GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: interested on July 27, 2008, 08:30:43 PM

Title: Down v Wexford
Post by: interested on July 27, 2008, 08:30:43 PM
 On we go!
Title: Re: Down v Wexford
Post by: Lecale2 on July 27, 2008, 08:50:45 PM
Could have been worse.
Post by: In the Onion Bag on July 27, 2008, 08:51:01 PM
Without Dan this is as far as we go.  Still, its great to be playing in August.
Post by: stew on July 27, 2008, 09:01:00 PM
Jammy bastards!
Post by: orangeman on July 27, 2008, 09:23:23 PM
No contest - Down have rode their luck and fair play to them - the last 8 beckons.
Post by: whyarerefssobad on July 27, 2008, 09:32:03 PM
this is as good as we could have got but as said before big Dan will be a massive miss he is the one player that we did not want this to happen to its going to be a tight game if Gordan was playing i would say down but now i would say wexford would be favs     
Post by: full back on July 27, 2008, 09:44:10 PM
Is Gordon appealing the sending off?
The best draw Down could have got - maybe a replay of the Ulster semi final is on the cards ;)
Post by: Leo on July 27, 2008, 09:53:52 PM
How is  this guy Fegan making the panel - never mind the team?
Bad call on the side line after Gordon was sent off - that was clearly the time to pull Benny to midfield as it was obvious the extra man was going be deplyed by Laois to stop him up front. Exactly what happened.
Would have been a good time to push Hughes up there with Clarke and let Laois crowd the middle going after Benny  - as we were bound to lose this sector after Dan went off.
Ambrose showed he is not a leader in this sector and Lynch is not a county player - full stop. Would not get into the 30 for any of the other Ulster counties left in the cship. Without Gordon we have no chance.
Liked the look of Tuley when he came on.
Murtagh did enough to redeem himself.
For McGuigan, read as for Lynch (above).
Post by: PatDaly on July 27, 2008, 09:58:06 PM
and the best draw Armagh could get in the 1/4 final would be Down. Wexford already beat Down in the league earlier this year so I better not get ahead of myself thinking Down are a sure thing to reach their first ever 1/4 final. lol
Post by: Pangurban on July 27, 2008, 10:24:14 PM
Without Dan its hard to be other than pessimistic, but if we can somehow get enough ball to forwards we have a punchers chance
Post by: Down Gael on July 27, 2008, 10:24:29 PM
Leo, I would agree with most of whay you have said above, but I feel you are being a bit harsh on McGuigan, he has done ok over the last 2 games. I have been a fan of Jack Lynchs, but last night proved he is punching above his weight.
Dan is going to be a massive loss and I am sure he more than anyone else regrets what he did, but the team have shown a lot of spirit and determination since the Armagh defeat and they stood up to be counted last night. There are going to be some enforced changes for the next game. I would bring in Colgan in place of Dan and Dan McCartan in for Monk if he isnt fit enough for next week.
We are playing football in August for the first time in 14 years and that has to be a bonus. No one expected this after the Leitrim game, so we cant really complain. These lads have worked hard to get where they are today and they have put a bit of pride back in the county. Wexford destroyed us in the league, but that is history. Wexford have just been humiliated, embarassed in front of 82,000 in Croke Park. Will they be able to lift themselves for this game? We probably couldnt have got a better draw and this game is very winnable.
Post by: Gold on July 27, 2008, 11:52:18 PM
Good draw for Down, should win this handy enough
Post by: SCENTOFSAM on July 28, 2008, 12:06:50 AM
Sorry Down Gael, but at this level of football the likes of Dan McCartan, like Lynch are found terribly wanting. Only wish now that likes of Duffin had been called up earlier. No doubt Cole may be missed but he had been a bit off the pace before he went off any way.
I agree that to be looking forrward to playing Championship football in August would have been way beyond our wildest imaginations 2 months ago but Ross etc have given a buzz back to the county. A buzz that has been missing for a decade at least now.
Up to this point I would have been looking at Dan as our player of the year but Luke Howard is starting to give him a run for his money now
Post by: southdown on July 28, 2008, 08:42:07 AM
Where will this be played?? Luke Howard will hopefully do to Mattie Ford the same job he did on Stevie McDonnell.  Wexford will be no pushovers, though I still expect Down to win.
Post by: spiritof91and94 on July 28, 2008, 08:50:41 AM
Quote from: SCENTOFSAM on July 28, 2008, 12:06:50 AM
Sorry Down Gael, but at this level of football the likes of Dan McCartan, like Lynch are found terribly wanting. Only wish now that likes of Duffin had been called up earlier. No doubt Cole may be missed but he had been a bit off the pace before he went off any way.
I agree that to be looking forrward to playing Championship football in August would have been way beyond our wildest imaginations 2 months ago but Ross etc have given a buzz back to the county. A buzz that has been missing for a decade at least now.
Up to this point I would have been looking at Dan as our player of the year but Luke Howard is starting to give him a run for his money now

Is Duffin in the panel? Only right that he is.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on July 28, 2008, 09:42:34 AM
another great win to get taking into consideration we only just hung on.

the next day out will be the real test, wexford arent as bad a team as they showed against Dublin and will be looking to prove alot of doubters wrong after a dismal display, they didnt get to the leinster final by fluking it (although admittedly Leinster isnt what it used to be) and they have already beaten this Down team this year so as far as i can see they have little to fear from Down.

im hoping im wrong though and that we can continue a decent run and scrape through to the next round where hopefully someone sees us as the soft touch or easy draw and we get either Kerry or Armagh (love another crack at them).

as for current panel personnel its no secret that there are several passengers on that panel and even some on the team. How anyone can justify 4/6 any shamrocks players on that panel is either stevie wonder or completely crazy and again i refer to the Hugh Davey issue even though he isnt the only one. Big Jackie is a trier but has been found wanting several times at this level, end of story. Dan mc Cartan is one of the best club full backs in the county and definitely deserves his place on the panel/team, if we had a few more fellas with the comittment, drive and dogged determination that Dan has it would do no harm at all.
Post by: Mickey Linden on July 28, 2008, 09:44:04 AM
looks like Parnell park on Sunday lads!
Post by: SCENTOFSAM on July 28, 2008, 09:45:06 AM
No, I do not think he is but only expressing a wish that he had been called up early on particularly after U 21 campaign. would be difficult to expect anyone else to step up to the required intensity if they had not been training at this level all year.
Post by: SCENTOFSAM on July 28, 2008, 09:50:58 AM
Quote from: Mickey Linden on July 28, 2008, 09:44:04 AM
looks like Parnell park on Sunday lads!
where are you getting your information re venue
Post by: Mickey Linden on July 28, 2008, 10:01:24 AM
A friend working in Croker emailed me with the following,

"Tyrone v mayo with tommy Murphy cup game and one other is here on sat and the Monaghan v Kerry and Kildare v Fermanagh and Christy ring cup here on Sunday hasn't been fully confirmed yet but thats the way its looking."

Reckons Down match in Parnell park on Sunday!
Post by: Mickey Linden on July 28, 2008, 10:02:55 AM
Was hoping the Down match would have been the one other on Saturday in Croker but she reckons it wont be. But as she says it has yet to be confirmed!
Post by: Maximus Marillius on July 28, 2008, 10:03:09 AM
Fcuk i was praying ye Down men would draw Kerry. Just to end the long and well over due run ;) I'm syre the Kerry men were hoping that also..ye know what i mean
Post by: western exile on July 28, 2008, 10:04:18 AM

Yes, it is a good draw for Down.  But it is also a good draw for Wexford !
Wexford would not have wanted either of Tyrone or Monaghan, and probally  not another Leinster team (Kildare) after reaching the final themselves. So Wexford wanted Down, and they got them !!

Wexford played Down off the pairc in Wexford Town earlier this year and will have no fear of playing them again.  And the loss of Dan Gordan cannot be overstated. But perhaps Down have that little bit more confidence at the moment and might just shade it.
Post by: behind the wire on July 28, 2008, 10:08:04 AM
Quote from: Mickey Linden on July 28, 2008, 10:01:24 AM

"Tyrone v mayo with tommy Murphy cup game and one other is here on sat and the Monaghan v Kerry and Kildare v Fermanagh and Christy ring cup here on Sunday hasn't been fully confirmed yet but thats the way its looking."

she mentions one other game. sure the down wexford game is the only game not mentioned!! not unless they put on a nicky rackard match or a minor match or something.
Post by: western exile on July 28, 2008, 10:36:03 AM
Quote from: Mickey Linden on July 28, 2008, 10:01:24 AM

Mickey, are Fermanagh not guaranteed a 13 day break before their round 3 game?
Post by: bridgegael on July 28, 2008, 10:41:11 AM
sure down had to play the saturday after their defeat to tyrone in 03.  they def play this weekend. 

as for the match,  would howard notbe a bit small for mattie forde??  if gordon is missing t will be very hard for Down to win the midfield battle,  its hard to know who will be in there.  more of the same of the first half in laois is required.  hopefully we get the match in croke park!!
Post by: mournerambler on July 28, 2008, 11:11:45 AM
Quote from: Down Gael on July 27, 2008, 10:24:29 PM
Leo, I would agree with most of whay you have said above, but I feel you are being a bit harsh on McGuigan, he has done ok over the last 2 games. I have been a fan of Jack Lynchs, but last night proved he is punching above his weight.
Dan is going to be a massive loss and I am sure he more than anyone else regrets what he did, but the team have shown a lot of spirit and determination since the Armagh defeat and they stood up to be counted last night. There are going to be some enforced changes for the next game. I would bring in Colgan in place of Dan and Dan McCartan in for Monk if he isnt fit enough for next week.
We are playing football in August for the first time in 14 years and that has to be a bonus. No one expected this after the Leitrim game, so we cant really complain. These lads have worked hard to get where they are today and they have put a bit of pride back in the county. Wexford destroyed us in the league, but that is history. Wexford have just been humiliated, embarassed in front of 82,000 in Croke Park. Will they be able to lift themselves for this game? We probably couldnt have got a better draw and this game is very winnable.
Not sure if you were @ this game Down Gael, but we completely outplayed them in the first half, then whatever happened in the dressing rooms @ HT changed the game in the second half.
I would be fairly optimistic of a Down win here.
Post by: miss mess on July 28, 2008, 01:12:14 PM
i wouldnt give dan mccartan the time of day on that team or jackie lynch (with those socks!)  Thought Peter Turley played very well and i think he deserves to start.  dan is a very big miss but as someone earlier posted there, could this be overturned by this weekend?
Post by: stiff breeze on July 28, 2008, 01:16:33 PM
Quote from: miss mess on July 28, 2008, 01:12:14 PM
i wouldnt give dan mccartan the time of day on that team or jackie lynch (with those socks!)  Thought Peter Turley played very well and i think he deserves to start.  dan is a very big miss but as someone earlier posted there, could this be overturned by this weekend?

or kevin mc guigan
Post by: Brick Tamlin on July 28, 2008, 01:19:12 PM
why do people let their unexplainable hate for Dan Mc Cartan and at times his family let that cloud their judgement as to his worth as a footballer and value in the Down Squad. Sorry miss mess but he certainly deserves his place on that panel way ahead of some of the other guys on it. If you have ever been marked by Dan or come up against him on the field of play you would surely realise that.
Post by: miss mess on July 28, 2008, 01:20:35 PM
exactly.  why is kevin mcguigan on this team?  total mystery.  glad to see kevin mckernan getting a chance too.  really felt for monk, him only back as well
Post by: miss mess on July 28, 2008, 01:21:52 PM
well theres no chance of me coming up against him apart from at the dentists. i think he's just way too slow in that back line.
Post by: thewobbler on July 28, 2008, 01:28:28 PM
Daniel is a rarity in football in that he has pretty much made the best out of what he was given on entering this world.

He is never going to have the size or athleticism to become an All Star, and there are players on the county circuit that he just wouldn't have the acceleration to stay with, to the point that it might be better option playing a useless defender with bags of pace. But he's a useful player to have around the squad as he is technically sound, will always give 100%, and unlike a lot of Down defenders, if asked to do nothing else but mark a man, he will stick by that duty for the full 70 minutes.

But although defenders can get away with being limited players as long they have application and intensity, midfielders can't, and if Big Dan isn't available for the next round, we would have to play someone in there who provides athleticism and drive, who can get the ball into Coulter and Clarke as early as possible...which with the greatest respect in the world, isn't Jackie Lynch.
Post by: Minus15 on July 28, 2008, 01:32:08 PM
Down are one game from an All Ireland Quarter Final! Down have played 5 championship games this year with 3 wins, a draw and a defeat aginst Armagh which there is absolutely no shame in. Fair play to every man on that panel for the effort and work put in to reach this stage and to beat Wexford would put Down in the last 8. Surely this is not the time to be debating the value of different players to the team. They have already performed above expectations and lifted the spirits of the county. Lets talk about this weeks game and not about gripes with different players. The time for that is when Down's championship is over. Judge these players then!
Post by: southdown on July 28, 2008, 01:32:49 PM
Murphy should be the man for midfield if Dan cant play
Post by: imdagaffer on July 28, 2008, 01:36:55 PM
Murphy for me....
Post by: T O Hare on July 28, 2008, 01:41:40 PM
I would play murphy at midfield if Dan play play, Murph has came on leaps and bounds this year and is one of our leaders... l Peter caught two balls near the end and fair dues to him but if you look and the goal Kingston got and one of the Offally goals last week, you will see that he came out and missed the ball and a goal was a result!!! Dan Mc Carten would be a better man for full back!
if we have Dan Gordon i expect Down to win but if we dont, we are in trouble!!

Also does anyone know the exact number of championship goals that Benny has, i think its 16 but would like clarifiaction!
Post by: Leo on July 28, 2008, 01:41:52 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on July 28, 2008, 01:19:12 PM
why do people let their unexplainable hate for Dan Mc Cartan and at times his family let that cloud their judgement as to his worth as a footballer and value in the Down Squad. Sorry miss mess but he certainly deserves his place on that panel way ahead of some of the other guys on it. If you have ever been marked by Dan or come up against him on the field of play you would surely realise that.

