GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Bogball XV on September 15, 2008, 12:25:49 PM

Title: Club Championship results from around the country.
Post by: Bogball XV on September 15, 2008, 12:25:49 PM
Can we update this thread weekly with the latest results from around the country, it's pretty hard keeping up to date with what's going on club wise at this time of year.  Football and Hurling results welcome.

Derry:
SFC Semi-finals:  Ballinderry  1.8    Dungiven 1.7
                       Ballinascreen   1.10  Slaughtneil 1.10 (replay Wednesday night)

Derry hurling:  Lavey 2.12 Swatragh 1.15
                    Kevin Lynches 0.14 Slaughtneil 0.9

Title: Re: Club Championship results from around the country.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on September 15, 2008, 12:44:30 PM
Galway Football Semi Finals

Corofin  0-14 1-11 Caherlistrane  (Replay next weekend)
N.U.I.G  1-8 0-12 Cortoon Shamrocks 
Post by: timmyot501 on September 15, 2008, 12:49:24 PM
Monaghan SFC Quarter Finals

Latton 0-10  0-8  Magheracloone
Carrickmacross 0-14  0-13  Scotstown

Carrick and Latton join Castleblayney and Clontibret in the semi finals
Post by: J70 on September 15, 2008, 06:11:49 PM
Donegal senior football semis

St Eunan's 2-12 Four Masters 1-6
Termon 0-9 Gweedore 0-8

Intermediate Final (next Sunday)

Sean MacCumhaill's V Burt
Post by: Bogball XV on September 18, 2008, 10:15:51 PM
Cork Senior Football Championship Semi Finals:

Nemo Rangers 2-10 Duhallow 1-08

Douglas 0-12 Ilen Rovers 0-12

Derry football semi-final replay
Slaughtneil 1.15 Ballinascreen 0.07

Slaughtneil play Ballinderry in Billy Magoo's 'dream' final.

Derry hurling semi replay

Swatragh beat Lavey and will play Kevin Lynch's in the final - I don't believe Swatragh have ever won a senior hurling or football title - and apparently they've been off the beer for 3 months now for this - or so we hear on the derry club thread.

Antrim Hurling Semi replay
Loughgiel 0.16 Dunloy 0.9 (Holders)

Loughgiel play Cushendall in the final, hoping to avoid (what must be a record) 6th successive final defeat.

Down Football Semi-finals:
Loughinisland 3.4 Burren 0.10
Mayobridge 2.14 Saval 0.07
Post by: Doire abú on September 18, 2008, 10:28:16 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on September 18, 2008, 10:15:51 PM
Cork Senior Football Championship Semi Finals:

Nemo Rangers 2-10 Duhallow 1-08

Douglas 0-12 Ilen Rovers 0-12

Derry football semi-final replay
Slaughtneil 1.15 Ballinascreen 0.07

Slaughtneil play Ballinderry in Billy Magoo's 'dream' final.

Derry hurling semi replay

Swatragh beat Lavey and will play Kevin Lynch's in the final - I don't believe Swatragh have ever won a senior hurling or football title - and apparently they've been off the beer for 3 months now for this - or so we hear on the derry club thread.

Antrim Hurling Semi replay
Loughgiel 0.16 Dunloy 0.9 (Holders)

Loughgiel play Cushendall in the final, hoping to avoid (what must be a record) 6th successive final defeat.

Down Football Semi-finals:
Loughinisland 3.4 Burren 0.10
Mayobridge 2.14 Saval 0.07

As a regular at many South Derry and East Tyrone night spots such as Dormans and the Glenavon....I confirm the rumour to be falsified.   ;D ;D
Post by: Billy Magoo on September 19, 2008, 08:53:52 AM
QuoteSlaughtneil play Ballinderry in Billy Magoo's 'dream' final.

Ah now I said most peoples dream final.  Its not my dream final.
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 21, 2008, 08:04:24 PM
Kildare SFC Q/F

Moorefield 1 -11 Round Towers 0-8
Sarsfields 1-14 Confey 1-11.
Celbridge 2-10 Allenwood 0-15
Laurences beat Carbury
Post by: SLIGONIAN on September 22, 2008, 12:15:36 AM
Sligo Senior Semis

Eastern Harps 0-10 Curry 0-10
Replay result  Eastern Harps 1-13 Curry 2-08

Tubbercurry 0-11 Coolera/Stranhill 0-11

Intermediate Semis

Coolaney/Mull 4-6 St Michaels 2-11
Eastern Harps 0-8 St Molaise Gaels 1-12 ;D ;D ;D ;D

Some great games I witnessed above. St Molaise Gaels abu.
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on September 22, 2008, 09:16:35 AM
Limerick Senior Football Q/Finals
QF1 Newcastlewest 0.10   vs   St Senans 0.11

