GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: stevecw on June 24, 2008, 08:47:40 PM

Title: Christy Ring
Post by: stevecw on June 24, 2008, 08:47:40 PM
Anyone got any opinions on the Christy Ring Cup. It starts this weekend. Unlike the disaster that is the Tommy Murphy cup in football, the CR Cup has worked.
This year its hard to see beyond Westmeath once again. Champs in 2005 & 2007. Antrim walked it in 2006, when they were so much better than what was in it.
As for challengers this year Down, Carlow & maybe Meath but really thats about it for who might challenge but hard to see Westmeath despite their Leinster 2nd half hammering by the Dubs being beaten.
Shows there is still a big gap tho...Westmeath are easily best of 2nd tier, Dubs are near bottom of top tier..still the dubs hammer Westmeath.
Title: Re: Christy Ring
Post by: slow corner back on June 24, 2008, 09:18:18 PM
I would be curious to see how derry hurlers go in this, they put it up to antrim for 55-60  minutes in the ulster championship and are could be dangerous at christy ring level. I would agree that westmeath are the favourites alright but as you say Down or Carlow could beat them with a fair wind behind them.
Post by: downgirl on June 24, 2008, 09:32:01 PM
I think Down should do well in the Christy Ring this year, (and yes, I am probably slightly biased!) but they performed well against Antrim in the Ulster final and possibly should have won.  Magic Johnson wasn't playing in the final due to a broken foot, but he should be back and himself and Paul Braniff do work well together.  I am sick of the lack of support hurling is getting in Ulster, including from the county board (speaking from a Down perspective only, I cannot say anything for the other counties).
Post by: stevecw on June 24, 2008, 09:43:53 PM
I agree down girl, even in Carlow its not getting the support we need. The clubs are going mad that the hurling championship here has been put on hold for a few weeks.
3 of our best impact subs have been kicked off panel for playing league or challenges with the club.
Ok its great having a top manager like we have in Jim Greene, won Munsters with Mount Sion...just missed out on Wat job when McCarthy got it etc. But seems overstrict.
Top scorer in carlow championship was on holiday for the 1st kehoe cup game this year & was kicked off panel cos of it! Madness. Ok he says discipline is vital..but he cost us many of our best players.
I think with a full panel we'd win the CR cup, with with losing those guys i reckon semis again are our best bet sadly.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on June 24, 2008, 09:47:06 PM
Find it hard to work up a sweat about it... the day that a game on its own attracts a 3,000 crowd will be a miracle. When you see the standard in Munster - and add Kilkenny - then it's just basically a junior championship..
Post by: stevecw on June 24, 2008, 10:10:39 PM
^ You're dead right it gets terrible crowds until it gets to semis & final.
But it still makes sense to give hurlers a winnable championship at their own level.
No point having Kildare play Kilkenny in Leinster..obv get hammered. Then again its crazy put longford up against Kildare too...longford would be hammerred.
Thats why the 3 tier level works in hurling.
In football the gap isn't so big...but whetever ppl think about Christy Ring & Rickard they give competitive matches for counties at their own level even if it doesnt attract crowds.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on June 24, 2008, 10:34:02 PM
Quote from: stevecw on June 24, 2008, 10:10:39 PM
^ You're dead right it gets terrible crowds until it gets to semis & final.
But it still makes sense to give hurlers a winnable championship at their own level.
No point having Kildare play Kilkenny in Leinster..obv get hammered. Then again its crazy put longford up against Kildare too...longford would be hammerred.
Thats why the 3 tier level works in hurling.
In football the gap isn't so big...but whetever ppl think about Christy Ring & Rickard they give competitive matches for counties at their own level even if it doesnt attract crowds.

Good point but I find it hard to compare football with hurling.
The thing about football is that it is a game where skill is not the bottom line. Teams can play tactically in football and cancel out the basic skills of the more talented teams (blanket defence) etc .. Kerry would win the All-Ireland every year if it wasn't for the realisation that you will not beat them at pure football so use tactics. Cue fecker Spillane gurning every Sunday about Ulster football. It's not rocket science - ask Jackie Charlton. Hurling is different - perhaps the smaller ball negates the effectiveness of tactics as an individual player with skill can turn a game ( In 1998, I saw Johnny Dooley flick a ball from the ground to his hand -  and in one movement turn and smash it to the net - while two Antrim defenders who were around Dooley were still wondering where the ball had dissappeared to.. That skill was inherent and Dooley could have done that when he was ten years old in his back yard.. That is why people must realise that hurling's gaps in class will not be solved easily.. In Kilkenny, the schoolkids carry hurls to school and then home pucking a ball all the way. My bro went to school with Brian McFall and he did that also. In Casement Park three years ago, an RTE journo (Brian Carty) said to me that McFALL was the only player in Antrim that could walk onto any team in Ireland.. the hurl was an extension of his hand from no age... That's why I feel that the CR Cup not going to solve our probs..
Post by: downgirl on June 25, 2008, 12:51:45 AM
so Hurler On The Bitch, you are saying we should have more coaching at primary school level etc??  This is done for football, all the big county stars going to the primary schools to encourage young ones to start playing and all, but I can't think of anytime I have seen anything in the papers about county hurlers going to primary schools....also Benny Coulter is like a GAA development coach...is there such a thing in the Down (or any county) hurlers?? I don't think so unfortunately.  Why can't the county boards address this issue???  And encourage clubs outside Ards to start fielding hurling teams???!!!!!
Post by: Lecale2 on June 25, 2008, 10:16:31 AM
The Christy Ring only gets interesting at the Semi Final stage. Very few bother attending the group matches. Hopefully Down can give it a rattle this year after last years shambles.
Post by: thejuice on June 25, 2008, 12:40:33 PM
I reckon Meath can do well this year but we wont get near Westmeath. I'd be confident of getting out of our group with Mayo and Kerry without too much hassle.

We have a couple of nice hurlers in Nicky Horan and Eoin Brislane
Post by: AZOffaly on June 25, 2008, 02:46:06 PM
What was the name of the Meath hurler that used to be very good? He would have played for any county team in Leinster back in the 90s. Was it Sheridan or something? Cathal?
Post by: INDIANA on June 25, 2008, 04:03:48 PM
pat potterton was some hurler from meath
so was nicky horan in his day.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 25, 2008, 04:04:41 PM
Could be Nicky Horan I'm thinking of. He was a wing forward I think. Took the frees?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 25, 2008, 05:18:10 PM
I would have liked Laois to compete in it this year,I don't see the point of Galway raking up another massive score against us,I believe we have dropped down now to the level of Westmeath
Post by: INDIANA on June 25, 2008, 05:34:02 PM
at his peak horan would have started for kilkenny even cody conceded that.
Post by: neilthemac on June 26, 2008, 01:50:31 AM
Westmeath should win it

Down and Kerry to give them a good run

Roscommon and London for the drop
Post by: thejuice on June 29, 2008, 01:20:35 AM
Well we took care of Mayo today, Niall Hackett racking up 9 points in a 16 to 12 win. Perhaps not looking like title contenders yet but I reckon we'll be there or there abouts. Roll on Kerry.
Post by: HurlingBlog on June 30, 2008, 03:15:42 PM
Westmeath are obviously raging hot favourites. Impressive start from them yesterday.
But Carlow, Down, Meath and Kildare could all challenge to some degree.
Andy Comerford looks to have Kildare going well.

Post by: slow corner back on June 30, 2008, 06:15:25 PM
Good win for Kildare alright, I thought Derry were a bit better than that, obviously not.
Post by: HurlingBlog on July 04, 2008, 11:10:41 AM
Looks like most of the big guns have the bye this weekend
Derry should beat armagh
Down get under way against london and should win easily
mayo v kerry and roscommon v wicklow might be two tights ones
Post by: Lecale2 on July 04, 2008, 12:06:01 PM
Quote from: HurlingBlog on July 04, 2008, 11:10:41 AM
Looks like most of the big guns have the bye this weekend
Derry should beat armagh
Down get under way against london and should win easily
mayo v kerry and roscommon v wicklow might be two tights ones

London can be tricky at home but I expect Down to win by 2 or 3. If they don't they are in big trouble.
Post by: nrico2006 on July 04, 2008, 01:36:00 PM
I fear Armagh will take an awful hammering against a Derry side out to make up for last weekends humiliation.  Armagh are missing 4 players from the London game and two of them are their best - Coulter and McCormack
Post by: HurlingBlog on July 04, 2008, 02:12:22 PM
Yeah Coulter (Declan is it?) is the one Armagh hurling name you'd recognise, he always puts up great scores.

I guess he's another of those star guys from the weaker counties that'd make a kilkenny or cork team any time.
Post by: Bacon on July 05, 2008, 04:47:58 PM
Result: London 2-08 1-25 Down.
Post by: mannix on July 06, 2008, 10:53:36 AM
Mayo beat kerry, and  Keith Higgins scored a free from 100 yards out, i seen tony browne do it in a munster championship game once against clare and was astounded. How do you do that, drive it that far and that accurately.
Some of these lads would be stars in the usa where catching a ball in a big glove is heroic and driving it over a wall 80 metres away is unreal.
Instead Higgins walks into a sandwich shop in Castlebar and nobody looks twice.
Post by: theskull1 on July 06, 2008, 11:56:21 AM
Yeah....it would be great PR for the game if great players from the traditionally weak counties got more exposure
Post by: neilthemac on July 06, 2008, 12:54:06 PM
feck thats a huge win for Mayo
Post by: Red Hurley on July 06, 2008, 06:23:25 PM
Any reports from the Derry v Armagh game? Seemed close enough game looking at the scoreline
Post by: stevecw on July 07, 2008, 08:34:43 PM
Quote from: Bacon on July 05, 2008, 04:47:58 PM
Result: London 2-08 1-25 Down.

