GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: theskull1 on May 13, 2008, 01:12:36 PM

Title: Attendances this year
Post by: theskull1 on May 13, 2008, 01:12:36 PM
Can't quite understand why the GAA has upped their admission prices whenever people are already stretched with the extra heating and travelling costs over the past year or two. Can definately see a marked reduction in attendances this year as a result of the cost of living increases that we have seen. You'd have thought the GAA could have been more responsive? It may have actually brought them better revenue at the year end
Title: Re: Attendances this year
Post by: Bogball XV on May 13, 2008, 01:19:47 PM
Y'see, you just don't understand the gaa's ethos, recently uncovered under a painting in Hayes Hotel, there was a hidden mission statement, it said apparently (as gaelige obviously) that the GAA must strive to maximise profit to the exclusion of all else.  Naturally the GAA were delighted to find this, as they've actually been doing this anyway, but at least this will allow them to justify their actions.
Post by: Franko on May 13, 2008, 01:51:14 PM
OK Lads - I would have to agree that the GAA are not very good when it comes to ripping off the paying public but come on here - just as the standard of living has increased so has the cost of running a business (which is essentially what the GAA is) and these costs have to be covered in some way.  Whilst I see that the GAA could maybe have absorbed these higher costs slightly more it should be abundantly obvious as to where they have come from.
Post by: Bogball XV on May 13, 2008, 02:17:27 PM
Quote from: Franko on May 13, 2008, 01:51:14 PM
OK Lads - I would have to agree that the GAA are not very good when it comes to ripping off the paying public but come on here - just as the standard of living has increased so has the cost of running a business (which is essentially what the GAA is) and these costs have to be covered in some way.  Whilst I see that the GAA could maybe have absorbed these higher costs slightly more it should be abundantly obvious as to where they have come from.
Well, it's not obvious to me - has pitch hire increased?  Maybe it's the stewarding fees?  Luckily they've just managed to secure a wee bit of extra revenue in the form of their best ever tv rights and sponsorship sales, if they've got higher costs, perhaps they could look to the fact that they've also got extra revenue too and decide to leave prices unchanged.
Post by: Bogball XV on May 13, 2008, 02:21:04 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on May 13, 2008, 02:15:48 PM
€25 would probably get you 1 months subsciption to Sky Sports, with its player cams, action replays, fan cams, expert analysis from cardboard cut outs like Jamie Redknapp. You might even feel adventurous and enter the Goal of the Month competition and win a signed shirt or a trip to Wembley to watch a bunch of over paid nancy boys.
Or €25 will get you into the thick of the action, a ringside seat, hats flags and headbands, anyone for the last few choc ices, that roar from the crowd with 20 minutes to go, urging their team on, this is our year, theres always next year. Seeing yer man you went to school with, seeing your neighbour with only the keeper to beat, seeing the ball crash off the crossbar.
Its only €25, most of us will only get a few days out. The cute hoors in Kerry will keep their €25 until late July. If you want a signed shirt you always know someone on the team. Its your money, I know where I`ll be on June 8th.
that's precisely the point 5 times, the gaa have a reasonably inelastic demand, so they just decide to throw up the prices as they know they'll get it anyway.  Why do the gaa need to increase their prices?  It's not a professional body, players aren't getting paid, they have excess income, why do they need more??
Post by: doire na raithe on May 13, 2008, 02:27:25 PM
Quote from: Franko on May 13, 2008, 01:51:14 PM

...is it?  It was never founded as a business. At what stage has this changed and why are we accepting it?
Post by: gwan-ye-boy-ya on May 13, 2008, 02:36:49 PM
€25 would probably get you 1 months subsciption to Sky Sports, with its player cams, action replays, fan cams, expert analysis from cardboard cut outs like Jamie Redknapp. You might even feel adventurous and enter the Goal of the Month competition and win a signed shirt or a trip to Wembley to watch a bunch of over paid nancy boys.
Or €25 will get you into the thick of the action, a ringside seat, hats flags and headbands, anyone for the last few choc ices, that roar from the crowd with 20 minutes to go, urging their team on, this is our year, theres always next year. Seeing yer man you went to school with, seeing your neighbour with only the keeper to beat, seeing the ball crash off the crossbar.
Its only €25, most of us will only get a few days out. The cute hoors in Kerry will keep their €25 until late July. If you want a signed shirt you always know someone on the team. Its your money, I know where I`ll be on June 8th.
thats the passion we need..  :D.. I know where ill be on may 25th
Post by: Gnevin on May 13, 2008, 02:41:47 PM
How much have prices gone up by?
Post by: MaroonAndWhite on May 13, 2008, 02:49:45 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on May 13, 2008, 02:41:47 PM
€20 for terrace, €30 for stand at Pearse Stadium this Sunday.......dont think that has changed from last year.
I wont complain about the price if we beat Ros out the gate!
Post by: Gnevin on May 13, 2008, 02:58:16 PM
Quote from: MaroonAndWhite on May 13, 2008, 02:49:45 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on May 13, 2008, 02:41:47 PM
€20 for terrace, €30 for stand at Pearse Stadium this Sunday.......dont think that has changed from last year.
I wont complain about the price if we beat Ros out the gate!
I recall paying about that last year too. Can anyone confirm their is an actual price prise?
Post by: mylestheslasher on May 13, 2008, 03:01:31 PM
It is not the individual ticket price that is my issue. I would look at this from a family point of view. A trip to casement on Sunday from Cavan for a man and his 3 kids. Lets say the kids are 16, 14 and 12 years old....

Mans Ticket = E18
Kids Tickets = E18 (I don't see any cheap kids ticket prices on the match flyer) = 18 x 3 = 54
Petrol = E40
Bit to eat = E50
Parking = E10

Total = E172

Is that a reasonable price to pay to see a game of football. Maybe it is when you compare to premier league soccer, but it never used to be that expensive to watch GAA matches in the past.
Post by: illdecide on May 13, 2008, 03:08:39 PM

will you're wife be at home when you're at the match ???
Post by: Gnevin on May 13, 2008, 03:42:46 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on May 13, 2008, 03:01:31 PM
It is not the individual ticket price that is my issue. I would look at this from a family point of view. A trip to casement on Sunday from Cavan for a man and his 3 kids. Lets say the kids are 16, 14 and 12 years old....

Mans Ticket = E18
Kids Tickets = E18 (I don't see any cheap kids ticket prices on the match flyer) = 18 x 3 = 54
Petrol = E40
Bit to eat = E50
Parking = E10

Total = E172

Is that a reasonable price to pay to see a game of football. Maybe it is when you compare to premier league soccer, but it never used to be that expensive to watch GAA matches in the past.
Did you always have 3 kids in the past?
Would you every feck off for f**k sake , we had this bollox last year . Kids tickets are cheaper ask your county board. Last I heard the GAA weren't either OPEC ,Mc Donald's or Dublin Corporation  so their is nothing they can do about your bit to eat, petrol or parking but here is a few idea's

Loaf of bread and some "hang" 5er , i've saved you 45 euro, turn up early parking is free a other 10 euro . Jasus i'm like Eddies Hobbs here,  40 euro for petrol where you coming from and in what a tank?
Post by: Bogball XV on May 13, 2008, 03:53:32 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on May 13, 2008, 02:54:22 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on May 13, 2008, 02:21:04 PM
that's precisely the point 5 times, the gaa have a reasonably inelastic demand, so they just decide to throw up the prices as they know they'll get it anyway.  Why do the gaa need to increase their prices?  It's not a professional body, players aren't getting paid, they have excess income, why do they need more??

Not too long ago it was 3 bars for a £ now its 3 bars for €2. The chocolate is still out of date, but the Football will never be. Its the way of the world, things get dearer. You are earning more now than you ever did. If your team get to the All Ireland in September will you be worried about the price of a ticket?
Indeed, but, as I stated earlier, why do the gaa need to increase their prices?  I can't see why people let this happen year after year, is it because you decide that it's a chance to cream all the bandwagon jumpers who just come to the championship games?  Prices are too expensive and faciltities are generally poor. 
How many first round championship games are going to be a sell out?  Do you think it's justifiable to charge €30 into Clare v Tipp?  Would it not be preferable to have free admission and have a bigger attendance?
Post by: mylestheslasher on May 13, 2008, 04:08:36 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on May 13, 2008, 03:42:46 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on May 13, 2008, 03:01:31 PM

Mans Ticket = E18
Petrol = E40
Bit to eat = E50
Parking = E10

Total = E172

Did you always have 3 kids in the past?
Would you every feck off for f**k sake , we had this bollox last year . Kids tickets are cheaper ask your county board. Last I heard the GAA weren't either OPEC ,Mc Donald's or Dublin Corporation  so their is nothing they can do about your bit to eat, petrol or parking but here is a few idea's

Loaf of bread and some "hang" 5er , i've saved you 45 euro, turn up early parking is free a other 10 euro . Jasus i'm like Eddies Hobbs here,  40 euro for petrol where you coming from and in what a tank?

I was giving an example of the types of costs that a family would spend to travel to a match - not my own circumstances. Where did I say that the GAA were responsible for food, petrol etc. I have no idea what kids tickets cost but if you look at the match flyer (on the official Antrim vrs Cavan thread) you will see no mention of kids prices. I was also using the cheapest ticket available for the match. Drive from Cavan to Belfast and back next week could easily cost you 40 euro.
Post by: Bogball XV on May 13, 2008, 04:17:47 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 13, 2008, 04:11:17 PM
Again,
Children u16 accompanied by an adult get in free on Sunday.
And I don't think you'll be charged for parking.
Aye, but he'll come out and have no wheels on the car ;)  Or else he'll have to buy the lot of them burgers in thon mcdonalds in at the shopping centre place.
Post by: armaghniac on May 13, 2008, 04:28:45 PM
QuoteDrive from Cavan to Belfast and back next week could easily cost you 40 euro.

Only if you have a big car, or one of those SUV yokes, which suggests you are not short of a few bob.
Post by: mylestheslasher on May 13, 2008, 04:49:48 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 13, 2008, 04:28:45 PM
QuoteDrive from Cavan to Belfast and back next week could easily cost you 40 euro.

Only if you have a big car, or one of those SUV yokes, which suggests you are not short of a few bob.

Can you fu*king read. I was giving an example of a family making the trip - not me. For christ sake, I am sorry I spoke. Suppose armagh fans wouldn't bring their family to watch them fall around drunk 3 hours before the game, they'd get in the way of a session.
Post by: small white mayoman on May 13, 2008, 04:52:13 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on May 13, 2008, 04:49:48 PM

Can you fu*king read. I was giving an example of a family making the trip - not me. For christ sake, I am sorry I spoke. Suppose armagh fans wouldn't bring their family to watch them fall around drunk 3 hours before the game, they'd get in the way of a session.

:o :o  should be a good reaction to this
Post by: bingobus on May 13, 2008, 05:27:02 PM
Again,

Are you sure? I'm not arguing but I noticed a load of flyers left in our Juvenile dressing rooms with posters advertising the championship. The flyers where for Under 12's receiving free admission into the Antrim game when accompanied by an adult plus free admission to any Ulster hurling match.

Not sure why they'd give admission to a match with a flyer that was free anyway. But then again, it is Ireland and the GAA anything is possible.
Post by: armaghniac on May 13, 2008, 05:37:40 PM
QuoteCan you fu*king read.

There is hardly a need for this kind of abuse. It is a valid point that people are driving to games in big expensive cars, then complaining about the prices.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on May 13, 2008, 06:20:26 PM
Normally I defend the gaa but on this occasion I must say that whoever is setting the ticket prices is making a total and complete balls out of it. The gaa has got more money than ever with the new sponsorship deal and opening of croke park - revenue has increased at an unbelievable rate. This was the time to use the money to reduce the ticket prices and really promote the games. With increased tv coverage people would already be tempted to stay at home (before the price increase) and half empty grounds for televised games do nothing to increase the appeal of the games.

Surely with the drop in league attendances and downturn in the economy someone would have had the brains to put the prices down a bit to encourage people to the game. For the early championship matches £10 into the terrace and £13 into the stand would have been more than enough. Would I be right in saying based on this weeks game that for the ulster semis in Clones it will be £19 into the Pat McGrane stand? - crazy if true.

The gaa has never been about profit maximisation but in recent years the leaders seem to have lost the run of themselves.
Post by: passedit on May 13, 2008, 06:31:46 PM
Again,

Can I bring a clatter of weans or is it 1+1?
Post by: Bogball XV on May 13, 2008, 07:55:09 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on May 13, 2008, 06:20:26 PM
Normally I defend the gaa but on this occasion I must say that whoever is setting the ticket prices is making a total and complete balls out of it. The gaa has got more money than ever with the new sponsorship deal and opening of croke park - revenue has increased at an unbelievable rate. This was the time to use the money to reduce the ticket prices and really promote the games. With increased tv coverage people would already be tempted to stay at home (before the price increase) and half empty grounds for televised games do nothing to increase the appeal of the games.

Surely with the drop in league attendances and downturn in the economy someone would have had the brains to put the prices down a bit to encourage people to the game. For the early championship matches £10 into the terrace and £13 into the stand would have been more than enough. Would I be right in saying based on this weeks game that for the ulster semis in Clones it will be £19 into the Pat McGrane stand? - crazy if true.

The gaa has never been about profit maximisation but in recent years the leaders seem to have lost the run of themselves.
It'll be £20 at a minimum, but more likely £25.
Post by: gerry on May 13, 2008, 08:07:34 PM
I have taken my 3 kids to all of tyrone home league games and mckenna cup matches this year.  twelve euro for me and the kids go free , i think it's great value.  with tyrone first game in omagh all ticketed can't see us all getting tickets for it, will have to result to the tv instead.

Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on May 13, 2008, 09:22:31 PM
I'd say anyone looking a ticket for the Tyrone Down game will have no problem. Omagh I think with the new security measures holds 21,000 officially( had been round 18000 previously). I'd say there'll be no more than this looking tickets - only 12-13000 turned up for the Fermanagh game in Clones last year in the 1st round. With a home draw and the fact its not on tv I'd definately expect a few thousand more than that though.
Post by: the Deel Rover on May 14, 2008, 09:48:26 AM

sure nobody in Armagh worries about the price of diesel or petrol  ;)
Post by: Zulu on May 14, 2008, 12:20:57 PM
QuoteWhy do the gaa need to increase their prices?  It's not a professional body, players aren't getting paid, they have excess income, why do they need more??

Maybe to help subsidise the 3000 odd GAA clubs around the country, who need to develop pitches, dressing rooms, all weather pitches, gyms, ball alleys etc. Or to allow the GAA pay for, and increase the number of development officers/coaches around the country. The FAI and IRFU charge much more for their product and earn much more from TV and sponsorship deals and both these organisations need our players and supporters if they are to remain competitive and financially viable in the future. So we need to maximise our financial clout when and where we can, ticket prices is one way off doing that. Besides the price of tickets are reasonable and there are deals for families so I'm not sure what more the GAA can do.  There's a lot of GAA supporters heading off to Cardiff next week (and spending a fortune) who wouldn't know and egg from a rugby ball yet 5 weeks from now some of them will be bitching about the price into Thurles or Limerick. I never mind paying into a GAA game because I know the money is going back into the organisation.
Post by: armaghniac on May 14, 2008, 12:27:43 PM
QuoteI'm not sure what more the GAA can do.

