GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: bcarrier on August 03, 2008, 06:12:32 PM

Title: Wexford V Kerry AIF 2008 official thread
Post by: bcarrier on August 03, 2008, 06:12:32 PM

Dublin Tyrone v Wexford
Cork v  Kerry

semis
Title: Re: Dublin V Kerry AIF 2008 official thread
Post by: orangeman on August 03, 2008, 06:13:22 PM
Quote from: bcarrier on August 03, 2008, 06:12:32 PM

Dublin v WexfordCork v  Kerry

semis

You're joking !  ;)
Post by: Jinxy on August 03, 2008, 06:23:54 PM
Well Armagh did struggle to beat Down and Fermanagh who were both slaughtered this weekend so I'd give Wexford every chance of beating them. Leinster rules!! ;D
Post by: Hardy on August 03, 2008, 07:02:30 PM
Yes, it looks set up for a repeat of last year - two Leinster teams and two Munster teams in the semi-finals. It's amazing that the weakest province and the least competitive province keep outdoing the greatest, supremest, most magnificent province in the history of football year after year.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 03, 2008, 07:07:15 PM

Dublin v Wexford
Cork v  Kerry

semis

What originality!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 03, 2008, 07:09:16 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 03, 2008, 07:02:30 PM
Yes, it looks set up for a repeat of last year - two Leinster teams and two Munster teams in the semi-finals. It's amazing that the weakest province and the least competitive province keep outdoing the greatest, supremest, most magnificent province in the history of football year after year.

Wind yer neck in Fiddler boy!  Outside of Kerry, who are freaks to be honest, who from those two provinces have really challenged since football was reinvented after the abberation in 1999?
Post by: Hardy on August 03, 2008, 07:11:53 PM
Nobody from the supreme province anyway.

[Edit] in the last couple of years, I meant.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 03, 2008, 07:14:32 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 03, 2008, 07:11:53 PM
Nobody from the supreme province anyway.

Now you know thats just not true.  Are you following you meath colleague jinxy in becoming a Dub for the day or are ye a rebel for the week.  I am happy to be in my two camps ;D
Post by: Jinxy on August 03, 2008, 07:19:29 PM
There'll be no Ulster teams in the semi's. Mark my words. ;)
Post by: Hardy on August 03, 2008, 07:23:51 PM
I want the Dubs to win the feckin thing and have done with it. It's worse than 1995 at this stage when the country more or less said "give the hoors the thing - we can't put up with this year after year.". The point being that we know it'll be another decade and a half before it happens again and the rest of us can get back to doing to the dubs what dubs should have done to them.
Post by: magickingdom on August 03, 2008, 09:42:31 PM
anyone got a spare ticket...  ;D
Post by: time ticking away on August 03, 2008, 11:05:05 PM
a Kerry Dublin final... wouldn't that just be great................

we would have to listen to some shite then ;)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 03, 2008, 11:12:23 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 03, 2008, 07:23:51 PM
I want the Dubs to win the feckin thing and have done with it. It's worse than 1995 at this stage when the country more or less said "give the hoors the thing - we can't put up with this year after year.". The point being that we know it'll be another decade and a half before it happens again and the rest of us can get back to doing to the dubs what dubs should have done to them.

That's totally transparent at this stage Hardy, though truth be told I'm embarrassed for you -- the last time I've witnessed such forelock tugging to an ill-deserving class is not worthy of expression in decent terms. But the obsequious prostrations of the lesser Leinsters is beginning to get to me, and I apologise for that.
Post by: time ticking away on August 03, 2008, 11:15:59 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 03, 2008, 11:12:23 PM
That's totally transparent at this stage Hardy, though truth be told I'm embarrassed for you -- the last time I've witnessed such forelock tugging to an ill-deserving class is not worthy of expression in decent terms. But the obsequious prostrations of the lesser Leinsters is beginning to get to me, and I apologise for that.

eh? have you been drinking ? :D
Post by: bcarrier on August 09, 2008, 03:37:04 PM
 :)
First prediction goes in.

A fine bit of rope a dope by Mattie .

Wexford midfield is formidable.