Nice win by Down. Impressive to do that in Ruislip.
So sets up big game on Sat in Newry (i think?)
Down v Carlow are probably 2 of the most evenly matched teams around.
Never much in it whether in Carlow or as the games seem to be most of the time in Down! Even the league game in Down was a draw. Only pt Carlow dropped in Div 2 & Down came up with us.
So hard one to call this wkend. Down had good Ulster championship.
At the same time Carlow lost Div 2 final badly to Westmeath by 6 pts & then the Kehoe cup final to Meath by 7 points.
So ok the win v London (by 18 pts) was good, but as we stand right now we have no idea what we are like. This weekend wlll tell Carlow so much.
Winning this game & topping the group means so much...it gives the winner a home qf. The league game was a draw  id love the same result again as our +18 v + 14 would give us 1st!!
Looking forward to a cracker between 2 of the best sides at this level.
Post by: Lecale2 on July 09, 2008, 10:05:05 AM
Down v Carlow is the big one this week. There's still a chance the game will be moved to Ballycran apparently. The winner of this one should be able to go on to the final.
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on July 09, 2008, 01:00:22 PM
Quote from: Red Hurley on July 06, 2008, 06:23:25 PM
Any reports from the Derry v Armagh game? Seemed close enough game looking at the scoreline

From all reports Armagh were 4 points up when the 4 additional minutes were announced. 2-7 to 0-1 down after 15 minutes Armagh rallied to score 5 goals in a 15 minute period either side of half time. Convery picked 1-9 for Derry although all from frees. Derry won by 4 in the end. Armagh battled dispite their big men missing and showed that progress has been made on a wider scale and not just the elite few. Although this year Armagh had no realistic chance of winning anything they have battled hard and not disgraced themselves at a much higher level.

Although a Nicky Rackhard title might have been there for the taking in 2008 after last years near miss, this year the developments seems to have continued at the higher level. Next up Kildare which will be extremely difficult.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 09, 2008, 04:35:49 PM
Will Coulter / McCormack be back for the Kildare game?
Post by: nrico2006 on July 09, 2008, 05:00:59 PM
Coulter is away to America
Post by: stevecw on July 09, 2008, 09:21:07 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on July 09, 2008, 10:05:05 AM
Down v Carlow is the big one this week. There's still a chance the game will be moved to Ballycran apparently. The winner of this one should be able to go on to the final.

Should be a cracker of a game. 2 really evenly matched teams. I agree the winner gets a home qf & more than likely will be good enough to reach final prob v Westmeath.
Its a bit annoying tho, that on wed night we still dont know where this game will take place. Ive heard Newry, Ballycran, Ballygalgat or something like that!
Im heading to Down for this game, but would love to know where it will be held. Kinda helps when booking hotel for Sat night!
Hope we hear a confirmed venue for this game tomorrow.
Post by: groundlie on July 09, 2008, 11:35:23 PM
Kildare are a brave enough side by all accounts. I think Down will go right and well though they have class players in Gab Clarke, McGourty and Branniff. Would love to see them win it, they deserve a big day in the limelight, and remember Jim McKernan (current Down manager) is the man who lead Antrim to the CR in 06 so he knows the stock.
Post by: downgirl on July 10, 2008, 12:14:08 AM
Quote from: stevecw on July 09, 2008, 09:21:07 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on July 09, 2008, 10:05:05 AM

Should be a cracker of a game. 2 really evenly matched teams. I agree the winner gets a home qf & more than likely will be good enough to reach final prob v Westmeath.
Its a bit annoying tho, that on wed night we still dont know where this game will take place. Ive heard Newry, Ballycran, Ballygalgat or something like that!
Im heading to Down for this game, but would love to know where it will be held. Kinda helps when booking hotel for Sat night!
Hope we hear a confirmed venue for this game tomorrow.

It would make more sense for the match to be in Ballycran/Ballygalget/Portaferry due to it being the 12th...I don't fancy having to travel to Newry from my house as it involves going through Clough...I don't know if they are having a parade there or not but all the brand new union jacks and red hand of ulster flags unsettle me when I'm not wearing a gaelic jersey... :-\ :-\
Post by: Lecale2 on July 11, 2008, 10:13:16 AM
The Down/Carlow game is in Newry. If it was being played in Ballycran I would strongly fancy Down. In Newry it could go any way. I wouldn't be surprised if it was a draw.
Post by: Down Gael on July 12, 2008, 06:31:34 PM
DOWN 3-13 CARLOW 0-19

K Courtney sent off mid way through he first half, second yellow card.
Post by: Bacon on July 12, 2008, 09:24:00 PM
Good win for Down. The full back line + Clarke in nets were excellent. Carlow went for goals far too early. They could have won if they had taken their points.

Courtney is too lose for inter county and refs will always book him. Magic & Dule were superb!
Post by: Down Gael on July 14, 2008, 08:39:01 PM
Wicklow v Mayo
Down v Derry
Kerry v Carlow
Kildare v Westmeath
Post by: slow corner back on July 14, 2008, 09:57:24 PM
Some intresting match ups there. Down with home advantage should be too strong for Derry. As for the other games, hard to call. Mayo have improved but wicklow were able to take out Westmeath last time so with home advantage it should be wicklow. Kerry are tough to beat in the kingdom and may just edge carlow although it is a 50/50 game. Kildare at home to everyones pre tournament favourites westmeath, how much has andy comerford brought on kildare? Another 50/50 match i would say.
Post by: Pull Hard Hes No Relation on July 15, 2008, 10:04:25 PM
Bit harsh on Kieran Courtney there Bacon given his performances all year, don't think your opinion would be shared by the rest of the county and certainly not the county management. Would you say the same thing about the guy if he was from the Ards? Doubt it
Post by: stevecw on July 15, 2008, 11:21:30 PM
Wicklow v Mayo
Wicklow will easy win this one. Struggled during league, but have got sorted since. Win by 6 or 7 pts
Down v Derry. A No brainer, Down have an amazing forward division...hit the goals that mattered in group games & will beat Derry by at least 10 pts
Kerry v Carlow- Hard one to call. Carlow are the better team, but the game is in Tralee where Kerry are very rarely beaten. But last time they met in div 2 semi in Limerick Carlow won easily by about 15 points...so id side with Carlow for this..but only by 2 or 3 pts.
Kildare v Westmeath
Its the form team Kildare v the team that thinks they are better than this level!!I dunno if westmeath are all that after a loss to Wicklow! :o
But if i had to choose i think Kildare might cause a real big shock here & beat Westmeath!
Post by: AZOffaly on July 16, 2008, 10:35:29 AM
Were Westmeath already qualified? I thought they were quite good of what I've seen of them this year. Maybe they took the foot off the pedal for Wicklow?
Post by: Lecale2 on July 16, 2008, 10:45:51 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 16, 2008, 10:35:29 AM
Were Westmeath already qualified? I thought they were quite good of what I've seen of them this year. Maybe they took the foot off the pedal for Wicklow?

I think Westmeath played a weakened team for some reason. Maybe resting players for the knockout stage. It may come back to bite them. Kildare have been in great form and on paper look like they are capable of an upset.

Carlow will beat Kerry. They would have beaten Down but for some poor discipline and decision making.
Down should beat Derry but they've had problems getting passed them in the past.
Wicklow will make up the semi final line up.

Has the draw for the semis been made?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 16, 2008, 11:50:24 AM
Quote from: Lecale2 on July 16, 2008, 10:45:51 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 16, 2008, 10:35:29 AM

I think Westmeath played a weakened team for some reason. Maybe resting players for the knockout stage. It may come back to bite them. Kildare have been in great form and on paper look like they are capable of an upset.

Spot on, should be a cracker of a game in Newbridge now...
Post by: neilthemac on July 17, 2008, 12:20:23 AM
Westmeath have not even been training much.

a few of their players are also not bothered

they thought they are too good for the Christy Ring
Post by: johnneycool on July 17, 2008, 01:23:50 PM
Quote from: Pull Hard Hes No Relation on July 15, 2008, 10:04:25 PM
Bit harsh on Kieran Courtney there Bacon given his performances all year, don't think your opinion would be shared by the rest of the county and certainly not the county management. Would you say the same thing about the guy if he was from the Ards? Doubt it

Kieran can be a bit erratic when meeting a man running at him, with the hurl being high, ref's always frown upon this, he'd be better keeping the hurl lower and use the body more to slow a man down, he's a big lump himself so use it.
There's no doubting his ability, he just needs to temper his game a bit especially after picking up an early yellow.
It was a good win for Down with the players having the right attitude which is a pleasant surprise. Derry will be a bigger test for down as the Derry lads know they can beat Down and will give it a hell of a lash, Down will need to match Derry in the ferocity, if they don't Derry may steal this one.
Post by: billy the kid on July 17, 2008, 02:34:28 PM
Quote from: RealSpiritof98 on July 09, 2008, 01:00:22 PM
Quote from: Red Hurley on July 06, 2008, 06:23:25 PM

From all reports Armagh were 4 points up when the 4 additional minutes were announced. 2-7 to 0-1 down after 15 minutes Armagh rallied to score 5 goals in a 15 minute period either side of half time. Convery picked 1-9 for Derry although all from frees. Derry won by 4 in the end. Armagh battled dispite their big men missing and showed that progress has been made on a wider scale and not just the elite few. Although this year Armagh had no realistic chance of winning anything they have battled hard and not disgraced themselves at a much higher level.

Although a Nicky Rackhard title might have been there for the taking in 2008 after last years near miss, this year the developments seems to have continued at the higher level. Next up Kildare which will be extremely difficult.

