GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: INDIANA on May 01, 2008, 12:29:06 PM

Title: Ice baths? do they work?
Post by: INDIANA on May 01, 2008, 12:29:06 PM
A GAA study has concluded that there is no scientific evidence to support the use of ice baths as an aid to recovery.

The GAA's Medical and Scientific Committee has also claimed that cryotherapy is equally ineffective in speeding up recovery from injury. Committee member and leading physiotherapist John Murphy said: "The point we are trying to make is that if you get injured, you are injured, and some of those things won't help you to repair the injury."

Sligo team doctor Dr Jim Gillespie said that while ice baths might stop bleeding, he didn't believe that they aided recovery. Former Dublin team doctor Dr Pat Duggan said there was no evidence from a scientific point of view to support the use of ice baths and urged the GAA to call a halt to the practice.

Meanwhile, Dr Duggan warned that more inter-county players will be drug-tested than ever before this year as the Irish Sports Council steps up its anti-doping campaign.

Have to say i only did them in my twlight years and i can honestly say they did work for me. maybe it's different nowadays.
Title: Re: Ice baths? do they work?
Post by: orangeman on May 01, 2008, 12:34:57 PM
The majority of studies seem to indicate that ice baths and cryotherapy are only good in the initial stages of an injury and any benefit derived from their use is only very limited and short lived.

Do many people use that cryotherapy chamber in Wexford / Waterford or wherever it is ?
If it was so good, why are there not these chambers all over Ireland and indeed the world ??
Post by: Jinxy on May 01, 2008, 12:38:08 PM
Ice baths are not just used for injury rehabilitation.
Post by: Bensars on May 01, 2008, 12:39:39 PM
Did the Irish Rugby team not have a bus kitted out with ice baths for the last world cup?

I could be wrong but im sure i seen something about it .
Post by: illdecide on May 01, 2008, 12:47:45 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 01, 2008, 12:38:08 PM

Thats right, they are also used to freeze the bollocks of you ;) :D
Post by: Jinxy on May 01, 2008, 12:48:11 PM
If you use them and you think they help, then carry on using them. Its that simple.
Post by: behind the wire on May 01, 2008, 12:51:55 PM
i dont think they are used to 'rehabilitate an injury' as such. they are more used as a way to aid muscle fatigue after training/match. i used to think it was mad, and after trying it i still think its mad but your legs definitely dont be as stiff and sore the morning after a hard training session.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on May 01, 2008, 12:52:45 PM
Quote from: illdecide on May 01, 2008, 12:47:45 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 01, 2008, 12:38:08 PM

Thats right, they are also used to freeze the bollocks of you ;) :D

:D :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: gander on May 01, 2008, 12:56:40 PM
I went to on of those deep freeze tanks that are used for horses.  Had a nagging leg injury that wouldn't clear up and I've had no problems what so ever since!  just dont plan any action with the wife for about a day afterwards!
Post by: INDIANA on May 01, 2008, 01:03:54 PM
that's the one in julianstown i think, i used that as well- christ they made ice baths appear warm in comparison. legs were blocks of ice getting out of them as for the rest i'll say no more.
Post by: orangeman on May 01, 2008, 03:22:46 PM
Do ice baths not lead to fertility problems ??  ;) :D ;D
Post by: magpie seanie on May 01, 2008, 03:34:10 PM
Whatever about recovery from injury I have no doubt that my legs wouldn't be as sore or stiff the day after a hard training session if I used the ice baths.
Post by: highorlow on May 01, 2008, 03:53:03 PM
Ask the Irish Rugby team ?

ICE CREAM is what they should have used, they couldn't have performed much worse!
Post by: neilthemac on May 01, 2008, 04:00:15 PM
lactic acid build up in the muscles

can be alleviated with a light jog and stretching

or with ice baths

you decide

alcohol in the system affects the rate of lactic acid build up
Post by: donelli on June 26, 2008, 08:58:46 PM
Our club are going to buy a couple of containers to use as ice baths.
we used to use wheelie bins but they are quite dangerous to get in and out of.
any suggestions on what kind of containers that are easy to obtain which would be suitable??
Post by: youngfella on June 26, 2008, 09:22:03 PM
http://www.etills.com/acatalog/Outside_Storage.html, these kind of things would do the job. Make sure you have a fecking good ice maker tho
Post by: Kerry Mike on June 26, 2008, 09:35:43 PM
(http://i191.photobucket.com/albums/z168/thewordisberry/icebath.jpg)

(http://www.newcastle-online.com/wp-content/gallery/Austria/Firstday/newcastle1021xm0.jpg)

(http://www.candksports.co.uk/images/ice_tub.jpg)

http://www.candksports.co.uk/ice_baths.htm (http://www.candksports.co.uk/ice_baths.htm)

All a bit gay if you ask me.