Well given the discussion on this thread among GAA people as to whether or not you had to pay for children  they could do more to make clear the deals that do exist. They should improve their facilities so that you get decent toilets etc having paid the price of the ticket. They could also manage their affairs a bit better so that debacles like the cancellation of the Dublin game in Cross' do not occur, as they lost quite a bit of revenue on that one.
Post by: Zulu on May 14, 2008, 01:41:42 PM
QuoteWell given the discussion on this thread among GAA people as to whether or not you had to pay for children  they could do more to make clear the deals that do exist. They should improve their facilities so that you get decent toilets etc having paid the price of the ticket. They could also manage their affairs a bit better so that debacles like the cancellation of the Dublin game in Cross' do not occur, as they lost quite a bit of revenue on that one.

That'll stop this annual bitchfest about ticket prices?
Post by: donelli on May 18, 2008, 04:30:41 PM
Looking at the games on tv this afternoon, attendances seem dismal.
HQ gotta get this issue addressed soon before it spirrals further.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 18, 2008, 06:36:51 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on May 18, 2008, 06:07:04 PM
Very poor crowd in Casement and even then hardly an Antrim supporter left before the final whistle.

A poor attendance in Croke Park for the first game and the main stand in Salthill was far from full.  It looks like the bubble has burst.  The amount of disposable income for most families has fallen drastically since last year and it is bound to affect attendance.  The cost of travel has rocketed.  Top this with a 17% fall in the value of the pound against the euro and a day out at a championship game begins to look quite expensive!

Come on, be realistic!  If the same teams had been playing each other 5 years ago, would the crowds have been any bigger? The Meath and Galway games were always expected to be mis-matches and Cavan v Antrim or Kildare v Wicklow were never expected to attract mammoth crowds. As for Ulster, you'll see big crowds now for all the quarter-final games: Monaghan v Fermanagh, Armagh v Cavan, Tyrone v Down and Derry v Donegal will all pull in close to 20,000 each.

Also, the value of the pound - what difference is that going to make?  Will that not just effect people travelling from the north to the republic? Even so, how many euros does the average northern family have to spend on a trip down south? You can pay in Sterling at Clones matches, and fuel is still cheaper in the Republic, is it not?
Post by: FermGael on May 18, 2008, 07:36:53 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 18, 2008, 06:36:51 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on May 18, 2008, 06:07:04 PM
Very poor crowd in Casement and even then hardly an Antrim supporter left before the final whistle.

A poor attendance in Croke Park for the first game and the main stand in Salthill was far from full.  It looks like the bubble has burst.  The amount of disposable income for most families has fallen drastically since last year and it is bound to affect attendance.  The cost of travel has rocketed.  Top this with a 17% fall in the value of the pound against the euro and a day out at a championship game begins to look quite expensive!

Come on, be realistic!  If the same teams had been playing each other 5 years ago, would the crowds have been any bigger? The Meath and Galway games were always expected to be mis-matches and Cavan v Antrim or Kildare v Wicklow were never expected to attract mammoth crowds. As for Ulster, you'll see big crowds now for all the quarter-final games: Monaghan v Fermanagh, Armagh v Cavan, Tyrone v Down and Derry v Donegal will all pull in close to 20,000 each.

Also, the value of the pound - what difference is that going to make?  Will that not just effect people travelling from the north to the republic? Even so, how many euros does the average northern family have to spend on a trip down south? You can pay in Sterling at Clones matches, and fuel is still cheaper in the Republic, is it not?

Would think that you will be doing very well to get 15'000 next weekend. And that would be a very optimisic figure with a good day.  Would not be surprised if the attendance was nearer 12'000 
Post by: Maguire01 on May 18, 2008, 07:52:18 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on May 18, 2008, 07:21:10 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 18, 2008, 06:36:51 PM
Even so, how many euros does the average northern family have to spend on a trip down south? You can pay in Sterling at Clones matches, and fuel is still cheaper in the Republic, is it not?

For those of us who have been regular travellers to Clones and Croke Park over the last 10 years, we have left a considerable amount of euros in the republic. The value of the euro has left fuel virtually the same price North or South.
Fair enough.  But anyone travelling from north to south doesn't have to spend a lot of Euro. Petrol can be bought on either side of the border, packed lunch can be bought, sterling can be paid into the match (at Ulster games anyway).  Basically, i'm not sure what difference the value of £ vs € makes - unless you eating/drinking out/staying over when travelling to matches.
The general cost of living might make a difference, but surely not the exchange rate?

Quote from: FermGael on May 18, 2008, 07:36:53 PM
Would think that you will be doing very well to get 15'000 next weekend. And that would be a very optimisic figure with a good day.  Would not be surprised if the attendance was nearer 12'000 
That would be very disappointing for a local derby. As it's all-ticket, is it not true that such arrangements are made only if there is danger of demand outstriping supply?  If we have a day like today next week, i'd expect close to 20,000 - it's expected to be a tight contest with both teams optimistic of a result, and no one has that far to travel.
Post by: ExiledGael on May 18, 2008, 08:00:55 PM
Would imagine it'll be well into the teens.
Are all tickets gone from ticketmaster? How many did they have?
Post by: Gnevin on May 18, 2008, 09:29:49 PM
League attendance where not noticeably down this year. As for the games today what should of been 4 mismatches where never  going to draw massive crowds.
Post by: magickingdom on May 18, 2008, 10:47:50 PM
seriously anyone expecting a big crowd at any of todays games was deluded, a few years ago some double/trible header at croke park at the start of the championship drew 17k and people were saying attendances were going to plummet and it didnt happen. there will be great crowds as the year goes on as usual. cant understand the logic of holding todays double header at cp tho..
Post by: Bogball XV on May 18, 2008, 10:49:22 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on May 18, 2008, 10:47:50 PM
seriously anyone expecting a big crowd at any of todays games was deluded, a few years ago some double/trible header at croke park at the start of the championship drew 17k and people were saying attendances were going to plummet and it didnt happen. there will be great crowds as the year goes on as usual. cant understand the logic of holding todays double header at cp tho..
Would have been much better off playing them in Aughrim and Carlow respectively. 
Post by: johnpower on May 18, 2008, 10:54:02 PM
I agree the local venues would draw the crowds Kildare fans are a mystery to me great down in thurles but light on the ground today still people would be giving out if Croke Park was closed today
Post by: Maguire01 on May 18, 2008, 11:01:24 PM
Quote from: johnpower on May 18, 2008, 10:54:02 PM
I agree the local venues would draw the crowds Kildare fans are a mystery to me great down in thurles but light on the ground today still people would be giving out if Croke Park was closed today
Who would be giving out?  I would never have expected these games to be in Croke Park.  Surely they could have played the league finals at HQ and given Croke Park the extra few weeks at the start of the Championship?
Post by: johnpower on May 18, 2008, 11:09:25 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 18, 2008, 11:01:24 PM
Who would be giving out?  I would never have expected these games to be in Croke Park.  Surely they could have played the league finals at HQ and given Croke Park the extra few weeks at the start of the Championship?

Well for one the Carlow and Wicklow fans , Leinster needs a smaller stadium to cater for the smaller crowds
Post by: Bogball XV on May 18, 2008, 11:14:10 PM
Quote from: johnpower on May 18, 2008, 11:09:25 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 18, 2008, 11:01:24 PM

Well for one the Carlow and Wicklow fans , Leinster needs a smaller stadium to cater for the smaller crowds
They have quite a few tbh - from Navan down to Nowlan Park, Dublin could do with a nice modern 30K stadium all the same - would be great for the likes of today's games etc.  As for the league finals being in Croke Park, why??  9,800 people in Croker makes for a great atmosphere doesn't it?
Post by: magickingdom on May 18, 2008, 11:20:31 PM
i think you might get a much bigger crowd then 9,800 if it was in croker, believe it or not presentation counts and pp was not suitable for a league final. might have been fine for kildare/wicklow today tho if they couldnt agree on a home venue..
Post by: Maguire01 on May 19, 2008, 07:55:11 AM
Exactly.  Demand was higher than supply in the likes of Fermanagh for the league final. Also, given the day of the league final, you may well have had more turning up on the day.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 19, 2008, 09:05:27 AM
QuoteI agree the local venues would draw the crowds Kildare fans are a mystery to me great down in thurles but light on the ground today still people would be giving out if Croke Park was closed today

Did you think, even though it was a poor crowd I thought the majority support were Kildare, just didn't have a whole lot to shot about. Carlow would have been a far better venue for Kildare v Wicklow and Newbridge for Meath v Carlow. Ah well at least I got one trip to Croke Park.
Post by: Bogball XV on May 19, 2008, 09:34:53 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 19, 2008, 07:55:11 AM
Exactly.  Demand was higher than supply in the likes of Fermanagh for the league final. Also, given the day of the league final, you may well have had more turning up on the day.
Really, they should have tried ticketmaster, they were still selling tickets until the day of the game, in addition there was room for another 3/4000 in parnell that day.
What do people think the attendance would have been if the games had been in croker?  It certainly wouldn't have surpassed yesterday's games anyway.
Post by: Rossfan on May 19, 2008, 07:46:31 PM
11,100 in Salthill yesterday and as far  as I could see it was about 50/50 Ros/Galway.
At €30 stand and €20 for an open uncovered terrace it was not exactly bargain of the month. Of course the only place in Ireland to get rain yesterday was effin Salthill while Claregalway was a nightmare.
Re open Tuam before we play ye away again please.
As for the prices -Time for the GAA to remember where it came from and revise their pricing policies.
Post by: Tankie on May 19, 2008, 08:48:56 PM
€30 is a bit steep this early in the championship!
Post by: neilthemac on May 19, 2008, 10:03:41 PM
Connacht Council have to charge €30. sure how would they pay for Prenty otherwise??

its a joke. with the price of diesel, meals etc

Post by: Farrandeelin on May 20, 2008, 09:09:14 AM
Was it all-ticket in Pearse on Sunday? Will all the rest of the Connacht games be all-ticket?
Post by: moysider on May 20, 2008, 10:22:28 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 20, 2008, 09:09:14 AM
Was it all-ticket in Pearse on Sunday? Will all the rest of the Connacht games be all-ticket?

Yes they will but there ll be no mad panic on them and they ll be on sale outside day of matches. Sunday s attendance and atmosphere was muck if the telly was anything to go by. Not surprised. If the match was in Tuam or the Hyde I would ve gone with a few lads and Im sure there s a few others would ve as well. 2 matches in Salthill this year a bit of a disaster with no match in Sligo, Leitrim or Ros. Overall attendances will be very poor. Can t see a great crowd for Mayo/Sligo in Castlebar. There s no real interest or buzz in Mayo this year - not yet anyway. If its a Galway/Sligo final that ll be in Salthill as well with few enough neutrals willing to go there. A Mayo/ Galway final in Castlebar would hardly be a sell-out either with the current downbeat mood prevailing in both counties.
Post by: Jinxy on May 20, 2008, 10:53:41 AM
Lads to we have to go through this every year? First round games = strong teams playing relatively weaker teams. Not attractive fixtures for the floating voters. It was always the same.
Post by: highorlow on May 20, 2008, 11:30:03 AM
QuoteThere s no real interest or buzz in Mayo this year

I'd imagine this is the attitude nationwide. Anyone I ask, from various counties, are already resigned to the fact that Kerry are 5/6 points better than any other team in the country and the rest of us are just going through the motions.

As Eugene Magee said yesterday the championship doesn't start until July.
Post by: thejuice on May 20, 2008, 11:47:31 AM
If there was one thing I admire UK soccer fans for is their loyalty to their teams, Irrespective of who they play or ticket price a large crowd is usually there. Just doesnt seem to be there with the GAA. This "sure its only _______ we're playing" or "ah we're no good this year" attittude seems to be prevailing. I often wonder do these people even like gaelic football/hurling.

And people whinge about games not being played in Croke park. Well, if the fans could be bothered going then maybe they'd be played more often. We can all talk about Croke park being built by GAA, for GAA but if its not turning a profit there wont be a Croke park for the GAA.

I know theres a whole new can of worms there regards ticket prices, but was €25 for 2 games bad value last Sunday? I dont think so.
Post by: Bogball XV on May 20, 2008, 01:30:03 PM
Quote from: thejuice on May 20, 2008, 11:47:31 AM
If there was one thing I admire UK soccer fans for is their loyalty to their teams, Irrespective of who they play or ticket price a large crowd is usually there. Just doesnt seem to be there with the GAA. This "sure its only _______ we're playing" or "ah we're no good this year" attittude seems to be prevailing. I often wonder do these people even like gaelic football/hurling.

And people whinge about games not being played in Croke park. Well, if the fans could be bothered going then maybe they'd be played more often. We can all talk about Croke park being built by GAA, for GAA but if its not turning a profit there wont be a Croke park for the GAA.

I know theres a whole new can of worms there regards ticket prices, but was €25 for 2 games bad value last Sunday? I dont think so.
That's total and utter bollox about soccer fans going to every game btw, ever have a look at fa cup and carling cup attendances?  The same thing happens in the premiership, fans will go to the big games but not necessarily to the less attractive fixtures (And that's even bearing in mind that most tickets are season tickets).
And no, €25 was not good value for last sunday.
Post by: Gnevin on May 20, 2008, 01:38:38 PM

http://itv.stats.football365.com/dom/ENG/PR/attend.html some seats to spare their and this is in the top division
Post by: agorm on May 20, 2008, 01:46:59 PM
There was always going to be enough space last sunday to allow a nominal €1 charge for kids. No need for pre-designated seat numbers on the tickets- first come first served.

Come on Brennan, Duffy etc. you have to look at new ways to get the crowds in. If the kids were told that they could get in for a euro then quite a number would have persuaded their parents to bring them. And also, they have to advertise better that it will be possible to get tickets on the day and that people are 100% certain of getting in. A woman told me yesterday that she wanted to go but was told the game was all ticket and she may not get in - not everyone is in the loop when it comes to tickets.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 20, 2008, 01:51:14 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on May 20, 2008, 01:38:38 PM

http://itv.stats.football365.com/dom/ENG/PR/attend.html some seats to spare their and this is in the top division

Some to spare maybe not not very many.
Post by: thejuice on May 20, 2008, 02:18:13 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on May 20, 2008, 01:30:03 PM
That's total and utter bollox about soccer fans going to every game btw, ever have a look at fa cup and carling cup attendances?  The same thing happens in the premiership, fans will go to the big games but not necessarily to the less attractive fixtures (And that's even bearing in mind that most tickets are season tickets).
And no, €25 was not good value for last sunday.

