Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: saffron sam2 on June 20, 2008, 09:57:38 PM

Title: most famous person you have met
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 20, 2008, 09:57:38 PM
I've done Tequila slammers with Bill Gates.

Anyone beat that?
Title: Re: most famous person you have met
Post by: fred the red on June 20, 2008, 09:58:26 PM
I shared a portaloo with George Michael.
Post by: ziggysego on June 20, 2008, 09:59:17 PM
I was told by Roy Disney at Disneyland Paris that I was too short to go on Space Mountain. I won a competition to be the first person on it.
Post by: magickingdom on June 20, 2008, 10:02:24 PM
met greta garbo once upon a time
Post by: ziggysego on June 20, 2008, 10:04:14 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 20, 2008, 10:03:02 PM
I sat two rows behind Gerry Adams at chapel once. I didn't wash for the next month. Nothing to do with Gerry Adams.

Just a West Belfast thing.
Post by: ONeill on June 20, 2008, 10:07:51 PM
Played on the same gig, and partied with:

Barry McGuigan
Brendan Shine
Christy Hennessey
Foster and Allen
Ray Lynam

Pint with:

Jerome Quiinn
Liam Brady
Post by: ziggysego on June 20, 2008, 10:08:49 PM
Ah sure ONeill, I had a pint with Jerome too. I've also had a pint with Dara O'Briain and Bertie Ahern.
Post by: ONeill on June 20, 2008, 10:09:46 PM
He said he didn't like ye.
Post by: fred the red on June 20, 2008, 10:10:11 PM
I had a pint with shane mc gowan.
Post by: ziggysego on June 20, 2008, 10:10:40 PM
Yeah, I told him that Austin would do a better job at the Championship than him.
Post by: Onion Bag on June 20, 2008, 10:13:16 PM
I met Francie Bellew ;)
Post by: Minder on June 20, 2008, 10:34:28 PM
I polished Antrim chairman Dr John Mc Sparran wrap around Oakley shades
Post by: ziggysego on June 20, 2008, 10:41:45 PM
He probably recognised you.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 20, 2008, 11:06:42 PM
Had a few pints with John Aldridge,Met Harry Kewell and Mark Viduka in Melbourne once and also met Keanu Reeves as he was in Sydney filming one of the Matrix films so i suppose he was the most famous..
Also met Pat Cash in a pub in Melbourne and had a pint with him

Post by: young anail on June 20, 2008, 11:24:44 PM
Met Brian Cowen :-\ and ran into paul wallace and audly harrison as well in london.
Post by: ONeill on June 20, 2008, 11:26:00 PM
QuoteAlso met Pat Cash in a pub in Melbourne and had a pint with him

No you didn't. You saw him. You didn't have a pint with him.
Post by: the green man on June 20, 2008, 11:42:03 PM
I met Sarah Jessica Parker in New York. Told that I loved her show, she was a brilliant actress and that she had a predominant spot on her chin.

I lied about won those, by the way.
Post by: ziggysego on June 20, 2008, 11:45:31 PM
Quote from: the green man on June 20, 2008, 11:42:03 PM
I met Sarah Jessica Parker in New York. Told that I loved her show, she was a brilliant actress and that she had a predominant spot on her chin.

I lied about won those, by the way.

I once asked Jodie Marsh what's wrong with her nose.
Post by: Yes I Would on June 20, 2008, 11:54:25 PM
The Cheeky girls!!
Post by: the green man on June 20, 2008, 11:57:40 PM
Met Brendan Gleeson in London. He was an edgey oul shite. Maybe because I called him Martin all the time.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on June 21, 2008, 12:07:37 AM
Had a drink with Matt Dillon. Surprisingly nice fella...
Post by: ziggysego on June 21, 2008, 12:08:45 AM
Surely I'm more famous Norf!  >:(
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 21, 2008, 12:28:13 AM
Quote from: ONeill on June 20, 2008, 11:26:00 PM

I had the pint
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 21, 2008, 12:33:32 AM
One of my mates swears blind that he met Chopper Read in a pub in Australia,He says he told him all about the fellas he killed etc...
Post by: the green man on June 21, 2008, 12:35:24 AM
Is David Beggy famous enough for this?
Post by: Norf Tyrone on June 21, 2008, 01:11:28 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 21, 2008, 12:08:45 AM
Surely I'm more famous Norf!  >:(

Do I know you?
Post by: rosnarun on June 21, 2008, 02:27:46 AM
i met phildelma  from glenroe and pwhoor
Post by: stephenite on June 21, 2008, 06:02:54 AM
Rode Baby Spice on a flight to Seattle
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 21, 2008, 07:44:06 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on June 21, 2008, 02:27:46 AM
i met phildelma  from glenroe and pwhoor

And we have a winner
Post by: Maguire01 on June 21, 2008, 10:00:45 AM

I wonder how true that is of many claims on here.  What constitutes 'meeting' someone, or having a pint with them? Being in the same pub? Passing them on the way to the bogs?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 21, 2008, 10:13:47 AM
Had a chat with Bonzo in the jacks in Paddy Guilbauds last Criustmas.

On speaking terms with Charlie Bird.

Can I have my prize now  ;)
Post by: charlie stubbs on June 21, 2008, 10:15:06 AM
the great tom o hare!! :D
Post by: hoopsaaa on June 21, 2008, 10:20:22 AM
Pope John Paull II.

Martin Keown

Not at the same time!
Post by: Minder on June 21, 2008, 10:43:44 AM
Saw the Queen once,on the tv
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on June 21, 2008, 11:08:04 AM
Met Elvis Presley last week. He's labouring out here in Sydney these days. Nice fella
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on June 21, 2008, 12:09:28 PM
Quote from: stephenite on June 21, 2008, 06:02:54 AM

You for real man???  If this is true then f**k meeting bill gates, id rather do what you done!!

Post by: Square Ball on June 21, 2008, 12:42:59 PM
Sir Matt Busby
Post by: BennyHarp on June 21, 2008, 01:11:50 PM
i shared a lift with alan shearer in the burlington hotel on the morning of the all ireland semi tyrone v kerry in 2003! He was asking me about the match- who was playing etc! I asked him what he was up to today - he said he was playing golf! At that point i noticed his golf clubs beside him! Felt a bit of a gimp!

Must have been a magic lift actually,  because i also met eoin liston and adrian logan in the same lift! All at different times though!

What the funniest/stupidiest/most embarrassing thing people have said to a famous person???
Post by: rrhf on June 21, 2008, 01:39:24 PM
Jeez Ive never seen you before in here - to Andrea Corr in Downings.
Post by: ziggysego on June 21, 2008, 01:42:32 PM
I asked Nadine Coyle to give Jessie Metcalfe the flick and meet me in the local.

I asked Jodie Marsh what's wrong with her nose.

Told Sean Maguire to f**k off.

Why I Sir Patrick Moore why he's such a grumpy bastard.

Told Ben Affleck that Reindeer Games and Pearl Harbour were shit films.... he agreed.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 21, 2008, 01:47:00 PM
Quote from: rrhf on June 21, 2008, 01:39:24 PM
Jeez Ive never seen you before in here - to Andrea Corr in Downings.
Just when i have been on the topic of my 'waiting' days on the tipping thread, i ground pepper on Andrea's Cesar Salad until she said Stop!
:P
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 21, 2008, 01:52:04 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on June 21, 2008, 01:11:50 PM
i shared a lift with alan shearer in the burlington hotel on the morning of the all ireland semi tyrone v kerry in 2003! He was asking me about the match- who was playing etc! I asked him what he was up to today - he said he was playing golf! At that point i noticed his golf clubs beside him! Felt a bit of a gimp!

Must have been a magic lift actually,  because i also met eoin liston and adrian logan in the same lift! All at different times though!

What the funniest/stupidiest/most embarrassing thing people have said to a famous person???

Also met Alan Shearer.Pure gentleman he was too
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 21, 2008, 01:56:52 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 21, 2008, 10:00:45 AM

I wonder how true that is of many claims on here.  What constitutes 'meeting' someone, or having a pint with them? Being in the same pub? Passing them on the way to the bogs?

Can't speak for anyone's else's claims but i did meet Pat Cash in a pub in Melbourne,My mate pointed out who he was as i have no interest in Tennis and didn't know him.
We went over to him and we had a chat with him for a half an hour,He was just having some lunch after a book signing for a book he had just brought out,and he bought us a pint each..
Very nice man and he knew all about Gaelic Games
Post by: take_yer_points on June 21, 2008, 01:58:42 PM
Met Henry Winkler and was an extra in a TV series he was making in NYC a few years back.

Been out with Michelle Marsh a few times - she's married to a friend of a friend.
Post by: Main Street on June 21, 2008, 02:50:10 PM
When it mattered to me, way way back I shared a joint with Phil Lynnot in the dressing room of the Dagenham Roundhouse, while a lubricated Eric Bell urinated into the wash basin.
He was very decent, amiable and talked awhile to me. He was a hero to me then and it meant the world that he took a minute or two.
It was a free gig in front of about 30 or 40, they came on late but played a brilliant set to about 11pm.
I got the last tube into the city but missed my train connection at Charing Cross.
I remember getting a cup of tea from a caravan, the next I remember was some guy tapped me on the shoulder waking me up and said I was about to fall over.
It was about 6.30am on the riverfront, I had fallen asleep on my feet and I was still standing up.
What's the record for human sleeping on their feet?

Post by: Zapatista on June 21, 2008, 02:55:02 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 21, 2008, 01:52:04 PM

I think I saw it on the telly.
Was that in a McDonalds resturant? Did something funny happen around him signing an autograph for you?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 21, 2008, 02:57:48 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on June 21, 2008, 02:55:02 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 21, 2008, 01:52:04 PM

I think I saw it on the telly.
Was that in a McDonalds resturant? Did something funny happen around him signing an autograph for you?

`

Eh no  ???
Post by: Zapatista on June 21, 2008, 03:35:22 PM
Do ye not remember the McDonalds ad where the young geekey fella working behind the counter can't believe his luck when Alan Shearer comes in for some grub. The Young fella pretends he needs a copy of Shearers signature to match the credit card but the young fella is being cute and only wants Shearers autograph. Shearer signs a piece of paper and give the fella a knowing smile. That wasn't you then I take it.
Post by: Minder on June 21, 2008, 04:10:26 PM
I once got a very drunken diddy ride from Bet Gilroy,who we all knew and loved in Coronation Street
Post by: Yes I Would on June 21, 2008, 04:32:59 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 21, 2008, 04:10:26 PM
I once got a very drunken diddy ride from Bet Gilroy,who we all knew and loved in Coronation Street

The ultimate fantasy Minder!!!
Post by: phpearse on June 21, 2008, 05:13:02 PM
Had a breakfast meeting with Ted Kennedy in Boston. Just four of us at a table not a big business meeting where everbody is there. Company I was working for was looking to invest in the Boston area. He was more interested in chatting about the north. He had great time for McGuiness.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 21, 2008, 05:13:59 PM
Quote from: Yes I Would on June 21, 2008, 04:32:59 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 21, 2008, 04:10:26 PM

The ultimate fantasy Minder!!!

Aye her or Dolly Parton.... :o
Post by: the colonel on June 21, 2008, 05:16:05 PM
i picked holly willoughby up at the airport in edinburgh and left her back down after playing in student union in scotland, great girl, very nice even though nobody turned up to her dj set. didnt get her tits out though.
Post by: Boynegael on June 21, 2008, 05:38:11 PM
I used to babysit for one of the New York news readers...Met a lot of celebs through that job.....Bette Midler, Michael Douglas, Conan O' Brien.  Met Liam Neeson several times...very nice man and down to earth...he loves fishing and his motorbike, until he nearly got killed on it....hit a deer...

Acutally had brunch in his house in Millbrook, NY several times...and a dip in his pool...Met Natasha Richardson, Vanessa Redgrave there..
Post by: FL/MAYO on June 21, 2008, 06:50:44 PM
Shared a house with the original kid from the Finger of Fudge ad...a finger of fudge is just enough...

Jack Nicholson said hello to me while he was standing at a street corner in NYC, did not figure out who it was until I was half up the street.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 21, 2008, 06:51:58 PM
I saw Brendan Kilkenny in town earlier  :o
Post by: fred the red on June 21, 2008, 06:56:41 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on June 21, 2008, 06:50:44 PM
Shared a house with the original kid from the Finger of Fudge ad...a finger of fudge is just enough...

Jack Nicholson said hello to me while he was standing at a street corner in NYC, did not figure out who it was until I was half up the street.

