GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Sky Blue on May 14, 2008, 10:12:54 AM

Title: Ray Cosgrove retires.
Post by: Sky Blue on May 14, 2008, 10:12:54 AM
Ray Cosgrove is retiring from the inter-county scene.

A great Dub but its probably the right decision at this stage. Some great memories of him in the sky blue. Who will ever forget his performances in 2002?
Hopefully he'll carry on a club level. Too many of the top players retire completely too young.

Title: Re: Ray Cosgrove retires.
Post by: Louth Exile on May 14, 2008, 10:23:08 AM
I think I would be echoing the sentiments of most of us in Louth when I say..... Damn, Damn, Damn   :D
I was hoping that Pillar might given him a run on the Louth game, it would have given our lads a great boost

Its a wonder he lasted on the panel this long and Navan was an embarassment for him. He hasn't fired in a long time.

However, he can look back on 2002 with a lot of pride though, he really lite up the championship that summer. Hopefully he will keep going at club level.
Post by: Mickey Linden on May 14, 2008, 10:25:47 AM
Whatever happened Cossie? He was on fire in the 2002 season but was a big disappointment after that. Was he unlucky with injuries or did he just go off the boil?
Post by: thebandit on May 14, 2008, 10:29:01 AM
The Chesney Hawkes of Gaelic Football.
Post by: Gnevin on May 14, 2008, 10:31:07 AM
Quote from: Mickey Linden on May 14, 2008, 10:25:47 AM
Whatever happened Cossie? He was on fire in the 2002 season but was a big disappointment after that. Was he unlucky with injuries or did he just go off the boil?
I think missing that free in 2002 had a big effect on him .
Post by: thejuice on May 14, 2008, 10:31:07 AM
2002 was a hell of a season by any players standards. He'll always be remembered for that. And well, who couldnt feel for him or his team for that matter when that ball hit the post against Armagh in the semi-final.
Post by: Gnevin on May 14, 2008, 10:32:16 AM
Quote from: Sky Blue on May 14, 2008, 10:12:54 AM

A great Dub but its probably the right decision at this stage. Some great memories of him in the sky blue. Who will ever forget his performances in 2002?
Hopefully he'll carry on a club level. Too many of the top players retire completely too young.

He's 31 been in the senior panel since 96 , first senior start in 99.  He's not that young

He had some super days in blue,too few really but they ones we got where a joy
Post by: stephenite on May 14, 2008, 10:33:26 AM
One season wonder - but what a season that was - very nice fella off the pitch. Anyone remember him in the James Bond get up for some magazine shoot? :D
Post by: feetofflames on May 14, 2008, 10:34:53 AM
But for one extra coat of paint or a little grease on the Hill goals in 2002, Young Cosgrove could have been Irelands greatest ever sporting hero.  Theres a book on the shelves  called What If? and it delas with the opposites of history ie, if hitler had won the war etc....That lick of paint on the hill 16 goals  is one of those stories.  I have heard of men not just from dublin who used to climb the posts in the dead of night with a bucket of goose fat to grease down the post in the hope that they prevent the next what if or what might have been!!!!  
Post by: heffo on May 14, 2008, 10:39:51 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on May 14, 2008, 10:32:16 AM
Quote from: Sky Blue on May 14, 2008, 10:12:54 AM

He's 31 been in the senior panel since 96 , first senior start in 99.  He's not that young

He had some super days in blue,too few really but they ones we got where a joy

He didn't start in '99 - he was brought on as a sub and taken off (Leinster final)

Wasn't on the panel until Lyons first year and his first start for Dublin in Championship was against Meath in 2002.

Great servant to Dublin - he had a good year in 2003 by anyones standards - still scoring 3/4 from play, but Dublin struggled in 2004 and he never reached the same heights again.
Post by: mattockranger on May 14, 2008, 10:58:45 AM
is there someting more sinister behind this retirement.......there has to be|!!

surely after training the whole winter, battling in the league and O'Byrne cup up to your eyeballs in muck and shite
then when the ground is just hardening championship just around the corner
sunny big days in croker ahead the dublin panel without a couple of key forwards for the early rounds playing louth in the first round

wat sort of player walks off at that stage seems very foolish especially when dublin could win an All-ireland
sickest man in september will be ray who missed out on winning an all-ireland medal on the subs bench or not its worth persevering with..........
Maybe he knows something we don't know...or an internal row with pillar
Obviously from behind the scenes, maybe he knows things aren't right and the all-ireland is not coming to Dublin...

