Just who can lay claim to having the greatest provincial rivalry? Would ye reckon Galway/Mayo, Dublin/Meath, Tyrone/Armagh? Personally my favourite is kerry/Cork on a sunny day in killarney but im just biased. Apparantley its the oldest though as they both have been the best down south for a while. Any other rivalries we may not ahve heard about? Hurling suggestions welcome
We have a scatter of them because of all the bordering counties (7 of them). They are all hotly debated and contested, but it really stems from what part of the county you are in.
Lads along the north of the county, in geographical terms, wouldn't be too fond of Westmeath, at least in football, whereas Edenderry and it's environs would be hostile towards Meath and Kildare. The Gracefield/Portarlington lads would be very anti-Laois, whereas the lads down around south Offaly and Birr would have have serious rivalry with Tipperary. Over towards Banagher it would be Galway, and Roscommon get a few hairly looks up around Shannonbridge.
If I were to pick the most heated of those rivalries, at the moment, it would probably be Offaly Westmeath, or Offaly Laois.
Cavan V Monaghan is the traditionally big one in Ulster, ignore what the non free staters are blabbering about sure, Foot ball was only invented in Derry in 1993 and Tyrone in 2003 :P
It hasnt even been invented in Antrim yet isnt that right hardy?
Cavan Down was also fairly big. :)
I think its Mayo Galway.
The Mayo Blog summarises recent results well - http://mayogaablog.com/?p=533
Historically between league, and championship meetings there is a match every other year and the results are very evenly split.
Quote from: hardstation on May 07, 2008, 05:13:39 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on May 07, 2008, 05:10:49 PM
Don't have us set big Darren O'Hare on yis again, yis tight fisted fcukers.
where did he disappear to? ;) Bear of a man,
have ye even won a championship game since? :o
i have a bad feeling about Sunday week!!!!
Grew up not far from de Awfully border but it'd be a friendly rivalry we'd have with them, wheras down around Moate they can't stand the Biffos. Wouldn't be much love around Athlone for the Rossies and everyone generally just feels sorry for the Slashers, more to be pitied that hated :P But as for that shower in Eastmeath >:(
Derry and Tyrone would have to shade it alright.
In fairness it would always depend on where you are from.
For me, without a doubt, its Dublin v Meath.
Tyrone/Derry definitely for me. Sheer hatred and bad manners. 1993 was the worst year in the history of mankind.
I have to agree with O neill, and Ill tell the rest of yes something, Tyrone Armagh was soft compared to tyrone Derry, always hard and unfair.
Quote from: ONeill on May 07, 2008, 05:22:47 PM
Tyrone/Derry definitely for me. Sheer hatred and bad manners. 1993 was the worst year in the history of mankind.
#
What was the year Tyrone were down to 13 ??
Throughout history Galway v Mayo has probably been the most enduring as they have met so often and it's always been nip and tuck. Definitely one for the romantics anyway. Celebrated in song which can't be said of most rivalries.
Kerry v Cork have probably met just as often but given that Kerry more often than not have held the whip hand in that rivalry I wouldn't put it up there at the top.
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 07, 2008, 05:08:49 PM
We have a scatter of them because of all the bordering counties (7 of them). They are all hotly debated and contested, but it really stems from what part of the county you are in.
Lads along the north of the county, in geographical terms, wouldn't be too fond of Westmeath, at least in football, whereas Edenderry and it's environs would be hostile towards Meath and Kildare. The Gracefield/Portarlington lads would be very anti-Laois, whereas the lads down around south Offaly and Birr would have have serious rivalry with Tipperary. Over towards Banagher it would be Galway, and Roscommon get a few hairly looks up around Shannonbridge.
If I were to pick the most heated of those rivalries, at the moment, it would probably be Offaly Westmeath, or Offaly Laois.
I doubt all Portarlington lads are Anti-Laois considering most of the town is in County Laois
Most Laois people would rather beat Offaly than any other county and thankfully that has been a fairly regular occurrence over the past decade and its been very satisfying for many around Laois :)
As for our other border counties i have no real grudge withany of them even Kildare believe it or not though the flourbags don't like us for some reason,Tipp or Carlow wouldn't bother me either,Kilkenny would but as there is no chance that Laois could match Kilkenny there is no point in having a grudge with them..
QuoteMost Laois people would rather beat Offaly than any other county and thankfully that has been a fairly regular occurrence over the past decade and its been very satisfying for many around Laois Smiley
Aye. For the past decade. But swings and roundabouts, swings and roundabouts. Beidh an lá eile againn.
As for Portarlington, that's what I meant by the Gracefield/Portarlington, as in the Gracefield, or Offaly, end of Portarlington.
For Ulster:
Derry/Tyrone
Monaghan/Cavan
Tyrone/Armagh
Armagh/Down
in that order.
Quote from: orangeman on May 07, 2008, 05:26:13 PM
#
1995 Ulster semi-final ... down to 13 men at halftime and getting beat 8-5 ... ahhhhhhh, great memories of a scorching hot day, the inbreds singing "there's no Sam in Tyrone", rubbing it in as if the game was already won ... Paul Donnelly leading the fightback and Jody Gormley sticking over the winner to make it, if my memory serves me right, 11-10 ... Carlsberg don't make comebacks, but if they did...
kerry v cork by a mile ;D
I am biased of course but Kerry v the Langers is unique. Possibly because of the number of Kerrymen and women living in Cork (improving the gene pool as an act of christian charity) and the fact that we fleece welcome so many langers down to the Kingdom for their holidays.
The fact that Mrs. Casey is from the ultra independent rebellious county of West Cork may have something to do with it as well. :P
Has to be Tyrone v Derry. There's a real bitterness there, the like I've yet to see elsewhere.
Some people from outside the two counties would say Tyrone v Armagh, but there's a deep respect between the two.
Greatest provincial rivalry ?
has to be Munster (Kerry ) v Ulster
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on May 07, 2008, 08:46:49 PM
Greatest provincial rivalry ?
has to be Munster (Kerry ) v Ulster
No rivalry. Ulster has had the upperhand in recent years.
Honestly, the Kerry Board should commission an investigation into why they calf against Ulster opposition in All-Ireland finals.
It's really not a laughing matter any more.
You should be more concerned about calving in quarter-finals
QuoteNo rivalry. Ulster has had the upperhand in recent years.
All of Ulster = 13 (?) AI , Kerry = 35 AI. Its obvious, really, who is the winner.
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on May 07, 2008, 09:04:32 PM
All of Ulster = 13 (?) AI , Kerry = 35 AI. Its obvious, really, who is the winner.
Only has good as the last match.
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 07, 2008, 05:50:52 PM
As for our other border counties i have no real grudge withany of them even Kildare believe it or not though the flourbags don't like us for some reason,Tipp or Carlow wouldn't bother me either,Kilkenny would but as there is no chance that Laois could match Kilkenny there is no point in having a grudge with them..
You are obviously from North Laois. There is a serious hatred between Laois & Carlow, more so from south of Laois. The village of Graigecullen, which has no idea which county it belongs to fires this.
Graigue played in Carlow years ago, them moved to play in Laois. Its players play for Laois even tho most of it is in Co Carlow. The village is part of Carlow town really, a bridge is the divide. Still most of graigue is under Carlow co council, and for any post sent there the address is graigecullen, co carlow. Its an odd one, but causes the rivalry between Carlow & Laois.
I remember driving through there on the way to a Leinster Champ game v Westmeath in Portlaoise a few years ago & there were many signs wishing Westmeath luck, and even a couple of Maroon flags flying.. wherever they got them from.
Its just a pity we can't get a strong enough side out to give Laois a decent game on the pitch
But did Arsenal not win both cups that year, couldn't have been that bad could it? Surely 1961 was worse, in many respects.... ;D
The one I enjoy watching the most is Dublin v Meath (by a mile), Galway v Mayo does interest me as well. Kerry v Cork, not so much as the vast majority of the games I 've ever watched have been poor/hammerings etc.. You certainly dont watch Derry v Tyrone for the football, but I would always feel compelled to watch it. Armagh v Tyrone is always better than the Derry game as some actual football gets played.
Ulster have 15 actually Mike ;)
For me, Derry v Tyrone easily, but when you think about it, Tyrone also have Armagh, Donegal, Fermanagh.... Must say something about them ;)
They border a right few counties?
Quote from: ONeill on May 07, 2008, 09:42:04 PM
They border a right few counties?
Must be it alright.
Although in recent times many would think Armagh/Tyrone, I have to say the biggest rivalry/hatred would have to be Armagh/Down.
Suppose it dpends where in the county you are from
That would be the thing with Roscommon too, border all the Connacht counties and are loved dearly by each of them ;D Tis keen with Leitrim around Carrick, Sligo at Boyle and I suppose near Ballinasloe, Ballymoe etc. with Galway. And then there is Ballagh... :o
Though naturally in the province Galway v Mayo towers above the rest, in terms of history and prominence for sure. Even enough too, as stated above. Our main rivalry may be seen as with Leitrim, annoying lot that they are. We are grouped together in many respects so it's inevitable in that way. Mayo does bring out the worst in a good lot of us however, particularly as you head west and south in the county.
Yes Mike, but note that the original quote was in relatin to "recent years".
No one is questioning Kerry's record. There can only be real rivalry when the rivals are operating at a similar level, hence the reference to Kerry/Ulster in recent years.
Quote from: Owenmoresider on May 07, 2008, 10:07:26 PM
And then there is Ballagh... :o
The Western People sought Joe & Josephine Publics' opinion [Ballagh Brigade] prior to the 2004 Connacht Final clash & captured a rare outbreak of erm ...
tolerance amongst the football mad townsfolk. Although some subsequently claimed t' was the fear of losing that had them tongue tied & not wanting to jinx proceedings... ;)
Divided loyalties ... a town on the borderlineTHE friendly sporting rivalry between Mayo and Roscommon is most keenly felt in the border town of Ballaghadereen.
Many families, friendships and local communities are split down the middle in their sporting allegiances. Our reporter, Michael Gallagher, got the opinions of some of the locals last week. He encountered a people who love their sport and are eagerly anticipating a great encounter in Castlebar on Sunday....
http://archives.tcm.ie/westernpeople/2004/07/14/story20596.asp
tyrone v's derry for myself.
Quote from: red hander on May 07, 2008, 07:04:52 PM
the inbreds singing "there's no Sam in Tyrone"
at least there's no london in tyrone, always keep them quiet in return
Quote from: spectator on May 07, 2008, 11:38:06 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on May 07, 2008, 10:07:26 PM
And then there is Ballagh... :o
The Western People sought Joe & Josephine Publics' opinion [Ballagh Brigade] prior to the 2004 Connacht Final clash & captured a rare outbreak of erm ... tolerance amongst the football mad townsfolk. Although some subsequently claimed t' was the fear of losing that had them tongue tied & not wanting to jinx proceedings... ;)
Divided loyalties ... a town on the borderline
THE friendly sporting rivalry between Mayo and Roscommon is most keenly felt in the border town of Ballaghadereen.
