Quote5.3m days lost to absenteeism: report
Tuesday, 26 August 2008 09:18
A total of 5.3m days were lost to small businesses in the last year through absenteeism, according to a report published by the Small Firms Association.
The national average for absenteeism is eight days a year, but in contact or call centres, where employees miss the most days of any sector, this rises to 14 days.
'Taking a sickie' is expensive for business, the report finds. The cost to small companies of all of those missed days amounts to almost €800m in sick pay schemes alone and does not include things like replacing staff, others' overtime, or medical referrals.
AdvertisementThe SFA's study found that companies with fewer than 50 employees have a much better attendance record than bigger firms. Employees at small firms miss six days a year, while those at bigger firms miss ten days on average.
Back pain, back injury and stress are the three most common problems recorded on medical certificates.
Workers in Cork have the worst attendance record in the country at almost five sick days, closely followed by the southeast, the west, and Co Wicklow.
Employees at Dublin-based firms take sick days the least often at three days a year.
I've said it for years, lazy culchies! looks like its upto the dubs to keep the economy going!
But sure there's no Dubs working in Dublin. All the bleedin' culchies are up there keeping the place going. And who in their right mind would take a sickie up there? Sure there's no enjoyment in that. Down the country it's a different story.
As a wise man once said, 'You have no business taking a sick day - unless you are in the prime of your health, and the weather is conducive to good hurling'.
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 26, 2008, 09:57:04 AM
But sure there's no Dubs working in Dublin. All the bleedin' culchies are up there keeping the place going. And who in their right mind would take a sickie up there? Sure there's no enjoyment in that. Down the country it's a different story.
As a wise man once said, 'You have no business taking a sick day - unless you are in the prime of your health, and the weather is conducive to good hurling'.
oh yes the country is the happen spot for sick days alrite! i think i would take mine in Dublin anytime!
This article makes me feel sick to the stomach >:( Gonna have to phone into work as it has caused me too much stress!
I'm a Dub, working in Dublin, but when I have a sick day I take them at my home in Meath.
I'm confused, is this a good or bad thing?
Anything a Dub does is bad holiness ;)
It's good for you. But is it good for Meath?
People in other parts of the country need an odd Monday off to nurse celebratory hang-overs after big wins in football. ;D
Quote from: Tankie on August 26, 2008, 09:54:37 AM
Quote5.3m days lost to absenteeism: report
Tuesday, 26 August 2008 09:18
A total of 5.3m days were lost to small businesses in the last year through absenteeism, according to a report published by the Small Firms Association.
The national average for absenteeism is eight days a year, but in contact or call centres, where employees miss the most days of any sector, this rises to 14 days.
'Taking a sickie' is expensive for business, the report finds. The cost to small companies of all of those missed days amounts to almost €800m in sick pay schemes alone and does not include things like replacing staff, others' overtime, or medical referrals.
AdvertisementThe SFA's study found that companies with fewer than 50 employees have a much better attendance record than bigger firms. Employees at small firms miss six days a year, while those at bigger firms miss ten days on average.
Back pain, back injury and stress are the three most common problems recorded on medical certificates.
Workers in Cork have the worst attendance record in the country at almost five sick days, closely followed by the southeast, the west, and Co Wicklow.
Employees at Dublin-based firms take sick days the least often at three days a year.
I've said it for years, lazy culchies! looks like its upto the dubs to keep the economy going!
People from outside of the Pale are keeping up the average in Dublin.
But sure all the Dubs are too busy queing for their free money ;D
Quote from: Son_of_Sam on August 27, 2008, 09:16:33 AM
Oi, just because Tankie is being a plank doesnt mean you have to stoop to his level!
Quote from: his holiness nb on August 27, 2008, 10:35:17 AM
Oi, just because Tankie is being a plank doesnt mean you have to stoop to his level!
a plank? the figures speak for themselves!
Tankie is being a plank
Sure he cant help it - he has a natural talent :D
Quote from: Tankie on August 27, 2008, 10:37:52 AM
a plank? the figures speak for themselves!