I have reservations about Daniel but to some extent he has answered these by his sheer spirit and I'd keep him in the frame but certainly not at No. 3. His foul-a-minute approach is edgy but we do need the combative quality he shows and (except aginst big quality players like Clarke) he can certainly man-mark. Any of our backs will struggle against a good tall full forward which is why we should have given priority to manufacturing a full back long before now. If this approach was good enough to win an All-Ireland for Tyrone (the late Cormac McAnallen) then it will do for us. Too late this season but it remains our biggest priority.

Cannot understand selections of McGuigan, Fegan or Lynch but they are now seen by management as an integral part of the squad so have to live with it.

Looking ahead, whatever way this season pans out there has been progress and there are players in the wings who should come in - Duffin, Walsh?, maybe Maginn and King from B'ford - what about Andrew Sloan od Attical - worth a look - the return of Niall McArdle at Castlewellan could be worth considering.
Feeling optimistic already.
Post by: Mickey Linden on July 28, 2008, 01:45:12 PM
Apologies lads, Down game croker 2pm sat!
Post by: Joe Umbrella (hey) on July 28, 2008, 01:47:28 PM
Quote from: Leo on July 27, 2008, 09:53:52 PM
How is  this guy Fegan making the panel - never mind the team?
Bad call on the side line after Gordon was sent off - that was clearly the time to pull Benny to midfield as it was obvious the extra man was going be deplyed by Laois to stop him up front. Exactly what happened.
Would have been a good time to push Hughes up there with Clarke and let Laois crowd the middle going after Benny  - as we were bound to lose this sector after Dan went off.
Ambrose showed he is not a leader in this sector and Lynch is not a county player - full stop. Would not get into the 30 for any of the other Ulster counties left in the cship. Without Gordon we have no chance.
Liked the look of Tuley when he came on.
Murtagh did enough to redeem himself.
For McGuigan, read as for Lynch (above).

Why all the doom and gloom, I take it you won't be going to the match this weekend then?

The present squad are giving us a decent not to metion highly entertaining run this year in the c'ship, lets just support them and see if we can make it to Croke park.  This team is still learning - they are now fighting for thier lives and playing some decent football into the bargain which lets face it is just what we expect of them.
Post by: T O Hare on July 28, 2008, 01:49:01 PM
Quote from: Mickey Linden on July 28, 2008, 01:45:12 PM
Apologies lads, down game croker 2pm sat!

where are you getting this info mickey
Post by: islandboy on July 28, 2008, 01:52:48 PM
down gael - you are saying that mc cartan and colgen should be brought in yet they did not even feature as one of the 5 subs brought on during the game on saturday? mc cartan is not good enough while colgen is no replacement for dan. just lets hope dan's appeal is successful. only option is rooney if he is fit enough.
if dan plays down will win
Post by: bridgegael on July 28, 2008, 01:58:58 PM
Quote from: Mickey Linden on July 28, 2008, 01:45:12 PM
Apologies lads, Down game croker 2pm sat!

who are we doubled up with then mickey?
Post by: spiritof91and94 on July 28, 2008, 01:59:38 PM
GAA will confirm today at 3.30pm the fixtures for weekend.
Post by: Mickey Linden on July 28, 2008, 02:05:22 PM
I know one of the events co-ordinaters in croker Tommy.

12pm Ballymurphy Cup Final
2pm Down v Wexford
4pm mayo v Tyrone.
Post by: Joe Umbrella (hey) on July 28, 2008, 02:15:59 PM
Quote from: Mickey Linden on July 28, 2008, 02:05:22 PM

2pm Down v Wexford
4pm mayo v Tyrone.

Yes this is right ..... er and they are all live on RTE
And at 7pm is the Saturday evening movie titled 'The felling of the big edgit' starring our very own P Clancy' - Another oscar nonimation.
Post by: upthehoops on July 28, 2008, 02:20:55 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on July 28, 2008, 01:41:40 PM
I would play murphy at midfield if Dan play play, Murph has came on leaps and bounds this year and is one of our leaders... l Peter caught two balls near the end and fair dues to him but if you look and the goal Kingston got and one of the Offally goals last week, you will see that he came out and missed the ball and a goal was a result!!! Dan Mc Carten would be a better man for full back!
if we have Dan Gordon i expect Down to win but if we dont, we are in trouble!!

Also does anyone know the exact number of championship goals that Benny has, i think its 16 but would like clarifiaction!
Might be wrong, Tom but am not convinced that Turley was actually marking kingston at the time of the goal as he had just been moved off munnelly on to No 10. Was switched back just after it and though Kinston did beat him to 1/2 after that Big Turleys fielding at the end was the difference between going out and staying in the qualiifiers.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 28, 2008, 02:22:15 PM
Quote from: Mickey Linden on July 28, 2008, 02:05:22 PM

2pm Down v Wexford
4pm mayo v Tyrone.

Would eb some travelling down if this is right mickey, did you go down last year?
Post by: bridgegael on July 28, 2008, 02:23:27 PM
i think it was murney on kingston at time of goal,  turley went on him straight after he scored
Post by: stiff breeze on July 28, 2008, 02:44:29 PM
Quote from: Minus15 on July 28, 2008, 01:32:08 PM
Down are one game from an All Ireland Quarter Final! Down have played 5 championship games this year with 3 wins, a draw and a defeat aginst Armagh which there is absolutely no shame in. Fair play to every man on that panel for the effort and work put in to reach this stage and to beat Wexford would put Down in the last 8. Surely this is not the time to be debating the value of different players to the team. They have already performed above expectations and lifted the spirits of the county. Lets talk about this weeks game and not about gripes with different players. The time for that is when Down's championship is over. Judge these players then!

lets all sit round the fire holding hands and singin Cum by yah!
Post by: Bitta-Banter on July 28, 2008, 02:58:03 PM
1. B McVeigh
2. L Howard
3. P Turley
4. D Rafferty(if injured then Murney)
5. P Murphy
6. A Carr
7. K McGuigan
8. A Rodgers
9. J Colgan
10. D Hughes
11. B Coulter
12. K McKernan
13. J Clarke
14. R Murtagh
15. R Sexton

Dont really mind were the forwards line out,most of them interchange throughout the game. Wats the official story with D Raff?out for long?No room for Jackie Lynch,if we find another full back then Peter Turley should be tried in the middle.
Post by: greygoose on July 28, 2008, 03:09:10 PM
Will the Co Board not be appealing Dan Gordan's Redf Card ????

On the Sunday Game last night it looked as though there was nothing in it ???
Post by: Joe Umbrella (hey) on July 28, 2008, 03:23:17 PM
Altogether now .... Cum by ya me lord.........
Post by: southdown on July 28, 2008, 03:31:36 PM
Wexford will have an advantage in that they are used to playing on Croke Park a lot more than the Down players.
Post by: stiff breeze on July 28, 2008, 03:33:57 PM
pass me the marshmallows
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 28, 2008, 03:45:58 PM
Quote from: southdown on July 28, 2008, 03:31:36 PM
Wexford will have an advantage in that they are used to playing on Croke Park a lot more than the Down players.

The Down players should be chomping at the bit to get out at croker
Post by: T O Hare on July 28, 2008, 05:21:36 PM
Downs last outing in Croke park was the div 2 final v Offally in 2004, any word on the extent of Cole's injury
Post by: Caitlin on July 28, 2008, 05:37:48 PM
This will be an even contest if Dan is, as looks likely,unavailable.
It is a real disappointment for a man who has led by example, from his speech thh the Club Down dinner, through lifting the Mc Kenna Cup to 5 All-Star performances in the championship. I have seen more than Clancy target him over the last few years- I suspect the thinking is because he's not 15 stone, hit him, and he will either hit you back and Down lose their top fielder ,or he will be 'shook-up' and go off his game.
We've seen he is made of better stuff and I hope we can get some mercy ( for the first time ) if there is an appeal.
On the game itself, Luke Horward is up to marking Mattie but will concede a couple of inches and a lot of experience.
However, his progress , along with the passing of Aidan Carr, the all-round excellence of Dan,the maturing of Ambrose and the 'Gift from God' as one poster called Benny , have been highlights of a very enjoyable championship.
If we get past them and get Armagh, I would have no fear, as I think we will have learned more form the USFC S/F,and we have the best management team left in the competition.The other three provincial winners are strong and good footballers.
We need Dan the man.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 28, 2008, 08:04:16 PM
Wonder when we'll hear anything abour dan's red card, whether it will be appealed or what?
Post by: heffo on July 28, 2008, 08:14:04 PM
Surely the red card will be overturned - contact looked minimal at best.

I would have fancied Wexford to beat Down before the Leinster final, but while they have a superior forward unit to Down, their midfield has all the mobility of a rugby prop and have no proper man marker - I'd expect Coulter to run riot.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 28, 2008, 08:16:48 PM
Get through this match and we could be talking about benny getting an all star!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 28, 2008, 09:07:03 PM
How much do ya's think the tickets will be?
Post by: Whitehair on July 28, 2008, 09:56:11 PM

A Chara

As you may already be aware Down V Wexford is part of a triple bill of games in Croke Park on Saturday. This is an All Ticket Event.

12.00 Antrim v Wicklow
2.00 Down V Wexford
4.00 Tyrone v Mayo

Tickets cost           
STAND  £25.00
FAMILY                    EACH  ADULT £25.00   EACH   CHILD £5.00

STUDENTS AND PENSIONERS  ARE FULL PRICE TICKETS BUT A CONCESSION IN EURO WILL BE REFUNDED ON THE DAY AT A DESIGNATED STILE IN CROKE PARK .

Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 28, 2008, 10:03:11 PM
Wonder could I get away with the student rate!

I lived in the holylands all year like! Plus I went to the bot nearly once a week
Post by: Whitehair on July 28, 2008, 10:06:53 PM
If its like Portlaois at the weekend you'l need a student card as evidence, 10euro at the weekend was brilliant value!
Post by: Down Gael on July 28, 2008, 11:01:02 PM
Quote from: islandboy on July 28, 2008, 01:52:48 PM
down gael - you are saying that mc cartan and colgen should be brought in yet they did not even feature as one of the 5 subs brought on during the game on saturday? mc cartan is not good enough while colgen is no replacement for dan. just lets hope dan's appeal is successful. only option is rooney if he is fit enough.
if dan plays down will win

There isnt a man in Ireland who could really replace Dan Gordon, but we may be faced with having to do just that. I wouldnt be James Colgans biggest fan, like myself he is carrying a wee bit of weight and he isnt the fastest man on the planet, but after a shaky start against Armagh he came good and we may need him again before the summer is out. Monk is probably the best defender in Down and I hear he has a broken ankle, and there is a it of a comparison with me here as I broke mine today at work, so we may both miss Saturdays game. Yes Turley had a decent game when he came on, but McCartan had a good game on Cavanagh in Newry and has been hung out to dry because he was given the job of marking Ronan Clarke. Clarke is guaranteed his All Star already this year. Enough said.

Last week in Tullamore I was unlucky enough to be sitting in front of a few supporters from Annaclone. At half time they were complaining about most of the players on the team, no one could do any right. We were out of sight, guaranteed a place in the next round after 20 minutes of football, but these guys still werent happy. They only stopped moaning when Gary McArdle was thrown on for the last 10 minutes. Reading some of the comments on this thread is like being back in Tullamore. What do some people want? We are playing Championship football in Croke Park for the first time since 1994. We are 70 minutes away from an AIQF. There are probably some posters here who have only seen Down in Croke Park on their dads video collection or on TG4. Get real and stop bitching as one other poster says these lads have put in a lot of effort, made a lot of sacrifices, trained in the mud, the rain and the snow. And some people see fit to run them down. These lads have earned the right to play in Croke Park and each and everyone of us should be giving them 110% on Saturday.
Post by: Leo on July 29, 2008, 12:27:44 AM
Colgan played for An Riocht against Clonduff tonight and looked competent and keen if not exactly brilliant. Could do a job on this form.
Heard that Monk is definitely out. Expect Murney to line out at no.3.
Post by: southdown on July 29, 2008, 08:32:54 AM
Would like to see Turley at full back. 
Post by: upthehoops on July 29, 2008, 08:43:58 AM
Think Turley did well at Full Back given that he would rarely if ever had played in the full back line for his club. Has always been CHB or midfield. No nonsense player and you'll never find him doing a Clancy or Roper. Whether he would actually line out on the square would obviously depend on who Wexford would be playing there.
Yet as a lot of previous posters have said its great that we are still in the mix in August. Not many would have believed this as the league stuttered to a close in the Spring
Post by: western exile on July 29, 2008, 11:04:02 AM

Model Hammer, where are you?  Your contributions were welcome when these teams met earlier this  year  8)

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=6864.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=6864.0)

Post by: lfdown2 on July 29, 2008, 11:13:10 AM
would the fact that colgan played last night not pretty much rule him out of contention for a start on sun?
Post by: Roy on July 29, 2008, 11:18:13 AM
Watch Down they are outrageously close to establishing an All Ireland winning momentum.  Wexford were tarred and feathered by the dubs and psycholgically could have done with this game outside Croke Park, if theyy react and beat Down they will have proven they are men of steel.  Good luck to both these teams, for their enthusiasm and flair they have brought to the championship in 08.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 29, 2008, 11:40:55 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/7530333.stm

QuoteGordon seeks to overturn red card

Down midfielder Dan Gordon hopes to play against Wexford

Down midfielder Dan Gordon is taking his case to the GAA's Central Hearings Committee in an attempt to get his red card against Laois rescinded.

Gordon received a four-week suspension for an alleged head-butt but Mourne County officials are confident video evidence will clear their player.

If Gordon wins his case, he will be able to play in Saturday's crucial third round qualifier against Wexford.

The winner of the Croke Park clash goes into the All-Ireland quarter-finals.

Down are adamant they have video footage which will prove Gordon did not make contact with Laois midfielder Pauric Casey's face.

Gordon's team-mate, full-back Martin Cole, will not play against Wexford after picking up an ankle injury.