Many families, friendships and local communities are split down the middle in their sporting allegiances. Our reporter, Michael Gallagher, got the opinions of some of the locals last week. He encountered a people who love their sport and are eagerly anticipating a great encounter in Castlebar on Sunday....
http://archives.tcm.ie/westernpeople/2004/07/14/story20596.asp
Actually if you look at the records since Roscommon became a GAA power in the 40s, Ros have held their own with Galway and Mayo in terms of Connacht final wins. It wasn't until the 80s that Mayo took the lead again when looked at from the last 50 years. Galway and Mayo would definitely be the main rivalry but there seems to be an edge to a Mayo v Ros clash because of the Ballagh situation and Mayo's slender lead in the All-Ireland stakes. Galway are really well out ahead of everyone else.
Mayo and Galway are the traditional rivlas - but as has been mentioned their battles over the years have been close. But for me, the bigger rivalry is with the Rossies - if we lose to Galway, the attitude appears to be - OK, we'll get them the next time.
But I hate it when we lose to Roscommon - really does my nut in for weeks
QuoteYes Mike, but note that the original quote was in relatin to "recent years".
Armagh, Monaghan ? are these not Ulster counties....pretty sure we've beaten Derry and Fermangh "recently" as well.
QuoteThere can only be real rivalry when the rivals are operating at a similar level, hence the reference to Kerry/Ulster in recent years.
Your right. In hindsight we were pretty poor in 2002-2005. I think we are closer to the finished article now. Its funny though, Ulster always seem to disappear when we have a decent team. Yerra, sure, weren't Down hiding from us for nearly 25 years !..... then popped up again when the worst team to ever wear the green and gold disgraced us in '91-'92. I have to admit though, ye're very good at the auld smash'n'grab tactics.
Down v Cavan was the big one in Ulster in the 60's and 70's but its not as big of deal anymore. Ulsters two most successful counties will still draw the crowd.
QuoteYour right. In hindsight we were pretty poor in 2002-2005. I think we are closer to the finished article now. Its funny though, Ulster always seem to disappear when we have a decent team. Yerra, sure, weren't Down hiding from us for nearly 25 years !..... then popped up again when the worst team to ever wear the green and gold disgraced us in '91-'92. I have to admit though, ye're very good at the auld smash'n'grab tactics.
;D ;D ;D
You wouldn't have won the last 2 all-irelands if Tyrone could have put out even 3/4 of their strongest 15!
Nrico, that begs the question, what is 3/4 of 15?
Tyrone v Derry for me also. Thats a biased opinion though. Armagh in recent years, but their bubble has burst, with the price of fuel going up they will be busy enough this summer ;)
Cork V Kerry
Dublin V Meath. Dont think anything has matched the trilogy a few years ago.
Quote from: stephenite on May 08, 2008, 02:49:56 AM
Mayo and Galway are the traditional rivlas - but as has been mentioned their battles over the years have been close. But for me, the bigger rivalry is with the Rossies - if we lose to Galway, the attitude appears to be - OK, we'll get them the next time.
And what of Sligo - or are we more of a nuisance? Would be keen enough by the Moy I'd have felt. As I thought, the dislike is probably more intense with the Ros, more respect between Galway and Mayo I suppose.
It's amazing that Tyrone and Derry have not met in the Ulster Final since 1957.
Conspiracy.
11.25!
Quote from: Owenmoresider on May 08, 2008, 10:23:53 AM
And what of Sligo - or are we more of a nuisance? Would be keen enough by the Moy I'd have felt. As I thought, the dislike is probably more intense with the Ros, more respect between Galway and Mayo I suppose.
Sums it up perfectly. Still don't like been reminded of the Connacht final in 2001. Sligo, I suppose are just a team we have to get out of the way before the real stuff...bit like this year really. :P
Quote from: gerry on May 07, 2008, 11:56:38 PM
Quote from: Drumanee 1 on April 29, 2008, 12:45:43 PM
at the recent derry tyrone league match after a bit of banter a tyrone supporter shouted at his derry counterpart there's no london in tyrone to which the derry man said there's no hospital in tyrone either
Reared down the Quay myself - not a stone thow from the Moy, I was thrilled with Sligo's run in '02, went to most of the matches with a good crowd of lads from Riverstown and Sloyane was in my class all the way through Secondary school. Don't begrudge Sligo anything to be honest, even if the Enniscrone ones are a bit odd ;)
The Rossies are a different breed and I have some good friends there also - just hate losing to them, and hate to see them do well. Just one of those irrational things I have, the next Mayo man would probably hate Galway in the same way
Quote from: stephenite on May 08, 2008, 11:33:00 AM
rared down the Quay myself - not a stone thow from the Moy,
you would want to bring your wallett the next time you come home then Stephenite especially if your going to bring your better half to the "ice house" for a meal ;) To tell you the truth it would have to be galway but thats only since 2004 the reason well when galway got to the 1998 aI I was cheering them on hoping they would bring the sam accross the shannon however i was working in Galway for a while when mayo got to the Ai in 2004 and to tell you the truth i couldn't get over the fact that most of the galway people that i talked too were hoping mayo would get beat, as for Sligo allways cheer them on if they are not playing mayo especially delighted for them last year when they beat galway ;) and as for the rossies they are not a bad lot remember been in Hyde park in 2001 when they got that last minute goal and they weren't the worst in fact had a great night or 2 down there ;)
Quote from: Bensars on May 08, 2008, 10:00:54 AM
Dublin V Meath. Dont think anything has matched the trilogy a few years ago.
I liked the fourth part of the trilogy best of all (with apologies to Douglas Adams).
There are few enough really well-matched rivalries. Most rivalries are imagined or one-sided, a bit like I notice the soccer lads over there in the padded cell of this site. It appears that the "Republic Of Ireland" soccer team is Northern Ireland's biggest rival, but not the other way around, whereby ROI supporters pass little or no remarks of the other Irish team.
We have that a lot in Meath, where we are the biggest rivals of a number of our neighbours, who hate us with a passion we can't muster the enthusiasm to reciprocate. Only Dublin count as proper out-and-out, sell-your-granny-to-get-a-ticket rivals as far as we're concerned.
Being a Dub , it's Dublin/Meath and then Dublin/Laois
As neutral to rivalries it's no contest,
it's Dublin Meath all the time. It has all the ingredients.
Kerry Cork is a handbags schmozzle until Cork just self destruct in some 5 minute hissy fit passage.
Ulster grudge games are as attractive as watching rugby players rolling around in a muddy maul.
Quote from: Gnevin on May 08, 2008, 12:17:31 PM
Suprised at that Gnevin, sure the Laois folk like to think there is a rivalry there, but there isnt really. ;)
you beat me to it Hardy.
This thread has made me laugh out loud a few times, what with no hospitals in tyrone (prob the county that needed them most),
three quarters of 15 ,
and a four game trilogy !
Brilliant stuff :D
as for rivals, these will be based on where you live and who your nearest county is.
I think there is a big rivalry between Derry (the Oakleaf county) and tyrone (the drunkard county)
but the tyronies are more to be pitied than despised!
What, despite our superior number of Ulster titles and All-Ireland titles at all levels?
Derry's the bit the O'Neills didn't want.
I guess it depends what part of the county your from. I can only speak for myself but Leitrim/Ros is huge rivalry if your near carrick because the borders are so close. With me Im North Sligo and going to fundoran for a night out rivalry between kinlough, south donegal and north sligo quite intense.
Personally dont support any other team in connaght. Couldnt careless about the standard in the province as long as Sligo do well. Suffered to many beatings and verbals over the yrs to want them to win. It just feels fake. Would hate losing to Leitirm most then ros then mayo or galway. Lived with a few leitrim lads a while back when we lost to them it was tough house to be in. But I do respect them all just wouldnt patronise or people please to say I support them when they get out of connaght. When sligo lose Im nuetral from there on in.
I was at few armagh/tyrone and waterford/cork matches, very intense rivalries.
my apologies i thought there was only the three games
its allright bensars them derry boys and meath lads won't let you away wit a lot around here ;)
Quote from: ONeill on May 08, 2008, 01:21:33 PM
What, despite our superior number of Ulster titles and All-Ireland titles at all levels?
Aye, but how many Ulster SHC's have ye??
Quote from: stephenite on May 08, 2008, 11:33:00 AM
Reared down the Quay myself - not a stone thow from the Moy, I was thrilled with Sligo's run in '02, went to most of the matches with a good crowd of lads from Riverstown and Sloyane was in my class all the way through Secondary school. Don't begrudge Sligo anything to be honest, even if the Enniscrone ones are a bit odd ;)
The Rossies are a different breed and I have some good friends there also - just hate losing to them, and hate to see them do well. Just one of those irrational things I have, the next Mayo man would probably hate Galway in the same way
Jaysus you're not wrong about the Enniscrone lot, a different breed to put it mildly. Easkey crew wouldn't be as affected by the sea breeze it would seem.
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 08, 2008, 10:38:25 AM
Sligo, I suppose are just a team we have to get out of the way before the real stuff...bit like this year really. :P
I suppose Cross and Ballina folk would hold Knockmore in similiar regard in recent times too. ;D :P
As I said before, Leitrim would the one we cannot afford to lose, not least because they don't tend to let you forget that it happened. Ros would be even to an extent, not in terms of titles alright, but they have been a side we could realistically aim to beat, strangely always did in a year ending in 7. 37, 87, 97 and 07! Though one lad I know has it in for them much more than the others, and he ain't from the Gurteen, Monasteraden or Geevagh areas either. Of the big two, Mayo is the one that gets the blood up, the border an obvious factor, contentious in its own way too (a fair amount of Sligomen donning Mayo jerseys lately). Galway not as much, maybe cos they can go on and win All-Irelands perhaps. ;)
Hi chief we've only finished fighting a war up here that ye have long since forgot about and it's only now we're getting to concentrate on football. Give us a bit of time to catch up :P
QuoteHi chief we've only finished fighting a war up here that ye have long since forgot about and it's only now we're getting to concentrate on football. Give us a bit of time to catch up
;) ;)
#
1995 Ulster semi-final ... down to 13 men at halftime and getting beat 8-5 ... ahhhhhhh, great memories of a scorching hot day, the inbreds singing "there's no Sam in Tyrone", rubbing it in as if the game was already won ... Paul Donnelly leading the fightback and Jody Gormley sticking over the winner to make it, if my memory serves me right, 11-10 ... Carlsberg don't make comebacks, but if they did...
I think both the highlighted sections above give an insight as to how Tyrone played this match...what they lacked in skill and talent (I seem to remember "one man team" being a common theme) they made up for in pure filth.