Ulster is finnish.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 09, 2008, 03:38:19 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 03, 2008, 07:07:15 PM

Dublin v Wexford
Cork v  Kerry

semis

What originality!

Post by: the Deel Rover on August 09, 2008, 03:41:03 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 03, 2008, 06:13:22 PM

Dublin v WexfordCork v  Kerry

semis

You're joking !  ;)

looks like he wasn't ;) , do you have tonights lotto numbers bcarrier
Post by: Tankie on August 09, 2008, 03:41:36 PM
a great call on this thread!
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 09, 2008, 03:43:34 PM
tankie you would want to relax look what happened Armagh anyway i thought you were looking at the Rugby ;)
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 09, 2008, 03:48:23 PM
I'd expect a Cork v Dublin final
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on August 09, 2008, 05:04:33 PM
Quote from: bcarrier on August 09, 2008, 03:37:04 PM

Ulster is finnish.

Finns out.
Post by: Tankie on August 09, 2008, 05:46:51 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on August 09, 2008, 03:43:34 PM
tankie you would want to relax look what happened Armagh anyway i thought you were looking at the Rugby ;)

Did you see what we did to wexford already this year? home and dry for the final!
Post by: his holiness nb on August 09, 2008, 06:08:56 PM
Great predictions bcarrier, I can only hope your prediction on the thread title is as accurate!  ;D
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on August 09, 2008, 07:29:03 PM
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on August 09, 2008, 05:04:33 PM
Quote from: bcarrier on August 09, 2008, 03:37:04 PM

Ulster is finnish.

Finns out.

Now that's funny. 
I'm nearly tempted to use a smiley for the first time ever.
Post by: bcarrier on August 11, 2008, 09:20:14 AM
finnish = betfair 

bored = planet rugby

looser = everywhere

................................,-~*`¯lllllll`*~,............................................. .....
...........................,-~*`lllllllllllllllllllllllllll¯`*-,..........................................
......................,-~*llllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll*-,......................................
..................,-*llllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll.\... ..................................
................;*`lllllllllllllllllllllllllll,-~*~-,llllllllllllllllllll\....................................
................\lllllllllllllllllllllllllll/...........\;;;;llllllllllll,-`~-,................................
.................\lllllllllllllllllllll,-*.............`~-~-,...(.(¯`*,`,...............................
...................\llllllllllll,-~*........................)_-\..*`*;..)..............................
.....................\,-*`¯,*`)............,-~*`~................../...............................
.....................|/.../.../~,......-~*,-~*`;.................../.\..............................
.................../.../..../..../..,-,..*~,.`*~*..................*...\.......................... ...
...................|.../.../..../.*`...\................................)....)¯`~,........... .........
...................|./..../..../........).........)`*~-,............../.....|..)...`~-,..............
.................././.../....,*`-,.....`-,....*`....,---......\...../...../..|..........¯```*~-,,,,
.................(............)`*~-,.....`*`.,-~*.,-*.......|.../..../..../...............\..........
..................*-,.......`*-,...`~,..``.,,,-*.............|.,*...,*....|.................\.........
......................*,.........`-,....)-,..................,-*`...,-*.....(`-,..............\........
........................f`-,........`-,/...*-,___,,-~*.....,-*......|....`-,...............\.......
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 15, 2008, 12:23:11 AM
Does paddypower know something the rest of us don't know?
Have a look down the page for the game that is due on Sept 21st

http://www.paddypower.com/bet?action=go_disp_cat&disp_cat_id=1
Post by: Hardy on August 15, 2008, 10:11:09 AM
Hee faails too wiin.
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 16, 2008, 01:31:26 AM
Quote from: Hardy on August 15, 2008, 10:11:09 AM
Hee faails too wiin.
Hardy; ya hoor ya, you're as sharp as ever! ;D
Post by: J70 on August 16, 2008, 05:23:14 PM
ahem...
Post by: Carmen Stateside on August 16, 2008, 05:37:25 PM
yeeeeeeeeee haaaaaaaaaaaaaaa  :D :D
Post by: Rossfan on August 16, 2008, 05:56:54 PM
Nothing like countin chickens before they hatch  ;D ;D
Post by: ziggysego on August 16, 2008, 06:44:16 PM
*coughs* ;)
Post by: time ticking away on August 16, 2008, 06:51:30 PM
Can i officially put this thread to bed
Post by: tyssam5 on August 17, 2008, 06:21:53 AM
Quote from: time ticking away on August 16, 2008, 06:51:30 PM
Can i officially put this thread to bed

