Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Puckoon on May 27, 2008, 11:13:09 PM

Title: The half decent/under-rated movie thread
Post by: Puckoon on May 27, 2008, 11:13:09 PM
So we've had a bunch of polls and a yearly countdown of the favourite movies of all time, but how about those that you might not have been expected to like, but did. Or those that you might not have ever watched willingly, but ended up really liking them.

One that sticks to mind for me is "As good as it gets"

From nicholsons excellent protrayal of an OCD sufferer to the always beautiful but sorrowful helen hunt, this was a movie I really enjoyed and love to see when it comes on again.
Title: Re: The half decent/under-rated movie thread
Post by: Treasurer on May 27, 2008, 11:16:47 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 27, 2008, 11:13:09 PM
So we've had a bunch of polls and a yearly countdown of the favourite movies of all time, but how about those that you might not have been expected to like, but did. Or those that you might not have ever watched willingly, but ended up really liking them.

One that sticks to mind for me is "As good as it gets"

From nicholsons excellent protrayal of an OCD sufferer to the always beautiful but sorrowful helen hunt, this was a movie I really enjoyed and love to see when it comes on again.
"you make me want to be a better man"
Post by: Puckoon on May 27, 2008, 11:17:22 PM
awww shucks, but could we stick to the thread please.
Post by: JimStynes on May 27, 2008, 11:19:40 PM
I always think shawshank redemption was very under-rated, dont think it done much in the cinema or anything.
Post by: Puckoon on May 27, 2008, 11:20:37 PM
I think the shawshank ended up doing very well in the cinema, but you are very correct in that there wasnt much noise made about it when it came out. I went to see it the night the KFC opened in omagh.
Post by: Main Street on May 28, 2008, 12:41:18 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on May 27, 2008, 11:19:40 PM
I always think shawshank redemption was very under-rated, dont think it done much in the cinema or anything.
I think it is rated, in different places. Here it is nr. 2 all time.
http://www.imdb.com/chart/top (http://www.imdb.com/chart/top)

"but how about those that you might not have been expected to like, but did. Or those that you might not have ever watched willingly, but ended up really liking them".

"Matewan"  a film about labour disputes  in 1920's West Virginia mining town.
I thought it would be the usual clichéed mine /union /scabs/ murdering militia/a bit of love.
Turn out it was simply brilliant.
It was the best film of 1987 and ranks as one of the best of the 1980´s.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on May 28, 2008, 01:09:57 AM
Swingers, which came out in the mid 90's, is a very sharp and funny look at a bunch of wannabe misfits trying to pull on the LA (I think) social scene. It was recommended to be a couple of years ago but didn't see sight nor sound of it until I spotted it in Virgin in Edinburgh. Delighted I found it
Post by: DrinkingHarp on May 28, 2008, 01:33:21 AM
Indian in the Cupboard

Princess Bride

Red Dawn

Fast Times at Ridgemont High

Cider House Rules

Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 28, 2008, 02:13:45 AM
There was an Irish one there a few years back that the wife got on DVD, and I thought sweet f**k this will be a chore...but I quite enjoyed it.

Inside I'm dancing I think it was called..
Post by: take_yer_points on May 28, 2008, 08:36:38 AM
The Boondock Saints - don't think it ever even made it to the cinema!
Post by: stevo-08 on May 28, 2008, 08:40:20 AM
I Am Sam

Maybe it had been highly rated, but I certainly hadnt heard much about it before watching it. Really good film. Sean Penn was simply brilliant in it.
Post by: thewobbler on May 28, 2008, 09:16:48 AM
I saw a film called The Quiet Earth the other night for the first time in 15 years. Brilliant show. Nobody has ever heard of it. It's an end of the world type movie and the first half hour is truly spellbinding.
Post by: nrico2006 on May 28, 2008, 09:20:56 AM
QuoteOne that sticks to mind for me is "As good as it gets"

From nicholsons excellent protrayal of an OCD sufferer to the always beautiful but sorrowful helen hunt, this was a movie I really enjoyed and love to see when it comes on again

Great film but hardly under-rated as it was nominated for lots of awards and Nicholson got an Oscar for it.  The Boondock Saints is a good show too.  Others that are maybe less well-knows hence would be:

K-Pax
For the love of the game
Fallen
He Got Game
Bloodsport (Great film, who cares about the acting!)

