Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: westmayo on June 10, 2008, 11:50:34 AM

Title: Prince cancels show in HQ
Post by: westmayo on June 10, 2008, 11:50:34 AM
Apparently Prince has canceled his upcoming heavily advertised show in Croke Park according to Jim Carroll of the Irish times.

"And the first major casualty of the Irish outdoor season is....
Filed under: Live music — Jim Carroll @ 10:02 am

Stand by for some breaking news today on the first big no-show of the season. We believe the sick note will be as good as Bertie's explanation about winning all that cash on the horses.

UPDATE Prince has cancelled his show at Dublin's Croke Park next Monday. Per promoters MCD, 55,161 tickets were sold for this show (by the way, this is the first time I've ever seen a major promoter give a ticket tally like this for a show). The reason for the cancellation is given as "due to reasons beyond the control of PRINCE and MCD Productions"."

http://www.ireland.com/blogs/ontherecord/2008/06/10/and-the-first-big-casualty-of-the-irish-outdoor-season-is/ (http://www.ireland.com/blogs/ontherecord/2008/06/10/and-the-first-big-casualty-of-the-irish-outdoor-season-is/)
Title: Re: Prince cancels show in HQ
Post by: T Fearon on June 10, 2008, 11:53:11 AM
Then there'll be no Manic Monday ;D
Post by: Minder on June 10, 2008, 12:09:31 PM
Well fcuk it anyway, i was looking forward to that.
Post by: ildanach on June 10, 2008, 12:17:21 PM
i wonder what happens in a situation like that. As there is only 3 concerts a year in croagh park, will another band but on a show later in the year. Also wil MCD have to pay for the venue even if the aren't having a concert on monday?
Post by: T Fearon on June 10, 2008, 12:44:43 PM
Someone has overestimated the pulling power of the lithe one me thinks. Funny how things go. I remember I had tickets for a Stones concert at Lansdowne back in 1990 which was cancelled due to poor sales,yet the same group would fill Croker now with ease.
Post by: his holiness nb on June 10, 2008, 01:05:36 PM
I'd say its poor sales alright.
I was due to be dragged along, kind of relieved, wouldnt mind seeing him to be honest but monday night concerts are a pain in the hole.
Post by: balladmaker on June 10, 2008, 01:10:46 PM
In promoter's speak, this is the promoter cutting their losses and running.  No doubt Prince has got a nice pay off to cancel as per the contract, but obviously with 55,000 tickets sold, the promoter was due to make an even bigger loss if the show went ahead.  :o
Post by: Tankie on June 10, 2008, 01:15:08 PM
The tickets were far too expensive anyway, i wanted to go but the tick price starts are 70 and went to 150euro. so something decent would have been 120 which i was never gonna pay for a gig.
Post by: red hander on June 10, 2008, 01:18:43 PM
I hear they're having big problems shifting tickets for The Police's show at Stormont too
Post by: KIDDO 4 on June 10, 2008, 01:52:52 PM
PRINCE Concert Cancelled

Dear Premium Seat Holder,

It is with regret that I am writing to you to confirm that the PRINCE concert scheduled to take place at Croke Park next Monday, 16th June 2008, has been cancelled.

The concert was organised by MCD Productions and to date we do not have an explanation as to the reasons why the show will no longer be taking place.

We know that our disappointment will be shared by all of the travelling fans who would have been making their way to Croke Park on Monday, particularly in the wake of two spectacular shows hosted earlier this month.

On behalf of my team, I would like to thank the Gardaí, the HSE, Dublin City Council, Dublin Fire Brigade, hospitality partners Fitzers Catering and all the individuals who have been involved in the months of meticulous preparation that goes on behind the scenes to prepare for this event. 

Premium seat holders who have purchased tickets and paid by credit card will have their card refunded.  Those who have paid by cheque will be sent a cheque refund.

We appreciate your understanding and co-operation. Should any further information be made available it will be posted on our website at www.crokepark.ie.

Yours sincerely,

Peter McKenna

Stadium Director

Post by: T Fearon on June 10, 2008, 01:59:41 PM
Could they not arrange an impromptu show by the All Stars (Beggy, O'Shea and Rock) as a replacement?
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 10, 2008, 02:05:17 PM
That's a right pain in the hole. I was up for this and had booked the time off work!

55,000 isn't bad going for Prince but it obviously wasn't enough for the venue - in hindsight he'd probably have been better booking somewhere like the RDS for a couple of nights.

He played a week of sold out shows in the O2 arena in London last year, although I think the tickets were a fair bit cheaper than for Croke Park (£31 as opposed to £70!).
Post by: Donagh on June 10, 2008, 02:07:09 PM
Obviously the thick Micks didn't get the press release to say Prince is cool again after his series of sellout gigs at the O2 arena in London last year and that is clearly evidenced by fact that you got a free Sunday newspaper with his latest album all for £1.50.
Post by: Minder on June 10, 2008, 02:11:39 PM
Quote from: Donagh on June 10, 2008, 02:07:09 PM
Obviously the thick Micks didn't get the press release to say Prince is cool again after his series of sellout gigs at the O2 arena in London last year and that is clearly evidenced by fact that you got a free Sunday newspaper with his latest album all for £1.50.

