GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: J70 on July 19, 2008, 08:57:46 PM

Title: Qualifiers Round 2
Post by: J70 on July 19, 2008, 08:57:46 PM
Results from Round 1

Monaghan 1-13 Derry 1-12
Tipperary 0-6 Westmeath 0-15
Donegal 3-11 Roscommon 1-9
Kildare 1-16 Cavan 1-15
Laois 1-10 Longford 0-11
Limerick 4-12 Meath 4-3
Down 5-19 Offaly 2-10
Tyrone 1-18 Louth 1-10

So its

Monaghan
Westmeath
Donegal
Kildare
Laois
Limerick
Down
Tyrone

Who do you want in the next round?
Title: Re: Qualifiers Round 2
Post by: orangeman on July 19, 2008, 08:58:33 PM
Can Tyrone draw Down tomorrow ?
Post by: corn02 on July 19, 2008, 08:59:54 PM
I believe so and it is written in the stars. It is Tyrone v Armagh 05 all over agin with the Red Hands ultimately getting the last laugh.
Post by: J70 on July 19, 2008, 09:00:14 PM
I think its an open draw, isn't it?

I'd rather avoid the Ulster teams and Limerick myself after our poor showing today.

Home draw against one of the Leinster ones would do the trick.
Post by: orangeman on July 19, 2008, 09:03:44 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 19, 2008, 09:00:14 PM
I think its an open draw, isn't it?

I'd rather avoid the Ulster teams and Limerick myself after our poor showing today.

Home draw against one of the Leinster ones would do the trick.

That's what I'm asking.
Post by: orangeman on July 19, 2008, 09:06:39 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 19, 2008, 09:04:50 PM
Open draw. Just like the round 1 draw.

Thanks HS

What did you think of the results ?

Some shocks - Limerick being the biggest ?

What about that score for Down ?
Post by: ziggysego on July 19, 2008, 09:09:47 PM
I reckon we'll be drawn against Monaghan.
Post by: orangeman on July 19, 2008, 09:56:22 PM
Would you not want Down again Ziggy ?
Post by: ziggysego on July 19, 2008, 10:01:12 PM
I'd rather as many Ulster counties get through as possible. Failing that, then Down yes.

Just feel it in my bones, it's going to be Monaghan.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 19, 2008, 10:29:54 PM
I wouldn't want Limerick away - for the journey as much as anything, and the fact that they'll most likely ave real belief (and possibly some fans!) the next day out.

I'd also like to see as many Ulster teams through as possible. Whilst it would be a really tough one, I'd love Monaghan to have a crack at Tyrone - having beaten Down, Donegal, Armagh and Derry (x2) in the last year or so, Tyrone are the last of the 'big' Ulster teams we have yet to crack. It would be an interesting indication of just where both teams are at.

I would be fearful of getting Westmeath again.

Laois and Kildare would probably be the 'easiest' - both teams failed to really put away average opposition today, and drawing either at home would possibly be the easiest route to round 3.
Post by: orangeman on July 19, 2008, 11:18:46 PM
Will revisit this scene tomoorow evening - should be interesting !  ;) :D ;D
Post by: Jinxy on July 19, 2008, 11:23:07 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 19, 2008, 10:01:12 PM
I'd rather as many Ulster counties get through as possible. Failing that, then Down yes.

Just feel it in my bones, it's going to be Monaghan.

God it's a regular love in with ye lads. I'd say Cork and Galway are quite hopeful that Kerry and Mayo win their next games too!
Post by: ziggysego on July 19, 2008, 11:27:42 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 19, 2008, 11:23:07 PM
God it's a regular love in with ye lads. I'd say Cork and Galway are quite hopeful that Kerry and Mayo win their next games too!

Ah sure Jinxy, it's just one big orgy up here.
Post by: johnpower on July 19, 2008, 11:37:37 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 19, 2008, 11:27:42 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 19, 2008, 11:23:07 PM

Ah sure Jinxy, it's just one big orgy up here.

I hate it when people dont abide by the rules of the association .

