GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Bud Wiser on November 13, 2006, 09:24:24 AM

Title: Hello new board- goodbye new board
Post by: Bud Wiser on November 13, 2006, 09:24:24 AM
The first page of threads on what is supposed to be a GAA Discussion Board as opposed to free club websites reads as follows;
Ulster Club Championships, Ulster Club SFC, Donegal Club Jurling and Football, Down Club Hurling and Football, Tyrone Club Hurling and Football,Armagh Club Hurling and Football, Antrim Hurling and Football, Derry Club..... and on and on and on.

I thought the idea of the board was for general GAA Discussion.  Fair enough, the thread Ulster Club Championships makes sense but wht have we to suffer add ons like Ulster Club SFC and on and on.  I wouldn't mind only TG4 showed the Errigal Ciaran game yesterday and it was like watching paint dry.  Quite frankly I am sick of all the nordies taking over the board.
Title: Re: Hello new board- goodbye new board
Post by: Spiritof98 on November 13, 2006, 09:33:40 AM
Your argument would hold up if all the threads you mentioned were 1 page threads but this site get huges hits from the north, most if not all will go on to be 30 pagers.
Post by: Bud Wiser on November 13, 2006, 09:37:01 AM
It gets huge hits from the north because they are using it as a club website to talk about their own rubbish that has little or no interest to any of the rest of us.  I wouldn't mind if they had anything to talk about, they have one hurling county and the footballers are has - beens.
Post by: Star Spangler on November 13, 2006, 09:40:00 AM
Would you be complaining if there were Loais threads?  I doubt it!
Title: catch yerself on
Post by: Uladh on November 13, 2006, 09:43:34 AM

have you never been on a discussion board before?

read the threads relevent to you and avoid those that aren't. over half of the threads on this board i've never opened.

If there aren't enough people with electricity interested in gaelic games from your part of the world it isn't our problem.
Post by: Bud Wiser on November 13, 2006, 09:44:19 AM
There isn't a Laois thread because unlike the nordies, we know we have nothing to talk about at county level that would neccitate taking up the whole board.
Post by: full back on November 13, 2006, 09:46:29 AM
Good stuff Bud Weiser-I assume we wont be seeing you on the board again
Post by: thewobbler on November 13, 2006, 09:50:00 AM
Bud - please tell us what we should be talking about. I can't wait to find out.

You're quite the angry little sod these days.
Post by: botman on November 13, 2006, 10:18:01 AM
The nordies are gonna get ya!!

To the bat cave......

Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 13, 2006, 02:24:09 PM
Bud, fair enough about there being a lot of northern orientated threads.  there shouldn't be Ulster championship threads, but each county should have their own thread if they want. 

Take off your blinkers and look west young man, 3 threads from Mayo alone, the club football thread, the mayo manager thread(on and on and on and on) and now the Mayo Hurling thread.  FFS MAYO HURLING!!!

Now everyone is entitled to an opinion but this is taking the piss if you follow your logic.

Post by: SlimShady on November 13, 2006, 02:30:27 PM
you dont hear BC crying and he's a Cork man!!!

:P
Post by: ziggysego on November 13, 2006, 03:05:26 PM
Bud, calm yourself down.

We like football. We want to talk about football. This is, in part, a football websie. We talk about football here. What is the problem?

So we can't talk about club football.

Each county talk has one thread, never to expand!!

So, in theory, we can only have 63 threads. Or do hurlings and football talk go into one? Then that leaves only 31 threads.

Bit of a shit board ain't it.

(http://www1.istockphoto.com/file_thumbview_approve/854154/2/istockphoto_854154_don_t_cry_over_spilt_spilled_milk_3.jpg)
Post by: Small Pebble on November 13, 2006, 03:58:06 PM
Take it down from the mast....bud   Take it down!
Post by: SlimShady on November 13, 2006, 04:02:45 PM
small pebble, were you on the old board? what was your name? Thems big words for a girly  ;)
Post by: Kerry Mike on November 13, 2006, 04:12:39 PM
Now that we have this lovely new home how about setting up a bit of structure to the place.