Sorry I dont watch soccer very much but they seem alot better attended compared to GAA games. As can be seen by Gnevins very helpful link, the attendences never dropped below 70% of the total capacity. If only we had that kind of attendences.
Post by: armaghniac on May 20, 2008, 02:32:14 PM
These soccer teams are based in very populous places, even the likes of Sunderland has 300,000 people. There is nowhere near the proportion of the population attending that will be at Fermanagh v Monaghan on Sunday.
Post by: Zulu on May 20, 2008, 02:35:16 PM
QuoteIf there was one thing I admire UK soccer fans for is their loyalty to their teams, Irrespective of who they play or ticket price a large crowd is usually there. Just doesnt seem to be there with the GAA. This "sure its only _______ we're playing" or "ah we're no good this year" attittude seems to be prevailing. I often wonder do these people even like gaelic football/hurling.

I agree with you to a degree Juice but GAA IC fans are different from English soccer fans in a number of important ways. For most 'hardcore' GAA folk their club is their first love and they are actively involved in it, as a result the GAA already takes up a lot ot their time and money. English soccer fans primary sporting loves are Liverpool, Man Utd. etc., further more they have, in general, a much bigger geographical catchment area bolstered by international 'supporters' like the lads who head over from here. The transport system and neutral venues probably play a part in poor GAA attendances aswell. The GAA could do more to generate bigger crowds though with more imaginative pricing for some games and more and better information about the game by the CB's involved. In saying that most counties only have a handful of championship games per year so if the people did less moaning about what the GAA should be doing and got off their holes and paid the few bob into the match crowds would be better.
Post by: Hardy on May 20, 2008, 02:39:14 PM
I agree totally, agorm. Croke Park makes the odd noise here and there about "marketing" and sometimes even decides to do a bit of it. Then they don't even learn from it when it works.

You're dead right about people not knowing the score. Many people, when they hear "all ticket" assume "forget it - sell-out". That's bums not on seats that should be. I had someone last week say to me, when I said I wouldn't be able to go on Sunday "any chance of your ticket?". Why don't we have ads on radio and TV telling people what's on, how much it costs and that there'll be plenty of tickets on the day?

Worse than that, though, is a city and a province full of kids watching Sky soccer while there are 60,000-odd empty seats in Croke Park. How much more simple and effective a marketing opportunity could you have? The very least we could do is let them in free and advertise the fact. If we had any initiative at all, we'd do a lot more than that, with free tickets for raffles for balls, camáns, jerseys (by the hundred), opportunities to meet the players on the pitch - millions of things you could do to attract the kids.

What exactly is the GAA's commercial manager doing to market the games? And when have we ever heard from Danny Lynch or has he ever taken a positive PR initiative? He only seems to surface to go on Joe Duffy to respond to some phone-in looneys. As far as I can see, it's a benevolent society up there in Croke Park with lads on big salaries not being asked to perform. Has the GAA ever fired anyone?
Post by: thejuice on May 20, 2008, 03:01:20 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 20, 2008, 02:32:14 PM
These soccer teams are based in very populous places, even the likes of Sunderland has 300,000 people. There is nowhere near the proportion of the population attending that will be at Fermanagh v Monaghan on Sunday.

Of course I understand that, but will Brewster park (capacity of 16K approx) be even 70% full,

RE: Zulu
Well in Meath last weekend we only had 4 hurling clubs playing Sunday, on Saturday we had 20 clubs out playing Junior grade football.

If you ask me there should have been 40k in Croker last Sunday, especially when you consider that the populations of the Counties of the teams involved adds up to over 500,000 and we can only draw 21,000
Post by: Zulu on May 20, 2008, 03:29:33 PM
I agree Juice, I'm just pointing out that you weren't quite comparing like with like and for most lads interested in sport over in Liverpool, Liverpool or Everton will be there main interest. Here we have 'sky supporters', GAA lads who have greater interest in their clubs and anti-GAA lads and this in a smaller pool of possible supporters. In saying all that I agree that both the GAA and the average GAA supporter could do more to get behind their team and increase attendances. It is nigh on impossible to get IC players to visit your club during the summer yet if county boards were willing to help clubs to pay players to visit the clubs under 8's and 10's it would do wonders for interest in the county teams.
Post by: Bogball XV on May 20, 2008, 03:32:09 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 20, 2008, 02:39:14 PM
I agree totally, agorm. Croke Park makes the odd noise here and there about "marketing" and sometimes even decides to do a bit of it. Then they don't even learn from it when it works.

You're dead right about people not knowing the score. Many people, when they hear "all ticket" assume "forget it - sell-out". That's bums not on seats that should be. I had someone last week say to me, when I said I wouldn't be able to go on Sunday "any chance of your ticket?". Why don't we have ads on radio and TV telling people what's on, how much it costs and that there'll be plenty of tickets on the day?

Worse than that, though, is a city and a province full of kids watching Sky soccer while there are 60,000-odd empty seats in Croke Park. How much more simple and effective a marketing opportunity could you have? The very least we could do is let them in free and advertise the fact. If we had any initiative at all, we'd do a lot more than that, with free tickets for raffles for balls, camáns, jerseys (by the hundred), opportunities to meet the players on the pitch - millions of things you could do to attract the kids.

What exactly is the GAA's commercial manager doing to market the games? And when have we ever heard from Danny Lynch or has he ever taken a positive PR initiative? He only seems to surface to go on Joe Duffy to respond to some phone-in looneys. As far as I can see, it's a benevolent society up there in Croke Park with lads on big salaries not being asked to perform. Has the GAA ever fired anyone?
Would it have done any good in the long run to have kids go watch meath v carlow last sunday?
Post by: Hardy on May 20, 2008, 03:55:46 PM
That's not really the point, now, is it?
Post by: Gnevin on May 20, 2008, 04:31:34 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 20, 2008, 01:51:14 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on May 20, 2008, 01:38:38 PM

Some to spare maybe not not very many.
30% for top clubs in the top league ! Last year 1 million attendance where records by Leinster final stage! Thats some gate in 2 and half months ! Remember their are 52 + million over in britian , only about 5 here , They aren't getting 10 times the attendances the GAA are.

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=95071
So over 10 games of 54,000.have attended of which 4 where hurling games no one cared about and 1 was in new york
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on May 22, 2008, 06:27:19 PM
I see Pat Daly (games development offer) has said attendances are holding up when you consider the slump in the economy. If the slump is effecting attendances then why are prices up. Surely some of the money from the extra tv deals or increased sponsorship could have been used to reduce prices and advertise the games a bit more. The gaa is a not for profit organisation but it seems to have become a priority these days. County matches are the best place for promoting the gaa to people not already involved and to create greater interest among children. A full house also creates a much better atmosphere and comes accross much better on tv (and again helps to sell the games better).
Post by: ExiledGael on May 22, 2008, 09:09:05 PM
What do you expect when this is the best type of games promotion they can come up with?!
Even if they did attend these stupid photo-calls are the most stale looking efforts at promotion you could imagine, it's embarrassing at times when you see them in the papers in relation to other sports.

By Cóilín Duffy
Both Waterford's Justin McCarthy and Clare boss Mike McNamara failed to speak to the media this afternoon at a press-conference organised by GAA to promote the clash of the Deise and the Banner in the Munster SHC on June 1st.
While McNamara turned up for the event at the Horse and Jockey Hotel in Tipperary, he declined to take part in the event following the no-show of Waterford manager McCarthy.
McCarthy stated that he didn't attend the function because of inadequate notice about the event. It is understood that he was only informed about the function by Waterford County Board officials late last night.
Mike McNamara attended the function in the company of Wolfe Tones na Sionna midfielder and current Clare captain Brian O'Connell. However both McNamara and O'Connell made a quick exit, after being informed that Clare full-forward Barry Nugent and goalkeeper Philip Brennan were at the event.
Both McNamara and O'Connell failed to speak to the press, with Waterford's Stephen Molumphy and Clinton Hennessey both present also.
GAA spokesman Pat Doherty stated that in the interest of having a balanced press conference, it would have been unfair to have three Clare players and their manager participating, while there were only two Waterford players in attendance at the event.
"Michael did not take part because Justin was not there and he felt that since there was two Waterford players there that the event should be evened up," explained GAA spokesman Pat Doherty.
Croke Park officials organised the event in conjunction with the respective county boards and a sport marketing company based in Kildare town.

Post by: Bogball XV on May 22, 2008, 09:14:55 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on May 22, 2008, 06:27:19 PM
I see Pat Daly (games development offer) has said attendances are holding up when you consider the slump in the economy. If the slump is effecting attendances then why are prices up. Surely some of the money from the extra tv deals or increased sponsorship could have been used to reduce prices and advertise the games a bit more. The gaa is a not for profit organisation but it seems to have become a priority these days. County matches are the best place for promoting the gaa to people not already involved and to create greater interest among children. A full house also creates a much better atmosphere and comes accross much better on tv (and again helps to sell the games better).
Excellent post, let's just hope somebody is reading.
Post by: rionach 4 on May 23, 2008, 11:34:35 PM
In my opinion , the whole marketing of the gaa needs a kick up the arse. I wonder if many of you are like me in thinking is croke park and in particular the camera shot into the Davin end the only photo shoot we can come up with  when launching our championships .. Lads the formula's tired . We need something new. Everytime we launch a competition in Camogie Hurling football national league etc etc / most shots are the same . two or three from each county throwing a ball to the taoseach or swinging the camanin Croke park. Now dont get me wrong I am proud of the stadium  but we are fogging it to hard , to often. No there has to be a more innovative way. Why no special launch programme  guests  magazine highlights . forecasts insights etc.. There is so much more we can do. I hate to compare the champions league in soccer but looking at how Moscow staged the final last wednesday night and look at how we do the All-Ireland to me speaks for itself. Get the proper marketing people in  Take it to a new level. Yes some of the ads are superb but these are from sponsors . Its time the Gaa moved to another level or elase as someone said earlier the munster jersies will cover the landscape in the days to come and we will be left wondering where did it all go wrong.
Post by: Uladh on May 24, 2008, 10:22:27 AM

LaoisGaa - As the only contributor among us who has admitted to being a journo, how would you like to see the pregame promotion done?

Post by: armaghniac on May 24, 2008, 11:14:13 AM
There was a letter in the Irish Times during the week from a punter complaining about having to pay full whack for his children at Salthill last week. Not good publicity. What is the policy in Connacht games for children? Do different provinces have different policies? If so it makes it hard to market to less than hard core supporters who don't understand the system, and on this board there are quite a few of us regular supporters who don't quite understand the system either  :(. For instance games at Crossmaglen seemed to be more expensive than other venues during the league, why would this be? 
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on May 24, 2008, 12:59:46 PM
The fact that people dont know if there are cheaper prices for children or if they get in free goes to show how well they are marketing the championship. If they do get in free or for a few euros make sure this is well publicised in the build up to the game and used to sell the matches to families. Make sure the tickets are widely available and easy to purchase.
Post by: Gnevin on May 24, 2008, 03:18:36 PM
Can any one confirm their has been a price increase this year ? I seem to recall paying the same prices that are being talked about here for the first game of the championship, i may however be wrong.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on May 24, 2008, 05:38:48 PM
It appears from the prices that it will be £19 to sit in the Pat McGrane Stand in Clones (not covered) this year for a 1st round or semi final game. I could be wrong but I thought it was only round £14 or £15 last year. Theres definately less money about this year so if anything a reduction was needed to encourage people to the games. However I dont understand Irish sports fans. Croke Park will probably be full tonight to watch a friendly between a poor Irish/English soccer team and Serbia.

Spillane and the GAA media have a lot to answer for. Instead of hyping up the games theyre always trying to put them down. The Ireland game will probably be crap tonight (and a lot worse and less competitive than the average championship game) but you'll not see that constantly talked about for the next week in the media. Instead the positive aspects of the game will be discussed. This puke football term has been used to put people of our games for the last 5 years.
Post by: Gnevin on May 25, 2008, 01:05:41 AM
Last years Leinster final was €30 so it was  €25 for the early rounds last . So no change in price but more moaning
http://www.laoistalk.com/?p=759
Post by: bigpaul on May 25, 2008, 01:43:16 AM
I don't think it is down to admission prices, more what you get when you get in. Outside Croke Park the facilities and stewarding are a disgrace. Just one example is the toilet facilities in Clones, 20,000 plus attendance and ladies have to queue 40 yards plus to do a piddle! I feel I have to watch closely every time I hand cash over, because I am convinced I have been short changed at the turnstile and the shop in the ground on at least three occasions (big crowds when I wasn't being vigilant),and other people have related similar experiences. On top of that the games in the early rounds have lost all interest because they are totally inconsequential. The Longford Westmeath match was the perfect example, the losers went into the qualifiers and nobody outside Westmeath truly believes that the winners can win Leinster, therefore both teams are back to the start of a competion that neither has any chance of winning. The Provincial and 'back-door' system has brought inter-county hurling to a level where it is currently flatlining, and is well on its' way to delivering the same outcome to inter-county football!!!!
Post by: Pangurban on May 25, 2008, 08:34:05 PM
Anyone seeking the reason for falling attendances would have found it at todays Ulster Championship game between Monaghan and Fermanagh. Dire football, and cynicism was all that was on offer. You would see more skill and passion in an under 16 game at any local club. While Fermanagh played any little football that was in the game and deserved their win they have little to celebrate. I would rather Down Continued to try and play football, losing every game, than resort to such negativity. If this is the result of modern coaching methods, then god help Gaelic Football.
Post by: Tankie on May 25, 2008, 08:38:53 PM
Quote from: Pangurban on May 25, 2008, 08:34:05 PM
Anyone seeking the reason for falling attendances would have found it at todays Ulster Championship game between Monaghan and Fermanagh. Dire football, and cynicism was all that was on offer. You would see more skill and passion in an under 16 game at any local club. While Fermanagh played any little football that was in the game and deserved their win they have little to celebrate. I would rather Down Continued to try and play football, losing every game, than resort to such negativity. If this is the result of modern coaching methods, then god help Gaelic Football.

I was only about to post the same thing, spot on! why would you want to pay in to watch the football for the past 3 weeks when you could go and watch your club and it would probably be better.
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 25, 2008, 08:42:40 PM
Quote from: Tankie on May 25, 2008, 08:38:53 PM

I was only about to post the same thing, spot on! why would you want to pay in to watch the football for the past 3 weeks when you could go and watch your club and it would probably be better.

