Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: The Gs Man on August 15, 2008, 09:26:16 AM

Title: Oasis
Post by: The Gs Man on August 15, 2008, 09:26:16 AM
Another concert for your diaries........

Oasis playing the Odyssey on 29th and 30th October!!!

Anyone hear Noel on the Chris Moyles show this morning?  He was still half-cut from the night before.  Funny man.

Title: Re: Oasis
Post by: laceer on August 15, 2008, 10:47:23 AM
yyyyyyeeeeeeessssss   ;D

hearing whats the story morning glory live is f**king immense

can't wait

Post by: shark on August 15, 2008, 10:48:07 AM
Heard their new single this morning. Quite like it I must say.
Post by: Tankie on August 15, 2008, 11:11:14 AM
any word on an Irish gig?
Post by: under the bar on August 15, 2008, 11:14:33 AM
Seen them half a dozen times now.  Cork in 1996 was immense, but things gone a bit downhill since. Still worth a look.
Post by: The Gs Man on August 15, 2008, 11:14:56 AM
QuoteOasis playing the Odyssey on 29th and 30th October!!!

There's two for ye!!  :P
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 15, 2008, 11:18:49 AM
G's man, when do the tickets go on sale for theses gigs, wee bro is a big fan, would make a nice gift for him, any idea how much the tickets will cost for this concert?
Post by: Tankie on August 15, 2008, 11:19:32 AM
Quote from: The Gs Man on August 15, 2008, 11:14:56 AM

well i should of said Dublin gigs, you know us Dubs dont like to travel  ;)
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 15, 2008, 11:21:04 AM
Quote from: Tankie on August 15, 2008, 11:19:32 AM
Quote from: The Gs Man on August 15, 2008, 11:14:56 AM

well i should of said Dublin gigs, you know us Dubs dont like to travel  ;)

True, how far is Parnell Park from the city again?  ;)
Post by: Donagh on August 15, 2008, 11:21:38 AM
Seen them in Philadelphia in '96. Worst concert I've ever attended.
Post by: downredblack on August 15, 2008, 11:27:00 AM
Have seen them a couple of times , think I'll leave it at that . Felt like a Grandad(37) the last time in Marley pk .
Post by: shark on August 15, 2008, 11:49:45 AM
Quote from: Tankie on August 15, 2008, 11:11:14 AM
any word on an Irish gig?

They are yet to release the 'European' tour dates.
Post by: the colonel on August 15, 2008, 12:00:50 PM
every time i see them they are great. moody c*nts on stage though!!
Post by: The Gs Man on August 15, 2008, 12:04:27 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 15, 2008, 11:18:49 AM
G's man, when do the tickets go on sale for theses gigs, wee bro is a big fan, would make a nice gift for him, any idea how much the tickets will cost for this concert?

They're on sale Wednesday morning to the General Public.....although I think there could be a pre-sale on Tuesday for all us superfans.

If there is, I'll give you a shout because thats just the kind of guy I am.  I'd say they'd probably be the same price as the Kings of Leon tickets, round £30/35 quid.

This'll be my ninth time seeing them.  :o
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 15, 2008, 12:08:23 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on August 15, 2008, 12:04:27 PM

They're on sale Wednesday morning to the General Public.....although I think there could be a pre-sale on Tuesday for all us superfans.

If there is, I'll give you a shout because thats just the kind of guy I am.  I'd say they'd probably be the same price as the Kings of Leon tickets, round £30/35 quid.

Would appreciate that Gs Man, will return the favour by calling into your establishment the next time I'm down in Lurgan.  ;D
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on August 15, 2008, 12:16:57 PM

That would be greatly appreciated G Man
Post by: The Gs Man on August 15, 2008, 12:20:39 PM
Aye, hopefully they have a pre-sale.  Its not usually announced too far in advance, but if they're going to do it I should know by Monday at the latest.

If not, it's a fight to the death!!!!! Fastest finger first.....
Post by: An Fear Rua on August 15, 2008, 12:38:58 PM
Quote from: Donagh on August 15, 2008, 11:21:38 AM

Ditto at The Reebok, boring as f**k, might as well have put on the cd
Post by: laceer on August 15, 2008, 12:46:18 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 15, 2008, 12:08:23 PM

Would appreciate that Gs Man, will return the favour by calling into your establishment the next time I'm down in Lurgan.  ;D

can't f**king wait - it'll be my 6th time.last was city of manchester

Post by: Maguire01 on August 15, 2008, 01:10:28 PM
Terrible band and very dull live.

Also a very high spide and lout count at their gigs.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 15, 2008, 01:17:04 PM
I was at their first ever Irish gig at the Tivoli. Can't remember what year that was? Might have been 94. Was some show. The walls were sweating at that one.

