Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: kinghen on September 09, 2008, 02:30:27 PM

Title: weekend breaks in ireland
Post by: kinghen on September 09, 2008, 02:30:27 PM
thinkin bout heading away at the weekend for a wee break, any ides or good deals available, live in down and can only get a half day friday so somewhere not too far away would be ideal, was thinkin maybe heading up to north antrim do the whole giants causeway thing, any suggestions appreciated!!

Title: Re: weekend breaks in ireland
Post by: Our Nail Loney on September 09, 2008, 05:45:39 PM
who alls going?
Post by: lurgan-gael on September 09, 2008, 05:51:29 PM
letterkenny is the way forward
Post by: charlie stubbs on September 09, 2008, 06:00:13 PM
you not going park esler sun hen...
Post by: Our Nail Loney on September 09, 2008, 08:22:30 PM
Quote from: charlie stubbs on September 09, 2008, 06:00:13 PM
you not going park esler sun hen...

The woman musta put her foot down!
Post by: kinghen on September 10, 2008, 12:45:24 AM
i'll be back wellin time for park esler!! same seat in the stands too!!!! >:(
Post by: Our Nail Loney on September 10, 2008, 01:10:13 AM
You were on the seniors when you were seventeen hem, you'll be back! Especially with the woman keeeping you in shape, you;re from good SINGING pedigree!
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 13, 2009, 02:00:59 PM
Heading to the Grand Hotel in Malahide for the weekend with the missus and 3 monsters. Anything decent in that area for kids as I don't fancy dragging them round Dublin city centre - (although the zoo is being tlaked about!)? Where is the best beach etc. in the Fingal area?

Post by: Declan on August 13, 2009, 02:13:38 PM
If the weathers decent Malahide Castle and it's grounds are good for a ramble and has a nice playground etc.
Portmarnock is a nice beach but personally I prefer Skerries as there's a bit more variety on the town as regards pubs /restaurants to eat in etc.
Also http://www.fingalcoco.ie/CommunityRecreationandAmenitiesDepartment/Parks/ParksHeritageProperties/NewbridgeDemesneRegionalPark/ (http://www.fingalcoco.ie/CommunityRecreationandAmenitiesDepartment/Parks/ParksHeritageProperties/NewbridgeDemesneRegionalPark/) is good for the kids and Donabate beach can be OK if you avoid the cars!!!

PS weather forecast isn't great for Fri/Sat though
Post by: gerrykeegan on August 13, 2009, 02:16:48 PM
dont know the area that well but Malahide Castle is nice has a very good play ground, Donnabate beach is nice also, there is a place called hurley burleys off the m50 near Finglas like an indoor kidzone, also the National Aquatic Centre is excellent, will be very busy at the weekend. Zoo will be busy but we go all the time
Post by: The Iceman on August 13, 2009, 02:20:56 PM
good deals in the new hotel in Enniscrone Co. Sligo.
Close to Ballina, nice beach, great food and great bars for a quiet pint
Seaweed bath if you want it and close enough to Knock if you're into it
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 13, 2009, 02:36:20 PM
Cheers lads. Weather looks rubbish but experience tells us that you plan for rain anyway! I'll hit one of the beaches and Malahide Castle on Sat and maybe the zoo on Sunday as the weather is to be slightly better. Plenty I'd like to do in the city centre but couldn't face hauling those three round the place!
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 13, 2009, 02:37:26 PM
Would I drive into the zoo or get the dart?
Post by: Canalman on August 13, 2009, 02:49:56 PM
TB, take train to Connolly Station and then the Luas to either Museum stop or Heuston. Zoo is a 10/15 min walk and kids would prob enjoy the Luas.
Personally, would advise you to take kids on a boat trip to the islands off Howth (from Howth harbour). Bring the camera with you.
Post by: under the bar on August 13, 2009, 03:17:55 PM
QuoteTB, take train to Connolly Station and then the Luas to either Museum stop or Heuston. Zoo is a 10/15 min walk and kids would prob enjoy the Luas

The price of a the train to Dublin is scandalous.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 13, 2009, 03:57:12 PM
There's a shuttle bus to the Phoenix Park that runs on the hour every hour from outside Heuston - the Parkgate Street bus stop according to this: http://www.phoenixpark.ie/visitorinformation/phoenixparkshuttlebus/ (http://www.phoenixpark.ie/visitorinformation/phoenixparkshuttlebus/)

Just cross the Luas bridge over the Liffey and keep left. It's opposite Parkgate motors I think.
Post by: Canalman on August 13, 2009, 04:34:55 PM
Train from Malahide not too expensive imo. Zoo is only around the corner from Heuston.
Post by: Agnes Dipesto on August 13, 2009, 04:44:05 PM
Would suggest Howth myself, I was there a couple of weeks ago and it was really lovely. We drove back along the coast and went through Portmarnock and thought the beach there looked great.
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on July 04, 2010, 06:41:27 PM
Thinking of heading away somewhere next weekend over the 12th July festivities in the greater northern ireland area.

Anyway, thinking of somewhere down the west of the country?  Galway, or even further, down in Kerry or down in that general area?  Anyone suggest a good town to go to for a weekend and any recommended places to stay?
Post by: lurganblue on July 04, 2010, 08:43:34 PM
Went to mullaghmore, Sligo a few months ago with the wife. Loved it. The pier head hotel was great. Food was brilliant. Quiet place with all those spa treatments for herself and the bar for myself. Great
Post by: Hedley Lamarr on July 04, 2010, 10:16:17 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on July 04, 2010, 08:43:34 PM
Went to mullaghmore, Sligo a few months ago with the wife. Loved it. The pier head hotel was great. Food was brilliant. Quiet place with all those spa treatments for herself and the bar for myself. Great

Good call.....anywhere round Cliffoney/Sligo is fantastic.
Post by: gawa316 on July 13, 2010, 11:18:35 PM
Headin to the redcastle hotel in Moville for the oul pairs 40th wedding anniversary. Any recommendations on places to see nearby/inishowen area?
Post by: Puckoon on July 13, 2010, 11:26:27 PM
Ah the seagulls.

They fly high in Moville.
Post by: ross4life on July 13, 2010, 11:51:23 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on July 13, 2010, 11:18:35 PM
Headin to the redcastle hotel in Moville for the oul pairs 40th wedding anniversary. Any recommendations on places to see nearby/inishowen area?

Moville is my dads home place it's a few miles from Redcastle, used to be a great fishing town in the 80s early 90s was back recently a lot quieter these days, they have a small beach with nice seaside walk along the coast

Redcastle use to have amusements there when i was a kid, think it's called leisure land now? Greencastle also a few miles from Moville you can get the ferry to Magilligan Co Derry on Lough Foyle

Malin head the tip of Ireland, Mamore Gap & Shrove beach are worth a visit
Post by: gawa316 on July 14, 2010, 10:26:02 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 13, 2010, 11:51:23 PM

Moville is my dads home place it's a few miles from Redcastle, used to be a great fishing town in the 80s early 90s was back recently a lot quieter these days, they have a small beach with nice seaside walk along the coast

Redcastle use to have amusements there when i was a kid, think it's called leisure land now? Greencastle also a few miles from Moville you can get the ferry to Magilligan Co Derry on Lough Foyle

Cheers for that Ross
Post by: FL/MAYO on July 15, 2010, 01:21:57 AM
The drive up to Malin Head is lovely alright, take in Five Fingers Beach, Knockamanny Bends on the way up to Malin Head. Just follow the signs for the "Inishowen 100" and you cant go wrong.
Post by: Aerlik on July 15, 2010, 03:52:37 PM
Feck, when I first read that I thought it said Weekend Break ins.  Hmmm.  Agree that Malin Head is one of the most spectacular parts of our nation.
Post by: J OGorman on July 15, 2010, 04:02:59 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 13, 2010, 11:51:23 PM

100% Ross.
Leisureland is still on the go, good craic for the weans.
If you into surfing / body boarding, there are a few good beaches close by (just over the mountain)..Culdaff, Ballyliffin and Tullagh
If you are up this length, would be a shame not to head for a wee drive (about 15 mins) to Kinnego Bay, stunning beach were a few ships from the Armada sank
Moville is just down the road, go to Rosatto's bar where you can enjoy a creamy stout and the very best Pizza in Ireland (I sh!t you not!)
Post by: gawa316 on July 15, 2010, 04:18:57 PM
Excelent stuff lads, I'll make a note of all and surprise the folks with my vast knowledge of the area
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on July 15, 2010, 04:27:13 PM
I'd like to know how Five Fingers beach got its name........ ;) :D :-[
Post by: Rois on July 28, 2010, 10:58:07 AM
Trying to plan a surfing weekend in September - one cousin is based in Limerick, and a few of us in Belfast.
Lahinch is a 5hr drive for us, Bundoran is similar for her.

