Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: downgirl on August 04, 2008, 09:53:56 PM

Title: Contact Lenses
Post by: downgirl on August 04, 2008, 09:53:56 PM
I have been wearing contacts for years now and to be honest if I have them in for more than 8 hours or so they are really starting to hurt, they never used to, any ideas what to do??  Should I try changing makes of lenses?  I wouldn't wear them every day so it's not like I'm wearing them too much I don't think.  :-\
Title: Re: Contact Lenses
Post by: rolloutking on August 04, 2008, 09:56:30 PM
Are they dailies or monthlys?

You can ask your optician for a softer contact lens or else use artificial tears when your lens start to go dry and sting.

Try taking them out for about 15 mins and cleaning them
Post by: ziggysego on August 04, 2008, 09:58:49 PM
I'm afraid that happens if you wear them too long. Sisters used to wear them non-stop and now it's too sore. Only wear them if they are going out a night now.
Post by: downgirl on August 04, 2008, 09:59:29 PM
Monthly...and I make sure I don't keep them longer than the 30 days.  I think mine are soft already, but I might try those artificial tears, do you get them from the optician or do they do them in chemists?
Post by: downgirl on August 04, 2008, 10:01:38 PM
Actually thinking about laser eye surgery, but do you have to have a constant prescription for a few years before you get it or something?
Post by: maggie on August 04, 2008, 10:05:59 PM
was just bout to suggest the laser treatment, one of the girls at work had it done-but it was private-deadly job though
Post by: downgirl on August 04, 2008, 10:06:37 PM
She didn't have any problems with it then?  I would be worried about something going wrong and making my eyesight worse  :-\ :-\
Post by: Puckoon on August 04, 2008, 10:10:50 PM
No apparent eyesight problems for puck, which shatters that particular myth, however Ive heard nothing but superb reports about the laser surgery. If you have the money, or even if you dont, it seems like a great investment.
Post by: maggie on August 04, 2008, 10:12:27 PM
no it was pretty painfree and she can now see how much of a rotter her hubbie really is :D :D
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 04, 2008, 10:19:58 PM
QuoteI have been wearing contacts for years now and to be honest if I have them in for more than 8 hours or so they are really starting to hurt, they never used to, any ideas what to do??  Should I try changing makes of lenses?  I wouldn't wear them every day so it's not like I'm wearing them too much I don't think.

Stop being so self-conscious and wear glasses!
Post by: downgirl on August 04, 2008, 11:10:42 PM
Tacadoir I do wear glasses but they are handy for nights out or matches and all and for I am in labs even though technically you aren't meant to wear contacts in the labs but you look like an eejit if you wear glasses under the safety glasses like  :D
Post by: Puckoon on August 04, 2008, 11:13:31 PM
Down girl - you could get a pair of safety glasses made for the lab - your prescription in a safety glass but obviously something a little "cooler" than bog standard lab glasses.

'Cooler' as in as cool as any of us lab nerds can ever possibly hope to be.
Post by: downgirl on August 04, 2008, 11:17:03 PM
Aye Puck I have seen those prescription lab glasses... :-\ they aren't the most attractive..well the ones my demonstrater had weren't anyway!  Where do you get them from anyway, just the optician??
Post by: rolloutking on August 04, 2008, 11:20:20 PM
You can get the artificial tears from a chemist for 2 or 3 quid

My cousin got laser surgery last year and she was in and out in a day and was able to see after a couple of days. Its about 600 quid per eye. Theres a place on the Lisburn Road where you can go in and get a free test or sumthin

Im currently pondering about getting a car or getting laser eye surgery. Contacts and glasses are such as hassle especially when they start irritating you. The amount of times I came home from a night out pissed and nearly poked my eye out trying to take out my lenses and then wash them is ridiculous. Half the time they fall on the floor and then thats them done and you have to open a new set...which costs £12

The most annoying thing is when you fall asleep with them in and then have the dryness in your eyes when you wake up and their stuck to your cornea. Its hatefull not being able to have a little snooze.