Think I saw then twice again after that including in Cork and they were pretty good each time. Haven't seen them live in years now though and have only briefly listened to their last couple of albums.
Post by: Minder on August 15, 2008, 01:25:36 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 15, 2008, 01:10:28 PM

Why did you go and see them if they are "terrible". I wouldnt be a huge fan but did see them in Odyssey in 2005 and it was a great concert.
Post by: Maguire01 on August 15, 2008, 01:34:39 PM
Quote from: Minder on August 15, 2008, 01:25:36 PM

Why did you go and see them if they are "terrible". I wouldnt be a huge fan but did see them in Odyssey in 2005 and it was a great concert.
I didn't really - they were at a festival.
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 15, 2008, 02:30:17 PM

count your blessings that you werent at the bowie/morrissey gig at the point in Dublin in the mid 90's.
Its like a concert version of 'eraserhead'.

Saw Oasis at the point in the early/mid 90's.
Luckily I went the first night, as liam gallagher lost his voice after this and couldnt sing for the remaining three nights shows !

thought they were good that time, even though Liams voice was starting to wane due to whatever the problem was
Post by: laceer on August 15, 2008, 04:12:08 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 15, 2008, 01:34:39 PM

was it at oxegen about 5 or 6 years ago by any chance?i saw them that time as well and it wasnt their best performance by a mile.
if you've never been to one of their gigs how do you know theres a high spide and lout count?
Post by: Donagh on August 15, 2008, 04:18:06 PM
Just heard the 'new' song on the radio there. Another Oasis by the numbers one - piss poor effort really.

Can't take the boys seriously anymore, well not since Charlie brought them to the wee screen in Lost.
Post by: The Gs Man on August 15, 2008, 04:19:08 PM
Quote from: Donagh on August 15, 2008, 04:18:06 PM
Just heard the 'new' song on the radio there. Another Oasis by the numbers one - piss poor effort really.

Can't take the boys seriously anymore, well not since Charlie brought them to the wee screen in Lost.

Give over grandpa!!!   :)
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 15, 2008, 04:44:42 PM
Minder there is no way that concert was 3 years ago. More like 06 early 07. I'll have to google it. I'm posting from the shitter in work. This mini opera application is great!
Post by: Puckoon on August 15, 2008, 04:59:34 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 15, 2008, 04:44:42 PM
Minder there is no way that concert was 3 years ago. More like 06 early 07. I'll have to google it. I'm posting from the shitter in work. This mini opera application is great!

A shite end to a shite thread about a shite band. ::)
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 15, 2008, 05:08:59 PM
Apologies Minder it was December 2005.
Post by: Muzz on August 15, 2008, 05:11:17 PM
Where did you hear the mention of a presale for the superfans.  I havent heard anything about that yet.  Just a general sale.  The Verve done that this year but I thought it was only to see how sales would do and if they should put on a second night.
Post by: his holiness nb on August 15, 2008, 05:18:17 PM
Saw them in Slane backing up REM right before the went huge. Then again a few years back in the Point, great live band, great band full stop.
Post by: peterquaife on August 15, 2008, 05:39:48 PM

the one in the summer of '96 with the manics supporting? you have cloth ears? that was a brilliant gig....also caught the manics play in Maxwells in Hoboken a few days before between supporting Oasis in NY and Philadelphia, $6 odd in, super night

PQ
Post by: Maguire01 on August 15, 2008, 06:26:26 PM
Quote from: laceer on August 15, 2008, 04:12:08 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 15, 2008, 01:34:39 PM

was it at oxegen about 5 or 6 years ago by any chance?i saw them that time as well and it wasnt their best performance by a mile.
if you've never been to one of their gigs how do you know theres a high spide and lout count?
Firstly, i know people who worked in the Odyssey. I also heard the stories of fights in the crowd at one of the Odyssey gigs last time around. And i know the kind of crowd that follow Oasis - and i know that's a sweeping generalisation, but that generalisation impacts on the general tone of the crowd.
BTW, i think it was the Oxegen gig i was at.
Post by: The Gs Man on August 15, 2008, 07:06:36 PM

Here's me and my muckers before the last Oasis gig in the Odyssey.

We were all clean aff ar bakes!  Wrote te death!!! Winged aff ar tits.

(Thats me at the front with my eyes closed......bear in mind I had just knecked 4 Mitsubishis back-to-back)

(http://www.yusef.co.uk/chav.JPG)
Post by: Shortso79 on August 15, 2008, 07:42:17 PM
Seen them 5 times - 2005 in the odyssey was the best one for me and I was sober ! (for a change)

Noel said today that they wouldnt play the 02 Area in London - it was too corporate....

Post by: Muzz on August 15, 2008, 07:57:00 PM
10 Years of Noise and Confusion in the Barrowlands was without doubt the best Oasis concert ever.  Odyssey was good but Barrowlands was amazing.  Up close and personal and small crowd.

Gs Man - where did you hear about the pre release?
Post by: The Gs Man on August 15, 2008, 08:16:17 PM
Theres talk about it on a forum Im on, but it hasn't been mentioned officially so touts don't just sign up to get the password and make a profit.  It may not happen, but if it does, I should be getting an email on monday.
Post by: Treasurer on August 15, 2008, 11:59:31 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 15, 2008, 02:30:17 PM
Saw Oasis at the point in the early/mid 90's.
Luckily I went the first night, as liam gallagher lost his voice after this and couldnt sing for the remaining three nights shows !

