GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Malone Aristocrat on July 26, 2008, 05:43:29 PM

Title: Is Paudie Hughes the worst Ref on the Intercounty roster?
Post by: Malone Aristocrat on July 26, 2008, 05:43:29 PM

Discuss
Title: Re: Is Paudie Hughes the worst Ref on the Intercounty roster?
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 05:47:18 PM
The very fact that you see fit to start a thread in his "honour" says all that there needs to be said !
Post by: J70 on July 26, 2008, 05:48:36 PM
Quote from: Malone Aristocrat on July 26, 2008, 05:43:29 PM

Discuss

I don't know. It seems we're complaining about a different one every week.
Post by: Tyrones own on July 26, 2008, 05:53:11 PM

In fairness it really was a poor display and especially biased in the first half.
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 05:54:22 PM
This lad took the biscuit ! He was blatantly anti Tyrone - he was brutal. One thing for sure, he'll not be reffing too many AI finals.
Post by: tyroneman on July 26, 2008, 05:58:22 PM
One of the most biased displays of refereeing I have ever seen. Thank feck he had NO choice but to sent those 2 off in the second half, thereby ruining his masterpiece 16th man performance.

2 Armagh refs in a row.................hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 05:59:45 PM
Are all the good referees named Hughes ???  ;) :D :D ;D ;D
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2008, 06:23:26 PM
In fairness, Tyrone's habit of diving and faking injury probably doesn't do them any favours with referees.
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 06:40:49 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2008, 06:23:26 PM
In fairness, Tyrone's habit of diving and faking injury probably doesn't do them any favours with referees.

Sorry Pints but there were no mitigating circumstances for this clown today - right from the off, he was intent on doing Tyrone !

But for Tyrone winning, I'd say the discussion would be a little more irrational.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on July 26, 2008, 06:51:48 PM
No doubt that ref was just spitful today...I hate refs
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 06:52:28 PM
Quote from: Maximus Marillius on July 26, 2008, 06:51:48 PM

Spiteful or pitiful or both ???????  ;) :D
Post by: Tyrones own on July 26, 2008, 06:57:07 PM

Move it along pints, they're all at it nowadays,
M O'Rourke, Glennon or Roper to name but a few..
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 06:57:56 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on July 26, 2008, 06:57:07 PM

NEVER  ;D ;D
Post by: Tyrones own on July 26, 2008, 07:01:22 PM

Strategically placed, first name right out of the gate ;)
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2008, 07:04:15 PM

Some teams have their divers, fair enouhg but I can't think of another team taht uses it as part of their gameplan.
Post by: Tyrones own on July 26, 2008, 07:07:00 PM

We got out from under that stigma whilst winning our 2nd AI pints,
move it along... it's 2008 ;)
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2008, 07:11:10 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on July 26, 2008, 07:07:00 PM

all I'm saying is that when you use those tactics don't be shocked if referees won't give you anything - they can watch replays on the sunday game too.
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 07:12:03 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2008, 07:04:15 PM

Some teams have their divers, fair enouhg but I can't think of another team taht uses it as part of their gameplan.

It took a good Armagh man to negate it today and but for him sending off 2 Westmeath players today, it nearly worked !  ;)
Post by: qub la la la on July 26, 2008, 07:14:01 PM
anyway, yes paudi is absolutly brutal. he ref'd a club game i played in and gave a free against me for nothin, he then proceeded to tell the player i had "fouled" to stop diving... he's a clown, always centre of attention and loves showin the red cards.
Post by: Sandy Hill on July 26, 2008, 07:14:35 PM

Yes it's 2008 and Dooher is still at it!
Post by: Tyrones own on July 26, 2008, 07:16:51 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2008, 07:11:10 PM

all I'm saying is that when you use those tactics don't be shocked if referees won't give you anything - they can watch replays on the sunday game too.

I absolutely agree, that's why the 3 names I mentioned above would want to cop themselves on :P
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 07:17:50 PM
Quote from: qub la la la on July 26, 2008, 07:14:01 PM
anyway, yes paudi is absolutly brutal. he ref'd a club game i played in and gave a free against me for nothin, he then proceeded to tell the player i had "fouled" to stop diving... he's a clown, always centre of attention and loves showin the red cards.