Post by: gawa316 on May 28, 2008, 11:22:53 AM

As far as I remember it did feck all at the cinema, I think Dumb and Dumber was out at the same time and it wiped the floor with it
Post by: Square Ball on May 28, 2008, 01:07:52 PM
war of the buttons

a league of their own

Post by: Maximus Marillius on May 28, 2008, 01:35:53 PM
Sleepers
The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance
Unforgiven
Post by: J70 on May 28, 2008, 01:43:31 PM

It was released to little hype in its initial theatre release, but it has been one the most highly rated films ever since then. It was nominated for best film in its Oscar year as well (although how Forrest Gump beat both it and Pulp Fiction will go down as one of the great mysteries of Oscar history for me!)
Post by: J70 on May 28, 2008, 01:47:25 PM
Carlito's Way

Scarface gets all the hype when it comes to De Palma/Pacino partnerships, but Carlito's Way is by far the superior film.
Post by: nrico2006 on May 28, 2008, 01:50:52 PM
QuoteCarlito's Way

Scarface gets all the hype when it comes to De Palma/Pacino partnerships, but Carlito's Way is by far the superior film.

I would say Carlito's way is as good for sure.  What about 'A Bronx Tale'?

Sleepers and Unforgiven would be pretty highly rated.

Also, the original Manhunter is good as is the new version Red Dragon.
Post by: mouview on May 28, 2008, 01:55:56 PM
Quote from: J70 on May 28, 2008, 01:47:25 PM
Carlito's Way

Totally agree. Not at all a fan of Pacino/Palma but this is a great story of disloyalty and betrayal.

Shawshank' is overrated IMHO. Good story and performances but the characters are a bit stock and 2-dimensional (prison guards bad, prisoners good) and the plot is somewhat predictable. As in all films, a bit of ambiguity would have helped, e.g. Andy really killing his wife. (Budding film students note this point).

Underrated.... in recent times The Prestige, very entertaining film about rival magicians.
Post by: J70 on May 28, 2008, 02:00:02 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 28, 2008, 01:50:52 PM
QuoteCarlito's Way

I would say Carlito's way is as good for sure.  What about 'A Bronx Tale'?

Sleepers and Unforgiven would be pretty highly rated.

Also, the original Manhunter is good as is the new version Red Dragon.

A Bronx Tale is class all right.

I had tickets to see Chazz Palminteri's one-man production of it on Broadway last year, but the bloody stage-hand strike caused it to be cancelled. >:(
Post by: bennydorano on May 28, 2008, 02:09:20 PM
Adam & Paul - outstanding movie.
Stuart - A Life backwards (a BBC film - great show, a slow burner and a bit harrowing at times- worth watching out for)
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 28, 2008, 02:13:30 PM
K-Pax
For the love of the game
Fallen
He Got Game

Looks like someone has a boner for Denzel...

Post by: heganboy on May 28, 2008, 02:29:14 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 28, 2008, 02:13:30 PM
K-Pax
For the love of the game
Fallen
He Got Game

Looks like someone has a boner for Denzel...
That may be the case but those are 2 excellent movies. The "he got game" soundtrack is pretty special too
Post by: nrico2006 on May 28, 2008, 02:55:45 PM
Unfortunate J70.  The Prestige is class, only saw it about 2 months ago.  As I have a Boner for Denzel I will also stick in John Q - awesome movie. 

Tony, it beats you and Minders infatuation with Matrix in Commando!
Post by: AZOffaly on May 28, 2008, 02:56:31 PM
I watched the two Iwo Jima films there recently, directed by Clint Eastwood, on Sky Movies. I thought they were enjoyable, and not the usual rah-rah Hollywood bullshite.

Letters from Iwo Jima is the Japanese 'view' of the battle.
Flags of our Fathers is the American one, although that deals just as much with the cynical use of 'heros' to sell the war to a jaded American Public.
Post by: J70 on May 28, 2008, 03:11:05 PM
Speaking of A Bronx Tale, has anyone heard what happened to yer man who played "C"?

He was stuck in prison awaiting charges of murdering a cop the last time I heard (himself and another boy were breaking into a house in the Bronx for drugs, when a off duty cop who lived on the street challenged them. The other boy pulled out a gun and killed him).
Post by: nrico2006 on May 28, 2008, 03:15:01 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lillo_Brancato
Post by: RONAN on May 28, 2008, 04:13:53 PM
Green Street, Elijah Wood actin the bad ass, thought when i seen it advertised it was a wind-up but played it well.
No matter how many times its on i seem to watch it.
Post by: Rav67 on May 28, 2008, 04:20:59 PM
Dead Man's Shoes
Post by: corn02 on May 28, 2008, 04:25:38 PM
I have a boner for Denzel, unreal actor. Man on Fire is very under rated.

Mouview I can't take you seriously. It is as close as you can get to thew perfect film.

Your are correct about the Prestige - absolutely terrific film and the Illusionist is not bad either.

Shooter, Fracture, Freedom Writers are all on the list and all very good.