How about a section just for clubs, you could have the GAA Discussion Board section for national GAA issues only with different sub sections for football and hurling if required, a club section with sub sections by province and county, and a Non GAA discussion section. It would give a better structure to our house and everone would find somewhere to browse and contribute if they wanted to. At the moment you open the front page and the majority of what you see is not interesting and its turning people away while we should in fact be trying to get more people involved.

Alot of other Discussion boards will have sub sections and then people wont get frustrated and not contribute at all if there is nothing to look at but the fortunes of some junior football team from some county that most people will not have any interest in.

We have lost alot of the excellent hurling chat for that reason.
Title: I agree
Post by: Donagh on November 13, 2006, 04:18:28 PM
Mike and Bud have a good point. Nobody wants to be hoking around for stuff that has dropped off the first page. Having a few different sections would allow posts (especially those concerning national GAA) to be around longer and give more people an opportunity to contribute.
Post by: Small Pebble on November 13, 2006, 04:19:23 PM
new board new name  :o
Post by: tayto on November 13, 2006, 04:19:58 PM
I agree a bit of structure would be a good idea, some threads vanish too quickly just because they're not ulster football, not blaming anyone but maybe a seperate hurling section would be a good idea. Also maybe split club chat into provinces.
Post by: dubnut on November 13, 2006, 04:25:15 PM
Some sort of control is deffo needed, that clown "the Gael" is starting multiple threads re Mayobridge.
I dont even think he is genuine but is pissing off a lot of people.
It just takes one of two trouble makers to take over the entire front page, and many potential posters dont look past that.
Otherwise i like the new site and special "sci fi" features!
DUBNUT!
Post by: Lecale2 on November 13, 2006, 04:29:48 PM
Admin can certainly sort this out by using the merge facility. Breaking club discussion into different provences is a good idea and would remove a fair few threads from page 1. If he doesn't act on Thegael soon the Board will be a mess.
Post by: Lecale2 on November 13, 2006, 04:31:30 PM
Admin has just used the merge. Well done.
Post by: the bucket on November 13, 2006, 04:33:16 PM
mr crossbar, whats wrong with a mayo hurling thread
Post by: thegael on November 13, 2006, 04:34:18 PM
if multiple threads appear just look at the viewership and if it is interesting or popular keep it if not merge. thegaels posts are very popular!

the gael takes no prisoners!
Post by: dubnut on November 13, 2006, 04:35:18 PM
"thegaels posts are very popular!"
Thats becuase people like to tell you that your a thick ****!
Pardon the language, but you earned it.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 13, 2006, 04:37:05 PM
Nothing per se, bucket, it is just that the grief that has previosly been given out to Ulster posters about multiple threads and Myao just sort of slip under the radar.  I am not referring to Mayo hurling a la McGeeney, just simply to make the point that we have chips on our shoulders in the north about criticisma dn we wished the chips were shared out to other offending counties.

Moderator, like the old thread merging trick on the Ulster thread, now put all them mayo ones in the one box too ;)
Title: First post
Post by: Hardy on November 13, 2006, 06:48:50 PM
This board is finished!
Post by: Farrandeelin on November 13, 2006, 06:53:46 PM
But crossbar, us Mayo ones never bothered criticising the Northern based posts.
Post by: Star Spangler on November 13, 2006, 08:08:10 PM
Anyone who's been around this board for a while (6 years in my case) will know that it's success owes a lot to the fact that there's been very little intervention from admins.  The day someone starts deciding what is an "acceptable" thread and what isn't is the day the board will start losing contributors.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on November 13, 2006, 08:43:06 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on November 13, 2006, 09:24:24 AM
The first page of threads on what is supposed to be a GAA Discussion Board as opposed to free club websites reads as follows;
Ulster Club Championships, Ulster Club SFC, Donegal Club Jurling and Football, Down Club Hurling and Football, Tyrone Club Hurling and Football,Armagh Club Hurling and Football, Antrim Hurling and Football, Derry Club..... and on and on and on.

I thought the idea of the board was for general GAA Discussion.  Fair enough, the thread Ulster Club Championships makes sense but wht have we to suffer add ons like Ulster Club SFC and on and on.  I wouldn't mind only TG4 showed the Errigal Ciaran game yesterday and it was like watching paint dry.  Quite frankly I am sick of all the nordies taking over the board.