Post by: Puckoon on August 04, 2008, 11:20:41 PM
Basically the requirement for lab safety glasses changes depending on what you are working with. Realistically working with chemicals (unless you need a whole face mask) there isnt really any need for those huge feckin things that take up half your face. Id just get yourself a new prescription pair, slightly bigger frames and roberts your mothers sisters live in lover.
Ask your optician what they can do for you, or alternatively ask your coalman about the coal thats too hot for texas.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 04, 2008, 11:24:27 PM
My cousin got laser surgery last year and she was in and out in a day and was able to see after a couple of days. Its about 600 quid per eye. Theres a place on the Lisburn Road where you can go in and get a free test or sumthin

Im currently pondering about getting a car or getting laser eye surgery. Contacts and glasses are such as hassle especially when they start irritating you. The amount of times I came home from a night out pissed and nearly poked my eye out trying to take out my lenses and then wash them is ridiculous. Half the time they fall on the floor and then thats them done and you have to open a new set...which costs £12

The most annoying thing is when you fall asleep with them in and then have the dryness in your eyes when you wake up and their stuck to your cornea. Its hatefull not being able to have a little snooze.

I've never bothered with contacts because I just couldn't be bothered with the hassle. I'm used to glasses by now and sure, once a specky wee b*****, always a speacky wee b*****.

What are the risks attachd with the surgery and has there been much evidence compiled about the risks of complications down the line? Have heard of a few horror stories.
Post by: Puckoon on August 04, 2008, 11:25:53 PM
What kind of horror stories tam, and are the numbers representative to really worry about it? Ive heard nothing but sterling reports - you specky wee b*****d! ;)
Post by: downgirl on August 04, 2008, 11:26:32 PM
rolloutking, I would go for laser eye surgery!!  Yea I have heard about that place on the Lisburn Road, they sent me out a wee thingy about themselves them seem good.  I think you have to pay £60 or something for the initial test to see if you are suitable for it though?  

BTW rolloutking don't know where you get your lenses but I was getting my 6 month supply through the optician, costing me £90 for a 6 month supply; found this site contactlenses.co.uk where I am getting exactly the same lenses, 6 month supply for £32 including delivery...I would recommend it if you are being charged a lot for your lenses!!

Yea it's awful I know there have been times on a long journey (when I haven't been driving before some smart ass says something) I have fallen asleep and had the lenses in and then you wake up and its the weirdest thing ever!!
Post by: Treasurer on August 05, 2008, 12:59:11 AM
I get mine from yourlenses.com. I find the drops are great but then again I'd rarely wear them for more than a few hours going out or something. Falling asleep with them in can be traumatic!
Post by: Rois on August 05, 2008, 10:16:10 AM
A friend of mine's eyesight was so bad she wasn't suitable for laser surgery.  A couple of weeks ago she had an operating where they split her eyeball (nice, I know) and inserted a permanent lens into it.  It knocked her out for a week or so because it was under general anaesthetic, and she had to leave it a month before the other one.  She's going around now only wearing one contact, till she gets the other one done in another two weeks. 

Post by: supersarsfields on August 05, 2008, 10:19:23 AM
I went into the place on the lisburn road Optimax or something last Oct after the football had finished. It cost £30 for the consultancy. However this is deducted of the price if you go ahead. There are two different types but I just cant remember their names. The dear one which was about £1300 per eye you were in and out the next day with very little discomfort. However the other one was cheaper about £600-900 per eye but you had to wear sunglasses and take a week of work and stay in a dark room for most of that week with quite a lot of discomfort.
I was hoping to get the first one done. But when I went in my retna was too thin to get it done leaving only the second option. I had the option of getting it done that day but desided against it.

Also your restricted in contact sports for up to three months after getting it done. Need to be done in off season.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 05, 2008, 11:03:34 AM
Ask your work about the prescription safety glasses - they usually pay the full whack or a portion of the cost and you can put the rest towards getting a decent looking pair. The ones in our place are wraparounds and look okay as safety glasses go!

http://www.safetyspecs.co.uk/?gclid=CLjWyrK49pQCFSjdlAodQRvXrA
Post by: downgirl on August 05, 2008, 12:03:07 PM
Thanks Tony but I will have to pay the whole lot myself I'm just a student!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 05, 2008, 01:00:11 PM
Put it this way the prescription safety glasses will be cheaper than laser surgery! However if you are really annoyed by wearing lenses or glasses I'd consider it. Everyone I know has raved about the difference it has made.