Derry retook the lead in this game with 10 mins remaining of normal time and were always the likely winners as Armagh struggled very badly for scores and only for the Derry Keeper making 3 comical blunders for goals including dropping one in the net, Armagh would have been beaten by much more than the eventual 5 points.  Armagh only managed 4.1 from play out of their total of 5.6 With Enright hitting 1.5 from frees

Convery scored 1.4 from frees with 5 points from play and not 1.9 from frees

Derry were missing 4 first teamers and another 3 from the panel. Also one of their best players Cathal Brunton only came on in the last 10 mins as he has been out all year injured.
Armaghs injury list is nothing compared to the 1 Derry has at the min.

Post by: seeheartalk on July 17, 2008, 04:54:00 PM
Armagh play London in a relegation play-off in Pairc Esler on Saturday Jully 26. Hopefully Down won't be having a wee kickabout or the game will be delayed again.
Derry U21s had a good win over Armagh last night.
Post by: stevecw on July 17, 2008, 10:00:20 PM
Quote from: neilthemac on July 17, 2008, 12:20:23 AM
Westmeath have not even been training much.

a few of their players are also not bothered

they thought they are too good for the Christy Ring
Hard to believe this really. What makes Westmeath think they're too good for CR level? Was it their hammering from Dublin, that just made them think that is the level where they belong?!
I dont believe they havent trained for a second. If thats the way they are treating it they will get caught out by a well prepared Wicklow side who had shipped lots of Criticism due to their league efforts.
Now Westmeath have to pay the price, by heading for a really tricky game away to an in form Kildare side boosted by 2 or 3 Tipp imports.
I still think Westmeath will have enough to get thru, but wont be easy.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 19, 2008, 09:04:41 PM
Fair play to the Mayo hurlers for winning against Wicklow in Aughrim AET. I have to say even though I don't know much about hurling, I thought Mayo would lose by a point or two.
Post by: Barney on July 19, 2008, 09:41:18 PM
Up Mayo!!
Post by: mannix on July 19, 2008, 10:37:25 PM
UP MAYO!
Post by: Franko on July 20, 2008, 10:42:02 PM
Quote from: stevecw on July 15, 2008, 11:21:30 PM
Wicklow v Mayo
Wicklow will easy win this one. Struggled during league, but have got sorted since. Win by 6 or 7 pts
Down v Derry. A No brainer, Down have an amazing forward division...hit the goals that mattered in group games & will beat Derry by at least 10 pts
Kerry v Carlow- Hard one to call. Carlow are the better team, but the game is in Tralee where Kerry are very rarely beaten. But last time they met in div 2 semi in Limerick Carlow won easily by about 15 points...so id side with Carlow for this..but only by 2 or 3 pts.
Kildare v Westmeath
Its the form team Kildare v the team that thinks they are better than this level!!I dunno if westmeath are all that after a loss to Wicklow! :o
But if i had to choose i think Kildare might cause a real big shock here & beat Westmeath!

steve you and your predictions crack me up! did you not watch the national league at all!
Post by: slow corner back on July 20, 2008, 10:49:16 PM
I have to say that I thought it was a bit of a shock for derry to win this. Derry have some very good u-21s but they have struggled at senior level. Down with Magic back and Paul Branniff fit looked a reasonable bet to win the Christy Ring. Fair play to Dery, as in the u-21s last year, thay have surprised a fancied side. The underdog role seems to suit them which is just as well as they wil be underdogs once more against westmeath. I hope they can push on from here and get to the final. It would be highly ironic to see the Dery county board all showing up to back the hurlers in croke park considering some of the things big McGilligan has had to say about them this year :D
Also have to say it does please me that Derry hurlers have lasted longer in the championship than the footballers and that Mayo have earned the right to say that they are the last connaught team left in the hurling championships. Fair play to Peter Finnerty has them going in the right direction. Would love to see a Derry v Mayo final although I suspect it will be westmeath v carlow
Post by: downgirl on July 20, 2008, 11:35:41 PM
I agree with you slow corner back, expected Down to win by at least a few points with the Magic and Braniff combo. 
Post by: Saffron exile on July 21, 2008, 12:40:14 AM
Not the last Connacht team. Sligo play North Dublin (Fingal is a misnomer) in the Rackard Cup semi Well done to Mayo and Derry.
Post by: Bod Mor on July 21, 2008, 02:08:05 AM
Mayo V Carlow

Is this going to be played in Castlebar?
Post by: slow corner back on July 21, 2008, 11:42:47 AM
apologies to sligo, missed that one
Post by: Lecale2 on July 21, 2008, 11:52:08 AM
A very disappointing weekend for Down hurling.
Post by: highking on July 21, 2008, 06:06:05 PM
Quote from: Bod Mor on July 21, 2008, 02:08:05 AM
Mayo V Carlow

Yes. 3pm in McHale Park next Saturday. Hope to see a good crowd there...
Post by: stevecw on July 21, 2008, 06:36:26 PM
Quote from: Franko on July 20, 2008, 10:42:02 PM
Quote from: stevecw on July 15, 2008, 11:21:30 PM
Wicklow v Mayo
Kildare v Westmeath

steve you and your predictions crack me up! did you not watch the national league at all!

Happy to hear that i entertain you Franko :D
But honestly i dont think i was in a minority by any means in expecting Down to win that game. Fair play to Derry, i really didn't think they had that in them. After seeing many league games & seeing Down twice this year they looked a very good side. But obv i underestimated Derry & Mayo too to be honest.
But its great to see 2 new teams reach the semis.

A trip to Westmeath is tough for Derry but after saturdays result who knows. Again id be surprised if they won, but cant rule it out.
And as for Carlow, we continue our tour to all corners of the country! In Down 2 weeks ago, in Kerry on Sat & now away to Mayo next sat.
Again, id have to fancy us to get through, that display in Kerry was very impressive, best we've had this year so hopefully are peaking at right time.
But Mayo really have improved so much & any team that can go to Wicklow and win has to be in with a shout especially in Castlebar.

Ok so for next week in my attempt to crack Franko up again, i'll go for Westmeath & Carlow to win through & set up a repeat of the Div 2 league final.
Post by: Whitehair on July 21, 2008, 07:06:45 PM
QuoteA very disappointing weekend for Down hurling.

Down didnt seem to approach the game in the right frame of mind although i still expected them to have enough firepower to pull through. They missed three clear goal opportunities but to be honest Derry were deserving of their victory. Stephen Henry stuck to his task well on Braniff even though he conceded some early scores, Mark Craig cleared alot of ball and Paddy Mc Closkey looked the part in full forward. Andy Savage had a good game and Braniff scored a few and missed a few, the rest of the Down forwards were mainly anonymous. I was at the Down v Antrim 21s last week and Derry'l fancy their chances again against Antrim. Think 8-9 of their Senior team were u21s and in Dodds, Holly, Craig etc they'v powerful as well as skillful hurlers.
Post by: stevecw on July 22, 2008, 12:20:53 AM
^ After seeing Down live last wk, im shocked at that loss. Down looked fantastic, while W'Mth were too good
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on July 22, 2008, 07:03:57 AM
Quote from: highking on July 21, 2008, 06:06:05 PM
Mayo V Carlow

According to Hogan Stand there's a Christy Ring semi-final in McHale Park alright, but Mayo aren't playing. Pity

Christy Ring Semi-Finals

Mayo v Carlow, Mullingar, 3.00

Westmeath v Derry, Castlebar, 5.00.

Hope the Mayo lads can do the biz here, would be a serious shot in the arm for them. Hopefully they'll get a good travelling support but I wouldn't bank on it I'm afraid

Post by: Tubberman on July 22, 2008, 08:13:14 AM
Posted on: Today at 07:03:57 AMPosted by: RedandGreenSniper 
Insert Quote
Mayo V Carlow

According to Hogan Stand there's a Christy Ring semi-final in McHale Park alright, but Mayo aren't playing. Pity

Christy Ring Semi-Finals

Hope the Mayo lads can do the biz here, would be a serious shot in the arm for them. Hopefully they'll get a good travelling support but I wouldn't bank on it I'm afraid

Looks like it could be a mistake from Hoganstand (shock, horror). I presume they got the venue's the wrong way around.
Would be strange to have Westmeath's game in Castlebar and Mayo's game in Mullingar!!
Post by: Franko on July 22, 2008, 10:15:30 AM
I have to agree with you steve, whilst I am a Derry fan I am also a realist and I reckon that Westmeath have too much for Derry.  I envisage derry still being in the hunt with 15-20 to go with westmeath then kicking on to in the region of a 10 point win.  This seems to be the tried and tested format for these sort of games!

I think that the other semi will be closer - Mayo have made amazing strides this season under pete finnerty.  They also have home advantage.  However, tradition would suggest that Carlow will eventually win out and I would tend to agree.

As for derry v down - I think that the only people not surprised with this result were derry people - they have already beaten a full down side this year and that combined with some recent ulster championship results all pointed to a close game.  Thats why I couldnt let someone calling the game a 'no brainer' slip by without a mention steve!!
Post by: neilthemac on July 22, 2008, 02:08:00 PM
I think Derry can beat Westmeath. Cusack park isn't the biggest of pitches and it'll suit Derry.

stop Murtagh playing and the game is there for the taking
Post by: johnneycool on July 22, 2008, 02:27:27 PM
Quote from: Franko on July 22, 2008, 10:15:30 AM

As for derry v down - I think that the only people not surprised with this result were derry people - they have already beaten a full down side this year and that combined with some recent ulster championship results all pointed to a close game.  Thats why I couldnt let someone calling the game a 'no brainer' slip by without a mention steve!!

I wasn't surprised in the least that Derry won. It was always going to be a banana skin for Down as they were expected to win and the favourites tag doesn't sit too easy with Down hurlers. Derry are more aggressive and physical in their hurling and Down failed to match that and were always playing catch up. Too many fancy dan hurlers at the minute who aren't even that fancy.

