GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Dinny Breen on December 20, 2006, 09:31:03 AM

Title: Your 3 Wishes for 2007
Post by: Dinny Breen on December 20, 2006, 09:31:03 AM
Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year Gentlemen and Ladies

Here are my 3 wishes for the New Year

1. Kildare to get to the Leinster Football final
2. Round Towers to recapture their Senior Football crown
3. The Six Nations to be a resounding success at Croke Park
Title: Re: Your 3 Wishes for 2007
Post by: AbbeySider on December 20, 2006, 09:40:00 AM
Happy Christmas and a Happy New Year...

Here are my 3 wishes for the New Year

1. Mayo to win the All-Ireland (at last)
2. Myself lifting the cup (...more likely in a pub somewhere and not the Cusack Stand)
3. My own club to win the Intermediate and Junior A championship
Post by: Gnevin on December 20, 2006, 09:40:16 AM
Sam
Sam
and Heiniken Cup for Leinster
Post by: realredhandfan on December 20, 2006, 09:41:06 AM
ONeill Cup
Sam
Anglo celt
Post by: thewobbler on December 20, 2006, 09:42:13 AM
1) More money
2) More beer

err, that's it.
Post by: magpie seanie on December 20, 2006, 09:51:35 AM
Club to win senior, junior and minor championships. That's 3 isn't it?

I'll take another one.

Sligo to win a provincial title at senior, minor or U-21.
Post by: Mid Mon on December 20, 2006, 09:55:55 AM

Quote2. Myself lifting the cup (...more likely in a pub somewhere and not the Cusack Stand)

Theres more chance of a Mayo man lifting sam in a Pub, than there is of anyone lifting it in the Cusack stand
Post by: Gnevin on December 20, 2006, 10:01:35 AM
Quote from: Mid Mon on December 20, 2006, 09:55:55 AM

Quote2. Myself lifting the cup (...more likely in a pub somewhere and not the Cusack Stand)

Theres more chance of a Mayo man lifting sam in a Pub, than there is of anyone lifting it in the Cusack stand

Be careful mid mon you don't want to be labelled a Mayo hater now do you
Post by: Mid Mon on December 20, 2006, 10:03:45 AM
I suppose your right there's enough Monaghan men hated by Mayo already
Post by: Tubberman on December 20, 2006, 10:04:10 AM
QuoteTheres more chance of a Mayo man lifting sam in a Pub, than there is of anyone lifting it in the Cusack stand

And where are you from yourself Mid Mon? Monaghan by any chance!? Don't think anything more needs to be said  :D

Firstly, it has been a successfull year for Mayo football - U21 All-Ireland Champs, All Ireland Senior Finalists (although tainted by display), and now we've secured potentially the best management team in the country.

So my wishes for 2007 would be:
1. Mayo to win SAM
2. Mayo to find at least 2 new players in the back lines - preferably FB and/or CHB
3. Ballintubber to win Intermediate title
Post by: blanketattack on December 20, 2006, 10:06:11 AM
1. Kerry to win the 5-in-a-row (yes, I know what that would entail).
2. Ireland to win the Rugby World Cup
3. Me to get every winner right at Cheltenham
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 20, 2006, 10:09:20 AM
Straightforward enough.

1)  My old team mates to win their 4th All Ireland Club Championship.
2) Armagh to win Sam again and get what their talent deserves.
3) My new club to make the breakthrough that their potential certainly has and win a Cork championship so I can put a nice wee cherry on my cake ;D 
Post by: Mid Mon on December 20, 2006, 10:09:43 AM
I think you are all picking me up wrong. I've noting against Mayo. I was only passing comment on where the presentation of the cup takes place

2. Myself lifting the cup (...more likely in a pub somewhere and not the Cusack Stand)

Post by: Tubberman on December 20, 2006, 10:13:13 AM
QuoteI think you are all picking me up wrong. I've noting against Mayo. I was only passing comment on where the presentation of the cup takes place

Fair enough Mid Mon, didn't spot that at all!  :)
Still i think a Mayo man would be happy enough to accept it in the jacks at this stage  ;D
Post by: Shamrock Shore on December 20, 2006, 10:26:55 AM
1. A decent run in the League to avoid Tommy Cooper Cup nonsense
2. A 1/3 of a point win over Westmeath in the Leinster
3. A humane culling of the Armagh/Tyrone representation on the board  ::)
Post by: winghalfun on December 20, 2006, 10:27:59 AM
1) World peace
2) End to poverty
3) Another couple of inches on a certain part of my anotomy would be nice.
Post by: Pietas on December 20, 2006, 10:33:16 AM
1) To sleep with Beyonce
2) To win €100 million on the Euromillions
3) Mayo to lift Sam
Post by: AZOffaly on December 20, 2006, 10:34:41 AM
1) A Leinster Football title for Offaly
2) A Leinster Hurling Title for Offaly
3) Ferbane to win the County Championship again.