Post by: Gnevin on May 14, 2008, 11:03:11 AM
Quote from: mattockranger on May 14, 2008, 10:58:45 AM

surely after training the whole winter, battling in the league and O'Byrne cup up to your eyeballs in muck and shite
sunny big days in croker ahead the dublin panel without a couple of key forwards for the early rounds playing louth in the first round

wat sort of player walks off at that stage seems very foolish especially when dublin could win an All-ireland
sickest man in september will be ray who missed out on winning an all-ireland medal on the subs bench or not its worth persevering with..........
Obviously from behind the scenes, maybe he knows things aren't right and the all-ireland is not coming to Dublin...

Being  put on and then taken off against Westmeath gave a very clear indication of what pillar though of him , 10th or 11th choice forward
If you made these huge leaps on a motor bike you'd be famous  ::)
Post by: EugeneGeraghty on May 14, 2008, 11:04:06 AM
One season wonder. Average footballer, goodbye. Wouldn't get this amount of praise if he retired from another county. Most other counties are happy to see dead wood cut away
Post by: bennydorano on May 14, 2008, 11:10:14 AM
Quote from: thejuice on May 14, 2008, 10:31:07 AM
2002 was a hell of a season by any players standards. He'll always be remembered for that. And well, who couldnt feel for him or his team for that matter when that ball hit the post against Armagh in the semi-final.
I'm sure you were heartbroken alright juice.
Post by: Jinxy on May 14, 2008, 11:14:37 AM
Best of luck to him. Great goal poacher in 2002 and had a good season in 2003 too (played very well against Armagh I think). Didn't do much since then. Being brought on and taken off again in Navan must have been hard to take.
Post by: heffo on May 14, 2008, 11:30:30 AM
Quote from: EugeneGeraghty on May 14, 2008, 11:04:06 AM
One season wonder. Average footballer, goodbye. Wouldn't get this amount of praise if he retired from another county. Most other counties are happy to see dead wood cut away

Average footballers don't score 6-23 in one season at the highest level.

He's not looking for a bagpipe band send off, absolute gentleman on and off the pitch and was always available for any club in Dublin to present medals despite the commitments of an inter-county footballer.
Post by: heffo on May 14, 2008, 11:34:54 AM

He knows he's at best the 10th choice forward and after being substituted in Navan, knows that he's not in Pillar's plans - but maybe there is something more to it...hang on, I'll give John Grisham a shout.
Post by: Louth Exile on May 14, 2008, 11:37:12 AM

Or maybe they did the decent thing him and told him if he wanted to jump he could, because if he didn't he was going to be pushed anyway!! They wouldn't be the only county management that cut away players before the start of the championship  ;)
Post by: cavanmaniac on May 14, 2008, 11:41:29 AM
Obviously a confidence player and he never seemed to have any after 2002.

A joy to behold that season alright, but he'll now be remembered as the ultimate flash in the pan player.
Post by: mattockranger on May 14, 2008, 11:46:18 AM
John Grisham could write a series of books on the Enigma that is dublin football.........i think he's been drafted on to the panel to build up a charter reference

Post by: heffo on May 14, 2008, 12:02:40 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on May 14, 2008, 11:46:18 AM
John Grisham could write a series of books on the Enigma that is dublin football.........i think he's been drafted on to the panel to build up a charter reference

As soon as he's finished, we'll make sure he gets to the bottom of why it's nearly fifty years since Louth have been in a provincial final..
Post by: mattockranger on May 14, 2008, 12:15:04 PM
thats no real conspiracy
we've a small pool of players and resources to pick

whats dublins excuse........

wasters, bottlers, overhyped spring to mind
Post by: Jinxy on May 14, 2008, 12:23:02 PM
I see Mattockranger is fighting a war on two fronts now!
Post by: heffo on May 14, 2008, 12:28:17 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on May 14, 2008, 12:15:04 PM
thats no real conspiracy
we've a small pool of players and resources to pick

whats dublins excuse........

wasters, bottlers, overhyped spring to mind

We've both underacheived - you seem to revel in Dublin's underachievement though.

Offaly have won two All-Irelands in the same period with a smaller population, Laois & Westmeath have won provincial titles with smaller populations than Louth.