How's that Dublin Wexford semi-final thread working out for you Tankie? :D
I'm the last that would stick up for Tankie :*
However, he came back to the board within hours of the Dublin defeat and took it on the chin with good grace.
Lazy Culchies - what about us?
QuoteLazy Culchies - what about us?
Lazy Americans too.
Quote from: ziggysego on August 27, 2008, 09:46:53 PM
However, he came back to the board within hours of the Dublin defeat and took it on the chin with good grace.
And what else was he going to do? Especially after the hammering the Dirty Dubs got...
Don't be so gullable to think he was genuine
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 27, 2008, 11:21:14 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 27, 2008, 09:46:53 PM
And what else was he going to do? Especially after the hammering the Dirty Dubs got...
Don't be so gullable to think he was genuine
Jasus Machiavelli would get lost following the plots within plots ,bluffs and double bluffs on this board
The Dubs dont have the balls to win an AI so its hardly surprising that they lack the courage to pull a sickie, conformists to a man
Quote from: Pangurban on August 27, 2008, 11:45:39 PM
The Dubs dont have the balls to win an AI so its hardly surprising that they lack the courage to pull a sickie, conformists to a man
Classic!
Culchies like:
1 A nice bit of ham.
2 Buttered biscuits.
3 Diggin Houles.
4 Saying its too cold to snow
5 Pretending to know about The Ra.
6 Tayto Cheese & Onion
7 Pretending they're in The Ra.
8 A stretch in the evenings
9 Lucozade
10 Accordians
11 Pretending to like Holy Week
12 A dinner dance
13 Gettin clattered in muck
14 Shania Twain
15 Hefers
16 Spittin in their hands before doing anything manual
17 Steel toe caps
18 A big bowl of carrots & parsnips
19 Eating sangwiches out of the boot of a car at the GAA
20 Saying someones 'Opened a Book' on something
21 The smell of fresh dung
22 Slice-Your-Own Loaf
23 Work Clothes
24 A bottle of mineral
25 Fightin'
26 Puttin on a ganzee to stop them from bein foundered
27 'The' Hurling/Fitball
28 Being overweight
29 Wimen wha resemble hefers
30 Saying "Aaah" after taking their first sup of tae
31 Drink driving
32 Red diesel
33 The Fear of Change
34 A nice bit of Barnbrac
35 Lying
36 Building walls
37 Being starved with the cold rather than with a lack of food
38 Pretending to like mass
39 Talking about ***** like Flax and the Corncrake
40 A good blackthorn walkin stick
41 Shouting 'Yeeeeeoooo' when something good happens
42 Mohammed Ali
43 Machinery
44 Strange uppy-downy walks
45 A good f**kin read of Irelands Own
46 Gelling their 1cm fringe tight to their forehead
47 Scandal, as long as its about other people
48 Turf, because Sentirl heatin's for wimen
49 Soda farls
50 Sponge 'n Custirt
51 Newmerica', and anything to do with it
52 Givin the dog the wildest baytins
53 Givin the wife the wildest baytins
54 The Ra
55 Winning a leg of lamb in a raffle
56 Wrecking the house whilst steaming
57 Club Orange
58 Rubbing their hands together before tucking into their dinner
59 The Foot & Mouth
60 Aetin' a big feed of spuds
61 TK Red Lemonade
62 Good short hair for boys and nice long hair for the wimen (it confuses them otherwise)
63 Flegs
64 Starting conversations with 'guess who's dead?'
65 Listening to the death notices on the radio
66 Durty fingernails
67 An extended family tree (e.g She was Pascal's wife's cousin's mother)
68 Saying 'That's Parful' on a regular basis
69 A nice glass of milk with your dinner (it's parful good for ye)
70 Saying 'turra' instead of terrible
71 Saying the words 'thon' and 'bai'. 'See thon bai over thur'
72 Calling any wheeled transportation device a 'yoke'.
73 Pronouncing 'peugeot' as 'pew-jo' (and filling it with red diesel)
i ticked 14 of those requirements-does that mean im a semi-culchie?