As for great memories of a scorching hot day....I have great memories of an all-ireland final that year...and even greater memories of a last minute disallowed score that the "wee men" thought had brought them level only for full time to be blown... :D :D
ahhhhh....the Mighty Dubs served up some rough justice that day ;D
Quote from: his holiness nb on May 08, 2008, 01:04:56 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on May 08, 2008, 12:17:31 PM
Suprised at that Gnevin, sure the Laois folk like to think there is a rivalry there, but there isnt really. ;)
Is really really enjoying beating the moaning fecker a rivalary? I don't really consider them rivals just like beating them
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 08, 2008, 01:50:17 PM
Personally dont support any other team in connaght. Couldnt careless about the standard in the province as long as Sligo do well. Suffered to many beatings and verbals over the yrs to want them to win. It just feels fake. Would hate losing to Leitirm most then ros then mayo or galway. Lived with a few leitrim lads a while back when we lost to them it was tough house to be in. But I do respect them all just wouldnt patronise or people please to say I support them when they get out of connaght. When sligo lose Im nuetral from there on in.
whenever sligo does well it means the standard in the province is shite!
sorry lads ;)
Quote from: Gnevin on May 08, 2008, 03:49:08 PM
Is really really enjoying beating the moaning fecker a rivalary? I don't really consider them rivals just like beating them
It is enjoyable reminding them of their place in the scheme of things :D
Quote from: ludermor on May 08, 2008, 03:53:40 PM
sorry lads ;)
Ya like in the late 90s and early 2000s when we had great teams but mayo and galway had potential all ireland winning teams ::). We did well those yrs aswell. Short memory there. Province wasnt quite so shite when we were last team standing in 02. I could go but I think Ive made my point ;).
"Its the sign of a great summer when you have the turf home, the hay saved and Cork bate"
My grandfather had that saying many years ago, unfortunately we have long since passed on having days in the bog or the meadow but there is nothing that brings as much joy to a Kerryman as bating the Langers.
As for other counties, would hate to lose to the Jackeens but its been a long while since that happened :P
Have no real love or hatred for any other counties, they are just obstacles on the way to Sam Maguire and you win some and you lose some.
Of course it would be nice to settle some old score with the likes of Down, Offaly, Kidare, Meath and Tyrone but we wont be waiting around for any of them. We'll hopefully be in Croke Park in August and maybe even September if ye are up for the challange ;)
My uncle has lived and worked in Kerry for the best part of fifty years. He married a Kerry woman, his children are from Kerry and all his grandchildren are from Kerry. He played hurling for Kerry in the twilight of his career. He is also a card-carrying member of the Anyone But Kerry brigade. When you see how many people in Kerry think they are tall because they are standing on the shoulders of giants, I can see why he is the way he is.
Quotebut there is nothing that brings as much joy to a Kerryman as bating the Langers
Probably true but I can never figure out why. The fact is that Cork are not really a footballing force and hurling is the game that matters to the vast majority of Cork people. Over the past fifteen years all of the dual players at under age level have opted for football so Kerry are playing a second rate Cork team most of the time. Is it a case of Kerry creating a straw man that they can knock down!! Anyway it is easy bring joy to ye and ye should have plenty of joy in the years to come as football in Cork goes into further decline.
Maybe ye should enter the Ulster c'ship for the next ten years to prove yourselves and let Cork play against their equlas in Tipp and Limerick.
We have that a lot in Meath, where we are the biggest rivals of a number of our neighbours, who hate us with a passion we can't muster the enthusiasm to reciprocate. Only Dublin count as proper out-and-out, sell-your-granny-to-get-a-ticket rivals as far as we're concerned.
Hardy you're hardly ha ha talking about your Breifne cousins here now? We all remember the stone-throwers in Navan and Smells(Kells) in 1997 and anytime Cavan pass through Meath for a match(which is quite rare)we'l always b greeted in Carnaross by some little Meath in-breds waving their flags.
Quote from: ludermor on May 08, 2008, 03:53:40 PM
sorry lads ;)
From a Leitrim perspective I'd say our biggest rivalry is clearly with Roscommon regardless of whether you are from North or South Leitrim (I'm from North). Leitrim and Roscommon have had some very close and bitter battles this last 10-15 years or more. From an atmosphere point of view I'm glad we haven't played them for couple of years, it was getting downright nasty, so much so that it was commented on for a couple of days in the national press after the last time they were in Carrick. There is a loutish element in the Ros support and the unfortunate thing is that they seem to find their Leitrim equivalents, who I didn't think were there, but they are.
I would support the Connacht team against any others in the championship except Mayo where I'm neutral and find it hard them to cheer for them. This is a bit odd because I dislike Ros most of all in a Connacht context, but would cheer for them outside of Connacht. Not logical, I know, but there you have it.
An Spailpin's take on rivalries and the championship in general
http://spailpin.blogspot.com/ (http://spailpin.blogspot.com/)
In Longford we love beating Westmeath and Cavan. Leitrim, to me, never were a rival neither were the Rossies, as such. Dunno why. Just is.
Longford and Meath had some good old battles in the black and white days but these are largely forgotten.
Inter county rivalries are in the ha'penny place to club craic. In Longford we have
Mostrim v Ardagh
Colmcille v Dromard
Connollys v Everyone
Granard v Abbey
Columbas v Abbey
Slashers v Grattans ;)
This is where the real craic is - and where it never spills over into real life or the all intrusive meeja.
Quote from: ziggysego on May 07, 2008, 08:40:42 PM
Has to be Tyrone v Derry. There's a real bitterness there, the like I've yet to see elsewhere.
Some people from outside the two counties would say Tyrone v Armagh, but there's a deep respect between the two.
Spot on Ziggy - for bitter levels it has to be Tyrone/Derry - but always prefer and am better positioned for Tyrone/Armagh - The Orangemen are always gracious losers, plus i can stomach a defeat by Armagh......just about. Any defeat by Derry conjures up thoughts that can only be soothed by flashbacks to Clones 1995
Derry were welcomed to Tyrone 1n 1993 with pomp and pleasantry, if they win it again it'll be pitchforks and perties on all roads through the bushes
Outside of Ulster - always enjoy the build up of Dublin/Meath - the clash of the city boys against the barbarians at the gates.......
On that note - similar jerseyed barbarians - Kerry V Dublin is always a great clash for the neutral.
Out wesht - has to be Mayo-Galway, though is there not a bit of niggle from the Rossies concerning the other 2?
Quote from: ONeill on May 08, 2008, 01:21:33 PM
Yes indeed, the first, and probably only, instance in the history of mankind that people were actually joyed to be rid of land
QuoteWhen you see how many people in Kerry think they are tall because they are standing on the shoulders of giants, I can see why he is the way he is.
...I've heard a few snide remarks about Kerry hurling when I have had occasion to be in Waterford so that cuts both ways.
I've a mate from Irvinestown... there's a real bitterness in Fermanagh towards Tyrone.
Quote from: ziggysego on May 09, 2008, 01:22:20 AM
I've a mate from Irvinestown... there's a real bitterness in Fermanagh towards Tyrone.
Thats because the Tyrone and fermanagh phsyciatric hospital was a waste of time and money. They should have just built a brick wall around fermanagh.
From a neutral's perspective (Outside of Armagh...), I have always admired the Dub / Meath rivalary... those replays in the early 90s were incredible! - I remember wearing a Meath jersey in Dublin on a match day once, & the looks & comments I got was serious... I felt intimidated (there was a soccer type atmosphere!)
Going by this board you would have to say Armagh v Tyrone, because every argument for a while reverted to 'banter' between these 2 sets...
Personally, going out with a Tyrone lady (one of their bitterest... :P) I would also state this rivalary is the biggest! Especially when you consider Croker in 2003 & 2005 horrible matches, unless you win! - Then there's nothing like it!
Bojangles, I was working on the basis that we were discussing adult attitudes to teams and opponents. If we're going to start totting up counts of kids waving flags on the side of the road (how dare they!), maybe we should register with the playschool.ie discussson board.
Also, pegging stones at anything that comes from the direction of the slurry-scented wind is a conditioned response that developed as a defence against the hideous sludge-encrusted specimens that have lurched down the Northwest Passage from the interior over the centuries. If you think it constitutes a rivalry, that makes me more distressed than ever for the sad decline of Cavan football.
Quote from: Fishbat on May 09, 2008, 12:25:28 AM
Spot on Ziggy - for bitter levels it has to be Tyrone/Derry - but always prefer and am better positioned for Tyrone/Armagh - The Orangemen are always gracious losers, plus i can stomach a defeat by Armagh......just about. Any defeat by Derry conjures up thoughts that can only be soothed by flashbacks to Clones 1995
Derry were welcomed to Tyrone 1n 1993 with pomp and pleasantry, if they win it again it'll be pitchforks and perties on all roads through the bushes
Outside of Ulster - always enjoy the build up of Dublin/Meath - the clash of the city boys against the barbarians at the gates.......
On that note - similar jerseyed barbarians - Kerry V Dublin is always a great clash for the neutral.
Out wesht - has to be Mayo-Galway, though is there not a bit of niggle from the Rossies concerning the other 2?
Hey! You'll get a belt of a stick if you're not careful.
As a neutral, I think the Dublin - Meath rivalry is the one that sparks the most interest. The swagger of the Dubs against the no horseshit Meath lads.
Dublin - Kerry seems a bit of a contrived rivalry to me, although it still stirs the emotions and nostalgia.
Kerry - Cork is a bit too friendly for me. A bit like the Offaly Westmeath one in that every second couple going to the game seems to be a Cork/Kerry mix.
Galway - Mayo is another one a bit like the Kerry Cork one. Seems to be more of a mutual admiration society when the game is over. You don't get the sense of sickness off the losing fans.
Up north, I find Derry and Tyrone is always fairly spicy, but in modern times it has to be the Armagh - Tyrone saga. It looks like it may be abating a little bit, but that was hugely entertaining for a neutral for a good few years.
Of the other ones, I like Limerick - Clare in the hurling, and Tipp - Cork. Kilkenny - Wexford shouldn't be underestimated as a rivalry, but the games are too one-sided now, 80% of the time.
Dublin v. Meath is the greatest of all for me. I really love going to those games. They really go at each other with gusto but amazingly have the height of respect for each other after all is over. Proper sport.
Derry v. Tyrone is possibly the bitterest and will get worse in the years to come I'd say.
Quote from: Fishbat on May 09, 2008, 12:25:28 AM
Any nightmares of 95 in Clones quickly disappear with the fond memories of The 92 League Final and Peroxide Plunketts spectacular Goalline fielding
Heres an Athlone Rossie perspective,
Westmeath, dont know why, but hate that shower. Westmeath lads are grand, but hate when the topic turns to football, something they feel they know lots about, always feel they can beat Ros, but rarely do. In saying that delighted to see them doing well lately. Hate losing to them all the same.
Offaly, I respect this county. Always give their all, supporters I always found to be among the most decent.
Longford, Apparently dont like us - is it because we always beat them?
Galway, reasonable level of rivalry. Found them bitter if losing during a game, but wish you well if you manage to beat them. Respect this county even if their supporters only come out in the sunshine.
Mayo. Biggest rivalry of all for a Rossie. Its rarely of late we can beat them, and if we do they are at their most bitter. Hatefull shower, however I would like to see them win an All Ireland soon, think they deserve one, Christ they would be hard to listen too. The women are more bastardised than the men.
Sligo, really feel this cocky shower should be pittied more than feared. Decent people outside the town, best you can get, but would never consider them footballers.
Leitrim, Admire this crowd in footballing terms, always get themselves up for the Rossies. The people themselves are strange & blighted in some way. Would love to see a really big name coming to Carrick for a qualifier game & getting the same treatment they give the Rossies.
