Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on August 04, 2008, 09:03:21 AM

Title: South Belfast North of Ireland Supporters Club
Post by: T Fearon on August 04, 2008, 09:03:21 AM
Was in Belfast yesterday and noticed this establishment in Shaftesbury Square, with no less than three flags flying, to commemorate the 12th of July Orangefest, namely the Union Jack, bastardised Ulster Flag, and Scottish Flag >

Further evidence of the sincerity of Football for All >:(
Title: Re: South Belfast North of Ireland Supporters Club
Post by: nifan on August 04, 2008, 09:30:56 AM
I think they always fly the NI flag, and possibly the UJ.

They also always fly the flag of the next country we play - can you guess what that is tony?
Post by: An Fear Rua on August 04, 2008, 09:33:31 AM
Quote from: nifan on August 04, 2008, 09:30:56 AM
I think they always fly the NI flag, and possibly the UJ.

They also always fly the flag of the next country we play - can you guess what that is tony?

mmmmmm........ ;)
Post by: T Fearon on August 04, 2008, 09:34:39 AM
Tony Blair spin proportions...the sectarian mask slips. >:(
Post by: nifan on August 04, 2008, 09:35:48 AM
Sorry tony - you claimed they where flying the flags to celebrate the 12th.
THAT is spin of Blair proportions.
Post by: Orior on August 04, 2008, 10:01:44 AM
So if they were going to play the Free State then they would fly the Tri-colour? I thought youse had burnt them all?
Post by: nifan on August 04, 2008, 10:41:15 AM
Possibly not - i dont know.

Im sure they could get their hands on another one as long as they promised they would burn it after.
Post by: T Fearon on August 04, 2008, 10:42:57 AM
My thoughts entirely Orior. Hell will freeze over or the DUP will support Gay rights before that happens.

I honestly thought that the Sandy Row Rangers Supporters Club had moved to Shaftsbury Square when I witness that yesterday >:(
Post by: nifan on August 04, 2008, 10:45:38 AM
The fact that they may/may not fly a tricolour if NI was to play the ROI doesnt make you right tony.

You said it was for the 12th - it wasnt.
Post by: donalmac99 on August 04, 2008, 11:10:46 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 04, 2008, 09:03:21 AM
Was in Belfast yesterday and noticed this establishment in Shaftesbury Square, with no less than three flags flying, to commemorate the 12th of July Orangefest, namely the Union Jack, bastardised Ulster Flag, and Scottish Flag >

how dare a football supporters club fly the flag of the country it claims to represent, the flag of the nation it claims to be part off and the flag of its next opponents.

FFs a new low for you tony. is there any chance that you could decease from embarrassing us even further on public internet forums?
Post by: Orior on August 04, 2008, 11:27:14 AM
Quote from: nifan on August 04, 2008, 10:41:15 AM
Possibly not - i dont know.

Im sure they could get their hands on another one as long as they promised they would burn it after.

lol
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 04, 2008, 12:09:38 PM
Quote from: donalmac99 on August 04, 2008, 11:10:46 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 04, 2008, 09:03:21 AM

how dare a football supporters club fly the flag of the country it claims to represent, the flag of the nation it claims to be part off and the flag of its next opponents.

FFs a new low for you tony. is there any chance that you could decease from embarrassing us even further on public internet forums?

You part of the Fearon family?
Post by: magickingdom on August 04, 2008, 12:31:16 PM
Quote from: nifan on August 04, 2008, 10:45:38 AM
The fact that they may/may not fly a tricolour if NI was to play the ROI doesnt make you right tony.

it also makes your first post wrong...
Post by: nifan on August 04, 2008, 12:34:26 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on August 04, 2008, 12:31:16 PM

Well we dont know if they fly it or not. So i may or may not be wrong in that it may not fly this flag when the event occurs.
However the point stands that the scotland flag is being flown due to them being our next opponent, not as some sort of 12th festivities as was suggested.