It turns out that Big Magic's foot is still giving him bother as he couldn't/wouldn't play for his club last sunday and was only capable of playing in goals on sunday against Loughgeil so I don't know how he was fit to start against both Carlow and Derry.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on July 24, 2008, 12:34:07 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 22, 2008, 08:13:14 AM
Posted on: Today at 07:03:57 AMPosted by: RedandGreenSniper 
Insert Quote
Mayo V Carlow

Christy Ring Semi-Finals

Looks like it could be a mistake from Hoganstand (shock, horror). I presume they got the venue's the wrong way around.
Would be strange to have Westmeath's game in Castlebar and Mayo's game in Mullingar!!

Yeah, according to The Mayo News, in an interview with Mayo manager Martin Brennan, the game is in McHale Park. Good stuff, hopefully that should help for a good home support. In fairness the standard might be a long way off the Kilkennys of this world but it is a lot higher than a lot of people in Mayo presume it to be
Post by: Galforever on July 24, 2008, 04:45:32 PM
From gaa.ie:

Christy Ring Cup Semi-Finals
Mullingar 5.00pm Iar Mhí v Doire
Referee: David O'Donovan (BÁC)
(E.T. if Necessary)
Castlebar 3.00pm Maigh Eo v Ceatharlach
Referee: Alan Kelly (Gaillimh)
(E.T. if Necessary)

A possible scenario?

Mayo win the christy ring & gets promoted to liam mcarthy

Assume nexts years Liam McCarthy format is the same as this year.

Does that automatically create a connacht championship?  And in the case of Galway accepting the invitation into Leinster, Where does that leave Mayo? Do they come into leinster as well ???
Post by: nrico2006 on July 24, 2008, 05:05:25 PM
I'm not sure if the Ring winners go straight up - I think they have to play the bottom team in the McCarthy in a play-off.
Post by: slow corner back on July 24, 2008, 05:44:22 PM
The ring winners have to play laois for a place in the liam mccarthy next year. Same scenario applies to Derry if they get promoted ie where do they fit into the championship structures?
Post by: hurl4ever on July 24, 2008, 06:35:20 PM
any derry people feel that liam hinphey should be brought onto the panel for this weekends match, as i personally think that they have a better chance than people think, and could make the final. he may be the man to look after murtagh!!
Post by: billy the kid on July 24, 2008, 11:38:01 PM
I def think asking hinphy onto the panel woul be a bad idea. He left the hurling after the second or third National league game to concentrate on football so what would that be saying to the other players who have trained away all year.  Dont get me wrong i think Liam is a fantastic player and he has always been very good when playing with the hurlers and i think leaving for the football was his decision and has to be respected and he did gain a nationl football league medal with them but his return at this stage could unsettle the other panel members.  But i do agree that he would prob do a good job if he was called back.
Post by: Galforever on July 25, 2008, 07:50:17 AM
QuoteThe ring winners have to play laois for a place in the liam mccarthy next year. Same scenario applies to Derry if they get promoted ie where do they fit into the championship structures?

Yeah, I know that the ring winners have to play Laois. However, my point is if they win that match...

Basically you will have to to have a review of the liam mccarthy structure every year in the case of a connacht or ulster team getting through. Will the leinster council have to invite these teams in the years they get promoted?

Another reason just to abolish the leinster championship & replace it with a "rest of ireland" competition.
Post by: stevecw on July 26, 2008, 12:05:17 AM
As one of i reckon very few Carlow people heading to the game in Mayo tomorrow, i feel we will win a close game.
Mayo have done fantastic work to reach the level they are at. But Carlow have aimed the season towards peaking for CR semis & final. Last 2 games in Down & Kerry have been our best efforts all season. That game in Tralee was a quality display. Mayo away will be tough , but i believe & expect Carlow to be too good for Mayo.
In other semi, id say Westmeath will take Derry. And we end up with a repeat of div 2 final. (hopefully this time with a different result!!)
Post by: aontroim on July 26, 2008, 10:19:22 AM
Mayo seem to have come on a fair distance from a few years back - in 2002 they were beaten by Antrim in the Junior All-Ireland series when Mattie Murphy was in charge - looks like they have their act together at this stage which is good to see.
Post by: Tubberman on July 26, 2008, 03:42:47 PM
Mayo beating Carlow by 10 pts to 6 at half-time. Maigh Eo abú!!  ;D
Post by: Tubberman on July 26, 2008, 04:30:14 PM
Mayo up by one - 16pts to 15. Mid-west gone to a break  >:(
Should be a full time result when they get back
Post by: Tubberman on July 26, 2008, 04:37:11 PM
Carlow win by a point. Mayo 0-17 Carlow 1-15  :-[

Carlow got goal in last min to go a point up, Mayo drew level but Carlow scored the winner with last puck of the game.....
Very tough on the Mayo lads. Apparently there was a great crowd at it so I suppose that's something to take from it
Post by: Galforever on July 28, 2008, 01:04:51 PM
QuoteMayo seem to have come on a fair distance from a few years back - in 2002 they were beaten by Antrim in the Junior All-Ireland series when Mattie Murphy was in charge - looks like they have their act together at this stage which is good to see.

Pete Finnerty from the Sunday Game is training them this year.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 28, 2008, 02:11:34 PM
Quote from: Galforever on July 28, 2008, 01:04:51 PM
QuoteMayo seem to have come on a fair distance from a few years back - in 2002 they were beaten by Antrim in the Junior All-Ireland series when Mattie Murphy was in charge - looks like they have their act together at this stage which is good to see.

Pete Finnerty from the Sunday Game is training them this year.

How the mighty have fallen. I never thought I'd see Pete Finnerty being identified as that. I'd have said Pete Finnerty, ex Galway great half back is training them :D
Post by: Galforever on July 28, 2008, 03:45:18 PM
QuoteHow the mighty have fallen. I never thought I'd see Pete Finnerty being identified as that. I'd have said Pete Finnerty, ex Galway great half back is training them

Ya know, When I was typing that I was going to say "from Galway" but then thought a lot wouldnt know who I was on about so changed it to the sunday game!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 28, 2008, 05:14:57 PM
The final of the Christy Ring Cup between Westmeath and Carlow will take place on Friday at 7.30pm, also in Croke Park.

Who in the name a Jaysus is gonna go to this??? Friday night, trying to get around the city in Friday night traffic, finishing work early to get up to it, etc.  ::) Surely it would have made more sense to have it on before one of the Hurling semi-finals...
Post by: Galforever on July 28, 2008, 05:17:23 PM
QuoteThe final of the Christy Ring Cup between Westmeath and Carlow will take place on Friday at 7.30pm, also in Croke Park.

Who in the name a Jaysus is gonna go to this??? Friday night, trying to get around the city in Friday night traffic, finishing work early to get up to it, etc.   Surely it would have made more sense to have it on before one of the Hurling semi-finals...

Just read this on RTE. Totally crazy! And why isnt it the Nicky Rackard that gets put on this time seeing as its the lower of the comptetions?
Post by: hurl4ever on July 28, 2008, 05:23:52 PM
just seen the final fixture is for friday night at 7.30 in croke park. this is an absolute disgrace!!! both teams should refuse to play the game at this time and on this date. the gaa has also yet to confirm if the ring, rackard and tommy murphy finals will be televised like in previous years. the whole point of these competitions was to promote hurling and football in weaker counties and give them a chance to play on the big stage in front off a big crowd and have some deserved live media coverage on the day. at the start the ring and rackard finals were played before an all ireland semi final and this gave these opportunities to the teams and players, now the whole thing is being down graded. this is a disgrace, croke will be empty during the game, no television coverage......get on to the GPA and tell donal og to get the players ready for a strike, disgrace!!

none of these competitons should be played at this time weather it is lower than another, the ring, rackard and murphy finals should be played before all ireland semi finals, that is that!!
Post by: stevecw on July 28, 2008, 06:14:37 PM
I honestly cannot believe this game has been fixed for Friday night! It's a disgrace! Typical GAA reneging on promises they made when introducing these competitions a few years back! Both the Ring and Rackard Cups were supposed to be played before the All-Ireland hurling semi-finals on consecutive weekends. Last year they stuck the Ring Cup on at 12 pm and this year they are playing it on a Friday evening!
A Friday evening on a bank holiday weekend, where traffic will be crazy in Dublin. Just imagine anyone from Carlow or Westmeath trying to make the game after finishing work. It would be a nightmare.
Im sure it will a cracking atmosphere in croker with about 200 people there & the other 82,000 places empty. And no live tv either. Thats the way to encourage the 2 hurling counties in Leinster who are nearest to breaking into the top few. Great decision by whatever idiots came up with this.
Hard to believe really.
Both counties should & im sure will refuse to play on Friday & should demand a better time & day for the game.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 28, 2008, 06:18:13 PM
QuoteI honestly cannot believe this game has been fixed for Friday night! It's a disgrace! Typical GAA reneging on promises they made when introducing these competitions a few years back! Both the Ring and Rackard Cups were supposed to be played before the All-Ireland hurling semi-finals on consecutive weekends. Last year they stuck the Ring Cup on at 12 pm and this year they are playing it on a Friday evening!
A Friday evening on a bank holiday weekend, where traffic will be crazy in Dublin. Just imagine anyone from Carlow or Westmeath trying to make the game after finishing work. It would be a nightmare.
Im sure it will a cracking atmosphere in croker with about 200 people there & the other 82,000 places empty. And no live tv either. Thats the way to encourage the 2 hurling counties in Leinster who are nearest to breaking into the top few. Great decision by whatever idiots came up with this.
Hard to believe really.
Both counties should & im sure will refuse to play on Friday & should demand a better time & day for the game.

Crazy decision. If the Rackard Cup can be part of a triple header with 2 football matches, could both the Ring & Rackard Cups not just have been part of a triple header on All Ireland hurling semi final day?