Name all the Presidents of Ireland, Name the man who designed the White House, Name the President of America that lived in it, Name the county that he came from, Name all the Taoiseach's of this country that has kept her thrashing for the last forty years and where they came from, then name the last Taoiseach and the Drumcondra Mafia and , ironically, they do not come far from Croke Park !! We "culchies" may have Paddy the hurler, Paddy the trainer, Paddy the linesman, Paddy the umpire, Paddy fix the band on the hurl, but, Paddy the Plasterer is all yours.
As a self employed culchie living in Dublin can someone explain to me what input my tuppence worth would have had to the survey?
Should I pull sickies and cod myself?
I'm confused.
(BTW I employ a Rale Dub who never pulls a sickie)
I'm not sure I can relate to 29.
(http://www.prolifeblogs.com/articles/helen.jpg)
Dubs don't work ffs....they either live off daddy's inheritance or are smacked out of their heads.... ;)
"Lazy Culchies" Now there's an oxymoron if ever I hear one!
Sure isnt "Culchie" just a shortened word for "Cultured". We're just a better class of people thats all.
Shouldn't you lazy culchies be off poisoning some pigs?
Quote from: Gnevin on December 08, 2008, 12:16:51 PM
Shouldn't you lazy culchies be off poisoning some pigs?
Better than what the Dubs do to them ;)
Ooooh no he didn't. Oh yes he did ;)
Quote from: ONeill on December 07, 2008, 11:13:05 PM
Culchies like:
1 A nice bit of ham.
2 Buttered biscuits.
3 Diggin Houles.
4 Saying its too cold to snow
5 Pretending to know about The Ra.
6 Tayto Cheese & Onion
7 Pretending they're in The Ra.
8 A stretch in the evenings
9 Lucozade
10 Accordians
11 Pretending to like Holy Week
12 A dinner dance
13 Gettin clattered in muck
14 Shania Twain
15 Hefers
16 Spittin in their hands before doing anything manual
17 Steel toe caps
18 A big bowl of carrots & parsnips
19 Eating sangwiches out of the boot of a car at the GAA
20 Saying someones 'Opened a Book' on something
21 The smell of fresh dung
22 Slice-Your-Own Loaf
23 Work Clothes
24 A bottle of mineral
25 Fightin'
26 Puttin on a ganzee to stop them from bein foundered
27 'The' Hurling/Fitball
28 Being overweight
29 Wimen wha resemble hefers
30 Saying "Aaah" after taking their first sup of tae
31 Drink driving
32 Red diesel
33 The Fear of Change
34 A nice bit of Barnbrac
35 Lying
36 Building walls
37 Being starved with the cold rather than with a lack of food
38 Pretending to like mass
39 Talking about ***** like Flax and the Corncrake
40 A good blackthorn walkin stick
41 Shouting 'Yeeeeeoooo' when something good happens
42 Mohammed Ali
43 Machinery
44 Strange uppy-downy walks
45 A good f**kin read of Irelands Own
46 Gelling their 1cm fringe tight to their forehead
47 Scandal, as long as its about other people
48 Turf, because Sentirl heatin's for wimen
49 Soda farls
50 Sponge 'n Custirt
51 Newmerica', and anything to do with it
52 Givin the dog the wildest baytins
53 Givin the wife the wildest baytins
54 The Ra
55 Winning a leg of lamb in a raffle
56 Wrecking the house whilst steaming
57 Club Orange
58 Rubbing their hands together before tucking into their dinner
59 The Foot & Mouth
60 Aetin' a big feed of spuds
61 TK Red Lemonade
62 Good short hair for boys and nice long hair for the wimen (it confuses them otherwise)
63 Flegs
64 Starting conversations with 'guess who's dead?'
65 Listening to the death notices on the radio
66 Durty fingernails
67 An extended family tree (e.g She was Pascal's wife's cousin's mother)
68 Saying 'That's Parful' on a regular basis
69 A nice glass of milk with your dinner (it's parful good for ye)
70 Saying 'turra' instead of terrible
71 Saying the words 'thon' and 'bai'. 'See thon bai over thur'
72 Calling any wheeled transportation device a 'yoke'.
73 Pronouncing 'peugeot' as 'pew-jo' (and filling it with red diesel)
But your a nordie oneill, do you not have a list for you guys?