Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: corn02 on August 22, 2008, 03:14:05 PM

Title: 2008 Ryder Cup
Post by: corn02 on August 22, 2008, 03:14:05 PM
Not long to go now, Clarke trying to make a late surge for a wildcard - doesn't have a chance in my eyes.
Title: Re: 2008 Ryder Cup
Post by: Uladh on August 22, 2008, 03:15:06 PM

How is clarke going today?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 22, 2008, 03:23:32 PM
Quote from: Uladh on August 22, 2008, 03:15:06 PM

-6 after 12 holes, he could do it, Muntz is his only threat out on the course with -8 (joint leader) after 11 holes
Post by: corn02 on August 22, 2008, 03:26:03 PM
Would love to see big Darren there but he  won't be present. Tough choice for the wildcards. Who do yous fancy. I am hoping Month doesn't get the nod.
Post by: An Fear Rua on August 22, 2008, 03:34:16 PM
would def not want to see clarke anywhere near it, no where near any sort of form
Post by: Minder on August 22, 2008, 03:35:35 PM
If Clarke was there he would be nothing more than a passenger.
Post by: mouview on August 22, 2008, 03:36:51 PM
Carl Petterson must be in with a shout, regular on the US tour and recent winner. Also feel Martin Kaymer will make it. McGinley should have stayed as Assistant captain while he had it - only fooling himself that he's good enough to make it now.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 22, 2008, 03:48:27 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 22, 2008, 03:23:32 PM
Quote from: Uladh on August 22, 2008, 03:15:06 PM

-6 after 12 holes, he could do it, Muntz is his only threat out on the course with -8 (joint leader) after 11 holes

Feck'in forgot that there's still two days to go!  :-[ :D
Post by: magpie seanie on August 22, 2008, 03:53:56 PM
How does the team selection work?
Post by: corn02 on August 22, 2008, 04:17:56 PM
Quote from: Minder on August 22, 2008, 03:35:35 PM

Disagree, Clakre has had a horrid year but has shown some very good form in the last two months. I wouldn't want Month there because he is an ignorant git - I could guarantee he would still hold his own, same for Clarke.
Post by: Puckoon on August 22, 2008, 04:32:26 PM

Westwood is having a great season - his regular partner has been Clarke. Id give him a wild card just for that - this isnt a 72 hole challenge - its matchplay requiring a serious mental aspect. Clarke, if picked will rise to the occasion.
Post by: Longshanks on August 22, 2008, 04:47:41 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 22, 2008, 04:32:26 PM

Westwood is having a great season - his regular partner has been Clarke. Id give him a wild card just for that - this isnt a 72 hole challenge - its matchplay requiring a serious mental aspect. Clarke, if picked will rise to the occasion.

Agreed I think recently Clarke seems to have got some of his game back together and plays well in matchplay, it's been the 72 hole challenges that he has faded away..
Post by: corn02 on August 22, 2008, 04:52:48 PM
Clarke at -7 after 18, one off the lead. Regardless of whether you think he has a chance or not, he is certainly going to be a possibility if he achieves a top-ten finish.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 22, 2008, 04:55:33 PM
In the Ryder Cup you need lads who won't crumble under pressure. Clarke is not a bottler and if this recent good form continus he is worth a place.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 22, 2008, 04:56:56 PM
I think ye are being very harsh on Clarke,Himself and Westwood would be a excellent pairing for a match in the Ryder Cup..
Post by: corn02 on August 22, 2008, 04:59:41 PM
Have to agree. His two recent events have been by no means disatorous. A top 10 at B ridgestone is excellent and a couple of decent days at the PGA. I don't think it would happen but would love to see him there. As I say, iuf he keeps the pace up over the weekend he will vertainly be in the plans.

As for the process Seanie:
5 Players qualify through the Ryder Cup World Points List - based on World Ranking points accumulated from all world ranked tournaments over a 12 month period

5 Platers qualify through The Ryder Cup European Points List - based on money won in European Tour Order of Merit tournaments

2 Players are chosen as Captains Picks - by European Captain Nick Faldo.

This is not 72-holes of golf. Mahan is unlikely to get picked for the US, simply because of his attitude. It is a totally different tournament.
Post by: corn02 on August 22, 2008, 05:00:39 PM
Clarke and Westwood at a major:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6MJsdJgZPX8
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 22, 2008, 05:04:38 PM
Quote from: corn02 on August 22, 2008, 05:00:39 PM
Clarke and Westwood at a major:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6MJsdJgZPX8

The two are best of friends,I think Clarke despite not having a great year would be the last person to let you down at a Ryder Cup
You can't compare the Ryder Cup to a normal tournament,Its different golf entirely
Post by: An Fear Rua on August 22, 2008, 05:06:15 PM
As a Dungannon man, I would like nothing more than to see DC at the Ryder cup, he was magnificent last time round carried through on the emotion.

In the cold light of day he hasnt been focused since then, and needs to get his bread and butter sorted before he can think about dessert
Post by: Hound on August 25, 2008, 11:08:11 AM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on August 22, 2008, 05:06:15 PM
As a Dungannon man, I would like nothing more than to see DC at the Ryder cup, he was magnificent last time round carried through on the emotion.

In the cold light of day he hasnt been focused since then, and needs to get his bread and butter sorted before he can think about dessert
Well he was certainly focused yesterday. Superb display.

McGinley played very well too. A 64 to take second place.

I think before this weekend, the 2 wildcards were between Monty, Casey and Poulter, but Clarke now has surely put himself right in the picture. The fact that he has a proven excellent track record with Westwood will help his case. It'd be nice to think that McGinley's Ryder Cup record and his relationship with Harrington might give him a chance, especially if he plays well again next week, but that's probably Irish bias coming out!

It is good to see Justin Rose giving up plenty of dosh in the US (he's already missed one tournament in the "Fedex Cup" and if he plays in Scotland next week it effectively rules him out of 3 more where buckets of cash are on offer) in favour of cemeting his place in the Ryder Cup. Casey and Poulter though are playing in the States. Of course Faldo chose to earn a few bucks himself at the weekend by commentating in the US rather than attending the Dutch Open. Preumably he'll be in Scotland next week, given he's due to announce the wildcards after the tournament.

Interesting decision from Monty not to play in Holland. Why? Has Faldo already given him news I wonder?  
Post by: Diet Coke on August 25, 2008, 11:45:36 AM
Would pick Clarke and Poulter.....Clarke because of his record and Poulter because the Yanks hate him!
Post by: magpie seanie on August 25, 2008, 01:42:26 PM
Corn - yeah, thanks for that but how exactly are the two 5's determined. I mean Harrington for instance is in both top 5's. Do they continue down the world rankings list or the Ryder Cup points list until the 5+5 spots are filled? Does this mean that McDowell is nearly certain to be in? What does the team look like now with a week to go?
Post by: ludermor on August 25, 2008, 01:49:00 PM
Quote from: Diet Coke on August 25, 2008, 11:45:36 AM
Would pick Clarke and Poulter.....Clarke because of his record and Poulter because the Yanks hate him!
He is not the most popular among the Europeans either
Post by: Hound on August 25, 2008, 02:11:13 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 25, 2008, 01:42:26 PM
Corn - yeah, thanks for that but how exactly are the two 5's determined. I mean Harrington for instance is in both top 5's. Do they continue down the world rankings list or the Ryder Cup points list until the 5+5 spots are filled? Does this mean that McDowell is nearly certain to be in? What does the team look like now with a week to go?
You take the top 5 in the World Ranking list first. Then you take the next best 5 from the European list.

The top 5 in the world ranking list are:

1. Harrington
2. Garcia
3. Westwood
4. Stenson
5. Karlsson

The top 5 (other than above) in the European list are:

1. Jimenez
2. McDowell
3. Rose
4. S. Hansen
5. Wilson

The current 5 in the world list together with Jimenez and McDowell are certainties to qualify. McDowell is well clear of Rose. Kaymer, Poulter, Fisher and Dougherty are close enough to Rose, Hansen and Wilson so things could change there.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 25, 2008, 03:26:47 PM
Anyone see Nick Flado make a tool of himself yesterday? He was in the commentry box at the Barclays when Paul Casey was making a putt of about 25ft..
Casey was just about to putt when Faldo says If he putts it his in..(ie Ryder Cup squad)
Casey only goes and sinks the putt and Faldo starts back tracking saying he was only kidding that he hasn't picked the squad yet etc..very funny

On another note Garcia loses another play-off when is his luck gonna change  ???
Post by: magpie seanie on August 25, 2008, 03:32:39 PM
Thanks Hound.

Who the hell is Wilson. Never heard of him. Hadn't heard of Kaymer until recently either.

So even though I don't like him I should be hoping Poulter does well next week and qualifies as it would improve big Darren's chances of the wild card? Is Nick Faldo not a bit of a knob though? Could possibly pick the useless Monty and some English guy.
Post by: corn02 on August 25, 2008, 04:28:33 PM
Sorry Seanie as Hound says World get ffirst five then European second.

Wilson is Oliver Wilson. English player and steady if not spectacular. I remember earlier in the year the craic was he would always be a runner-up, i think he got 3 second place finishes out of 5 or something? He had a poor run in the last two majors and if he misses out is unlikely to get a wild card.

Poluter is an excellent golfer and would be a good pick.

MS- Faldo is a knob and is likely to pick himself if he could.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 25, 2008, 04:42:21 PM
Yeah, Poulter is good if somewhat annoying. I'll never be able to erase those mental images of him on the practice range as Harrington knocked that shot to 4 foot on the 17th. Clown. Who was he trying to impress?

Casey has the experience and is probably worth a place too. Clarke should be picked assuming his good form continues next weekend which I think it will. He's a dangerous man when the wind is in his sails.

Faldo has the capability to lose this Ryder Cup singlehandedly though.
Post by: Hound on August 25, 2008, 04:51:34 PM
Been disappointed with Poulter since the Open. He knew (and he said it) that if he played reasonably well in the tournaments since then he'd make it into the automatic positions. But he hasn't done it.

Faldo is a knob alright. And not many like him. I seem to half remember something in a previous Ryder Cup involving a fax being ripped up. I can't really remember, but I think it was something along the lines that Faldo had been criticising the Europeans that they'd won no majors, and he may have even tipped the yanks - but on the morning of the Ryder Cup he sent a fax wishing the Europe team all the best - but it was ripped up. And it may have been Clarke who did the ripping. Anyone else recall something like that?

The Monty factor will also be big. If he's not picked there'll be uproar in the British press (most likely from the non-golf sports correspondents in the tabloids). Faldo might want to avoid that and so pick him. Dunno. I'd imagine the yanks would love to have him as the iconic figure they'd love to beat. Also after one of his recent wins Harrington was talking about the Ryder Cup as if it was a given that Monty was in. He was saying that Monty is the leader, but its maybe a role he'll have to take on in future (i.e. in 2 or 4 years).  
Post by: Puckoon on August 25, 2008, 05:04:20 PM
I hope to f**k they dont pick monty. Id take Clarke in matchplay over Monty any day.
Post by: muppet on August 25, 2008, 05:41:57 PM
I wouldn't actually have a problem if they picked him. The American and European media will be all over Harrington and his record in the Ryder Cup is only ok as it is. Monty would ease the pressure a bit in that regard.

Having said that all players reach their sell by date and it may be time to move on from old Grumpy, despite his great Ryder Cup record.

Europe actually look stronger on paper for once and if he goes with Clarke and Casey it will be a very strong team.

But I have a hunch he'll go with the 2 English boys, Casey and Poulter. Hope not though.
Post by: corn02 on August 25, 2008, 06:10:24 PM
Quote from: Hound on August 25, 2008, 04:51:34 PM
Been disappointed with Poulter since the Open. He knew (and he said it) that if he played reasonably well in the tournaments since then he'd make it into the automatic positions. But he hasn't done it.

