GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: RealSpiritof98 on July 01, 2008, 02:52:42 PM

Title: Whoever posts in this sucks c**k!
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on July 01, 2008, 02:52:42 PM
I SUCK c**k!!!!
Title: Re: Who is the best player in the country at the minute.
Post by: Jinxy on July 01, 2008, 03:01:51 PM
For me, the player who has had the biggest impact on his team winning games has been Redmond Barry. Very intelligent player, great passing ability, works like a dog and chips in with vital scores. Clarke has been very good also, but the Down full back line were laughably bad on Sunday. Not sure that Cavan were up to much either.
Post by: haveaharp on July 01, 2008, 03:06:15 PM
Quote from: RealSpiritof98 on July 01, 2008, 02:52:42 PM
Was working the bar last night when a discussion was struck up as to who is the best player on the island at the minute. A few players were muted and bandied about but Ronan Clarke seemed to get the vote, he has been outstanding this year and at the age of 25 has many more years ahead of him. Given that last year he never kicked a ball he is prone to injury but in 2006 he was Armaghs best player by a mile, (ripped Kerry apart in the 1st half,) But as I am biased anyone like to give their tuppence worth

Jaysus was i in the same bar?
Post by: screenexile on July 01, 2008, 03:08:26 PM
Paddy Bradley, Mattie Forde, Kieran Donaghy, Marc O'Sé, Martin McGrath, Alan Brogan, Gooch Cooper, Graham Canty would all be better than Clarke who has not consistently delivered on his promise of 2002.

Come back in September and we'll talk about it again!
Post by: Onion Bag on July 01, 2008, 03:12:09 PM
Quote from: screenexile on July 01, 2008, 03:08:26 PM
Paddy Bradley, Mattie Forde, Kieran Donaghy, Marc O'Sé, Martin McGrath, Alan Brogan, Gooch Cooper, Graham Canty would all be better than Clarke who has not consistently delivered on his promise of 2002.

Apart from the kerry lads what else have the other guys done, Derry, Wexford, Fermanagh, Dublin, and Cork, sure jasus ive hardly seen any of those players mentioned by ye screen,
Clarke was out for the best part of 2 years with the cruicate
Post by: orangeman on July 01, 2008, 03:18:29 PM
The 3rd week of September answers all these questions.
Post by: passedit on July 01, 2008, 03:20:16 PM
If it's'at the minute' you can discount anyone from Munster or connaught, they haven't even started yet.

Red Barry is a good call, AOR ,Mc gra, Shan Cavanagh and Dan Gordan all lookin at allstars on current form provided their seasons last into august.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 01, 2008, 03:34:55 PM
Quote from: passedit on July 01, 2008, 03:20:16 PM
If it's'at the minute' you can discount anyone from Munster or connaught, they haven't even started yet.

I'm pretty sure they've been games played in the Connacht championhsip anyway. I'll check and get back to you.
Post by: Onion Bag on July 01, 2008, 03:37:14 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 01, 2008, 03:34:55 PM

I'm pretty sure they've been games played in the Connacht championhsip anyway. I'll check and get back to you.

P Joyce is playing well Galwayboy  i havent forgot about ye
Post by: passedit on July 01, 2008, 03:38:14 PM

there's been fixtures fulfilled, that's about it. ye're worse than munster
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 01, 2008, 03:46:49 PM
Quote from: passedit on July 01, 2008, 03:38:14 PM

And how does this make the Leinster championship so fantastic considering they haven't had a team in an All-Ireland final since 2001? And that team got hammered. By a Connacht team. And even since then Connacht teams have twice got to an All-Ireland final.

I don't think you've thought this through very well.
Post by: passedit on July 01, 2008, 03:56:49 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 01, 2008, 03:46:49 PM

And how does this make the Leinster championship so fantastic considering they haven't had a team in an All-Ireland final since 2001? And that team got hammered. By a Connacht team. And even since then Connacht teams have twice got to an All-Ireland final.

GBB, there are THREE teams from Connaught left in the All Ireland series THIS YEAR. There'll  be two on 20 July. The first meaningful game in the Connacht championship will be the final.

By your logic Munster is superduper as Kerry are the reigning AI champions. Now, who hasn't thought this through?
Post by: Rav67 on July 01, 2008, 04:01:50 PM
Hard to pick one player but I'd say the best team, not necessarily just on championship performances so far this season, would be something like this

Cluxton

O'Se  Owens   Keane
O'Se Gormley O'Mahoney

Doherty Murphy

Brogan O'Sullivan Cavanagh
Bradley   Clarke   Gooch
Post by: downgirl on July 01, 2008, 04:03:19 PM
Dan Gordon has been really consistent and hopefully will get the all star that he deserves this year
Post by: nutsy--1 on July 01, 2008, 04:04:49 PM
ronan clarke has to be up there, i don't rate any dublins players as best in the country or connaght players. fergal Doherty??
Post by: T Fearon on July 01, 2008, 04:05:36 PM
Ronan Clarke, Alan Brogan and Martin Flanagan (Westmeath) are the best players I have seen this year, in league and Championship, to date
Post by: amigo on July 01, 2008, 04:08:25 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on July 01, 2008, 04:01:50 PM
Hard to pick one player but I'd say the best team, not necessarily just on championship performances so far this season, would be something like this

Cluxton

O'Se  Owens   Keane
O'Se Gormley O'Mahoney

Doherty Murphy

Bradley   Clarke   Gooch

I must take issue Rav,
Firstly, Owens? is this Barry Owens who has played 10 mins football since the season began?
Murphy? Nicholas Murphy Cork i presume - you cant be serious??
Gooch? Has played little or no ball either this year?
Do you really have a clue!!!!!!!!
Post by: ziggysego on July 01, 2008, 04:09:41 PM
Your man Stephen McKernan impressed me on Sunday. Not the best... yet.

At the moment, I'll say Ronan Clarke.