55,000 thick Micks must have got the message Donagh, and does anyone actually still buy albums anymore?
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 10, 2008, 02:16:33 PM
They priced themselves out of it. Although I was going I think £70 stg is steep for a standing ticket!
Post by: westmayo on June 10, 2008, 02:17:12 PM
You'd think that 55,000 would be enough heads to get through the gate at over €70 a pop for the cheapest tickets. As was mentioned above probably would have been better for him to do a few shows in the RDS like Springsteen did. Still annoyed at this, being canceled so soon before the show. Wouldn't be the biggest prince fan at, but I was looking forward to the show. I'm sure ticketmaster will be holding on to my booking fee and credit card transaction fee for buying the tickets, don't have the figure at hand at the minute but I'm sure it was close to €10. Not a work for them though 55,000 booking fees tucked away in their bank account.
Post by: Hardy on June 10, 2008, 02:20:31 PM
Anyone know how much Croke Park gets for events like this?
Post by: theskull1 on June 10, 2008, 02:23:36 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 10, 2008, 11:53:11 AM

That was the Bangles you muppet  ::)
Post by: Minder on June 10, 2008, 02:24:55 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 10, 2008, 02:18:37 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 10, 2008, 02:16:33 PM
£70 stg......for a standing ticket!
Fcuk me. Are you boys nuts?

Well it is £60  to see Kylie in the Odyssey this month and i would not go to the back door to see her.
Post by: Hound on June 10, 2008, 02:48:25 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 10, 2008, 02:20:31 PM
About two years ago I heard the fee for concerts was a flat €1 million plus costs. But that was hearsay...
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 10, 2008, 02:58:35 PM
QuoteThat was the Bangles you muppet  Roll Eyes

Ya eejit, Prince wrote that song  ;)
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 10, 2008, 03:17:25 PM
How many were they expecting to sell anyway?

55,000 seems like a fairly healthy amount. By next week it would probably have been up around 60,000+.
Post by: theskull1 on June 10, 2008, 04:50:46 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 10, 2008, 02:58:35 PM
QuoteThat was the Bangles you muppet  Roll Eyes

Ya eejit, Prince wrote that song  ;)

Writing it is one thing...performing it's another ya langer
Post by: Minder on June 11, 2008, 12:07:50 PM
My sources tell me they tried to move it to the RDS but the wee man didnt want that.
Post by: the Deel Rover on June 11, 2008, 12:17:52 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 10, 2008, 02:20:31 PM

it said in the paper that croke park got  a million euro as a deposit which is non refundable to the promotions company
Post by: Hardy on June 11, 2008, 12:58:21 PM
Thanks Hound, Deel. That's great stuff. We get a million and we don't even get the grass tramped. Top marks to the lads in HQ who negotiated that. Coming next - horse racing. Non runners only.
Post by: heineken_on_tap on June 11, 2008, 01:06:57 PM
Quote from: westmayo on June 10, 2008, 02:17:12 PM
I'm sure ticketmaster will be holding on to my booking fee and credit card transaction fee for buying the tickets, don't have the figure at hand at the minute but I'm sure it was close to €10.

Think you will get the booking fee back as well from what I heard yesterday.
Post by: Chrisowc on June 11, 2008, 01:09:08 PM
Quote from: Donagh on June 10, 2008, 02:07:09 PM

I can't wait until we have events like this at the Maze ::) ;)
Post by: Maguire01 on June 11, 2008, 01:32:57 PM
Just to put the 55,000 figure in context, the capacity for this gig (due to stage/stadium configurations, i assume), was 62,000.
Post by: Hound on June 11, 2008, 01:49:55 PM
Heard an MCD guy on the radio yesterday saying the capacity was over 80,000.

It says 62,000 in the Times today alright, but I think thats the seated capacity. They'd get a few thousand on the pitch too (though hardly 18,000!).
Post by: ziggysego on June 11, 2008, 02:04:36 PM
(http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f364/flojomja/_Dave_Chappelle_As_Prince1.jpg)
Post by: tyssam5 on June 11, 2008, 07:45:54 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 10, 2008, 02:24:55 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 10, 2008, 02:18:37 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 10, 2008, 02:16:33 PM
£70 stg......for a standing ticket!
Fcuk me. Are you boys nuts?

Well it is £60  to see Kylie in the Odyssey this month and i would not go to the back door to see her.

Would definitely go in her back door though  :D
Post by: Maguire01 on June 11, 2008, 07:56:03 PM
Quote from: Hound on June 11, 2008, 01:49:55 PM
Heard an MCD guy on the radio yesterday saying the capacity was over 80,000.

It says 62,000 in the Times today alright, but I think thats the seated capacity. They'd get a few thousand on the pitch too (though hardly 18,000!).
http://www.hotpress.com/news/4591358.html (http://www.hotpress.com/news/4591358.html)
Post by: Leo on June 11, 2008, 10:57:32 PM
Should be banned anyway, these royals at Croker.
Bad enough having Ann at the rugby without Charlie having the place to himself (plus 55,000 of course) of  Monday.
Post by: ONeill on June 11, 2008, 11:00:45 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 10, 2008, 11:53:11 AM

That was The Bangles.
Post by: theskull1 on June 11, 2008, 11:09:04 PM
Well you and I might go to gigs to watch people perform the songs. Others want to go and see the people who wrote them  ;)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manic_Monday (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manic_Monday)
Post by: ONeill on June 11, 2008, 11:12:37 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on June 11, 2008, 11:09:04 PM
Well you and I might go to gigs to watch people perform the songs. Others want to go and see the people who wrote them  ;)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manic_Monday (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manic_Monday)

Eh?
Post by: theskull1 on June 11, 2008, 11:18:08 PM
Stating the obvious

Prince wrote it
The Bangles sung it