Faldo is a knob alright. And not many like him. I seem to half remember something in a previous Ryder Cup involving a fax being ripped up. I can't really remember, but I think it was something along the lines that Faldo had been criticising the Europeans that they'd won no majors, and he may have even tipped the yanks - but on the morning of the Ryder Cup he sent a fax wishing the Europe team all the best - but it was ripped up. And it may have been Clarke who did the ripping. Anyone else recall something like that?

The Monty factor will also be big. If he's not picked there'll be uproar in the British press (most likely from the non-golf sports correspondents in the tabloids). Faldo might want to avoid that and so pick him. Dunno. I'd imagine the yanks would love to have him as the iconic figure they'd love to beat. Also after one of his recent wins Harrington was talking about the Ryder Cup as if it was a given that Monty was in. He was saying that Monty is the leader, but its maybe a role he'll have to take on in future (i.e. in 2 or 4 years).  

Faldo has a history of alienating opponents. I believe he was one of the most disliked players when playing - suppose he got the success and that is all that matters.

Monty may not be so popular this year in the media following an incident at the Scottish Opne (I think it was the SO anyway) where he was an ignorant dog to a BBC sound technician. BBC certainly won't be plugging him for a wildcard - there was a stinging column about him on the site at the time. Monty has went from funnily grumpy to annoyingly ignorant.
Post by: ludermor on August 25, 2008, 10:54:59 PM
poulter has withdrawn from the last qualifying tournament so he can play in 2 tournaments in the staes. Chasing the dollar rather than the ryder cup. It should be the nail in the coffin of his hopes unless Faldo has assured him of the one of the wildcards ( which i would not agree with)
Post by: Hound on August 26, 2008, 08:05:10 AM
Quote from: ludermor on August 25, 2008, 10:54:59 PM
poulter has withdrawn from the last qualifying tournament so he can play in 2 tournaments in the staes. Chasing the dollar rather than the ryder cup. It should be the nail in the coffin of his hopes unless Faldo has assured him of the one of the wildcards ( which i would not agree with)
Casey did the same, and Poulter is far higher in the two tables than Casey is.
Post by: Longshanks on August 26, 2008, 08:20:14 AM
I'd be really surprised if Poulter wasn't picked, there must be some sort of agreement in place..
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 26, 2008, 12:13:19 PM
Would be fantastic if Clarke and McGinley were both included, but I think that 4 Irish lads (will inc McDowell!) would be too much.
Plus I think McGinley would have to win in Gleneagles.
Post by: Yes I Would on August 26, 2008, 06:52:46 PM
Surely Mc Ginleys past record in previous Ryders should carry alot of weight in the decision making process.
Experience and bottle will be vital. Hard to know how Faldo will call it, but i would have thought another solid showing by Mc Ginley this weekend should at least put him in the reckoning.
Post by: Lecale2 on August 26, 2008, 08:55:57 PM
How does the table stand now? Who can qualify if they win at the weekend?
Post by: Puckoon on August 26, 2008, 09:15:15 PM
Quote from: ludermor on August 25, 2008, 10:54:59 PM

Faldo is full time commenting for CBS in the states here - it could be that Casey and Poulter figured they may as well go for the big bucks and have the captain see them playing in the flesh.
Post by: corn02 on August 27, 2008, 01:15:53 PM
Lads there is as much chance of me getting picked than McGinley getting the nod.
Post by: turk on August 28, 2008, 11:52:54 AM
I'll put my hands up here - I like Monty. He's been class in the Ryder cups for Europe.

Post by: full back on August 28, 2008, 12:02:11 PM
Fancy Poulter & Casey to go
Post by: stephenite on August 28, 2008, 12:02:21 PM
Monty is way off form though and has been for some time - and that counts for a lot in golf.

Says I the beginner :-\
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 28, 2008, 12:17:40 PM
Monty has said publicly that he would be happy to take the Vice Captains role if he's not picked - ideal excuse for Faldo not to pick him for the first time in something like 16 years, would soften the media backlash (he's an ignorant grumpy aul hoor anyway).
Post by: corn02 on August 28, 2008, 12:48:58 PM
I honestly think the media would not make a big of a fuss - he has alienated a lot of the press over the last year. Clarke very short odds to get picked.
Post by: corn02 on August 29, 2008, 10:24:16 AM
Good start by Clakre, picked up two birdies in first seven holes. Realistically all he has to do is firstly, and most importantly, make the cut. Secondly, he needs a top half finish of those who made the cut. He has basically achived the first one and should achieve the second. It would be a major surprise now if Clarke was overlooked. A testamanet to hitting form at the right time.
Post by: Hound on August 29, 2008, 11:40:50 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 28, 2008, 12:17:40 PM
Monty has said publicly that he would be happy to take the Vice Captains role if he's not picked - ideal excuse for Faldo not to pick him
Are you sure?

I read a report on Wednesday saying exactly the opposite, that there's no way he'd accept the vice captain's role.

The fact that Faldo is remaining in the US until Sunday reads as bad news IMO for anyone playing in Scotland. I'll be disgusted if he doesn't pick Clarke, but I think he's already chosen Casey and Poulter.
Post by: corn02 on August 29, 2008, 12:13:09 PM
Monty making a charge.
Post by: TORGAEL on August 31, 2008, 07:35:26 PM
Faldo has chosen Casey and Poulter as his two wildcards.
Post by: highorlow on August 31, 2008, 07:46:21 PM
QuoteFaldo has chosen Casey and Poulter as his two wildcards

I hope the yanks win it now. Disgraceful decision which was made weeks ago by an arrogant fool !
Post by: Lecale2 on August 31, 2008, 07:48:50 PM
Quote from: highorlow on August 31, 2008, 07:46:21 PM

I hope the yanks win it now. Disgraceful decision which was made weeks ago by an arrogant fool !

Why? Clarke isn't up to it if that's your complaint. Casey is a good call and Poulter will prove you wrong.
Post by: Bogball XV on August 31, 2008, 07:55:17 PM
Quote from: Hound on August 29, 2008, 11:40:50 AM
Monty has said publicly that he would be happy to take the Vice Captains role if he's not picked - ideal excuse for Faldo not to pick him
Are you sure?

I read a report on Wednesday saying exactly the opposite, that there's no way he'd accept the vice captain's role.

The fact that Faldo is remaining in the US until Sunday reads as bad news IMO for anyone playing in Scotland. I'll be disgusted if he doesn't pick Clarke, but I think he's already chosen Casey and Poulter.

Good call Hound, it's probably the right decision, though Clarke is useful in the foursomes (until he has to putt of course) - overall his form has just been too poor, he didn't qualify for the open when the chips were down and Poulter made a decent run at that championship.  Casey was always going to get the other pick, personally I'd have like to see Kaymer there, but, again, he didn't make it on merit.
It'll be interesting, but I reckon the yanks are going to take this one in a classic role reversal.
Post by: gorm agus bui on August 31, 2008, 09:16:33 PM
Quote from: Hound on August 29, 2008, 11:40:50 AM
Are you sure?

good call,Hound
Post by: Puckoon on August 31, 2008, 10:05:24 PM

Why would you hope that, sure we have fair representation in the team.

Post by: magickingdom on August 31, 2008, 10:09:57 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on August 31, 2008, 07:48:50 PM

Why? Clarke isn't up to it if that's your complaint. Casey is a good call and Poulter will prove you wrong.

clarke would have been a better pick than poulter any day. bet harrington and westwood arent too happy about it either. also if poulter gave a shit he would have gone to gleneagles this week. if he had and qualifed in his own right faldo wouldnt have had to waste a pick on him..
Post by: The bard of dunclug on August 31, 2008, 10:18:03 PM
It doesnt matter what Harrington and co think they are not the captain clarke isnt in the team because he wasnt good enough if he had entered more events and won them he would have been there by right he didnt end of story.
Post by: magickingdom on August 31, 2008, 10:23:11 PM
Quote from: The bard of dunclug on August 31, 2008, 10:18:03 PM
It doesnt matter what Harrington and co think they are not the captain clarke isnt in the team because he wasnt good enough if he had entered more events and won them he would have been there by right he didnt end of story.

its just my opinion, did poulter qualify? did casey qualify?
Post by: The bard of dunclug on August 31, 2008, 10:29:27 PM
No they didnt but in golf rankings both of them finished higher than clarke.If anybody should be annoyed its Petterson great golfer.
Post by: magickingdom on August 31, 2008, 10:49:31 PM
Quote from: The bard of dunclug on August 31, 2008, 10:29:27 PM
No they didnt but in golf rankings both of them finished higher than clarke.If anybody should be annoyed its Petterson great golfer.

you get the idea of the captains picks dont you?  if they wanted the top 12 in the rankings there wouldnt be any need for picks..
Post by: full back on September 01, 2008, 02:23:50 AM
Quote from: full back on August 28, 2008, 12:02:11 PM
Fancy Poulter & Casey to go

4/1
Post by: The bard of dunclug on September 01, 2008, 06:05:01 AM
Obviously im aware of the captain wildcard pick but poulter and casey are higher ranked which means they have played better through the entire year and not simply the last month thats why faldo went for who he did.
Post by: Longshanks on September 01, 2008, 08:49:29 AM
Quote from: The bard of dunclug on September 01, 2008, 06:05:01 AM
Obviously im aware of the captain wildcard pick but poulter and casey are higher ranked which means they have played better through the entire year and not simply the last month thats why faldo went for who he did.

Ok they may have played better over the last year but should it not be picked on forma and experience going into the Ryder cup?? I would have thought that made more sense!!
Post by: thewobbler on September 01, 2008, 08:54:36 AM
Surely Faldo should be aware that because Clarke is Irish, he should be automatically picked. Silly English bugger.
Post by: Longshanks on September 01, 2008, 09:03:00 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on September 01, 2008, 08:54:36 AM
Surely Faldo should be aware that because Clarke is Irish, he should be automatically picked. Silly English bugger.

If he had not won tournaments etc... then I would say Poulter as I previously had!! (if you look in prevoius posts) but since then Clarke won and played well in the tournaments he entered, he also seemed to be trying to get selected unlike Poulter!!
Post by: thewobbler on September 01, 2008, 09:25:47 AM
Clarke has won 2 middle of the road tournaments in 5 years. Harldy pacesetting stuff.

Poulter is ranked 34 places above him in the World Rankings, has been one of Europe's most consistent golfers over the past 3-4 years, and has a wealth of experience of playing in America.

Anyway, I'd have liked to have seen Clarke go instead, but the reality is that on current form, Poulter is a better and much more consistent player. If you genuinely support "Europe" instead of the green corner of Europe, then you would have to agree with Faldo's choice.
Post by: Hound on September 01, 2008, 09:31:46 AM
Quote from: The bard of dunclug on September 01, 2008, 06:05:01 AM
Rankings mean squat for the wildcard picks. The captain should pick the players he think will do the best for the team.

If Faldo honestly believed that Casey and Poulter would out perform Darren Clarke in a couple of weeks time in matchplay in the Ryder Cup versus the yanks, then you could have no issue with the decision. But I doubt that very much. I believe it was a personality decision rather than a golfing one.

It was interesting at the press conference that Olazabal (while saying all the right stuff about supporting the captain) made it very clear that this was Faldo's decision.
Post by: Hound on September 01, 2008, 09:38:41 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on September 01, 2008, 09:25:47 AM
Clarke has won 2 middle of the road tournaments in 5 years. Harldy pacesetting stuff.