Somebody must think he's decent whenever he gets county games ??

Hopefully this will be his last ?

The umpire's decision to give a 50 was brutal as well.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2008, 07:21:40 PM
Ronan Quigley could have done it.
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 07:24:15 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2008, 07:21:40 PM

Who's that - the umpire ? Another Cross man ? Is he a referee as well ? It would make sense if he was !  ;) :D ;D
Post by: Tyrones own on July 26, 2008, 07:24:59 PM
Quote from: Sandy Hill on July 26, 2008, 07:14:35 PM

Yes it's 2008 and Dooher is still at it!

Think you're reaching a little there Sandy in true Armagh fashion to blame Dooher for his markers lack of discipline
or knowledge of the rules!
Tomorrow's a hole new day....... ;)

Post by: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2008, 07:26:08 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 07:24:15 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2008, 07:21:40 PM

Who's that - the umpire ? Another Cross man ? Is he a referee as well ? It would make sense if he was !  ;) :D ;D

No another ref in armagh and he's certainly no cross man.  I don't know who the umpire was.
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 07:26:34 PM
Dooher had a brilliant game today - let's not sully it by talking about diving - he wasn't at fault for the 2 Westmeath men being sent off !
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 26, 2008, 07:30:39 PM
No contect in the worst referee contest, the winner is Paddy Russell. He has consistantly been the worst ref for the nearly 20 years he has a whistle stuck in his gob.

As Effin Eddie said "you Bollix of a Ref"

Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 07:31:40 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 26, 2008, 07:30:39 PM
No contect in the worst referee contest, the winner is Paddy Russell. He has consistantly been the worst ref for the nearly 20 years he has a whistle stuck in his gob.

Funny I was waiting on that one Mike !  :D :D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: clarshack on July 26, 2008, 07:54:53 PM
was at the game today and it was one of the most biased refereeing performances i've seen in a long time. they shouldnt appoint an armagh referee for tyrone games and vice versa. would also apply this to the tyrone v derry rivalry too. what was wrong with appointing a referee from connaught (not martin duffy)?
Post by: Tyrones own on July 26, 2008, 07:56:30 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 26, 2008, 07:30:39 PM

Did you get a look at that game today Mike?
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2008, 07:58:29 PM
Quote from: clarshack on July 26, 2008, 07:54:53 PM
was at the game today and it was one of the most biased refereeing performances i've seen in a long time. they shouldnt appoint an armagh referee for tyrone games and vice versa. would also apply this to the tyrone v derry rivalry too. what was wrong with appointing a referee from connaught (not martin duffy)?

What are you on about, Westmeath pose more of a threat to armagh than tyrone do.
Post by: Minder on July 26, 2008, 08:00:38 PM
He is a poor ref but officiating is made more difficult when you have characters like Dooher about
Post by: Bacon on July 26, 2008, 08:17:39 PM
Nonsense.
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 08:19:43 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 26, 2008, 08:00:38 PM
He is a poor ref but officiating is made more difficult when you have characters like Dooher about

:D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: clarshack on July 26, 2008, 08:36:16 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2008, 07:58:29 PM
What are you on about, Westmeath pose more of a threat to armagh than tyrone do.

they do now alright :D
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 08:39:02 PM
Talking to most lads, they simply can't believe how anti Tyrone Hughes was ! He was a real disgrace. Should be taken off the IC list.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2008, 08:44:40 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 08:39:02 PM
Talking to most lads, they simply can't believe how anti Tyrone Hughes was ! He was a real disgrace. Should be taken off the IC list.

Ach I hope not, he cost Down a minor all ireland a few years ago, he stood up to the diving Tyronies today when just last week he stood up to the Cullyhanna bully boys - I have to say, I'm becoming quite a fan.
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 08:47:12 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2008, 08:44:40 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 08:39:02 PM

Ach I hope not, he cost Down a minor all ireland a few years ago, he stood up to the diving Tyronies today when just last week he stood up to the Cullyhanna bully boys - I have to say, I'm becoming quite a fan.

True enough - He'd take away from the entertainment !  :D ;D
Post by: blasmere on July 26, 2008, 08:57:50 PM

You can't do much without them, it's a thankless task.

