Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: ziggysego on July 31, 2008, 07:15:49 PM

Title: (So called) Republicans attack Sinn Fein MLA
Post by: ziggysego on July 31, 2008, 07:15:49 PM
A Sinn Fein assembly member has been attacked by young republicans in the Dunclug estate in Ballymena, County Antrim.

Daithi McKay was set upon as he left the home of a community worker who was targeted on Wednesday night. He was left shaken and injured.

The dispute started over the removal of a bonfire to commemorate internment.

The community worker, who does not want to be identified, said he was now considering leaving the estate.

"Last night there was probably up to 20 young people," he said.

"Twenty young people who can hold a community of 900 houses to ransom.

"There is not much future for us, I can't see how the regeneration plans are going to work."

Sourced BBCi: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/6432399.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/6432399.stm)

According to the BBC website, it happened March 2007.......  :-\
Title: Re: Republicans attack Sinn Fein MLA
Post by: Zapatista on July 31, 2008, 07:18:19 PM
Page last updated at 19:06 GMT, Thursday, 8 March 2007
Post by: slow corner back on July 31, 2008, 07:34:40 PM
It happened this afternoon it was on the radio tonight
Post by: Doogie Browser on July 31, 2008, 08:05:29 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/6432399.stm

Take a look at this now!  Daithi gets a few slaps for his trouble.  A disgrace, poor indictment of the way too many young people use their fists nowadays.  Scumbags.
Post by: Square Ball on July 31, 2008, 08:58:48 PM
The young republicans of Ballymena celebrate internment, wtf is there to celebrate about internment? did he mean commemerate?

are there any other places that still have bonfires on the 8th?
Post by: Donagh on July 31, 2008, 09:47:46 PM
Is this what passes for a republican in Glens these days:

http://skin.bebo.com/Profile.jsp?MemberId=5379879459 (http://skin.bebo.com/Profile.jsp?MemberId=5379879459)

Casement must be spinning in his grave.
Post by: ziggysego on July 31, 2008, 09:50:13 PM
Says it all really Donagh.
Post by: Chrisowc on July 31, 2008, 09:53:18 PM
Quote from: Donagh on July 31, 2008, 09:47:46 PM

http://skin.bebo.com/Profile.jsp?MemberId=5379879459 (http://skin.bebo.com/Profile.jsp?MemberId=5379879459)

He can't even spell eejit!
Post by: ziggysego on July 31, 2008, 09:56:32 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on July 31, 2008, 09:53:18 PM
He can't even spell eejit!

He can't even construct a proper sentence and uses that frickin' text-speak.
Post by: Orior on July 31, 2008, 10:01:29 PM

Flippin eck! Now imagine if he'd been brought up playing gaelic footall for his parish. Would he still end up the same?
Post by: Puckoon on July 31, 2008, 10:02:10 PM
Christ thats some advertisment for republicans in ballymena.

What a waste of space.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on July 31, 2008, 10:11:49 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on July 31, 2008, 08:58:48 PM
The young republicans of Ballymena celebrate internment, wtf is there to celebrate about internment? did he mean commemerate?

are there any other places that still have bonfires on the 8th?

Divis in the Lower Falls.. source of controversy with the Sinners - but this area is run by a shower of scum known as the Divis Hoods Liberation Army.. no political aspect to the bonfire, just an orgy of drink and hooding. The Ballymena crowd were  like something from 'Planet of the Apes' but I getthe feeling that the longer the Sinners swan about at Stormont with their suits and filofaxes (mileage claims, salaries and trips) they will lose the grass roots in their areas who have not seen any tangible change on the streets since the GFA. Also, for Nationalists, given a place of the nature of Ballymena, you have no option than to be 'hard-line' as it's a hole of a place.. 
Post by: Orior on July 31, 2008, 10:28:40 PM
There's also a bonfire starting in the Short Strand and they even have the "Dump Wood Here" sign.  :(

Its a shame to think that some of "our lot" are as low as "their lot". I suppose we're all the same really! (except for all the scummy things that loyalists do).
Post by: stiff breeze on July 31, 2008, 10:56:42 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 31, 2008, 10:28:40 PM
There's also a bonfire starting in the Short Strand and they even have the "Dump Wood Here" sign.  :(

Its a shame to think that some of "our lot" are as low as "their lot". I suppose we're all the same really! (except for all the scummy things that loyalists do).

our lot are equally as bad as theirs. Its a sickening fact
Post by: ziggysego on July 31, 2008, 11:00:20 PM
One of them arm was covered in tattoos and horrible ones.

Yes, each side is as bad as the other. No ifs or buts.
Post by: Yes I Would on July 31, 2008, 11:04:23 PM
But..
Post by: tyrone86 on July 31, 2008, 11:06:50 PM
Ziggy please change the thread title. How do you think your local MLA would react by referring to the attackers as Republicans?
Title: Re: (So called) Republicans attack Sinn Fein MLA
Post by: ziggysego on July 31, 2008, 11:07:53 PM
That better? ;)
Post by: theskull1 on July 31, 2008, 11:08:16 PM
Every bit as bad. Ashamed that they exist within the nationalist culture.

Need dragged into a darkened room with a single light bulb, table and a chair and given an irish history exam paper to prove their knowledge on the subject

Stupid rebels without a cause. They are the worst sort as it's hard to convince people who lack the capability to think
Post by: passedit on July 31, 2008, 11:10:41 PM

There are moves afoot to get rid of this, must be an accross the board policy for the shinners.
Post by: Doogie Browser on July 31, 2008, 11:11:57 PM
The lads in that clip are early 20's maximum and scum of the earth for goodness sake and as has been said they want to 'celebrate' internment!  Yeah, lets have a party.  I blame wheelie bins you know!  Years ago they used to bang the dust bin lids on the streets to 'celebrate' internment.
Nothing to do with SF losing the 'grass roots' and all to do with the fact that these people are simply scumbags and would rise a row in any situation.
Speaking for myself and growing up during the 'troubles', there were far less opportunities then as opposed to now in these areas.  Yet such communities in the 80's and early 90's were more tight knit and close, people looked out for each other and there was great community spirit.  Young people have less and less respect for authority now.  These guys think they are heroes challenging local elected representatives who are working hard for their communities.

Regarding bonfires that dead horse is well and truly flogged, they are a blight on the areas and we do not need them in any community.  

Post by: tyrone86 on July 31, 2008, 11:12:42 PM
Go raibh míle maith agat.
Post by: An Fear Rua on July 31, 2008, 11:17:52 PM
is the attacker a mate on that bebo profile, nino , orange t-shirt?
Post by: Doire abú on July 31, 2008, 11:23:18 PM
If it is, then the irony of him listing his country as "UK" on his bebo page will surely be lost on no-one.

Although it is a bit of a dangerous idea to guess which if any of Smiley's bebo friends is the attacker. It could end up with an innocent individual getting blamed for the sc**bag's actions.
Post by: Yes I Would on July 31, 2008, 11:24:32 PM
A f**king embarrasment. They would know alot about internment the scummy bastards!!

