GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Uladh on June 18, 2008, 10:36:36 AM

Poll
Question: Has the national anthem being played before every single Championship game run it's course?
Option 1: No, I love the custom
Option 2: I think it should be for Provincial & AI Finals
Option 3: Parade & Individual county music would be better
Option 4: Go for a new approach with contemporary Music
Option 5: Don't care
Title: Match Day Music
Post by: Uladh on June 18, 2008, 10:36:36 AM
Given the Ulster council's recent initiative of using quality entertainment (eg Malachai Cush) for pre game and half time entertainment, is it time for a new approach to the build up to the games?
Title: Re: Match Day Music
Post by: upthehoops on June 18, 2008, 10:39:25 AM
In all seriousness I was at Healy Park and Malachy Cush was brutal. It added absulutely nothing to the occasion.
Post by: T Fearon on June 18, 2008, 10:42:02 AM
That was dire in Breffni on Sunday. Shite music and far too loud, and it ruined the Bunscoil games at half time as well, imo. It also affected the interviews on the radio at Newry on Saturday night.

Pre match entertainment is used by big soccer clubs to ge the crowd in early. That crap would make you want to delay your entry to the last minute.

I think all Championship games should be preceded simply by the teams pre match parade behind a quality band.
Post by: Hardy on June 18, 2008, 10:45:16 AM
Can't vote for any of those options Uladh. I'm not there for music or parades, just football so I'll have to spoil my vote and scrawl "none of the above".
Post by: Zapatista on June 18, 2008, 10:45:27 AM
Personally I wouldn't care if they dropped it. However when I read the other thread about respect (pity about the name of that thread) I see many match goers enjoy it. As I am indefferent to it I would say let it continue as it seems to add to the event for many.

Ban it from being sung in pubs hough.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on June 18, 2008, 10:49:35 AM
Ay county games i am in favour of the anthem being played with a parade with the teams. But only if if is done properly...and my favourite is a pipe band..with the pipe band band it adds to the occasion
Post by: downredblack on June 18, 2008, 10:50:51 AM
 Thought he did a good version of The Star , If you are into the anthem then great enjoy the unity of everyone standing together if your not it's only 2 mins of your life surely not too big of a sacrifice .
Must say  having someone (scor winners) sing it at the ground is far better than an aul tape being pumped through the PA .
Post by: screenexile on June 18, 2008, 10:54:47 AM
I would be in favour of of a county song being played before matches actually I think it's brilliant when it's the song associated with your team and you're all belting it out for prode in the jersey. I think we need something that helps build the atmosphere to a crescendo... imagine hearing "I Wish I Was Back Home in Derry" before a match? It would be awesome!
Post by: T Fearon on June 18, 2008, 10:56:21 AM
Could we all not agree that we'll put up with anything ...except Malachi Cush ;D

PS Isn't he getting married soon anyway?
Post by: Uladh on June 18, 2008, 10:58:59 AM
Quote from: screenexile on June 18, 2008, 10:54:47 AM
I would be in favour of of a county song being played before matches actually I think it's brilliant when it's the song associated with your team and you're all belting it out for prode in the jersey. I think we need something that helps build the atmosphere to a crescendo... imagine hearing "I Wish I Was Back Home in Derry" before a match? It would be awesome!

I think it'd certainly add to the atmosphere if each county had their own tune, played one after the other. each county's supporters would certainly identify with the tune for the occasion.

"The boys from the county Armagh" might have to be replaced though...
Post by: D4S on June 18, 2008, 10:59:35 AM
I definitely much prefer the old way of the band parading the teams round the field and then standing for the anthem with the band playing it....The buzz when the teams walk by your section of the crowd is class, definitely much better than what we had in omagh and newry in the last 2 weekends.  Ps The sound system in Omagh on 8th June was pathetic, county boards need to ensure their sound system is good especially when there aren't enough programs there to be sold...some people like to hear the teams read out!
Post by: T Fearon on June 18, 2008, 12:05:23 PM
There has been a bit of an improvement in the match programmes this year as well in Ulster, though at 3 euros the Armagh Cavan programme in terms of content was miles behind the Dublin Louth programme (costing 4 euros, which I got at Croker the week before) in terms of content and quality factual information and debate.