I'd imagine most GAA people would be at their club game (if possible).
Post by: Tankie on May 25, 2008, 08:50:16 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on May 25, 2008, 08:42:40 PM

Missing the point again POG. also most club games are not played to clash with the throw-in of inter -  county games
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 25, 2008, 09:00:50 PM
Quote from: Tankie on May 25, 2008, 08:50:16 PM

Missing the point again POG. also most club games are not played to clash with the throw-in of inter -  county games

What point where you trying to make? 
Post by: Tankie on May 25, 2008, 09:05:44 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on May 25, 2008, 09:00:50 PM
Quote from: Tankie on May 25, 2008, 08:50:16 PM

What point where you trying to make? 

that the standard has been very poor this year and hence people may not want to go and pay €30 for that!
Post by: magickingdom on May 25, 2008, 09:09:18 PM
looked like a good crowd at the monaghan/fermanagh game today..
Post by: lurganblue on May 25, 2008, 09:11:09 PM
it wasnt that bad lads. if i was from fermanagh or monaghan i would definately have went, and if i was from Fermanagh i´d have enjoyed it too!  ;)
Post by: Maguire01 on May 25, 2008, 10:15:09 PM
Just over 14,500 in Enniskillen.  Pretty good given that both counties have small populations and the game was live on 2 TV channels.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on May 25, 2008, 10:37:51 PM
I thought it was an enjoyable enough game and much preferred it to the hyped up rugny game yesterday. People talk about gaelic being negative and complain about teams getting men behind the ball. Surely these people hate rugby then? 15 men behind the ball at all times and much of the game based on kicking the ball out of play and set pieces (not to mention that you cant see the ball 50% of the time when your at the match!). People seem to judge gaa matches much tougher than other sports. I love the way people from the south like Spillane try to criticise a pretty decent game like the one today but just brush past when talking bout the munster games played today, no criticism of them!
Post by: Bogball XV on May 25, 2008, 10:38:51 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 25, 2008, 10:15:09 PM
Just over 14,500 in Enniskillen.  Pretty good given that both counties have small populations and the game was live on 2 TV channels.
I'd say not great since both counties would have been on a bit of a high going into the game with heightened expectations (especially in Monaghan).  This could be Fermanagh's first step on way to an historic first Ulster!!
Quote from: Gnevin on May 25, 2008, 01:05:41 AM
Last years Leinster final was €30 so it was  €25 for the early rounds last . So no change in price but more moaning
http://www.laoistalk.com/?p=759
That's as may be, but the lads are saying that Ulster games have increased by £5, I don't know, but €25 for Leinster, this year and last year is much too expensive anyway.  I don't necessarily think it's the only reason for a perceived decrease in attendances at this stage, but it's undoubtedly a factor.  As a matter of interest, does anyone know the cost of admission to the Munster football games today?  Also prices for the leinster hurling and early ulster hurling games would be interesting.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 25, 2008, 10:49:21 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on May 25, 2008, 10:38:51 PM
I'd say not great since both counties would have been on a bit of a high going into the game with heightened expectations (especially in Monaghan).  This could be Fermanagh's first step on way to an historic first Ulster!!

Both counties have a population of just over 50,000 - consider also that Fermanagh has a sizeable Protestant population. Add to that the fact that the games were on TV and i think that's a pretty decent turnout.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 31, 2008, 06:54:34 PM
Over 20,000 in Carlow this evening. Attendances looking pretty nice.
Post by: FermPundit on May 31, 2008, 09:03:38 PM
I don't really understand what all the concern is regarding the attendances so far this year. We're only at the start of the summer and many of the well supported counties such as Tyrone, Donegal, Cork, Dublin, Armagh, Mayo haven't played yet. Things are just starting to warm up. In comparison to previous years, attendances might be slightly down but nothing too concerning IMO.

Spot on Maguire. Given that there are only 20 GAA clubs in Fermanagh and a small GAA community, I think ourselves and Monaghan should be rather pleased with the attendance at last week's game. If other counties with bigger populations were as good at mobilising their support we wouldn't be having any concerns at all.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on May 31, 2008, 09:27:04 PM
As Ferm Pundit pointed out there's nothing to be concerned about so far. The way the draws have worked this year the bigger supported teams are all later coming into the champiosnhip than usual. Very healthy attendance in Carlow tonight. Davis said 22,00 but then they gave an official attendance of just over 10. Looked on the tv to be somewere in between the 2.
Post by: Rossfan on May 31, 2008, 09:27:53 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 31, 2008, 06:54:34 PM
Over 20,000 in Carlow this evening. Attendances looking pretty nice.

Officail Attendance 10,6 ...something announced by Morrissey during 2nd half.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 31, 2008, 09:33:01 PM
Yes, as Tyrone Dreamer said.  They appear to have contradicted themselves.  Looked a lot more than 10,000 to be fair.
Post by: magickingdom on May 31, 2008, 09:49:10 PM
holds 21k and looked pretty full to me

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_GAA_stadia

Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on May 31, 2008, 10:01:11 PM
Judging from the tv pictures Im not sure were you'd have put another 10 or 11000.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on May 31, 2008, 10:20:29 PM
He called out the attendance figure as ten thousand and something during the second half. He had said earlier that Wicklow had sold 6000 tickets by last Monday.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 31, 2008, 11:31:13 PM
They said over 20,000 before the match started.  Unless 10,000 asked for a refund.
Post by: armaghniac on June 01, 2008, 12:16:37 AM
it says something about the GAA that this discussion can happen, and that we only know the attendance as 10,000 plus or minus 10,000!!
Post by: Jinxy on June 01, 2008, 12:42:17 AM
10,000? Has he a pair of eyes in that funny-shaped head of his?
Post by: dodo on June 01, 2008, 12:53:23 AM
(http://www.clarepeople.com/images/stories/19th/marty_morrissey.jpg)

What funny shaped head ?
Post by: magickingdom on June 01, 2008, 12:45:47 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 01, 2008, 12:16:37 AM
it says something about the GAA that this discussion can happen, and that we only know the attendance as 10,000 plus or minus 10,000!!

classis!! and so true...
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on June 01, 2008, 01:01:01 PM
I see that clown Spillane complaining about the GAA today again. I'm convinced the man has 5 or 6 articles that he rewords and puts out every week. Todays one is about soccer/rugby taking over and terrible games on offer in the championship. His other articles are:
1) The Micko article and his greatness.
2) The Dublin article - his views on Dublins chances and how there's too much hype.
3) The ulster style of football is ruining our game article.
4) Soccer/rugby are terrible and dont match the entertainment at a gaa match article.
5) The all star article - how the allstars were poorly picked.

There may be 1 or 2 other articles but you can see the dose doesnt put too much effort into earning his money. Today he is complaining about a lack of hype in the gaa. Yet for a man who earns a fortune out of the gaa he makes no effort to hype up the games in his articles or in his presenting role and in fact his negativity would nearly put people off going. As Ive said before you'd never see soccer/rugby writers talk about a bad game involving munster etc back in 2003! The gaa matches seemed to get judged much harsher than other sports. 90% of premiership matches are boring in my opinion and rugby isnt much better but you never get the same over reactions from the press to this. Today Donegal Derry are playing in the biggest game of the championship so far and thats what Spillane as a GAA writer should be talking about/hyping up at this stage. He says the championship is now full of awful of games. If thats the case why doesnt he resign from his gaa related roles and stick to his club or turn to rugby. He'd be no loss to the gaa now.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 01, 2008, 02:20:02 PM
It will all be sorted this afternoon once Derry mobilise their massive support. It's rumoured that they're expecting as many as 30 to put in an appearance.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 01, 2008, 02:37:15 PM
15,000 at the hurling? Are you sure? The Gaelic grounds is very big, and it looks well over half full. I'd say 20-25k
Post by: armaghniac on June 01, 2008, 03:03:53 PM
17,365 apparently according to TV3

Post by: ExiledGael on June 01, 2008, 06:17:08 PM
Never trust official attendances.
Post by: Tyrones own on June 01, 2008, 06:20:01 PM

Is it any wonder money goes missing ::)
Post by: AZOffaly on June 01, 2008, 06:23:06 PM
I'd be very surprised if there was only 17k odd there today to be honest. From the TV pictures there seemed to be a good crowd in the covered and uncovered stands, as well as the Davin Arms end terrace. Only the city end looked sparse.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 01, 2008, 06:34:41 PM
Still its a shocking bad crowd for the day that was in it. Why and where does the money go if there not giving out official attendances?????? Looked small to my eyes maybe 20k but not much more.

Munster hurling should guarntee 30k+ crowd at least.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on June 01, 2008, 06:43:06 PM
Very healthy crowd in Carlow last night and Ballybofey today. Dont think the attendances are that bad so far and dont merit the gloom that there has been so far. Next weekend should bring in the biggest crowds yet- Dublin-Louth,Tyrone-Down,Westmeath-Offaly and Tipperary-Cork.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 01, 2008, 07:45:43 PM
Attendance at Ballybofey over 17,200. Capacity is 17,500. As it was all ticket, that's essentially a sell-out.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on June 01, 2008, 09:02:15 PM
QuoteI see that clown Spillane complaining about the GAA today again. I'm convinced the man has 5 or 6 articles that he rewords and puts out every week. Todays one is about soccer/rugby taking over and terrible games on offer in the championship. His other articles are:
1) The Micko article and his greatness.
2) The Dublin article - his views on Dublins chances and how there's too much hype.
3) The ulster style of football is ruining our game article.
4) Soccer/rugby are terrible and dont match the entertainment at a gaa match article.
5) The all star article - how the allstars were poorly picked.

There may be 1 or 2 other articles but you can see the dose doesnt put too much effort into earning his money. Today he is complaining about a lack of hype in the gaa. Yet for a man who earns a fortune out of the gaa he makes no effort to hype up the games in his articles or in his presenting role and in fact his negativity would nearly put people off going. As Ive said before you'd never see soccer/rugby writers talk about a bad game involving munster etc back in 2003! The gaa matches seemed to get judged much harsher than other sports. 90% of premiership matches are boring in my opinion and rugby isnt much better but you never get the same over reactions from the press to this. Today Donegal Derry are playing in the biggest game of the championship so far and thats what Spillane as a GAA writer should be talking about/hyping up at this stage. He says the championship is now full of awful of games. If thats the case why doesnt he resign from his gaa related roles and stick to his club or turn to rugby. He'd be no loss to the gaa now

you Tyrone lads are obsessed with our Pat. So he called ye "puke" footballers....get over it for christ sakes.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on June 01, 2008, 09:17:15 PM
My points about Spillane had nothing to do with Tyrone/Kerry so Im not going to get involved in that arguement. Id have said the same about Spillane if he was from Tyrone.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 01, 2008, 10:23:50 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on June 01, 2008, 09:02:15 PM
you Tyrone lads are obsessed with our Pat. So he called ye "puke" footballers....get over it for christ sakes.

To be fair, no one outside of Kerry likes Pat.  Some Kerry people can't stand him either.
Post by: Rav67 on June 01, 2008, 10:26:10 PM
Spillane's anti-northern football comments are a pathetic attempt to keep himself noticed so they don't really annoy me, but his constant complaining about the state of gaelic football does.  He should recognise his role in promoting the games, look at Sky FFS- even a 0-0 with about 3 shots on target is "enthralling" and they've managed to sell darts to the whole of the Britain and draw huge crowds because of the way its packaged.  Maybe the GAA should sell the coverage rights next time to Richard Keys et al, and get Sid Waddell doing the analysis.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on June 02, 2008, 05:49:54 AM
QuoteSome Kerry people can't stand him either

nah, Pats great. Long live Pat !
Post by: Hardy on June 02, 2008, 09:27:03 AM
I don't know what official attendance was given for Carlow yesterday, but I think it holds 20,000 and it wasn't much more than half full. I think it's the recession/depression/soft landing/crash biting.
Post by: Rossfan on June 02, 2008, 03:23:49 PM
10,108 I do believe.
Post by: Hardy on June 02, 2008, 03:31:00 PM
Not a bad estimate then! It's a hoor trying to count them when they won't stay put and keep getting up to go to the jacks and buy chocolate.
Post by: armaghniac on June 02, 2008, 11:30:13 PM
Wexford footballers are poorly supported, it will be interesting to see if any bandwagon develops.
Post by: stevecw on June 03, 2008, 12:39:56 AM
Id have to wonder about some of these so called official attendances. 10,800 at the Laois/Wick on Sat night & 10,150 at yesterdays game. Ground holds about 20/21k, theres no way 9,000 more would've fit into DCP for that sat game. Id say there was about 16,000 there on sat night & about 12 or 13,000 yesterday.
Whatever attendance was, it was much better than having these 2 games together in Croke Park in front of abt 30,000 lost in Croker. You get no atmosphere & games suffer as a result.
The 2 games in Carlow at the weekend were played in a real championship atmosphere, packed ground, fans close to pitch...just made for better games.

Games like these & all games up to Leinster final & maybe semis too should be played in Navan, Carlow, Portlaoise, Tullamore and grounds like these.
Fans enjoy it more, players react to the atmosphere & its great for towns like Carlow who made so much money off these 2 games this weekend.
Post by: Jinxy on June 03, 2008, 12:46:39 AM
It would make the trip to HQ more appealing too, as you would have to earn the right to play there. Spread the preliminary round and quarter final games around the province and let the Dubs stay in Croker. I'd say Carlow made a nice few pound out of the weekend action. Navan, Portlaoise, Newbridge etc. should be hosting more games.
Post by: Hardy on June 03, 2008, 08:44:29 AM
They (or the Leinster Council, I suppose)  could have made a few more pound if they had printed enough programmes. They were sold out at five past three.
Post by: Bogball XV on June 03, 2008, 12:17:28 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 03, 2008, 12:46:39 AM
It would make the trip to HQ more appealing too, as you would have to earn the right to play there. Spread the preliminary round and quarter final games around the province and let the Dubs stay in Croker. I'd say Carlow made a nice few pound out of the weekend action. Navan, Portlaoise, Newbridge etc. should be hosting more games.
couldn't agree more, this is the drum I've been pounding for a while now, the only thing is, in order to justify the prices they're charging they really do need to up facilities at provincial grounds.  I was in Ballybofey on Sunday and took the missus and a couple of the nephews, the ladies toilets were not up to scratch at all (nor were the men's, but they never are) and worse, the young lads could barely see from the terrace, the steps have feck all height in them, so unless you're tall anyway, you're fcuked - how hard to raise them a couple of inches? 
But that aside, I much prefer having a packed house, no matter how small that house is, there's nothing worse than croker with less than 40k in her.

Actually, on second thoughts, there's nothing worse than The Hyde with less than 5K in her.
Post by: Gnevin on June 03, 2008, 01:20:07 PM
Some moaning c**ts on this board just back from Parnell Park 3 hill tickets 45 euro ! 15 each no service charge. Same price as last year , the GAA can never win with people like yourselfs .
Post by: Main Street on June 03, 2008, 01:22:00 PM
Things must be bad here when it takes Gnevin to moan about the moaning.
Post by: Bogball XV on June 03, 2008, 02:45:17 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on June 03, 2008, 01:20:07 PM
Some moaning c**ts on this board just back from Parnell Park 3 hill tickets 45 euro ! 15 each no service charge. Same price as last year , the GAA can never win with people like yourselfs .
maybe if you read some of the complaints you'd understand a little better.  €15 into croker isn't bad value, €18 into ballbofey is, facilities are vastly inferior in ballybofey, so why is it 20% more expensive??
Post by: Gnevin on June 03, 2008, 03:00:14 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 03, 2008, 02:45:17 PM
maybe if you read some of the complaints you'd understand a little better.  €15 into croker isn't bad value, €18 into ballbofey is, facilities are vastly inferior in ballybofey, so why is it 20% more expensive??
€18 too the terrace?
Post by: billy the kid on June 03, 2008, 03:13:00 PM
Yes. And the toilets consist of a partially enclosed wall for you to pee up against.

