GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Kerry Mike on June 26, 2008, 08:17:27 PM

Title: Kerry v Cork - 2008 Munster final
Post by: Kerry Mike on June 26, 2008, 08:17:27 PM
The clock is starting to tick down for the Munster final between bitter rivals Kerry and Cork in Pairc Ui Caoimh.

====================
Kerry's inspirational midfielder Darragh O Se has emerged as a major injury worry for the Munster SFC final against Cork on July 6.

The five-time All-Ireland winner strained his groin in a challenge match win over Meath in Templemore on Monday night and is facing a race against time to be fit for Sunday's week Pairc Ui Chaoimh decider. O Se had been struggling with the injury beforehand, but decided to play. However, the decision backfired badly as he was forced off after only 10 minutes and aggravated the injury in the process.

The injury is another blow to Kerry manager Pat O'Shea, who is already planning for the Cork game without suspended captain Paul Galvin and former skipper Declan O'Sullivan, who underwent knee surgery last week.

Cork also have their fair share of injury problems with half backs Noel O'Leary and Paudie Kissane both ruled out through injury, while corner back Dermot Duggan and midfielder Alan O'Connor are on the doubtful list.

======================

Looks like 3 places possibly now up for grabs with the 2 missing half forwards. Hopefully Darragh will overcome his injury in time.

The most likely move would be Tommy Griffin in a direct swap with Darragh to partner Semus Scanlon in the middle with Killian Young back in at wing back. Others to consider would be Mike Quirke, Tommy Walsh, Kieran Donaghy or Eoin Brosnan, all capable of playing at midfield, though with a weakened half forward line I'd expect to see Brosnan take over on the 40.

Dont think Mike Quirke has the mobility for summer football and I think Pat O'Shea would like to try out Tommy Walsh again and where better than in a heated battle with Cork in the Pairc and I am guessing if Darragh is out you could also see Donaghy back in midfield and Walsh staying at full forward.

Lets wait and see for the 6th July.

Cork are very poor and the injuries to O'Leary and others will weaken them further, but there is one thing you can be assured of, Conor The Ball_Grabber will have the Rebels fired up for the visit of Kerry to Lee side. No one likes losing a Munster final and Kerry and Cork will always bring out the best and worst in each other. There is alot at stake for this Cork team, after their strike and their loss of form in early season and their very poor showing against Limerick and the memory of 4 drubbings in Croke Park to Kerry in recent years must hurt.

We too have to find our feet, a decent league run with a depleted team, U21's and Injured missing, got us to a final where we caved in to the second half pressure of Derry, hopefully the fitness level have improved in the last few weeks and a good improvement over the Clare performance is needed. Will see on the day.

And hopefully we can produce a winning performance and complete the clean sweep over the rebels in football this year  :P

Munster Minor Championship: Kerry 0-13 Cork 0-11
Munster U21 championship: Kerry 0-15 Cork 0-10
Munster Junior Championship:  Kerry 1-11 Cork 1-9

Munster JFC: Kingdom dethrone holders
26 June 2008

Kerry ended Cork's reign as All-Ireland junior football champions with a two-point victory in last night's Munster final at Pairc Ui Chaoimh.

Kerry..1-11
Cork..1-9

The Kingdom capitalised on some poor Cork finishing, particularly in the opening quarter, to regain the provincial crown. The home side totally dominated the early stages, but both Cathrach Keane and Colm O'Driscoll were guilty of spurning excellent goal chances.

David Goold eventually got the Rebels off the mark in the nine minute, but Kerry replied through Conor Daly and Niall Fleming before Alan O'Sullivan blasted a goal in the 20th minute. And further scores from O'Sullivan and Daly gave them a 1-4 to 0-3 cushion at half-time.

With Anthony Maher and Alan O'Sullivan dominant at midfield, the Kingdom stretched their lead to six points midway through the second half. Cork refused to throw in the towel, however, and reduced the gap to just two points when the impressive Goold slotted home a 50th minute penalty.

Goold made it a one-point game before Kerry closed out the game with late scores from senior panellist Paddy Curran and Alan O'Sullivan.

Kerry - S Óg Ó Ciarduabháin; K Quirke, W Sullivan, C O'Mahony; F Griffin, P Corridan, J King; A Maher 0-2, A Garnet; A O'Sullivan 1-2, JP Brosnan, M O'Donoghue 0-1; P Curran 0-2, N Fleming 0-1, C Daly 0-2. Subs - M Murphy 0-1 for Garnet, D Doyle for Griffin, N Óg Horgan for O'Donoghue.

Cork - P White; M Prout, G Healy, P Gayer; R O'Sullivan, S Fox, S Levis; E Lyons, N O'Riordan; S Kiely 0-1, C Keane 0-1, P O'Flynn; D Goold 1-6, BJ O'Sullivan 0-1, C O'Driscoll. Subs - D O'Donovan for O'Riordan, J O'Donovan for R O'Sullivan.

Ref - M McGann (Clare).
Title: Re: Kerry v Cork - 2008 Munster final
Post by: moysider on June 26, 2008, 09:59:27 PM

F**K sake how did Conor get a name like THE BALL-GRABBER?  :o I know, I know but give us the whole story. Brilliant.
Post by: Kerry Mike on June 26, 2008, 10:13:43 PM
It was Munster final day back in the mid 80's when Conor Counihan manhandled the family jewels of Jack O'Shea and all hell nearly broke out in Pairc Ui Caoimh, I still remember the Bomber Liston storming down the field to lay into one of the Cork lads.

It was the closest I have seen to a riot starting at a GAA match on the field and in the stands. If I'm not mistaken it was the same day that Billy Morgan and Johnny Mulvihill were stuck in each other on the sideline and later that night Morgan would not serve the Bomber or Mulvihill in his pub and another row almost took off. Twas a great day.

Other "great" moments in Munster finals in Cork over the years were Jimmy Deenihan having a "go" off Dinny Allen during the national anthem, Kevin Kehilly spitting at the Bomber, Paidi having a cut off Dinny Allen also before the throw in before another game, Dinny was easy to wind up.  Niall Cahalane and Pat Spillane sharing women tips during the games.
Post by: Frank Casey on June 26, 2008, 10:43:18 PM
Ahh Kerry Mike the lead up to a real Munster final in enemy territory. I'm single for the next 10 days as Mrs Casey will have nothing to do with me at the moment. We'll have to go for a dry run or maybe a very wet one.

I can't see us being done in this one. We have our troubles with fellas missing but an unsettled Cork team is in much more trouble. Our problems at half forward are ironically matched at half back for Cork. Would probably expect Donaghy at no. 8 with young Walsh at 14. With the way he blows hot and cold his next outing should be good. We'll complete the outfit with the 2 O'Sullivans at 10 and 12. I hear Nicholas Murphy has made himself available for discovery on the pitch in Darragh's absence. Thats probably a bit harsh as he has actually played against us a couple of times, that I can remember, in the Munster championship.
Post by: Kerry Mike on June 26, 2008, 10:48:50 PM
I hear Alan Quirke is still missing, Not seen since the pre-match parade last September  :P

Am taking the holidays early this year FC and will miss the Munster final unfortunately, I know I know, but hopefully we will need the weekends in August and September  ;)

Post by: Frank Casey on June 26, 2008, 10:52:12 PM
Tis alright - shure thats like the yarn that the Unbelievables had about the man having his dinner at 9 in the morning to give himself a good run at the day. ;)
Post by: moysider on June 26, 2008, 11:09:40 PM

Jaysus but yere a great double act the pair of ye. Mike and Frank. Thing is ye ll probably have the last laugh as well in September as usual. Spoiled is the only word for it. Ye dont know ye ve been born. Nothing but the good times.
Post by: Frank Casey on June 26, 2008, 11:11:22 PM
Quote from: moysider on June 26, 2008, 11:09:40 PM

Jaysus but yere a great double act the pair of ye. Mike and Frank. Thing is ye ll probably have the last laugh as well in September as usual. Spoiled is the only word for it. Ye dont know ye ve been born. Nothing but the good times.

Actually we're twins but KM is two months older. You see he arrived a month early and well I was a month late......................
Post by: moysider on June 26, 2008, 11:17:24 PM
Quote from: Frank Casey on June 26, 2008, 11:11:22 PM
Quote from: moysider on June 26, 2008, 11:09:40 PM

Actually we're twins but KM is two months older. You see he arrived a month early and well I was a month late......................

If that happened with pure bred cattle you d need to produce 2 AI straws and pay for a DNA test as well. But I ll take your word for it.
Post by: Frank Casey on June 26, 2008, 11:24:16 PM
We told the yarn to a fella in a pub in Cork one night. You know he almost bought it. Mythical powers are attributed to Kerrymen you know. I worked for a few years in a small town on the Cork side of the county bounds. All intorductions were always preceded by "He's from Kerry", all quirks were similarly explained. Ahh to be regarded as rare and exotic like scruples in a polititian.
Post by: tyssam5 on June 26, 2008, 11:26:57 PM
So why's it called a final?

Post by: moysider on June 27, 2008, 12:14:32 AM
Quote from: Frank Casey on June 26, 2008, 11:24:16 PM
We told the yarn to a fella in a pub in Cork one night. You know he almost bought it. Mythical powers are attributed to Kerrymen you know. I worked for a few years in a small town on the Cork side of the county bounds. All intorductions were always preceded by "He's from Kerry", all quirks were similarly explained. Ahh to be regarded as rare and exotic like scruples in a polititian.

Hmmmmm. When your team manager is a politician and therefore unscrupulous you end up with you best player twiddling his thumbs while the poor old red and green crash and burn yet again. We re well and truly scrupled so.
Post by: downgirl on June 27, 2008, 12:30:10 AM
Got an email from ticketmaster today saying that for a limited time they are doing 2-for-1 on tickets for the Munster Final...doesn't seem like the GAA at all sure it doesn't!!
Post by: Kerry Mike on June 27, 2008, 01:04:33 AM
Quotedoesn't seem like the GAA at all sure it doesn't!!

We have been waiting a long time for another crack at Down, will this be the year, only seems to come around once every 20 years or so. One of the few GAA hoodoos we still have to break.

HS: Italy

QuoteSo why's it called a final?
Because you get a chance to bate Cork in it, and when you get the hay saved and the turf home your summer would be sorted.

QuoteAll introductions were always preceded by "He's from Kerry"
I usually get "here's another bollix from Kerry"

Dont mind my twin, he's still got a big smirky head on him from the win last September. Paul Galvin was right last year, that was THE game they just had to win.
Post by: moysider on June 27, 2008, 01:13:04 AM

FFS I m off. These guys should get their own show. How can fellas in their seventies work a computer so easy?
Post by: timmykelleher on June 27, 2008, 12:02:50 PM
Do Kerrymen have a sense of humour?

Here's one Kerryman trying to be funny anyway:

Cooper says Cork are favourites
18 June 2008

Colm Cooper has insisted that Cork are favourites to beat Kerry in next month's Munster SFC final, despite the Kingdom's annihilation of their near neighbours in last year's All-Ireland final.

The 'Gooch' reckons that home advantage could tilt the game in the Rebel County's favour.

He said: "It's a big game. I suppose Cork will come into it as favourites, it will suit them down to the ground that it's at Pairc Ui Chaoimh.

"They will be really looking forward to it after the All-Ireland last year not going so well for them and the Munster final in Killarney.