Rule no 1 "Hate thy Neighbour"
Post by: aodhruadh on July 20, 2008, 09:00:08 AM
is the draw on today - on which channel?

hopefully someone has mentioned to nicky brennan that mixing the balls in the drum before doing the draw is a good idea.
then again, all the ulster balls have probably been in the freezer overnight... :)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 20, 2008, 01:46:15 PM
Limerick or Kildare
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 20, 2008, 02:35:08 PM
Wouldn't want down to face any of the ulster sides, especially tyrone!
Post by: magickingdom on July 20, 2008, 02:49:10 PM
Quote from: aodhruadh on July 20, 2008, 09:00:08 AM
is the draw on today - on which channel?

hopefully someone has mentioned to nicky brennan that mixing the balls in the drum before doing the draw is a good idea.
then again, all the ulster balls have probably been in the freezer overnight... :)

anyone know when it on?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 20, 2008, 02:50:27 PM
I would guess after the dulin game, if the balls arent mixed live then the draws will lose all credibility!
Post by: Minus15 on July 20, 2008, 03:17:58 PM
Is round 2 neutral venues?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 20, 2008, 03:19:11 PM
Not 100% but think there are home sides drawn out... Could be wrong though!
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 20, 2008, 03:50:52 PM
Home draw please, that would give us a chance. If we're away forget about it...
Post by: Muzz on July 20, 2008, 03:54:25 PM
Anyone know what channel for definite it is on?  Theres no mention in the papers about when its on.  Nothing scheduled for TV3 so assume it must be after the dublin game...
Post by: blasmere on July 20, 2008, 03:56:29 PM
Quote from: Muzz on July 20, 2008, 03:54:25 PM
Anyone know what channel for definite it is on?  Theres no mention in the papers about when its on.  Nothing scheduled for TV3 so assume it must be after the dublin game...

I'm fairly sure it's on RTE today, I think it came across the screen during the hurling yesterday
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 20, 2008, 04:07:41 PM
TV3 gor the last one so i think it will be rte

plus the dublin match is on rte so wil prrob be after that
Post by: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 05:55:12 PM
So how's the nerves lads ? Who do you want / not want ?
Post by: J70 on July 20, 2008, 05:56:12 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 05:55:12 PM
So how's the nerves lads ? Who do you want / not want ?

Home draw against Kildare or Laois
Post by: ziggysego on July 20, 2008, 05:56:41 PM
Armagh
Post by: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 06:07:05 PM
Do you think is it being rigged right now ?  ;) :D
Post by: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 06:07:57 PM
What's the chances of a double header for Clones next week as a curtain raiser to Armagh v Fermanagh - full house signs will be up !
Post by: ziggysego on July 20, 2008, 06:09:29 PM
Fixed? Never! ;)
Post by: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 06:11:23 PM
Ok - let's look for signs of a rigged draw whenever it comes on !
Post by: ziggysego on July 20, 2008, 06:13:35 PM
You think all Ulster teams drawn together, with Kerry getting Wexford?
Post by: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 06:15:19 PM
Keep your eyes peeled for funny looking balls !!!!!!  ;) :D :D ;D ;D ??? ??? ::) ::) ::)
Post by: Son_of_Sam on July 20, 2008, 06:17:35 PM
When is it on, I want to go to bed, its 3.16 am here in Melbourne
Post by: ziggysego on July 20, 2008, 06:19:31 PM
I heard HQ ordered a rake of golf balls during the week.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 20, 2008, 06:23:45 PM
Just home from work, have i missed anything? Take it hasn't took place yet, is it after the highlights of derry getting put in their place?!
Post by: magickingdom on July 20, 2008, 06:24:01 PM
does anyone know when this feckin thing is on?
Post by: ziggysego on July 20, 2008, 06:25:40 PM
Maybe they're doing it behind closed doors and posting the fixtures on the GAA website.
Post by: Son_of_Sam on July 20, 2008, 06:27:06 PM
Holy Mother of Jesus, when is it on, so fckn tired, want to go to bed, now its 3.26am.
Post by: Hardy on July 20, 2008, 06:27:33 PM
It's on RTE2 between now and 7 p.m.
Post by: ziggysego on July 20, 2008, 06:29:30 PM
I want to go to bed too. Only got two hours sleep last night.
Post by: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 06:32:25 PM
10 minutes lads - stay up for another while !
Post by: ziggysego on July 20, 2008, 06:33:54 PM
Worth it to see Derry exit the Championship again.
Post by: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 06:34:46 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 20, 2008, 06:33:54 PM
Worth it to see Derry exit the Championship again.

Now now !
Post by: Son_of_Sam on July 20, 2008, 06:34:53 PM
Fck it Im off to my leaba.
Post by: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 06:38:55 PM
Quote from: Son_of_Sam on July 20, 2008, 06:34:53 PM

Could you not stay up 1 hour with me ?
Post by: Son_of_Sam on July 20, 2008, 06:40:13 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 06:38:55 PM
Quote from: Son_of_Sam on July 20, 2008, 06:34:53 PM

Could you not stay up 1 hour with me ?