Welcome on board DV. You'll go far with this attitude ;D
QuoteOffaly, I respect this county. Always give their all, supporters I always found to be among the most decent
As a Rossie, i can't let this thread pass without registering my love of Mayo :o.....that is, my love of seeing them beaten at any grade, be it junior, u-21, minor, senior, club, ladies football, hurling and any other sport they attempt to play : :D
I'm not biased really, because i don't mind which county beats them. ;D
I actually live in Mayo and live in fear of the day they might win Sam Maguire :'( ;
Quote from: Death Valley on May 09, 2008, 10:42:44 AM
Westmeath, dont know why, but hate that shower. Westmeath lads are grand, but hate when the topic turns to football, something they feel they know lots about, always feel they can beat Ros, but rarely do. In saying that delighted to see them doing well lately. Hate losing to them all the same.
Offaly, I respect this county. Always give their all, supporters I always found to be among the most decent.
Galway, reasonable level of rivalry. Found them bitter if losing during a game, but wish you well if you manage to beat them. Respect this county even if their supporters only come out in the sunshine.
Mayo. Biggest rivalry of all for a Rossie. Its rarely of late we can beat them, and if we do they are at their most bitter. Hatefull shower, however I would like to see them win an All Ireland soon, think they deserve one, Christ they would be hard to listen too. The women are more bastardised than the men.
Sligo, really feel this cocky shower should be pittied more than feared. Decent people outside the town, best you can get, but would never consider them footballers.
Leitrim, Admire this crowd in footballing terms, always get themselves up for the Rossies. The people themselves are strange & blighted in some way. Would love to see a really big name coming to Carrick for a qualifier game & getting the same treatment they give the Rossies.
An Athlone Rossie :o Are they not mutually exclusive???
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 09, 2008, 09:55:27 AM
Up north, I find Derry and Tyrone is always fairly spicy, but in modern times it has to be the Armagh - Tyrone saga. It looks like it may be abating a little bit, but that was hugely entertaining for a neutral for a good few years.
Derry and Tyrone is just too bitter to enjoy. At least with the Armagh and Tyrone, there's something that resembles football which is enjoyable.
Quote from: Shrewdness on May 09, 2008, 10:54:10 AM
As a Rossie, i can't let this thread pass without registering my love of Mayo :o.....that is, my love of seeing them beaten at any grade, be it junior, u-21, minor, senior, club, ladies football, hurling and any other sport they attempt to play : :D
I'm not biased really, because i don't mind which county beats them. ;D
I actually live in Mayo and live in fear of the day they might win Sam Maguire :'( ;
:D :D good man shrewdness don't hold back i assume you live in Ballaghadreen ;)
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 09, 2008, 11:44:59 AM
Quote from: Death Valley on May 09, 2008, 10:42:44 AM
An Athlone Rossie :o Are they not mutually exclusive???
Best part of Athlone is the historic side of the town, West of the Shannon. You're in Ros territory once you cross that bridge.
The biggest rivally in Ireland is between the Leitrim and Cavan hurlers! Every year we play a death-match to see who is the worst in Ireland. On occassion the Cavan team have been known to get lost in Leitrim due to the natives giving the wrong directions and ending up in a pub instead. Forget your Cork and Kerry, it is Cavan and Leitrim by a mile.
Croi na hEireann. My postal address is The Berries, Kiltoom, Athlone, Co Roscommon. Which is the proven Heart of Ireland by the way. I was brought up in the belief that once you crossed the bridge in Athlone you entered Roscommon. However I believe some gobchite changed the boundary outside the town. However most people on the west side of the town regard themselves as Rossies, even the blow ins.
One thing that really grinds my gears is people who claim Hudson Bay Hotel is in Westmeath, now there you have a "mutually exclusive" statement.
Quote from: gerry on May 07, 2008, 11:56:38 PM
Gerry, I think you'll find that the UVF boys started with the 'no london' jibes long before the 'no sam' jibes started
Quote from: tbrick18 on May 08, 2008, 03:44:55 PM
#
I think both the highlighted sections above give an insight as to how Tyrone played this match...what they lacked in skill and talent (I seem to remember "one man team" being a common theme) they made up for in pure filth.
As for great memories of a scorching hot day....I have great memories of an all-ireland final that year...and even greater memories of a last minute disallowed score that the "wee men" thought had brought them level only for full time to be blown... :D :D
And the whingin' they did (and still do) after the meath men give them a wee bit of similar medicine in '96?? :D
Also, pegging stones at anything that comes from the direction of the slurry-scented wind is a conditioned response that developed as a defence against the hideous sludge-encrusted specimens that have lurched down the Northwest Passage from the interior over the centuries.
The Northwest Passage-being the N3.Hardy you must have robbed that line from some Dub describing how they deal with their Royal neighbours.
As for you being distressed at the sad decline of Cavan football-come on now sure wasnt it the Breifne county that administered(I can use big words too) the final nail in your former esteemed leader Sean Boylans coffin.Id say that caused you more distress!
Quote from: jodyb on May 09, 2008, 05:30:13 PM
#
And the whingin' they did (and still do) after the meath men give them a wee bit of similar medicine in '96?? :D
Aye, we take out our frustrations by blaming the shit referees, you take yours out by worrying sheep
Quote from: red hander on May 09, 2008, 07:05:13 PM
#
Aye, we take out our frustrations by blaming the shit referees, you take yours out by worrying sheep
We do worry them alright....we threaten them with exile to t'rrone....worries the sh*t outta them ;D
Definitely right Ziggy, Fermanagh GAA people would sell their children to get a result against Tyrone.
Quote from: red hander on May 09, 2008, 07:05:13 PM
Read this on my mobile phone earlier, with the Parish Priest sitting opposite me. He wondered why I broke out laughing! :D
QuoteRead this on my mobile phone earlier, with the Parish Priest sitting opposite me
Were you in the confessional box at the time? ;)
Nah, sitting at the kitchen table you dirty beggar :-*
I fairness to the whole Tyrone-Derry thing, I wouldnt be that bitter at all towards Tyrone. Like, we're only a small county which is one third planter, one third soccer minded. So for us Derry men to be up near the top with Tyrone, a county more than twice the size of our own, with more clubs and players, I think its a great thing that we can keep up with the mouthy, big headed barstewards. Especially when, like 1985, 1992, 1997, 2006, they believe that they have a divine right to beat us poor, undertroded, Anglified souls.
Quote from: the green man on May 09, 2008, 11:38:56 PM
I fairness to the whole Tyrone-Derry thing, I wouldnt be that bitter at all towards Tyrone. Like, we're only a small county which is one third planter, one third soccer minded. So for us Derry men to be up near the top with Tyrone, a county more than twice the size of our own, with more clubs and players, I think its a great thing that we can keep up with the mouthy, big headed barstewards. Especially when, like 1985, 1992, 1997, 2006, they believe that they have a divine right to beat us poor, undertroded, Anglified souls.
You don't remember the hammerings then?
Quote from: ONeill on May 10, 2008, 12:38:25 AM
that all came in the 00's I believe
Quote from: tyssam5 on May 09, 2008, 09:06:19 PM
Definitely right Ziggy, Fermanagh GAA people would sell their children to get a result against Tyrone.
Considering you could count such results on the finger of one finger, we'll have to assume there's not much demand for sawn-off banjo-playing gulpin lookalikes from Deliverance, then
Quote from: ONeill on May 10, 2008, 12:38:25 AM
I can remember one in '06....all others in recent years have been erased by that particular one ;D
Has to be Meath and Dublin doesn't it? The media hype it up and for once that adds a lot to it. Always fantastic games with more talking points than a point that does a lot of talking.
Up in Queensland here. Armagh v Tyrone at the moment but it is all realtive. Two best teams in the Province, the 2005 Ulster Final second match is the most hate filled I have ever seen a crowd.
But overall If I had my choice of beeating Tyrone or Down I would have to chose Down. Probably because I live near Newry but they are Armagh's real rivals.
#
Youse boys always seem to forget we had 14 players. ::)
Cavan V Monaghan is the traditionally big one in Ulster, ignore what the non free staters are blabbering about sure, Foot ball was only invented in Derry in 1993 and Tyrone in 2003 :P
When did youse boys stop playing anyway?
Quote from: Death Valley on May 09, 2008, 12:11:58 PM
Croi na hEireann. My postal address is The Berries, Kiltoom, Athlone, Co Roscommon. Which is the proven Heart of Ireland by the way. I was brought up in the belief that once you crossed the bridge in Athlone you entered Roscommon. However I believe some gobchite changed the boundary outside the town. However most people on the west side of the town regard themselves as Rossies, even the blow ins.
One thing that really grinds my gears is people who claim Hudson Bay Hotel is in Westmeath, now there you have a "mutually exclusive" statement.
Well aware that the Shannon is the dividing line but the town of Athlone and its inhabitants play in the Westmeath Championship, therefore Athlone (East and West) is in Westmeath. Yous can have the surrounding hinterlands and its hotels :P
Now where is this proof of de heart of Ireland being in Kiltoom??? This I want to see...
"the town of Athlone and its inhabitants "
Would not a lot of the inhabitants play for Clann na Gael?
Quote from: timmykelleher on May 12, 2008, 02:50:26 PM
"the town of Athlone and its inhabitants "
Would not a lot of the inhabitants play for Clann na Gael?
Like Brigids, they're a good bit out the road
Quote from: ziggysego on May 09, 2008, 11:48:43 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 09, 2008, 09:55:27 AM
Derry and Tyrone is just too bitter to enjoy. At least with the Armagh and Tyrone, there's something that resembles football which is enjoyable.
I dont think Armagh could be accused of playing much football lately :o :o :o
Quote from: Doire abú on May 10, 2008, 08:25:04 PM
Exactly! Cavan and Monaghan together wouldnt make a good team. :o :o
Cavan Pure Dung and will prob get beat by Antrim.
Monaghan have about two actual footballers and the rest are a crowd of savages who do nothing but foul and assault the opposition. They also have possibly the worst fans in terms of whinging, abusing the ref and having selective vision when their players step out of line but bay for blood at the slightest indication of contact from another team. Armagh fans run them close though.
:-* :-* :-*
Quote from: billy the kid on May 12, 2008, 03:13:41 PM
Monaghan have about to actual footballers and the rest are a crowd of savages who do nothing but foul and assault the opposition. They also have possibly the worst fans in terms of whinging, abusing the ref and having selective vision when their players step out of line but bay for blood at the slightest indication of contact from another team. Armagh fans run them close though.
Derry dont have enough fans to hear them complaining over the sound of the referees whistle ;D :-*
'Two best teams in the Province, the 2005 Ulster Final second match is the most hate filled I have ever seen a crowd.'
I'd have to agree, wasn't a pleasant afternoon at all and the atmosphere wasn't helped by the atrocious standard of refereeing ... the abuse we took from some armagh glipes when we were exiting was pretty bad ... BUT, saying all that, the AI semi-final that year against the orangemen was one of the most awesome matches atmosphere-wise and excitement-wise i've ever been at, and i'm sure armagh fans suffered some abuse as they exited that game ... the Ulster Final replay wasn't even on the radar for us when Dooher lifted Sam that year ... Tyrone v Armagh isn't a patch on Tyrone v the London boys when it comes to rivallry and general dislike
The Tyrone fans gave just as bad abuse that Ulster Final day Red Hander. A family of Tyrone fans near me were a disgrace.