"But it's always a huge day and there's usually nothing between the two sides, as we saw last year (in the Munster final). They will come in nicely under the radar and we'll just have to try to get ready for them."

Post by: Tatler Jack on June 27, 2008, 01:09:55 PM
QuoteDo Kerrymen have a sense of humour?

Here's one Kerryman trying to be funny anyway

Must find what bookie Gooch goes to as with Paddy Power Kerry are 2/7 with Cork at 9/4

I suppose old cute hoor habits die hard.
Post by: D4S on June 27, 2008, 02:36:33 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on June 27, 2008, 01:04:33 AM
Quotedoesn't seem like the GAA at all sure it doesn't!!

We have been waiting a long time for another crack at Down, will this be the year, only seems to come around once every 20 years or so. One of the few GAA hoodoos we still have to break.

Would be brilliant to get a game against the likes of Kerry and Dublin this year, hopefully we can progress and reach the knockout rounds i.e AI Quarter final.  Definitely think we're in with a good shout against armagh, would be unbelievable to beat them as a down team has never beaten armagh and tyrone en route to an ulster title! Although after beating them we would then have to beat a mighty fermanagh side in the final..their workrate is immense!

As for ticketmasters 2for1 in the munster final, I think that's hilarious they have to do this to sell tickets for a munster final....surely the gaa with a bit of promotion work good gee up 30-35000 paying supporters for a munster final? I know there is a lot of talk about open draws for the all ireland and champions league type structures, but I for one would hate to see that type of structure and we haven't been able to win an ulster title since 1994.  What is the feeling in munster about the provincial championship? Are Cork and Kerry sick of playing ALMOST every year in the munster final?
Post by: D4S on June 27, 2008, 02:37:29 PM
Apologies...I just meant to quote the top piece!

Would be brilliant to get a game against the likes of Kerry and Dublin this year, hopefully we can progress and reach the knockout rounds i.e AI Quarter final.  Definitely think we're in with a good shout against armagh, would be unbelievable to beat them as a down team has never beaten armagh and tyrone en route to an ulster title! Although after beating them we would then have to beat a mighty fermanagh side in the final..their workrate is immense!

As for ticketmasters 2for1 in the munster final, I think that's hilarious they have to do this to sell tickets for a munster final....surely the gaa with a bit of promotion work good gee up 30-35000 paying supporters for a munster final? I know there is a lot of talk about open draws for the all ireland and champions league type structures, but I for one would hate to see that type of structure and we haven't been able to win an ulster title since 1994.  What is the feeling in munster about the provincial championship? Are Cork and Kerry sick of playing ALMOST every year in the munster final?
Post by: TBT on June 27, 2008, 03:10:12 PM
Id imagine as the game is on in the Pairc it will be half empty again. The interest is gone out of Cork/Kerry games, in Cork anyhow.
Post by: Main Street on June 27, 2008, 03:28:17 PM
I thought the 2 for 1 was a wind up.

It's good you are posting here D4S because this thread isn't the most popular, even if it is a provincial final.

If the Nordies didn't pay any attention, would Kerry GAA still exist here ?
Post by: Tatler Jack on June 27, 2008, 03:28:30 PM
QuoteThe interest is gone out of Cork/Kerry games, in Cork anyhow

Agree totally TBT - it still seems to mean a lot to some Kerry folk but the reality is that it is no longer the attraction it was in the 70s and 80s. Football in Cork is now a very poor relation of hurling and while it has its diehard fans most Cork GAA supporters follow the hurling team. I know in our own club only a very small minority go to Cork football games. Kerry still try to pretend that there is great rivalry and that somehow the year is all the better when they beat Cork. Easy to please them I feel.
Post by: D4S on June 27, 2008, 03:54:34 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 27, 2008, 03:28:17 PM
I thought the 2 for 1 was a wind up.

It's good you are posting here D4S because this thread isn't the most popular, even if it is a provincial final.

If the Nordies didn't pay any attention, would Kerry GAA still exist here ?

Until Down's breakthrough in the 60s and then even during the troubles in the north until down again in the 90s, teams from the north used to win ulster and just go down to dublin to get a stuffing in the all ireland semifinal every year.  Now things are genuinely different and it is great to see it.  We have Armagh, Tyrone, Down, Derry, Donegal(ulster not north), Derry who have all won irelands in the not too distant past. 

In the past 7 years there are tyrone,armagh,donegal,derry,fermanagh and last year monaghan who have all challenged with some success stories.  I do believe strongly that the intensity and competitiveness of the ulster championship does hamper our teams chances of lifting sam in september as teams often need to be peaking for just after the league in may+june for games against tyrone, armagh etc. It is hard to keep that intensity going for the whole summer! 

I definitely wouldn't change it though as for some just to win Ulster can be every bit as gratifying as winning an all ireland!  If Fermanagh win this years final it'll be their 1st and if Down can get by armagh this weekend it will be our 1st since 1994...so wish us well and hopefully the ulster championship can be the romance of the 2008 championship.  Who knows what could happen in August and September :)
Post by: TBT on June 27, 2008, 04:01:52 PM
Quote from: Tatler Jack on June 27, 2008, 03:28:30 PM

Agree totally TBT - it still seems to mean a lot to some Kerry folk but the reality is that it is no longer the attraction it was in the 70s and 80s. Football in Cork is now a very poor relation of hurling and while it has its diehard fans most Cork GAA supporters follow the hurling team. I know in our own club only a very small minority go to Cork football games. Kerry still try to pretend that there is great rivalry and that somehow the year is all the better when they beat Cork. Easy to please them I feel.
Football has always been well down the list in the collective Cork conscience but the last few yrs has seen its stock has plummited to an all time low. In terms of public interest in the City it trails rugby and soccer never mind hurling. There is just no appetite to support the game after the abject performances of recent seasons. Im sure Cork will turn out to support the side against Kerry but it will be more because of a lack of any thing better to do rather than genuine interest in the game. That old Cork/Kerry magic has evaporated. Theres now a general exceptance that Kerry are just too good/ Cork too poor when it comes down to it. Cork have been caught trying to support 2 codes in an era where its v difficult to compete with those counties who specialise in one code.
Post by: Tatler Jack on June 27, 2008, 04:37:09 PM
It is noticeable that all the good dual players at minor level now opt for hurling - Cadogan would probably be on the football team but has elected to stay with hurlers even though he is just a panel member. A lot of people I know got fed up with football because of the tactics Cork have used since Tomkins was in charge. This short passing, ball going accross the field and backs playing in the forwards has meant that Cork are not very attractive to watch and not likely to win anything. 
Post by: TBT on June 27, 2008, 05:28:46 PM
Quote from: Tatler Jack on June 27, 2008, 04:37:09 PM
It is noticeable that all the good dual players at minor level now opt for hurling - Cadogan would probably be on the football team but has elected to stay with hurlers even though he is just a panel member. A lot of people I know got fed up with football because of the tactics Cork have used since Tomkins was in charge. This short passing, ball going accross the field and backs playing in the forwards has meant that Cork are not very attractive to watch and not likely to win anything. 

That style of football is played in Cork from U10 up. Its coached into them not to kickthe football. Go to any juvinile game and its all fist passing.The Nemo Rangers style. Putrid stuff to watch. Ciaran Sheehan is another dual star, off to Aussie RUles once theCork minor hurlers are gone. 
Post by: Mike Sheehy on June 27, 2008, 08:13:01 PM
QuoteIf the Nordies didn't pay any attention, would Kerry GAA still exist here ?

Why dont ye feck off so that we can find out !!

Also, you should be more focused on why Monaghan crumbled as soon as anyone had any expectations of them. Choke artists.
Post by: jodyb on June 27, 2008, 09:32:58 PM
Quote from: TBT on June 27, 2008, 04:01:52 PM
Quote from: Tatler Jack on June 27, 2008, 03:28:30 PM

Football has always been well down the list in the collective Cork conscience but the last few yrs has seen its stock has plummited to an all time low. In terms of public interest in the City it trails rugby and soccer never mind hurling. There is just no appetite to support the game after the abject performances of recent seasons. Im sure Cork will turn out to support the side against Kerry but it will be more because of a lack of any thing better to do rather than genuine interest in the game. That old Cork/Kerry magic has evaporated. Theres now a general exceptance that Kerry are just too good/ Cork too poor when it comes down to it. Cork have been caught trying to support 2 codes in an era where its v difficult to compete with those counties who specialise in one code.

If the fact that the two counties have been given a virtual bye by the Munster council into the AI quarter finals from now on doesn't give yes appetite then yes need a kick in the fcukin ar$e >:( >:( >:(
Post by: Mike Sheehy on June 28, 2008, 04:59:19 AM
Quotehave been given a virtual bye by the Munster council into the AI quarter finals

....what do you mean by a "virtual bye"  ?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 28, 2008, 10:25:07 AM
Football in Cork is going nowhere at the minute for a lot of reasons.  First of all it is very much behind hurling in importane, particularly at county board level.  The hurlers are the drivers behind everything. They have all the backing of the big noises on teh board and as a result get what they want.  There needs to be a change at that level.

Secondly, the standard of coaching is shocking at underage level and at senior level.  I am coaching at senior level and the basic skills of senior players arre not there.  Very few know how to strike a ball further than 35 yards off the foot.  Those that do can only do it off one foot.  There is an inability to tackle and wjhen players do get hit hard to throw the head up as if they have been hit by a sniper.  This lack of individual discipline and lack of responsibility means that if one team, ie Nemo, develop a certain level of ability they can dominate.

The level of cross sport activity is also high, with rugby and soccer hitting hard against the smaller clubs. I live bnear Kinsale in a small village.  We are competeing with a very well run rugby club and soccer club.  My sos underage team have a good bunch of about 20 young lads but it is difficult to see them all sticking at it as half play other sports.  Unless the structure at their age level changes they will be lost.

Another big factor is that on a socio level a lot of young lads have more money than they had 15-20 years ago and are under more pressure form girlfriends than before to have the big lifestyles and this mitigates agianst spending 3 nights a week training hard with a team and doing a bit on your own.  This, I know is a country wide phenomenon but it is a factor no matter what.  It is all the harder too when your team is not winning consistently.

Anyway the game itself is Kerry's to lose.  Cork are a team in transition.  Counihan tried to set a marker down by not starting Masters the last day.  For what it is worth I think he was right but the problem is the players wthemsleves do not seem to have the belief/interest to bring it up to the next level.  But perhaps they will get the whole attitude that no one expects them to win and then they will do something special.

Corks injuries hit them harder than Kerry's misiing players and the do not have a player to deal with even a half fit Darragh O'Shea.  Kerry by 3.
Post by: jodyb on June 28, 2008, 11:21:11 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on June 28, 2008, 04:59:19 AM
Quotehave been given a virtual bye by the Munster council into the AI quarter finals

....what do you mean by a "virtual bye"  ?
Correct me if i'm wrong Mike, but wasn't the Munster championship changed last year to ensure that Cork and Kerry couldn't be drawn on the same side of the Draw?
Hence whatever chance of one of yes being knocked out before the final has effectively been eliminated. Provincial winner into Q final and Runner up into last 12 pretty much every year from now on.
Post by: Main Street on June 28, 2008, 02:07:40 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on June 27, 2008, 08:13:01 PM
QuoteIf the Nordies didn't pay any attention, would Kerry GAA still exist here ?

Why dont ye feck off so that we can find out !!