I think you get the point i was making even if there is an attempt to guess what they might so ongoing
Post by: Rossfan on August 04, 2008, 02:15:15 PM
[

A flag which represents 55% of the population of the part of Ireland it represents.
I dont think the term "nation" can be applied to the political grouping of England/Scotland/Wales/NE Ireland - dont know if I of Man and Channel Islands also come into this group.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 04, 2008, 02:23:27 PM
Quote from: nifan on August 04, 2008, 12:34:26 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on August 04, 2008, 12:31:16 PM

Well we dont know if they fly it or not. So i may or may not be wrong in that it may not fly this flag when the event occurs.
However the point stands that the scotland flag is being flown due to them being our next opponent, not as some sort of 12th festivities as was suggested.

I think you get the point i was making even if there is an attempt to guess what they might so ongoing

In fairness nifan, I pass through Shaftesbury square every day heading to work, and can honestly say that I never see any other flags flying outside the SBENISC, bar the ones already mentioned, will be keeping an eye out to see if other nations flags are put up in the future.
Post by: T Fearon on August 04, 2008, 02:33:18 PM
I had never seen any flags outside this establishment before and assumed therefore, quite logically, that these three flags, which are widely used as loyalist iconic emblems, had been erected to celebrate and commemorate the sectarian 12th of July.
Post by: nifan on August 04, 2008, 02:43:10 PM
Well then, youd be wrong, again.
Post by: nifan on August 04, 2008, 02:45:44 PM
There was comments in the past when they flew this as one of a few flags to represent germany
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y163/myfootball/kflag.jpg (http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y163/myfootball/kflag.jpg)

With some people mistaking it for a nazi flag.
Post by: donalmac99 on August 04, 2008, 03:08:37 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 04, 2008, 02:15:15 PM
[

A flag which represents 55% of the population of the part of Ireland it represents.
I dont think the term "nation" can be applied to the political grouping of England/Scotland/Wales/NE Ireland - dont know if I of Man and Channel Islands also come into this group.

whatever, but you get my point
that they have their flags there for footballing reasons and not political as tony suggested.
Post by: T Fearon on August 04, 2008, 03:54:13 PM
If they are for footballing reasons, why are they used to alienate 45% of the population? Also why does OWC/IFA then try to insult our intelligence by feigning interest in Football for All?
Post by: Donagh on August 04, 2008, 04:04:54 PM
As a frequent visitor to the South Belfast NI Club I can confirm that these flags were indeed placed there for the local loyalist festivities and attempts by nifan and Donal to deny this are very disingenuous.
Post by: donalmac99 on August 04, 2008, 04:08:25 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 04, 2008, 03:54:13 PM
If they are for footballing reasons, why are they used to alienate 45% of the population? Also why does OWC/IFA then try to insult our intelligence by feigning interest in Football for All?

maybe you need to ask them that ,however  the simple fact is that they identify with it with regard to football even if we dont.  You stated that the flags were there as part of the july 12th celebrations ( eventhough its august.  )You were wrong and yet again made yourself look bitter and twisted.  
Post by: nifan on August 04, 2008, 04:31:56 PM
Donagh - the flags are always there for games, and im pretty sure int he run up to them.
If i am incorrect that they are always there then I apologise.
I am not a frequent visitor.

The flag of countries we are playing is there beside the ni flag - which explains scotlands in this case

As a frequent visitor you could confirm the case of the flags of the country we are playing.
Post by: nifan on August 04, 2008, 04:35:35 PM
PS if they where put up for the 12th it has nothing to do with FFA anyway.
The club is a private organisation as far as I am concerned.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 04, 2008, 06:19:23 PM
NI supporters clubs sponsor posters put up for 12th celebrations which is probably a more blatant example of what is being referred to. Can't see the need for the Union Jack but South Belfast NISC do usually fly the flag of the next team they are playing
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on August 04, 2008, 10:52:56 PM
From a purely business perspective, Surely, if they changed took the flags down .. and just left it as the NISC etc.. well, given their position in Great Victoria Street, they would make a feckin fortune from passing trade?
Post by: donalmac99 on August 05, 2008, 10:24:48 AM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on August 04, 2008, 10:52:56 PM
From a purely business perspective, Surely, if they changed took the flags down .. and just left it as the NISC etc.. well, given their position in Great Victoria Street, they would make a feckin fortune from passing trade?