I was at one of the Liam-less nights and have to say it was a great night, but maybe my judgement was clouded by things other than the concert!  Saw them a couple of other times too, enjoyed them, but then again maybe I'm just easily pleased when it comes to live music  :)
Post by: Donagh on August 16, 2008, 01:13:24 AM
Quote from: peterquaife on August 15, 2008, 05:39:48 PM

the one in the summer of '96 with the manics supporting? you have cloth ears? that was a brilliant gig....also caught the manics play in Maxwells in Hoboken a few days before between supporting Oasis in NY and Philadelphia, $6 odd in, super night

PQ

It was shite. Arrived early enough to hear Liam and Noel fighting during the sound check while we were having a few beers outside. Entered the ground to find tattooed wankers trying to confiscate cameras, and Liam then pissed off after a few songs. Shit gig, shit atmosphere, shit band...
Post by: Donagh on August 16, 2008, 01:14:53 AM
Quote from: The Gs Man on August 15, 2008, 07:06:36 PM

Here's me and my muckers before the last Oasis gig in the Odyssey.

We were all clean aff ar bakes!  Wrote te death!!! Winged aff ar tits.

(Thats me at the front with my eyes closed......bear in mind I had just knecked 4 Mitsubishis back-to-back)

(http://www.yusef.co.uk/chav.JPG)

Your a mad bastid Gs!!!  :D :D :D :D
Post by: redboots on August 18, 2008, 02:44:36 PM
Any word on the presale password
Post by: The Gs Man on August 18, 2008, 02:57:05 PM
nahin yet.  got an email this morning but it just mentioned being able to buy exclusive tracks or something.  No mention of a pre-sale.  I'll keep an eye out tonight though.

Post by: Tankie on August 18, 2008, 03:08:05 PM
my only problem with Oasis live is that the gigs are too short. generally 12 song sets for €80 can feel like a bit of a rip off!
Post by: shark on August 18, 2008, 03:23:12 PM
The last two times in the point they played 18 songs both nights
Post by: Tankie on August 18, 2008, 03:25:40 PM
Quote from: shark on August 18, 2008, 03:23:12 PM

last time i seen them they played about 12. jesus i knew i was fairly hammered that day but i didnt think i was that bad!!

was anyone are the Marley park gig in dublin a couple of years back?
Post by: The Gs Man on August 18, 2008, 03:39:00 PM
Aye, i was there.  Definitely more than 12 songs!!!!
Post by: dodo on August 18, 2008, 03:53:01 PM
Quote from: Tankie on August 18, 2008, 03:25:40 PM

last time i seen them they played about 12. jesus i knew i was fairly hammered that day but i didnt think i was that bad!!

A familiar feeling after saturday !

Sorry, couldn't resist.

:)
Post by: Tankie on August 18, 2008, 03:56:31 PM
Quote from: dodo on August 18, 2008, 03:53:01 PM
Quote from: Tankie on August 18, 2008, 03:25:40 PM

A familiar feeling after saturday !

Sorry, couldn't resist.

:)

ur not far wrong, lets put it this way - What happened on saturday?   ;)
Post by: Tankie on August 18, 2008, 06:55:03 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on August 18, 2008, 03:39:00 PM

jayus i must have been totally wasted, i thought that they only played 10 or 12 songs at that gig and have been moaning ever since.
Post by: shark on August 18, 2008, 07:09:32 PM
Quote from: Tankie on August 18, 2008, 06:55:03 PM

jayus i must have been totally wasted, i thought that they only played 10 or 12 songs at that gig and have been moaning ever since.

From my recolection they played every song off Dont Believe The Truth, bar Songbird, so thats double figures straight away.  On top of that they definitely played Wonderwall, Live Forever, RocknRoll Star, Morning Glory and finished with My Generation.
Post by: Tankie on August 18, 2008, 08:14:53 PM
Quote from: shark on August 18, 2008, 07:09:32 PM
Quote from: Tankie on August 18, 2008, 06:55:03 PM

From my recolection they played every song off Dont Believe The Truth, bar Songbird, so thats double figures straight away.  On top of that they definitely played Wonderwall, Live Forever, RocknRoll Star, Morning Glory and finished with My Generation.

I knew i was focked at that gig but this is all news to me! Liver Forever is a savage tune and i remember that!
Post by: rolloutking on August 19, 2008, 12:22:33 AM
QuoteFrom my recollection they played every song off Dont Believe The Truth, bar Songbird, so thats double figures straight away.  On top of that they definitely played Wonderwall, Live Forever, RocknRoll Star, Morning Glory and finished with My Generation.