Post by: Two Hands FFS on July 31, 2008, 11:30:37 PM
Them boys would need to watch who they are attacking. Paudie McShane used to hurl for Ballycastle...madman. Good craic tho

Skull...seen Jimmy Gaston on the news as well

AFR....No his attacker wasnt NINO...I know that wee fella but tnot him.....I hope
Post by: the green man on July 31, 2008, 11:32:05 PM
Maybe this bonfire is the only thing that they have to show their republican identity? I know that they had a band parade a few years ago which was confined to the estate (Wouldn't that be nice if the same applied to all OO marches). Attacking men isn't going to do them any favours whatsoever within the Catholic community, which can be seen here. Being a Catholic and living in Ballymena must be shite, not that I'm condoning them boys actions. Yer man in the brazil top needs a good pounding all the same. There weren't too many ones going in to stop the attack.
Post by: the green man on July 31, 2008, 11:34:36 PM
Quote from: Two Hands FFS on July 31, 2008, 11:30:37 PM
Them boys would need to watch who they are attacking. Paudie McShane used to hurl for Ballycastle...madman.

Was that him? I mind we played them at our field in a "friendly" and he was acting the tin pig. He got a real pasting that night. Not one Ballycastle player stepped in. Seemed to be a bit of a wing nut.
Post by: Two Hands FFS on July 31, 2008, 11:41:22 PM
If you watched it on the news he was standing there with Daithi McKay.
Post by: the green man on July 31, 2008, 11:45:28 PM
Quote from: Two Hands FFS on July 31, 2008, 11:41:22 PM
If you watched it on the news he was standing there with Daithi McKay.

I did watch it, but didnt recognise him. Is there no shinners from ballymena at all? Maybe thats why the thugs are 'detached' from reality
Post by: theskull1 on July 31, 2008, 11:52:52 PM
Quote from: the green man on July 31, 2008, 11:32:05 PM
Maybe this bonfire is the only thing that they have to show their republican identity? I know that they had a band parade a few years ago which was confined to the estate (Wouldn't that be nice if the same applied to all OO marches). Attacking men isn't going to do them any favours whatsoever within the Catholic community, which can be seen here. Being a Catholic and living in Ballymena must be shite, not that I'm condoning them boys actions. Yer man in the brazil top needs a good pounding all the same. There weren't too many ones going in to stop the attack.

Somebody tell me WTF a bonfire has to do with Republican Identity. Unbelievable aping of the other side is all it is, just as these republican flute bands are doing the same

Theres a Gaelic Club a couple of miles out the road. I guarantee you none of them are involved. I would bet none of the speak Irish or play traditional music.

Tell what what positives their mindset brings to any community?
Post by: the green man on July 31, 2008, 11:55:10 PM
Dont shout at me. I dont live there. I know feck all about them. I'm only trying to second guess why they would react in such a way.
Post by: theskull1 on August 01, 2008, 12:03:34 AM
I didn't. Abbreviations are always capitalized.  :)

These people couldn't second guess themselves so there's no point in you trying to GM   
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on August 01, 2008, 04:40:49 AM
As a brother of Paudies I have to ask the question why do you bother? Busting  your hole off trying to improve the quality of peoples lives only to be attacked by people, who are just about smart enough to know not to eat themselves.       

On another note. The incident "greenman" refers to is why Paudie quit Hurling for Ballycastle. It is little wonder, that particular group of players failed miserably on the Hurling field. With such attitudes.

Post by: Baile an tuaigh on August 01, 2008, 05:17:07 AM
The main speaker Christopher Smiley had a relation in the old UDR. How ironic. Ignorance is dangerous. The hard man that was throwing a few boxes is called Ciaran Mc Gill. 
Post by: theskull1 on August 01, 2008, 08:00:46 AM
Quote from: Baile an tuaigh on August 01, 2008, 05:17:07 AM
The main speaker Christopher Smiley had a relation in the old UDR. How ironic. Ignorance is dangerous. The hard man that was throwing a few boxes is called Ciaran Mc Gill. 

Look Baile an tuaigh

Chris wears his hoops jersey every weekend and sings rebel songs all night with his beer drinking drug taking mates. Thats enough to make someone a republican these days doesn't it?

Must be terrible to be brought up being told there was a noble armed struggle going on and then at the age of ten they took it all away  :-\. Angry young men who never got their chance to play a part in the troubles
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 01, 2008, 08:22:41 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on August 01, 2008, 08:00:46 AM

Look Baile an tuaigh

Chris wears his hoops jersey every weekend and sings rebel songs all night with his beer drinking drug taking mates. Thats enough to make someone a republican these days doesn't it?

Must be terrible to be brought up being told there was a noble armed struggle going on and then at the age of ten they took it all away  :-\. Angry young men who never got their chance to play a part in the troubles

Thanks fcuk they didn't get a chance to fight, whatever hope we had there would have been no hope if these dummies had anything to do with it.

This was a disgrace, but is symptomtic of the plastic republicans that are prevalent in that area.  I have spent too many nights out in pubs in the Glens and other North Antrim areas listening to dum asses roaring rebel songs, wearing their hooped jersies and fighting with their shadows.  As you said skull they want to fight now when the war is over and the rest of the people want to make the best of the situation.  It's a pity there were not a few of them around when they were really needed ::)
Post by: nifan on August 01, 2008, 09:07:19 AM
Quote from: stiff breeze on July 31, 2008, 10:56:42 PM

our lot are equally as bad as theirs. Its a sickening fact

people are people - good and bad.
I mainly dislike that so many are only prepared to see the bad in their counter groups.
Post by: theskull1 on August 01, 2008, 09:18:41 AM
Quote from: nifan on August 01, 2008, 09:07:19 AM
people are people - good and bad.
I mainly dislike that so many are only prepared to see the bad in their counter groups.

Thats the truth

With the right community structures though, scumbags like that never get to become the dominant males. The other thing is about good communities, is that more often than not, people who had the potential to be bad hoors can actually bring alot of positives to it when encouraged to. Looks like this area is another vacuum where scumbags like that feel top dog.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 01, 2008, 09:47:28 AM
Point for Donagh....

Ballymena is not in the Glens and I'm sure most Glens people would not thank you for saying it.

Dunclug is developing into a scummy place. There's flags and all sorts round it. In the last ten or so years some of the younger people seem to have developed into "patriots". If you recall back a few years there were a number of ones done for RIRA membership and I think most of them would be from Dunclug. Shitehole of the highest order.

Post by: Donagh on August 01, 2008, 09:59:10 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 01, 2008, 09:47:28 AM
Point for Donagh....

Ballymena is not in the Glens and I'm sure most Glens people would not thank you for saying it.

Dunclug is developing into a scummy place. There's flags and all sorts round it. In the last ten or so years some of the younger people seem to have developed into "patriots". If you recall back a few years there were a number of ones done for RIRA membership and I think most of them would be from Dunclug. Shitehole of the highest order.

Apologies but it is very close to the Glens and I'd say master Smiley does a lot of his socialising there. I believe he was one of those being charged for RIRA membership and had the charges dropped when it turned out that their leader in the estate and the person fermenting a lot of the trouble (Paddy Murray) was an MI5 agent provocateur. Knowing the history of how they work, I'd say there's a very good chance that he was not the only one.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 01, 2008, 10:17:26 AM
Donagh these boys live a good way off the Glens and there are very few , if any, in the Glens who behave like them so tarring them with the Glens brush is crap.

You apologised and then basically retracted it.