Maybe the 2314 members here could chip in a quid each to get them done!
Post by: downgirl on August 05, 2008, 01:13:39 PM
Haha before someone says it if I ask Ziggy nicely he might give me half the money  :D

Might look into the laser surgery anyway, doubt I will be able to afford it until after I finish college and get myself a good job!!
Post by: haranguerer on August 05, 2008, 05:51:56 PM
About the laser surgery, I've heard it can have quite a negative effect on your night vision.
Worst 'sight' horror story I heard (well, read, it actually happened) was a guy who went in to casualty becasue he had fallen asleep with his contact lens in, and now couldnt get it out, and his efforts had caused him pain. The doctor tried his best, but he too couldnt remove it, so did a few others. They only found out that he had no lens in his eye when the got the specialist - turns out they'd all been tugging at his retina...Ouch!
Post by: downgirl on August 05, 2008, 06:00:00 PM
Ooooh that sounds really sore!!!  How did he not realise there wasn't a contact lens in it?? Like, surely he wouldn't have been able to see????
Post by: haranguerer on August 05, 2008, 06:06:03 PM
Sorry, missed a key point; he had been drinking! :o
Post by: downgirl on August 05, 2008, 06:08:54 PM
Hahaha ok that explains it  :D
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 05, 2008, 06:31:29 PM
QuoteWhat kind of horror stories tam, and are the numbers representative to really worry about it?

I've heard of people going blind. And what the frig do ya mean about representative?! Sure that's some way to look at. Me stuck without my sight but sure as long as the other 99% are grand, sure what's the harm?!

Anyway I think my glasses are distinguished - that's my line and I'm sticking to it!
Post by: Puckoon on August 05, 2008, 06:48:59 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 05, 2008, 06:31:29 PM
QuoteWhat kind of horror stories tam, and are the numbers representative to really worry about it?

I've heard of people going blind. And what the frig do ya mean about representative?! Sure that's some way to look at. Me stuck without my sight but sure as long as the other 99% are grand, sure what's the harm?!

Anyway I think my glasses are distinguished - that's my line and I'm sticking to it!

Well lets say you need a hernia repaired - or a simple (?) surgery. You'd think it would be no big deal, but people die in surgery. Some people go in for a hernia repair and they give them a frontal lobotomy. Not often, and you are probably safer with a hernia repair than open heart surgery - but still, you'd like to know if the numbers are representative i.e 14 out of 20 people died getting their hernia fixed against say 1:140,000.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 05, 2008, 08:03:09 PM
Well lets say you need a hernia repaired - or a simple (?) surgery. You'd think it would be no big deal, but people die in surgery. Some people go in for a hernia repair and they give them a frontal lobotomy. Not often, and you are probably safer with a hernia repair than open heart surgery - but still, you'd like to know if the numbers are representative i.e 14 out of 20 people died getting their hernia fixed against say 1:140,000.

Ach I know that puck, wasn't really being serious before. Just wouldn't have a strong desire for Laser surgery for the aul eyes.
Post by: Puckoon on August 05, 2008, 08:07:09 PM
You specky hewers is all the same ;)

I could be needing something soon myself - my right eyelid just keeps twitching. Been at it for a few weeks now, its beginning to irritate the crap out of me.
Post by: downgirl on August 05, 2008, 08:14:48 PM
I get that muscle twitching in my eyelid the odd time...I wouldn't worry about it unless its been going non stop?
Post by: heganboy on August 05, 2008, 08:33:44 PM
after 17 years of contacts and glasses I went and got the laser surgery done last year- feckin' brilliant.
Couldn't give it enough praise, new man, turns out Im even better looking than I thought I was
Post by: Puckoon on August 05, 2008, 08:35:23 PM
They must have fixed yer snout for free too so. Isnt america great? :D
Post by: downgirl on August 05, 2008, 08:37:33 PM
heganboy, did you have to have a constant prescription for a certain number of years before you get it done?
Post by: heganboy on August 05, 2008, 08:51:07 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 05, 2008, 08:35:23 PM
They must have fixed yer snout for free too so. Isnt america great? :D
Classic, its the 12 chins, they don't look that bad in High definition...

Downgirl, 6 months at 1 prescription, but not that big  variation the previous 6 months
Post by: downgirl on August 05, 2008, 09:07:25 PM
Oh excellent, think my eyes are stabilising at the moment, my prescription was the same last year as it was the year before, going again at the end of August.  Do you have to be a certain age or anything?