Still here, you said ten minutes, now its an hour!
Post by: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 06:41:09 PM
Patience - but be warned Tommy Murphy's balls with be pulled first !
Post by: Son_of_Sam on July 20, 2008, 06:42:23 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 06:41:09 PM
Patience - but be warned Tommy Murphy's balls with be pulled first !

Sligo V Sligo

Just copped that should be London V London   :D
Post by: ziggysego on July 20, 2008, 06:43:59 PM
Want Armagh, but my gut says Monaghan is our next match.
Post by: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 06:45:36 PM
Down ?
Post by: FermGael on July 20, 2008, 06:48:10 PM
first team out has home advantage.
Post by: FermGael on July 20, 2008, 06:49:34 PM
Donegal v Monaghan
Tyrone v WestMeath
Limerick v Kildare
Laois v Down
Post by: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 06:50:14 PM
Westmeath is a very tough draw
Post by: armaghniac on July 20, 2008, 06:50:35 PM
Donegal v Monaghan - is this in Donegal?
Tyrone v Westmeath - prob Tyrone
Limerick v Kildare  Limerick at home would be  a banker
Laois v Down - probably Down can do it here
Post by: Son_of_Sam on July 20, 2008, 06:50:41 PM
Quote from: FermGael on July 20, 2008, 06:49:34 PM
Donegal v Monaghan
Tyrone v WestMeath
Kildare v Limerick
Laois v Down

Post by: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 06:51:01 PM
Donegal v Monaghan
Tyrone v WestMeath
Kildare v Limerick
Laois v Down

Micky Harte will be very happy

What you reckon ?
Post by: FermGael on July 20, 2008, 06:53:11 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 20, 2008, 06:50:35 PM
Donegal v Monaghan - is this in Donegal?
Tyrone v Westmeath - prob Tyrone
Limerick v Kildare  Limerick at home would be  a banker
Laois v Down - probably Down can do it here
According to Lyster, the first team out gets home advantage. Donegal drawn out first
Post by: ziggysego on July 20, 2008, 07:11:54 PM
Donegal v Monaghan
Tyrone v WestMeath
Limerick v Kildare
Laois v Down
Post by: Maguire01 on July 20, 2008, 07:14:41 PM
Donegal v Monaghan
Tyrone v WestMeath
Limerick v Kildare
Laois v Down
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 20, 2008, 07:18:08 PM
Donegal v Monaghan
Tyrone v WestMeath
Limerick v Kildare
Laois v Down
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 20, 2008, 07:21:18 PM
Donegal v Monaghan
Tyrone v WestMeath
Limerick v Kildare after extra time
Laois v Down  can see Laois being totally underestimated..Can also see this going to extra time
Post by: thechampishere on July 20, 2008, 07:28:48 PM
This evening's draw has thrown up some very interesting ties:

Donegal Vs Monaghan - Two very hit and miss sides as of late, can both be great on their day or equally bad, I reckon home advantage may just give Donegal the edge - HOME WIN

Tyrone Vs Westmeath - Tyrone are very rarely beaten in Healy Park and even though Westmeath are the only side to have given the Dubs a decent game so far in the Championship, I can't see them turning over a Tyrone side who are still more than capable of winning SAM this year - HOME WIN

Limerick Vs Kildare - Don't really know what to make of Limerick's win over a Meath side who really didn't seem interested in the Championship this year, I think if we're all honest, with the exception of Limerick fans, did we expect that result last night??? On the other hand, Kildare had a real close battle against Cavan and managed to come out on top. Again, home advantage may be vital here. HOME WIN

Laois Vs Down - Two teams who would have had aspirations of provincial glory this year. Laois were lucky against an average Wicklow side who couldn't' score a goal for love nor money. The flaws in the Laois side were exposed by Wexford but after their disaster today, were Wexford slightly overhyped??? Down on the other hand had two massive battles with Tyrone before eventually squeezing past them in extra time, but seemed somewhat in awe of Armagh in the Semi Final. Two teams with alot of potential and if they both perform it could be match of the round! HOME WIN

Whatever four sides are victorious next weekend certainly won't have it easy in Round 3. Kerry, Mayo, and Wexford already in the hat and should Fermanagh win the replay next weekend, adding Armagh into that draw really will make for some interesting Round 3 clashes