I assume part of this has come from minor teams objecting to be moved out of their traditional AI semi final slot.
Post by: neilthemac on July 28, 2008, 08:22:32 PM
a joke

basically two fingers to all the Christy Ring and Rackard teams from the GAA top brass and 'top tier' hurling counties

fcuk the lot of them

Post by: stevecw on July 28, 2008, 09:27:51 PM
After listening to our local stations sports roundup an hour ago. They were talking to Carlow co board chairman & to Jim Greene the Hurling manager.
As it stands the game will go ahead on Friday night in croker. Chairman was saying they were given 2 options, either play in Friday evening in croke pk or sat evening in Portlaoise. He said Carlow wanted to play sat night in Portlaoise & put this to Westmeath who wouldnt agree. Westmeath seem to want it on Friday evening for some reason. So looks like thats it 7.30 Fri evening in front of about 250 people : (

Jim Greene the manager was really angry about the treatment of Carlow & W'mth. Like some of us have said already here, originally these games were meant to go before the AI semis, and 2nd half would be in front of a huge crowd. He was raging that even though we are the 2 teams most likely to break into the top tier, we are being treated like crap. The fact the final, is 6 days after the semi is also not fair. He rightly said would this happen to Kilkenny, Tipp or Cork or any top tier side. Put them out 3 weeks in a row & then play their AI final less than a week later.

Also he made a great point about Carlows last 3 weeks. We've been away to Down 3 weeks ago, to Kerry 2 weeks ago, to Mayo last sat & now have to try get to Croke park during one of the busiest evenings of the year on a Friday night of a bank holiday weekend.
Its tough enough for the team, but for us supporters its just being downright cruel. Ok we accept we were unlucky with the fixtures being drawn so far away the last couple of weeks. But at least for the final we thought we'd get a sat or sunday day out in croker before a big game, and be live on tv.
But no big game on after us and no live tv. And the gaa with all their sh!te talk about promoting hurling in the weaker counties! Yeah right!
Post by: AZOffaly on July 28, 2008, 09:37:12 PM
It's an absolute disgrace. I can't believe the GAA are doing this. And why is the Rackard Cup afforded the honour of playing before the other football games?

This decision beggers belief, and I'm amazed that Westmeath wouldn't prefer a Saturday night fixture. Maybe they just want to play in Croker, which is fair enough, but next Friday is crazy, crazy timing.
Post by: stevecw on July 28, 2008, 09:49:56 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 28, 2008, 09:37:12 PM
It's an absolute disgrace. I can't believe the GAA are doing this. And why is the Rackard Cup afforded the honour of playing before the other football games?

This decision beggers belief, and I'm amazed that Westmeath wouldn't prefer a Saturday night fixture. Maybe they just want to play in Croker, which is fair enough, but next Friday is crazy, crazy timing.

Its madness, i dont understand what the hell the GAA were thinking.
Im kind of amazed that its true that Westmeath would rather the Friday croker game than the sat Portlaoise option tho. Especially after Johnny Dooley came out straight after the fixture was announced to say "I'm disgusted, it's a joke; it's unbelievable to think that they (the CCCC) would even consider putting it on a Friday night. The place is going to be empty and it beggars belief why they'd do something like this. I'm depressed over it."

But according to our co chairman while we wanted the sat game, westmeath said no..so who knows really.
I really hope it is taken away from Friday night, that would just be a horrible time & place to hold what is a fairly big game. The winner of this would fancy taking Laois next day out & if they win that will be in proper All ireland next year.
Its not as if its a total joke of a competetion between total no-hopers.

Post by: Rossfan on July 28, 2008, 09:52:43 PM
This beggars belief and is basically saying the Ring Cup is only an irrelevant sideshow.
Surely to God they could have given the counties the option of playing it on Bank holiday Monday along with the Rackard Cup.
Disgusted with this fixture. >:(
Post by: neilthemac on July 28, 2008, 10:43:41 PM
is it to do with Westmeath having senior games the following weekend and just wanting to get this game out of the way??

madness
Post by: stevecw on July 28, 2008, 10:55:52 PM
Quote from: neilthemac on July 28, 2008, 10:43:41 PM
is it to do with Westmeath having senior games the following weekend and just wanting to get this game out of the way??

madness
Its certainly not for that reason. If Westmeath win the game this wkend, they have to play Laois the following weekend in a promotion/relegation play off to see who plays senior & Christy Ring next year. So that cant be a reason.
Its very odd if true that westmeath would rather a friday game in an empty croker than a sat evening game with 2 or 3 thousand at it in Portlaoise. Can imagine that Sat evening, there wud be a good atmosphere in a smaller ground. Sat evening would suit so many more people + its half way between Carlow & Westmeath.
Thats only what our co chairman said this evening, he sounded convincing, but why would that benefit westmeath or anyone?
Sat evening in Portlaoise has to be the way to go, tv or no tv.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 29, 2008, 09:29:28 AM
This is an absolute disgrace. Whoever is responsible for this should be bloody well ashamed of themselves. Unbelievable.
Post by: Lecale2 on July 29, 2008, 12:04:06 PM
Disgraceful decision.

A couple of years ago the Ring final was live on RTE before one of theAll Ireland  hurling semi final. Why can't they return to that arrangement?
Post by: EddieMerx on July 29, 2008, 12:50:57 PM
Shocking decision, these guys have trained every bit as hard as the bigger counties only to be rewarded like this!!! Why the hell should these guys from Westmeath and Carlow put the effort in when it's quite clear the GAA doesn't give a toss...
Post by: Craigyhill Terror on July 29, 2008, 01:34:59 PM
According to the GAA, both counties were offered the chance to play the game at Croke Park before Dublin's football quarter-final the following week, and both refused
Post by: magpie seanie on July 29, 2008, 01:53:43 PM
Just read that. Why would they have refused? That puts a different slant on things.
Post by: hurl4ever on July 29, 2008, 04:11:17 PM
just read that myself, that puts things in perspective abit....however still feel that the rackard and ring finals should be played before the all ireland hurling semi finals and the tommy murphy cup played before one of the all ireland football semi finals. although to play the match before the dublin quarter final would have been a great opportunity for the players to play in front of a big crowd at croke park, around the last 15 minutes of there match the stadium would be nearly full.

people talk about the minor semi finals played prior to hurling semi finals, however there are triple headers at croke park over the weekend whats the problem having triple headers on all ireland semi day.....minor semi, ring/rackard final then the senior semi final??? keep the hurling matches together and the football together....sounds the more sensible answer.
Post by: EddieMerx on July 29, 2008, 04:49:06 PM
Could be a ticket issue????? With the Dubs in action they are probably likely to get limited tickets although I doubt there would be big demand in both counties anyway ???
Post by: plain and simple on July 29, 2008, 05:25:13 PM
i agree totally with hurl4ever point on having a triple header-this could and should have been done. the treatment of the christy ring goes to show that an elitest attitude is emerging more and more in the gaa-if it don't make money, throw it out.
Post by: slow corner back on July 29, 2008, 06:09:50 PM
Indiana is regularly posting on here about a cabal at the top of the GAA who wish to keep the hurling as an elite game for three or four counties. At first I thought he was talking through his hat but the more you look at this decision and some of the others taken to "promote" the game you do begin to think he has a point.
Post by: INDIANA on July 29, 2008, 08:14:13 PM
the beginning of the end of the competition, which was one of the brighter ideas in recent times by the association. It only proves my point about a cabal. What the hell do cork,kilkenny and tipp men know about hurling in the weaker counties. F*** all. and yet they make all the decisions for them. Beggars belief.
I think its not before a an all-ireland hurling semi because Cork want a double header instead? Wouldn't surprise me, with the cloak and daggers bullshit that surrounds the Gaa.  They claim to want to increase participation in hurling, well from my experiences on the ground in Dublin, most of the hierachy within the big 3 would enjoy seeing the status quo remain. This only proves that point.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 29, 2008, 08:50:51 PM
QuoteThey claim to want to increase participation in hurling, well from my experiences on the ground in Dublin, most of the hierachy within the big 3 would enjoy seeing the status quo remain.

I would suspect you are correct and have done for some time. The day Dublin beat one of them at senior level will be a great one. Here's hoping.
Post by: Galforever on July 29, 2008, 09:32:35 PM
QuoteCould be a ticket issue?? With the Dubs in action they are probably likely to get limited tickets although I doubt there would be big demand in both counties anyway

I would have imagined that Carlow might bring a few fans. No expert on Carlow but surely they would bring a crowd considering that they are in so few finals.
Post by: INDIANA on July 29, 2008, 09:47:29 PM
i would imagine they want if before an all-ireland hurling semi, and so it should be. before a dublin game is pointless. you can't get our lads into the stadium on time to watch us never mind anyone else. dublin will cream off the tickets , it won't be on TV on a saturday and a national final will feel like a challenge game. Don't know why they don't go the whole hog and partition the Dail to ban the sale of hurleys outside the top 6. I've never seen a association with a capacity to shoot itself in the foot continuosly.
Post by: Owenmoresider on July 30, 2008, 12:16:08 AM
A shambles and a slight to those who promote hurling in the weaker counties, our final is on at 12 noon next Sunday, before two qualifers, not even QF's if you don't mind. But the Friday night plan beggars for the CR final belief, even worse than fixing your senior league final for a Tuesday night like some did. Brennan's reign is one which makes Gordon Brown look like Churchill by comparison.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 30, 2008, 03:14:33 PM
Christy Ring Cup final switched
30 July 2008

It has emerged that the controversial fixture for this weekend's Christy Ring Cup final between Westmeath and Carlow has been switched to this Sunday, August 3, at Tullamore.

The decider had originally be fixed for this Friday evening, August 1, at Croke Park but following pressure from both counties since, the match has now been re-fixed for 6.00pm at the neutral grounds of Tullamore in county Offaly.

Fears that the original fixture would struggle to attract a crowd of 1,000 people in Dublin seem to have influenced the CCCC's decision to change the game's date in the space of two days.