Poulter is ranked 34 places above him in the World Rankings, has been one of Europe's most consistent golfers over the past 3-4 years, and has a wealth of experience of playing in America.

Anyway, I'd have liked to have seen Clarke go instead, but the reality is that on current form, Poulter is a better and much more consistent player. If you genuinely support "Europe" instead of the green corner of Europe, then you would have to agree with Faldo's choice.

In fairness wobbler, what you've said there is mostly nonsense.

Form 12 months ago is irrelevant, never mind 2, 3, 4 or even 5 years ago!!
Current form and experince (being able to handle the pressue) is relevant. Being a winner is relevant.

The Dutch Open is a big event in the European Tour.

And (according to one of the journalists at the press conference) Ian Poulter has not shot a 67 or lower in 8 months. Neither Poulter nor Casey has won a tournament this year.  Poulter has two Top 10s in a year, Clarke has 7 and 2 wins.
Post by: Minder on September 01, 2008, 09:43:35 AM
The thing i cant understand is if Faldo did tell Poulter he was in a few weeks ago why didnt he try and play himself in thus freeing up another wildcard for Faldo? As for Poulter being in good form i think he has two top 10 finishes this year
Post by: Longshanks on September 01, 2008, 09:45:39 AM
If it wasn't a personality choice (which alot of things make me think it was) then it would have been that Poulter has more experience of playing on American courses (but he still doesn't win many!!)

and his form has been nothing but erractic recently! :o
Post by: Longshanks on September 01, 2008, 09:46:57 AM
Quote from: Minder on September 01, 2008, 09:43:35 AM
The thing i cant understand is if Faldo did tell Poulter he was in a few weeks ago why didnt he try and play himself in thus freeing up another wildcard for Faldo? As for Poulter being in good form i think he has two top 10 finishes this year

Cause he is a lazy d*ck!!
Post by: thewobbler on September 01, 2008, 09:49:58 AM
Comparing top 10 finishes in Europe compared to doing likewise in the US is like suggesting Drogheda are a better soccer team than Fulham.

World rankings aren't the be all and end all, but when you are 34 places above your competitor, you can surely call upon them as all the evidence you need.
Post by: Hound on September 01, 2008, 09:50:37 AM
Quote from: Minder on September 01, 2008, 09:43:35 AM
I think Poulter is a bit thick too.

In an interview on Sky Sports after the picks were announced, he did admit that he thought he made the wrong decision in not going to Gleneagles. Although easy to say in hindsight when he's missed the cut in the US by 5 shots.
Post by: Hound on September 01, 2008, 09:57:35 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on September 01, 2008, 09:49:58 AM
Comparing top 10 finishes in Europe compared to doing likewise in the US is like suggesting Drogheda are a better soccer team than Fulham.

World rankings aren't the be all and end all, but when you are 34 places above your competitor, you can surely call upon them as all the evidence you need.
World rankings is not current form. Its form over the last 2 years (and we all know Clarke took some personal time out in that period).

Clarke played twice in America - and got one Top 10. A sixth place finish in the World Golf Championship in Firestone, just 3 shots behind the winner, Vijay.
Post by: thewobbler on September 01, 2008, 10:08:41 AM
It's form over the past 2 years, but is heavily weighted towards the current year.

I don't have time to go digging up statistics. But it seems to me that you and a few others are shining a light where you want to here. Poulter is 23rd in the rankings, Clarke is 57th. According to the evidence I'm reading on this thread, this must rank as one of the greatest statistical anomalies of all time.

Post by: Hound on September 01, 2008, 10:17:36 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on September 01, 2008, 10:08:41 AM
It's form over the past 2 years, but is heavily weighted towards the current year.

I don't have time to go digging up statistics. But it seems to me that you and a few others are shining a light where you want to here. Poulter is 23rd in the rankings, Clarke is 57th. According to the evidence I'm reading on this thread, this must rank as one of the greatest statistical anomalies of all time.

Not an anomaly, just the system. Poulter is 23rd and deserves it - coming 2nd in the British Open gave him a bucket load of points. But Clarke's position is not representative of him because he took so much time out to sort himself out. Started the year at 250+ in the rankings, and therefore didnt get invited to most of the majors and WGC events, thus missing out on the bigger points available.

One of the main reasons teams arent selected purely on statistics is to allow for situations like Clarke's.

As has been said I don't think there's many golf enthusiasts who would believe that Pouler would perform better than Clarke in a Ryder Cup. I think it came down to the Faldo fax that Clarke ripped at a past Ryder Cup.
Post by: Old School on September 01, 2008, 10:20:30 AM
Poulter, doesn't have it where it matters. Had a chance in the Brittish open to put in a real challange and tree putted on the 17th. He is a bit like Rose. Can have a good couple of days but can not string a full four days together. I feel the same about Casey. Very Dissapointed Kymer didn't get in.
Post by: Evil Genius on September 01, 2008, 10:28:12 AM
On current form, Ryder Cup experience and record, Matchplay skills, teamwork and his partnership with Westwood, you'd have to say Clarke should have prevailed over Poulter - esp since the latter is not much liked on the Tour, so isn't likely to help team spirit a great deal.

But when they appointed Faldo as Captain, they knew what they were getting: someone who would do things his way and to Hell with what anyone else thinks. It is partly what made Faldo the greatest European golfer of the last 30 years (alongside Sevvy) and what could make him a great Captain, too.

I can't decide whether Faldo will dominate affairs, in which case Europe could spank the Yanks comfortably; or whether he'll p1ss everyone off (inc his own team!), in which case Europe will end up getting shot down in flames.

Therefore, if Europe retains the Cup, Faldo will have been entirely vindicated, if they don't, he will cop the blame. And either way I suspect, his two discretionary picks are unlikely to make the difference on their own.

Post by: orangeman on September 01, 2008, 10:37:46 AM
He was always going to go for the Brits and Clarke isn't a fully fledged Brit ! He's a Paddy at the end of the day.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 01, 2008, 02:50:58 PM
Typical of Faldo and an example of why Europe will probably lose this Ryder Cup. No-one will want to play fourball or foursomes with that tit Poulter. I still can't get that image of him on the practice range out of my mind as Harrington smacked the 5 wood to 5 feet! Twit!

This was a personality motivated decision. Clarke was never going to be picked by that knob Faldo.
Post by: kumquat on September 01, 2008, 02:54:39 PM
Clarke should have got the nod over Poulter. Matchplay is different to Stroke. He got 3 wins out of 3 at the K club and he wasn't playing as good as he is now. His record in the ryder cup speaks for itself, not to mention the experience & camaraderie he would bring to the team. Okay Poulter is ahead of him in the world rankings but the ryder cup is different. Do you think Jim Fuyrk or Fat Phil would have wanted to play Clarke or Poulter? They would pick Poulter every time. Would rather see him and Jiminez walking down the fairways smoking big fat cigars having a bit of craic, than that tool scowling about in his union jack trousers,. Faldo has done what he always did, ill do what i want to do fcuk the rest of yas. >:( >:( >:(
Post by: Puckoon on September 01, 2008, 03:02:21 PM
Paul Casey
Ian Poulter
Darren Clarke

Just look at those names for a moment. Who is likely to be sniffing around a leaderboard on a saturday/sunday. The obvious answer is Poulter. Casey hasnt set the world alight this year, although he has been constistently average.

Now look at those names for a moment and imagine who the Americans dont want facing them at the Ryder Cup. One name screams out at you and that is Darren Clarke.

The Ryder cup is horses for courses and although Faldo IMO has not fucked up per se (we should still win)... He definitely has not picked the strongest team.
Post by: Puckoon on September 01, 2008, 03:03:48 PM
How did I get away with writing fucked up without it being censored?
Post by: kumquat on September 01, 2008, 03:07:08 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on September 01, 2008, 03:03:48 PM
How did I get away with writing fucked up without it being censored?

Twice

:D :D :D
Post by: Puckoon on September 01, 2008, 03:20:28 PM
Gallacher queries Poulter call-up 

Poulter did not earn enough points to qualify by right for the Ryder Cup team
Former Ryder Cup captain Bernard Gallacher has questioned Nick Faldo's decision to hand Ian Poulter a wildcard entry into Europe's team.

Faldo chose Poulter and Paul Casey as his wildcard selections for the match at Valhalla, Kentucky, with Darren Clarke among those who missed out.

Gallacher said: "I think the morale in the team might be a bit lower for picking Poulter ahead of Darren Clarke.

"I felt there was a dead certainty for it to be Darren Clarke and Paul Casey."

Poulter skipped the Johnnie Walker Championship, where he could have earned the points to qualify by right, in favour of playing in America this week.

And Gallacher added: "I'm surprised Ian Poulter didn't come back and fight for his place.

"There will be a few players today thinking, 'Nick, I think you've made a mistake.  GOLF BLOG
Clarke is surely entitled to feel aggrieved

BBC 5 Live golf correspondent Iain Carter

"I don't think Ian Poulter will let the team down. But he (Poulter) didn't turn up to the last event and Darren's the form guy. Ian Poulter has missed the last two cuts."

Gallacher, who captained the European team in 1991, 1993 and 1995, continued: "I'm very surprised Darren Clarke wasn't picked.

"Darren Clarke has won two tournaments on the European Tour this year. He won a tournament two weeks ago in a very strong field on a tough course.

"He's got a great Ryder Cup record. In the past he's played well with Lee Westwood and Sergio Garcia.

"I don't want to pull the team down. Nick's his own man. I just had a sneaking feeling at the back of my mind that Nick Faldo would do something different.

"He (Faldo) is slightly controversial and he's lived up to it."

Sergio Garcia, who will play in his fifth Ryder Cup at Valhalla, expressed his surprise over Clarke's omission by Faldo.

The Spaniard said: "I thought Paul (Casey) was pretty much a lock (for a wildcard) and because of the way Darren has been playing lately, I thought maybe he would get the other one."

However, Garcia accepted Faldo would have been taking a huge risk by selecting the out-of-form Colin Montgomerie, despite his outstanding Ryder Cup record.

"Monty has done so well at the Ryder Cup, but unfortunately he just hasn't been playing that great lately," he said.

"Even though it's Monty, it's a huge risk to pick a guy who hasn't been playing his best and hope he plays his best at the Ryder Cup.

"Casey and Poulter are going to be good assets for the team. I think we're all looking forward to it and all happy that both Ian and Paul are on the team."

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 01, 2008, 03:40:57 PM
(http://www.munsterfans.com/forum/aspjpeg_resize.asp?Path=http://img.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2008/01_05/PoulterNaked_468x702.jpg&Size=300)
Post by: Puckoon on September 01, 2008, 03:41:40 PM
Sweet jesus.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 01, 2008, 08:43:01 PM
He is a bag after all. Oh and the only competition Tiger Woods has  ::)
Post by: Square Ball on September 01, 2008, 08:48:07 PM
feel sorry for Darren to not get the pick over that wee p***k Poulter, cant stand him
Post by: stew on September 01, 2008, 08:57:20 PM

It's supporters like you the European team don't need.

So a couple of paddies dont get to represent Europe and you go from being a huge fan to supporting the opposition. I hope the yanks get their arses handed to them again and I wil lbe cheering on every one of the european players.
Post by: Yes I Would on September 01, 2008, 10:43:35 PM
Faldo claiming that it was such a tough decision to make is a crock of shit. He has had his mind made up weeks, if not months ago.

After claiming his picks would be based on form he opts for Casey and Poulter. Mind boggling.
Knowing how popular and motivational Clarke is within the team, he obviously feels that he would be stealing his limelight and didnt want him about the place.