They never played Roll With It. F cuk sake thats the only reason im going to see them in Belfast

Anyone got contacts to find out the spot for the afterparty.....I remember after T Vital last year Razorlight were in the Stiff Kitten and The Killers were in the Limelight

Think I'll get Wednesday tickets in case Liam goes on a bender on Wednesday in Booming Belfast and hurts his voice/too hungover to play Thursday
Post by: The Gs Man on August 19, 2008, 09:50:03 AM
Doesn't look like there'll be a pre-sale.  Haven't heard anything yet.  Thought it would have been this morning.

Ah well, Fastest finger first!!!!!

If anyone happens to buy any spare ones for the Thursday night, I bags them!!!! (if I don't get my own that is)
Post by: Stalin on August 19, 2008, 01:56:17 PM
stil nothing on the presale?
Post by: The Gs Man on August 19, 2008, 02:11:15 PM
not a dicky bird!
Post by: Superstar on August 19, 2008, 06:03:46 PM
I'll be there for cert, absolute cracking band!!!!
Post by: screenexile on August 20, 2008, 09:21:02 AM
Why are ticketmaster a crowd of cnuts? I got my tickets 'held' while I had to enter my card details (even though I have my card details stored and was logged in), I entered my card details and they then said I couldn't submit card information because I already had that card information stored. THen I tried to buy the tickets again and there was an error, now I'm on my 3rd time and my 'wait' time has gone from 2 to 13 mins...

Anyone else having any bother?
Post by: Goats Do Shave on August 20, 2008, 09:26:40 AM
Must be a new record on the sell outs!

Should have played Croker!
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 20, 2008, 09:30:09 AM
Fcukers, logged in and waited then got tickets, was entering my info and it said I'd timed out - wee bro will be gutted!
Anyone out there with two spare tickets, would be really grateful.
Post by: Muzz on August 20, 2008, 09:31:11 AM
Got 3 tickets for SECC Glasgow gig and 2 for Belfast.

www.seetickets.com have a whooful site.  Nightmare to try and get tickets on.  Kept getting errors then when I got through and processed the card details it gives me another error telling me to ring them.  Ring them and they tell me that its gone through.  Happy Days.

Everyone else get sorted?
Post by: Muzz on August 20, 2008, 09:32:29 AM
Try ringing seetickets - Number is 08712200260 or 08712300010
Post by: shark on August 20, 2008, 09:32:48 AM
Got timed out when entering info the first time.  Q'd again and managed to get 2, but not standing unfortunetly.  Hate ticketmaster. 
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 20, 2008, 09:39:10 AM
Quote from: Muzz on August 20, 2008, 09:32:29 AM
Try ringing seetickets - Number is 08712200260 or 08712300010

Numbers constantly engaged, their website doesn't work either!
Is there anywhere else I can get these?
Is there any point in continuing to keep trying ticketmaster?
Post by: The Gs Man on August 20, 2008, 09:57:25 AM
Try seetickets....

I got 3 standing for thursday, literally 5 minutes ago.

try this:

http://www.seetickets.com/oasisf/price.asp?showcode=345043&pricetype=2&pricetype2=3&pricetype3=4&pricetype4=5&filler1=oasis
Post by: The Gs Man on August 20, 2008, 09:58:11 AM
or http://www.seetickets.com/oasis
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 20, 2008, 10:08:43 AM
Quote from: The Gs Man on August 20, 2008, 09:57:25 AM
Try seetickets....

I got 3 standing for thursday, literally 5 minutes ago.

try this:

http://www.seetickets.com/oasisf/price.asp?showcode=345043&pricetype=2&pricetype2=3&pricetype3=4&pricetype4=5&filler1=oasis

Managed to get one seated for thursday, need another, do you need all three G's man?  ;)
How much did you pay for the tickets?
that site isn't working.
Post by: The Gs Man on August 20, 2008, 10:14:13 AM
 :)  I think I'll need all three, but if any change, I'll give you a shout!

My advice, open a load of new windows, copy and paste http://www.seetickets.com/oasis/ into the address bar of each one, then click go.  If it comes up "Server busy" hit back and click on the link for Odyssey again.

Or just keep copying and pasting that longer link I posted.  I might come up busy, but just paste it in the address bar again and keep trying!

Good luck.
Post by: screenexile on August 20, 2008, 10:15:32 AM
Gs man you are a complete legend!

Got through using the http://www.seetickets.com/oasis (http://www.seetickets.com/oasis) and ordered me 4 standing for the Thursday. It says everything is fine but I need to wait for the email just to be sure... good stuff!
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 20, 2008, 10:19:20 AM
Quote from: screenexile on August 20, 2008, 10:15:32 AM

Got through using the http://www.seetickets.com/oasis (http://www.seetickets.com/oasis) and ordered me 4 standing for the Thursday. It says everything is fine but I need to wait for the email just to be sure... good stuff!

How much for the tickets?
Post by: The Gs Man on August 20, 2008, 10:24:52 AM

Good man, should take bout half hr for confirmation email to come through.