Dont even wanna think what your meant to do if you need a dung.  Probably a big hole in the ground and a stack of programmes from last year to wipe your arse with. Or a few copies of Osin McConvilles book
Post by: Rossfan on June 03, 2008, 03:16:57 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on June 03, 2008, 03:00:14 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 03, 2008, 02:45:17 PM
€18 too the terrace?

It was feckin' €20 on the terrace in Pearse Stadium for Ros/Galway. €30 for the stand.
It's just as well for th'oul pocket we are so poor - It'll probably be €50 by the time the Connacht Final comes around.
It's time  the GAA top brass got back in touch with where the association came from.
Post by: Bogball XV on June 03, 2008, 03:22:33 PM
Quote from: billy the kid on June 03, 2008, 03:13:00 PM
Yes. And the toilets consist of a partially enclosed wall for you to pee up against.

Dont even wanna think what your meant to do if you need a dung.  Probably a big hole in the ground and a stack of programmes from last year to wipe your arse with. Or a few copies of Osin McConvilles book
And with a 3 inch rise per step it didn't make viewing easy for those below 6ft - made even worse if you were there early, cos then you're guaranteed that some big cnut would stand in front of you!!
The music was a welcome change though, very entertaining, i love to find the guy who thought of that and 'congratulate' him.
Post by: billy the kid on June 03, 2008, 03:42:18 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 03, 2008, 03:22:33 PM

And with a 3 inch rise per step it didn't make viewing easy for those below 6ft - made even worse if you were there early, cos then you're guaranteed that some big cnut would stand in front of you!!
The music was a welcome change though, very entertaining, i love to find the guy who thought of that and 'congratulate' him.

I think at half time they should tune the radio into one of the other matches going on around the country and play it over the tannoy, and get some sexy cheerleaders to do a bit of dancing for us.

BTW did you see the amount of skank around on sunday it was unreal. the good weather soon brings them out.

Post by: Bogball XV on June 03, 2008, 04:11:40 PM
Quote from: billy the kid on June 03, 2008, 03:42:18 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 03, 2008, 03:22:33 PM

I think at half time they should tune the radio into one of the other matches going on around the country and play it over the tannoy, and get some sexy cheerleaders to do a bit of dancing for us.

BTW did you see the amount of skank around on sunday it was unreal. the good weather soon brings them out.

I was suggesting the same re the other games, even a few updates every now and then would have been welcome.  I was thinking that maybe a big scrolling electronic scoreboard on each side of the pitch would be the job - they could update us on who the scorers are at the match we're attending and give the odd update on the other games from around the country, advertising would easily cover the cost of the scoreboards and probably even generate a few extra quid for them.
As for the skank, Donegal's always had a bit of talent about it, the sun helps too!!
Post by: Gnevin on June 03, 2008, 09:40:49 PM
Take it up with the Ulster/Connaght Counicl

Dear Sir/Madam
Can you advised why their appears to be inconsistency  regarding priceing of tickets . Dublin V Louth of Sunday will be €15 while , Derry V Donegal was €18  and Roscommon V Galway was €20 for terrace tickets . Why are the prices different in different grounds?

Thanks

Hi Gnevin

Ticket prices for the qualifiers and the quarter-finals onwards are fixed by Central Council. As regards any other Championship fixture, ticket prices are fixed by the requisite provincial councils. Leinster Council for Dublin V Louth, Ulster Council for Derry V Donegal, Connacht Council for Roscommon V Galway and so forth. I hope I may have been of some help
Post by: Tankie on June 03, 2008, 10:34:54 PM
€20 for the galway game is a joke. the whole thing is a shambles - Rip off Republic at it height!
Post by: Maguire01 on June 03, 2008, 10:40:23 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on June 03, 2008, 10:37:41 PM
€20 would buy you 4 pints on Saturday night. No one ever complains about the price of a pint now do they?
People regularly complain about the price of a pint.  In fact people in this country regularly complain about everything.  It's what we do.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on June 03, 2008, 10:42:24 PM
If you purchase wisely €20 could also go a long way to buying you a hangover on a Sunday morning.
Post by: Tankie on June 03, 2008, 10:43:03 PM
€20 would buy you 4 pints on Saturday night. No one ever complains about the price of a pint now do they? If the admission charge is too much, stay at home and watch Euro 2008 on TV.

but the barman is getting paid and the landlord is there to make a profit. why do the GAA insist on making such profits from its members?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 03, 2008, 10:44:21 PM
€20 would buy you 4 pints on Saturday night. No one ever complains about the price of a pint now do they? If the admission charge is too much, stay at home and watch Euro 2008 on TV.

It'd buy you 5 pints in Laois
Post by: Gnevin on June 03, 2008, 10:50:38 PM
Quote from: Tankie on June 03, 2008, 10:34:54 PM
€20 for the galway game is a joke. the whole thing is a shambles - Rip off Republic at it height!

Sure you have to feel for the other provinces Tankie,with out the Dub's too bring the big cash they have to rip off the fans .
Post by: Tankie on June 04, 2008, 11:21:57 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on June 03, 2008, 10:50:38 PM
Quote from: Tankie on June 03, 2008, 10:34:54 PM

Sure you have to feel for the other provinces Tankie,with out the Dub's too bring the big cash they have to rip off the fans .

Sure the whole thing is a joke. where else would you have an organisation going out to rip its members off. As i have asaid before you can watch a profession rugby match for €20 and they are paying big money in wages but apparrently the gaa need that and more!!
Post by: Bogball XV on June 04, 2008, 12:03:53 PM
So things are a little tight, the mortgage for the over-inflated pile of bricks is going up a wee bit, you've got a chance to unwind at the weekend and either:
Take herself out for a feed and bottle of wine, few pints in the local afterwards and watch the game on the tele on sunday, whilst also giving you time to do those few things aorund the house that need doing, cost approx, £45 for meal and wine? £20 for your few beers, total £65.
or
Sit in on saturday night, watch britain's got talent, head off the following day at about 12.00 for the game, two tickets purchased at £13 each, a lok of petrol in the car at £20 for the journey, you get there, dying for a crap - sorry mate, you're going to have to hold on, buy a couple of bottles of water at €2 each, a programme at €5, can barely see the game as the steps are so shite, sit in traffic for an hour on the way home and finally land there by 8pm (if your lucky your team played well and won).  Total cost £53

Now, I'm the type who'll choose the latter option when I can, but there's many that won't and it's understandable, as Tankie and a few others have pointed out, the gaa should not be trying to rip off it's members and maximise revenues at every opportunity.
Post by: Bogball XV on June 04, 2008, 12:32:42 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on June 04, 2008, 12:18:51 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 04, 2008, 12:03:53 PM
Now, I'm the type who'll choose the latter option when I can, but there's many that won't and it's understandable, as Tankie and a few others have pointed out, the gaa should not be trying to rip off it's members and maximise revenues at every opportunity.

I still dont think €20 is a rip off. Maybe fairweather supporters look for an excuse, but the genuine fan wont baulk at €20.

The match on Sunday will probably cost me...
A 2 tickets/ €40
B Fuel, probably €30
C Programme and maybe a couple of drinks in Healy Park €10
D Probably stop for a bite to eat on the way home, roughly €70
E Celebration drink € Priceless.

All in all €150 ish for a day out isnt too bad. As a Down man we may not get too many and you never hear Kerry men complaining about the price of a ticket in September.
Fair enough, I presume that most on here aren't going to be baulking too much at the cost, but what about the parents of some young lad/lassie who've just started playing at school and are mad to get, but the parents would never have been interested before?
The other thing is that if you haven't heard Kerry men complaining about the price of a ticket in September you mustn't have been near too many of them!
As for that celebratory drink on sunday, I hope it's sweet!!
Post by: billy the kid on June 04, 2008, 12:36:50 PM

I still dont think €20 is a rip off. Maybe fairweather supporters look for an excuse, but the genuine fan wont baulk at €20.

A 2 tickets/ €40
B Fuel, probably €30

All in all €150 ish for a day out isnt too bad. As a Down man we may not get too many and you never hear Kerry men complaining about the price of a ticket in September.

There will be many a Derry man ready to buy that one for yous
Post by: Maguire01 on June 04, 2008, 01:32:33 PM

A 2 tickets/ €40
B Fuel, probably €30

Whilst i acknowledge that you're not one of the ones complaining, it should be highlighted that almost half of your estimated costs don't have to be incurred.  For anyone who is short on cash, the old ham sandwiches out of the boot would save a fortune! Or you could wait until you got home - basically you'd have to buy some food whether you went to the game or not.
Post by: Gnevin on June 04, 2008, 02:08:19 PM
I think the important issue here is why the Leinster Council can charge 25% less that the Connaght are! Are the costs dearer out west?
Post by: Bogball XV on June 04, 2008, 02:54:31 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on June 04, 2008, 02:08:19 PM
I think the important issue here is why the Leinster Council can charge 25% less that the Connaght are! Are the costs dearer out west?
that is the issue indeed, plus the fact that the facilities for the extra 25% are worse.
Post by: Barney on June 05, 2008, 08:10:52 AM
QuoteRISING fuel prices, a sagging economy, the absence of 'sudden death' knock-out games and extensive 'live' TV coverage are likely to lead to a drop in attendances at this season's GAA provincial championships.

Dublin's presence may insulate Leinster from the worst of the slump -- provided, of course, that they stay in line for a fourth successive provincial title, starting against Louth.

Leinster Council chief executive Michael Delaney said that a crowd of around 45,000 was expected in Croke Park next Sunday which would be an excellent turnout.

However, he said that, in general, a downward trend was likely.

"People will pick and choose which matches they attend, especially in the earlier provincial stages because they know that even if their team is beaten there will be another day out.

"We have always acknowledged the importance of Dublin to crowds in Leinster and that won't change. Overall though, a decline can be expected because travelling to games is a lot more expensive that it was a few years ago," he said.

GAA President Nickey Brennan is more upbeat, pointing to the big crowd (17,500) at the Donegal-Derry game in Ballybofey.

He acknowledged that the 17,365 turnout at the Clare-Waterford hurling game was disappointing but did not criticise the Munster Council for their decision to play the game in Limerick which angered Waterford supporters.

"Munster made their decision and they have to live with it. There's no doubt that the economic situation is tightening all around. Still, we had a big crowd in Ballybofey, which was very encouraging," he said.

Leinster were disappointed with the 21,207 turnout at the Kildare-Wicklow and Meath-Carlow first-round double-header at Croke Park last month.

Crowds of 10,600 and 10,100 respectively watched the Wicklow-Laois and Wexford-Meath games last Sunday.

"The interesting thing there was that the losing teams (Wicklow and Meath) brought bigger crowds than the winners. I wouldn't say there's any cause for alarm but we have to recognise that everybody is impacted upon when the economy takes a downturn.

"Also, the price of petrol has shot up considerably over the last few months," said Delaney.

With all of Dublin's games being played in Croke Park, their supporters are immune to the increased travelling expenses but it's definitely a factor elsewhere.

Ironically, a bigger crowd than originally anticipated is expected to turn out in Tullamore on Saturday evening for the Offaly-Westmeath game which was to have been shown on RTE 2.

However, because of the clash with a European Soccer Championship game, coverage has been scrapped.

A deferred package will be shown at 9.50pm. While expressing disappointment at the cancellation of the coverage, Offaly County Board chairman, Pat Teehan said that he hoped it would lead to a bigger attendance.

"We want every Offaly fan to turn out and I'm sure Westmeath will be hoping for the same," he said.

The Laois-Wexford semi-final will go ahead on June 22 as originally planned despite a request from Laois for a postponement because they are co-hosting the Feile na nGael finals with Offaly.

However, the Leinster Council refused the Laois request as they had already entered into an agreement with TV3 for 'live' coverage of the Laois-Wexford game.

If it were put back a week to form up a double-header with Dublin/Louth v Offaly/Westmeath on June 29, the TV schedules would be severely disrupted in what is TV3's first season in GAA coverage.

The Laois-Wexford game will have a 2.0 throw-in on June 22.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on June 05, 2008, 08:22:41 AM
As Ive said before if they believe the state of the economy is effecting attendances then why have ticket prices not being reduced. We are currently well of financially and it would make sense to use the money to try and sell our games which is what the main objectives if the people at the top should be. Also whats the story with children tickets. Tyrone play Down on Sunday and its unlikely to sell out, yet I havent heard cheap tickets for children mentioned anywhere. If they are available then this should be advertised and they should be easy to get.
Post by: Barney on June 05, 2008, 09:07:52 AM
Its a no brainer - better off having 20,000 paying €10 than 10,000 paying €20. The larger attendance makes more of an occasion of a game
Post by: Zulu on June 05, 2008, 01:18:46 PM
I don't think you'd get a significantly bigger crowd if you dropped ticket prices. The only criticism I'd have of the GAA's ticket policy is the lack of clear information on the price and availability of ticket's for championship games. Family ticket's should be available for all early games at a competitive price if they are not already.
Post by: Rossfan on June 05, 2008, 06:38:46 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 04, 2008, 02:54:31 PM
that is the issue indeed, plus the fact that the facilities for the extra 25% are worse.

I think the fact that Leinster has about 4 times the population of Connacht might have something to do with it.
Post by: Bogball XV on June 05, 2008, 09:33:05 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 05, 2008, 06:38:46 PM

I think the fact that Leinster has about 4 times the population of Connacht might have something to do with it.

I'd reckon more than 4 times, but I don't understand why that would come into it, unless you feel the connaught board aren't able to benefit from economies of scale ;D
Post by: jodyb on June 05, 2008, 10:05:21 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 05, 2008, 01:18:46 PM
I don't think you'd get a significantly bigger crowd if you dropped ticket prices. The only criticism I'd have of the GAA's ticket policy is the lack of clear information on the price and availability of ticket's for championship games. Family ticket's should be available for all early games at a competitive price if they are not already.

I paid full price for my 14 year olds ticket for Ballybofey on sunday. Of course I'd prefer if there were kids tickets or family tickets available. But would it stop me taking him when there's not? Generally not. I feel sorry for parents with several kids
Post by: Rossfan on June 05, 2008, 10:12:41 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 05, 2008, 09:33:05 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 05, 2008, 06:38:46 PM

I'd reckon more than 4 times, but I don't understand why that would come into it, unless you feel the connaught board aren't able to benefit from economies of scale ;D
We dont get 82,000 attendances in Connacht and since we  in Ros fell from our perch there is now only one big game per year for Connacht Council to get a dacent few Euro from.
Post by: Bogball XV on June 05, 2008, 11:30:44 PM
Quote from: jodyb on June 05, 2008, 10:05:21 PM

I paid full price for my 14 year olds ticket for Ballybofey on sunday. Of course I'd prefer if there were kids tickets or family tickets available. But would it stop me taking him when there's not? Generally not. I feel sorry for parents with several kids
there probably were family tickets available Jody, I know the section was that behind the lower goals and that didn't look too full from where I was standing.  It was good value too, something like €30 for 2 adults and 2 kids.
Post by: moysider on June 06, 2008, 01:14:14 AM

Ok, just a simple question. Has any of you lads that have contributed to this debate, decided in the past, or likely to decide in the future, not to go to a championship game because of the admittance cost? Even the most miserly I know attend home league games and championship.
  I ll put it another way. I ve tickets for three concerts [1 already over] in Dublin this Summer and those three nights will cost me more than I ve spent on football in many years. I ll enjoy the concerts but I ll love the football. Win ,lose or draw. Its a question of how much it means to your, and if your lucky enough to have kids interested enough to go you re blessed. Though I can imagine others will feel otherwise.   
Post by: jodyb on June 06, 2008, 08:30:35 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 05, 2008, 11:30:44 PM
Quote from: jodyb on June 05, 2008, 10:05:21 PM

there probably were family tickets available Jody, I know the section was that behind the lower goals and that didn't look too full from where I was standing.  It was good value too, something like €30 for 2 adults and 2 kids.