With regards to the wasters & bottlers comment - cast your mind back to the last time our two counties met - I wonder who the wasters and bottlers were that day..

Post by: thejuice on May 14, 2008, 12:29:14 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on May 14, 2008, 11:10:14 AM
Quote from: thejuice on May 14, 2008, 10:31:07 AM
I'm sure you were heartbroken alright juice.

I wasnt heart broken, but Meath were out of the running at that stage and I was hoping Dublin would win.
Post by: mattockranger on May 14, 2008, 12:44:48 PM
we've have three all irelands
offaly had and used there golden generation wisely
think laois and westmeath have just wasted there's by winning solitary leinster titles during those periods
no sign of an all-ireland coming

in small countys like ours a golden batch of players don't come round too often fifty or so years i'd say ;D

With regards to the wasters & bottlers comment - cast your mind back to the last time our two counties met - I wonder who the wasters and bottlers were that day..
didn't bottle it just weren't up to it on the day didn't prepare properly and paid the price

i don't revel in your underachievement i revel in the games where the  dublin's arrogance gets quashed
  by  real quality shining through and beating your overhyped lot

mayo tyrone kerry armagh.....

stop going on like its your define right to win all-irelands until you possess the quality then revel in it
like the dubs of the early nineties possessed class throughout the team took their beatings without whinging (meath 91 especially) and their victories valiantly.....
Post by: heffo on May 14, 2008, 12:55:00 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on May 14, 2008, 12:44:48 PM
we've have three all irelands
offaly had and used there golden generation wisely
think laois and westmeath have just wasted there's by winning solitary leinster titles during those periods
no sign of an all-ireland coming

in small countys like ours a golden batch of players don't come round too often fifty or so years i'd say ;D

didn't bottle it just weren't up to it on the day didn't prepare properly and paid the price

i don't revel in your underachievement i revel in the games where the  dublin's arrogance gets quashed
  by  real quality shining through and beating your overhyped lot

mayo tyrone kerry armagh.....

stop going on like its your define right to win all-irelands until you possess the quality then revel in it
like the dubs of the early nineties possessed class throughout the team took their beatings without whinging (meath 91 especially) and their victories valiantly.....

This is getting a bit surreal now - so when Louth are trounced by double figures, it's just down to bad preparation, but when Dublin lose it's down to their arrogance and the fact that the media (the majority of GAA journo's are from outside Dublin incidentally and love nothing more than building Dublin up to knock them down) hyped them up?

When have I winged about a defeat on this board? When has a Dublin player winged?

I've never stated that Dublin have a divine right to anything...post the link where I did or retract the comment..
Post by: mattockranger on May 14, 2008, 01:14:48 PM
louth were not at races that year
when we were prepared properly we competed many a competitve battle we had in early ninties

their arrogance is not the reason they lost..... its that they don't have the quality

I've never stated that Dublin have a divine right to anything...post the link where I did or retract the comment..
that was a generalisation of all dublin fans

i 'm not on this board long enough to know whether YOU whinged or not.......

so would you agree that their is a vast contrast between the dublin team of the early ninties and team of the early noughties
in terms of fans unrealistic expectation levels,

this dublin lacks quality but they are hyped up to be something there not.... the team of the early ninetie's relative hype was justified as they were a  quality side
Post by: his holiness nb on May 14, 2008, 01:32:26 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on May 14, 2008, 01:14:48 PM

that was a generalisation of all dublin fans

i 'm not on this board long enough to know whether YOU whinged or not.......

Mattock, a generalisation of all Dublin fans, in your eyes, is that we think we have a divine right to win an All Ireland?

Jaysus I've heard some comments about Dublin fans on here, some true, some not, but that takes the biscuit.

I dont suppose you can back this up from quotes from Dubs saying this? Now we would need enough quotes to prove is the general view of the Dublin fans of course.

Or failing that can you even dig out one single post from a Dub saying this?

Being optomistic of your counties chances (no matter what county) of lifting Sam (we did run Kerry close last year) is not within a million miles of thinking you have a divine right to win anything.

Post by: mattockranger on May 14, 2008, 01:41:49 PM
are you seriously saying you've never heard that generalisation THAT takes the biscuit

simple enough questiion............
why is there such furore when dublin enter and especially when they exit the championship??