Also, you should be more focused on why Monaghan crumbled as soon as anyone had any expectations of them. Choke artists.
Are ye not getting much sleep? Pre Match Tension? thin skin already stretched to the limit so as not to tolerate a very mild tongue in cheek comment?

Sorry if you were offended, no offense was intended.

Post by: Frank Casey on June 28, 2008, 11:03:31 PM
Have to agree with brokencrossbar1 about football in Cork. Outside of the very independent republic of west Cork football seems in trouble here. Am working in the city and living just outside and in this part of the county "bogball" is seen as a game for bad hurlers.

I've often thought that west Cork would be better off going it alone and concentrating all their efforts on football. There are many on the Cork County Board from eats & north and the city who subscribe to Chisty Ring's dictum that the best thing to do with a football is to stick a knife in it.

As for tomorrow week. I'll be there, I suppose being exiled in enemy territory makes it a little more special. Frankly, other that an evenings bragging the match means little. Even if Cork were to win, and I can't see it, logic, and 95% of Corkmen, states that we'll hammer them in the All Ireland series.

The critics of the revised seeded draw in Munster are completely right. However please note one point. Cork and Kerry on their own could not and did not vote to bring this in. Turkeys voted for Christmas and they deserve their stuffing accordingly. Remember there are 4 other counties in Munster. Why wouldn't Cork and Kerry want to engineer a direct entry into the last 12 in the All Ireland. Turkey eaters are entitled to welcome Christmas whatever about turkeys,
Post by: jodyb on June 29, 2008, 10:11:38 AM
Quote from: Frank Casey on June 28, 2008, 11:03:31 PM
Have to agree with brokencrossbar1 about football in Cork. Outside of the very independent republic of west Cork football seems in trouble here. Am working in the city and living just outside and in this part of the county "bogball" is seen as a game for bad hurlers.

I've often thought that west Cork would be better off going it alone and concentrating all their efforts on football. There are many on the Cork County Board from eats & north and the city who subscribe to Chisty Ring's dictum that the best thing to do with a football is to stick a knife in it.

As for tomorrow week. I'll be there, I suppose being exiled in enemy territory makes it a little more special. Frankly, other that an evenings bragging the match means little. Even if Cork were to win, and I can't see it, logic, and 95% of Corkmen, states that we'll hammer them in the All Ireland series.

The critics of the revised seeded draw in Munster are completely right. However please note one point. Cork and Kerry on their own could not and did not vote to bring this in. Turkeys voted for Christmas and they deserve their stuffing accordingly. Remember there are 4 other counties in Munster. Why wouldn't Cork and Kerry want to engineer a direct entry into the last 12 in the All Ireland. Turkey eaters are entitled to welcome Christmas whatever about turkeys,

Fair point Frank. I suppose the point I was making is that in every other county in the country bar kilkenny they'd give anything to be guaranteed a last 12 place, so for corkonians to say they've no appetite, having been granted this is a bit sickening. Bit like Turkey eaters whingin that christmas comes too often....
Post by: GAA_Punter on July 01, 2008, 03:23:32 PM
Any updated team news
Post by: Uladh on July 01, 2008, 04:36:03 PM

The social influences you mention has become an increasingly familiar story around the country.

whats the story with masters?
Post by: Onlooker on July 01, 2008, 09:49:30 PM
Quote from: Frank Casey on June 28, 2008, 11:03:31 PM

I know it was said at the time, but it is no harm repeating that the only county to give their support to Cork and Kerry re the seeded draw was Waterford.  Clare, Limerick and Tipperary all voted for the Open Draw.  It is indeed ironic that there has never been less interest in a Munster Final than there is this year.  Hopefully this seeded draw will be dumped next year. It needs to be for the good of football in Munster.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 02, 2008, 04:07:00 AM
QuoteIt needs to be for the good of football in Munster.

yeah, like you give a s**t about Munster football.

Kerry by 3 points.
Post by: Onlooker on July 02, 2008, 10:53:40 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 02, 2008, 04:07:00 AM

Kerry by 3 points.
I have been at 6 Munster Championship matches this year between Senior, Junior, Under 21 and Minor. There is football played in Munster outside of Kerry you know.  We all know that Kerry are good, but they are also arrogant b---------s.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 02, 2008, 01:36:47 PM

Kerry by 3 points.

Mike, you're way off base there. Onlooker is consistently posting about Tipperary football and football in general. He was one of the more prolific posters in the NFL Div 4 thread, so to imply that he's not a football fan is unfair.

And Onlooker, I don't generally find the Kerry lads arrogant. They're masters at winding you up when they want, but generally they seem to talk their chances down until after they win yet another one.

As for this game, I think Cork will win it.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 02, 2008, 01:48:05 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 02, 2008, 01:36:47 PM

Kerry by 3 points.

Mike, you're way off base there. Onlooker is consistently posting about Tipperary football and football in general. He was one of the more prolific posters in the NFL Div 4 thread, so to imply that he's not a football fan is unfair.

And Onlooker, I don't generally find the Kerry lads arrogant. They're masters at winding you up when they want, but generally they seem to talk their chances down until after they win yet another one.

As for this game, I think Cork will win it.

I hope they do for more reasons than just seeing them win, it will help us get a few injuries cleared up before the next round of the championship :P

I have serious doubts about them though, and I know there is some amount BS floating around about the tem selection and people not being happy.  But you never know.  If anyone can get the Cork lads up for the fight, Counihan can.  they treated Limerick with disrespect and nearly got their hles handed to them.  I can't see that happening against Kerry.

Cork by 2.  Are you coming down for the game AZ?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 02, 2008, 01:56:47 PM
No BC. I have a wedding in the wilds of South Kerry on the 11th, so we're relaxing this weekend in Tipp.
Post by: Main Street on July 02, 2008, 02:45:31 PM
Isn't it a Tipp expression,  'the hay saved, Cork beat and better things to come'?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 02, 2008, 03:06:37 PM
I don't think the bit about better things to come is on it, but I've heard that expression in Tipp and Kerry. Tipp obviously use it for the hurling.

'Jaysus it's a great summer, with the hay saved and Cork bate'.
Post by: timmykelleher on July 03, 2008, 09:42:01 AM
But it isn't too often ye get to say it .....  :)

.... with al the wet summers we've been having recently  :'(
Post by: Frank Casey on July 03, 2008, 10:02:22 PM
Team named:

(1) Diarmuid Murphy (Dingle) (2) Marc Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) (3) Tom O'Sullivan (Rathmore) (4) Padraig Reidy (Scartaglin) (5) Tomás Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) Captain (6) Aidan O'Mahony (Rathmore) (7) Killian Young (Renard) (8) Darragh Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) (9) Seamus Scanlon (Currow) (10) Donnacha Walsh (Cromane) (11) Eoin Brosnan (Dr. Crokes) (12) Seán O'Sullivan (Cromane) (13) Colm Cooper (Dr. Crokes) (14) Kieran Donaghy (Austin Stacks) (15) Brian Sheehan (St Mary's) Fir Ionad: 16) Kieran Cremin (Dr. Crokes) (17) Tommy Griffin (Dingle) (18) Darren O'Sullivan (Glenbeigh/Glencar) (19) Tommy Walsh (Kerins O'Rahilly's) (20) Michéal Quirke (Kerins O'Rahillys) (21) Daniel Bohane (Austin Stacks) (22) Mike Frank Russell (Laune Rangers) (23) Rónán Ó Flatharta (An Ghaeltacht) (24) Paul O'Connor (Kenmare) (25) Kieran O'Leary (Dr. Crokes) (26) David Moran (Kerins O'Rahilly's) (27) Anthony Maher (Duagh) (28) Kieran Quirke (Duagh) (29) Mike Moloney (Dr Crokes) (30) Pat Corridan (Finuge) Bainsteoir: Pat O'Shea Dr. Crokes Traenálaí: John Sugrue Renard Roghnóirí: Dr. Dave Geaney Castleisland Desmonds and Seán Geaney Dingle
Post by: Tatler Jack on July 03, 2008, 10:18:06 PM
Strong team - as always the injuries clear up as match gets nearer  ;)- 12 or 13 of last years AI team there. Sean O'Sullivan is a good replacement for alvin - probably a better footballer, pacier and a much higher likelihood he will remain on the pitch for full 70 mins.  Dont know much about Donnacha Walsh but have heard his namce mentioned in dispatches from the Kingdom over the past year or so. Assume Darren not starting to avoid the early heavy artillery - he will be more effective when it is down to a 13 a side game.

Cannot see Cork winning - half forward line comprises of backs and midfielders and obviously not selected for their scoring potential. Cork half back line weak - Spillane and Lynch not near the players they were 2 years ago and O'Regan untested at this level. Shields and Cadogan are huge losses from the h/b line and other half backs out injured are O'Leary, Miskella and Kissane. The Cork full forward line will struggle for scores though Goulding has potential to snatch goals from half chances. Hayes is a skilful player but up to this at senior level has been too slow in thought and deed.

If Kerry get on top in the middle third like last Sept then a hammering forCork is on the cards - ifCork can keep it scrappy and tight they might be within 4 or 5 points at the end. Weather could be a factor - rain promised.
Post by: Frank Casey on July 03, 2008, 10:21:25 PM
No major surprises and shows 4 changes from the last day out. Young and Donaghy are back from injury and slot straight in. Sean Sullivan's inclusion was well flagged, starting on the wing with Brossie going to centre forward. There had been alot of specualtion about Darren O'Sullivan starting on the other wing but another Cromane man Donnacha Walsh gets the nod. Darren will have to be satisfied with his super sub role.

Bookies go around 4/7 on Kerry. The draw is at 8's with the handicap at 3 pts. I think thats about right, especially if Canty has to cry off the Cork team. This would probably see a recall for Fintan Goold, with Nick Murphy moving to midfield, where Darragh can look for him, and Derek Kavanagh going to full back.
Post by: Frank Casey on July 03, 2008, 10:24:16 PM
Quote from: Tatler Jack on July 03, 2008, 10:18:06 PM
Weather could be a factor - rain promised.

Forecast is quite poor, We could see a bad crowd and a worse game of football. A dirty day with a similar game of football would suit Cork but I can't see them doing it.

Am taking Monday off as a precaution. ;)
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 05, 2008, 01:40:46 PM
 tips for a trip to Cork
By Billy Keane

Saturday July 05 2008

1Keep in by the wall.

2 Remember it's now two points for an own goal. Leave in good time for the match and do not get caught for speeding.

If you're booked do not under any circumstances slap the notebook from the garda's hand or you will be off the road for six months.

Their traffic plan will totally shag up the Sat Nav. You should always look after your Sat Nav as there will be times when she will be the only woman talking to you. Don't admit you're lost or the Cork lads will be laughing at us; it's better to miss the game altogether. The city signage would have the Three Wise Men arriving at Bethlehem on St Patrick's Day.

The Western Road used to be a straight journey all the way into the city but now they render you to the centre via a place called De 'dyke. It might well be you could have a couple of defeated lesbians sulking in the back of the car on their way home from Wimbledon. Tell them there's no insult intended.

It is inevitable at some stage you'll have to go up a one-way street or forever orbit the city like an astronaut who is trapped in his own circumference but do not worry, all the gardai are from Kerry.

3 Whatever you do, do not mention Beal na mBlath. No, I'm not in the a least bit worried about the Cork lads getting the hump over a reference to the rebel renegade who shot the greatest Irishman who ever lived.