Happy days
Post by: amallon on July 29, 2008, 12:15:18 PM
Down had their own camera man in Tullamore and I'd assume he was there in Portlaoise.  He may have been in the terrace as there wouldn't have been a spot for the tripod in the seats so his footage may not be much better than we got from RTE. 
Post by: Feckitt on July 29, 2008, 01:57:09 PM
Remember lads, ye don't have to go through Dundalk, Castlebellingham, Dunleer, Drogheda and Balbriggan.  They built a new motorway for Armagh since ye were last in Croker.  Also, I can hear the rattles of the money boxes emptying out the punt coins to get you a nice cheap seat in the Nally Stand.
Post by: imdagaffer on July 29, 2008, 02:00:50 PM
what a toss pot..... the best bit of that post is the fact your a knobb from armagh.... its all we can expect from yeas
Post by: islandboy on July 29, 2008, 02:06:08 PM
i hearappeal hearing on wednesday night. say a few prayers
Post by: western exile on July 29, 2008, 02:07:15 PM
steady gaffer.  We know that those Armagh boys are always looking for a chance to get a jibe at us (it must be their inferiority complex  ;) ) but that post was not too bad. It had a bit of humour. Besides he who laughs last, laughs best
Post by: Dulaney on July 29, 2008, 02:11:15 PM
is the game definately all ticket??? i knew there would be a big enough crowd but didn't think it would be reaching anywhere near capacity!!!
Post by: Joe Umbrella (hey) on July 29, 2008, 03:06:17 PM
Do they still have steps up the hogan stand?

We should be familiar enough with climbing these, more familiar than most!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 29, 2008, 03:09:40 PM
Train tickets 35 quid?! f**k sake, thats a rip off
Post by: dodgy umpire on July 29, 2008, 04:04:46 PM
can the game be seen on the net from outside the country?
Post by: its me again on July 29, 2008, 04:08:41 PM
no response on local down thread prob better suited here anyway

as a man from outside the county one thing always stands out to me, the lack of Kilcoo men on either the U21 or Senior teams/panels yet they seem to be there or there abouts every year plus have had good underage success in recent years

can anyone shed any light on this??
Post by: D4S on July 29, 2008, 04:15:36 PM
Maybe it's their pack mentality? They hunt in packs for the ball on the field, they hunt in packs for their women at the weekend, and they hunt in packs when they want to give someone a hiding in Newcastle/Castlewellan etc.  Maybe they opt out of county teams as it means one would have to leave the fold and go it alone???  (Hope they don't come hunting for me ;D)
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on July 29, 2008, 04:19:17 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on July 29, 2008, 01:57:09 PM
They built a new motorway for Armagh since ye were last in Croker. 

Damn right.

Even the jackeens couldn't stand the smell of yez (and the puke that came with) so built that motorway to get yez to f**k out straight after yer matches...

Sure they had the EU over from brussels in dublin when Armagh were playing "football", and the putrid shite served up resulted in the motorway grants being cleared 2 days later  ;D
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on July 29, 2008, 04:21:46 PM
Quote from: D4S on July 29, 2008, 04:15:36 PM
Maybe it's their pack mentality? They hunt in packs for the ball on the field, they hunt in packs for their women at the weekend, and they hunt in packs when they want to give someone a hiding in Newcastle/Castlewellan etc.  Maybe they opt out of county teams as it means one would have to leave the fold and go it alone???  (Hope they don't come hunting for me ;D)

Oooohhhhh..... thin ice boyo, thin ice  ;D

Conor Laverty and Aiden Brannigan were on the panel a couple of years back - with the shite policy of county players rarely getting a game it didn't help them much IMO.
Post by: D4S on July 29, 2008, 04:26:49 PM
Only a bit of fun :D! What is the real reason for the lack of Kilcoo players though or did I hit the nail on the head with my guess? Laverty is very sharp, he's every bit as good as most of our forwards, he'd a be a great sub for the last 15-20mins if ross didn't think he had a starting place for him.
Title: Down v Wexford
Post by: 5 Sams on July 29, 2008, 05:29:13 PM
Tickets are on sale in the County Office 10am-4pm Thurs and Fri and from 7pm-8pm in the Marshes on both days.

I'd expect a big red and black turn out.
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on July 29, 2008, 05:52:56 PM
Quote from: D4S on July 29, 2008, 04:26:49 PM
What is the real reason for the lack of Kilcoo players though or did I hit the nail on the head with my guess?

Hard to say.

Its not as if its a one off season, if it weren't for the bridge, we'd pretty much be the No.1 club in the county over the past 8-10 years or so.

Maybe we're a well balanced 15, with few standouts, but few weak links.

Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 29, 2008, 06:22:51 PM
Was Marty McClean on the panel a year or so ago?
Post by: the milkman on July 29, 2008, 06:24:20 PM
Yeah played a few league games last year!
Post by: Model Hammer on July 30, 2008, 09:56:50 AM
Down lads, what's the verdict on Ross Carr's management at this stage in the season?

There was great excitement at securing the McKenna Cup, then this was followed by an ultimately disastrous League campaign in what was a fairly sticky division. Since then Down have had a good ulster championship with a memorable victory over Tyrone and an impressive run in the Qualifiiers culminating (so far) in a last 12 appearance in Croker.

Ross had to run a gauntlet of fairly vicious abuse after the match in Leitrim, but I presume even those lads would be happy with progress since?

I was at the match in Tullamore, and while the pace of the game was very slow, I was very impressed with the movement, the passing, and the handling and finishing (albeit under mimimal pressure from the backs) of the Down forwards. I presume they met somewhat stickier defenders in Portlaoise yet still racked up 2-11 in the first half. (Actually i saw the highlights and the goals were fairly woefully defended).

I guess if yis get to the Q-Finals or beyond the disappointment of the league will be forgiven. Ye certainly have the momentum anyway. It'll be interesting to see if our lads can recover mentally from the collapse in the final. I'd like to think they have the pride to go out and give it a proper lash.
Post by: western exile on July 30, 2008, 10:09:34 AM

I. for one. am happy with the progress so far.  We were disappointed with the league in the end having finished 3rd when promotion was our aim. However, with reflection, it was not as bad as it seemed at the time.  The one really bad performance and defeat was in Carrick-on-Shannon, and it was that that cost us promotion. Had we won there, where we should have, it would have set up a "realistic" promotion battle with Fermanagh in the last game ( I wont add to the post match comments here  :-X )
We were beaten in Wexford Park by a better team without playing too badly ourselves (ironically without Dan Gordan that day too).
I am very proud of the way they responded in the championship, and am looking forward to a rematch with ye on Saturday.

Post by: thewobbler on July 30, 2008, 10:22:40 AM
I said in the Armagh aftermath thread that if Carr and Kane can get the players motivated for the qualifiers, then they deserve another term or two, and if not we should look elsewhere.

There seems no doubt that the players are motivated by them this year, and i'm delighted to see it, so credit where it's due.

Aside from back-door motivation, Ross and DJ have also had a fair go at resolving a number of recurring issues with Down football over the past decade, principally breaking-ball/first phase possession deficiences, players being played in unnatural positions, a lack of positional discipline when put up against it, and the unwillingness to look for anyone but Coulter as a target for long ball. Down definitely aren't a one-man show these days.

I'd still prefer to see an extra body or two in defence to plug the gaps, but we've definitely moved in the right direction overall this season.
Post by: Down Gael on July 30, 2008, 10:35:45 AM
I think the Leitrim game is well and truly forgotten now, even if we had beaten Leitrim it wouldnt have been enough as our scoring average was a lot less than Fermangh or Wexford. For me the biggest disappointment of the league was the fermanagh game, we were 5 points up with 4 minutes to go and we lost by 2. We just stopped playing for the last couple of minutes. We did something similar against Wexford, only then we stopped playing after 25 minutes. We were 6 points up then, but seemed to take out foot off the gas and Wexford scored 4 points, 10 minutes after the break the game was over. Mattie Ford who hadnt been in the game destroyed us, scoring one goal and making another.
I wouldnt really blame the manager for the loss to Leitrim. There was an attitude that day that we just had to turn up, from everyone, not just the players. It wasnt helped when Benny Coulter found the net with his first touch, my initial reaction was that this was going to be like shooting fish in a barrel. It was, but not for us, we only started to play again in the last 10 minutes and just fell short of a victory. Maybe the managment should have made sure the team wasnt so complacent, but it was just one of those days.
We would be happy enough with things at the minute, we havent been playing football at this time of year for quite some time. The Tyrone game was a huge result for us, you could really see it on the pitch afterwards, players, managment, supporters celebrated like we had won something, in reality it was just first round championship game, but for us it was the first time that this current side had stood up to be counted. We all thought there was a performance like that in them, but no one outside the county believed us. The Armagh game was a bit of a blow, maybe the Armagh supporters wont agree with me, but Down are a much better footballing side than Armagh, more talent, better forwards, a far superior midfield, but maybe our defence just isnt as good as theirs. What we forgot is that Armagh dont play football, not as we know it, they play dirty, they hassle, they foul, they dont let you get going. Its not pretty to watch, but it is very effective. I wont say the best team won on the day, but the cuter, more experienced team won. Down went to Clones to play football, Armagh didnt, but we will learn from that day.
In previous seasons that would have been the end of this team, we would have been looking forward to the McKenna Cup, but they seem to have come out fighting. Maybe we were a bit lucky with the draw, but you can only beat what is put in front of you. Offaly were out of it after 25 minutes, Laois would have been if it hadnt been for Nancys play acting, but for a change we didnt roll over and accept defeat, we dug deep, made the odd mistake, but didnt dwell on them and played ourselves out of trouble. Dan will be a huge loss, he has been the star man of this years championship, but there have been other stars as well. Coulter has been in his best form since 99, he is not just scoring, but bringing the other forwards into the game. Ambrose has found some form and been a great partner for Dan. In defence Luke Howard has been excellent, held McDonnell scoreless and got better and more confident since. But we have had some blows along the way too. Martin Cole our full back and Liam Doyle our centre half back are both out with injury, so too is the man that was sure to light up this championship, Paul McComiskey. All huge losses, but we are still here. We wont win the All Ireland, not a chance, but we are making progress and Ross, like the rest of us will be happy enough with that.
Promotion from Division 3 will be our main objective next year, then a shot at Ulster, anything after that will be a bonus.
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on July 30, 2008, 11:10:57 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 29, 2008, 06:22:51 PM

Apologies, he was indeed.
Post by: armaghniac on July 30, 2008, 11:20:26 AM
QuotePromotion from Division 3 will be our main objective next year, then a shot at Ulster, anything after that will be a bonus.

Since you are so much better footballers than Armagh, these modest targets should be no trouble at all.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 30, 2008, 11:28:34 AM
Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on July 30, 2008, 11:10:57 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 29, 2008, 06:22:51 PM

Apologies, he was indeed.

I wasn't trying to be smart there radio, I honestly wasn't sure! Knew he was on the u21s an all, thought he was brought in aloing with henry, cunningham an all from that squad.
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on July 30, 2008, 11:38:24 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 30, 2008, 11:20:26 AM
Since you are so much better footballers than Armagh, these modest targets should be no trouble at all.

The problem is coping with the smell of puke when we step out onto the field to play you bunch of knuckledraggers  ;D
Post by: whyarerefssobad on July 31, 2008, 11:00:06 AM
now that the Dan thing is sorted let get back to the football this is not going to wins us the game but gives us a chance think it will be a tight game if we can keep forde quiet and get good ball into Clarke and coulter we can do it
Post by: downredblack on July 31, 2008, 11:02:20 AM
Anyone know any GAA pubs in Newcastle ?(england)  :'(  :( Fooking going mad
Post by: lfdown2 on July 31, 2008, 11:06:59 AM
great news that dans available, it should be enough to sway it in our favour! Though we are up against what was until the Leinster final the only unbeaten team in the country, beating ourselves, the ulster finalists and Meath to name a few along the way! There is a lot of talk as Kerry being a wounded animal going into their game with Monaghan, well no more than Wexford will be, they will be extremely disappointed with their last display in Croke Park and will be out to rectify it, a team also that will not be short of confidence in facing Down its prob the draw that both teams wanted!
So imo if Down can keep they're heads out of the clouds and unlike some posters realise they have a game on they're hands the return of dan should just be enough!
Thanks lads for the year so far!!keep er lit!!
Post by: full back on July 31, 2008, 11:07:44 AM
Quote from: downredblack on July 31, 2008, 11:02:20 AM

There is an Irsih pub up beside St James Park
I know they show games
Post by: D4S on July 31, 2008, 11:09:37 AM
A little bit of googling goes a long way :) O'Neills on Neville Street in city centre, O'Neills is a chain in most english cities decent pubs I was in the Leeds one before...or you could try the Tyneside Irish Centre near St James Park just google it.  The Irish centres in english cities are normally fairly old and not the nicest but great atmosphere for matches as all the irish living in the city head there to watch the matches!
Post by: upthehoops on July 31, 2008, 11:12:14 AM
I don't think that keeping our lads heads out of the clouds is the problem. it is instilling self belief and accepting that we can go further yet respecting the fact that Wexford are a decent team with quite a receny hyistory of playing at HQ.
Good to have Dan on board but there is a job to be done.
Post by: lfdown2 on July 31, 2008, 11:16:55 AM
dont get me wrong I'm not saying the lads are over confident! Just some supporters seem to see it as a matter of turning up!! I think the lads are confident in their own ability just as you say as long as they remember there's a job to be done!!
Post by: D4S on July 31, 2008, 11:23:46 AM
If referring to supporters like myself who have confidence, I 100% understand there is a big job in hand I think Wexford will bounce back, they'll be happy with the draw and will be quietly fancying themselves to progress. However  if Dan had stayed on the field last weekend we'd possibly have run out winners by 9 or 10 points and been suprememly confident this weekend.  Having him back for Saturday gives me great confidence that we can continue on this run and reach the quarter finals, all be it by a narrow margin, I do not expect wexford to collapse in croke park 2 games running, they are a good side and will be trying to restore some pride.
Post by: spiritof91and94 on July 31, 2008, 11:27:49 AM
Quote from: D4S on July 31, 2008, 11:23:46 AM
If referring to supporters like myself who have confidence, I 100% understand there is a big job in hand I think Wexford will bounce back, they'll be happy with the draw and will be quietly fancying themselves to progress. However  if Dan had stayed on the field last weekend we'd possibly have run out winners by 9 or 10 points and been suprememly confident this weekend.  Having him back for Saturday gives me great confidence that we can continue on this run and reach the quarter finals, all be it by a narrow margin, I do not expect wexford to collapse in croke park 2 games running, they are a good side and will be trying to restore some pride.