QF2 Fr Caseys         0.11   vs   Pallasgreen   1.8
Replay Fr Caseys      0.15   vs   Pallasgreen  1.10

SF Ballylanders v  Fr Caseys
SF Drom Broadford  v St Senans

Senior Hurling Championship

SF Ahane     v  Garryspillane
SF Kilmallock v  Adare

Title: Re: Toradh
Post by: behind the wire on September 22, 2008, 04:01:46 PM
Quote from: drici on September 21, 2008, 11:10:08 PM
Kilkenny Senior Football Final:

James Stephens 1-09 Erins Own 1-08

what is the club football like in kilkeeny drici? would many of the james stephens hurlers play football?
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on September 22, 2008, 04:38:59 PM
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on September 15, 2008, 12:44:30 PM
Galway Football Semi Finals

Corofin  0-14 1-11 Caherlistrane  (Replay next weekend)
N.U.I.G  1-8 0-12 Cortoon Shamrocks 

Galway Football Semi Final Replay

Corofin 1-11  1-10 Caherlistrane
Post by: Bogball XV on September 28, 2008, 11:38:00 AM
Tipp SHC Quarter finals:
Loughmore-Castleiney 2-19 Cappawhite 2-14
Clonoulty-Rossmore 1-15 Mullinahone 0-17

Tipp SFC QF:
Aherlow 0-14 Commercials  2-6
Post by: Bogball XV on September 28, 2008, 11:49:59 AM
Cork SFC Semi-final Replay:
Douglas  0-11 0-9 Ilen Rovers  (AET)
Post by: joemamas on September 28, 2008, 04:03:55 PM
Mayo senior semi-final;

Charlestown 1-13  Claremorris 1-9  FT
Post by: Owenmoresider on September 28, 2008, 04:41:56 PM
Sligo SFC semi final replay: Tubbercurry 1.14 Coolera 1.11

Is trua mor e,
Post by: glens73 on September 28, 2008, 04:59:36 PM
Antrim Football Final -:

Lamh Dhearg 0-10 St Galls 0-15
Post by: DownFanatic on September 28, 2008, 05:29:40 PM
Down Football SFC Final

Mayobridge 0-12  Loughinisland 0-08
Post by: J70 on September 28, 2008, 05:31:54 PM
Donegal Intermediate Final

Sean MacCumhaills 0-10 Na Rossa 0-7

Donegal Intermediate Reserve Final

St Nauls 1-8 Sean MacCumhaills 0-7

Donegal Senior Hurling Final

Burt 1-7 Setanta 4-7
Post by: Bogball XV on September 28, 2008, 07:28:11 PM
Quote from: J70 on September 28, 2008, 05:31:54 PM

Burt 1-7 Setanta 4-7
Were Burt on 14/15 titles in a row?

Derry SHC Final:
Kevin Lynch's 1.12 Swatragh 0.12

Tipp SHC 1/4 Finals:
Thurles Sarsfields 3.15 Drom/Inch 2.9
Toomevara 1.22 Kildangan 1.13

County Senior Hurling Championship Semi-Final Draw
Thurles Sarsfields vs. Clonoulty-Rossmore
Loughmore-Castleiney vs. Toomevara

Matches to be played in Semple Stadium Thurles on Sunday next October 5th
Post by: J70 on September 28, 2008, 07:46:26 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on September 28, 2008, 07:28:11 PM

Burt 1-7 Setanta 4-7

Burt won 16 on the trot up to 2006. Setanta beat them last year. You have to go back to 1977 for the last time someone else won (Aodh Rua of Ballyshannon in that case).

I think Burt led for most of the game today, but Setanta hit a few goals late on.
Post by: boojangles on September 28, 2008, 10:12:17 PM
Cavan Senior Football Championship Semi-Fianal

Cavan Gaels 2-12 Ramor 0-6

Denn beat Killygarry in other Semi by 2 points
Denn are the 1st club in a County final outside the Gaels,Gowna and Mullahoran since Kingscourt in 1999.
Which can only b a good thing for football in Cavan
Post by: Louth Exile on September 28, 2008, 10:31:48 PM
Meath SFC semifinals

Navan O'Mahonys beat Blackhall Gaels
Summerhill beat Wolf Tones
Post by: Doire abú on September 28, 2008, 10:49:00 PM
Quote from: J70 on September 28, 2008, 07:46:26 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on September 28, 2008, 07:28:11 PM

Burt 1-7 Setanta 4-7

Burt won 16 on the trot up to 2006. Setanta beat them last year. You have to go back to 1977 for the last time someone else won (Aodh Rua of Ballyshannon in that case).

I think Burt led for most of the game today, but Setanta hit a few goals late on.