Damn it... both Armagh. :(
Post by: peterquaife on July 01, 2008, 04:10:35 PM
Quote from: amigo on July 01, 2008, 04:08:25 PM

Cluxton

O'Se  Owens   Keane
O'Se Gormley O'Mahoney

Doherty Murphy

Bradley   Clarke   Gooch

I must take issue Rav,
Firstly, Owens? is this Barry Owens who has played 10 mins football since the season began?

Owens at fullback? hardly
Shann Cavanagh too, tight call
Post by: Will Hunting on July 01, 2008, 04:12:55 PM
There's a decent half-back playing for Wexford, is it Gary Morrissey? Was excellent against Laois last week.
Post by: nutsy--1 on July 01, 2008, 04:13:10 PM
correct amigo, plus if owens was on team of the year so far it would be in full forward and i don't think gormley should be near the list, try Aidan o rourke in that position. Steven Kernan is close enough. Ziggy who does mc kernan play for??
Post by: ziggysego on July 01, 2008, 04:13:56 PM
Feck off, you know who I mean  :D

Always get the name mixed up with a mate of mine ;)
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 01, 2008, 04:16:29 PM
Quote from: passedit on July 01, 2008, 03:56:49 PM

GBB, there are THREE teams from Connaught left in the All Ireland series THIS YEAR. There'll  be two on 20 July. The first meaningful game in the Connacht championship will be the final.

Well Leitrim put up a pretty good fight against Galway and even though Sligo didn't play well against Mayo they were the reigining Connacht champions going into the game. You can say in hindsight that that wasn't a meaningful game even though hindsight is a wonderful thing. Before the game it looked like it would be a pretty tight encounter. These games are every bit as meaningful as anything played anywhere else. There are no fantastic teams in Leinster either but because there are a few teams of roughly the same standard doesn't mean they are great teams. Same with Ulster. The only advantage Leinster and Ulster have is there are more counties in their provinces so greater the chance they will have a couple more decent teams. To listen to some people you'd swear there was no football played in Connacht or Munster at all. It's amazingly arrogant.
Post by: whiskeysteve on July 01, 2008, 04:21:23 PM
Quote from: amigo on July 01, 2008, 04:08:25 PM

Cluxton

O'Se  Owens   Keane
O'Se Gormley O'Mahoney

Doherty Murphy

Bradley   Clarke   Gooch

I must take issue Rav,

In fairness I'd say rav is referring to mark murphy of fermanagh who has been in awesome form this year. MOTM on the losing side in the league final and excellent in the championship so far - i'd say its a fair pick.

regarding gooch and owens, rav has not limited his choices to this seasons form alone, as he said.

actually those last 2 def wouldnt be on it on this seasons form. I'd have niall mccusker in full back. not sure about the other corner forward slot yet
Post by: nrico2006 on July 01, 2008, 04:22:11 PM
QuotePaddy Bradley, Mattie Forde, Kieran Donaghy, Marc O'Sé, Martin McGrath, Alan Brogan, Gooch Cooper, Graham Canty would all be better than Clarke who has not consistently delivered on his promise of 2002.

Brogan is palying well but Donaghy would hardly be near the top of any list at the minute of even on last years form.  P Joyce was brilliant in his only championship game but it was against Leitrim.  Forde is playing well too.  Clarke is awesome and is the ideal full-forward.

Post by: ONeill on July 01, 2008, 04:26:39 PM
Clarke my hole. Up against the Cavan full back line that conceded something like 0-14 to Antrim and a Down line that shipped 0-21 over 90 mins to the worst Tyrone forward unit since 2000. I've seen nothing 'special' from Clarke that puts him ahead of the likes of thon Westmeath lad who roasted the Dublins single-handedly for 40 mins.
Post by: upthehoops on July 01, 2008, 04:27:42 PM
Dan Gordon & Ciaran lyng would be up with the best of them so far
Post by: Rav67 on July 01, 2008, 04:33:05 PM
amigo I clearly said I wasn't going just on this season's performances!  Owens is a 2-time all-star with Fermanagh which tells you how good he is and you could hardly pick a best XV in the country without Gooch in it!
Post by: lloyd christmas on July 01, 2008, 04:41:29 PM
Marty macgrath has to be up there.Its no coincidence that fermanaghs return to form has came as mcgrath is getting back into form.  H :oard lookin bodie too,not too many men leave mccusker on the seat of his pants.
Post by: Onion Bag on July 01, 2008, 04:42:46 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 01, 2008, 04:26:39 PM
Clarke my hole. Up against the Cavan full back line that conceded something like 0-14 to Antrim and a Down line that shipped 0-21 over 90 mins to the worst Tyrone forward unit since 2000. I've seen nothing 'special' from Clarke that puts him ahead of the likes of thon Westmeath lad who roasted the Dublins single-handedly for 40 mins.

Who do you think O Neil, Peter Canavan?
Clarke has been in outstanding form and long may it continue, You know yourself any team that Armagh will be playing will be shiting themselves, with the threat that mc donnell and clarke pose
Post by: T Fearon on July 01, 2008, 05:04:54 PM
I see Armagh have been installed as 3rd favourites (behind Kerry and Dublin) for the All Ireland, at 7/1. Some contrast with the 25/1 offered a only few weeks ago. Incidentally they are 4/11 on to win Ulster
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 01, 2008, 05:05:28 PM
Quote from: Will Hunting on July 01, 2008, 04:12:55 PM
There's a decent half-back playing for Wexford, is it Gary Morrissey? Was excellent against Laois last week.

ye can't think of his name either he is their number 5 was excellent against meath as well
Post by: ONeill on July 01, 2008, 05:06:06 PM
If I was told I could pick one player from the Armagh forward unit to place into the red hands' attack, it'd be McDonnell.
Post by: T Fearon on July 01, 2008, 05:11:42 PM
Shane, I think you would need the whole six of Armagh's forwards, the way things are going in the bushes currently. ;D
Post by: magpie seanie on July 01, 2008, 05:18:06 PM
Rav - I assume you have Cluxton in that team as a joke?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 01, 2008, 05:20:37 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 01, 2008, 05:04:54 PM
I see Armagh have been installed as 3rd favourites (behind Kerry and Dublin) for the All Ireland, at 7/1. Some contrast with the 25/1 offered a only few weeks ago. Incidentally they are 4/11 on to win Ulster