Is there anywhere you can learn to surf and have a bit of craic along the Mayo/Galway coast?  It would cut out an hr or so for us at least.
Post by: gawa316 on July 28, 2010, 11:13:38 AM
Quote from: Rois on July 28, 2010, 10:58:07 AM
Trying to plan a surfing weekend in September - one cousin is based in Limerick, and a few of us in Belfast.

Is there anywhere you can learn to surf and have a bit of craic along the Mayo/Galway coast?  It would cut out an hr or so for us at least.

Could your cousin go as far as Sligo? Standhill is a deadly wee spot, that has surf schools, camping, accom, seaweed baths and pubs
Post by: spuds on July 28, 2010, 12:00:42 PM
Quote from: Rois on July 28, 2010, 10:58:07 AM

carrowniskey beach beyond louisburg in mayo is a great peaceful spot for the surfing
boards & wetsuits for hire from van on beach and surf lessons too
nearby is croagh patrick westport leenane delphi adventure centre stunning scenery eg lough nafooey ashleigh falls & connacht s highest mountain mweelrea not to mention killary harbour clew bay clare island other beaches at old head bertra carrowmore silver strand
gorgeous part of the world
for you northern folk this area was populated way back with natives kicked out during the plantation of ulster
do it
Post by: spuds on July 28, 2010, 12:04:17 PM
ps 5hrs to bundoran from limerick ! is she driving a milk float  :P
Post by: Rois on July 28, 2010, 12:13:33 PM
I just guessed that distance - I see now that it's less than 4 - oops.

Spuds - the place near Louisburg sounds a bit too peaceful?  Or are there are few pubs that we'd have the craic in come evening time?

We're looking for somewhere that will give us a package with accommodation, which is where Bundoran comes into its own.  Part of it has to be a few good local bars that will welcome Tyronies. 

Strandhill sounds grand as well - about three hours for both of us (I'm sure I can do it in less) - just wondering the same about bars.
Post by: spuds on July 28, 2010, 12:33:30 PM
carrowniskey waaayy to peaceful alright for you no pubs (or houses) about
nearest village is louisburg still too quiet but 20 mins away is westport with a sight of good pubs
maybe bundoran suits better as everything together
westport would be a way nicer town and better pubs
practacalities might have to win out though
Post by: gawa316 on July 28, 2010, 12:41:21 PM
Strandhill has 2 pubs close to the beach. At the wkds they are usually rammed (must come from Sligo town, which is only a few mile away) and have had live music everytime I've been in them.

Was down there last aug bank holiday wkd. There is a festival on that wkd, (some iron man thing running up round a mountain) but anyway the place was buzzing. They have live music beer tent, amusements and all that stuff, quality weekend
Post by: Rois on July 28, 2010, 02:24:24 PM
Thanks for the advice - Strandhill looks like a main contender now.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 28, 2010, 09:40:15 PM
Went down to Rostrevor on Friday to a campsite. had a great time. The kids loved it and it was a super place. Rostevor is a wonderfull spot.

Having been in campsites around Europe a few times, they  would be hard to beat, but we had a great time, and we truly live in a great part of the world, apart for the unpredictable weather!!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 28, 2010, 10:26:02 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 28, 2010, 09:40:15 PM
Went down to Rostrevor on Friday to a campsite. had a great time. The kids loved it and it was a super place. Rostevor is a wonderfull spot.

Having been in campsites around Europe a few times, they  would be hard to beat, but we had a great time, and we truly live in a great part of the world, apart for the unpredictable weather!!!
The Corner House? Fearon's? The Kilbroney?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 29, 2010, 09:33:34 AM
Kilbroney. 12 pounds a night! Would loved to have done the forrest walk but getting 3 girls to hike is nearly impossible
Post by: Rois on September 10, 2010, 02:28:06 PM
Departing for my surfing weekend in a couple of hours - hope Strandhill lives up to the billing, especially the pub tonight cause I think I'll need somewhere welcoming.
Title: pints
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 13, 2010, 01:59:06 PM
Having a dirty pint of guinness in taffes in galway , ah the joys . Who won the tennis last night ?
Title: Re: pints
Post by: glens abu on September 13, 2010, 02:03:22 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on September 13, 2010, 01:59:06 PM
Having a dirty pint of guinness in taffes in galway , ah the joys . Who won the tennis last night ?

Rained off
Title: pints
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 13, 2010, 02:09:27 PM
Cheers glen s abu
Post by: gawa316 on September 14, 2010, 09:57:07 PM
Anyone ever been to Sliver Strand beach at Malin Beg, Co Donegal?

Heard there is a bit of a trek down to it, would it be suitable to do with a baby in a carrier?
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 14, 2010, 11:42:14 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on September 14, 2010, 09:57:07 PM

Heard there is a bit of a trek down to it, would it be suitable to do with a baby in a carrier bag?
Jesus spend a few quid on the young un you miserable hoor. That can't be safe.
Post by: gawa316 on September 14, 2010, 11:56:44 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 14, 2010, 11:42:14 PM

Heard there is a bit of a trek down to it, would it be suitable to do with a baby in a carrier bag?

Thats why I'm asking, what's the walk down like?

Were you never told 'the best things in life are free!'

Edit: just seen your edit :D
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 15, 2010, 12:06:24 AM
Quote from: gawa316 on September 14, 2010, 11:56:44 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 14, 2010, 11:42:14 PM

Thats why I'm asking, what's the walk down like?

Were you never told 'the best things in life are free!'

Edit: just seen your edit :D
What edit? ;)
Post by: ross4life on September 20, 2010, 08:31:36 PM
50% off B&B rates at all 10 Carlton Hotels grab a bargain while it lasts....

http://www.carlton.ie/apprentice?__?
Post by: downtown on October 10, 2010, 01:38:46 PM
Anyone ever stayed in Derrynane B&B Kerry? Much till do down round there??  Thinking of booking a weekend away and doing the horse riding.
Post by: Puckoon on January 19, 2011, 06:21:47 PM
Headed home in March, and taking the girlfriend with me - who's only previous trips to Ireland were a drunken weekend in Derry, and something similar in Dublin. Based in Omagh for the 11 days, and don't want to venture too far away (half a day's drive at most) but fancy a few nights somewhere costal. My provisinal plan was Donegal (Smugglers creek to be precise - but I see it only opens Thursday through Sunday until the summer season). I'd love a great costal view, good seafood and stout and a bit of music and good craic for a couple nights. Maybe a golf course near by to play a round with the auld fella?

Any ideas would be more than welcome.
Post by: Big Puff on January 19, 2011, 06:23:38 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 19, 2011, 06:21:47 PM
Headed home in March, and taking the girlfriend with me - who's only previous trips to Ireland were a drunken weekend in Derry, and something similar in Dublin. Based in Omagh for the 11 days, and don't want to venture too far away (half a day's drive at most) but fancy a few nights somewhere costal. My provisinal plan was Donegal (Smugglers creek to be precise - but I see it only opens Thursday through Sunday until the summer season). I'd love a great costal view, good seafood and stout and a bit of music and good craic for a couple nights. Maybe a golf course near by to play a round with the auld fella?