We have a dark secret and the Corkonians, who were all born several times before, found it out. Remember it was the Corkman Collins who bate The Tans.

For sure they will retaliate in a tit--for--tat reprisal if you mention The Mouth of The Flowers. It pains me to reveal this, but Margaret Thatcher had a south Kerry grandmother.

4 It's not going to be the same without Billy Morgan. There was great passion when Morgan was involved, but we must now try to find a reason to motivate ourselves to get it up for Conor Counihan, who is by all accounts a very nice fella, but he did grab Jack O' Shea by the Vinny Joneses 20 years ago. And it was only the League

5 The rebel--in--red in the next seat will tell you 'we're only interested in the small ball.' He's like a man who says he doesn't love his girlfriend when he knows he's about to get dumped.

6 They'll always try to get one over on you. I was on with the marvellous Marian Finucane on the morning of the All Ireland. Gerald Kean, the Celebrity Bainisteoir from Cork, was sitting next to me. We both put our car keys up on the round table. My key ring was in the shape of a B. 'Is B for Billy?' he asked. 'That's right', I answered, at the same time wondering what happened to his 'E.'

Gerald had a B the size of an anchor to keep his key docked. 'And what does yours stand for, Gerald?' I asked innocently.

'Bentley.'

7 You have only the one day to get it up for the Cork crowd. We can be friends for the rest of the year. Tell them you have no interest in hurling and you use the hurl to mix tomato sauce and mayo to make pink sauce for the tourists' prawn cocktails.

Ask them if Christy Ring was either jewellery or the Cork M50 and if we are lucky enough to be giving 'em a good hiding enquire if the players are still on a work to rule.

They might beat us, and if they do pretend it's a thing of nothing and that you always wanted to visit places where the tourists never go and the fields have no ditches. And then ask politely if their Croker agoraphobia is any better.

8 The city has great pubs and restaurants. The Idle Hour is my favourite stop. You might get a bit confused though at the bottom of Barrack Street -- the top is at the other end -- but at the bottom you will see a sign for The Yangtze River. It's not really a river, but a Chinese takeaway. The Lee is the local river and Lees do very nice Won Tons. I'm glad we cleared up that.

9 I never got 10/10 in anything in my life. There's times when you get a right pain in the arse trying to think up smart things to say and anyway I always thought we should have retired the 9 jersey when Mick O'Connell packed it in back in '73.

10 Bring your own brown sauce.

- Billy Keane

Post by: Tatler Jack on July 06, 2008, 01:00:45 PM
Very wet morning here in Cork - miserable day for football though some sign clouds are breaking. Don't expect pretty football or large crowd.

Kerry 5 points up in minor game v Tipp half way through second half

Tipp have scored 1-1 in last few mins - only one point in it now with 10 mins to go

Teams level - 1 min of injury time
Post by: Zulu on July 06, 2008, 01:36:19 PM
A draw in the minor, hopefully Tipp can we the replay. The weather is brutal so this could be a low scoring dour game, looking forward to it anyway.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on July 06, 2008, 02:22:14 PM
Who got Kerry's goal
Post by: Hardy on July 06, 2008, 02:28:42 PM
Donncha Walsh palmed in Star's pass.

Looks like a phoney war - no intensity, no pressure on the ball. Neither team seems to care, but Kerry not caring are way too good for Cork, caring as much as they want. Some of the efforts by the Cork forwards are laughable.
Post by: Jinxy on July 06, 2008, 02:32:30 PM
Move along now. Nothing to see here.
Post by: Puckoon on July 06, 2008, 02:33:25 PM
Terrible game to watch. Give me fermanagh any day.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 06, 2008, 02:35:00 PM
An absolutely totally terrible game of football. The basic skills of the game seem to be strangers to teh Cork players. Plus giving a perfect template as to how not to beat Kerry.

Will Aidan O'Mahony get a 4 week ban after his late and high tackle now I wonder which was more intentional than Morans tackle as the precedent has been set!!!!
Post by: joemamas on July 06, 2008, 02:35:31 PM
brutal, thought about not watching it, i made the wrong decision.

absolute shit. I hope cork get hammered in the qualifers.
Post by: Onlooker on July 06, 2008, 02:44:35 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 06, 2008, 01:36:19 PM
A draw in the minor, hopefully Tipp can we the replay. The weather is brutal so this could be a low scoring dour game, looking forward to it anyway.
Super performance by the Tipp minors.  Not even the most optimistic of us expected them to do so well. Great credit to former Tipp goalkeeper Philly Ryan and his selectors.
Post by: squareballz on July 06, 2008, 02:48:43 PM
total shite, but you can get over the shite  if the effort is there, if its a contest.... there is no will to win this game.
Post by: Hardy on July 06, 2008, 02:58:26 PM
All we need - Cork down to 14. This yellow card shite is ruining the game. Gaelic football as a physical sport is no more than a memory.
Post by: ludermor on July 06, 2008, 02:59:00 PM
Scanlon went down as if he was shot. Clumsy tackle though
Post by: Zulu on July 06, 2008, 03:02:04 PM
Cork improving rapidly as for the the sending off..... a complete joke, neither of Murphy's tackles were yellows as Scanlon put his head down both times.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 06, 2008, 03:03:31 PM
WTF didn't Cork play like this in the first half - None of this crap of sitting back and givng them the ball and leaving them in space.....Quick ball in, forwards playing up front and tackling them up front...
Post by: dodo on July 06, 2008, 03:03:51 PM
Fair fu*ks to the langers. Great start to second half. This is why i love this game. Passion and good auld physical stuff. Hope they don't fizz out too soon.
Post by: Hardy on July 06, 2008, 03:06:50 PM
He's gone now too. You could tell his ligamnets were banjaxed when you saw the slow motion.
Post by: Yes I Would on July 06, 2008, 03:08:22 PM
Go on ya girl ya!
Post by: Hardy on July 06, 2008, 03:08:44 PM
Amazing the difference a 6'7" FF can make!
Post by: Zulu on July 06, 2008, 03:08:58 PM
Game on.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on July 06, 2008, 03:09:44 PM
Who scored!
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 06, 2008, 03:10:22 PM
Marc O'Se could be off and is sent off - straight red
Post by: Hardy on July 06, 2008, 03:10:51 PM
Ridiculous red card. If a lad gets hurt now someone has to be sent off. I'm getting fed up with gaelic football as it's being run now. Rugby here I come.
Post by: Yes I Would on July 06, 2008, 03:11:02 PM
Marc o Shea unlucky to go. Dara should have walked earlier tho.
Cussen mite have got a touch for the goal. Cork on fire
Post by: ludermor on July 06, 2008, 03:11:35 PM
Some score fro the sideline standing in the shuck
Post by: Hardy on July 06, 2008, 03:13:01 PM
Sides level. Fair play to Cork for showing a bit of bottle.
Post by: Gnevin on July 06, 2008, 03:13:09 PM
1-10 to 1-10 , 14 v 14 all square now
Post by: Hardy on July 06, 2008, 03:13:42 PM
ANd now Cork lead.
Post by: ludermor on July 06, 2008, 03:14:09 PM
cork had their weetabix at half time, in the lead now
Post by: stiffler on July 06, 2008, 03:14:23 PM
Never a red card, O'Se should never have slowed down when the ball was there to be won, i guess he paid for hesitating and playing the man with the ball. Yellow card at most.
Post by: dodo on July 06, 2008, 03:14:48 PM
Incroyable !
Post by: Yes I Would on July 06, 2008, 03:16:39 PM
great stuff altogether!!
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 06, 2008, 03:17:06 PM
No doubt Kerry will get some serious abuse about throwing away an 8 point lead!!!!
Post by: stiffler on July 06, 2008, 03:18:34 PM
anthony lynch....machine
Post by: Hardy on July 06, 2008, 03:19:16 PM
Come On Kerry. Don't want to see you lads in the qualifiers!
Post by: Hardy on July 06, 2008, 03:19:55 PM
Cork lead by two, 8 mins left.
Post by: dodo on July 06, 2008, 03:20:55 PM
Cork got only 0-3 in first half and now scored 1-10 in 27 minutes of second
Post by: ardal on July 06, 2008, 03:24:26 PM
radio link has just fecking gone on me. Can one of ye give a bit of a running commentary and score update???????????
Post by: Hardy on July 06, 2008, 03:25:14 PM
1-14 to 1-11 Cork leading, 3 minutes left
Post by: Hardy on July 06, 2008, 03:25:52 PM
Dara 2nd yellow, Kerry down to 13.
Post by: Zulu on July 06, 2008, 03:26:24 PM
O'Se sent off, second yellow, why I don't know.
Post by: ludermor on July 06, 2008, 03:26:30 PM
Dara was missing the last 20mins anyway
Post by: Yes I Would on July 06, 2008, 03:26:44 PM
Dara gone second yellow. Harsh call but should have walked earlier. Not a dirty game
Post by: Hardy on July 06, 2008, 03:27:14 PM
Still the  same score a minute left. Free i for Cork from the 45.
Post by: Hardy on July 06, 2008, 03:27:37 PM
Point. Cork 4 up.
Post by: FL/MAYO on July 06, 2008, 03:27:54 PM
went out to trim the hedges at halftime, WTF just happened here? Should have trimmed the hedges at half time in 04 and 06 as well me thinks.
Post by: Hardy on July 06, 2008, 03:28:33 PM
All Cork. BAll seldom in the Cork half. 2 mins added.
Post by: dodo on July 06, 2008, 03:29:34 PM
Tomás Ó Sé must be next to go !
Post by: Bogball XV on July 06, 2008, 03:29:53 PM
not that it would make a difference, but 2 mins injury time ??? ???
Post by: Hardy on July 06, 2008, 03:30:22 PM
ANother Cork point.
It's over. 1-16 to 1-11.

What a strange game.
Post by: FL/MAYO on July 06, 2008, 03:32:18 PM
well done Cork, Kerry had no interest at the end.
Post by: Puckoon on July 06, 2008, 03:32:50 PM
someone must have lit a fire under cork arses at half time!
Post by: Hardy on July 06, 2008, 03:33:02 PM
No ball in that half of the field, TYP.

Can I just say something for Martin Carney?

"Very much so".
Post by: Hardy on July 06, 2008, 03:34:06 PM
Preliminary analysis. First half - neither team cared.

Second half, Cork decided to care. Kerry continued not to care.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 06, 2008, 03:34:20 PM
A game that showed that the simple way to play is the best way to play......Forget this defensive spare man rubbish and have your forwards pressure the backs in their own half, have a good target man inside who can win 50-50 balls comfortably, compete hard for the ball all over the pitch rather than leaving people in space....
Post by: stiffler on July 06, 2008, 03:35:36 PM
Great scenes in Páirc Uí Chaoimh.
Post by: Yes I Would on July 06, 2008, 03:37:50 PM
Pressure on the kingdom now!! Cant see them or their supporters complaining too much about any of the decisions. Best team on day won. Could have been by more!!
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 06, 2008, 03:38:28 PM
QuoteFirst time Pat O'Shea under pressure and seriously found wanting as manager.