All the Down Players should use this as a lesson that getting involved even in handbags can effect the team badly - given the decisions we have seen this year to date by officials
Post by: D4S on July 31, 2008, 11:34:04 AM
Maybe it has all happened for a reason ;) If we'd ran out 10point winners against laois perhaps the pundits and other teams would have sat up took note and said hold on this must now be a decent Down side.  As it is we got by with a 2point win, we now face Wexford and I would not fear Cork, Galway or Armagh in the quarters if we win!  I wouldn't mind avoiding Dublin for another while ;D
Post by: southdown on July 31, 2008, 01:43:42 PM
What sort of attendance is anyone expecting?  Id say about 35-40,000 total for the double header
Post by: western exile on July 31, 2008, 01:51:46 PM
Quote from: southdown on July 31, 2008, 01:43:42 PM
What sort of attendance is anyone expecting?  Id say about 35-40,000 total for the double header
Triple header!  Let us not forget our comrades from the northern side of the Lagan  ;)
It should be a good crowd.  Mayo always bring a huge support.
Post by: Jinxy on July 31, 2008, 02:09:47 PM
I fancy Wexford for this one. Should be a good open game.
Post by: Down Gael on July 31, 2008, 02:12:44 PM
I take it we`ll all be in to watch Antrim. It would be nice to give them an extra bit of support and in turn they`ll stay on to support us and Tyrone.

Anyone like to take a guess at the starting line up?

From my experience O`Neills pubs dont usually show GAA games, try the Irish centre, 0191 2610384
Post by: Model Hammer on July 31, 2008, 02:49:47 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 31, 2008, 02:09:47 PM
I fancy Wexford for this one. Should be a good open game.

Well, we'll have to compete at midfield this time. There's almost an acceptance that our defence are going to concede a sizeable score to a good team. So we really have to cut out the supply. I'm a firm believer that breaking ball is what wins games (or "carpet ball" as I heard the Kerry lads call it this year).

Two simple rules for Wexford on Saturday:
1. Do not concede clean possession at midfield (all day)
2. Win the breaking ball battle

There's a certain amount of luck involved in 2 above, but it often comes down to who wants the ball more.

The first half of the Meath game was just a fisaco for WX at midfield. Rory Stafford hasn't recovered from it yet. In the 2nd half I don't think we won any clean ball, but we hoovered up the breaks. Against Laois we caught one ball clean in midfield all day, but again we lorded the breaking ball. Against Dublin we were back to our old tricks, conceding clean ball all day and our half lines went AWOL at the breaks.

It's a simple enough game. We're essentially down to 2 capable midfielders now, and Howlin needs to get his finger out after his performance in the Leinster Final. I would expect us to make it fairly crowded out there to try and ensure we're not overrun. Doyle could be employed out there to make a nuisance of himself as a 3rd midfielder. He did well against Laois but he was eaten alive by Dublin. As usual then we need Red Barry in there pulling the strings, then we have enough up front to do some damage.

Overall it's already been a great year for the footballers, but they'll want restore some pride before they (eventually) bow out of the championship. Who knows, a win on Saturday and they might get another crack at the Dubs  :o

It's great for Wexford to be playing championship football in August, but there'll be more Wickow fans than Wexford in Croke Park, so I hope they'll be in good voice! The support in the Leinster Final was brilliant, but expect normal service to be resumed this weekend. No matter, the players are well used to it ....
Post by: downredblack on July 31, 2008, 04:20:01 PM
Quote from: Down Gael on July 31, 2008, 02:12:44 PM
I take it we`ll all be in to watch Antrim. It would be nice to give them an extra bit of support and in turn they`ll stay on to support us and Tyrone.

Anyone like to take a guess at the starting line up?

From my experience O`Neills pubs dont usually show GAA games, try the Irish centre, 0191 2610384

Thks. Gael . Hopefully I can get sorted . Hope all Down boys / girls have a great day out in "the smoke" .
Post by: full back on July 31, 2008, 05:47:33 PM
Quote from: D4S on July 31, 2008, 11:09:37 AM
...or you could try the Tyneside Irish Centre near St James Park

Yeah, thats the one
They have been showing plenty of games in the Championship so far this year
Post by: armaghniac on July 31, 2008, 07:49:29 PM
QuoteHope all Down boys / girls have a great day out in "the smoke" .

I know you haven't been in Croke Pk recently, but smoking isn't allowed there now. Which is a vast improvement.
Post by: mournerambler on July 31, 2008, 09:48:47 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 31, 2008, 07:49:29 PM
QuoteHope all Down boys / girls have a great day out in "the smoke" .

I know you haven't been in Croke Pk recently, but smoking isn't allowed there now. Which is a vast improvement.
And what have Armagh got to show for their much talked about outings in Croke Park & dominance of the Ulster championship in the last ten years, 1 All-Ireland & a couple of Ulster titles ;D
Post by: downgirl on July 31, 2008, 10:17:26 PM
Anybody know roughly how much it is to leave the car in the car park in central station all day on Saturday?
Post by: Yes I Would on July 31, 2008, 10:39:10 PM
Quote from: full back on July 31, 2008, 11:07:44 AM

I know they show games

Irish centre opposite St James's is the place to watch it. Do tasty pints as well.
Stay clear of O Neills, they likely wont be showing it!
Post by: heffo on July 31, 2008, 10:43:50 PM
Quote from: Yes I Would on July 31, 2008, 10:39:10 PM
Quote from: full back on July 31, 2008, 11:07:44 AM
Anyone know any GAA pubs in Newcastle ?(england)  :'(  :( Fooking going mad

I know they show games

Irish centre opposite St James's is the place to watch it. Do tasty pints as well.
Stay clear of O Neills, they likely wont be showing it!

Decent spot - no windows in the 'Lounge' can be a bit freaky when you walk out after an afternoon's drinking though!
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on July 31, 2008, 10:44:22 PM

Have they cleaned up the puke your lot left all over the pitch?
Post by: Yes I Would on July 31, 2008, 10:51:36 PM
Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on July 31, 2008, 10:44:22 PM

Have they cleaned up the puke your lot left all over the pitch?

Thats well washed away at this stage!!
Post by: armaghniac on July 31, 2008, 10:53:16 PM
QuoteAnd what have Armagh got to show for their much talked about outings in Croke Park & dominance of the Ulster championship in the last ten years, 1 All-Ireland & a couple of Ulster titles

1 All-Ireland and 7 Ulsters may be less than Armagh deserve, but it is better than 1 McKenna cup. Better to dominate, and not quite win everything, than to be a disgrace to the memory of your illustrious predecessors.  Please do better on Sunday.

QuoteHave they cleaned up the puke your lot left all over the pitch?

What a witty quip. Are you the new Oscar Wilde?
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on July 31, 2008, 10:58:40 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 31, 2008, 10:53:16 PM

Did he hate to watch the game being butchered by a bunch of no marks* too?

*plus Stevie McDonnell & Ronan Clarke - they are good footballers surrounded by water carriers.
Post by: amallon on August 01, 2008, 09:32:30 AM
Down team v Wexford is as follows:
Brendan McVeigh
Luke Howard
Peter Turley
Colm Murney
Paul Murphy
Aidan Carr
Kevin McGuigan
Dan Gordan
Ambrose Rodgers
John Fegan
Kevin McKernan
Danny Hughes
Ronan Murtagh
John Clarke
Brendan Coulter
Post by: imdagaffer on August 01, 2008, 09:35:15 AM
This thread is pretty quiet .... compared to usual,

AMALLON Thanks for the team,

Is McComiskey still injured?
Post by: No1 on August 01, 2008, 09:57:55 AM
That defence still scares the shite outta me!

What's the craic with Dee Rafferty's injury?
Post by: southdown on August 01, 2008, 10:37:54 AM
I think Murtagh is lucky again to get a starting place.  Fair play to Turley, has taken his chance well.  Still, this is a debut championship season for the entire full back line, the wide open spaces of Croke Parke and Mattie Forde cause some worry.
Post by: Uladh on August 01, 2008, 10:45:36 AM

Down should have enough firepower to get through saturday ok. there is plenty of goals in that forward line against a defence like wexford's. obviously the same could be said at the other end but down will win more possession in the midfield sector i imagine.

two worst defences left in the championship -

Down 7 - 19, Wexford 5 - 18.
Post by: D4S on August 01, 2008, 10:50:25 AM
The object of the game Uladh is to score more than the other team....I'd take that result no problem ;D ;D ;D
Post by: upthehoops on August 01, 2008, 10:53:04 AM
Think back 2 months. we were all convinced Healy Park was a worry. Then we thought Tyrone couldn't make a second mistake.
a week ago after 15 mins of the second half Laois was like a steam train coming down the track but we held on, thanks mainly to that inexperienced Full Back line for whom Turley and Howard were excellent.
I think we are all apprehensive about tomorrow but we are playing Championship football in August when we had no aspirations to some months ago. Croke Park has been some what bereft of true colour since 1994. There is no sight in the world like the masses in red and black.An Dún Abú.
Post by: buglebhoy on August 01, 2008, 11:05:48 AM
from rte

It's almost impossible to tell how Wexford will react to their humiliating Leinster final defeat to Dublin.

Manager Jason Ryan did brilliantly to lead the Slaneysiders to their first provincial decider in over 50 years, but there might be a part of him that now wishes that the magnificent comeback they produced against Meath had fallen just short.

But no-one in their right mind can argue that Wexford are 23 points worse than the Dubs, and Ryan will surely have been pushing the line that the back-door offers his men an immediate opportunity to repair the damage.

There were plenty of positives to be taken from their first-half performance at Croke Park. Mattie Forde looked especially dangerous every time he received decent ball, but when the supply dried up he was powerless to prevent the rout.

That means the midfield battle will be crucial, and Wexford may be in trouble there. Dan Gordan was rightly cleared of any wrongdoing after Padraig Clancy's antics led to the Down man being dismissed against Laois last Saturday.

Gordan has formed an impressive partnership with Ambrose Rodgers, which has laid the foundation for the Ulster side's progress this summer.

Down manager Ross Carr has been forced to bring in Peter Turley at full-back in place of the injured Martin Cole, but he will feel the momentum his side have built up since their defeat by Armagh should stand them in good stead.

Dublin exposed the Wexford full-back line time and again, and the Model men could be destroyed by Benny Coulter alone if they haven't found a solution to their problems back there.

The Mourne men's lack of games at Croke Park may put them at a slight disadvantage, but Wexford's harrowing experience on their last visit to Headquarters will hardly do them any favours.

Verdict: Down
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on August 01, 2008, 11:13:06 AM
Quote from: Uladh on August 01, 2008, 10:45:36 AM
two worst defences left in the championship -

Aye... some teams don't play 13 men in their defence... imagine that  ;) :D
Post by: Uladh on August 01, 2008, 11:16:46 AM
Aye, but they don't beat anyone of consequence or stay in the championship too long though...
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on August 01, 2008, 11:19:35 AM
Quote from: Uladh on August 01, 2008, 11:16:46 AM
Aye, but they don't beat anyone of consequence or stay in the championship too long though...

Nor do they bore any gaels to death.  ;D
Post by: D4S on August 01, 2008, 11:30:38 AM

We beat Tyrone, who are also still in the championship and are fancied to beat mayo this weekend, we didnt perform at all against armagh and got beat by 4...we can only beat what is put in front of us, if we win this weekend I wouldnt fear armagh in the quarters in the slightest, watched you both days in clones against fermanagh  wouldn't bother me to get yous at all!
Post by: Uladh on August 01, 2008, 11:41:46 AM
Of course it wouldn't, sure you boys are well accustomed to losing at this stage.

Even though they've improved, Tyrone ain't great and you could only get to within four points of an armagh team with 14 men for the whole second half - some attacking force all right.
Post by: D4S on August 01, 2008, 11:58:55 AM
We're an improving team not the so called force armagh are!  Truth be told, after 2 exciting high intensity games against Tyrone (if you'd been at them you would have been entertained by both teams resilience), I think nerves got the better of us in clones.  This was new ground for a lot of these fellas.  It's been a while since we could even compete with Tyrone and Armagh.  The important factor was then how would we respond to the armagh defeat.  We responded exellently, fair enough it was Offaly we drew (away from home) but this down team has been beaten by Sligo and Longford in recent years in the qualifiers.  We put in a great performance and the game was over at a halftime, foot off the pedal and still won by 18points.  Round 2 we drew Laois(away from home) a much tougher task another exellent first half performance led by 9.  Then we all know by now how the 2nd half of this game changed due to the sending off of Gordon...this would have been a huge plus to the Laois players and kicked them into gear.  Down worked their socks off to hold out and win by 2points, away from home in a qualifier game (again something that would not have happened a short time ago).  I think they have learned alot from these 2games and hopefully after a big performance tomorrow we will be in the quarters and I wouldnt fear Armagh at all, they would be facing a much improved Down side with no nerves this time only brimming with confidence.  Of course that last bit is all hypothetical :)
Post by: islandboy on August 01, 2008, 12:16:40 PM
stop getting carried away with armagh. down will do well to win tomorrow. our defence is poor. against laois they could have scored two goals in first half. think tomorrow will be very tough and not sure who can mark forde. still think we will win but not by much.
Post by: D4S on August 01, 2008, 12:33:58 PM
If you read my post you will see I say hopefully a big performance tomorrow and I've said in previous posts tomorrow will be a tough task...the rest about armagh is hypothetical, as much on this board is :)
Post by: western exile on August 01, 2008, 12:39:38 PM
It will be no easy task to beat Wexford in Croke Park.  I agree with Uladh (for a change  ;D )  that it is the 2 remaining teams which have conceded the most so far this championship.  But they have also notched up big scores too.  The game will be all about Forde & Co  versus Coulter & Co.  I think / hope that the ball winning and supply to the forwards will be just that  little better from Down.
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on August 01, 2008, 01:14:27 PM
Out of interest, who are the highest scoring teams still left in the championship?
Post by: corn02 on August 01, 2008, 01:23:29 PM
Quote from: D4S on August 01, 2008, 11:30:38 AM

we didnt perform at all against armagh and got beat by 4...we can only beat what is put in front of us, if we win this weekend I wouldnt fear armagh in the quarters in the slightest, watched you both days in clones against fermanagh  wouldn't bother me to get yous at all!

You see that is stupoid. You dominated midfield, played against 14 for a half and still got beat by four. Comprehensively beaten and I really don't see where your confidence comes from as we are the only side who have easily took care of yous this year.

