Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: rosnarun on September 08, 2008, 04:34:41 PM

Title: More lolly for the Debt dodging Freeloaders
Post by: rosnarun on September 08, 2008, 04:34:41 PM

Tallaght Stadium, the new home of Shamrock Rovers, is to receive €825,000 from the RAPID Sports Capital grant fund.

Rovers, the most successful side in League of Ireland history, have been without a permanent home for two decades since leaving Glenmalure Park in Milltown in 1987.

The new stadium also received a €2.75 million grant from the Department of Arts, Sports and Tourism this year.
Title: Re: More lolly for the Debt dodging Freeloaders
Post by: Gnevin on September 08, 2008, 08:39:20 PM
Sure don't the Irish league teams deserve a dig out , such a well managed ,realistic lot
Post by: thebandit on September 09, 2008, 08:05:36 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on September 08, 2008, 08:39:20 PM
Sure don't the Irish league teams deserve a dig out , such a well managed ,realistic lot

Just like their Eircom League counterparts  :D
Post by: dublinfella on September 09, 2008, 02:13:39 PM
I'm a bit lost, South Dublin County Council are "Debt dodging Freeloaders"?  ???
Post by: rosnarun on September 09, 2008, 02:36:58 PM
not its the wasters who sold their stadium for housing and then sat on their arses for nearly 20 years till some one else built them a stadium and along the way managed to go broke and did their best to bring several small business' with them
Post by: dublinfella on September 09, 2008, 02:43:01 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on September 09, 2008, 02:36:58 PM
not its the wasters who sold their stadium for housing and then sat on their arses for nearly 20 years till some one else built them a stadium and along the way managed to go broke and did their best to bring several small business' with them

But the money is going to the Council to assist in building a much needed piece of sporting and social infrastructure in a disadvantaged area.

Your bitterness is admirable, but entirely misplaced.
Post by: rosnarun on September 09, 2008, 04:04:24 PM
QuoteBut the money is going to the Council to assist in building a much needed piece of sporting and social infrastructure in a disadvantaged area.

balls the money going to the least deserving causes who prtend to a Prosfessional business when it suits them .
At least we can be fairly sure theyll go the way of most soccer club and dissappear along with cork cobh galway and sligo before too long and from todays paper hopefully Drogheda too . though im sure theyll get some suckers from meath or louth CC to bail them out
Post by: his holiness nb on September 09, 2008, 04:16:55 PM
Dont think any eircom league team is safe with the way things are going. Not having to pay for your stadium must be a great help though. Gives Rovers a big advantage over the other teams.

Whatever other sports teams will be let in occasionally for a day out, I dont think anyone is naive enough not to realise its just a smokescreen to justify giving Rovers a stadium.
"Its for the community" sounds much better doesnt it?

I'd be inclined to say "fair play to them" were it not for the carry on of their fans during the thomas davis court case.
Post by: Tankie on September 09, 2008, 04:39:44 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on September 09, 2008, 04:04:24 PM
QuoteBut the money is going to the Council to assist in building a much needed piece of sporting and social infrastructure in a disadvantaged area.

balls the money going to the least deserving causes who prtend to a Prosfessional business when it suits them .
At least we can be fairly sure theyll go the way of most soccer club and dissappear along with cork cobh galway and sligo before too long and from todays paper hopefully Drogheda too . though im sure theyll get some suckers from meath or louth CC to bail them out

whats this about Drogheda?
Post by: dublinfella on September 09, 2008, 04:39:55 PM
So not only have they fooled the Judge, the Council and the Dept of Sport, now those nefarious Rovers lads have scammed money out of the Dept of Community, Gaeltacht and Rural Affairs. Or maybe, just maybe, what is planned for the facility is what they say it is - a genuine community space with a members owned professional soccer club as anchor tenents?

I feel the real bitterness here is that this compunds to you how wrong TD's position was on the matter.

The RAPID programme funding is available to all sports bodies in disadvantaged areas. They feel that what Rovers and the Council have planned for the stadiium is worthy of 825k. And very tellingly, none of the dozen or so GAA teams in the area have schemes worth funding.
Post by: dublinfella on September 09, 2008, 04:41:21 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on September 09, 2008, 04:04:24 PM

Not one of those clubs has 'disappeared'. If you are going to rant, try and get the basics right. Like saying that football clubs that have games this weekend hae gone bust and where the funding is actually going.

Post by: dublinfella on September 09, 2008, 04:42:51 PM
Quote from: Tankie on September 09, 2008, 04:39:44 PM

whats this about Drogheda?

According to todays papers the NRA have vetoed their new stadium so the builder backing them is out at the end of the season. Would only be a problem if they pulled out mid season like the hedge fund who owned Cork.   
Post by: Tankie on September 09, 2008, 05:16:05 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on September 09, 2008, 04:39:55 PM
So not only have they fooled the Judge, the Council and the Dept of Sport, now those nefarious Rovers lads have scammed money out of the Dept of Community, Gaeltacht and Rural Affairs. Or maybe, just maybe, what is planned for the facility is what they say it is - a genuine community space with a members owned professional soccer club as anchor tenents?

I feel the real bitterness here is that this compunds to you how wrong TD's position was on the matter.

The RAPID programme funding is available to all sports bodies in disadvantaged areas. They feel that what Rovers and the Council have planned for the stadiium is worthy of 825k. And very tellingly, none of the dozen or so GAA teams in the area have schemes worth funding.

what are you talking about? i really dont see what your point is or is it just a rant. SR are tennents in 3k one stand stadium, the stadium is too small for any other sports anyway. the government will give money to anyone, sure they game the RDS €1m for floodlights so they could rent the ground to leinster rugby!
Post by: dublinfella on September 09, 2008, 05:21:47 PM
Quote from: Tankie on September 09, 2008, 05:16:05 PM

what are you talking about? i really dont see what your point is or is it just a rant. SR are tennents in 3k one stand stadium, the stadium is too small for any other sports anyway. the government will give money to anyone, sure they game the RDS €1m for floodlights so they could rent the ground to leinster rugby!