However at least the Ulster programmes now contain the correct date and teams actually playing, which hasn't always been the case
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 18, 2008, 12:14:59 PM
Jezuz, we'd end up with "Las Vegas in the hills of Donegal"!  :D

Would get the crowd jumping, but keep AnF.
If it ain't broke-don't fix it.  ;)
Post by: Maguire01 on June 18, 2008, 01:43:21 PM
I'd keep the anthem for the big games.  I'd also go back to instrumental - don't like the solo vocalist thing at all. Also, hiring Malachi Cush just shows how much the Ulster Council are in the dark ages, and that they really don't have a clue about their audience.  I'd stick with the marching band any day over Malachi Cush - although i think some contemporary stuff could be good for big days (like the Superbowl in the US, if i'm not mistaken) - there are plenty of good Irish bands out there.

Quote from: T Fearon on June 18, 2008, 12:05:23 PM
There has been a bit of an improvement in the match programmes this year as well in Ulster, though at 3 euros the Armagh Cavan programme in terms of content was miles behind the Dublin Louth programme (costing 4 euros, which I got at Croker the week before) in terms of content and quality factual information and debate.
Have to agree - programmes are good this year.  They're the same price as the league programmes however - and the leagure programmes were often a few black and white pages with very little apart from the teams and advertisements.  Just shows how much of a rip-off the league programmes actually were.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on June 18, 2008, 02:45:00 PM
I prefer the sung anthems. Most county grounds just have the anthem on a cat old 78 and it sounds terrible.

Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 18, 2008, 12:14:59 PM
Jezuz, we'd end up with "Las Vegas in the hills of Donegal"!  :D

Not at all Gaoth Dobhair - you'd end up with one of the best of them: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dtV01CmpXTM
Post by: Feckitt on June 18, 2008, 03:00:24 PM
It's is easy to slag off Mal Cush, but I thought he and the band were very good in Casement.  The Bould Malachy singing 'Come back Paddy Reilly to Ballyjamesduff' was the musical highlight of the day.  When the band went at it on their own with a bit of diddly dee, it was still good, but far too loud.  I know it's not fashionable to stick up for Malachy, but I think most people enjoyed it for a change.

On a separate note, I hate when just one singer leads Amhran Na bhfiann becuase the crowd are much less likely to join in.  Give me a band anyday.  I especially hate when some girseach with an accoustic guitar does a slow sickening version ( often heard at matches in Crossmaglen)
Post by: T Fearon on June 18, 2008, 03:24:58 PM
Malachi is probably a nice enough lad, its just the preservation of the Begley (ie Philomena) dynasty that's disturbing.My main gripe with this music is that it is far too loud and I say that as a veteran of Slane

Interesting to see the Down County Board jettisoning Irish Culture at the end of the game with Tyrone by playing celebratory anthems more associated with soccer teams celebrating a victory, such as "The Boys are Back in Town" and Queen songs.
Post by: rionach 4 on June 18, 2008, 03:30:36 PM
The Pa system is a tannoy system and not made for tonal clarity. It makes the singer but even more so the instruments sound like they are playing in a tin box. This was very clearly the case at breffni . I much prefer the band and at times on sunday before the game there was nothing happening once Malachi had left the scene. we had four or five minutes with the teams standing about . No build up at all The parade must come back it was great for rousing the crowd. At the end of the day those involved in the Ulster are in charge of running our games . They are not music promoters and they are definetly not aware of their audience, I hate to think had Donegal got through daniel might have been trotted out..
Post by: T Fearon on June 18, 2008, 03:42:48 PM
I concur with that. Both teams were on the field far too early at Breffni and neither side knew what to do at 3.40 and Ard Mhaca actually started sprints across the field. The throw in was almost a complete anti climax. Certainly the parade gees everyone, players and crowd alike, up
Post by: Hardy on June 18, 2008, 04:17:04 PM
Players hate it, I'm told.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 18, 2008, 06:29:42 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on June 18, 2008, 03:00:24 PM
It's is easy to slag off Mal Cush, but I thought he and the band were very good in Casement.  The Bould Malachy singing 'Come back Paddy Reilly to Ballyjamesduff' was the musical highlight of the day.  When the band went at it on their own with a bit of diddly dee, it was still good, but far too loud.  I know it's not fashionable to stick up for Malachy, but I think most people enjoyed it for a change.