Down should have a couple to spare, Coulter hitting form and Gordon being there will be a big boost. Seriously though, that defence is in such contrast to your attack.
Post by: full back on August 01, 2008, 01:24:23 PM
Fair play to Down in getting this far.
Although, if Laois had taken the goal chance at the end I think it would be them & not Down going through.
A lot will depend on the midfield battle. If Gordon & co win at least 60% in the middle third and get it in early Down should come out on top.
I feel Forde & co are more economical and if the midfield battle is even Wexford will come out on top
Post by: corn02 on August 01, 2008, 01:26:04 PM
Quote from: corn02 on August 01, 2008, 01:23:29 PM
Quote from: D4S on August 01, 2008, 11:30:38 AM

we didnt perform at all against armagh and got beat by 4...we can only beat what is put in front of us, if we win this weekend I wouldnt fear armagh in the quarters in the slightest, watched you both days in clones against fermanagh  wouldn't bother me to get yous at all!

You see that is stupoid.

I'll jump in before someone else does.
Post by: D4S on August 01, 2008, 01:42:48 PM
 :D :D :D :D :D :D :D Fair play!

We will all soon see, not long to wait, it's the business end of the championship now, will be nice to be involved for a change and hopefully we'll still be in the hat come Sunday evening! 
Post by: western exile on August 01, 2008, 02:11:48 PM
Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on August 01, 2008, 01:14:27 PM
Out of interest, who are the highest scoring teams still left in the championship?

Down share the prize of having both the highest score total and conceding the highest scores in the championship to date.
Wexford have the second highest scores conceded.
Post by: full back on August 01, 2008, 02:12:33 PM
Quote from: D4S on August 01, 2008, 01:42:48 PM

We will all soon see, not long to wait, it's the business end of the championship now, will be nice to be involved for a change and hopefully we'll still be in the hat come Sunday evening! 

You are some tool  :D
Before the Ulster semi you were mouthing off like fcuk - after we sent you home with your tail between your legs you seemd to go into your shell a bit, but true to form (as a Down man) you are back loud & brash as ever after beating a few sleeping giants in the qualifiers.
Post by: western exile on August 01, 2008, 02:15:45 PM
Down
games played    5
for                  10-71
against              6-66
scoring average  1.202

Wexford
games played     3
for                    2-41
against              5-48
scoring average  0.746
Post by: D4S on August 01, 2008, 02:21:53 PM
Quote from: full back on August 01, 2008, 02:12:33 PM
Quote from: D4S on August 01, 2008, 01:42:48 PM

You are some tool  :D
Before the Ulster semi you were mouthing off like fcuk - after we sent you home with your tail between your legs you seemd to go into your shell a bit, but true to form (as a Down man) you are back loud & brash as ever after beating a few sleeping giants in the qualifiers.

I was laughing sayin fair play cos I thought it was funny you acknowledging that you spelt stupid wrong...As for your comment about being loud and brash you must be totally misinterpreting what I'm saying I don't think I am either...but I stand by what I said that if we beat wexford tomorrow with a good team performance I won't fear Armagh in the quarters if we get them
Post by: southdown on August 01, 2008, 03:50:32 PM
I wouldnt fear Armagh either, especially after the way they played in the 2 Fermanagh matches.
Post by: mournerambler on August 01, 2008, 06:03:29 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 31, 2008, 10:53:16 PM
QuoteAnd what have Armagh got to show for their much talked about outings in Croke Park & dominance of the Ulster championship in the last ten years, 1 All-Ireland & a couple of Ulster titles

1 All-Ireland and 7 Ulsters may be less than Armagh deserve, but it is better than 1 McKenna cup. Better to dominate, and not quite win everything, than to be a disgrace to the memory of your illustrious predecessors.  Please do better on Sunday.

QuoteHave they cleaned up the puke your lot left all over the pitch?

Obviously you did'nt understand the question the first time you gobshite, Armagh did'nt win 7 Ulster's in Croke Park!
Then again when you have only 1 All-Ireland & a couple of  Ulsters to show for your exploits @ headquarters, a bunch of lies will make it look a little bit better on the blinkered eyes of the Armagh supporters.
Any problems understanding this reply just give me a shout & i will have it done in braile for you.
Post by: armaghniac on August 01, 2008, 06:18:36 PM
QuoteObviously you did'nt understand the question the first time you gobshite

So you call someone a gobshite for saying "1 All-Ireland and 7 Ulsters may be less than Armagh deserve".
Classy response.

QuoteArmagh did'nt win 7 Ulster's in Croke Park!
Well we won a whole lot more Ulster finals in Croke Pk than anyone else!!  ;D

QuoteAny problems understanding this reply just give me a shout & i will have it done in braile for you.
As you are so keen to help by all means post the Braille here, to be sure, to be sure. When you do remember that didn't isn't spelt did'nt.

Post by: dodgy umpire on August 01, 2008, 06:56:57 PM
why are armagh fans slabbering on a down vs wexford thread? feeling a bit insecure or just bored..
Post by: Yes I Would on August 01, 2008, 07:45:08 PM
Why Britney Dodgy??
Post by: SCENTOFSAM on August 01, 2008, 07:47:57 PM
Quote from: dodgy umpire on August 01, 2008, 06:56:57 PM
why are armagh fans slabbering on a down vs wexford thread? feeling a bit insecure or just bored..
shower of w**kers
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 01, 2008, 08:42:10 PM
QuoteFair play to Down in getting this far.

Hear hear, I'm delighted for them.  Great to see them getting a go at playing in the Croker, it's been a while.
Post by: downgirl on August 01, 2008, 09:38:44 PM
Guess what, my friend ordered the tickets for tomorrow from Croke Park, and they sent us out ones for SUNDAY!!!  He phoned them up and got it all fixed anyway...he said to the girl do we need to bring down the ones you sent out and she said ah sure no just rip them up there...so he could technically sell them??!!
Post by: johnpower on August 01, 2008, 10:04:34 PM
Would like to see this one live but will only be allowed one trip to Croker .This may well be the most entertaining and open game of the weekend as both teams play simillar games . Having seen both live this year I expect Down to pull through but will need to protect their full back line in the open spaces of Croker . Having Dan Gordon back is a big boost .Jason Ryan strikes me as the type of manager who could well lift his troops and get them back on track
Post by: Stevie Nicks on August 01, 2008, 10:50:08 PM
Quote from: SCENTOFSAM on August 01, 2008, 07:47:57 PM
Quote from: dodgy umpire on August 01, 2008, 06:56:57 PM
shower of w**kers
[/quote

Same reason as Down fans were on the Ulster Final thread. You would have thought the title ULSTER FINAL would have put them off as they were nowhere near it ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: johnpower on August 01, 2008, 10:52:41 PM
Down fans .Who was the no 31 against Laois ?
Post by: armaghniac on August 02, 2008, 02:20:37 PM
Half way through the first half Wex 1-03 Down 0-03. Wexford seem in good heart after the Dublin debacle, Down haven't put them under real pressure.
Post by: Stevie Nicks on August 02, 2008, 02:23:18 PM
Keep updates coming, stuck in work >:( Who scored Wexford's goal?
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 02, 2008, 02:25:14 PM
Lyng scored it and they could/should have had another one....

an appalling attendance at the match considering its a triple header
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 02, 2008, 02:27:19 PM
Banville a 2nd goal...high ball in and keeper/Murphy dropped it for him to tap in
Post by: magpie seanie on August 02, 2008, 02:30:59 PM
2-3 to 0-7 to Wex now. 4 frees out of 4 by Carr who is the spit of his Da.
Post by: HowdyDoody on August 02, 2008, 02:39:07 PM
wex 2-05 down 0-07 half time
Post by: corn02 on August 02, 2008, 02:54:27 PM
Quote from: southdown on August 01, 2008, 03:50:32 PM
I wouldnt fear Armagh either, especially after the way they played in the 2 Fermanagh matches.

Fermanagh a much better team than Down.
Post by: corn02 on August 02, 2008, 02:56:23 PM
Lads the turnover count was a disgrace.

No surprise McGuigan was off , he had a stinker. Down to win by two.
Post by: Jinxy on August 02, 2008, 02:57:18 PM
Mattie Forde looks like he has zero interest in being out there.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 02, 2008, 02:59:01 PM
Lyng slipped just as he was about to tap the ball into the Down net. Huge let off. Down full-back line is a bit shambolic.
Post by: Hound on August 02, 2008, 03:01:16 PM
Keep score updates coming please lads.
Post by: HowdyDoody on August 02, 2008, 03:02:12 PM
Wex 2-05 Down 0-08
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 02, 2008, 03:04:57 PM
What a miss that was from Hughes.
Post by: HowdyDoody on August 02, 2008, 03:06:19 PM
Wex 2-06 Down 0-08
Post by: Puckoon on August 02, 2008, 03:07:00 PM
Its not a great spectacle. Down showing little fight.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 02, 2008, 03:07:19 PM
2-7 to 0-8 now
Post by: Square Ball on August 02, 2008, 03:09:25 PM
every time Down blow an oppertunity, Wexford go up the other end and score. 4 down can they claw this back?
Post by: HowdyDoody on August 02, 2008, 03:09:42 PM
Wex 2-07  Down 0-09
Post by: Tatler Jack on August 02, 2008, 03:11:21 PM
Hard to bellieve this Down team put up such big scores in previous games. No movement in forwards and unless they get a goal soon Wexford will win. However Wexford look more likely to get a goal
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 02, 2008, 03:13:16 PM
Wexford the better team really. Should be further ahead. Leaves Down with a chance yet.
Post by: HowdyDoody on August 02, 2008, 03:14:51 PM
Wex 2-07 Down 0-10
Post by: HowdyDoody on August 02, 2008, 03:16:41 PM
Wex 2-08 Down 0-10
Post by: imtommygunn on August 02, 2008, 03:17:31 PM
Awful game.Down are not playing well at all. I'd expected a lot lot more from Rodgers and Gordon.
Post by: HowdyDoody on August 02, 2008, 03:19:07 PM
Wex 2-09 Down 0-10  12 mins left
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 02, 2008, 03:20:03 PM
2-10 to 0-10 now....
Post by: Square Ball on August 02, 2008, 03:21:35 PM
thought that Down would have won this game, 7 down now and its all over
Post by: Puckoon on August 02, 2008, 03:21:42 PM
Down's basic handling and fist passing is terrible. Just turning the ball over time and time again.
Post by: HowdyDoody on August 02, 2008, 03:22:31 PM
Wex 2-11 Down 0-11 
Post by: HowdyDoody on August 02, 2008, 03:25:30 PM
Wex 2-12 Down 0-11    6 mins left
Post by: Square Ball on August 02, 2008, 03:26:12 PM
the Tommy Murphy cup was a better game  ;D
Post by: HowdyDoody on August 02, 2008, 03:26:53 PM
Your right
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 02, 2008, 03:27:29 PM
2-12 to 0-11 now.....Guess Wexford weren't such a bad team after all!!!
Post by: HowdyDoody on August 02, 2008, 03:27:42 PM
Wex 2-12 Down 0-12
Post by: Stevie Nicks on August 02, 2008, 03:29:07 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 02, 2008, 03:27:29 PM

Fair play to them that is some performance off the back of the Leinster Final however it shows where Down really are too ;D ;D. Poor crowd in croker to watch it as well
Post by: magpie seanie on August 02, 2008, 03:29:24 PM
How good is Ulster this year? How good are Dublin? On this form its a capital stay for Sam.

Wexford have completely lorded this game.
Post by: Abble on August 02, 2008, 03:31:01 PM
the minute the rain came on the down team didnt want to know

Post by: armaghniac on August 02, 2008, 03:32:14 PM
QuoteHow good is Ulster this year? How good are Dublin? On this form its a capital stay for Sam.

While Down played better against Tyrone and Armagh than they did today, it does reflect well on Dublin that they could get a record score against a decent Wexford team. I'd pile on the Jacks at this stage, but we'll see what sort of form Kerry are in.
Post by: HowdyDoody on August 02, 2008, 03:32:29 PM
Wex 2-13 Down 0-12   Full Time
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 02, 2008, 03:33:13 PM
Quote from: Stevie Nicks on August 02, 2008, 03:29:07 PM

Fair play to them that is some performance off the back of the Leinster Final however it shows where Down really are too ;D ;D. Poor crowd in croker to watch it as well

Well considering Down beat Tyrone and came very close to Armagh and had supposedly the best midfielder in Ulster this year they have got taken apart by a team who are coming off a 23 point beating in their last match....maybe Ulster isn't really that strong after all...
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 02, 2008, 03:34:03 PM
Quote from: Stevie Nicks on August 02, 2008, 03:29:07 PM

Half the Down ones are still looking for Croker, probably better off!

I do think ulster is quite poor this year.
Post by: dodgy umpire on August 02, 2008, 03:34:12 PM
awful lot of wasteful shooting here by down when goals are needed. that wexford point sums it up
Post by: corn02 on August 02, 2008, 03:37:10 PM
A bit of an embarassing performance to be fair, felt sorry for Coulter - no supply, no help - any time he got the ball he shopwed a touch of class.

Really should have been doubnle scores.

Hughes tried hard too, midfield cleaned out.
Post by: INDIANA on August 02, 2008, 03:38:37 PM
rather than talking about dublin, surely jason ryan should get a huge amount of credit? 31 and possibly pound for pound the best manager in the game. You have to factor in down beat laois and offaly, so that doesn't show leinster up too well. look fair play to wexford, but it was brutal stuff lads. wouldn't give dublin any kudos yet. there is a soft draw for armagh,cork and galway.
Jesus its hard to know have down made any real progress based on that.a div 3 team. you'd worry for tyrone now.
Post by: Jinxy on August 02, 2008, 03:40:40 PM
Down wiped out around the middle. Dan Gordon pretty anonymous. Just as well Carr was on his game with the free's or it could have been very embarrassing.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 02, 2008, 03:44:39 PM
We all know reading form lines through games is a dangerous science. I fancied Wexford today as I didn't buy into them being unable to get over the thrashing. As Wexford footballers they will have seen many tough days before. That said, Down totally collapsed and underperformed. If they played up to form they would have taken advantage of Wexford's wastefulness.