(All GAA wishes, the Non GAA ones would include Munster repeating the HEC success, Ireland to win the World Cup and Liverpool to win the European Cup again)
Post by: Gnevin on December 20, 2006, 10:44:05 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 20, 2006, 10:34:41 AM
1) A Leinster Football title for Offaly
2) A Leinster Hurling Title for Offaly
3) Ferbane to win the County Championship again.

(All GAA wishes, the Non GAA ones would include Munster repeating the HEC success, Ireland to win the World Cup and Liverpool to win the European Cup again)

Why would you want Munster to win the HEC?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 20, 2006, 10:57:56 AM
Because he is a bandwagoner Gnevin ;D
Post by: harps2002champs on December 20, 2006, 11:27:10 AM
1) Armagh Harps to win senior cship
2) Ireland to win world cup
3) joe kernan catches a grip and lets fringe players play for their clubs  :)
Post by: mylestheslasher on December 20, 2006, 11:27:54 AM
1- Cavan to win Senior All Ireland
2- Cavan to win U21 All Ireland
3- Cavan to win Minor All Ireland

If you're getting wishes you might as well wish big!! Anyway, If I had four I'd add Cavan to win Liam McCarthy but even the Fairy God Mother couldn't pull that one off.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 20, 2006, 11:28:35 AM
Jaysus. Do I have to repeat myself every time I say that? Ok. Once more just for you GNevin.

I never bothered with Rugby until I left Ferbane to come to college in UL.
I started going to club matches in Garryowen and Thomond Park when I was a student.
I went to America for 4 years, and when I came back, I moved back to Limerick.
I go to Munster Celtic League and HEC games frequently, and am a member of the Supporters Club.

All in all, given the fact that I never cared either way beforehand, and have lived all my life in Ireland since I was 18 in the Limerick/Tipperary area, I'd say I am as entitled as anyone to support the local Professional Club.

Don't get Munster and Leinster Rugby mixed up with their GAA equivalents.
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on December 20, 2006, 11:35:14 AM
my three wishes

1. For my own club to return to senior hurling in limerick
2. Limerick to win Munster Hurling
3. Me to get a good well paid job
Post by: Gnevin on December 20, 2006, 11:52:19 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 20, 2006, 11:28:35 AM

Don't get Munster and Leinster Rugby mixed up with their GAA equivalents.

But your not from Munster , its like your using a Chewbacca defense  on me

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chewbacca_defense%20Chewbacca_defense
Post by: AZOffaly on December 20, 2006, 11:55:52 AM
What part of professional club did you miss??? It's got nothing to do with where I'm from, other than they are the local Professional club to where I live, and have lived for 15 years, apart from 4 in the States.

What soccer club do you support? Are you from there? I have more of an attachment to Munster Rugby than I do to Leinster Rugby. End of story.

I would have thought all the above were valid reasons to support a club, not a 'chewbacca' argument. You're hilarious really. Billy's Boots has you pegged right ok.

Post by: ziggysego on December 20, 2006, 11:58:16 AM
1. Greencastle to win All Ireland
2. Greencastle to get promoted to Division 1b (or whatever it will become in 2008)
3. Tyrone to win the All Ireland

* in that order
Post by: Captain Scarlet on December 20, 2006, 12:03:11 PM
the Bridge to win IFC in Kildare
kildare to get to leinster final
railway cup back strong and f**k the Rules Series

leave AZ alone.
i prefer munster coz tehy are country lads and have more in common with me than the likes of drico and d'arcy. you dont see them in lifestyle magazines every week.
if you had the choice you'd be on for a dirty sess with the munster boys. itd be some craic gettin messy in the pub.
with the leinster lads it would be listening to shite from D4ers then off to renards or club 92.
anyway if we could just as easily support leicester coz they have 8 leinster natives.
Post by: Gnevin on December 20, 2006, 12:18:10 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 20, 2006, 11:55:52 AM
What part of professional club did you miss??? It's got nothing to do with where I'm from, other than they are the local Professional club to where I live, and have lived for 15 years, apart from 4 in the States.