Portrush/portstewart?

could also show her the giants causeway when your up that part of the country
Post by: Puckoon on January 19, 2011, 06:24:52 PM
I'm not being a smart arse here - I was in portrush as a child but I don't remember it. I do however have a (probably completely incorrect) preconception that it is an awful shithole?
Post by: Big Puff on January 19, 2011, 06:30:53 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 19, 2011, 06:24:52 PM
I'm not being a smart arse here - I was in portrush as a child but I don't remember it. I do however have a (probably completely incorrect) preconception that it is an awful shithole?

not 100% sure of the area myself, meant to be a grand spot though. There are lots of local towns such as ballycastle worth a visit, im sure there is some nice hotels in the area too.

It also has great golfing!
Post by: FL/MAYO on January 19, 2011, 07:40:24 PM
Ballyliffen would be a good spot, great golf, on the coast and great scenery close by.I stayed in the ballyliffen lodge hotel last summer, it's a nice hotel. Follow the signs for the Inishowen 100 to see the scenery.

http://www.ballyliffinlodge.com/

http://www.ballyliffingolfclub.com/

Also Westport would be a good spot even though it's a bit further of a drive.
Post by: Puckoon on January 19, 2011, 08:15:08 PM
FL - Could you take in Fintra and Killybegs if based out of ballyliffin?
Post by: FL/MAYO on January 19, 2011, 08:26:46 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 19, 2011, 08:15:08 PM
FL - Could you take in Fintra and Killybegs if based out of ballyliffin?

At least a two hour drive, other end of the county. If you could find a nice hotel in the killybegs area, you would have the golf at Portnoo, and the great scenery from killybegs into Glencolmcille, slieve league, Silver Strand etc. I stayed at the Tara hotel in Killybegs, it was grand, good location and clean,  ask for a room over looking the harbor. Some nice restaurants within 5 miles of the town, someone mentioned a nice one on St Johns point but I forgot the name. Some of these places could be closed in the off season.
Post by: takeyourownpath on January 19, 2011, 08:34:04 PM
Quote from: Canalman on August 13, 2009, 02:49:56 PM
TB, take train to Connolly Station and then the Luas to either Museum stop or Heuston. Zoo is a 10/15 min walk and kids would prob enjoy the Luas.
Personally, would advise you to take kids on a boat trip to the islands off Howth (from Howth harbour). Bring the camera with you.

you're going to laugh but me and the other half were on our way to dublin zoo with the wee bucks about a year and a half ago, got lost and ended up in Howth, gorgeous town, absolutely loved it, not much to do unless you're taking a boat trip, except a paddy power bookies and a mauds icecream cafe!
Post by: Puckoon on January 19, 2011, 08:47:04 PM
FL  - Cheers, Ill bear that in mind. Ballyliffin looks lovely however.

TYP - Thank you for the invitation, unfortunately it is just a 2 weeks too early for me. I would love to stop by and see the school though on my trip.
Post by: Orior on January 19, 2011, 09:36:32 PM
I would give the Grand Hotel in Malahide 9 out of 10.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 19, 2011, 09:43:42 PM
Quote from: Orior on January 19, 2011, 09:36:32 PM
7 out of 10 for me although was a really sticky night I was there and room was roasting.
Post by: ardal on January 19, 2011, 10:08:17 PM
Quote from: kinghen on September 09, 2008, 02:30:27 PM
thinkin bout heading away at the weekend for a wee break, any ides or good deals available, live in down and can only get a half day friday so somewhere not too far away would be ideal, was thinkin maybe heading up to north antrim do the whole giants causeway thing, any suggestions appreciated!!

Weekend breaks in Ireland. Feck sake lads, get it together, do you have to break everything back home?
Post by: Rois on January 20, 2011, 08:43:40 AM
Puck, I know you were thinking of Rossnowlagh but what about Bundoran (I know, bit of a Portrush in Donegal) but Brian McEniff's hotel the Great Northern has an amazing setting and a golf course, it's not a million miles from Killybegs back through Donegal Town and you also have Yeats's Country on the other side where you can easily head to Sligo for the day, visit Drumcliffe and have nice lunches in town. 

Take in a surf lesson when you're there - great fun!
Post by: Aoise on January 20, 2011, 11:15:15 AM
You could do worse than staying at Harveys Point on Lough Eske, just outside Donegal town.  This would make you very central if you want to take a wee trip over the Bluestacks to Killybegs, Portnoo.  You would have the coast, golf, mountainous scenery all wrapped into one.  Or take a drive the other direction and catch Bundoran, Ballyshannon.  Harveys Point is a cracking spot Puck for a few days rest.  Would highly recommend it! 
Post by: Puckoon on January 20, 2011, 07:26:35 PM
Cheers Aoise, and Rois - particularly the idea about having multiple lunches.  ;D
Post by: Rois on January 20, 2011, 07:37:37 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 20, 2011, 07:26:35 PM
Cheers Aoise, and Rois - particularly the idea about having multiple lunches.  ;D
Haha
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 20, 2011, 08:29:26 PM
Skibbereen in West Cork is a great spot for having a good session, great pubs, many are GAA gold. Lovely scenery close by. Skib gets a big thumbs up from me.
Post by: 5 Sams on January 20, 2011, 10:02:51 PM

http://www.teacjack.com/

It's not the Ritz but it's all of the above...neart ceoil, do rogha bia agus porter, craic millteanach agus Gaeilge ar doigh...
Post by: Puckoon on January 20, 2011, 10:18:41 PM
5 Sams - I will tell you a story about that big yellow house.

A fair few years ago we were in that area for a holiday and we stopped in there for a feed. I got the chicken maryland and underneath the big chicken breast there were two nicely fried bluebottles just sittin' starin' back at me. We didn't make too much of a fuss, but the auld fella went in to inspect the kitchen to make sure it was clean enough, and it was spotless in his estimation. The guess came that the friggers had hit the blue light fly catcher and somehow bounced out and landed on the plate or the food as it was being plated. I don't know the odds in that - but it's got to be somewhere close to winning the lottery.

Such is my luck, that that is the 1 in 10 million shot that I can hit.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 20, 2011, 10:23:55 PM
Quote from: Rois on January 20, 2011, 08:43:40 AM
Puck, I know you were thinking of Rossnowlagh but what about Bundoran (I know, bit of a Portrush in Donegal) but Brian McEniff's hotel the Great Northern has an amazing setting and a golf course, it's not a million miles from Killybegs back through Donegal Town and you also have Yeats's Country on the other side where you can easily head to Sligo for the day, visit Drumcliffe and have nice lunches in town. 

I thought Bundoran was a kip,stayed in the Holyrood and it was a hole of a place
Post by: Rois on January 21, 2011, 09:01:20 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 20, 2011, 10:23:55 PM

I thought Bundoran was a kip,stayed in the Holyrood and it was a hole of a place

Agreed - I happened to be staying there during the Celtic supporters weekend as well which was fun - but if it's coastal views and golf you want convenient to Killybegs and elsewhere, the Great Northern isn't a bad spot and you don't need to go anywhere near Bundoran centre if you don't feel like it. 
Post by: MR99 on January 21, 2011, 11:09:26 AM
I'm taking the better half down to Kilkenny for a weekend soon, does anyone recommend somewhere with good food and also a pub where there would be a bit of irish music and banter at night?

Also, is there any good walks in Kilkenny where one could shake off a hangover?
Post by: Tubberman on January 21, 2011, 11:13:16 AM
Quote from: Rois on January 21, 2011, 09:01:20 AM

Agreed - I happened to be staying there during the Celtic supporters weekend as well which was fun - but if it's coastal views and golf you want convenient to Killybegs and elsewhere, the Great Northern isn't a bad spot and you don't need to go anywhere near Bundoran centre if you don't feel like it.

:o Sounds like a nightmare!
Post by: tommysmith on January 21, 2011, 11:13:29 AM
Quote from: MR99 on January 21, 2011, 11:09:26 AM
I'm taking the better half down to Kilkenny for a weekend soon, does anyone recommend somewhere with good food and also a pub where there would be a bit of irish music and banter at night?

Where has that word come from.