Thanks Bogball. I'm probably better off not knowing that, but I'll check it out for Healy park, Cheers!!
Post by: Bogball XV on June 06, 2008, 10:38:23 AM
Quote from: moysider on June 06, 2008, 01:14:14 AM

Ok, just a simple question. Has any of you lads that have contributed to this debate, decided in the past, or likely to decide in the future, not to go to a championship game because of the admittance cost? Even the most miserly I know attend home league games and championship.
  I ll put it another way. I ve tickets for three concerts [1 already over] in Dublin this Summer and those three nights will cost me more than I ve spent on football in many years. I ll enjoy the concerts but I ll love the football. Win ,lose or draw. Its a question of how much it means to your, and if your lucky enough to have kids interested enough to go you re blessed. Though I can imagine others will feel otherwise.   
Yes, I haven't bothered going to matches because of the cost on several occasions - not when my own county is playing, but living in Dublin I could go to matches most weeks I'm in the city, I rarely do because it's not worth it.  The whole croker experience can be a tremendous let down, poor game, poor atmosphere, abysmal and overpriced catering....
But I agree that demand for tickets for games involving one's own county is pretty inelastic and price wouldn't be a factor for me, there are however many other supporters for who it would be.  As I said earlier in this thread, most posters on here are unlikely to be put off by the price, we're on a gaaboard after all.  My problem with the whole thing is that I don't see why the gaa have to charge what they do, their goal should not be to maximise revenue, but to maximise popularity, I think there are too many in the higher echelons of the gaa who are well out of touch with the grassroots.  In my opinion a return to the old days where kids under 16 (i know it was U14, but I was small for my age) were free into every game would be a good start (with tickets if required for safety), but most games not involving dublin could easily offer this.
The GAA should not be taking their lead in terms of tv negotiations and match pricing from other organisations, they are not other organisations, they do not have the costs that other organisations have.  I see much of it as being greed, probably motivated by good intentions, but greed all the same.
Post by: Pangurban on June 06, 2008, 09:08:39 PM
Bogball that is the best post i have read on this forum in many a long day, more power to your Elbow
Post by: The GAA on June 06, 2008, 09:15:41 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 06, 2008, 10:38:23 AM
The GAA should not be taking their lead in terms of tv negotiations and match pricing from other organisations, they are not other organisations, they do not have the costs that other organisations have.  I see much of it as being greed, probably motivated by good intentions, but greed all the same.

Leave us the f**k alone
Post by: Maguire01 on June 06, 2008, 10:03:39 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 06, 2008, 10:38:23 AM
Yes, but whilst i agree that prices could better reflect the economic realities of the Irish public, we should remember that the GAA generates revenue and not profits. These other organisations generate money to distribute to shareholders - the GAA generates money to distribute throughout the organisation, including grassroots.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on June 06, 2008, 10:29:20 PM
These people our in charge of promoting gaelic games (not making profits) and I cant see how charging children full prices into watching the county matches does this. The association relies on attracting the interest of children/teens and what better way to do this than for them to go to watch big county matches. Traditionally under 16's mostly got in free but they've used the all ticket matches to put a stop to this - crazy. If its all ticket then u16 tickets charged at a couple of pound should be made widely available and not just for the terrace were young kids would struggle to see. The thing is we're talking about matches that are played in less than full stadiums, so we're not only denying children the opportunity to attend but making our product look poorer on tv and creating less of an atmosphere.
Post by: magickingdom on June 06, 2008, 11:46:10 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on June 06, 2008, 10:29:20 PM
These people our in charge of promoting gaelic games (not making profits) and I cant see how charging children full prices into watching the county matches does this. The association relies on attracting the interest of children/teens and what better way to do this than for them to go to watch big county matches. Traditionally under 16's mostly got in free but they've used the all ticket matches to put a stop to this - crazy. If its all ticket then u16 tickets charged at a couple of pound should be made widely available and not just for the terrace were young kids would struggle to see. The thing is we're talking about matches that are played in less than full stadiums, so we're not only denying children the opportunity to attend but making our product look poorer on tv and creating less of an atmosphere.

altho i have no problems with ticket (rugby/soccer games at croker are more expensive) prices i do agree that kids under 16 should get in free for most games up to the all ireland finals. how the hell the system would work i'm not sure but it could be worked out
Post by: Maguire01 on June 08, 2008, 02:34:16 PM
Crowd around the side of the pitch in Cork due to overcrowding!
Title: .
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 08, 2008, 02:47:06 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 08, 2008, 02:34:16 PM
Crowd around the side of the pitch in Cork due to overcrowding!

Wasnt it all ticket?
Is game going ahead?
I assume everyone's safe?
Post by: Maguire01 on June 08, 2008, 02:55:47 PM
Wasn't all-ticket.  Game going ahead and all seems to be safe - just have a few hundred sitting on the grass behind the goals at one end.
Post by: Puckoon on June 08, 2008, 03:02:39 PM
Thats a sight that we shouldnt see in 2008. Thankfully its not too bad.

Good luck too brendan cummins in the second half!
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 08, 2008, 04:34:23 PM
Any official numbers from Healy Park?
Post by: magickingdom on June 08, 2008, 05:23:20 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on June 08, 2008, 04:34:23 PM
Any official numbers from Healy Park?

18000 healy pk
42800 cork
13000 offaly (last night)
56000 croke pk
Post by: Maguire01 on June 08, 2008, 05:50:01 PM
I think we can safely say that there are no real issues with attendances in 2008, despite the costs and extent of television coverage.
Post by: ExiledGael on June 08, 2008, 05:56:21 PM
Some worrying pictures from the Cork game though it seems to have passed ok. The Garda seem to have made the right decision at the right time thank God but that's a disgrace in this day. Could have been a serious problem.
Post by: Hardy on June 08, 2008, 06:26:07 PM
Unbelievable in the post-Hillsorough world. Seems there was a bad crush at the entrances. RTÉ news are suggesting at this stage that people were reading their tickets incorrectly and turning up at the wrong entrances. They suggest colour-coding the tickets could have helped, but there's no explanation of why people were let in with the wrong tickets.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 08, 2008, 08:50:27 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 08, 2008, 06:26:07 PM
Unbelievable in the post-Hillsorough world. Seems there was a bad crush at the entrances. RTÉ news are suggesting at this stage that people were reading their tickets incorrectly and turning up at the wrong entrances. They suggest colour-coding the tickets could have helped, but there's no explanation of why people were let in with the wrong tickets.
That's ridiculous though.  Are these people illiterate? Surely we don't need colours to know where we're going!
Post by: Maguire01 on June 08, 2008, 10:34:34 PM
The Sunday Game have been talking about compromising the safety of players by letting the crowd out onto the field.  Surely the emphasis should be on the safety of the spectators, including the many children in the crowd?
Is it now time not only to properly control attendance, but to remove the fences from around the perimeter to ensure that should there be a crush, the crowd can get out onto the pitch?
Post by: orangeman on June 08, 2008, 10:58:21 PM
Huge attendance today - people had no choice other than go because of no live TV coverage.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 08, 2008, 11:04:59 PM
Quote from: orangeman on June 08, 2008, 10:58:21 PM
Huge attendance today - people had no choice other than go because of no live TV coverage.

Eh? What was i watching then?
Post by: Maguire01 on June 08, 2008, 11:21:29 PM
I assumed he was talking about Cork?

Also, the attendance at Omagh was just over 18,000 - i thought capacity was c.21,000?
Post by: Hardy on June 09, 2008, 12:45:56 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 08, 2008, 08:50:27 PM
That's ridiculous though.  Are these people illiterate? Surely we don't need colours to know where we're going!

This is Cork. The ridiculous is commonplace here.
Post by: gerry on June 09, 2008, 02:54:45 AM
QuoteAlso, the attendance at Omagh was just over 18,000 - i thought capacity was c.21,000?

can't see where they put another 3000 today, looked a full house to me from where i was standing
Post by: kevmy on June 09, 2008, 11:02:20 AM
From what Micheál was saying on the radio the capacity at Pairc Uí Caoimh was 43,000+ so I assume some people went/were let into the wrong end of the stadium and then didn't move along the sides so the Guards had no choice to let them on the field.

It does put pay to the nonsense here about attendances though. A lot of years some of the early games are poor and have poor crowds. Wasn't there a Limerick v Cork(?) game a couple of years ago when about 5,000 turned up and the way some people went on 'twas the end of the world. There'll be big crowds for the big games. Connacht final, the rest of the Ulster Championship, Cork and Kerry in Munster and any time Dublin take the field. In hurling Munster is only warming up and the Galway boys have some expectations as well this year so I wouldn't worry bout it.
Post by: armaghniac on June 09, 2008, 02:50:41 PM
There are never any tickets on sale on the day at Ulster games, presumably with a view to avoiding what happening in Cork. However this is a bit silly when there is space in the ground. At least they need some way of buying tickets close to the time, by Internet or whatever, rather than turning people away.
Post by: Feckitt on June 09, 2008, 03:49:47 PM
any official attendance from Omagh?
Post by: naka on June 09, 2008, 05:18:38 PM
therewere plenty of people outside of omagh yesterday with no tickets who couldnt get in, what was extremely disappointing was that there was a ticketmaster van outside the ground , surely they could have sold tickets on a first come basis
Post by: Maguire01 on June 09, 2008, 07:00:06 PM
From looking at the TV pictures, there appeared to be some room left in Omagh.  The cameras panned over the crowds and the terraces weren't exactly packed. Not sure if the shots were from behind goals or along the side.

Surely they could have sold an extra ticket for DJ Kane's seat?
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on June 09, 2008, 07:16:11 PM
Over 130k at championship matches at the weekend, quite impressive.
Post by: Kerry Mike on June 09, 2008, 07:36:32 PM
20,000 Jackeens missed Croke Park yesterday while 20000 Langers showed up late in Cork, and I thought the soccer season was over.
Post by: ziggysego on June 09, 2008, 07:38:10 PM
Euro 2008 KM *sighs*
Post by: Bensars on June 09, 2008, 08:02:31 PM
Quote from: gerry on June 09, 2008, 02:54:45 AM
QuoteAlso, the attendance at Omagh was just over 18,000 - i thought capacity was c.21,000?

can't see where they put another 3000 today, looked a full house to me from where i was standing

although several thousand more could have fitted in, health and safety stated 18,000.
Post by: downredblack on June 09, 2008, 09:57:33 PM
There was a few Down souls hanging onto the railings behind the goal , thought the stewards could of let them in .
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on June 09, 2008, 10:04:35 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 09, 2008, 07:00:06 PM
From looking at the TV pictures, there appeared to be some room left in Omagh.  The cameras panned over the crowds and the terraces weren't exactly packed. Not sure if the shots were from behind goals or along the side.

Surely they could have sold an extra ticket for DJ Kane's seat?

Health and Safety mate ... the days of sardines are well gone.. even on All-Ireland Sunday you can still move about the Hill easily enough....
Post by: Maguire01 on June 09, 2008, 10:57:34 PM
I fully appreciate health and safety concerns - i brought it up myself in relation to the Cork game.  I just thought Omagh could have had one or two thousand more and still have been pretty comfortable.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 15, 2008, 10:10:38 PM
Gaelic Life tried to make a story over attendance in this week's paper.  Talked about a 'worrying trend' for Ulster Championship games and then went on to reference Antrim matches! Antrim have very small support and due to their general lack of competitiveness, fans of many opposing teams just won't travel to Casement for a non-event.

Of course there won't be the same appeal when Tyrone and Armagh aren't battling it out at the top of their game, but we have seen full houses in Ballybofey, Omagh and Newry, a good crowd at Enniskillen and a very big crowd in Cavan today (anyone hear the figures?).  We're also likely to see two busy semi-finals and a big final.  I don't think there's anything to worry about.
Post by: armaghniac on June 15, 2008, 10:26:51 PM
The attendance in Cavan was stated to be 22000, but if the capacity of Breffni Park is 29000 then I am not sure where you could have fitted one third more in. It seemed 90% full, will space only evident in the very corners and the side terrace, where most of the accommodation is, was full. Fine stadium and good crowd in any case, some of the predictions of only 15000 coming were far off the mark.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 15, 2008, 10:40:08 PM
Yeah, looked pretty full - more than 22,000 i would have thought. Not bad for a quarter final.

Post by: magickingdom on June 15, 2008, 10:45:05 PM
killarney today had if i heard right 11,300 paying plus 300 (or 3,300 wasnt sure what was said) juniors left in free. how the gaa would know this is beyond me as there are feck all controls. one of my buddies had paid e20 then said he was a student and your man handed him back a tenner. go figure. btw radio kerry said there was 15k there...
Post by: Rossfan on June 16, 2008, 12:23:37 PM
A good crowd for a game everyone knew would be a cakewalk.
At least the cutehoors go to home games unlike the fishslappers who get outnumbered at home by Laythrum  :D
Post by: MaroonAndWhite on June 16, 2008, 12:31:06 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 16, 2008, 12:23:37 PM
A good crowd for a game everyone knew would be a cakewalk.
At least the cutehoors go to home games unlike the fishslappers who get outnumbered at home by Laythrum  :D

Jesus, ye are in some position to talk about the "Fishslappers" given the fact that your supporters abused a manager out of a job and then proceeded to get their holes kicked by the "Fishslappers" despite the fact that they didnt leave third gear  ::)
Post by: Rossfan on June 16, 2008, 12:46:37 PM
Quote from: MaroonAndWhite on June 16, 2008, 12:31:06 PM
.....the fact that your supporters abused a manager out of a job and then proceeded to get their holes kicked by the "Fishslappers" despite the fact that they didnt leave third gear  ::)

Three lies there oul pal - that gentleman ::) wasnt abused; he was an amateur ::) so didnt have a job with Ros GAA and thirdly it was the players not the supporters who got bet .
Ye wouldnt have been able to kick the supporters holes because as usual there werent enough of ye there to do it  ;)
Anyway best wishes against Mayo - who despite all we might say about them always bring a big crowd.
Post by: MaroonAndWhite on June 16, 2008, 01:10:15 PM
Keep denying the fact that he ye didnt abuse him out of a job....that must mean it didnt happen then....

Fair man to pick holes in wording so I will clarify.....the gentleman in question Mr Maughan gave of his time in a voluntary  ::) capacity to assist the fortunes of the Roscommon senior footballers. The players seemed to be happy with what Mr Maughan was trying to do but the "customers" in their infinite wisdom seemed to think that a minor All Ireland 2 years ago means immediate senior success. He was subsequently verbally abused (but of course, you will deny that again). But I shall take Mr Maughan's word for it since he was there.....what reason would he have to lie? Does it sound any better second time around?