He musta recognised you!  ;D
Post by: Minder on June 21, 2008, 06:59:04 PM
I went orienteering with Christopher Walken in the early 90's
Post by: David McKeown on June 21, 2008, 07:58:47 PM
Stayed in the same hotel as the Portugal team at the World Cup in 2002.  Arrived the day Corea put them out which caused a massive street party in Seoul during which we were given loads of Corean flags and stuff.  Got back to the hotel and the who Portugal team were in the lobby.  Never moved as quick in my life to get rid of the stuff wed been given.  Got photos with the whole squad.  Next day saw Rui Costa in the bar and went up to him and offered him a pint to commisserate he said hed take it only if we joined him for it.  So me and my brother and cousin ordered pints and sat down.  When the bill came Rui Costa paid for it (which was a good job as it was about 15 euro a pint).  Wouldnt let us leave and he and Pauletta and Petit paid for out drinks all evening and the 6 of us sat chatting.  Three really nice guys
Post by: full back on June 21, 2008, 08:07:28 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on June 21, 2008, 07:58:47 PM
Stayed in the same hotel as the Portugal team at the World Cup in 2002.  Arrived the day Corea put them out which caused a massive street party in Seoul during which we were given loads of Corean flags and stuff.  Got back to the hotel and the who Portugal team were in the lobby.  Never moved as quick in my life to get rid of the stuff wed been given.  Got photos with the whole squad.  Next day saw Rui Costa in the bar and went up to him and offered him a pint to commisserate he said hed take it only if we joined him for it.  So me and my brother and cousin ordered pints and sat down.  When the bill came Rui Costa paid for it (which was a good job as it was about 15 euro a pint).  Wouldnt let us leave and he and Pauletta and Petit paid for out drinks all evening and the 6 of us sat chatting.  Three really nice guys

WTF David :D
Post by: Minder on June 22, 2008, 01:56:32 AM
I was once a pillion passenger on Lennox Lewis motorcycle. . . . .
Post by: MayoMan on June 22, 2008, 07:23:33 AM
Met this lad signing autographs yesterday in a shopping centre in Vegas....

(http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2172/2248443897_8e6b5ed0e3.jpg?v=0)

(http://rds.yahoo.com/_ylt=A0S020oE7l1IrycAc0WjzbkF/SIG=12lh1k9og/EXP=1214201732/**http%3A//www.hulklibrary.com/hulk/images/photos/lou-as-the-hulk.jpg)

he played the hulk.....

check this documentary out, himself and arnie were in competition together...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xaJltPRceU0
Post by: Puckoon on June 22, 2008, 05:43:56 PM
Dont think Ive met anyone famous.

Ive been on the same plane as both Bill Murray and Jared Leto.
Post by: balladmaker on June 22, 2008, 06:30:30 PM
You know the way you pass someone on the street, and you know that you know them from somewhere....you say hello, they say the same back.....when you walk past, you take a quick look around thinking 'who is that?'...and you find they are also giving you the same quick glance.....had one of those moments in NYC's Tribeca 3 years ago, the man was Robert de Niro, out walking a dog.  It was his cap that threw me.  Always puzzled me who he thought I was  :D

Another occasion, the lift door opened at my floor in a Las Vegas hotel, there was Willie Nelson and his entourage, no room left on the lift so I had to wait on the next one.....Nelson quipped out of the lift at me...'Better luck next time buddy'....never did like his singing anyway.

Post by: ONeill on June 22, 2008, 06:50:58 PM
Met Ian Rush in Curleys in the late 80s.
Met Pat Jennings at Benburb Sunday in the mid 80s.
Post by: Minder on June 22, 2008, 07:07:44 PM
Got Russ Abbotts autograph outside white hart lane after a Spurs v Liverpool game in 1990
Post by: ONeill on June 22, 2008, 07:09:25 PM
Met Rolf Harris in the toilets in Dun Laoghaire.
Post by: BennyHarp on June 22, 2008, 07:09:33 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 22, 2008, 06:50:58 PM

I met Ian Rush that day too - in Intersport - i've still got the card that he signed for me with his picture on it! Also met Curley Watts from Coronation Street in Curleys as well!
Post by: ONeill on June 22, 2008, 07:12:27 PM
Yes, thought he was quite surly. Loved his moustache though.
Post by: Rav67 on June 22, 2008, 08:18:57 PM
Frank Bruno
John Hartson
Post by: Pangurban on June 22, 2008, 08:26:48 PM
President Kennedy
Jhonny Cash and his wife June Carter
Louis Armstrong
Miss World-from India, cant remember her name
Eamon De Valera
and many others too numerous to mention, needless to say they were all delighted to have met me
Post by: Minder on June 22, 2008, 09:11:47 PM
Colt Severs aka The Fall Guy and once met Marlon Brando in the tescos in Yorkgate
Post by: Square Ball on June 22, 2008, 09:25:20 PM
slightly off topic but what the hell.

My sisters friend and her husdand went to New York as he had retired and this was their first holiday together alone so they were pushing the boat out. They were staying in an Hotel (name escapes me) the husband was in the lbar on the first floor waiting for her, she got into the lift to go down to the bar, the lift stopped and two black fellas got in, one said "hit the ground honey" meaning press the botton for the ground floor, well she shit herself and lay on the floor, needless to say the other two nearly killed themselves laughting. she was shaking like a leaf when she met the husband, he couldnd fing out who it was.

when he went to settle the bill he was amazed to find it was paid, on questioning the person it turned out that it was Will Smith and Martin Lawrence, Will had paid the bill, she had no idea who he was.
Post by: 5 Sams on June 22, 2008, 09:34:47 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on June 22, 2008, 09:25:20 PM

My sisters friend and her husdand went to New York as he had retired and this was their first holiday together alone so they were pushing the boat out. They were staying in an Hotel (name escapes me) the husband was in the lbar on the first floor waiting for her, she got into the lift to go down to the bar, the lift stopped and two black fellas got in, one said "hit the ground honey" meaning press the botton for the ground floor, well she shit herself and lay on the floor, needless to say the other two nearly killed themselves laughting. she was shaking like a leaf when she met the husband, he couldnd fing out who it was.

when he went to settle the bill he was amazed to find it was paid, on questioning the person it turned out that it was Will Smith and Martin Lawrence, Will had paid the bill, she had no idea who he was.

Aye right!!!

http://www.snopes.com/racial/mistaken/hitfloor.asp
Post by: ziggysego on June 22, 2008, 09:38:33 PM
SB, you've been caught out!  :D
Post by: Square Ball on June 22, 2008, 10:14:31 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on June 22, 2008, 09:34:47 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on June 22, 2008, 09:25:20 PM

Aye right!!!

http://www.snopes.com/racial/mistaken/hitfloor.asp

i am only passing on what i was told, if its a load of keek then so be it
Post by: Square Ball on June 22, 2008, 10:23:49 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 22, 2008, 10:15:49 PM
I bet you're not even called Square Ball.

I am, its amazing how many people know me at matches!
Post by: Square Ball on June 22, 2008, 10:42:49 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 22, 2008, 10:33:48 PM
Is it really that noticeable?

Yip, theses just no escaping it! just people shouting, some of them get it wrong some times, them seem to add ref to the end of it
Post by: laceer on June 23, 2008, 01:06:12 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on June 22, 2008, 07:09:33 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 22, 2008, 06:50:58 PM

I met Ian Rush that day too - in Intersport - i've still got the card that he signed for me with his picture on it! Also met Curley Watts from Coronation Street in Curleys as well!

Jan Molby in Costcutters
Post by: Aerlik on June 23, 2008, 02:58:38 AM
Martin O'Neill,
Jock Stein,
Sue Townsend, Brookside
Madge, Neighbours
Jimowen
I've been flying Andrew Forrest, Australia's richest man ($A10bn+) around quite a bit too.  Have to tell him to switch his bloody phone off too.  Decent bloke.  One day I had him, his dad, and his brother all on the same plane.  No tips though...feckers.
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on June 23, 2008, 08:56:18 AM
wood people tip u for bein a pilot. Theres a thead about that. I no Kieran McGeeny.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 23, 2008, 09:34:45 AM
Met Stephen Hunt at the bar in Liverpool Airport last earlier this year after myself andf BC junior saw his Reading team beaten by Liverpool in Anfield, had a pint and a photo, feck he is small.  Bumped into Ronnie Whelan outside a pub off Capel Street and nearly got mowed down one day by Paul McGrath on Grafton Street.

Shane McGowan nearly pissed on my shoes in the Students Union toilets in Quenn's.  Both of us pissed as f**k and had a laugh about it.

Told Bono he was a jumped-up, pretentious little shit in Annabels one night.  We were there for the brothers stag night and the management were making us move out of the seats at the bar we had been occupying to make way for the "VIP".  Told them to shove their seats up their holes.
Post by: illdecide on June 23, 2008, 09:36:56 AM
Pope John Paul

But some day i'd really like to meet Tony Fearon
Post by: Billys Boots on June 23, 2008, 09:50:47 AM
QuoteI had a pint with shane mc gowan.

I shared a bottle of 'wine' (or something) with Shane and Spider Stacey.
Post by: thejuice on June 23, 2008, 10:41:04 AM
Dont like making people jealous but I met Johnny Logan. Also my brother got his photo taken with a wooden cut-out of Mr.T at the steam treshing fair in Drumree

but seriously, I met Eddie O'Sullivan, Ronan O'Gara and Brian O'Driscoll in the City West hotel.

But Im most proud of getting my photo with Graham Gerathy, Tommy Dowd and Sam Maguire in the Ashbourne House in 99, woo-hoo
Post by: Drumanee 1 on June 23, 2008, 11:00:09 AM
met the great tommy wright
Post by: Doogie Browser on June 23, 2008, 11:22:13 AM
Met Eddie Jordan outside Celtic Park after AC Milan Champs League last 16 game last year, posed for a photo at Brother Walfrid Statue - well he did ask.  Very nice fella though.
Also had a piss beside big Ian once (not so sure about the big though) - talk about stage fright!
Post by: raisins on June 23, 2008, 11:23:49 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 20, 2008, 11:06:42 PM
Had a few pints with John Aldridge,Met Harry Kewell and Mark Viduka in Melbourne once and also met Keanu Reeves as he was in Sydney filming one of the Matrix films so i suppose he was the most famous..
Also met Pat Cash in a pub in Melbourne and had a pint with him

I stalked Pat Cash down the Kings Road in London as I have a lifelong obsession with him since he won Wimbledon in 1987. Thought he didn't see me but he then turned round and winked at me!! Officially met him in the line of business last year and I'm sure he looked at me as though I was a crazzzyyy lady
Post by: tintin25 on June 23, 2008, 11:27:31 AM
Plenty of Soccer players; Juventus and Barcelona teams back in 03, which included the recently signed Ronaldinho! Pestered most of them for photo's and had plenty taken only to discover when I got them printed that there was no flash! Photo's turned out shite!
Post by: mouview on June 23, 2008, 12:22:18 PM
Clasped hands with Pope Benedict when he was exiting St. Peters after saying Mass (truly).
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 23, 2008, 12:42:20 PM
Seen Paul from Spin City in Tiffany's in New York.

Got my photo taken with Gary Lineker who was filming a series about World Cup goal scorers on Charles Bridge in Prague. Nice bloke but he was muttering to his crew that he wished a certain group would "f**k off" as they were taking photos while he was being filmed!

Seen plenty of Liam Neeson around the Glens but he's never had the pleasure of meeting me.

A mate of mine once stuck his tongue in the ear of one of the Corrs - I don't it was conspiracy theorist Jim though!

Met Paddy Kielty plenty of times back in the day when he was doing his business at the Empire in Belfast. Early indications were that he was a c**k!

Seen Roger Daltrey in Aldergrove.

Jimmy Nesbitt once tried to get into a taxi beside me outside The Empire after the comedy night - my mate who was at the toilet came out and said "Jimmy get the f**k outta me seat!". Nesbitt then sprinted down Botanic Avenue towards Bradbury Place. Blocked he was!

Seen Liverpool legend Stevie Nicol locking his car keys in the car outside White Hart Lane back in the day.

Most impressive of all though has been spending time in the company of Antrim legend Terence 'Sambo' McNaughton
Post by: corn02 on June 23, 2008, 12:48:01 PM
The Crouchinator.
Post by: isourboydownyet on June 23, 2008, 03:02:10 PM
charlie haughey,alot of former and present liverpool footballers but the best of all was meeting kylie and getting a kiss on the cheek in newyork
Post by: screenmachine on June 23, 2008, 03:11:30 PM
few of the lads from screen went over to liverpool for a boxing night and ran into rooneys da...few of them got a taxi home with him and ended up staying at his house on the sat nite and went on the rip all day sunday...they've actually stayed in contact and are goin back over in the next few weeks to go again and they think wayne will be there this time himself...
Post by: screenexile on June 23, 2008, 03:14:33 PM
Quote from: screenmachine on June 23, 2008, 03:11:30 PM
few of the lads from screen went over to liverpool for a boxing night and ran into rooneys da...few of them got a taxi home with him and ended up staying at his house on the sat nite and went on the rip all day sunday...they've actually stayed in contact and are goin back over in the next few weeks to go again and they think wayne will be there this time himself...