Having said that the bad blood had totally disappeared by the end of the semi and it was pretty much good losers and good winners that day.
Quote from: corn02 on May 12, 2008, 06:42:19 PM
The Tyrone fans gave just as bad abuse that Ulster Final day Red Hander. A family of Tyrone fans near me were a disgrace.
Having said that the bad blood had totally disappeared by the end of the semi and it was pretty much good losers and good winners that day.
Aye, there's gobshites on both sides ... i think with the semi it was a case of people knew they'd witnessed a classic by two teams who gave their absolute all ... going back to 2003 AIF, the orchard fans in armagh city on the sunday night we were on our way back to dungannon were brilliant ...
Any Armagh poster who claims that there biggest rivals are Tyrone are clearly the fans who jumped on board in 2002.
Quote from: billy the kid on May 12, 2008, 03:13:41 PM
Monaghan have about to actual footballers and the rest are a crowd of savages who do nothing but foul and assault the opposition. They also have possibly the worst fans in terms of whinging, abusing the ref and having selective vision when their players step out of line but bay for blood at the slightest indication of contact from another team. Armagh fans run them close though.
Billy the skid can't use the quote button and is attributing his words to Doire abú - i've fixed it. He also doesn't know the difference between
to and
two.
He's also got a big downer on the Monaghan savages (not for the first time on this Board!) - possibly still a bit sore after last summer in Casement - then again, looking at recent posts, he doesn't have much time for Tyrone or Armagh either.
Tell me Billy, where are the examples of the whinging, ref abuse and selective vision from Monaghan? How bad is Monaghan's discipline problem (as opposed to any other team - for example, how many red/yellow cards did Monaghan rack up last year)? Where is the 'baying for blood', and whose blood would this be?
Anyway, Monaghan managed to get to the quarter finals last year with only
two (or is that
to?) footballers. Word is, we may have sourced a third and should go all the way in 2008. :P
Quote from: Death Valley on May 09, 2008, 12:11:58 PM
Now you can understand how the Mayo people of occupied Ballagh & surroundings feal. I always consider myself in Connacht & Roscommon when I cross the Shannon @ Athlone, no way is there any part of Leinster in the fair West.
I'm the same wrt Athlone. Once you cross the bridge, I consider myself in Roscommon or, more accurately, out of Westmeath.
Not really aware of any great rivalry in North Mayo. Apart from Sligo we re well away from boundaries and we would nt play Sligo too often for it to bitter and they have only beaten us twice in living memory in the championship. Leitrim too would nt be met too often and we would nt begrudge them any success they might have. In 1994 while livid with our defeat in Connacht final nobody begrudged them their win. Sometimes I wonder about how scathing Sligo and Leitrim can be about us. I ve always found that the neutral counties row in behind Galway when Mayo and Galway clash in championship. The Galway border is so far away that while we re aware they re the ones to hate we dont really. Any bitterness we have is reserved for Roscommon for some strange reason other then they re hateful cnts who always side with Galway when we play Galway. Or maybe it was their rabid triumphalism in the 70s when they had their great team or their obvious delight in our frequent misfortunes in more recent times. Galway fans on the other hand are just glad when we lose so their position as kingpin is nt challenged.
The upshot of all this is that in more recent years I could nt be bothered with any other team in Connacht anymore once we re gone in championship. Its every county for itself anymore.
Interesting point Son of Sam, I work with a lad from Ballagh, who considers himself a Mayo man. As he explained that it was originally in Mayo & the boundary was changed roughly 100 years ago, so there could be more large towns in Roscommon. So I can fully understand how Mayo people of that area feel.
The main problem that Rossies have with Ballagh, is the refusual of the local club to allow players who regard themselves as Rossies play for Roscommon - thats draconian. Led to believe Noel Durkan wanted to play for Ros, also Pierce Hanley & Andy Moran.
AZ - like it "out of Westmeath"
Quote from: moysider on May 13, 2008, 10:43:35 AM
Not really aware of any great rivalry in North Mayo. Apart from Sligo we re well away from boundaries and we would nt play Sligo too often for it to bitter and they have only beaten us twice in living memory in the championship. Leitrim too would nt be met too often and we would nt begrudge them any success they might have. In 1994 while livid with our defeat in Connacht final nobody begrudged them their win. Sometimes I wonder about how scathing Sligo and Leitrim can be about us. I ve always found that the neutral counties row in behind Galway when Mayo and Galway clash in championship. The Galway border is so far away that while we re aware they re the ones to hate we dont really. Any bitterness we have is reserved for Roscommon for some strange reason other then they re hateful cnts who always side with Galway when we play Galway. Or maybe it was their rabid triumphalism in the 70s when they had their great team or their obvious delight in our frequent misfortunes in more recent times. Galway fans on the other hand are just glad when we lose so their position as kingpin is nt challenged.
Those comments about Roscommon supporters are complete bollix. Rossies support Galway when the two of yee play, this year (probably because Galway beat Mayo last year) I will support Mayo. Always support any given Connacht team when they come out of the province . Look at the support the Rossies gave Mayo verses Dublin in that excellent semi final 2 years ago & in fairness Mayo supporters gave our minors good support in the final that year. Where I am form numerous locals went to Dublin in 96,97, 04 & 06 to lend their support to poor auld Mayo.
In North Mayo club rivalries take centre-stage.
Quote from: southdown on May 12, 2008, 08:46:17 PM
Any Armagh poster who claims that there biggest rivals are Tyrone are clearly the fans who jumped on board in 2002.
It depends where you live in the county as to who you think are the greatest rivals, not whether you are a bandwagon-jumper or not. Those from north of Armagh City would look on Tyrone as the rivals, there's no doubt that the South Armagh folk view Down as their rivals after going to school in Newry etc.,etc..
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 13, 2008, 11:00:20 AM
Absolutely. Any pairing from Ballina, Knockmore and Crossmolina beats all else for hatred and is a high quality match as well. Knock the spots off most intercounty games. Think Cross/ Knockmore hate each other more. 2 rural teams. Ballina then brings the townie ingredient into the mix but while hated by the other two don't hate as much in return. Dont have the same rooted following and not as many.
Now for that club All-Ireland to even things up! :P
Quote from: Death Valley on May 13, 2008, 10:47:28 AM
Interesting point Son of Sam, I work with a lad from Ballagh, who considers himself a Mayo man. As he explained that it was originally in Mayo & the boundary was changed roughly 100 years ago, so there could be more large towns in Roscommon. So I can fully understand how Mayo people of that area feel.
The main problem that Rossies have with Ballagh, is the refusual of the local club to allow players who regard themselves as Rossies play for Roscommon - thats draconian. Led to believe Noel Durkan wanted to play for Ros, also Pierce Hanley & Andy Moran.
AZ - like it "out of Westmeath"
Pretty sure Noel Durkin considers himself a Mayo man - Pierce Hanley in an interview over here in Australia recently talked about his home town Ballagh in the county of Mayo, Andy Moran I believe is a dyed in the wool Rossie alright, although I always thought if he was that passionate he'd just transfer to a Rossie club
Quote from: moysider on May 13, 2008, 12:12:28 PM
Absolutely. Any pairing from Ballina, Knockmore and Crossmolina beats all else for hatred and is a high quality match as well. Knock the spots off most intercounty games. Think Cross/ Knockmore hate each other more. 2 rural teams. Ballina then brings the townie ingredient into the mix but while hated by the other two don't hate as much in return. Dont have the same rooted following and not as many.
Ah we don't hate Knockmore more we hate ballina and knockmore equally ;) :D i'm only joking Farrenddelin and the ballina lads nothing like a meeting against the auld enemy to get the old heart going. I think the fact that the semi's and finals are now gone to castlebar takes away fronm the atmosphere, IMO the bAYing crowd are too far away :D
Nothing like waking up on a Sunday morning and having the neighbours in for a tussle back in the park - you could smell the anticipation (and the potential for blood) in the air prior to kick off - one thing that I always noticed was the regardless of the result the Knockmore lads would come up for a pint in the club house (provided the game didn't get too out of hand) but the Cross lads would generally always be back in the cars and heading for the Dolphin, some honourable exceptions to that rule mind you.
Think I'd agree with Moysider - the rivalry between Cross and Knockmore always seemed more pointed (to put it politely) than it would with either of them against Ballina.
It's like they were fighting between themselves for the right to be the second most successful team in the county ;)
Quote from: the Deel Rover on May 13, 2008, 12:31:56 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 13, 2008, 12:12:28 PM
Ah we don't hate Knockmore more we hate ballina and knockmore equally ;) :D i'm only joking Farrenddelin and the ballina lads nothing like a meeting against the auld enemy to get the old heart going. I think the fact that the semi's and finals are now gone to castlebar takes away fronm the atmosphere, IMO the bAYing crowd are too far away :D
Glad somebody agrees with me on this point. The best club matches I ve seen have been in The Park, Knockmore and Cross in that order I think. Farrendelin might not agree but I believe Knockmore lost great chance of winning All Ireland year they lost to Eire óg in semi with home advantage. They never lost Ch matches in the Park and preparing their own venue was a needless distraction. But I digress. McHale Park has ruined the closing stages of our championship the last few years.Cat venue unless 15000 present The yearly County laegue match in Ballina used be a great occasion as well, and we always won there - well nearly always. I remember a Dublin team with Brian Mullins winning but since ..??? Castlebar is easier for visiting teams. If the Donegal and Galway games were played in the heartland of Ballina and Crossmolina I could nt see us losing either of those matches the way we did.
yea it used to be great when the intercounty teams used to play in cross, great atmosphere around before and after the match, can remember the Great Kerry team of the 80's coming down the saturday night before a league match big parade through the town days loads of young kids going around getting their autographs on the back of 20 major boxes happy days . I think we actually bet them must have been the night before and the dodgy drink ;)
Someone on here, think it was Tatler, stated that Cork were not a footballing power.
Over the past 2 years Cork have beaten in championship football:
Meath
sligo (connaught champions)
Louth
Tipperary
Limerick
Kerry
Donegal
Drawn with:
Kerry
Lost to:
Kerry
Actually when I started this I was hoping it would show a few bigger scalps than this. I even extended it to 2005 and added on Clare to the list of teams beaten and the list of teams to beat us stayed at 1.
My point was going to be other than Kerry Cork can compare their recent record against anyone.
All I think I have proven is that Cork are very good when it comes to getting the draw fixed and have a major problem with a particular team.
Quote from: the Deel Rover on May 13, 2008, 01:58:57 PM
yea it used to be great when the intercounty teams used to play in cross, great atmosphere around before and after the match, can remember the Great Kerry team of the 80's coming down the saturday night before a league match big parade through the town days loads of young kids going around getting their autographs on the back of 20 major boxes happy days . I think we actually bet them must have been the night before and the dodgy drink ;)
Yeah. I remember that match. Jimmy Bourke kicked a few massive points from out the country. We won. Likes of Egan and Bomber had wintered well and were not at their fighting weight! One of the Keane s from Listowel [ one of John B's] was playing if memory serves me correctly.