GDA, it was £131 for 3 standing ticks inc. booking fee.  £42.35 each
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 20, 2008, 10:31:09 AM
Quote from: The Gs Man on August 20, 2008, 10:24:52 AM

Good man, should take bout half hr for confirmation email to come through.

GDA, it was £131 for 3 standing ticks inc. booking fee.  £42.35 each

Class, just tried that site, booked 2 for arena standing, waiting on confirmation e-mail.
Might have a spare after all!!  ;)
Post by: The Gs Man on August 20, 2008, 11:00:11 AM
Good stuff!!

I will accept warm, over-priced beer in plastic pint glasses as a thank-you.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on August 20, 2008, 11:00:39 AM
just waitin on my confirmation tickets as well for standing.  also got 2 seated one through ticketmaster this morning, only problem is that they're in different sections.  wasn't looking forward to mooning about on my own.  :)
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 20, 2008, 11:25:38 AM
Still no confirmation e-mail, starting to think it may have been too good to be true!   :(
Post by: Muzz on August 20, 2008, 11:38:40 AM
Not to alarm you but I got my ticket confirmation 15 minutes after ordering.  That may have been because I called them on the second number I gave out earlier as I got an error when trying to process the order.  They were able to confirm the order over the phone.  So possibly try them?
Post by: The Gs Man on August 20, 2008, 11:40:00 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 20, 2008, 11:25:38 AM
Still no confirmation e-mail, starting to think it may have been too good to be true!   :(

Don't panic, they're just yanking your chain!  You'll get it!

Mine took a while.
Post by: The Gs Man on August 20, 2008, 11:47:09 AM
Oh, maybe try your junk email folder.  it may have been filtered to there.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on August 20, 2008, 12:00:11 PM
Just tried again there... got 4 seated for the thursday night...

They must have kept a batch back!?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 20, 2008, 12:20:01 PM
Just got confirmation e-mail.  ;D
G's Man your a star.

Have now got a spare seated one for thursday night!  ::) :)
Post by: The Gs Man on August 20, 2008, 12:36:05 PM
Tickets are a fortune on Ebay already!!!  I hate touts.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on August 20, 2008, 12:55:50 PM
I got my confirmation as well.  Cheers G Man  :)
Post by: Hardy on August 20, 2008, 02:51:10 PM
I (think) I have four for sale, for anyone who needs them. Ordered them this morning for the young lad, who failed to get tickets for the London gig. Now he says he doesn't want the Belfast ones as he and his mates are going to London anyway.

4 x 2ND PRICE RESERVED SEAT at £42.35 (including £3.85 booking fee)
Total Value    £171.20 (including £1.80 transaction fee).

I never got a confirmation email, but I went into the site to track the order and it's registered and they say "we are waiting for these tickets to come into stock, when they arrive we will send to:"

First come (by PM) first served. If you tout them, I'll publish it here.
Post by: The Gs Man on August 20, 2008, 02:58:27 PM
Fair play to ye Hardy!  They're going for double the price on Ebay now. 
Post by: Muzz on August 20, 2008, 04:22:38 PM
There are still tickets available for the Wednesday gig. 
Post by: The Gs Man on August 20, 2008, 04:37:23 PM
Aye ano.  thats why i can't understand why people are bidding for the Ebay ones.  Maybe they don't know you can still get tickets through seetickets.com.  :-\
Post by: balladmaker on August 20, 2008, 07:37:11 PM
Oasis...aye right!

They won't have a patch on these lads who are in Belfast in the same week for their 45th Anniversary Concert:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ttAXETXn7d0 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ttAXETXn7d0)

Post by: screenexile on September 08, 2008, 04:22:07 PM
Just spied this on BBC and thought it was worth a post. Look at Liam in the video he looks like he's going to kill the stupid hoor!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/entertainment/7603959.stm

Also wondering what the story is with these tickets from seeticket.com. It's been a few weeks and no sign of them yet, I've shelled out the best part of £150 and I would have thought the tickets would have arrived. Has anyone used seetickets.com before? When can I expect the tickets to arrive?
Post by: The Gs Man on September 08, 2008, 04:26:34 PM
Oh aye, seetickets.com......thats the phishing site I set up there a while ago.... :P

Haven't got mine through yet either, although does it not say that they can arrive up to a week or so before the gig?  Same with the Kings of Leon tickets I got from Ticketmaster.

As for the attack on Noel.......shocking stuff.  Your man could have had a knife or anything.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on September 08, 2008, 05:11:13 PM
Quote from: screenexile on September 08, 2008, 04:22:07 PM
Just spied this on BBC and thought it was worth a post. Look at Liam in the video he looks like he's going to kill the stupid hoor!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/entertainment/7603959.stm

Also wondering what the story is with these tickets from seeticket.com. It's been a few weeks and no sign of them yet, I've shelled out the best part of £150 and I would have thought the tickets would have arrived. Has anyone used seetickets.com before? When can I expect the tickets to arrive?

I was wondering about the tickets myself, still no sign.  Have you used that site before Gs Man?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 08, 2008, 05:16:30 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on September 08, 2008, 04:26:34 PMYour man could have had a knife or anything.

