Coming up this Sunday, it will be very interesting to see what we're like. No disrespect to Carlow but if we have any serious ambitions this year we should win this without too much of a scare. One thing I'd like to know is who went to Portugal, just wondering who's going to get a run out. I've only heard rumours and one is that Tagdh Brosnan is likley to be included.
hope Carlow pull off a shock :o
would be great to see the royals dumped out
knowing the dirty shower they be losing the whole way and get a fluky goal to win it at the death
then we'll hear the great meath quotes
'the comeback kings' 'meath never give up' 'never say die attitude' 'thats meath trademark down the years'
wat a load of S. H. I. T.!
:D :D
Do you want vinegar with them?
(http://www.nhf.org.nz/images/Chip%20pic.JPG)
Quote from: mattockranger on May 12, 2008, 10:11:02 AM
hope Carlow pull off a shock :o
would be great to see the royals dumped out
knowing the dirty shower they be losing the whole way and get a fluky goal to win it at the death
then we'll hear the great meath quotes
'the comeback kings' 'meath never give up' 'never say die attitude' 'thats meath trademark down the years'
wat a load of S. H. I. T.!
Yeah, tell me what made you more sickened, the goal Gerathy got in the dying seconds in Navan, or holding you scoreless in the 2nd half in Croker in 2005. ;)
Love thy neighbour. Do good to them that bate you. Pray for them that persecute and humiliate you.
Must say they look like lovely chips.
As Turk would always say - the Meath lads are great for picking their XV's to start so get going lads. With alll the suspensions whats the likely starting XV for the Royals the next day?
Seanie, better brains than mine are puzzling over that for the last few weeks and I'd say they're having a problem too. I might have a go later on.
Bit of good news from the Hoganstand and some insight to a possible team for sunday
QuoteThe returning Brian Farrell was among the scorers as Meath warmed up for next Sunday's Leinster SFC opener against Carlow with a 2-17 to 0-16 victory over Mayo in a weekend challenge at Dunderry.
The Nobber sharpshooter was making his first start of the year after recovering from a long-term hamstring problem. There were fears that he would miss next Sunday's Croke Park clash after injuring his knee during a club match last week, but the injury wasn't as serious as first feared and he was able to make an appearance as a substitute against a Mayo team that was notable for the inclusion of James Nallen at full back. Like Farrell, Nallen didn't see any league action this year.
With Conor Motimer and Alan Dillon in fine scoring form, Mayo led by 0-12 to 1-8 at the break. The result remained in the balance until seven minutes from the end when Graham Geraghty grabbed Meath's second major.
QuoteNew faces impress
12 May 2008
A number of the ew players brought onto the panel showed good form in Meath's challenge match win over Mayo at Dunderry.
Colm Coyle's options were limited by suspensions and injuries, but the side he put out had too much class for John O'Mahony's men.
Graham Geraghty was the best forward on view and he grabbed on of the Meath goals, while a number of additions to the panel came on over the course of the 70 plus minutes.
Brian Farrell made a comeback after his knee injury while Shane O'Rourke togged out but was an unused susbstitute.
Meath - P O'Rourke, C O'Connor, K Reilly, S Carr, T Skelly, E Harrington, C O Mealoid, M Ward, E Reilly, S Bray, B Meade, A Nestor, C Ward, J Sheridan, G Geraghty. Subs - B Sheridan, D Sheridan, B Farrell, B Ennis, H Finnegan.
And an eye witnesses account, take from it what you will......
Quotemeath beat mayo 2-17 to 0-15 in a challenge match earlier today (sunday). meath were missing 10 or so regulars and mayo were almost full strength. i think it was O'Rourke in goals. Brian and Joe Sheridan got some great scores. Damien sheridan looked decent at times. geraghty scored 1-4 i think, and could have been sent off for striking Keith Higgins. a bit of pushing and shoving followed but thankfully the ref didnt take any action after the incident. other players to impress were Chris O'Connor and Brian Meade. Brian Farrell got a run so looks like he could have a part to play next week. The trip to portugal looks to have done no harm anyway! roll on the championship!