Jesus wept. Everyone has an opinion round here without even the most basic facts. 3k?  ???

This is additional funding because its in a disadvantaged area - hence its from the dept of community affairs under the RAPID scheme. Its for add ons to what is already planned for things like equipment to turn it into an outdoor cinema and the like. This is NOT capital grant funds.

Nothing whatsoever to do with the sporting side of the facility. Its further proof that TD got it fundamentally wrong - this is not a 'free' stadium for a soccer club, rather the council have other plans for the place - plans the GAA tried to stop.

If the local GAA clubs had such schemes they would also get funding. But they are more worried about blocking other sports getting a foothold.
Post by: his holiness nb on September 09, 2008, 05:36:56 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on September 09, 2008, 05:21:47 PM
If the local GAA clubs had such schemes they would also get funding. But they are more worried about blocking other sports getting a foothold.

Just thought this statement was worth showing twice. Very telling comment.
Post by: dublinfella on September 09, 2008, 05:46:10 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on September 09, 2008, 05:36:56 PM

Just thought this statement was worth showing twice. Very telling comment.

Would you not agree?

TD cost the GAA the guts of a million in legal fees and now the Govt have decided the Community Stadium is worthy of additional social funding on the basis that between Rovers and the Council they are planning to do great things for the local community. What are the local GAA clubs up to? Not one scheme worthy of funding?
Post by: Pangurban on September 09, 2008, 07:11:56 PM
This requires a legal challenge, as the Club is in fact a Business from which profit is made, the use of social funds is inappropiate
Post by: ludermor on September 09, 2008, 07:48:01 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on September 09, 2008, 07:32:41 PM
The predcitibility is depressing. Soccer got somethng the GAA didn't and something must be fishy. Lets get the lawyers involved. I despair for the game in Dublin at the moment as this attitude is definitly in ascendency in the DCB. The question of getting off our arses and getting similar grants really doesnt enter some peoples heads. Its all about stopping them rather than promoting the GAA.

Someone call an ambulance i cant breath! Funniest thing i have seen in ages
Post by: dublinfella on September 09, 2008, 07:52:09 PM
Quote from: ludermor on September 09, 2008, 07:48:01 PM

Someone call an ambulance i cant breath! Funniest thing i have seen in ages

Oh right, I forgot. I don't go with the herd on here so I must be an enemy of the GAA deep undercover.

It shows a tremenoius lack of imagination and ambition if the best you can come up with is to dismiss me as not being a GAA man because you disagree with me on something.
Post by: Main Street on September 09, 2008, 07:57:48 PM
The RAPID money goes to the stadium owners to develop the stadium.
Rovers are just tenants.

GAA grounds in designated disadvantaged areas have gained funding from RAPID.

Petty cash to the GAA. The value of upgrade projects just completed, in progress and in the pipeline would be in the serious table of financial expenditure estimates.

Post by: ludermor on September 09, 2008, 08:01:24 PM
There are bigger GAA fans on OWC than you. Did you ever say what your club is?
I have to apologise for my tremenoius lack of imagination and ambition
Post by: Pangurban on September 09, 2008, 08:05:19 PM
How are they a business and GAA clubs not?

Does Dublinfella really expect this question to be taken seriously. If he is so ill-informed as to require an answer, then he is probably beyond enlightening, best he stick to the soccer
Post by: Main Street on September 09, 2008, 08:07:14 PM
Did you not know Dublinfella is a GAA man ?  he has that hack knack of being present at every contraversial event involving the GAA.

He was there when Bonner fell from grace.
He was there when a riot happenned in his head
He would have been at Carlow but he just couldn't pull that one off.
Post by: dublinfella on September 09, 2008, 11:11:23 PM
Quote from: Pangurban on September 09, 2008, 08:05:19 PM

Does Dublinfella really expect this question to be taken seriously. If he is so ill-informed as to require an answer, then he is probably beyond enlightening, best he stick to the soccer

As Mainstreet, who understands what the funding actually is, says the GAA often get money from thies scheme. Do you think they are talking about legal challenges and it bing an abuse on foot.ie? Do thet fcuk. So why that reaction on this? Its dissapointing that there is such a visceral anti sport mentality within the GAA

Rovers are a not for profit members owned club. Why are they less entitled to grants than GAA clubs? And this attitude is all the more bizarre when you remember they arent getting this money - the council are on behalf of the community
Post by: Gnevin on September 10, 2008, 12:03:37 AM
Dublinfella do you think the Government should bail out Cork city ?
Post by: dublinfella on September 10, 2008, 09:42:56 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on September 10, 2008, 12:03:37 AM
Dublinfella do you think the Government should bail out Cork city ?

No.
Post by: Hardy on September 10, 2008, 09:49:01 AM
How much rent will Shamrock Rovers be paying for the Tallaght stadium? I've been told it's rent free. Surely that can't be true, as it would represent direct government intervention in the market in favour of one participant against all its competitors, who presumably have to fund their own facilities. 

Even if they do have to pay rent, it appears to me that the other businesses competing in the soccer league would have a right to ask the government to treat them equally and build a modern stadium for each of them, rented at the same rate as applies to Shamrock Rovers.

What am I missing?
Post by: dublinfella on September 10, 2008, 09:57:36 AM
Quote from: Hardy on September 10, 2008, 09:49:01 AM
How much rent will Shamrock Rovers be paying for the Tallaght stadium? I've been told it's rent free. Surely that can't be true, as it would represent direct government intervention in the market in favour of one participant against all its competitors, who presumably have to fund their own facilities. 

Even if they do have to pay rent, it appears to me that the other businesses competing in the soccer league would have a right to ask the government to treat them equally and build a modern stadium for each of them, rented at the same rate as applies to Shamrock Rovers.