Can you f**k! Get her up to the top!
Post by: Real1995 on August 17, 2008, 12:15:16 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 03, 2008, 07:19:29 PM

Title: Re: Wexford V Kerry AIF 2008 official thread
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 17, 2008, 05:17:05 PM

Dublin v Wexford
Cork v  Kerry

semis

Feel even a tad like a total d**k?  ;)
Post by: Jinxy on August 17, 2008, 07:15:48 PM
Quote from: Real1995 on August 17, 2008, 12:15:16 PM

Should have factored in Dublins Tyronaphobia. I still firmly believe though, if it was a dry game it would have been a very different game.
Post by: Puckoon on August 17, 2008, 07:18:27 PM
Whys that jinxy?

Id love to get the stats on completed footpasses, unforced turnovers and so on... Their basic skills were impeccable for the most part.

Tyrone scored 3-13 from play in those conditions - you think they would have scored more or less if it was a dry day? You think dublin would have scored more? Ill give you the weather in a "war of attrition" type game, where a defender slips, lets an attacker in for a soft goal and they win by 1 or 2 - but what in jaysus name difference would the weather and/or the availability of Alan Brogan have made yesterday?
Post by: Main Street on August 17, 2008, 07:21:01 PM
The old RTE adage "Tyrone glad for the rain-  the great leveller"  ;D
Post by: Puckoon on August 17, 2008, 07:22:47 PM
Quote from: Main Street on August 17, 2008, 07:21:01 PM
The old RTE adage "Tyrone glad for the rain-  the great leveller"  ;D

Well that particular shower (pardon the pun) are a whole nother discussion.
Post by: Hardy on August 17, 2008, 08:59:48 PM
I think the point is that bad conditions favour the more skillful team. Dublin's awful handling, fumbling, etc. were very noticeable yesterday, whereas to watch Tyrone, you wouldn't even know it was raining. FAr from being a leveller, bad conditions make it very hard for a team that struggles with the skills.
Post by: Jinxy on August 17, 2008, 09:16:12 PM
Exactly Hardy. Tyrones basic skills are better. Dublins game is built on power and speed. Get the ball in hand, take the man on, work an overlap etc. I lost count of the amount of times that a Dublin forward failed to hold onto a ball coming into his chest. What that does is it disrupts momentum. The runs that were made by the other forwards are now redudant because the original lad is still trying to secure possession. This meant that Dublin couldn't play their high-tempo game which relys more on athleticism than footballing ability. They also lost their primary scoring threat after 5 mins when Brogan had to go off. Don't get me wrong, Tyrone played fantastically well and adapted much better to the conditions. They played a very patient, clever game and rarely wasted possession but the defence hardly ever had to turn and run towards their own goals because the Dubs couldn't play their normal game. Better football brains and better tactics won the day, but I think the conditions also played a big role.
Post by: tyssam5 on August 17, 2008, 10:44:27 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 17, 2008, 07:15:48 PM
Quote from: Real1995 on August 17, 2008, 12:15:16 PM

Should have factored in Dublins Tyronaphobia. I still firmly believe though, if it was a dry game it would have been a very different game.

Aye sure it hardly ever rains in Dublin the Tyrone boys would be much more used to it.  ::)
Post by: Main Street on August 17, 2008, 11:02:37 PM
It's obvious about skills in wet weather. The RTE commentator used it for the opposite meaning as if it dumbed down the game to Tyrone's advantage.
That's what I thought Jinxy was doing, taking away from Tyrones performance after the Tyronephopia reference.

Such was Tyrone's total dominance that dry or wet it would not have made much of a difference. And such was Tyrone's dominance that it was more likely that they would have made greater use of a dry ball.

Post by: Jinxy on August 17, 2008, 11:25:46 PM
Tyronaphobia simply refers to the Dubs sh*tting themselves when they come up against them. Tyrone were full value for their win.