We all know they're scumbags - that's not my point. They're scumbags from Dunclug Ballymena and not from the Glens.
Post by: theskull1 on August 01, 2008, 10:23:34 AM
splitting hairs tommy
Post by: Donagh on August 01, 2008, 10:25:26 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 01, 2008, 10:17:26 AM
Donagh these boys live a good way off the Glens and there are very few , if any, in the Glens who behave like them so tarring them with the Glens brush is crap.

We all know they're scumbags - that's not my point. They're scumbags from Dunclug Ballymena and not from the Glens.

Okay, point taken I apologise for dragging the Glensmen into it.

On another point, unless he does something quick it's looking like the end of the line for Daithí McKay. He's had a few years to sort out that estate but it's as bad as ever. What's needed up there is a veteran in the Martin Meehan mould who can command a bit of respect and won't stand for any shite from the scumbags.
Post by: Doogie Browser on August 01, 2008, 10:49:13 AM
Quote from: Donagh on August 01, 2008, 10:25:26 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 01, 2008, 10:17:26 AM

Okay, point taken I apologise for dragging the Glensmen into it.

On another point, unless he does something quick it's looking like the end of the line for Daithí McKay. He's had a few years to sort out that estate but it's as bad as ever. What's needed up there is a veteran in the Martin Meehan mould who can command a bit of respect and won't stand for any shite from the scumbags.

Thats a wee bit unfair Donagh, these people have no repsect for authority of any kind, it would not matter who was there, they would behave the same way.  As far as I can see Daithi has worked hard for his constituents and gets roughed up by some twat full of steroids.
Looking at their Bebo it is fair to say these 'patriots' are dissident hoods with nothing to offer.  Let them stand for election at next council/assembly elections and see how much support they garner.  They are bullies holding an already neglected community to ransom.
Post by: smcafee on August 01, 2008, 10:52:43 AM
"Somebody tell me WTF a bonfire has to do with Republican Identity."

when spin fein say its ok.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 01, 2008, 11:42:23 AM
It is unfortunate for the place that they got so many scumbags around the same age who can group together like that.

They're all individuals with similar intellect level and it's obvious that some "leader" at some point effectively brainwashed them into believing what they believed and it stemmed from there.
Post by: smcafee on August 01, 2008, 11:57:39 AM
the people setting up the bonfire are republicans.
certainly more republican than daithi mc kay,padraig mc shane or anyone else in spin fein who are enforcing british occupation in ireland.
Post by: An Fear Rua on August 01, 2008, 12:07:52 PM
Quote from: smcafee on August 01, 2008, 11:57:39 AM
certainly more republican than daithi mc kay,padraig mc shane or anyone else in spin fein who are enforcing british occupation in ireland.

You going to have to define the republican rules and scoring system, clearly and distinctly if you going to start scoring people on their republicaness.
Im surprised that being a republican includes openly assaulting someone , pissing off your neighbours and being a bit thick?

I'd say we will be waiting a while before we hear the ballad of Ciaran Mc Gill.
Post by: theskull1 on August 01, 2008, 12:16:16 PM
Quote from: smcafee on August 01, 2008, 10:52:43 AM

Very good

Now are you going to answer the question :-\. Come on man enlighten us
Post by: An Fear Rua on August 01, 2008, 12:18:11 PM
smcafee - do you post on another forum re this topic, and recently had your username challenged. No other reason that Im just wondering if Im reading the same persons points on different sites?
Post by: ziggysego on August 01, 2008, 12:26:29 PM

1. Bonfires are a Loyalist thing. I bet you were out complaining about the bonfires over the 12th. eh... eh?

2. Stepping stones young smcafee, stepping stones. All it's all about creating a climate of change where we can show the Unionist population that their rights and culture would be protected in a 32 county Ireland and that ultimately they would have more of a voice in the Dail than they ever that in Westminister.
Post by: Zapatista on August 01, 2008, 12:40:35 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 01, 2008, 12:26:29 PM
2. Stepping stones young smcafee, stepping stones. All it's all about creating a climate of change where we can show the Unionist population that their rights and culture would be protected in a 32 county Ireland and that ultimately they would have more of a voice in the Dail than they ever that in Westminister.

Only if they are elected ;) Unionism would have very little relavance in a UI. People from the Unionist tradition would have better repersentation but it wouldn't be of a strong Unionist brand.

These guys are just pricks! It's nothing to do anyhing other than them being pricks.
Post by: smcafee on August 01, 2008, 01:16:10 PM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on August 01, 2008, 12:07:52 PM

You going to have to define the republican rules and scoring system, clearly and distinctly if you going to start scoring people on their republicaness.
Im surprised that being a republican includes openly assaulting someone , pissing off your neighbours and being a bit thick?

an irish republican is a person who wishes to see a 32 county ireland free from foreign interference.
this cannot include anyone who activly supports and aids the current british presence in ireland.
it suited spin fein and the provos to assault and kill paul quinn and i can remember many times when spin fein would intimidate people to do as they say.
Post by: corn02 on August 01, 2008, 01:17:16 PM
But lashing out at MLAs is ok then?
Post by: Yes I Would on August 01, 2008, 01:18:43 PM
Quote from: smcafee on August 01, 2008, 01:16:10 PM

an irish republican is a person who wishes to see a 32 county ireland free from foreign interference.
this cannot include anyone who activly supports and aids the current british presence in ireland.
it suited spin fein and the provos to assault and kill paul quinn and i can remember many times when spin fein would intimidate people to do as they say.

And an orgy of drink, drugs and mayhem at a poxy bonfire will achieve a united ireland in what way??
Post by: Zapatista on August 01, 2008, 01:23:18 PM

Who will be the King of this 32 county ireland?
Post by: The Gs Man on August 01, 2008, 01:24:11 PM
"Spin Fein"

Sounds like a break-dance move
Post by: corn02 on August 01, 2008, 01:27:20 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on August 01, 2008, 01:23:18 PM

Who will be the King of this 32 county ireland?

Bertie Ahern.
Post by: Yes I Would on August 01, 2008, 01:28:57 PM
Chris Smiley!!
Post by: ziggysego on August 01, 2008, 01:30:25 PM
Borat!!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 01, 2008, 01:37:47 PM
Quote from: Yes I Would on August 01, 2008, 01:28:57 PM
Chris Smiley!!

More like Smiley Bulger!
Post by: An Fear Rua on August 01, 2008, 01:55:41 PM

I think you need to clarify your thoughts on this, on one hand you say these lads are more republican than sinn fein "certainly more republican than daithi mc kay,padraig mc shane or anyone else in spin fein who are enforcing british occupation in ireland", and the next you say sinn fein are not republican at all "this cannot include anyone who activly supports and aids the current british presence in ireland."

It seems to me these lads are fighting the battle that was required 20 years ago, things have changed since then, even prior to the farce on the hill, methinks these lads need to reasses their tactics?

I wholly agree that internment should never be forgotten, and should be recognised, however acting like a spidey loyalist, getting pissed and burning pallets isnt the best way to do it, and shitting on your own doorstep isnt either. Your not going to either change sinn fein or beat them with the approach seen yesterday. Its moved on from rocks to the trojan horse...