I don't think it's a great idea for posters on this board to be starting threads slamming individuals who give their time to the GAA of their own free will.

How many players put in inept performances, week-in and week-out? (I'm not saying they deserved to be slated on here either, just like refs shouldn't)
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 08:59:06 PM
Quote from: blasmere on July 26, 2008, 08:57:50 PM

I don't think it's a great idea for posters on this board to be starting threads slamming individuals who give their time to the GAA of their own free will.

How many players put in inept performances, week-in and week-out? (I'm not saying they deserved to be slated on here either, just like refs shouldn't)

This lad took the bicky today.
Post by: blasmere on July 26, 2008, 09:13:47 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 08:59:06 PM

He may have done but I don't think he deserves his name to be trailed through mud on this board.

I bet he he does a lot more to promote the GAA than you ever do! - and to quote you and your silly faces  ;) ;) :D :D ;D ;D
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on July 26, 2008, 09:14:07 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on July 26, 2008, 05:58:22 PM
One of the most biased displays of refereeing I have ever seen. Thank feck he had NO choice but to sent those 2 off in the second half, thereby ruining his masterpiece 16th man performance.

Interesting - Wee Peter reckoned in the studio that one of the sendings off was harsh, which if true, would call into question your accusation of bias against Tyrone!

As foir the original question about Paudie, the answer is a firm no!  
Post by: Puckoon on July 26, 2008, 09:21:39 PM
Very few referees could be accused of bias - infact, none should. That display today was as close as Ive seen to bias. The first three frees infront of the tyrone posts were gifts of the highest order to westmeath.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2008, 10:02:18 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on July 26, 2008, 09:21:39 PM
Very few referees could be accused of bias - infact, none should. That display today was as close as Ive seen to bias. The first three frees infront of the tyrone posts were gifts of the highest order to westmeath.

Ach quit your moaning, many a soft free Tyrone won with their diving and rolling around.
Post by: David McKeown on July 26, 2008, 10:08:37 PM
He refereed one of our games last year and played 10 mins of injury time somehow and to cap things off right at the end our opponents won a free 30 metres out on the sideline.  He then proceeds to move the free to the middle of the 13metre line for dissent.  When asked by our umpire why he had done this he said and I quote "under playing rule 4.1 if its in injury time and I move a free for dissent I have to move it to the 13m line".  News to me that one I was pretty sure that rule involved ensuring all players were in position at the start of a game
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 10:12:21 PM
Quote from: blasmere on July 26, 2008, 09:13:47 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 08:59:06 PM

He may have done but I don't think he deserves his name to be trailed through mud on this board.

I bet he he does a lot more to promote the GAA than you ever do! - and to quote you and your silly faces  ;) ;) :D :D ;D ;D

Promote the GAA ? Away and catch a grip - bringing it into disrepute more like !  ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;)
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 26, 2008, 10:29:30 PM
Im glad this thread was started. I like to see teams get fair play but I was angry watching this game. I didnt really care who won but the bias decisions in the first were beyond bad against tyrone. He would of got linched if tyrone lost that. That umpire decision wasnt even close.

Anyone who says to me cheating doenst go on in the GAA watch this game again. That ref did not want tyrone to win. Although its kinda karma to tyrone for michael hughes cheating performances against us (sent off 3 sligo players in qualifier against westmeath) 2 recinded and cavan nfl was disaster again for us. At which point we had to object to him refering our games if selected i was told.

Referees are biased fullstop, they dont like some counties and when they ref there games its all to obvious they dont want them to get fair play.
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 10:36:17 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 26, 2008, 10:29:30 PM
Im glad this thread was started. I like to see teams get fair play but I was angry watching this game. I didnt really care who won but the bias decisions in the first were beyond bad against tyrone. He would of got linched if tyrone lost that. That umpire decision wasnt even close.

Anyone who says to me cheating doenst go on in the GAA watch this game again. That ref did not want tyrone to win. Although its kinda karma to tyrone for michael hughes cheating performances against us (sent off 3 sligo players in qualifier against westmeath) 2 recinded and cavan nfl was disaster again for us. At which point we had to object to him refering our games if selected i was told.
Referees are biased fullstop, they dont like some counties and when they ref there games its all to obvious they dont want them to get fair play.