Poor Wazza snr still gets the odd drunken 2 oclock fone call from the lads in the bar with a rapturous chorus of "ON THE DOLE DRINKIN' WINE EVERTON!"... poor man!
Post by: Candyman on June 23, 2008, 03:21:19 PM
Mother Teresa in armagh......... She gave me a miraculous medal!!!  ;D
Post by: Candyman on June 23, 2008, 03:25:17 PM
Oh and i've also met the "Bishop" on numerous occassions, although he lives here!!!!   ;)
Post by: The Iceman on June 23, 2008, 03:25:21 PM
Chris Eubank in Gatwick airport - he sat beside me on the bus to the terminal
Crazy Horse Hughes (RIP) met him in Ballina at the Ridge Pool fishing
Barry McGuigan - met him a charity boxing match with my dad
Johny Nelson - met him in the Hilton in Glasgow the morning after a Mike Tyson fight
Post by: spiritof91and94 on June 23, 2008, 03:35:31 PM
Shared a petrol pump with Dennis Bergkamp in Cockfosters on a Saturday Morning before Arsenal played Chelsea in 2002 - very pleasant guy.
While visiting my aunt in Winchmore Hill, I was informed Frank McClintock lived opposite her and when I was leaving sure enough Frank was getting into George Grahams car.....
Post by: Minder on June 23, 2008, 03:49:43 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 23, 2008, 12:42:20 PM
Seen Paul from Spin City in Tiffany's in New York.

Got my photo taken with Gary Lineker who was filming a series about World Cup goal scorers on Charles Bridge in Prague. Nice bloke but he was muttering to his crew that he wished a certain group would "f**k off" as they were taking photos while he was being filmed!

Seen plenty of Liam Neeson around the Glens but he's never had the pleasure of meeting me.

A mate of mine once stuck his tongue in the ear of one of the Corrs - I don't it was conspiracy theorist Jim though!

Met Paddy Kielty plenty of times back in the day when he was doing his business at the Empire in Belfast. Early indications were that he was a c**k!

Seen Roger Daltrey in Aldergrove.

Jimmy Nesbitt once tried to get into a taxi beside me outside The Empire after the comedy night - my mate who was at the toilet came out and said "Jimmy get the f**k outta me seat!". Nesbitt then sprinted down Botanic Avenue towards Bradbury Place. Blocked he was!

Seen Liverpool legend Stevie Nicol locking his car keys in the car outside White Hart Lane back in the day.

Most impressive of all though has been spending time in the company of Antrim legend Terence 'Sambo' McNaughton

It was actually ex Spurs & Bolton player Gudni Bergsson that locked the keys in his car Tony, from what i heard.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on November 29, 2008, 10:43:51 AM
Just met Diablo Cody (Oscar Winner for Junno) tonite at a dive bar in Lemont, IL. She grew up in Lemont and was in town when myself and a few buddies were out for a suprise birthday party. Her chest could have won an Oscar  ;) but she was an incredible nice and humble person. She sang Guns N Roses "Sweet child of Mine" for karaoke(sp). She signed an autograph for my nephew who won a young author award here in Illinois. Have a picture of her and myself on the cell phone and if I can figure out how to post it from cell phone to internet I will do it.
Post by: The Watcher Pat on November 29, 2008, 10:48:35 AM
Bill Clinton...in Easons Belfast
Post by: CC1 on November 29, 2008, 10:48:42 AM
Probably David Beckham in his United days. Say what you want about the man, he certainly had lots of time for fans. He never left without signing every single childs autograph book.
Post by: milltown row on November 29, 2008, 11:07:37 AM
back when i had a head of hair and take that were in :D   they landed in the Manhattan night club with Lulu, the boys were up strutting there stuff and the ladies were all over them, as they were leaving my cousin and i thought we'd say hello, when we shouted over Gary, Robbie, Mark cant mind the other two names , they looked over smiling as we dropped the bags and gave them and nice look at our hairy asses :D  classy
Post by: Lar Naparka on November 29, 2008, 01:20:52 PM
I used to work for Bertie many years ago, before he became Taoiseach. (I just couldn't stick most of the Drumcondra mafia so I jumped ship.)
No problem with drinking with him. Kennedy's, Fagan's, Tolka House, Beaumont House; the list was quite long and varied as it wouldn't do to give the impression that anyone in the entourage was fond of the stuff or called to the same shop too often. ;D
I went to school with Enda and have remained good boozing buddies with him since.
The eve of a Connacht final in Castlebar was very much a ritual for years; six or seven of us from the same time in Pat's Drumcondr,a would find a corner in a Castlebar pub that tolerated late drinking and off-key singing.
We were spoilt for choice. ;D
BTW; Enda, when off-stage, is great craic entirely and far more of a gas man than you'd ever guess from his public appearances.
It never bothered either that I had a foot in the enemy camp or would pass on the odd informal message from one to the other. (It did bother some of the meat heads around Bertie but I didn't let anything they thought ever bother me.)
I wouldn't consider either to be exactly famous but it would have been somewhat unusual to be a drinking buddy with both at the same time.
Really famous person?
I had a good , long chat with Mohammed Ali the time he fought in Croke Park.
Post by: magickingdom on November 29, 2008, 01:34:44 PM
greta garbo - and on many occasions i might add...
Post by: rrhf on November 29, 2008, 01:38:21 PM
Some boyo on here knows baby spices flying habits very well from memory.
Post by: fitzroyalty on November 29, 2008, 02:30:48 PM
met gary linekar once. more recently, met rory mcilory in bot on thurs nite!asked him for £20!
Post by: Donagh on November 29, 2008, 02:35:40 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on November 29, 2008, 02:30:48 PM
met gary linekar once. more recently, met rory mcilory in bot on thurs nite!asked him for £20!

Is my wee cousin Rory famous now? Doesn't seem that long ago when his uncle Mickey playing for Armagh was the famous one in the family.
Post by: fitzroyalty on November 29, 2008, 02:42:00 PM
Quote from: Donagh on November 29, 2008, 02:35:40 PM

Is my wee cousin Rory famous now? Doesn't seem that long ago when his uncle Mickey playing for Armagh was the famous one in the family.

wasn't sure it was him, asked him where he was last playing, "hong kong", good boy, smile, got a photo or two!also there was a fella looked like him, so dragged him over and got them to pose together aswell!
Post by: hoopsaaa on November 29, 2008, 02:43:16 PM
Pope John Paul II - just after i got married.
Post by: Orior on November 29, 2008, 02:44:03 PM
Quote from: Donagh on November 29, 2008, 02:35:40 PM

You serious? Rory's Dad served me dinner at Clandeboye Golf Club earlier this week. Was gonna tip him, but hadn't a spare £100 note.

Famous people I've met:

1) Bennydorano
2) Kevin Keegan
3) Daniel O'Donnell
4) Anthony Fearon
5) Gay Byrne

Post by: Donagh on November 29, 2008, 02:52:54 PM
Quote from: Orior on November 29, 2008, 02:44:03 PM

You serious? Rory's Dad served me dinner at Clandeboye Golf Club earlier this week. Was gonna tip him, but hadn't a spare £100 note.

Aye, on his ma's side. His uncle is Mickey McDonald, ex-Armagh and St Pauls, Lurgan.
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 29, 2008, 02:57:01 PM
met jack charton  in ballina a few years ago, actually had a  pint with him in dohertys pub beside the river moy   
Post by: Orior on November 29, 2008, 02:58:23 PM
Quote from: Donagh on November 29, 2008, 02:52:54 PM
Quote from: Orior on November 29, 2008, 02:44:03 PM

Aye, on his ma's side. His uncle is Mickey McDonald, ex-Armagh and St Pauls, Lurgan.

I was at St Colman's with Mickey. Didnt we loose him to soccer/Cliftonville?
Post by: Donagh on November 29, 2008, 03:01:34 PM
Quote from: Orior on November 29, 2008, 02:58:23 PM
I was at St Colman's with Mickey. Didnt we loose him to soccer/Cliftonville?

Aye. He played on with St Pauls though.
Post by: The Watcher Pat on November 29, 2008, 04:27:00 PM
My cousin Marc....On the bench for Pompey against Milan the other nite.....

Dont know if he's really that famous but women seem to flock round him when he's out...lol

oh and Chelsea his GF you've probably seen her on page 3 of the sun...lol
Post by: DownFanatic on November 29, 2008, 05:35:30 PM
Had a pint with Banjo Bannon in the Maghera Inn although his was non-alcoholic. Also, when I was in Australia last Spring I met the famous circus ringmaster Frank Gasser.
Post by: leenie on November 29, 2008, 05:44:52 PM
i met and got a kiss (just on the cheek :-[) from one of the most beautiful men in the world.....

johnathon rhys meyers.....

Post by: Tyrones own on November 29, 2008, 05:49:00 PM
Lance Armstrong....no kissing though :D
Post by: Hardy on November 29, 2008, 05:57:47 PM
My ambition is to meet Larry Reilly.
Post by: ONeill on November 29, 2008, 06:00:01 PM
I once met a man who syas he met Larry Reilly. I didn't believe him.
Post by: Kerry Mike on November 29, 2008, 06:05:59 PM
I know a man who met a woman whose male cousin on her mother's side knew Larry Reilly's mother, but it was a brief fling and a long time ago.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 29, 2008, 06:14:03 PM
You're all liars.  Everyone who is anyone knows that you cannot meet Larry Reilly.  Although he is omnipotent, no one has ever met him, and people who claim that they "met" Larry Reilly or are related to him are compulsive liars.  Larry Reilly cannot have any relatives as he was formed out of the rocks around Cavan, he has no peers or equals. Shame on anyone who spreads such falsehoods as having met Larry Reilly >:(
Post by: muppet on November 29, 2008, 07:38:06 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on November 29, 2008, 06:14:03 PM
You're all liars.  Everyone who is anyone knows that you cannot meet Larry Reilly.  Although he is omnipotent, no one has ever met him, and people who claim that they "met" Larry Reilly or are related to him are compulsive liars.  Larry Reilly cannot have any relatives as he was formed out of the rocks around Cavan, he has no peers or equals. Shame on anyone who spreads such falsehoods as having met Larry Reilly >:(

Wasn't he in a band?.....Bagaturbet or something.......Did he write 'Summer in Cavan'?
Post by: Minder on November 29, 2008, 08:58:28 PM
Probably Dr John Mc Sparran
Post by: Frankie Boy on November 29, 2008, 09:00:58 PM
Mickey Mouse about 3 years ago in Disneyland. Dead on fella but a lot bigger than he looks on TV.

Said that wrong.
Post by: milltown row on November 29, 2008, 09:03:36 PM
where did ya meet him minder? is he as nice as everyone says?
Post by: Minder on November 29, 2008, 09:06:28 PM
Quote from: milltown row on November 29, 2008, 09:03:36 PM

I had genital warts once and he sorted me out with some great cream.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 29, 2008, 09:29:47 PM
Did he help you apply it Minder?
Post by: Minder on November 29, 2008, 09:30:55 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 29, 2008, 09:29:47 PM
Did he help you apply it Minder?

No he didnt you contemptible, anonymous lunatic
Post by: give her dixie on November 30, 2008, 02:49:14 AM
I met Malachi Cush in Curleys once
Post by: thejuice on November 30, 2008, 11:08:18 AM
Sat next to Ray Houghton on a Ryanair flight going from Stansted to Dublin. I went drinking with the lads from the band Gama Bomb, ok they're not that famous.............yet!
Post by: muppet on November 30, 2008, 06:14:44 PM
Quote from: Minder on November 29, 2008, 09:06:28 PM
Quote from: milltown row on November 29, 2008, 09:03:36 PM

I had genital warts once and he sorted me out with some great cream.

Did he do anything for the warts?
Post by: aontroim on November 30, 2008, 06:27:31 PM
In no particular order...

Chuck Norris (he wouldn't accept anything but first place)
Lance Armstrong
Robin Williams
William Shatner
Lewis Hamilton
Nick Heidfeld (F1 BMW)
Nobo

Post by: ziggysego on November 30, 2008, 06:29:04 PM
Karl Kennedy sent me an email once, years ago.
Post by: Over the Bar on November 30, 2008, 06:35:54 PM
pope john paul II
Post by: ziggysego on November 30, 2008, 06:40:08 PM
Lucifer
Banshee
Post by: rosnarun on November 30, 2008, 10:29:07 PM
I met kenny egan today flogging his dvd in heartbeat city
Grand friendly Lad
Post by: mhacadoir on December 01, 2008, 12:04:14 AM
mother teresa
Post by: whitey on December 01, 2008, 12:06:02 AM
You remember Nikki Taylor the supermodel....well I never met her, but I used to know her ex boyfriend......the fella who wrapped his car around a telepone pole in Atlanta and nearly killed her.

I also tailgated with Paulie Castellano at a Miami Dolphins game-son of assassinated Mob boss Paul Castellano

Michael Jacksons bodyguard sent me flying with a shoulder when I was a student in Munich back in the early 90's walking down the street minding my own business

Austrailian Prime minister at a function in Dublin Castle (I was working there at the time as a tour guide)

Brendan Grace-he used to drink in a pub in Palm Beach Gardens-sound man

Post by: FL/MAYO on December 01, 2008, 02:45:40 AM
Quote from: whitey on December 01, 2008, 12:06:02 AM
You remember Nikki Taylor the supermodel....well I never met her, but I used to know her ex boyfriend......the fella who wrapped his car around a telepone pole in Atlanta and nearly killed her.