What am I missing?

Who told you that? As you say yourself, it can't be true, as it isn't

IIRC it was a sizeable cut of the gate and a 50/50 split on match day advertising. Waterford, Fingal and Derry have similar arrangements with their local councils.

Again, how are Rovers a business and Thomas Davis not?

I presume what you are missigng is that councils regularly work with GAA clubs in a similar fashion too, Ratchoole springs to mind. Why are the DCB entitled to do a deal over land with the council and no-one object but Rovers get such vitriol. We need more sports facilities in the area, not less.

Can I ask you a question. Why is it a good thing that the GAA engage in these schemes and with the council, but when another sport does it GAA folk call for legal action?
Post by: Hardy on September 10, 2008, 10:44:52 AM
I have no issue with government and councils funding sports. The more the better. It's just that I don't understand the criteria used to decide who gets funding and who doesn't. And I draw a distinction between community-based organisations promoting sport for the good of the community and fly-by-night gombeen men who run a soccer business for their own profit (and who ask their customers to bail them out when they get into trouble). One group is deserving of funding and the other clearly should not be getting public funds.

Further, I have difficulty understanding why government funds should be given to organisations that devote the huge bulk of their resources to paying their players. In what way is that funding benefitting sport in the community? Surely it benefits only the handful of paid  players and the owners of the businesses. Who else gets anything from the funds?

And I know of no GAA club that has had a stadium built for it by the local council.

Post by: dublinfella on September 10, 2008, 10:54:40 AM
Quote from: Hardy on September 10, 2008, 10:44:52 AM
I have no issue with government and councils funding sports. The more the better. It's just that I don't understand the criteria used to decide who gets funding and who doesn't. And I draw a distinction between community-based organisations promoting sport for the good of the community and fly-by-night gombeen men who run a soccer business for their own profit (and who ask their customers to bail them out when they get into trouble). One group is deserving of funding and the other clearly should not be getting public funds.

Further, I have difficulty understanding why government funds should be given to organisations that devote the huge bulk of their resources to paying their players. In what way is that funding benefitting sport in the community? Surely it benefits only the handful of paid  players and the owners of the businesses. Who else gets anything from the funds?

And I know of no GAA club that has had a stadium built for it by the local council.

I think its unfair to dismiss Rovers fans taking over their own club and running it right in the way you have done. Are you saying that because they pay their players (and not much by LoI standards I believe) that all the other work they do can be dismissed? The 825k from the RAPID scheme to me shows that there is at least a plan in place to benefit the local community. I believe they will be putting in an outdoor cinema, holding gigs and conferences (none of which could have been done if TD had won)
and according to the local rag Rovers will be having all the local schoolkids in for a day on top of them giving out school books etc.

Its a bit trite to suggest that the GAA is the only sports body in Ireland that does good in their community.

If  the issue is that Rovers pay their players? If/when the grants come in will you accept, by your logic, the GAA being frozen out of funding?
Post by: Hardy on September 10, 2008, 11:04:46 AM
I see degrees of acceptability. The worst case is giving public money to commercial busineses, usually of doubtful financial probity, as many Irish soccer businesses have shown themselves to be.

I understand Shamrock Rovers is a members-owned, not profit-distributing company. So is my local tennis club, which has benefitted from lottery funds. I'm all for funding organisations like that, if they provide a service to the community. But I have a problem identifying the benefit to the community when it's clear that practically all of the organisation's resources are devoted to paying the players. Bringing in the local kids for a day hardly cuts it.

And I didn't suggest that the GAA is the only sports body in Ireland that does good in their community. See my tennis club example for just one of thousands.

I'm vehemently opposed to the grants scheme for GAA players. But to suggest that it would be inconsistent to support public funding for the GAA on the basis of the existence of this scheme doesn't hold water. Unlike professional soccer clubs, the percentage of resources going to pay the players is minuscule.
Post by: dublinfella on September 10, 2008, 11:13:45 AM
I wouldn't like to see LoI clubs get direct mony from the state either. And they aren't, so we can agree on that and move on.

Rovers have a dozens of underage sides, a womens side, a basketball team and have a squad of young Dubs. They provide dozens of scholarships at primary, seconday and in the local IT. They give out school uniforms and books to students and software to schools. And they aren't even in the area yet. Exactly what else do you expect them to do? Do your tennis club do any of this?

Its pure bile at this stage because they beat the GAA in court.

If you are objecting to grants on the basis that players in a club get paid, its entirely inconsistant to say that GAA players getting paid is somehow different to soccer etc and as such they should be exempt.
Post by: stephenite on September 10, 2008, 11:26:01 AM
Whats the difference between dozens of underage sides and a squad of young Dubs - genuine question, I would've though that any underage teams fielded by Rovers would be full of young Dubs?
Post by: Hardy on September 10, 2008, 11:29:46 AM
QuoteIf you are objecting to grants on the basis that players in a club get paid, its entirely inconsistant to say that GAA players getting paid is somehow different to soccer etc and as such they should be exempt.

But of course I'm not. Once more and for the last time, I'm objecting because PRACTICALLY ALL of the club's resources (assuming it's not substantially different to every other League Of Ireland club) go to paying the players.

I have no interest in the court case, so stop flinging around suggestions about "bile". I simply see a huge inequity in the way government money is being dished out. Show me a GAA club that has had a stadium provided for it by the government and maybe your argument will have its first leg to stand on. It might get a second if you point out how it makes sense to fund organisations that do nothing but sit on their arses and moan until they get a handout, while bypassing those that work to improve their facilities, seemingly on the basis that, since they've provided it for themselves they don't need the help - leaves more available to give to the freeloaders. .
Post by: dublinfella on September 10, 2008, 11:33:25 AM
Quote from: stephenite on September 10, 2008, 11:26:01 AM
Whats the difference between dozens of underage sides and a squad of young Dubs - genuine question, I would've though that any underage teams fielded by Rovers would be full of young Dubs?