(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/44446000/jpg/_44446378_ice_baths.jpg)

Thats a bit better

Post by: fred the red on June 26, 2008, 09:43:34 PM
that last picture looks like a group of he-shes
Post by: Puckoon on June 27, 2008, 02:07:30 AM
What the hell are they all smiling about? Tis bound to be freezing?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 27, 2008, 08:54:56 AM
You're all a fecking laugh, if they were out langered drunk after winning a game ye'd all take a lash at them safe in the knowledge you'd get yer holes!!!!!

Our club actually built an ice bath in the showers there recently, with an ice machine attached to it.  It can sit 5 in it at a time and is easily maintained.
Post by: JohnDenver on June 27, 2008, 09:32:22 AM
A mortar tub is as handy as any to use.  Fit a release tap towards the bottom of one side and it does the job.  A lot cheaper than the craic you'd buy of them websites i would think.

Post by: mannix on June 27, 2008, 09:49:58 AM
i have a cold bath after long marathon training runs, always works, by that i mean i can walk with no pain the day after, skip the bath and i can see a big difference.
Post by: Glensman on June 27, 2008, 10:23:03 AM
That horse box thing at Julianstown and the hydrotherapy sheep dip thing in Burren.

How far on your body can you sit/stand in those. I have a groin injury and wouldn't mind giving the one in Burren a rattle. Now I've been down to it before but I can't remember how far the water is allowed up on your body. Can it go to waist height or is that too high?

I recall the wee fella that runs it sayin it can stop any organs it comes into contact with...
Post by: thebandit on June 27, 2008, 10:40:40 AM
I've sold a rake of mortar bins to football clubs in the last 18 months for use as ice baths
Post by: North Longford on June 27, 2008, 11:05:19 AM
QuoteThat horse box thing at Julianstown and the hydrotherapy sheep dip thing in Burren.

We had 3 lads from the club in Julianstowm last year. All with Hamstrings so probably get groins as well. One guy lost the feeling in his thighs for a few months afterwards though!!!! Didn't actually stop him playing.
Post by: INDIANA on June 27, 2008, 12:06:45 PM
the horsebaths make ice baths appear warm. you stay in it for 10 mins. it works but by jesus is it cold.
Post by: full back on June 27, 2008, 03:10:16 PM
Quote from: Glensman on June 27, 2008, 10:23:03 AM
That horse box thing at Julianstown and the hydrotherapy sheep dip thing in Burren.

How far on your body can you sit/stand in those. I have a groin injury and wouldn't mind giving the one in Burren a rattle. Now I've been down to it before but I can't remember how far the water is allowed up on your body. Can it go to waist height or is that too high?

I recall the wee fella that runs it sayin it can stop any organs it comes into contact with...

Goes just above the waist AFAIK
You normally stay in it for 10/15 mins
If it does go above the waist you and the Mrs will have a good night ;)
Post by: IarmhĂ­ AbĂș on June 27, 2008, 07:23:11 PM
Ice baths have been used by track and field athletes for years.  They are excellent just after a very hard training session to aid recovery.  In terms of injury rehabilitation they are generally similar to using ice on the area. No miracle cure but no harm either.  The cryotherapy chamber in Poland has been used by athletes for years, even if the IRFU et al only cottoned on in the last few years.  It is slightly different to the ice bath and is used as a prehabilitation measure during heavy training.  It is also used by endurance athletes as recovery after gruelling events.  There is anecdotal  evidence that it's useful in treating injury.

The other issue is the level of immersion.  There is no real benefit to lowering your whole body into it.  This simply adds to discomfort and freezes tissue that, lets face it, doesn't require that kind of (mis)treatment.  It also ensures that you cannot bear to stay in long enough to get the maximum benefit.  I remember the documentary about the Dubs where ice baths were used.  There was a clip of Paul Casey shivering in the tub and someone poured water over his head.  The water over his head only served to give him a thumping headache and he would have been far better off if he was standing with the water up to his upper thighs.  This would have allowed him spend longer in the water and target his leg muscles.

As an aside I am acquainted with a multiple Olympian who put rubber gloves on the feet when entering the bath to ensure the feet were protected and allow longer exposure to the soothing effects of the ice water.
Post by: SuperHans on June 28, 2008, 03:30:52 PM
we used ice baths after our early january and february slogs in the mud and it definitely helped your post training recovery.i dunno if they wud be of much use after a training in mild weather on the firm ground tho