Quote from: T Fearon on June 18, 2008, 03:24:58 PM
Malachi is probably a nice enough lad, its just the preservation of the Begley (ie Philomena) dynasty that's disturbing.My main gripe with this music is that it is far too loud and I say that as a veteran of Slane

Interesting to see the Down County Board jettisoning Irish Culture at the end of the game with Tyrone by playing celebratory anthems more associated with soccer teams celebrating a victory, such as "The Boys are Back in Town" and Queen songs.

As the saying goes, if it's too loud, you're too old!  :P

As for "jettisoning Irish culture", 'The Boys are Back in Town' is every bit as much a part of Irish Culture as a bit of 'diddle-de-dee'! More of this sort of thing!
Post by: Rav67 on June 18, 2008, 06:34:01 PM
I'd prefer just to have it before finals, played by the band after a parade.  Think this would give the anthem more respect and add to the sense of occasion on final days.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 18, 2008, 06:43:36 PM
QuoteAlso, hiring Malachi Cush just shows how much the Ulster Council are in the dark ages, and that they really don't have a clue about their audience.

In fairness their audience range from teenage girls to 80 year old men and everybody in between so its difficult to please everybody. I didn't think Sunday was that bad to be honest.

QuoteHave to agree - programmes are good this year.  They're the same price as the league programmes however - and the leagure programmes were often a few black and white pages with very little apart from the teams and advertisements.  Just shows how much of a rip-off the league programmes actually were.

I agree - the league programmes realy are a disgrace. I sorta half collect them so buy one at every game but you do feel ripped off at times.
Post by: Puckoon on June 18, 2008, 07:11:04 PM
Why wouldnt they have it organised for big championship matches to have something along the lines of the counties' Scor dancers or musicians out on the pitch in a quickly removable stage?

Personally Id love to see something like that instead of a local "celebrity" warbling on.
Post by: balladmaker on June 18, 2008, 09:22:35 PM
Uladh, I think you've got your answer.....63% want the Anthem to remain going by current voting.
Post by: the green man on June 18, 2008, 10:54:04 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on June 18, 2008, 06:34:01 PM
I'd prefer just to have it before finals, played by the band after a parade.  Think this would give the anthem more respect and add to the sense of occasion on final days.

I would concur with Rav. Play the anthem before finals only. I think it would bring the esteem of which the anthem is held, up tremendously, and people would look forward to hearing it played.

Not that I like to compare our games to soccer, but why not get a rousing GAA anthem to play before all other championship games and leave the national one to the final match?

There's nothing worse than standing at a match and people either tight lipped or mumbling, embarrassedly, through Amhran na bfhainn.
Post by: the green man on June 18, 2008, 11:00:16 PM
Could we not use something like this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pxM8XB61ZvU&feature=related

Post by: ziggysego on June 18, 2008, 11:01:27 PM
I actually like this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l6T9lyFA1vA (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l6T9lyFA1vA)
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 20, 2008, 10:48:44 PM
f**k the anthem and the parade. Get the players out three minutes before the throw-in. Play a county song for each team. Let them get ripped into it.

Quote from: screenexile on June 18, 2008, 10:54:47 AM

You could even get Gordon Lightfoot over to sing it, although he may get the words wrong. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=99rOzMVtcx4 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=99rOzMVtcx4)

But you're right, gas the aul plastic shite like the Town I Loved So Well or the Glens.