Quote from: stephenite on May 13, 2008, 12:23:27 PM
- Pierce Hanley in an interview over here in Australia recently talked about his home town Ballagh in the county of Mayo,
If he's that effin stupid we dont want the b****x.
QuoteAndy Moran I believe is a dyed in the wool Rossie alright, although I always thought if he was that passionate he'd just transfer to a Rossie club
You never seem to get it Stephenite or else you are in some sort of denial that someone might favour another county over your beloved Mayo. The fact is most players first loyalty is to their home club and playing with the players they grew up with. For any lad from Ballaghadereen this means that he must then play county football with Mayo. Moran might prefer to play for Ros but not at the price of leaving his home club. At different times Mayo were asked to consider allowing players from the town to declare for either county and they refused. If they were so confident that no sane person would want to play for Ros then why is it that they would not agree.
As regards Hanly iit does not matter now where his allegience lies but I hope he does not get lost in Australia as it is obvious that geography is not his strong subject!!
Have to agree with the Mayo lads, the Cross/Knockmore/Ballina rivalry seems to be fairly keen, was at the 2006 Cross/Ballina semi and hadn't seen the like in a major club game before, four put off, no holding back by either side, real intense stuff. Here the leading club teams are all too friendly IMO, bar the Tourlestrane/Curry rivalry I suppose, and except sometimes with certain western sides. :o
Also would agree on McHale Park, too big for games like that, Ballina is a decent-sized ground and Cross isn't all that smaller either. Never seen Knockmore's though. Should be on there, but it seems to be an insistence by the hierarchy that the county grounds are used all the time. Pointless when not enough, or indeed hardly anyone at all, are going to the games. Should be convenient for the clubs involved. But no telling that to many people. ::)
Quote from: Tatler Jack on May 13, 2008, 10:28:40 PM
QuoteAndy Moran I believe is a dyed in the wool Rossie alright, although I always thought if he was that passionate he'd just transfer to a Rossie club
You never seem to get it Stephenite or else you are in some sort of denial that someone might favour another county over your beloved Mayo. The fact is most players first loyalty is to their home club and playing with the players they grew up with. For any lad from Ballaghadereen this means that he must then play county football with Mayo. Moran might prefer to play for Ros but not at the price of leaving his home club. At different times Mayo were asked to consider allowing players from the town to declare for either county and they refused. If they were so confident that no sane person would want to play for Ros then why is it that they would not agree.
As regards Hanly iit does not matter now where his allegience lies but I hope he does not get lost in Australia as it is obvious that geography is not his strong subject!!
"Poor old stephenite" never gets it right because it doesn't suit him to acknowledge the facts, TJ.
Noel Durkin grew up actively supporting Ros with his family - who are all avid Ros supporters - & won a Ros Vocational Schools title, before being obliged by the club to play for Mayo U-21's in 1983 [managed by Johnno btw]. He played with Mayo as he had no choice in the matter and wanted to play IC football.
Pierce Hanley grew up supporting Ros with his family, as anyone from Ballagh will tell ye, if ye care to listen to them. That tosh ye come up with about him "saying" Ballagh is in Mayo is a highly imaginative excercise in reading between the lines by Mayo folk and is part of a desperate attempt to convince themselves he'd have played for them if given a choice. Why let known facts around Ballagh spoil the delusion?
Andy Moran grew up supporting Ros with his family and always played ball wearing his Ros jersey. These lads have no real problem with Mayo & will play for them when forced to do so, as it allows them to play the game at IC level. Pity their attitude is not reciprocated though...
It's discrimination on the GAA's, Ballagh's & Mayo's part not to let Ballagh lads choose who they want to play for.
As TJ quite rightly asked "If they were so confident that no sane person would want to play for Ros then why is it that they would not agree."
Answer us that, Mayo lads. As Mayo GAA people are ye not ashamed at the GAA's discrimination against Ballagh lads playing for their home county, if they so wish?
Truth is, Ballagh lads want to play for Ballagh first and foremost & to simply have a choice of which county they can declare for, be it Mayo, Ros or Sligo.
Sadly, the good will doesn't appear to be there from either the GAA or Mayo folk to change this injustice & the poor unfortunates are forced to play for Mayo, if they're to follow up on any IC gaelic football ability they may have.
And GAA folk wonder why soccer is taking off around Ballagh again in recent times.
Quote from: moysider on May 13, 2008, 02:42:14 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on May 13, 2008, 01:58:57 PM
Yeah. I remember that match. Jimmy Bourke kicked a few massive points from out the country. We won. Likes of Egan and Bomber had wintered well and were not at their fighting weight! One of the Keane s from Listowel [ one of John B's] was playing if memory serves me correctly.
Remember one of the John B's playing an U.21 game in the early 80s for Kerry. He was having a bad day and after catching his first ball sliced it off his boot and sent it high over the sideline wire where a bemused Kerry wag shouted, "yerra stick to the books, boy".
Spectator - we've been through this and around the houses on more than one occasion, when it comes to GAA purposes Ballagh and it's players are in Mayo. I didn't decide that, it's just the way it is. I also feel that if the shoe was on the other foot the Rossies wouldn't be allowing lads to play for Mayo and they'd be dead right, so no, I'm not ashamed, I'd be ashamed if they let lads play as the precedent that would set could cause us to lose some fine prospects if the history of talent turned out by Ballagh is anything to go by.
Good luck to ye on Sunday
Well this is the provincial rivalry thread so we might as well slog it out as to who is right/wrong. ;D
PS, Stephenite is right you know!
Just reading through the posts on the Ballagh Question,since growing up I always felt that Ballaghhadreen was in Co.Roscommon.But anyway surely lads who play with Ballagh can make the decision of what county they want to play for.Raymond Cunningham won an Ulster medal with Cavan in 1997 yet played with Kilmainhamwood just across the border in Co.Meath.
Quote from: boojangles on May 14, 2008, 11:27:55 AM
Just reading through the posts on the Ballagh Question,since growing up I always felt that Ballaghhadreen was in Co.Roscommon.But anyway surely lads who play with Ballagh can make the decision of what county they want to play for.Raymond Cunningham won an Ulster medal with Cavan in 1997 yet played with Kilmainhamwood just across the border in Co.Meath.
No, they can't. Not sure what the set up was Raymond Cunningham but following your logic a lad could just up and play for whoever he wanted to at Inter County level.
Quote from: stephenite on May 14, 2008, 11:35:23 AM
Quote from: boojangles on May 14, 2008, 11:27:55 AM
No, they can't. Not sure what the set up was Raymond Cunningham but following your logic a lad could just up and play for whoever he wanted to at Inter County level.
It's hardly a radical proposal that people who lived all their life in Co. Roscommon be allowed play for Co. Roscommon. Ros people in Ballagh have no choice - and any attempts to play for Ros have been beaten down by that fine institution of intransigence and of generally doing things pure arse backwards, the Connacht Council.
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on May 09, 2008, 01:06:53 AM...I've heard a few snide remarks about Kerry hurling when I have had occasion to be in Waterford so that cuts both ways.
Well, I'll set your opinion based on the occasions you've been in Waterford against my uncle's opinion based on the occasions he's been in Kerry. No, it doesn't cut both ways.
Quote from: stephenite on May 14, 2008, 10:22:36 AM
so no, I'm not ashamed, I'd be ashamed if they let lads pla as the precedent that would set could cause us to lose some fine prospects if the history of talent turned out by Ballagh is anything to go by.
That's what it all boils down to for Mainland Mayo football folk.
Ye don't want to see Ballagh lads - who are born & reared in County Roscommon & who grew up dreaming of wearing the Ros jersey - playing for their home county, if they so wish.
Ye'd rather dance up and down on the grave that houses those lads hopes and dreams, by endorsing a discriminatory system which forces them to either play IC for Mayo, or not at all.
Fair play stephenite, at least you are open and honest about that, when it must be difficult to admit to supporting such a discriminatory unsporting stance. Views like that tarnish Mayo's sporting reputation amongst the wider GAA community though.
Thanks for the good luck on Sunday - we'll need every bit we can get. Any chance of getting Andy Moran back for the day ;)
Theres a health rivaltry between Armagh and Tyrone in recent year - generally good natured. Tyrone/Londonderry is very bitter. Armagh/Down is like beating up your wee brother - it's too easy but you still enjoy it.
Quote from: spectator on May 14, 2008, 11:51:02 PM
Fair play stephenite, at least you are open and honest about that, when it must be difficult to admit to supporting such a discriminatory unsporting stance. Views like that tarnish Mayo's sporting reputation amongst the wider GAA community though.
It's not difficult at all, in fact I don't see it as discriminatory or unsporting - Ballagh is in Mayo if you play Gaelic Games, these lads and their parents know, that when they send them out as young fellas they'll be playing in Mayo competitions and for Mayo if they're good enough. Same as if they were bought up in any other county - if they wanted to play in another county's competitions and for another county the can always move to avail themselves of that opportunity - but if they don't they generally shut up and get on with it.
As for my opinions tarnishing Mayo's sporting reputation among the wider community.... :D ;D :D Believe me when I say no one else gives a fiddlers about the situation
QuoteWell, I'll set your opinion based on the occasions you've been in Waterford against my uncle's opinion based on the occasions he's been in Kerry. No, it doesn't cut both ways.
err, yeah, whatever you say.
btw..what other opinions does your uncle have about us ?
GAME, SET AND MATCH. This is undoubtedly the greatest rivalry in the land. This is a land war. Slaggin a county off cause they have London in their name or burnin out their cars or sh**e like that is only small beer compared to this. The British civil servant who redrew the congested districts boundaries and marooned the unfortunate Mayos of Ballaghadereen in the Castlerea poorhouse district instead of their natural Swinford asylum has as much to answer for as as yer man Radcliffe who drew a line through India in 1947, and the other Imperialist cartographers who drew straight lines to divide up Africa into 'nations' where no nations ever existed. Ballagh is our Punjab. It s great to be able to blame this shit on the Brits as well - and probably the reason why we get away wit it ;D. Sayin that I could never imagine Cahill, Durkin ,Hanley, Moran [ plays like a Mayo player] playin in primrose. Sean Kilbride jumped ship in 70 s but it was a smart move at the time because Ros were All Ireland bound. At least the only blood in this conflict is spilt on the football pitch. Peter Forde or Pat Doory circa '89 anybody.
Quote from: spectator on May 14, 2008, 11:51:02 PM
Quote from: stephenite on May 14, 2008, 10:22:36 AM
so no, I'm not ashamed, I'd be ashamed if they let lads pla as the precedent that would set could cause us to lose some fine prospects if the history of talent turned out by Ballagh is anything to go by.
That's what it all boils down to for Mainland Mayo football folk.
Ye don't want to see Ballagh lads - who are born & reared in County Roscommon & who grew up dreaming of wearing the Ros jersey - playing for their home county, if they so wish.
Ye'd rather dance up and down on the grave that houses those lads hopes and dreams, by endorsing a discriminatory system which forces them to either play IC for Mayo, or not at all.