Agree with Indiana on Jason Ryan. His achievements already are pretty impressive.
Post by: Hound on August 02, 2008, 03:44:52 PM
Thanks for the updates. Well done Wexford!
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 02, 2008, 03:51:20 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 02, 2008, 03:38:37 PM
rather than talking about dublin, surely jason ryan should get a huge amount of credit? 31 and possibly pound for pound the best manager in the game. You have to factor in down beat laois and offaly, so that doesn't show leinster up too well. look fair play to wexford, but it was brutal stuff lads. wouldn't give dublin any kudos yet. there is a soft draw for armagh,cork and galway.
Jesus its hard to know have down made any real progress based on that.a div 3 team. you'd worry for tyrone now.

Agree Jason Ryan should get credit but think the abuse they took after the Dublin game was way over the top. Laois/Offaly are both weak teams and Wexford comfortably beat Laois also...Down beat Tyrone and gave Armagh a tough game as did Fermanagh another Div 3 team so nothing there to say that Armagh etc will find them easy at all..
Post by: INDIANA on August 02, 2008, 03:55:19 PM
true but armagh were brutal that day. 2 armagh fans today told me to put money on wexford because they felt down were awfully poor. i thought they were better than  that but as is said league tables don't lie and down didn't even promoted.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 02, 2008, 04:50:51 PM
Not a bit surprised Wexford won,I saw both Wexford and Down play and beat Laois this year.
I always thought Wexford were/are better than they showed in the Leinster Final and i fully expected them to win today,and thats why i predicted this in the qualifiers prediction thread and also had a €50 on them to win :)
Post by: Yes I Would on August 02, 2008, 06:39:41 PM
At least thats the Down folk pilgrimage to Croker out of the way for the next 15 odd years.

Looked at one stage that neither team genuinely wanted to win the game. Forde seemd to be motoring in about third gear. Middle third Down wiped out.
Be amazed if Wexford go much further but at least they have erased some of the ghosts of Leinster final.
Cant see where An Dun go from here.
Post by: PatDaly on August 02, 2008, 06:59:33 PM
Down fans thought they'd be playing Armagh again this year  :D :D :D :D :D

They were an embarrassment to Ulster today. An injured Mattie Forde almost single handedly beat them.

Post by: pintsofguinness on August 02, 2008, 07:09:19 PM
They were an embarrassment to Ulster today
Yeah but it was worth it for the laugh.  :D
Post by: INDIANA on August 02, 2008, 07:14:27 PM
well wobbler earlier in the week stated the christy ring had no business being on ahead of a qualifier match in terms of Tv coverage, after that today i'm not so sure.
Post by: Mourne Rover on August 02, 2008, 07:25:52 PM
Congratulations to Wexford, who should have won by a wider margin. We have made strong progress this season, but we were brutal today. The business with Dan did not help, and the Laois game took a lot of out us, but we still picked the wrong team, had no real tactical plan and played with little spirit or shape. It was hard to watch in a barin in Spain,and only Aidan Carr and to a lesser extend Peter Turley and Benny Coulter can hold their heads high. McGuigan, Murtagh and particularly Fegan should never have started, and the rest were largely anonymous. We will pick ourselves up and start again.
Post by: the milkman on August 02, 2008, 07:35:27 PM
Quote from: PatDaly on August 02, 2008, 06:59:33 PM
Down fans thought they'd be playing Armagh again this year  :D :D :D :D :D

They were an embarrassment to Ulster today. An injured Mattie Forde almost single handedly beat them.

Yeah that show last sunday was a great advert for Ulster football.....................ZUKE!!!!
Post by: Down Gael on August 02, 2008, 08:00:32 PM
Down just didnt get going today, they looked very tired. Some very basic errors cost us dearly. Two very slack goals, but I think they summed up our defence all year. Comical at times.
Never the less real progress has been made this year, so now is not the time to slag anyone off. Lads who played badly today will be feeling it a lot more than us. We need to build on this and make more progress next year. Down have been training for 9 months now so a break will do them no harm.
Promotion from Division 3 is a must next year.
Post by: thewobbler on August 02, 2008, 08:15:13 PM
It's hard to know what exactly went wrong today, but we can't keep blaming poor performances in the rain on the conditions. It definitely looked like we were too complacent, that we weren't expecting much of an opposition from Wexford.

Down never really got going, and principally because we got cleaned out at midfield. I can't be sure, but I'd wager that from the 15th minute onwards we never once won two kickouts in succession. All our success this year has been a direct result of blowing teams away at midfield, but today we were worse than very ordinary.

As a result, we never got any fluidity, any intensity. None of our forwards got a chance to stamp their authority on the game.

That aside, the problems with handling and handpassing were, frankly, disturbing. I've seen this things happen so many times at club football, i.e. one or two players are off the game and can't manage the basics, and before long it spreads throughout the team. I've rarely seen it happen at county level though.

Truly a day to forget. Joe Brolly summed it up nicely when suggesting that all the good things Down have done in this Championship have been blotted from memory with that performance.   
Post by: Hardy on August 02, 2008, 08:16:12 PM
I thought O'Rourke and Brolly went way over the top in criticising Down and their analysis tested the line between valid comment and sneering.
Post by: INDIANA on August 02, 2008, 09:04:57 PM
to a point hardy, but this is senior inter county football, down wouldn't have beaten too many club teams today.
Post by: full back on August 02, 2008, 09:23:21 PM
While I dont like to laugh at teams , today was a f**king joke and showed Down up for what they are - a below average team.
Some of the passing today was terrible, you would think the Down boys never played together.
Both teams shooting was poor and Wexford are definitely the plum draw of the next round.
Poor deluded Down fans :D
Post by: TBT on August 02, 2008, 09:35:26 PM
you'd have to pity Ross Carr, he done a hell of a job to get such  a limited side so far. Down are a division 4 side in terms of talent and ability.
Post by: full back on August 02, 2008, 09:40:05 PM
Quote from: TBT on August 02, 2008, 09:35:26 PM
you'd have to pity Ross Carr, he done a hell of a job to get such  a limited side so far. Down are a division 4 side in terms of talent and ability.

Agree, Carr has done very very well to get this Down side so far
Post by: the milkman on August 02, 2008, 10:05:24 PM
Quote from: TBT on August 02, 2008, 09:35:26 PM

Complete nonsense.
Post by: clarshack on August 02, 2008, 10:16:11 PM
at least we wont be hearing that corny phrase 'there's nothing like a confident down man' for a while! ;)
Post by: orangeman on August 02, 2008, 10:25:35 PM
Down's undoing was the draw they got last Sunday night - complaceny set in - all they had to do in their minds was turn up  - that combined with Wexford playing out of their skins, gathering nearly EVERY break ball that was going, and a little luck threw in, condemned Down to looking ahead to 2009.
Post by: Yes I Would on August 03, 2008, 12:45:45 AM
Quote from: orangeman on August 02, 2008, 10:25:35 PM
Down's undoing was the draw they got last Sunday night - complaceny set in - all they had to do in their minds was turn up  - that combined with Wexford playing out of their skins, gathering nearly EVERY break ball that was going, and a little luck threw in, condemned Down to looking ahead to 2009.

Agree that complacency could have been a factor, obvious considering the unmerciful hiding Wexford got from the Dubs.
I have seen Wexford playing much better than that performance in recent years. I thought they were very ordinary at best for most of the game. Forde either wasnt fully fit or just didnt really care.
No Down man can say that Wexfords performance today was good, but yet they were comfortably 10 points the better team, which highlights just how fecking awful Downs performance was.
Post by: Tyrones own on August 03, 2008, 01:37:39 AM

In Fairness to Down they didn't really get going and I am of the belief that you make your own luck
but Jaysus Wexford's purple patch lasted most all of 70 minutes today while Very little went by way of Down.
Well done to Wexford all the same and someone should print some of the above comments for the dressing room
wall next weekend ;) be very carefull what you wish for and all that..
Post by: redandblack4ever on August 03, 2008, 01:59:03 AM
As someone who watched the game in Culllen's Pub in Chicago, the bottom lline is that while the Down 15 performed below average today, there iis reason to hope. Granted Down won very few breaking balls in the middlle of the field. there's still reason to believe that this team, with a few changes, willl defintely challenge in the coming years. Fair play to Ross, DJ and your man Mussen from Burren. They're going in the right direction and that, at least for us is progress.

Up the Yellas,

Mr and Mrs. redandblack4ever
Post by: INDIANA on August 03, 2008, 02:26:02 AM
are you though? for a county thats prodcued excellent underage teams of late, you have no backline, no plan B and an over realiance completely on one player. You didn't get promoted out of div 3. you beat a laois team that wexford hammered,an offaly team that westmeath hammered and couldn't beat a wexford team that was hockeyed by dublin. i'm not knocking ross carr but have you really made progress? where have all the players gone?
Post by: bridgegael on August 03, 2008, 09:53:44 AM
Down played into wexfords hands yesterday!!  they did't play direct football which served them well in the last two matches!  why didn't they push a man up on the man that was double marking coulter??  why didn't they take him out when he was been doubled marked!!  overall the lads didn't perform, not for a lack of trying things just didn't fall for them.  ah well we'd have took a 3rd rd qualifier at the start of the year.  we'll be back next year!

on a side note,  really hope ambrose is ok,  gerry mcentee had to operate on him couple of hours after match. i've heard conflicting stories on this.  anyone know more??
Post by: downgirl on August 03, 2008, 10:28:49 AM
Gutted about yesterday, I expected it to be a tighter match and thought that with Gordon back it would make all the difference; obviously the goings on of last week must have knocked his confidence a wee bit.  I'd say the main problem is what everyone has already said, they thought it would be a breeze.  Down probably would have performed better if they had been the underdogs.

:'( :'( :'( :'(
Post by: Canalman on August 03, 2008, 10:39:37 AM
The better footballers won yesterday.....end of. They would have humiliated Down if Lyng hadn't slipped in front of the open goal.

Was watching out for Dan Gordon yesterday because of all the talk about him....he was anonymous .Wexford's midfield was dominant and Down's inability to win breaks was imo embarassing.

Ross Carr should wear the lenses at games as wearing glasses in the wet cannot be anything else but a hindrance. I shoud know as i wear glasses also.
Post by: sean og on August 03, 2008, 11:28:27 AM
Down won what they set out to do at the start of the
year, the MC KENNA CUP .
As M Mc Hugh said there defence couldn't catch straw
and they depend to much on benny
Post by: corn02 on August 03, 2008, 11:43:52 AM
I must say the cockiness displayed by Down fans this year was a bit unwarranted. If you had of listened to your manager and been realistic about the team you would have been dleighted to get that far - too many got carried away on the Tyrone win.

Redandblack4ever you say you will challenge in the coming years - I can't see it with this crop of players. It is thew same every year, when the going gets tough they rely on Benny to get them out of trouble. The work rate around Coulter was terrible yesterday - only Hughes and himself seemed to be tracking back and busting a gut.

Murphy had a very poor game - I don't think he liked his role and didn't seem to know where he was meant to be.

McVeigh , bar yesterdays mix-up, is a quality keeper and probably saved yous a bit more yesterday.

Down are still an average team, but Carr is the right man. Surely there are better defenders out there? Some of the mistakes made in defence yesterday were laughable.

McGovern was good off the bench and sprayed a couple of nice passes about, why wasn;t he on earlier, was he injured still?

Post by: Mandown on August 03, 2008, 11:48:06 AM
Through no fault of his own, the Dan Gordan saga had a negative effect on the Down team. Had his suspension been upheld I'm sure each and every player would had raised their game 20%. Him being available meant Down were expected by many to win resulting in each player dropping their performance. From a physical point of view i also thought Down looked exhausted, with the management having very little time to prepare for this game. It was impossible to train hard or have any tough physical ballwork with 4 games in 4 weeks.
Post by: twotwocharlie on August 03, 2008, 11:52:21 AM
come on ARMAGH
Post by: corn02 on August 03, 2008, 11:53:03 AM
Quote from: Mandown on August 03, 2008, 11:48:06 AM
Through no fault of his own, the Dan Gordan saga had a negative effect on the Down team. Had his suspension been upheld I'm sure each and every player would had raised their game 20%. Him being available meant Down were expected by many to win resulting in each player dropping their performance.

Absolute bullshit. So your trying to say that having the captain available reduced the player's performance by 20% - nonsense. If that is the case the players should just hang up their boots now.

From a physical point of view i also thought Down looked exhausted, with the management having very little time to prepare for this game. It was impossible to train hard or have any tough physical ballwork with 4 games in 4 weeks.

Don't lose in your province then.
Post by: Mandown on August 03, 2008, 12:02:29 PM
Quote from: corn02 on August 03, 2008, 11:53:03 AM
Through no fault of his own, the Dan Gordan saga had a negative effect on the Down team. Had his suspension been upheld I'm sure each and every player would had raised their game 20%. Him being available meant Down were expected by many to win resulting in each player dropping their performance.

Absolute bullshit. So your trying to say that having the captain available reduced the player's performance by 20% - nonsense. If that is the case the players should just hang up their boots now.

From a physical point of view i also thought Down looked exhausted, with the management having very little time to prepare for this game. It was impossible to train hard or have any tough physical ballwork with 4 games in 4 weeks.

Don't lose in your province then.

So are you trying to say mental attitude of players has no baring on a game??? Now thats Bs.
Big Dan is a very good midfeilder and it was obvious his performance yesterday was effected!!!
We have all seen how a team reduced to 14 men during a game can raise their game to compansate for the lose.
As for losing in our province. We were beat by a strong Armagh team who were the better team on the day. Good luck to Armagh and the rest of the Ulster teams involved.
Post by: corn02 on August 03, 2008, 12:06:21 PM
Not trying to start an argument but I really don't accept that Mandown.

I take your point about a team being reduced to 14 raising their game, but this is totally different circumstances.