And it was indeed your team that got clattered. And no there wasnt enough of us in it to kick yeer holes. But there was the same Galway people that turn up for all the games and Galway have a group of fans that follow them around the country too and quite likely attend more games than Ros fans.....given that 2 championship games a year appears to be the extent of your teams capabilities at the moment. Point being......get your own house in order before mouthing off at Galway or anyone else you have a chip on your shoulder about.

Oh, and Mayo have to play Sligo on Sunday so we wont be counting chickens yet. But we will take your best wishes on board and extend the same to yourselves and hope you have a long and prosperous summer  ;)
Post by: Rossfan on June 16, 2008, 01:58:50 PM
Quote from: MaroonAndWhite on June 16, 2008, 01:10:15 PM

Mr Maughan gave of his time in a voluntary  ::) capacity to assist the fortunes of the Roscommon senior footballers. The players seemed to be happy with what Mr Maughan was trying to do but the "customers" in their infinite wisdom seemed to think that a minor All Ireland 2 years ago means immediate senior success. He was subsequently verbally abused (but of course, you will deny that again). But I shall take Mr Maughan's word for it since he was there.....what reason would he have to lie?

Jasus lad you are some winder upper  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Or maybe you really believe all that.... :o

I was there too that day - and have been to the last couple of hundred Ros games and as already accepted by everyone including Mr Maughan and his buddy Carr- a few lads let a few shouts of "go home to Mayo" and "you're useless".
Equally very few Ros fans think that an All Ireland Minor is any guarantee of senior success.
However we do  think that 2 or 3 years running around a dog track is not the way to train footballers.
I think a certain Mr Sammon would agree on that point.
If ye had the gumption to part with another Mayoman a year ro two earlier  .. who knows but ye might even be ready for a long Autumn this year.
Post by: thejuice on June 21, 2008, 12:13:36 PM
By the looks of things there was no-one at the Limerick-Cork game. Nothing quite as impressive as a nice big stadium with no-one in it is there., all those lovely green seats.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 21, 2008, 12:54:17 PM
All you ever see is the empty seats in that stadium.  It's surely the GAA's biggest white elephant. If ever an argument was needed against increasing capacity at Killarney, that's it.
Post by: Sky Blue on June 21, 2008, 02:07:02 PM
Has the Gaelic Ground ever been full since they redeveloped it? I don't think it has. Theres a chance it could be full for the first time this year if it gets the Munster final. Biggest white elephant ever IMO.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 21, 2008, 03:18:03 PM
i was shocked that there was only 22,500 at the Cavan Armagh game, That has to be wrong,because Breffini was over 90% full and it supposedly can hold a maximum of around 29-30,000.

my guess would have been 25-26,000.

Great attendance though.
Post by: magickingdom on June 21, 2008, 03:38:04 PM
Quote from: Sky Blue on June 21, 2008, 02:07:02 PM
Has the Gaelic Ground ever been full since they redeveloped it? I don't think it has. Theres a chance it could be full for the first time this year if it gets the Munster final. Biggest white elephant ever IMO.

beautiful ground but no it has never been full. dont worry about the cost tho jp mcmanus gave a large helping hand.

Quote from: Maguire01 on June 21, 2008, 12:54:17 PM
All you ever see is the empty seats in that stadium.  It's surely the GAA's biggest white elephant. If ever an argument was needed against increasing capacity at Killarney, that's it.

if ever an argument was needed to let munster rugby in then the gg is it. the gaa dont bring that many big games there
Post by: Maguire01 on June 21, 2008, 05:29:00 PM
Wonder what the attendance will be like in Omagh this evening.  Weather is brutal and the game live on 2 channels.  Omagh is a very open ground, exposed to all the elements - even the stand can be a wind tunnel on a bad day.
Post by: Rossfan on June 21, 2008, 08:19:09 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 21, 2008, 05:29:00 PM
Wonder what the attendance will be like in Omagh this evening.  Weather is brutal and the game live on 2 channels. 

Post by: Maguire01 on June 21, 2008, 08:24:46 PM
And about 70-75% Fermanagh by the look of it.  I don't think it was the Saturday night thing - BBC tried to take that angle.  the fact is that the weather was crap, the game was on TV, and Derry supporterswouldn't leave the house if the game was at the bottom of the garden.

At the same time, that's not a bad attendance.
Post by: Red Army on June 21, 2008, 08:27:55 PM
i think the GAA always give a lower attendance than there is. Tax dodging at its best. Hard to give an exact crowd when 3 ends of the ground is terraces.
I thought there was also more in Newry last saturday night than 18,400.
Post by: shapes on June 21, 2008, 10:24:32 PM
Was that game not all ticket, I have often been at games where they announce the attendances and it dos'ent seem to match whats around the ground.
Brings back back memories of the local guy with the USA biscuit tin which is positioned outside the wall.
Post by: spiritof91and94 on June 21, 2008, 11:08:54 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 21, 2008, 08:19:09 PM
Wonder what the attendance will be like in Omagh this evening.  Weather is brutal and the game live on 2 channels. 

If this figure is correct then Tyrone v Down had 28000 at it, the terraces were bulging that day
Post by: Maguire01 on June 21, 2008, 11:14:41 PM
Quote from: spiritof91and94 on June 21, 2008, 11:08:54 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 21, 2008, 08:19:09 PM

If this figure is correct then Tyrone v Down had 28000 at it, the terraces were bulging that day
Some of the TV angles for the Tyrone/Down game showed plenty of spaces in some of the terraces.  Maybe a case that people weren't moving down to fill it out evenly?
Post by: groundlie on June 22, 2008, 12:26:55 AM
I cant understand why they show this on two channels?
Post by: Maguire01 on June 22, 2008, 12:19:37 PM
Quote from: groundlie on June 22, 2008, 12:26:55 AM
I cant understand why they show this on two channels?
Because there are people in the south who can't get BBC and people in the north who can't get RTÉ?
Post by: glenullinabu on June 22, 2008, 02:34:02 PM
Quote from: Red Army on June 21, 2008, 08:27:55 PM
i think the GAA always give a lower attendance than there is. Tax dodging at its best. Hard to give an exact crowd when 3 ends of the ground is terraces.
I thought there was also more in Newry last saturday night than 18,400.

you cynic ;D
need to look at prices - how can people afford to go to county matches when they have to pay £7 to see club cship matches & they have no work on at the minute
time for reality check from gaa
Post by: haranguerer on June 22, 2008, 02:44:10 PM
The stand seemed to have a bit of space, but I was opposite, and it was jammed there, as was behind the goals furtherest from the town. £13 a ticket, deadly value. Would suspect the weather was a massive factor. I'd be die hard enough, and had tickets got, but we were seriously contemplating watching it in the pub, cos knew we were staying out after it, and would have been fcuked if got soaked.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 22, 2008, 08:15:14 PM
Only 12000 and something in Castlebar today. No atmosphere either. Felt like a league match and the way Sligo played made it seem that way too...
Post by: magickingdom on June 22, 2008, 08:28:19 PM
28,000 at thurles and a disappointing 25,000 at croker
Post by: Maguire01 on June 22, 2008, 09:49:03 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 22, 2008, 08:15:14 PM
Only 12000 and something in Castlebar today. No atmosphere either. Felt like a league match and the way Sligo played made it seem that way too...
But hardly an attractive tie.  And the weather was brutal.
Post by: johnpower on June 22, 2008, 11:19:47 PM
Terrible crowd in Croker today bought tickets before the match had loads of choices . Is it the weather .lack of interest ?, The Dubs are like my own crowd no real interest in the small ball
Post by: Maguire01 on June 22, 2008, 11:24:50 PM
I can't understand why the game was dragged up to HQ in the first place. Surely Carlow of Kilkenny would have been a better neutral choice for the football.
If price is a contributing factor (and a big part of that is the price of fuel), then why drag people half way up the country when there are viable alternatives, and actually lose potential income in the process?
Post by: Tankie on June 22, 2008, 11:49:56 PM
playing in HQ is generally demanded by the county boards, sure every time Wicklow play a game Miko is going crazy that its not in Croker.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 22, 2008, 11:52:32 PM
So it's the county boards and not the GAA (as in HQ), who are shafting their fans.
Post by: Bogball XV on June 23, 2008, 12:49:47 AM
part of the problem may be that corporate box owners expect a certain amount of games there per year, i know that's been a factor for quarter finals in the past.  There's no doubting though that we need a smaller capacity, high quality stadium somewhere central.
Post by: Gnevin on June 25, 2008, 12:37:01 PM
GAA defend match attendences
The half empty terraces at the Clare V Waterford Munster SHC clash at Pairc Na nGael Limerick
24 June 2008

The GAA has hit back at reports that attendences at provincial champinship games are down, claiming that statistic prove that more spectators are paying in this season than in recent years.

On the day that Munster Council Chairman Jimmy Gorman expressed his concern over the attendence at Sunday's hurling semi-final between Clare and Limerick, the GAA felt the need to issue a press statement saying that attendences in general in Munster were up this year.

The GAA pointed out that attendance projections for the Munster Championships will be the highest for three years and that they believe this trend will be replicated elsewhere. The claim that excluding finals or draws, over half a million people will attend provincial championship games this year, which will exceed the average since the turn of the Millennium.

The GAA point out that statistics illustrate that there was a significant increase in overall championship attendances in the 1990's and these figures have been maintained since the turn of the Millennium. The average cumulative attendance since the qualifiers were introduced is 1,796,539, with fluctuation small and generally depending on draws or attractive and novel pairings. Croke Park say that even at this early stage that the 2008 attendances are expected to be in line with those of recent years.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 25, 2008, 01:23:14 PM
QuoteThe GAA pointed out that attendance projections for the Munster Championships will be the highest for three years and that they believe this trend will be replicated elsewhere.

I find that difficult to believe.

QuoteThere's no doubting though that we need a smaller capacity, high quality stadium somewhere central.

Does portlaise not fulfill this role? Certainly it gets a lot of matches due to its location. I suppose it is 3 sides terraced. Maybe another stand and it would be ideal for the sort of venue your talking about?
Post by: Maguire01 on June 25, 2008, 01:27:30 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 25, 2008, 01:23:14 PM
QuoteThe GAA pointed out that attendance projections for the Munster Championships will be the highest for three years and that they believe this trend will be replicated elsewhere.

The Cork/Tipp game was more than full. The final will also be a full house.
Post by: gaagaa on June 25, 2008, 01:51:28 PM

their predictions are up the left - reduce the prices & let under 16s in for free
start promoting the game before its too late
Post by: gaagaa on June 25, 2008, 01:52:24 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 21, 2008, 08:24:46 PM
And about 70-75% Fermanagh by the look of it.  I don't think it was the Saturday night thing - BBC tried to take that angle.  the fact is that the weather was crap, the game was on TV, and Derry supporterswouldn't leave the house if the game was at the bottom of the garden.

half of derry has no work at the minute
Post by: Bogball XV on June 25, 2008, 02:23:59 PM

QuoteThere's no doubting though that we need a smaller capacity, high quality stadium somewhere central.

Does portlaise not fulfill this role? Certainly it gets a lot of matches due to its location. I suppose it is 3 sides terraced. Maybe another stand and it would be ideal for the sort of venue your talking about?
No, Portlaoise isn't good enough, it's also not central enough, but not too bad I suppose.  What I would like to see is a mini croke park, holding say 35,000 max, but with virtually identical facilities.
Post by: corn02 on June 25, 2008, 02:25:18 PM
Quote from: gaagaa on June 25, 2008, 01:51:28 PM
[ let under 16s in for free
start promoting the game before its too late

Do U-16s not get in free to non-ticket games?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 25, 2008, 02:33:03 PM
QuoteQuote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on Today at 01:23:14 PM
The GAA pointed out that attendance projections for the Munster Championships will be the highest for three years and that they believe this trend will be replicated elsewhere.

Sorry, maybe I wasn't clear. I don't doubt that the Munster hurling attendances may be holding their numbers but I'm really not sure that the trend is replicated nationwide.

Post by: Tankie on June 25, 2008, 03:20:20 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 25, 2008, 02:33:03 PM
QuoteQuote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on Today at 01:23:14 PM
The GAA pointed out that attendance projections for the Munster Championships will be the highest for three years and that they believe this trend will be replicated elsewhere.

Sorry, maybe I wasn't clear. I don't doubt that the Munster hurling attendances may be holding their numbers but I'm really not sure that the trend is replicated nationwide.

I agree with that, some of the attendances have been shocking - 25k in Croker lastweek was very bad.
Post by: moysider on June 25, 2008, 05:42:26 PM
Attendances in Connacht this year have been shockingly poor. I know some of the players in Castlebar last Sunday found the whole occasion surreal such was the lack of interest even from those few who were there. A thing that has nt helped was 2 games played in Pearse Stadium. which even heartland Galway football folk wont venture into. Expectations in Mayo have been so deliberately dampened down its like a Summer without a Championship. This killing off the hype is all very well but its also the hype of the championship that gets the young lads hooked on the game. There was a much better buzz 10/15/20 years ago. Once, gaelic would get the young fellas attention for a few summer months anyway while the soccer was in bed. Killing off hope and expectation within a county is no way to promote the game imo.
Way less than 50% of my circle who usually attend matches were in Castlebar last Sunday - and ticket prices had nothing to do with it. Apathy and pissed off about absent player would have caused them to stay at home. It ll be interesting to see if the final is a sell out. The Connacht Council would need it to be. The coffers must be bare enough.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 25, 2008, 06:16:35 PM
Quote from: gaagaa on June 25, 2008, 01:52:24 PM

Have you the stats for that? Is Fermanagh's employment rate significantly higher (considering also Derry's much larger population)?
Also, has half of Derry been out of work forever? Because they've never supported in large numbers.