Post by: INDIANA on May 14, 2008, 01:47:09 PM
because most of the media reside in dublin mattock, you won't have to read to far into media theories to get your answer to that.

best of luck ray tremendous natural talent - that carr wasn't bright enough to exploit. thankfull lyons was and he had very good 2002 and 2003 seasons but wasn't as consistent after that. he's just another player who's left the panel due to differences with caffrey(he ain't the first). he realised he was down the pecking order and being put on and taken off when the whole team were playing shite in navan, well i wouldn't have been happy with that so his departure was inevitable.
Post by: heffo on May 14, 2008, 01:50:07 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on May 14, 2008, 01:41:49 PM
why is there such furore when dublin enter and especially when they exit the championship??

I've already answered this in my post above.

The majority of GAA writers are from outside Dublin and have a great dislike for Dublin football - I've met most of them.

Building Dublin up generates paper sales and tv ratings - look at the amount of replies on Dublin threads on this board in general - it's symptomatic of the general obsession/dislike that every other county has of Dublin.

making sweeping generalisations about Dublin fans, makes you look ever more foolish than you appear.
Post by: his holiness nb on May 14, 2008, 01:55:34 PM
are you seriously saying you've never heard that generalisation THAT takes the biscuit

100% serious, and I even gave you the opportunity to back your claim up, but I've yet to see one single quote.

Ooh thats a tough one, lets see.
Maybe its because around a quarter of the entire country lives in Dublin?

Maybe its because the media is based in Dublin?

But non these suggestions are way too far fetched, the real reason is because Mattock Ranger thinks he can presume to think what the general Dublin fan is thinking, despite them never saying it  ;)

you really got us there  :D

Post by: mattockranger on May 14, 2008, 02:32:24 PM
obviously i'm not alone!

Others have heard this 'sweeping' generalisation also!!!
strange for second there i thought i was in a world of my own
Post by: heffo on May 14, 2008, 02:39:15 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on May 14, 2008, 02:32:24 PM
Others have heard this 'sweeping' generalisation also!!!

Who are these 'others' you speak of?
Post by: mattockranger on May 14, 2008, 02:46:09 PM
in the poll

maybe you yourself are not biased towards dublins all-ireland credentials but majority or dubs do believe the hype
Post by: Louth Exile on May 14, 2008, 02:49:21 PM
Quote from: heffo on May 14, 2008, 02:39:15 PM
Who are these 'others' you speak of?

Do you not watch Lost heffo, they are the crowd from the other side of the Island, you know the ones, Ben is their leader!  :D
Post by: billy the kid on May 14, 2008, 02:54:08 PM
I am Spartacus!

Have to say i often get that impression when talking to Dubs about football, but there are also many a Dub who realise the limitations of their team and the overhype that is created around them.

Dubs are like all football fans they want their team to win an all ireland, and like all fans of the teams in the top 8-10 in the country they believe they can.
Post by: ludermor on May 14, 2008, 03:10:37 PM
some of best friends are dubs.....

only joking, are ya mad!
Post by: his holiness nb on May 14, 2008, 03:23:00 PM
Whatever about Mattocks other threads about Dublin fans,  Its sad that he has managed to turn a thread about a players retirement into another slagging match.

Thats just bad manners.

Best of luck Ray, thanks for 2002!
Post by: mattockranger on May 14, 2008, 03:26:44 PM
i think you'll find heffo started this innuedo

I tried to dig a little under the surface for ray's withdrawal...
Post by: heffo on May 14, 2008, 03:30:28 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on May 14, 2008, 03:26:44 PM
i think you'll find heffo started this innuedo

Indeed it was me who started this innuendo - it was me who posted this wasn't it - "John Grisham could write a series of books on the Enigma that is dublin football.........i think he's been drafted on to the panel to build up a charter reference"

Post by: mattockranger on May 14, 2008, 03:48:13 PM
childish heffo...

you can have a smart answer when i try to bring up a genuine query and insight to the dublin set-up but i reply with one you have a dig at louth football
Post by: nrico2006 on May 14, 2008, 03:48:23 PM
QuoteAverage footballers don't score 6-23 in one season at the highest level.