I would go for Roddy McCorley (serious, get them walking through walls) or McIlhatton (bit of craic, living up to the stereotype), although Glenravel's contribution to Antrim GAA has been crap.
Post by: ONeill on June 20, 2008, 10:53:23 PM
1. From sweet Londonderry to fair London town
there is not a nicer (heather) anywhere to be found
where the children each evening is a-playing round the shore
and the joy-bells are ringing for the maid of Coolmore.

2. The first time that I met her she passed me by
the next time that I met her she bade me goodbye,
but the last time that I met her she grieved my heart sore
for she sailed down Loch (Foilagh?) away from Coolmore.

3. If I had the power the storm to rise
I would blow the wind either for to darken the skies
I would blow the wind either to make the (salt seas) to roar
on the day that my love sailed away from Coolmore.

4. To the north of Americay, my love, I'll sail (forth)
for there I know noone, neither noone does me,
but should I not find her I'll return home no more
but like a pilgrim I will wander for the maid of Coolmore.

5. The first time that I met her she passed me by
the next time that I met her she bade me goodbye,
but the last time that I met her she grieved my heart sore
for she sailed down Loch (Foilagh?) away from Coolmore.
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 20, 2008, 10:55:42 PM
Still hard to beat this one Shane.

The morn was breaking bright and fair,
The lark sang in the sky,
Wheb the maid she bound her goIden hair,
With a blithe glance in her eye;
For, who beyond the gay green-wood,
Was a-waiting her with joy,
Oh, who but her gallant Renardine,
On the mountains of Pomeroy.

An outlawed man in a land forlorn,
He scorned to turn and fly,
But kept the cause of freedom safe
Up on the mountains high.

Full often in the dawning hour,
Full oft in twilight brown
He met the maid in the woodland bow'r,
Where the stream comes foaming down
For they were faithful in a love
No wars could e'er destroy.
No tyrant's law touched Renardine,

"Dear love, " she said, "l'm sore afraid,
For the foeman's force and you
They've tracked you in the lowland plain
And all the valley through.
My kinsmen frown when you are named
Your life they would destroy
'Beware,' they say, 'of Renardine,
On the mountains of Pomeroy."

"Fear not, fear not, sweetheart," he cried,
"Fear not the foe for me
No chain shall fall, whate'er betide,
On the arm that would be free!
Oh, leave your cruel kin and come,
When the lark is in the sky.
And it's with my gun I'll guard you,
On the mountains of Pomeroy."

The morn has come, she rose and fled
From her cruel kin and home;
And bright the wood, and rosy red,
And the dumbling torrent's foam.
But the mist came down and the tempest roared,
And did all around destroy;
And a pale, drowned bride met Renardine,

I think the London boys should go for The Gem of The Roe. I tried to get that Begley **** to sing it one night in Johnny Joe's but he wouldn't.
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 20, 2008, 10:59:57 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 20, 2008, 10:52:42 PM
Forget McIlhatton, the song. Just give the Antrim players a halfun of the stuff before they go out.

I'm told by a former Mayor of Glenravel, the brother of a former Antrim great and the son of a five times Derry championship winning goalkeeper that Mick McIlhatton never made a drop of the stuff. It appear that the heckler was in fact Mrs McIlhatton. The blurt.
Post by: ONeill on June 20, 2008, 11:00:10 PM
n a land of O'Cahan where bleak mountains rise
O'er those brown ridgy tops now the dusky clouds fly
Deep sunk in a valley a wild flower did grow
And her name was Finvola, the Gem of the Roe

For the Isles of Abunde appeared to out view
A youth clad in tartan, it's strange but it's true
With a star on his breast and unstrung was his bow
And he sighed for Finvola the Gem of the Roe

The Gem of the Roe, the Gem of the Roe
And he sighed for Finvola
The Gem of the Roe

To the grey shores of Alba his bride he did bear
But short were the fond years these lovers did share
For thrice on the hillside the Banshee cried low
Twas the death of Finvola the Gem of the Roe

Twas the death of Finvola
The Gem of the Roe

No more up the streamlet her maidens will hie
For wan the pale cheek and bedimmed the blue eye
In silent affliction our sorrows will flow
Since gone is Finvola the Gem of the Roe

