get pictures but Don Johnson and Caveman from Lurgan and wee Mo Culbert from craigavon

There's a skin on Bebo of that caveman boy.

Oh and Don's in the top right corner of this page.......  http://www.geocities.com/lurganliar/don.html
Post by: Minder on September 30, 2008, 10:06:26 PM
Ron Jeremy....."5, 4,3,2,1............."

(http://www.post-gazette.com/pg/images/200710/20071029ho_jeremy.1_500.jpg)
Post by: ziggysego on September 30, 2008, 10:08:58 PM
Not Chuck Norris?
Post by: Minder on September 30, 2008, 10:09:58 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 30, 2008, 10:08:58 PM
Not Chuck Norris?

Chuck is more of a friend than a hero.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 30, 2008, 10:16:05 PM
Quote from: stew on September 30, 2008, 07:49:58 PM

I have more stories about Ghadaffi than any other man I ever met, just thinking about Ghadaffi cracks me up.

Paul Houlie has me in stiches every time he mentions Ghadaffi, he has the poor fecker scundered.

Come to think of it, he has another Armagh legend tortured as well, harry Longhead.

Does that eejit drink up the shambles? I'm sure I've seen him in McKenna's.
Post by: fred the red on September 30, 2008, 10:18:09 PM
(http://bongda.24h.com.vn/forum/imagehosting/9847c8d6d38cbcd.jpg)
Post by: Minder on September 30, 2008, 10:18:58 PM
Great player Fred, shit analyst.
Post by: ziggysego on September 30, 2008, 10:23:17 PM
(http://www.gaa.irish-guy.com/img/thumbs/tn_spillane4.jpg)
Post by: fred the red on September 30, 2008, 10:29:01 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 30, 2008, 10:18:58 PM
Great player Fred, shit analyst.

true and truer
Post by: tyrone86 on September 30, 2008, 11:52:20 PM
(http://www.hbo.com/thewire/img/castcrew/character_season04/brothermouzone.jpg)
Post by: Stalin on October 01, 2008, 08:03:17 AM
Quote from: tyrone86 on September 30, 2008, 11:52:20 PM

(http://nibtempfile.ign.com/diverson2/article/840132/omar-little.jpg)
Post by: Candyman on October 02, 2008, 11:57:09 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 30, 2008, 10:16:05 PM
Quote from: stew on September 30, 2008, 07:49:58 PM

Does that eejit drink up the shambles? I'm sure I've seen him in McKenna's.

Yuo would have seen him around the Shambles but defo not drinking in McKenna's!!!
He usually goes in and starts dancing just to annoy frankie but he cant get served....  :D

Post by: Candyman on October 02, 2008, 11:58:06 AM
One of the all time greats... THE PRESIDENT OF FREE LEGAR HILL!!!  ;D
Post by: Onion Bag on October 02, 2008, 12:07:08 PM

Looks like that annoying bastard from the Halifax ads

(http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:QNgpw3CztZatPM:http://images.dailyexpress.co.uk/img/dynamic/1/285x214/41826_1.jpg)
Post by: ziggysego on October 02, 2008, 12:54:59 PM
(http://goatmilk.files.wordpress.com/2008/07/hancock-poster.jpg)
Post by: Denn Forever on October 02, 2008, 01:48:56 PM
(http://)
Hope this works?
Post by: fred the red on October 02, 2008, 01:51:07 PM
(http://temple3.files.wordpress.com/2008/06/bill_clinton_yeahihitit.jpg)
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on October 02, 2008, 04:31:24 PM
(http://i38.tinypic.com/2r3b14i.jpg)
Post by: Stalin on October 02, 2008, 05:35:09 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on October 02, 2008, 12:07:08 PM

Looks like that annoying b**tard from the Halifax ads

(http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:QNgpw3CztZatPM:http://images.dailyexpress.co.uk/img/dynamic/1/285x214/41826_1.jpg)

you wouldnt say that to his face  :-X
Post by: stpauls on October 02, 2008, 05:49:53 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on October 02, 2008, 01:48:56 PM
(http://)
Hope this works?

denn, you need to put the full web address in for the photo, eg http://www.photobucket.com/myphotos/..., not just http://
Post by: J70 on October 02, 2008, 06:42:46 PM
(http://llamabutchers.mu.nu/archives/king%20leonidas%20pretty%20pissed.jpg)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 02, 2008, 10:42:41 PM
(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/hugh-hefner-picture-1.jpg)
Title: Post a picture of one of your heroes
Post by: 5 Sams on October 02, 2008, 10:59:52 PM
(http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:kH6Pxi6H_qvOlM:http://druskillz.files.wordpress.com/2007/07/1132850000_extras_albumes_0.jpg)

(http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:YfnGmc4hlhb-VM:http://www.whoateallthepies.tv/80260131.jpg)

(http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:kEZEuBmWjb1B1M:http://www.sportcartoons.co.uk/wallpaper/ericcantona.jpg)

I used to be a United fanatic... and I idolised these 3 guys.... if I were to post  pictures of my real heroes now.... there wouldnt be enough room on the thread and they would all be footballers...not soccer players :)
Post by: fred the red on January 26, 2009, 09:57:58 PM
(http://www.antrimgaa.net/resize.asp?p=1&i=kevin-madden.jpg&w=150)

Some recovery from that heart surgery.
Post by: Zulu on January 26, 2009, 10:14:13 PM

The King.

(http://www.elvis-presley-forever.com/images/elvis-hair.jpg)
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 26, 2009, 10:15:23 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on October 02, 2008, 04:31:24 PM
(http://i38.tinypic.com/2r3b14i.jpg)

+ 1
Post by: milltown row on January 26, 2009, 10:49:33 PM
only one for me growing up

(http://www.hoganstand.com/Common/ImageGallery/teddymccarthy22.jpg)
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on January 26, 2009, 10:52:09 PM
(http://static.midomi.com/a/pop/cov200/dre700/e763/204_e76308f1y2q.jpg)
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 26, 2009, 10:54:39 PM
Many heroes but the first one would have to be this legend

Post by: downgirl on January 26, 2009, 10:57:37 PM
(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40863000/jpg/_40863106_benny_coulter_203.jpg)
Post by: rosnarun on January 26, 2009, 11:38:12 PM
(http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:vmx8Jq-dHi5y-M:http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/2/2b/Eamon_de_Valera_c_1922-30.jpg/225px-Eamon_de_Valera_c_1922-30.jpg)
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 26, 2009, 11:46:08 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 26, 2009, 11:42:22 PM
(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/44564000/jpg/_44564554_charlie_vernon_270.jpg)
;D You really are a bollox Hardstation!
Post by: Treasurer on January 26, 2009, 11:51:12 PM
(http://i494.photobucket.com/albums/rr305/treas2/kickingking.jpg)