Post by: ziggysego on August 01, 2008, 01:58:36 PM
Why not do what Gerry Adams did in the 80s and set up a Féile an Phobail type festival. Surely that's more respectable and more culturally acceptable way of remembering internment (not celebrating internment).
Post by: Zapatista on August 01, 2008, 02:01:26 PM
Interning them lads would serve them to remember it.
Post by: Yes I Would on August 01, 2008, 02:07:17 PM
Your spot on Ziggy, but these scummy bastards have no concept of culture, respect or understanding of what internment was about.
Its an excuse for drink, drugs and mayhem and to show the outside how tough and patriotic their estate is.
Its the decent people of Dunclug i feel sorry for!!
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 01, 2008, 02:12:26 PM
Donagh, these lads would respect no-one

as a guy said to me at a wedding the other week in Enniskillen - the people around the place almost wish the 'boys' were still around to deal with these younger crew and their drugs and anti-social 'crimes' (his words not mine - and he is not a republican, but a quiet SDLP voter and I got a bit of a shock when he said this to me).

these young lads are asbo-types but sinn feins biggest crime here is their lack of effort in getting the psni to become th epolice force they were meant to be. I am still hearing collaborating stroies from Derry/Derry city, tyrone and Fermanagh about how the cops wont stop this anti social behaviour in nationalist areas and estates.

A lot of people are now mistakenly starting to think that the dissidents will do the job for them that the ira used to do in arresting these anti social activities and drugs.

There are the same kinds of gangs in dublin and limerick to name just two, but at least the cops down here will make some kind of effort to halt such behaviour. scumbags are scumbags wherever they are.

Bonfires should possibly only be allowed for halloween 'celebrations'  - but imo they should be stopped for pollution reasons.

smcafee - what are you talking about ? I think we get it that you dont like sinn fein. So what ?
do you actually have a point?
I am starting to ask the same question of ziggy too...
Post by: the colonel on August 01, 2008, 02:29:07 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 31, 2008, 10:01:29 PM

Flippin eck! Now imagine if he'd been brought up playing gaelic footall for his parish. Would he still end up the same?

smiley used to play gaelic football for all saints ballymena and st pats ballymena. animal of a player. one of those fellas who is the same siize now as he was when he was 14.

agree with points about the glens. ballymena has nothing to do with the glens or do we want them refered to as glensmen.

and smiley does very very little socialising in the glens
Post by: Yes I Would on August 01, 2008, 02:34:17 PM
Quote from: the colonel on August 01, 2008, 02:29:07 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 31, 2008, 10:01:29 PM

smiley used to play gaelic football for all saints ballymena and st pats ballymena. animal of a player. one of those fellas who is the same siize now as he was when he was 14.

agree with points about the glens. ballymena has nothing to do with the glens or do we want them refered to as glensmen.

and smiley does very very little socialising in the glens

Thats what im saying. should be top man in any new 32 county republic!!
Post by: ziggysego on August 01, 2008, 03:14:53 PM
Lynch, what you talking about? What have said against Sinn Fein?
Post by: orangeman on August 01, 2008, 04:03:40 PM
Leaving aside the issue of whether there should be a bonfire in Dunclug or not,,is Sinn Fein now trying to clean up the image of Republican areas by taking away the flags and now the bonfires ? Is this meant to impress the Unionist people or what ? Unionists / Loyalists have their flags and bonfires and we don't really think about them - why are Sinn Fein embarking on this policy now ?

Post by: Zapatista on August 01, 2008, 05:17:46 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 01, 2008, 04:03:40 PM
Leaving aside the issue of whether there should be a bonfire in Dunclug or not,,is Sinn Fein now trying to clean up the image of Republican areas by taking away the flags and now the bonfires ? Is this meant to impress the Unionist people or what ? Unionists / Loyalists have their flags and bonfires and we don't really think about them - why are Sinn Fein embarking on this policy now ?

If this is the case - which I doubt - I hope it's part of the 'reach out to Unionist' campaign. The previous 'divide unionism' campaign is what led to this shit in loyalist areas. It is seen now in Republican areas such as Dunclug.
Post by: pebble-dasher on August 01, 2008, 05:44:53 PM
I think a lot of the young people in dunclug are annoyed with the removal of the bonfire by Sinn Fein has a lot to do with the brutal murder of Michael Mc Ilveen.  After his murder a majority of these young lads have turned 'republican.'  However a bonfire to mark the end of internment is not the answer.  The so called young republican Chris Smiley was jailed as part of the fisherwick 4 and thinks he was interned!  These lads think they are going to free Ireland but they are only getting laughed at via the media.
Post by: slow corner back on August 01, 2008, 05:50:51 PM

Hes not related to sammy smiley of the bullet in the foot fame is he?
Post by: Square Ball on August 01, 2008, 06:02:41 PM
Quote from: pebble-dasher on August 01, 2008, 05:44:53 PM
I think a lot of the young people in dunclug are annoyed with the removal of the bonfire by Sinn Fein has a lot to do with the brutal murder of Michael Mc Ilveen.  After his murder a majority of these young lads have turned 'republican.'  However a bonfire to mark the end of internment is not the answer.  The so called young republican Chris Smiley was jailed as part of the fisherwick 4 and thinks he was interned!  These lads think they are going to free Ireland but they are only getting laughed at via the media.

excuse my ignorance on this, but who were the Fisherwick 4

found it on the BBC
Post by: slow corner back on August 01, 2008, 06:46:18 PM
bunch of young lads from ballymena including smiley were caught with incendiaries.When the case got to court another set of fingerprints were found on the incendiaries. Police would not say who the other person was (presumably because he was an informer) and the case was thrown out. I do not wish to say who the other person was as that could/may be libel however if you read smileys bebo page it is mentioned there
Post by: ONeill on August 01, 2008, 07:49:28 PM
Is that the McShane that Sambo split?
Post by: Two Hands FFS on August 01, 2008, 08:54:09 PM
Nope..that was Kevin....but Paudie he played that day as well. Hard man to stop when on form. Remember him on top form after Watson got sent off for hitting him a few years in semi final of championship over in Dunloy. He hurled like a man possessed after that.
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 01, 2008, 09:07:30 PM
This smiley boy clearly isn't over his ex.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on August 01, 2008, 09:22:51 PM
The whole irony is that I can recall in the 1980s when bonfires were common all over west Belfast every 9th, and the local 'community representatives' actively encouraged their building, the piss-up and then into the Brits... I agree times have changed but the thickos of twenty years ago are now in Stormont...
Post by: ardmhachaabu on August 01, 2008, 11:05:21 PM

What about asking Sinn Fein?  Too much for your brain??
Post by: ardmhachaabu on August 01, 2008, 11:14:02 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 01, 2008, 02:12:26 PM

as a guy said to me at a wedding the other week in Enniskillen - the people around the place almost wish the 'boys' were still around to deal with these younger crew and their drugs and anti-social 'crimes' (his words not mine - and he is not a republican, but a quiet SDLP voter and I got a bit of a shock when he said this to me).

these young lads are asbo-types but sinn feins biggest crime here is their lack of effort in getting the psni to become th epolice force they were meant to be. I am still hearing collaborating stroies from Derry/Derry city, tyrone and Fermanagh about how the cops wont stop this anti social behaviour in nationalist areas and estates.

A lot of people are now mistakenly starting to think that the dissidents will do the job for them that the ira used to do in arresting these anti social activities and drugs.

There are the same kinds of gangs in dublin and limerick to name just two, but at least the cops down here will make some kind of effort to halt such behaviour. scumbags are scumbags wherever they are.