Jaysus ye louth folk really hate Meath ;)
Even the Louth women hate Meath - there are two of them here at work grinding their teeth already at the prospect of Meath beating Carla.
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 12, 2008, 01:16:09 PM
Even the Louth women hate Meath - there are two of them here at work grinding their teeth already at the prospect of Meath beating Carla.
Must be quite amusing for Meath, to have the Louth lads foaming at the mouth as if they have a serious rivalry with ye. Reminds me of Laois folk talking about Dublin ;)
I wouldn't mind but we did our best to give Louth the win they crave a couple of times in the last few years. Short of running around the pitch blindfolded I don't see what more we could have done to help them. And they still couldn't win. Must be soul destroying.
From Hoganstand.comQuoteBack to the future for Geraghty?
13 May 2008
Speculation is mounting that Meath veteran Graham Geraghty could be restored to his old position in the half back line for Sunday's Leinster SFC clash with Carlow if the five suspended Royal County players fail to have their bans lifted.
Defenders Seamus Kenny, Niall McKeigue and Shane McAnarney are among the quintet who will have their appeals against two-month suspensions heard on Tuesday night by the Central Appeals Committee. One of the game's top attackers over the past decade, Geraghty began his inter-career as a right half back and won an All-Star there in 1994.
He had a brief spell in the position during the infamous clash with Dublin and also figured there for half an hour in a recent challenge against Cavan. He did, however, score 1-2 from half forward in another challenge against Mayo in Dunderry on Sunday night.
After missing the entire league through injury, Brian Farrell made his first appearance of the year for the Royals against Mayo and is now in contention for a starting place on Sunday. Shane O'Rourke is also making progress after recent hamstring problems, but the versatile Anthony Moyles is definitely out after recently undergoing a groin operation.
QuoteYoung Paddy O'Rourke, a nephew of Meath legend Colm, could make his debut for the county in goals against Carlow on Sunday.
O'Rourke was shot stopper for the Meath minors last year and was been drafted into the county panel three weeks ago after captain Brendan Murphy was hit with a two month suspension following the melee against Dublin in Parnell Park.
In the captain's absence number two choice Michael Aherne from Dunshaughlin had deputised between the posts in Meath's recent challenge games. However, Aherne pulled his groin in the warm up before Sunday's win over Mayo at Dunderry, which left the 19-year-old Skryne player as the only fit goalkeeper in the Meath squad.
The rookie 'keeper kept a clean sheet against John O'Mahony's men in the 2-17 to 0-16 win and is now in line to make his competitive debut against the Barrowsiders in Croke Park this weekend, unless Aherne makes a recovery from his groin complaint or Murphy is successful in his appeal against his suspension.
There aren't many like GG out there that you could slot in anywhere on the field and he'd be more than adequate. Remember him storming up the field as a wing-back against Dublin in '94? Single handedly dragged us back into the game. I'd love to see him play at centre back now.
To be honest Carlow have no chance really. Best we can hope for from Sunday is to keep the score respectable.
I know Meath are more than likely missing a few, but we are missing some vital players too, and we don't have strength in depth in squad to cover for them.
After a promising start to year in O'Byrne cup beating wexford away & drawing with Dubs in Parnell Park, it all has gone downhill since then. Had a bad enough league including losing at home to Offaly by 20 points and to Waterford by 7. Also included away defeats to Wicklow & Antrim by 9 & 6 points.
So think the bookies have it right with meath at 1/20 to win. Still we'll be their in our mad jerseys cheering on the lads, praying for a miracle!