Post by: magickingdom on June 25, 2008, 07:09:49 PM
some of the attendances are poor enough this year but i'm sure at the business end they'll pick up. watching croker last sunday the atmosphere with 25k was awful and games that wont pull over 35k shouldn't be in there  look at the european championships games with crowds of 30k and a cracking atmosphere in suitable stadiums. as bogball said the gaa badly and quickly need a stadium that holds around the 40k with the same facilities as croker and near dublin. how they fcuked up not getting into landsdowne rd is beyond me but thats done now so they may start planning on fixing this somewhere else..
Post by: glenullinabu on June 25, 2008, 10:43:52 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 25, 2008, 06:16:35 PM

Have you the stats for that? Is Fermanagh's employment rate significantly higher (considering also Derry's much larger population)?
Also, has half of Derry been out of work forever? Because they've never supported in large numbers.

you need to be living in cookoo land to know what the work situation is.  maybe quinn employs half of fermanagh?
derry doesnt have a big gaa base anyway
Post by: Maguire01 on June 26, 2008, 01:33:51 PM
Quote from: glenullinabu on June 25, 2008, 10:43:52 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 25, 2008, 06:16:35 PM

you need to be living in cookoo land to know what the work situation is.  maybe quinn employs half of fermanagh?
derry doesnt have a big gaa base anyway
My point was simply that economic hardship is not limited to Derry. I doubt Fermanagh people are significantly better off.
As for your observation that Derry doesn't have a big GAA base - Derry has 40 clubs, Fermanagh has 22.
Post by: ExiledGael on June 29, 2008, 04:57:48 PM
31,050 in Clones. Pity about the game just.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 29, 2008, 10:12:31 PM
I'd assume a full house for the final would see overall attendances in Ulster up on last year?
Post by: armaghniac on June 29, 2008, 10:17:00 PM
As Armagh are generally involved in the better attended games, last year wasn't a good year for crowds as they played only one game and that in a venue that reduced the attendance.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 29, 2008, 10:21:10 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 29, 2008, 10:17:00 PM
As Armagh are generally involved in the better attended games, last year wasn't a good year for crowds as they played only one game and that in a venue that reduced the attendance.
Eh, rewind there.  Sure Big Joe gave you lot a bollockin' for sending 2,000 tickets back for that game, after all of your crying!
Post by: armaghniac on June 29, 2008, 10:45:46 PM
QuoteSure Big Joe gave you lot a bollockin' for sending 2,000 tickets back for that game

Whatever you think about people who didn't go, had the game been  in a reasonable ground he would not have had this cause for complaint and overall attendances would have been up.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 30, 2008, 01:37:30 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 29, 2008, 10:45:46 PM
QuoteSure Big Joe gave you lot a bollockin' for sending 2,000 tickets back for that game

Whatever you think about people who didn't go, had the game been  in a reasonable ground he would not have had this cause for complaint and overall attendances would have been up.
Do you mean if the game had been closer to home?
Post by: thejuice on July 01, 2008, 12:18:30 PM
Looks like the Leinster hurling final wont be in Croke Park now. I guess the Wexford fans are putting all their chips on the football team. Pity but can we expect anything other than an anihilation of Wexford by the Cats?
Post by: TBT on July 01, 2008, 02:15:20 PM
the Munster Council had a 2 for 1 ticket offer on Ticketmaster for the Munster football final last few days to halt the attendence decline.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 13, 2008, 06:41:26 PM
48,000 at the hurling and 31,000 at the football today. Not bad at all. The attendances should pick up nicely from here on in. Next weekend should see around 150,000 attend championship matches. I'd say those running soccer and rugby would love attendances like these for their domestic competitions.
Post by: magickingdom on July 13, 2008, 10:52:12 PM
today is the first time the gaelic grounds in limerick has been full. 12k at the cork/dub hurling and 9k at the limerick/offaly hurling last night
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 13, 2008, 10:56:06 PM
The gaelic grounds looked well today. Pity it couldnt be filled more often for big championship matches.
Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2008, 12:09:17 AM
Yeah I thought the gaelic grounds looked class today. Great colour too.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 21, 2008, 03:07:38 PM
Over 12k in Newbridge to watch Kildare on Saturday night, fantastic effort from the Kildare supporters. Don't think any county that hasn't been in a provincial final for 5 years or had only won 1 competitive game all year bar Dublin would have that support.  8)
Post by: Rossfan on July 21, 2008, 04:03:55 PM
Good turn out alright Dinny - especially as about 50% of Kildare's population are blow ins and most of the rest are all off horse racing. :P
About 6,000 in Ballybofey.
4,500 at Drogheda and Limerick while the attendances looked sparse enough in Tullamore,Longford and scenic Ardfinnan.
Clones looked empty enough too but as it's a 35,000 capacity 5 or 6 000 would look lost there.
just over 30,000 at the hurling double bill.
Post by: Onion Bag on July 21, 2008, 04:07:16 PM
There was 34,500 or there abouts in Clones yesterday, and to be honest i dont think there was anymore room for anybody
Post by: AZOffaly on July 21, 2008, 04:17:13 PM
Good crowd in Thurles as well. Over 30,000 for two excellent games, and €15 for the Terrace. Good value, sunshine and good games.
Post by: Tankie on July 21, 2008, 04:25:15 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 21, 2008, 03:07:38 PM
Over 12k in Newbridge to watch Kildare on Saturday night, fantastic effort from the Kildare supporters. Don't think any county that hasn't been in a provincial final for 5 years or had only won 1 competitive game all year bar Dublin would have that support.  8)

Its true the Kildare people can really get behind the county!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 21, 2008, 04:51:29 PM
I'd say there was around 2,000 in Ardfinnan, the vast majority of them from the midlands...
Post by: North Longford on July 21, 2008, 04:53:08 PM
I'd have said there was at least 3000 in Longford
Post by: Maguire01 on July 21, 2008, 06:58:26 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 21, 2008, 04:29:46 PM
About 80 at the Antrim - Carlow game. 'Twas the famous Saffron roar that won us the game.
Apparently 150 at Antrim's Hurling game. The Gaels were out in force this weekend!

6,000 in Clones for Monaghan v Derry. Probably would have got 8-10,000 if it had been at 7 o'clock instead of 3.
Post by: Leo on July 21, 2008, 09:08:56 PM
GAA should be obliged to publish correct attendance figures for all these games. The official attendance for Tullamore was 2,600. There was at least that number on the terraces alone and the stand was well over half full and it holds 7,000.
Having said that it seesm giving home games increases the attendance.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 21, 2008, 10:16:55 PM
Quote from: Leo on July 21, 2008, 09:08:56 PM
GAA should be obliged to publish correct attendance figures for all these games. The official attendance for Tullamore was 2,600. There was at least that number on the terraces alone and the stand was well over half full and it holds 7,000.
Maybe they didn't start counting until half time?  :P
Post by: Feckitt on July 22, 2008, 12:05:55 PM
Over 12k in Newbridge to watch Kildare on Saturday night, fantastic effort from the Kildare supporters. Don't think any county that hasn't been in a provincial final for 5 years or had only won 1 competitive game all year bar Dublin would have that support. 

Cant find any official figures, was there really that many for the Cavan match?
Post by: Tankie on July 22, 2008, 12:20:35 PM
i guess there is no point in mentioning the Dubs and the fantastic 81k at the game on Sunday!
Post by: small white mayoman on July 22, 2008, 12:25:17 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 22, 2008, 12:20:35 PM
i guess there is no point in mentioning the Dubs and the fantastic 81k at the game on Sunday!

ye your right no point ;)
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 22, 2008, 12:43:12 PM
QuoteCant find any official figures, was there really that many for the Cavan match?

12.555 to be exact. That was according to the Indo yesterday morning.
Post by: Leo on July 22, 2008, 01:45:13 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 22, 2008, 12:43:12 PM
QuoteCant find any official figures, was there really that many for the Cavan match?

The words "Indo" and "exact" in the same sentence? Now there IS breaking news.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 22, 2008, 01:57:34 PM
Quote from: Leo on July 22, 2008, 01:45:13 PM

Try again - they were in two separate sentences.  :P
Post by: Leo on July 23, 2008, 12:44:22 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 22, 2008, 01:57:34 PM
Quote from: Leo on July 22, 2008, 01:45:13 PM

Try again - they were in two separate sentences.  :P

Phew! Thought I was on to something. Turns out I was on something.
Post by: Rossfan on July 23, 2008, 02:59:47 PM
So what sort of crowds are people expecting this weekend ?
Tyrone v Westmeath - should get 12,000 + ??
Limerick v Kildare- are the Kildare fans going to travel in numbers Dinny? - if so expect well over 10,000 . If not 6,000?
Laois v Down -  not counting the  2,500 of us travelling to the Junior Final plus 50,000 Dubs - I'd expect 8 to 10,000 Laoisites and Downites
Donegal v Monaghan - 12 to 15,000 surely?
Hurling double bill - 45,000 ?
Post by: corn02 on July 23, 2008, 03:02:20 PM
By the sounds of it Armagh v Fermanagh is going to be 25k plus, which is a real achievement.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 23, 2008, 03:06:31 PM
QuoteLimerick v Kildare- are the Kildare fans going to travel in numbers Dinny? - if so expect well over 10,000 . If not 6,000?

Won't be big numbers. maybe 3-5K, would expect the crowd to be about 7K in total, Limerick seem to have very few supporters..
Post by: Maguire01 on July 23, 2008, 06:38:55 PM

Tyrone v Westmeath - should get 15,000+
Limerick v Kildare- 10,000+ (expecting Limerick fans to jump on the bandwagon)
Laois v Down 10,000+
Donegal v Monaghan 15,000+
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 23, 2008, 09:26:18 PM
Think your being a bit optimistic about the crowds. Would be suprised if there's much over 10,000 at the Tyrone game at 3 on a Saturday
Post by: Maguire01 on July 24, 2008, 01:29:42 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on July 23, 2008, 09:26:18 PM
Think your being a bit optimistic about the crowds. Would be suprised if there's much over 10,000 at the Tyrone game at 3 on a Saturday
I'd expect 3-4,000 Westmeath fans minimum. Could Tyrone not bring close to 10,000 for a competitive game at this stage of the year?
Maybe i am a bit optimistic with this one, given the early start.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 24, 2008, 01:31:35 PM
Should be a decent crowd in Thurles on Sunday. Waterford will travel well, as will Cork. Clare will probably bring a fair few, although less than for a Munster final obviously. Wexford might not be that plentiful because of the negative vibes around them.

I'll say 15,000 Waterford, 12,000 Cork, 10,000 Clare, 5,000 Wexford. 40-42k.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 27, 2008, 07:37:40 AM
8,500 in Limerick, split 50/50 I'd reckon.

I'd expect Kildare to feature in a double header in Croke park next round, bit early for a bandwagon though...
Post by: Rossfan on July 27, 2008, 04:57:03 PM
A lot of stay at home fans this weekend it seems -
8,293 Limerick v Kildare ( well done the Lilywhites - ye'll prob get 40,000 the next day  :P)
7,776 at Tyrone v W,meath  ( very poor crowd - no doubt if the Red hands somehow make the Final they'll want 30,000 tickets)
10,7... in Ballybofey - not too bad but again you'd expect more
Looked about 9,000 in Portlaoise but my mind wasnt really on it after the Junior Final :'(
Post by: Maguire01 on July 27, 2008, 05:39:26 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 27, 2008, 04:57:03 PM
A lot of stay at home fans this weekend it seems -
8,293 Limerick v Kildare ( well done the Lilywhites - ye'll prob get 40,000 the next day  :P)
7,776 at Tyrone v W,meath  ( very poor crowd - no doubt if the Red hands somehow make the Final they'll want 30,000 tickets)
10,7... in Ballybofey - not too bad but again you'd expect moreLooked about 9,000 in Portlaoise but my mind wasnt really on it after the Junior Final :'(
Both were early matches, 3 o'clock and 5 o'clock - a big impact on the crowd. If the matches were at 7, you could probably add another 3,000 at least.
Post by: joemamas on July 27, 2008, 05:47:19 PM
gaa have no option but to have two double headers next weekend, otherwise crowds at stand alone games could be worse, Kerry wont travel, wexford not after the beating they got, Fermanagh fans will be sickened after two weeks in a row, Mayo fans have no big hopes this year and may adopt a wait and see approach.

Post by: Maguire01 on July 27, 2008, 05:48:41 PM
Just over 32,000 in Clones today.
Post by: joemamas on July 27, 2008, 05:51:59 PM
most likely because it was a provincil final, a lot of fans treat the qualifers with indifference , at least until the q/finals
Post by: Tankie on July 28, 2008, 12:34:55 AM
Quote from: joemamas on July 27, 2008, 05:47:19 PM
gaa have no option but to have two double headers next weekend, otherwise crowds at stand alone games could be worse, Kerry wont travel, wexford not after the beating they got, Fermanagh fans will be sickened after two weeks in a row, Mayo fans have no big hopes this year and may adopt a wait and see approach.

i think best they should play the games as stand alone giving one of the counties a home draw as then at least you should have a decent home support!
Post by: Hardy on July 29, 2008, 09:51:01 AM
I'm still listening out in vain for the radio and TV ads announcing that kids are free, say in the upper deck, on Saturday and Sunday, the joint initiatives with Bord Fáilte to get tourists into Croke Park for the big under-attended games and stuff like that. You know - the sort of stuff an organisation charged with promoting a sport, that claims to have a marketing department, would be doing to ensure a stadium as close to full as possible at the showpiece time of year for the games.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 29, 2008, 09:52:04 AM
Don't be stupid Hardy. Stupid stupid stupid.
Post by: Hardy on July 29, 2008, 09:55:50 AM
I know. Is Danny Lynch still our marketing department as well as, ahem, PRO?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 29, 2008, 09:57:00 AM
I think our 'Marketing department' consists of making sure Vodafone/Bank of Ireland/Ulster Bank etc etc can get the keys of Croker to have a couple of photos of Alan Brogan and two models from Renards who wouldn't know if the ball is pumped or stuffed.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 29, 2008, 01:30:41 PM
Any guesses on attendance for Saturday & Sunday?

Tyrone - 12,000
Mayo - 12,000
Down - 12,000
Wexford - 8,000
TOTAL - 44,000

Monaghan - 12,000
Kerry - 8,000
Fermanagh - 12,000
Kildare - 12,000
TOTAL 44,000

Anywhere close?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 29, 2008, 03:25:49 PM
Totally off the cuff, but I'd say

Tyrone 12,000
Mayo 8,000
Down 15,000
Wexford 5,000

Monaghan 10,000
Kerry 6,000
Fermanagh 10,000
Kildare 15,000
Post by: magickingdom on July 29, 2008, 08:07:10 PM
anyone know the attendance in thurles last sunday? thanks
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 29, 2008, 08:30:06 PM
Our support has been poor enough of late. I'd say 7-8k would be more realistic for Saturday but hard to tell. Would only expect Wexford to bring a couple of thousand. Should be a good days entertainment and imo much better than going to watch Ireland play Serbia in a friendly for example. I'd say there'll be family tickets available but they dont always advertise them well enough.
Post by: Rossfan on July 29, 2008, 10:03:44 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on July 29, 2008, 08:07:10 PM
anyone know the attendance in thurles last sunday? thanks

Post by: fred the red on July 29, 2008, 10:06:05 PM
What about the attendance in clones last sunday?
Post by: Maguire01 on July 29, 2008, 10:08:56 PM
Quote from: fred the red on July 29, 2008, 10:06:05 PM
What about the attendance in clones last sunday?
Just over 32,000
Post by: haranguerer on July 29, 2008, 10:21:05 PM
Dunno about Sat, but would expect about 30,000 on Sun. Kerry and Fermanagh both got awful sickeners and are unlikely to travel in any great numbers, while I doubt there can be that much confidence in Kildare.

Only tickets for the lower tier are being sold, so that should give an idea of what Croker expect. Dunno what that limits capacity to though...
Post by: Maguire01 on July 29, 2008, 10:35:33 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on July 29, 2008, 10:21:05 PM
Only tickets for the lower tier are being sold, so that should give an idea of what Croker expect. Dunno what that limits capacity to though...
Well that will be dictated by demand and the upper tier would obviously be opened if required. A full bottom tier would still give a pretty good atmosphere though.