I also tailgated with Paulie Castellano at a Miami Dolphins game-son of assassinated Mob boss Paul Castellano

Michael Jacksons bodyguard sent me flying with a shoulder when I was a student in Munich back in the early 90's walking down the street minding my own business

Austrailian Prime minister at a function in Dublin Castle (I was working there at the time as a tour guide)

Brendan Grace-he used to drink in a pub in Palm Beach Gardens-sound man

Small world, I knew a fellow that went to High School with Nikki Taylor, she was in to him (so he says) but he had no interest because she was to skinny. 
Post by: marty88 on December 01, 2008, 03:26:01 AM
I went to dinner with Ashley Olsen, twice. Im friends with her and I've met her sister a few times.

Met loads of sports people, Beckham, Keane, Martin O Neill, Kevin Doyle, Pauleta, Andy Cole, Darron Gibson, Teddy Sheringham, Kobe Bryant, Paul McGinley, Kevin McBride.

Met a lot of the Derry and Donegal Gaa panels. Also one or two Tyrone lads. Most of the RTE team that covers the matches.

Bertie Ahern, Mary McAleese, Marty McGuinness.

Robin williams came into work one day. Also some guy of american idol, i didnt know him tho.

All the guys of the panel.

David Tennant, Sean Bean.

Post by: Onion Bag on December 01, 2008, 10:25:52 AM
This doesnt really count as i didnt actually meet him, but last week i was walking into Leeds Bradford airport and who was standing there loading up his Aston Martin only Daniel Craig, the car was class, the number plate CRAIG
Post by: SidelineKick on December 01, 2008, 10:31:51 AM
Tim Robins in the Hatfield one night! Hes massive!!

Pudsy.

Santa (several times).

Been involved with the tooth fairy but never actually met.
Post by: Hardy on December 01, 2008, 10:33:13 AM
I have a long list of people I haven't met, too but I don't imagine anyone is interested. Any more than I can imagine them being interested in people I HAVE met, come to think of it.
Post by: Onion Bag on December 01, 2008, 10:59:25 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 01, 2008, 10:31:51 AM

Pudsy.

Santa (several times).

f**k it your right, I met Tim Robbins in the Hatfield one night, and he signed a beer mat for me
Post by: SidelineKick on December 01, 2008, 11:00:31 AM
 :D that was a turn up for the books!

Sang Dirty Old Town if I remember correct???
Post by: Onion Bag on December 01, 2008, 11:16:01 AM
Can really remember what he sang, was on the beer all day that day, i know it was a sunday coz i phoned in sick the next day
Post by: corn02 on December 01, 2008, 11:17:29 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 01, 2008, 10:31:51 AM

Pudsy.

Santa (several times).

Post by: Candyman on December 01, 2008, 05:47:44 PM
Mother Theresa... ;D
Post by: milltown row on December 20, 2008, 11:00:35 PM
was in Thompsons one night and we were drinking with Alex Higgins..... some craic :P
Post by: milltown row on December 20, 2008, 11:19:14 PM
put him on the dead pool :o

he'll last a while yet that one, back playing snooker, seen him stumble out of the west social club, big cup in his hand too
Post by: screenmachine on December 21, 2008, 01:29:27 AM
seen tim robbins that nite meself, think he did sing dirty old town and some other song as well.  fair play to him.
Post by: Niall Quinn on December 21, 2008, 03:53:34 AM
I guess it comes down to a simple choice - you get busy singing or you get busy driving.
Post by: aontroim on December 21, 2008, 08:32:19 AM
Quote from: Niall Quinn on December 21, 2008, 03:53:34 AM
I guess it comes down to a simple choice - you get busy singing or you get busy driving.

;D brilliant (for a post that early in the morning)
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on December 21, 2008, 11:48:09 AM
Geezer,
Post by: laceer on December 21, 2008, 02:44:41 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 20, 2008, 11:11:15 PM
He was stood beside me in the bookies (Eastwoods it was then), in Castle St about a 2 years ago. I saw him on Sandy Row about 2 months ago. He hasn't a year in him.

met higgins in a bar in sydney in feb.he was drinking a big massive brandy and dipping his cigar into it before smoking it.he was sound enough to us..talked away.when we said we were from tyrone he replied "fuckin shithole".we got our own back when he asked us for a drink."fuckin no chance alex" He was dyin looking though

Met Ian Brown in the same place about 2 weeks later.again was sound.
Post by: Gaffer on December 21, 2008, 03:30:20 PM
Quote from: laceer on December 21, 2008, 02:44:41 PM
He was stood beside me in the bookies (Eastwoods it was then), in Castle St about a 2 years ago. I saw him on Sandy Row about 2 months ago. He hasn't a year in him.

met higgins in a bar in sydney in feb.he was drinking a big massive brandy and dipping his cigar into it before smoking it.he was sound enough to us..talked away.when we said we were from tyrone he replied "fuckin shithole".we got our own back when he asked us for a drink."fuckin no chance alex" He was dyin looking though

So he doesn t like Tyrone then?

Must be a Kerry supporter

or

He must still have memories of trying to get off with the sister of a famous Tyrone snooker player years ago while playing an exhibition and got well and truely rejected!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 21, 2008, 03:37:31 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on December 21, 2008, 03:30:20 PM
Quote from: laceer on December 21, 2008, 02:44:41 PM

So he doesn t like Tyrone then?

Must be a Kerry supporter

or

He must still have memories of trying to get off with the sister of a famous Tyrone snooker player years ago while playing an exhibition and got well and truely rejected!!
Or maybe Tyrone is just a shit hole ;)
Post by: 5 Sams on December 21, 2008, 08:37:05 PM
I have had pints with Mickey Linden and Tomas O Se......two icons of football...as famous as it gets for me .....so it counts before any of youse hoors start giving off ....

But the best was chatting to The Edge at a backstage party in the Point after a Hot House Flowers concert. Decent bloke.
Post by: 5 Sams on December 21, 2008, 08:45:10 PM
Might have been worse...I could have been talking to Bush ;)
Post by: ziggysego on December 21, 2008, 10:07:19 PM
Meeting Paddy on Friday ;)

(http://i2.digiguide.com/up/0803/1205272800-214871-Shameless-12047152170.jpg)
Post by: Hardy on December 22, 2008, 01:45:23 AM
The Pecker Dunne wanted to buy me a pint one time but I insisted on buying him one. After all he was after entertaining me and I was after doing nothing useful.

Does that count?
Post by: 5 Sams on January 11, 2009, 10:53:47 PM
Mikey Sheehy in Dingle on New Years Eve....sound as fcuk
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 11, 2009, 11:31:15 PM
I blew it bigtime.... August 2000 a friend got me and her two seats in directors box for Celtic V Rangers. Martin O'Neill's first Old Firm game. The 'doorman' looked very like the great Jimmy Johnston. Anyway Celtic won 6-2 and place was buzzing. As we left I asked a stewart, ' Is that Jimmy Johnston?
He said, 'No-but a lot of people think that.'  A year or two later Jimmy died and news report said he was employed as a 'greeter' at Celtic Park!! It was him surely. Gutted and he was my Dad's hero 1967 and all that. we did get our photo taken with Noel Gallagher and him wearing  a Celtic scarf but really regret I didn't trust my gut feeling.     
Post by: bigfrank on January 11, 2009, 11:35:13 PM
I met the whole chelsea and aston villa teams last year!!Pretty cool :P :PPlus Pugsy off soccer am(sky sports) the same day
Post by: 5 Sams on January 11, 2009, 11:57:21 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on January 11, 2009, 11:31:15 PM
I blew it bigtime.... August 2000 a friend got me and her two seats in directors box for Celtic V Rangers. Martin O'Neill's first Old Firm game. The 'doorman' looked very like the great Jimmy Johnston. Anyway Celtic won 6-2 and place was buzzing. As we left I asked a stewart, ' Is that Jimmy Johnston?
He said, 'No-but a lot of people think that.'  A year or two later Jimmy died and news report said he was employed as a 'greeter' at Celtic Park!! It was him surely. Gutted and he was my Dad's hero 1967 and all that. we did get our photo taken with Noel Gallagher and him wearing  a Celtic scarf but really regret I didn't trust my gut feeling.     

The steward was a bit of a tool if he didnt know Jinky.....
Post by: Son_of_Sam on January 12, 2009, 05:45:05 AM
I have met

Jack Charlton
Enda Kenny
Micheal D. Higgins
Mary Robinson
Shane McGowan
Garret Fitzgearld
Bono
Mich McCarthy
(Lots of Intercounty players, really no need to list on this site or all out lists would be too long)
Brenda Fricker
Eddie Jordan
Micheal Flattley
Desmond Llewelyn (Q in James Bond)
Dr. Karl Kennedy !!!
Libby from Neighbours
Rachel from Neighbours

thats all I can remember at the moment probably missing someone obvious.

Post by: longrunsthefox on January 12, 2009, 10:17:41 AM
He probably did know him 5 Sams and didn't tell me the truth  :(.  Impressed with your Gaeilge on other thread- wish I had same.
Post by: ziggysego on January 12, 2009, 10:31:33 AM
Met Jamie Maguire from Shameless a few weeks ago. Nice bloke. Also met John Daly recently too.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 13, 2009, 12:56:14 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 12, 2009, 10:31:33 AM
Also met John Daly recently too.

The Golfer  ???
Post by: Onion Bag on January 13, 2009, 11:51:16 AM
Met Jamie Maguire from Shameless a few weeks ago. Nice bloke. Also met John Daly recently too.

Was that at the famous Annual 5K run in Greencastle on Boxing day,
Post by: saffron sam2 on January 13, 2009, 12:16:29 PM
Having received a PM asking if I did indeed do tequila slammers with Bill Gates, I would like to point out that I started this thread in direct response to this post from Minder.

Quote from: Minder on June 20, 2008, 02:10:46 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 20, 2008, 02:03:14 PM
Is this yet another thread for people to show how much they have travelled?!

However I never fail to be unimpressed by a visit to Larne!

It seems to be Tony, i am waiting for the monthly thread "most famous person you have met" to be regaled of tales from posters doing tequila slammers with Bill Gates.........

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=8191.msg315412#msg315412 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=8191.msg315412#msg315412)
Post by: illdecide on January 13, 2009, 12:31:29 PM
I met Michael Austin a few months ago in Manchester
Post by: thebigfella on January 13, 2009, 12:50:21 PM

I walked the Brackaville/Coalisland ghost across the road the other day. She didn't say much, not even a thank you  >:(
Post by: Top of the hill on January 13, 2009, 06:35:32 PM
Met Harvey Smith (the showjumper) at a donkey derby in Greencastle years ago. Had his autograph on the back of a fag packet in the house for years but sadly it can no longer be found
Post by: ziggysego on January 13, 2009, 07:36:11 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on January 13, 2009, 11:51:16 AM

Was that at the famous Annual 5K run in Greencastle on Boxing day,

Yep, that's the place. Where you at it? Seen a few running around in Armagh tops.
Post by: the colonel on January 13, 2009, 07:51:17 PM
holly willoughby played in our student union and i picked her up at the airport and dropped her off, she was great craic, really nice, shite dj though.  the view and the zutons all played as well. drugs galore

had a few drinks with frank mc avennie and his bird a couple of yrs ago on paddys day.  charlie and the bhoys were playing. he tried to pay for the first round and and i was having none of it. looked at my walet and i had no cash left (was late in the nite after an all day rip) so i pulled my card out and put it on that and had to get cash back. looked like a w**ker.

Post by: muppet on January 13, 2009, 08:02:10 PM
Quote from: the colonel on January 13, 2009, 07:51:17 PM
holly willoughby played in our student union and i picked her up at the airport and dropped her off, she was great craic, really nice, shite dj though.  the view and the zutons all played as well. drugs galore

had a few drinks with frank mc avennie and his bird a couple of yrs ago on paddys day.  charlie and the bhoys were playing. he tried to pay for the first round and and i was having none of it. looked at my walet and i had no cash left (was late in the nite after an all day rip) so i pulled my card out and put it on that and had to get cash back. looked like a w**ker.

I spoke to God recently and he said he knows George Bush!

Other than that I once met Magpie Seanie, Easytiger, Bordnamonaman and Ig (where'd he go?).
Post by: Square Ball on January 13, 2009, 08:05:46 PM
Sir Matt Busby
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 13, 2009, 08:07:23 PM
Do you boys know what "having a drink" with someone means?
Post by: ONeill on January 13, 2009, 08:16:19 PM
Targets for 2009:

Meet:

Larry Reilly
Brush Sheilds
Libby Kennedy
The man inside Mr Blobby
Anthony Tohill
Post by: muppet on January 13, 2009, 08:22:16 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 13, 2009, 08:16:19 PM
Targets for 2009:

Meet:

Larry Reilly
Brush Sheilds
Libby Kennedy
The man inside Mr Blobby
Anthony Tohill

And who will you be avoiding?

