GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: fred the red on June 26, 2008, 01:58:20 PM

Title: Paragon Beer Garden- Sunday
Post by: fred the red on June 26, 2008, 01:58:20 PM
Anyone attending the Down Armagh game on Sunday fancy meeting up before hand for a pre game drink and a bit of banter?

Il be in the Paragon Beer garden from about 2 O clock onwards, il wear a Lance Armstrong band so anyone can identify me.
Title: Re: Paragon Beer Garden- Sunday
Post by: orangeman on June 26, 2008, 01:59:49 PM
Will you have a racer with you as well ?  ;)
Post by: T Fearon on June 26, 2008, 02:00:11 PM
You'd need more than a Lance Armstrong headband in that place. A crash helmet would be more appropriate. The last time I was in that place (admittedly years ago) there was young one's smashing glasses and acting the maggot in general
Post by: fred the red on June 26, 2008, 02:00:50 PM
Quote from: orangeman on June 26, 2008, 01:59:49 PM
Will you have a racer with you as well ?  ;)

Na I hear youy can get points now for speeding in the south, already have enough on my license  :P
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on June 26, 2008, 02:01:10 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 26, 2008, 02:00:11 PM
You'd need more than a Lance Armstrong headband in that place. A crash helmet would be more appropriate. The last time I was in that place (admittedly years ago) there was young one's smashing glasses and acting the maggot in general

Armagh were playing then?
Post by: bennydorano on June 26, 2008, 04:07:22 PM
Clones brings out the worst in young 'uns, I predict a skelping session with our south armagh bretheren battering the Newry nucks into submission.
Post by: T Fearon on June 26, 2008, 04:24:03 PM
Or in other words, avoid the Paragon like the plague.

I cannot understand the fascination with Clones for so called pre or post match atmosphere. The pubs are shitholes (Creightons is like something you would have encountered back in the early 70s), access roads are crap, parking terrible etc. I cannot remember the last time I did anything other than park the car, go straight to the stadium and back to the car straight after the match and out pronto
Post by: D4S on June 26, 2008, 04:34:48 PM
Clones has a great atmosphere for matches.  I know down haven't been there too much in the last decade but I've been there for numerous ulster championship matches and the atmosphere is hard to beat.  Walking down the hill from the diamond and up the hill to the pitch is a real buzz! 2pm bit late to start as well mate, I'll be in clones from 12 good few pints then head up to the field and catch the minor game too I think! My woman from Tyrone and all they have left in the Ulster Championship is the minors so a man's gotta do what a man's gotta do! C'mon Tyrone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (minors)!

Packie Willies is a great spot up past the paragon at top of hill...will be a huge crowd outside it on sunday if we can get the weather! The Paragon was done up a few months ago too they got rid of all the paintings on the walls of mickey linden etc...now they have action snaps from matches benny coulter is in 1 and tommy freeman in another they're very good! So it isnt as bad as it used to be...but will still be full of drunk16 year olds on matchday! Id rather be in with the drunk 20somethings like myself ;D
Post by: Maguire01 on June 26, 2008, 08:21:42 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on June 26, 2008, 04:07:22 PM
Clones brings out the worst in young 'uns, I predict a skelping session with our south armagh bretheren battering the Newry nucks into submission.
Clones, The Holylands...... anywhere away from home seems to bring out the best/or worst in some of these young 'uns!

Quote from: T Fearon on June 26, 2008, 04:24:03 PM
Or in other words, avoid the Paragon like the plague.