theyd make a fortune if they converted it simply into a public house and dropped the NISC nonsense tbh. Its in a great location.
Post by: nifan on August 05, 2008, 10:33:29 AM
Is making money the be all and end all?
They must be making enough to stay open and turn a living so the may be happy enough to remain an nisc.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 05, 2008, 11:10:42 AM
Quote from: nifan on August 05, 2008, 10:33:29 AM
Is making money the be all and end all?
They must be making enough to stay open and turn a living so the may be happy enough to remain an nisc.

I know there's another one on the Shankill rd, would there be many others nifan?
Post by: nifan on August 05, 2008, 11:12:13 AM
Those are the only 2 I am aware of, but there could be others.Those are the only 2 with clubs in the amalgamation (or at least where the last time i was involved a few years back).
Post by: Maguire01 on August 05, 2008, 01:21:27 PM
I don't see the need to get excited about this. Who cares what flags they put up - Tony, you're not likely to pop in for a pint anyway!
Some people just look for things to get offended by.

At the same time, flags or not, it's not the kind of place to get passing trade. With very little in the way of windows, it's one of those places where you wouldn't know what you're walking into - not the most inviting.
Post by: donalmac99 on August 05, 2008, 01:34:26 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 05, 2008, 01:21:27 PM
I don't see the need to get excited about this. Who cares what flags they put up - Tony, you're not likely to pop in for a pint anyway!
Some people just look for things to get offended by.

At the same time, flags or not, it's not the kind of place to get passing trade. With very little in the way of windows, it's one of those places where you wouldn't know what you're walking into - not the most inviting.

he lives to find things to 'get offended by'
Post by: Main Street on August 05, 2008, 01:35:34 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 05, 2008, 01:21:27 PM
Sounds like it could be one of those cold places for Nationalists.

Tony could be right ;D

Post by: T Fearon on August 05, 2008, 01:58:56 PM
What I am offended by is the hypocrisy, the so called Football for All Campaign (and annual Be Nice to Taigs awards ceremony ffs).
Post by: donalmac99 on August 05, 2008, 02:07:37 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 05, 2008, 01:58:56 PM
What I am offended by is the hypocrisy, the so called Football for All Campaign (and annual Be Nice to Taigs awards ceremony ffs).

so are you saying that you would support a 6 county side if they produced a flag acceptable to both communities in the 6 counties?

or are you saying that no matter what they do you will only lend your support if it's an all ireland side?

FFA? what do they need to do to make you feel included?

I can honestly say that i'd never follow a 6 counties side so what they do will never offend me

however you're looking to be offended, as per usual and it's becoming quite tedious tbh.

If you're so offended why not do something other than write embarrassing letters to newspapers and cry on internet forums?

or is it like the belfast telegraph fiasco........it was an offensive loyalist mouthpiece until they gave you free match tickets?

i take it that something becomes inoffensive when there's something in it for you tony?

Post by: nifan on August 05, 2008, 02:36:13 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 05, 2008, 01:58:56 PM

This is a private club tony - if the flags where put up for the reasons you say, which i am still ot convinced by - it doesnt negate FFA.
FFA is a work in progress, and attitudes like yours is one of the major adversities it has to overcome.
Post by: T Fearon on August 05, 2008, 03:49:06 PM
If (I know, don't laugh) the IFA produce an environment that is politically neutral (ie devoid of exclusively unionist symbols etc), I will happily acknowledge genuine progress, extend my goodwill and would not be averse to supporting the side in certain circumstances (ie if it has no impact or has a positive impact on the FAI team as a consequence), as I would feel the team is at least trying represent me and my community, which sadly I am unable to say at present.

I have been to many North of Ireland games in the past, and would go again tomorrrow if there was a particualr team or player I wanted to see. Sadly I have never felt any affinity with either the team or its supporters and never will until the aforementioned changes are effected.