He'd have been more likely to have a joint than a knife
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on September 09, 2008, 08:57:33 AM
Just to let you know, I've 2 tickets ordered from ticketmaster for it as well and they haven't arrived either.  Could be a last minute thing
Post by: Onion Bag on September 09, 2008, 09:03:28 AM
Sent you a PM el cuervo
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on September 09, 2008, 09:44:31 AM
Have tickets ordered from both sites and still waiting on both, not overly concerned atm.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on September 09, 2008, 09:48:51 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on September 09, 2008, 09:44:31 AM
Have tickets ordered from both sites and still waiting on both, not overly concerned atm.

same as that.  I would be more concerned if the ticketmaster ones had already arrived
Post by: imtommygunn on September 09, 2008, 11:28:09 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/entertainment/7607105.stm

Appears Noel took a hit at the latest gig...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PZ8bUiZv4XI
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2008, 03:41:17 AM
smoking joints / eating mushrooms most likely
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on September 18, 2008, 09:01:13 AM
2 Tickets arrived in the post from ticketmaster yesterday
Post by: Minder on September 18, 2008, 10:31:59 AM
I take it this concert is sold out?
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on September 23, 2008, 02:55:08 PM
any word on tickets lads??
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on October 07, 2008, 05:44:16 PM
4 tickets arrived today  ;D
Post by: screenexile on October 07, 2008, 10:20:18 PM
Same here Hapy Days!!!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 07, 2008, 10:37:38 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 18, 2008, 10:31:59 AM
Sure book tickets for The Kings of Leon instead...
Post by: Minder on October 07, 2008, 10:45:48 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 07, 2008, 10:37:38 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 18, 2008, 10:31:59 AM
Sure book tickets for The Kings of Leon instead...

Blow me sausage jockey..........
Post by: The Gs Man on October 08, 2008, 09:34:46 AM
Lads, did you have to sign for your tickets???

I had one of those notes left from the postman saying "we have your item at the depot".  Don't know wheter it's my tickets or my new crotchless spiderman suit.
Post by: screenexile on October 08, 2008, 09:56:38 AM
Yeah registered post. Lucky my Dad was in the house at the time to sort it out! Can't wait it should be a good night Sun shhhyyyyyyyyiiiiinnnneeee.
Post by: The Gs Man on October 08, 2008, 10:05:20 AM
Looks like its my tickets then.  Just gonna have to wait a few more days for the crotchless Spiderman suit.

Heard the new album yet Screenexile?

I have gave it a few listens.  Definitely a grower.  I think Liams song (the one that samples the John Lennon interview) is the best on it. Although there are definitely a few that should sound great live.
Post by: screenexile on October 08, 2008, 10:31:45 AM
Now that you mention it I completely forgot to listen to the new album. Just got it downloaded there so I'll have a listen over the next few days. Such a chore to get it downloaded for free. I had to check at least 20 sites before I could find a link that wasn't removed due to Copyright!
Post by: The Gs Man on October 08, 2008, 10:34:13 AM
Cheapskate!!!!  :D
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on October 08, 2008, 11:36:57 AM
Quote from: The Gs Man on October 08, 2008, 09:34:46 AM

I had one of those notes left from the postman saying "we have your item at the depot".  Don't know wheter it's my tickets or my new crotchless spiderman suit.

Same here, got the note yesterday, must call down to Tomb St to collect them, the wee bro will be delighted - Thanks again G's man.  :)
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on October 08, 2008, 01:47:37 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on October 08, 2008, 11:36:57 AM

Same here, got the note yesterday, must call down to Tomb St to collect them, the wee bro will be delighted - Thanks again G's man.  :)

Yeah G man cheers.
Post by: Doohicky on October 08, 2008, 01:55:26 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on October 08, 2008, 10:34:13 AM
Cheapskate!!!!  :D

Did you hear Noel Gallagher on the Chris Moyles show. He's all for people downloading peoples albulms and not paying. I take that as a licience to download the Oasis album for free.  ;)

Looking forward to this...
Post by: The Gs Man on October 08, 2008, 02:14:11 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on October 08, 2008, 01:47:37 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on October 08, 2008, 11:36:57 AM

Yeah G man cheers.

No worries, youse can buy me a pint when your at our next Belfast gig!  :P
Post by: The Gs Man on October 26, 2008, 11:17:29 PM
Oasis on Electric Proms now!!!!   BBC 2.

Sounding class!!!!  Can't wait till Thursdays gig now!
Post by: Carmen Stateside on October 26, 2008, 11:24:16 PM
Have to wait till December to see them :(
Post by: The Gs Man on October 26, 2008, 11:29:37 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 26, 2008, 11:20:25 PM
Agreed. Class.

I can't mind which night I'm going now. I think it's Wednesday. Are they even fecking playing on Wednesday? I put the bastarding tickets in a safe place............

Aye, Wednesday is the first Belfast gig.  You may hoke about for the tickets!!!!