The Rovers LoI team is all local players. None of the high paid journeymen that Bohs, Shels etc have. Talking to their fan I know  they seem to be trying to get as far away from the tradional LoI model as they can
Post by: dublinfella on September 10, 2008, 11:39:07 AM
Quote from: Hardy on September 10, 2008, 11:29:46 AM

But of course I'm not. Once more and for the last time, I'm objecting because PRACTICALLY ALL of the club's resources (assuming it's not substantially different to every other League Of Ireland club) go to paying the players.

I have no interest in the court case, so stop flinging around suggestions about "bile". I simply see a huge inequity in the way government money is being dished out. Show me a GAA club that has had a stadium provided for it by the government and maybe your argument will have its first leg to stand on. It might get a second if you point out how it makes sense to fund organisations that do nothing but sit on their arses and moan until they get a handout, while bypassing those that work to improve their facilities, seemingly on the basis that, since they've provided it for themselves they don't need the help - leaves more available to give to the freeloaders. .

But the GAA get more in grants than every other sports organisation combined. Hundreds of millions in the past 10 years and all of it deserved Whats inequitable about soccer getting a few million?

I'm a little bit lost as to your point re GAA clubs. I don't know of one GAA club that has not gotten some grant aid for the clubhouse or a stand. But in the Tallaght case, at least the council get to use it. Different sports, different situations.

Also, the South Dublin GAA would be on shaky ground talking about 'sitting on holes' and 'freeloading'. What is the latest with Rathcoole? 14 years since the DCB got the land for nowt and still no work on it. That situation is entirely unacceptable.
Post by: Gnevin on September 10, 2008, 10:10:11 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on September 10, 2008, 11:39:07 AM

But the GAA get more in grants than every other sports organisation combined. Hundreds of millions in the past 10 years and all of it deserved Whats inequitable about soccer getting a few million?

I'm a little bit lost as to your point re GAA clubs. I don't know of one GAA club that has not gotten some grant aid for the clubhouse or a stand. But in the Tallaght case, at least the council get to use it. Different sports, different situations.

Also, the South Dublin GAA would be on shaky ground talking about 'sitting on holes' and 'freeloading'. What is the latest with Rathcoole? 14 years since the DCB got the land for nowt and still no work on it. That situation is entirely unacceptable.
I suggest you up your dosage of ARICEPT
Post by: fred the red on September 10, 2008, 10:14:14 PM
The more money the government pumps into meaningful sports programmes for the community the better.
Post by: dublinfella on September 11, 2008, 09:26:38 AM
Quote from: fred the red on September 10, 2008, 10:14:14 PM
The more money the government pumps into meaningful sports programmes for the community the better.

Exactly. Why does that simple statement lead to such hostility from the clique on this site?
Post by: dublinfella on September 11, 2008, 09:28:50 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on September 10, 2008, 10:10:11 PM

So you are going to ignore the points I raised and make a cheap joke that I have mental illness.

The paucity of debate on this site has sunk even lower, if that is possible.
Post by: his holiness nb on September 11, 2008, 01:30:09 PM
Its already about as low as it can get to be honest.
Its getting to the stage where every "fact" posted needs to be double checked for confirmation due to the amount of lies being told.

I'm staying out of it for that very reason. Unless of course a smart arse reply to this is posted, I'll gladly respond to that  ;)
Post by: Gnevin on September 11, 2008, 01:55:42 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on September 11, 2008, 09:28:50 AM

So you are going to ignore the points I raised and make a cheap joke that I have mental illness.

No I'm just refusing to repeat myself as your well aware we discussed this several times before .
Post by: dublinfella on September 11, 2008, 02:28:18 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on September 11, 2008, 01:55:42 PM

No I'm just refusing to repeat myself as your well aware we discussed this several times before .

Well grow up and do it without throwing that sort of dung around.

All this because pangurban posted a manipulated version of the press release to imply Rovers themselves and not the Council were getting funds.

To be fair to his holiness, he is right. How are people to make infomed judgements when that sort of maclicious posting goes on. Most forums would have tugged him for the way he didn't source the article.

Here is the full press release if anyone cares.

Tallaght Stadium receives €825k grant

The new Tallaght Stadium, which will become the home of eircom League of Ireland club Shamrock Rovers from the start of next season, will receive a grant of €825,000 from the RAPID Sports Capital Top-Up funding.

Éamon Ó Cuív, Minister for Community, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs confirmed this week that the new ground will receive the sum in addition to the €2.75m allocated by the Department of Arts, Sports and Tourism earlier this year.

The RAPID (Revitalising Areas by Planning, Investment and Development) Programme is a focused Government initiative to target the 46 most disadvantaged areas in the country.

Mr Ó Cuív said: "This stadium will be a huge boost for Tallaght, and this project is particularly significant in that it will serve three different RAPID areas: Fettercairn, Killenarden and Jobstown.

"The new facility will be a wonderful community resource and, I am sure, a source of great local pride. I understand that this stadium will be home to Shamrock Rovers FC, the most successful club in Irish football history, and this will be an inspiration for many young players in Tallaght.

"Participation in sports at all levels – as players, trainers, supporters and spectators – brings people together and creates a feeling of solidarity within the community. I am confident that Tallaght Stadium will contribute greatly to this sense of community in Tallaght, and I am looking forward to seeing the plans for this new stadium when I announce the full list of RAPID Sports Capital Top-Up Programme allocations in Tallaght this Wednesday."

Responding to the news, Rovers chairman Jonathan Roche said: "This is great news for Shamrock Rovers and the people of Tallaght.

"It also shows how sport benefits the local community. As well as bringing professional football to the area, Rovers offer sporting and educational opportunities through our scholarship schemes and underage section.

"It's a unique and all-encompassing package that reflects the club's determination and ability to make a positive impact on the lives of people in Tallaght."
Post by: his holiness nb on September 11, 2008, 04:58:09 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on September 11, 2008, 02:28:18 PM
To be fair to his holiness, he is right.