Whats wrong with a bit of craic?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 21, 2011, 11:35:45 AM

Drive out to Inistioge and head for the Woodstock Gardens, well worth a visit
Post by: gerrykeegan on January 21, 2011, 11:47:19 AM
Quote from: tommysmith on January 21, 2011, 11:13:29 AM

for food zuni's award winning I believe.for drink tynan's old pub no telly. For a walk head for the castle in the city center, lovely walk around the grounds
Post by: MR99 on January 21, 2011, 12:17:59 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on January 21, 2011, 11:13:29 AM

Where I come from if you head to a pub for a bit of 'craic', it comes in small white cubes and the boy in the corner sells it for £200 / gram  ;)

Post by: saffron sam2 on January 21, 2011, 12:25:37 PM

So would I.
Post by: Franko on January 21, 2011, 03:17:15 PM
Quote from: Aoise on January 20, 2011, 11:15:15 AM
You could do worse than staying at Harveys Point on Lough Eske, just outside Donegal town.  This would make you very central if you want to take a wee trip over the Bluestacks to Killybegs, Portnoo.  You would have the coast, golf, mountainous scenery all wrapped into one.  Or take a drive the other direction and catch Bundoran, Ballyshannon.  Harveys Point is a cracking spot Puck for a few days rest.  Would highly recommend it!

I'll vouch for that.  Beautiful hotel in a similar setting.
Post by: ross4life on January 21, 2011, 07:29:42 PM
Bundoran is good for surfing or playing the odd fruit machine it's also a good base for other/better locations in Donegal,Leitrim & Sligo
Post by: Newbridge Exile on January 21, 2011, 08:03:57 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on January 21, 2011, 12:25:37 PM

So would I.
Stayed twice in it the first definitely a 9 the second more like a 6, it makes a big difference the room you get, We stayed in the Royal Marine Dun Laoghaire a few times last year, and was very impressed with it
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 21, 2011, 08:30:15 PM

Ripley's Steakhouse on the Butterslip is good as is Langtons for food,you'll also get a fine feed in the River Court.
For pubs check out Tynans On the Bridge,and Syd Harkins both are fairly close to each other,both are good traditional pubs where you won't have any loud dance music being played making it impossible to have a conversation.
Another decent one but would be a bit louder is the Left Bank on the Parade,one of my favorites is Rafter Dempsey's just off high street.

Other decent pubs are John Cleere's and Annaconda on Parliament Street,I'd stay away from such spots as Matt the Millers,Biddy Early's,Paris Texas these while not bad pubs will be full of young wans off their heads.

If your down for the Thursday night the trad band Na Fianna of Ireland's got talent fame play in Lanigans bar every Thursday night.

As for the walks,it's hard to bate the walk down by the Nore underneath Killkenny Castle and then up in around the grounds of the Castle itself.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 21, 2011, 08:36:45 PM

Bundoran is one of the most depressing places in Ireland.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 21, 2011, 08:37:34 PM

Doesn't the bars/pubs close at 1am in Kilkenny.
Post by: bennydorano on January 21, 2011, 09:19:40 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 21, 2011, 08:36:45 PM

Bundoran is one of the most depressing places in Ireland.
Have always loved Bundoran, it seems to get an awful rough time publicity wise, yet still remains one of the most popular tourist spots in Ireland, having said that I was up for the regular fishing weekend last summer it looked like a ghost town.  Having made regualar annual appearances in it it has improved greatly from what it was 15 odd years ago.

Still great for the likes of a fishing trip & piss up.  The Chasin Bull is a powerful pub with proper live bands at the weekends.
Post by: gawa316 on January 24, 2011, 06:31:07 PM

You could check out the Gaslight B&B, it's right beside Smugglers. Not sure of it's opening hours though.
Post by: gerry on January 24, 2011, 07:51:29 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on January 24, 2011, 06:31:07 PM

You could check out the Gaslight B&B, it's right beside Smugglers. Not sure of it's opening hours though.

summer months only
Post by: laoislad on March 05, 2011, 03:07:09 PM
Going to Dingle for the 16th/17th of this month..
Anything I should or shouldn't do when I'm there? Good places to eat & drink etc?
Post by: Celt_Man on March 06, 2011, 04:36:54 PM
Anyone any opinions on the G hotel in Galway?  Theres talk of heading there for a couple of nights during the week in the near future...
Post by: FL/MAYO on March 06, 2011, 07:02:13 PM
Quote from: Celt_Man on March 06, 2011, 04:36:54 PM
Anyone any opinions on the G hotel in Galway?  Theres talk of heading there for a couple of nights during the week in the near future...

I stayed there a couple of years ago, it epitomizes all that was wrong with the celtic tiger, a totally over rated hotel that is built near an industrial park, it was not my cup of tea at all.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 06, 2011, 07:22:35 PM
We've booked into the Victoria Hotel in Galway for a stag party in May. Anybody ever stayed there before?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 06, 2011, 07:25:26 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 06, 2011, 07:22:35 PM
We've booked into the Victoria Hotel in Galway for a stag party in May. Anybody ever stayed there before?

Not sure what the hotel is like, but its in a fantastic central location, just off Eyre Square, only hop-skip&jump to the Skeff.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 06, 2011, 07:28:37 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on March 06, 2011, 07:02:13 PM

I stayed there a couple of years ago, it epitomizes all that was wrong with the celtic tiger, a totally over rated hotel that is built near an industrial park, it was not my cup of tea at all.

Yip FL/MAYO, good call it has Celtic Tiger written all over it.
Post by: gawa316 on March 18, 2011, 05:19:18 PM
Headin down to Killashee House near Naas for the wedding anniversary.

Any recommendations of stuff to do in the surrounding area?
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on March 18, 2011, 05:27:39 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 06, 2011, 07:28:37 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on March 06, 2011, 07:02:13 PM

Yip FL/MAYO, good call it has Celtic Tiger written all over it.

:D :D :D Mayo lads talking about Galway hotels. What has Mayo to offer? nothing at all.
Post by: randomtask on March 18, 2011, 05:31:08 PM
going down to portlaoise to see the tyrone match with a few lads, going to head out after where is the good spots to hit?
Post by: gawa316 on May 27, 2011, 07:55:01 AM
Anyone recommend a self-catering house in Achill? Preferably in Dugort or Keel. It would need 3 bedrooms at least and good location to beach, pubs, shops etc
Post by: gawa316 on June 05, 2011, 09:32:47 PM
Heading to Achill for the 12th week. Been a right few times so know the island pretty well.

So basically asking what is to do in surrounding area? Is westport worth a day trip? Anywhere else?

Any Achill/Mayo locals here that could point out any hidden treasures?

There'll be a 1 & 2 yr old so frequent pub visits will be limited :(
Post by: ross4life on June 05, 2011, 10:35:00 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on June 05, 2011, 09:32:47 PM
Heading to Achill for the 12th week. Been a right few times so know the island pretty well.

So basically asking what is to do in surrounding area? Is westport worth a day trip? Anywhere else?Any Achill/Mayo locals here that could point out any hidden treasures?

Wesport always worth a look as is Ballina good beach beside it in Enniscrone Co Sligo you could also check out Clifden town & it's ideal base to explore Connemara.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 05, 2011, 10:46:09 PM

So basically asking what is to do in surrounding area? Is westport worth a day trip? Anywhere else?

Any Achill/Mayo locals here that could point out any hidden treasures?

Reroute the flute.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 05, 2011, 11:56:48 PM
Quote from: ross4life on June 05, 2011, 10:35:00 PM

So basically asking what is to do in surrounding area? Is westport worth a day trip? Anywhere else?Any Achill/Mayo locals here that could point out any hidden treasures?

Wesport always worth a look as is Ballina good beach beside it in Enniscrone Co Sligo you could also check out Clifden town & it's ideal base to explore Connemara.

Tumble jungle in ballina, great spot for the kiddies to run about. Slides, nets, cages with balls etc

Post by: gawa316 on June 06, 2011, 07:34:31 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 05, 2011, 10:46:09 PM
Reroute the flute.

Music never was a strong point! Saying that I'll probably stay out of the Minuan.

Cheers for the other advice lads. Was looking last night and there is some place called Westport House and Pirate world or something similar, is it worth a visit?
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 06, 2011, 08:29:46 AM
Quote from: gawa316 on June 06, 2011, 07:34:31 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 05, 2011, 10:46:09 PM
Reroute the flute.