Not that crazy really. After Kerry a lot of teams are much of a muchness and one good performance can see that team's odds tumble drastically.
Post by: Uladh on July 01, 2008, 05:42:48 PM

Did some joker say conor gormley?
Post by: FermPundit on July 01, 2008, 06:19:50 PM
From a Fermanagh perspective I would argue that Martin McGrath, Mark Murphy and Eamon Maguire have been as good as any other player in the country so far this year.
Post by: tyrone86 on July 01, 2008, 06:33:56 PM
I think people are trying to answer 2 different questions here:

Who is the best player in the county at the minute and who has been the most impressively in the championship so far. Personally, I think both questions are far from mutually exclusive. Just to pick up on the Armagh example, if I was asked who Armagh's best footballer was I'd go for Stevie or McGrane. If I was asked who has been Armagh's most impressive player to date is, the answer is Clarke.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 01, 2008, 06:49:41 PM
Armagh fans dont be long getting carried away. Clarke played well on Sunday but it hardly makes him the best player in Ireland. He has also disappeared before in big games like the 03 final when he hardly touched the ball. The Down full back line is terrible. From the limited ball that was put into Sean Cavanagh he scored 3 from play in the replay,won a couple of frees and set up another few. How many did Clarke score on Sunday?
Post by: Leo on July 01, 2008, 06:50:43 PM
Quote from: tyrone86 on July 01, 2008, 06:33:56 PM

Who is the best player in the county at the minute and who has been the most impressively in the championship so far. Personally, I think both questions are far from mutually exclusive. Just to pick up on the Armagh example, if I was asked who Armagh's best footballer was I'd go for Stevie or McGrane. If I was asked who has been Armagh's most impressive player to date is, the answer is Clarke.
I go by the title of the thrfead and the answer without doubt is Morrissey of Wexford.
Post by: Zulu on July 01, 2008, 07:22:18 PM
His name is Adian Morrissey, how good is he? Well it's hard to say since he was dropped for the Meath game after some indifferent league games. Hope he continues in the rich reign of form both to increase Wexfords chances against the Dubs and to ensure Wexford get at least one All-star.
Post by: ONeill on July 01, 2008, 07:26:36 PM
Quote from: tyrone86 on July 01, 2008, 06:33:56 PM

I don't think they are. On current form, I'd take McDonnell. People are only raving about Clarke because he's beginning to regain his 2002 form. McDonnell is still more of a threat at this minute. Think he has scored something like 10 points so far, Clarke maybe 5. McDonnell has as many assists and wins most of his own ball. It's just that we expect that of him. Against a tight marking defence, McDonnell right now would be more of a threat than Clarke for making space, scoring and being a general nuisance. Clarke doesn't see as much of the ball.
Post by: Bogball XV on July 01, 2008, 08:15:18 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on July 01, 2008, 04:22:11 PM
QuotePaddy Bradley, Mattie Forde, Kieran Donaghy, Marc O'Sé, Martin McGrath, Alan Brogan, Gooch Cooper, Graham Canty would all be better than Clarke who has not consistently delivered on his promise of 2002.

Brogan is palying well but Donaghy would hardly be near the top of any list at the minute of even on last years form.  P Joyce was brilliant in his only championship game but it was against Leitrim.  Forde is playing well too.  Clarke is awesome and is the ideal full-forward.

I'd have Donaghy on any team of mine any day - the man is awesome, did you watch last year's all ireland final?  Would Kerry have beaten Monaghan without him?  Did you see this year's league final?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 01, 2008, 08:29:10 PM
QuoteGBB, there are THREE teams from Connaught left in the All Ireland series THIS YEAR. There'll  be two on 20 July. The first meaningful game in the Connacht championship will be the final.

Ignore Passedit GBB, he is still smarting from that abysmal Down performance against 14 man Armagh. I fear the defeat had too much "meaning" for the poor dear.

Post by: mackers on July 01, 2008, 11:08:05 PM

Screenexile, there are EIGHT better players in Ireland than Ronan Clarke at the minute!!  :o
You were at it on the Armagh Down thread as well. Has he done something on you???
Anybody talking about him not regaining the form of 2002 must've slept through the championship in 2006 where he won an Ulster for Armagh on his own and kept us in the Kerry QF by swinging over some mighty points not to mention the assist for McDonnell's goal.
Admittedly he has had some poor years (e.g.2003 where he was plagued by injury), but a fully fit Clarke is further up the pecking order than EIGHTH!! ::)
Post by: In the Onion Bag on July 01, 2008, 11:42:39 PM
Ronan has been tremendous in his two outings so far this year and is beginning to get close to his excellent colleague SMD.

Stephen however takes the attention away from Ronan thereby creating Ronan's opportunities to shine.  Conclusion!. You don't have to look outside Arma to find a better forward than Ronan let alone other counties.

Having said that, Ronan in his present form is a treat to watch and I hope he remains injury free.
Post by: Uladh on July 02, 2008, 12:00:46 AM

Way way too early to be talking about this sort of stuff and each man is going to lean towards his own province as thats what is closest to the surface. but sure for the craic i'd say-

Reilly

henry
canty
Keane

McKeever
O'Rourke
McCloskey

Gordon
McGrath

Little
Joyce
Barry

Forde
Clarke
dolan

with a major ulster bias as i've seen little more than highlights from the other provinces (ain't the bbc great for us nordies!)
Post by: screenexile on July 02, 2008, 12:16:41 AM
Quote from: mackers on July 01, 2008, 11:08:05 PM

Screenexile, there are EIGHT better players in Ireland than Ronan Clarke at the minute!!  :o
You were at it on the Armagh Down thread as well. Has he done something on you???
Anybody talking about him not regaining the form of 2002 must've slept through the championship in 2006 where he won an Ulster for Armagh on his own and kept us in the Kerry QF by swinging over some mighty points not to mention the assist for McDonnell's goal.
Admittedly he has had some poor years (e.g.2003 where he was plagued by injury), but a fully fit Clarke is further up the pecking order than EIGHTH!! ::)