Europe should still win it but these selections could boost the yanks, and make it alot closer than it really should be.
Post by: Old Bill on September 01, 2008, 11:24:24 PM
I seen some guy on SSN this mornin talking about the wildcard picks.  He seemed to think that because justin rose had qualified automatically, that would have forced faldo to pick poulter as poulter and rose are best mates and could imagine them playing together in a fourball.  Poulter on his day is pretty handy but feel for clarke.  I would have no arguments with casey being picked. Excellent player.  Ill not criticise Faldo but im sure if Europe lose and poulter fails to shine, nick will be in for some stick.
Post by: Orior on September 01, 2008, 11:55:12 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on September 01, 2008, 10:28:12 AM
On current form, Ryder Cup experience and record, Matchplay skills, teamwork and his partnership with Westwood, you'd have to say Clarke should have prevailed over Poulter - esp since the latter is not much liked on the Tour, so isn't likely to help team spirit a great deal.

But when they appointed Faldo as Captain, they knew what they were getting: someone who would do things his way and to Hell with what anyone else thinks. It is partly what made Faldo the greatest European golfer of the last 30 years (alongside Sevvy) and what could make him a great Captain, too.

I can't decide whether Faldo will dominate affairs, in which case Europe could spank the Yanks comfortably; or whether he'll p1ss everyone off (inc his own team!), in which case Europe will end up getting shot down in flames.

Therefore, if Europe retains the Cup, Faldo will have been entirely vindicated, if they don't, he will cop the blame. And either way I suspect, his two discretionary picks are unlikely to make the difference on their own.

Why so?
Post by: highorlow on September 02, 2008, 09:26:40 AM
QuoteIt's supporters like you the European team don't need.

So a couple of paddies dont get to represent Europe and you go from being a huge fan to supporting the opposition. I hope the yanks get their arses handed to them again and I wil lbe cheering on every one of the european players.

Stew I'm supporting the Yanks for a number of reasons,
1-  Poulter knew he was in the team and went over to the states to play at the weekend (where he missed the cut)!
2 - Poulter, Casey and Faldo are arrogant Brits who appear to have missed the whole point of the Ryder Cup and the past European Spirit of the Team - Hence they will lose
3 - There is no Scot on the team
4 - Picking Poulter when he should have stayed and properly qualified instead of wasting a wildcard is / was a joke and just proves the arrogance of Faldo
5 - The shafting Paul MacGinley by Faldo earlier in the year

USA by at least 4 points, and they will probably win the singles 9 to 3, with only Harrington, Stenson and Garcia as the winners for "Europe"
Post by: man in black on September 02, 2008, 09:33:07 AM
Quote from: highorlow on September 02, 2008, 09:26:40 AM

1-  Poulter knew he was in the team and went over to the states to play at the weekend (where he missed the cut)!
2 - Poulter, Casey and Faldo are arrogant Brits who appear to have missed the whole point of the Ryder Cup and the past European Spirit of the Team - Hence they will lose
4 - Picking Poulter when he should have stayed and properly qualified instead of wasting a wildcard is / was a joke and just proves the arrogance of Faldo

USA by at least 4 points, and they will probably win the singles 9 to 3, with only Harrington, Stenson and Garcia as the winners for "Europe"

And what Scot deserved to be on the team?
Post by: highorlow on September 02, 2008, 09:44:27 AM
QuoteAnd what Scot deserved to be on the team?

There isn't a Scot on the team. I don't understand the point of that question?
Post by: man in black on September 02, 2008, 10:21:49 AM
"3 - There is no Scot on the team"
Post by: gawa316 on September 02, 2008, 10:38:46 AM
Quote from: highorlow on September 02, 2008, 09:44:27 AM
QuoteAnd what Scot deserved to be on the team?

There isn't a Scot on the team. I don't understand the point of that question?

??? ??? ???
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 02, 2008, 05:22:35 PM
Here's the US team

Stewart Cink,
Phil Mickelson,
Kenny Perry,
Jim Furyk,
Anthony Kim,
Ben Curtis,
Justin Leonard
Boo Weekley

Chad Campbell
Steve Stricker
Hunter Mahan
JB Holmes

All wild card picks - how come the US have 4 picks?
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 02, 2008, 05:27:20 PM
glad that Monty is not on the team the man does my f**king head in, whenever he does interviews he come across an an arrogant git no wonder the yanks gave him grief , feel sorry for Darren but looking forward to the tournament looks like we have 4 or 5 rookies
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 02, 2008, 05:38:33 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on September 02, 2008, 05:27:20 PMlooks like we have 4 or 5 rookies

We have 4 as opposed to 6 on the US side
Post by: ludermor on September 02, 2008, 05:45:25 PM
Quote from: man in black on September 02, 2008, 09:33:07 AM
Quote from: highorlow on September 02, 2008, 09:26:40 AM

FFS!!
Must say i never considered Casey to be arrogent. Faldo is and is entitled to be as he is the one of the best European golfer of the last 30 years (at least). Poulter on the other hand is arrogant having won sick f**k all.
I really don't get your point bout no Scottish players, who would you have picked? Monty? No other Scottish can really be considered.
And again I'm not sure how McGinley got shafted? He was offered the role of assistant , is this something you disagree with?

It is interesting that most commentaters/ experts have questioned Clarke's omission but i have yet see much support for poulter (except from Faldo obviously)
Post by: Puckoon on September 02, 2008, 05:45:35 PM
Torrance queries Clarke omission 

Torrance (right) was Clarke's captain in Europe's 2002 Ryder Cup win
Former European Ryder Cup captain Sam Torrance has questioned Nick Faldo's decision to name Ian Poulter as a wildcard for this month's contest.

Faldo chose Poulter and Paul Casey as his captain's picks, with Darren Clarke among those who missed out.

"For me it was always Casey and Clarke I would have gone for," said Torrance.

"Ian made an error by not playing at Gleneagles (the final qualifying event), he would have got a yellow card from me over that."

Torrance joins three-time European Ryder Cup captain Bernard Gallacher in querying the wisdom of selecting Poulter this weekend for the matches in Valhalla, Kentucky from 19-21 September.

Poulter, who skipped the Johnnie Walker Championship at Gleneagles where he could have earned the points to qualify by right in favour of playing in America, was named ahead of experienced Ryder Cup campaigners Colin Montgomerie and Clarke.

Torrance, who captained Europe to success in the 2002 Ryder Cup having holed the winning putt in 1985, added that Poulter "made it a very difficult choice for Nick" following his second-placed finish at this year's Open at Royal Birkdale.

GOLF BLOG
Nick Faldo's first real machinations as European Ryder Cup captain have sparked outrage, incredulity, even fury

BBC Sport's Rob Hodgetts
"He saw some great golf from Poulter on the final day of the Open," added Torrance. "It was a great performance by Ian who could easily have won it."

Torrance said he also expected Montgomerie to have been named as a second vice-captain alongside Jose Maria Olazabal, having failed to qualify for the team or earn a captain's pick.

"I was a wee bit surprised at that decision," said Torrance. "From my experience it is very difficult to get everything right on an occasion like this.

"When I was captain in 2002 I had three assistants but if he's decided to do it this way then that is his choice.

"I would have had at least one extra vice-captain if I were him now but my main advice to Nick would be just to go and enjoy it.

"Winning the Ryder Cup as captain felt a million miles better to me than winning it as a player."

But despite the controversy over the wildcard selections, Torrance believes that Europe are in a strong position to continue their fine run over the United States over recent years.

"I think it is looking good for us. We are going for six wins in seven and we are certainly favourites," he said. "We have a strong team but in the end it is down to how the 12 players on each side perform on the occasion.

"But the Americans are a good side, too, and Paul Azinger's a good captain.

"You have to remember that the course will be set up to suit them - which is only to be expected - and the result is certainly no formality."

Post by: magickingdom on September 02, 2008, 08:06:51 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on September 02, 2008, 05:22:35 PM
Here's the US team

Stewart Cink,
Phil Mickelson,
Kenny Perry,
Jim Furyk,
Anthony Kim,
Ben Curtis,
Justin Leonard
Boo Weekley

Chad Campbell
Steve Stricker
Hunter Mahan
JB Holmes

All wild card picks - how come the US have 4 picks?

cause azinger asked for 4 when he got the job. its up to each side how they pick their team, the europeans can have 4 if they want
Post by: corn02 on September 16, 2008, 09:54:55 PM
Very quiet on here lads.

Couple of days to go:

This Ryder Cup is going to come down to Mickeslon. I know that the visitors are big favourites but if Lefty is on form and proves to be a leader then I fancy the US. The rookies on board have the talent to blow anyone away and look out for Perry, Kim and Mahan - great years in the US.

Can't wait to see what the crowd is like. Will they overstep the mark and turn from intimidating to disrespectful - with a couple of big homeboys on board, I think they will.

I have a feeling Holmes will be hard to beat this week and might be a good bet for American top points scorer.
Post by: stew on September 16, 2008, 10:18:21 PM
Quote from: corn02 on September 16, 2008, 09:54:55 PM
Very quiet on here lads.

Couple of days to go:

This Ryder Cup is going to come down to Mickeslon. I know that the visitors are big favourites but if Lefty is on form and proves to be a leader then I fancy the US. The rookies on board have the talent to blow anyone away and look out for Perry, Kim and Mahan - great years in the US.

Can't wait to see what the crowd is like. Will they overstep the mark and turn from intimidating to disrespectful - with a couple of big homeboys on board, I think they will.

I have a feeling Holmes will be hard to beat this week and might be a good bet for American top points scorer.

The yanks will win the Ryder cup the year. Clarke and Mongomery should have been the captains picks, if one of them had went  the Euro's might have won it, minus both of them i dont hold out much hope.

I have a ton on the yanks with a mate from Dublin, I have divided loyalties now. :(
Post by: Yes I Would on September 16, 2008, 11:29:02 PM
I fancy the Yanks for this myself. Lokking forward to it. Great weekend of sport ahead.

The European team is fairly solid but could have been much stronger had Faldo not been such an arrogant twat.
The Yanks will be up for this and the underdog tag will rest with them nicely. Hope its tight going into the last few matches to test the old bottle.

Will be cheering the Europeans but will lose little sleep if they are beat, and if Poulter or Casey f**k up then Faldo will have to carry the can.

Post by: Lecale2 on September 17, 2008, 07:40:40 AM
What time will the action take place (Irish Time)?
I alway enjoy the singles on the Sunday. Usually provides great drama.
Post by: Doogie Browser on September 17, 2008, 10:11:09 AM
Fri & Sat play begins around 1.00pm our time and the Sunday singles begin after 5.00pm
Post by: magpie seanie on September 17, 2008, 11:08:16 AM
I hope Europe win with Harrington and McDowell getting good results and Poulter getting beaten by at least 5&4 in every game he plays.
Post by: corn02 on September 17, 2008, 04:39:01 PM
Looking more and more likely that Harrington and McDowell will be starting off together.
Post by: Bogball XV on September 17, 2008, 06:19:08 PM
pity that it isn't the next weekend, sort of clashes with a few things this weekend ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 17, 2008, 06:22:20 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 17, 2008, 11:08:16 AM
I hope Europe win with Harrington and McDowell getting good results and Poulter getting beaten by at least 5&4 in every game he plays.