Always Dublinfella, always.

Although in fairness to Pangurban, I wasnt referring to his post as you suggest.
Post by: Main Street on September 11, 2008, 05:28:07 PM
QuoteIf you are objecting to grants on the basis that players in a club get paid, its entirely inconsistant to say that GAA players getting paid is somehow different to soccer etc and as such they should be exempt.

In many places around Europe the local stadium is a public owned facility and rented out to the full time professional club.
Rovers have received an anchor rent contract from a public owned facility.
This is a widespread practice which has worked well all over Europe.
Freeloading does not apply.
It is up to the council to maintain the facility and run it as a viable unit.

It doesn't matter that Rover's pay their players. They are a sports organisation with a strong membership structure.
It's up to the membership to vote in a board who will manage the finances.
The club has to follow strict FAI scrutiny.

The vast majority of players playing senior club soccer in Ireland do not get paid.
Imo as long as a clubs facilities are held in trust or member owned, whose finances are FAI approved, are quite entitled to apply for funding to expand their infrastructure.

Post by: his holiness nb on September 11, 2008, 05:33:05 PM
Why are Rovers being credited so with "schemes" that attract the grant.
If Rovers are only tennants, how can posters be comparing the schemes of rovers to GAA clubs in the area. Surely the schemes are nothing to do with Rovers???

Some very contradictary statements coming out, on the one hand, Rovers had nothing to do with the grant, and did not get it, the county council did, on the other hand, Rovers schemes earned the grants.

Weird logic.
Post by: dublinfella on September 11, 2008, 08:59:42 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on September 11, 2008, 05:33:05 PM
Why are Rovers being credited so with "schemes" that attract the grant.
If Rovers are only tennants, how can posters be comparing the schemes of rovers to GAA clubs in the area. Surely the schemes are nothing to do with Rovers???

Some very contradictary statements coming out, on the one hand, Rovers had nothing to do with the grant, and did not get it, the county council did, on the other hand, Rovers schemes earned the grants.

Weird logic.

Its not. The council have been awarded a grant from the RAPID scheme on the basis of what will happen in that stadium will be an improvement in the civic life of one of the countries most disadvantaged areas. Rovers and their community projects are clearly part of that.

Post by: Tankie on September 12, 2008, 10:41:56 AM
I am a big fan of the councils building stadiums but would prefer that the stadium was available to all sports like other countries do. in regard to the tallaght stadium it is too small either in the pitch size or capacity for any other sports in this country other than soccer but in principle i feel it should have been available to all since it is a full funded tax payers stadium where Rovers or any other team pay to play there as it is nobodys stadium but the tax payers!
Post by: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 11:17:30 AM
Quote from: Tankie on September 12, 2008, 10:41:56 AM
I am a big fan of the councils building stadiums but would prefer that the stadium was available to all sports like other countries do. in regard to the tallaght stadium it is too small either in the pitch size or capacity for any other sports in this country other than soccer but in principle i feel it should have been available to all since it is a full funded tax payers stadium where Rovers or any other team pay to play there as it is nobodys stadium but the tax payers!

thats old ground. the pitch can fit rugby and underage gaa as well. there are hundreds of municipal facilities up and down the country and there is no obligation on them to be available to all sports.

But the point I'm making is there is a deliberate effort on the part of the poster who started this thread to imply Rovers were directly getting money from the state. Thats plain malice. I know of no other site that would allow an unsourced and manipulated press release go unchallenged.

Post by: Tankie on September 12, 2008, 11:27:17 AM
Quote from: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 11:17:30 AM

thats old ground. the pitch can fit rugby and underage gaa as well. there are hundreds of municipal facilities up and down the country and there is no obligation on them to be available to all sports.

But the point I'm making is there is a deliberate effort on the part of the poster who started this thread to imply Rovers were directly getting money from the state. Thats plain malice. I know of no other site that would allow an unsourced and manipulated press release go unchallenged.

well realisticly it is a soccer stadium and many Sports ministers have said this so i can see where the poster is coming from. In terms of underage gaa they dont really need a stadium and for senior gaa the pitch and stadium and pitch are too small and for rugby the stadium is too small.

but is is a free stadium and rugby never showed an interest in using but GAA did and if its a free stadium it should fit all sports, i really dont know how you fail to see what the issue is here.
Post by: Gnevin on September 12, 2008, 11:28:12 AM
Quote from: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 11:17:30 AM

I don't think its malice maybe confusion . You have too admit while the distinction is apt  at the moment no other teams are using this ground so for the moment the money may go to the council but Rovers are getting all the benefit.

In saying that Rover now no longer appear too be operating on the typical LOI model .So its not really money for big business but money for community projects which i'm fine with
Post by: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 11:32:56 AM
Quote from: Tankie on September 12, 2008, 11:27:17 AM

well realisticly it is a soccer stadium and many Sports ministers have said this so i can see where the poster is coming from. In terms of underage gaa they dont really need a stadium and for senior gaa the pitch and stadium and pitch are too small and for rugby the stadium is too small.

but is is a free stadium and rugby never showed an interest in using but GAA did and if its a free stadium it should fit all sports, i really dont know how you fail to see what the issue is here.

Free to who? Rovers put €2m into the project. It will fit all sports that can be played it it. Whats next, the local canoe club wanting a piece? By your logic all sports should be entitled to use Rathcoole, free land given to the GAA by the same council

This is all old ground. The GAA lost their case and the stadium is getting built as democratically decided.

What has happened here is a further grant to develop it as a commuinity facility. Only the most bitter would object to this.
Post by: Tankie on September 12, 2008, 12:04:45 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 11:32:56 AM
Quote from: Tankie on September 12, 2008, 11:27:17 AM

Free to who? Rovers put €2m into the project. It will fit all sports that can be played it it. Whats next, the local canoe club wanting a piece? By your logic all sports should be entitled to use Rathcoole, free land given to the GAA by the same council

This is all old ground. The GAA lost their case and the stadium is getting built as democratically decided.