Bonfires should possibly only be allowed for halloween 'celebrations'  - but imo they should be stopped for pollution reasons.

smcafee - what are you talking about ? I think we get it that you dont like sinn fein. So what ?
lynchboy,certain people should never be given the same sort of exposure as Karadic got.   For all the "nice" poses that various posters do, nothing takes away from them being  just bigoted thugs
Post by: ONeill on August 02, 2008, 10:08:43 AM
Tis a problem OK. Andersonstown has been hit badly in post-ceasefire times. I don't blame SF or the IRA - it's something that has to be worked on and they're addressing it as best they can (juggling two sensitive grenades) and is an unavoidable consequence of post-oppression society.

It'd be great if a headmaster would make a stand and bring back the whip.
Post by: b.castle on August 02, 2008, 02:27:14 PM
If these hoods in Ballymena are the new face of Irish Republicans then i want nothing to do with them,i know these hoods and they are using the name of Irish Republicans for there own cause,[Edited by Mod3]

,also sinn fein well all on for the bonfire and so were the people of that estate for a door to door poll wastaken before last years and everyone agreed because the ruc/psni said they would stay out of the estate so last year the new heros  had nobody to throw petrol bombs at so they turned against there own people and sinn fein and threw petrol bombs at them then started taken drugs and dealing so the community asked sinn fein this year that they didnt want it anymore and suggested a candillit vigil and open air mass which the new heros shot down because there wouldnt be enough craic for them,tells you alot about them when you see there bebo pages,
Post by: b.castle on August 02, 2008, 02:51:30 PM
sorry his link didnt come up but ifyou go to the utv website and look up the story about them attacking sinn fein members and read the comments and you will see the link.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 02, 2008, 08:10:53 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on August 02, 2008, 09:58:02 AM
The chickens are just coming home to roost.  You cannot simply create a society where authority is despised and blamed for all ills, where the only rule of law is that dispensed with those with the biggest stick and greatest threat of violence and then expect it all to return to "normal" when it is decided that the "war is over".  The parents of these thugs grew up and lived in this type of society and obviously drank it all in, their children have become equally if not more outside the norm.  Now they are turning on those who would have given them direction, the former substitute for normal societal authority, the "community worker".  This is not the first community worker to have the community turn on him within the last year and won't be the last.

Unfortunately, we are all having to deal with a society which is affected by the lack of respect for authority wherever form it comes in.  How many of you have seen an increasing number of pre-teenage and adolescent children showing the type of disrespect for their parents that none of you would ever have dared to think about?  The basis of our society was the family unit where discipline and respect were taught and learned, where young people knew that there were consequences for their actions.  This has all changed, the causes are multi-factorial and not confined to N.Ireland, it is fairly widespread throughout GB, RoI and some would say western society.  Some blame it on liberal society where anything goes, all social norms have been eroded and we have a media and press which is obsessed with celebrity, sex and the "me" society. 

Poor parenting is playing a major role in this divergence into a society which none of us recognise.  Those of us who have a greater engagement with a broad scope of society, teachers, social workers, health workers, etc. are dealing with this at first hand and many can see no solution as the normal rules of society are breaking down, where the individual is more important than the community and where consequences and personal responsibilities are no longer important to a growing number of the disaffected.  Add into this the consequences of civil unrest where the authorities did not attempt to earn respect frpm most people, society became numbed to all levels of violence and a significant section of the population where encouraged to treat the authorities with at least disdain, then you have quite serious societal problems.  Just think back on the number of murders we have had in the last year, all of them brutal, many against defenceless women, and you will get a view of the society that is now N.Ireland.

Only the tip of these problems is coming to the fore because it is the media that decides which items are "newsworthy".  The attacks on community workers is in the news because the media is having a snigger at SF.  Many people in urban areas are living in fear to some extent from those who are disaffected and in rural areas we still have those who rule by fear of violence or retribution.  Outside of this, the vast majority are trying to live their lives to make the best for themselves and their families.  Make no mistake, the disaffected are here to stay and there is no simple solution, no asbos or "bringing back the boys" that will solve these problems.  We have to live with the consequences.

Take Your Points:

The middle bit of your speech was correct, the youth of today are out of control - but to try and lay that at the door of Sinn Fein or the Republican movement is absolute bullshit.
Society has moved on from the dark days of the "war" in all the bad ways. Teens, actually pre-teens as well have no respect for authority, be it parents or the police, they will do what they like.
Over the last 40 years, Republican/Nationalist areas had a significantly lower level of crime then other areas, be it in Britian or Ireland. This was because of the threat of punishment from the IRA. That threat has gone now and these same areas are now experiencing the same levels of criminality that everywhere else is suffering!
Actually the IRA protected our areas for 3 decades from this anti-social behaviour, they have gone now and we are joining the rest of society in their suffering - if anything could be said, it would be to bring back "the boys" to protect us all! Sir.

Post by: J70 on August 02, 2008, 08:23:43 PM
Quote from: b.castle on August 02, 2008, 02:27:14 PM

Are these "allegations" a matter of public record?
Post by: carribbear on August 03, 2008, 01:20:50 AM
I love the way these new republicans were at the forefront of the battle, most of them were still pissing in their nappies when the first ceasefire was called.
They probably recall hearing about some chap called Robbie Sands who died for some reason or other but the details are irrelevant.

They have no idea of history or how to behave. It's youth in general, I see myself the greedy little bastards only think that they can take whaever they want without consequences, that they have right to behave in whatever fashion they desire and they ultimately get what they want. Spoiled little shits to be honest.

Post by: Maroon Heaven on August 03, 2008, 01:34:02 PM
My business recently had a run-in with some kids in the Markets area of Belfast. Could have turned very nasty at one stage and had to have 5 riot patrol jeep park outside while I had a group on a Summer scheme from East Belfast leave our premises. Was no problem up until a few 2 fingers insults were exchanged and within mins I had rocks come in my windows. Had to phone the Police and they reacted within 5 mins.

Within 2 hours parents from the markets and "representatives" had words and things had calmed. Good to see some sense provail and a smashed window was the least of my worries. I think if the PSNI had reacted it could have got alot worstand was glad they didn't.

From hearing about this Ballymena affair - it sounds as if this has been going on for a while and some elder member of the estate took their own iniative. I think the best thing to happen to those lads would be to be talked to and given more support, rather then left drift aside and into the hands of RIRA. The Noth does not need to go back into the days of innocent killings, a police force under attack and people living in fear.

Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 10:08:03 AM

a republican is someone who refuses to accept british rule in ireland.it is a fact that spin fein are helping enforce british rule in ireland and as a republican i back other republicans to take actions against enforcers by any means.
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 10:15:17 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on August 01, 2008, 12:16:16 PM
Quote from: smcafee on August 01, 2008, 10:52:43 AM

Very good

Now are you going to answer the question :-\. Come on man enlighten us
many republican areas of the occupied six have have had bonfires to mark commerations.until recently spin fein had no problems with this bonfire that has been held every year at duncleg and threatened people themselves that didnt want it.now they change their mind by being brit enforcers they think they can just walk over republicans.not going to happen as long as ireland is unfree.
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 10:29:45 AM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on August 01, 2008, 12:18:11 PM
smcafee - do you post on another forum re this topic, and recently had your username challenged. No other reason that Im just wondering if Im reading the same persons points on different sites?
yes and no
Post by: theskull1 on August 04, 2008, 10:43:55 AM
The fact that alot of these "bhoy's" are drug dealing scumbags who hide behind the name of republicanism doesn't bother you then smcafee. Anybody who put's it up to SF for whatever reason is good enough for a real principled republican like yourself. f**k me I've heard it all  :-\.
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 10:47:10 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 01, 2008, 12:26:29 PM

1. Bonfires are a Loyalist thing. I bet you were out complaining about the bonfires over the 12th. eh... eh?

bonfires are not a loyalist thing,they take place all over the world.

and you are thick if you think that stormont will lead to a 32 county irish republic.the brits have always looked down on the irish and they always will.remember no blacks no dogs no irish?the brits have trapped the spin fein sell outs into enforcing british rule in occupied ireland and for as long as ireland is occupied it will never be at peace.more and more republicans are starting to see this.
Post by: An Fear Rua on August 04, 2008, 10:52:39 AM
so you reckon that the political/economical approach is of no use?
What do you suggest? Back to the bullets?

Lets no forget that the fellows on Kildare Street are supporting stormont too, Im assuming you think they are due a slap in the chops as well.

Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 10:55:23 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on August 04, 2008, 10:43:55 AM
The fact that alot of these "bhoy's" are drug dealing scumbags who hide behind the name of republicanism doesn't bother you then smcafee. Anybody who put's it up to SF for whatever reason is good enough for a real principled republican like yourself. f**k me I've heard it all  :-\.

drug dealing sc**bag you say?it never bothered spin fein or the provos to deal with cigarettes from hijacked trucks,selling copied movies at jonesboro market or selling red diesel as normal diesel.dont start with slab murphy.if being a republican is being a criminal,were martin hurson,bobby sands and the rest of the hunger strikers criminals too?was it worth it?
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 11:02:02 AM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on August 04, 2008, 10:52:39 AM

Lets no forget that the fellows on Kildare Street are supporting stormont too, Im assuming you think they are due a slap in the chops as well.

as long as ireland remains occupied republicans who want to achieve a 32 county sovereign state should feel free to go by any means necessary to end the occupation.

leinster house is just a puppet to give an illusion of freedom in the 26 counties.
Post by: An Fear Rua on August 04, 2008, 11:08:36 AM
Quote from: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 11:02:02 AM

as long as ireland remains occupied republicans who want to achieve a 32 county sovereign state should feel free to go by any means necessary to end the occupation.

leinster house is just a puppet to give an illusion of freedom in the 26 counties.

nice bit of lipstick applied there.

The political approach has failed so we need to to go back to the bombs and bullets YES or NO?

Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 11:13:38 AM
Quote from: Yes I Would on August 01, 2008, 01:18:43 PM

And an orgy of drink, drugs and mayhem at a poxy bonfire will achieve a united ireland in what way??
Who talked about drink,drugs and mayhem?a bonfire will not achieve a united ireland on its own but it will help focus minds on remembering fellow irish men and women who have put up with hardship,torture and death for the cause of a united ireland the same way spin fein hijacked the memory of the hunger strikers for their use in enforcing british rule in ireland.
Post by: theskull1 on August 04, 2008, 11:31:01 AM
Quote from: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 10:55:23 AM

drug dealing sc**bag you say?it never bothered spin fein or the provos to deal with cigarettes from hijacked trucks,selling copied movies at jonesboro market or selling red diesel as normal diesel.dont start with slab murphy.if being a republican is being a criminal,were martin hurson,bobby sands and the rest of the hunger strikers criminals too?was it worth it?

Just so you know. I'm not an apologist for SF or their republicanism, but looking through these replies, it would imply to me that your OK with drug dealing republicans?

Bonfires? Drug Dealing scumbags ruining their own communities? What else do you want to take from so called working class loyalism? FFS...... monkeys aping monkeys
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 11:32:47 AM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on August 01, 2008, 01:55:41 PM

I think you need to clarify your thoughts on this, on one hand you say these lads are more republican than sinn fein "certainly more republican than daithi mc kay,padraig mc shane or anyone else in spin fein who are enforcing british occupation in ireland", and the next you say sinn fein are not republican at all "this cannot include anyone who activly supports and aids the current british presence in ireland."

It seems to me these lads are fighting the battle that was required 20 years ago, things have changed since then, even prior to the farce on the hill, methinks these lads need to reasses their tactics?

I wholly agree that internment should never be forgotten, and should be recognised, however acting like a spidey loyalist, getting pissed and burning pallets isnt the best way to do it, and shitting on your own doorstep isnt either. Your not going to either change sinn fein or beat them with the approach seen yesterday. Its moved on from rocks to the trojan horse...

its easy to be more republican when your standing against someone who cant be called a republican.

what has changed since 1987?ireland is still occupied and still not at peace.

the people acting like spidey loyalists,getting pissed and burning pallets 20 years ago are now sitting in stormont for spin fein and have forgotten their roots and people.they are now the same as the stoops from 20 years ago. daithi found this out the hard way.
Post by: An Fear Rua on August 04, 2008, 11:43:33 AM
Its no wonder the brits are still here, who in their right mind would hand over the keys to a rabble.

Smcafee, as far as I can see you are all bluster, ranting away and no viable alternative to offer, you havent (so far ) had enough conviction to answer the straight question I posed you, despite alluding to your response several times, I can see you know arguing with your crew over what colour of stamp to put on the letter bomb.

Yes Sinn Fein havent delivered what the promised(yet?), but who the hell thought that it would be that easy? As for whats changed since 87? lots and lots , some of it even for the good.
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 11:49:57 AM

so spin fein are to help enforce british rule in ireland.thats cleared up.

current republicans are not dissidents.the only dissidents are in spin fein and republicans will be back in the heart of communities sorting out problems republicans took care of before they were sold out.

and bonfires were ok when sinn fein said they were.no one listens to a tout.
Post by: An Fear Rua on August 04, 2008, 11:54:53 AM
Quote from: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 11:49:57 AM

republicans will be back in the heart of communities sorting out problems republicans took care of before they were sold out.

Whats stopping them doing it now? or do they need guns?
Or maybe its becasue these communities are now filled with delinquents who dont really give a shite about their neighbours or their communities, but only care about the newest alcopop flavour. These lads could easily and affectively clean up their areas, remember internment with dignity and make their community great again, if only they gave a shit.
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 12:02:46 PM

i dont think its impressing them.jim wells of the dup said on the 12th that republicans in the occupied six should move to the free state.

ive a message for jim wells.f**k off back to britain if you love it so much.
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 12:19:47 PM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on August 01, 2008, 09:22:51 PM
The whole irony is that I can recall in the 1980s when bonfires were common all over west Belfast every 9th, and the local 'community representatives' actively encouraged their building, the piss-up and then into the Brits... I agree times have changed but the thickos of twenty years ago are now in Stormont...
well said.some people have short memories and some others want to rewrite republican history.
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 12:41:56 PM

anyone who puts it up to those who are carrying out british rule in ireland.there are some people who i dont like but the provos had no problem working with drug dealers when it suited them.take the thorn out of your eye and see that some may not look eye to eye but have a common cause.
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 12:50:16 PM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on August 04, 2008, 11:08:36 AM

The political approach has failed so we need to to go back to the bombs and bullets YES or NO?

the political approach has not completely failed but will collapse soon.republicans have the right to go to arms when the time comes.this may be soon with the british army in afghanistan and iraq.

what is your solution if politics fail?
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 12:58:18 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on August 04, 2008, 11:31:01 AM
Quote from: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 10:55:23 AM

Just so you know. I'm not an apologist for SF or their republicanism, but looking through these replies, it would imply to me that your OK with drug dealing republicans?