Why would your bitterness towards one player make you want to wish a member of the team we should be supporting does bad?
We are all European afterall...
Post by: Leg End on September 18, 2008, 12:15:31 AM
does anyone know when the pairings for fridays play are announced and will there be a chance to do a couple of bets on the individual matches
Post by: Doogie Browser on September 18, 2008, 12:19:44 AM
The morning foursomes will be announced tomo night after the opening ceremony, the afternoon fourballs will be announced right after the morning's play on Friday.  Am sure most on-line sites will take bets as and when they are announced.
Post by: The GAA on September 18, 2008, 09:50:56 AM

Faldo was caught out by a photographer with his possible pairings scribbled on a piece of paper. he's denying it of course but looks like the sensible pairings
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 18, 2008, 02:09:19 PM
Quote from: The GAA on September 18, 2008, 09:50:56 AM

Faldo was caught out by a photographer with his possible pairings scribbled on a piece of paper. he's denying it of course but looks like the sensible pairings

He said it was the lunchtime sandwich order  :D
Post by: full back on September 18, 2008, 02:15:14 PM
Yeah, he said he was taking the lunchtime sandwich order :D

When pushed by reporters he relented and said he had been caught out & he would be more careful in future. In fact AFAIK it was his son that told him the sheet with the players initials could be seen.
Post by: Hardy on September 18, 2008, 02:26:04 PM
I'll manage to avoid it this year and so get some work done, not having a Sky Sports subscription. The psychology of it is amazing. I won't mind missing this at all and when I hear reports I'll find myself wondering how anyone can get excited about supporting a team called Europe - surely too broad an identity to identify closely with.

Yet the last time, when it was free to watch, though I went in with the same attitude, I found myself sucked into it and caring whether individual millionaires from Britain and the continent, never mind Ireland,  beat other millionaires from the USA.

Why? I have no idea. It doesn't make sense and it bothers me a little that I can be so easily manipulated by hype and can get so excited about something that can't possibly make any  difference to my life.

But then I get much more excited watching a great horse win the Gold Cup, even if I haven't backed it.  That doesn't make sense either, when you try to apply logic to it. I suppose it's in our nature to choose sides and causes and heroes and then devote inordinate energies to those commitments. Bigendians and Littlendians. It's a bit disturbing to reflect that it's probably the same human trait that motivates us to go out and kill each other in wars.

Ramble ... ramble ... I'll stop now.
Post by: The GAA on September 18, 2008, 03:39:58 PM

Why is harrington being referred to as POD in the coverage?
Post by: magpie seanie on September 18, 2008, 10:17:13 PM
Did anyone see that terribly cringeworthy effort of a speech by Faldo. What a w**ker that guy truly is.

On Harrington - "he's hit more golf balls than they've planted potatos in Ireland"

When introducing McDowell - "is it Ireland or Northen Ireland?"

The looks on the player faces told a tale. If they win it will be despite this idiot.

Azinger coming across a lot better. Seems like a gentleman.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 18, 2008, 10:41:48 PM
RYDER CUP OPENING FOURSOMES
Mickelson/Kim v Harrington/Karlsson
Leonard/Mahan v Stenson/Casey
Cink/Campbell v Rose/Poulter
Perry/Furyk v Westwood/Garcia
Post by: magickingdom on September 18, 2008, 10:45:00 PM
thats some first match
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 18, 2008, 10:50:11 PM
Mickelson/Kim v Harrington/Karlsson  1/2
Leonard/Mahan v Stenson/Casey   USA
Cink/Campbell v Rose/Poulter  Europe
Perry/Furyk v Westwood/Garcia  Europe

Post by: Orior on September 18, 2008, 11:07:10 PM
Poulter plays? FFS
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 18, 2008, 11:14:29 PM
It's hardly a shock. Poulter has been widely tipped to partner Rose. Think Westwood Garcia is a strong partnership. Would agree with LL's assessment of 2.5 for Europe from the first 4 available.
Post by: Bogball XV on September 19, 2008, 12:05:58 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 18, 2008, 10:50:11 PM
Mickelson/Kim v Harrington/Karlsson  USA
Leonard/Mahan v Stenson/Casey   EUR
Cink/Campbell v Rose/Poulter  USA
Perry/Furyk v Westwood/Garcia  USA

3-1, but the bottom match could go either way, maybe 2.5-1.5 to USA after the morning play.
Post by: Tankie on September 19, 2008, 12:09:49 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 18, 2008, 10:17:13 PM
Did anyone see that terribly cringeworthy effort of a speech by Faldo. What a w**ker that guy truly is.

On Harrington - "he's hit more golf balls than they've planted potatos in Ireland"

The looks on the player faces told a tale. If they win it will be despite this idiot.

it was the worst speech i have even heard. the guy really is a total p***k!
Post by: theskull1 on September 19, 2008, 01:15:52 AM
Not that I give a fcuk

But the "Pr1ck factor" can't be discounted

USA to win by 2 goals
Post by: Declan on September 19, 2008, 07:19:01 AM
QuoteI'll manage to avoid it this year and so get some work done, not having a Sky Sports subscription. The psychology of it is amazing. I won't mind missing this at all and when I hear reports I'll find myself wondering how anyone can get excited about supporting a team called Europe - surely too broad an identity to identify closely with.

I'd be like that myself. No Sky subscription and looking at Faldo's comments etc I'm glad I won't see it. To me golf is an individual sport at the highest level so would like Harrington and McDowell play well but really couldn't care about overall result.
Post by: Whacker on September 19, 2008, 08:16:54 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 18, 2008, 10:17:13 PM

On Harrington - "he's hit more golf balls than they've planted potato's in Ireland"

Was just going to talk about that too Seanie.. I got texts from friends all thinking what I was thinking, the man was full drunk!  He is an absolute asshole and will ultimately be the downfall of Europe.  Harrington should have got up and smacked that smug English smirk off that pricks face!  As for Poulter, another smug p***k!  Did anyone else NOT see the resemblance between Paul Casey and Robbie Williams?

However Faldo's woman, now thats a different story! :o

Great matches however.  Looking forward to seeing it, if I get the chance to!

America by 1 1/2
Post by: corn02 on September 19, 2008, 09:10:02 AM
Faldo is getting more cringeworthy every day.

I am trying to get Perry as top points scorer at nines, but no debit card with me - probably a good thing.
Post by: Rossie11 on September 19, 2008, 09:29:18 AM
Harrington in the 1st pair?? Really risky
He is suffering from fatigue and has lost form in past few weeks.
Faldo has virtually handed the duty of leading the team to harrington..
If Phil Mick and Kim get off to a good start Europe are under pressure straight away and
Harrington will look like the guy who bottled it..
Post by: full back on September 19, 2008, 09:33:04 AM
Am going to back Kim & Stenson for top points
Hopefully give me an interest to the end

Edit, might also have an interest in JB Holmes
Post by: Bogball XV on September 19, 2008, 09:53:16 AM
Quote from: Rossie11 on September 19, 2008, 09:29:18 AM
Harrington in the 1st pair?? Really risky
He is suffering from fatigue and has lost form in past few weeks.
Faldo has virtually handed the duty of leading the team to harrington..
If Phil Mick and Kim get off to a good start Europe are under pressure straight away and
Harrington will look like the guy who bottled it..

In fairness, he has to hand the duty of leading the team to harrington - harrington is a triple major champion and easily europe's top ranked and most successful player - the only alternative would have been sergio, but that would have been disrespecting harrington. 
Post by: AZOffaly on September 19, 2008, 10:02:37 AM
I agree with most of the comments here, and I even agree with Laoislad's 2.5 - 1.5 prediction!

With Faldo, he is awful cringe inducing. I didn't see his speech (thank God), but I saw him announcing the pairings, etc. He comes off as a dick, who is trying to be 'one of the lads'. He was never, isn't, and will never be one of the lads. He was an individual, with very few 'friends' and quite a few enemies in the locker rooms. It was part of what made him a great player.

But this act is fooling nobody, apart from maybe the viewers on the Golf Channel, or CBS, where he does the commentary for PGA events.

Nick, give up the 'charm' offensive. Be yourself, whatever that is.
Post by: Rossie11 on September 19, 2008, 10:57:58 AM
The tie is the foursomes is 13/2.
Looks a good price. Surely one of them will be a draw.
Post by: corn02 on September 19, 2008, 11:09:43 AM
If Faldo was the recluse and unfriendly character he apparently wasd when he was playing I would respect him more. People may not like it but 6 majors speak for themselves.

He is the friend who tries too hard.
Post by: Teeling Gael on September 19, 2008, 01:03:09 PM
Like Stenson as Europes leading scorer at 7/1. Top 10 player in world with excellent matchplay record playing this afternoon in a strong looking partnership with Casey ( i would have thought they are Europes best match up against USA respective opponents in todays foursomes) and likely to play certainly 4 out of the 5 times. If Kim and Michelson beat Harrington/Karlson they are likely to be up against Garcia/westwood at stages over this evening and Saturday but Stenson is always likely to be playing against "weaker" partnerships in the middle order. Casey at 8's looks good value too but concerned he will end up with Rose/Poulter in fourballs.

Despite Faldo,I am still expecting Europe to win.
Post by: The Biff on September 19, 2008, 01:26:27 PM
Anyone recommend a good link to a "Live Commentary" available in Ireland?  Radio preferrably but a quick-updating text would be a close second preference.
Post by: Homer on September 19, 2008, 01:39:48 PM
Here ye go lads... http://www.justin.tv/eminem153rd

There'll be no work done this afternoon
Post by: Uladh on September 19, 2008, 01:48:41 PM

www.bbc.co.uk/5live
Post by: full back on September 19, 2008, 01:51:14 PM
When I click on the link Homer it says not broadcasting & shows 2 snooker players ???
Post by: Rossie11 on September 19, 2008, 01:51:54 PM
fair play Homer..
Post by: Homer on September 19, 2008, 02:00:45 PM
Quote from: full back on September 19, 2008, 01:51:14 PM
When I click on the link Homer it says not broadcasting & shows 2 snooker players ???

I think it does that when it goes to ads. Try refreshing the page every once in a while.
Post by: full back on September 19, 2008, 02:05:30 PM
Cheers
Post by: AZOffaly on September 19, 2008, 02:10:03 PM
I'm watching on Sky Anytime (I have a Sky Sports and Multiroom account at home). Grand altogether. Like being at home, except being paid for it :)

Decent start, but Harrington and Stenson will have to make sure Mickelson and Kim don't start putting red on the board.

On a side note, is there a more annoying sports chant than 'U-S-A', 'U-S-A'?

Maybe Ole Ole Ole comes close :D
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on September 19, 2008, 02:13:19 PM
What's the latest scores?
Post by: Rossie11 on September 19, 2008, 02:15:58 PM
QuoteOn a side note, is there a more annoying sports chant than 'U-S-A', 'U-S-A'
Never been fond of MAY-O MAY-O MAY-O..
Post by: Puckoon on September 19, 2008, 02:42:47 PM
AZ - its not a chant per se - but when Im coming down Amen corner at the masters in 2013 (lump on me early boys - ill be odds on after the pro am), anyways - the first hewer that yells "In the hole" will find my 9 iron hanging out of his ear fairly lively.
Post by: Uladh on September 19, 2008, 03:30:26 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 19, 2008, 02:10:03 PM
I'm watching on Sky Anytime (I have a Sky Sports and Multiroom account at home). Grand altogether. Like being at home, except being paid for it :)

Decent start, but Harrington and Stenson will have to make sure Mickelson and Kim don't start putting red on the board.

what's this?
Post by: Uladh on September 19, 2008, 03:43:33 PM
http://www.sportinglife.com/golf/rydercup2008/scoreboard/?ss (ftp://http://www.sportinglife.com/golf/rydercup2008/scoreboard/?ss)
Post by: AZOffaly on September 19, 2008, 03:46:04 PM
Quote from: Uladh on September 19, 2008, 03:30:26 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 19, 2008, 02:10:03 PM

what's this?