Until that day arrives, FFA will remain not ony a farce but an insult to people's intelligence.
Post by: nifan on August 05, 2008, 03:59:26 PM
Quoteand would go again tomorrrow if there was a particualr team or player I wanted to see.

At least you dropped the farcical claim that you would be afraid for your life you used to use.
Post by: T Fearon on August 05, 2008, 04:30:51 PM
I was quite scared, in case some nutter recognised me. I even watched the IFA Cup Final in 1991 from the Viewing Lounge,absolutely bricking mysef. I would still be shit scared by the way.
Post by: fred the red on August 05, 2008, 05:41:31 PM
Is Donal Mac Sammy G?
Post by: Main Street on August 05, 2008, 07:27:00 PM
Quote from: fred the red on August 05, 2008, 05:41:31 PM
Is Donal Mac Sammy G?

Sammy must be about 90 years old, this lad (supposedly from the GAA community ::)) is going through his teenage Barry George phase of acute TF stalking which I suppose afflicts all visitors from the OWC to different degrees. 

Quote from: T Fearon on August 05, 2008, 03:49:06 PM
If (I know, don't laugh) the IFA produce an environment that is politically neutral (ie devoid of exclusively unionist symbols etc), I will happily acknowledge genuine progress, extend my goodwill and would not be averse to supporting the side in certain circumstances (ie if it has no impact or has a positive impact on the FAI team as a consequence), as I would feel the team is at least trying represent me and my community, which sadly I am unable to say at present.

I have been to many North of Ireland games in the past, and would go again tomorrrow if there was a particualr team or player I wanted to see. Sadly I have never felt any affinity with either the team or its supporters and never will until the aforementioned changes are effected.

Until that day arrives, FFA will remain not ony a farce but an insult to people's intelligence.

In 1990 there was a survey done of soccer fans allegiances in Belfast I think,  catholic soccer fans,  90% of them put the  FAI team at nr.1 with the NI in second place.
90% of protestants put NI first with Ro  Ireland in last place behind Scotland Wales and England.

Interesting stuff indeed, whilst the catholic lads supported the FAI team they did not small mindedly wish the IFA mal fortune. Whereas the pre-owc crowd were a bitter bunch indeed ;D

Post by: nifan on August 05, 2008, 09:42:17 PM
Why is it bitter for people who consider themselves part of the uk to prefer other uk teams?
Post by: MW on August 05, 2008, 09:47:55 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 05, 2008, 03:49:06 PMI have been to many North of Ireland games in the past, and would go again tomorrrow if there was a particualr team or player I wanted to see.

Never had you down as a cricket fan...
Post by: MW on August 05, 2008, 09:49:23 PM
Quote from: Main Street on August 05, 2008, 07:27:00 PM
In 1990 there was a survey done of soccer fans allegiances in Belfast I think,  catholic soccer fans,  90% of them put the  FAI team at nr.1 with the NI in second place.
90% of protestants put NI first with Ro  Ireland in last place behind Scotland Wales and England.

Interesting stuff indeed, whilst the catholic lads supported the FAI team they did not small mindedly wish the IFA mal fortune. Whereas the pre-owc crowd were a bitter bunch indeed ;D

Dear God, it's almost as if nationalists see Ireland as their nation and unionists see the UK as their nation... :o
Post by: Main Street on August 05, 2008, 10:14:26 PM
Quote from: nifan on August 05, 2008, 09:42:17 PM
Why is it bitter for people who consider themselves part of the uk to prefer other uk teams?
Quote from: MW on August 05, 2008, 09:49:23 PM
Dear God, it's almost as if nationalists see Ireland as their nation and unionists see the UK as their nation... :o
Ah Tony's groupies on patrol.
Don't all get in each others way now.
Is there nothing going on on the OWC board?

If you don't mind folks this time I am just communicating to Tony.
It's a bit of information for him.
If you don't mind please just backing off for a second. 
Make a wee bit of space there.

Tony won't be back tonight so you can all go and rest now.