Suuuunnnnshyyyyyyiiiiinnneeeeee!!!!!
Post by: The Gs Man on October 26, 2008, 11:37:05 PM
50 piece choir for wonderwall???? Nuts
Post by: The Gs Man on October 26, 2008, 11:48:28 PM
Must say....Dont Look Back In Anger sounds the ticket!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 27, 2008, 12:35:00 AM
Quote from: The Gs Man on October 26, 2008, 11:17:29 PM
Oasis on Electric Proms now!!!!   BBC 2.

Sounding class!!!!  Can't wait till Thursdays gig now!

Enjoyed that, early stuff was in a class of its own, not too enamoured with recent stuff. Best song of the night was probably "I Am The Walrus", worked brilliantly with the choir...
Post by: Carmen Stateside on October 27, 2008, 12:45:41 AM
Masterplan is favourite of mine! Got a friend who does a great version of it :)
Post by: Carmen Stateside on October 27, 2008, 01:10:55 AM
Quote from: hardstation on October 27, 2008, 12:59:35 AM
Top 5, in no particular order

My Big Mouth
Champagne Supernova
Supersonic
Live Forever
The Girl In The Dirty Shirt

Ah, f**k it. There are too many gooduns, to be left out.

true! was trying to make a list there but it was getting very long!
Post by: Over the Bar on October 27, 2008, 10:47:45 AM
QuoteMasterplan is favourite of mine! Got a friend who does a great version of it 

Do a great version of it myself.  If I could sing it would be even better!
Post by: YogiBear on October 28, 2008, 02:05:59 PM
I see it says on the tickets that doors open at 6.30 what time do you reckon Oasis will be on stage hoping to get a good oul carry out into me before going but would hate to miss any of it.  Also any word about who are supporting them
Post by: The Gs Man on October 28, 2008, 02:22:29 PM
The Hours are supporting them.  Haven't heard much about them but you can check out their Myspace at http://www.myspace.com/thehours

Watched the full Electric Proms concert on the Red Button on BBC 1.  Absolutely class!!!
Post by: YogiBear on October 28, 2008, 02:29:44 PM
I thought Liams voice sounded a bit fucked at the Electric Proms.  Dont like that orchestra shit tbh Oasis are greatest band alive and dont need any of that shit
Post by: Over the Bar on October 28, 2008, 02:43:44 PM
QuoteI see it says on the tickets that doors open at 6.30 what time do you reckon Oasis will be on stage hoping to get a good oul carry out into me before going but would hate to miss any of it.

Going by past gigs in Odyssey prob onstage about 9, play for 2 hours and then over at 11
Post by: The Gs Man on October 28, 2008, 02:53:53 PM
Quote from: YogiBear on October 28, 2008, 02:29:44 PM
I thought Liams voice sounded a bit fucked at the Electric Proms.  Dont like that orchestra shit tbh Oasis are greatest band alive and dont need any of that shit

I thought it sounded great.  The version of Masterplan was the best I've ever heard.   (It was a choir, not an orchestra!)
Post by: YogiBear on October 28, 2008, 04:14:38 PM
Maybe i wasnt the best to judge his voice was just coming around after a severe hangover after several days on the drink.   Thought they might be on about nine thats plenty of time to get myself warmed up.  Roll on Thursday!!!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 28, 2008, 05:48:17 PM
Quote from: YogiBear on October 28, 2008, 02:29:44 PM

Agree that Liams vocals were not what they once were, maybe the years of abuse are catching up with him...
Post by: Donagh on October 30, 2008, 11:48:55 AM
Oasis in high level briefing with SF chief

By Maureen Coleman

Oasis superstars Noel and Liam Gallagher were brought up to speed about the peace process by Deputy First Minister Martin McGuinness on board a flight to Belfast yesterday.

The brothers found themselves seated next to the Sinn Fein man on an afternoon flight from London ahead of last night's Odyssey Arena concert.

Eyewitnesses on the plane said Mr McGuinness seemed to be in deep conversation with the world-famous rockers.

When the flight arrived at George Best Belfast City Airport the Deputy First Minister shook their hands before alighting.

One woman, who did not wish to be named, said she could not believe her eyes when she saw the Gallaghers.

"I went over and got my photograph taken with Liam. He was really lovely but a lot smaller than I imagined," she said.

The band were then ushered out through an emergency exit at the airport.

Last night a spokesman for Mr McGuinness confirmed that he had met the Gallaghers on board the flight to Belfast and that they had seemed interested in the ongoing Ulster peace process.

"Martin has met the Gallagher brothers before at Heathrow Airport and, yes, he was talking to them again yesterday," he said. "They seemed genuinely interested in what is going on here and seemed to be pretty knowledgeable about the situation as well."