Quote from: hardstation on May 13, 2008, 08:44:16 PM
Any team with a player called St.Ledger deserves to win at least one match.
haha true, its a quality name! Looks like young Daniel St Ledger will be starting full forward on Sunday. Hes a decent prospect as a centre half back where he played for the 21s this year & minors last year. Hard to see him getting better of Darren Fay! Bealin seems to like him there tho and against Cavan last week he did cause serious problems to their full back, but honestly i wouldn't start him...despite the great name!! He's actually a relation to yer man Sean St Ledger who made a couple of Ireland squads & plays for Preston.
Fayser is suspended Steve.
Quote from: Jinxy on May 13, 2008, 10:40:18 PM
Jinxy,
Is Darren suspended? I thought that the guys on 4 weeks have their suspensions up on Saturday next. However, I know that there is a rule about still missing a game even if a suspension is up. I reckon that I read somewhere today that they were playing this weekend.
I have to say that the Mayo game at the weekend left me a little more confident about the upcoming championship. I know that it was a friendlt but the guys aquitted themselves quite well.
Quote from: Jinxy on May 13, 2008, 10:40:18 PM
No he's not..he was one of the 4 week crew, who are available for Sunday.
I wish he was missing, but sadly he'll be there to teach our young full forward what Championship football is all about.
I was full sure it was said at the time of the suspensions that the 4 week lads would miss this game? ???
No sadly the 4 weeks guys are grand for this game. It only rules out the 8 week guys. Any word on how their appeal went tonight? Last thing we want is them also being free to play Sunday!
Well the suspensions were upheld, not that surprised really.
QuoteBealin brands Meath as "dangerous opponents" 14 May 2008
Carlow football manager Paul Bealin has branded Meath as "very, very dangerous opponents" ahead of his side's Leinster SFC preliminary round encounter with the Royals this Sunday in Croke Park.
The Barrowsiders boss regards All Star Stephen Bray as an "awesome" player and believes that defender Darren Fay can be often be the difference at the back for their Leinster opponents.
"Even when I was involved with Wexford, I remember that Bray was awesome and we struggled to hold him," said Bealin.
"Meath have a very good full-forward line, they're strong around the middle and possess a good, attacking half-back line.
"And Darren Fay is a man that can lift Meath over the line all by himself when he puts in a performance."
Adding on the subject, Bealin pointed out that Meath can be dangerous opponents to come up against when they're out to prove themselves.
"Meath are very, very dangerous opponents when they have to prove themselves, they can bring players in from anywhere in the county and once they put on that jersey, they become different animals entirely."
Bealin doing his best to talk Meath up!?! ;)
So anyone here going to the game? Ill be there alright.
I should hope if its a day like this there will be a good crowd.
For those of you who don't go up on Sunday, it is Live on the Web
http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/mediaplayer.html
Good to see this latest development with the broadcasters, it is the only one of the four games on Sunday that is not live on the box, but at least if you are on the island of Ireland you can watch it on the net! Mind you Jim Carney is doing the comentary!!
I'm going.
I hear Ahern, McGill, Meade and Nestor are making their debuts. Best of luck to them.
Hopefully we will get the wiin. The suspended payers will probably take their cases to the DRA after the weekend if we win.
Aherne
O Connor, Fay, McGill
Harrington, Reilly, King
Ward, Meade
Byrne, Ward, Nestor
Bray, Big Joe, Geraghty
Delighted Cian Ward is on the 40, what i've been hoping for a while.
Well, I remember a few lads were thrown into the mix in '96 and went on to make a name for themselves. I'm delighted that Coyle has the chance to try someone new at centrefield. I really feel if we can sort out an effective pairing we have a great shot at winning Leinster at the very least and after that sure who knows.
Cian Ward looked a little, erm, 'well fed' last year. Has he slimmed down? If not, will be be mobile enough at centre forward?
I'm hoping for the best case scenario - that we will discover our best team by accident/force of necessity. It wouldn't be the first time it happened a team. Certainly we need a fix at midfield and it would be great if Meade proved to be it. Despite all the tribulations, it doesn't look a bad team. The forward division, and especially the full forward line, looks as good as any in the championship and there's still Farrell and O'Rourke presumably on the bench, should the need arise.