Post by: MW on August 05, 2008, 10:18:22 PM
Quote from: Main Street on August 05, 2008, 10:14:26 PM

If you're "just communicating to Tony" you can do it via private message.

If you post on a public forum, people have the prerogative to respond, and if you don't like it you can just fecking lump it :)
Post by: fred the red on August 05, 2008, 10:21:00 PM
Would anyone like to see one irish team competing in the soccer team in the olympics (possibly London 2012)?

I personally think it would be a great idea, and the whole island could get behind one team.

Post by: MW on August 05, 2008, 10:26:43 PM
Quote from: fred the red on August 05, 2008, 10:21:00 PM
Would anyone like to see one irish team competing in the soccer team in the olympics (possibly London 2012)?

I personally think it would be a great idea, and the whole island could get behind one team.

Can't happen.

The qualifiers for the Olympics are the European Under-21 Championships.

(And NI in football terms is affiliated to the BOA, not the OCI.)
Post by: fred the red on August 05, 2008, 10:28:45 PM
Quote from: MW on August 05, 2008, 10:26:43 PM

Can't happen.

Im sure if theres enough public support there can be a way.

If a boxer from belfast can fight in the olympics under the irish flag, why not a belfast footballer?
Post by: saffron sam2 on August 05, 2008, 10:30:41 PM
Quote from: fred the red on August 05, 2008, 10:28:45 PM

Can't happen.

If a boxer from belfast can fight in the olympics under the irish flag, why not a belfast footballer?

Because of a lack of the necessary pugilistic skills possibly?
Post by: MW on August 05, 2008, 10:31:35 PM

Can't happen.

Hmm right so now you want an all-Ireland team to compete under the Tricolour. I can see where this is heading.

Wish I hadn't bothered responding.
Post by: MW on August 05, 2008, 10:33:13 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on August 05, 2008, 10:30:41 PM

Can't happen.

Because of a lack of the necessary pugilistic skills possibly?

:D ;D
Post by: fred the red on August 05, 2008, 10:33:40 PM
Quote from: MW on August 05, 2008, 10:31:35 PM

Can't happen.

Hmm right so now you want an all-Ireland team to compete under the Tricolour. I can see where this is heading.

Wish I hadn't bothered responding.

Please try and play the ball not the man, your always at that craic  >:(
Post by: MW on August 05, 2008, 10:37:45 PM
Quote from: fred the red on August 05, 2008, 10:33:40 PM

I don't actually even recall conversing with you before.

I was playing the ball.

You talked about "public support". Think about it.

There's already a team that tries (and fails) to qualify for the Olympic football tournament that plays under the Tricolour anyway.
Post by: fred the red on August 05, 2008, 10:40:39 PM
Quote from: MW on August 05, 2008, 10:37:45 PM

I was playing the ball.

There's already a team that tries (and fails) to qualify for the Olympic football tournament that plays under the Tricolour anyway.

Yeah but its not too hard to read other threads you have posted in my friend.

So because you are against it its a non-runner and we are not allowed to discuss it....right, i got you now  >:(
Post by: MW on August 05, 2008, 10:48:02 PM
Quote from: fred the red on August 05, 2008, 10:40:39 PM
Quote from: MW on August 05, 2008, 10:37:45 PM

I was playing the ball.

Yeah but its not too hard to read other threads you have posted in my friend.

So because you are against it its a non-runner and we are not allowed to discuss it....right, i got you now  >:(

1 - I didn't say you weren't allowed to discuss it.
2 - It's not a non-runner because I am against it, it's a non-runner because it simply can't happen while there are separate Northern Ireland and Republic of Ireland teams
3 - If you're actually making a serious suggestion you need to think clearly about that "public support" criterion
Post by: Main Street on August 06, 2008, 02:00:47 AM
Quote from: MW on August 05, 2008, 10:18:22 PM
Quote from: Main Street on August 05, 2008, 10:14:26 PM

If you're "just communicating to Tony" you can do it via private message.
If you post on a public forum, people have the prerogative to respond, and if you don't like it you can just fecking lump it :)
You don't get it, it is not a question of my liking it or not liking it.
I have the preogative to call it as I see it.
But that takes no special skill as I am remarking on an obvious weird obsession.