You'd have to wonder why this solution wasn't reached before the Friday date was originally released. Still nowhere near the warm up act to an AI SF that was originally promised though...
Post by: Mentalman on July 30, 2008, 03:25:33 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 30, 2008, 03:14:33 PM
Christy Ring Cup final switched
30 July 2008

It has emerged that the controversial fixture for this weekend's Christy Ring Cup final between Westmeath and Carlow has been switched to this Sunday, August 3, at Tullamore.

The decider had originally be fixed for this Friday evening, August 1, at Croke Park but following pressure from both counties since, the match has now been re-fixed for 6.00pm at the neutral grounds of Tullamore in county Offaly.

Fears that the original fixture would struggle to attract a crowd of 1,000 people in Dublin seem to have influenced the CCCC's decision to change the game's date in the space of two days.

You'd have to wonder why this solution wasn't reached before the Friday date was originally released. Still nowhere near the warm up act to an AI SF that was originally promised though...

Heard this mooted this morning. Have a reception that night but will stil make it down for the match. As you said, far from the semi-final curtain raiser, it seems we're settling for less and less with each passing year, will they even bother with the Ring and Rackard cups in a few years...
Post by: stevecw on July 30, 2008, 06:30:05 PM
So thats it then throw it on at 6pm on a Sunday evening in Tullamore. No double or triple header in Croke Park, no live TV! At start of the year the hurlers of these counties expected a game before the AI semi live on tv, and now we have this!
While ok its better than a Friday night in front of 300 people in Croker, its still nowhere near good enough.

Also why Tullamore? Thats right next to Westmeath & a long way from Carlow. Portlaoise is the obvious mid point between both counties. Even that much they couldn't get right.
Post by: Lone Shark on July 30, 2008, 09:22:14 PM
Quote from: stevecw on July 30, 2008, 06:30:05 PM
Also why Tullamore? Thats right next to Westmeath & a long way from Carlow. Portlaoise is the obvious mid point between both counties. Even that much they couldn't get right.

i know this is an aside from the main issue, but it would have been a toss up between the two venues and rightly so. Portlaoise is 45 miles from Mullingar and 23 miles from Carlow town, Tullamore is funnily enough the exact opposite - 23 from Mullingar and 45 from Carlow. Factor in that Tullamore is the better stand where 90% of the crowd will be and you have your answer.

As for the main issue, it's awful bad form. Going out of their way to make sure Cork fans don't have to travel twice, when only a few weeks ago Offaly fans (and a lot of other Ring/Rackard counties as well) were being expected to perform bilocation.

Indiana, I too would like to subscribe to your newsletter.
Post by: INDIANA on July 30, 2008, 11:21:09 PM
I remember a conversation i had with supporters from one of the big 3 counties.  They described hurling outside the top 6 as a waste of good ash! Thats the attitude you're dealing with, don't think the hierachy think any different.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 30, 2008, 11:39:38 PM
Could they not have played it as part of a triple header before the Tipp Waterford AI semi final?
Post by: glens73 on August 03, 2008, 08:48:58 PM
According to this Carlow won AET.

http://www.rte.ie/aertel/rte2/241-01.html

Sounds like a cracker, should have been at Croke Park live on TV, had the GAA any interest in promoting hurling across the country.
Post by: slow corner back on August 03, 2008, 10:22:03 PM
Fair play to Carlow, sounds like a cracking match alright

Sunday, 3 August 2008 21:29
An amazing game that went to extra-time saw Carlow lift the Christy Ring Cup for the first time with a hard-fought three-point victory over holders Westmeath at O'Connor Park in Tullamore.

There was nothing to separate the sides in the opening half, with Carlow recovering from an indifferent start to level matters by the break at 1-10 apiece.

Eoin Price opened the scoring for Westmeath inside the opening minute, with Mark Brennan getting Carlow off the mark with a point on five minutes.

The first goal arrived after ten minutes with some route one hurling paying off for the Lake County.

Mark Briody's puck out fell to Brendan Murtagh who set up Derek McNicholas and the corner-forward slipped the ball to the net to put Westmeath 1-03 to 0-03 ahead. Two further Murtagh points stretched the lead to five but Westmeath then had to wait a further ten minutes to score as Carlow took command.

Jim Greene's men scored a 1-04 without reply to lead by two points with 20 minutes gone as Craig Doyle raised the green flag with a neat finish from close range after good work from Robert Foley in the build up. Westmeath then outscored Carlow before the half time whistle by 0-05 points to 0-02 to leave the score level at half-time.

A scoring blitz on the resumption of play saw Carlow score 2-04 without reply in the first ten minutes. Foley and Doyle found the net as Carlow lead by ten points against the bewildered Lakesmen.

The holders, however, were not about to hand over the cup without a fight and had reduced the deficit to just three points with ten minutes remaining, helped by 1-02 from star forward Murtagh.

Carlow edged further in front as full-time approached but in an amazing five minutes of stoppage time Westmeath forced extra-time with a goal from John Shaw and a last gasp converted penalty from Murtagh which ended the contest in normal time at 3-18 to 4-15.

A missed penalty for Westmeath in the third minute of extra-time ultimately proved costly as goalkeeper David Miley made the save from Murtagh's strike.

Paul Greville got the only score in the first period with a point for Westmeath, but four unanswered points in the second period from Carlow sawGreene's men win by three points and lift the Cup with Craig Doyle pointing for the last score of the game.

Westmeath: M Briody; G Gavin, P Greville (0-01), A Price; B Connaughton, D McCormack, P Dowdall; L Smyth (0-01), P Clarke; A Mitchell, B Murtagh (2-10, 0-07f), E Price (0-03); R Jackson, D McNicholas (1-01), J Shaw (1-00).

Subs used: B Smyth (for Jackson 24 mins), C Jordan (for Greville 42), N Gavin (for G Gavin 49), P Gilsenan (for Smyth 57), Greville (for Mitchell 70), C Flanagan (for Smyth extra-time).

Carlow: D Miley; A Gaul (0-01), D Shaw, J Rodgers; E Coady, S Kavanagh (0-04, 0-03f), R Coady (0-01); D Roberts (0-01), A Brennan; R Dunbar (0-03), C Hughes (0-07, 0-04f), M Brennan (0-02); J Coady, R Foley (1-01), C Doyle (2-01).

Subs used: J Hickey (for Brennan 60 mins), K English (for Dunbar 61), D Murphy (for Foley 63), B Lawler (for J Coady 70), S Murphy (0-01) (for Roberts 73), J Doran (for R Coady extra-time), Foley (for Hughes extra-time), Dunbar (for Murphy extra-time).
Post by: Lecale2 on August 04, 2008, 09:44:02 AM
Well done Carlow.
Post by: Franko on August 04, 2008, 11:18:49 AM
Congrats to Steve and Carlow! Fair play! Pity the fuc**rs in the big house didnt think it was worth televising. Instead we have Fermanagh v Kildare - score after 24 minutes... 0.00 to 0.00. What bollo*ks!
Post by: theskull1 on August 04, 2008, 11:37:39 AM
Thats a mighty result when you consider how far off the pace they were against Antrim a few years back

Well done Carlow
Post by: davereilly on August 04, 2008, 02:10:18 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 25, 2008, 02:46:06 PM
What was the name of the Meath hurler that used to be very good? He would have played for any county team in Leinster back in the 90s. Was it Sheridan or something? Cathal?

Cathal Sheridan, from the Kiltale club?
Post by: davereilly on August 04, 2008, 02:12:31 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 25, 2008, 05:34:02 PM
at his peak horan would have started for kilkenny even cody conceded that.

Guys Nicky Horan broke his hand a few years ago and is not the threat he used to be. Although he is probably the most well known meath hurler outside the county, Mike Cole (Rathmolyon) could also start for Kilkenny.
Post by: stevecw on August 04, 2008, 06:29:20 PM
Thanks for the congrats guy. Im still suffering from the celebrations last night! What a win! What an amazing game. Still gettin over the hangover after the bar that never ended this morning! Fell home at 9, bar stayed open all night & most fans & most of the team were still there! Cant blame them..but *

This game had everything, top class scores, 7 goals, 38 points, a scored peno & saved peno, and 2 goals in injury time to bring match to extra time, amazing comeback, & somehow in the end the underdogs fighting back to win a classic game of hurling.
As Nicky Brennan said after & a few of the reporters are saying in the papers, this just wasnt one of the best games of hurling this year, it was one of the best of any year.
It really was that good. Only pity was that RTE weren't there to show it live. And from what i hear they only gave it about 3 minutes on Sunday game last night!
But really to win it was all that matters to us, finally after being so close so many times, we get that trophy. The celebrations last night in town were brilliant, havent seen anything like it probably ever in Carlow (as we never have anything to celebrate! )

Lets just hope now they can get focused again for next wkend v Laois in the Promotion/Relegation play off.
I just think its so unfair to ask these Carlow guys to play again next wkend after 5 weeks hurling in a row bringing them after the 1st game at home to Down, Tralee, Castlebar, Tullamore.
And obv they will celebrate a lot this week, but next weekends game is actually the real big one.
Win that and we are in the top tier, the Liam McCarthy. Lose it & we're back to Christy Ring 1st round again next June.
We should beat Laois, but could really do with an extra week. And it would be only fair i think.
The team that are winning & doing well get punished, while Laois have had 3 weeks to relax & have enforced their squad for this game with dual stars who had concentrated on football up to this.

Carlow deserve a week off surely, we are a county doing what the gaa want, in developing underage for the last few years. Reaching that Leinster A minor final 2 years ago. Constantly beating Offaly, Laois, Westmeath at minor level. Its feeding through to the seniors now, and even with a young team we are 1 game away from getting to the top table. But fixing the play off for next week could set us back & leave Laois who seem to be going the opposite direction in the Liam McCarthy.