Bonfires? Drug Dealing scumbags ruining their own communities? What else do you want to take from so called working class loyalism? FFS...... monkeys aping monkeys
spin fein and the provos have to this day ruined many communities themselves.there is nothing from loyalists that republicanism needs to take from.
Post by: J70 on August 04, 2008, 01:10:39 PM
Quote from: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 12:50:16 PM

the political approach has not completely failed but will collapse soon.republicans have the right to go to arms when the time comes.this may be soon with the british army in afghanistan and iraq.

They have the "right"? What gives them that right?

You're out of your mind if you think that people are going to support a return to murder and bombings. But I suppose that probably doesn't really matter to you.
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 01:11:56 PM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on August 04, 2008, 11:43:33 AM
Its no wonder the brits are still here, who in their right mind would hand over the keys to a rabble.

Smcafee, as far as I can see you are all bluster, ranting away and no viable alternative to offer, you havent (so far ) had enough conviction to answer the straight question I posed you, despite alluding to your response several times, I can see you know arguing with your crew over what colour of stamp to put on the letter bomb.

Yes Sinn Fein havent delivered what the promised(yet?), but who the hell thought that it would be that easy? As for whats changed since 87? lots and lots , some of it even for the good.
a viable alternative is eire nua that sinn fein propose.but this isnt liked by people enforcing british rule in ireland.making stupid comments makes you just look stupid.

what alternative does spin fein have if stormont goes to pieces?i have answered your questions,its just you dont like the answers.spin fein supporters dont like hearing answers that they dont agree with or are not the party line.
Post by: J70 on August 04, 2008, 01:16:31 PM
Quote from: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 01:11:56 PM

a viable alternative is eire nua that sinn fein propose.but this isnt liked by people enforcing british rule in ireland.making stupid comments makes you just look stupid.

what alternative does spin fein have if stormont goes to pieces?i have answered your questions,its just you dont like the answers.spin fein supporters dont like hearing answers that they dont agree with or are not the party line.

How about waiting until the day comes when reunification can be achieved peacefully, by consent, as outlined in the GFA.
Post by: An Fear Rua on August 04, 2008, 01:23:32 PM

As I said YOU have no viable alternative to offer, except for kill the brits.  

Id have to know what the Sinn Fein party line is before I could toe it, thankfully Im capable of thinking for myself.

If stormount fails, it reverts to a direct joint rule from Dublin and London i.e. politics, and if that fails it goes to an external mediation i.e. politics and if that fails its most likely WWIII.  I wouldnt like to bet against the idea that SF would be happy enough to let direct rule come in.

can I come out of my pigeon hole yet?
Post by: An Fear Rua on August 04, 2008, 01:25:03 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 04, 2008, 01:16:31 PM

How about waiting until the day comes when reunification can be achieved peacefully, by consent, as outlined in the GFA.

That would be unutopian, and worse still, what the f**k would they have to complain about when it happens, there would be no excuses for the behaviour that is trying to be justified, unless the county council were late for the bins.
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 01:26:08 PM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on August 04, 2008, 11:54:53 AM

republicans will be back in the heart of communities sorting out problems republicans took care of before they were sold out.

Whats stopping them doing it now? or do they need guns?
Or maybe its becasue these communities are now filled with delinquents who dont really give a shite about their neighbours or their communities, but only care about the newest alcopop flavour. These lads could easily and affectively clean up their areas, remember internment with dignity and make their community great again, if only they gave a shit.
republicans do not yet have strong enough backing to take care of communities but the support has been growing.look at lynchboys post to see what i mean.the trouble is spin fein telling people what they can or cant do and they are at last standing up to the intimidation from them.
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 01:33:29 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 04, 2008, 01:10:39 PM
Quote from: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 12:50:16 PM

They have the "right"? What gives them that right?

You're out of your mind if you think that people are going to support a return to murder and bombings. But I suppose that probably doesn't really matter to you.
the right comes from the people of ireland from the unfinished business of the proclamation of 1916.
support for a return to armed struggle is slowly growing and will grow more when recession hits and people remember that life isnt always about material things like a mpv car or a 42 inch tv.
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 01:38:10 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 04, 2008, 01:16:31 PM

you really think the brits will let that happen?  :D :D :D
mi5 have done a good job already on spin fein.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 04, 2008, 01:41:32 PM
smcafee have you still got the avatar of the cat and the armalite?
Post by: BennyHarp on August 04, 2008, 01:48:08 PM
Jaysus - smcafee you're some craic - can i be your mate! Havent heard the oul rubbish your spouting since the 1980s good man urself! Its awful in the north these days with no army on the streets, no check points every 2 miles, no barriers going into and out of towns, no bomb scares in our schools and town centres, not being stopped by police at the airport for 5 hours when flying to the UK! Wish we could go back to the 1980s and early 1990s again - just not enough people being murdered in the country at the minute for your liking then?!
Post by: carribbear on August 04, 2008, 01:48:50 PM
Quote from: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 12:41:56 PM
there are some people who i dont like but the provos had no problem working with drug dealers when it suited them.

says it all about who you are and what you know.
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 02:05:10 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on August 04, 2008, 01:48:08 PM
Jaysus - smcafee you're some craic - can i be you mate! Havent heard the oul rubbish your spouting since the 1980s good man urself! Its awful in the north these days with no army on the streets, no check points every 2 miles, no barriers going into and out of towns, no bomb scares in our schools and town centres, not being stopped by police at the airport for 5 hours when flying to the UK! Wish we could go back to the 1980s and early 1990s again - just not enough people being murdered in the country at the minute for your liking then?!
none of this shit would happen if at least the brits gave catholics equal rights,if paisley shut his gob and the brits talked about withdrawal if they really say that they dont need to be in ireland any more.though im sure youre happy travelling with your uk passport.
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 02:08:38 PM
Quote from: carribbear on August 04, 2008, 01:48:50 PM
there are some people who i dont like but the provos had no problem working with drug dealers when it suited them.

you and what surrendered army?
Post by: donalmac99 on August 04, 2008, 03:12:26 PM
Quote from: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 12:02:46 PM

i dont think its impressing them.jim wells of the dup said on the 12th that republicans in the occupied six should move to the free state.

ive a message for jim wells.f**k off back to britain if you love it so much.

jim wells and  yourself deserve each other
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 04, 2008, 05:22:09 PM
smcafee shouldn't you be out getting a new pencil case and schoolbag? School is back in less than a month!
Post by: orangeman on August 04, 2008, 08:55:25 PM
Who is going to "deal" with all the so called delinquents of the PSNI aren't ? Restorative justice schemes ? Don't think so.
Post by: ziggysego on August 04, 2008, 10:58:53 PM
Man held over Sinn Fein assault

A 21-year-old man has been arrested in connection with an assault on two Sinn Fein members in Ballymena.