Absolutely, how he left tom o'sullivan in at full back, he was destroyed by Cussen. Dara O'Shea didn't look fit and Kerry just didn't have anyone on the bench to change the game.
Post by: blasmere on July 06, 2008, 03:40:18 PM
That game will utimately do Kerry the power of good.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 06, 2008, 03:40:36 PM
Can someone let me know what Brolly/O'Rourke say as Setanta over here have switched to the hurling???
Post by: squareballz on July 06, 2008, 03:45:01 PM
jaysus...Limerick should be munster football champions :D :D :D
Post by: Yes I Would on July 06, 2008, 03:50:29 PM
Would have been easy for O Se to make excuses. He didnt. Accepted Cork doimnated second half even when Kerry had extra man.
Marc O Se's red must be overturned if the game is to have any level of credability
Post by: Puckoon on July 06, 2008, 03:51:30 PM
O'Rourke reckons Kerry are a wounded animal now - where they not one before? After Galvins suspension? I mean really - If you cant lift yourself to beat Cork in the munster final - when would you expect to lift it? Giving away 1-13 in the second half???

The qualifiers are now a minefield.

Derry
Monaghan
Kerry
Tyrone
Down
Meath
Armagh will be in there too.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 06, 2008, 03:56:34 PM
Highly entertaining second half with some brilliant scores - Masters scored an absolute peach.  If anything, this should show other teams that they shouldn't fear Kerry.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 06, 2008, 03:58:25 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 06, 2008, 03:10:51 PM
Ridiculous red card. If a lad gets hurt now someone has to be sent off. I'm getting fed up with gaelic football as it's being run now. Rugby here I come.

If your coming out with a comment like that during a second half like that then yes you should frig off to rugby. The game were there are 15 men behind the ball nearly all the time and were a lot of the game is based on set pieces and kicking the ball out of play. Watching fat men running into each other and wrestling doesnt particularly appeal to me.
Post by: Puckoon on July 06, 2008, 03:59:28 PM
You are right - Im only highlighting the quality of the teams that have bowed out earlier than perhaps expected from the respective provincial championships.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 06, 2008, 04:01:28 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on July 06, 2008, 03:58:25 PM

If your coming out with a comment like that during a second half like that then yes you should frig off to rugby. The game were there are 15 men behind the ball nearly all the time and were a lot of the game is based on set pieces and kicking the ball out of play. Watching fat men running into each other and wrestling doesnt particularly appeal to me.

No doubt you prefer a game with 13 men behind the ball, nearly all players afraid to kick the ball and falling over at the slightest contact or dragging guys down on top to get a free????
Post by: Bogball XV on July 06, 2008, 04:05:34 PM
Are the qualifiers open draw?
Post by: ExiledGael on July 06, 2008, 04:11:43 PM
Totally open draw, should be interesting. Presume it's on the evening after the Leinster and Ulster finals, the day after the first round back door games.
Post by: Main Street on July 06, 2008, 04:20:57 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on July 06, 2008, 04:05:34 PM

Afaiu the losing prov. finalists join the 3rd qual round, they are seeded, as in the 4 losing finalists V the  4   2nd round winners.

Fair fecks to the Cork crowd, after a bad first half they cheered on their team from the first score of the second half and upped the noise levels after they were down to 14.

Post by: Bogball XV on July 06, 2008, 04:32:40 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 06, 2008, 04:20:57 PM

Afaiu the losing prov. finalists join the 3rd qual round, they are seeded, as in the 4 losing finalists V the  4   2nd round winners.

Fair fecks to the Cork crowd, after a bad first half they cheered on their team from the first score of the second half and upped the noise levels after they were down to 14.

yeah, but they're not tied to the provincial system anymore is what I meant to ask?
Post by: Gnevin on July 06, 2008, 04:45:13 PM
I bet their are plenty of Cork people wishing they weren't sitting of their asses at home now
Post by: joemamas on July 06, 2008, 04:45:54 PM
not sure if they still are. if they are it is still somewhat anti-climatic, as the provincial winners in connaught can only play Kerry or who they meet in the qualifers, and so on.

If the qualifers are truly open, then todays result puts a Dublin V Kerry final in jeopardy.

On The GAA website the have the q/finals listed for croke park on AUG 9/10, wonder what will happen if the above listed is one of them.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 06, 2008, 04:46:11 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 06, 2008, 04:01:28 PM

No doubt you prefer a game with 13 men behind the ball, nearly all players afraid to kick the ball and falling over at the slightest contact or dragging guys down on top to get a free????

If players are afraid to kick the ball then tell me how many points today where scored from the fist? Tomas O'Se wasnt afraid to kick the ball over from 45 yards out, Masters wasnt afraid to kick the ball over the bar from out wide or Sheehan didnt mind stroking the ball over the bar with his foot. Rugby is a much more one dimensional game than gaelic football.
Post by: Main Street on July 06, 2008, 04:59:09 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 06, 2008, 03:40:36 PM
Can someone let me know what Brolly/O'Rourke say as Setanta over here have switched to the hurling???
Brolly thought that  Cork had a plan in the 2nd half with Cussins, whereas before they were just moving around up and down the field,
'there were similarities with the Derry league final,
Derry stood off admiring them then they got stuck in and won in a canter.
Same with Cork
D O'Se dissapeared, O'Neill got stuck into him.
Cork got stuck in right into Kerry faces, Kerry are as cynical as the next team so you have to up the ante'

ORouke said 'Scanlan and D Ó'Sé dissapeared when the Kerry half backs didn't come out to support them.
and as a result Kerry weren't able to get the ball into Donaghy and Cooper,
The game was a triumph of basic Gaelic football principles.'
meaning O'Rouke happy with Cork direct kicking game and less of that handpass nancy stuff :)
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on July 06, 2008, 05:09:24 PM
Jesus, what a day, watching a Munster Final in Mauritius in the sunshine as it rains down in Cork.
Hard to know what to make of the game, Kerry dominated the first 25 minutes there after it was all Cork.
Only for poor shootinf they should have been closer at halftime.
From our perspective, Can't see Marc red card being overturned in the current climate. Hopefully Dara will will not join him on the sideline (Don't have a clue what the second card was for).
Kerry to lose an 8 point lead with Cork missing both Murphy and Canty is disappointing.
Midfield did a disappearing act in the second half, half forward missing the whole game and half back unusually quite.
A tough draw up north are it could be so long, a home draw and the dream may linger on, badly need Declan back though.
Fair play to Cork, well worth their win, no point complaining about the ref he was rubbish for both sides.
Still we are in the same position we were in in 2006 and that ended allright  ;D
Post by: tyssam5 on July 06, 2008, 05:26:50 PM

Bit of a joke that. Kerry should be in with everyone else, it's not like it's a proper final. They've won one match that they were priced at 1/200 to win!! Total bullshit
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 06, 2008, 06:14:20 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on July 06, 2008, 04:46:11 PM

If players are afraid to kick the ball then tell me how many points today where scored from the fist? Tomas O'Se wasnt afraid to kick the ball over from 45 yards out, Masters wasnt afraid to kick the ball over the bar from out wide or Sheehan didnt mind stroking the ball over the bar with his foot. Rugby is a much more one dimensional game than gaelic football.

So no comment about the men behind the ball, the diving and falling over for frees of course????

Just like in Gaelic you get some people who kick it you still in most games get more handpasses than kick passes just like in rugby you get more passes than kicks......
Post by: Rossfan on July 06, 2008, 07:07:11 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on July 06, 2008, 05:26:50 PM

Bit of a joke that. Kerry should be in with everyone else, it's not like it's a proper final. They've won one match that they were priced at 1/200 to win!! Total bullshit

What do you want - Tyrone to get a bye to the A. I . Final ? ;D
They won one more game that Tyrone all the same .
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 06, 2008, 07:47:30 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 06, 2008, 06:14:20 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on July 06, 2008, 04:46:11 PM

So no comment about the men behind the ball, the diving and falling over for frees of course????

Just like in Gaelic you get some people who kick it you still in most games get more handpasses than kick passes just like in rugby you get more passes than kicks......

Yeah its a disgrace players getting behind the ball. You'd think they'd do the decent thing and stand with their hands at their side while the opposition score. I didnt notice to much diving today either. Marc O'Se may not have deserved to get sent off but there is no doubt the Cork player was buried. O'Mahony could have went for a challenge in the 1st half. Its a myth that forwards only started helping their defence in modern times.
Post by: Jinxy on July 06, 2008, 07:50:55 PM
(http://www.hoganstand.com/Common/ImageGallery/Kerrywallop%20(2).jpg)

Suddenly Darraghs repeated handshake offers don't seem so sporting.
Post by: heffo on July 06, 2008, 08:00:28 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 06, 2008, 07:50:55 PM

8 weeks for striking.
Post by: full back on July 06, 2008, 08:01:00 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 06, 2008, 07:50:55 PM

Off course Dara didnt deserve to go  ::)
If the CCC see a video of that incident he has to get at least a month....
Post by: Hardy on July 06, 2008, 08:03:12 PM
Depends on whether it features in the Sunday Game.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 06, 2008, 08:05:40 PM
And sure we all know Pateen won't want to discuss the Kerry dirt.
Post by: full back on July 06, 2008, 08:06:10 PM
This will be a very good test, lets see how consistent they are now or will Galvin getting banned have a bearing on this?
Post by: northwesterngael on July 06, 2008, 08:11:58 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 06, 2008, 08:03:12 PM
Depends on whether it features in the Sunday Game.

can you see spillane discussing this ?

i like the man but he has to take his kerry tinted specs off sometime

the wrong ose walked first today

fahy had an ok game in the middle but bottle it with darragh when he should have binned him

Post by: centre 3/4s on July 06, 2008, 08:20:02 PM
As a neutral I had no preference as to who wins todays game all i wanted was a good game of football and yet again the ref made a total balls up! Them cnuts are spoiling gaelic football from the roots right up to senior county. I know we cant be without them but like players they should be banned for shocking performances aswell!!
Post by: gaagaa on July 06, 2008, 08:35:14 PM
would have liked to see kerry win today purely coz of the disgraceful way the players heheved in cork earlier in the year
what odds a few more player-power rows across the country next year (derry will have 1 for sure if no management change)
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 06, 2008, 09:19:31 PM
Perfect result, just what we needed. A six week break would have done us no good at all.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 06, 2008, 09:32:38 PM
Quote from: centre 3/4s on July 06, 2008, 08:20:02 PM
As a neutral I had no preference as to who wins todays game all i wanted was a good game of football and yet again the ref made a total balls up! Them cnuts are spoiling gaelic football from the roots right up to senior county. I know we cant be without them but like players they should be banned for shocking performances aswell!!
The referee didn't have an awful game today at all. He didn't seem to constantly blow for minor offences and indeed he let advantage play on on a number of occasions. Remember, the ref doesn't have the benefit of a slow motion rerun from numerous angles. Yes, there were issues with the sending offs, but the ref is human - i doubt he's going out of his way to make the wrong call.

Maybe some of these people constantly slagging the referees should give it a go themselves. Maybe that would raise the standard...
Post by: mannix on July 06, 2008, 09:45:11 PM
Are we seeing it begin to unravel for the unbeatables?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 06, 2008, 09:47:48 PM
One of the weirdest games I have seen in very long time.  At halftime I was convinced that Kerry would win by 8-10 with some left over if needed.  Cork didn't seemt to realise there was a game on and had absolutely no leadership or game plan.  I was speaking to a man in the shop earlier, not a real fan but a "Finals Fan" ,who left at halftime and couldn't believe it when he got home and heard the result.