I cannot understand the fascination with Clones for so called pre or post match atmosphere. The pubs are shitholes (Creightons is like something you would have encountered back in the early 70s), access roads are crap, parking terrible etc. I cannot remember the last time I did anything other than park the car, go straight to the stadium and back to the car straight after the match and out pronto
I assume you mean The Creighton.  It's a hotel, not a pub. Walk on up into the town a bit if you want other pubs.  And if you can't remember the last time you "did anything other than park the car, go straight to the stadium and back to the car straight after the match and out pronto", maybe it was the 70s!
Post by: charlie stubbs on June 26, 2008, 09:24:34 PM
what has the holylands got to do with the paragon in clones??
Post by: Armamike on June 26, 2008, 09:36:38 PM
The paragon's a shithole.
Post by: fred the red on June 26, 2008, 09:42:16 PM
Quote from: Armamike on June 26, 2008, 09:36:38 PM

Well where does anyone wanna meet for a pint?

any pub in clones wlll suit me as long as it serves carlsberg or tennants :D
Post by: Maguire01 on June 27, 2008, 01:03:45 PM
Quote from: charlie stubbs on June 26, 2008, 09:24:34 PM
what has the holylands got to do with the paragon in clones??
Did you not read my full post? I was alluding to the fact that young ones run wild when they are away from home, regardless of where it is. It was in reference to the receny 'holylands' thread on the main discussion board.
Post by: Onion Bag on June 27, 2008, 02:53:32 PM
Quote from: Armamike on June 26, 2008, 09:36:38 PM

Here Here Armalike, it is a an absolute dunghole
Post by: The Subbie on June 27, 2008, 04:02:25 PM
Armagh V Down AKA Battle of the Buckfast brigades. :D :D
Post by: fred the red on July 01, 2008, 10:22:34 PM
Well lads, how did yous all fair out on sunday. Was chatting to a few of here, though most of the ones were too afraid to reveal their identities!
Post by: fred the red on July 17, 2008, 07:32:53 PM
Anyone fancy meeting for a pre game drink on Sunday?
Post by: haranguerer on July 17, 2008, 09:40:34 PM
Lat time was a lance armstrong band. I presume that made you instantly recognisable(!) What'll it be this time - an Armagh jersey?  :D
I'll be about from 12 - prob round some of the pubs round the bottom of the town, cos I couldnt be arsed walking up the hill and back down it. Not The Creighton though, Fearon might be a bollocks, but hes right about that kip.
Post by: fred the red on July 17, 2008, 09:53:45 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on July 17, 2008, 09:40:34 PM
Lat time was a lance armstrong band. I presume that made you instantly recognisable(!) What'll it be this time - an Armagh jersey?  :D
I'll be about from 12 - prob round some of the pubs round the bottom of the town, cos I couldnt be arsed walking up the hill and back down it. Not The Creighton though, Fearon might be a bollocks, but hes right about that kip.

Yea because every1 still wears lance armstrong bands these days  ::)
Post by: haranguerer on July 17, 2008, 10:11:08 PM
Sorry, yeah, they're sooo last season now.  :D
So you still got it then, I'll look out for you!
Post by: fred the red on July 17, 2008, 10:17:01 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on July 17, 2008, 10:11:08 PM
Sorry, yeah, they're sooo last season now.  :D
So you still got it then, I'll look out for you!

Im not sure i would want any conversation with you! maybe il take it off then!  ::)
Post by: haranguerer on July 17, 2008, 10:22:28 PM
Ah now! I was only coddin. Sorry  :'(
I'd say I'll be able to spot you handy enough anyway though, you know you look a lot like Jon Bon Jovi?  :P
Post by: fred the red on July 17, 2008, 10:35:33 PM
Raise Your Hands when you see me, i promise il not Runaway. Hopefully you will Have a Nice Day, and not drink too much of that Bad Medicine alot of the Armagh men drink!

If Fermanagh win it will be One Wild Night!
Post by: gerry on July 18, 2008, 12:16:03 AM
i will be there wearing this

http://www.squareball.com/shop/product.php?productid=29&cat=1&page=1 (http://www.squareball.com/shop/product.php?productid=29&cat=1&page=1)
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 20, 2008, 04:28:23 PM
Sure you won't tell anyone who ya are anyway fred