Have nothing against the fella at all he's a fine footballer but we're talking about the best in the country at the minute. Given league and championship form over say the past 2 years those 8 players I mentioned have been better than him. Simple as. He has played well this season no doubt but admittedly this was against 2 very poor teams (don't tell me DOwn are any use because they are not). As the season goes on I may well change my view and put him as the best but not on this season's showing in all competitions.
Post by: tierworker blue on July 02, 2008, 12:42:46 AM
james reilly and seanie johnston from cavan are both outstanding players, and would make most county teams. anyone who's seen johnston play will agree that it's scary how good the lad is and reilly is arguably the best keeper in ireland. a lot of people would'nt really know them 'cause they only see the high profile players, but im sure anyone with their finger on the pulse of all things gaa will see where i'm coming from!
Post by: stephenite on July 02, 2008, 12:58:59 AM

By your logic Munster is superduper as Kerry are the reigning AI champions. Now, who hasn't thought this through?

That's the most arrogant comment on the board this year - try telling Leitrim people that the first meaningful game will be the Connacht final, thought they were marvellous for 2/3 of the game against Glaway and just ran out of steam at the end.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 02, 2008, 04:03:30 AM
Stephenite, Passedit is a well known Ulster supremacist. He's from Down and they like to live off their record against us whilst ignoring the fact that they have never beaten a decent Kerry team. Thankfully Colm O'Rourke told them whats what last Sunday. Hopefully this will teach him some humilty and temper his blithe dismissals of  the efforts of the so called "weaker" counties in Munster and Connact.

The best way to answer these bies is to continue dumping them out at the quarter final stage.
Post by: Galforever on July 02, 2008, 09:18:41 AM
QuoteGBB, there are THREE teams from Connaught left in the All Ireland series THIS YEAR. There'll  be two on 20 July. The first meaningful game in the Connacht championship will be the final.

Leinster just have a lot of teams around the same standard, it doesnt mean that the standard is higher.

As for the best player "at the moment", well in terms of the last year, I would say Marc O'Sé (This is taking into consideration league matches as well). If you are going just for this years chapionship, then it is too early to say as a lot of teams have only played once. Many people have mentioned the Wexford players on here, Why? Because they have played more games than most other teams. Really, you cant give an accurate opinion on this until the all-ireland qfs or more realistically the semis.
Post by: Uladh on July 02, 2008, 10:49:27 AM

If there are ulster teams making a run this year then players from that province will probably have an unfair advantage with these types of awards things. the bbc's live coverage of the ulster championship has brought the players profiles to an all time high, in the north anyway. it'd be novel to see tg4 or tv3 take a grasp of one of the other provincial championships and make a product of it.
Post by: kevmy on July 02, 2008, 11:12:17 AM
Quote from: stephenite on July 02, 2008, 12:58:59 AM

That's the most arrogant comment on the board this year - try telling Leitrim people that the first meaningful game will be the Connacht final, thought they were marvellous for 2/3 of the game against Glaway and just ran out of steam at the end.

Christ sure let them away. The more they think we're all shite over here in the West the more embarrassed they'll be when we dump some of those Ulster qualifiers out in the quarters
Post by: Bogball XV on July 02, 2008, 11:29:40 AM
Quote from: Uladh on July 02, 2008, 10:49:27 AM

If there are ulster teams making a run this year then players from that province will probably have an unfair advantage with these types of awards things. the bbc's live coverage of the ulster championship has brought the players profiles to an all time high, in the north anyway. it'd be novel to see tg4 or tv3 take a grasp of one of the other provincial championships and make a product of it.
Dear God no, not TG4, who consistently make NFL and club games look attrocious, maybe the odd auld mic somewhere near the crowd would help lads.
Quote from: tierworker blue on July 02, 2008, 12:42:46 AM
james reilly and seanie johnston from cavan are both outstanding players, and would make most county teams. anyone who's seen johnston play will agree that it's scary how good the lad is and reilly is arguably the best keeper in ireland. a lot of people would'nt really know them 'cause they only see the high profile players, but im sure anyone with their finger on the pulse of all things gaa will see where i'm coming from!
Agree, Reilly has been the best keeper in the country for 3/4 years now.  Johnston looks like he could be the real deal too.
Post by: thebandit on July 02, 2008, 11:55:00 AM
Good call on Reilly, saved Cavan from a hammering v Armagh. Johnston on the other hand looked good but not outstanding the same day. Didn't some manager once say he was the type of boy to score 10 points in a one sided game or something like that?

Ciaran McKeever was MOTM on Sunday an has been impressive all year
Post by: mackers on July 02, 2008, 12:23:34 PM
Quote from: screenexile on July 02, 2008, 12:16:41 AM
Quote from: mackers on July 01, 2008, 11:08:05 PM

Have nothing against the fella at all he's a fine footballer but we're talking about the best in the country at the minute. Given league and championship form over say the past 2 years those 8 players I mentioned have been better than him. Simple as. He has played well this season no doubt but admittedly this was against 2 very poor teams (don't tell me DOwn are any use because they are not). As the season goes on I may well change my view and put him as the best but not on this season's showing in all competitions.
My point is that that particular time scale isn't exactly fair on Ronan Clarke as he didn't play at all last year due to injury. I'm not basing my opinion that he's the best FF in the country simply due to two performances against weak back lines. The players you have listed are all super players but when Clarke is FIT then he is well ahead of a number of them as he has proved over a sustained period.
Post by: seanmcq on July 02, 2008, 12:30:09 PM
You cant really say who best in the country is cos some teams are only in 2nd gear...when C/ship is completed you look back and get a better view of whats what. Clarke is back to his best form again it looks like and is certainly as good a 14 as is out there at the minute....
Post by: passedit on July 02, 2008, 01:09:06 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 01, 2008, 04:16:29 PM
The only advantage Leinster and Ulster have is there are more counties in their provinces so greater the chance they will have a couple more decent teams. To listen to some people you'd swear there was no football played in Connacht or Munster at all. It's amazingly arrogant.