What has happened here is a further grant to develop it as a commuinity facility. Only the most bitter would object to this.

€2m into what exactly? if the governemnt was to fully fund a stadium in rathcoole i would have expect it to be open to all sports as i dont believe sports should work against each other but with the Tallaght stadium the government, the council and rovers/fai changed the goal posts in that sence so there will be alot of people who will now keep other sports out of their grounds and have a modern day precedent to which they can throw at anyone. For example the tallaght decision has made sure that the GAA will never be convinced to allow other sports use their grounds or provincial stadium for other sports unless they feel it benifits them.
Post by: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 12:10:59 PM
Quote from: Tankie on September 12, 2008, 12:04:45 PM

€2m into what exactly? if the governemnt was to fully fund a stadium in rathcoole i would have expect it to be open to all sports as i dont believe sports should work against each other but with the Tallaght stadium the government, the council and rovers/fai changed the goal posts in that sence so there will be alot of people who will now keep other sports out of their grounds and have a modern day precedent to which they can throw at anyone. For example the tallaght decision has made sure that the GAA will never be convinced to allow other sports use their grounds or provincial stadium for other sports unless they feel it benifits them.

€2m into the stadium. They are not getting a 'free stadium'. Its been done to death. TD used that line in court and lost.

Set the precedent? Are you for real? Who are the sports body with the rule prohibiting other sports using their facilities? Why else would the GAA be convinced to allow other sports use their grounds other than it being in their benefit?

What are you actually trying to say here? Do you even know?
Post by: Tankie on September 12, 2008, 12:15:26 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 12:10:59 PM
Quote from: Tankie on September 12, 2008, 12:04:45 PM

€2m into the stadium. They are not getting a 'free stadium'. Its been done to death. TD used that line in court and lost.

Set the precedent? Are you for real? Who are the sports body with the rule prohibiting other sports using their facilities? Why else would the GAA be convinced to allow other sports use their grounds other than it being in their benefit?

What are you actually trying to say here? Do you even know?

I think you will see I said a modern day precedent, we should really be moving on from the past and should not be building stadium that do not include all. if you fall to see that i think you will find tht you are the bigot!
Post by: Gnevin on September 12, 2008, 12:19:52 PM
What is the ETA of this "stadium"
Post by: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 12:35:52 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on September 12, 2008, 12:19:52 PM

why have you stadium in inverted commas?

Feb next year according to the local rag
Post by: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 12:37:49 PM
Quote from: Tankie on September 12, 2008, 12:15:26 PM

I think you will see I said a modern day precedent, we should really be moving on from the past and should not be building stadium that do not include all. if you fall to see that i think you will find tht you are the bigot!

Thats hilarious.

Have you put forward a moition that rule 42 should be scrapped in your club's agm or are you just confused on the internet?
Post by: Gnevin on September 12, 2008, 12:46:32 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 12:35:52 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on September 12, 2008, 12:19:52 PM

why have you stadium in inverted commas?

Feb next year according to the local rag

1 stand and a bit of concert isn't really a stadium
Post by: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 12:49:41 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on September 12, 2008, 12:46:32 PM

yet a year ago you supported a million euro operation in the High Court to get in on it.

you are oozing bitter.
Post by: Gnevin on September 12, 2008, 12:55:20 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 12:49:41 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on September 12, 2008, 12:46:32 PM

yet a year ago you supported a million euro operation in the High Court to get in on it.

you are oozing bitter.
No I supported an operation which challenged why a "Community project" didn't fully cater for the number 1 sport of the country, that operation was not successful so it's time to move along with the precedent set .  When (if) it's finished I'm sure it will be nice .

Is Rover a for profit organisation? or non profit?

Oozing I love it , your vocabulary is great, you should be a poet
Post by: Tankie on September 12, 2008, 01:02:38 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 12:37:49 PM
Quote from: Tankie on September 12, 2008, 12:15:26 PM

Thats hilarious.

Have you put forward a moition that rule 42 should be scrapped in your club's agm or are you just confused on the internet?

well looking on the stance taken by the fai on the tallaght stadium i do not see there being much desire to have the rule scrapped. me personally i would like it scrapped but when we are dealing with people with your view i can see why people have reservations!
Post by: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 01:04:14 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on September 12, 2008, 12:55:20 PM
[No I supported an operation which challenged why a "Community project" didn't fully cater for the number 1 sport of the country, that operation was not successful so it's time to move along with the precedent set .  When (if) it's finished I'm sure it will be nice .

so why not challenge the hundreds of other municpal facilities in Ireland? Why that one and why in the manner it was done?

Rovers is non profit. Members club etc.
Post by: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 01:06:12 PM
Quote from: Tankie on September 12, 2008, 01:02:38 PM

well looking on the stance taken by the fai on the tallaght stadium i do not see there being much desire to have the rule scrapped. me personally i would like it scrapped but when we are dealing with people with your view i can see why people have reservations!

so the GAA can have a blanket rule and thats ok, but its unnaceptible for the council to not rebuild a facility at an astronomical increased cost to accomodate GAA who admitted they would never actually use it.

thanks for that contribution
Post by: Gnevin on September 12, 2008, 01:09:58 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 01:04:14 PM
[No I supported an operation which challenged why a "Community project" didn't fully cater for the number 1 sport of the country, that operation was not successful so it's time to move along with the precedent set .  When (if) it's finished I'm sure it will be nice .

so why not challenge the hundreds of other municpal facilities in Ireland? Why that one and why in the manner it was done?