Music never was a strong point! Saying that I'll probably stay out of the Minuan.

Cheers for the other advice lads. Was looking last night and there is some place called Westport House and Pirate world or something similar, is it worth a visit?

Not really no. Very expensive for what you get. Think the two children would be a bit young for it.
Post by: fitzroyalty on June 08, 2011, 12:20:20 PM
A few of us are thinking of booking Galway city for a boozy weekend during the July fortnight.

Mid/late twenties, any recommendations for accommodation, nightclubs, eateries, etc?
Post by: attheraces on June 08, 2011, 06:58:29 PM
Sleepzone is a fantastic hostel/apartments. They have small apartments available that sleep 4 and have a mini kitchen/living room each and are great value. Will probably work out about 25/30 quid per person per nightThey're great for having few drinks before you hit the town. CP's is a big fancy night club. The Quay's is a good all day pub, do good food and show all sport and the Front Door is another good spot.
Post by: fitzroyalty on June 08, 2011, 10:10:45 PM
Cheers attheraces, will check all those out. Any good places for picking up hens? Think that CP's might too fancy for some of our clientele lol
Post by: attheraces on June 08, 2011, 10:14:11 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on June 08, 2011, 10:10:45 PM
Cheers attheraces, will check all those out. Any good places for picking up hens? Think that CP's might too fancy for some of our clientele lol

ha, try Karma, the drunken ones are turfed into there! not a bad spot.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 08, 2011, 10:56:59 PM
Galway has the Big Top/Arts Festival & horse racing in July so won't be much accommodation available
Post by: fitzroyalty on June 09, 2011, 12:44:42 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 08, 2011, 10:56:59 PM
Galway has the Big Top/Arts Festival & horse racing in July so won't be much accommodation available
We plan to go before all that, hopefully shouldn't be too bad
Post by: Onion Bag on June 13, 2011, 01:46:46 PM
Well lads and Lasses, Im looking to book a weekend away for me and Mrs OB, would love to get away down to Cork or Kerry, she has been in neither, something quiet, cheap and cheerful,
anyone got any ideas as to where would be best?
Special offers etc, what is this groupon that everyone is bangin on about? does it apply to Ireland
Post by: Onion Bag on June 13, 2011, 04:03:05 PM
When you get sorted let me know the craic,

you are cutting it a bit fine arent you?
Post by: glens abu on June 13, 2011, 04:12:35 PM
Some really good deals about at present,got 3 nights B+B with 1 evening meal in July at 4* Radissun Blue Rosses point for 99 Euro each.
Post by: Onion Bag on June 13, 2011, 04:58:19 PM
Quote from: glens abu on June 13, 2011, 04:12:35 PM
Some really good deals about at present,got 3 nights B+B with 1 evening meal in July at 4* Radissun Blue Rosses point for 99 Euro each.

Sounds brilliant Glens, i was just on their website and it is working out a lot more expensive than that, did you contact them by phone or what where did you see that deal
Post by: glens abu on June 13, 2011, 07:37:48 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on June 13, 2011, 04:58:19 PM

Sounds brilliant Glens, i was just on their website and it is working out a lot more expensive than that, did you contact them by phone or what where did you see that deal

Onion go to greatbreaks.ie and you will find it along with other great deal.I just checked and its still available
Post by: galwayman on June 13, 2011, 08:31:12 PM
QuoteA few of us are thinking of booking Galway city for a boozy weekend during the July fortnight.

Mid/late twenties, any recommendations for accommodation, nightclubs, eateries, etc?

For accomodation would ye be looking for hostels or hotels? As attheraces said SleepZone is one option if ye're looking for a hostel.There's also a hostel called Barnacles which is right slap bang in the middle of Quay Street.Ideal location though I have never been in it so I don't know what it's like.
Some hotels that would be very well located for the nightlife etc would be Jurys Inn and the House hotel. Jurys is perfectly located and has a nice beer garden out the back beside the river.

For nightlife - pubs like the Front Door and Busker Brownes (directly across the road from each other) are probably the most popular and would be known to attract good looking women! Both are late disco bars.
Quays is a good spot for pints earlier in the day whille Monroes over the bridge is also a decent bar.

The nightclubs are average enough with Halo definitely the best for women.

As regards eateries - it all depends if ye're looking for cheap and cheerful bar food or want to eat a restaurant meal etc.
Quay Street has a few options - restaurants like Martines & KC  Blakes are decent while it also has Fat Freddys and McDonaghs for the cheap and cheerful food.
Front Door, Buskers and the Dail bar all do decent pub grub as well. All of these places are in or around the same area.
For sambos,coffee,breakfast etc Sam Baileys on Abbeygate Street is probably the best place in town.

If you need any more info on the city I would be happy to help
Post by: Onion Bag on June 14, 2011, 08:16:57 AM
Quote from: glens abu on June 13, 2011, 07:37:48 PM

Onion go to greatbreaks.ie and you will find it along with other great deal.I just checked and its still available

As Mac Eoighan says, you need some sort of unique code to book anything here, where do you get your hands on one or whats the story?

some really good deals on offer though
Post by: glens abu on June 14, 2011, 09:12:40 AM
Quote from: Onion Bag on June 14, 2011, 08:16:57 AM
Quote from: glens abu on June 13, 2011, 07:37:48 PM

As Mac Eoighan says, you need some sort of unique code to book anything here, where do you get your hands on one or whats the story?

some really good deals on offer though

Topaz service stations for every £25 fuels get 1 stamp,5 stamps gets you a code.I would put £100 in car in a week Onion so no bother getting codes.I will get you 1 in a week if you want.
Post by: Onion Bag on June 14, 2011, 12:17:53 PM
Sent you a PM glens  ;)
Post by: Blowitupref on June 17, 2011, 01:33:42 AM
Quote from: Mac Eoghain on June 16, 2011, 11:12:47 PM
Couple of good sites helped the cause:

http://www.irelandhotels.com (http://www.irelandhotels.com)

http://www.lidl-breaks.ie (http://www.lidl-breaks.ie)

Now, what the f*** is there to do in Sligo for a weekend...

Depends what part of Sligo your going to & what type of weekend your looking for.
Post by: Doogie Browser on July 19, 2011, 11:57:46 AM
Lads are these Topaz vouchers still doing the rounds?  I fill up at a Topaz garage and there is no mention of these vouchers?
Post by: glens abu on July 19, 2011, 01:14:19 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on July 19, 2011, 11:57:46 AM
Lads are these Topaz vouchers still doing the rounds?  I fill up at a Topaz garage and there is no mention of these vouchers?

finished on the 10th July
Post by: Doogie Browser on July 20, 2011, 09:42:29 AM
Quote from: glens abu on July 19, 2011, 01:14:19 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on July 19, 2011, 11:57:46 AM

finished on the 10th July
Cheers glens.

Thinking of a week down Clare/Kerry way mid August so looking for any deals/bargains.
Post by: gawa316 on August 03, 2011, 09:49:28 AM
Got a night booked in Castle Dargan, Sligo along with golf.

Anyone ever been? What's it like?
Post by: Link on August 03, 2011, 11:03:33 AM
Quote from: gawa316 on August 03, 2011, 09:49:28 AM

Same deal myself. Very good value
Post by: gawa316 on August 03, 2011, 12:46:26 PM
Quote from: Link on August 03, 2011, 11:03:33 AM

Groupon deal?

1st time I've used them. The offer stated spa treatments or golf. If the women is going with you make sure you ask for the spa treatment to be covered by voucher as it's more expensive than the golf. Not much availability for weekends. We got in in Nov when a round of golf is 25 euro compared to the treatment at 50 euro
Post by: Link on August 03, 2011, 02:09:02 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on August 03, 2011, 12:46:26 PM
Quote from: Link on August 03, 2011, 11:03:33 AM

Groupon deal?