Firstly it did not occour during a game so therefore would not have the immediate emotive impact that a red card during a match would. Secondly - any player who does not go out and give 100% should not be allowed to grace Croke Park.
Post by: hopball on August 03, 2008, 12:15:04 PM
I am sick of hearing about how well Ross Carr has done this year etc with Down.  I do recall when Paddy O'Rourke was managing that he got Down to an Ulster Final, which is lets face it a little more desirable than a McKenna Cup!!  And I remember also that all these Down fans asking for O'Rourkes head.  So why then are they not looking for Carr's as he has brought nothing to the Down set up at all.  A brutal back line and full dependence on Coulter when the going gets tough????????  So how has he done well then??
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 03, 2008, 12:19:11 PM
I forgot about paddy o'rourke  :D
I like him, I remember his appearances on tv too - wasn't it end to end he made an awful fool of himself and I think it was the BBC too.
He was a great laugh.
Post by: Mandown on August 03, 2008, 12:20:22 PM
I agree that any player pulling on a county Jersey should give 100%.
Had Down started the game without Dan they may have been considered underdogs.
They have always performed better as underdogs and when least expected to win.
Just my opinion!!
Mental attitude has a big bearing on any game. Speaking in general, as a manager preparing a team considered favorites its is difficult to convince players that they are gonna be up against it. Particularly when you have people telling them all week that they are gonna win easy. It becomes embedded in their mind.
Post by: OnTheLine on August 03, 2008, 01:27:03 PM
Definitely some juvenile sub-hogan stand posting on this thread. I'm happy enough to hear reasonable criticism from neutrals such as indiana and others but the posts from the usual halfwits just show how insecure some people are... Being from east down I've never really had any particular dislike of Armagh but I'm starting to understand why Newry people are so antagonistic towards them!
Post by: the milkman on August 03, 2008, 01:46:00 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 03, 2008, 12:19:11 PM
I like him, I remember his appearances on tv too - wasn't it end to end he made an awful fool of himself and I think it was the BBC too.
He was a great laugh.

You wouldnt say that to the man's face so dont slabber about him on this!
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 03, 2008, 01:58:30 PM
Quote from: the milkman on August 03, 2008, 01:46:00 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 03, 2008, 12:19:11 PM
He was a great laugh.

You wouldnt say that to the man's face so dont slabber about him on this!
Don't be so uptight, I'm sure he's had worse things said about and to him, I just laugh when I think of his idiotic appearance on End to End and him going after Houlie thinking he'd know more about the armagh injuries than houlie would. 
Im pretty sure there was a similar idiotic appearance on the BBC a week or so later - but he was good for Down football  :D
Post by: southdown on August 03, 2008, 02:00:18 PM
Rodgers has operations after game  from BBC

Down midfielder Ambrose Rodgers underwent two emergency operations after Saturday's All-Ireland qualifier defeat to Wexford at Croke Park.

He finished the game but a collision late in the game left him in pain.

Doctors acted quickly in the dressing room and took him to the Mater Hospital in Dublin where he was operated on for a suspected ruptured spleen.

Ambrose lost more than two litres of blood and had to have another operation to remove the spleen.

He is now recovering from the operations in the Mater.

Ambrose only returned to the Down squad in May after being out for a year with a cruciate injury.

The doctor for the operations was none other than Gerry McEntee, the former Meath footballer who actually played directly against the late Ambrose Rodgers Snr in the last five minutes of the 1991 All Ireland Final.

Gutted for him, 2 other lads I know suffered the same injury, he will be out for a long time.

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 03, 2008, 02:00:39 PM
Awesome result for Wexford, awesome display, well done, great rebound. Down were very, very poor, and I don't know who could really explain that -- it was like their Croke Park invincibility in reverse.

Quote from: southdown on August 03, 2008, 02:00:18 PM
Rodgers has operations after game  from BBC
Gutted for him, 2 other lads I know suffered the same injury, he will be out for a long time.

That's bad news, best to him.
Post by: Down Gael on August 03, 2008, 02:06:29 PM
Ambrose took a big hit late in the game, it looked like a shoulder to the chest. He went down afterwards and received a bit of attention, although he played on he seemed a bit dazed. Hope he is ok and we see him back in a Down shirt next year.
Post by: the milkman on August 03, 2008, 02:48:40 PM
All the best to Ambrose, sad to hear that! Hopefully he will be back playing football next year.
Post by: stew on August 03, 2008, 03:56:36 PM
Whats the latest on rodgers, I hope he is ok, that is a nasty injury, why the fcuk did they not take him off when he was all but out on his feet???
Post by: stew on August 03, 2008, 04:00:21 PM
Down flatter to deceive once again, they really have been one of the worst teams in the country since the late nineties, with so many clubs and players to choose from, how can they be this bad for so long?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 03, 2008, 04:44:40 PM
Quote from: stew on August 03, 2008, 04:00:21 PM
Down flatter to deceive once again, they really have been one of the worst teams in the country since the late nineties, with so many clubs and players to choose from, how can they be this bad for so long?

They were in the last 12 of the AI series, during which they beat tyrone, offaly and laois, how can they be one of the worst teams you spa?
Post by: INDIANA on August 03, 2008, 05:14:25 PM
hope rodgers is ok, he's a good player and hopefully he makes a full recovery and gets back playing.
Post by: Pangurban on August 03, 2008, 08:23:29 PM
Terrible news about Ambrose, puts football results in perspective, hope he recovers well
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 03, 2008, 08:43:06 PM
Bad news on Ambrose, hope to see him back soon.
Post by: stew on August 03, 2008, 08:50:33 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on August 03, 2008, 04:44:40 PM

They were in the last 12 of the AI series, during which they beat tyrone, offaly and laois, how can they be one of the worst teams you spa?

Well nail, tyrone are the only team left in the championship at this stage and offaly havent done shit in a couple of decades, laois are always championship under acheivers and tyrone were badly hit by injury when the teams played. Oh one other thing, i was looking at their body of mediocrity since the late nineties and they were brutal for the most part since then.
Post by: Class of 99 on August 03, 2008, 10:30:38 PM
Totally gutted after yesterday especiially the news about Ambrose. We seemed to lack belief yesterday whish is a strange one.
There was no plan B either which will have to looked at. I thought the half forwards where very poor in particular and Dan had a bad day at the office to boot. Its a pitty but there is always next year.
Post by: The Corporal on August 04, 2008, 08:09:56 AM
Thought Danny Hughes had a stinker of a game, he constantly kicked away possession and missed an easy score from less than 21yrds out in the 2nd half. The ball into Benny and John Clarke was poor, fair enough Wexford had a man in front of them but Down just seemed to pass it straight to the Wexford player. Thought Jack Lynch should maybe have got some sort of run out to mix it up a bit. Rory Stafford (in the same mould as Jack) came on for Wexford, threw D Rafferty out of the way like a rag doll and then scored a point. Why couldnt our boys do something like that?
Post by: Model Hammer on August 04, 2008, 09:49:18 AM
Best way to sum up the game is what my friend beside me said: looks like a Division 3 match!

Little did we think it would turn out to be not even be the worst match of the 4!

As for Brian Malone standing in front of the Full-Forward line, isn't it amazing how often this tactic seems to work, even at this level? At every level of football it's mad how easy it can be to disrupt a team by putting an extra man in front of their biggest forward threat. I had been at the Offaly-Down game, when Down found their inside forwards with ease, and caused havoc. On Saturday the player in possession looked up, saw the path cut off, and there didn't seem to be too many other options. In fairness to our much-maligned Full-Back Line, I thought Davy Walsh making his first championship start did a fantastic job on Coulter, when the ball did come in. Wallace did well too, and I'm delighted for him after all the stick he's taken. The Wexford tackling was a vast improvement, and fair play to the backroom for all the work they put in over the two weeks. All the gaping errors frorm the last day were rectified.

As I said last week, if you don't at least break even on the breaking ball you're in big trouble, and in the second half all the breaks went to WX. Some were pretty fortuitous, but thems the breaks I guess. Down then started to look very tired and I think the last 2 weeks caught up on them, plus the turnovers just sucked the energy out of them a la Wexford two weeks earlier.

In my opinion, Wexford have yet to put in a really good 70 minutes performance this year, and will take great heart from this result. If they can use the confidence re-gained to put in as comitted a performance as that, and try to up the quality, they can give Armagh a run for their money.

Sad news about Ambrose. Hope he's ok. Football is only football after all.
Post by: full back on August 04, 2008, 10:00:04 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 03, 2008, 02:00:39 PM
Awesome result for Wexford, awesome display, well done, 

I hope you are taking the p1ss
Post by: D4S on August 04, 2008, 11:52:06 AM
First time I've logged in since the result had a busy weekend.  Was gutted with the display and result on Saturday we really were brutal, and I didnt expect it at all, I really thought we would have won.  When I heard about Ambrose then on Saturday evening though the result no longer mattered.  So unfortunate for him, I know he's devastated by it.  Got out of intensive care last night and into High Dependency he's stable but very lucky.  Hope he recovers well but he'll be out of action for a long time!
Post by: Orior on August 04, 2008, 12:15:23 PM
Thats as bad a performance as I've seen from Down in a long time. Would the guys who called for O'Rourke's head now do the same for Carr? Bottom line is that no matter who the manager is, Down dont have enough county standard players.
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on August 04, 2008, 12:20:44 PM
Quote from: Orior on August 04, 2008, 12:15:23 PM
Bottom line is that no matter who the manager is, Down dont have enough county standard players.

Agree 100%.

Look at the size of our full back line compared to Mayo or Tyrone. They have big athletic fellas that can take a hit.

Unfortunately, while our fellas may technically be on the case, physically we just aren't big or quick enough.
Post by: Down Gael on August 04, 2008, 12:49:51 PM
Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on August 04, 2008, 12:20:44 PM
Look at the size of our full back line compared to Mayo or Tyrone. They have big athletic fellas that can take a hit.

Unfortunately, while our fellas may technically be on the case, physically we just aren't big or quick enough.

Andy Mallon of Armagh isnt the biggest defender in Ireland, though he is one of the best. Luke Howard was arguably our most consistent defender over the summer, its not the size of the man in the fight....
So Tyrone have a bigger full back line than us? Maybe I am wrong, but didnt we beat Tyrone and Pat McEnaney in Newry recently  ;) even with our small defenders.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 04, 2008, 03:21:52 PM
Quote from: stew on August 03, 2008, 08:50:33 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on August 03, 2008, 04:44:40 PM

Well nail, tyrone are the only team left in the championship at this stage and offaly havent done shit in a couple of decades, laois are always championship under acheivers and tyrone were badly hit by injury when the teams played. Oh one other thing, i was looking at their body of mediocrity since the late nineties and they were brutal for the most part since then.

Yes obviously tyrone are the only team left out of the three because down put the other two out. Great argument.
Post by: goh4205 on August 04, 2008, 03:31:34 PM
Quote from: Down Gael on August 04, 2008, 12:49:51 PM
Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on August 04, 2008, 12:20:44 PM

Andy Mallon of Armagh isnt the biggest defender in Ireland, though he is one of the best. Luke Howard was arguably our most consistent defender over the summer, its not the size of the man in the fight....
So Tyrone have a bigger full back line than us? Maybe I am wrong, but didnt we beat Tyrone and Pat McEnaney in Newry recently  ;) even with our small defenders.

Andy Mallon is much harder & stronger than he looks. I remember the tryone/Armagh game in croker 2/3 years ago and he pulled that lad Mellon around like a rat when the hard hitting started.
Really sad to hear the news about young Rodgers, he is a player i rate in this Down squad along with coulter, Carr & Howard.  The rest in my view are very average county players.  He is a great athlete and a pleasure to watch when in full flow, but i suspect with such an injury his playing days are probably over, well at county level anyway.
Post by: corn02 on August 04, 2008, 09:17:27 PM
Hughes, McKernan and James McGovern are also worth of a shout. I know Hughes is not prominent but he does a lot of work. Howard had not as good as game on McDonnell as people think - the amount of ball Stevie won was unreal - but he had a very good first season. Get back Walsh for a start.
Post by: amallon on August 05, 2008, 10:13:34 AM
The Wexford game was very disappointing, we never really looked like winning it at any stage.  We really seem to struggle against teams that play an extra defender against us, we had the same problem against Armagh when we lacked any penetration.  There were signs of progress this year but the performance against Wexford takes away a lot of the gloss of earlier performances.  I think if we'd been playing the Dubs or Kerry we could have been embarrassed.

Promotiion from Div 3 is a must this year. 

Post by: Uladh on August 05, 2008, 11:13:43 AM

I remember that promotion was a must last year too.

Do down men feel that Ross and DJ have made progress in their 2 years?
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on August 05, 2008, 11:19:59 AM
Quote from: Down Gael on August 04, 2008, 12:49:51 PM

Sorry, but at this level there isn't much difference in hunger, and it boils down to the size of the man in the fight.

Ronan Clarke had a field day against us - why?

Because he was taller, stronger and quicker than any of our full-back line.

Ye can get by if you've one asset going for you (speed, strength or height), but if you've none your in deep trouble.
Post by: orangeman on August 05, 2008, 11:22:21 AM
Is it still a case if you stop Benny Coulter, you stop Down ? Benny was the only forward to score from play ??
Post by: Jinxy on August 05, 2008, 11:27:44 AM
Is Benny even that good? Honestly, I'm not trying to wind anyone up but he seems to be very inconsistent.
Post by: upthehoops on August 05, 2008, 11:31:45 AM
Quote from: corn02 on August 04, 2008, 09:17:27 PM
Hughes, McKernan and James McGovern are also worth of a shout. I know Hughes is not prominent but he does a lot of work. Howard had not as good as game on McDonnell as people think - the amount of ball Stevie won was unreal - but he had a very good first season. Get back Walsh for a start.
What qualifies you to say that Howard did not have as good on Mcdonnell a game as people think. I find that an amazing statement to make.So their opinion does not count!
"Hold the back page. Howard did not have as good a game as you thought because some w***er from armagh said so"
Post by: buglebhoy on August 05, 2008, 12:05:38 PM
Wasn't going to comment on the game but the more ppl mention the more i get pissed off....

thought all sections of the field were poor for down, midfield and attack especially.

best performances came from carr and ambrose

management were bit naive in putting one of our worst performers in kevin mcguigan on one of the championships best performers to date red barry. the man is one of the best players in the country and to have a poor county player marking him was crazy. i think we may have got more from murphy if he had have taken the role of marking red barry. he marked dooher twice.

i didnt expect down to beat tyrone in omagh but was confident of beating them in newry, thought they were going to put it up to armagh a bit more but didnt think they'd win. knew they'd beat laios and was confident they'd beat wexford but when u perform as badly as down did on sat your're not going to beat anyone.

def think down are on the up now and look forward to next years campaign with the same management.

all the best to ambrose!!
Post by: Armagh Exile on August 05, 2008, 12:20:50 PM
Any Down posters explain why Mickey Walsh (Mayobridge) is not in the panel.
He is an excellent leader of the attack.  Is he injured?
Post by: corn02 on August 05, 2008, 12:56:47 PM
Quote from: upthehoops on August 05, 2008, 11:31:45 AM
What qualifies you to say that Howard did not have as good on Mcdonnell a game as people think. I find that an amazing statement to make.So their opinion does not count!
"Hold the back page. Howard did not have as good a game as you thought because some w***er from armagh said so"

What a tit you are.