Basically if you are a Sky customer, with a certain 'level' of subscription (I have Sky Sports & Movies and Multiroom) you are entitled to view Sky TV from your mobile phone, your PC etc. It's just the same as watching your TV. You can watch Sky Sports 1,2,3 xTra and News live, like on TV.
Post by: Uladh on September 19, 2008, 03:50:11 PM

Harrington's shot into the 12th green was immaculate. 3 up now
Post by: AZOffaly on September 19, 2008, 04:11:51 PM
Karlsen is falling apart on Harrington.

Garcia and Westwood would want to get the finger out as well.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on September 19, 2008, 04:12:50 PM
Jesus lads have a bit more faith in the bould Padraig, 2 up after 13
Post by: AZOffaly on September 19, 2008, 04:15:52 PM
Harrington is playing great stuff, he was unlucky there. They'll be 1 up after 14 after this one.
Post by: Uladh on September 19, 2008, 04:20:39 PM
Karlsson is dead weight at this stage
Post by: AZOffaly on September 19, 2008, 04:37:48 PM
Casey and Poulter both find the water within seconds. Europe will be delighted to end 2-2 after these matches.
Post by: gawa316 on September 19, 2008, 04:41:10 PM
Jaysus not going well at the minute, haven't won a hole in ages.

That fecker Kim is annoying the feck outta me. Mickleson has carried his ass
Post by: AZOffaly on September 19, 2008, 04:41:59 PM
Mickelson's shot on 14 was unreal.
Post by: Square Ball on September 19, 2008, 04:52:10 PM
cant believe how this match has turned, Oh and I cant stand that wee twat Poulter
Post by: AZOffaly on September 19, 2008, 04:54:51 PM
Golf is like that, especially at this level. 1 bad shot is a hole gone usually. Maybe Europe will be happy with 1-3!
Post by: muppet on September 19, 2008, 05:02:37 PM
Cink or swim?

Cink and swim!!
Post by: Square Ball on September 19, 2008, 05:08:04 PM
Understand tha AZ, but there was a big swing in anyones book
Post by: Square Ball on September 19, 2008, 05:10:39 PM
A for Feck sake Sergio
Post by: AZOffaly on September 19, 2008, 05:18:30 PM
Harrington finishes All square with Mickelson. The other 2 luders don't count.
Post by: gawa316 on September 19, 2008, 05:27:56 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 19, 2008, 05:18:30 PM
Harrington finishes All square with Mickelson. The other 2 luders don't count.

Well said.

Harrington out with McDowell this afternoon against the same bucks. Hopefully Kim plays as shit again.

The best Europe can hope for is 2 1/2 to 1 1/2 down but more likely it'll be 3 to 1 down
Post by: AZOffaly on September 19, 2008, 05:54:05 PM
Poulter and Rose sh1te themselves and lose to Cink and Campbell, with a 6 on the 18th!.

Garcia and Westwood down 1 with 1 to play. The best it can be is 3-1!
Post by: AZOffaly on September 19, 2008, 05:55:33 PM
Harrington and MacDowell out in a big game now. 4 balls mean you have to play well on holes your partner isn't. Hopefully Kim will play as badly as in the morning, and McDowell and Harrington can dovetail to pick up the point.
Post by: Bogball XV on September 19, 2008, 05:58:12 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 19, 2008, 05:55:33 PM
Harrington and MacDowell out in a big game now. 4 balls mean you have to play well on holes your partner isn't. Hopefully Kim will play as badly as in the morning, and McDowell and Harrington can dovetail to pick up the point.
4 balls lets your partner attack more if you can be steady - both sets of lads have players who can do both - this top game could be a cracker, have to fancy the yanks as Mick looks so much more into it without tiger around.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 19, 2008, 05:59:54 PM
Yeah. The first shot each time around is vital. If you hit the centre of the green, your partner can attack the pin. But there is the safety valve of your partner if you scutter one into the drain. In the foursomes, your partner suffers the effects of your bad shots more often.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 19, 2008, 06:15:28 PM
That could be a big half point for Europe. It looked like Garcia was going to lose his first foursomes, but came back from dormy 2 to tie it. 3-1 after foursomes. The blues need a rally this evening.
Post by: Main Street on September 19, 2008, 06:25:14 PM
That Rose and Poulter effort at the 18th looked sloppy and costly.
But I know féck all about golf.

Harrington has the composure of a team leader and looks to be in his element out there, he knows what this is all about.
Apart from all those  "this is what the Ryder cup is all about" comments this is interesting to follow, at least until the minor match match starts on Sunday  :)

Post by: bredaghgael86 on September 19, 2008, 08:03:05 PM
is there anywere to watch it online?
Post by: Square Ball on September 19, 2008, 08:05:39 PM
try here

http://www.justin.tv/eminem153rd (http://www.justin.tv/eminem153rd)
Post by: bredaghgael86 on September 19, 2008, 08:10:29 PM
Cheers square ball
Post by: Square Ball on September 19, 2008, 08:18:31 PM
this ones better quality http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=18793&part=sports (http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=18793&part=sports)

go down to TSN and click on play for windows media player, better than downloading one of the other players at the minute

Post by: FL/MAYO on September 19, 2008, 08:57:54 PM
Did anyone else see the 2 bucks wearing the Carlow jerseys? The eyes nearly popped out of my head.
Post by: milltown row on September 19, 2008, 09:03:12 PM
do they show it live? or is it recorded from earlier?
Post by: Uladh on September 20, 2008, 12:23:35 PM

What the f**k is faldo at? sergio and westwood left out with both sessions needing won to stay in contention.

1305 Stewart Cink/Chad Campbell v Ian Poulter/Justin Rose
1320 Justin Leonard/Hunter Mahan v MA Jimenez/Graeme McDowell
1335 Phil Mickelson/Anthony Kim v Henrik Stenson/Oliver Wilson
1350 Jim Furyk/Kenny Perry v Padraig Harrington/Robert Karlsson

Stenson and particularly karlsson have just not got it done.

with the team needing momentum i'd have put harry & sergio out first followed by westwood & Rose. potentially you could be looking at 5&1/2 to 4&1/2 with two tight matches coming down the straight
Post by: TORGAEL on September 20, 2008, 01:17:17 PM
Fantastic shot from Poulter on the first hole. Europe 1 up in opening match today.
Post by: Main Street on September 20, 2008, 01:20:17 PM
Quote from: Uladh on September 20, 2008, 12:23:35 PM

What the f**k is faldo at? sergio and westwood left out with both sessions needing won to stay in contention.

"Sergio wanted to be rested," Faldo said. "Lee definitely didn't but I wanted him to be."

There was something about Westwood having a cold or recovering from something.
Post by: stephenite on September 20, 2008, 01:21:09 PM
Quote from: Main Street on September 20, 2008, 01:20:17 PM
Quote from: Uladh on September 20, 2008, 12:23:35 PM

"Sergio wanted to be rested," Faldo said. "Lee definitely didn't but I wanted him to be."

There was something about Westwood having a cold or recovering from something.

Westwood suffering from blisters apparently
Post by: Square Ball on September 20, 2008, 01:23:08 PM
Quote from: TORGAEL on September 20, 2008, 01:17:17 PM
Fantastic shot from Poulter on the first hole. Europe 1 up in opening match today.

great shoot indeed, I still cant stand the wee twat all the same
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 20, 2008, 05:28:14 PM
no Harrington is the 4balls this afternoon - good, he's been shocking

Good stuff this morning
Post by: muppet on September 20, 2008, 05:47:39 PM
Good mornings work though. 7-5 now going into the afternoon.

Must keep it at least 9-7 if not 8 1/2- 7 1/2 this evening to have a good shot at it tomorrow. Any better than that and the yanks will fold.
Post by: stew on September 20, 2008, 06:01:43 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 20, 2008, 05:47:39 PM

Must keep it at least 9-7 if not 8 1/2- 7 1/2 this evening to have a good shot at it tomorrow. Any better than that and the yanks will fold.

The yanks are not going to fold, this yank team is young and arrogant, that eejit weekly is a prime example of the kind of confidence the yanks have this time around. I dont think it hurt when they saw they werent going to have to deal with montgomery and clarke either.

Harrington cant buy a point, he will be well rested for the singles and I hope he salvages some personal pride.
Post by: muppet on September 20, 2008, 06:11:56 PM
Quote from: stew on September 20, 2008, 06:01:43 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 20, 2008, 05:47:39 PM

The yanks are not going to fold, this yank team is young and arrogant, that eejit weekly is a prime example of the kind of confidence the yanks have this time around. I dont think it hurt when they saw they werent going to have to deal with montgomery and clarke either.

Harrington cant buy a point, he will be well rested for the singles and I hope he salvages some personal pride.

He didn't play well in the last Ryder Cup either, but it didn't matter. Hopefully his pair of majors will console him.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 20, 2008, 07:19:19 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on September 20, 2008, 01:23:08 PM

great shoot indeed, I still cant stand the wee t**t all the same

He is certainly proving a point though and it looks like he was the right choice,fair play to him if you ask me.
I am getting pissed off with Boo Weekly and the god awful American crowd screaming BOO BOO BOO after everyone of his shots
Post by: corn02 on September 20, 2008, 08:06:39 PM
Looks like it is the little things that are going to win it as it wqill be tight.

Fuyrk and Perry throwing away a dormie yesterday and Garci/Jiminez stealing a half today will ultimately win it for the visitors.
Post by: Bogball XV on September 20, 2008, 08:14:11 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 20, 2008, 07:19:19 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on September 20, 2008, 01:23:08 PM

great shoot indeed, I still cant stand the wee t**t all the same

He is certainly proving a point though and it looks like he was the right choice,fair play to him if you ask me.
I am getting pissed off with Boo Weekly and the god awful American crowd screaming BOO BOO BOO after everyone of his shots
I quite like boo and that whole partisan thing is part of the charm - some great golf yesterday i thought and it's good to see the us making a decent stab at it this time around.
Post by: magickingdom on September 20, 2008, 09:12:53 PM
harrington cant seem to get it on in a ryder cup... bit like tiger

Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 20, 2008, 09:23:50 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on September 19, 2008, 08:57:54 PM
Did anyone else see the 2 bucks wearing the Carlow jerseys? The eyes nearly popped out of my head.

I saw a Kilkenny and a Down jersey in the crowd today
Post by: TORGAEL on September 20, 2008, 10:01:22 PM
Westwood, you beauty !
Post by: Minder on September 20, 2008, 10:05:36 PM
Its great golf and i always watch it but does anyone on the boad get that bothered about who wins?, its hard to get too excited about how a few Swedes, Spaniards and Englanders do...........
Post by: magickingdom on September 20, 2008, 10:12:50 PM
the only time its exciting is if its close on sunday in the singles
Post by: TORGAEL on September 20, 2008, 10:18:01 PM
But what about the Irish also ?. McDowell's having a stormer today !
Post by: Minder on September 20, 2008, 10:20:14 PM
Quote from: TORGAEL on September 20, 2008, 10:18:01 PM
But what about the Irish also ?. McDowell's having a stormer today !

I alwayshope the Irish lads do well but the result never bothers me too much, in fairness Mc Dowell  sounds like Clint Eastwood when he is talking........
Post by: Square Ball on September 20, 2008, 10:32:45 PM
starting to get interesting
Post by: bredaghgael86 on September 20, 2008, 10:43:09 PM
whats the score at the minute? howz it shapin up for tomorrow? gona be close?
Post by: Square Ball on September 20, 2008, 10:46:21 PM
Quote from: bredaghgael86 on September 20, 2008, 10:43:09 PM
whats the score at the minute? howz it shapin up for tomorrow? gona be close?