In the second half, Kerry were nowhere to be seen. The long standing problem of having nothing around the middle whenever O Sé is not at his came came back to haunt them.  Simplicity is always the best way forward and Cork did it to powerful effect.  With their confidence up Cork teams are hard to beat and thoroughly deserved it.

Of the 3 sending offs,  Murphy can have no complaints, Marc O Sé should not have been sent off and I don't know what happened with the other one so will not comment on it.

What does this say about the two teams for the rest of the year.  13 points turnaround is not the sort of thing that winning teams would allow happen.  An experienced team like Kerry should have closed the game out and this raises a lot of questions.  Are Cork good enough to go much further?  Frankly, I think they could beat any team in the championship but they need to be able to maintain the intensity of the second half for the stretch of a game.  I do not know if they have that it them.  For what it is worth I do not think we saw the AI champions 2008 playing today.
Post by: corn02 on July 06, 2008, 09:50:12 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 06, 2008, 09:47:48 PM

Of the 3 sending offs,  Murphy can have no complaints,

Can't agree, if Scanlon not did duck his head it may not have even been a free.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 06, 2008, 09:55:43 PM
Quote from: corn02 on July 06, 2008, 09:50:12 PM

If my auntie had balls she'd be my uncle, that is no argument.  It was reckless and was a booking whether or not he ducked.
Post by: mannix on July 06, 2008, 09:56:37 PM
Brokencrossbar, who would you think will land the big one?
I reckon cork,dublin,armagh,galway,mayo and wexford are all capable. Some crack if wexford done it, could you imagine the faces in dublin?
That said, remember Kerry looked like a machine last year and in 2006 when it mattered, they are still alive.
Post by: corn02 on July 06, 2008, 09:57:32 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 06, 2008, 09:55:43 PM

Disagree never a booking for me.

If my auntie had balls she'd be my uncle, that is no argument.  It was reckless and was a booking whether or not he ducked.
Post by: Over the Bar on July 06, 2008, 10:01:50 PM
Kerry fill the pants again when the game is put to them in the 2nd half. Their capitulationwas nothing to do with sendings off, but simply the soft underbelly, usually exposed by northern sides, but today by their neighbours.   Despite dodging the raindrops for years regarding thuggery they cry foul when they get the odd harsh decison.   
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 06, 2008, 10:05:37 PM
Quote from: mannix on July 06, 2008, 09:56:37 PM
Brokencrossbar, who would you think will land the big one?
I reckon cork,dublin,armagh,galway,mayo and wexford are all capable. Some crack if wexford done it, could you imagine the faces in dublin?
That said, remember Kerry looked like a machine last year and in 2006 when it mattered, they are still alive.

TBH mannix, I don't really know.  I think the quarters will be made up of the 8 from the following, two we saw today, Armagh Dublin, Mayo, Galway, Derry , Tyrone, Down, Meath.  Depending on how the draw goes any of these teams could make progress.  I think of the teams left Dublin are best set for the win but they are as liable to blow up as anything else.
Post by: Tatler Jack on July 06, 2008, 10:06:13 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 06, 2008, 09:19:31 PM
Perfect result, just what we needed. A six week break would have done us no good at all.

Any views on the game besides this auld guff Mike?
Post by: Maguire01 on July 06, 2008, 10:07:06 PM

Well it is an argument. If Murphy commits to the tackle and the player ducks, then the intended point of contact will not be met. If Scanlon had not ducked, the challenge could have been chest height and where the ball was. The argument is about intent and as a neutral, i do not think Murphy had intended on making a high tackle.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 06, 2008, 10:08:24 PM
Quote from: Tatler Jack on July 06, 2008, 10:06:13 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 06, 2008, 09:19:31 PM

Any views on the game besides this auld guff Mike?
Yes indeed. I didn't hear anyone from Kerry looking for a loss before the match.
Post by: Tatler Jack on July 06, 2008, 10:11:39 PM
QuoteIf Scanlon had not ducked, the challenge could have been chest height and where the ball was. The argument is about intent and as a neutral, i do not think Murphy had intended on making a high tackle.

Tend to agree that Murphy did not intend to make a high tackle - Scanlon ducked very low just as he was making the tackle. One of the weaknessess in Murphy's game is that he is an awkward tackler - he is not dirty and I would sometimes fault him for not being physical enough. Disappointed to see Scanlon make such a meal of it and also he took a dive the first half. Terrible to see this Northern stuff creeping into pure Munster football ;)
Post by: magickingdom on July 06, 2008, 10:17:37 PM
shocking conditions in cork today, its hard to actually understand how bad things were if you weren't there, i don't know what the crowd was but fair play to the ones that actually turned up. really bothered by kerry today as the game was won at half time, the last 20 minutes was nothing short of a collapse. the whole momentum changed in the game between the sendings off and donacha walsh being taken off but kerry with an 8 point lead should have still coasted home. you'd have thought it was impossible to score in such conditions but cork certainly managed it with cussins once again playing havoc with the kerry defense. tom o sullivan has not become the full back that i thought he would and kerry sorely missed marc o se (last 20 min), declan o s and p galvin, thought mahoney and scanlon were a bit lazy at times also. where to from here? we need a decent draw for starters not monaghan/derry/tyrone and then take it from there. the 3 in a row ain't dead and a september reunion with cork may yet happen. fair play to cork on the day and their great fans who turned out in the deluge with a lot more fear than hope, cork needed it more than kerry but kerry didn't need to get beaten that way thats for sure
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 06, 2008, 10:22:15 PM
Murphy's tackle was a lazy tackle.  He swung an arm from the side of the River lee and hoped it would catch a Kerry man somewhere along the way.  I do not think it was malicious but he as he was on a yellow he should have been more careful as he would have known the someone was going to get the line int he sort of game that Cork set out about playing in the second half.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 06, 2008, 10:27:58 PM
QuoteAny views on the game besides this auld guff Mike?

It was very wet.
Post by: Tatler Jack on July 06, 2008, 10:30:31 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on July 06, 2008, 10:17:37 PM
shocking conditions in cork today, its hard to actually understand how bad things were if you weren't there, i don't know what the crowd was but fair play to the ones that actually turned up. really bothered by kerry today as the game was won at half time, the last 20 minutes was nothing short of a collapse. the whole momentum changed in the game between the sendings off and donacha walsh being taken off but kerry with an 8 point lead should have still coasted home. you'd have thought it was impossible to score in such conditions but cork certainly managed it with cousins once again playing havoc with the kerry defense. tom o sullivan has not become the full back that i thought he would and kerry sorely missed marc o se (last 20 min), declan o s and p galvin, thought mahoney and scanlon were a bit lazy at times also. where to from here? we need a decent draw for starters not monaghan/derry/tyrone and then take it from there. the 3 in a row ain't dead and a september reunion with cork may yet happen. fair play to cork on the day and their great fans who turned out in the deluge with a lot more fear than hope, cork needed it more than kerry but kerry didn't need to get beaten that way thats for sure

I was there Magic Kingdom and indeed the conditions were bad - the shower at half time was horrendous. Still was the same for both sides. I tend to disagree with the view that Kerry had this won at half time. Each team had 11 scoring attempts in the first half - Cork missed 4 or 5 very easy chances. I was not impressed with Kerry in that first half and felt they lacked intesnity - relying more on Cork's shortcomings. First half was quite pedestrian pace and while Kerry were the better side they were not 8 pts better. Maybe this lulled them in to a false sense of their own worth as when the pace and intensity stepped up in the second half Kerry were found wanting. In over 40 years watching Kerry it was the first time I saw so many players giving up even when there were only 3 points in it.  Hard to figure out but just wonder if too many miles on the clock for some players and others just have not got it!!
Post by: Tatler Jack on July 06, 2008, 10:31:20 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 06, 2008, 10:27:58 PM
QuoteAny views on the game besides this auld guff Mike?

It was very wet.

Did you try drying it? :)
Post by: Zulu on July 06, 2008, 10:33:23 PM
There is no way Murphy should have got one yellow let alone two, on both occasions Scanlon lowered his head and made a meal of the 'hits' by holding his head as if he was punched.
Post by: johnpower on July 06, 2008, 11:21:37 PM
What a mess . Second big gamw Kerry have given away a big lead . Well off the pace in the second half . Thought all the sending offs were harsh . Kerry slow to make changes and lacked leaders both on and off the field . I only hope Pat O Shea can get the lads back on track in the next 3 weeks .
Post by: Pangurban on July 06, 2008, 11:28:35 PM
Sendings off were ridiculous, none of them were justified, particularly in those conditions. Kerry now a dangerous wounded animal
Post by: northwesterngael on July 06, 2008, 11:31:04 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 06, 2008, 10:07:06 PM

have to agree as a referee, scnalon didnt help matters by falling like a tyrone or armagh man as if they were shot

darragh o'se should have walked sooner but i think fahy bottled it

Well it is an argument. If Murphy commits to the tackle and the player ducks, then the intended point of contact will not be met. If Scanlon had not ducked, the challenge could have been chest height and where the ball was. The argument is about intent and as a neutral, i do not think Murphy had intended on making a high tackle.
Post by: Declan on July 07, 2008, 12:34:55 AM
That's some turnaround alright. Opens things up nicely though. Did the panel mention anyhhting at all on the SUnday Game?
Post by: PatDaly on July 07, 2008, 01:22:05 AM
Remember how Kerry were being written off as not being genuine championship contenders after Cork beat them in the 2006 Munster final? This is what happened after that defeat

Kerry 4-11 Longford 1-11
Kerry 3-15 Armagh 1-13
Kerry 0-16 Cork 0-10
Kerry 4-15 Mayo 3-5

I'll be very surprised if Kerry are not one of the teams playing in Croke Park on September 21st 2008
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 07, 2008, 05:18:25 AM
Hopefully we'll give someone a decent game in the qualifiers that will stand to them later on. Its the most we can expect at this stage.
Post by: man in black on July 07, 2008, 09:19:42 AM
rumours of irregular betting patterns at half time yesterday on betfair. :o
Post by: maddog on July 07, 2008, 09:22:00 AM
Quote from: Pangurban on July 06, 2008, 11:28:35 PM
Sendings off were ridiculous, none of them were justified, particularly in those conditions. Kerry now a dangerous wounded animal

Dara o Se threw the elbow and got away scot free at one point. IMHO he deserved to go when he did, probably should have been earlier.
Post by: Uladh on July 07, 2008, 09:23:15 AM

Agreed Maddog, i posted this on another thread...

After beetlejuice's defence of both o'se brothers after their sending offs today (they're just not that type of lads), not a peep on the sunday game about big dara's unpunished off the ball strike.

Is who you are creeping into the sunday game's galllows chat?

it'll be interesting to see if the cccccccc have any more balls than the pat's analysts and if they don't it'll be definitive evidence that rte run the post game hangings, not croke park.
Post by: maddog on July 07, 2008, 09:25:40 AM
Quote from: Uladh on July 07, 2008, 09:23:15 AM

Agreed Maddog, i posted this on another thread...

After beetlejuice's defence of both o'se brothers after their sending offs today (they're just not that type of lads), not a peep on the sunday game about big dara's unpunished off the ball strike.

Is who you are creeping into the sunday game's galllows chat?

it'll be interesting to see if the cccccccc have any more balls than the pat's analysts and if they don't it'll be definitive evidence that rte run the post game hangings, not croke park.