1st time I've used them. The offer stated spa treatments or golf. If the women is going with you make sure you ask for the spa treatment to be covered by voucher as it's more expensive than the golf. Not much availability for weekends. We got in in Nov when a round of golf is 25 euro compared to the treatment at 50 euro

First time i've used them for a trip away. Think they're very good for restaurants and spa days. There are four couples going so fourball and four spa treatments. We were looking for a saturday night in October but had to settle for a friday night then golf on the saturday. We are sharing two two bedroom apartments.
Post by: gawa316 on August 03, 2011, 03:11:38 PM
Quote from: Link on August 03, 2011, 02:09:02 PM

First time i've used them for a trip away. Think they're very good for restaurants and spa days. There are four couples going so fourball and four spa treatments. We were looking for a saturday night in October but had to settle for a friday night then golf on the saturday. We are sharing two two bedroom apartments.

So the 99 euro covers your B&B plus 2 for golf or 2 for treaments? The other couple going with us booked it yesterday for us and were told it only covers 1 for golf or a treatment
Title: Re: weekend
Post by: Hashtag on November 26, 2011, 01:27:45 PM
I love these lazy Saturdays.
I have watched two episodes of Big Bang Theory and now watching Simpsons. Have the fire lit and just had a quiche lunch. Will stream some soccer later and X-Factor tonight.

I'm a simple man and enjoy a simple life.
Post by: windyshepardhenderson on November 26, 2011, 01:33:51 PM
Quote from: Hashtag on November 26, 2011, 01:27:45 PM
I have watched two episodes of Big Bang Theory
Good idea.
Quote from: Hashtag on November 26, 2011, 01:27:45 PMand now watching Simpsons.
Bad idea.
Quote from: Hashtag on November 26, 2011, 01:27:45 PMHave the fire lit
Good idea.
Quote from: Hashtag on November 26, 2011, 01:27:45 PMand just had a quiche lunch.
Bad idea.
Quote from: Hashtag on November 26, 2011, 01:27:45 PMWill stream some soccer later
Good idea.
Quote from: Hashtag on November 26, 2011, 01:27:45 PMand X-Factor tonight.
Bad idea.
Quote from: Hashtag on November 26, 2011, 01:27:45 PMI'm a simple man and enjoy a simple life.

You need to get out more lad
Post by: Hashtag on November 26, 2011, 01:35:45 PM
Quote from: windyshepardhenderson on November 26, 2011, 01:33:51 PM
Quote from: Hashtag on November 26, 2011, 01:27:45 PM
I have watched two episodes of Big Bang Theory
Good idea.
Quote from: Hashtag on November 26, 2011, 01:27:45 PMand now watching Simpsons.
Bad idea.
Quote from: Hashtag on November 26, 2011, 01:27:45 PMHave the fire lit
Good idea.
Quote from: Hashtag on November 26, 2011, 01:27:45 PMand just had a quiche lunch.
Bad idea.
Quote from: Hashtag on November 26, 2011, 01:27:45 PMWill stream some soccer later
Good idea.
Quote from: Hashtag on November 26, 2011, 01:27:45 PMand X-Factor tonight.
Bad idea.
Quote from: Hashtag on November 26, 2011, 01:27:45 PMI'm a simple man and enjoy a simple life.

You need to get out more lad

Your analysis of my post. My Mind= Blown

Post by: windyshepardhenderson on November 26, 2011, 01:40:13 PM
To be fair there were some good ideas in there. However they should have been balanced out with more good ideas instead of bad ideas. replace Simpsons, Quiche and x Factor with Skysports News, something manly to eat and a while feed of drink down the local.
Post by: Joxer on April 17, 2012, 03:32:48 PM
Bump!

Mrs looking to book weekend away. Anyone give me a nice hotel?
Post by: HiMucker on April 17, 2012, 03:43:24 PM
Lough Eske castle near donegal town is doing some good deals at the minute.  Lovely spot.  You may be on a promise if you take her there  ;)
Post by: sheamy on April 17, 2012, 03:48:40 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on April 17, 2012, 03:43:24 PM
Lough Eske castle near donegal town is doing some good deals at the minute.  Lovely spot.  You may be on a promise if you take her there  ;)

Good auld mucker...thinking with the gonads again! Were you at the hairdressers recently?  :D
Short, back and sides is hard to beat...

Hairdresser: short enough?
Mucker: Nah, do another wee bit there....
Post by: HiMucker on April 17, 2012, 05:06:15 PM
Quote from: sheamy on April 17, 2012, 03:48:40 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on April 17, 2012, 03:43:24 PM

Good auld mucker...thinking with the gonads again! Were you at the hairdressers recently?  :D
Short, back and sides is hard to beat...

Hairdresser: short enough?
Mucker: Nah, do another wee bit there....

I got it cut at the weekend, just in time for the start of the new season:)
Your some craic Sheamy!  Sure yous culchies all have that same Mark Lynch marine style hair cut  :D

Hair Dresser:  Is that short enough?
Sheamy:  Aye, just give the nostril and ear hair a trim now
;D :P
Post by: Bingo on April 17, 2012, 05:11:52 PM
Heading to a nice country retreat in Wicklow the weekend, should be great to unwind and get away for a wee break.

Some great deals on pigsback for breaks in Ireland.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 19, 2012, 12:26:32 PM
Quote from: Bingo on April 17, 2012, 05:11:52 PM

True that. They had a good deal for one of them Blue Book hotels recently.
Post by: theticklemister on April 19, 2012, 12:29:34 PM
Take advantage of the supervalu get away breaks deal
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 28, 2012, 11:48:42 AM
Looking to head down to Mullingar for the Antrim match 19th May. Any decent Hostels around that area? Would be a few lads heading, so rough and ready is fine :o
Post by: Bud Wiser on April 29, 2012, 07:07:36 PM
Quote from: Bingo on April 17, 2012, 05:11:52 PM
Heading to a nice country retreat in Wicklow the weekend, should be great to unwind and get away for a wee break.

Ring Conal Keaney and tell him you are a Gael and he will cut you a deal.  www.avonri.com (http://www.avonri.com)
Post by: Minus15 on April 29, 2012, 08:54:12 PM
Heading down to Cork next weekend with the girlfriend. Any suggestions of things to do during the day / spots to hit in the evenings?
Post by: 5 Sams on May 01, 2012, 08:19:00 PM
Quote from: Minus15 on April 29, 2012, 08:54:12 PM
Heading down to Cork next weekend with the girlfriend. Any suggestions of things to do during the day / spots to hit in the evenings?

Give Larry Tompkins a shout. Great pub, great host and he'll talk football all night. Dunno what the girlfriend will do though ;)
Post by: spuds on May 01, 2012, 08:46:54 PM
Quote from: Minus15 on April 29, 2012, 08:54:12 PM
Kartworld in Watergrasshill is a good spot if your Mrs. likes that sort of thing.
http://www.kartworld.ie/

Hard to beat a drive out to Kinsale for a walk about the town and a nice meal, no shortage of fine eateries about. Continue on to Glandore and across the bridge to Union Hall, beautiful little villages with a quaint wee bar that you can pass the evening in.
http://www.unionhall.ie/

City is small enough to walk about, St. Finbarrs cathedral I was impressed with, was a good display in the Crawford art gallery in city centre. http://www.crawfordartgallery.ie/visit.html

Lot of late night bars along Oliver Plunkett St ?? Good drinking places abound.
Post by: 5 Sams on May 01, 2012, 10:11:09 PM
Meant to say also that Cork people are IMHO the most friendly people in the country...unlike their cagey cousins across the border in Kerry....takes a while to get to know the hoors but after that friends for life...

You'll have a great time in Langerland.
Post by: glens abu on May 02, 2012, 11:25:19 AM
Heading to Carton House in a few weeks for golf break,heard its fairly quiet at night ,anyone ever been and could suggest where to eat etc;
Post by: maggie on May 02, 2012, 12:35:31 PM
Quote from: Mac Eoghain on May 02, 2012, 11:29:28 AM
Quote from: glens abu on May 02, 2012, 11:25:19 AM
Heading to Carton House in a few weeks for golf break,heard its fairly quiet at night ,anyone ever been and could suggest where to eat etc;

I think it is USUALLY a quiet place at night, although we were down 2 years ago for wedding anniversary, complete wrecking session in the next room for most of the night. Turned out to be a Corrie 'star' who ended up paying for our weekend break. The bolix.