THE RACE FOR SAM BEGINS NOW!!! GOOD LUCK
Post by: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 07:31:04 PM
Without looking too far ahead ( in saying that I hope Tyrone are in it ) but the 3rd round of qualifiers would do justice to the AI SEMIS !
Post by: Maguire01 on July 20, 2008, 08:47:45 PM
Quote from: thechampishere on July 20, 2008, 07:28:48 PM
Laois Vs Down - Two teams who would have had aspirations of provincial glory this year.
Eh?
Post by: ludermor on July 20, 2008, 11:36:25 PM
Quote from: thechampishere on July 20, 2008, 07:28:48 PM
Limerick Vs Kildare - Don't really know what to make of Limerick's win over a Meath side who really didn't seem interested in the Championship this year, I think if we're all honest, with the exception of Limerick fans, did we expect that result last night??? On the other hand, Kildare had a real close battle against Cavan and managed to come out on top. Again, home advantage may be vital here. HOME WIN
`
Limerick almost beat cork who leathered kerry and hammered meath, kildare scraped through against a shower from cavan who have been on the beer for the last 6 months. Should be no contest for limerick. So expect an away win!
Post by: western exile on July 21, 2008, 12:52:48 PM
Donegal v Monaghan
Tyrone v WestMeath draw
Limerick v Kildare
Laois v Down
Post by: Maguire01 on July 21, 2008, 01:15:48 PM
Quote from: western exile on July 21, 2008, 12:52:48 PM
Tyrone v WestMeath draw
After Extra Time? Off that Fence!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 21, 2008, 01:59:19 PM
Donegal v Monaghan - Wasn't really impressed with monaghan that much against derry, thought it was a bad enough match, donegal to come thru this one

Tyrone v WestMeath - Tyrone to win handy enough, show that they are getting back to a high standard again and won't be an easy touch like they were against down!!  :P

Limerick v Kildare - As much as I would love McGeeney to crash and burn think they will win this with some to spare

Laois v Down - One of the closest ties of the lot, anyone making down hot favourites are in dream land. Down to shade it by one or two though
Post by: amallon on July 21, 2008, 02:06:08 PM
Donegal v Monaghan - I think Monaghan will just have a little too much for Donegal.  Should be a good game
Tyrone v WestMeath - Tyrone to win this one, but again it will be another tight one
Limerick v Kildare - Limerick to win this one
Laois v Down - I think Down can do it in Portlaiose, but a Laois win wouldn't be a massive shock either.  Should be a good entertaining game.  From Down point of view I'm glad to have avoided the other Ulster teams especially Tyrone.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 21, 2008, 02:23:34 PM
Donegal v Monaghan
Tyrone v WestMeath draw
Limerick v Kildare
Laois v Down

Should be two great games in Ballybofey and Portlaoise.
Post by: Lazer on July 21, 2008, 02:44:00 PM
anyone know when are the times and venues will be confirmed?
Post by: Mid Mon on July 21, 2008, 03:13:45 PM
13:00  Coronation Street (Subtitles 888)
13:30  XPOSÉ
14:00  CHAMPIONSHIP LIVE
17:10  ALIENS IN AMERICA
17:30  News @ 5.30

TV3's schedual for next Saturday. Looks like a 15:00 throw in for someone.

Post by: western exile on July 21, 2008, 03:26:53 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 21, 2008, 01:15:48 PM
Quote from: western exile on July 21, 2008, 12:52:48 PM
Tyrone v WestMeath draw
After Extra Time? Off that Fence!
We are overdue a draw in the qualifiers as all the Round 1 games were decided in 70 minutes.  I think this is a candidate for the first draw.
Tyrone after extra time! ;)
Post by: Smiler An Dun on July 21, 2008, 03:42:18 PM
good old BBC  ;)

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/7517869.stm

Post by: thechampishere on July 21, 2008, 03:45:58 PM
So Donegal Vs Monaghan is the live game on RTE at 5pm and I'm guessing that Tyrone Vs Westmeath will be live on TV3 at 3pm

BRING ON SATURDAY!!!
Post by: orangeman on July 21, 2008, 03:52:17 PM
Quote from: thechampishere on July 21, 2008, 03:45:58 PM
So Donegal Vs Monaghan is the live game on RTE at 5pm and I'm guessing that Tyrone Vs Westmeath will be live on TV3 at 3pm

BRING ON SATURDAY!!!