Not arrogant at all, the key bit of your quote is highlighted. How anyone can divide a 32 team (the other two are there out of collective guilt) competition into 12,9,6 and 5 beggars belief. In the entire history of the munster championship the 'other 4' counties have won six titles between them, the last of these in 1992 and the one before in 1935. Connacht is a bit better thanks to Roscommon's 19 titles but Sligo and Leitrim have 5 between them. IMO it's more arrogant and patronising to be talking about Leitrim putting up a good fight, anyone who watched that game knows they were never going to win it.
Post by: billy the kid on July 17, 2008, 03:04:18 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 01, 2008, 04:26:39 PM

But hes from Armagh ::) ::) dont you understand that makes him better than anyone else. you all those other top forwards who Armagh fans constantly tell us "He wouldnt make the Armagh team"

The Armagh posters on here are really holding back as they think the best 15 in Ireland are all from Armagh. :o :o :o

Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 17, 2008, 08:25:07 PM
QuoteNot arrogant at all, the key bit of your quote is highlighted. How anyone can divide a 32 team (the other two are there out of collective guilt) competition into 12,9,6 and 5 beggars belief. In the entire history of the munster championship the 'other 4' counties have won six titles between them, the last of these in 1992 and the one before in 1935. Connacht is a bit better thanks to Roscommon's 19 titles but Sligo and Leitrim have 5 between them. IMO it's more arrogant and patronising to be talking about Leitrim putting up a good fight, anyone who watched that game knows they were never going to win it.

The evidence of the last couple of years is that whoever comes out of Ulster have zero impact beyond the quarter-final stage. The representatives of Connact and , especially, Munster have had a major impact so your Ulster-centric arrogance is very misplaced.

Post by: Marty2002 on July 18, 2008, 01:51:10 AM
Ronan clarke is the best player in the country by a country mile, the ulster final will prove my point. Tyrone? Who? Who O Neill? What? Back door bitches.
ARMAGH FOR SAM 08
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on July 18, 2008, 02:09:03 AM
Quote from: Marty2002 on July 18, 2008, 01:51:10 AM
Ronan clarke is the best player in the country by a country mile, the ulster final will prove my point. Tyrone? Who? Who O Neill? What? Back door bitches.
ARMAGH FOR SAM 08

Great first post Marty. I'd never have guessed you were an Armagh man  ::)
Post by: screenexile on July 18, 2008, 02:12:58 AM
I'm guessing 2nd year at St. Pat's off for the summer!
Post by: billy the kid on July 18, 2008, 01:21:02 PM
Great to have an intelligent young poster like you on here Marty but I hope you asked your Mammy if you were allowed to use the computer as you dont want to get grounded and miss the match on Sunday.

Are you looking forward to starting the big school in September Marty? Suppose it will be hard on you not being home in the evenings until after all the cartoons are over you poor lad.

Post by: his holiness nb on July 18, 2008, 01:34:21 PM
Dont know how you can decide who the best player in the country is.
How can you compare a full back and a corner forward?
Post by: passedit on July 18, 2008, 01:42:39 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 17, 2008, 08:25:07 PM
QuoteNot arrogant at all, the key bit of your quote is highlighted. How anyone can divide a 32 team (the other two are there out of collective guilt) competition into 12,9,6 and 5 beggars belief. In the entire history of the munster championship the 'other 4' counties have won six titles between them, the last of these in 1992 and the one before in 1935. Connacht is a bit better thanks to Roscommon's 19 titles but Sligo and Leitrim have 5 between them. IMO it's more arrogant and patronising to be talking about Leitrim putting up a good fight, anyone who watched that game knows they were never going to win it.

The evidence of the last couple of years is that whoever comes out of Ulster have zero impact beyond the quarter-final stage. The representatives of Connact and , especially, Munster have had a major impact so your Ulster-centric arrogance is very misplaced.

I know you're winding Mike but you really haven't addressed my point have you?

Mayo and Kerry will be playing football in August having managed a win each over a Tommy Murphy cup team. If you think that's fair, well and good.

Post by: ildanach on July 18, 2008, 01:43:40 PM
i would say you would base it on what player has had the biggest impact consistantly for his team and their progress in the championship so far this year. For me it has to have been padraig joyce.
Post by: his holiness nb on July 18, 2008, 01:46:58 PM
Quote from: ildanach on July 18, 2008, 01:43:40 PM
i would say you would base it on what player has had the biggest impact consistantly for his team and their progress in the championship so far this year. For me it has to have been padraig joyce.

Fair enough, and good call on Joyce for this year.
Hopefully Matty Forde wont be added to the list on monday  ;)

Suprised to hear people claim Ronan Clarke is the best around. he is very good, of course, but certainly not the best by a long shot.
Post by: ildanach on July 18, 2008, 01:49:57 PM
Quote from: passedit on July 02, 2008, 01:09:06 PM
Not arrogant at all, the key bit of your quote is highlighted. How anyone can divide a 32 team (the other two are there out of collective guilt) competition into 12,9,6 and 5 beggars belief. In the entire history of the munster championship the 'other 4' counties have won six titles between them, the last of these in 1992 and the one before in 1935. Connacht is a bit better thanks to Roscommon's 19 titles but Sligo and Leitrim have 5 between them. IMO it's more arrogant and patronising to be talking about Leitrim putting up a good fight, anyone who watched that game knows they were never going to win it.

Sure if thats the case with the superior competition ulster teams are playing in they should be on top of their game come the quarter final stage and therefore be more than capable of dealing with kerry/cork/mayo/galway as these teams will have had no test in the championship thus far (except in playing each other in their respective championships)
Post by: feetofflames on July 18, 2008, 01:55:49 PM
Best players that I have seen this year in no particular order.
Matty Forde
Shane Goan
Pairac Joyce
Alan Brogan
Stephen Kiernan
Rony Clarke
Shan Cavanagh 
Dan the man Gordan
Post by: passedit on July 18, 2008, 02:05:27 PM
Quote from: ildanach on July 18, 2008, 01:49:57 PM
Quote from: passedit on July 02, 2008, 01:09:06 PM

Sure if thats the case with the superior competition ulster teams are playing in they should be on top of their game come the quarter final stage and therefore be more than capable of dealing with kerry/cork/mayo/galway as these teams will have had no test in the championship thus far (except in playing each other in their respective championships)

Compare and contrast the fitness levels of Dara O Se v Cork last time out and when he next appears in the championship.