If francie bellew had have thrown that elbow or even did what Marc O Se did they would have been preparing the gallows behind the stand
Post by: Galforever on July 07, 2008, 10:10:20 AM
Didnt think Marc O#Sé should have got a straight red at all for that. He should have got a yellow because he did kinda go for the player, but feck it next we'll be abonding the shoulder rule altogether & we'll end up playing soccer!
Post by: Uladh on July 07, 2008, 10:15:51 AM

Iagree that there's no way marc should have gone. wasn't even a foul
Post by: bingobus on July 07, 2008, 10:19:50 AM
Quote from: Declan on July 07, 2008, 12:34:55 AM
That's some turnaround alright. Opens things up nicely though. Did the panel mention anyhhting at all on the SUnday Game?

Did anyone see the Sunday game? Not a peep from Spillane, I know that if Dublin, Armagh, Tyrone or anyone else had thrown a 8 point lead he would be in his element and flat out interupting the "panelists" to try and put words in there mouth. Nothing like it last night, let them get on with it and dished out the standard questions.

If ever evidnce of why a neutral, non-playing host was needed it was last night. Expect hos column to focus on puke football last week.
Post by: Sligoper on July 07, 2008, 10:23:21 AM
Did anyone see the shot on the sunday game of that cork fellas left eye? The one who got flattened my Marc O'Se? Deserved red card as he clearly caught him int the eye!!
Post by: Rossie11 on July 07, 2008, 10:25:07 AM
Ref was a joke but I blame the the Sunday game. After the Collie Moran incident the refs feel they have to send guys off or risk the wrath of tohill and gang later that night.
Post by: tyssam5 on July 07, 2008, 10:35:02 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 07, 2008, 05:18:25 AM
Hopefully we'll give someone a decent game in the qualifiers that will stand to them later on. Its the most we can expect at this stage.

Which round of the qualifiers? Why are Kerry in ahead of some teams that have won real games? Total Joke!
Post by: AZOffaly on July 07, 2008, 10:37:35 AM
Just to try and turn this away from another thread about the Sunday Game, perceived bias towards Kerry, and how disgracefully the rest of the country are treated by Pat and the bucks, I'll get back to the game at hand.

I predicted Cork would win before this game, and I had a couple of reasons in my head. The first would be that the loss of O'Sullivan and Galvin would seriously limit Kerry's ability to win ball and supply the full forward line, especially on a wet day, which is how it turned out. I also had suspicions about Kerry's motivation. Obviously they don't like to lose to Cork, but 'not liking to lose' is an awful lot different to real motivation that absolute desire to win brings. Take their approach yesterday in contrast to last September in Croker. No comparison. And when Cork started to turn the screw yesterday, Kerry had disappeared into a comfort zone, and couldn't bring themselves out of it.

I do think Kerry have problems, especially with Galvin out, and O'Sullivan injured. They have loads of 'ball playing' half forwards on the subs bench, but not a lot of lads who will win the hard ball like those two. You could have a full forward line of Our Lord, Gooch and Elvis Presley inside there, and if you aren't giving ball in, they might as well be watching from the stands.

A couple of random observations.

1) Pat O'Shea. A poor outing from him, or a laissez faire attitude to see how Kerry could adapt themselves, given that they have another chance? Hard to know, but taking the game in isolation, how they didn't try *something* when Cussen started destroying Tom O'Sullivan, I don't know. Everyone watching the game could see that was killing them, and giving Cork momentum because their 'switch' was bringing huge dividends. O'Shea did nothing to stem the tide. Also yesterday, bringing Tommy Walsh on with less than 5 minutes left was way too late. Bringing Donaghy out to midfield was an obvious change, but they needed to do something inside as well at the same time. Kerry needed scores to settle the ship. Tommy Walsh would have been another dose of Donaghy, but they just robbed Peter to pay Paul. (And Donaghy did nothing in midfield anyway).

2) Kerry's bench. Serious problems here, especially around middle of the field. I've already mentioned the lack of 'ball winning' half forwards to replace the two unavailable lads, but Tommy Griffin is not sufficiently dynamic to make an impact coming on. Kerry need to try and blood Tommy Walsh or maybe even Bryan Sheehan out here. Sheehan is not 'urgent' enough to do the running for Darragh O'Shea, but himself and O'Se would win a lot of primary possession. Tommy Walsh likewise. I'd leave Donaghy inside, because I don't think he is a midfielder. Sheehan plays most of his club football in midfield. It's a real pity that John Sugrue of Renard was so injury prone, because he is one of the better midfielders in Kerry club football.

3) Conditions. Conditions were brutal for both sides, but credit to Michael Cussen and co. for handling them well, whereas the Kerry lads were unbelievably naive. Soloing and hopping in the wet was suicidal and Scanlon, especially, looked like bambi ice-skating.

4) Sendings off. I think Murphy had to go. Both incidents were similar, and were both yellow card, clumsy offenses. I'd agree that conditions had a part to play, and that Scanlon made a meal of the second one especially, but Murphy was very silly to swing an arm like that when he had a yellow card. Marc O'Se's sending off was very harsh in my opinion, but Darragh O'Sé was a sending off waiting to happen, especially when Cork started to pull away. He should have got the line for a strike, judging by photos here, earlier on, but the sending off offence itself, unless there were verbals, was incredibly harsh.

All in all, I'm not sure if this leaves us any the wiser. Kerry have problems, but they may well resolve them, especially if they get a decent draw in the qualifiers, although the chance for an easy draw is probably negligable given the teams in there. Cork may have stumbled on a good formula for them, although you'd wonder why they had to stumble on it. They were shocking in the first half, but it was definitely a tactical problem. Canty, as 'sweeper', wasn't sure where he was supposed to be sweeping. It's hard to implement a totally new gameplan in one game, unless it's very simple. Offaly against Westmeath had the same issue, except our management didn't have the cop on to change it like Counihan did, to his credit. Cork will cause teams problems with the 4 big lads around the middle of the field, assuming Canty recovers, and Cussen in the forwards, but they need Masters as well I think.

Post by: kevmy on July 07, 2008, 11:39:54 AM
Fair play to Cork thought they wouldn't have the pride or passion to try and turn things around in the 2nd half as they looked very dead in midfield and forwards in the 1st half. Kerry paid the price for not driving on in the 1st half when they were on top. They could have gone in 10 or 12 points up.

What this means for the rest of the Championship is that Kerry are beatable. A lot of teams in the country would reckon themselves to be of a similar level to Cork and should now see that Kerry can be beaten.

Kerry lost it in midfield and full back yesterday. TBH I've been waiting for the last few years for Dara OSé's legs to go because Kerry have no replacement for him around the middle. Scanlon, Griffin, Donaghy none of them anywhere near what O Sé can do. I don't know enough about Kerry's options at FB but I think they will be lucky in that there aren't too many Cussen's out there.

People keep on talking of '06 when Kerry turned it around with aplomb (which they did) but I don't think they have the same chance this year for a number of reasons. The main one being the manager O' Connor was one of the best managers I've seen I don't think tactically or mentally Pat O Shea is fit to wipe his boots. I may be proved wrong but I doubt it.
The second reason is any team which has won the football through the back door has had a couple of things in common. They've identified a problem and rectified it (Galway putting Mannion to centre back, Tyrone put Cormac McAnallen to FB and Kerry putting Donaghy to FF) and I'm not sure if Kerry can find players to fill the gaps left by Galvin and O'Sé's non-performance. They've also got handy draws first day out in the qualifiers (Galway getting Wicklow and Kerry getting Longford) I don't think that Kerry will get a draw as handy.

As for the sendings off I think Murphy deserved two yellows. Marc o Sé was unlucky but I think he deserved a yellow if Nicholas Murphy deserved a yellow however I can see how the ref sent him off. The ref obviously thought he raised his elbow a small bit if he did that he would be off no doubt. Replays show he didn't but on first viewing I wasn't sure at all. Give the ref a break on this one.
Don't know what Dara o Sé got his second yellow for other than persistent fouling because a little shove in the back is not yellow card territory mind you he was lucky to be on at that stage.
Post by: heffo on July 07, 2008, 11:42:24 AM
Cussen is fairly mobile for a fella his size. He scored a lovely point by coming out and winning a low ball ahead of O'Sullivan and knocked it over from the right.
Post by: INDIANA on July 07, 2008, 12:28:00 PM
he is but under the high ball , kerry were dreadful. Its fine allowing the big man catch it at FF provided 2 defenders meet him on the ground. time and again Cussen caught the ball and dished it off UNCONTESTED. It was incredible to watch allstar defenders allowing this.
Why was Donncha Walsh taken off?
Why was Tommy Walsh not introduced earlier?
Kerry have an issue at full back in terms of size.

Call me paranoid or dumb, but I don't think Kerry gave a monkeys about yesterday and after nearly being caught by monaghan last year, prefer now to be in the qualifiers. Still fair play to Cork, IF they select the right team they should give anyone a game at least.
Post by: Uladh on July 07, 2008, 12:51:15 PM

Cussen caught only one ball that was put in. its the panic and the ensuing breaks, obviously all in dangerous areas, that do the damage
Post by: AZOffaly on July 07, 2008, 02:01:42 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 07, 2008, 12:28:00 PM
he is but under the high ball , kerry were dreadful. Its fine allowing the big man catch it at FF provided 2 defenders meet him on the ground. time and again Cussen caught the ball and dished it off UNCONTESTED. It was incredible to watch allstar defenders allowing this.

Call me paranoid or dumb, but I don't think Kerry gave a monkeys about yesterday and after nearly being caught by monaghan last year, prefer now to be in the qualifiers. Still fair play to Cork, IF they select the right team they should give anyone a game at least.

That's sort of what I was getting at earlier Indiana. I was racking my brains as to why Pat O'Shea was so slow to make changes and in some cases didn't make them at all. Option A is that he is not a very astute coach, and couldn't see the game in front of him, or Option B is that he said to himself, 'okay, this is going against us, let's see how we deal with it, and if we lose, so be it'.

I, like you, think Kerry were far from fired up, and O'Shea wasn't too hassled to change things. However, there are weaknesses there. Is there anyone good enough to take advantage of them in the next 4 games Kerry would have to play to win an All Ireland. There's an All Ireland there for somebody, but Kerry are good enough (still) to pick up a handy one if no one takes the baton.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 07, 2008, 04:00:48 PM
I think the wind caused more problems and was more of an influence in this game than people have mentioned

It was still a cracker of a match to watch.