Thanks for the good luck on Sunday - we'll need every bit we can get. Any chance of getting Andy Moran back for the day ;)
It's very simple, if you play your club football in a county, you are only eligible for that county. If you want to move counties, then you have to move clubs.
Bringing in any sort of 'allowance' that you mention would only set a dangerous precedent.
Don't assume that Ballaghaderreen is a unique situation in Ireland. It may be the most obvious but there are countless more examples.
Where any club is on a county boundary there is a strong possibility that some of that club's parish line will stretch into the neighbouring county.
Two examples I know of are Ballindine on the Galway Mayo border and Charlestown/Bellaghy on the Mayo Sligo border. I know of people who play their club football with Davitts and Charlestown respectively who live just over the border and would support Galway over Mayo and Sligo over Mayo respectively.
I'm sure there are examples going the other way too with Mayo's playing club football just over the Mayo border.
The point is if you allow players from Ballagh to choose which county to play for, other border players will have legitimate claims to extend this provision to their club because some of the parish is in another county.
Where do you literally draw the line? You will end up with players deciding they want to play for a county not because they support that county but because they are more likely to get a game with that county than with their native one. Someone for Ballagh' deciding to play for Ros because they couldn't make the Mayo team for instance :D :D
And if that were to start happening we would be causing untold damage to the association imho
"It's very simple, if you play your club football in a county, you are only eligible for that county. If you want to move counties, then you have to move clubs."
That can't be right??
What about Declan Darcy playing for Leitrim when he was living (and playing?) in Dublin??
Quote from: timmykelleher on May 15, 2008, 10:30:48 AM
"It's very simple, if you play your club football in a county, you are only eligible for that county. If you want to move counties, then you have to move clubs."
That can't be right??
What about Declan Darcy playing for Leitrim when he was living (and playing?) in Dublin??
Darcy played all his underage club football in Leitrim and definitley represented that club at senior level also, his father used drive him down to Leitrim from the capital every weekend for matches and training
Quote from: SouthArmaghBandit on May 15, 2008, 12:00:03 AM
Theres a health rivaltry between Armagh and Tyrone in recent year - generally good natured. Tyrone/Londonderry is very bitter. Armagh/Down is like beating up your wee brother - it's too easy but you still enjoy it.
::) ::)
its good for yourselves football has only been invented!! :-\
Please please please let down get past tyrone in omagh. It'll be great to but ye in your box for a while again. we haven't had the opportunity since 2003.
Who the f**k are this English Team Tyrone Dont Get on with?
I know us Derry folk hate them but we also hate nothing more than pig ignorant GAA folk legitimising the rape, pillaging and murder that was brought to our nation by adopting the corrupted and insulting name the english crown tried to impose on the county of Derry.
You should be ashamed of yourself and all like you. You call yourself an Irishman? We call you a joke and a disgrace.
Its interesting that most Protestants in Derry refer to it as Derry as do all Catholics. Its only pig ignorant in-breds like you who use the name that shall not be spoken.
By the way ypuve some neck on you saying beating down is like beating up your younger brother.
How many All irelands do Armagh have? 1
How many do Down have? 5
Your obviously one of the Armagh bandwagoners who came on board in 2002 or after and have no memory of the serious beatings Armagh took over the previous 20 years as you had no interest in them then or werent born and dont respect or appreciate the history of the GAA
Your also probably 1 of these Armagh fans who think the history of the GAA started in 2002
Real Armagh fans were at many a game before 2002 and since 2002 and will be at many more in the barren years ahead. :o :o
By the way all Derry folk hate Tyrone the most unless your from Derry city where you hate Tyrone and Derry the most.
Here here Billy boy!!! :D
Ah sure Derry's a grand wee county. When I was at College in their city, they didn't seem to master the sport. None of them held the ball and didn't seem to have proper posts. Only the goals, no points.
Quote from: moysider on May 15, 2008, 02:35:22 AM
GAME, SET AND MATCH. This is undoubtedly the greatest rivalry in the land. This is a land war. Slaggin a county off cause they have London in their name or burnin out their cars or sh**e like that is only small beer compared to this. The British civil servant who redrew the congested districts boundaries and marooned the unfortunate Mayos of Ballaghadereen in the Castlerea poorhouse district instead of their natural Swinford asylum has as much to answer for as as yer man Radcliffe who drew a line through India in 1947, and the other Imperialist cartographers who drew straight lines to divide up Africa into 'nations' where no nations ever existed. Ballagh is our Punjab. It s great to be able to blame this shit on the Brits as well - and probably the reason why we get away wit it ;
Now in what fine historical opus did you find that? Far from being the Evil Brits, the border was moved by a stauch nationalist and someone who continued to list his own address as Co. Mayo. And it was all over water rates. But it was British Administrators that drew up the original county boundaries in the first place, back in the 1600s, so Dillon putting Ballagh back into Ros was only correcting an earlier British imperfection. There was a time before that when Ros consisted of large swaths of Connacht bogland, including the disputed territory of Ballaghaderreen. Ros however lost Athlone and Ballinasloe at the same time as they gained Ballagh, and when you consider the Ballagh players still represent Mayo, it was a very bad deal GAAwise.
Quote from: stephenite on May 15, 2008, 12:51:01 AM
It's not difficult at all, in fact I don't see it as discriminatory or unsporting - Ballagh is in Mayo if you play Gaelic Games, these lads and their parents know, that when they send them out as young fellas they'll be playing in Mayo competitions and for Mayo if they're good enough. Same as if they were bought up in any other county - if they wanted to play in another county's competitions and for another county the can always move to avail themselves of that opportunity
What a pile of piffle. You'd prefer to see the young lads turning to soccer, as is happening at the moment, than make a simple allowance which offers them the choice of playing for their home county, if they so wished.
"
Same as if they are being brought up in any other county" ... erm, don't want to point out the obvious here, but unless I'm mistaken they are being brought up in anther county - Roscommon.
Quote from: stephenite on May 15, 2008, 12:51:01 AM
As for my opinions tarnishing Mayo's sporting reputation among the wider community.... :D ;D :D Believe me when I say no one else gives a fiddlers about the situation
Well, ye'd defineitely get 10 \ 10 for arrogance, smugness and complacency whatever about yeer dodgy grasp of geography :D
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on May 15, 2008, 05:21:12 AM
Bringing in any sort of 'allowance' that you mention would only set a dangerous precedent.
The point is if you allow players from Ballagh to choose which county to play for, other border players will have legitimate claims to extend this provision to their club because some of the parish is in another county.
And if that were to start happening we would be causing untold damage to the association imho
I see what you're saying R&GS, but to be fair I covered that angle before & imho an Irish solution to an Irish problem is needed regarding Ballagh. ie a nod & a wink arrangement.
If say, a legal challenge were taken - or perhaps some group with an interest in breaking the current GAA structure got involved - the parish rule would be blown to smithereens. Ye need to think about that in Mayo.
The remarkable thing in Ballagh's case is that the town is 4 - 5 miles from the Mayo border. It's only two boggy townlands - which you'd hardly feed a snipe on - which are actually in County Mayo. Ballagh town itself is at the end of the parish most distant from the County Mayo border. Categorising Ballagh as being 'borderline' is plainly stretching things to the absolute limit.
Quote from: Turlough O Carolan on May 15, 2008, 09:22:19 PM
Now in what fine historical opus did you find that?
Arragh Jaysus Turlough, did you never hear the oul congested districts board theory? I won't take it personally that you don't hang on my every gaaboard post ;)
QuoteWell, ye'd defineitely get 10 \ 10 for arrogance, smugness and complacency whatever about yeer dodgy grasp of geography
I sometimes wonder if Stephenite is related to that other rmodest Mayo man - the one and only Pee Flynn ;)
Quote from: spectator on May 15, 2008, 10:39:22 PM
What a pile of piffle. You'd prefer to see the young lads turning to soccer, as is happening at the moment, than make a simple allowance which offers them the choice of playing for their home county, if they so wished.
But you're still missing the point - it's not their own county if they choose to play Gaelic Games - as for young guys turning to soccer because they possible might have to play for Mayo under the current set up - well I find that very hard to believe, young lads are turning to soccer all over the country regardless of what county they're forced to play Gaelic Games with, or not.
"Same as if they are being brought up in any other county" ... erm, don't want to point out the obvious here, but unless I'm mistaken they are being brought up in anther county - Roscommon.
Errm, don't want to point out the obvious either, but if they're playing Gaelic Games then they are in Mayo.
Well, ye'd defineitely get 10 \ 10 for arrogance, smugness and complacency whatever about yeer dodgy grasp of geography :D
Not trying to smug or arrogant or complacent about anything, and my geography is fine thaks very much. Ballagh lies well within the Roscommon border - but for reasons that have already been outlined when it comes to the GAA, they ply their trade in the Mayo competitions and their players represent Mayo. You know this, not sure if you think that by saying it repeatedly it will somehow become fact, I can assure you it won't.
As for my opinions tarnishing Mayo's sporting reputation, well it is a ludicrous enough suggestion to start with, but I'm confident if you asked a proper independent observer from another county (who doesn't read or contribute to this board) and he/she would either look at you like you had two heads, tell you to get lost and stop annoying them or tell you that the opinion of one person from Mayo couldn't possible tarnsih the reputation of a whole entire county and perhaps you should go and see someone to discuss your issues.
If say, a legal challenge were taken - or perhaps some group with an interest in breaking the current GAA structure got involved - the parish rule would be blown to smithereens. Ye need to think about that in Mayo.
The remarkable thing in Ballagh's case is that the town is 4 - 5 miles from the Mayo border. It's only two boggy townlands - which you'd hardly feed a snipe on - which are actually in County Mayo. Ballagh town itself is at the end of the parish most distant from the County Mayo border. Categorising Ballagh as being 'borderline' is plainly stretching things to the absolute limit.
100% corrrect, I couldn't agree with you more. If a legal challenge were to successfully overturn this issue and force players to either play for Roscommon or allow them choose it would have ramifications not just for Mayo but for every county in the association, and the repurcussions are just not worth thinking about in my opinion. Not just from a Mayo point of view but trying to take in the bigger picture of the associationas a whole, and if a legal challenge was mounted I would imagine that it might well be successful, based on the fact that the majority of the parish lies well within the Ross border.
Quote from: Tatler Jack on May 15, 2008, 10:55:42 PM
QuoteWell, ye'd defineitely get 10 \ 10 for arrogance, smugness and complacency whatever about yeer dodgy grasp of geography
I sometimes wonder if Stephenite is related to that other rmodest Mayo man - the one and only Pee Flynn ;)
See reply to Spectator TJ - not sure why modesty or lack of is being called into question - simply dealing in facts, I know that these facts are hard to stomach for you guys but do try to keep a level head and not resort to cheap shots, you seem like an intelligent enough kid
I would nt have a problem with a Ballagh lad choosing to play for Ros if that was what he wanted to do. I only want lads playing that really want to play for Mayo. If Andy Moran preferred to play with Ros away with him, or Pierce Hanley too if he were still around and preferred to play for Ros - great and all though their losses would be to us. Coming from where I do in the county Ballagh is 1/3 way to Dublin so I cannot say what makes the place tick - its a midland town as far as I m concerned. But talking to some of their fans at club matches it is clear they[ at least the ones I have talked to] regard themselves as part of the Mayo set-up, would not entertain suggestions of playing in the Ros championship and seem bemused if asked about where their real allegiance lies.