Burt actually won the Derry Senior Hurling Championship in 1930 and the Derry Senior Football Championship in 1931!!
Post by: timmyot501 on September 29, 2008, 09:25:51 AM
Monaghan SFC

Latton drew with Blayney 2-10 each

Carrickmacross beat Clontibret by 1-13 to 1-11
Post by: Louth Exile on September 29, 2008, 10:16:07 AM
Quote from: timmyot501 on September 29, 2008, 09:25:51 AM
Monaghan SFC

Latton drew with Blayney 2-10 each

Carrickmacross beat Clontibret by 1-13 to 1-11

The Carrick result is a big one, its only a few years since they were intermediate and the reigning champs have looked like they might be putting a good string of titles back to back. CMX v Blayney final maybe?
Post by: Billys Boots on September 29, 2008, 10:25:40 AM
With the greatest possible pleasure, may I please add:

Longford Senior Football Championship Final, 2008:

Colmcille 0-13
Longford Slashers 0-07

First in 50 years for my club, not even Evil Genius can annoy me today.   ;D   ;D  ;D
Post by: Bogball XV on September 29, 2008, 10:32:03 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on September 29, 2008, 10:25:40 AM

Colmcille 0-13
Longford Slashers 0-07

First in 50 years for my club, not even Evil Genius can annoy me today.   ;D   ;D  ;D
Congrats, that's a sterling effort - posting at this time of the day that is ;)
Post by: Billys Boots on September 29, 2008, 10:35:44 AM
A late night alright, but I was driving, so getting up this morning wasn't too much of a problem.  ;D
Post by: Orior on September 29, 2008, 11:10:32 AM

Colmcille 0-13
Longford Slashers 0-07

Congrats BB. I hope you can keep it going.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 29, 2008, 11:33:54 AM
Congrats BB's, great to bridge a long gap like that.
Post by: Billys Boots on September 29, 2008, 11:56:37 AM
Actually Seanie, late last night I remembered your posts after your club did the business two years ago.  Thanks lads.
Post by: Declan on September 29, 2008, 12:03:51 PM
well done Billy. All good things come to those who wait!!!
Post by: Louth Exile on September 29, 2008, 12:04:50 PM
Enjoy it BB, nothing like the Monday night, always a better night's craic than the Sunday.
Post by: Billys Boots on September 29, 2008, 12:21:49 PM
Quotenothing like the Monday night, always a better night's craic than the Sunday

Yeah, except I'm a hundred miles away from it tonight.  :'(
Post by: AZOffaly on September 29, 2008, 12:22:57 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on September 29, 2008, 12:21:49 PM
Quotenothing like the Monday night, always a better night's craic than the Sunday

Yeah, except I'm a hundred miles away from it tonight.  :'(

Take tomorrow off, and get your ar*e down there. It's been 50 years for Jaysus sake :D
Post by: Billys Boots on September 29, 2008, 12:26:38 PM
QuoteTake tomorrow off, and get your ar*e down there. It's been 50 years for Jaysus sake

I wish, it'll be a hundred years if I don't show for work tomorrow.  :-\
Post by: stephenite on September 29, 2008, 12:31:43 PM
Billy - it's 100 miles, I've made Ballina to Santry on a Tuesday morning after a County final in time for 9am
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 29, 2008, 12:46:42 PM
Jaysus well done BB, you can't leave all the lads in the Monday club without your guidance to keep them straight :P

Some craic next March when we meet up for the AI final between you boys and our boys!
Post by: Billys Boots on September 29, 2008, 02:40:12 PM
Tks BC, but I think there'll be a lot of damage to our prospects of further progress in Leinster this week.  ;)
Post by: Hardy on September 29, 2008, 02:49:16 PM
Good man Billy. Are yiz Longford team of the decade now?
Post by: Billys Boots on September 29, 2008, 02:58:25 PM
Oh God yeah Hardy, obviously.   ;)
Post by: boojangles on September 29, 2008, 06:19:18 PM
Congrats Billy,didnt realise you were a Colmcille man.Delighted for yas.Have an Aunty living over in Aughnacliffe,used to spend my summers over in Colmcille and Moyne summer camp.Happy days.
Was Declan Reilly playing? I seen Donie McKeon did most of the scoring,I remember him from a young age,he was always football mad.
Its a terror it took a Gowna man!!
Post by: Billys Boots on September 30, 2008, 09:17:49 AM
Thanks Boojangles, glad to see someone with pleasant childhood memories of Aughnacliffe.

QuoteWas Declan Reilly playing?

Would that be Declan 'Cornadrung' Reilly or Declan 'Smear' Reilly - both played, and both played well.  Declan C was MOTM.

QuoteIts a terror it took a Gowna man!!

Well, if it wasn't that Gowna man, there's a fair chance it would have been another one.  I think it's fair to say that Colmcille and Gowna have had a decent and long-running relationship.
Post by: boojangles on September 30, 2008, 06:22:50 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on September 30, 2008, 09:17:49 AM
Thanks Boojangles, glad to see someone with pleasant childhood memories of Aughnacliffe.