(I think it was Tony Fearon inside Mr Blobby)
Post by: ONeill on January 13, 2009, 08:30:15 PM
Avoid?:

forkinknife
mod3
Jade Goody
Dale Winton
Johnny McBride
The Hole in the Wall Gang
Pat Kenny
Post by: IVEDECIDED on January 13, 2009, 10:46:18 PM
Ive met Joe Lavery, Bernie Farren and I met Cathal Short briefly one day.  :P
Post by: Goats Do Shave on January 14, 2009, 09:18:42 AM
Van Morrison
Jack Charlton
Paddy Crerand
& 'Smokin' Joe Frazier!!!!!!! (& hi son)
Post by: SidelineKick on January 14, 2009, 09:22:55 AM
Quote from: ONeill on January 13, 2009, 08:30:15 PM
Avoid?:

forkinknife
mod3
Jade Goody
Dale Winton
Johnny McBride
Pat Kenny

Why so A'Nail?
Post by: illdecide on January 14, 2009, 02:10:09 PM
Quote from: IVEDECIDED on January 13, 2009, 10:46:18 PM

Well not to sure about Cathal...but Joe & Bernie...f**king legends
Post by: fred the red on July 22, 2009, 05:59:53 PM
Targets for 2009:

Meet:

Larry Reilly
Brush Sheilds
Libby Kennedy
The man inside Mr Blobby
Anthony Tohill

how you getting on with this oneill?
Post by: muppet on July 22, 2009, 06:07:49 PM
Avoid?:

forkinknife
mod3
Jade Goody
Dale Winton
Johnny McBride
Pat Kenny

Only half way through and it hasn't been a good year for a couple of them.
Post by: ONeill on July 22, 2009, 06:23:24 PM
Quote from: fred the red on July 22, 2009, 05:59:53 PM
Targets for 2009:

Meet:

Larry Reilly
Brush Sheilds
Libby Kennedy
The man inside Mr Blobby
Anthony Tohill

how you getting on with this oneill?

No luck with 1-4. Met Anthony's sister Jane, a real fox.

Quote from: muppet on July 22, 2009, 06:07:49 PM
Avoid?:

forkinknife
mod3
Jade Goody
Dale Winton
Johnny McBride
Pat Kenny

Only half way through and it hasn't been a good year for a couple of them.

Jaysus, beware my list in 2010.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 22, 2009, 07:28:25 PM

Just saw this!!  :D :D
Post by: dillinger on July 22, 2009, 09:18:31 PM
Met Clive Dunn of Dads Army fame, also Bob Cariges but not spit the dog. Maybe shoulnt admit this one-- Chris de Burgh :D
Post by: irunthev on July 22, 2009, 09:56:05 PM
Played football with Zinzan Brooke

Had dinner with Louis Walsh, Ronnie Delaney and Barry McGuigan

Met Gloria Hunniford, Jerry Hall, Bill Wyman, Dara O'Brian and Andrea Corr.

Was at a party recently with Thelma Barlow (Mavis from Coronation St) and Helen Worth (from Coronation St) as well as Nicholas Owen the ITN newsreader.

Friends have just bought the house next door to Rafa Nadal's mum and dad in Mallorca so hopefully will get to meet him in the near future.
Post by: DennistheMenace on July 22, 2009, 11:01:42 PM
One of the twins from Fun House, dirty little minx.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 22, 2009, 11:09:19 PM
Quote from: irunthev on July 22, 2009, 09:56:05 PM

Was at a party recently with Thelma Barlow (Mavis from Coronation St) and Helen Worth (from Coronation St) as well as Nicholas Owen the ITN newsreader.

Friends have just bought the house next door to Rafa Nadal's mum and dad in Mallorca so hopefully will get to meet him in the near future.
Jesus!
Post by: fitzroyalty on July 22, 2009, 11:12:13 PM
Quote from: illdecide on January 14, 2009, 02:10:09 PM

Well not to sure about Cathal...but Joe & Bernie...f**king legends
bernie the bullet  :D
Post by: BobKelso on July 22, 2009, 11:17:31 PM
i met brian o'driscoll yesterday
Post by: Aerlik on July 23, 2009, 06:49:58 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 22, 2009, 11:09:19 PM
Quote from: irunthev on July 22, 2009, 09:56:05 PM

Jesus!

Eh?  You met Jesus?  Aaaah now come on, you're taking the piss.  What does Irunthev do?  Taxi driver?
Post by: Lazer on July 23, 2009, 10:22:00 AM
James Nesbitt a few time

Stuart Parker from Neighbours

Ashley Peacock from Coronation St

Dave Fanning
Post by: flog the lot on July 23, 2009, 10:44:20 AM
glen hoddle and  jimmey white
Post by: illdecide on July 23, 2009, 11:05:55 AM
I met Elvis and had luch with him
Post by: full back on July 23, 2009, 11:06:36 AM
Looks like you and him had the same lunch for a few years ;)
Post by: illdecide on July 23, 2009, 11:08:19 AM
Quote from: full back on July 23, 2009, 11:06:36 AM

:D :D :D Don't be jealous cause me and the King where buddies...
Post by: Santino on July 23, 2009, 11:12:53 AM
Was bought a beer by Ric Flair few months ago!
Post by: Orior on August 06, 2009, 04:39:33 PM
I once met Holden Caulfield - he was skipping along the sidewalk in downtown New York.
Post by: 5 Sams on August 06, 2009, 04:45:09 PM
The winner of the Galway Plate shit on the floor of our club......so did the horse :P (Joke Cathal ;))
Post by: Orior on August 06, 2009, 05:19:33 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on August 06, 2009, 04:45:09 PM
The winner of the Galway Plate shit on the floor of our club......so did the horse :P (Joke Cathal ;))

Is it pronounced Bally-Ho-Land or Bally-Holl-and? The newcasters seem to prefer the latter, but I always called it the former.
Post by: Mr. Nakata on August 06, 2009, 09:36:05 PM
Sean Kelly, the Irish cycling legend at Luton airport, 1989. I was star struck. This man was at his peak and cycling was very popular in Ireland at the time. He was getting stuck into some grub when I asked him for his smudge. He obliged, though he looked completely knackered.
Post by: MasterShake on August 06, 2009, 11:11:15 PM
Bill Clinton, Bono, Matt Dillon, and the oul fella who played 'Bing' in Brookside  8)
Post by: Nailed On on August 07, 2009, 12:04:13 AM
Quote from: illdecide on July 23, 2009, 11:08:19 AM
Quote from: full back on July 23, 2009, 11:06:36 AM

:D :D :D Don't be jealous cause me and the King where buddies...

Assume you are talking about Billy 'Elvis' Quinn, in which case I beat you as he is my uncle.

Thank you very much.
Post by: 5 Sams on September 06, 2009, 06:51:08 PM
Quote from: Orior on August 06, 2009, 05:19:33 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on August 06, 2009, 04:45:09 PM

Is it pronounced Bally-Ho-Land or Bally-Holl-and? The newcasters seem to prefer the latter, but I always called it the former.

You have it right Orior....you can understand the media pronouncing it Holland as in the country....but it is defo Ho-land as in a hooker in America ;)
Post by: Ulster Exile on September 06, 2009, 07:58:09 PM
Barack Obama.
Post by: ross4life on September 06, 2009, 08:26:07 PM
I MET Bill Gates, The Queen of England, Warren Buffet, Richard Branson, Paul MacCartney, The pope and Michael Jackson now beat that  :P
Post by: leenie on September 06, 2009, 08:30:51 PM
johnaton rhys myers..
des bishop
pete doherty
john spillane
michael martin
enda kenny
the good lucking one from the full monty
munster rugby team
prime minister of Canadian

thats what i can remember but i know theres more
Post by: ross4life on September 06, 2009, 09:19:10 PM
i drank with Stone cold Steve Austin in New York, Drank with Bret Harts Kids Dallas, Jade in chicago (not famous but what a night) & Mick Foley almost came to scores nightclub in Chicago with us, was sitting beside Ken Doherty on a flight to Malta

but for me meeting Jimmy Murray perhaps the greatest All ireland winning Capitan is 2nd to none  ;D
Post by: ziggysego on September 06, 2009, 11:29:08 PM
I'm going for a drink with Kevin Smith (Clerks, Dogma) next month in Dublin.
Post by: longrunsthefox on September 06, 2009, 11:31:04 PM
Quote from: ross4life on September 06, 2009, 08:26:07 PM
I MET Bill Gates, The Queen of England, Warren Buffet, Richard Branson, Paul MacCartney, The pope and Michael Jackson now beat that  :P

Are you Mary McAleese  ???
Post by: muppet on September 06, 2009, 11:53:35 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on September 06, 2009, 11:31:04 PM
Quote from: ross4life on September 06, 2009, 08:26:07 PM

Are you Mary McAleese  ???

He's Phil Spector.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 06, 2009, 11:55:01 PM
Erskine Childers in his Presidental campaign in 1974 as a gossun. Shook his hand when his bus stopped in the local town.
Post by: waitingforsam on September 09, 2009, 06:21:00 PM
Bill Clinton
Gordon Brown & Brian Cowan on Cowans 1st day in office
The Queen of England
All of U2, Coldplay, snow patrol, girls aloud, west life
martin O Neill, Neil lennon, giggs & keane, Lionel richie
Spannish, english, german & swedish national teams
Post by: muppet on September 09, 2009, 06:34:04 PM
BB Baskin

Terry Wogan's toupee manufacturer
Post by: Galwaybhoy on September 09, 2009, 06:34:48 PM
Alan Thompson.  Got his autograph too.  :)

Thats about it...
Post by: ardmhachaabu on September 09, 2009, 06:49:49 PM
Seamus Heaney
Post by: tyrone86 on September 09, 2009, 06:51:37 PM
O'Neill's sexy dentist
Post by: botman on September 10, 2009, 02:00:01 PM
I have met O'neill and Ziggy.

Now how cool is that. I was standing talking to both of them (not at the same time) and they didn't even know who I was.

Post by: muppet on September 10, 2009, 02:41:04 PM
Quote from: botman on September 10, 2009, 02:00:01 PM

Now how cool is that. I was standing talking to both of them (not at the same time) and they didn't even know who I was.

Are you a bottle of Buckfast?
Post by: Hardy on September 10, 2009, 03:04:20 PM

Who were you?
Post by: botman on September 10, 2009, 03:11:52 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 10, 2009, 03:04:20 PM

Who were you?

Batman's brother
Post by: lilpaulie85 on September 10, 2009, 03:29:03 PM
Ronnie O sullivan
Paul Mcgrath
Kevin Moran
Ian Brown (Stone Roses)
Chris Sutton
Henrik Larrson
Post by: redhugh on September 10, 2009, 04:45:22 PM
Catherine Zeta Jone
Terry Wogan
Shane McGowan
Bono
Mike Tyson
Larry mullen jnr
Jeremy Carkson
Kenny Daglish - the legend
John Aldridge
Ian Rush
Tiger Woods
Will Smith
Jayzee
50 cent
Matt Damon
Bill Murray
Tim Robbins
Bertie
Brian Cowen
Colin Farrell
The Corrs
Robbie Williams - tosspot.
Heather Graham - what a minter!
Post by: Orior on September 10, 2009, 05:00:41 PM
Quote from: redhugh on September 10, 2009, 04:45:22 PM
Catherine Zeta Jone
Terry Wogan
Shane McGowan
Bono
Mike Tyson
Larry mullen jnr
Jeremy Carkson
John Aldridge
Ian Rush
Tiger Woods
Will Smith
Jayzee
50 cent
Matt Damon
Bill Murray
Tim Robbins
Bertie
Brian Cowen
Colin Farrell
The Corrs

And what did Robbie think of you?
Post by: redhugh on September 10, 2009, 05:07:34 PM
Quote from: Orior on September 10, 2009, 05:00:41 PM
Catherine Zeta Jone
Terry Wogan
Shane McGowan
Bono
Mike Tyson
Larry mullen jnr
Jeremy Carkson
John Aldridge
Ian Rush
Tiger Woods
Will Smith
Jayzee
50 cent
Matt Damon
Bill Murray
Tim Robbins
Bertie
Brian Cowen
Colin Farrell
The Corrs

And what did Robbie think of you?

Dunno , don't care. He was a rude little p***k who was nothing but smart arsed to his hosts who had gone to a great deal of trouble to make sure that he was being looked after...manners are easily carried.
Post by: Doogie Browser on September 10, 2009, 05:12:39 PM
Catherine Zeta Jone
Terry Wogan
Shane McGowan
Bono
Mike Tyson
Larry mullen jnr
Jeremy Carkson
John Aldridge
Ian Rush
Tiger Woods
Will Smith
Jayzee
50 cent
Matt Damon
Bill Murray
Tim Robbins
Bertie
Brian Cowen
Colin Farrell
The Corrs
Ryan Tubridy is a board member now!
Post by: AbbeySider on September 10, 2009, 05:17:06 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on September 10, 2009, 05:12:39 PM
Catherine Zeta Jone
Terry Wogan
Shane McGowan
Bono
Mike Tyson
Larry mullen jnr
Jeremy Carkson
John Aldridge
Ian Rush
Tiger Woods
Will Smith
Jayzee
50 cent
Matt Damon
Bill Murray
Tim Robbins
Bertie
Brian Cowen
Colin Farrell
The Corrs
Ryan Tubridy is a board member now!

Seriously...