Whatever is the best preparation, do you think it's fair that Mayo are playing in August having won only one championship match and that against a team not considered good enough for the qualifiers?
Post by: upthehoops on July 18, 2008, 02:09:28 PM
Quote from: screenexile on July 18, 2008, 02:12:58 AM
I'm guessing 2nd year at St. Pat's off for the summer!
I presume you mean St Pat's training school or more likely Hydebank!!
Post by: ildanach on July 18, 2008, 02:48:49 PM
Quote from: passedit on July 18, 2008, 02:05:27 PM
Compare and contrast the fitness levels of Dara O Se v Cork last time out and when he next appears in the championship.

Whatever is the best preparation, do you think it's fair that Mayo are playing in August having won only one championship match and that against a team not considered good enough for the qualifiers?

Since Derry won the ulster title in 1998 only tyrone and armagh have won the ulster titles. Mayo although only playing two championship game have gone into the back door of the championship same as every other team for divisons 1, 2 and 3. It is to our disadvantage that this is the case as the first serious test we played was the connacht final.
Armagh to reach the ulster final defeated Cavan (divison 2) and Down (divison 3) teams.
Fermanagh defeated  Monaghan (div 2) and Derry (divison 1).
All these defeated teams go into the back door at the same stage.
Galway on their way to the Connacht final defeated Roscommon (div 2) and Leitrim (div 3).

Had Mayo beaten Galway, they would be going into the qualifers at the same stage as Armagh (should they lose to Fermanagh) having played teams from the same divisons. The way the championship was drawn this year meant Mayo only played one game before the final. Last year we were beaten by Galway in May and had to go through from the 1st round of the qualifers

Post by: ross matt on July 18, 2008, 03:27:03 PM
It's gotta be Joyce. Ok Ross and Leitrim were'nt top class opposition but he still destroyed a fancied Mayo side and also performed well in the league. At the same time he's carrying the same form in to his club football also.

He's captain of Galway and showing tremendous leadership under pressure......funnelling back in to defense when necessary.......clinically chipping over points (and scoring crucial goals). Fitness wise he looks leaner and stronger than ever which appears to help him make penetrating runs that causes panic for opposition defences. Certainly the most mentally strong player I've ever seen.

All this 10 years after winning the 1st of his 2 all irelands and playing on a side that's not nearly as good as Galway 98-01. With the economical, well timed game he plays he will be around for a good few seasons yet and I think will be player of the year 2008.
Post by: the milkman on July 18, 2008, 05:44:50 PM
Joyce is playing great at the mo. Ronan Clarke looks in great shape at present, but Dan Gordon has been the player ive seen so far this year!!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 18, 2008, 05:58:13 PM
To be fair Ronan Clarke shouldn't be discussed here as he hasn't came up against a defence yet!!

Have to say Gordon and Marty McGrath as well from the matches (mostly ulster) that I have seen

Really impressed with mark murphy as well
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 18, 2008, 06:32:26 PM
Has anyone noticed how there seems to be a lack of really stand out players at the minute??

We are all mentioning good players but I wouldn't class any as great, maybe gooch on his day but obviously kerry haven't got into gear yet. Standards are dropping?!
Post by: mattockranger on July 18, 2008, 08:48:24 PM
matty forde is flying and a big game sunday he'll be top of the pops!!
Post by: saffron sam2 on July 18, 2008, 10:04:08 PM
If I had free pick of anyone in Ireland, I would go for Fergal Doherty.
Post by: ONeill on July 18, 2008, 10:12:51 PM
You mean to say that in a match involving a Saffron Sam 15 and you had a straight choice between Fergal Doherty and Sean Cavanagh as a final slot in your midfield, you'd have Fergal Doherty?
Post by: johnpower on July 18, 2008, 10:13:37 PM
after the weekend we will have a better idea of who is the best at the minute .Ronan Clarke is going well at  present and it will be interesting to see how Fermanangh will deal with him , Mattie Forde has a big test . A number of years back I watched himself and Joyce play in the compromise rules .Joyce coped much better that day as the aussies turned up the heat
Post by: saffron sam2 on July 18, 2008, 10:20:47 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 18, 2008, 10:12:51 PM
You mean to say that in a match involving a Saffron Sam 15 and you had a straight choice between Fergal Doherty and Sean Cavanagh as a final slot in your midfield, you'd have Fergal Doherty?

Yes. But then my view is not hindered by the colour of my spectacles.
Post by: ONeill on July 18, 2008, 10:22:12 PM
I reckon if I'd Sean on my O'Neill 15 you'd be snookered. A 3 time All-Star and consistent performer against the best of a bad bunch.
Post by: saffron sam2 on July 18, 2008, 10:23:34 PM
Yes, but Sean would appear to be struggling at midfield this year, with Mickey Harte preferring the ageing Hughes and the untried Gormley there in his stead.
Post by: ONeill on July 18, 2008, 10:38:10 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on July 18, 2008, 10:23:34 PM
Yes, but Sean would appear to be struggling at midfield this year, with Mickey Harte preferring the ageing Hughes and the untried Gormley there in his stead.

Yes, and that's why he's playing Sean at FF. No other reason.

FFS, why do Antrim men even participate on such threads.