;) :D ;D

How can you say all that ? It's so hurtful ! Sure he's our top referee !  ;) :D
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 26, 2008, 10:50:11 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 10:36:17 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 26, 2008, 10:29:30 PM

;) :D ;D

How can you say all that ? It's so hurtful ! Sure he's our top referee !  ;) :D

Funny that, marty duffy is our top referee and hes great too ;D :D ;)
Post by: Whacker on July 26, 2008, 11:12:50 PM
Apologies Rufus, there you go
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on July 26, 2008, 11:19:41 PM
Personal and repugnant attack of GAA official under the cloak of anonymity. If memory serves me well, you have form in this respect Whacker!

I'll repeat again what I said back then. Your bile says more about you horse than it does about him! Simple as that!

Post by: Whacker on July 26, 2008, 11:31:51 PM

:
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 11:46:35 PM
He had a poor game - here have been other poor refereeing performamces this summer but this game today shocked even the neutrals - no one has come on to defend him in any shape or form -

I would hope that he's just a poor referee as opposed to a biased performance.

On this showing he'll not be getting many more games as he's simply not up to it.

A lot of younger referees are being put into this Ulster refereeing academy and pushed ( because of their age ) into the limelight  - a lot of them are simply not up to it and we see the results of this policy -

As I said before, give me Kimmy White anyday - mightn't look the best - isn't the youngest kid on the block but he's sensible.

Post by: johnpower on July 26, 2008, 11:48:16 PM
This is getting dangerous . Mods referees need protection
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 11:51:30 PM
Quote from: johnpower on July 26, 2008, 11:48:16 PM
This is getting dangerous . Mods referees need protection

Fr. Gardiner is on his way - nobody is saying anything more than he had a poor game.

It's said about players all the time.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2008, 11:52:43 PM
QuoteHe had a poor game - here have been other poor refereeing performamces this summer but this game today shocked even the neutrals - no one has come on to defend him in any shape or form -

I think he's alright.
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 11:55:07 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2008, 11:52:43 PM
QuoteHe had a poor game - here have been other poor refereeing performamces this summer but this game today shocked even the neutrals - no one has come on to defend him in any shape or form -

I think he's alright.

A ringing endorsement if ever I heard one !
Post by: Tyrones own on July 26, 2008, 11:56:14 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2008, 11:52:43 PM

I think he's alright.

Of course sure you and himself are looking through the same coloured lenses :P
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2008, 11:59:49 PM
Look, he pisses of the Dromintee and the Bullyhanna boys.
He pisses off the Tyrone and and Down boys.

IMO he's alright.
It's a pity he's a Cross man but everyone can't be from the 'bridge.
Post by: Tyrones own on July 27, 2008, 12:02:30 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2008, 11:59:49 PM

IMO he's alright.

I've been Pints, theres a damn good reason for that!
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 27, 2008, 12:04:28 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on July 27, 2008, 12:02:30 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2008, 11:59:49 PM

IMO he's alright.

I've been Pints, theres a damn good reason for that!

Well it wouldn't hold everyone for a start.
Post by: bigpaul on July 27, 2008, 12:45:07 AM
I have only seen Paudie Hughes referee a few times and thought he was ok, he's young and is the type who should be encouraged to take up the whistle.My first thought on sitting down to watch today when I saw him was 'who the f*** is responsible for appointing referees?'. Given the recent poisoned history between the two counties, Paudie was going to come in for special treatment with even the slightest of mistakes. Tyrone people should take a close look at the recording of the match, he missed Brian Mc Guigan striking one player and kicking another(admittedly with little force) when both were on the ground after being awarded  frees, he then missed a late shoulder on Flanagan, by Conor Gormley, as he shot for a point when Westmeath were 2 up early in the second half.Some of the stuff on this thread does no credit to the contributors or the board,but then very few ever made a mistake about here!
Post by: Tyrones own on July 27, 2008, 12:56:11 AM

The camera angle didn't do Gormleys tackle on Flanagan any favors, I think his right hand had made
contact with and broke the ball loose just prior to the shoulder contact which is why there was no call
and going off the rake of other questionable frees that he give, there had to be a good reason not to
award that one.
Post by: bigpaul on July 27, 2008, 01:24:55 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on July 27, 2008, 12:56:11 AM

The camera angle didn't do Gormleys tackle on Flanagan any favors, I think his right hand had made
contact with and broke the ball loose just prior to the shoulder contact which is why there was no call
and going off the rake of other questionable frees that he give, there had to be a good reason not to
award that one.
Your reasoned analysis of this call contrasts markedly with your first post on this topic!