Sometimes 'tis better not to feed that tedious obsession

I
Post by: nifan on August 06, 2008, 09:26:11 AM
Main Street, "tonys groupies". Pathetic.
I respond to issues as I see fit. I do so with tonys if I disagree as I do with anyone elses.
Lay off with the groupie bullshit.
Post by: donalmac99 on August 06, 2008, 10:31:05 AM
Is Donal Mac Sammy G?

try to play the ball and not the man fred, there's a decent level of debate going on here....lets keep it that way.
Post by: donalmac99 on August 06, 2008, 10:33:25 AM

Can't happen.

If there was enough public support we'd have the 6 counties back , period.

as for the boxing, isnt there a certain irish pride that is unique to nordies representing Ireland that is not present within any other olympic sport. Im just stating what wayne mcullough claims.
Post by: donalmac99 on August 06, 2008, 10:36:15 AM
Quote from: Main Street on August 05, 2008, 07:27:00 PM
Is Donal Mac Sammy G?

Sammy must be about 90 years old, this lad (supposedly from the GAA community ::)) is going through his teenage Barry George phase of acute TF stalking which I suppose afflicts all visitors from the OWC to different degrees.  [

please, there is no need for personal abuse, something that is against forum rules I believe.
Post by: Evil Genius on August 06, 2008, 01:27:25 PM
Quote from: donalmac99 on August 06, 2008, 10:33:25 AM

Can't happen.

If there was enough public support we'd have the 6 counties back , period.

as for the boxing, isnt there a certain irish pride that is unique to nordies representing Ireland that is not present within any other olympic sport. Im just stating what wayne mcullough claims.

Actually, Boxing is a shining example to all other sports in Ireland (at Amateur level, at least). NI boxers have proudly represented Ireland (the island) in international competition down the years, under the auspices of the Irish Amateur Boxing Association.
In return, the IABA has always granted reciprocal respect and recognition to them. The best example is to be found in the Commonwealth Games, where the IABA allows its (9 counties) Ulster Council to organise and enter a Northern Ireland team, including even boxers from "The Three" (best-known, but not unique, example being Barry McGuigan).
Contrast this with e.g. Tennis. A couple of years ago there was a promising young NI girl (can't remember the name) who sought funding from the NI Sports Council. They were happy to do so, but were stopped by "Tennis Ireland", since the latter felt that allowing a (UK) body to give her a grant would compromise their (all-Ireland) jurisdiction.
Which might be fair enough, if TI were prepared to match the SCNI funding. They weren't. Consequently, the only way this young girl could have availed of funding from the Government to which her parents pay their taxes, would have been to move to England, Scotland or Wales and apply to the respective Sports Councils over there. Obviously this was not practical, which effectively means that a young Irish tennis prospect will likely see her career suffer, purely down to petty, political prejudice.

Anyhow, a much happier situation exists in Boxing in Ireland, as this profile of Belfast's Paddy Barnes indicates. Note how he is proud to represent Ireland in Beijing, having been equally proud to have represented NI in Manchester two years earlier:
http://www.newsletter.co.uk/olympic-countdown/BOXING-FEATURE-Paddy-Barnes.4273530.jp?articlepage=1
Post by: his holiness nb on August 06, 2008, 01:30:13 PM
surely you already knew "tennis ireland" was a bastion of bigotry and hatred?
Post by: T Fearon on August 06, 2008, 02:04:21 PM
Advantage...no, game set and match to his Holiness!

More Balls Please, Evil Genius ;D
Post by: Evil Genius on August 06, 2008, 02:18:12 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on August 06, 2008, 01:30:13 PM
Eh? I never used the term "bigotry" or "hatred"  ???

Following a reference to Boxing by another poster, I was merely pointing out the benefits of the IABA's admirably non-political stance when it came to supporting Irish boxers, in contrast e.g. to another all-Ireland sport, Tennis, which demonstrated that it can be "petty" and "political" (small "p"), even when the effect is to deprive Irish tennis players of support. Instead of Tennis, I might have chosen one or two other Irish sports to illustrate my point.