Post by: ONeill on July 18, 2008, 10:45:19 PM
Finucane?
Post by: Hardy on July 19, 2008, 10:19:26 AM
I have a picture in my mind of two Englishmen arguing about whether Cliff Richard or Des O'Connor is the greatest rock star alive.
Post by: Hardy on July 19, 2008, 01:33:38 PM
d2(picture)/dx
Post by: Marty2002 on July 21, 2008, 11:11:08 PM
Quote from: billy the kid on July 18, 2008, 01:21:02 PM
Great to have an intelligent young poster like you on here Marty but I hope you asked your Mammy if you were allowed to use the computer as you dont want to get grounded and miss the match on Sunday.

Are you looking forward to starting the big school in September Marty? Suppose it will be hard on you not being home in the evenings until after all the cartoons are over you poor lad.

HAHAHAHA!
Great speech, i cud ask ure mammy if i could use her computer maybe, after she gets off my face, ye w**k
Post by: Dubh driocht on July 21, 2008, 11:29:55 PM
Dan Gordon was superb again on Sunday.Benny also VG although accept that he was well marked against Armagh.Begrudgingly concede Ciaran Mc Keever is effective ,but nowhere near this thread
Post by: moysider on July 22, 2008, 12:32:51 AM

Now I m no Jacophile but I thought Shane Ryan was immense on Sunday and was instrumental in the initial breaking down of Wexford. He looks to have lost weight and is just muscle now. Serious engine room man.  If there was one player I could sign up right now it would be Ryan.
Post by: screenexile on July 22, 2008, 12:43:03 AM
I'd take Marty McGrath at the minute. Great midfielder full of work and skill and he grabbed 2 great points for Fermanagh when they chips were down. Did the same against Derry too. A real leader!
Post by: moysider on July 22, 2008, 12:54:34 AM
Quote from: screenexile on July 22, 2008, 12:43:03 AM
I'd take Marty McGrath at the minute. Great midfielder full of work and skill and he grabbed 2 great points for Fermanagh when they chips were down. Did the same against Derry too. A real leader!

Yeah. McGrath has been a top midfielder for some time now and was savage the last day.
Post by: Hardy on July 22, 2008, 09:11:43 AM
All-star midfield at this moment: Shane Ryan and John Galvin.
Post by: nrico2006 on July 22, 2008, 09:13:25 AM
Shane Ryan or Padraic Joyce.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 22, 2008, 09:50:00 AM
Quote from: Hardy on July 22, 2008, 09:11:43 AM
All-star midfield at this moment: Shane Ryan and John Galvin.

Have you been ignoring ulster?? All star midfield at the minute: Dan Gordon and Marty McGrath
Post by: Onion Bag on July 22, 2008, 09:56:50 AM
Stevie Mc Donnell and Ronon Clarke
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 22, 2008, 09:57:33 AM
Quote from: Onion Bag on July 22, 2008, 09:56:50 AM

Have a bit of sense now!
Post by: his holiness nb on July 22, 2008, 01:19:52 PM
Quote from: moysider on July 22, 2008, 12:32:51 AM
If there was one player I could sign up right now it would be Ryan.

feck of Moysider, he aint for sale!!!  >:( >:( >:( >:(

:)
Post by: Onion Bag on July 22, 2008, 02:50:06 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 22, 2008, 09:57:33 AM
Quote from: Onion Bag on July 22, 2008, 09:56:50 AM

Have a bit of sense now!

Sense, Im talking about the best Full attackers in the country at the min
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 22, 2008, 06:04:20 PM
The two best?? Better than Sheehan, Gooch, Dolan, Freeman, Forde, Meehan...

Thats just a start!
Post by: Frank Casey on July 22, 2008, 09:37:53 PM
When If Galvin gets off he'll be the freshest and most motivated. ;)
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 22, 2008, 09:48:17 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 22, 2008, 09:50:00 AM
Have you been ignoring ulster??

Oh, god forbid we ignore Ulster !
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 22, 2008, 10:10:43 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 22, 2008, 09:48:17 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 22, 2008, 09:50:00 AM
Have you been ignoring ulster??

Oh, god forbid we ignore Ulster !

We'll see come the business end of the year, Plus I wasn't talking to you
Post by: catchandkick on July 22, 2008, 10:28:35 PM
As a Kerryman, the only person I could make a strong case for an All Star team at the moment would be Marc O'Se.  Cooper has played very little ball, came on v Derry in NFL final , game v Clare where he was quietish and game v Cork where he got little ball.Donaghy still has potential to do damage but is suffering because high ball tactics have become extremely lazy , when the tactic started in 06 he was given crisp diagonal balls that he could attack , now all it is is high bombs from midfield which are fairly easy for the full back to punch out . Thats the Kerry rant over! Still feel we're capable of beating all teams left in qualifiers  8)

Top player at the minute would be a tight call between Marty McGrath and Shane Ryan

Picking a team is not easy by any means

Cluxton

Diarmuid Duggan (Cork)
Marc O'Se
John Keane

Philip Jordan
Damian Healy ( Westmeath)
Barry Cahill

Marty McGrath
Shane Ryan

Diarmuid Connolly
Padraig Joyce
Mark Little

Alan Brogan
Ronan Clarke
Benny Coulter
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 22, 2008, 10:30:32 PM
QuotePlus I wasn't talking to you

Well, since you made it your business to have a go on that other thread I'm just returning the favor....and will continue to do so
till you learn some manners.

Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 22, 2008, 10:33:58 PM
I was posting in the thread as a down supporter, you just decided to come in on the wind up

Wind yer neck in wee boy
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 22, 2008, 10:35:43 PM
Quote from: catchandkick on July 22, 2008, 10:28:35 PM
As a Kerryman, the only person I could make a strong case for an All Star team at the moment would be Marc O'Se.  Cooper has played very little ball, came on v Derry in NFL final , game v Clare where he was quietish and game v Cork where he got little ball.Donaghy still has potential to do damage but is suffering because high ball tactics have become extremely lazy , when the tactic started in 06 he was given crisp diagonal balls that he could attack , now all it is is high bombs from midfield which are fairly easy for the full back to punch out . Thats the Kerry rant over! Still feel we're capable of beating all teams left in qualifiers  8)

Top player at the minute would be a tight call between Marty McGrath and Shane Ryan

Picking a team is not easy by any means

Cluxton

Diarmuid Duggan (Cork)
Marc O'Se
John Keane

Philip Jordan
Damian Healy ( Westmeath)
Barry Cahill

Marty McGrath
Shane Ryan

Diarmuid Connolly
Padraig Joyce
Mark Little

Alan Brogan
Ronan Clarke
Benny Coulter

As a down man I can't see how you have benny in there, he scored goals gainst tyrone but still was mostly anonymous... This is a sort of good position we're in though that we hold benny ni such high regard that een with his scoring so far we haven't seen the best of him yet.