correct !
Post by: Mourne Rover on July 21, 2008, 04:54:17 PM
As I have just posted on the Laois v Down thread, RTE2  is scheduled to have qualifier coverage from 4.40pm to 9pm. This obviously means Donegal v Monaghan at 5pm and either Limerick v Kildare or - hopefully, as we are in Spain - Laois v Down at 7pm. Can anyone offer any more information ?
Post by: Oriel Man on July 21, 2008, 05:20:18 PM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on July 21, 2008, 04:54:17 PM
As I have just posted on the Laois v Down thread, RTE2  is scheduled to have qualifier coverage from 4.40pm to 9pm. This obviously means Donegal v Monaghan at 5pm and either Limerick v Kildare or - hopefully, as we are in Spain - Laois v Down at 7pm. Can anyone offer any more information ?
Unfortunately for you I Don't think so.... RTE only mentioned One qualifier (DL vs MN) Live on Sat.
I assume the 4.40pm to 9.00pm slot was to allow for different throw-in times, etc - you'll probably find a John Wayne or James Bond film from 7pm to 9pm.
Post by: Mourne Rover on July 21, 2008, 05:29:05 PM
OM, it seems that you are right. The RTE2 seven-day listings in the Sunday papers indicated coverage between 4.40pm and 9pm, but Sky's advance tv guide says that the programme finishes at 7pm. We will probably have to settle for a radio link via the internet.
Post by: Pangurban on July 21, 2008, 07:44:56 PM
Sadly we are going to lose one of the Ulster teams with Monaghan and Donegal drawn together, but lets hope all the rest advance safely, the omens are good
Post by: AZOffaly on July 21, 2008, 09:29:41 PM
Quote from: Pangurban on July 21, 2008, 07:44:56 PM
Sadly we are going to lose one of the Ulster teams with Monaghan and Donegal drawn together, but lets hope all the rest advance safely, the omens are good

Ah come off it. Don't make me shout for Laois!
Post by: ziggysego on July 21, 2008, 09:35:33 PM
Forgot to say last night, what did you all think of the post draw interviews with Joe Brolly and Colm O'Rourke? Rarest thing I've ever seen. Your doll (name escapes me) was chatting to Joe. Colm must have thought he was over camera, for he was fitting at his shirt. Next thing you know, he opened the top button and fitted it, so a little chest was showing. What the fcuk was that about?  :D
Post by: Maguire01 on July 21, 2008, 10:25:55 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 21, 2008, 09:35:33 PM
Forgot to say last night, what did you all think of the post draw interviews with Joe Brolly and Colm O'Rourke? Rarest thing I've ever seen. Your doll (name escapes me) was chatting to Joe. Colm must have thought he was over camera, for he was fitting at his shirt. Next thing you know, he opened the top button and fitted it, so a little chest was showing. What the fcuk was that about?  :D
It was hilarious - Brolly was a hoot, taking the piss out of O'Rourke and his RTÉ pay packet!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 21, 2008, 10:39:11 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 21, 2008, 09:29:41 PM
Quote from: Pangurban on July 21, 2008, 07:44:56 PM

Ah come off it. Don't make me shout for Laois!

I thought you would have done anyways  :P
Post by: meathie on July 22, 2008, 10:59:34 AM
I reckon there'll only be one maybe 2 decent games here. I think Limerick will trounce Kildare and Tyrone will trounce Westmeath, Donegal vs Monaghan should be interesting though Monaghan should win out and Laois and Down maybe the hardest to call. just my opinion  :-\
Post by: ONeill on July 22, 2008, 11:20:34 AM
Will be in Dublin for the Tyrone/Westmeath game. What pub would you recommend?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 22, 2008, 10:24:49 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 22, 2008, 11:20:34 AM
Will be in Dublin for the Tyrone/Westmeath game. What pub would you recommend?
You in city centre?
Messer Maguires opposite O'Connell Bridge is a good pub for grub and drink and will be showing the match too if its on telly
Post by: amallon on July 25, 2008, 12:28:01 PM
RTE are running a poll on their site.  The question was "Which of the teams in the Football Qualifiers will go furthest?"