Again,some of the posts on this topic have been a disgrace and call in to question the actions of moderators.Quite a while ago I posted a topic asking was a certain GAA administratrator a 'plonker'(sorry the biggest plonker),the topic was pulled within 10 minutes.A poster called two referees cheats three hours ago and this is still going on. If I was Paudie or Mickey Hughes I would be seriously looking for redress,or going to the GAA to get them to do it for me!
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 27, 2008, 01:32:16 AM
First of all, Paudie is a civil fella and doesn't deserve the sort of abuse we've seen in this thread. I don't believe that he went out today to favour any particular team nor do I think that there are really any referees who go out to "cheat" any side. The conspiracy theories usually say more about the accuser than they do about the referee.

That said, Paudie had a very poor game today and got a number of decisions wrong. Was the first sending off definately 2 yellows? It looked like a straight red on the TV but I've noticed that TV3's camera work isn't always the best and they have a habit of missing things. The 45 in particular was a choking decision. He made a completely ridiculous decision to abandon a match last Friday night and, though I didn't see the game, there were serious complaints about the way he handled his linesman's duties in the Donegal Roscommon match. 3 matches ina  week and he's been the major talking point in all 3 of them. That just shouldn't be happening and I do think Paudie needs to cop on before he loses the run of himself entirely.
Post by: stephenite on July 27, 2008, 01:39:47 AM
I agree with TAC pretty much - the ref had a shocker yesterday, a very poor game. It happens and he'll learn from it.
Post by: bigpaul on July 27, 2008, 01:49:34 AM
The first sending-off looked as if he gave a straight red on TV,if he did it was a bad call,however all reports on the radio since have said it was a second yellow.I know he did get decisions wrong today, but the reactions, both at the game and on here, have been way over the top.I doubt the Tyrone supporters would have reacted as strenuously had the referee been from a county without a history with Tyrone,judgements are often clouded by preconceptions. I can only imagine what the reaction would be in Clones tomorrow if Martin Sludden was in the middle,but then both sets of supporters would probably go expecting the worst,the man would only have to through the ball in for both to say it wasn't straight.
Post by: Tyrones own on July 27, 2008, 02:47:30 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on July 26, 2008, 05:53:11 PM

In fairness it really was a poor display and especially biased in the first half.

If this is the quote you bring up then please explain the marked contrast as Gormley's tackle in question was early in the 2nd half.
My point about the angle was that the camera was from behind the players but the ref was in position to see and call it
as it was....  a correct non call imo
Post by: bigpaul on July 27, 2008, 02:57:41 AM
The contrast is self explanatory when both quotes are set beside each other.Your first assertion is glib and sweeping without attempting to use any examples or analyse particular incidents to illustrate your point,whereas your last post goes into detail to defend Conor Gormley's tackle and justify the decision made by a hitherto 'biased referee'. 
Post by: Tyrones own on July 27, 2008, 04:09:48 AM

Fcuk I don't know whether to laugh or feel sorry for you, seriously are you alright?
FFS there's 5 pages illustrating my point from Tyrone men and neutrals alike, what more
could you possibly want.
The only two people defending him is yourself and Pints and he's on the wind..... ah feck it
ye had me going there for a moment, you're winding as well...... right? :D
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 27, 2008, 06:38:30 AM
QuoteThe only two people defending him is yourself and Pints and he's on the wind..... ah feck it
ye had me going there for a moment, you're winding as well...... right?