Since gone is Finvola
The Gem of the Roe
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 20, 2008, 11:09:27 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 20, 2008, 11:00:10 PM
n a land of O'Cahan where bleak mountains rise
O'er those brown ridgy tops now the dusky clouds fly
Deep sunk in a valley a wild flower did grow
And her name was Finvola, the Gem of the Roe

For the Isles of Abunde appeared to out view
A youth clad in tartan, it's strange but it's true
With a star on his breast and unstrung was his bow
And he sighed for Finvola the Gem of the Roe

And he sighed for Finvola
The Gem of the Roe

To the grey shores of Alba his bride he did bear
But short were the fond years these lovers did share
For thrice on the hillside the Banshee cried low
Twas the death of Finvola the Gem of the Roe

Twas the death of Finvola
The Gem of the Roe

No more up the streamlet her maidens will hie
For wan the pale cheek and bedimmed the blue eye
In silent affliction our sorrows will flow
Since gone is Finvola the Gem of the Roe

Since gone is Finvola
The Gem of the Roe

I remember a big Glensman singing that one night in the Beechlawn - would have made the hairs stand on the neck. Walter, the enigmatic preacher had never heard it before, but knew it the next night I met him. Walter prefers Shanagolden as his party piece, which would also do nicely before a game.

The cold winds from the mountains are calling soft to me,
The smell of scented heather brings bitter memories:
A wild and lonely eagle up in the summer sky,
Flies high o'er Shanagolden, where my love Willie lies.

I met him in the winter time when snow was on the ground
The Irish hills were peaceful and love was all around.
Scarcely twenty years old, a young man in his prime.
We were married, darling Willie by the eve of Christmas time.

Do you remember Willie, we walked the moonlit road
I held you in my arms, love, I would never let you go.
Our hands they were entwined, my love, all in the pale moonlight,
By the fields of Shanagolden on a lonely winter's night.

Then came the call to arms, love, the heather was aflame.
Down from the silent mountains, the Saxon strangers came.
I held you in my arms then, my young heart wild with fear,
In the fields by Shanagolden, in the springtime of the year.

You fought them, darling Willie, all through the summer days.
I heard the rifles firing in the mountains far away
I held you in my arms then, your blood ran free and bright,
And you died in Shanagolden, on a lonely summer's night.

But that was long ago, love, now our son grows fine and tall;
The hills they are at peace again: the Saxon strangers gone.
*There's roses growing on your grave, there's an eagle in the sky ,
Flying high o'er Shanagolden, where my love Willie lies.

Is Shanagolden in Antrim?
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 23, 2008, 03:12:58 PM
I think this latest "scheme" by the Ulster county of no marching band and a trad band is a loads of bollix. Personnally i found the pre match parade a unique GAA experience before the game. I think it is great to hear the crowd roar away to your right (or left) as the parade gets closer. What exactly did the marching band and parade do to get canned like this? The trad band they had in Breffni for Cavan V Armagh was mediocre at best and did little to add athmosphere to the occassion.

I do like the fact that they have people to sing the anthem, aslong as they can actually sing and they know the words, unlike at Breffni. Bring back the marchind band and parade I say.
Post by: Hardy on June 23, 2008, 04:06:19 PM
How do marching bands promote Irish culture? Isn't that more of an American thing?  And in Ireland isn't it more associated with the Orange Order and coat-trailimg parades than with Irish culture. It's always puzzled me anyway how that became a central part of GAA occasions.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 23, 2008, 04:51:45 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 23, 2008, 04:06:19 PM
How do marching bands promote Irish culture? Isn't that more of an American thing?  And in Ireland isn't it more associated with the Orange Order and coat-trailimg parades than with Irish culture. It's always puzzled me anyway how that became a central part of GAA occasions.