:D :D

Bud - time to get your trawler out of dry dock - you're like a man that's bored!   ;)
Post by: thewobbler on November 13, 2006, 09:23:56 PM
I ask again - what does Bud want us to talk about? I'll append to this, what on earth does Kerry Mike want us to talk about? For example, during the last couple of weeks of the old board, one of the most popular threads was "do you prefer to wear one pair of socks or two?" If that's the type of "general talk" you fellas want, well please turn the lights off after you leave. Give me a match report from an Armagh Harps under-14 friendly any day.

There are three posters on the board who are genuinely intent on having their every thought read, and as such they open a new thread every time to achieve this aim - theGael, Tony Fearon and, to a lesser extent, realredhandfan1. Please do not tar Ulster fans as a result of their actions. You'll find neatly condensed threads on Down, Derry, Armagh, Antrim and Tyrone club football on this board, and that's where you'll find the majority of posters from those counties posting mostly in those threads.

We have a choice with the aformentioned trio, we either ignore them, or we play into their hands.   

Bottom line though gents is that you can't call for changes to make the board more interesting and highbrow unless you are going to start the sea change by posting more interesting and highbrow articles yourself. The trouble, you will no doubt find (if not already), is that having posted on a GAA messsageboard for years as you both have, general topics to talk about dry up - but club and county situations continue to change, if only slightly, on a daily basis.
Post by: ziggysego on November 13, 2006, 09:28:39 PM
Well said wobbler

We are all getting tarred with the one brush, by the actions of a few.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on November 13, 2006, 09:29:49 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on November 13, 2006, 09:23:56 PM
I ask again - what does Bud want us to talk about? I'll append to this, what on earth does Kerry Mike want us to talk about? For example, during the last couple of weeks of the old board, one of the most popular threads was "do you prefer to wear one pair of socks or two?" If that's the type of "general talk" you fellas want, well please turn the lights off after you leave. Give me a match report from an Armagh Harps under-14 friendly any day.

There are three posters on the board who are genuinely intent on having their every thought read, and as such they open a new thread every time to achieve this aim - theGael, Tony Fearon and, to a lesser extent, realredhandfan1. Please do not tar Ulster fans as a result of their actions. You'll find neatly condensed threads on Down, Derry, Armagh, Antrim and Tyrone club football on this board, and that's where you'll find the majority of posters from those counties posting mostly in those threads.

We have a choice with the aformentioned trio, we either ignore them, or we play into their hands.   

Bottom line though gents is that you can't call for changes to make the board more interesting and highbrow unless you are going to start the sea change by posting more interesting and highbrow articles yourself. The trouble, you will no doubt find (if not already), is that having posted on a GAA messsageboard for years as you both have, general topics to talk about dry up - but club and county situations continue to change, if only slightly, on a daily basis.

Good man Wobbler - on the money as usual!  ;)

By the way, is this the deathknell for my 'Armagh Harps Social Club' thread, on non GAA Discussion?   :-[
Post by: Fionntamhnach on November 13, 2006, 09:56:56 PM
As I've said before, don't complain about no threads or posts interesting you when you aren't posting any yourself.

I remember when I was the lone Tyrone poster here, you actually had to make an effort then.
Post by: SandyHill on November 13, 2006, 10:04:15 PM
Why did we get a new Board and when did it arrive? I've been out of the country for a few days and so maybe I missed the switchover.
Post by: Fionntamhnach on November 13, 2006, 10:11:01 PM
Quote from: SandyHill on November 13, 2006, 10:04:15 PM
Why did we get a new Board and when did it arrive? I've been out of the country for a few days and so maybe I missed the switchover.
The previous ezBoard advertising rates were coming up again. Option was to either move back to using the "spare" board on ezboard or going somewhere like this. The latter was chosen, hopefully for the better. Looking between the lines, the hosting for this site has plenty of space available, but of course only the admin knows the full story!
Post by: Hardy on November 13, 2006, 11:35:11 PM
Take a bow Bud.