It was an excellent performance..except for the two sendings off.
Post by: orangeman on July 27, 2008, 08:35:09 AM
I agree - the ref had a stormer !  ;) ;) ;) :D :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 27, 2008, 09:22:49 AM
tacadoir
QuoteHe made a completely ridiculous decision to abandon a match last Friday night and,
Nonsense Tacadoir, no ref is under an obligation to continue wiht a game he's been threatened at particularly when it involves a club like yours!
Maybe Paudie enjoys a quiet pint without the risk of spending the night in hospital.
Post by: time ticking away on July 27, 2008, 09:34:46 AM
The first sending off was definately a second yellow card. I didnt see TV3 but i was at the game and the no 7 (derek heavin i think) got two yellow for fouls on Dooher. The first yellow could easily have been a red.
Post by: full back on July 27, 2008, 10:02:41 AM
Quote from: time ticking away on July 27, 2008, 09:34:46 AM
The first sending off was definately a second yellow card. I didnt see TV3 but i was at the game and the no 7 (derek heavin i think) got two yellow for fouls on Dooher. The first yellow could easily have been a red.

Why would it have been a red?
FFS the two of them were at handbags
Post by: time ticking away on July 27, 2008, 10:16:15 AM

Why would it have been a red?
FFS the two of them were at handbags
the no 7 hit dooher, he may have used his handbag but he definately raised his hands
Post by: full back on July 27, 2008, 10:18:22 AM
Poor Brian - he gets such a hard time ::)
Post by: bigpaul on July 27, 2008, 11:16:23 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on July 27, 2008, 04:09:48 AM

Fcuk I don't know whether to laugh or feel sorry for you, seriously are you alright?
FFS there's 5 pages illustrating my point from Tyrone men and neutrals alike, what more
could you possibly want.
The only two people defending him is yourself and Pints and he's on the wind..... ah feck it
ye had me going there for a moment, you're winding as well...... right? :D

Not on the 'wind',if you read carefully,I haven't defended Paudie Hughes' refereeing particularly either.What I did say was that he should never have been appointed to do that game, they put him in a terrible position.The reaction to any dubious decision by Tyrone supporters was entirely predictable.For the record,I think that Tyrone supporters over-reacted and were booing at times when Hughes was in fact correct,at the end of the first half they were booing every free awarded to Westmeath.Just after reading two match reports,one by Kieran Shannon(hardly anti-Tyrone)and the other by Dungannon journalist Francie Mooney,after reading this topic I would have expected Paudie Hughes to have been crucified,Shannon's piece would actually reinforce what I am saying.Now if Paudie had awarded Westmeath ten frees in a row(a la Joe Mc Quillan) you could argue the case for 'bias'!
Post by: bridgegael on July 27, 2008, 11:27:19 AM
having only seen the first half, ok hughes gave a few dodgy against tyrone notably against mcgee i think for 'pushing'.   it can be said that he also let a few things go fo tyrone,  mcguigan late high tackle after ten minutes.  don't remember who scored the point but there was a third man tackle on westmeath player but he let it go.  i just thought he was bad for both teams.  maybe he was worse after the break.
Post by: Down Gael on July 27, 2008, 12:23:18 PM
There are worse refs around than Paudie Hughes, Gerry Kinneavy for one. The process for appointing refs needs to be looked at. An Armagh man canot act impartiallly in a neighbouring counties` game. Mickey Cranney against Armagh being the exception to the rule of course  :D
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 27, 2008, 03:46:41 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2008, 10:02:18 PMAch quit your moaning

POT.
KETTLE.
BLACK.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 27, 2008, 03:48:41 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on July 27, 2008, 03:46:41 PM

POT.
KETTLE.
BLACK.

What do I moan about?
Post by: Tyrones own on July 27, 2008, 03:50:02 PM

5FM and Broadband to name a couple.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 27, 2008, 03:50:17 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 27, 2008, 03:48:41 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on July 27, 2008, 03:46:41 PM

POT.
KETTLE.
BLACK.

What do I moan about?

The more appropriate question should be - what don't you moan about?
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 27, 2008, 03:51:54 PM
Ach nonsense, yous have me mixed up with someone else.
Post by: orangeman on July 27, 2008, 09:28:29 PM
The refereeis lucky that Tyrone ended up winning the game. Had Tyrone lost, he'd have had to lsiten to a whole lot more and it may not have been as polite as it is now !