So ok let me get what your saying. You say I should not question other peoples opinion but I am not allowedc to have one of my own? Wind your neck in you gobshite.
Post by: orangeman on August 05, 2008, 01:17:01 PM
Down footballer Ambrose Rodgers will be sidelined for up to nine months following the removal of his spleen on Saturday night.

Rodgers went under the knife after he shipped a heavy blow to the abdominal area in Down's round three qualifier defeat to Wexford on Saturday.

Rodgers, who formed an impressive midfield partnership with Dan Gordon this year, will be hospitalised for ten more days but he could yet return to football action next year.

"He was sore and agitated on Saturday and Sunday but he was in better spirits yesterday," Carr told the Irish Independent.

< Back to Latest News | More Articles >
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on August 05, 2008, 01:52:39 PM
Good luck to him.
Post by: upthehoops on August 05, 2008, 02:12:49 PM
Quote from: corn02 on August 05, 2008, 12:56:47 PM

What a tit you are.

So ok let me get what your saying. You say I should not question other peoples opinion but I am not allowedc to have one of my own? Wind your neck in you gobshite.
#
oops sorry for offending your insensitivities. You did not offer an opinion but made a statement
Post by: Jinxy on August 05, 2008, 02:32:00 PM
I'd like to wish Ambrose a full & speedy recovery. Terrible bad luck for him.
Post by: T O Hare on August 05, 2008, 04:17:59 PM
Quote from: AFS on August 05, 2008, 12:32:09 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 05, 2008, 11:27:44 AM
Is Benny even that good? Honestly, I'm not trying to wind anyone up but he seems to be very inconsistent.

I think his inconsistency stems from the fact that he is very markable. He's the type of guy who'll kick 3-6 or whatever when someone shit is on him (see Offaly game), but stick a good man marker on him and he fades away. In this respect he's not much different than most forwards.

Thats a stupid statement, any player no mattter how good they are, is very markable if you have two players on him!!!! Downs problem is that when you double team Benny, there are not enough leaders around him to get scores, Would stevie mc donnell be as good if he was double marked!!! teams cant afford to do that when they play Armagh because there are players like Clarke who would destroy them.. Benny has scored 4.8 this season is the championship and correct me if i am wrong but he has scored 16 championship goals in his career, one less than Sean O'Neill and two less than Mc Donnell who probably has played over twice amounts of Championship games...
He is a lot different than other forwards in that respect!!!
Post by: dodgy umpire on August 05, 2008, 05:24:05 PM
Quote from: AFS on August 05, 2008, 12:32:09 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 05, 2008, 11:27:44 AM

I think his inconsistency stems from the fact that he is very markable. He's the type of guy who'll kick 3-6 or whatever when someone shit is on him (see Offaly game), but stick a good man marker on him and he fades away. In this respect he's not much different than most forwards.

Dont be an idiot, against armagh the ball going up to him was being booted over the sideline etc,you cant expect him to play well if he doesnt get the ball? (or maybe you hold him in such high regard that you think he should) . It didnt help that he was constantly being dragged to the ground when there was chance he could make a run aswell
Post by: corn02 on August 05, 2008, 06:16:00 PM
Quote from: upthehoops on August 05, 2008, 02:12:49 PM
Quote from: corn02 on August 05, 2008, 12:56:47 PM

What a tit you are.

#
oops sorry for offending your insensitivities. You did not offer an opinion but made a statement

Two posts in a row where you make an idiot of yourself. Do you want everyone to write in my opinion before each sentence?
Post by: western exile on August 05, 2008, 09:42:54 PM
I just watched the rerun of this game on Setanta, without all the emotion of being at the game in Croke Park  8)

In the first half, Down were the better team. They could have been going in at half time 0-8 to 0-7 ahead instead they they found themselves 2-5 to 0-7 in arrears. Two very soft goals that should have been defended safely.  In the second half they were always chasing the game and Wexford stepped up their tackling intensity, just like they did in Wexford Park earlier this year.  And congratulations to them, they did what they had to do to win from that leading position. I wish them all the best in the quarter final.

Throughout the game, the Down forwards were getting no protection from the referee. They were being consistently fouled in a manner that almost all other referees issue yellow cards for.  Even Coulter, who was being double marked, still managed to win some fine possession against the odds, but was illegally fouled many times that he received no free for.  It is a credit to all the Down players (IMHO) that they did not dive or play negative tactics, but stood up like men.  This was displayed in no better way than in the 70th minute when Rodgers was fouled in possession with a heavy shoulder to his ribs.  No card was issued, in fact no free was even awarded to him, but Ambrose took the hit and continued to take his shot at the posts. Only then, did he lie down with his ruptured spleen . Get well soon Ambrose, we all wish you well. You proved all your critics wrong this championship (including myself)

Overall, this year has still been progress for this Down team and management. But there is still work to do. For example, it was obvious back in February that there was a problem with leaking 2 soft goals per game. I don't know the answer to that one  ??? But that is just one of the challenges for the Ross and co. next year.

Post by: Yes I Would on August 05, 2008, 10:03:24 PM
Quote from: western exile on August 05, 2008, 09:42:54 PM
I just watched the rerun of this game on Setanta, without all the emotion of being at the game in Croke Park  8)

In the first half, Down were the better team. They could have been going in at half time 0-8 to 0-7 ahead instead they they found themselves 2-5 to 0-7 in arrears. Two very soft goals that should have been defended safely.  In the second half they were always chasing the game and Wexford stepped up their tackling intensity, just like they did in Wexford Park earlier this year.  And congratulations to them, they did what they had to do to win from that leading position. I wish them all the best in the quarter final.

Throughout the game, the Down forwards were getting no protection from the referee. They were being consistently fouled in a manner that almost all other referees issue yellow cards for.  Even Coulter, who was being double marked, still managed to win some fine possession against the odds, but was illegally fouled many times that he received no free for.  It is a credit to all the Down players (IMHO) that they did not dive or play negative tactics, but stood up like men.  This was displayed in no better way than in the 70th minute when Rodgers was fouled in possession with a heavy shoulder to his ribs.  No card was issued, in fact no free was even awarded to him, but Ambrose took the hit and continued to take his shot at the posts. Only then, did he lie down with his ruptured spleen . Get well soon Ambrose, we all wish you well. You proved all your critics wrong this championship (including myself)

Overall, this year has still been progress for this Down team and management. But there is still work to do. For example, it was obvious back in February that there was a problem with leaking 2 soft goals per game. I don't know the answer to that one  ??? But that is just one of the challenges for the Ross and co. next year.

Think you should maybe go and watch it again, without your red and black glasses on.

By the way i wish Ambrose a speedy recovery. He has come back strongly this year and performed admirably on Saturday. I thought the hit he recived was hard but fair, just unfortunate he recieved such a horrible injury as a result of it.
Post by: Onlooker on August 05, 2008, 10:45:14 PM
As one who saw the great Down players of the 1960's as well as the 1990's and who admires Down football from a distance of a couple of hundred miles, I was very disappointed by Down's display last Sunday.  It was the poorest performance I have seen from Down in Croke Park.  I thought that Down were on the way back after the 2 games against Tyrone, but I am afraid they have an awful long way to go.  Sorry to hear about Ambrose Rodgers' injury.  He is a fine player and I wish him a quick return to good health.
Post by: Model Hammer on August 05, 2008, 11:10:53 PM
western exile, I was at the game, and I watched it again on rte.ie last night. One thing that's for sure is that you don't get the full picture of a game from the TV. You get replays and close-ups but you miss so much off-the-ball running and marking.

In my opinion the Wexford defence came of age in a sense last Saturday. I've never seen them so well organised, coordinated and committed. The tracking of their men off the ball was excellent, coupled with the added ingredient of Brian Malone's excellent reading of the game to either force the passer to delay, or actually intercept the long ball ahead of the inside forwards. His reading of the game, bursts out the field in possession and sheer energy have been a feature of our entire season.

I will agree with you that the tackling was intense, but it was much more measured and less reckless overall than in recent years where we have conceded too many frees. I think Down were awarded a fair few scorable frees, and what a free-taker Carr is! Wonder where he got it from? I disagree in general about the referee. Twice he blew up a Wexford back in close to goal for impeding the forward before the ball was played into him. They're pretty rare in championship and we coughed up two points on Saturday for it. David Walsh was yellow-carded early on for a foul on Clarke. So he had to be wary for the rest of the game. An awful lot of he turnovers in that area were Down forwards fumbling or failing to gain possession (Wexford were fairly guilty on that score too).

I have to add that it makes me smile to hear fellas complaining about over-robust tackling after they have survived 3 (and a half) tough Ulster championship encounters.

It was always going to be necessary that we broke even at midfield if we were going to be able to sustain the intensity of that defensive effort, and on the day the backs got enough breathers by their colleagues further up-field contesting the middle third and not allowing the defence to be over-run.

Finally, as you were so kind as to give us the minute of the Rogers challenge, I went back and looked at it tonight. I don't think there was much in it. It may have been a free but I'm not so sure. Certainly never a yellow. I don't think the defender (Morrissey I think) need have anything on his conscience, and in fairness I don't think you suggested as much.

Anyway, I look forward to reading the Armagh boys complaining of over-robust Wexford defence next week. If we can put in a rearguard effort like that again, and contest the middle third, we should be closer to them than 3 years ago in Croker.
Post by: western exile on August 06, 2008, 10:27:35 AM
In no way did I intend to take away any credit for Wexfords great performance on Saturday, especially the second half.  I was merely trying to change the tone / perception that Down lost because, and only because, they were very bad.
And I agree that if Wexford can reproduce that second half for 70 minutes then Armagh will be in trouble. And I wish you well there  ;)
Post by: Malone Aristocrat on August 06, 2008, 11:18:34 AM

I'd like to wish ambrose a speedy recovery from what looked like a fair challenge that he took well. unfortunate all round.

Quote from: western exile on August 05, 2008, 09:42:54 PM
Throughout the game, the Down forwards were getting no protection from the referee. They were being consistently fouled in a manner that almost all other referees issue yellow cards for.  Even Coulter, who was being double marked, still managed to win some fine possession against the odds, but was illegally fouled many times that he received no free for.  It is a credit to all the Down players (IMHO) that they did not dive or play negative tactics, but stood up like men.  This was displayed in no better way than in the 70th minute when Rodgers was fouled in possession with a heavy shoulder to his ribs.  No card was issued, in fact no free was even awarded to him

WE - that's the worst kind of sour grapes after a championship exit. wexford were strong, aggressive, tough in the tackle but fair. in fact their tackling was extremely impressive and they've obviously worked hard on it. on a larger theme, the netball that passes for club football in down does not help down players at intercounty level and this is obviously down to the refereeing they are exposed to week in week out. you'd be better off cutting the shote out of each other like the rest of us do.

Quote from: Model Hammer on August 05, 2008, 11:10:53 PM
Anyway, I look forward to reading the Armagh boys complaining of over-robust Wexford defence next week.

You can be guaranteed you won't get that complain from Armagh!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 06, 2008, 07:04:56 PM
Terrible game, even worse in the crowd, some wexford 'fan' gave us stick the whole first half about being northern c***ts and shouting about the uvf etc until he got a slap for his troubles. Worse than a loyalist.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 06, 2008, 07:22:43 PM
Quote from: AFS on August 06, 2008, 07:14:06 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on August 06, 2008, 07:04:56 PM
Terrible game, even worse in the crowd, some wexford 'fan' gave us stick the whole first half about being northern c***ts and shouting about the uvf etc until he got a slap for his troubles. Worse than a loyalist.

I hate that shite that you hear from some of southern 'Gaels' at matches. 'British b**tards', 'Go back to your own country', things about marching at Drumcree, etc, etc. I've heard it all at matches. To hear things like this from fellow Gaels is disgusting.

I know, I know. Was all a bit of banter til that dick started making northern digs, the uvf thing was the final straw. He didnt open his mouth after though, you could see his mates were embarrassed for him, as were the guards who told him to wise up.
Post by: charlie stubbs on August 06, 2008, 07:57:40 PM

trouble seems to follow you to all gaa games you attend!!you should possibly consider becoming more of an armchair supporter!!

in reference to the game terrible game of football by 2 bad teams.  down would possibly have had a chance if dan gordon got his suspension overturned, you cant give away goals like they did and expect to progress.  Can anyone tell me how mcguigan gets a game??surely there is a better option that him?was watching game with a mate he took a short kick out i said "watch this" carried the ball then just fisted it 2 knowone!!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 06, 2008, 08:01:14 PM
Have to agree with you charles re mcguigan, he just is not county standard, there are much better defenders in down not getting a chance for one reason or another but he shouldn't be there, must be djs influence.
Post by: Uladh on August 06, 2008, 08:29:33 PM

Well they should have played him then
Post by: Jinxy on August 06, 2008, 08:33:27 PM
Ba-dum-tish!
Post by: the milkman on August 06, 2008, 08:42:21 PM
Quote from: charlie stubbs on August 06, 2008, 07:57:40 PM

trouble seems to follow you to all gaa games you attend!!you should possibly consider becoming more of an armchair supporter!!

in reference to the game terrible game of football by 2 bad teams.  down would possibly have had a chance if dan gordon got his suspension overturned, you cant give away goals like they did and expect to progress.  Can anyone tell me how mcguigan gets a game??surely there is a better option that him?was watching game with a mate he took a short kick out i said "watch this" carried the ball then just fisted it 2 knowone!!

The teams made it into the last 12. so if they are both poor teams what does this say about the standard of football at present. I would admit it was a terrible game by 2 improving teams.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 07, 2008, 09:50:09 AM
We'll see how well armagh do this weekend against wexford, could get a surprise