Mayo 28% (3184 votes)
Kerry 25% (2896 votes)
Donegal 8% (931 votes)
Tyrone 8% (884 votes)
Limerick 6% (709 votes)
Monaghan 6% (660 votes)
Armagh/Fermanagh 4% (504 votes)
Wexford 4% (408 votes)
Down 3% (389 votes)
Laois 3% (350 votes)
Westmeath 3% (342 votes)
Kildare 2% (249 votes)

Total Votes: 11506

I'm a bit surprised that more people think Donegal will go further than Armagh/Fermanagh.  More people fancy Donegal than Tyrone or Monaghan.  The Mayo boys must have been voting in force in this poll, I can't see them doing better than Kerry.
Post by: western exile on July 25, 2008, 12:33:08 PM

No sign of Galway in that poll  ???   Does no one rate them?
Post by: Lazer on July 25, 2008, 12:42:53 PM
Tyrone Armagh Fermangh and Down prob have lower votes than expected as people in the 6 counties tend to use bbc and not rte website,
Post by: amallon on July 25, 2008, 12:47:55 PM
Western Exile - Galway are the Connacht champions and aren't in the qualifiers
Post by: Oriel Man on July 25, 2008, 02:24:05 PM
Quote from: Lazer on July 25, 2008, 12:42:53 PM
Tyrone Armagh Fermangh and Down prob have lower votes than expected as people in the 6 counties tend to use bbc and not rte website,
Why would any Football/Hurling lover use the BBC site ahead of RTE (although BBC are sometimes more accurate with score updates).
Their site has minimal information, Football = Soccer, and Throw-in times are shown in BST (British Summer Time).
The BBC website and Ceefax have loads more NI Soccer coverage than GAA....even in the Summer!!!, and GAA in the other 3 provinces is rarely covered.

(Sorry for Going off topic)
Post by: amallon on July 25, 2008, 02:26:49 PM
BBC is better for Ulster gaelic games coverage than RTE.  They aren't great but better than RTE espeically when it comes to club championships. 
Post by: Oriel Man on July 25, 2008, 05:21:28 PM
Granted, they are probably better for Ulster Club coverage (Newsline reports, etc), but they are still miles behind RTE in General Gaelic Games Coverage.
They don't give Gaelic games the Air Time/Web Space it deserves given the popularity of the sport.
Post by: amallon on July 25, 2008, 05:24:04 PM
We know all of that, but there is more chance of BBC having a story on Down football than RTE.
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 08:33:33 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 06:51:01 PM
Donegal v Monaghan
Tyrone v WestMeath
Kildare v Limerick
Laois v Down

What you reckon ?

Ahemmmmmmm !

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm !

What would this roll up have paid ??  ;) ;) ;)
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 26, 2008, 10:56:40 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 08:33:33 PM
Donegal v Monaghan
Tyrone v WestMeath
Kildare v Limerick
Laois v Down

What you reckon ?

Ahemmmmmmm !

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm !

Our prices, tyrone 4/9, monaghan 21/20, kildare 13/8, down 4/6

Roll up paid just under 12/1! 12.95 for a pound stake
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 11:50:32 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 26, 2008, 10:56:40 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 08:33:33 PM
Donegal v Monaghan
Tyrone v WestMeath
Kildare v Limerick
Laois v Down

Not a bad return - thought it might have been more all the same.

What you reckon ?

Ahemmmmmmm !

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm !

Our prices, tyrone 4/9, monaghan 21/20, kildare 13/8, down 4/6

Roll up paid just under 12/1! 12.95 for a pound stake
Post by: Maguire01 on July 27, 2008, 10:08:24 AM
Quote from: Oriel Man on July 25, 2008, 02:24:05 PM
Quote from: Lazer on July 25, 2008, 12:42:53 PM
Why would any Football/Hurling lover use the BBC site ahead of RTE (although BBC are sometimes more accurate with score updates).
Their site has minimal information, Football = Soccer, and Throw-in times are shown in BST (British Summer Time).
The BBC website and Ceefax have loads more NI Soccer coverage than GAA....even in the Summer!!!, and GAA in the other 3 provinces is rarely covered.

(Sorry for Going off topic)
BBC are miles ahead in terms of having scores up to date and having match reports online, and even breaking news, way ahead of RTE. Sometimes all you need is the minimal information (e.g. when you want scores, team announcements and match times). Who cares if it says BST? That's just pedantic - the time is the same!
I also don't care what the proportion of NI Soccer to GAA is as i don't look at the NI Soccer pages.
Yes, GAA in the other provinces isn't covered - most likely due to limited resources and the need to focus those resources on the areas the licence payers are from - to be fair, they don't cut off at the 6 counties and give full coverage to all the Ulster teams. Sure you can dander over to RTE if you need to read about anyone else after that!