For a midlander you're some fisherman.
Post by: SlimShady on November 14, 2006, 09:09:28 AM
Fintona, class avatar-brilliant  ;D
Post by: Bud Wiser on November 14, 2006, 10:49:33 AM
Quote[/quoteWe are all getting tarred with the one brush, by the actions of a few.]

We are all getting tarred with the one brush, by the actions of a few. - As far as I am concerned all ye Alaskan's are the same. There is no point in blaming Tony Fearon because collectively ye post so much rubbish in one day than most anyone could post in five years.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on November 14, 2006, 11:21:31 AM
Bud

We are all getting tarred with the one brush, by the actions of a few. - As far as I am concerned all ye Alaskan's are the same. There is no point in blaming Tony Fearon because collectively ye post so much rubbish in one day than most anyone could post in five years

:D :D :D

Seriously Bud - it really is time to hit the high seas! 
Post by: passedit on November 14, 2006, 11:26:59 AM
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=144.0

Bud, just for you I think we should all mark new threads as per the link above. What do you think?
Post by: ziggysego on October 22, 2008, 02:34:51 AM
Christ he was a grumpy bastard back in the day :D
Post by: billy the kid on October 22, 2008, 03:03:00 PM
Thank F**k he F**ked off.
Post by: antoinse on October 22, 2008, 03:23:16 PM

Bud I hope you are the wiser,

Had my thread read and commented upon, got good feedback from those that wanted to connect. 

Maybe you should grow up or go to watchin the Den on RTÉ 2.

Post by: corn02 on October 22, 2008, 03:59:49 PM
Bud is one of the top posters on the board, why all the abuse?
Post by: deiseach on October 22, 2008, 04:06:18 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 22, 2008, 04:03:39 PM
Why did ziggy bring this back?

To prove that the good ol' days of the board were anything but.
Post by: ziggysego on October 22, 2008, 04:07:40 PM
 Was tired last night, but couldn't sleep. This thread made me giggle. On hindsight, in the light of day... not such a good idea.
Post by: ziggysego on October 22, 2008, 06:49:02 PM
sub divisions.
Post by: ziggysego on October 22, 2008, 08:21:04 PM
Oh right, sorry.

I seen all the sub divisions on the OWC website. Far too many. Hard to find what you're looking for. Sure, there a cause for catergorising, but there's over kill.

The first version was ridicious (I just lurked back in the day). All the topics on one loooooong page.

On the OWC, too many sub division. Feels like there's a sub division for nearly every topic imaginable.
Post by: Gnevin on October 22, 2008, 08:46:26 PM
What's with the 5th degree mid ? Ziggy has explained a lack of sleep lead too a slight lack of  common sense
Post by: ONeill on October 22, 2008, 09:20:18 PM
Is it possible to access records of the board when Tyrone met Kerry in 2005?
Post by: ziggysego on October 22, 2008, 09:31:31 PM
I looked ONeill, apparently it's on the old post and I don't have the URL for it.
Post by: ziggysego on October 22, 2008, 09:39:43 PM
Tony Fearon's been here since the original board.
Post by: Puckoon on October 22, 2008, 09:54:28 PM
I think even a blind man could see that ziggy had no intention of the ridicule of any poster - that is simply not the mans style. Id hazard a guess he was just fondly reflecting on bud's mini rant and decided to bump the thread - more for his own sense of having a chuckle at the rollercoaster nature poster that is Bud. Its part of the uniqueness of that particular poster is all, and not necessarily a bad thing.

Much ado about nothing in fairness and driven on in argument from certain quarters when there was little need.

I think before posters start "pulling" other posters, past form should be taken into consideration and a little bit of empathy of intention inferred.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 22, 2008, 10:10:05 PM
Go Puck!!
Post by: ziggysego on October 22, 2008, 11:33:02 PM
You got a problem with people with speech impediment Puck? Use of the word slur like that, I'm disappointed...
Post by: Kerry Mike on October 23, 2008, 01:01:19 AM
QuoteHow about a section just for clubs, you could have the GAA Discussion Board section for national GAA issues only with different sub sections for football and hurling if required, a club section with sub sections by province and county, and a Non GAA discussion section.

For Fucks sake lads it started out as a simply idea........and ye are still not fecking happy.