Invincibl and We are Marshall are fantastic true life stories.
Post by: tyssam5 on May 28, 2008, 04:26:11 PM
Quote from: RONAN on May 28, 2008, 04:13:53 PM
Green Street, Elijah Wood actin the bad ass, thought when i seen it advertised it was a wind-up but played it well.
No matter how many times its on i seem to watch it.

Are you serious? That has to be one for the worst films I've ever seen.
Post by: corn02 on May 28, 2008, 04:29:13 PM
Thought green street was quite decent for a pretty terrible genre.

I was blowing bubbles all night.
Post by: nrico2006 on May 28, 2008, 04:32:24 PM
Green street is quality as is man on fire, shooter and fracture.  Most films Christian Bale is in are good - that one with Eva Longoria Harsh Times is very good.

The end fight in green street coupled with the music is absolutely brilliant.
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 28, 2008, 07:28:22 PM
Sideways is a great film, I didn't think I'd like. 

Bronx tale is good but I thought I'd like it. 
Post by: haranguerer on May 28, 2008, 08:56:36 PM
Man on Fire is great, and was underrated.
I loved 'In America' too, even though nothing really happens in it.
The Donnie Darko, but is it underrated? I think so...
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 28, 2008, 09:19:16 PM
Off the top of my head....

Empire Records
Mallrats
Dazed and Confused
In Too Deep
Super Troopers
Menace to Society
Higher Learning
Post by: Canalman on May 28, 2008, 10:41:14 PM
Contenders for surprisingly good films:- 

Coneheads
Theres only one Jimmy Grimble
The Soccer hooligan flick with Elijah Woods in it. Sorry cant remember its name.
Mike Basssett England manager.
The Castle,( a class Aussie comedy).
The Devils Own
Post by: Canalman on May 28, 2008, 10:43:58 PM
Remember it now

Green Street....mentioned in an earlier post.

Would echo the post about Adam and Paul....a class movie which I saw on TV3 only by chance.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 29, 2008, 12:18:27 AM
Green Street was ok but I would have football factory ahead of it

Speaking of which Nick Love is a brilliant director and the business and goodbye charlie bright are some shows as well

I love Danny Dyer, he's pwopa naughteeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
Post by: Fishbat on May 29, 2008, 01:15:35 AM
Quote from: corn02 on May 28, 2008, 04:29:13 PM
Thought green street was quite decent for a pretty terrible genre.

I was blowing bubbles all night.

Where was Mick?
Post by: heganboy on May 29, 2008, 03:45:32 AM
cyrano de bergerac, the depardieu version
Post by: Niall Quinn on May 29, 2008, 04:42:49 AM
I liked The Big Chill.
Very good soundtrack too.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on May 29, 2008, 08:07:37 AM
Quote from: Rav67 on May 28, 2008, 04:20:59 PM
Dead Man's Shoes

"YOU YE C*NT!!!"  :D

Class! - You would like 'Sexy Beast' - Ben Kingsly is brilliant in it!
Post by: nrico2006 on May 29, 2008, 09:20:33 AM
QuoteOff the top of my head....

Empire Records
Mallrats
Dazed and Confused
In Too Deep
Super Troopers
Menace to Society
Higher Learning

In too deep, Menace to Society and higher Learning are class.

Saw Sexy Beast recently along with 2 other English Gangster films – Love Honour and Obey and Rise of the Foot Soldier – all brilliant movies.   Plus Flight of The Navigator along with Point Break!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 29, 2008, 10:23:55 AM
Had In Too Deep on dvd but lent it out never saw it again, went to buy it again last night off aazon because this thread made me think but its not available there anymore!! I love Omar Epps, he's class.

Sexy Beast is great show, Ben Kingsley is a scary f**ker in it!

Is Love Honour and Obey the one with Ray Winstone, Jude Law, Rhys Ifans etc and they are all called by their same names? If so then yeah thats a good show, if not does anyone know it?

Also the film with damon albarn and robert carlyle, face was it, enjoyed it.

The Krays is good also i thought

Just love gangster stuff, makes me feeel like a big man!
Post by: nrico2006 on May 29, 2008, 10:33:45 AM
I haven't seen Gangster No.1 yet though.

Love, Honour and Obey is that one you mention.  Get Rise Of The Footsoldier as its better than LH&O and Sexy Beast.  I'm meant to get The Business with Danny Dyer this week which is meant to be class, set in Spain aswell I think.  As for someone saying Football Factory is as good as Green Street, not a chance.  Omar Epps is class - lLove and Basketball and The Wood are brilliant aswell.

Anybody ever seen Gladiator with Cuba Gooding Junior and Brian Dennehy?  Good show