What do you guys work at when you not showing off?  :P
Especially you redhugh ;)
Post by: redhugh on September 10, 2009, 05:22:36 PM
Met all these and more working in hospitality.I've worked in a right few places the last 22 years and have lived in the states,(Boston,NY,Miami) you just meet people at after hour rips and the likes.
Post by: Lecale2 on September 10, 2009, 05:51:29 PM
Quote from: redhugh on September 10, 2009, 05:22:36 PM
Met all these and more working in hospitality.I've worked in a right few places the last 22 years and have lived in the states,(Boston,NY,Miami) you just meet people at after hour rips and the likes.

You're a waiter?
Post by: ziggysego on September 10, 2009, 07:15:49 PM

Mmmh, when? Who are you?
Post by: rosnarun on September 10, 2009, 11:50:15 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on September 10, 2009, 05:51:29 PM

You're a waiter?

not sure cleaning up someones sick ,intimate though as it is , counts as meeting
Post by: Capt Pat on September 11, 2009, 12:47:25 AM
Catherine Zeta Jone
Terry Wogan
Shane McGowan
Bono
Mike Tyson
Larry mullen jnr
Jeremy Carkson
John Aldridge
Ian Rush
Tiger Woods
Will Smith
Jayzee
50 cent
Matt Damon
Bill Murray
Tim Robbins
Bertie
Brian Cowen
Colin Farrell
The Corrs

Ok, what is a minter that one could go either way, I think she is hot anyway.
Post by: redhugh on September 11, 2009, 08:52:20 AM

You're a waiter?

No. Not a waiter.........although I was a waiter as well as most other jobs in that trade coming up through the ranks. I was in the States working as ops director for a small hotel group.
Post by: redhugh on September 11, 2009, 08:54:54 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on September 10, 2009, 11:50:15 PM

You're a waiter?

If you think that's what a waiter does you need to get out and about a bit more !

not sure cleaning up someones sick ,intimate though as it is , counts as meeting
Post by: redhugh on September 11, 2009, 08:56:44 AM
Quote from: Capt Pat on September 11, 2009, 12:47:25 AM
Catherine Zeta Jone
Terry Wogan
Shane McGowan
Bono
Mike Tyson
Larry mullen jnr
Jeremy Carkson
John Aldridge
Ian Rush
Tiger Woods
Will Smith
Jayzee
50 cent
Matt Damon
Bill Murray
Tim Robbins
Bertie
Brian Cowen
Colin Farrell
The Corrs

Ok, what is a minter that one could go either way, I think she is hot anyway.

A minter is a woman in mint condition.......and she is certainly in mint condition ;D
Post by: botman on September 11, 2009, 09:03:59 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 10, 2009, 07:15:49 PM

Mmmh, when? Who are you?

I was talking to you not so long ago.  ;)

The mystery..........  ???
Post by: ziggysego on September 11, 2009, 12:23:03 PM
Another stalker :(
Post by: AbbeySider on February 01, 2010, 12:15:59 PM
I met Evangeline Lilly (Kate from Lost) about a month ago on Grouse Mountain in Vancouver while doing a bit of Skiing.
She is sound and even very, very good looking in real life (even with ridiculously freckley skin).
Post by: longrunsthefox on February 01, 2010, 03:38:55 PM
Not the most famous I ever met but chatted to John Lynch the ator a few times., A friend of  a friend. He played Paul Hill in "In the Name of the Father' and Gerry Adams in that show about Mo Mowlan last night. Seems  a very sound fellow.   
Post by: stew on February 01, 2010, 05:18:56 PM
Ironically enough....................................... Brett Favre. :)

Post by: muppet on February 01, 2010, 05:32:53 PM
Quote from: stew on February 01, 2010, 05:18:56 PM

He says that was the worst experience of his life.  ;D
Post by: stew on February 01, 2010, 06:32:46 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 01, 2010, 05:32:53 PM

I met him at a golf outing, his team finished second and the team I was on won it. He is a tremendous golfer, hits the ball a country mile.

It cost a hundred dollars a player to get into this outing, it includes an electric cart and all the food and drink you can handle, we have won it three out of the last five years and we walk away with about five hundred dollars worth of prizes each, not a bad days work.  ;D
Post by: theskull1 on February 01, 2010, 07:00:09 PM
Quote from: stew on February 01, 2010, 06:32:46 PM

I met him at a golf outing, his team finished second and the team I was on won it. He is a tremendous golfer, hits the ball a country mile.

It cost a hundred dollars a player to get into this outing, it includes an electric cart and all the food and drink you can handle, we have won it three out of the last five years and we walk away with about five hundred dollars worth of prizes each, not a bad days work.  ;D

Blowing smoke up your own ass there stew  :)
Post by: stew on February 01, 2010, 07:07:45 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on February 01, 2010, 07:00:09 PM
Quote from: stew on February 01, 2010, 06:32:46 PM

Blowing smoke up your own ass there stew  :)

No I am not, I play in the  tournament with three lads who are absolute studs at golf, two of them own a course and one of them plays equally well left handed or right handed. I have never played with players that are better than these lads and that is why we win it every year.

I have never, ever professed to be great at golf, but I do play the odd tournament to win it, in the case of the outing I was talking about, i used to work for the crowd that run it and I like winning it which is why I play in it ever year.

By the way, one year I was away and couldnt make it, i had a mate of mine stand in, Irish Bob, a 68 year old leftie, they still won the fecking thing.
Post by: Gaffer on February 01, 2010, 07:35:38 PM
Fair play to you, Stew. Would love to be part of that myself.
Post by: Louth Exile on February 01, 2010, 07:38:19 PM
I had a chat with an Irish Oscar winner after a small gig that he played on Friday night.
Post by: takeyourownpath on February 01, 2010, 07:42:33 PM
i once bumped into john aldridge in JL Airport, and hilary duff and her then boyfriend, thon one from good charlotte in chicargo airport

AND gerry adams is my uncles, uncle in law, so i met him at the weddin
Post by: Puckoon on February 01, 2010, 07:45:03 PM
Quote from: takeyourownpath on February 01, 2010, 07:42:33 PM
i once bumped into john aldridge in JL Airport, and hilary duff and her then boyfriend, thon one from good charlotte in chicargo airport

Was Liam there?
Post by: takeyourownpath on February 01, 2010, 07:55:04 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 01, 2010, 07:45:03 PM

Was Liam there?

naaa! i'd say he's a bit of a black sheep around them!
Post by: Puckoon on February 01, 2010, 07:55:30 PM
I find that very e strange.
Post by: Gaffer on February 01, 2010, 08:02:53 PM

Eh? My uncle's uncle -in-law? WTF
Post by: takeyourownpath on February 01, 2010, 08:03:48 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 01, 2010, 07:55:30 PM
I find that very e strange.

was that supposed to be a bad pun? :D

Quote from: Gaffer on February 01, 2010, 08:02:53 PM

Eh? My uncle's uncle -in-law? WTF

yea, my uncles wifes uncle, what wasn't to get there?!
Post by: Denn Forever on February 01, 2010, 09:16:25 PM
Bono and The Edge at their studio near Pearse Street.

Post by: ziggysego on February 01, 2010, 09:23:55 PM
I met Kevin Smith and his wife in Dublin last October. Spent 20 minutes with them backstage after his live show. Great night ;D
Post by: heganboy on February 01, 2010, 09:32:31 PM
ziggy you have met more famous people than Kevin Smith, the fact that he's your all time favourite person in the world ever skews your judgement
Post by: ziggysego on February 01, 2010, 09:33:41 PM
Quote from: heganboy on February 01, 2010, 09:32:31 PM
ziggy you have met more famous people than Kevin Smith, the fact that he's your all time favourite person in the world ever skews your judgement

Kevin's cool :)
Post by: the Deel Rover on February 01, 2010, 09:34:19 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on February 01, 2010, 09:16:25 PM

i'm pretty sure they used to drink in the dockers pub which is around that area and that i bumped in to bono one night . i had a fair few pints on board that night so not sure if it was reality or a dream
Post by: EagleLord on February 01, 2010, 11:21:10 PM
Archie from hollyoaks.. :-\
Post by: The Gs Man on February 01, 2010, 11:36:01 PM
Standing in Charles De Gaulle Airport today and there must have been 40 TV cameras and lots of French people waving the tricolor.  Me being a nosey Irish bastard went over for a wee look only to be greeted by the arrival of the French Handball team, recently crowned European Champions.  My shouts for Thierry Henry did not go unnoticed and should hopefully have made Canal+ and/or Eurosport tonight...
Post by: Capt Pat on February 02, 2010, 12:01:46 AM
Hilary Duff and Good Charlotte, I really wouldn't have a clue let alone "thon one" from good Charlotte. I must be getting old.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 02, 2010, 12:13:24 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on February 01, 2010, 09:34:19 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on February 01, 2010, 09:16:25 PM

i'm pretty sure they used to drink in the dockers pub which is around that area and that i bumped in to bono one night . i had a fair few pints on board that night so not sure if it was reality or a dream

Not any more DR, was (sadly) knocked down a few years ago to make way for an O2 building. More recent than that, it would likely have been the Ferryman, a bit futher down the quays.
Post by: illdecide on February 02, 2010, 12:22:12 AM
Joe Lavery
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 02, 2010, 12:24:21 AM
Francie Quinn of Mid FM fame in Tyrone.
Post by: stew on February 02, 2010, 12:30:02 AM
I met Harrington at the PGA a few years ago when it was held in Sheboygan, Wisconsin, I was with my boss and as he was walking by I said ' up the Dubs', he turned around and said, ah we were beaten today, I think it was Kerry that had beaten them, he asked me were I was from and I told him and I wished him well, the boss thought that was cool as feck and we had a blast the rest of the day.

Apart from Harrington and Favre, I have not meant a lot of famous people really.
Post by: Treasurer on February 02, 2010, 12:03:42 PM
Bono I guess.
Post by: theoriginalmup on February 02, 2010, 03:07:28 PM
David O'Hara ..Stephen the mad irishman in Braveheart and Fitzy in The Departed.....Spent a day with him on the beer in Boston..Hes a mad scotsman
Post by: J OGorman on February 02, 2010, 03:20:55 PM
was friendly with Kevin Dillon when i lived in NY. Apart from him, Paul Linehan, God and Bertie!
Post by: muppet on February 02, 2010, 11:34:21 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on February 01, 2010, 11:36:01 PM
Standing in Charles De Gaulle Airport today and there must have been 40 TV cameras and lots of French people waving the tricolor.  Me being a nosey Irish b**tard went over for a wee look only to be greeted by the arrival of the French Handball team, recently crowned European Champions.  My shouts for Thierry Henry did not go unnoticed and should hopefully have made Canal+ and/or Eurosport tonight...

(http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:T_i7_jA5oZhkpM:http://nolandgrab.org/images/NotRatnerExcellent.jpg)
Post by: High Wide and Handsome on February 03, 2010, 08:59:03 AM
Jesus. He was good craic!
Post by: Rav67 on February 03, 2010, 01:17:09 PM
Quote from: High Wide and Handsome on February 03, 2010, 08:59:03 AM
Jesus. He was good craic!

What about Sean St Ledger!
Post by: ballinaman on February 03, 2010, 01:19:04 PM
Dustin...taller than i expected him to be.
Post by: ziggysego on February 03, 2010, 01:19:35 PM
I guess the MOST famous person I met was Bill Clinton when he was US President. Well I say met, he waved at me from his car as it stopped. I was outside in my boxers in Derry. Awkward moment.
Post by: glens abu on February 03, 2010, 02:32:50 PM
Bobby Sands
Post by: EagleLord on February 03, 2010, 02:42:46 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 03, 2010, 01:19:35 PM
I guess the MOST famous person I met was Bill Clinton when he was US President. Well I say met, he waved at me from his car as it stopped. I was outside in my boxers in Derry. Awkward moment.

Was he dressed the same way?
Post by: Club Rossa on February 03, 2010, 06:17:01 PM
 I suppose the most famous people i have met would be Arnold Palmer and Gary Player.
Post by: ziggysego on May 16, 2010, 10:21:08 PM
I met Eamon Mallie yesterday. Give off to him for mocking me on Twitter  :'(

Nice man though :)
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 16, 2010, 10:30:54 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 16, 2010, 10:21:08 PM
I met Eamon Mallie yesterday. Give off to him for mocking me on Twitter  :'(

Nice man though :)
He's not famous....
Post by: muppet on May 16, 2010, 10:42:59 PM
I was walking behind Iggy Pop and some chick one day.

Iggy was wearing a shiny suit, one shoe with a raised heel and one sock on the same foot as the shoe. The other foot had no sock or shoe. He walked as you would expect with one high heel. No obvious reason either.
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 16, 2010, 10:44:04 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 16, 2010, 10:42:59 PM
I was walking behind Iggy Pop and some chick one day.

Iggy was wearing a shiny suit, one shoe with a raised heel and one sock on the same foot as the shoe. The other foot had no sock or shoe. He walked as you would expect with one high heel. No obvious reason either.
Oh please muppet, that's the style now, get with it!
Post by: Hardy on May 17, 2010, 10:08:05 AM
Quote from: muppet on May 16, 2010, 10:42:59 PMHe walked as you would expect with one high heel.