Latest match score: United States 7-5 Europe

Saturday's fourballs latest:

Weekley/Holmes v Westwood/Hansen(US 2 up after 16)
Curtis/Stricker v Garcia/Casey (a/s after 15)
Perry/Furyk v Poulter/McDowell (Europe 1 up after 14)
Mickelson/Mahan v Stenson/Karlsson (a/s after 13)

could go down to the last few matches tomorrow, all depends on the next hour or so, you watchibg it in the internet?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 20, 2008, 10:49:31 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 20, 2008, 10:05:36 PM
Its great golf and i always watch it but does anyone on the boad get that bothered about who wins?, its hard to get too excited about how a few Swedes, Spaniards and Englanders do...........

I do,I don't think you can look at it the way you do,I certainly don't.Does it matter what country their from? We are all European at the end of the day..I suppose it all depends on how much into Golf you are.Personally I love the sport as much as Gaa or soccer and I would be really pissed if the Americans won

Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 20, 2008, 10:50:24 PM
Is there a rule in Golf that I'm not aware of that if your a Pro Golfer your wife/girlfriend has to be blonde?
Post by: Main Street on September 20, 2008, 10:52:50 PM
Also teeth, tan and huge shades
Post by: the green man on September 20, 2008, 10:53:18 PM
You SA 8 Europe 5

Garcia/Casey all square after 15
Poulter/McDowell 1up after 14
Stenson/Karlson all square after 13

That'll leave it nicely balanced going into the final day. I think Europe will a bit too strong for the yanks tomorrow.
Post by: Minder on September 20, 2008, 10:55:37 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 20, 2008, 10:49:31 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 20, 2008, 10:05:36 PM

I do,I don't think you can look at it the way you do,I certainly don't.Does it matter what country their from? We are all European at the end of the day..I suppose it all depends on how much into Golf you are.Personally I love the sport as much as Gaa or soccer and I would be really pissed if the Americans won

I am well into golf too LL, almost as much as you are into Steve Finnan  ;) I just have never thought of myself as "European". If it was the Dunhill Cup or World Cup and each nationality is playing i would want Ireland to win but its hard to associate yourself as "European", thats just me though. Oh and growing up i was a huge Seve fan and absolutely despised that hoor Faldo..........
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 20, 2008, 11:14:21 PM
I don't know how you can be non commital when you see the way the yank fans and players behave. Redneck whooping and hollering should be kept for the rodeo not the golf course. I hope Europe stuff them in the singles tomorrow but stenson and karlsson would need to pull the finger out.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 20, 2008, 11:21:32 PM
Still a chance it could end 3-1 to Europe making it 8-8 overall
Post by: Minder on September 21, 2008, 12:03:50 AM
Poulter may be a tube but he got game as the septic tanks would say
Post by: Puckoon on September 21, 2008, 01:16:36 AM
Poulter has been one of the decent performers for the Europe team. That said - why couldnt he have played his way into the team instead of going for money in USA.

Lot of mis-firing today.
Post by: Puckoon on September 21, 2008, 05:52:47 AM
Faldos singles line up is brilliant. Not how faldo picked them per se, but rather how they will line up. I expect Europe to take 3 out of the first 4, with Garcia, Casey and Rose winning. Mickelson hasnt played well this ryder cup. I also expect European victories for Hansen over Holmes (if yer man had any sort of a short game, it would be all over already - 380+ off the tee!), and most of the last 4 pairings.

It could be Europes game yet.

1703 Anthony Kim v Sergio Garcia

1714 Hunter Mahan v Paul Casey

1725 Justin Leonard v Robert Karlsson

1736 Phil Mickelson v Justin Rose

1747 Kenny Perry v Henrik Stenson

1758 Boo Weekley v Oliver Wilson

1809 JB Holmes v Soren Hansen

1820 Jim Furyk v Miguel Angel Jimenez

1831 Stewart Cink v Graeme McDowell

1842 Steve Stricker v Ian Poulter

1853 Ben Curtis v Lee Westwood

1904 Chad Campbell v Padraig Harrington

Post by: Lecale2 on September 21, 2008, 08:04:59 AM
Looking good for Europe.
Post by: DrinknHarp on September 21, 2008, 09:06:12 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on September 21, 2008, 05:52:47 AM
Faldos singles line up is brilliant. Not how faldo picked them per se, but rather how they will line up. I expect Europe to take 3 out of the first 4, with Garcia, Casey and Rose winning. Mickelson hasnt played well this ryder cup. I also expect European victories for Hansen over Holmes (if yer man had any sort of a short game, it would be all over already - 380+ off the tee!), and most of the last 4 pairings.

Puck I will give you 3 to 1 for 5, I wil ltake the U.S.

Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 21, 2008, 10:23:35 AM

1703 Anthony Kim v Sergio Garcia   Garcia

1714 Hunter Mahan v Paul Casey      Mahan

1725 Justin Leonard v Robert Karlsson Tie

1736 Phil Mickelson v Justin Rose Mickelson

1747 Kenny Perry v Henrik Stenson Stenson

1758 Boo Weekley v Oliver Wilson   Weekley

1809 JB Holmes v Soren Hansen  Tie

1820 Jim Furyk v Miguel Angel Jimenez   Furyk

1831 Stewart Cink v Graeme McDowell   McDowell

1842 Steve Stricker v Ian Poulter  Poulter

1853 Ben Curtis v Lee Westwood   Westwood

1904 Chad Campbell v Padraig Harrington Harrington

Europe 7 --   14 
Usa      5  --   14

:o

What happens in the event of a draw?
Post by: AZOffaly on September 21, 2008, 10:39:34 AM
Europe keep the cup. For a man that loves his golf so much I thought you'd know that.  :P No one 'wins' but the holders retain.

Fair play to Poulter, Harrington hasn't recovered from only halving the first match, and some of the other Europeans are playing below form as well. Hopefully Casey's putt on 18 yesterday will give him a boost.

As for Mickelson Puck, how can you say he's not playing well? Apart from the last 4 holes last night (His 69th, 70th, 71st and 72nd of 2 days) he's been a rock for the USA. They've got the type of performances from himself, Leonard, Mahan, Weekly and a few others that Europe usually get.
Post by: muppet on September 21, 2008, 10:42:11 AM
Quote from: DrinknHarp on September 21, 2008, 09:06:12 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on September 21, 2008, 05:52:47 AM

Puck I will give you 3 to 1 for 5, I wil ltake the U.S.

Holders retain the Cup in the event of a draw.

This is all about momentum. If Europe get a sea of blue on the board early, as they have done in the last 3 singles days, it tends to break the fickle American spirit. But they need to get off to a flyer. 

That draw will make most Europeans happy though. If it comes down to a single hole needing an up and down or whatever, who would you put your life on to do it?

Harrington will deliver.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 21, 2008, 10:54:24 AM
Quote from: muppet on September 21, 2008, 10:42:11 AM

Holders retain the Cup in the event of a draw.

This is all about momentum. If Europe get a sea of blue on the board early, as they have done in the last 3 singles days, it tends to break the fickle American spirit. But they need to get off to a flyer. 

That draw will make most Europeans happy though. If it comes down to a single hole needing an up and down or whatever, who would you put your life on to do it?

Harrington will deliver.

Thanks muppet,I hadn't known that
It be a really shitty way of winning it back wouldn't it..By right they should nominate two players from each side and have a couple hole Foursomes playoff
I'm sure Faldo would hail it as a great success if it was only a draw but it's not really winning now is it
Post by: Lecale2 on September 21, 2008, 11:19:44 AM
1703 Anthony Kim v Sergio Garcia   Tie

1714 Hunter Mahan v Paul Casey      Tie

1725 Justin Leonard v Robert Karlsson Leonard

1747 Kenny Perry v Henrik Stenson Perry

1809 JB Holmes v Soren Hansen Holmes

1820 Jim Furyk v Miguel Angel Jimenez  Furyk

1831 Stewart Cink v Graeme McDowell  McDowell

1842 Steve Stricker v Ian Poulter Poulter

Europe 5 --   12
Usa      7  --   16

When you break it down it doesn't actally look as good as I first thought. It could well be all over before the McDowell finishes.
Post by: Onlooker on September 21, 2008, 12:20:23 PM
When did Harrington last win a match in the Ryder Cup?.  I never realised his record was that bad.  It could all come down to his match today.  Would be a great time to get that elusive win.
Post by: Lecale2 on September 21, 2008, 12:27:44 PM
The tie is the value bet. Your getting 6/1 and if the tournament is won on lost before the last 2 or 3 games are over the players usually settle for a tie.

Might be worth a punt.
Post by: Puckoon on September 21, 2008, 01:23:51 PM
Mickelson isnt playing his usual standard golf IMHO. I was actually more impressed with Mahan, who having watched a few times this year I thought would be a soft touch.

Granted, yesterday was the only day I watched.
Post by: Bogball XV on September 21, 2008, 01:31:09 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 21, 2008, 10:42:11 AMThis is all about momentum. If Europe get a sea of blue on the board early, as they have done in the last 3 singles days, it tends to break the fickle American spirit. But they need to get off to a flyer. 

Harrington will deliver.
You're right about the momentum, it'll have a big bearing alright, but I don't think Harrington will get a chance to putt for the match - i think it was a risk playing harrington that far down (but I know why he did it).
For me it's:

1703 Anthony Kim v Sergio Garcia   Kim

1714 Hunter Mahan v Paul Casey      Mahan

1725 Justin Leonard v Robert Karlsson Karlsson

1747 Kenny Perry v Henrik Stenson Tie

1809 JB Holmes v Soren Hansen Holmes

1820 Jim Furyk v Miguel Angel Jimenez  Jiminez

1831 Stewart Cink v Graeme McDowell  Cink

1842 Steve Stricker v Ian Poulter Stricker

Post by: Hardy on September 21, 2008, 06:47:53 PM
Feckit I've been drawn into this stuff now . Watching it on P2P. Faldo's strategy seems to be backfiring with red all over the board at this stage. Europe only leading in one match (Stenson).
Post by: gawa316 on September 21, 2008, 06:59:23 PM
Anyone got a decent stream? The one i've been using has stopped working
Post by: Hardy on September 21, 2008, 07:49:08 PM
http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=18795&part=sports

US-centric commentary and ads every 3 minutes, but stream quality is good.
Post by: Chrisowc on September 21, 2008, 08:02:30 PM
Just as annoying as the 'get in the hole' sh*te and all the whoopin and a hollerin is this 'Ole Ole Ole' nonsense that could be heard at the first tee and now, all over the course.  Grim.
Post by: Square Ball on September 21, 2008, 08:23:41 PM
yanks up on 5 now..

