Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: new devil on April 30, 2008, 03:23:51 AM

Title: Champions League Final- Man Utd Vs Chelsea
Post by: new devil on April 30, 2008, 03:23:51 AM
Right lads lets be having ya's

Who would the United  fans rather play????????
Title: Re: Champions League Final- Man Utd Vs ????????????
Post by: stephenite on April 30, 2008, 04:08:40 AM
Not a supporter of any soccer team really - but I think Chelsea will play United in the final, with Chelsea winning it
Post by: BennyHarp on April 30, 2008, 09:03:00 AM
Does anyone else think that this final has the potential to be absolute chaos! Especially if Liverpool get there - the airports in the north west wont be able to cope - but then i suppose most United fans will be flying from London or China!
Post by: maddog on April 30, 2008, 09:08:43 AM
I think it will be Liverpool and i hope it is. It will make for a better game. Chelsea bore the shite out of me and i cant watch that Drogba without feeling like hopping something off the telly.
Losing a Euro final for either Liverpool or Manchester Utd fans would be unimaginable.
I'd get over it quick enough though ;)
Post by: nrico2006 on April 30, 2008, 09:19:59 AM
I don't think United would be too worried about playing Liverpool, whereas Chelsae will provide a tougher test but if United play to their strenghts they should win it no matter how they face.  They've taken 9 of the 12 points going against these 2 sides this year, losing the 3 at the weekend when their reserve team lost to a dubious linesman's call.
Post by: An Fear Rua on April 30, 2008, 09:33:52 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on April 30, 2008, 09:03:00 AM
but then i suppose most United fans will be flying from London or China!

Jesus wept, are there really places in Ireland that are so remote that the above is still considered funny?

Utd fans have had a 24 hour start on flights etc so the North west will be boxed off by now, the going rate for a flight only day trip returning straight after the match is £729. Match tickets range in price from €80- €200, fast visa is £95(although there is rumours of visa waiver if your on a package), yep its still a game for the working man.
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 30, 2008, 10:50:40 AM
Quotebut I think Chelsea will play United in the final, with Chelsea winning it

I concur
Post by: Minder on April 30, 2008, 10:56:03 AM
United would be favourites against Liverpool and against Chelsea is a 50/50 game. Though i think you could disregard league form for both finalists.
Post by: Bensars on April 30, 2008, 10:57:33 AM
Not a supporter of any of the teams involved but would love to see liverpool go through.

Not too many chelsea fans up our way, but  for Man U v Liverpool, the craic and the slagging would be mighty.
Post by: Minder on April 30, 2008, 11:01:14 AM
I think the thought of that crowd beating Liverpool would be unbearable but i am booking the Thursday off to go on the beer anyway, should be great steam. If we get beat i will probably delete my account on here, which a lot of people will welcome !
Post by: Minder on April 30, 2008, 03:46:32 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 30, 2008, 03:44:59 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 30, 2008, 11:01:14 AM
I think the thought of that crowd beating Liverpool would be unbearable but i am booking the Thursday off to go on the beer anyway, should be great steam. If we get beat i will probably delete my account on here, which a lot of people will welcome !
There's a class bar opposite The Beehive.

Aye was in it once, but can assure you i wont be in it that night !
Post by: Goats Do Shave on April 30, 2008, 03:57:47 PM
Chatting to a Liverpool fan at lunch time, he wants Chelsea to win tonight, as he couldn't bear meeting UTD in the final!!  :D :D :D
Post by: Minder on April 30, 2008, 04:02:59 PM
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on April 30, 2008, 03:57:47 PM
Chatting to a Liverpool fan at lunch time, he wants Chelsea to win tonight, as he couldn't bear meeting UTD in the final!!  :D :D :D

I am of a similar view Goats........
Post by: bingobus on April 30, 2008, 04:17:47 PM

Excuse my French buts he's an arsehole. The thoughts of playing United excites me. It would be horrible to lose but the thoughts of beating them is orgasmic.  ;D  ;D
Post by: AZOffaly on April 30, 2008, 04:24:22 PM
I want Liverpool to win tonight, obviously. However, I know where that lad is coming from in that I would be sick as a pig for the next month thinking about it :D

Still, LFC'd be massive underdogs against United, and it would a great chance to have a good lash off them :D
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 30, 2008, 04:35:38 PM
Quote from: bingobus on April 30, 2008, 04:17:47 PMThe thoughts of playing United excites me. It would be horrible to lose but the thoughts of beating them is orgasmic.  ;D  ;D

I'm of the same thinking
Post by: stevo-08 on April 30, 2008, 04:46:56 PM
getting a little bid ahead of ourselves lads, but IF, IF, IF it's a man utd v liverpool final, my biggest worry is off the pitch where there could be serious trouble. 30,000 fans each club whose fans absolutely hate each other. A lot of them travelling from the same place. Add plenty of beer/vodka, the no-nonsense approach from russian police, the strong possibility of tickets allocated to one club getting into the hands of the other, and you have all the ingredients for mayhem.