Iggy Hop.
Post by: muppet on May 17, 2010, 10:53:29 AM
Quote from: Hardy on May 17, 2010, 10:08:05 AM
Quote from: muppet on May 16, 2010, 10:42:59 PMHe walked as you would expect with one high heel.

Iggy Hop.

Limp for life.
Post by: anglocelt39 on May 17, 2010, 11:09:33 AM
Quote from: muppet on May 17, 2010, 10:53:29 AM

Iggy Hop.

Limp for life.

Viagra should help
Post by: Olly on May 17, 2010, 11:44:50 AM
I met Colin Farrell last weekend. We were staying at the same hotel. He was on his own and I went over to him for a bit of his craic. He was obliging and bend over backwards when he didn't need to. We cracked right into the night and the drink was flowing. I mustve had at least 2 full bottles of Rose wine and he was drinks Corona. I ended up heading back to his room for more crack and it was very funny. There were two other lads and they were up for it too. I had a seriously sore head in the morning.

I'll never forget the last thing he said to me though when I left his room with one of the other lads. "Oliver, never forget what I told you last night." and he winked me. I smiled out of embarrassment but hadnt a notion. I've been wrecking my brains ever since and the only thing I can remember him saying was that he loved a bit of ham.
Post by: Capt Pat on May 17, 2010, 11:57:26 AM
Olly that story sound great but just a little bit too gay at the same time.

Post by: muppet on May 17, 2010, 03:16:52 PM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on May 17, 2010, 11:09:33 AM
Quote from: muppet on May 17, 2010, 10:53:29 AM

Iggy Hop.

Limp for life.

Viagra should help

Great name for a song that.

Maybe Linda Martin could sing in it next year's Eurovision?
Post by: maggie on May 17, 2010, 03:24:22 PM
Quote from: Olly on May 17, 2010, 11:44:50 AM
I met Colin Farrell last weekend. We were staying at the same hotel. He was on his own and I went over to him for a bit of his craic. He was obliging and bend over backwards when he didn't need to. We cracked right into the night and the drink was flowing. I mustve had at least 2 full bottles of Rose wine and he was drinks Corona. I ended up heading back to his room for more crack and it was very funny. There were two other lads and they were up for it too. I had a seriously sore head in the morning.

I'll never forget the last thing he said to me though when I left his room with one of the other lads. "Oliver, never forget what I told you last night." and he winked me. I smiled out of embarrassment but hadnt a notion. I've been wrecking my brains ever since and the only thing I can remember him saying was that he loved a bit of ham.

I thought he didn't drink (or do crack) anymore.

Post by: muppet on May 17, 2010, 03:26:38 PM
Quote from: maggie on May 17, 2010, 03:24:22 PM
Quote from: Olly on May 17, 2010, 11:44:50 AM

I thought he didn't drink (or do crack) anymore.

He drinks Tequila......

How's your Spanish Maggie?
Post by: maggie on May 17, 2010, 03:58:08 PM
Es muy bueno Muppet  ;).
Post by: The Blegard on May 17, 2010, 04:29:15 PM
Met (and had a good drink with) the treacherous traitor Eoin Morgan when he was stuck here due to the first ash cloud. Turns out he is not a traitor but a dead on sound normal bloke who just wants to play the highest class cricket he can. He is having a very good time as well.... The way his star is rising he could end up being my most famous encounter
Post by: Olly on May 18, 2010, 09:03:54 AM
I'm sorry. It wasn't colin Farrell. It was the other actor out of In Bruges.
Post by: maggie on May 18, 2010, 10:39:22 AM
Quote from: Olly on May 18, 2010, 09:03:54 AM

Easy mistake to make.
They look so alike ::)
Post by: thebigfella on May 18, 2010, 10:42:25 AM
Quote from: maggie on May 18, 2010, 10:39:22 AM
Quote from: Olly on May 18, 2010, 09:03:54 AM

Easy mistake to make.
They look so alike ::)

Yeah there is a good 2 foot height difference too.
Post by: under the bar on May 18, 2010, 11:12:02 AM
I met the pope in Phoenix Park in 1979.  Passed within 15 feet of me an waved in my direction.  Does that count?

Other than that I've met Prince Charles - as in spoken to in Belfast.  Met him in on Hill Street a year ago.   He commented on the delightful architecture and cobbled streets.

Also met Bill Clinton in Ballygawley.  Was having my dinner in Askins and he dandered in didnt shake hands but he gave an big wave an "Howeryall".    Asked if they had any Irish Stew on and they said they didn't but would make it up for him.  He said thanks but didnt have time so had soup and a roll!
The Errigal women were throwing themselves at him (no change there!)

Post by: ross4life on May 18, 2010, 05:36:38 PM
Couple of weeks ago on a flight from Phoenix to San Francisco i happened to be sitting because former actress Jo Morrow, she talked about her great desire to visit Ireland one day & the great friendship she has with Maureen O Hara

one of the nicest people I have had the pleasure to meet
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 08, 2011, 11:44:31 AM
Load of big shot soccer boys over from England doing their coaching badges at the Dub today.
Post by: Massey-135 on June 08, 2011, 12:31:22 PM
I once met Henry Winkler, aka The Fonz, at work
Post by: DoireGael on June 08, 2011, 02:47:38 PM
Barack Obama - During an internship, when he ran for Senator in Illinois.

Warren Buffet - Shoke hands on a trade floor.

And the creme dela creme, I'm facebook friends with Barry Mc Elduff

Not bad for a country fella from North Derry  ;)
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 08, 2011, 02:51:08 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on June 08, 2011, 11:44:31 AM
Load of big shot soccer boys over from England doing their coaching badges at the Dub today.
Any of these big shots have a name and did you meet them?
Post by: shawshank on June 08, 2011, 03:05:24 PM
I met Princess Diana
Post by: thebigfella on June 08, 2011, 03:08:15 PM
Had an invitation to the party put on for the "British" Queen in Dublin. I'd have went if i'd known Iris was gonna be at it, might even have tried to nail her  ;)
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 08, 2011, 03:08:56 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 08, 2011, 02:51:08 PM

Only heard Given and Kilbane - some of our boys are away over to be trained by them.

Not going to bother heading over myself - far too busy. Beside none will top Mr Gates.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 08, 2011, 03:12:03 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on June 08, 2011, 03:08:56 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 08, 2011, 02:51:08 PM

Only heard Given and Kilbane - some of our boys are away over to be trained by them.

Not going to bother heading over myself - far too busy. Beside none will top Mr Gates.
He hasn't touched tequila since.
Post by: muppet on June 08, 2011, 03:55:13 PM
Croí na hEireann.... twice!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 08, 2011, 05:15:19 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 08, 2011, 03:55:13 PM
Croí na hEireann.... twice!

:D Don't forget your camera the next time...
Post by: Puckoon on June 08, 2011, 05:54:35 PM
I had the pleasure of meeting a man called Bikram Choudhury last week. The "inventor" of Bikram yoga, the guy is every bit as crazy as they say - but he's obviously doing something right.

A yoga guru brought to the USA on the invitation of President Nixon to save his leg he's been here ever since. A catacylsmic ride from the back streets of Calcutta to being one of the wealthiest and most famous people in LA.  Not without his controversies however. Claims to sleep maybe 2 hours every 3 days, and eats one meal a day. No wonder he's rich - it costs $18 to take one of his classes in any of his franchised studios the world over.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bikram_Choudhury (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bikram_Choudhury)

http://www.bikramyoga.com/BikramYoga/about_bikram_yoga.php (http://www.bikramyoga.com/BikramYoga/about_bikram_yoga.php)
Post by: ziggysego on June 08, 2011, 06:16:58 PM
I seem to piss off any celebrities I come to meet.
Post by: ross4life on June 08, 2011, 07:47:55 PM
Met Julian Glover a few weeks ago (the guy that chose the wrong cup to drink from in Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade) sound guy.
Post by: Bogball XV on June 08, 2011, 10:16:46 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on June 08, 2011, 05:54:35 PM
eats one meal a day. No wonder he's rich
so it's all the money he saves on eating?
Post by: Big Puff on June 08, 2011, 10:25:18 PM
met ONL at the weekend in the bookies eating a fry!!

Post by: illdecide on June 08, 2011, 10:28:42 PM
Quote from: Big Puff on June 08, 2011, 10:25:18 PM

Thats a common enough sight around the town ;) not to mention a Cafolla's Ice cream afterwards
Post by: Puckoon on June 08, 2011, 10:30:27 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 08, 2011, 10:16:46 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on June 08, 2011, 05:54:35 PM
eats one meal a day. No wonder he's rich
so it's all the money he saves on eating?

Credit. 7/10.  :)
Post by: fitzroyalty on June 08, 2011, 10:31:09 PM
Quote from: illdecide on June 08, 2011, 10:28:42 PM

Thats a common enough sight around the town ;) not to mention a Cafolla's Ice cream afterwards
Or three Magners on a Saturday night!
Post by: Minder on June 08, 2011, 10:31:40 PM
Met Milltown Row at the Abbey Centre a few weeks ago, he seemed to be sober.
Post by: illdecide on June 08, 2011, 10:33:18 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on June 08, 2011, 10:31:09 PM

Or three Magners on a Saturday night!

Who sponsor's him the 3 bottles?
Post by: Big Puff on June 08, 2011, 10:50:47 PM

he told me cafollas ice cream was clean bad!
Post by: Minder on June 17, 2011, 10:56:06 PM
Not exactly "met" but I saw Big Rogie getting his feet ate by the those wee fish in Bow Street Mall in Lisburn today.
Post by: sammymaguire on June 17, 2011, 10:57:52 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 17, 2011, 10:56:06 PM
Not exactly "met" but I saw Big Rogie getting his feet ate by the those wee fish in Bow Street Mall in Lisburn today.

Who is that famous person? Seriously.
Post by: Minder on June 17, 2011, 11:02:40 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on June 17, 2011, 10:57:52 PM

(http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQowJNfA26FSe8zUsZefDK3sCRI9v2jKzL3HY_SSzbqhf6Knf3EjA)
Post by: sammymaguire on June 17, 2011, 11:10:42 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 17, 2011, 11:02:40 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on June 17, 2011, 10:57:52 PM

(http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQowJNfA26FSe8zUsZefDK3sCRI9v2jKzL3HY_SSzbqhf6Knf3EjA)

Now I would have known him if he'd have hit me a smack in the chops
Post by: Eamonnca1 on June 17, 2011, 11:15:41 PM
Gavin Newsom when he was Mayor of San Francisco. (Now he's Lieutenant Governor of California.) I'd mention the current one and previous two GAA presidents but I suspect Newsom would be known to more people.
Post by: ONeill on June 18, 2011, 10:15:20 AM
Saw big Rogan last week in Glenavy. He was leaning over, talking to women in cars. Money was exchanged. Looked odd in make-up.
Post by: 5 Sams on June 16, 2012, 09:30:03 PM
Maurice Fitzgerald parked in front of me on the main street in Cahirsiveen and we both got out at the same time and said hello..totally shit myself...mumbled something like "How's it goin?"
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 16, 2012, 09:31:47 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on June 16, 2012, 09:30:03 PM
Maurice Fitzgerald parked in front of me on the main street in Cahirsiveen and we both got out at the same time and said hello..totally shit myself...mumbled something like "How's it goin?"
;D Play it nice and cool Trig, nice and cool...
Post by: 5 Sams on June 16, 2012, 09:36:56 PM
 ;D ;D ;D Smart fcuker...
Post by: 5 Sams on August 28, 2014, 08:26:27 PM
Met Henry Shefflin through work......pure gent.
Post by: heffo on August 28, 2014, 09:03:29 PM
Imelda May asked me to switch seats in business class on a flight recently. Told her no. We didn't really get to know one another afterwards
Post by: muppet on August 28, 2014, 09:05:35 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 28, 2014, 09:03:29 PM
Imelda May asked me to switch seats in business class on a flight recently. Told her no. We didn't really get to know one another afterwards

Al Bundy.
Post by: 5 Sams on August 28, 2014, 09:32:28 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 28, 2014, 09:05:35 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 28, 2014, 09:03:29 PM

Al Bundy.

Legend!
Post by: From the Bunker on August 28, 2014, 09:33:46 PM
Hillary Clinton on a Senate election walk in New York. Alan McManus (who? Snooker player) on the Street in Glasgow. The Edge filling Petrol into his Car in Dublin.
Post by: whitey on August 28, 2014, 09:37:02 PM
Borris Becker at a hotel bar on Miami. Had a beer with Marcus Latrell-Lone Survivor-at a conference where he was the guest speaker. Got my picture taken with Enda Kenny last year. Used to meet The leader of the Seanad all the time when he and his wife owned a chipper in Castlebar
Post by: From the Bunker on August 28, 2014, 09:52:57 PM
Quote from: whitey on August 28, 2014, 09:37:02 PM
Borris Becker at a hotel bar on Miami. Had a beer with Marcus Latrell-Lone Survivor-at a conference where he was the guest speaker. Got my picture taken with Enda Kenny last year. Used to meet The leader of the Seanad all the time when he and his wife owned a chipper in Castlebar

Chipadora (the name of the chipper!)
Post by: give her dixie on August 28, 2014, 10:05:28 PM

You're lucky you didn't meet Borris in the broom cupboard Whitey    ;)
Post by: whitey on August 28, 2014, 10:07:24 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 28, 2014, 09:52:57 PM

Chipadora (the name of the chipper!)