How much of that was from play?  I'm sure Mossy Quinn has scored something somilar recently and he is hardly anything but average too.
Post by: heffo on May 14, 2008, 03:52:54 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on May 14, 2008, 03:48:13 PM
childish heffo...

you can have a smart answer when i try to bring up a genuine query and insight to the dublin set-up but i reply with one you have a dig at louth football

Genuine query my hole.
Post by: mattockranger on May 14, 2008, 04:01:27 PM
ha honestly

because i can't believe the man trained hard all winter and retired on the cusp of the championship!

there has to more to it than that!
Post by: his holiness nb on May 14, 2008, 04:09:11 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on May 14, 2008, 04:01:27 PM
ha honestly

because i can't believe the man trained hard all winter and retired on the cusp of the championship!

Maybe, maybe not.

Perhaps he realised himself after struggling desperately against Westmeath that he just cant cut it anymore.

Then again maybe he refused to box the head off someone at Pillars instruction and was cast away  ;)
Post by: heffo on May 14, 2008, 04:17:05 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on May 14, 2008, 04:01:27 PM
ha honestly

You find it hard to believe that a player who realistically would play no part in the championship, is 31 and has two small kids, can decide travelling across the city in rush hour traffic three times a week and going to the gym three nights a week, is not worth the effort?

Yet you have no difficulty believing that five Louth players would train all winter (including three of your clubmates) and jump ship for the dollar when knocked out of Leinster...
Post by: mattockranger on May 14, 2008, 04:28:47 PM
here we go another childish dig........

i'll defend myself......
and actually it was 4 players from my club who left the panel all together........

2 of them took up the marvellous opportuity went to the states for the summer for a trip of a lifetime otherwise they wouldn't have left

i very much doubt ray's reasons for leaving were clear cut or as ideal as that pillars troops are crumbling the truth about rays departure will be come out can't wait for his autobiography!!!
Post by: heffo on May 14, 2008, 04:31:40 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on May 14, 2008, 04:28:47 PM

i'll defend myself......
and actually it was 4 players from my club who left the panel all together........

2 of them took up the marvellous opportuity went to the states for the summer for a trip of a lifetime otherwise they wouldn't have left

i very much doubt ray's reasons for leaving were clear cut or as ideal as that pillars troops are crumbling the truth about rays departure will be come out can't wait for his autobiography!!!

Jaysus, I'm dizzy with all the spinning - five Louth players leave their county in the lurch when the going gets tough and they're leaving for the 'trip of a lifetime', yet fringe player leaves panel and it's awful sinister...
Post by: cavan4ever on May 14, 2008, 04:36:08 PM
Quote from: heffo on May 14, 2008, 04:31:40 PM

i'll defend myself......

Jaysus, I'm dizzy with all the spinning - five Louth players leave their county in the lurch when the going gets tough and they're leaving for the 'trip of a lifetime', yet fringe player leaves panel and it's awful sinister...

It's a pointless thread anyway players leave panels all the time with no mention here.
Post by: mattockranger on May 14, 2008, 04:36:44 PM
it was actually 7 players who left get your facts right
4 of them were fringe players
3 went to america

louth knocked out of the championship qualifiers was something like 5or6 weeks away

big difference between that and a player leaving before the championship begins!

Post by: INDIANA on May 14, 2008, 05:09:02 PM
if you can't stick to the thread title mattock - piss off. get yourself a summer job picking strawberries or something. You'r eonly a wum.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 14, 2008, 05:14:52 PM
Quote from: cavan4ever on May 14, 2008, 04:36:08 PM
Quote from: heffo on May 14, 2008, 04:31:40 PM

i'll defend myself......

It's a pointless thread anyway players leave panels all the time with no mention here.

Couldn't agree more.
Cosgrove should have retired 2 or 3 years ago anyways
Post by: his holiness nb on May 14, 2008, 05:29:19 PM
Lads, its a GAA website. If any intercounty player retires, I wouldnt moan about them getting one measly thread on here. Whether he is past his best or not (he is) is irrelevant, its a forum for guys to wish him the best and recall his best moments. I certainly dont think its appropriate to turn this into a slagging match or have a go at him.

That said, freedom of speech and all, ye can say what ye like, I just think its bad form.