I'm not sure they do promote Irish culture but is that what they are there for? I'm not sure where the tradition came from but go into any GAA pub in the country and you are bound to see a black and white picture on the wall from the 30's, 40's or 50's with two teams parading behind the band on a big match day. Anyone know how long this has been going on or what justification the Ulster Council gave for stopping it?
Post by: rrhf on June 23, 2008, 05:03:03 PM
I genuinely think the matchday music has been an outstanding success.  What do you freaks want - a fire eating display or plate balancing chimpanzee?  
Britains got talent but Ireland wastes theirs lads, support your upcoming musicians, and give them a platform most sensible people recognise that its not a pop concert but it is better to listen to than some tanny announcer.   You guys obviuously do not want this so I ask the question am I alone in congratulating the Ulster council on their musical interludes.    
Post by: ONeill on June 23, 2008, 05:14:54 PM
Malachi Cush should be shot.
Post by: ziggysego on June 23, 2008, 05:20:08 PM
Bit extreme ain't it ok, wouldn't sticking him in an iron maiden be the best solution?
Post by: rrhf on June 23, 2008, 05:39:21 PM
Fascists
Post by: Maguire01 on June 23, 2008, 07:45:59 PM
Quote from: rrhf on June 23, 2008, 05:03:03 PM
I genuinely think the matchday music has been an outstanding success.  What do you freaks want - a fire eating display or plate balancing chimpanzee?  
Britains got talent but Ireland wastes theirs lads, support your upcoming musicians, and give them a platform most sensible people recognise that its not a pop concert but it is better to listen to than some tanny announcer.   You guys obviuously do not want this so I ask the question am I alone in congratulating the Ulster council on their musical interludes.    
If Malachi Cush is the height of our homegrown talent, i'll gladly see it wasted.
Post by: haranguerer on June 23, 2008, 08:45:47 PM
Quote from: rrhf on June 23, 2008, 05:03:03 PM

Yes please! How much would it cost?
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 23, 2008, 09:08:05 PM
Quote from: rrhf on June 23, 2008, 05:39:21 PM
Fascists

Freaks and Fascists for daring to prefare a marching band and a parade to Malachy Cush. If you think Malachy cush is some sort of musical genius you are sadly mistaken. Now, if they had Shane McGowan at the matcg singing that would be something.

Did anyone notice also at the Cavan v Armagh game the two teams lined up soccer/rugby style before the match to be greeted by the Archbishop of Armagh. I also thought that this should  not have been allowed either, based on the fact that religious bias has no place in the GAA in my opinion. If you want to see him go to mass I say.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 23, 2008, 09:12:56 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on June 23, 2008, 09:08:05 PM
Now, if they had Shane McGowan at the matcg singing that would be something.
Yes, given the debate over advertising from alcohol companies, this would be a great move. Never mind the fact that he couldn't hold a note in a bucket.
Post by: Hardy on June 23, 2008, 09:34:26 PM
Did anyone notice also at the Cavan v Armagh game the two teams lined up soccer/rugby style before the match to be greeted by the Archbishop of Armagh.

Are you serious? I was only joking here the other day when I suggested we should go back to bishop-greeting before matches. I didn't know they were still at it in Ulster. Did they sing "Faith Of Our Fathers"? In what official capacity was he being greeted?

(Which bishop, btw?)
Post by: ONeill on June 23, 2008, 09:55:59 PM
Why not do the Aussie Rules thing and hold up a big bit of paper for the players to run through.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 24, 2008, 08:30:48 AM
Quote from: Hardy on June 23, 2008, 09:34:26 PM
Did anyone notice also at the Cavan v Armagh game the two teams lined up soccer/rugby style before the match to be greeted by the Archbishop of Armagh.

Are you serious? I was only joking here the other day when I suggested we should go back to bishop-greeting before matches. I didn't know they were still at it in Ulster. Did they sing "Faith Of Our Fathers"? In what official capacity was he being greeted?

(Which bishop, btw?)

I suppose the bishops proper title is Cardinal, as in Cardinal Brady. Some could argue that since he once played for Cavan, recently got ordained a cardinal and lives in Armagh, that it is only right that he be allowed greet the teams in this way. However, I think religious bias has no place in sport and the days of the catholic church having a "special place" in Irish society should also be a thing of the past.