Post by: magpie seanie on August 04, 2008, 07:41:00 PM
Well done Carlow. Sligo hurling chairman and senior team selector Tom Brenan is a Carlow man so it was a nice double for him!

Major own goal by the GAA not televising these finals.
Post by: stevecw on August 04, 2008, 07:59:04 PM
Thanks Seanie, im delighted to see Sligo win a game like that. Just a pity your game & ours weren't on tv.
Sligo game looked ok, im sure you can take Roscommon & get promoted!
Post by: Mentalman on August 04, 2008, 10:28:18 PM
Was at the game last night, and would first like to say I think the best team won. Right from the warm-up we were very lax. I don't know if there was some sort of sense of entitlement amongst our players, or they took Carlow for granted, or indeed some problem in the camp, but we only seemed to get a move on when we went 10 points down in the second half. Either way I think we've taken a step back this year, and no tangible benefits of the new regime have been seen yet - emphasis on yet. Carlow played as a team throughout, making a lot of use of the handpass to get them out of tight situations. On the other hand our midfield was crowed out, the half backs had a bit of a mare, and the forward line won no ball, resulting in massive pressure on the back line. Let's face it only for Brendan Murtagh we wouldn't have been in the game - he scored something line 2-10? In saying that he will probably still blame himself for the loss, missing a penalty in the first period of injury time (could we have had advantage there?) although he shouldn't as we fired 6 other simple wides in the same period which would have killed the game. My only other gripe was that Carlow's first point in the second half was a blatant wide - blatant. However that happens to you, and I suppose what goes around comes around, remembering our square ball goal against Down in the final 4 years ago. An exciting game all round, lots of scores, but I think we'd have to admit that the quality wasn't brilliant at times - reminded me of the EUFA Cup final between Alaves and Liverpool a few years back - you couldn't take your eye off it. Fair dues to Carlow, keep her lit, and best of luck in the playoff!
Post by: Galforever on August 05, 2008, 06:49:04 PM
Hope Carlow can take Laois now. It would be good for a new different team to be in the Liam McCarthy & I think Laois need to go to Christy Ring level anyways if they are to progress. They were miles off the pace this year so they definitely need to be competing a lower level for at least a year.

I dont know much about the standard of the non-hurling counties. There is obviously a huge gap between christy ring & most of the liam mccarthy teams. But is it the same between the nicky rackard & Christy Ring? Is there also a big gap there? If not, then why have a relegantion /promotion playofff at all & not just have a direct swap?
Post by: AZOffaly on August 05, 2008, 09:41:02 PM
Can I belatedly add my congratulations to Carlow on a great win. I feel sorry for Johnny Dooley and the Westmeath lads, but they'll surely contest this again next year. It's a big turnaround from the League final where Westmeath were quite a bit better on the day.

Carlow are making strides in hurling, and it's great to see. While I would be very sorry to see Laois dropping out of the McCarthy Cup, I would love to see Carlow up and running in it as well. I won't wish either side the best of luck in the playoff, but I hope the better side wins out on the day.

Well done again in this, and I think it's worth mentioning that these competitions have been a great success, and I hope they continue.
Post by: Mentalman on August 06, 2008, 12:36:20 AM
Quote from: Galforever on August 05, 2008, 06:49:04 PM
I dont know much about the standard of the non-hurling counties. There is obviously a huge gap between christy ring & most of the liam mccarthy teams. But is it the same between the nicky rackard & Christy Ring? Is there also a big gap there? If not, then why have a relegantion /promotion playofff at all & not just have a direct swap?

The difference between the Christy Ring winners and the worst Liam McCarthy county would typically be 3 to 5 points on the day, that's going on recent Westmeath/Laois games. However this year Laois seem to be going a little worse and might not be all that motivated, and if Carlow don't do the dog on it after winning the other night, which they are entitled to do, must be in with a great shout. As for the difference between the Rackard winners and the worst team in Ring tournament, the gap would be even smaller I'd reckon. I think the playoff system was brought in as a compromise. Taking the Ring competition for instance, the first year, 2005, Westmeath won it. On that occasion they were automatically promoted to the McCarthy Cup. After catching Dublin out in the first round in monsoon conditions, they lost to Kilkenny and then they went on to have a torrid time thereafter in the group stages, losing all games before being beat in the relegation play off by Dublin. The following year there was no promotion from Christy Ring for Westmeath despite wining it again, probably based on the fact that ring counties had not been able to bridge the gap, plus none of the Liam McCarthy counties wanting to countenance a year at Ring level, which to be fair would do them no good. So this year the compromise seems to have been reached that the possibility of promotion exists, which is a great carrot, but only if the best Christy Ring county, Carlow, can beat the worst Liam McCarthy county, Laois. That seems fair enough to me - when combined with the changes to the league structure it offers the chance at improvement for al involved. Of course the chance remains though, given this years precedent, that no matter who loses the play off, the Leinster council still might invite them to compete in the Leinster Senior championship next year, while also remaining in the Ring Cup, which I hope is the case.
Post by: johnneycool on August 06, 2008, 10:01:48 AM
Quote from: davereilly on August 04, 2008, 02:10:18 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 25, 2008, 02:46:06 PM

Cathal Sheridan, from the Kiltale club?

I know the lad you're talking about but for the life of me can't remember his name now but it's not Sheridan

He's a big lad and was some spud in his day, I think he managed Meath hurlers very recently.

Post by: Galforever on August 06, 2008, 12:52:28 PM
QuoteThe difference between the Christy Ring winners and the worst Liam McCarthy county would typically be 3 to 5 points on the day, that's going on recent Westmeath/Laois games. However this year Laois seem to be going a little worse and might not be all that motivated, and if Carlow don't do the dog on it after winning the other night, which they are entitled to do, must be in with a great shout. As for the difference between the Rackard winners and the worst team in Ring tournament, the gap would be even smaller I'd reckon. I think the playoff system was brought in as a compromise. Taking the Ring competition for instance, the first year, 2005, Westmeath won it. On that occasion they were automatically promoted to the McCarthy Cup. After catching Dublin out in the first round in monsoon conditions, they lost to Kilkenny and then they went on to have a torrid time thereafter in the group stages, losing all games before being beat in the relegation play off by Dublin. The following year there was no promotion from Christy Ring for Westmeath despite wining it again, probably based on the fact that ring counties had not been able to bridge the gap, plus none of the Liam McCarthy counties wanting to countenance a year at Ring level, which to be fair would do them no good. So this year the compromise seems to have been reached that the possibility of promotion exists, which is a great carrot, but only if the best Christy Ring county, Carlow, can beat the worst Liam McCarthy county, Laois. That seems fair enough to me - when combined with the changes to the league structure it offers the chance at improvement for al involved. Of course the chance remains though, given this years precedent, that no matter who loses the play off, the Leinster council still might invite them to compete in the Leinster Senior championship next year, while also remaining in the Ring Cup, which I hope is the case

I definitely understand the need for a play off between Ring & McCarthy.

However, between Rackard & Ring, I am not sure if there is a need for a playoff. A straight promotion / relegation would make more sense to me as the gap in standard isnt as big (as far as I know)
Post by: Mentalman on August 06, 2008, 01:51:41 PM
Quote from: Galforever on August 06, 2008, 12:52:28 PM
QuoteThe difference between the Christy Ring winners and the worst Liam McCarthy county would typically be 3 to 5 points on the day, that's going on recent Westmeath/Laois games. However this year Laois seem to be going a little worse and might not be all that motivated, and if Carlow don't do the dog on it after winning the other night, which they are entitled to do, must be in with a great shout. As for the difference between the Rackard winners and the worst team in Ring tournament, the gap would be even smaller I'd reckon. I think the playoff system was brought in as a compromise. Taking the Ring competition for instance, the first year, 2005, Westmeath won it. On that occasion they were automatically promoted to the McCarthy Cup. After catching Dublin out in the first round in monsoon conditions, they lost to Kilkenny and then they went on to have a torrid time thereafter in the group stages, losing all games before being beat in the relegation play off by Dublin. The following year there was no promotion from Christy Ring for Westmeath despite wining it again, probably based on the fact that ring counties had not been able to bridge the gap, plus none of the Liam McCarthy counties wanting to countenance a year at Ring level, which to be fair would do them no good. So this year the compromise seems to have been reached that the possibility of promotion exists, which is a great carrot, but only if the best Christy Ring county, Carlow, can beat the worst Liam McCarthy county, Laois. That seems fair enough to me - when combined with the changes to the league structure it offers the chance at improvement for al involved. Of course the chance remains though, given this years precedent, that no matter who loses the play off, the Leinster council still might invite them to compete in the Leinster Senior championship next year, while also remaining in the Ring Cup, which I hope is the case

I definitely understand the need for a play off between Ring & McCarthy.

However, between Rackard & Ring, I am not sure if there is a need for a playoff. A straight promotion / relegation would make more sense to me as the gap in standard isnt as big (as far as I know)

Can only guess it's for consistancies sake? (I know a rarely used concept in GAA circles) Looking back at over the four years most Counties promoted to the Christy Ring have lasted at least one year, except for Roscommon this year who are backin the relegation playoff, suggesting the difference between the top of the lowest grade and the bottom of the second tier isn't that great, as you've suggested. Still I imagine no Christy Ring county wants to drop out, andf the playoff offers them a shot at redemption.
Post by: neilthemac on August 06, 2008, 06:05:12 PM
Roscommon already had two chances at redemption vs meath and london
Post by: stevecw on August 07, 2008, 05:18:10 PM
The Carlow/Laois play off is is fixed for this Saturday at 3 in Carlow! Surprised we got home venue for this, makes us for all the away games we've had up to now.