Who was it?
Post by: Minus15 on May 03, 2012, 10:39:55 PM
5 sams / spuds thanks for the info heading tomorrow evening. Looking forward to it.

Post by: give her dixie on May 03, 2012, 11:35:13 PM
Can't recommend this place highly enough.

If you are looking for an alternative to hotels, why not stay in a Mongolian Yurt in the heart
of Co. Westmeath.

Mention my name for a discount.....

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Boutique-Camping-Ireland/130795103667457

http://boutiquecamping.ie/
Post by: gawa316 on May 04, 2012, 10:27:43 AM
Heading to the Mount Wolseley in Carlow in June for the sister's 40th with the whole family (6 kids). We are renting the houses out. Seems like a great spot for families as there is loads to do for kids. Anyone ever been?
Post by: Geoff Tipps on May 04, 2012, 10:38:57 AM
Quote from: gawa316 on May 04, 2012, 10:27:43 AM
Heading to the Mount Wolseley in Carlow in June for the sister's 40th with the whole family (6 kids). We are renting the houses out. Seems like a great spot for families as there is loads to do for kids. Anyone ever been?

Played golf there. Decent course.
There's a flaconry close by which could entertain the kids for an afternoon.
Post by: spuds on May 04, 2012, 11:48:43 AM
Quote from: Minus15 on May 03, 2012, 10:39:55 PM
5 sams / spuds thanks for the info heading tomorrow evening. Looking forward to it.
Let us know where you both went to etc. Enjoy.
Post by: Denn Forever on May 04, 2012, 11:51:02 AM
Eigse the Arts festival is on in Carlow from the 8th to the 17th June.  Arty stuff and music/comedy for the oldies and probably stuff for the childer as well.

http://www.eigse.com/
Post by: gawa316 on May 04, 2012, 12:05:23 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on May 04, 2012, 10:38:57 AM
Quote from: gawa316 on May 04, 2012, 10:27:43 AM

Played golf there. Decent course.
There's a flaconry close by which could entertain the kids for an afternoon.

The clubs will be the 1st thing packed.

That flaconry is in Rathwood and definitely seems like the spot for an afternoon, Train, animal park, play park and chocolate factory (kids high as kites on choc...great!!) as well as the flaconry. Cheers for mentioning.

There the 1st week in June so unfortunately will miss the arts festival
Post by: BenDover on May 06, 2012, 08:54:14 PM
Heading to the Pontoon Bridge hotel in Mayo in a couple of weeks. Anyone ever been and any recommendations on things 2do in the area
Post by: amallon on June 01, 2012, 09:37:48 AM
I'm looking for some advice on a weekend in Mayo around Halloween.   Would like to see Cong, Clew bay, maybe even attempt Croagh Patrick (how long does it take to climb).  Looking a good hotel for not celtic tiger money if you know what I mean.  Also other suggestions of what to see would be appreciated.  Is Achill worth a visit?
Post by: gerrykeegan on June 01, 2012, 10:09:16 AM
Aidan

Killary harbour is stunning. We used to go there to an adventure centre (years ago) very rough and ready,its still there but they have upgraded it http://www.killaryadventure.com/
My sister stayed in Delphi and said it was fantastic and seems to get great reviews. dont know about the prices http://www.delphimountainresort.com/
Post by: amallon on June 01, 2012, 11:59:12 AM
That delphi is booked out.  Anything you'd recommend in Westport Gerry.  Was looking at the Westport plaza, it looks pricey enough though.
Post by: ziggy90 on June 01, 2012, 12:03:39 PM
The Castle Court in Westport is a beautiful hotel, and you can get good deals on it if you scout around.
Post by: amallon on October 15, 2012, 10:06:41 PM
Never did get to Westport!  Looking to do a few days away over new years.  Westport is still an option if I could get decent accomodation at the right price.  Would like to do the North coast maybe Ballycastle, anyone know of a decent hotel up there?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 15, 2012, 10:11:49 PM
Quote from: amallon on October 15, 2012, 10:06:41 PM
Never did get to Westport!  Looking to do a few days away over new years.  Westport is still an option if I could get decent accomodation at the right price.  Would like to do the North coast maybe Ballycastle, anyone know of a decent hotel up there?

http://www.marinehotelballycastle.com/ decent enough and good food
Post by: Minder on October 15, 2012, 10:17:01 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 15, 2012, 10:11:49 PM

"Opening Easter 2013". Previous owner went bust and it has been sitting idle for a few years.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 15, 2012, 10:21:11 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 15, 2012, 10:17:01 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 15, 2012, 10:11:49 PM

"Opening Easter 2013". Previous owner went bust and it has been sitting idle for a few years.
Might dust off the good shirt if they re-open Legends niteclub.
Post by: Christmas Lights on November 04, 2012, 11:12:12 PM
Thinking of heading away on a weekday break this November

Was looking at this hotel, Ice House Hotelm for spa treatments etc in Ballina with the woman, anyone been or recommend it?

http://www.icehousehotel.ie/

Where else in Mayo or down that part of the country I could stay mid week with a nice hotel and some activities?
Post by: NAG1 on November 05, 2012, 02:51:10 PM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on November 04, 2012, 11:12:12 PM

Was looking at this hotel, Ice House Hotelm for spa treatments etc in Ballina with the woman, anyone been or recommend it?

Where else in Mayo or down that part of the country I could stay mid week with a nice hotel and some activities?

Totally recommend it been a few times, on the pricey side of pricey but it is a lovely spot.
Post by: seafoid on November 05, 2012, 03:19:05 PM
http://www.irelands-blue-book.ie/offersnew.htm
Post by: Christmas Lights on November 06, 2012, 02:36:47 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on November 05, 2012, 02:51:10 PM

Totally recommend it been a few times, on the pricey side of pricey but it is a lovely spot.

Can get 2 nights next Wednesday and Thursday, includes bed and vreakfast, 3 course meal one night and 60 minutes spa treatment for 2 people.  Price is Euro 243 per person.  That seems good enough right?  Seems like a very fancy place.

Much to do about Ballina and the surrounding areas during the day / at night etc..
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 26, 2013, 11:20:42 AM
Off to Castle Leslie this weekend for a wedding, staying in the Cottages for two nights. Anyone been and outside of the wedding is there much to do? Activities nearby for the kids? local pubs for me ;)
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 26, 2013, 02:04:36 PM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on November 06, 2012, 02:36:47 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on November 05, 2012, 02:51:10 PM

Can get 2 nights next Wednesday and Thursday, includes bed and vreakfast, 3 course meal one night and 60 minutes spa treatment for 2 people.  Price is Euro 243 per person.  That seems good enough right?  Seems like a very fancy place.

Much to do about Ballina and the surrounding areas during the day / at night etc..
Plenty to do depending on ur interests
Ceide fields, down patrick head and the sea stacks, enniscrone beach, Croagh patrick
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 26, 2013, 02:05:24 PM
anyone been to the cliff house hotel in ardmore?
Won a nites B&B in it last nite
Post by: johnneycool on July 26, 2013, 02:08:51 PM
thinking of taking the family to tayto park in Ashbourne for a few days, anyone been and whats it like? Is there anything else around there for kids, swimming pools etc?
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 26, 2013, 06:13:00 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on July 26, 2013, 02:08:51 PM
thinking of taking the family to tayto park in Ashbourne for a few days, anyone been and whats it like? Is there anything else around there for kids, swimming pools etc?
Friends of the missus have been there - "not cheap" was the feedback! The hoors charge €50 in for a family (2 adults + 3 children) then charge again for all manned rides (another €2 to €4 a pop) so the costs soon mount up. Apart from that I think it was alright.
Post by: give her dixie on July 27, 2013, 01:09:33 PM
Excellent video taken by 2 Canadians as they traveled through Ireland.
Good inspiration to get up and head somewhere.....