Aka Paddy Poisons
Post by: BennyCake on August 28, 2014, 10:10:48 PM
Pat Jennings.
Eddie Izzard.
Post by: ziggy90 on August 29, 2014, 06:21:49 AM
Barry Fry.
Steve Claridge.
Post by: general on August 29, 2014, 08:47:17 AM
John Hartson, loves the craic, pure gent
Post by: ballinaman on August 29, 2014, 08:57:21 AM
Once took a dump in the stall next to Harvey Keitel in San Diego.
No handshake or picture after was obtained.
Post by: Aristo 60 on August 29, 2014, 09:46:26 AM
My teetotal (should that not be tea-total?) parents called into Larry Tompkins pub last week on a short break to the Rebel County.

The great man took a half hour to give them a run through his career as a Cork footballer which thrilled & delighted them.
Post by: Hardy on August 29, 2014, 10:27:24 AM
I'd say they heard some horrid lies about Meath.
Post by: J OGorman on August 29, 2014, 10:52:00 AM
Brian McGilligan
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 29, 2014, 11:12:09 AM
Croi, Heffo, Seanie Magpie, Lynchbhoy, Bud Wiser, AZ, Muppet and forgotten man Declan.

Post by: glens abu on August 29, 2014, 11:26:48 AM
GAA the great Micko in the Burlo
Soccer George Best
Music Morrissey in the Shelbourne
MP,Poet,Songwrither,Freedom Fighter and visionary Bobby Sands
Post by: Champ15 on August 29, 2014, 11:58:13 AM
A relation of mine used to captain a boat that took people down the River Moy on fishing trips and i used to help out as a young kid working as a bait boy cutting up bits of mackerel for the fishermen/women. Met a fair few famous people on these trips most notably Eric Clapton Pete Postelwaithe who played Guiseppi in the film In The Name Of The Father and Emlyn Hughes who used two played for Liverpool and England who became a very good friend of our family until he passed away
Post by: Myles Na G. on August 29, 2014, 12:03:29 PM
Definition of famous on this thread is a bit too wide, imo. To qualify as famous, Shirley, a sports person has to be recognisable beyond the boundaries of those who are interested in his / her sport. For example, George Best, Roy Keane, Martin O'Neill, Brian O'Driscoll, Ronan O'Gara, Sonia O'Sullivan are people whose name and face would be known to many who have little interest in football, rugby, athletics or whatever. I've little interest in GAA, so alot of the names of 'famous' people I'm reading on here mean nothing to me. May as well claim that you've met someone from Big Brother 6. Just saying, like.
Post by: nrico2006 on August 29, 2014, 12:07:16 PM
Dan Falzon and Cameron Stout.  I saw Claire McCollum, Jimmy Nesbitt, Gerry Adams, Bryan McFadden, Lucy Pinder, Adrian Logan and Liz McColgan before, never talked to them though.  I need to get out more. 
Post by: muppet on August 29, 2014, 12:09:27 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 29, 2014, 11:12:09 AM
Croi, Heffo, Seanie Magpie, Lynchbhoy, Bud Wiser, AZ, Muppet and forgotten man Declan.

12 Angry Men.

Who's missing?
Post by: J OGorman on August 29, 2014, 12:10:04 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on August 29, 2014, 12:03:29 PM
Definition of famous on this thread is a bit too wide, imo. To qualify as famous, Shirley, a sports person has to be recognisable beyond the boundaries of those who are interested in his / her sport. For example, George Best, Roy Keane, Martin O'Neill, Brian O'Driscoll, Ronan O'Gara, Sonia O'Sullivan are people whose name and face would be known to many who have little interest in football, rugby, athletics or whatever. I've little interest in GAA, so alot of the names of 'famous' people I'm reading on here mean nothing to me. May as well claim that you've met someone from Big Brother 6. Just saying, like.

why not?
Post by: supersarsfields on August 29, 2014, 12:10:26 PM

This site must be useful for you then.
Post by: Myles Na G. on August 29, 2014, 12:34:09 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on August 29, 2014, 12:10:26 PM

I'm on the non gaa discussion part of the forum - there's a clue there - which I find enjoyable rather than useful.  The political & religious debates and the humour are worth looking in for. JOG - no particular reason why I'm not keen on GAA, I just prefer rugby and soccer. I never liked hurling, I enjoyed playing gaelic football at school, but I was always a soccer player first and foremost. I always took an interest in the international rugby games, but since I got too old to play any sport, I've found that I've enjoyed watching rugby more and more. I'm now at the stage where I prefer watching rugby to soccer and I wouldn't miss an Ulster match at Ravenhill. Drink probably plays a part in that too.  ;)
Post by: supersarsfields on August 29, 2014, 12:44:06 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on August 29, 2014, 12:34:09 PM

I'm on the non gaa discussion part of the forum - there's a clue there - which I find enjoyable rather than useful.  The political & religious debates and the humour are worth looking in for. JOG - no particular reason why I'm not keen on GAA, I just prefer rugby and soccer. I never liked hurling, I enjoyed playing gaelic football at school, but I was always a soccer player first and foremost. I always took an interest in the international rugby games, but since I got too old to play any sport, I've found that I've enjoyed watching rugby more and more. I'm now at the stage where I prefer watching rugby to soccer and I wouldn't miss an Ulster match at Ravenhill. Drink probably plays a part in that too.  ;)

It's the none Gaa section of a GAA website. I just would have thought most people on this website would have an interest in GAA primarily. If not, would you not be better going to the likes of politics.ie. where some of the primary content is political and religious debate. Not that I'm chasing you or anything. I just find it strange that someone would go to a niche website just to get their general section.
But given it's a GAA website, can you not understand how the definition of famous would include GAA stars, given the posters interests.
Post by: deiseach on August 29, 2014, 12:54:52 PM
Definition of famous on this thread is a bit too wide, imo. To qualify as famous, Shirley, a sports person has to be recognisable beyond the boundaries of those who are interested in his / her sport.

Tripe.
Post by: Aristo 60 on August 29, 2014, 12:59:14 PM
Myles would it have made any difference to you if they'd walked into Larry Reilly's pub instead?
Post by: Myles Na G. on August 29, 2014, 01:03:22 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on August 29, 2014, 12:44:06 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on August 29, 2014, 12:34:09 PM

It's the none Gaa section of a GAA website. I just would have thought most people on this website would have an interest in GAA primarily. If not, would you not be better going to the likes of politics.ie. where some of the primary content is political and religious debate. Not that I'm chasing you or anything. I just find it strange that someone would go to a niche website just to get their general section.
But given it's a GAA website, can you not understand how the definition of famous would include GAA stars, given the posters interests.
The only discussion you get on a politics website is politics, naturally enough, and people can take themselves and their subject a bit too seriously. On a site like this one, you can get political debates, debates on other current affairs matters, discussions about religious matters, plus discussions about other sports. There's also discussions about absolutely nothing at all if you look closely enough  :).

I understand why GAA people would figure on this thread, but I think there has to be a spill over into the wider world if someone is to be classed as 'famous'. So, as a non GAA fan, I can say that I would recognise people like Joe Brolly, Jarlath Burns, Brian McEniff and Pat Spillane, but that's because they all have a profile away from the pitch.
Post by: HiMucker on August 29, 2014, 01:17:06 PM
I met Nadine Coyle. 
And I once had a fairly long conversation with Willy Thorne on the phone.  Seemed a sound fella. 
Also had a fairly short conversation with John Terry on the phone. Proper cnut
Showed Antonio Banderas a card trick once
Post by: theticklemister on August 29, 2014, 01:28:39 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on August 29, 2014, 01:17:06 PM
I met Nadine Coyle. 
And I once had a fairly long conversation with Willy Thorne on the phone.  Seemed a sound fella. 
Also had a fairly short conversation with John Terry on the phone. Proper cnut

I met HiMucker once or twice, no craic whatsoever
Post by: Asal Mor on August 29, 2014, 01:56:17 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on August 29, 2014, 01:17:06 PM
I met Nadine Coyle. 
Also had a fairly short conversation with John Terry on the phone.
Proper cnut

Are you a phone sex operator? If so, you've probably spoken to me on several occasions too. Another feather in your cap.
Post by: clarshack on August 29, 2014, 02:06:50 PM
the guy that played Boba Fett (jeremy bulloch) offered to buy me a pint once
Post by: deiseach on August 29, 2014, 02:13:28 PM
John Terry only dials sex lines on other people's phones.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 29, 2014, 05:39:31 PM
Met this guy at the top of my street in the early eighties, those of a certain age will know

(https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcR4lXckM1vOj3nTHBQWuM8IOkB9ccH-f-08q5e-1dQrN4CbVOnFcA)

Post by: laoislad on August 29, 2014, 05:45:24 PM
Shamrock Shore.
Post by: Man Marker on August 29, 2014, 05:49:40 PM
Met and chatted to Princess Diana RIP
Post by: whitey on August 29, 2014, 06:08:23 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on August 28, 2014, 10:05:28 PM

You're lucky you didn't meet Borris in the broom cupboard Whitey    ;)

Funny you say that....he was keeping odd company that night all right
Post by: HiMucker on August 29, 2014, 06:12:30 PM
Quote from: deiseach on August 29, 2014, 02:13:28 PM
John Terry only dials sex lines on other people's phones.
He was on Damian Duffs phone believe it or not!
Post by: theticklemister on August 29, 2014, 08:09:28 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 29, 2014, 05:39:31 PM
Met this guy at the top of my street in the early eighties, those of a certain age will know

(https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcR4lXckM1vOj3nTHBQWuM8IOkB9ccH-f-08q5e-1dQrN4CbVOnFcA)

A lot of gangsters running around west Belfast at the time.
Post by: Gaffer on August 29, 2014, 08:30:37 PM
Once spoke to Mad Frankie Frazer on the phone or as he would say "on the dog"
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 29, 2014, 09:13:22 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on August 29, 2014, 12:07:16 PM
Dan Falzon and Cameron Stout.  I saw Claire McCollum, Jimmy Nesbitt, Gerry Adams, Bryan McFadden, Lucy Pinder, Adrian Logan and Liz McColgan before, never talked to them though.  I need to get out more.
Sounds like some night you had in Katy Daly's. Had to google Cameron Stout and Dan Falzon!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 29, 2014, 10:32:56 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on August 29, 2014, 08:09:28 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 29, 2014, 05:39:31 PM

A lot of gangsters running around west Belfast at the time.

Just a few
Post by: Over the Bar on August 29, 2014, 10:46:27 PM
I met Claudio Caniggia in Barcelona.  Miserable sh*t asked me for a cigarette!   
Post by: AZOffaly on August 29, 2014, 11:00:12 PM
I met hall of fame running back Eric Dickerson this evening. Legend.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on August 29, 2014, 11:07:52 PM
Well to fans of American football he is
Post by: Syferus on August 29, 2014, 11:12:26 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 29, 2014, 11:09:19 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on August 29, 2014, 11:07:52 PM
He's alive for a start ffs. Unless....hmmm...AZ??

So you have to be dead to be a legend?
Post by: rodney trotter on August 29, 2014, 11:28:06 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 29, 2014, 11:09:19 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on August 29, 2014, 11:07:52 PM
He's alive for a start ffs. Unless....hmmm...AZ??

Are you drunk or something? What is Pele or Maradonna?
Post by: theticklemister on August 29, 2014, 11:29:54 PM
I did a pish beside Tommy Walsh wan time the night after they won the all-Ireland, he had his red helmet on
Post by: theticklemister on August 29, 2014, 11:44:05 PM
Tommy Walsh??? LEGEND
Post by: ziggysego on August 30, 2014, 01:00:37 AM
I met Tony Fearon last month.
Post by: omaghjoe on August 30, 2014, 05:50:43 AM
Muscled Fergie out of the way at the bar of a West End show, never seen a more awkward whore like it at a bar

Had breakfast at the table next to Iggy Pop in an Irish Bar in Amsterdam, he was having a beer to wash it down.

Post by: rrhf on August 30, 2014, 10:48:24 AM
Quote from: stephenite on June 21, 2008, 06:02:54 AM

still the benchmark
Post by: rrhf on August 30, 2014, 10:54:48 AM
Quote from: Boynegael on June 21, 2008, 05:38:11 PM
I used to babysit for one of the New York news readers...Met a lot of celebs through that job.....Bette Midler, Michael Douglas, Conan O' Brien.  Met Liam Neeson several times...very nice man and down to earth...he loves fishing and his motorbike, until he nearly got killed on it....hit a deer...

Acutally had brunch in his house in Millbrook, NY several times...and a dip in his pool...Met Natasha Richardson, Vanessa Redgrave there..

gone now...
Post by: Hardy on August 30, 2014, 11:06:01 AM
I used to say 'Morning to Liza Minnelli.

(Not in a "how do you like your eggs" way.)
Post by: ONeill on August 30, 2014, 11:09:42 AM
Think I said before...Rolf Harris in the toilets in Dun Laoghaire.