Anyhow, I've got to go now, since there's an annoying wee mutt yapping at my heels... ::)
Post by: Evil Genius on August 06, 2008, 02:20:41 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 06, 2008, 02:04:21 PM
Advantage...no, game set and match to his Holiness!

More Balls Please, Evil Genius ;D

If I want more "Balls", I need look no further than your posts.

P.S. The usual phrase is "New Balls, please" - even if you are happy to recycle the same old balls time after time...
Post by: his holiness nb on August 06, 2008, 03:37:42 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on August 06, 2008, 02:18:12 PM

Following a reference to Boxing by another poster, I was merely pointing out the benefits of the IABA's admirably non-political stance when it came to supporting Irish boxers, in contrast e.g. to another all-Ireland sport, Tennis, which demonstrated that it can be "petty" and "political" (small "p"), even when the effect is to deprive Irish tennis players of support. Instead of Tennis, I might have chosen one or two other Irish sports to illustrate my point.

Anyhow, I've got to go now, since there's an annoying wee mutt yapping at my heels... ::)

Evil Genius, if you took my last post as anything other that a joke (and not even at your expense, at the expense of tennis ireland) then there really is no hope.

Relex them there cacks  ;)

And once more, for about the millionth time, please cut out the personal stuff. Or at least keep it for when theres a reason for it!

Post by: Evil Genius on August 06, 2008, 04:16:23 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on August 06, 2008, 03:37:42 PM

Evil Genius, if you took my last post as anything other that a joke (and not even at your expense, at the expense of tennis ireland) then there really is no hope.

Relex them there cacks  ;)

And once more, for about the millionth time, please cut out the personal stuff. Or at least keep it for when theres a reason for it!

I'm afraid i didn't see it as a joke - maybe that says something about my sense of humour. Or yours.

Rather, I saw it as (yet) another case of your having nothing whatever constructive to say about the topic in question, but on noticing my comment, being unable to forebear from intervening to distort the point I was trying to make.

(Post Edited, on seeing request by Mod3)
Post by: his holiness nb on August 06, 2008, 04:33:21 PM
Understood, maybe theres a slight paranoia there when you see a mail from me. Some of them havent got hidden motives you know. It was a simple joke at the expense of tennis ireland, not even yourself.

But at the request of the mods I reckon we leave it be.
Post by: Rossfan on August 06, 2008, 05:08:10 PM

Tennis, which demonstrated that it can be "petty" and "political" (small "p"). Instead of Tennis, I might have chosen one or two other Irish sports to illustrate my point.

you could start with Soccer  ;D
Post by: Evil Genius on August 06, 2008, 05:43:46 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 06, 2008, 05:08:10 PM

Tennis, which demonstrated that it can be "petty" and "political" (small "p"). Instead of Tennis, I might have chosen one or two other Irish sports to illustrate my point.

you could start with Soccer  ;D
Nice try, RF, but my original point doesn't exactly apply to "Soccer" [sic], since it is not an all-Ireland sport like Amateur Boxing or Tennis.

Or GAA.  ;)
Post by: Rossfan on August 06, 2008, 05:52:15 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on August 06, 2008, 05:43:46 PM
[to "Soccer" [sic],

Soccer makes me sic(sic) alright  :D
Post by: Evil Genius on August 06, 2008, 06:15:49 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 06, 2008, 05:52:15 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on August 06, 2008, 05:43:46 PM
[to "Soccer" [sic],

Soccer makes me sic(sic) alright  :D

Whereas GAA makes me gag and Hurling makes me, er, hurl... ;)
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 06, 2008, 07:25:14 PM
Called into this establishment on a pub crawl, just 3 of us, the only ones at the time not wearing gaa gear.

Got a quick vodka and blackcurrant, they had no ice and the blackcurrant musta been sitting for a month or so, it hissed when the fella opened the bottle of diluten!

Some spot, highly recommend!