If you had seen all downs matches so far then there is no way you could omit big dan
Post by: catchandkick on July 22, 2008, 10:39:07 PM
Would you have him in ahead of Ryan and McGrath two of them have been best players in ch'ship
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 22, 2008, 10:41:05 PM
Havent seen every dublin match but have been impressed by what I have seen of ryan.

Yes would have him ahead of mcgrath, where was he the first 35 minutes on sunday?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 22, 2008, 10:44:05 PM
QuoteI was posting in the thread as a down supporter, you just decided to come in on the wind up

Wind yer neck in wee boy

horseshite. you had a go and then started whinging when you got it back

so wind your own whinging neck in.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 22, 2008, 10:46:09 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 22, 2008, 10:44:05 PM
QuoteI was posting in the thread as a down supporter, you just decided to come in on the wind up

Wind yer neck in wee boy

horseshite. you had a go and then started whinging when you got it back

so wind your own whinging neck in.

You started off trying to wind up down fans, listen I am bored of you. If only this board had an ignore option.
Post by: st pauls mcgrath on July 22, 2008, 10:58:11 PM
dan gordon....end of discussion :) oj but he has to be considered along with shane ryan, ronan clarke, marty mcgrath at least from what ive seen
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 22, 2008, 11:03:27 PM
QuoteYou started off trying to wind up down fans

I said Down scored 5-19 in their last game so Laois hadnt a hope..........yeah, thats a real attempt at winding up Down fans isnt it  ::)

...you should go away and watch your hollyoaks or whatever crap soap yer into these days. No place for lightweights like you on here...

Post by: mattockranger on July 23, 2008, 02:31:22 PM
Marty Mcgrath
carrying that fermanagh team!!!
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 04, 2008, 11:56:41 AM
Can I nominate John Doyle

0-2 v Wicklow
0-8 v Cavan
1-6 v Limerick
0-5 v Fermanagh

MOTM performances vs Limerick and Cavan, stood up to the plate yesterday after a dreadful penalty miss.....at this moment in time best player in the country, well him or Aidan O'Mahony who was immense for Kerry yesterday....
Post by: Joe Umbrella (hey) on August 04, 2008, 12:15:26 PM
The Star Donaghy - A different class, took Monaghan to the cleaners yesterday!
Post by: Final Whistle on August 04, 2008, 02:06:51 PM
move aside and let the machine cavanagh take him seat at the head of the rankings. without doubt the best there is around at the minute!!! 8)
Post by: INDIANA on August 04, 2008, 03:08:40 PM
no brainer really , alan brogan.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 04, 2008, 03:09:55 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 04, 2008, 03:08:40 PM
no brainer really , alan brogan.

Not even the best player in his own house. ;D
Post by: INDIANA on August 04, 2008, 04:12:48 PM
he's a top 6 forward in the country, and has always delivered for dublin even when we've lost. pity some of our other players wouldn't take his lead. Honourable mention to John Doyle though who's the only reason I didn't change the channel yesterday.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on August 04, 2008, 04:25:09 PM
8 teams left in the Championship.  If I had to pick the best player from each team, it would be

Tyrone - Enda McGliney
Dublin - Alan Brogan
Wexford - Mattie Forde
Armagh - Ronan Clarke
Kerry - Kieran Donaghy
Galway - Padraig Joyce
Kildare - John Doyle
Cork - Micheal Cussin!
Post by: orangeman on August 04, 2008, 08:43:11 PM
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on August 04, 2008, 04:25:09 PM
8 teams left in the Championship.  If I had to pick the best player from each team, it would be

Tyrone - Enda McGliney no 3
Dublin - Alan Brogan no 4
Wexford - Mattie Forde no5
Armagh - Ronan Clarke no .2
Kerry - Kieran Donaghy no 1
Galway - Padraig Joyce no 6
Kildare - John Doyle no7
Cork - Micheal Cussin! no 8
Post by: corn02 on August 04, 2008, 10:17:02 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 04, 2008, 04:12:48 PM
he's a top 6 forward in the country

Would that not rule him out of this thread then?
Post by: Puckoon on August 04, 2008, 10:20:02 PM
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on August 04, 2008, 04:25:09 PM

Tyrone - Enda McGliney
Dublin - Alan Brogan
Wexford - Mattie Forde
Armagh - Ronan Clarke
Kerry - Kieran Donaghy
Galway - Padraig Joyce
Kildare - John Doyle
Cork - Micheal Cussin!

Ronan Clarke for me at the minute.
Post by: redhandluke on August 05, 2008, 01:15:17 AM
Agree that Clarke is having a great year - followed closely by Brogan and Cavanagh.

Special mention to Bellew - he is having another great year - if not Tyrone would love to see Armagh in the final against Kerry and for him to redeem himself again Donaghy.  Best defender in the country by a  country mile.
Post by: corn02 on August 05, 2008, 01:19:59 AM
Best FB possibly. Best defender? Not by a long shot.
Post by: redhandluke on August 05, 2008, 01:24:00 AM
Corn,
I notice you did not mention any names???
Post by: corn02 on August 05, 2008, 01:37:40 PM
Now I am talking defenders here, not full backs but from the Armagh team alone I would rather Have Mallon, AOR, McKeever and AK in my team.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 06, 2008, 08:23:13 PM
Dunno how Clarke can get mentioned here properly, who has he played against?!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 13, 2008, 01:06:29 PM
One week later how have everyones opinions changed??

Meehan? Forde?!

I am not saying these two just showing how peoples perceptions can be very easily changed...