What soccer club do you support? Are you from there? I have more of an attachment to Munster Rugby than I do to Leinster Rugby. End of story.

I would have thought all the above were valid reasons to support a club, not a 'chewbacca' argument. You're hilarious really. Billy's Boots has you pegged right ok.

I don't support soccer
You're hilarious really thanks i know i am but its good when my adoring public telling me :) 
Cheer up AZ i'm only mess around with you. Support who you like it doesnt bother me
Post by: dubnut on December 20, 2006, 12:21:20 PM
Quote from: Pietas on December 20, 2006, 10:33:16 AM
1) To sleep with Beyonce
2) To win €100 million on the Euromillions
3) Mayo to lift Sam

Come on be realistic, the first two maybe, but Mayo to win Sam?  ;)
Post by: AZOffaly on December 20, 2006, 12:22:06 PM
QuoteI don't support soccer
Fair enough.
Post by: Dinny Breen on December 20, 2006, 12:25:23 PM
Quoteleave AZ alone.
i prefer munster coz tehy are country lads and have more in common with me than the likes of drico and d'arcy. you dont see them in lifestyle magazines every week.
if you had the choice you'd be on for a dirty sess with the munster boys. itd be some craic gettin messy in the pub.
with the leinster lads it would be listening to shite from D4ers then off to renards or club 92.
anyway if we could just as easily support leicester coz they have 8 leinster natives.

Arghhhh, just lets make one thing clear the Munster boys all went to private schools and are not salt of the earth common people and I will not get drawn into arguing the other bullsh*t D4 stereotype. Captain you have a lot more in common with Leinster players than you think

Rob Kearney - Louth Minor
Shane Horgan - Meath Minor
Niall Ronan - Meath Minor
Eric Miller - Dublin Development Squad
Niall Brreslin - Westmeath U/21
Jamie Heaslip - Played minor and u/21 for Naas

Post by: turk on December 20, 2006, 12:27:10 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 20, 2006, 11:28:35 AM
Jaysus. Do I have to repeat myself every time I say that? Ok. Once more just for you GNevin.

I never bothered with Rugby until I left Ferbane to come to college in UL.

I don't want to stir up a hornets nest AZ but the truth must come out as the fans deserve to hear it. You were full back on that school side which took on Tellamore in that friendly arranged by Locky in 1990. I can reveal that cos i was mixing it in the pack. This is a fact.
Post by: nrico2006 on December 20, 2006, 12:29:58 PM
3 wishes:

1) Simply for Tyrone to be rid of injuries, which would enable the best 15 to be on the pitch thus giving us another All Ireland
2) Waterford to win the Liam Mc Carthy
3) A Tyrone/Armagh All Ireland Final - Nothing beats winning Sam by beating Armagh for it
Post by: AZOffaly on December 20, 2006, 12:30:48 PM
Very true turk, and my dummy solo caused consternation among the Rugby heads. My interest level was still low though. And anyway, to cause further confusion, we are technically in Connacht when it comes to Rugby, so I have no reason whatsoever to support Leinster :D
Post by: magpie seanie on December 20, 2006, 12:31:12 PM
QuoteI don't want to stir up a hornets nest AZ but the truth must come out as the fans deserve to hear it. You were full back on that school side which took on Tellamore in that friendly arranged by Locky in 1990. I can reveal that cos i was mixing it in the pack. This is a fact.

The scandal unfolds. Get ready to hear Inda Kinny condemn you on the lunchtime news AZ!
Post by: turk on December 20, 2006, 12:35:15 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 20, 2006, 12:30:48 PM
Very true turk, and my dummy solo caused consternation among the Rugby heads. My interest level was still low though. And anyway, to cause further confusion, we are technically in Connacht when it comes to Rugby, so I have no reason whatsoever to support Leinster :D

The dummy solo was class! I'm amazed this innovation hasn't made it into mainstream rugby.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on December 20, 2006, 12:39:20 PM
point taken dinny.
to be honest i was goin a bit astray. the D4 thing is more about the fans.
one of my mates went into a pub with a workmate from dublin and was asked first off what school he went to.
it wasnt an acceptable answer as it wasnt private so they pretty much didn't speak to him.

geordan murphy played for kildare underage too.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 20, 2006, 12:40:05 PM
QuoteThe scandal unfolds. Get ready to hear Inda Kinny condemn you on the lunchtime news AZ!