I don't know TD's mindset but from my point of view i supported as
(1) It appeared to be a bail out to a twice or three times failed business model
(2) The plans where originally for all sports ground
(3) I don't agree with giving handout to businesses unless the cost benefit has been shown
(4) Rovers had other options to share and refused them

Post by: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 01:17:19 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on September 12, 2008, 01:09:58 PM

(1) It appeared to be a bail out to a twice or three times failed business model
(3) I don't agree with giving handout to businesses unless the cost benefit has been shown

1: I agree
2: No they werent. There was never any plan for it to be anything other than a soccer ground. Ever.
3: Who are the business here? The council?
4: Did they?

I would like you to elaborate on where you got 2 and 4 from?
Post by: AZOffaly on September 12, 2008, 01:22:36 PM
Loathe as I am to get into the middle of this, one thing you posted, dublinfella, interested me. Are Rovers really a 'not-for-profit' club? If they sell a player, or go on a European run or whatever, where does the money go? New players, wages, etc etc? Just wondering, becuase it must be a fairly unusual model for a professional soccer club to be not-for-profit.
Post by: Gnevin on September 12, 2008, 01:23:45 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 01:17:19 PM

1: I agree
2: No they werent. There was never any plan for it to be anything other than a soccer ground.
3: Who are the business here? The council?
4: Did they?

I would like you to elaborate on where you got 2 and 4 from?
2: Ok sorry the original council motion was for a all sports ground , correct? If not you know what i'm refering to and perhaps you could share.
3: Lets call a spade a spade here ,until someone else uses the ground the money is only going to the council to prevent Rovers pissing it away. Has any other organisation, team expressed an interest in this ground?
4:The DCB offered to build and share the ground, you are well aware of this .
Post by: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 01:31:46 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 12, 2008, 01:22:36 PM
Loathe as I am to get into the middle of this, one thing you posted, dublinfella, interested me. Are Rovers really a 'not-for-profit' club? If they sell a player, or go on a European run or whatever, where does the money go? New players, wages, etc etc? Just wondering, becuase it must be a fairly unusual model for a professional soccer club to be not-for-profit.

Not really, its common enough. Barca. A host of German clubs. Bohs.

Any profit is reinvested in the club. Whether thats for development or higher wages I haven't a clue. 
Post by: Tankie on September 12, 2008, 01:36:53 PM
on the plus side of this lads we must remember the great headlines on a saturday morning  about all the violance (i know alot of it is well blown out of proposrtion as i have been to many rovers matches) after these matches, it will be classic listening to the aul ones on joe duffy come monday!
Post by: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 01:37:52 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on September 12, 2008, 01:23:45 PM

2: Ok sorry the original council motion was for a all sports ground , correct? If not you know what i'm refering to and perhaps you could share.
3: Lets call a spade a spade here ,until someone else uses the ground the money is only going to the council to prevent Rovers pissing it away. Has any other organisation, team expressed an interest in this ground?
4:The DCB offered to build and share the ground, you are well aware of this .

2: You said plans. But no, the original council motion was not for 'all sports'. How would you accomodate 'all sports' anway?. The GAA lobbied the council to 'explore the feasability of multi sport use' later on in the proccess, which they did and decided that it was not feasible to redisign the stadium. There was never any time when the GAA were included in this facility.

3: No idea.

4: 10 years ago and Rovers, who owned the place outright at the time, said no for the same infrastructural reasons the council did. You would withold council funding on the basis they said 'no thanks' to an exploratory proposal from the DCB?
Post by: Gnevin on September 12, 2008, 01:42:09 PM
Quote from: Tankie on September 12, 2008, 01:36:53 PM
on the plus side of this lads we must remember the great headlines on a saturday morning  about all the violance (i know alot of it is well blown out of proposrtion as i have been to many rovers matches) after these matches, it will be classic listening to the aul ones on joe duffy come monday!

Do they still hate Bohs? I've heard they are Northside bastards  ;D :D
Post by: Tankie on September 12, 2008, 01:45:41 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on September 12, 2008, 01:42:09 PM
Quote from: Tankie on September 12, 2008, 01:36:53 PM

Do they still hate Bohs? I've heard they are Northside b**tards  ;D :D

ohh the abuse that is thrown to fellow irish mena t these games is shocking, some of the stuff would but the shite said up the north into second division!
Post by: Gnevin on September 12, 2008, 01:47:44 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 01:37:52 PM

4: 10 years ago and Rovers, who owned the place outright at the time, said no for the same infrastructural reasons the council did. You would withold council funding on the basis they said 'no thanks' to an exploratory proposal from the DCB?

Strange that wasn't reason given in the papers at the time.
Post by: his holiness nb on September 12, 2008, 01:48:33 PM
They actually sing that Bohs are "orange bastards" and that they "will fight them, anywhere!".

Another song is boasting about causing crowd violence at a game in Dalymount park.  Some shocking stuff out of these lads, I remember being at a game before where a Dublin player for Shelbourne was repeatedly called am "orange bastard" and "orange sc**bag" etc as he had played for Linfield at one stage.
I always have a wee chuckle and remember these factors whenever a Rovers fan has a pop at the GAA for being anti protestant of the likes.

Even the Tallaght locals will be saying "there goes the neighbourhood" when these boys come to town  :D

Post by: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 01:50:46 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on September 12, 2008, 01:47:44 PM

regardless, hardly justification for a legal challenge 10 years later.
Post by: Gnevin on September 12, 2008, 01:56:49 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 01:50:46 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on September 12, 2008, 01:47:44 PM

regardless, hardly justification for a legal challenge 10 years later.

Quote from: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 01:04:14 PM

Post by: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 02:00:05 PM
I don't get it. You put it forward as a reason that TD were right to waste €1m of GAA money.
Post by: Gnevin on September 12, 2008, 02:04:59 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 02:00:05 PM
I don't get it. You put it forward as a reason that TD were right to waste €1m of GAA money.