Post by: SouthArmaghBandit on May 15, 2008, 12:02:04 AM
Good player who never quite lived up to his potential despite a great 2002. I'd wish him all the best in his retirement from county football.
Post by: Hound on May 15, 2008, 09:36:33 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on May 14, 2008, 01:47:09 PM
because most of the media reside in dublin mattock, you won't have to read to far into media theories to get your answer to that.

best of luck ray tremendous natural talent - that carr wasn't bright enough to exploit. thankfull lyons was and he had very good 2002 and 2003 seasons but wasn't as consistent after that. he's just another player who's left the panel due to differences with caffrey(he ain't the first). he realised he was down the pecking order and being put on and taken off when the whole team were playing shite in navan, well i wouldn't have been happy with that so his departure was inevitable.
That's unfair on Carr. Carr gave him plenty of league runs and he flopped every time. He was too young and hadnt developed the bottle to play intercounty at that time. His performances in the Leinster championship for Kilmacud around that time was very poor too. 

He was magnificent in 2002, and ironically his performance in the semi was probably the best of his career - he really rose to the occassion and led the forwards superbly, just unlucky that he set that final kick a tad too far off to the right.

He can have no complaints about Navan. Everything he touched went wrong. A clear example of somebody trying to hard and nothing going for them.
Post by: INDIANA on May 15, 2008, 10:06:07 AM
he can have a lot of complaints about navan because the rest of the team were playing absolutely shite and were just as viable canditates for being taken off so no i don;t agree with you on that- he was humiliated. Why didn't caffrey do the decent thing and cut him from the panel when it was cut 10 days previously?
at the time Carr was in charge left both o keefe and cosgrove who were the two most natural forwards in the county were on the bench at regular intervals when the dublin forward line had all the knockout punch of bernard dunne. It was an incredible gaffe that none of us involved at club football at the time could ever understand as they were by far the best prospects in the county at the time. Ray had no more bottle in 2002 than he had in 1999, it's a skill called man-mangement something that's sadly missing from the current setup as well.
Post by: rrhf on May 15, 2008, 10:15:09 AM
I think the Dubs have treid every trick in the book and its finally dawned they are still not good enough.  Expect whelo, jayo, shocko and co. to follow Cozo.  Even rhino might have had enough too.
Consgrove was a top class act in 2002 - did he get an all star that year? 
Post by: Canalman on May 15, 2008, 08:09:20 PM
Ray was very dignified in his article in the Evening Herald wishing the rest of the panel the very best of luck in the future. Described his career (correctly imo) as a mirror of most inter county players ... ie  containing highs and lows. Was very impressed with its contents.

All the best in the retirement.
Post by: stew on May 15, 2008, 08:16:05 PM
I shall be forever grateful to Ray for hitting the post with that last second free against in the 2002 AISF. he was sublime that year and his career never again hit those heights. I wish him and his family all the best as I am sure most on here would. Feck the begrudgers.
Post by: Kerry Mike on May 15, 2008, 09:54:38 PM
I always thought he was an underrated player and has got a raw deal with recent Dublin Managers in particular Pillar.
His miss in 2002 will always be talked about and in one of those "what if" moments, had it gone over would we ever have seen the breakthrough of Armagh and possibly Tyrone who followed them in from the wilderness, and probably Kerry would have another few handy All irelands beating the Dubs along the way  ;)

Anyway fair play Ray for standing up for your principles and for also putting in the efforts and commitments of being a county player, a few Leinster medals is a scant reward for a long career in the Jackeen jersey.
Post by: Tatler Jack on May 15, 2008, 10:29:45 PM
QuoteHis miss in 2002 will always be talked about and in one of those "what if" moments

His missed goal chance last year v Kerry is an even bigger "what if" - might have meant that Kerry would be going for another one in a row this year.

I never rated him - he had one good year when everything went right for him but for the past few years should have been nowhere near a Dublin panel. Contributed little  in the games he played in and that goal miss last year summed up his efforts
Post by: INDIANA on May 15, 2008, 11:47:31 PM
had a very good year in 2003 as well, simply was badly managed by carr, and since 2003 hasn't been as consistent. if he had been born in kerry he'd have been better appreciated. because only diarmuid connolly has the sort of natural talent cosgrove had. he really was that talented, but was regarded as soft by certain managers despite the fact he could score better than most others. as for not rating him one good year or not 6-24 in a seaosn indicates he must have had some level of talent. In other words i wish personally i had been half as average a player. hope his retirement goes well.
Post by: johnpower on May 16, 2008, 07:12:25 PM
Best of Luck to him ,yes had a great year in 2002 and 2003 ,also a good servant to his club .At 31 not many forwards will get a start at the top level
Post by: tyssam5 on May 17, 2008, 08:41:45 PM
Who?