I was young and needed the money. That was great craic though. We knew nothing about Rugby, but our teacher, the aforementioned 'Locky' was huge into it. He'd give anything for Rugby (and did. Turk will know what I mean  ;D)

That game, if I remember correctly, included non-contested scrums, because our pack, of which turk was an esteemed member, would have ended up looking like roadkill.

One moment that stands out is me catching a Garryowen near our touchline on the 22. I was going to welly it back up the field until I noticed the entire Tullamore pack were nearly on top of me. I dummy Soloed, GAA style, and waited for the belt. The ground shook as the pack stampeded past, assuming I had kicked. I stood there looking around, and Lockey shouted 'RUN!!'. I tore off up the field, but their back line was still all in situ. We put together a great passing move on the counter attack to tear Tullamore to shreds, finally releasing our Hooker, who hadn't bothered his arse coming back from the original kick. He was about 5 metres out from the posts, no one to beat with a glory try beckoning him.

He DROP-KICKED!!!!!!. hit the Feckin' corner flag with it. Dummy :D
Post by: turk on December 20, 2006, 12:45:59 PM
Was that Johnny the fugitive AZ?
Johnny was hooker for that match? he'd be a fair effective hooker now, the size of him!
Post by: Dinny Breen on December 20, 2006, 12:47:27 PM
Quoteto be honest i was goin a bit astray. the D4 thing is more about the fans.

Traditionally there was that element associated with Leinster, no point in denying it but these days that is far from reality. The head of the supporters clubs is a North Side Postman, the Supporters Club and the Leinster Branch are aware of the sterotype and are doing their best to get rid of it but a bit like Kildare and Meath you'll get the 4x4 driving twat who is just there for the occasion and not the game..
Post by: AZOffaly on December 20, 2006, 12:48:37 PM
Sorry Turk, it wasn;t Johnny, It was a Prop. Dino. I Remember Johnny was hooker, but he feet could barely touch the ground when he was bound in the Scrum :D

Amazing to think that from such beginnings a Connacht Senior Schools Rugby title was clinched a couple of years ago, and that an ex-pupil would transfer to Blackrock and kick them to glory in the Leinster Schools.

Hard to believe, and a bit worrying for the GAA too. We were GAA heartland.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on December 20, 2006, 12:50:53 PM
1. Win the Delaney Cup
2. Get to an All-Ireland Semi-Final
3. Get promoted to Division 3 with the club
Post by: ClosetotheHarte on December 20, 2006, 01:31:03 PM
1. Injury jinx to end and Tyrone to win third All-Ireland in five seasons (every other year is just fine, Mickey!)
2. Celtic to win the Champions League (not as far fetched as some people think!)
3. My club to do well on all fronts (silverware would be a nice bonus)
Obviously hoping for Tyrone Minors and Under-21s to do well also - both panels look to be strong for the year ahead.
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on December 20, 2006, 01:34:28 PM
Dinny just to correct you on the ' all the munster boys went to private schools' statement.

John 'The Bull' Hayes, did not go to a private school. He went to the local CBS, and played hurling and football also.
Post by: dubnut on December 20, 2006, 01:37:06 PM
1 - Sam for the Dubs
2 - the banjaxed ankle to hold out for one uninterrupted season before I hang the boots up
3 - Ongoing happiness in my personal life to continue!
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on December 20, 2006, 01:45:59 PM
Three wishes for 2007
1. All-Ireland win No 35 (beating Tyrone on the way).
2. An underage all-Ireland win (last Minor in '94 and last u-21 in '98).
3. Waterford to win the hurling or Cork/Kilkenny to meet before the final (please..........)

Non GAA Hopes.
Liverpool to win European Cup No 6.
Munster to do the two in a row (stuffing Leinster again on the way).
FAI to stop running to the papers over Croke park......
Post by: dubnut on December 20, 2006, 01:46:59 PM
"FAI to stop running to the papers over Croke park......"

Good point cooper, I'd say it will get worse however.
Post by: Dinny Breen on December 20, 2006, 01:57:58 PM
QuoteJohn 'The Bull' Hayes, did not go to a private school. He went to the local CBS, and played hurling and football also.