The spokesman said that Mr McGuinness liked the band's music and that his favourite Oasis song was their massive hit anthem Wonderwall. But he said he would not be attending either last night's or tonight's shows at the Odyssey due to work commitments.
Post by: The Gs Man on October 30, 2008, 12:05:44 PM
Anybody go last night? Any use?  What have I in store for tonight?
Post by: fitzroyalty on October 30, 2008, 12:49:44 PM
heard one of the gallaghers got slapped by a coin. going tnight myself, should be a cracker
Post by: TORGAEL on October 30, 2008, 03:27:55 PM
Going tonight myself. Anyone got news of last nites gig ?
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on October 30, 2008, 03:35:26 PM
I was at it last night, great show.  Suffering now for it
Post by: full back on October 30, 2008, 03:36:55 PM
Anyone want this seating ticket for a score?
Post by: The Gs Man on October 30, 2008, 03:42:00 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on October 30, 2008, 03:35:26 PM

Was the bar handy got at or did ye have to queue for ages?
Post by: Doohicky on October 30, 2008, 03:47:38 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on October 30, 2008, 03:42:00 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on October 30, 2008, 03:35:26 PM

Was the bar handy got at or did ye have to queue for ages?

Bar for standing area is a nightmare. Only a single bar for the entire crowd. You can get up to 4 beers at a time.
My advise would be to get well tanked up before hand. Get to the bar and buy 4 (Only beer available, nothing else) and then walk in with them.

Show was really good. They started around 9 and finished about 10.20 before coming back for encore. Finished with I am the Walrus.
Played loads of the classics.
Post by: rolloutking on October 30, 2008, 04:40:23 PM
Fckn amaing show last night. I was standing and was near enough at the front. Looked round at one stage during Dont look back in Anger and absolutely everyone in the stadium was standing with their arms in the air singing 'And so, Sally can wait'

There was loads of tickets flying round outside beforehand. One of the lads with us got a standing ticket for £40.

Seriously considering going tonight again.
Post by: DownFanatic on October 30, 2008, 06:03:27 PM
Unreal last night. I thought they were very good. Got loaded before I went in. Bought a couple of pints in there but must have queued for about 20 minutes to get them.

Think they played about 7 new tunes and about 13 classics. Highlight was definitely Don't Look Back in Anger. I am the Walrus at the end was also amazing.

One dissapointment was that they didn't play Live Forever
Post by: Maguire01 on October 30, 2008, 06:24:42 PM
Seems like the quality of an Oasis gig increases in line with how hammered you get at it!
Post by: ExiledGael on October 30, 2008, 06:28:05 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 30, 2008, 06:24:42 PM
Seems like the quality of an Oasis gig increases in line with how hammered you get at it!

Doesn't everything
Post by: Maguire01 on October 31, 2008, 08:52:05 AM
No.
Post by: The Gs Man on October 31, 2008, 09:04:19 AM
I must be getting old.  Total spidefest put me right off.  Never seen so many spides congregating in one place in my life.

Oasis sounded good but looked as if they couldn't be arsed being there.

Seen them 10 times now.  I think that'll be my last.
Post by: screenexile on October 31, 2008, 01:51:02 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on October 31, 2008, 09:04:19 AM
I must be getting old.  Total spidefest put me right off.  Never seen so many spides congregating in one place in my life.

I came on here to put my appraisal of the gi up and Gs man hit the nail completely on the head... fcukin spide central last night. Smoking away and doing coke like mad inside the place. "Aye Oasis fuckin' lefal mate" Were they hell... awful performance neither of them barely broke breath to the crowd and look like a band going through the motions, I would have had just as much enjoyment watching familiar to millions at home and at least there was a bit of personality to them then.

I was thinking of heading to Slane but I'm put right off that idea now. They need to put some effort into the thing rather than churning out the same thing every night.
Post by: Maguire01 on October 31, 2008, 01:53:13 PM
Two more see the light!  :D
Post by: The Gs Man on October 31, 2008, 02:03:32 PM
QuoteI would have had just as much enjoyment watching familiar to millions at home and at least there was a bit of personality to them then.

haha.

I'd have been safer staying in and watching myself on TV......
Post by: fitzroyalty on October 31, 2008, 06:31:04 PM
Quote from: screenexile on October 31, 2008, 01:51:02 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on October 31, 2008, 09:04:19 AM

I came on here to put my appraisal of the gi up and Gs man hit the nail completely on the head... fcukin spide central last night. Smoking away and doing coke like mad inside the place. "Aye Oasis fuckin' lefal mate" Were they hell... awful performance neither of them barely broke breath to the crowd and look like a band going through the motions, I would have had just as much enjoyment watching familiar to millions at home and at least there was a bit of personality to them then.

I was thinking of heading to Slane but I'm put right off that idea now. They need to put some effort into the thing rather than churning out the same thing every night.

i was surrounded by spides. they arent half ive waving their mits in my face every 30 seconds... although this is the magic of Oasis, even spides like them.. small price to pay, brilliant night
Post by: TORGAEL on October 31, 2008, 06:48:02 PM
I was there last night, and have to say that despite the spides, and despite the bands indifference to interact with the crowd, it was a damn good nights entertainment.