It'll be great for the midfield newcomer when the crowd starts chanting "Mee-yad, Mee-yad".
Meade is a bit more mobile at least from what I've seen of him.
Looks like a good team alright,although I have my concerns for the full back line in the long run though, I think we should overcome Carlow. Was reading Graham Geraghtys article in the Meath Post, and even he was saying if we dont beat Carlow we might as well pack up and give it up. Strange to see someone being honest rather than going "Oh, Carlow are a good team, and we'll need to be on our guard, no-ones taking it for granted....etc"
Mobility would be my worry as well. As a centre forward you can get away with not being particularly fast, but you need a good engine and a good work ethic. If Cian can maintain a high work rate his kicking skills are made for the position.
Quote from: The Claw on May 16, 2008, 12:54:58 AM
Aherne
O Connor, Fay, McGill
Harrington, Reilly, King
Ward, Meade
Byrne, Ward, Nestor
Bray, Big Joe, Geraghty
Delighted Cian Ward is on the 40, what i've been hoping for a while.
I thought Fay and Ward were supposed to be suspended for this one or have I got my wires crossed???
4 week suspensions are up tomorrow.
Quote from: Jinxy on May 16, 2008, 03:04:07 PM
4 week suspensions are up tomorrow.
I thought there was a rule introduced recently where a suspension had to include a game ???
Quick question Lads -
Who hits the frees up-front for Meath and is he starting sunday?
Who hits the frees up-front for Carlow and is he starting sunday?
Meath - Cian Ward hits the frees and yes he is on. Brian Farrell also hits them for Meath but he isnt on.
Carlow have 2 free takers. Usually JJ Smith takes them from the left and Eric McCormack from the right. If Simon Rea comes off bench will will probably take over from Eric.
Meath 1-8, Carlow 0-3 after 25 minutes. Full forward line completely dominant. Joe Sheridan 1-2.
Cian Ward having a stormer too.
Jim Carney is some pain to listen to.
Kinneavy (or whatever his name is this week) is blowing whistles if one player even looks like coming near to physically contacting another. There hasn't been one minute without a free and nearly all of them for nothing.
1-15 to 0-04 at half time. Meath's midfield and forwards look magnificent, but it's easy to look that way because Carlow look like a poor Junior B team and this is no test at all.
Mark Ward powerful at midfield and supplying a continuous flow of quick ball in. Meade playing well at midfield too.
Joe Sheridan 1-3, winning ball at will.
Cian Ward 6 points, 3 from play. One of his frees, off the ground from the 45 line went at least 10 feet over the bar.
Bray 0-2, showing lovely touches, pace and class.
Nestor, King, GG and Meade 0-1 each.
1-25 to 0-08 at the end.
Quote from: Hardy link=topic=7747.msg294081#msg294081 date=1211123724
Kinneavy (b]or whatever his name is this week[/b])
1 25 to 0 08!! That's some hammerin in a championship game. I expected yes to win easy, but not that fcukin easy!!
Just back for a near deserted Croker.
Sweet Christ Carlow stank the joint.
There should have been a mercy killing at half time.
Agree with Hardy on the Galway/Roscommon ref. But then I never had any respect for him.
meath's apparent demise has been overstated, can't see wexford beating them. may get close but they won't beat them. carlow are missing about 8-9 of their best players. unless carlow get the first 15 out, they haven't a prayer.
Dunno if there's any point analysing that. I suppose at least a few of the younger lads got a game at HQ under their belts. Other than that a completely facile victory. The place was like a morgue from about 15 mins onward.
No atmoshere during the game. The Kildare crowd didnt hang around at all and most of the Wicklow crew left at half time in our game. Games like this should be free for kids when it is known in advance that the ground will be less than a quarter full. Might be tricky logistically but would be certainly possible.