I stand corrected but my point still stands.
Post by: maxpower on December 20, 2006, 03:28:26 PM
If i could have absolutely anything the three i'd go for

1. To be able to predict the winner in every horse race
2. someone to magically have finished all the jobs round the house that still need doing
3. to be given the combined hurling prowess of henry shefflin, tommy walsh, ronan curran, jerry o'connor and eoin kelly

but not likely so realistic hopes for 2007

1. dunloy to win the antrim championship
2. the all-ireland hurling championship to throw up a few shock results
3. a thriving club league in antrim
Post by: cavanmaniac on December 20, 2006, 03:42:31 PM
Realistically:

1. Cavan U21s to win Ulster
2. Seniors to get league promotion and decent qualifier run
3. All players to dedicate themselves to the cause and train diligently
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on December 20, 2006, 03:55:57 PM
Ballyhaise to win Intermediate Championship
Cavan to win Ulster Senior Championship
Ireland to win the 2007 Rugby World Cup
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 20, 2006, 03:57:44 PM
sporting wishes

1. Derry to win ulster
2. Kevin Lynch's to win Ulster hurling title
3. Dublin to win Leinster at least (St. Brigids to win Senior & Minor Championship football double)
Post by: Springfield on December 20, 2006, 04:18:03 PM
1. Our club to win the Senior Cship for the 1st time in over 20years
2. Derry to win the Ulster Championship
3. Paddy Bradley to get his long overdue All star.
Post by: BottleOfStout on December 20, 2006, 04:51:08 PM
Cushendall to beat Loughrea in All-Ireland Semi-Final
Cushendall to beat either Toomevara or Ballyhale in All-Ireland Final
antrim to make an impact however small in McCarthy Cup
Post by: laoislad on December 20, 2006, 05:16:04 PM
1 Laois to beat Dublin at any stage of the Championship
2 Laois footballers to win Leinster
3 Laois to win Sam
4 Laois hurlers to improve on last 25 years!
5 Soccer to be a success at Croke Park
Post by: Redgreenery on December 20, 2006, 08:42:23 PM
1. Mayo to lift Sam
2. Mayo to win National Leauge
3. Man U to win Premiership and Champions League
Post by: tayto on December 20, 2006, 08:46:13 PM
Quote from: laoislad on December 20, 2006, 05:16:04 PM
1 Laois to beat Dublin at any stage of the Championship
2 Laois footballers to win Leinster
3 Laois to win Sam
4 Laois hurlers to improve on last 25 years!
5 Soccer to be a success at Croke Park

you'd rather beat dublin then win sam? ... odd ... very very odd.
Post by: stephenite on December 20, 2006, 09:21:10 PM
Mayo to win the All Ireland
Stephenites to win the All Ireland
A Mayo player to get player of the year

Non gaa - for the garrison games to succeed in Croker, Ireland to win the Rugby WC and Grand Slam
Post by: ONeill on December 20, 2006, 09:24:14 PM
1. To go through season unbeaten, winning McKenna, NFL, Ulster, Sam, UMFC, AIMFC, UU21FC, AIU21FC, Masters.
2. To lose graciously
3. Stand up to the wife.
Post by: Pangurban on December 21, 2006, 12:01:39 AM
1  All the rugby and soccer heads on this forum, would migrate to a rugby or soccer forum
2 As above
3As above
Post by: Dubh driocht on December 21, 2006, 12:24:29 AM
Good post
1.Down to win All-Ireland Senior football
2.Competitive AIF ( even if Armagh win it )
3.World peace, prosperity and happiness to al posters ( even No.1 - accept I was OTT).
Title: Your 3 Wishes for 2007
Post by: PatDaly on December 21, 2006, 04:28:33 AM
GAA
1. Armagh to win Sam with McGeeney having the game of his life
2. Dromintee to break the Crossmaglen stranglehold in the Armagh SFC
3. GPA to make significant progress in all of their aims

Non GAA
1. A united 32 county socialist Ireland
2. A bilingual Ireland where the vast majority can speak as Gaelige
3. Human rights and restoration of lands stolen from the Palestinian people
Post by: Barney on December 21, 2006, 07:59:05 AM
If this day next year I'm still standing with my health with the Baby Jesus in Sam in the crib in Castlebar I'll be a happy man
Post by: BenDover on December 21, 2006, 08:43:30 AM
1) Armagh to win Sam again
2) Pearse Og to win the Armagh CHampionship (wishful thinking indeed)
3) Not to need a liver transplant