Anthony Kim bt Sergio Garcia 5&4
Hunter Mahan v Paul Casey (US 1 up after 13)
Justin Leonard v Robert Karlsson (Europe 4 up after 11)
Phil Mickelson v Justin Rose (Europe 3 up after 11)
Kenny Perry v Henrik Stenson (US 2 up after 10)
Boo Weekley v Oliver Wilson (US 3 up after 8)
JB Holmes v Soren Hansen (a/s after 8)
Jim Furyk v Miguel Angel Jimenez (US 2 up after 8)
Stewart Cink v Graeme McDowell (a/s after 7)
Steve Stricker v Ian Poulter (Europe 3 up after 6)
Ben Curtis v Lee Westwood (Europe 1 up after 5)
Chad Campbell v Padraig Harrington (US 1 up aft
Post by: Square Ball on September 21, 2008, 08:33:13 PM
Hunter Mahan v Paul Casey (US 1 up after 14)
Justin Leonard v Robert Karlsson (Europe 4 up after 12)
Phil Mickelson v Justin Rose (Europe 4 up after 12)
Kenny Perry v Henrik Stenson (US 2 up after 11)
Boo Weekley v Oliver Wilson (US 4 up after 10)
JB Holmes v Soren Hansen (a/s after 9)
Jim Furyk v Miguel Angel Jimenez (a/s after 9)
Stewart Cink v Graeme McDowell (a/s after 8)
Steve Stricker v Ian Poulter (Europe 3 up after 6)
Ben Curtis v Lee Westwood (Europe 2 up after 6)
Chad Campbell v Padraig Harrington (US 2 up after 6)

Harrington not looking to good at the minute, may go down to him
Post by: Square Ball on September 21, 2008, 08:41:07 PM
Hunter Mahan v Paul Casey (US 1 up after 14)
Justin Leonard v Robert Karlsson (Europe 4 up after 13)
Phil Mickelson v Justin Rose (Europe 3 up after 11)
Kenny Perry v Henrik Stenson (US 2 up after 11)
Boo Weekley v Oliver Wilson (US 4 up after 10)
JB Holmes v Soren Hansen (a/s after 9)
Stewart Cink v Graeme McDowell (a/s after 8)
Steve Stricker v Ian Poulter (Europe 3 up after 7)
Ben Curtis v Lee Westwood (Europe 2 up after 6)

Post by: Square Ball on September 21, 2008, 08:54:53 PM
Hunter Mahan v Paul Casey (US 1 up after 15)
Justin Leonard v Robert Karlsson (Europe 4 up after 14)
Phil Mickelson v Justin Rose (Europe 4 up after 13)
Kenny Perry v Henrik Stenson (US 2 up after 12)
Boo Weekley v Oliver Wilson (US 4 up after 11)
JB Holmes v Soren Hansen (Europe 1 up after 10)
Stewart Cink v Graeme McDowell (Europe 1 up after 9)
Steve Stricker v Ian Poulter (Europe 3 up after 8)
Ben Curtis v Lee Westwood (Europe 1 up after 7)
Post by: screenexile on September 21, 2008, 08:55:29 PM
Karlsson gave us a good point back there and Casey all swuare going into 17. It seems Europe are rallying towards the end of the day and an exciting finish is on the cards... what has been the sporting highlight of the weekend? Tyrone's 3rd All Ireland of the Decade? The Ryder Cup? Or Ola Jordan in Strictly come dancing?!!
Post by: Main Street on September 21, 2008, 09:23:28 PM
Casey looks to have tied his match, not finished yet.
It still looks the USA's title
I think 2 out of Hanson  McDowel Harrington will have to win their game for Europe
Post by: Main Street on September 21, 2008, 10:16:05 PM
If McDowell and Westwood win, does it go down to Harringtons match?
Post by: Minder on September 21, 2008, 10:17:36 PM
The end is nigh
Post by: Treasurer on September 21, 2008, 10:18:32 PM
Need Jiminez to sink this!
Post by: Main Street on September 21, 2008, 10:20:00 PM
So Jimines has lost it for Europe?

No wonder Harrington went last ::)
Post by: screenexile on September 21, 2008, 10:21:09 PM
Bad luck after a good comeback from the Europeans. Players just didn't perform to their ability and I think Faldo's wildcard decisions werem't really to blame as Poulter and Casey played well throughout the weekend but our big names didn't perform and the Yanks did... end of!
Post by: Main Street on September 21, 2008, 10:23:02 PM
Faldo getting some nice consolation embraces from the Wags.
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on September 21, 2008, 10:28:20 PM
Quote from: screenexile on September 21, 2008, 10:21:09 PM
Bad luck after a good comeback from the Europeans. Players just didn't perform to their ability and I think Faldo's wildcard decisions werem't really to blame as Poulter and Casey played well throughout the weekend but our big names didn't perform and the Yanks did... end of!

Wise up.
Post by: screenexile on September 21, 2008, 10:36:59 PM
You don't consider yourself a European DYJL?
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on September 21, 2008, 10:39:55 PM
I do not feel any attachment to the European team, certainly not enough to use words like our, us and we.
Post by: gawa316 on September 21, 2008, 10:43:49 PM
Quote from: DoYerJob Linesman on September 21, 2008, 10:39:55 PM
I do not feel any attachment to the European team, certainly not enough to use words like our, us and we.

How the f**k is it not our, us and we?
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on September 21, 2008, 10:44:56 PM
Just the way I feel, don't lose the oul head there.   :D
Post by: gawa316 on September 21, 2008, 10:52:54 PM
Quote from: DoYerJob Linesman on September 21, 2008, 10:44:56 PM

So you don't feel obliged to support the team your countryman plays for?
Post by: belleaqua on September 21, 2008, 11:53:32 PM
Quote from: screenexile on September 21, 2008, 10:21:09 PM

Just because Poulter played so well and Casey held is own doesn't justify the success of Faldo's captaincy. As has been pointed out by many commentators the failure of Harrington, Garcia and Jimenez to raise their games to their usual level may have been as a result of a lack of confidence in the captain. that may be unprofessional but so be it. Clarke or Monty should have gone but not both, Clarke on form being the wise selection. He's a leader, something Europe seemed to really lack. The sum of all parts may well have been greater than the individuals concerned had Clarke been picked.

Another factor was Tiger missing out, done the US no harm at all in terms of team spirit. Well done USA, roll on 2010.
Post by: thewobbler on September 22, 2008, 12:03:14 AM
I'll say it simply.

The role of Ryder Cup captain is the single most overstated position in sport. And that is saying something.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on September 22, 2008, 12:30:58 AM
I was proud of the OUR team, thought some of the golf was outstanding. For me Faldo was vindicated. What people dont seem to understand is the pressure of Ryder cup, he based picking poulter on his performance in the british open. Poulter was awesome all weekend and fair play to him. Casey did well aswell. So his choices cant be questioned now. Our lads fought all the way. Faldo took a chance back loading the singles and it fell one game short to make a difference which is probably my only criticism.

The americans were unbelivable, some of them posted 29 on the front nine holes. I think wilson for us was -4 but down 4 with weekly at -8. Just astonishing. Was impressed with Karlsoon and hansen too. Rose and mcdowell did fierce well too. Poulter was our main man though and should be commended.

Garcia was a big let down and Harrington has never prepared properly for the ryder cups. He plans his yr to peak at the majors but his game was not in order this weekend and that is disappointing.

Congrats to the USA, they gave some entertainment and some shots as did our lads and i was proud of them.
Post by: heganboy on September 22, 2008, 03:24:08 AM
made it down to kentucky at the weekend, and the atmosphere was fantastic. A lot of people thought that the europeans were disdvantaged by only having 2 captains picks. Tiger's absence was certainly a motivating factor for the americans. Kim carried lefty and had a fantastic weekend, Paddy, maybe not so much. McDowell did very well, Poulter vindicated Faldo picking him, however you have to wonder about the strategy he used, but you would have to say the americans outplayed the europeans by a huge amount.
Saw dublin jerseys, galway, antrim and carlow, club jerseys from up and down the country even a couple of rugby shirts, but not a soccer top in sight.
and i now know that tv flattens a golf course like you wouldnt believe. the course I saw on tv friday was in my world about 10 shots harder than the won I walked around Saturday. A couple of the guys I was there with were 2 and 3 handicappers and they had played valhalla in competiton form 3 weeks back. they shot 97 and 99 and both believed they were lucky to break 100...
Post by: stephenite on September 22, 2008, 03:40:32 AM
You have a Down jersey on you?
Post by: INDIANA on September 22, 2008, 07:46:07 AM
have to agree , i don't feel very european and can't get into this ryder cup buzz. i play golf a lot  though and i thought faldo was a bad choice as captain, tried to do too much himself and lacked ideas when they were needed.
Post by: stephenite on September 22, 2008, 07:52:27 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on September 22, 2008, 07:46:07 AM
have to agree , i don't feel very european and can't get into this ryder cup buzz. i play golf a lot  though and i thought faldo was a bad choice as captain, tried to do too much himself and lacked ideas when they were needed.

How so? I don't think he did anything that differently to other captains I've seen over the years
Post by: Hound on September 22, 2008, 07:58:59 AM
I love the Ryder Cup, and certainly feel like Europe are my team. I don't like Faldo, but I don't think he did a whole lot wrong over the 3 days. The US won because they holed the most putts over the course of the competition.

Interesting scoring stats from the singles:

Weekley -8
Kim -7
Perry - 7
Rose -6
McDowell -5
Poulter -5
Curtis -5
Karlsson -4
Westwood -4
Mahan -4
Wilson -4
Furyk -3
Mickelson -3
Holmes -2
Stenson -2
Stricker -2
Casey -2
Cink -1
Hansen Ev
Jiminez Ev
Leonard +1
Campbell +2
Garcia +2
Harrington +5
Post by: SLIGONIAN on September 22, 2008, 02:45:46 PM
Quote from: Hound on September 22, 2008, 07:58:59 AM
I love the Ryder Cup, and certainly feel like Europe are my team. I don't like Faldo, but I don't think he did a whole lot wrong over the 3 days. The US won because they holed the most putts over the course of the competition.

Interesting scoring stats from the singles:

Weekley -8
Kim -7
Perry - 7
Rose -6
McDowell -5
Poulter -5
Curtis -5
Karlsson -4
Westwood -4
Mahan -4
Wilson -4
Furyk -3
Mickelson -3
Holmes -2
Stenson -2
Stricker -2
Casey -2
Cink -1
Hansen Ev
Jiminez Ev
Leonard +1
Campbell +2
Garcia +2
Harrington +5

And dont forget alot of them scores were after only 15 holes :o, wow. If Harrinton was playing weekly it would of been match over after 10 holes.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 22, 2008, 03:46:59 PM
Some of the US stroke scores on your list are phenomenal. Not bad from McDowell either. He seemed to acquit himself well over the weekend and if he can maintain some form could be a future banker for the Europe team.
Post by: corn02 on September 22, 2008, 04:02:41 PM
Quote from: DoYerJob Linesman on September 21, 2008, 10:44:56 PM

But it ok to tell screenexile to  "wise up"?
Post by: screenexile on September 22, 2008, 04:24:33 PM
Ah sure I'm well used to him... what else would you expect from a pig but a grunt!?;)
Post by: corn02 on September 22, 2008, 07:45:13 PM

I said beforehand to watch out for Kim and Mahan and they proved the difference, incredible debuts. Kim is hateful mid you.
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 23, 2008, 01:36:54 PM
i think there will be an asterix after the us 's 2008 Ryder cup win as they won it when the best player in the world was out injured  :P ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 24, 2008, 08:12:53 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on September 23, 2008, 01:36:54 PM
i think there will be an asterix after the us 's 2008 Ryder cup win as they won it when the best player in the world was out injured  :P ;)

Very good  :D
Post by: Minder on September 24, 2008, 08:38:49 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on September 23, 2008, 01:36:54 PM
A good point well made Deel,interesting interview from Fat Monty earlier,he got ripped into Faldo for playing his stronger players at the end when the match was over. The Ryder Cup has only been decided by 12th player in singles once, in '91 when Hale Irwin played Langer.
Post by: Hardy on September 25, 2008, 11:53:41 AM
Except Harrington was actually the weakest player.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 25, 2008, 05:50:02 PM
Just want to saw fair play to Poulter for theway he played. The point still stands though that Faldo is a cnut. Obviously Poulter was picked early and told it was ok to go off to the US and go for the dough when he could have qualified by right for the team. I son't think that's right. With such a dope as captain someone like Clarke was needed to gee the lads up but obviously Faldo wouldn't have him next nigh or near it. That was his call but like his singles lineup it contributed to the defeat in my book. Fair play to the yanks. More up for it and better captaincy and even though I wouldn't approve of some of their messing they fully deserved to win.