Great entertainment - esp after watching that sterile euro 2008 rubbish
Post by: moysider on July 07, 2008, 04:56:39 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 07, 2008, 12:28:00 PM

I dont think that any team would prefer to be in the bearpit that is the qualifiers. Kerry collapsed spectacularly yesterday and whether they can recover this summer is by no means certain. I dont think they would have wanted to lose in that manner. Most teams would be written off if theygot turned over by 13 points in the second half. This was/is a great team but many of the component parts that made them great are no longer about for one reason or another. We re talking McCarty, Moynihan, Galvin, Declan O Sullivan, Fifzmaurice, O Cinnéide, Crowley. In most cases their replacements are not in the same class. Add in a seemingly terminal decline in Dara O Sé and indifferent form of Brosnan since 05 and Kerry dont look as unstoppable any more. No team stays at the top forever. Tyrone losing likes of Canavan, O Neill, McAnalan, Cavalan and the injuries McGuigan, Dooher and McGinley have had also been struggling to keep up to recent high standards.
Now Kerry can patch things up and they probably have the playing resources to be as good if not better than the chasing pack this Summer. But they re not as formidable as most feared last week.
Post by: Armamike on July 07, 2008, 05:12:10 PM
Maybe they weren't as focused or driven as Cork yesterday in the second half, but I don't think Kerry would ever want to get beat by Cork and definitely not in a munster final.  I also don't think they'd particularly welcome going the qualifiers route. Kerry don't have to be all conquering world beaters to win the AI this year again - they just have to beat some of the best that's currently out there. This doesn't look like being a vintage year so Kerry mighn't have to be at the 06/07 levels to do it again this year.
Post by: Frank Casey on July 07, 2008, 07:13:26 PM
As one of the 22,000 or so lunatics who went for a swim yesterday I've been like a bear with a sore paw for the last 24 hours. I can take nothing away from Cork's second half performance, indeed to put the 13 point swing down to just a Kerry collapse does Cork some disservice.

At the start of the second half Cork forgot about sweepers (it was only inviting the Kerry hb's to run at them anyway) and they decided to play quick direct ball with 15 against 15 and getting enough men between the 40's to hoover up sufficient ball to leave into Cussen. Darragh O'Se would have been far better off going to the edge of the square to pick up Cussen and offer an aerial challenge than squaring up to the centre forward.

Once they got some momentum going all the things that didn't work in the first half started to come off. Cork had the same number of scoring chances as Kerry in the first half but only converted 3 out of 11 compared to Kerry's 9 (1-8). These chances started going over for them once they found some confidence and whatever about the conditions they scored a few fine points.

A grumble - the ref gave no allowance for the conditions which were very poor. All three sendings off were IMO harsh in particular Marc O'Se's.

Anyway time to look on the bright side. Like all Kerrymen I'm looking at the business opportunities that yesterday brings.

1. My ticket stub and programme will be going on e bay shortly - so that any lazy langer who stayed at home in front of the fire yesterday can "prove" that he was in fact in the Pairc on that famous day. Offers starking at €5K please.

2. I've purchased 1,000,000,000 Unilever shares. As manufacturers of sanitary products (including nappies and toilet paper) they're sure to be in demand in Croke Park in August/September as Cork s**t themselves when facing Kerry in the AI series.

Yerra you can live in hope ;) ;) ;)
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 07, 2008, 07:20:02 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 07, 2008, 04:00:48 PM
I think the wind caused more problems and was more of an influence in this game than people have mentioned

The first half was awful. People were giving out stink about it on here. Cork's comeback/Kerry's collapse is what made the second half interesting viewing.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 07, 2008, 08:16:17 PM
Quote from: Frank Casey on July 07, 2008, 07:13:26 PM
I've purchased 1,000,000,000 Unilever shares.

Doubt it, they closed at £14.31 per share  ;)
Post by: Rossfan on July 07, 2008, 08:33:49 PM
If any County other than Kerry had died after looking like running away with 2 Finals -NFL and Munster - we'd all nod our heads and say "Ah they're gone stale" or "too much mileage" They're now gone over the hill" "time to rebuild" etc.
However seeing as it's Kerry we are all afraid this might only fire the hoors up enough to blow everyone out of their way on the road to 3 in a row.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 07, 2008, 08:50:23 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 07, 2008, 07:20:02 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 07, 2008, 04:00:48 PM

The first half was awful. People were giving out stink about it on here. Cork's comeback/Kerry's collapse is what made the second half interesting viewing.
it seemed that way, but to me I thought that the difference was corks poor shot selection and dreadful shooting. If they had taken what looked to be relatively easy scores, plus hadnt given the ball away as much (or indeed paniced when the ball went in near donaghy)  they were the team that used the ball beter in the first half and should have gone in at half time with maybe only the goal seperating them.
Having seen them comeback against kerry before (and waited for this in last years AI final to no avail) I thought if they could shoot straight, they still had a chance at HT. I def now think the wind was a bigger factor than we realise.
Still enjoyable dogged championship football for me - even in the first half.
Post by: magickingdom on July 07, 2008, 08:52:39 PM
Quote from: Frank Casey on July 07, 2008, 07:13:26 PM
2. I've purchased 1,000,000,000 Unilever shares. As manufacturers of sanitary products (including nappies and toilet paper) they're sure to be in demand in Croke Park in August/September as Cork s**t themselves when facing Kerry in the AI series.

Yerra you can live in hope ;) ;) ;)

ha ha i did my best to be decent to the cork boys yesterday with their great performance but one langer just wouldnt quit so i said 'we'll see you in sept when normal service will resume' and that finally shut him up  ;)
Post by: orangeman on July 07, 2008, 08:57:17 PM
What could Kerry have done to counteract Cussen in hindsight ??

Employ a sweeper ?

Bring back Donaghy to the square ?

Put Aidan O'Mahony on him ?

Hit him a couple of slaps ?

What else ?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 07, 2008, 08:59:04 PM
QuoteWhy are Kerry in ahead of some teams that have won real games?

oh, because it pisses you nordie bies off no end. Thats enough of a reason.
Post by: ExiledGael on July 07, 2008, 09:00:57 PM
Put Darragh O'Se on him, he wasn't nearly fit enough out the field, or so it appeared.
Agree with some other posters on here about Pat O'Shea, he was seriously found wanting when he had huge issues to address right across the field. But maybe the hoors don't really care, who knows.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 07, 2008, 09:10:59 PM
would have switched any 6ft plus full back line defender onto Cussen, and told them to play him like any other player and not respect him way too much as the kerry full back was doing, getting out in front would haqve been a key, cussen is big but only too one high ball above his head and most of the time was unchallenged, it was a wet day and any kind of physical challenge could have upset his ball winning ability.

whatever about kerry now getting better prep from qualifier games, there is no doubt in my mind that every kerry player and esp Pat O'Shea wanted to win.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 07, 2008, 09:16:34 PM
Kerry have always struggled for a FB - their last three have been corner backs(Moynihan, McCarthy and O'Sullivan) so at some stage this was going to come back and haunt them.

Also you do often wonder whether Kerry have had a shrewd tactician in charge in the last while. It'll be a test of O'Se. The simple fact of the matter is that it is not tactics that have made them better than other teams it's the fact that they are made up of considerably better footballers than any other team. The only one tactical move you could really point to in the last few years is moving Donaghy to the square.

It'll be interesting to see if Marc O'se gets his red card rescinded. If he does I think they'll still take Sam but if not I think their full back line is too frail - unless they get easy draws while he's suspended.

The two games I'd love to see later on in the championship is Armagh v Dublin and then the winners of that versus Kerry.

(If Dara O'Se had went on to Cussen I reckon he'd have emptied him pretty quickly!)
Post by: armaghniac on July 07, 2008, 09:24:48 PM
QuoteThe two games I'd love to see later on in the championship is Armagh v Dublin and then the winners of that versus Kerry.

This 2002 type sequence was more likely if all three had won their provincial finals and proceeded through the Quarters. .
Post by: imtommygunn on July 07, 2008, 09:28:28 PM
Yep granted. I'd love to see Armagh Dublin though as I think that Dublin possibly believe to win the AI they've only to beat Kerry. Armagh would be a massive test for them - one which I'm not sure they'd get over...
Post by: tyssam5 on July 09, 2008, 09:34:13 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 07, 2008, 09:16:34 PM
Kerry have always struggled for a FB - their last three have been corner backs(Moynihan, McCarthy and O'Sullivan) so at some stage this was going to come back and haunt them.

Also you do often wonder whether Kerry have had a shrewd tactician in charge in the last while. It'll be a test of O'Se. The simple fact of the matter is that it is not tactics that have made them better than other teams it's the fact that they are made up of considerably better footballers than any other team. The only one tactical move you could really point to in the last few years is moving Donaghy to the square.

It'll be interesting to see if Marc O'se gets his red card rescinded. If he does I think they'll still take Sam but if not I think their full back line is too frail - unless they get easy draws while he's suspended.

The two games I'd love to see later on in the championship is Armagh v Dublin and then the winners of that versus Kerry.

(If Dara O'Se had went on to Cussen I reckon he'd have emptied him pretty quickly!)

Will that matter? Assuming he gets a month, would he miss a game?
Post by: mackers on July 09, 2008, 10:17:19 AM
Tysam he would miss the first qualifer that Kerry would be involved in. It's down for the first weekend in August.
Post by: bennydorano on July 09, 2008, 02:46:48 PM
The qualifiers is a real nest of Vipers, hope we avoid them and Kerry get Meath - which could very well be the end of Kerry's season.
Post by: magickingdom on July 09, 2008, 06:20:31 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on July 09, 2008, 02:46:48 PM
The qualifiers is a real nest of Vipers, hope we avoid them and Kerry get Meath - which could very well be the end of Kerry's season.

dream on
Post by: D4S on July 09, 2008, 06:46:16 PM
Down to beat Offaly in round 1, then get drawn against the winners of derry and monaghan in round 2, beat them and get great confidence.....then face Kerry in the final qulifier tie in Newry! Would be brilliant to get playing Kerry in Newry, would give us a great look at how much or little Down have progressed, and we'd see how Kerry would fancy a long trip up the road to Newry.  Considering we've never made the all ireland quarter finals since the change in structure there would be no pressure on Down, and a huge home support versus about 100 Kerry people....would be an interesting game!   I for 1 would love it! ;)
Post by: johnpower on July 09, 2008, 08:59:06 PM
Quote from: D4S on July 09, 2008, 06:46:16 PM
Down to beat Offaly in round 1, then get drawn against the winners of derry and monaghan in round 2, beat them and get great confidence.....then face Kerry in the final qulifier tie in Newry! Would be brilliant to get playing Kerry in Newry, would give us a great look at how much or little Down have progressed, and we'd see how Kerry would fancy a long trip up the road to Newry.  Considering we've never made the all ireland quarter finals since the change in structure there would be no pressure on Down, and a huge home support versus about 100 Kerry people....would be an interesting game!   I for 1 would love it! ;)

I thought it was neutral venues for the qualifiers . I will be one of the hundred if it comes to pass although on recent form and previous history we havent a hope in hell
Post by: magickingdom on July 10, 2008, 09:48:51 PM
first out of the hat have home advantage (so long as they have a ground that suitable) this year john..
Post by: Rossfan on July 10, 2008, 10:16:48 PM
Only in Rounds 1 and 2.
Third Round will be neutral venues - presumably to allow for the possibility of a Croke Park Double header if the "right" teams make it that far. ;)
Post by: full back on July 10, 2008, 10:30:21 PM
Quote from: D4S on July 09, 2008, 06:46:16 PM
Would be brilliant to get playing Kerry in Newry, would give us a great look at how much or little Down have progressed

Did your last day out in Clones not answer this question ???
Post by: armaghniac on July 10, 2008, 10:48:05 PM
QuoteWould be brilliant to get playing Kerry in Newry

It would be good to see this, either Kerry would get beaten or Down would have to stop blowing about always beating Kerry.
Post by: timmykelleher on July 15, 2008, 02:21:48 PM
John O'Keefe in the Irish times:
"BOTH TEAMS deserve fair credit here for producing a game worthy of the occasion, and even if it wasn't the best game of the summer, at least it had two teams really going for it - something possibly missing from last Sunday's Munster final, writes John O'Keefe ."

The fecking cheek!