Regarding the game, Meath got a better runout against a seemingly tired Mayo last weekend in a challenge in Dunderry. Once Carlow missed three times whn getting good possession in the first 10 minutes then the game was over in my mind. Very little can be gauged from the game as the players were not under pressure. The challenge for Coyle is to assimilate the injured players back and possibly the suspended players also. We have a number of weak areas that were exposed by Cork last year. I didnt see too much today to make me over-confident that we have the solutions but we are improving and I think that a good team spirit has developed.
I expected Meath to win as easy and have money on them to get to a leinster final on the basis they (especially Colm Coyle ) will have learned a lot from last year . They did what they had to do today and will face a sterner test against Wexford .still i think they will get that far
Meade played well (albeit against a very poor midfield pairing). He gets around the pitch and has good hands. I'd still be very worried about who we have to mark Mattie Forde. I think we've loads of options up front. If Moyles was back fit and playing centre back for the Wexford game I'd be quite happy with our lot even with the suspensions we have. But he more than likely won't be.
Hard to know what to make of that. Carlow were so poor it was untrue. That said, it looks to me like Meath have a few more options which could mean they are going to be better than last year. Cian Ward looks to be a lot better shape too so his undoubted class might be more in evidence.
I didnt think the gulf in teams would be so vast. OK Carlow were missing a few but it looked like they werent even trying at times. Wexford game will be a better test of our mettle. If there was a good thing about it was at least we didnt make hard work of Carlow or kicked 100 wides. But in all honesty both Coyle and his players (and probably the Carlow team too) would be better off wiping that game from memory as we wont play a game as easy as that for another 10 years.
Was impressed by Brian Meade and Damian Sheridan when he came on. Good to see Brian Farrell taking the field again.
That's two years in a row now that Carlow have been blown away in the first round. They are better than that. There must be something seriously rotten in the state of Denmark. Clubs like Eire óg, Hanrahans, the Blues etc mean that Carlow should be punching to a far higher standard than they showed against Offaly last year or MEath yesterday.
Seems like Cian Ward went well yesterday, and I thought his point up along the Hogan stand side when he carried the pall past a couple of tackles, and dummied another lad before swinging it over with his left was class.
Wonder how Carlow will do in the 2008 Cooper Cup?
Didn't they lose 8-20 to 0-07 against the mighty Waterford last year :o
They did, or something like it, but they were a rabble at that stage. I think it was nearly at the point of driving around the towns looking for lads with boots. Seemingly they are going to have a lash at it this year, according to Bealin, so it'll be interesting to see how they get on.
One think that struck me about Carlow yesterday was that they looked physically very weak. They were brushed aside time and again and the Meath forwards could afford to just hang onto the ball and trot around until there was an opening for a shot. If I was Coyle I'd have the lads sowing into each other at the first opportunity in training as I'd say their jerseys hardly needed to be washed after yesterday.
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 19, 2008, 09:32:00 AM
That's two years in a row now that Carlow have been blown away in the first round. They are better than that. There must be something seriously rotten in the state of Denmark. Clubs like Eire óg, Hanrahans, the Blues etc mean that Carlow should be punching to a far higher standard than they showed against Offaly last year or MEath yesterday.
Thats the sad part about it, Eire Og would have easily beaten the Carlow side that went out on Sunday. O'Hanrahans despite not being very strong these days probably would too. Club football will always be number 1 in Carlow. Lads just won't commit to the county. Im sure there were many club players that should have been on the Carlow side having a laugh in the pubs on Sunday night feeling justified at not having been part of the debacle in Croker. Thats sadly the attitude of too many, and no manager can seem to change it.
Steve
i only seen highlights as id just got back from Belfast, but what Jinxy said looks true, Carwlow looked a far too light and physically weak team,
Was there any weights done there aswell?
i read the Carlow Hoganstand messageboard and its clear with all the names up, That alot of Carlows better players werent playing.
Its a sad state of affairs alright.