I wouldn't have a problem with a lad choosing to play for Ros per se - I'd agree with your sentiment Moysider. However, the implications of such a precedent would cause a huge headache for the association as a whole and I just can't see it ever happening, the Connacht Council for a start would never allow it, it either goes back to Roscommon lock, stock and barrel or it stays as is.
I would have thought that if the over riding sentiment in the Ballagh community was for a change to be made and move back to Roscommon than the club officers would be able to mount a successful case to the provincial council - community protests outside the door of meetings etc. Get the media onside, it wouldn't be too hard to organise if the majority of the Ballagh community were in favour of this, I can only surmise that the majority are not in favour of this and quite happy with the current arrangement. If there was enough pressure applied the provincial council would be forced by HQ to back down in fear of a precedent setting court case that would blow the entire thing wide open - Spectator is right in that Ballagh is a different casr than most other counties border disputes, it lies too far inland for the border to be too much of an issue
Judging by some of the comments from the Rossies one would expect that at least some of the pro-Rossies in Ballagh are involved in the local club, and have manouvered themselves into positions on the committee etc.
I know lads living in Ballagh, I've talked to lads from Ballagh that have played for Mayo and they'd be horrified if it went back to Roscommon - I think the local case is being over stated by some on here - I don't believe that the majority of the members of the Ballaghaderren club are in favour of a move back to Roscommon
Quote from: billy the kid on May 15, 2008, 04:21:04 PM
By the way ypuve some neck on you saying beating down is like beating up your younger brother.
How many All irelands do Armagh have? 1
How many do Down have? 5
Your obviously one of the Armagh bandwagoners who came on board in 2002 or after and have no memory of the serious beatings Armagh took over the previous 20 years as you had no interest in them then or werent born and dont respect or appreciate the history of the GAA
Your also probably 1 of these Armagh fans who think the history of the GAA started in 2002
Real Armagh fans were at many a game before 2002 and since 2002 and will be at many more in the barren years ahead. :o :o
By the way all Derry folk hate Tyrone the most unless your from Derry city where you hate Tyrone and Derry the most.
Well said Billy!
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on May 15, 2008, 05:21:12 AM
I see what you're saying R&GS, but to be fair I covered that angle before & imho an Irish solution to an Irish problem is needed regarding Ballagh. ie a nod & a wink arrangement.
[
I'm simply stating that as far as the GAA goes on this Ballagh is borderline. Allowing someone from Ballagh' to play with Ros could not be viewed in isolation. It could lead to serious repurcursions. I know you might say this argument suits Mayo but the reality is that the only way this can change is if Ballagh' assimilate into Roscommon completely for football purposes and I don't think, as Stephenite points out, that the locals are keen on that.
Perhaps it is harsh that someone like Andy Moran can't play for the county he supported but there's a greater good here, we can't lose sight of that
Quotethe Connacht Council for a start would never allow it
You'd be surprised what gets allowed. How's Tom Parsons shaping up?
Quote from: billy the kid on May 15, 2008, 04:11:59 PM
Who the f**k are this English Team Tyrone Dont Get on with?
I know us Derry folk hate them but we also hate nothing more than pig ignorant GAA folk legitimising the rape, pillaging and murder that was brought to our nation by adopting the corrupted and insulting name the english crown tried to impose on the county of Derry.
You should be ashamed of yourself and all like you. You call yourself an Irishman? We call you a joke and a disgrace.
Its interesting that most Protestants in Derry refer to it as Derry as do all Catholics. Its only pig ignorant in-breds like you who use the name that shall not be spoken.
Ooooh, touched a raw nerve have we? Billy, that's short for William, isn't it?
Read the front page of the Irish news RH. Nice bit in it about how stupid tyrone people are :o :o
Just confirming what the rest of the country already knows I suppose.
On second thoughts get someone to read it to you and explain the big words. ;) ;) :D
QuoteRead the front page of the Irish news RH. Nice bit in it about how stupid tyrone people are
A judge said that. It was a case of mistaken identity in a court case.
Its a bit like the way they get Peter Canavan mixed up with God. Thankfully Maurice has a sense of humour and just laughs it off.
I'm thinking it was you Billy, he also had an outburst about Londonderry too ;)
QuoteSee reply to Spectator TJ - not sure why modesty or lack of is being called into question - simply dealing in facts, I know that these facts are hard to stomach for you guys but do try to keep a level head and not resort to cheap shots, you seem like an intelligent enough kid
Thanks for the compliment Stephenite - nice to be still called a kid even if it is 45 years this year since I attended ny first championship game.
I have no wish to rehash this debate Stepheniite as I have more to do - but please drop the "lets be reasonable Im right" approach. This debate has two sides to it and the Ros people also deal in facts. And if you do decide to argue forcibly and robustly (which I enjoy) then expect some come back. I did not intend any cheap shot - just a bit of humour kiddo. You are a good man for giving stick - sometimes you have to take it as well.
Now as I was saying the facts of the matter with regard to Balllagh are.....etc...etc :)
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 16, 2008, 03:19:06 PM
Quotethe Connacht Council for a start would never allow it
You'd be surprised what gets allowed. How's Tom Parsons shaping up?
Very well apparently - Charlestown I thought but I'm guessing from your comments he's from the far side of the border? Who did he play with on the way up?
Quote from: moysider on May 15, 2008, 11:16:34 PM
I would nt have a problem with a Ballagh lad choosing to play for Ros if that was what he wanted to do. I only want lads playing that really want to play for Mayo. If Andy Moran preferred to play with Ros away with him, or Pierce Hanley too if he were still around and preferred to play for Ros - great and all though their losses would be to us. Coming from where I do in the county Ballagh is 1/3 way to Dublin so I cannot say what makes the place tick - its a midland town as far as I m concerned. But talking to some of their fans at club matches it is clear they[ at least the ones I have talked to] regard themselves as part of the Mayo set-up, would not entertain suggestions of playing in the Ros championship and seem bemused if asked about where their real allegiance lies.
Fair play to you for writing that, moysider, because you've just presented the opinion of most Mayo football fans generally, for the first time on gaaboard.com
There's a long tradition of Ballagh playing in Mayo, so naturally there are many people who follow Mayo & it's ludicrous for anyone to suggest the club revert to Ros.
You know, I've always counselled against a break-away Ros affiliated club being set up in Ballagh. Why? Because it would split the town, divide the people down the middle & cause ructions. That's not what the GAA's role in a community should be about.
stephenite seems to take the tack that i try to convey that the majority of people in Ballagh are Ros supporters - can you back this up with any quotes from this or any previous threads, or are we to conclude you've just deliberately misrepresented me, stephenite?
I don't know of one single Ballagh Rossie who'd advocate trying to deny the Mayo supporters in Ballagh the right to play in Mayo & represent Mayo.
So try to drop the disingenuous arguments & in the meantime i'll head off to see what the men in the white coats think about it all ... :D
Quote from: spectator on May 17, 2008, 09:43:17 PM
stephenite seems to take the tack that i try to convey that the majority of people in Ballagh are Ros supporters - can you back this up with any quotes from this or any previous threads, or are we to conclude you've just deliberately misrepresented me, stephenite?
Where have I misrepresented you - stop lying and making things up in your head to save the delusion that you somehow have a valid argument - already on this thread you've stated that Noel Durkin, Andy Moran and Pierce Hanley all want to play for Roscommon - so it's only the decent players that want to play for Roscommon - get a grip
Noel Durkin grew up actively supporting Ros with his family - who are all avid Ros supporters - & won a Ros Vocational Schools title, before being obliged by the club to play for Mayo U-21's in 1983 [managed by Johnno btw]. He played with Mayo as he had no choice in the matter and wanted to play IC football.
Pierce Hanley grew up supporting Ros with his family, as anyone from Ballagh will tell ye, if ye care to listen to them. That tosh ye come up with about him "saying" Ballagh is in Mayo is a highly imaginative excercise in reading between the lines by Mayo folk and is part of a desperate attempt to convince themselves he'd have played for them if given a choice. Why let known facts around Ballagh spoil the delusion?
Andy Moran grew up supporting Ros with his family and always played ball wearing his Ros jersey. These lads have no real problem with Mayo & will play for them when forced to do so, as it allows them to play the game at IC level. Pity their attitude is not reciprocated though...
Seriously lad , stop digging. End of the day Ballaghaderren is in Mayo when it comes to the GAA and all your pathetic whinging and attempts to paint me or anyone else as dishonest ain't going to change the fact, and you have temerity to then accuse of being disengenous :D
Pierce Hanley did state that Ballagh is in Mayo in an interview - there's no need to read between the lines when this is what he has stated - but, hey don't let the truth get in the way of your continuing need to lie in order to suit your argument
QuoteIf say, a legal challenge were taken - or perhaps some group with an interest in breaking the current GAA structure got involved - the parish rule would be blown to smithereens. Ye need to think about that in Mayo.
It damn near was!
I can't recall the year off-hand but I think it was in the late 60s that the Roscommon county board brought their grievances to a Connacht Council meeting. "Law" was being freely mentioned on all sides at the time.
The bottom line is that the status quo was maintained.
QuoteIt's hardly a radical proposal that people who lived all their life in Co. Roscommon be allowed play for Co. Roscommon. Ros people in Ballagh have no choice - and any attempts to play for Ros have been beaten down by that fine institution of intransigence and of generally doing things pure arse backwards, the Connacht Council.
I can't disagree with any of this- it's a matter of personal opinion!
But I vaguely recall that Ballagh club was not in favour of transferring allegiances when the controversy erupted. Indeed, some individual members may indeed have wished to be transferred and the same could have applied to some of its townspeople but there was no public outpouring of anguish or anything like that.
The Ballagh club did not make a formal application to be transferred at the time of this Connacht Council arbitration meeting.
Has any formal application from Ballagh to be transferred to Roscommon ever been made?
I can't say I have heard of any. Anyone???
The Parish Rule isn't something I'd like to back my house on either if I had to rely on a legal definition of the same.
Back in 1892, when the transfer of Ballagh to the Swinford poor law district took place, the parish was the civil administration unit and was based on the Cof I parish system. Kilconduff was the district in which the Swinford workhouse was located and the modern Swinford parish is a lot smaller in area. But it accepted by the GAA as the de facto parish boundary for club affiliation purposes. Same applies all over the country, where what is meant by "parish" may in fact have no legal status.
I'm saying that, back in Grand Jury days, when the Ballagh club was founded, it was legally in Co. Mayo. The GAA was structured into parish units and so Ballagh operated as part of the Mayo set up.
Until the legal and civil definition of 'parish' changes, there it is entitled to remain.
On a more worrying note:
QuoteYe don't want to see Ballagh lads - who are born & reared in County Roscommon & who grew up dreaming of wearing the Ros jersey - playing for their home county, if they so wish.
What?
Those kids, if any do actually exist, are in need of serious counselling.