North Antrim MLA Daithi McKay and Cllr Padraig McShane were set upon in the Dunclug estate outside the home of a community worker.

Both men sustained minor injuries. The dispute started over the removal of a bonfire to commemorate internment.

A BBC Northern Ireland camera crew who were in the estate caught the incident on film.

Sourced BBCi: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/7542155.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/7542155.stm)
Post by: carribbear on August 05, 2008, 01:43:26 AM
Quote from: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 02:08:38 PM
Quote from: carribbear on August 04, 2008, 01:48:50 PM

you and what surrendered army?

Who surrendered?
I see brits off the streets
I see loyalists turning to petty crime in their own areas
I see unionists beavering their little holes off trying to become green friendly
I see Peter Robinson sucking up to Martin McGuinness consulting him on the best way to police the country
I see Ian Paisley leading his people down the road to Dublin
I see a confident, educated Catholic workforce
I also see a very confused, scared and very vunerable unionist community who are not sure about their place in the union and if they'll be singing Amhrann Na Bfhiann at Windsor Park sooner rather than later

Now,
Who surrendered?

:-*
Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on August 05, 2008, 09:53:14 AM
Howye lads.

Why is that when we have a bank holiday in the Republic, ye lads go nuts up there ? :D Anyhow, I've been casting an eye over the last few pages of posts, and it appears to be hot and heavy, but within the rules, so fair play for that. Keep it that way.

However, I have edited a post by a newcomer (?) b.castle, which named people, and made serious allegations against them. I've edited the post for the obvious legal reasons.

Cheers.
Post by: Yes I Would on August 14, 2008, 10:23:41 PM
Saw yesterday that the quest for Irish unity took another backward step.

Smiley was charged with assaulting that 16 year old girl at the bonfire.

Post by: Minder on August 14, 2008, 10:52:47 PM
That particular area of Ballymena has always been full of fellas like Smiley as long as i can remember (20 years). Was always a shithole and i imagine always will be. Their favourite pastime was sniffing aerosols if i remember right.
Post by: Donagh on August 14, 2008, 11:15:03 PM
Quote from: Yes I Would on August 14, 2008, 10:23:41 PM
Saw yesterday that the quest for Irish unity took another backward step.

Smiley was charged with assaulting that 16 year old girl at the bonfire.

And gets both barrels from the victims cousin on his Bebo:

Post by: Tony Baloney on August 14, 2008, 11:19:19 PM
Has that tosser that assaulted mckay been sentenced yet? As Minder says that area is an absolute grip and seems to be getting worse. Whilst most deprived areas are embarking on regeneration schemes it seems these young "republicans" are intent on ghettoising their own areas.
Post by: Yes I Would on August 14, 2008, 11:26:58 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 14, 2008, 11:19:19 PM
Has that tosser that assaulted mckay been sentenced yet? As Minder says that area is an absolute grip and seems to be getting worse. Whilst most deprived areas are embarking on regeneration schemes it seems these young "republicans" are intent on ghettoising their own areas.

Think that sc**bag got charged but hasnt been sentenced.  Looks like the young girls cousin has pretty much summed him up!!
Post by: ziggysego on August 14, 2008, 11:28:01 PM
Some Republicans. Sickening tosser.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 14, 2008, 11:35:43 PM
Well it says on his bebo page he was at a mental beach party in the dall last week. It's full of armchair republicans too.
Post by: the colonel on August 15, 2008, 10:36:51 AM
lets keep cushendall out of this. and hardstation dont go down that road. noel sands was bad enough
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 15, 2008, 02:49:42 PM

so spin fein are to help enforce british rule in ireland.thats cleared up.

current republicans are not dissidents.the only dissidents are in spin fein and republicans will be back in the heart of communities sorting out problems republicans took care of before they were sold out.

and bonfires were ok when sinn fein said they were.no one listens to a tout.
whatever about sinn fein, the whole shebang has to calm down before the country re-unifies and moves forward - integration, economy, jobs and civil service/bureaucrats all have to be sorted out before that happens.

most folk I know have no time for thepeople who are still dissidents. Just because the rest of the republican world has stood down, does not mean that these guys who want to continue to fight are going to step into their shoes.
The nationalist/republican community dont want them.
Most of them are using this as a front to cover their drug running rackets. These people will never be acceptable under this guise and activities.

The war is over, peace has broken out - nationalists/republicans/catholics/working classes are no longer persecuted , oppressed or victimised as they once were pre-1969. The efforts have yielded results- at a heavy cost and price, but there is no longer a need for the fighting as there once was.
Now the 'war' is to prepare the communities to be more socially acceptable and accepting. The psni is to be undergo the reforms that sf were apparantly looking for all this time.

bonfires were to warm yourselves, cook food or serve as a warning. We now have cookers, gas heating and telephones.

there is no 'sell out' just a lack of policing for now, but will change. As will the society, war no longer required for this phase. That was the 'saving our hides phase'. We've won that one. so look forward not backwards !

Post by: Two Hands FFS on August 15, 2008, 02:58:44 PM
I'd say the beach party was probably the end of exams 'sesh' rather than a republican party....altho him & his mates probably were up to no good
Post by: thejuice on August 15, 2008, 05:56:15 PM
I think some need to get into their heads that a united Ireland will only come about through democratic process. It will never and never was going to happen with violence. It would not be recognised in the EU or NATO and even the Republic would be unable to unify with a state that was created through such means.

If you dont like how Sinn Fein are doing things you should as constituants ask more from your local elected officials to change not beat them up and take up other forms of criminality as two fingers to the authorities. They have to, to get votes. You could also set up your own political party and take your version of Republicanism to the people.

You could become more active in your community and perhaps join a local community group to voice your concerns to the MLAs and demand action from them. Intimidation, violence and other anti-social behavior will only undermine any hope of Republicanism being taken seriously as can be seen here, being called scumbags, hoodlums, thugs, spides, ASBO's, no different to the ones in Dublin, Limerick, London, Glasgow and Birmingham.

Democracy can deliver a united Ireland if people are patient and use their democratic power. It can only happen if places like Dunclug become functioning, safe and crime free communtities. If people show how good things can be, not tearing it apart with violence, drugs and fear. If thats all that happens Dunclug will remain/become what people on this forum have described it as "a gangland shit-hole"
Post by: The Iceman on August 15, 2008, 07:29:38 PM
another fine example of the arseholes out there holding the country down:

http://skin.bebo.com/Profile.jsp?MemberId=3944532568 (http://skin.bebo.com/Profile.jsp?MemberId=3944532568)

waste of space the lot of them

I don't condone violence but...............
Post by: ziggysego on August 15, 2008, 10:00:26 PM
I see he's scared of f**k all  ::)
Post by: b.castle on August 16, 2008, 11:11:56 PM
Its funny you should ask about the hood that got released for attacking the two sinn fein men for the latest is that he is now pressing charges against mc shane whom he claims hit him with a garden spade,funny thing is the psni/ruc told him it was in his best interests to take the sinn fein man up,its all funny to me but i thought of all people the ballymena dissedents would be the last people to take advice from the ruc/psni and the other clown that broke the young girls cheek bone at the bonfire didnt get lifted until five days later and two Tyrone men gave him a beating inside for dragging RIRA into it or maybe something it was something else....."TOUT"