The Carlow manager & county board wanted the game postponed till next week as this will be our 6th weekend is a row playing. But didn't happen & maybe to soften the blow the gaa decided to hold it in Carlow.
Looking forward to it, say there will be a big crowd & would be brilliant to get the win and get to the top level for the 1st time. Won't be easy by an means though.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 09, 2008, 06:33:42 PM

Laois 4-18
Carlow 2-11

Personally i think its wrong that Carlow after winning the Christy Ring are not allowed to play in the LM next year,This match should never have been played Carlow should be promoted Laois should be relegated
Post by: Lecale2 on August 09, 2008, 07:03:36 PM
I agree Laois Lad. 100% right. Carlow should get thier time in the sun. They earned it.
Post by: stevecw on August 09, 2008, 08:41:14 PM
^ & ^^ I woudn't agree with that after todays game.
There is no way we are ready for the step up to McCarthy Cup level yet.
Ok it was our 6th weekend in a row playing & there was a lot of celebrating done after last weekend...but still we were outclassed by the worst team at McCarthy Cup level.
Laois were faster to everything, marked much better & took their scores with much more ease than us.
With time up it was 4-18 to 2-9...the 1-2 we got in injury gave it a slightly better luck. (btw the score was 4-18 to 3-11 not 2-11 as ^^ says!)

I think another year at Christy Ring level will be better for us, otherwise if we were promoted we could be on the end of some terrible hammerings which would set us back.
Post by: Saffron exile on August 09, 2008, 08:48:26 PM
Th real problem is that Carlow and Sligo have been asked to play promotion playoffs six days after winning their respective All Ireland Finals. If these games are meant to decide if the Ring and rackard winning teams are good enough to gain promotion they should be played two weeks after the finals to give winning teams time to regroup, recover and focus on a strategically important game. Its a first senior all ireland for both counties and I'm sure celebrations, receptions and reduced training took place in the past week a major advantage to the relegation counties and not a level playing pitch to measure the worth or ability of the final winning teams.
These basic factors need to be taken into account when the fixtures are made, otherwise promote the winning teams from each tier.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 09, 2008, 09:07:22 PM
Quote from: stevecw on August 09, 2008, 08:41:14 PM
^ & ^^ I woudn't agree with that after todays game.
There is no way we are ready for the step up to McCarthy Cup level yet.
Ok it was our 6th weekend in a row playing & there was a lot of celebrating done after last weekend...but still we were outclassed by the worst team at McCarthy Cup level.
Laois were faster to everything, marked much better & took their scores with much more ease than us.
With time up it was 4-18 to 2-9...the 1-2 we got in injury gave it a slightly better luck. (btw the score was 4-18 to 3-11 not 2-11 as ^^ says!)

I think another year at Christy Ring level will be better for us, otherwise if we were promoted we could be on the end of some terrible hammerings which would set us back.

Apologises for getting score wrong..Blame Aertel..
I don't agree though that because of todays result Carlow shouldn't be in LM next year,I did expect Laois to win today but my point is Laois were the worst team in LM last year and lost a relegation playoff against Antrim..
Carlow won the CR and deserve to be promoted
If you don't mind I'll use soccer as an example..The team promoted from the coca-cola is not necessarily better than the team relegated from the Premier League but the team from the Coca-Cola Championship won their division and deserve to be promoted same for those finishing bottom for the Premier division..
I was annoyed last year when after winning Division 2 their was talks of Offaly staying in Div 1 even though they were relegated and Laois staying in Div 2,So if i was a Carlow man i would be very upset that i wasn't in the LM next year
Post by: INDIANA on August 09, 2008, 09:13:00 PM
they could at least let carlowand westmeath into the leinster championship. i mean if we're going to invite feckin counties not from leinster we could at least invite what we have ourselves.
Post by: Colonel Cool on August 09, 2008, 09:41:08 PM
Carlow aren't ready for the Liam McCarthy but they should be allowed a day out in Leinster. If its seeded they could play Westmeath in the 1st Rd for example. THey don't have to take on Kilkenny or Offaly in Rd 1.
Post by: Mentalman on August 09, 2008, 11:07:59 PM
Well Westmeath were invited to play in Leinster this year, its only right the same invite should be made to Carlow next year, they've earned it.
Post by: shapes on August 10, 2008, 12:20:42 AM
Sligo lost to Roscommon today so they are back in Rackard cup. After winning last Sunday their were celebrations and their minds would not be fully on it.
Unfair to have this fixture after winning a cup six days previous ah well the usual with GAA fixtures!!
Post by: dodo on August 10, 2008, 04:54:34 PM
Considering that Carlow only beat Mayo with a late late goal in the Christy Ring semifinal, I'd venture to say that the powers that be are protecting Carlow from getting tanked by the Liam McCarthy teams. This could set back developing teams badly. It would be great to see the likes of Mayo playing Galway in a Connacht championship but the reality is that they would get a hiding and set back the development in the county.
The difference in the English Championship promotion to the Premiership compared with GAA promotion is that we cannot buy our way out of our shortcomings. The only way is to spread the playing of the game to greater numbers and to assist in improving the skills.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 11, 2008, 11:38:26 AM
Hard luck to Carlow, and well done to Laois. As I said earlier, I would have found it really hard to cheer for Laois getting relegated, because they have a lot of good hurling people in Laois, and it would be sad however Carlow were hard done by in scheduling.

I agree that as many counties as want, especially if they are playing the Christy Ring at least, should be allowed enter the Leinster Championship. Then they can drop back into the CR for the qualifiers after having their chance to rattle a big gun or two in the Leinster Championship. I don't believe in excluding teams who want to play in any tournament, especially when they are provincial tournaments.

Well done Laois, and I hope the Leinster Council invite Carlow AND Westmeath to partake next year, at least.
Post by: EddieMerx on August 11, 2008, 03:00:15 PM
Congrats to Laois but I feel sorry for Carlow, will another year in the Christy Ring really bring them on? Surely they along with Westmeath and Laois could partake in a round robbing series to see who goes through to the Championship while the 2 losers play in the Cristy Ring
Post by: davereilly on August 11, 2008, 03:15:46 PM
In all fairness it's safe to say that Laois are the weakest team in the Liam McCarthy series so if Carlow can't even beat Laois do they really deserve to play teams that are even better? If they win NHL division 2 next year they'll get to see what teams like Kilkenny and Cork are actually like and then have enough experience to beat teams like Laois and Antrim.
Post by: EddieMerx on August 11, 2008, 03:22:53 PM
Surely Carlows and Westmeaths aim should be to match Laois before they try to take on the Kilkennys of this world, even the stronger teams can't keep within 5 points of the cats. If they are guaranteed games amongst each other the it can only help them improve along with ensuring Laois don't spend their championship getting hammerings from the stronger counties. If Antrim were also allowed enter this round prelim group then surely it can only be good for all 4 counties
Post by: davereilly on August 11, 2008, 03:40:28 PM
(reply to above comment)

excatly, that's the point i'm making. No point in playing Kilkenny if you can't even beat Laois.
Post by: Mentalman on August 11, 2008, 03:43:25 PM
Quote from: EddieMerx on August 11, 2008, 03:22:53 PM
Surely Carlows and Westmeaths aim should be to match Laois before they try to take on the Kilkennys of this world, even the stronger teams can't keep within 5 points of the cats. If they are guaranteed games amongst each other the it can only help them improve along with ensuring Laois don't spend their championship getting hammerings from the stronger counties. If Antrim were also allowed enter this round prelim group then surely it can only be good for all 4 counties

I would agree, the immediate aim for ourselves & Carlow (& Down) is to be competitive with the likes of Laois and Antrim on a consistent basis. To be fair I don't think we want to be in the full blown McCarthy until that time. The experience a few years back of beating Dublin and then getting Kilkenny back home to Mullingar was incredible, and a serious boost to the game in the county, however that was quickly dimmed by hammerings in the round robin. That's why I think the invitation to the Leinster championship was a good compromise. Realistically we're not likely to beat the other countiues at this point, but it gives the players a reward for their efforts, and let's them know what's required at the top level. Also then they can drop back to the Christy Ring as AZ says, without having to taking a further hammering in the Liam McCarthy qualifiers, and unbalancing that competition. In that regard I think the new division 2 will be a serious step forward for the aspiring counties in giving them more competitive hurling from here on out.
Post by: stevecw on August 11, 2008, 07:50:53 PM
Agree with the last few posts. Best thing would be to let us & Westmeath too into Leinster next year. Maybe play each other in a prelim round...winner to play Laois or even Dublin, Wex or Offaly. But when we or W'mth as 99% likely lose that game then back to the CR Cup again.
Carlow or Westmeath will improve with the league next season and should be up to maybe staying within a few points of the leinster sides (except Kilk of course!)
The Div 2 next year is Wex, Off, Ant, Laois, Carlow, W'mth, Down & Kerry. So thats a good standard for the likes of us to be playing at and should bring us on a bit. Has to be better than a winter of playing London, Roscommon and teams like that.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 11, 2008, 08:20:50 PM
Quote from: stevecw on August 11, 2008, 07:50:53 PM
Agree with the last few posts. Best thing would be to let us & Westmeath too into Leinster next year. Maybe play each other in a prelim round...winner to play Laois or even Dublin, Wex or Offaly. But when we or W'mth as 99% likely lose that game then back to the CR Cup again.
Carlow or Westmeath will improve with the league next season and should be up to maybe staying within a few points of the leinster sides (except Kilk of course!)
The Div 2 next year is Wex, Off, Ant, Laois, Carlow, W'mth, Down & Kerry. So thats a good standard for the likes of us to be playing at and should bring us on a bit. Has to be better than a winter of playing London, Roscommon and teams like that.

That could actually be a fairly competitive Division,There won't be too many hammerings handed out in any fixture bar maybe the Kerry,Down games
Post by: slow corner back on August 11, 2008, 08:46:56 PM
Not many hammer Kerry in Killarney, although they are bad travellers, and if Down are at themselves they will give anyone in that division their fill of it. Remember Down beat Carlow about four weeks ago.