Anyway, it might not come to that. Alot of football to be played tonight before even thinking about the final.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 30, 2008, 04:51:16 PM
Very true steve-08. Liverpool are underdogs tonight as well, so it'll probably be Chelsea anyway. Same applies about the fans though I'd say, although probably not as bad as if Liverpool make it.
Post by: EC Unique on April 30, 2008, 04:55:19 PM
Quote from: bingobus on April 30, 2008, 04:17:47 PM

Excuse my French buts he's an arsehole. The thoughts of playing United excites me. It would be horrible to lose but the thoughts of beating them is orgasmic.  ;D  ;D

Hey Bingo, do you suffer from premature ejeculation?(http://www.jon44w.co.uk/forum/images/smilies/laughat.gif)
Post by: bingobus on April 30, 2008, 05:05:41 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on April 30, 2008, 04:55:19 PM
Quote from: bingobus on April 30, 2008, 04:17:47 PM

Hey Bingo, do you suffer from premature ejeculation?(http://www.jon44w.co.uk/forum/images/smilies/laughat.gif)

No, opposite in fact, I practice tantric sex. I'll be building up to my orgasm for weeks if we win tonight.  ;D If we lose, I'll prob need viagara to stir any kind of feeling for about 2 years.    :'(
Post by: Square Ball on April 30, 2008, 10:05:16 PM
so its against the Roman empire, fair play to Lampard for taking that penalty, showed a big pair of cahoonas.
Title: Re: Champions League Final- Man Utd Vs Chelsea
Post by: Square Ball on April 30, 2008, 10:08:11 PM
Ummmm, a bit premature
Post by: new devil on April 30, 2008, 10:15:25 PM
So there it is lads United V Chelsea in Moscow

Did you see the shape of Grant on his knees at the final whistle..he looks like a toad
Post by: An Fear Rua on April 30, 2008, 10:24:41 PM
(http://phillypreneurs.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/07/rocky-4.jpg)
Post by: new devil on April 30, 2008, 10:25:42 PM
WHOS WHO?
Post by: An Fear Rua on April 30, 2008, 10:26:37 PM
Quote from: new devil on April 30, 2008, 10:25:42 PM
WHOS WHO?
are you for real?
Post by: new devil on April 30, 2008, 10:28:21 PM
sorry should of put this after it  :P
Post by: ludermor on April 30, 2008, 10:30:33 PM
who is the small fella beside Hypia?
Post by: Square Ball on April 30, 2008, 11:15:40 PM
Quote from: new devil on April 30, 2008, 10:15:25 PM

Did you see the shape of Grant on his knees at the final whistle..he looks like a toad

twins

(http://www.giantrobeast.com/strafingrun/images/greenback.gif)
Post by: J70 on April 30, 2008, 11:16:18 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on April 30, 2008, 11:15:40 PM
Quote from: new devil on April 30, 2008, 10:15:25 PM

twins

(http://www.giantrobeast.com/strafingrun/images/greenback.gif)

:D :D
Post by: ONeill on April 30, 2008, 11:16:58 PM
I thought he was dying.
Post by: Square Ball on April 30, 2008, 11:19:57 PM
Quote from: ONeill on April 30, 2008, 11:16:58 PM
I thought he was dying.

I thought he was either having a heart attack or praying to Mecca
Post by: Minder on April 30, 2008, 11:20:48 PM
I thought he had dropped 50p
Post by: ONeill on April 30, 2008, 11:21:02 PM
Steve McManaman?
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 30, 2008, 11:23:36 PM
QuoteDid you see the shape of Grant on his knees at the final whistle..he looks like a toad

My first thought was "f**k he's having a heart attack"!

What sort is he at all  :D
Post by: new devil on April 30, 2008, 11:25:08 PM
If Chelsea win the League and/or champions league with this man in charge it will be a crime against football...the football they play is horrible
and hes got the personally of hemmm....... a toad
Post by: ONeill on April 30, 2008, 11:28:49 PM
Quote from: new devil on April 30, 2008, 11:25:08 PM
If Chelsea win the League and/or champions league with this man in charge it will be a crime against football...the football they play is horrible
and hes got the personally of hemmm....... a toad

On the contrary - Chelsea, at home, usually dominate the opponents. Utd, against Barca, had 34% possession AT HOME! They fed off a mistake and lumped the ball out of ball any other time . Utd against Arsenal had 40% possession and scored off placed balls.

The Barca manager was correct about Utd. It's a pity (albeit effective) they play that way.
Post by: ONeill on May 01, 2008, 01:04:02 AM
(http://cache3.asset-cache.net/xc/80936338.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=17A4AD9FDB9CF193CE41B024AE96D64D1ADFC12D52CA043EE30A760B0D811297)
Post by: Chrisowc on May 01, 2008, 08:49:41 AM
Quote from: Square Ball on April 30, 2008, 11:19:57 PM
Quote from: ONeill on April 30, 2008, 11:16:58 PM
I thought he was dying.

I thought he was either having a heart attack or praying to Mecca

Not likely!! :o

I thought he was about to ........croak it!

Sorry couldn't resist.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 01, 2008, 09:18:39 AM
QuoteThe Barca manager was correct about Utd. It's a pity (albeit effective) they play that way.

Yer a gas man O'Neill! Classic.
Post by: An Fear Rua on May 01, 2008, 09:37:24 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 01, 2008, 09:18:39 AM
QuoteThe Barca manager was correct about Utd. It's a pity (albeit effective) they play that way.

Yer a gas man O'Neill! Classic.

looks like the wenger bus pass arrived at last