http://vimeo.com/69986476
Post by: gerrykeegan on August 13, 2013, 10:17:37 AM

Went yesterday (Monday) it was packed, it is some setup. My kids 4 and 6 loved it. it was 40.00 for two adults and 2 kids. We only paid extra for one thing, (I'm miserable like that) we had to wait 20 minutes or so for it. You got to see the factory in operation. We were 5.5 hours there and couldn't fault it. I overheard one womwn say to her daughter "now this is the last 25 euro you are getting in tokens! If your kids are older it's going to add up.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 13, 2013, 07:37:39 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on August 13, 2013, 10:17:37 AM

Went yesterday (Monday) it was packed, it is some setup. My kids 4 and 6 loved it. it was 40.00 for two adults and 2 kids. We only paid extra for one thing, (I'm miserable like that) we had to wait 20 minutes or so for it. You got to see the factory in operation. We were 5.5 hours there and couldn't fault it. I overheard one womwn say to her daughter "now this is the last 25 euro you are getting in tokens! If your kids are older it's going to add up.
Might give it a blast. If it's shit I'll know who to blame.
Post by: gerrykeegan on August 13, 2013, 08:02:28 PM
There was a mighty amount of yellow regs around! Watch the weather if it's dry and your kids aren't afraid of heights its excellent. I don't know what it would be like if it's wet.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on August 13, 2013, 08:07:00 PM
Sister in law got a decent deal for a 2 adults and 2 children staying 2 nights in City North hotel, passes for tayto park and for funtasia included ( think it is on the city north website)
Post by: Feckitt on August 13, 2013, 08:09:45 PM
Thinking of taking the wife and childer away for a long weekend, but looking for somewhere within reasonable distance.  Was thinking of Wicklow (motorway nearly the whole way).  Seems to be plenty outdoory type things to do, but if it rains all weekend is there anything?
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 13, 2013, 08:14:10 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on August 13, 2013, 08:02:28 PM
There was a mighty amount of yellow regs around! Watch the weather if it's dry and your kids aren't afraid of heights its excellent. I don't know what it would be like if it's wet.
Probably similar just a bit more moist.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 13, 2014, 02:54:24 PM
Looking to use a Living Social deal at the Ramada in Derry, any of the Derry ones recommend it? 89 Euro for 2 people, includes bed breakfast, evening meal and bottle of Prosecco.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 14, 2014, 12:28:32 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 13, 2014, 02:54:24 PM
Looking to use a Living Social deal at the Ramada in Derry, any of the Derry ones recommend it? 89 Euro for 2 people, includes bed breakfast, evening meal and bottle of Prosecco.

Hold onto your wife/partner. Naw it will be grand, not too far from town centre, about 3 miles. But there is a bar and adjoining disco, it's not rough by any means but it does have a rep for being frequented by divorcees at the weekend, sometimes good craic to watch the shenanigans though.
I'd say its def worth 89 euro and the food will be nice
Post by: Christmas Lights on November 12, 2014, 05:57:17 PM
Anyone suggest any nice hotels for a spa break over the Christmas period?

Either in the North or South of Ireland
Post by: Rois on November 12, 2014, 06:17:27 PM
Carton House is lovely, I stayed at it last month.  Would rate it very highly.
Post by: gallsman on November 12, 2014, 06:17:46 PM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on November 12, 2014, 05:57:17 PM
Anyone suggest any nice hotels for a spa break over the Christmas period?

Either in the North or South of Ireland

Monart in Wexford is possibly the best Spa in Ireland. Not cheap though.

Off to Castle Leslie for a couple of days this evening myself. Have heard some great stories about it.
Post by: maggie on November 12, 2014, 08:16:18 PM
Would agree with Rois. Was in Carton House last june and loved it. The Seafield in Gorey has a top class spa and in the north The Galgorm is lovely too but unlikely you would get much weekend availability now before Christmas.
Post by: Shortso79 on December 08, 2014, 09:13:49 PM
Hoping to head to Eniss next March for the weekend to see Clare v Armagh - any hotel recommendations ? Cheers
Post by: seafoid on December 08, 2014, 09:42:27 PM
Quote from: Shortso79 on December 08, 2014, 09:13:49 PM
Hoping to head to Eniss next March for the weekend to see Clare v Armagh - any hotel recommendations ? Cheers
the west county hotel
Post by: Christmas Lights on November 30, 2015, 04:24:30 PM
Anyone recommend any good hotels for a couple of nights over Christmas?  Im based in Lisburn, Co Antrim, have one daughter aged 22 months and one son aged 1 month.  Like to get away every year for a couple of nights after Christmas so is there anywhere nice in the North for a coiple of nights, preferably one with a pool and is child friendly.  Went to Carton House last year on suggestions here last year so looking for more inspiration  ;D

Somewhere in the North would be good but willing to go past Newry but probably not as far as Dublin with the wee ones. Maybe trying to avoid Donegal or places in West Ireland as its a bit of a joint away usually on bad roads.
Post by: Denn Forever on November 30, 2015, 05:04:59 PM
Would this do?

http://www.lougherneresort.com/special-offers.html
Post by: Christmas Lights on November 30, 2015, 05:23:34 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on November 30, 2015, 05:04:59 PM
Would this do?

http://www.lougherneresort.com/special-offers.html

Wife is from Fermanagh, sick of looking at the place
Post by: Denn Forever on November 30, 2015, 05:26:11 PM
Ready made Baby sitters tho.
Post by: thewobbler on November 30, 2015, 05:35:14 PM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on November 30, 2015, 04:24:30 PM
Anyone recommend any good hotels for a couple of nights over Christmas?  Im based in Lisburn, Co Antrim, have one daughter aged 22 months and one son aged 1 month.  Like to get away every year for a couple of nights after Christmas so is there anywhere nice in the North for a coiple of nights, preferably one with a pool and is child friendly.  Went to Carton House last year on suggestions here last year so looking for more inspiration  ;D

Somewhere in the North would be good but willing to go past Newry but probably not as far as Dublin with the wee ones. Maybe trying to avoid Donegal or places in West Ireland as its a bit of a joint away usually on bad roads.

Slieve Russell or Crystal in Cavan, Nuremore in Carrickmacross, Hillgrove in Monaghan, City North in Drogheda, Radisson in Limavady.
Post by: oakleaflad on November 30, 2015, 05:40:23 PM

http://www.slieverussell.ie/
Post by: AZOffaly on December 01, 2015, 11:59:37 AM
Quote from: oakleaflad on November 30, 2015, 05:40:23 PM

http://www.slieverussell.ie/

Slieve Russell is a grand spot. Nice and relaxing, nice pool/health club area, and the lake is almost up to the back door.
Post by: screenexile on December 01, 2015, 12:03:06 PM
https://www.groupon.co.uk/deals/ga-castle-leslie-estate-8?p=1&nlp=&CID=UK_CRM_1_0_0_335&a=53&utm_source=newsletter&utm_medium=email&sid=03d0d9ee-c3d3-459c-9b21-3b10ee0252b2&division=belfast&eh=31fe05d2553f19cfaaaf8bce06395ce08f207fd7ccd4438083d5ad5eb2cc45c7&date=20150112&sender=rm&s=body&c=button&d=deal-page&utm_campaign=ga-castle-leslie-estate-8-80705203
Post by: Soup an Samajiz on December 01, 2015, 12:28:59 PM
Quote from: screenexile on December 01, 2015, 12:03:06 PM
https://www.groupon.co.uk/deals/ga-castle-leslie-estate-8?p=1&nlp=&CID=UK_CRM_1_0_0_335&a=53&utm_source=newsletter&utm_medium=email&sid=03d0d9ee-c3d3-459c-9b21-3b10ee0252b2&division=belfast&eh=31fe05d2553f19cfaaaf8bce06395ce08f207fd7ccd4438083d5ad5eb2cc45c7&date=20150112&sender=rm&s=body&c=button&d=deal-page&utm_campaign=ga-castle-leslie-estate-8-80705203

seen that, and a very similar deal for Farnham estate also... if you can get the dates to suit its a no brainer
Post by: gallsman on December 01, 2015, 01:24:20 PM
Castle Leslie deal is on Groupon all the time. Great spot but the food isn't the best. You're better off going and eating in the bar than in the restaurant. Spa isn't up to much either. If after a spa weekend, Monart in Wexford or the Brooklodge in Wicklow are the two best options for me. The food in both of them is outstanding.