I put it forward as a reason why i felt Rovers shouldn't be gifted a ground and hence I supported TD'S challenge to the same
Post by: Tankie on September 12, 2008, 02:06:07 PM
ah true irishmen and they are a great bunch of 'Really' nice guys: here are some classics i found on the net:

We are rovers,
Super rovers,
No one likes us,
We don't care,
We hate Bohs,
Orange bastards,
And we'll fight them anywhere...

In your Inchicore slums!

The Bohs scum will never catch up
We never ever ever run away

Very good for this thread!

We all live in the Tallaght housing scheme,
where all the walls are green and Rovers are the team.

Post by: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 02:07:57 PM
Quote from: Tankie on September 12, 2008, 02:06:07 PM
ah true irishmen and they are a great bunch of 'Really' nice guys: here are some classics i found on the net:

Now we are questioning whether they are Irish? And for of all things, being republican?

Tankie, time to change the meds.
Post by: Tankie on September 12, 2008, 02:09:06 PM
this bebo page is great: http://www.bebo.com/Profile.jsp?MemberId=2763220881

The Shamrock Rovers Casuals are the top firm in Ireland as everyone knows.

The SRFC Casuals strike fear into every club they play from Djurgardens of Sweden to Bohs, Dundalk, Cork & Shels. Not only do they have largest numbers in the country but they are the most organized and best dressed casuals in the country aswell. 90 percent of the Rovers fans today are involved in hooliganism in Irish football. The casuals have numerious links with firms across the world such as Cliftonville,Cardiff City,Panathinkaikos and Hammarby. They are definitely the only casuals in Ireland who could put it up to firms from across the water.

SRFC Irelands No 1 Casuals

I bet the people of Taggaht cant wait!

Post by: AZOffaly on September 12, 2008, 02:29:38 PM
I knew Barcelona was owned by the fans, but I didn't realise it was not-for-profit. I assumed if there was any operating profit, the owners, i.e. the fans, would get a slice of the pie. Do the fans own Rovers? If not, who does?
Post by: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 02:33:30 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 12, 2008, 02:29:38 PM
I knew Barcelona was owned by the fans, but I didn't realise it was not-for-profit. I assumed if there was any operating profit, the owners, i.e. the fans, would get a slice of the pie. Do the fans own Rovers? If not, who does?

My understanding of Barca is that all profit is retained.

Rovers is 100% owned by the fans apparantly.
Post by: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 02:34:40 PM
Quote from: Tankie on September 12, 2008, 02:09:06 PM

The SRFC Casuals strike fear into every club they play from Djurgardens of Sweden to Bohs, Dundalk, Cork & Shels. Not only do they have largest numbers in the country but they are the most organized and best dressed casuals in the country aswell. 90 percent of the Rovers fans today are involved in hooliganism in Irish football. The casuals have numerious links with firms across the world such as Cliftonville,Cardiff City,Panathinkaikos and Hammarby. They are definitely the only casuals in Ireland who could put it up to firms from across the water.

Jesus wept, you are quoting Bebo now? Will we dig out the GAA hooligan pages on there while we are at it?  ::)

I think you should stop sniffing glue.
Post by: Tankie on September 12, 2008, 02:37:02 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 02:34:40 PM
Quote from: Tankie on September 12, 2008, 02:09:06 PM

Jesus wept, you are quoting Bebo now? Will we dig out the GAA hooligan pages on there while we are at it?  ::)

I think you should stop sniffing glue.

the difference is there is the physical evidence to back up the voilance at soccer matches in this country!
Post by: his holiness nb on September 12, 2008, 02:45:00 PM
Tankie in fairness you are getting way off topic. Its a well know fact the Rovers fans have a large element of nasty characters. thats nowt to do with the stadium though.
Post by: Gnevin on September 12, 2008, 03:04:13 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 02:07:57 PM

Now we are questioning whether they are Irish? And for of all things, being republican?

Shocking make fun on mental illness

Post by: Tankie on September 12, 2008, 03:11:13 PM

well its quite clear that these people are not republicans!
Post by: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 03:12:33 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on September 12, 2008, 03:04:13 PM

I was hoping I would get away with that one.....  ;D
Post by: Gnevin on September 12, 2008, 04:24:02 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on September 12, 2008, 03:12:33 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on September 12, 2008, 03:04:13 PM

I was hoping I would get away with that one.....  ;D

So what would be a no comment then, where has your sense of outrage disappeared too?
Post by: blast05 on September 12, 2008, 11:22:32 PM

Dublinfella, the reality is that the bulk of this money will be spent on concrete and all other raw materials and labour required to complete the infrastructure surrounding the 1-2 acres of green area. In my view, this does not contribute to sporting and social infrastructure.

A simple little stand that could handle a crowd of say 1,000 people ((and a club house with 4 dressing rooms)) with the actual playing area being used by as many underage teams as the playing service allows would be a much greater spend of the money and of much greater benefit to the local community as more of the youth of the area would get to use it.

The bulk of the money being spent on this facility is to create the infrastructure that only the Shamrock Rovers LoI team require and from which there is negligible benefit to the local community. SR providing kids with day trips, school books, software etc is only tokenism.

The total amount of money being spent on the stadium would have been better spent on providing 3 or 4 smaller facilities like i have described and preferably with a running track  .... even if the green are is to only to be used by soccer !! If SR want a stadium then let them build it.

A very similar situation to all of this has occurred in Athlone where a 5,000 approx capacity stadium was built for Athlone Town on donated council land and using all sorts of sports capital grants, lottery grants etc. The average home gate is between about 100 to 500. Meanwhile all other council soccer pitches in the town area are merely plots of lands with goal posts. How much better it would have been to spend the millions it took to build the stadium on all the other council soccer pitches through the town. If Athlone Town wanted a pitch, then let them buy the land and take it from there. Also in Athlone, we have recently had to put up with Athlone GAA club being refused a request put to the council for an otherwise useless 27 yard strip of council land close to Athlone Town soccer stadium to allow them to build a 3rd full size GAA pitch. The request was turned down. Equity ???