Very nice people over that part of the country,big into their football.

Would that be Declan 'Cornadrung' Reilly or Declan 'Smear' Reilly - both played, and both played well.  Declan C was MOTM.

Declan reilly with the Blonde hair,I think Cornadrung(that rings a bell) dont think he was from near the shop,plays wing back for the County,small butt of a lad.

QuoteIts a terror it took a Gowna man!!

Well, if it wasn't that Gowna man, there's a fair chance it would have been another one.  I think it's fair to say that Colmcille and Gowna have had a decent and long-running relationship.
Well yas both have the same colours and are only a stones throw from eachother so I suppose it makes sense.I hear Tommy Carr mite b on Ciarans trail now I believe.
Post by: Jinxy on September 30, 2008, 06:56:00 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on September 30, 2008, 09:17:49 AM

QuoteWas Declan Reilly playing?

:D :D
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 01, 2008, 11:19:21 AM

Colmcille 0-13
Longford Slashers 0-07

Well done Billy, tis always nice to beat the Slashers   :P
Post by: Billys Boots on October 01, 2008, 05:40:15 PM
Quotetis always nice to beat the Slashers

Isn't that what I've been telling you for years?   :P
Post by: milltown row on October 04, 2008, 08:25:43 PM
yes our under 12's won the b final at casement during a rain storm, racking up a grand total of 3 points to gorts 2 :o  some craic i tell ya
Post by: Minder on October 04, 2008, 08:46:08 PM
Quote from: milltown row on October 04, 2008, 08:25:43 PM
yes our under 12's won the b final at casement during a rain storm, racking up a grand total of 3 points to gorts 2 :o  some craic i tell ya

You could have passed for an U-12 Milltown with a helmet on
Post by: milltown row on October 04, 2008, 09:00:05 PM
your too kind minder :-*

think rossa beat the Johnnies by a point, left at halftime for my sweetie bag and coke
Post by: Bogball XV on October 05, 2008, 09:50:10 PM
Derry SFC Final:
Ballinderry 0.10 Slaughtneil 0.08

Galway SFC Final:
Corofin 0.08 Cortoon 0.05

Tipperary SFC Semi-final:
Cahir 1.07 Moyle Rovers 0.09

Tipperary SHC Semi-Finals:
Toomevara 0-17 Loughmore-Castleiney 0-13
Thurles Sarsfields 1-14 Clonoulty-Rossmore 0-17

Cork SFC Final:
Nemo Rangers 0.13 Douglas 0.05

Clare SFC Semi-final:
Liscannor 0.09 Doonbeg 1.05
Kilmurray 2.18 Kilkee 0.09

Fermanagh SFC Final:
St Patrick's Donagh 0.11 Derrygonnelly 0.10

Donegal SFC Final:
St Eunan's 2-13 Termon 1-8

Armagh SFC Semi-finals:
Cross 1.13 Harps 1.10
Pearse Og 0.13 Killeavy 0.09

Post by: cill_dara on October 05, 2008, 10:18:48 PM
Sarsfields beat kildare county champs 6-5 today to set up a final date with celbridge who overcame saint laurances yesterday.
Rhode won back the offally champ, and westmeath champs tyrellspass are out beaten by garrycastle.
Post by: Louth Exile on October 06, 2008, 12:27:59 PM
Latton beat Castleblayney in Monaghan SFC semi final replay.

Both Clontibret and Blayeny beaten, leaving Carrickmacross v Latton in the final  :o
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 06, 2008, 06:21:59 PM
Quote from: cill_dara on October 05, 2008, 10:18:48 PM
Sarsfields beat kildare county champs 6-5 today to set up a final date with celbridge who overcame saint laurances yesterday.
Rhode won back the offally champ, and westmeath champs tyrellspass are out beaten by garrycastle.

Nope, they were beaten by Castledaly who play Garrycastle in the final...
Post by: Owenmoresider on October 06, 2008, 09:12:44 PM
Eastern Harps new Sligo champs, beat Tubbercurry 1-16 to 1-8.

Ballaghaderreen beat Ballintubber in the Mayo QF replay, meet Crossmolina in the semis.

Changed times in Wicklow, Rathnew must be on the wane I guess.
Post by: Gold on October 06, 2008, 11:20:20 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on October 06, 2008, 09:12:44 PM
Eastern Harps new Sligo champs, beat Tubbercurry 1-16 to 1-8.

Ballaghaderreen beat Ballintubber in the Mayo QF replay, meet Crossmolina in the semis.

Changed times in Wicklow, Rathnew must be on the wane I guess.

Yeah, i watched Rathnew gettin bait by a Dublin Div 2 team in a challenge game last month. Rathnew were still relying on Tommy Gill--their dominence looks to be over